Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

About Grand Finale Restaurant

Grand Finale Restaurant opened 1975. Nestled in the Historic Village of Glendale, we offer steaks, chicken, seafood, pastas, crepes, salads and "Grand Finale" desserts. Find a nice selection of cocktails, beer & wine as well. Enjoy the informal charm of a cozy atmosphere which also features a French Quarter styled courtyard that is one-of-a-kind. Grand Finale is open for lunch, dinner, award winning Sunday Brunch Buffet and is available for private parties. Next time you visit, look for the amazing 10+ year list of loyal employees. This venerable establishment in the Cincinnati food scene has been recognized in Cincinnati Magazine for Best Desserts, Cincy Business for Best Brunch and has been noted in Dining Secrets of Indiana and Dave Hunter’s nationally acclaimed travel guide “Along Interstate 75”.

3 E Sharon Rd
Cincinnati, OH 45246
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Creperie, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Brunch
Sun 10:30 am–2:30 pm
Lunch
Tue–Sat 11:00 am–4:00 pm
Dinner
Tue–Thu 4:00 pm–8:45 pm
Fri, Sat 4:00 pm–9:30 pm
Sun 4:30 pm–8:30 pm

Cross Street:
Congress

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 771-5925

Website:
http://www.grandfinale.info/

Executive Chef:
Dave Grady, Fred Mills, Jon Mills

Private Party Facilities:
Perfect for distinctive Corporate Meetings, Private Celebrations, Birthdays,Showers, Rehearsal Dinners,or any private gathering.
Private Attic Parties accommodate up to 20 Guests
Private Tearoom Parties accommodate up to 30 Guests
Private Courtyard Parties accommodate up to 40 Guests
Menus can be carefully pre-planned or "off the Menu" for groups of 20 or less.
Personalized service, flexible seating arrangements, special accommodations.
Private Sunday Brunch Parties In Attic Gallery and Cabernet Room after 11 AM

Private Party Contact:
Virginia Chambers, Vicki Raybuck : (513) 771-5925

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Grand Finale Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (77)
Good for Anniversaries (74)
Neighborhood Gem (67)
See All
Good for a Date (66)
Good for Birthdays (64)
Great for Brunch (59)
Cozy (59)
Romantic (59)
Quiet Conversation (53)
Great for Lunch (42)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Worth the Drive (37)
Good for Groups (33)
Sunday Lunch (31)
Business Meals (26)
Casual (25)
Comfort Food (24)
Authentic (23)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Seasonal (20)
Afternoon Tea (16)
Fun (15)
Afternoon Coffee (13)
Healthy (12)
Tasting Menu (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Disabled Access (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
People Watching (3)
Scenic View (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
894 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

A classic staple in the Glendale area, the Finale was exceptional the last time we ate there. I've been dining there for many years and this past occasion was one of the best I've had in recent memory. Service has always been some of the best in the area and this venture was no different. If you've been thinking about going, don't wait any longer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful antique, quaint atmosphere with amazing service. The downside is the food is just fair - had crepes which were drowning in sauce - so much so that you couldn't really taste anything else (same for the 3 other that ordered crepes). The rolls were stale and salad was just average greens. Go for the quaint atmosphere but many other places for good food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful food. We especially loved the apple cinnamon cheesecake

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Six dinner meals. All were good but each person agreed they were overpriced. Overall: a very nice place for lunch or dinner but only average in terms of "value."

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

This is my favorite small town restaurant. Located in historic Glendale, the food, ambiance, excellent service and sophisticated yet down to earth vibe make this a wonderful place for any occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

We have dined here several times but this may have been our best experience. The atmosphere was cozy and our server Jenny was fabulous. But most of all, there food was top notch, probably the best I've ever had there! Definitely going back as soon as possible!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 7, 2018

The breakfast buffet food wasn’t good especially for the cost. Crepes were over cooked, eggs tasted powdered, a lot of frozen prepared foods. The restaurant wasn’t busy and still couldn’t properly cook foods. At this price point for brunch I was expecting fresh gourmet foods or at least not frozen prepared foods. It was our first time there. The Server didn’t ask for my drink order I had to get her attention to order one. Complimentary pancakes took 20 minutes to get to the table and they were still doughy. Good Desserts but we were there for brunch. Too many staff in the way and the bar isn’t set up right to manage the customer flow and maximize the smallness. The antique dessert display case was dirty and full of dust. People in my party said the restrooms were dirty ,dim lighted and smelled of sewage. Decor inside is nostalgic but needs cleaned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on January 5, 2018

