About Grand Concourse

100 West Station Square Drive
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
View Larger Map

Thank you for choosing Grand Concourse, Pittsburgh's premier waterfront seafood restaurant. Our fresh seafood, impeccable service & breathtaking view will make your experience one to remember.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Grand Concourse:

Monday - Friday 11:00am - 4:00pm



Lunch Gandy Dancer Saloon:

Monday - Saturday 11:00am - 4:00pm



Dinner Grand Concourse:

Monday - Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday 4:00pm - 9:00pm



Brunch Grand Concourse:

Sunday 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
East Carson Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 261-1717

Website:
http://www.grandconcourserestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy our live piano entertainment in the main dining room 7 nights a week. Please call for up to date details.

Catering:
Grand Concourse can accommodate any catering need. 3 private catering facilities available.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for dinner. Public lot is also available.

Executive Chef:
Loren Halprin

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

5 Pound Lobster
Brunch Buffet
Lobster Bisque
Restaurant Week
Surf'n'Turf
Dynamite Scallops
King Sole with Jumbo Lump Crab Meat
Maryland Crab Cakes
Seafood Bisque
Spinach Salad With Jumbo Crab

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Grand Concourse represents the perfect space for your next extraordinary special event.

Grand Concourse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Scenic View
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
5 More
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Scenic View
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (235)
scenic view (193)
great for brunch (163)
See All
good for groups (124)
romantic (117)
fit for foodies (68)
neighborhood gem (46)
great for lunch (46)
kid-friendly (38)
notable wine list (35)
hot spot (15)
vibrant bar scene (13)
late-night find (9)
great for outdoor dining (6)
Sort By:
Newest
3031 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was exquisite. Service was beyond e ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was exquisite. Service was beyond expectations. Ambience was perfect for an anniversary meal.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrible service- had to find staff to a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Terrible service- had to find staff to ask for water and 1st course. which came cold ..

no supervision of staff - it seemed completely empty and now I know why

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Great food. Great service. Great view. C ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food. Great service. Great view. Chris our server was great! And also Herbert who we've had serve us before. He was nice enough to stop by and say hello even though we weren't seated at his table

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service. Our waiter was extre ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent service. Our waiter was extremely friendly, was always on top of everything. Food selection was outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Sunday Brunch f ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I went to Sunday Brunch for our anniversary. The Front dest hostess was very enthusiastic and friendly, even was able to seat us in the RiverRoom, seats with a view. Unfortunately we didn't have a server, but Jessica the server close to our table graciously obliged. She was very apologetic and took out drink orders. We, of course, had the buffet, which was very good. When we sat back down, our water glasses were full, and our drinks arrived. She made sure my coffee cup was filled as well as our water glasses. I was quite pleased with our visit. Will definatly return.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent service, atmosphere, and food ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent service, atmosphere, and food quality. One of the top five Buffets we have ever been to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were visiting family and friends afte ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were visiting family and friends after having moved away from Pittsburgh 16 years ago. The warm, buttery bread and Martha's Vineyard Salad was as wonderful as always and the gazpacho was world class. I say that after having sampled gazpacho all over Spain! The service was spot-on and the view of the river and city was spectacular!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What has happened to this once-great res ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

What has happened to this once-great restaurant!? Oh my goodness, it was so bad! I was redeeming a $100 gift card and regret using it at the Grand Concourse. I ordered halibut and was shocked to see what they brought: a dried, shriveled piece of fish that honest to goodness looked like it had been sitting out for a week. My husband ordered salmon stuffed with crab. He said it "tasted better than it looked." I'm sad...I truly want to love this place. It's historic. But, it was a gross dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The Grand Concourse is great for any spe ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The Grand Concourse is great for any special occasion. The Sunday Brunch is amazing and the best brucnh I've ever been to by far.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thoroughly enjoyed The Gandy Dancer and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed The Gandy Dancer and Grand Concourse. Best seafood I have had in a long time. We had a great seat by the window with a view of the river. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We went for our anniversary & were very ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We went for our anniversary & were very satisfied with everything. It is such a beautiful location inside.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

While the service was excellent, the qua ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

