About Grappa Italian Bistro

450 South Teller
Belmar
Lakewood, CO 80226
View Larger Map

Coming Soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(303) 862-4040

Website:
http://www.grappaitalianbistro.com/

Grappa Italian Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (7)
fit for foodies (5)
romantic (5)
See All
special occasion (4)
great for outdoor dining (4)
good for groups (3)
notable wine list (2)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (1)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
92 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food, live music, great times

Dined on May 14, 2016

Grappa's is gem in the Belmar area for Friday nights. Live music from the era of Sinatra, swing bands and jazz. Friendly service to go along with fine Italian food. Great atmosphere of evening out that's hard to find anymore.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Can't hear yourself think

Dined on May 7, 2016

I have been to Grappa several times. The food and service are always great. On this last visit, Friday night, they had a singer with a small band, which was so loud, you couldn't really have a conversation. I don't want to have to yell at the person across the table from me, so I won't be back on a Friday night.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Told they got a bad batch of Snails & pasta sauce

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was COLD and we sent it back and they said they had bad batches, the temp had nothing to do with bad batch. We were then served warm pasta but left very disapointed

food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent escargot! As was the entrees. ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Excellent escargot! As was the entrees. We will be back

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A Real Gem in Belmar

Dined on April 2, 2016

I've been here several times and the high quality of the food here always surprises me.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service, awesome food, solid win ...

vip
Dined on January 22, 2016

Great service, awesome food, solid wine list... what more do you want?

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Reliable interesting foot

Dined on January 10, 2016

We have taken guests here repeatedly and never had one item we wouldn't have again. Perfect location for pre theater at Lakewood cultural center.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly Recommend

Dined on January 3, 2016

I love Grappa in Belmar. We've eaten there late night, late lunch and during Happy Hour with a big group of people. Drinks, wine and food are outstanding. Thank you for accommodating a bunch of girls on Football Sunday!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Unsuspecting

Dined on January 1, 2016

I have enjoyed Grappa once before. I made a reservation for 2 early on New Years Eve on Open Table. There was no indication that this was a per plate dinner. The host seated us in a table in the aisle, which were able to change, since it was early in the evening. I did not think the food this evening was worth the price. I was disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent Italian

Dined on November 22, 2015

A friend and I were looking for Italian on a Saturday in Lakewood/Denver and found Grappa. There was a live band near the entrance and they were a bit loud but we could still have a normal conversation. Our server was terrific, with great recommendations off the wine list and menu. The Ahi was exceptional, as was the gelato and Chianti. We were hoping to order the Filet Mignon but they had sold out by 8:30. Very pleased with our choice and will return!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

This was my first time dining at Grappa ...

Dined on November 8, 2015

This was my first time dining at Grappa and it exceeded our expectations. Drinks were good and food was very good.

food4
ambience3
service3

Not bad, but expensive.

vip
Dined on October 3, 2015

My husband and I visited on a Friday night and this place was bumping! They were playing live music I. The front which is fun, but made it so you could only sit in the back if you wanted to enjoy your company. All in all the food was good, but as amazing as you'd expect for the price.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4

Dinner not lunch

Dined on September 13, 2015

After having lunch here 4 or 5 times I had decided to skip this restaurant. Dinner was a whole other thing! At dinner the slow service seemed perfect and the food was spectacular. Our table of seven ordered seven different entrees and we all were delighted. The live jazz was super but extremely loud. There is no conversation going on when the music is playing. Decide what you want to do before you get there. Overall the exquisite food will continue to bring me back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service1

Food was okay, but not particularly upscale.

vip
Dined on September 3, 2015

Train your wait staff better. Our waitress was ( we assumed) new. However, she had no clue on the menu offerings and was totally clueless about the wine list

food5
ambience4
service3

Loved the Jazz band that was there. A bi ...

Dined on August 8, 2015

Loved the Jazz band that was there. A bit slow on service but I loved the experience. Next time I'm gonna sit outside.

food4
ambience3
service2

When you order a steak, you shouldn't ha ...

Dined on July 12, 2015

When you order a steak, you shouldn't have to sit and look at your cooling steak while waiting for a knife. Also, points were deducted for empty wine glasses and having to instigate the refill. Tables too close together. The food is good, but the service could be better.

food5
ambience4
service5

A Wonderful Night Out!

