About Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro

4301 Wilson Blvd
Arlington, VA 22203
View Larger Map

Grand Cru is a French American Bistro and Wine bar offering fine food in a cozy European style atmosphere. One of the key advantages of Grand Cru is our on site wine store with over 450 premium wines from around the world. Any of these retail priced wines can be enjoyed with your dinner with a modest on premise service fee. Grand Cru also features a selection of over 50 domestic and hard to get imported beers. The menu at Grand Cru consists of an impressive array of tapas items, world class entrees, fondue and hand crafted desserts. the idea is equisite food paired great wines at a price you can afford. But if you are in the mood to eat at home, stop by and pick up a bottle of wine to go.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French American, Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm: Brunch: Sun: 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Glebe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 243-7900

Website:
http://www.grandcru-wine.com/

Catering:
Full service catering including alcohol for small to medium sized events.

Parking Details:
Street parking on Taylor or lots at Ballston Commons mall or the Westin Hotel.

Public Transit:
Ballston Metro Stop on the Orange Line. Exit and walk kitty corner through the courtyard with the Cosi and Potbelly Sandwich shops. Grand Cru is located in the next courtyard with the fountain.

Executive Chef:
J. Trent Conry

Private Party Facilities:
Private parties can be scheduled at Grand Cru by contacting the restaurant. Groups are limited to 50 seats inside or 60 seats outside.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • White Chocolate Bread Pudding
  • Braised Lamb Shank
  • Mussels
  • charcuterie
  • Cabernet Sauvignon
  • French Onion Soup
  • Seafood Crepes
White Chocolate Bread Pudding
Braised Lamb Shank
Mussels
charcuterie
Cabernet Sauvignon
French Onion Soup
Seafood Crepes

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Washington, D.C. Area
Notable Wine List
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Arlington ›

notable wine list (51)
neighborhood gem (45)
great for outdoor dining (42)
See All
fit for foodies (40)
special occasion (30)
good for groups (27)
romantic (23)
great for lunch (23)
great for brunch (20)
hot spot (9)
scenic view (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
577 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have been here many times, and as alw ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We have been here many times, and as always they are amazing. The service is great, the food is wonderful and the wine list is extensive. They just moved the a new location 3 doors down several months ago to accommodate more patrons, and it is great they are doing so well. The duck is wonderful, and so is the french onion soup. Highly recommend this place.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is good and not outrageously priced ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food is good and not outrageously priced. Ample wine selection at all price points. My only complaint is a bogus corkage fee for a bottle purchased through them.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Noisy, but food was excellent. Note Happ ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Noisy, but food was excellent. Note Happy Hour prices only apply in bar and outside, not with reserved seating.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

Lovely place. I wish it hadn't been too ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Lovely place. I wish it hadn't been too hot to sit outdoors.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Neighborhood Gem

Dined on June 10, 2016

What a wonderful place Grand Cru is (beware that it can be loud, however). The selections of wine, the food offerings that are so delicious, and the wait staff -- all fabulous. With the outdoor seating added to the mix, Grand Cru is a marvelous destination.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best restaurant in the Ballston neighborhod.

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Food was really fresh and well-prepared. Waiters were attentive without being intrusive. This place is remarkably good without the need to be trendy. Will definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Ate here many times. Lovely outside gard ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Ate here many times. Lovely outside garden area with an incredible variety of types of cuisine. Fantastic gourmet food. Best happy hour. Would eat here every night. Very reasonably priced!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall ambiance, wine and service was great.

