About Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro

4301 Wilson Blvd
Arlington, VA 22203
View Larger Map

Grand Cru is a French American Bistro and Wine bar offering fine food in a cozy European style atmosphere. One of the key advantages of Grand Cru is our on site wine store with over 450 premium wines from around the world. Any of these retail priced wines can be enjoyed with your dinner with a modest on premise service fee. Grand Cru also features a selection of over 50 domestic and hard to get imported beers. Grand Cru also has a full bar with several signature cocktails and on draft beers.
The menu at Grand Cru consists of an impressive array of tapas items, world class entrees, fondue and hand crafted desserts. the idea is equisite food paired great wines at a price you can afford. But if you are in the mood to eat at home, stop by and pick up a bottle of wine to go.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French American, Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm: Brunch: Sun: 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Glebe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 243-7900

Website:
http://www.grandcru-wine.com/

Catering:
Full service catering including alcohol for small to medium sized events.

Parking Details:
Street parking on Taylor Street and Validated parking in the underground parking garage off Taylor Street after 6pm and on weekends.

Public Transit:
Ballston Metro Stop on the Orange Line. Exit and walk kitty corner through the courtyard with the Cosi and Potbelly Sandwich shops. Grand Cru is located in the next courtyard with the fountain.

Executive Chef:
J. Trent Conry

Private Party Facilities:
Private parties can be scheduled at Grand Cru by contacting the restaurant. We have a large private dining area with a separate bar. Ideal for large get togethers, weddings, graduation parties and Professional events.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro
  • White Chocolate Bread Pudding
  • Braised Lamb Shank
  • Mussels
  • charcuterie
  • Cabernet Sauvignon
  • French Onion Soup
  • Seafood Crepes
Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro
White Chocolate Bread Pudding
Braised Lamb Shank
Mussels
charcuterie
Cabernet Sauvignon
French Onion Soup
Seafood Crepes

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Washington, D.C. Area
Notable Wine List
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Arlington ›

notable wine list (56)
neighborhood gem (54)
great for outdoor dining (51)
See All
fit for foodies (40)
special occasion (32)
good for groups (31)
great for brunch (26)
romantic (25)
great for lunch (22)
hot spot (9)
vibrant bar scene (6)
scenic view (4)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
591 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

our waiter,Saeed, was exceptional, extre ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

our waiter,Saeed, was exceptional, extremely knowledgable about the food and wine. He set us up to bring friends from Texas on Friday 29 July. Looking forward to another great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a nice B-day dinner, food was great, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Had a nice B-day dinner, food was great, service allowed a relaxed evening, and great help finding a exceptional bottle of wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have dined here many times and always ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We have dined here many times and always had good service and good food. However, this time our waiter service was not good (the other waiters were more attentive to our needs). One person ordered two starters (one dish as a starter and one as a main course)- these two starters arrived at the same time so one dish had to be taken back to the kitchen! Another person's starter arrived much later than the rest of the group and even then we had to request it. We will try the Grand Cru again and hope that some of the wait staff are not so offhand.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Had salad and crepe. Went to celebrate ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Had salad and crepe. Went to celebrate Bastille day but there was nothing to mark the occasion -- bad for a French bistro. They had no bread to offer with lunch, and one likes a good french bread with salad -- disappointing Salad did not taste as fresh as it should. Seafood crepe was only OK. My friend had the crabcakes and said they were quite good -- that would be the better choice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great menu, service and atmosphere for a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great menu, service and atmosphere for any kind of occasion

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Cru Burger was very good.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The Cru Burger was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Grand Cru is really a hidden gem: many p ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Grand Cru is really a hidden gem: many people don't seem to know about it, hidden in a courtyard close to the Ballston Metro but it's been here some years and usually has several tables full every time we have been here. The food is quite good and the wine selection is great, coming from the attached wine store. Service is good and friendly. We had foie gras to start, followed by scallops - all were great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Grand Cru is my favorite go-to place in ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Grand Cru is my favorite go-to place in the Ballston area. You can't go wrong with their mussels and brussel sprouts salad. Happy hour prices for food and wine are a real bargain. The very best feature of Grand Cru is the remarkably warm attention and service provided by their waiter, Emiliano. He's a gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favorite restaurants i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants in the DC area. I have been there before when they were in a small space in the same court yard. The food is very good. Good ingredients and good presentation. The service is also very good. And the wine- there is a lot to pick from. You can even bring a bottle home.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love love love Grand Cru!! I wish I coul ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Love love love Grand Cru!! I wish I could give Grand Cru 10 stars! We love eating in the outdoor courtyard - it's convenient yet private. The food is always superb - we enjoyed Filet of Beef and Halibut and finished with a fruit crepe. And the wine list and service - wonderful. Go already!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Because of bad weather, we had to eat in ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Because of bad weather, we had to eat inside. We wanted small plates but their small tables are not conducive to people sharing small plates. It was VERY crowded. They are now know as "appetizers" on the regular menu. We liked it better when the they were called "Small plates." They are definitely too large for appetizers, so the first-time eater might be surprised. All in all OK, but the service wasn't very polished and it was almost too noisy to converse. Better outside or on an uncrowded night.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Enjoyed food & service. The wait staff ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Enjoyed food & service. The wait staff was attentive, the food came out in a reasonable time. I was dining with relative and thought it was easy to hear. I would go back, menu had good variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Grand Cru was great. I had the seafood c ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Grand Cru was great. I had the seafood crepes. My colleague had the chicken and mushroom crepes. We both enjoyed them very much and were pleasantly surprised by the good prices.

The patio outside was beyond LOVELY and the servers were friendly and attentive.

