About Grapeseed – Bethesda

Grapeseed – Bethesda is a casual bistro that matches great food and wine together. With anywhere from 80 to 100 wines by the glass and approximately 325 bottle listed, we cater to the novice wine lover and to the experienced. We start with a bottle of wine and pick out the characteristics and nuances of the wine and then award winning Chef Jeffrey Heineman creates a menu item to highlight the flavors of the wine. So come in and relax, have a taste or a glass of wine and try something on our ever-changing menu.

4865 Cordell Avenue
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday: Closed

Cross Street:
between Norfolk and Woodmont

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 986-9592

Website:
http://www.grapeseedbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Grapeseed is conveniently located near 3 public parking garages, there is ample street parking, and we offer valet parking for $7.

Public Transit:
Grapeseed is located 1/2 mile from the Bethesda Metro stop on the Red Line.

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Heineman

Private Party Facilities:
Grapeseed is sure to become your favorite destination for all of your special events. Whether you are planning an intimate dinner in our Wine Room, a group of up to 34 in our Private Dining Room or reserving the entire restaurant for your special event Grapeseed has a room to fit your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Jeff Heineman, Chef/Owner : (877) 250-4730

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please join our mailing list on our website for up incoming events and specials!

Grapeseed – Bethesda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Fit for Foodies (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Romantic (8)
Private Room (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Casual (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Authentic (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fun (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Cozy (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1582 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We have been going to Grapeseed periodically for years. The food is always very good. The menu is interesting. There are alway interesting weekend menus. The wine list is great, varied and reasonably priced. There are interesting wine pairing suggestions with each menu item. We always wonder why we don't go there more often. It is easily one of the best restaurants in Bethesda right now.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We were a bit skeptical when we entered as the restaurant was completely empty save one table, but our waiter was incredibly warm and welcoming from the instant we entered. They are known for having an extensive wine list, and it did not disappoint. We ended up having an excellent bottle of Trocken, probably about half the appetizers on the menu and some really wonderful softshell crab. Our waiter was friendly and attentive, the food was great, and we plan to be back soon.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 9, 2017

On a recommendation I ordered the cornmeal crusted oysters and they were so chewy I was very disappointed. We decided to end our stay after the appetizers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Going away luncheon

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The food and service at Grapeseed were excellent. I started with Mushroom Fricassee which was delicious. My companion went to a Risotto dish with asparagus while I opted for Salmon with Brussels Sprouts. Good. Good. Desert was a Chocolate Cremeaux which was better than ice cream! All in all, a tasty meal.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful food. The atmosphere and food preparation were superior. The service, while adequate, was not on par with the rest of the staff.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

As usual, everything we (3 of us) had was delicious. We will go there again soon.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Consistently good food and service. Excellent wine list. Outstanding meats, vegetable options and presentation. I particularly enjoy when they present a frequent customer's family recipes that Jeff makes with his own flair! The addition of a couple draft beer choices is a nice addition.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Authentic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Love, love , love this place. We were greeted and treated like royalty. Everything from the warm bread to the delicious soup, salad, ribeye and chicken was delicious. Amazing wine list as well. The service was outstanding and my husband and I had a wonderful date night out. We cannot wait to go back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was a complete disappointment. We went there for Easter. The $35 per person for the brunch buffet was definitely too much. As one of my kids said "this is worst than a buffet at a Hotel".

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Went for the 17 anniversary special menu. Arrived to discover all sold out. Expected a great meal but immensely disappointed with the regular menu. Chef-owner said i should have reserved the meal when I made the reservation with OT ! Really?

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We went to Grapeseed for our anniversary and requested - and got - one of the quiet booths toward the back. Not quite as nice as the main room but very quiet and cozy. Service was excellent; waitstaff quite informed about the menu and wine list and attentive throughout meal. Wine list is extensive and lots of interesting options. We each had an appetizer and a main course and shared a dessert - more than enough. The food was wonderful - creative but not too much 'out there' just to be different. We will definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I ordered the Grilled Cauliflower Steak for $24. The others in my group ordered meat and fish entrees for similar prices. I am not exaggerating when I say that I was served TWO cauliflower florets. They were delicious, but the plate was embarrassingly void of food! I had to keep assuring my host that I was fine and it was plenty, but we were all shocked at the portion. I could not complain since I was a guest. But for $24!!! I always order vegetarian options and usually, they are quite plentiful. Not the case here. Very disappointing and frankly, shocking, that they thought they could get away with this. Also, I ordered a hot tea for after dinner and the waitress, who was very pleasant and good, forgot to bring it. So it was not a win for me that night. Everyone else in my group thoroughly enjoyed their food and their portions were a good (normal) size. And we are not looking for huge portions, either.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Excellent food with a reasonably priced, thoughtful wine menu. Very quiet and a great place to have a business meeting etc.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Grapeseed was sensational as usual. On this most recent ocasion I went there for an intimate dinner with my wife who accompanied me to a meeting in the Betheda area. The food is exquisite! Plates are prepared with fresh ingredients and the combination of flavors make Grapeseed one of the best restaurants in Bethesda. The selection of wines to accompany the different food servings is simply stellar!
Service is top! You feel that you are the only client having dinner there.
I can not wait to visit again!
I recommend this restaurant for special occasions and business meetings.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great experience

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Shouldn' allow infants after 8pm ruins atmosphere with crying baby while you are dining

