About Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro

4301 Wilson Blvd
Arlington, VA 22203
View Larger Map

Grand Cru is a French American Bistro and Wine bar offering fine food in a cozy European style atmosphere. One of the key advantages of Grand Cru is our on site wine store with over 450 premium wines from around the world. Any of these retail priced wines can be enjoyed with your dinner with a modest on premise service fee. Grand Cru also features a selection of over 50 domestic and hard to get imported beers. Grand Cru also has a full bar with several signature cocktails and on draft beers.
The menu at Grand Cru consists of an impressive array of tapas items, world class entrees, fondue and hand crafted desserts. the idea is equisite food paired great wines at a price you can afford. But if you are in the mood to eat at home, stop by and pick up a bottle of wine to go.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French American, Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Glebe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 243-7900

Website:
http://www.grandcru-wine.com/

Catering:
Full service catering including alcohol for small to medium sized events.

Parking Details:
Street parking on Taylor Street and Validated parking in the underground parking garage off Taylor Street after 6pm and on weekends.

Public Transit:
Ballston Metro Stop on the Orange Line. Exit and walk kitty corner through the courtyard with the Cosi and Potbelly Sandwich shops. Grand Cru is located in the next courtyard with the fountain.

Executive Chef:
J. Trent Conry

Private Party Facilities:
Private parties can be scheduled at Grand Cru by contacting the restaurant. We have a large private dining area with a separate bar. Ideal for large get togethers, weddings, graduation parties and Professional events.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
  • White Chocolate Bread Pudding - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
  • Mussels - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
  • charcuterie - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
  • Cabernet Sauvignon - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
  • French Onion Soup - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
  • Seafood Crepes - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
  • Braised Lamb Shank - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA

Report a photo problem

White Chocolate Bread Pudding - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
Mussels - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
charcuterie - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
Cabernet Sauvignon - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
French Onion Soup - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
Seafood Crepes - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
Braised Lamb Shank - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Grand Cru is Offering a Divine Prix Fixe Menu to celebrate Valentine's Day with.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (26)
Good for a Date (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
See All
Fit for Foodies (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Casual (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Cozy (9)
Romantic (8)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Outstanding Value (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Authentic (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
682 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was good however the service wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was good however the service was subpar. We had told the waiter the order to bring the food, appetizer, salad and then the entrees. Appetizer and salad came together and before we could finish them out came the entrees. I ordered another glass in wine which did not come until I was almost finished with the entree. I was able to finish my wine because after the plates were cleared it took ten minutes to get a dessert menu and another thirteen before our waiter came back. We know the time because we were timing this. We did not have dessert because we just wanted to leave at this point. I would like to go back but hopefully to better service.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Grand Cru, in its new location, has beco ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Grand Cru, in its new location, has become our go-to dining destination in Ballston. We have yet to try anything on the menu that wasn't outstanding. Salad's, soup's, entree's, you name it are all solid. On our latest adventure, my wife had the Short Rib appetizer and Mac and Cheese entree, which she cant resist. It has a White Cheddar and aged Gruyere cheese sauce, plus an ample amount of smoked bacon. Superb. I had the house salad and Steak Frites. In the past, they have served a decent Ribeye that was well sized, but thin/flat. On this visit the Ribeye was cut thick and cooked perfectly, with just enough char to give the steak some character. I'm not a fan of steaks cooked in a broiler (which this one is not) and this Ribeye reminded me of Ribeye's I have had at Charlie Parker's in Chicago. The red wine shallot sauce was perfect.

Also, you can get a great bottle of wine at a normal price. There is a slight corkage charge, but you pay far less than you would in any other restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service, easy parking, good food, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great service, easy parking, good food, really mediocre wine, which considering the restaurant's name, was a big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

the only problem was the day we went, th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

the only problem was the day we went, their heat wasn't working and it was a 20 degree day outside. The manager should have offered a special drink or discounted item.

Tags: Private Room, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A real New Year's Eve bust, which was a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A real New Year's Eve bust, which was a surprise considering that we have patronized this restaurant for years. They failed to honor a reservation, and we ended up eating in the bar area only because an astute bartender finally stepped in to resolve a 75-minute wait that apparently neither the hostess nor the lead bartender could address, notwithstanding the fact that multiple parties of similar size kept getting escorted to tables even as our reservation was not being honored. And we were being given conflicting reasons as to why our table was not ready. Despite the bartender's efforts to provide us a free bottle of wine and complimentary desserts, the evening's very uneven service experience and somewhat lackluster dishes (calling a dish lobster and scallops when there was virtually no lobster and what lobster there was was very tough seems a bit off base) left us unsatisfied. A real fail on a big night, and we would've definitely gone elsewhere had it been possible to get a reservation at another restaurant. Will have to think twice about deciding whether to come back to what was once a neighborhood favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

