About Grapeseed – Bethesda

4865 Cordell Avenue
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Grapeseed – Bethesda is a casual bistro that matches great food and wine together. With anywhere from 80 to 100 wines by the glass and approximately 325 bottle listed, we cater to the novice wine lover and to the experienced. We start with a bottle of wine and pick out the characteristics and nuances of the wine and then award winning Chef Jeffrey Heineman creates a menu item to highlight the flavors of the wine. So come in and relax, have a taste or a glass of wine and try something on our ever-changing menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday: Closed

Cross Street:
between Norfolk and Woodmont

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 986-9592

Website:
http://www.grapeseedbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Grapeseed is conveniently located near 3 public parking garages, there is ample street parking, and we offer valet parking for $7.

Public Transit:
Grapeseed is located 1/2 mile from the Bethesda Metro stop on the Red Line.

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Heineman

Private Party Facilities:
Grapeseed is sure to become your favorite destination for all of your special events. Whether you are planning an intimate dinner in our Wine Room, a group of up to 34 in our Private Dining Room or reserving the entire restaurant for your special event Grapeseed has a room to fit your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Jeff Heineman, Chef/Owner : 8772504730

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please join our mailing list on our website for up incoming events and specials!

Restaurant Photos

Grapeseed – Bethesda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Washington, D.C. Area
Fit for Foodies
Maryland - DC Suburbs
American
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Bethesda / Chevy Chase ›

notable wine list (44)
fit for foodies (43)
special occasion (32)
See All
neighborhood gem (25)
romantic (18)
good for groups (12)
great for lunch (5)
great for brunch (2)
hot spot (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1422 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Inventive pairings of food and wine

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Uncrowded at lunch, attentive waitress. Shrimp & grits a highlight. 3 of us split a chocolate "mousse" with caramel sauce. Over-sweetened.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I didn't know much about Grapeseed, so w ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

I didn't know much about Grapeseed, so was pleasantly surprised at how great the food was here. And also, the service was EXCELLENT. I will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3

Food was decent, not great for the price ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was decent, not great for the price. Trying too hard to sound different. Portion is tiny.

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Mother's Day 2016 - underdone & a over salty chef

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day is a tough day for everyone in the food service industry, but, still, there are some standards that shouldn't be passed on. My daughter had the Chicken and Waffles. Looked good, although one mighty big problem - the largest piece of boneless fried chicken was raw inside (by quite a bit too). They apologized and took the plate. Should the expectation be a completely new dish? Mine is. Not what we got back from our server however. We were seated near the open kitchen. We like open kitchens, so was glad to see when we first were seated. After awhile of being seated - not so much. The chef was having a bad day perhaps, as his salty language being used was much more appropriate for a kitchen way in the back instead of open. Not sure how he could be so unaware of people clearly in earshot of his word choices, especially it being Mother's Day and my teen kids being at my table (and younger ones nearby). The menu was ambitious, the pricing of which was even more ambitious though. Not that it wasn't good food, just not comparable to what was charged in general ($35 for my mushroom and herb omelette from a menue and a first course pass thru at a modest buffet of biscuits, diced fruit and greek yogurt?). Our server was very pleasant and did her best, however, we are still waiting to be asked if we wanted any beverages with our meal other than what kind of water we preferred when we were first seated. They have been open for several years, and Bethesda is a tough town for a restaurant to operate I imagine as many come and go quickly, so they must be doing something right overall I suppose.

food1
ambience3
service1

Don't go there for Mothers Day Brunch. A ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Don't go there for Mothers Day Brunch. All the food tasted and seemed pre made. Not worth the 35$ charge per person. Also the Bloody Marys (12$) were bottomless and we didn't even find out until we saw that on the bill!

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food

Dined on May 7, 2016

Kitchen was gridlocked on a Sat night and service was slow. But food was good and staff attentive.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food

Dined on May 6, 2016

This was my second dinner at Grapeseed in as many months. Each time I was not just pleased, but really wowed by the quality and preparation of the food. Everything, and I mean everything, was exceptional. We had eaten just two nights before at a well known high end restaurant downtown, and the food didn't compare to Grapeseed. The beef was tender, the sauces delicious but not overpowering, the fish beautifully presented and not overcooked, and the dessert wonderful. Portions were generous as well. Service was attentive without being overplayed. Wine selection is hard to beat. Valet parking available. My new "go to" place in Bethesda.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice dinner - too noisy