Dined on June 1, 2016

We had duck, salmon, filet mignon and steak frites. The first 3 were outstanding and we would order again. The steak frites in both cases was fatty and served as a whole steak rather than cut up. We would not order this again. This is definitely a place we would go again!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

value is the intersection of cost and quality

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

the food was pretty tasty, if a little salty. the wine selection was good, but overpriced. the service was friendly, but inattentive and not knowledgeable.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I love Grand Cru for dinner and happy h ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

I love Grand Cru for dinner and happy hour, have always had amazing meals. This was my first time trying their brunch menu and it was rather underwhelming. Service and ambiance are always fantastic but the food didn't blow me away.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Their new space is comfortable and the b ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Their new space is comfortable and the bar are is great.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went to Grand Cru on a whim with my girl ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Went to Grand Cru on a whim with my girlfriend for date night. The food was fantastic and the wine was delicious. The service was timely and fast as was the time between ordering the food and receiving it. I have nothing negative to say about Grand Cru. Wish I had found this place earlier.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service1

Dinner was great. Service was awful. We ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Dinner was great. Service was awful. We were there 2 weeks before and our service was incredible

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice expansion of restaurant and a great ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Nice expansion of restaurant and a great addition to Ballston area. Would much prefer if restaurant showed the price of its bottles of wine rather than how currently shown at much lower amounts and then significantly increased when ordered.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Great value, service, and quality food

Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband and I have celebrated two occasions here - Easter and Mother's Day. Both dining experiences were more than we expected. The three course prix fix menu satisfied our very different culinary tastes. We both were comfortable in the urban atmosphere. We were so happy to have the same waiter both times we dined as he was attentive, knowledgeable, and pleasant. The food was so much more than we thought it would be. Wine was available by the bottle there or bring a special bottle of your own! I consider myself a real foodie and appreciate the preparation of good food but cannot always pay the cost of gourmet preparations. No worries here -the food is great and the food prices will not cause you to mortgage your house house!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Kid and adult friendly

Dined on May 8, 2016

The outdoor area allows the kiddos to run around. The local wine list keeps me coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Mother's Day Brunch!

Dined on May 8, 2016

The staff and kitchen really did a great job accommodating my family on Mother's Day. Everything was top notch, from the service, to the food, to the special requests for my kids. I would love to return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Dined early on Saturday night before Mot ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Dined early on Saturday night before Mother's Day. We were seated near the wine display which was nice until more customers arrived.Then we had people walking around us while we ate. Drinks and wine were small pours. Appetizers were good, adequate, portions. Disappointed about fish. On website they posted halibut but was substituted for Hawaiian Butter Fish. It was presented nicely, however it was a little overcooked and not seasoned enough making it a little dry. It could have used an accompaniment that would have made it less dry and flavorless. Steaks were done to perfection.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyable

Dined on May 7, 2016

Grand Cru has great food and our waiter Phillip was wonderful. The noise level is a touch loud, but overall a wonderful experience

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Loved dining at Grand Cru. Food was deli ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Loved dining at Grand Cru. Food was delicious and service terrific. Noisy though. But I'll be back!!

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I'll give it another chance

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was ok, not great and the bread is $5 - some of it stale. The hype around this place is better than what we got but I'll try it one more time.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

A great find!

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

This was the first time we have been to Grand Cru in their new surroundings. It was wonderful. We went for Sunday brunch. The food (eggs benedict) was outstanding, and the Bloody Mary one of the best I've had. The atmosphere is charming, as you are eating surrounded by wine bottles with intriguing labels. In warmer weather, the terrace will be great and I look forward to many more meals there.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Wine Store and Wine Restaurant

Dined on April 23, 2016

We didn't know much about the restaurant and were pleasantly surprised. Our waiter was attentive and knowledgeable about the wines and food. The menu was not extensive but had plenty to chose from. We went at 6 pm on a Saturday, and the restaurant was not crowded. We will definitely return. Parking is on the street, so you may have to search a bit.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience

Dined on April 22, 2016

My husband and I just moved to Ballston last month and we have eaten here twice. The wine selection is really great, and the food is amazing. Wonderful experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great selection of wines ! Services grea ...

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Great selection of wines ! Services great at the bar as well as in the main restaurant . We will go again !

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the new location

Dined on April 5, 2016

I have been a Grand Cru fan for several years and am thrilled with the new location! Much more space and great atmosphere with nice decor. As always, the food, wine and service are always "Grand."

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my all time favorites!

