About Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro

4301 Wilson Blvd
Arlington, VA 22203
View Larger Map

Grand Cru is a French American Bistro and Wine bar offering fine food in a cozy European style atmosphere. One of the key advantages of Grand Cru is our on site wine store with over 450 premium wines from around the world. Any of these retail priced wines can be enjoyed with your dinner with a modest on premise service fee. Grand Cru also features a selection of over 50 domestic and hard to get imported beers. Grand Cru also has a full bar with several signature cocktails and on draft beers.
The menu at Grand Cru consists of an impressive array of tapas items, world class entrees, fondue and hand crafted desserts. the idea is equisite food paired great wines at a price you can afford. But if you are in the mood to eat at home, stop by and pick up a bottle of wine to go.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French American, Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Glebe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 243-7900

Website:
http://www.grandcru-wine.com/

Catering:
Full service catering including alcohol for small to medium sized events.

Parking Details:
Street parking on Taylor Street and Validated parking in the underground parking garage off Taylor Street after 6pm and on weekends.

Public Transit:
Ballston Metro Stop on the Orange Line. Exit and walk kitty corner through the courtyard with the Cosi and Potbelly Sandwich shops. Grand Cru is located in the next courtyard with the fountain.

Executive Chef:
J. Trent Conry

Private Party Facilities:
Private parties can be scheduled at Grand Cru by contacting the restaurant. We have a large private dining area with a separate bar. Ideal for large get togethers, weddings, graduation parties and Professional events.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
  • White Chocolate Bread Pudding - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
  • Mussels - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
  • charcuterie - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
  • Cabernet Sauvignon - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
  • French Onion Soup - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
  • Seafood Crepes - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
  • Braised Lamb Shank - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
White Chocolate Bread Pudding - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
Mussels - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
charcuterie - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
Cabernet Sauvignon - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
French Onion Soup - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
Seafood Crepes - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA
Braised Lamb Shank - Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro, Arlington, VA

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Grand Cru Will offer a special prix fixe early diner menu as well as evening menu and drink specials.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (22)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Quiet Conversation (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Romantic (11)
Cozy (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Casual (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Fun (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
People Watching (4)
Authentic (4)
Healthy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
648 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Hopefully other customers will have a di ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Hopefully other customers will have a different server. The server for the other nearby tables was very nice; I wish we had him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Chef Trent is absolutely amazing! The p ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Chef Trent is absolutely amazing! The preparation and menu are outstanding, fresh and delightfully spiced. Fantastic to choose our own wine - the sommelier, Carol, is always ready to help in the choice.

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Thanksgiving dinner was lovely! Nicely ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner was lovely! Nicely busy without being too loud or feeling rushed. Service was great! We could speak and hear one another without any trouble!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Trent prepared an incredible thanks ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Chef Trent prepared an incredible thanksgiving meal. We love this place!!!its our second home. The staff is amazing and the food is just superb. Best keep secret.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Specific review for Thanksgiving. The m ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Specific review for Thanksgiving. The menu options were all wonderful & well prepared, with beautiful presentation. Seasonings were interesting. The staff even allowed a bit of flexibility. Three of our party did the wine pairing which we all agreed was excellently done. We were a diverse group of middle-age & elderly, so unfortunately where we were seated was extremely uncomfortable. In a corner, which was far too dark. Menu font was too small for most of us to read in the dark, or without magnifiers. The bench seat didn't have enough back support for the aged. We should have rearranged out seating, or asked for another table, but it didn't seem possible with the Thanksgiving day crowd. That corner area should have been set aside especially for young people. So our physical comfort was a problem. But the food & wine were perfection. Our waitress advised us well & was kind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Wonderful risotto-like dish with mushroo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Wonderful risotto-like dish with mushrooms, great wine selection by the glass. Love your tempranillo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A gem in the Ballston neighborhood. One ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 16, 2016

A gem in the Ballston neighborhood. One of our favorite spots. Friendly and comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Two of us sat at a high-top table in the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Two of us sat at a high-top table in the bar. Nice restaurant. Enjoyed the atmosphere. A little noisy but we were in the bar area. Waitress was very nice but kept forgetting to bring what we requested to the table after we received our food. I ordered the tenderloin medium rare. It came to the table medium well. Received another and it was perfectly prepared. The other person ordered a rib eye. Was cooked as prepared but very, very tough. It was difficult to get her attention to request a re-cooked steak, ask for what she forgot to bring to the table, and then to get the bill. I would otherwise go back and try it again. My tenderloin was delicious (the 2nd one).