While the service was excellent, the quality and especially the quantity of the food was far below expectations, past visits, and especially value for the price. It has been many years since we dined at the Grand Concourse and we were disappointed. The amount of real food you receive for the $30-$50 price range is too small and to have to pay for salads ala carte seems to rather detract from the enjoyment. Also, the quality of the food has gone down and it seems that all of your recipes contain spices that are hot and not suitable for people with stomach or intestinal issues with hot spicy food. Get real, come back down to earth, and we may return.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Grand Course Historical Train Resturant ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Grand Course Historical Train Resturant is a excellent place for Neighborhood Residence and many visitors . I appreciate and enjoy coming here with my Ladies Friends and family with special Occusion . Once you try it you be ready to return. Hospitality Excellent

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food is always delicious especially the ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food is always delicious especially the Lobster Bisque. Highly recommend this landmark.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent for brunch!I would suggest mak ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent for brunch!I would suggest making reservations! Lots of food choices! We are definitely going back again!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have dined at this restaurant at least ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I have dined at this restaurant at least two or three times a year for the past thirty years. I keep going back, but it is not a favorite. The setting is beautiful. For me, it is best when entertaining friends from out-of-town. I don't like to take visitors to a chain restaurant that they could go to in many cities. The period architectural ambiance of the main dining room is impressive and the view of the city from the River Room is also a treat. The Grand Concourse is distinctly Pittsburgh, and it's easy to take the out-of-town guests across the street to take the Monongahela Incline to Mt. Washington to view the impressive Pittsburgh skyline. I find the brunch offerings to be quite decent and a good selection. It is also a good value. They do miss the boat, however, on some simple touches like not having lemon wedges available for the taking next to the bowl of shrimp and having to ask the server for condiments such as tartar sauce. There is always some sort of fish on the buffet. You would think little things like this would be a no brainer for such an established restaurant. Valet and self-parking are both available and easy to use.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

For the Sunday Brunch, you really need t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

For the Sunday Brunch, you really need to have a fresh pasta bar, more variety of side dishes and free mimosa's too. Usually at other restaurants, Sunday Brunch offers free mimosa's.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

The brunch was fantastic. The view of t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The brunch was fantastic. The view of the city along the river was great. The wait staff was very good. It was very crowded with long lines for various food stations which spoiled what could have been a five star rating.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Recommend Sunday Brunch. I mentioned in ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Recommend Sunday Brunch. I mentioned in my reservation that we were celebrating my mother's 90th. birthday and had hoped that was noted, possibly her just being recognized the day we were there. But she wasn't. That was a little disappointing. That's why I didn't recommend for a special occasion. But love the dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food choices were very large and gre ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food choices were very large and great food.Can get busy we went early by the time we left it was very busy. Had a great view of the city. Would go again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely loved the Grand Concourse! Th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Absolutely loved the Grand Concourse! The staff was quite friendly and courteous, answered questions about the menu and happy to make personal recommendations. Food was delicious, artful and had a beautiful presentation. Drink specials were creative and refreshing! Would definitely recommend for a special night out or just to treat yourself to a fab meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had lunch in the River Room on a beau ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had lunch in the River Room on a beautiful Friday afternoon......it was delicious. The view was amazing and the service was great !

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

jessica was perfect for us and we loved ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

jessica was perfect for us and we loved her thank u for her.... tony the manager and the chef mike were great.... thanks for them also...

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting, delicious food and an ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Beautiful setting, delicious food and an attentive waiter who was very knowledgeable about the menu made this dinner a memorable experience! Thank you!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a nice date and the view was wond ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We had a nice date and the view was wonderful in the River Room. Food was good but not worth the price. Service was good, although our waitress did not tell us what sides came with the meals we ordered.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Having been a customer many times over t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Having been a customer many times over the years I'm concerned.

The overall food quality (at least this day) is not What I have received in the past and certainly did not meet my expectations.

My wife had the seafood trio which failed on all three parts. The crab cake was fishy and way too much filler, the salmon was over cooked, and the shrimp were nothing to rave about.

My main course was the king crab legs, two of the legs were rubbery which is caused by taking crab during molting. At $59 for 3lbs I would expect the highest quality including a claw.

Oh, the shrimp cocktail at $15 for five medium size shrimp were nothing to rave about, best part was the cocktail Sauce which was very good.

And then the desert, the creme brûlée was missing both the bananas and was burnt.

