About Grapeseed – Bethesda

4865 Cordell Avenue
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Grapeseed – Bethesda is a casual bistro that matches great food and wine together. With anywhere from 80 to 100 wines by the glass and approximately 325 bottle listed, we cater to the novice wine lover and to the experienced. We start with a bottle of wine and pick out the characteristics and nuances of the wine and then award winning Chef Jeffrey Heineman creates a menu item to highlight the flavors of the wine. So come in and relax, have a taste or a glass of wine and try something on our ever-changing menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday: Closed

Cross Street:
between Norfolk and Woodmont

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 986-9592

Website:
http://www.grapeseedbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Grapeseed is conveniently located near 3 public parking garages, there is ample street parking, and we offer valet parking for $7.

Public Transit:
Grapeseed is located 1/2 mile from the Bethesda Metro stop on the Red Line.

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Heineman

Private Party Facilities:
Grapeseed is sure to become your favorite destination for all of your special events. Whether you are planning an intimate dinner in our Wine Room, a group of up to 34 in our Private Dining Room or reserving the entire restaurant for your special event Grapeseed has a room to fit your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Jeff Heineman, Chef/Owner : 8772504730

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please join our mailing list on our website for up incoming events and specials!

Restaurant Photos

Ginger Spice Cake
Beef Tenderloin Tips
Sugar Maple Grilled Chicken
beef short ribs
Pork Chop
Pan seared scallops with corn grits
Filet Mignon with Horseradish Mash Potatoes
Ginger Chocolate Cake W/ "Amish Pie" Ice-Cream
Pork Belly
Tuna Salad
Mussels Chorizo

Grapeseed – Bethesda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Restaurants in Bethesda / Chevy Chase ›

Notable Wine List (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Special Occasion (13)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Great for Lunch (6)
Romantic (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Private Room (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Business Meals (1)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1443 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a delightful dinner for my birthd ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had a delightful dinner for my birthday. The food was excellent. We particularly enjoyed the Barbecue.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Not the restaurant it used to be. No amu ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Not the restaurant it used to be. No amuse bouche/lagniappe of peppers in oil. No bread offered. They asked us to keep our forks between courses. Terrible fishy/iodine smell coming from kitchen, making me wonder if that was coming from my scallops! Probably it wasn't because they were just okay, pretty flabby and tasteless. No nice crispness that a hot pan should give seared scallops.

Cornmeal-fried oysters were good.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

I've probably eaten here a dozen times, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

I've probably eaten here a dozen times, and never had anything that wasn't well prepared. Great wine, great food, great service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Given the name, you'd expect a very nice ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Given the name, you'd expect a very nice wine list – and you'd be happy to find there is one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I asked the hostess for a different tabl ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I asked the hostess for a different table, (closer to the windows) and she told us they (3 of them) were all reserved. Nobody ever came and sat in the table the entire hour and a half we were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

The restaurant needs a facelift. The car ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The restaurant needs a facelift. The carpet is old and looks like carpet in a café. The lighting in the main room is also poor. The tables in the back and the wine cellar look great. Its just the central dining room that was disappointing. Food and drinks were awesome though!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

We took advantage of the restaurant week ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We took advantage of the restaurant week menu and it was excellent. The appetizers-salad and entree were rated 5stars by all 4 of us who went. The gnocchi appetizer was our favorite. The Brick Chicken, Scallops, Filet and Salmon did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It turns out that the $16 Restaurant Wee ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

It turns out that the $16 Restaurant Week lunch represents a saving of $1.00 from their normal lunch special! More importantly, the food was mediocre at best. The mushroom and polenta appetizer was far too rich, swimming in a probable mixture of butter and olive oil. The seafood stew, masquerading as cioppino, was bland and uninspired. The waitress was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

The salad that we ordered is mixed with ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The salad that we ordered is mixed with bad leaves and not so fresh greens. When we tried to ask waitress, she insisted that's nothing and the salad is always like that. Well, that means this type of low quality salad is their standard of food. Won't visit again for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Have not been for years. Poor service an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Have not been for years. Poor service and poor food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Good overall ... restaurant was not very ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Good overall ... restaurant was not very crowded at 6:30pm on the Sat evening we went, but still, the service was very slow. Staff were joking and gabbing around bar, and did not appear to be paying a whole lot of attention to guests; this has been a chronic complaint for last several years. Food is consistently good and wine/bar selections are very good. Can get very noisy out front by bar and kitchen; rear is a bit quieter, but can still become loud. We'll go back for food and drinks, but certainly not because of the service, atmosphere, or ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

I found Grapeseed on OpenTable when I wa ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I found Grapeseed on OpenTable when I was looking for a place to take my wife for our 19th Anniversary. I chose the listing based on the amount of wines that was mentioned which we both enjoy, and the proximity to where she works since it was a weeknight meet up for us. What I should have listened to but ignored was others mentioning the portion sizes, prices and the seating.

