About Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro

4301 Wilson Blvd
Arlington, VA 22203
View Larger Map

Grand Cru is a French American Bistro and Wine bar offering fine food in a cozy European style atmosphere. One of the key advantages of Grand Cru is our on site wine store with over 450 premium wines from around the world. Any of these retail priced wines can be enjoyed with your dinner with a modest on premise service fee. Grand Cru also features a selection of over 50 domestic and hard to get imported beers. Grand Cru also has a full bar with several signature cocktails and on draft beers.
The menu at Grand Cru consists of an impressive array of tapas items, world class entrees, fondue and hand crafted desserts. the idea is equisite food paired great wines at a price you can afford. But if you are in the mood to eat at home, stop by and pick up a bottle of wine to go.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French American, Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm: Brunch: Sun: 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Glebe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 243-7900

Website:
http://www.grandcru-wine.com/

Catering:
Full service catering including alcohol for small to medium sized events.

Parking Details:
Street parking on Taylor Street and Validated parking in the underground parking garage off Taylor Street after 6pm and on weekends.

Public Transit:
Ballston Metro Stop on the Orange Line. Exit and walk kitty corner through the courtyard with the Cosi and Potbelly Sandwich shops. Grand Cru is located in the next courtyard with the fountain.

Executive Chef:
J. Trent Conry

Private Party Facilities:
Private parties can be scheduled at Grand Cru by contacting the restaurant. We have a large private dining area with a separate bar. Ideal for large get togethers, weddings, graduation parties and Professional events.

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro
  • White Chocolate Bread Pudding
  • Braised Lamb Shank
  • Mussels
  • charcuterie
  • Cabernet Sauvignon
  • French Onion Soup
  • Seafood Crepes
Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro
White Chocolate Bread Pudding
Braised Lamb Shank
Mussels
charcuterie
Cabernet Sauvignon
French Onion Soup
Seafood Crepes

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Arlington ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (53)
Neighborhood Gem (53)
Notable Wine List (50)
See All
Fit for Foodies (38)
Special Occasion (33)
Good for Groups (29)
Romantic (25)
Great for Lunch (23)
Great for Brunch (21)
Hot Spot (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Scenic View (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
607 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I love to have dinner at ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I love to have dinner at Grand Cru when we are able to get a babysitter. It is so nice to seat outside and have good food and a great bottle of wine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The prices can't be beat in Arlington, a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

The prices can't be beat in Arlington, and it's a much more open and spacious venue than nearby and notable Screwtop as far as wine bars go.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as always. Our 2nd time ther ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great food as always. Our 2nd time there since the expansion. A busy Wednesday night and so loud as to be unpleasant. Our party of 4 with long-standing reservation were seated in the long narrow room to the left of entrance were seated with two large groups (about 20 at one long table, maybe 10 at the other). We were celebrating a special event and the atmosphere definitely diminished the experience as we had to shout to hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

The cheese fondue was really excellent a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The cheese fondue was really excellent and that was probably the best part of our experience. The restaurant wasn't super loud, but it was loud enough that you did need to raise your voice and our server never seemed to talk loud enough that we could hear her the first time she said something, including her name which we never got. The food was just okay. Nothing was stand out or especially well executed that would make me want to return or recommend. Slightly overpriced for the food. Wine list was extensive but we did not really drink much.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Unremarkable. My wife and I visited for ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Unremarkable. My wife and I visited for date night and were not impressed. The food was average at best and the service was poor. At any other wine bar you have exceptional servers who recommend wine, food, etc.. At Grand Cru we had a waiter who told us that their gazpacho was cold and tomato based and when I asked about today's charcuterie selection I was told that it's a rotating selection of cured meats. My wife asked for a recommendation on a flight of red wines and the waiter told her that the flight that starts with a Riesling would be best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Grand Crew had great service when they w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Grand Crew had great service when they were in their previous location. Since moving to a larger location and hiring new staff, the service has suffered; the service now is slow, less efficient and less friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

The food and wine was excellent and the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food and wine was excellent and the service was very good. It was a bit loud when we first sat down, but it quieted over the course of the meal. Would definitely eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was good; food took a little ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Everything was good; food took a little long to be served even though we were there 11:45 am, but that is typical for this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really great brunch!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Really great brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Started out a bit rough with a new serve ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Started out a bit rough with a new server who was strangely combative and gruff--nothing like any of the great staff. Lena, the lovely owner, volunteered to take over and personally wait on us. Of course, the rest of the evening was perfect, as always! As much as I go there, I'm always wowed with how great the food is! We will be back soon!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We use their outdoor dining area often a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We use their outdoor dining area often and find it to be relaxing and scenic as their is a promenade next to the tables. The food is excellent in quality; ample in quantity; and served well at a very reasonable price.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

It is a romantic restaurant with a great ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It is a romantic restaurant with a great wine list! They have "wine tours" where you can sample 3 different wines pre-paired. We had a couple appetizers which were amazing, a salad which was the size of a app (so a bit pricey for what you are getting), one main dish which we shared, and one dessert. The main dish was actually my least favorite and the only thing that I didn't care for. We had the pork and which was covered in an orange flavored sauce but it was extremely bitter tasting more like eating cooked orange peel. Everything else was amazing and delicious! Very attentive service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Have been coming here for years, the men ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Have been coming here for years, the menu is varied,with meat, fish and vegetarian options with a French/Mediterranean flair. Great for special occassions and their wine flights--six or more pairings at modest prices--are a great way to taste different wines while having either a full meal or just appetizers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Our server was inattentive and seemed an ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Our server was inattentive and seemed annoyed with us. It took a long time to get his attention to refill our water and wine glasses. Also, he took so long to come take our check that we went to the bar and got another server to do it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

A good choice for a weeknight meal. With ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