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

David was a patient and wonderful server ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

David was a patient and wonderful server, answering questions and adjusting my order to accommodate many very boring food allergies. The menu is also clearly labeled with a number of gluten free options. Decent wine list by the glass. This time I went on a Monday night so the service and noise level were much better than my first time. Glad I gave it a second chance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time for dinner. Food delicious. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

First time for dinner. Food delicious. Ambiance enjoyable. Service iffy and amateurish.

We'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

As a new restaurant find I'm excited abo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

As a new restaurant find I'm excited about their delicious menu. I've been now twice and look forward to returning in the near future. Since this place is quite energetic I'd recommend sitting in the nook of the walls used for their wine display and purchase. This area will allow a group to hear conversation better.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome meal, as always, but the staff w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Awesome meal, as always, but the staff went above and beyond with great wine recommendations - one of our guests wanted to learn more about GSM... and our server put on a clinic! Totally great evening!

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good and the service decent ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was good and the service decent. I was surprised to learn that if you purchase a bottle of wine from the restaurant there is a corkage fee of $12. I understand this charge if you are bringing in your own bottle. However, if I am purchasing a bottle of wine from your restaurant, $12 to open the bottle you sold me is not good customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The weather was with us this past Saturd ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The weather was with us this past Saturday night, when I recommended Grand Cru for dinner with our neighbors. We can highly recommend the dates & proscuitto, and the mushroom strudel as appetizers, and I understand the monkfish and burger was well received. Unfortunately my scallops were a bit undercooked (despite asking that they be cooked all the way through & HOT), and the brussel sprouts and short ribs were unmentionables. It's a really terrific spot for outdoor dining - but the service was extremely slow. Also, don't be fooled by what looks like terrific by the bottle wine prices...they add a $12 corkage fee but we didn't learn about it from the menu - thankfully we asked our server in advance. The creme brulee is boring, but the chocolate cake and Illy coffee for dessert was terrific!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Out-of-town house guests took us out to ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Out-of-town house guests took us out to dinner and we suggested Grand Cru where we had been some times in the past, more often in warmer weather when we sat on its great patio. The food was once again quite good: two had lamb shank; one, duck; and one, monkfish. The warm Brussel Sprout salad is a gem for a first course; and the créme caramel was as good as we remembered. All four of us were quite pleased. The wine selections are good - right from the adjoining wine store, with a $12.00 corkage fee.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Business Meals, Authentic, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food and wine at the wine dinner wer ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The food and wine at the wine dinner were great. The staff at arrival wasn't friendly and didn't seem to know what to do with us because we arrived a little early, which the staff person told us to do when I called that day. If they do another wine dinner, communication throughout the staff and with customers needs to be clear and consistent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This place is great! I've never had a ba ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 26, 2016

This place is great! I've never had a bad experience here. It is perfect for a date or catching up with a good friend over wine/drinks.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We shared a French Onion Soup and A Wild ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We shared a French Onion Soup and A Wild Mushroom Strudel for our apps, for the main course we had the Filet and a Ribeye, all of which were fantastic, and cooked to perfection.

Our Server helped us pair a wine and a local craft beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time at the new loca ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

This was our second time at the new location, across the courtyard from the old location. Was thrilled to see they have grown into their new kitchen. The food this time was every bit as good as it was always at their original place. That coupled with the great service and an extremely good bottle of red wine made for an enjoyable dinner for us all.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

There seemed to be some large parties to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 12, 2016

There seemed to be some large parties today that the waiter was taking care of. Not the quickest of service but not terrible. Probably would go back and try again hopefully when it's less crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Enjoyable but noisy when busy. Excellen ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Enjoyable but noisy when busy. Excellent and creative food. Service was iffy - knowledgeable and friendly when available but not as attentive as they should be.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This was my 6th experience dining at Gra ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 3, 2016

This was my 6th experience dining at Grand Cru and I will go back. The food is reasonably priced and plentiful. This time the server seemed distracted and not attentive as they usually are.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Best steak and accompanying sauce, cooke ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Best steak and accompanying sauce, cooked exactly as requested! Friendly and courteous service!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. The service was ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was delicious. The service was awful, we were ignored and never asked if we needed more water or anything. Also, was surprised to see a $12 corkage fee for wine sold at the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Good food. Retail wine store with good s ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Good food. Retail wine store with good selection and $12 corkage fee. Extremely noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The good was amazing!!!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The good was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I enjoy this restaurant. MY first choic ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2016

