About Grapeseed – Bethesda

4865 Cordell Avenue
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Grapeseed – Bethesda is a casual bistro that matches great food and wine together. With anywhere from 80 to 100 wines by the glass and approximately 325 bottle listed, we cater to the novice wine lover and to the experienced. We start with a bottle of wine and pick out the characteristics and nuances of the wine and then award winning Chef Jeffrey Heineman creates a menu item to highlight the flavors of the wine. So come in and relax, have a taste or a glass of wine and try something on our ever-changing menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday: Closed

Cross Street:
between Norfolk and Woodmont

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 986-9592

Website:
http://www.grapeseedbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Grapeseed is conveniently located near 3 public parking garages, there is ample street parking, and we offer valet parking for $7.

Public Transit:
Grapeseed is located 1/2 mile from the Bethesda Metro stop on the Red Line.

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Heineman

Private Party Facilities:
Grapeseed is sure to become your favorite destination for all of your special events. Whether you are planning an intimate dinner in our Wine Room, a group of up to 34 in our Private Dining Room or reserving the entire restaurant for your special event Grapeseed has a room to fit your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Jeff Heineman, Chef/Owner : (877) 250-4730

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please join our mailing list on our website for up incoming events and specials!

Grapeseed – Bethesda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
See All
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for a Date (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Private Room (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Casual (5)
Business Meals (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Cozy (3)
Authentic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great Beer (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fun (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Romantic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1558 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant was empty at lunchtime ex ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

The restaurant was empty at lunchtime except for us! Don't know why no one was there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The money we paid with the service, we w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

The money we paid with the service, we will not come back to this restaurant. We have been to several similar level restaurants, never need to ask 3 times for bread and butter. The waiter only filled up the water glass next table, but my husband's glass was empty, he did not even bother to check. Not worth to go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

I do not like to have to send the bill b ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

I do not like to have to send the bill back because I was overcharged by $4 for my entree. If this is a pattern then they probably make a lot of money assuming patrons won't notice or won't remember the price on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was good. Only issue was the sa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was good. Only issue was the salad to start. A green salad was literally just lettuce on a plate. And it was pretty small. $9. Kind of ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We have been here a few times and food, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We have been here a few times and food, service have been superior. This visit was during Restaurant Week and the deal here was excellent. Unfortunately, the service was well below what it should have been. Wait staff seemed stressed. Had to ask for obvious things like water, missing place setting, etc. Food not ordered was brought to our table by mistake. Nothing momentous in isolation but it adds up. This is not an inexpensive restaurant and service should match prices. In the past it has, so this might have been an anomaly. Food was excellent and this is a comfortable place to dine so we will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The value was outstanding as this was Re ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The value was outstanding as this was Restaurant Week... Otherwise it is pricey... but worth it. Because of the RW deal (3 courses for $35) it was a GREAT opportunity to try the cuisine at a reasonable price.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Good food, great wine and excellent serv ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Good food, great wine and excellent service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

My friends and I enjoy eating at Grapese ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My friends and I enjoy eating at Grapeseed with the creative and changing menu that includes excellent meats and seafood along with suggested wine pairings. My dinner included local scallopes and another guest had shrimp. Both dishes were exceptional well prepared, seasoned, and cooked to the correct temperature. The appetizer included fresh and well prepared oysters. The wine pairings were appropriate for and enhanced each course. Service was exceptionally good and efficient especially on a busy Saturday night. Grapeseed is a lovely neighborhood restaurant that accommodates the needs of the patrons.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

This visit was for dinner during Bethesd ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This visit was for dinner during Bethesda Restaurant Week. The selections were very inviting and the food was delicious. We also enjoyed a couple of nice wines with our dinner. The service was adequate but we had a few service issues. We have dined at Grapeseed several times and have not had these issues previously.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Food was good but not great. Loved the s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food was good but not great. Loved the signatue mushroom appetizer, but the shrimp and grits was nothing to talk about neither was the fried oysters. Ran out of wine we were drinking after 1st glass. I really liked the atmosphere and the hostess and waiter were great. I also loved the bathroom. I always check out the bathroom, if not clean figure kitchen is not either. Your was good!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