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

This is the second time I have dined at this restaurant. The food is very good and the wine list has a lot of choices for wines by the glass. However, this is also the second time that the reception has seated me in the front near the window where it is loud. I specifically asked to be seated where it was quiet in my reservation and asked again when I got to the restaurant. The reception said that they weren't serving in the back (quieter) part of the restaurant, but there were people being served there after we came in. Given that our reservation was for 5:30, there is no reason to ignore a specific request. My husband has hearing aids, which I mentioned, and it was VERY loud in the front near the bar. Not as pleasant an evening as I was expecting. Otherwise, as I said, the food and wine was very good. The only note about the food is that I selected a dish with a risotto cake. I expected a gluten free meal, but the risotto cake was battered and deep fried, so I could not eat it at all. Those things should be noted on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Timing

Dined on April 9, 2016

Wait was too long between appetizer and main course. Otherwise, very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

It was their 16 year anniversary menu wi ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

It was their 16 year anniversary menu with optional wine tastings. Food was great but it took them 1 hours before we got our first course. So make sure you have time to dine.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Poor Grapeseed

Dined on April 3, 2016

We have eaten at Grapeseed since it opened and took our family over the weekend. I sent back not only my wine but also my mushroom fricassee. My beet starter was tiny, the waygo beef was stringy, manhattan dull and overall just disappointed -- especially for $179!!

food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Salty April Fool's

Dined on April 2, 2016

The staff was wonderful and the food had a great presentation. However I think some one must have added salt into every single spice mix/ingredient or had a heavy hand. My husband who never makes the comment that his food is too salty told me it was very salty. I drank more water at dinner because I was so dehydrated from the amount of sodium in everything and actually had to continue to drink water when I got home. He ordered a steak and I had scallops so I don't know if there was something wrong with the food that so much salt was added. We had also ordered bbq shrimp as an appetizer that was very sweet and again exceptionally salty.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

My husband and I have eaten here several times. Each time the food has been great and the service is wonderful. The setting is lovely and the noise level is comfortable. A great spot for a date or with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Wow. Gnocchi soft as pillows. Scallops ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Wow. Gnocchi soft as pillows. Scallops seared to perfection in an amazingly tasteful sauce. And broccoli-- which I don't even like- well, we cleaned the plate of the roasted broccoli with Harissa.

food5
ambience5
service5

The scallops were delicious. Perfectly c ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

The scallops were delicious. Perfectly cooked.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Support local and eat well!

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

This is a great restaurant for people who want to support local business. Much of the produce is locally source and the food is phenomenal.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4

First time at Grapeseed. Food and wine w ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

First time at Grapeseed. Food and wine were excellent. We'll likely visit again.

food4
ambience2
service5
value3

The food and service (especially the ser ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

The food and service (especially the service) were top-notch. Oddity--- We were two couples on a midweek night at 7 pm and we were virtually alone in the restaurant.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

We live in Bethesda and eat out a couple ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

We live in Bethesda and eat out a couple nights per week. However, this was our first time eating at Grapeseed. The food was outstanding. Definitely our best experience in DC. We ordered the chef's tasting menu. The attention to detail in the look, texture and flavor of the food was something we haven't found in a Bethesda restaurant. The service was impeccable. From our waiters Lenora to the owners/ chef coming by multiple times to check on us and the food - it was quite the culinary experience! Highly recommended!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brazilian Prix Fixe

Dined on February 28, 2016

All of the dishes included in Grapeseed's recent Brazilian prix fixe menu were outstanding. Pacing was perfect. At $45 for 5 courses, also a great value. Our server was knowledgeable, and the host and staff were all gracious and welcoming.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Still Outstanding

vip
Dined on February 22, 2016

Great experience again. Had apps of cornmeal oysters, rock shrimp & BBQ pork belly. All terrific. Entrees of duck breast, ribeye and the grilled chicken. All cooked perfectly to desired temperature and really delicious (chicken a bit peppery). Really good wine selection (it is Montgomery County though). Will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

not on my list of best restaurants

Dined on February 14, 2016

Expensive fare, but not extraordinary enough to warrant the cost. Too heavy on sauces. More French than American. The back room should only be used for storage, not dining, as it has the ambiance of a barely refinished basement.

food5
ambience2
service4

The lobster was divine, abut small and e ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The lobster was divine, abut small and expensive, but it was Valentine's Day. The waiter didn't know the a la carte menu was available until I told him about it. It was freezing in the restaurant.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Never Disappoints!

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

I first visited Grapeseeds some 7 years ago. Over the years I have been back several times. Each time seemingly better than the last. Last year I came in for lunch and was underwhelmed. So I stayed away for a whole year. I returned last week after a long absence and I am happy to report that Dinner at Grapeseed continues to be a heart warmer. I had the grilled Ribeye - which was a perfect medium. The Brussels sprouts was the right amount of crunch and the Greek Yogurt Cheese Cake is simply better than any cheese cake i have tasted (No, really!). Our waitress (Her name, escapes me - young African american lady), was pleasant, engaging and very knowledgeable about the menu as well as the wine selections. So let me apologize for staying away for so long...!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent

Dined on February 9, 2016

Quiet Monday night dinner. Food was truly outstanding. Everything we ordered exceeded expectations. Small but very nice selection of craft beers complimented the excellent wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Grapeseed still Cooks !

