Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Magnolias at the millMagnolias at the mill
(1525)
American | Purcellville, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Reserve Now
The West End Wine Bar & PubThe West End Wine Bar & Pub
(61)
American | Purcellville, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Reserve Now
WK HearthWK Hearth
(148)
Italian | Purcellville, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Reserve Now
ThaiverseThaiverse
(18)
Thai | Lovettsville, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Reserve Now
Tuscarora MillTuscarora Mill
(2185)
American | Leesburg, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Reserve Now
Palio Ristorante ItalianoPalio Ristorante Italiano
(283)
Italian | Leesburg, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Reserve Now
Lightfoot RestaurantLightfoot Restaurant
(1632)
American | Leesburg, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Reserve Now
The Restaurant at Patowmack FarmThe Restaurant at Patowmack Farm
(541)
American | Lovettsville, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Reserve Now
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - AshburnCooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Ashburn
(178)
Contemporary American | Ashburn, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Reserve Now
Pike's Fish HousePike's Fish House
(97)
Seafood | Leesburg, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Reserve Now
Cajun Experience - LeesburgCajun Experience - Leesburg
(48)
Cajun | Leesburg, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Reserve Now
Clyde's Willow Creek FarmClyde's Willow Creek Farm
(3196)
American | Leesburg, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Reserve Now
Shoe's Cup & CorkShoe's Cup & Cork
(27)
American | Leesburg, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Reserve Now
Hunter's Head TavernHunter's Head Tavern
(613)
Gastro Pub | Upperville, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Reserve Now
Not Your Average Joe's LansdowneNot Your Average Joe's Lansdowne
(584)
Contemporary American | Lansdowne, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Reserve Now

About Grandale Restaurant

14001 Harpers Ferry Rd
Purcellville, VA 20132
View Larger Map

Grandale is a unique destination restaurant celebrating the finest in farm-fresh contemporary American cuisine. If you'd like, enjoy a wine tasting at our vineyard before your meal. Then relax in front of our wood-burning fireplace or outdoors on our patio with an exquisite meal where flavor after flavor will intrigue and delight you. We have an extensive Virginia and international wine list and offer a paired tasting menu the first and third Friday nights of every month.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 11:00am - 6:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 12:00pm - 7:00pm,

Cross Street:
Rt 9

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 668-6000

Website:
http://www.grandalerestaurant.com/

Catering:
Grandale Restaurant offers event catering throughout Loudoun County. Your guests will enjoy the finest in farm-fresh contemporary American cuisine served by professional wait staff and you will enjoy knowing that all the details have been taken care of. Vegetarian, vegan and specialty menus available.

Executive Chef:
Author Clark

Private Party Facilities:
We offer our vineyard tasting room as a wonderful private dining area for your event, serving 20 to 55 people for a seated dinner. Our After Hours pricing includes all set up, staffing, open bar and an incredible meal from Grandale. Please see our web site for pricing and dining options.

Private Party Contact:
Author Clark: 5406686000x

Additional:
Farm to Table, Fireplace, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Grandale Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

5

service

5

ambience

5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend
Sort By:
Newest
189 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Really top notch food and prices very re ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Really top notch food and prices very reasonable for this quality.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent for lunch or dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

We've been to Grandale for lunch and the view on the patio is spectacular and the food excellent. This time we went for Valentine's Day. The dinner menu was excellent and the food was delicious. If you like going for a ride in the country, you'd love stopping off here to eat. The service staff was very friendly and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Small menu but good plates

Dined on February 14, 2016

I had the cherry duck and it was incredible and very tasty. I do wish it came with a little more than duck and fresh toast but the cab sauv was also great

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful place

Dined on February 13, 2016

I loved the combinations of flavors. We had the duck tamales which were delicious but the grilled bib salad was a true gem. Our entrees were the grouper and lobster risotto. Both very good