This was the second time in a week that ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 17, 2017

This was the second time in a week that we visited Grapeseed. Restaurant week. My husband had the same meal he had before, the fried oysters and the salmon. I had a salad and steak frites. We asked for bread and was told they would not be getting any in until 3 p.m. We are diabetics and my husbands meal and few cards, hence the request for bread. My appetizer choice was a salad. The amount of greens on the plate was so small it didn't deserve the word salad. I should have said something, did not. Seems that unlike other restaurants in the area the quality is not consistent. Prior to these visits had not been in Grapeseed ub 2/3 years. The reason was that of five of us only two were satisfied with the entrees.

Tags: Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The meals were excellent. My husband ha ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The meals were excellent. My husband had salmon and I had shrimp and grits. Husband loved the salmon. My plate had 5 good sized shrimp on grits with a creamy sauce. Very good. The appetizer was oysters in corn meal breading over a pepper jam. Tasty but just a touch too much breading for me. We plan to go back tomorrow! Service is good, no hovering over the table; pouring water when needed. We have been to Grapeseed many times since they first opened. Always enjoyable.

Tags: Healthy, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been going to this restaurant for ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I have been going to this restaurant for some time, it is always a great pleasure to have a new dish and a new taste (from so many different cultures) and I have never been disappointed. Servers are always so friendly, knowledgeable and prompt to attend your requests. My wife and I had our private wedding celebration here. so intimate and cozy, we loved it and keep coming back... thanks Elias our favorite waiter...

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was not very busy the eve ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The restaurant was not very busy the evening we dined but heavy metal rock music was blairing -- we thought an odd choice for this type of restaurant. Our group was 20-somethings and parents all of whom agreed about the music. We did ask our server if the music could be turned down and he readily obliged but still the music was very distracting. We had not dined there in some time and perhaps they are going for a different vibe than we had anticipated -- the food was very good and some of the dishes were outstanding, but the music was a major detractor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

We had a New Year's meal. The food was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a New Year's meal. The food was excellent, as was the service. We should have tried this earlier.

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New Year's Eve dinner with children. St ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve dinner with children. Staff was particularly attentive to the children. The food was very good. Very innovative and mostly excellent. Some ideas don't work well; others are fantastic.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined on the Seven Fishes special Fri ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We dined on the Seven Fishes special Friday night. Everything was delicious. Strongly recommend the tasting menus on the weekends.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, , Tasting Menu, Private Room, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was an unusual visit to Grapeseed, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was an unusual visit to Grapeseed, where we often eat. On a Saturday night in Bethesda, the place was virtually empty. I don't know whether it is losing its appeal, or whether it is a statistical quirk.

Our meal was very good, but not over the top outstanding, and the wine was excellent. No complaints, and I hope the empty dining room is not a permanent condition.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The steaks were fantastic

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The steaks were fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice all around Good food Great ser ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Very nice all around

Good food

Great service

Allows you to talk to your friends

Will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A completely satisfying experience from ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

A completely satisfying experience from ambience to menu to service to food & wine. I drove from Baltimore to meet a DC-based friend for dinner. While it goes without saying that visiting with my friend was wonderful, meeting at Grapeseed was the icing on the cake! I am honestly looking forward to the next opportunity to go back. I had a sea scallop dish with chickpeas and romesco. DEELISHUSSS!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food at Grapeseed is superb. We had ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The food at Grapeseed is superb. We had their regular favorite mushroom ragout/polenta appetizer. I can't praise it highly enough. There was also a new entry on the appetizer menu: grilled cabbage with lime and other seasonings. It was also delicious. We split the filet with oxtail ragout as a main dish. Again it was superlative. I'm still thinking about it now. The server mixed us up a delicious cocktail: the filibuster. This is a wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Private Room, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing!! We brought our 3.5month old an ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Amazing!! We brought our 3.5month old and they accommodated our stroller and baby! Great service and food! No designated close time, Chef came and said Hi too!

