About Grand Concourse

100 West Station Square Drive
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
View Larger Map

Thank you for choosing Grand Concourse, Pittsburgh's premier waterfront seafood restaurant. Our fresh seafood, impeccable service & breathtaking view will make your experience one to remember.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Grand Concourse:

Monday - Friday 11:00am - 4:00pm



Lunch Gandy Dancer Saloon:

Monday - Saturday 11:00am - 4:00pm



Dinner Grand Concourse:

Monday - Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday 4:00pm - 9:00pm



Brunch Grand Concourse:

Sunday 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
East Carson Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 261-1717

Website:
http://www.grandconcourserestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy our live piano entertainment in the main dining room 7 nights a week. Please call for up to date details.

Catering:
Grand Concourse can accommodate any catering need. 3 private catering facilities available.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for dinner. Public lot is also available.

Executive Chef:
Loren Halprin

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Grand Concourse represents the perfect space for your next extraordinary special event.

Grand Concourse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
3 More
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (237)
scenic view (206)
great for brunch (150)
See All
romantic (140)
good for groups (111)
fit for foodies (68)
great for lunch (44)
kid-friendly (35)
neighborhood gem (34)
notable wine list (31)
vibrant bar scene (18)
hot spot (13)
great for outdoor dining (11)
late-night find (10)
 (3)
 (3)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2954 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Nothing too amazing

Dined 3 days ago

Food was good, it wasn't earth shattering but it was good. The ambiance is nice but the building lacks a good HVAC system and it was slightly hot and humid. For the food and portions that you receive it was over priced. It's a nice place for a date or special occasion but don't think you will have a phenomenal experience or food to die for. It's a 7.5 out of 10. Service was decent though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

nice spot for enjoyable visit with a fri ...

Dined 5 days ago

nice spot for enjoyable visit with a friend....food is dependably good

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service, not so great food

Dined on May 22, 2016

My experience at this restaurant was overall very positive and large part due to the very kind and attentive service of the staff. I was unfamiliar with the trolley system in the city, and one of the staff members was able to help me with details of where I wanted to go. The steak I ordered was very well done, although I had ordered it medium. I agreed to eat it as is was since I am not that kind of person to send food back. The waitress and manager we're both very concerned about this kitchen error and the manager wrote that part of the bill off. I very much appreciated that kind gesture, but would likely not return since it was a very slow night at this establishment and the steak was not done correctly.

food4
ambience5
service2
value3

best brunch

Dined on May 22, 2016

You can't beat the atmosphere here, and it's the best brunch in town. Chef walked me around the buffet showing me the gluten free items I can eat. I appreciate that. Great for special occasions or out of town guests. Service is ok. Waitress was very nice but absent and hard to get a hold of after initial drinks. The service is consistently not available through all visits, but overall, we like go there.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Terrible food - don't let the ambiance fool you

Dined on May 22, 2016

I have heard over and over again from hundreds of Pittsburghers that you absolutely HAVE to go to Grand Concourse for brunch. Well, having finally just done that I was superbly disappointed. The place looks incredible and has a remarkable sense of grandeur. But the food was so terribly disappointing that I simply could not get over the clash between what I was seeing and what I was tasting. The meat from the carving station was bone dry, over cooked, and flavorless. All the standards (eggs, bacon, sausage, etc.) were no better than your typical continental breakfast at a hotel or anything off the iHop menu. The real kicker though was the price - $30 a person. Yes, it's pretty. Yes, it's a buffet. But $30 for a single meal in Pittsburgh is putting you in the price range of some of the very best food you can buy in Pittsburgh, and this place was nowhere close. If you're planning on spending over $60 for a nice meal in Pittsburgh, I HIGHLY recommend you look elsewhere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grand Brunch @ Grand Concourse

Dined on May 22, 2016

More brunch choices than you could ever wrap your head around, great service, and waterfront seating with an unforgettable view Pittsburgh. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I took our mother's here ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I took our mother's here not just for take them out for brunch but for an experience in dining and the Grand Concourse did not disappoint. We had heard about the amazing brunch and were finally able to experience it for ourselves and it was amazing. So many foods made right in front of you while other foods, although prepared and placed on the buffet were always fresh. The entire service staff was always around and tending to the table and yet you hardly knew they were there as they were in and out allowing time to eat without being disturbed. Highly recommend this place, not just for brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Grand Concourse over delivers again

Dined on May 21, 2016

The service was perfection, the food was wonderful (a tad over priced but I guess that's due to the scenery). The grand ballroom is noise so highly recommend the river room for dinner.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service1
value4