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely food and service

Dined on February 7, 2016

Beautiful food and special treatments for birthday, just a little to loud as the room has no soundproofing and we had people next to us who didn't know what an inside voice was.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A most delightful lunch at a winery

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

We had a delightful lunch to celebrate my wife's birthday. The waitress did not always have answers to my questions, but she promptly found someone on staff who did have the answer. The wine pairings with foods were excellent. We can't wait to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Anniversary dinner

Dined on February 5, 2016

The food at Grandale's is always exceptional and we weren't disappointed. We love the farm to table menu options & appreciate having th opportunity to try new menu selections when we visit,

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't go wrong

Dined on January 30, 2016

Grandale, by far, is one of our favorite restaurants. It is a quaint, farm to table fine dining experience. I requested a table by the fireplace for my husband's birthday celebration, and they didn't disappoint. We've been to Grandale many times, mostly for special occasions. But this is also where we got married. The views/food/service are all consistently outstanding. We love to sit outside during the warmer months. The other thing I LOVE is that the music isn't too loud. They play a nice selection and you can still carry on a conversation without yelling at the person beside you. If you're ready to treat yourself - I recommend trying Grandale.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

A MUST!!

Dined on January 30, 2016

Love this place. It is a short drive from our house and we plan on coming back as much as possible. The food was fantastic! Even the salads were unbelievable!! The duck galette was more exquisite than it sounded on the menu. Can't wait to see what next visit will be on the menu! Great place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on January 30, 2016

I make a habit of having dinner at this place every time I'm in the area. Have a fantastic selection of wine from both their partner vineyard 868 and regional vineyards. I always try something new when I go and never had anything I wouldn't have again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely setting and wonderful food!

Dined on January 16, 2016

We had a very nice, romantic evening at Grandale until the loud ladies arrived from the wine tasting next door. The food was awesome, the fireplace warming, and the company superb as my husband and I celebrated our 27th wedding anniversary that evening. Our only complaint was the table of loud ladies. Other than that, we highly recommend Grandale.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3

Fun for lunch

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

Fun for lunch

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must try!

Dined on January 9, 2016

Food was amazing and service was wonderful. My husband thought the lamb was the best he has EVER had. My halibut was delicious as well. Highly recommend

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Relaxed intimate dining

Dined on January 3, 2016

I love the Grandale. It is a quiet and intimate dining experience. This time my brunch was set beside a warm roaring fire, but during the summer months I love enjoying brunch on the patio with views of the old farm and vineyard.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

New years dinner

Dined on January 1, 2016

My boyfriend and I made a reservation here for New Year's Eve. I've been here before and loved the ambiance so we thought it would be nice to come back again. They have a very nice wine list. Food was pretty good flavor wise and looked great. They had a lot of servers this night but didn't seem to be overly busy. It took about 40 minutes to get our appetizer which they decided to comp for us because of the long ticket time. Then it took about a hour for us to get our entrees(filet mignon) so they ended up comping the entire meal. In the end we were happy with our free meal ( besides the tip) and were busy enjoying one another to really notice the long ticket time. The filet was pretty good but nothing I would brag about. We still really enjoyed our evening and really appreciate them going out of their way to make their faults up to us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Picked Grandale based on OpenTable recco ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

Picked Grandale based on OpenTable reccomendations and we were not disappointed. Great food, service, and atmosphere. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbelievable dining experience! Go for t ...

Dined on December 23, 2015

Unbelievable dining experience! Go for the afternoon and do the wine tasting then stay for dinner...simply amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Romantic Ambiance, Unique Flavors, Best Wine!