Dined on June 27, 2015

I went to Grappa for my birthday dinner. The food is authentic Italian & delicious!! They even had gluten free pasta available. They had live music in the front room - I asked the gentleman to seat us in the back room & away from everyone else, because I wanted an intimate setting - he graciously accommodated us. Our server was very attentive. The pace for each entree was just perfect. I didn't feel rushed, but we didn't have to wait for the next entree all that long either. I would definitely go back & highly recommend it! Oh, and I have to tell you to try the cheesecake - sooo good!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This seems to be a neighborhood place. M ...

Dined on June 10, 2015

This seems to be a neighborhood place. Many of the customers were greeted by the owner. It's a bit far from Cap Hill to become a regular haunt, but it would be worthwhile to go again. The sound level was a little high, sometimes making it hard to converse or to hear the server. Food was excellent, almost too many great sounding choices.

food2
ambience4
service1

Not so special Mothers' Day

Dined on May 10, 2015

We had been to Grappa before and had a nice dinner so we decided to book a reservation for Mothers' Day and this time we were left very disappointed. Our waitress was high the entire time. Acting very giggly, forgetting to bring menus, forgetting drink orders, etc. The food was okay, nothing particularly special about it. But the price was far too steep for simply "meh" food. I think we'll try somewhere else out next time.

food4
ambience4
service5

Farm fresh food and suburb service

Dined on May 9, 2015

Our server was a pleasant mix of professional, competent, and friendly. The veggies were obviously straight from the farm and the chicken was so juicy and tender I had almost forgotten it was possible to cook chicken that way. Great place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Good dining amongst chains

vip
Dined on April 22, 2015

I found Grappa to be a nice little hidden gem in the middle of a shopping area filled with normal everyday chain options. I assume Grappa is a small operation as they seem to care about the experience you receive. They are serving up great food in a comfortable, relaxed environment and that is hard to find in that area. Thanks Grappa for being different, it was refreshing.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1

We have dined at Grappa before and looke ...

Dined on March 14, 2015

We have dined at Grappa before and looked forward to returning, however after this experience we will not be back. Service was slow and poor and the bar music so loud it was impossible to carry on a conversation. My ahi entre was severely over cooked despite my ordering it rare. I notified the server who apologized and had the kitchen remake it. The replacement was worse - cold sauce and vegetables topped with a dollop of chopped raw garlic which might have been a gift from the kitchen for returning the dish. The worst meal I have had in a long time.

food3
ambience4
service5

Awesome jazz band

vip
Dined on March 14, 2015

We went on a Friday night to hear the jazz band When It Was Trio. They are incredible! The service is great. The food was Ok.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Neighborhood gem

vip
Dined on March 13, 2015

Love the atmosphere this restaurant/bar has. Great music Friday night. Got to hear Judy Garland's Granddaughter sing. What a great voice.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5

The food was ok but the bar was too hoppin.

Dined on February 28, 2015

we started off with of the crab cakes and fried calamari which were both very good. For entrees one of us had the lobster and rock shrimp ravioli which was also good. The other had the filet with gorgonzola. This was not very good as it was quite thin for a filet and the Gorgonzola was actually overwrite blue cheese. The play was also doused with brown gravy which made it very unpresentable. We concluded with to average deserts the tiramisu and the creme brulee neither was anything to write home about. The service was attentive and pleasant. The real issue was the loud music coming from the bar. Why I love Sinatra, it was way too loud for people trying to have dinner and have any type of conversation. Make a decision whether you want to be a night club or restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Curious

Dined on February 25, 2015

Looking for a good neighborhood restaurant. Fit the bill. Excellent food. Some reviews found noise a factor. Did not find this to be the case on a weekday night. Felt wine prices were a buck or two high. Excellent service. Will return.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

LUNCH AT GRAPPA ITALIAN BISTRO

Dined on February 14, 2015

My party of four went to Grappa Italian Bistro for a birthday celebration. The service was wonderful. We had a friendly, professional waitperson who made our visit perfect. I would highly recommend this little gem in Belmar!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service2

Too Loud!