A good choice for a weeknight meal. With the absence of Willow, it's the only restaurant that comes close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Our new neighborhood favorite! Loved di ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Our new neighborhood favorite! Loved dining outside near the fountain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

our waiter,Saeed, was exceptional, extre ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

our waiter,Saeed, was exceptional, extremely knowledgable about the food and wine. He set us up to bring friends from Texas on Friday 29 July. Looking forward to another great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a nice B-day dinner, food was great, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Had a nice B-day dinner, food was great, service allowed a relaxed evening, and great help finding a exceptional bottle of wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have dined here many times and always ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We have dined here many times and always had good service and good food. However, this time our waiter service was not good (the other waiters were more attentive to our needs). One person ordered two starters (one dish as a starter and one as a main course)- these two starters arrived at the same time so one dish had to be taken back to the kitchen! Another person's starter arrived much later than the rest of the group and even then we had to request it. We will try the Grand Cru again and hope that some of the wait staff are not so offhand.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Had salad and crepe. Went to celebrate ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Had salad and crepe. Went to celebrate Bastille day but there was nothing to mark the occasion -- bad for a French bistro. They had no bread to offer with lunch, and one likes a good french bread with salad -- disappointing Salad did not taste as fresh as it should. Seafood crepe was only OK. My friend had the crabcakes and said they were quite good -- that would be the better choice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great menu, service and atmosphere for a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great menu, service and atmosphere for any kind of occasion

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Cru Burger was very good.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The Cru Burger was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Grand Cru is really a hidden gem: many p ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Grand Cru is really a hidden gem: many people don't seem to know about it, hidden in a courtyard close to the Ballston Metro but it's been here some years and usually has several tables full every time we have been here. The food is quite good and the wine selection is great, coming from the attached wine store. Service is good and friendly. We had foie gras to start, followed by scallops - all were great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Grand Cru is my favorite go-to place in ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Grand Cru is my favorite go-to place in the Ballston area. You can't go wrong with their mussels and brussel sprouts salad. Happy hour prices for food and wine are a real bargain. The very best feature of Grand Cru is the remarkably warm attention and service provided by their waiter, Emiliano. He's a gem!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favorite restaurants i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants in the DC area. I have been there before when they were in a small space in the same court yard. The food is very good. Good ingredients and good presentation. The service is also very good. And the wine- there is a lot to pick from. You can even bring a bottle home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love love love Grand Cru!! I wish I coul ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Love love love Grand Cru!! I wish I could give Grand Cru 10 stars! We love eating in the outdoor courtyard - it's convenient yet private. The food is always superb - we enjoyed Filet of Beef and Halibut and finished with a fruit crepe. And the wine list and service - wonderful. Go already!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Because of bad weather, we had to eat in ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Because of bad weather, we had to eat inside. We wanted small plates but their small tables are not conducive to people sharing small plates. It was VERY crowded. They are now know as "appetizers" on the regular menu. We liked it better when the they were called "Small plates." They are definitely too large for appetizers, so the first-time eater might be surprised. All in all OK, but the service wasn't very polished and it was almost too noisy to converse. Better outside or on an uncrowded night.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Enjoyed food & service. The wait staff ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Enjoyed food & service. The wait staff was attentive, the food came out in a reasonable time. I was dining with relative and thought it was easy to hear. I would go back, menu had good variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Grand Cru was great. I had the seafood c ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Grand Cru was great. I had the seafood crepes. My colleague had the chicken and mushroom crepes. We both enjoyed them very much and were pleasantly surprised by the good prices.

The patio outside was beyond LOVELY and the servers were friendly and attentive.

The dessert was a little "meh," but it wouldn't at all detract me from coming here again or recommending it to friends!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

We have been here many times, and as alw ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We have been here many times, and as always they are amazing. The service is great, the food is wonderful and the wine list is extensive. They just moved the a new location 3 doors down several months ago to accommodate more patrons, and it is great they are doing so well. The duck is wonderful, and so is the french onion soup. Highly recommend this place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food is good and not outrageously priced ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food is good and not outrageously priced. Ample wine selection at all price points. My only complaint is a bogus corkage fee for a bottle purchased through them.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Noisy, but food was excellent. Note Happ ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Noisy, but food was excellent. Note Happy Hour prices only apply in bar and outside, not with reserved seating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely place. I wish it hadn't been too ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Lovely place. I wish it hadn't been too hot to sit outdoors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Neighborhood Gem

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

What a wonderful place Grand Cru is (beware that it can be loud, however). The selections of wine, the food offerings that are so delicious, and the wait staff -- all fabulous. With the outdoor seating added to the mix, Grand Cru is a marvelous destination.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best restaurant in the Ballston neighborhod.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Food was really fresh and well-prepared. Waiters were attentive without being intrusive. This place is remarkably good without the need to be trendy. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ate here many times. Lovely outside gard ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Ate here many times. Lovely outside garden area with an incredible variety of types of cuisine. Fantastic gourmet food. Best happy hour. Would eat here every night. Very reasonably priced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall ambiance, wine and service was great.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We had duck, salmon, filet mignon and steak frites. The first 3 were outstanding and we would order again. The steak frites in both cases was fatty and served as a whole steak rather than cut up. We would not order this again. This is definitely a place we would go again!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

value is the intersection of cost and quality

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

the food was pretty tasty, if a little salty. the wine selection was good, but overpriced. the service was friendly, but inattentive and not knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I love Grand Cru for dinner and happy h ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I love Grand Cru for dinner and happy hour, have always had amazing meals. This was my first time trying their brunch menu and it was rather underwhelming. Service and ambiance are always fantastic but the food didn't blow me away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Their new space is comfortable and the b ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Their new space is comfortable and the bar are is great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.