We were seated at 2:30 and were not serv ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We were seated at 2:30 and were not served our food until after four. Good thing we liked each other's company!!! We were celebrating our daughter's Graduation.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Awesome experience! My daughter got marr ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Awesome experience! My daughter got married in Pittsburgh that day and we had dinner at your establishment. I would highly recommend the Grand Concourse for any occasion!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

My wife ordered the live maine lobster, ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

My wife ordered the live maine lobster, and the waiter was kind enough to crack it for her, but he was so into it, that she never got the rest of her meal, it said it came with a rice dish and asparagus, which never came, she did get another lobster tail as a piece of her original fell on the floor while he was cracking it. Other than that it was a beautiful place, a little noisy as a company was there and they were loud.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasant experience and a favor ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Always a pleasant experience and a favorite of ours!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can have it all

Dined on May 15, 2016

The Grand Concourse is the Go-to restaurant for special occasions, business dinners, and romantic dinners for two. The food is always superb and freshly prepared. The view from the window seating area is amazing. The wait staff is knowledgeable, friendly, attentive and helpful. While the restaurant's decor, ambiance and place settings exude class and sophistication, the staff is able to read your willingness and readiness to engage and adjust their interactions to suit your needs. During romantic dinners and business meetings the staff are attentive while being discreet and non-intrusive. While dining with family members, the staff are still professional and attentive, but able to engage in friendly yet appropriate conversation that puts even children at ease in such a formal setting. After at least 12 visits, we have never had one disappointing moment or less than spectacular dish.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This establishment is one of the better ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This establishment is one of the better ones in the city that do brunch very well for a reasonable price; from food selections to service everything is top notch! The surprise gem is the donut machine!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

The food was great. i highly recommend ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was great. i highly recommend this restaurant. Best brunch in Pittsburgh

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

We were there to celibrate our 25th anni ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We were there to celibrate our 25th anniversary, the service was great to start however, it got busy fast, our waiter was kind and respectful, he treated us with respect. He was not very attentive due to the crowd, I had to ask others for water. I ordered a medium rare surf and turf and received a well done one, the lobster was "rubber". My hubby ordered the 6oz fillet which was done perfectly, however it did not come with the mushroom butter topping. I believe that they need more people to serve, with the possibilities of larger dining groups. I didn't complain due to the businesses, knowing it would take a long time to get my order right, basically the waiter lwt my food sit toooo long. Other than that the atmosphere was wonderful!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Long wait for the food.

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

We thought the food was very good quality, but we waited a full hour for our food to arrive! This is really unacceptable, especially since the restaurant was half empty. The table across from us got both appetizers and entrees before our meal came, and were finished before we had any food. They had only ordered 5 minutes before us.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our server was very good - did a lot of ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Our server was very good - did a lot of suggestive selling. The atmosphere is great, but the food is overpriced. Well, too pricey for us. Nice for a special occasion, but I wouldn't go there otherwise. I wouldn't recommend the mahi mahi.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3

Did not know it was buffet only and the ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Did not know it was buffet only and the food was well below quality normally experienced

food4
ambience4
service4

It was a Mother's Day buffet. They had s ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was a Mother's Day buffet. They had such a variety of food for all people and kids. Everyone could find something they liked!

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

All about the Ambiance

Dined on May 8, 2016

Visited Grand Concourse for Mother's Day and 54th wedding anniversary for my parents. The experience and ambiance was great since they had never been there before. However, food was just ok, and service was sub-par for this type of location. If you're visiting Pgh, it's good for a unique location, but if you're looking for excellence in food and service, look further. There are much better choices in this city for the money.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Mothers Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have eaten here many of times for dinner and the food was very good. I also thought it was pretty reasonable for a high end restaurant. We went there for Mother's Day Brunch and for $38.99 I thought it would be better. I expected more of a variety of food and the coffee should be included for the price. Maybe because I can only eat one plate of food. So for some scrambed eggs, hashbrowns and some salmon 38.99 was a lot to pay. I was also hoping the fruit would have been more of a variety then just melons and a few strawberries that weren't even ripe enough. I thought there would be stations of omlet and crepe making. But only a man making waffles. They did have someone carving ham, prime rib and pork, but I was not interested in that. I also thought there would be more cakes and pies to pick from. However the atmosphere was very nice and the service was good despite how crowded it was. I did enjoy the Mimosa's.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Selection was very limited for Mother's day brunch

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Selection of the brunch was very limited for the price they charge on Mother's Day. I have not been to Grand Concourse in years. I was really looking forward to the brunch. Unfortunately they cut back on # of selections they used to offer.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5

The roast beef was perfect but the rest ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The roast beef was perfect but the rest of the brunch dishes were standard. Nothing was poorly executed but I found the roast simply outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife was extremely happy with the com ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife was extremely happy with the complete experience. She Loved the view. The food was excellent with an enormous selection to choose from. The brunch made my wifes Mothers day wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Worth the wait.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Despite making a reservation, we had to wait standing up, no offer of a place in a bar, a place to sit down. The place is beautifully restored, but the big central room where everyone wants to sit was monopolized by a noisy wedding ... Food and service were good, though.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time! Good food!