Dined on December 13, 2015

My experience at Grandale was nothing short of spectacular. My boyfriend and I went here for a romantic dinner, and we were blown away by the food and wine. For an dinner, we had the duck galette and the butter poached Mahi-Mahi, which was packed full of flavor and cooked to perfection. The array of different ingredients on their dinner menu was astonishing--not one listed item had the same set of ingredients, flavors, or spices. The food was locally grown, which made for a refreshingly fresh meal. For dessert, we enjoyed a sinful flourless chocolate cake. To round it all off, we enjoyed a bottle of 868 Reisling, which was not overpoweringly sweet and and had a clean, crisp body to it. This had to have been one of the best meals I have ever had, and it was well worth every penny spent. I would highly recommend this restaurant and this winery to anyone who is considering it. Thank you Grandale, for a delicious, pleasant experience for our anniversary dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Had another wonderful dinner here with o ...

Dined on December 12, 2015

Had another wonderful dinner here with our friends who were celebrating their wedding anniversary. My steak was a little overcooked, appetizers were great, and so was the wine, our favorite Rousanne. The atmosphere was great, and our server Sarah provided excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

An evening with friends

Dined on December 11, 2015

We've been to Grandale several times & each time we have a great experience. This time there was a party of 10 in the restaurant at the same time as us. They weren't overly loud but being a small space the noise did carry a bit. We still had a great time but the feeling wasn't as intimate as it usually was for us. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service4

Disappointing.

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

I've had some decent meals here in the past including In August but Saturday's meal was a big disappointment. The soup came out lukewarm, the "fried" chicken was more like a bad schnitzel and burned in spots and my husband's skate was overcooked. The sides were bland and uninspired. The service was good but not what I'm paying for quite frankly. They had a big special event next door so maybe the rookies were in the kitchen. For the price and intent to be a food destination in what is still a food desert I just left feeling sad.

food4
ambience5
service5

Good food but not many vegetarian option ...

vip
Dined on November 29, 2015

Good food but not many vegetarian options. The atmosphere was nice and romantic. Not many brunch options (only 2 available) so I wouldn't go there for brunch. Seasonal food which makes it fresh. Wonderful service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!

Dined on November 28, 2015

Always a wonderful experience. Great food, atmosphere and service!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

Dined on November 25, 2015

What a delightful evening we had at Grandale. The food and service were excellent. We look forward to returning especially in the Spring and Summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Evening

Dined on November 22, 2015

Visited to celebrate birthdays with friends. Food was great and the ambience was just what we were looking for -- quiet and friendly. We dined in front of a warm fire. Looking out at the patio, we pledged to come back in the Spring or Summer.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

One my TOP Favs!

Dined on November 4, 2015

Love at first visit! The food is absolutely delicious. Creative, made from the freshest ingredients, and just the right amount. The staff is flawless... providing excellent service in every way. The setting is truly beautiful. You will simply not want to leave this place and when you do... you will immediately be looking forward to your next visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Fabulous Fall Luncheon on the Deck in Wine Country

vip
Dined on November 1, 2015

Grandale has become our "go-to" restaurant on tasting visits to Wine Country. The menu is creative with offerings for everyone. We've never been disappointed. We were fortunate that our Sunday afternoon visit permitted outdoor dining (a late fall weather gift). This so much adds to the experience, particularly the inside din would have detracted from the experience. Our server, Sarah, was an absolute delight.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food, beautiful setting

Dined on October 25, 2015

If you appreciate fine food and wine this should be on your 'to visit' list. I recently dined at a one Michelin star rated restaurant in London, which was fab., but lunch last Sunday at Grandale was just as memorable. Perhaps we chose well - crab cake followed by duck followed by a shared cheese platter - but after this visit I want to return! Nuff said!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Date night!

Dined on October 24, 2015

Really enjoyed dining here. Steak could have had more flavor but veggies, potato and salad were delicious!! Small restaurant but very cozy and romantic . Would recommend and return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5

Good

vip
Dined on October 24, 2015

Our salads were outstanding, but my husband was a little disappointed in his duck. The salad the duck was served over didn't compliment the duck. It was too quiet; a little music and some decorating touches are needed.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food. Great service. Restful ambiance.