Dined on February 6, 2016

A known, reliable restaurant for Bethesda foodies, Grapeseed has produced exceptional menu items for decades. Chef/Owner, Jeff Heinnemann remains a dependable influence in the kitchen turning out intriguing plates to satisfy most palates. Last night we brought a Carnivore and his Veggie wife to test out the Restaurant Week menu. Her gnocchi was delicious, and his filet mignon kept him delighted even with the oxtail ragout he initially disdained. Our scallops entree along with the salmon entree were very good, being prepared with a complimentary fusion of ingredients. Parenthetically, when will restaurant menus note the ingredients in detail, including- spicy kicks, organic composition and local sourcing? And, can menus mention: "Quiet Please, digestion hindered by ambient levels above 50db"

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Hit the spot

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

My husband and I had dinner during restaurant week. I had the calamari appetizer, the sunchoke soup, and the brick chicken with a glass of wine. My husband had the salmon. Everything was very tasty and our waitstaff was very knowledgeable. We had a wonderful night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food AMAZING SERVICE!

Dined on January 31, 2016

We had the scallops and the Salmon. It was prepared and cooked perfectly! The service was phenomenal! Great wine and craft beer selection.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on January 30, 2016

The waiter Elias was superb. Not afraid to give his recommendations and all his picks were perfect as was the wine he raved about at a very reasonable price. Nice ambience and the room we were in was so nice and quiet even though full. A wonderful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Go for the food, not the setting

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

The drama-free report is: Service was friendly and good timing. Our server 'got us' pretty quickly and we appreciated her sense of humor. Food - all the food was good to excellent. We tried seven different items all together and they all were excellent. Space - clean, but it's sorta like the breakfast lounge turned bar at night at the Marriott Courtyard somewhere in Ohio if you know what I mean. Needs an update.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible find!

Dined on January 16, 2016

Such an incredible restaurant. The owner/chef made sure we were treated well. We arrived early for Happy Hour and sampled the Spanish wines on special for the evening. My husband ordered the 5 dishes included in the Pork & Pinot special of the night which is served Tapas style and each of the dishes were delicious. The rest of our group ordered from the main menu with none of us disappointed. I highly recommend dining at this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

New favorite restaurant in Maryland.

vip
Dined on January 14, 2016

New favorite restaurant in Maryland.

food5
ambience5
service2
value3

GREAT meal AGAIN

Dined on January 10, 2016

This was my second visit. The food was outstanding. Our server seemed a little overtaxed and wasn't very polished (for example cleared our bread plates with appetizer plates, so then we couldn't eat the bread while waiting on the main course). I would not hesitate to go back there again any time!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best upscale dining in Bethesda

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

Fantastic wine list (especially for Montgomery County) complements Chef Heineman's simple and honest modern American cuisine. The suburban setting means you're paying far less than you'd pay for the same food in DC. Watch for occasional multi-course special dinners, when the chef's talents shine brightest, and the value gets even better.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Food!

vip
Dined on January 4, 2016

Grapeseed is in a class by itself in terms of the quality of its food in Bethesda. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best in Bethesda

Dined on January 3, 2016

Food, service and wine list all excellent. Outstanding fish, excellent meats. Creative appetizers. Pleasant ambience; sophisticated, but reasonably informal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Great food, but...

Dined on December 27, 2015

The food at Grapeseed is always high quality. The set up of the restaurant is awkward and the service was very slow on a night when the restaurant was not busy. They definitely need a makeover to make this a better dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

The Wagyu steak was so delicious. Perfec ...

vip
Dined on December 23, 2015

The Wagyu steak was so delicious. Perfectly cooked. The grilled broccoli was done just right and a nice accompaniment. Dessert was wonderful - doughnuts, apple hand pie, lemon pound cake and sorbets to finish it off. A very enjoyable birthday dinner.

food5
ambience3
service5

Great wine.... awesome food!

Dined on October 24, 2015

The wine list and pairings were spot on. Excellent opportunity to try new wines in the right setting. However the food was what's most memorable. The gnocchi with boar appetizer left me wanting it for a meal. The dry aged rib eye was as good as most better steak houses.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Listen to your waiter

Dined on September 29, 2015

Appetizers, as was noted in many of the reviews I read, were perfect. My dinner companions also complimented the beef, which was recommended by our waiter. The pumpkin gnocchi had entirely too much garlic -- this, coming from someone who typically doubles or triples garlic called for in recipes. General frustration: I understand what Open Table ratings mean in Seattle, on the West Coast and in NYC. My experiences in the DC area have left me underwhelmed and a bit disappointed. Perhaps the kitchen just had an off night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.