They had a really tough night with the w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

They had a really tough night with the wait staff looking after us on this visit. Food was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

We were seated immediately and the staff ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We were seated immediately and the staff are always warm and welcoming.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made reservations for a party of five ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We made reservations for a party of five and have been regular patrons for many years. Food was excellent, salads were tasty and our main courses--divers scallops, lamb shank, risotto, monkfish with stuffing, each were delicious. We bought a bottle of Bordeaux based on recommendation of wine person and it balanced the selections perfectly. Desserts at $7 are a great bargain with a wide choice of both chocolate and non chocolate items. Service was attentive and everyone works to insure you have a great time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was good. The bread pudding for de ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Food was good. The bread pudding for desert was wonderful!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Still good! Haven't been to Grand Cru W ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Still good!

Haven't been to Grand Cru Wine & Bistro for many months, but quality continues high. My two lunch partners (right before Christmas) really enjoyed the Executive Lunch options. Service was fabulous ... knowledgeable without "upselling". We were there for lunch, but I have supped here at high-end dinner, as well as just in the bar for tastings and appetizers. Find it. Go there. Really good wines; really good values; really good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Searching for a place to grab appetizers ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Searching for a place to grab appetizers and drinks before a Kennedy Center performance and Grand Cru did not disappoint! We were in a bit of a time crunch, so the attentive wait staff was helpful as we made appetizer choices and wine selections. The chicken skewers and dipping sauce were delicious and the mussels were amazing! We will definitely come back for dinner in the near future.

Tags: Live Sports, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grand Cru is our "go-to" place for speci ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Grand Cru is our "go-to" place for special events. Just a half-block away from the Ballston Metro, it is convenient for gatherings. The food is always excellent, and the service cannot be beat. The list of wines is extensive; and it is a treat to be able to select your bottle from the offerings, pay a small corkage fee and have it served then and there. I love the Grand Cru!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View, People Watching, Good for Groups, , Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu is not huge, but everything is ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The menu is not huge, but everything is well prepared and fresh. The ability to walk along walls of wines and select bottles is a joy. My only complaint is that the place was too cold.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Hopefully other customers will have a di ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Hopefully other customers will have a different server. The server for the other nearby tables was very nice; I wish we had him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Chef Trent is absolutely amazing! The p ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Chef Trent is absolutely amazing! The preparation and menu are outstanding, fresh and delightfully spiced. Fantastic to choose our own wine - the sommelier, Carol, is always ready to help in the choice.

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Thanksgiving dinner was lovely! Nicely ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner was lovely! Nicely busy without being too loud or feeling rushed. Service was great! We could speak and hear one another without any trouble!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Trent prepared an incredible thanks ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Chef Trent prepared an incredible thanksgiving meal. We love this place!!!its our second home. The staff is amazing and the food is just superb. Best keep secret.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Specific review for Thanksgiving. The m ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Specific review for Thanksgiving. The menu options were all wonderful & well prepared, with beautiful presentation. Seasonings were interesting. The staff even allowed a bit of flexibility. Three of our party did the wine pairing which we all agreed was excellently done. We were a diverse group of middle-age & elderly, so unfortunately where we were seated was extremely uncomfortable. In a corner, which was far too dark. Menu font was too small for most of us to read in the dark, or without magnifiers. The bench seat didn't have enough back support for the aged. We should have rearranged out seating, or asked for another table, but it didn't seem possible with the Thanksgiving day crowd. That corner area should have been set aside especially for young people. So our physical comfort was a problem. But the food & wine were perfection. Our waitress advised us well & was kind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Wonderful risotto-like dish with mushroo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Wonderful risotto-like dish with mushrooms, great wine selection by the glass. Love your tempranillo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A gem in the Ballston neighborhood. One ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 16, 2016

A gem in the Ballston neighborhood. One of our favorite spots. Friendly and comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Two of us sat at a high-top table in the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Two of us sat at a high-top table in the bar. Nice restaurant. Enjoyed the atmosphere. A little noisy but we were in the bar area. Waitress was very nice but kept forgetting to bring what we requested to the table after we received our food. I ordered the tenderloin medium rare. It came to the table medium well. Received another and it was perfectly prepared. The other person ordered a rib eye. Was cooked as prepared but very, very tough. It was difficult to get her attention to request a re-cooked steak, ask for what she forgot to bring to the table, and then to get the bill. I would otherwise go back and try it again. My tenderloin was delicious (the 2nd one).