I enjoy this restaurant. MY first choice in Arlington for eating out. Try it you will like it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our work-related gathering of 8, for a l ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Our work-related gathering of 8, for a lunch welcome, did not live up to previous experiences. In addition to the hostess not bringing us to our table directly (she said - go to the back wall), our waitress was openly rude to at least two of our guests who asked for additional condiments. Individuals who ordered the hamburger found the meat overcooked and unbearable to eat, while individuals who ordered other items (Mac n Cheese, Salad, Steak) quite enjoyed their meals. It was an incredibly mixed experience, which could have been easily remedied by having a polite and helpful wait staff respond. I hope Grand Cru pays more attention to its larger party service as it clearly does to its smaller parties. Good luck!

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

We went for a large group business lunch ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 12, 2016

We went for a large group business lunch. Staff were AMAZING. Very prompt. At the end, w/o asking, waitress summarized each person's individual responsibility - including tip - into one easy bill. We then noted names/purchase and she matched up to cards. It was so smart for her and made it so easy and delightful for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Service could have been a little faster; ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Service could have been a little faster; restaurant needs to be more aware that business lunch goers usually have limited time. Food was good, as usual. Outdoor dining option is nice.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Everything ordered was A+! I recommende ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Everything ordered was A+! I recommended this to a friend and her parents, and they said it was the best restaurant they've been to in the DC/MD/VA area by far.

The Prime Filet of Beef was cooked to perfection, and the Grand Cru Tour (wine flight) was excellent. I was told that the Favorites Tour was also very very good.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tapas, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time trying Grand Cru and it excee ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2016

First time trying Grand Cru and it exceeded our expectations. Carolyn was our waitress and I will ask for her the next time we dine there. She was very knowledgeable about the food and wines and made excellent suggestions. The food was properly prepared and cooked (duck, scallops can be hit or miss sometimes). This place can be loud but we had a nice table which was quiet enough for us to carry on a normal conversation without needing to raise our voices. Great neighborhood gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A pushy waitress who considers herself a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2016

A pushy waitress who considers herself a sommelier, cold crab cakes, fairly high prices for what you get and irregular service all lead to one conclusion: find a better restaurant to dine at, this one isn't worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

We sat indoor on a night when most were ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We sat indoor on a night when most were dining on patio so inside was very quiet. Can't speak for other circumstances. However, the food was delicious not quite goody, but different and very tasty. Service was was good. We found it to be a lovely evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unusually bad night at Grand Cru. Have a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Unusually bad night at Grand Cru. Have always enjoyed in the past, but a mess on this night. Our food was unseasoned and cold, others tables were sending dishes back to the kitchen. Also, very slow service and the restaurant was not crowded. Based on last dining experience, would never recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Greatly appreciated the attentive servic ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Greatly appreciated the attentive service and good food. My husband and I have eaten at Grand Cru a number of times and always enjoy ourselves. I'd love to see the menu change a bit more often. This is the only fine resto we can visit with our (very well-behaved:)) dogs and GC is very kind to all of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I went here for lunch with my girlfriend ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2016

I went here for lunch with my girlfriends and had a wonderful meal. Will definitely go again. They have a fabulous wine list. Great patio for happy hour. Only issue is parking, they only validate for evening after 6 PM.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First thing to know is the backside of t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 23, 2016

First thing to know is the backside of the restaurant opens onto the Ellipse, a garden-like patio with trees in the mid c le of the block that can be accessed from 3 streets. On a cool day, even in the low 80s, it's a lively, and lively, place for lunch. We had noon reservations and the patio was full by 12:30.

The Executive Lunch is a good de as l at $13.99: 3 courses (salad or soup), sandwich or crepe, and dessert (generally sherbet). For $2 more, you get very cheesy French onion soup. The food is good. My one complaint is the wine cost. This is a wine bar and shop. If you order a bottle of wine, they tack on $12 for corkage--of the wine they sell in their shop. That seems excessive.

Parking is difficult unless you go in a garage. But the setting was worth it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

My husband and I love to have dinner at ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

My husband and I love to have dinner at Grand Cru when we are able to get a babysitter. It is so nice to seat outside and have good food and a great bottle of wine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The prices can't be beat in Arlington, a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The prices can't be beat in Arlington, and it's a much more open and spacious venue than nearby and notable Screwtop as far as wine bars go.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.