Dined on February 7, 2015

Made reservations for a Friday night dinner but left almost immediately after being seated. There was live music in the bar area and the noise level was so high, for the small space, that conversation was impossible. Would have liked to try their food but not at the expense of losing my hearing.

food1
ambience2
service2

Over-priced meal. Weak service. Mediocre food.

Dined on January 21, 2015

Out of multiple wines on the list. Industry norm is to offer/provide one at same price point. Instead we were offered several suggestions and then charged 3-4 dollars more than the three initial wines we tried to order. Really, out of three of your wines. Poor ordering. Warm spinach salad was not even tepid. Mushrooms in dressing tasted like those from a jar. Chicken Milanese was the saltiest entree I've had in year. Left over half of my meal untouched nor did I request a box. Server didn't even take note that perhaps there may have been something wrong. Definitely overpriced for what we ordered. Will never return. Would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. Have been to their location in Golden so had hoped this experience would be as enjoyable. It was not. Too many things wrong to even give it a second try.

food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome service and food

Dined on January 1, 2015

Loved the hospitality and the best Italian food I have had since I was in Brazil. They accommodated my wife with her allergies. I will go back again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service3

I told the hostess that I had reservati ...

Dined on December 21, 2014

I told the hostess that I had reservations but she didn't bother to check us in on "Open Table". I guess she didn't think it was necessary. Food was okay but ordered a glass of wine and felt I got a lousy pour when I compared it to other diners' glasses that were much fuller than mine. Service was fine.

food3
ambience4
service3

Need to try again

Dined on December 17, 2014

They do get busy so important to have a reservation during busy time. We had a new waitress that tried hard but needed more training. They also were out of some items, our wine choice but offered a good substitute for the same price. The pasta and risotto were both a bit salty but the ingredients were very good. The bread was a hit with a Pesto dipping sauce that was to die for. Overall it is nice that it is not a chain restaurant and seems to be popular but next time I will try an entrée.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience2
service5

Ashley is the greatest waitress

Dined on December 14, 2014

1st time we went the food was good the secound time the bottom fell out

food4
ambience3
service3

Great food and presentation, especially ...

Dined on December 6, 2014

Great food and presentation, especially the beet salad - it was beautiful. Not too many people there so it was quiet. The service was just so so.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Surprising and pleasant

vip
Dined on November 24, 2014

We didn't expect much given the neighborhood and casual setting; however, we were pleasantly surprised and impressed. The food was interesting and creative. The presentations were lovely. The wine list was quite good. Service was great. We will be back.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Dinner with a friend

Dined on October 19, 2014

Grappa's was awesome. I've dined at the one in Golden but this was my first time dining at the Lakewood location. I have to admit, I really like this location better! The food was very good and the service was awesome. The atmosphere in the restaurant was very nice and intimate. There was live music playing but it was very subtle and lovely. The restaurant is not big but it all really works. We'll definitely be going back to try some of their other dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service1

disappointed

Dined on October 11, 2014

We ordered things we never got.The service was terrible. Food was ok. Nothing to brag about.

food4
ambience4
service4

Is it a secret?

vip
Dined on October 4, 2014

I was so surprised that hardly anyone was there on a Saturday lunchtime! The food and service were really good. I've been to the Grappa in Golden and found the food really good, but terrible service by a waiter that seemed like he couldn't be trouble with us...But the Belmar location had no such problem. I sure hope they pick up, so it continues to be a great choice for a great soup, salad and sandwich with a lovely glass of wine!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service1

Gross

vip
Dined on September 21, 2014

Tonight the waiter spilled my dinner into my lap. Boiling hot oily liquid. Accidents happen, but he wasn't a very good server - lacking attention to tables and didn't offer to have my clothes dry cleaned, etc. Don't order the antipasto. It's a pile of mortadella for $14 for 2 with crushed, not marinated, olives, 2 thin slices of cheese and poor quality prosciutto. The prosciutto risotto comes with huge chunks of ham and linguini is substituted for papperdelle; everything is congealed in melted cheese. They now have a cocktail menu, but their bartender(s) are slow, even when the restaurant is empty, and the drinks instantly separate for $9. The amazing pesto they once had is now almost watery and just green-colored oil.

food4
ambience4
service4

Always enjoyable

Dined on September 6, 2014

Have been here several times and have always had an enjoyable experience with very food.

Tags: neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.