Excellent service. Great food. Awesome desserts. Steak was a tad under-prepared (requested medium+ but was more on the medium rare). Have this problem at many steakhouses. Since when is medium+ or medium well a hot red center (I was taught medium was a line of pink). Overall, great experience regardless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 5, 2018

The Grand Finale is a wonderful place. Our food was very tasty and artfully arranged. However we were seated in the Garden area next to single pane glass doors. Since it was around 10 degrees, the temp of the area around our legs was frigid. So, a word to the wise, go the The Grand Finale and enjoy a wonderful meal with very nice atmosphere, however, avoid the glass side to the 'garden' section in the winter months.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 4, 2018

Perfect as always! You know how you go to a restaurant expecting and craving the meal you had before, as it was such a good experience you can’t wait to repeat? Only to be disappointed and find out they have a new cook or they’ve changed their recipe or worse, they have taken it off the menu altogether? Well I have been dining at Grand Finale for years enjoying my favorite lunch, ginger chicken and it is always exactly the same, perfect ! From the salad, to the dressing, rolls and crepe that accompany it. Introduced a new friend who just moved here from Texas to my favorite lunch place, Grand Finale. And she was very impressed and said she would be back! Thanks for not disappointing!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 3, 2018

Since I am now riddled with food allergies, I truly appreciated the waitress's communicating with the kitchen to help me find something that I could eat. It would help me so much if garlic was not in so many meats, vegetables and sauces. The service was excellent and the food was the entre, a chicken crepe was delicious. Since we were celebrating a birthday and anniversary, I ate a dessert which as full sugar and other ingredients to which I am allergic. The key lime pie's filling just tasted like all sugar. We truly enjoyed the warm and charm of the dining room and will recommend to our friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Food prep was decent but not excellent. Portions were generous but not presented in a way that would be expected at this price point. Desserts are amazing as they have been throughout the decades. Decor is extremely outdated but could be viewed as nostalgic. Overall, not a good value except for a coffee and dessert outing. So sad they are not able to prep table side flambéed desserts anymore.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

Reservations were on time no wait. Was welcomed and attended quickly. Great service and food no rushing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Anniversary and New Years Eve! Went early! Super service! Super food. A memorable event from a legendary restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Freezing cold! It was 10* outside and we were placed next to a window that leaked so much cold air it almost wasn’t there. We had to wear our winter coats throughout brunch. The room we were in was packed, but that was nothing compared to trying to get back to our table from the brunch buffet that was set up three rooms away....soooooo many other patrons and servers/bussers in the way. Not fond of standing there with my plate full of food while tons of people walk by....germs, hairs, who knows what is flying around. Then trying to squeeze back into our little refrigerated two-top while not spilling the food on other guests...ugh.

They set up two indentical buffet lines facing each other in the same room. Would it not make more sense to set them up in separate areas of the restaurant (there are at least 5 different areas) and dissipate the traffic a bit? I realize they were thinking of keeping the buffet near the kitchen, but that’s thinking about the staff, not the patron. Oh, and why waste money on fried chicken livers? Eww. The hot food was not up to temperature, the hash browns/baked home fries were store bought hash brown patties that had been crumbled up to look rustic, and the sausage gravy was watery. I could do better at home.

I have been to the Grand Finale several times, and the experiences were great, and that includes Sunday brunch. The lack of insulation, mediocre food, poor planning, and the overbooking (it was rezzies only) lead to a less than stellar experience. For a $70 breakfast, one expects more.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Always delicious! Best desserts in town for sure!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Always love going to the Grande Finale! Same great food with consistently great service and value. Been going there for 40 years! No need to search further for this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 29, 2017

I was EXTREMELY disappointed as it was my birthday and I chose the restaurant because I wanted their Chicken Pot Pie. They told us they were out it when 3 of us ordered it, not when we first arrived. (Also, they were running out of Quiche.) By then, we had ordered a round of drinks and had settled in. Had we been told earlier, like at the same time as being told about the specials, we may have left to go to a different restaurant. By the way, this is my second time visiting in two months when they’ve run out of Chicken Pot Pie! If they run out that frequently, it seems the chef would kndow to prepare more. I wanted it so badly that I called in to order it to go the next day—only to be told that they had run out!! I asked what time I needed to get there to order it, the hostess said when they first opened. Now I know NEVER to make a late lunch reservation, if I want the Pot Pie.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Beautifully decorated for Christmas. Food was fantastic.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Our experience was once again, very good. Although cold outside, the staff added a space heater to make our experience in the garden area comfortable with a great atmosphere. The food selection was broad and they were very accommodating for special dietary requests.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 28, 2017

Great food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2017

My first visit to Grand Finale - Flew up from Florida for my Aunt's 88th birthday celebration. The food was great, as was service. Historical atmosphere, with antique dining chairs and authentic feel of 19th century era dining.