Dined on October 22, 2015

Lobster risotto was sublime. Outdoor dining was relaxing. Wine suggestion was spot on. Service was excellent

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Nice Out-of-the-Way

Dined on October 22, 2015

2nd visit - we will return Attractive Menu choices with reasonable prices. Overall selection and chef preparation was very well done. The evening was busier than normal, yet the the server did well. We were not in a hurry. The Duck was excellent but should have been hotter when brought to the table. Not sure they have an infra-red heat lamp to keep food hot waiting to be served. The coffee finish was hot and unusually good roast.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

always reliable

Dined on October 17, 2015

We've been here twice and enjoyed both times. Solid kitchen and excellent presentation. Cozy in winter and great deck for summer

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

DinningExperience

Dined on October 16, 2015

Brought my husband for his birthday dinner, which I made mention when booking on-line. Waitress I advised more then once and know special acknowledgement was made. Did the 4 course wine pairing, little disappointed with Appetizer duck tamales, we felt the duck was a little tough. Other then that we enjoyed the dinner experience. Love your wines and that is why we are members.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing Find for Dinner

Dined on October 16, 2015

Food was amazing! So fresh and full of flavor--- I would love to go back! They say all the food is fresh from local farms, and I believe it. Service was excellent as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

All Good

Dined on October 10, 2015

Splendid food. Great wine. Wonderful service. All told: a lovely and special evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Loudoun's Best Restaurant

Dined on October 10, 2015

There isn't a restaurant in this county that consistently delivers the quality of food, the friendliest staff, and the best dining atmosphere as Grandale Restaurant. Congratulations on your 10th anniversary. Wishing you continued success.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Middle-of-the-road fine dining

Dined on October 3, 2015

This visit was the third for my wife and I. The location is in the north of Loudoun County and a beautiful property. Each visit was for dinner and we sat indoors each time. The dining room is quaint with maybe 10-12 tables. The atmosphere is tailored to our liking and in the cooler seasons the wood-burning fireplace adds a nice ambiance. Generally, the noise level is acceptable for the space although a four-top had exuberant diners on our last trip. We have not visited the onsite winery, but have enjoyed their wines with dinner. Staff/Service is attentive, knowledgeable, and friendly. We don't eat out often, but when we do it is to seek out a farm-to-fork type eatery. We have no reservations about costs associated with local purposeful menus. Grandale makes a moderate effort in this arena. Overall, the food rates as good. I found some dishes to be too salty for my liking which leads me to believe the chef isn't confident in the dish's flavor standing on its own. The other critcism is the breads. The bread has great potential as the type and flavor are to my liking. However, in each of the three dining experiences, the bread was dry. I'm not convinced that the dryness is solely a result of baking, but more likely being cut and exposed to ambient air too long or simply old (stale). Grandale is a nice occasional dining location for my wife and I. We see places where improvement is needed to make this over-all review go from good to very good.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting

Dined on October 1, 2015

Service outstanding, setting beautiful, but food was just okay

food5
ambience5
service5

One of my FAVES!

Dined on September 27, 2015

I have been to Grandale many times, for lunch, brunch and dinner. It was my fiancé's first time though and I felt some pressure- I really wanted him to like it. Well, he did. We could've licked the plates, but then a party of 12 showed up so we couldn't :) We had a pea, prosciutto, mint pesto appetizer that our server said was her favorite- HOLY MOLY it was DELICIOUS! We were the first ones there for brunch on a Sunday, so we both went with eggs benedict, mine with crab meat and his with filet. Man, I can eat that every day for the rest of my life. Although we didn't finish our entrees, it was because we needed to make room for dessert. I can't remember what he had, it was chocolate I think, and that's because the apple pie that I ordered made my life complete! I could drive out there just for that apple pie- in a mason jar, thin crust with this light whip creme. OMG I died and went to heaven. Please please please try the apple pie! Grandale, it wasn't my first time there on Sunday and it won't be my last... and now I someone who will join me each time- he loved it just as much as I do. Please don't change anything- you're PERFECT!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.