Please wake up your kitchen staff and match quality food with the quality setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Love this diversity of the buffet and th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Love this diversity of the buffet and the way you are not rushed..

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing brunch! The quality of the food ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Amazing brunch! The quality of the food was top notch; great selection; perfect ambiance. I can't wait to go back!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, a great experience. Fantastic ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Overall, a great experience. Fantastic food (fresh made donuts are a must have), great mimosa, and a very cool atmosphere! Also, reasonably priced for the wide selection of food.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We live about 45 minutes away and made t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We live about 45 minutes away and made trip to the city specifically to visit the Grand Concourse- we've never been there before. We were politely greeted and immediately seated (with a reservation.) We had a window seat with an amazing view! Our server- I think his name was Arden? (Spelling?) He was PERFECT! He greeted us promptly. He was friendly, helpful, patient and most importantly (to us) our drinks were always full! To the Chef/Cooks- he food was AMAZING! It was so delicious and FAST! We were hungry so we appreciated that very much!

I do not like Salmon but my husband insisted I try the salmon spread that comes with the bread- incredible!

We also had bruschetta (what kind of cheese is that?!?) It was the best I've ever had! The fire cracker chicken- which we would happily swing by and order by itself. We've been raving about it to everyone ever since!

Our meals were the fishermans stew- while it wasn't what my husband expected he enjoyed it! I had the crab cakes which were delicious. I skipped the rice- it was nothing special in comparison to everything else we had eaten.

We ended our meal with dessert- bananas foster creme brûlée and chocolate truffle cake. Both perfection. I had a coffee and my husband had the four roses small barrel.

Even the sunset was wonderful. Overall- from start to finish our first impression of the grand concourse was a great one! We've been telling everyone about it and will continue to. We look forward to coming down with our children when they're a bit older (old enough to really enjoy the quality food!)

Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant! I would highly re ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent restaurant! I would highly recommend to anyone looking for an exceptional dining experience. Outstanding food and service!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place has been one of my favorite r ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This place has been one of my favorite restaurants since my Grandparents 50th which was my first time at this restaurant

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I went for his birthday a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

My husband and I went for his birthday and it was very nice. Our server was great and knowledgeable. I would recommend it to friends and family

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wonderful staff. Our part ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great food and wonderful staff. Our party of 8 had an enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, fantastic service and gl ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Delicious food, fantastic service and gluten free friendly. On the river... Trains going by (that's a good thing) and the building is fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious dinner, well prepared and serv ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Delicious dinner, well prepared and served. The view was excellent as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seating along the river provides a wonde ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Seating along the river provides a wonderful view. The decor is always fantastic. Service was perfect. I always enjoy a selection of fish when I visit. The food is delicious and the choices are terrific.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great brunch with lots of variety. Espec ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great brunch with lots of variety. Especially liked the waffles station for bananas foster and fresh donuts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I must say I was disappointed for the 1s ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I must say I was disappointed for the 1st time ever. Omelettes were heavy. I don't eat meat, so was looking forward to the Salmon Rockefeller, and they didn't offer that. No hot pasta. So, I just had fish and hash browns and cold pasta salad. A hot pasta dish, red skinned potatoes or parsley potatoes would have been nice. Even the dessert table disappointed this time. Dine there for Sunday Brunch on special occasions but this was not up to their usual standards. I certainly did not get my $$ worth. Also, I had requested a table on the raised platform. There was just the 2 of us. Very crowded with people waiting. They put us at a regular table for 4. I requested they move us to the raised platform per my request as there were other diners who could utilize a 4 person table. Our waiter never came, so after 10 minutes, we just got up and went to the buffet. I had a satchel with me, and my husband tucked it on the floor against the wall. When we came back my satchel was gone. The staff had it and said they didn't know anyone was seated there. This should have been in their computerized seating program. If I could give a "disappointing" rating, I would do so.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

We went here for brunch to celebrate a f ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We went here for brunch to celebrate a family member's birthday. Despite having reservations, the wait time was 20 - 30 minutes and the lobby itself was overly crowded and standing room only. The restaurant itself is beautiful and the brunch offering was plentiful. However, the level of food served and the wait staff service was disappointing. Overall, it was an extremely chaotic brunch scene and not worth the prices. There are so many other really, really great restaurants in Pittsburgh to go to instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.