Dined on March 27, 2016

I've been going to Grand Cru for years. They recently expanded and now serve brunch. My husband and I decided to have Easter brunch here and we were impressed with the menu and service. It was a preset menu so we had the chance to try new dishes, all of which were absolutely delicious and our server was great! Can't wait to try the regular brunch menu!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Perfectly fine

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Grand Cru is certainly worth a try. Service is attentive without smothering and the food is prepared well. Napoleon of Ahi Tuna and Potato Gnocchi portion sizes were generous for starters and could easily be shared (two-thirds the portion at two-thirds the price would be ideal). Black Sea Bass and Breast of Duck entrees were enjoyable but, for the price, didn't leave us wanting to go back next weekend. Wine flights are clever but a poor value.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Lunch option

Dined on March 22, 2016

Choice of soup or salad, and either sandwich or dessert. The chicken sandwich was huge and tasty.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Such a dissapointment

Dined on March 19, 2016

For someone who frequented this establishment, the move to their new location comes with unfortunate repercussions. The waiter was lousy, no greeting, no personality and it came to a point he tried to augment his poor service with other servers who perhaps may have cared. he didnt even say good bye. For one who used to be a waiter and a cook, and who typically tips at minimum 20% , I tipped 10% . I used to love this place, the wine selection has gotten worse and sad to say so has the food and service. I don't intend on returning, sorry to say....

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Theme But...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Great theme for the restaurant, looks like a French street as you walk toward the dining room. Being able to pick out a bottle from their shop and drink it there is a good idea . The food was very creative and reasonably priced and was very good, BUT it was not quite as described in the menu. Some ingredients that were listed by name were not in the dishes. As we ate dinner, looking out all the glass doors to the outdoor dining area with light shining in, well, they were all in need to cleaning.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious!

Dined on March 5, 2016

What a treat! Delicious food and great service. Had the salmon for entree and finished with the crepes. Could not be better. I am looking forward to my next meal at Grand Cru - it just gets better and better.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

This is our fave local french bistro! Fi ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

This is our fave local french bistro! Finally had some time to visit after their move to their larger location. Like the new space! More modern and upscale feel. Menu is still the same. Love their escargot and tuna napoleon appetizers. And for their entrees, we always turn to their sea scallops with roasted cauliflower and golden raisins, roast duck with dried cherries and red quinoa and asparagus, and their monkfish dish. Everything on the menu is good.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Solid

Dined on February 27, 2016

These guys do a good job and I've always enjoyed myself. I'd like to see them institute a corkage program to entice more wine people to try it out.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Great wine selection

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Great wine selection

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wine selection

Dined on February 25, 2016

The seabass was excellent, the salmon was amazing and the wine selection was superb. It was great fun browsing their >400 bottles of wine to select the one we wanted. The menu is diverse and we are looking forward to returning to try other items.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

New Digs

Dined on February 23, 2016

New location (next door to the old one) is very nice. More room, a proper kitchen and new private party room. Still need to work on the little things like corner booth seating is a little difficult to get in and out of & mood lighting", but I am SO happy they are back in business. A must if you are ever in Arlington!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

OK

Dined on February 20, 2016

We've been experimenting with Arlington and D.C. restaurants for the past year and decided to try the Grand Cru for one or our favorite foods, French. The restaurant was nice, clean and friendly. The food was well prepared but not great and the waiter was inexperienced. While we were not expecting a five start wait staff, they could have done better. We spent @ 120 for dinner for two, without wine. I would recommend this restaurant as a medium range option for a romantic dinner.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

And enjoyable place to hang out

Dined on February 19, 2016

Great neighborhood bar, with great ambience and wonderful service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Executive Lunch delivered on the promise

Dined on February 19, 2016

Went for a business lunch - the Executive Lunch offer was perfect. The upcharge for the French Onion Soup was so worth it - I have never had a soup that was so cheesy, yet so easy to eat - no strings of cheese stretching between bowl and spoon. The sandwich was quite large, and the small accompaniment of fried zucchini matchsticks satisfied the craving for something salty and fried. The chef's choice dessert was just the right petite size - very rich and chocolatey. Prompt service, wasn't hurried. I would definitely go back and recommend it to friends!

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.