Tags: Private Room, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and some creative dishes, nice ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Good food and some creative dishes, nice wine list and good service. All around an excellent meal with a neighborhood feel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Were met by the chef and servers who loo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Were met by the chef and servers who looked after us well on what was a busy night for Grapeseed, food was great !

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This place used to be very good. Now it ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This place used to be very good. Now it serves mediocre food and wine and has terrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Incredibly slow. Incredibly. Despite t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Incredibly slow. Incredibly. Despite the restaurant being empty. Food was indeed delicious, but the marathon wait and total lack of quiet attention from the server almost ruined the whole thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Four of us had a marvelous meal at Grape ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Four of us had a marvelous meal at Grapeseed in Bethesda. Everything was delicious and fresh, from the daily tasting menu (4 dishes for $35), to appetizers (wild mushrooms on polenta; grilled romaine salad), to entrees (halibut with artichokes and olive tampenade; grilled scallops), to dessert (a chocolate mousse-like dessert).

The ambience was calm and upscale with background music that was not too loud and decor including racks of wine bottles. Wine pairings were suggested for all menu items. They were not close to full though it was Friday evening.

With 2 alcoholic drinks each (including suggested wine pairings for two of the dishes), the bill came to $255 (not including tip), which we thought was great value!

Grapeseed provides quality dining in Woodmont triangle, which unfortunately does not have very many upscale restaurants. One might call Grapeseed a hidden gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality has fallen since we were las ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The quality has fallen since we were last there, several years ago. Could explain why the place was empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a delightful dinner for my birthd ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had a delightful dinner for my birthday. The food was excellent. We particularly enjoyed the Barbecue.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Not the restaurant it used to be. No amu ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Not the restaurant it used to be. No amuse bouche/lagniappe of peppers in oil. No bread offered. They asked us to keep our forks between courses. Terrible fishy/iodine smell coming from kitchen, making me wonder if that was coming from my scallops! Probably it wasn't because they were just okay, pretty flabby and tasteless. No nice crispness that a hot pan should give seared scallops.

Cornmeal-fried oysters were good.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

I've probably eaten here a dozen times, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 31, 2016

I've probably eaten here a dozen times, and never had anything that wasn't well prepared. Great wine, great food, great service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Given the name, you'd expect a very nice ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Given the name, you'd expect a very nice wine list – and you'd be happy to find there is one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I asked the hostess for a different tabl ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I asked the hostess for a different table, (closer to the windows) and she told us they (3 of them) were all reserved. Nobody ever came and sat in the table the entire hour and a half we were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Went there for Bethesda restaurant week. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Went there for Bethesda restaurant week. Liked the avocado toast with pulled pork appetizer, but their version of shrimp 'n grits isn't quite up to par. It was very soupy, with too much tomato taste to it.

Server, Lenore, was especially attentive. Wonderful asset to the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

The restaurant needs a facelift. The car ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The restaurant needs a facelift. The carpet is old and looks like carpet in a café. The lighting in the main room is also poor. The tables in the back and the wine cellar look great. Its just the central dining room that was disappointing. Food and drinks were awesome though!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

We took advantage of the restaurant week ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We took advantage of the restaurant week menu and it was excellent. The appetizers-salad and entree were rated 5stars by all 4 of us who went. The gnocchi appetizer was our favorite. The Brick Chicken, Scallops, Filet and Salmon did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It turns out that the $16 Restaurant Wee ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2016

It turns out that the $16 Restaurant Week lunch represents a saving of $1.00 from their normal lunch special! More importantly, the food was mediocre at best. The mushroom and polenta appetizer was far too rich, swimming in a probable mixture of butter and olive oil. The seafood stew, masquerading as cioppino, was bland and uninspired. The waitress was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

The salad that we ordered is mixed with ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 16, 2016

The salad that we ordered is mixed with bad leaves and not so fresh greens. When we tried to ask waitress, she insisted that's nothing and the salad is always like that. Well, that means this type of low quality salad is their standard of food. Won't visit again for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Have not been for years. Poor service an ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Have not been for years. Poor service and poor food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.