The dessert was a little "meh," but it wouldn't at all detract me from coming here again or recommending it to friends!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

We have been here many times, and as alw ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We have been here many times, and as always they are amazing. The service is great, the food is wonderful and the wine list is extensive. They just moved the a new location 3 doors down several months ago to accommodate more patrons, and it is great they are doing so well. The duck is wonderful, and so is the french onion soup. Highly recommend this place.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food is good and not outrageously priced ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food is good and not outrageously priced. Ample wine selection at all price points. My only complaint is a bogus corkage fee for a bottle purchased through them.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Noisy, but food was excellent. Note Happ ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Noisy, but food was excellent. Note Happy Hour prices only apply in bar and outside, not with reserved seating.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely place. I wish it hadn't been too ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Lovely place. I wish it hadn't been too hot to sit outdoors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Neighborhood Gem

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

What a wonderful place Grand Cru is (beware that it can be loud, however). The selections of wine, the food offerings that are so delicious, and the wait staff -- all fabulous. With the outdoor seating added to the mix, Grand Cru is a marvelous destination.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best restaurant in the Ballston neighborhod.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Food was really fresh and well-prepared. Waiters were attentive without being intrusive. This place is remarkably good without the need to be trendy. Will definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ate here many times. Lovely outside gard ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Ate here many times. Lovely outside garden area with an incredible variety of types of cuisine. Fantastic gourmet food. Best happy hour. Would eat here every night. Very reasonably priced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall ambiance, wine and service was great.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We had duck, salmon, filet mignon and steak frites. The first 3 were outstanding and we would order again. The steak frites in both cases was fatty and served as a whole steak rather than cut up. We would not order this again. This is definitely a place we would go again!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

value is the intersection of cost and quality

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

the food was pretty tasty, if a little salty. the wine selection was good, but overpriced. the service was friendly, but inattentive and not knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I love Grand Cru for dinner and happy h ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I love Grand Cru for dinner and happy hour, have always had amazing meals. This was my first time trying their brunch menu and it was rather underwhelming. Service and ambiance are always fantastic but the food didn't blow me away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Their new space is comfortable and the b ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Their new space is comfortable and the bar are is great.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been to the Grand Cru several time ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We've been to the Grand Cru several times. The last time was to have a meal with our son. Food is good, service has been somewhat poor initially, but does warm up after we interact with the servers. Expensive!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Went to Grand Cru on a whim with my girl ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Went to Grand Cru on a whim with my girlfriend for date night. The food was fantastic and the wine was delicious. The service was timely and fast as was the time between ordering the food and receiving it. I have nothing negative to say about Grand Cru. Wish I had found this place earlier.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner was great. Service was awful. We ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Dinner was great. Service was awful. We were there 2 weeks before and our service was incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Nice expansion of restaurant and a great ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Nice expansion of restaurant and a great addition to Ballston area. Would much prefer if restaurant showed the price of its bottles of wine rather than how currently shown at much lower amounts and then significantly increased when ordered.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great value, service, and quality food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband and I have celebrated two occasions here - Easter and Mother's Day. Both dining experiences were more than we expected. The three course prix fix menu satisfied our very different culinary tastes. We both were comfortable in the urban atmosphere. We were so happy to have the same waiter both times we dined as he was attentive, knowledgeable, and pleasant.

The food was so much more than we thought it would be.

Wine was available by the bottle there or bring a special bottle of your own!

I consider myself a real foodie and appreciate the preparation of good food but cannot always pay the cost of gourmet preparations. No worries here -the food is great and the food prices will not cause you to mortgage your house house!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Kid and adult friendly

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The outdoor area allows the kiddos to run around. The local wine list keeps me coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great Mother's Day Brunch!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The staff and kitchen really did a great job accommodating my family on Mother's Day. Everything was top notch, from the service, to the food, to the special requests for my kids. I would love to return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dined early on Saturday night before Mot ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Dined early on Saturday night before Mother's Day. We were seated near the wine display which was nice until more customers arrived.Then we had people walking around us while we ate. Drinks and wine were small pours. Appetizers were good, adequate, portions. Disappointed about fish. On website they posted halibut but was substituted for Hawaiian Butter Fish. It was presented nicely, however it was a little overcooked and not seasoned enough making it a little dry. It could have used an accompaniment that would have made it less dry and flavorless. Steaks were done to perfection.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Enjoyable

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Grand Cru has great food and our waiter Phillip was wonderful. The noise level is a touch loud, but overall a wonderful experience

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved dining at Grand Cru. Food was deli ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Loved dining at Grand Cru. Food was delicious and service terrific. Noisy though. But I'll be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I'll give it another chance

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was ok, not great and the bread is $5 - some of it stale. The hype around this place is better than what we got but I'll try it one more time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

A great find!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

This was the first time we have been to Grand Cru in their new surroundings. It was wonderful. We went for Sunday brunch. The food (eggs benedict) was outstanding, and the Bloody Mary one of the best I've had. The atmosphere is charming, as you are eating surrounded by wine bottles with intriguing labels. In warmer weather, the terrace will be great and I look forward to many more meals there.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Wine Store and Wine Restaurant

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We didn't know much about the restaurant and were pleasantly surprised. Our waiter was attentive and knowledgeable about the wines and food. The menu was not extensive but had plenty to chose from. We went at 6 pm on a Saturday, and the restaurant was not crowded. We will definitely return. Parking is on the street, so you may have to search a bit.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

My husband and I just moved to Ballston last month and we have eaten here twice. The wine selection is really great, and the food is amazing. Wonderful experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great selection of wines ! Services grea ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Great selection of wines ! Services great at the bar as well as in the main restaurant . We will go again !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the new location

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

I have been a Grand Cru fan for several years and am thrilled with the new location! Much more space and great atmosphere with nice decor. As always, the food, wine and service are always "Grand."

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.