When we arrived there was literally no other diners in the restaurant and when I asked for a quiet both in the back I was told there was a large party sitting back there and it was unavailable, then I was shown to a table between the kitchen and the bar. This area is the worst seats in the house but the most convient to a waiter who didn't want to walk very far I guess. It was very noisy from both directions and not romantic at all. Needless to say there was no large party in the back in fact except for some apparent regulars to the bar no one came or went the entire 2 hours we were there. I definitly do not being lied to by the staff.

I will also have to agree with other posters about the size of the portions. While I will give props to the chef as the food was very good, just because you are trying to seem like a fancy resturant doesn't mean you really are one. For instance the appetizer was three fried muscles for two people...THREE, yet the people in the bar were wearing jeans, t-shirts and hats, come on now!!! That is something I would expect from a neighboorhood bar and grill like Applebees not someone charging as much as they do for a meal. Also the desert was two little melon ball scoops of a chocolate moose, that is not a desert more of a tease and you still wanted $10+.

All in all we enjoyed the main course, the wine and the company but for the price and for the atmosphere you should probably take your business elsewhere.

Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

Great food and wonderful wine selection

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food and wonderful wine selection

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our second visit to Grapeseed. The servi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our second visit to Grapeseed. The service and the food were OK, but not up to the prices. The wait staff were often busy with a big party, but for the prices, the service should be better and the food should also be better, e.g., the fried oysters were not crispy on the outside. There are better choices in Bethesda at the price level. Sorry, Grapeseed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Grapeseed has settled in to a comfortabl ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Grapeseed has settled in to a comfortable groove that comes from 17 years of experience with the same owner/chef. The choices are innovative and well prepared - qualities that farm fresh, nouvous cuisine establishments brag about but often don't deliver on. There is a light touch to food preparation which is greatly appreciated. Gone are the go go days when it was THE restaurant in Bethesda. Competition is getting stiff especially with its off spring restaurant next door. It is an almost forgotten gem with tables available even during peak hours. Support local excellence and go go soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was mediocre...had the scallops and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was mediocre...had the scallops and they were surprisingly small and over cooked. Chicken dish was succulent, but price was too high for quality of food. Value is not worth the price. I certainly would not recommend based on relative quality and food options for much less at other dining establishments.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We celebrated our anniversary on a Wedne ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary on a Wednesday night the week of July 4. As expected, it wasn't very crowded. But the food was absolutely amazing and the wine pairings were perfect. My wife and I will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I hadn't been to Grapeseed in over a yea ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I hadn't been to Grapeseed in over a year---it used to be a favorite. The food is still very good. The mushroom polenta is still insane. The service is not as good as it should be; it is SLOW. The wait-staff seemed young and inexperienced. The prices are still a little high.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Yummy!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Went to Grapeseed for one of their specialty dinners - this one with a Thai theme. We couldn't have been more pleased with the food....absolutely delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Inventive pairings of food and wine

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Uncrowded at lunch, attentive waitress. Shrimp & grits a highlight. 3 of us split a chocolate "mousse" with caramel sauce. Over-sweetened.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I didn't know much about Grapeseed, so w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

I didn't know much about Grapeseed, so was pleasantly surprised at how great the food was here. And also, the service was EXCELLENT. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was decent, not great for the price ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was decent, not great for the price. Trying too hard to sound different. Portion is tiny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Mother's Day 2016 - underdone & a over salty chef

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day is a tough day for everyone in the food service industry, but, still, there are some standards that shouldn't be passed on.

My daughter had the Chicken and Waffles. Looked good, although one mighty big problem - the largest piece of boneless fried chicken was raw inside (by quite a bit too). They apologized and took the plate. Should the expectation be a completely new dish? Mine is. Not what we got back from our server however.

We were seated near the open kitchen. We like open kitchens, so was glad to see when we first were seated. After awhile of being seated - not so much. The chef was having a bad day perhaps, as his salty language being used was much more appropriate for a kitchen way in the back instead of open. Not sure how he could be so unaware of people clearly in earshot of his word choices, especially it being Mother's Day and my teen kids being at my table (and younger ones nearby).

The menu was ambitious, the pricing of which was even more ambitious though. Not that it wasn't good food, just not comparable to what was charged in general ($35 for my mushroom and herb omelette from a menue and a first course pass thru at a modest buffet of biscuits, diced fruit and greek yogurt?).

Our server was very pleasant and did her best, however, we are still waiting to be asked if we wanted any beverages with our meal other than what kind of water we preferred when we were first seated.