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The food was great. I've never had a Teres Major beefsteak before, and it was outstanding, especially with the oxtail sauce. Service was excellent. Thanks!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great server, great food!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Our bartender was great. Let us take our time and enjoy the evening. The Cauliflower steak was great and so were the scallops. Had the greek yogurt cheesecake at the end and it was perfect.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food and service were great, as is the wine list. Interior design is a little stale, and I was jealous to see neighboring restaurants' liveliness, while this one was completely empty. Great for a quiet conversation though.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I just want to say that I may have just gone on a day that isn't popular. They did mention Mondays are not their busy day, I am fine with that. I think being that it had such an extensive wine list the waiter would have been more engaged with us to explain the wine list or at least have alot more input based on what flavor profiles we said we liked. Being that we were the only ones there, they had just opened for dinner, I guess I just expected a little more expertise on behalf of the waiter. I would try this place again at a better time and hopefully will have a different result. Also, I did not have any food but this review system made me select something before I could move on. For that I apologize.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Pictures? I don't have pictures to share with you but let me tell you . . . . .

The food is amazing! From appetizers to dessert everything was great. If I come back to the area I'll definitely be back for seconds!

I applaud the waiter for getting my wife to try something she always refused to eat. Duck!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The restaurant was empty at lunchtime except for us! Don't know why no one was there!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The money we paid with the service, we will not come back to this restaurant. We have been to several similar level restaurants, never need to ask 3 times for bread and butter. The waiter only filled up the water glass next table, but my husband's glass was empty, he did not even bother to check. Not worth to go back again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I do not like to have to send the bill back because I was overcharged by $4 for my entree. If this is a pattern then they probably make a lot of money assuming patrons won't notice or won't remember the price on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was good. Only issue was the salad to start. A green salad was literally just lettuce on a plate. And it was pretty small. $9. Kind of ridiculous.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We have been here a few times and food, service have been superior. This visit was during Restaurant Week and the deal here was excellent. Unfortunately, the service was well below what it should have been. Wait staff seemed stressed. Had to ask for obvious things like water, missing place setting, etc. Food not ordered was brought to our table by mistake. Nothing momentous in isolation but it adds up. This is not an inexpensive restaurant and service should match prices. In the past it has, so this might have been an anomaly. Food was excellent and this is a comfortable place to dine so we will return.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The value was outstanding as this was Restaurant Week... Otherwise it is pricey... but worth it. Because of the RW deal (3 courses for $35) it was a GREAT opportunity to try the cuisine at a reasonable price.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Good food, great wine and excellent service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My friends and I enjoy eating at Grapeseed with the creative and changing menu that includes excellent meats and seafood along with suggested wine pairings. My dinner included local scallopes and another guest had shrimp. Both dishes were exceptional well prepared, seasoned, and cooked to the correct temperature. The appetizer included fresh and well prepared oysters. The wine pairings were appropriate for and enhanced each course. Service was exceptionally good and efficient especially on a busy Saturday night. Grapeseed is a lovely neighborhood restaurant that accommodates the needs of the patrons.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This visit was for dinner during Bethesda Restaurant Week. The selections were very inviting and the food was delicious. We also enjoyed a couple of nice wines with our dinner. The service was adequate but we had a few service issues. We have dined at Grapeseed several times and have not had these issues previously.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food was good but not great. Loved the signatue mushroom appetizer, but the shrimp and grits was nothing to talk about neither was the fried oysters. Ran out of wine we were drinking after 1st glass. I really liked the atmosphere and the hostess and waiter were great. I also loved the bathroom. I always check out the bathroom, if not clean figure kitchen is not either. Your was good!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 17, 2017

This was the second time in a week that we visited Grapeseed. Restaurant week. My husband had the same meal he had before, the fried oysters and the salmon. I had a salad and steak frites. We asked for bread and was told they would not be getting any in until 3 p.m. We are diabetics and my husbands meal and few cards, hence the request for bread. My appetizer choice was a salad. The amount of greens on the plate was so small it didn't deserve the word salad. I should have said something, did not. Seems that unlike other restaurants in the area the quality is not consistent. Prior to these visits had not been in Grapeseed ub 2/3 years. The reason was that of five of us only two were satisfied with the entrees.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The meals were excellent. My husband had salmon and I had shrimp and grits. Husband loved the salmon. My plate had 5 good sized shrimp on grits with a creamy sauce. Very good. The appetizer was oysters in corn meal breading over a pepper jam. Tasty but just a touch too much breading for me. We plan to go back tomorrow! Service is good, no hovering over the table; pouring water when needed. We have been to Grapeseed many times since they first opened. Always enjoyable.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Healthy, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I have been going to this restaurant for some time, it is always a great pleasure to have a new dish and a new taste (from so many different cultures) and I have never been disappointed. Servers are always so friendly, knowledgeable and prompt to attend your requests. My wife and I had our private wedding celebration here. so intimate and cozy, we loved it and keep coming back... thanks Elias our favorite waiter...

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The restaurant was not very busy the evening we dined but heavy metal rock music was blairing -- we thought an odd choice for this type of restaurant. Our group was 20-somethings and parents all of whom agreed about the music. We did ask our server if the music could be turned down and he readily obliged but still the music was very distracting. We had not dined there in some time and perhaps they are going for a different vibe than we had anticipated -- the food was very good and some of the dishes were outstanding, but the music was a major detractor.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a New Year's meal. The food was excellent, as was the service. We should have tried this earlier.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve dinner with children. Staff was particularly attentive to the children. The food was very good. Very innovative and mostly excellent. Some ideas don't work well; others are fantastic.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We dined on the Seven Fishes special Friday night. Everything was delicious. Strongly recommend the tasting menus on the weekends.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Private Room, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.