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Great for larger reservations. Very accommodating.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We always enjoy coming to this restauran ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

We always enjoy coming to this restaurant. The food never disappoints and we love the view from the river room. Usually the waiters are very amiable and attentive. However this last time we are at the Grand Concourse, the service was very slow we waited a full 30 minutes between our soup and salad course and the main course. The waitress who did not introduce herself to us, also did not ask if it was a special occasion. It was an anniversary. She never came back during our wait to ask if she could get us anything else. She is not to blame for the delay because we could see she was very busy. I think the kitchen was dropping the ball. My dinner was not hot. The gazpacho I ordered was great.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The waitress was new- she said she had b ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

The waitress was new- she said she had been there for only 2 months. She said there were no specials but we heard another waitress recite a list of specials to the table next to us. She didn't think she could bring us an appetizer from the Gandy Dancer (although this is something that we do every time we come) and it took a couple of back and forth efforts to finally get that done. Her service was not up to par for the restaurant. We returned the very next night for another special event and had a superb, attentive and experienced waitress who made the evening much more enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

Dined on May 3, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday with a romantic dinner for two at the Grand Concourse and it was a wonderful experience. The food was delicious and our waiter, Greg, went over the top to make sure we were happy with our food and drinks. We were especially pleased with the way our left overs including desert were packaged so we could enjoy them again the next day.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Collin made our dinner very s ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Our waiter Collin made our dinner very special with his personable, friendly service !!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic DIning Experience

Dined on May 1, 2016

Wonderful place for special occasion. Food was fantastic. We had the best waiter ever - Herbert. Not only did he know his trade, but he was the kindest waiter ever. Perfect suggestions, helpful in explaining the menu, and a smooth, polished delivery. If you go, ask for him and tip him well - he will deserve it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best brunch in Pittsburgh

Dined on May 1, 2016

Our family goes for brunch a few times a year and it never disappoints. My personal favorites are the smoked fish station, prime rib, salmon rockefellar and bananas foster for dessert. My son LOVES the homemade donuts and prime rib . (not in that order). We lucked out and got seated in the front room with the view of Downtown, but the main dining room is also nice with the architecture and ambiance. Our server was very attentive with refills on drinks coming without even asking. My advice is , if you haven't gone yet.....then GO! But definitely make a reservation.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Treat

Dined on May 1, 2016

What a beautiful place and the brunch was phenomenal, the homemade donuts were to die for.....This is on my list of "repeats".

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our dining experience was exceptional. ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Our dining experience was exceptional. Our waiter Herbert was fantastic

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Graduation Dinner

Dined on April 30, 2016

Service was great. View is amazing. Ask to sit in the river room. Great ambiance. I wouldn't sit anywhere else. Our waitress was amazing! It is pricey and the food was an 8 out of 10. Bread and crackers were great. Raw oysters were so good and fresh along with the shrimp cocktail. I had a shrimp dish with pasta. I probably ordered the wrong thing. The pasta stuck together and the shrimp were overcooked. It was good though. Some of other dishes at our table were salmon, seafood stew and red snapper. They don't have specials. Mango mojito was one of the best drinks I ever had. Merlot was good too. We had a chocolate cake for dessert that was amazing. It was gobbled up Immediately. If you are celebrating a special occasion they give you bananas foster for free and she even brought out two since we were a party of 6. It was delicious.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for a formal dinner with a date.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Really had a great time with my girlfriend when she was visiting. Great food and nice wine list if you don't mind paying for it. Amazing food for sure! Give it a shot as the view of the river and the location is beautiful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The Grand Concourse was exquisite. We th ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

The Grand Concourse was exquisite. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would recommend this restaurant with no hesitation ☆☆☆☆☆

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

KR

Dined on April 29, 2016

I had not been told prior to arrival that a private party had reserved the main room.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Good choice

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great food but some entrees are a bit pricey. The pre-fix option is a good one.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.