They have been open for several years, and Bethesda is a tough town for a restaurant to operate I imagine as many come and go quickly, so they must be doing something right overall I suppose.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Don't go there for Mothers Day Brunch. A ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Don't go there for Mothers Day Brunch. All the food tasted and seemed pre made. Not worth the 35$ charge per person. Also the Bloody Marys (12$) were bottomless and we didn't even find out until we saw that on the bill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Good food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Kitchen was gridlocked on a Sat night and service was slow. But food was good and staff attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Excellent Food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

This was my second dinner at Grapeseed in as many months. Each time I was not just pleased, but really wowed by the quality and preparation of the food. Everything, and I mean everything, was exceptional. We had eaten just two nights before at a well known high end restaurant downtown, and the food didn't compare to Grapeseed. The beef was tender, the sauces delicious but not overpowering, the fish beautifully presented and not overcooked, and the dessert wonderful. Portions were generous as well. Service was attentive without being overplayed. Wine selection is hard to beat. Valet parking available. My new "go to" place in Bethesda.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice dinner - too noisy

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

This is the second time I have dined at this restaurant. The food is very good and the wine list has a lot of choices for wines by the glass. However, this is also the second time that the reception has seated me in the front near the window where it is loud. I specifically asked to be seated where it was quiet in my reservation and asked again when I got to the restaurant. The reception said that they weren't serving in the back (quieter) part of the restaurant, but there were people being served there after we came in. Given that our reservation was for 5:30, there is no reason to ignore a specific request. My husband has hearing aids, which I mentioned, and it was VERY loud in the front near the bar. Not as pleasant an evening as I was expecting.

Otherwise, as I said, the food and wine was very good.

The only note about the food is that I selected a dish with a risotto cake. I expected a gluten free meal, but the risotto cake was battered and deep fried, so I could not eat it at all. Those things should be noted on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I'm afraid this is not the Grapeseed I r ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

I'm afraid this is not the Grapeseed I remember. I went several times years ago when we lived in Bethesda and it was excellent. Our meal was not excellent but average nor was the service. There was a large party in the glassed off reserved section which had people running in and out for 1 1/2 hours, servers and guests alike. But really the big issue seems to be consistency. Some dinners have had great meals others... not so much. Why take the risk, there are so many choices. in Bethesda. I hope Grapeseed gets their act back together again. Might try them again if I start seeing more consistent good reviews.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Timing

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Wait was too long between appetizer and main course. Otherwise, very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

It was their 16 year anniversary menu wi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

It was their 16 year anniversary menu with optional wine tastings. Food was great but it took them 1 hours before we got our first course. So make sure you have time to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

Poor Grapeseed

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We have eaten at Grapeseed since it opened and took our family over the weekend. I sent back not only my wine but also my mushroom fricassee. My beet starter was tiny, the waygo beef was stringy, manhattan dull and overall just disappointed -- especially for $179!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Salty April Fool's

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

The staff was wonderful and the food had a great presentation. However I think some one must have added salt into every single spice mix/ingredient or had a heavy hand. My husband who never makes the comment that his food is too salty told me it was very salty. I drank more water at dinner because I was so dehydrated from the amount of sodium in everything and actually had to continue to drink water when I got home. He ordered a steak and I had scallops so I don't know if there was something wrong with the food that so much salt was added. We had also ordered bbq shrimp as an appetizer that was very sweet and again exceptionally salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We were the only people in the restauran ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

We were the only people in the restaurant! Went for my dad's 70th birthday celebration. Food was fine but not great. Service was good. Food was underwhelming and certainly not abundant, given the steep cost. Now I know why we were the only people there. Very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Consistently excellent

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

My husband and I have eaten here several times. Each time the food has been great and the service is wonderful. The setting is lovely and the noise level is comfortable. A great spot for a date or with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow. Gnocchi soft as pillows. Scallops ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Wow. Gnocchi soft as pillows. Scallops seared to perfection in an amazingly tasteful sauce. And broccoli-- which I don't even like- well, we cleaned the plate of the roasted broccoli with Harissa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The scallops were delicious. Perfectly c ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

The scallops were delicious. Perfectly cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Support local and eat well!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

This is a great restaurant for people who want to support local business. Much of the produce is locally source and the food is phenomenal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time at Grapeseed. Food and wine w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

First time at Grapeseed. Food and wine were excellent. We'll likely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food and service (especially the ser ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

The food and service (especially the service) were top-notch. Oddity--- We were two couples on a midweek night at 7 pm and we were virtually alone in the restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

We live in Bethesda and eat out a couple ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We live in Bethesda and eat out a couple nights per week. However, this was our first time eating at Grapeseed. The food was outstanding. Definitely our best experience in DC. We ordered the chef's tasting menu. The attention to detail in the look, texture and flavor of the food was something we haven't found in a Bethesda restaurant. The service was impeccable. From our waiters Lenora to the owners/ chef coming by multiple times to check on us and the food - it was quite the culinary experience! Highly recommended!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.