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

David was a patient and wonderful server ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

David was a patient and wonderful server, answering questions and adjusting my order to accommodate many very boring food allergies. The menu is also clearly labeled with a number of gluten free options. Decent wine list by the glass. This time I went on a Monday night so the service and noise level were much better than my first time. Glad I gave it a second chance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time for dinner. Food delicious. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

First time for dinner. Food delicious. Ambiance enjoyable. Service iffy and amateurish.

We'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

As a new restaurant find I'm excited abo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

As a new restaurant find I'm excited about their delicious menu. I've been now twice and look forward to returning in the near future. Since this place is quite energetic I'd recommend sitting in the nook of the walls used for their wine display and purchase. This area will allow a group to hear conversation better.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome meal, as always, but the staff w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Awesome meal, as always, but the staff went above and beyond with great wine recommendations - one of our guests wanted to learn more about GSM... and our server put on a clinic! Totally great evening!

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good and the service decent ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was good and the service decent. I was surprised to learn that if you purchase a bottle of wine from the restaurant there is a corkage fee of $12. I understand this charge if you are bringing in your own bottle. However, if I am purchasing a bottle of wine from your restaurant, $12 to open the bottle you sold me is not good customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The weather was with us this past Saturd ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The weather was with us this past Saturday night, when I recommended Grand Cru for dinner with our neighbors. We can highly recommend the dates & proscuitto, and the mushroom strudel as appetizers, and I understand the monkfish and burger was well received. Unfortunately my scallops were a bit undercooked (despite asking that they be cooked all the way through & HOT), and the brussel sprouts and short ribs were unmentionables. It's a really terrific spot for outdoor dining - but the service was extremely slow. Also, don't be fooled by what looks like terrific by the bottle wine prices...they add a $12 corkage fee but we didn't learn about it from the menu - thankfully we asked our server in advance. The creme brulee is boring, but the chocolate cake and Illy coffee for dessert was terrific!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Out-of-town house guests took us out to ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Out-of-town house guests took us out to dinner and we suggested Grand Cru where we had been some times in the past, more often in warmer weather when we sat on its great patio. The food was once again quite good: two had lamb shank; one, duck; and one, monkfish. The warm Brussel Sprout salad is a gem for a first course; and the créme caramel was as good as we remembered. All four of us were quite pleased. The wine selections are good - right from the adjoining wine store, with a $12.00 corkage fee.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Business Meals, Authentic, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food and wine at the wine dinner wer ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The food and wine at the wine dinner were great. The staff at arrival wasn't friendly and didn't seem to know what to do with us because we arrived a little early, which the staff person told us to do when I called that day. If they do another wine dinner, communication throughout the staff and with customers needs to be clear and consistent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This place is great! I've never had a ba ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 26, 2016

This place is great! I've never had a bad experience here. It is perfect for a date or catching up with a good friend over wine/drinks.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We shared a French Onion Soup and A Wild ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We shared a French Onion Soup and A Wild Mushroom Strudel for our apps, for the main course we had the Filet and a Ribeye, all of which were fantastic, and cooked to perfection.

Our Server helped us pair a wine and a local craft beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time at the new loca ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

This was our second time at the new location, across the courtyard from the old location. Was thrilled to see they have grown into their new kitchen. The food this time was every bit as good as it was always at their original place. That coupled with the great service and an extremely good bottle of red wine made for an enjoyable dinner for us all.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

There seemed to be some large parties to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 12, 2016

There seemed to be some large parties today that the waiter was taking care of. Not the quickest of service but not terrible. Probably would go back and try again hopefully when it's less crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Enjoyable but noisy when busy. Excellen ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Enjoyable but noisy when busy. Excellent and creative food. Service was iffy - knowledgeable and friendly when available but not as attentive as they should be.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This was my 6th experience dining at Gra ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 3, 2016

This was my 6th experience dining at Grand Cru and I will go back. The food is reasonably priced and plentiful. This time the server seemed distracted and not attentive as they usually are.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Best steak and accompanying sauce, cooke ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Best steak and accompanying sauce, cooked exactly as requested! Friendly and courteous service!

Tags: , Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. The service was ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was delicious. The service was awful, we were ignored and never asked if we needed more water or anything. Also, was surprised to see a $12 corkage fee for wine sold at the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Good food. Retail wine store with good s ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Good food. Retail wine store with good selection and $12 corkage fee. Extremely noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The good was amazing!!!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The good was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I enjoy this restaurant. MY first choic ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2016

I enjoy this restaurant. MY first choice in Arlington for eating out. Try it you will like it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.