Only drawback - Entrance hall is tight, and shares space with bathrooms, so given how popular G.F. is, it is a bit awkward maneuvering though.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 26, 2017

We visited Grand Finale Restaurant On December 26th 2017. We had a 5:30 reservation for four. Atmosphere is relaxing, the place is beautiful and the food was good, but the service was terrible. We explained to our server it was our first time at Grand Finale. She made no introduction to the restaurant. She barely smiled. It was clear she did not want to mess with us. Even someone at our table said she was afraid to ask a question for fear of being yelled at. We spent $200. While we had a good time because we were together, we are in no hurry to return. Our server didn't really talk about what desserts are best. We had to ask a bazillion questions to find out anything. I don't remember her name as she barely talked to us, it was Server #45 on the receipt. She may have been in a bad mood because she was working the day after Christmas and it wasn't real busy, I don't know. I believe part of the dining out experience is being treated as a guest, but we were not.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Holiday get together

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Food was good but they didn't do anything for the occasion that I selected which was for a birthday dinner. I know they do something for birthday occasions bc they have in the past and the table next to us had a birthday as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 21, 2017

The Grand Finale has been a favorite restaurant for us for many years. And at Christmas it was especially beautiful for our girlfriends celebration. We always get the delicious crepes so we can also enjoy the fabulous desserts. And the service made it extra special. I live in South Carolina now, but love coming back to Cincinnati for the holidays, and dinner at the Grand Finale with friends.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Great atmosphere - loved how it was decorated for Christmas. Service was excellent. I had the quiche which was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Wonderful as always. I love Grand Finale at Christmas time. So cozy

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 19, 2017

Our dinner was during the Christmas season, and the atmosphere, decorations, and old fashioned setting were wonderful. The food was well presented and tasted great. Our server did not seem very attentive to our needs. I needed to ask several times in order to get water with the meal, and although I specifically asked for decaf coffee with dessert, and checked again when she brought it, I do not think that it was decaf. This seemed borne out by my not being able to get to sleep until early morning the next day. The server was pleasant enough; she just really seemed uninterested in paying attention to us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 19, 2017

This was an annual Christmas luncheon with a dear friend. Service was not as good as normal, but we were not in a hurry. Lovely decor. Very elegant and festive. A table of eight were seated next to us and we had some issues with conversing due to the noise. The food, as always, was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

I love a good brunch. Having bite size portions is wonderful for a variety of tasting without much waste. I think the only recommendation would be a little sauce over your brunch mini crepes!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Loved seeing young servers with impeccable manners. Food was very good. Seafood was fabulous.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

Food was great !! Desserts are to die for !!! We had a party of 8 & when we got our bills they were all wrong.. Waitress took them back to do over & they were wrong again. I got a piece of paper & listed what items went with what person.. Wrong again. Finally went up to the computer with waitress & told her what item went on what tab. So it took us 45 minutes to settle each of our tabs. That was a mess !! Overall food & desserts were wonderful !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 13, 2017

They were very busy,but our service was horrible. Other people seated around the same time were served and we were not.We sat for 25 minutes before we got some rolls,after we complained.When the waitress finally took our order,she did not even apologize.Not a great dining experience

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on December 13, 2017

Beautifully decorated for the holidays. Food was, as always, delicious. It was the perfect place for our group holiday party.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 13, 2017

We had a 7:30 reservation and were not seated till 7:50. I don’t think we would have been seated then if we had not reminded them we were still waiting. There were four of us and three of us got our entrees 10 minutes before the fourth did. All in all it could have been a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on December 12, 2017

Steak was good. Bearnaise wasn't great. Got the special and ended up paing $11 more for just a little bit of crab meat and some watery bearnaise sauce. Don't sit by a window. Very drafty.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 12, 2017

EXCELLENT DESSERTS !! CITRUS SCALLOPS A FAVORITE. CREPES WITH MUSHROOMS, OR SPINICH, OR SPECIAL OF THE DAY ARE VERY HOT AND VERY YUMMY. EVEN IF YOU JUST STOP IN FOR A QUICK BITE AFTER THE MOVIES, YOU MUST HAVE THE DESSERT THEY WILL ALL KNOCK YOUR SOCKS OFF. VICTORIAN THEME, GREAT WAIT STAFF, AND RELAXING TEA ROOM ALL ADD TO THE OCCASION. ENJOY !

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Fabulous as usual !!! Perfect place to celebrate family events!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.