About Grand Concourse

100 West Station Square Drive
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
View Larger Map

Thank you for choosing Grand Concourse, Pittsburgh's premier waterfront seafood restaurant. Our fresh seafood, impeccable service & breathtaking view will make your experience one to remember.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Grand Concourse:

Monday - Friday 11:00am - 4:00pm



Lunch Gandy Dancer Saloon:

Monday - Saturday 11:00am - 4:00pm



Dinner Grand Concourse:

Monday - Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday 4:00pm - 9:00pm



Brunch Grand Concourse:

Sunday 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
East Carson Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 261-1717

Website:
http://www.grandconcourserestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy our live piano entertainment in the main dining room 7 nights a week. Please call for up to date details.

Catering:
Grand Concourse can accommodate any catering need. 3 private catering facilities available.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for dinner. Public lot is also available.

Executive Chef:
Loren Halprin

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

5 Pound Lobster
Brunch Buffet
Lobster Bisque
Surf'n'Turf
Restaurant Week
Dynamite Scallops
King Sole with Jumbo Lump Crab Meat
Maryland Crab Cakes
Seafood Bisque
Spinach Salad With Jumbo Crab

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Grand Concourse represents the perfect space for your next extraordinary special event.

Grand Concourse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Scenic View
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
5 More
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Scenic View
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (236)
Scenic View (193)
Great for Brunch (165)
See All
Romantic (120)
Good for Groups (118)
Fit for Foodies (70)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Great for Lunch (48)
Kid-friendly (37)
Notable Wine List (34)
Hot Spot (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Seasonal (1)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Historic (1)
Cozy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Waterfront (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3071 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Memorable service and we enjoyed sitting ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

Memorable service and we enjoyed sitting by the window. Brighter compared to the other parts of the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I have been there for Sunday brunch twic ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 4 days ago

I have been there for Sunday brunch twice, and it was great both times. The omlet chef is personable and makes one great omlet. The fresh donuts are amazing. If you are in Pittsburgh for the weekend, try the brunch because it is worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great atmosphere service was good, our d ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

great atmosphere service was good, our dinners took 45 minutes after soup and salad my steak was raw and my wife's side items and crab cake were cold. 15 minutes later they brought my meal back cooked to medium as ordered my wife was finished with her meal I did not eat my meal the mgr. did take it off our bill and apologized we did pay for apps. and salads so over all they get a 1 out of 10

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

We hadn't been to this restaurant in yea ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

We hadn't been to this restaurant in years, but decided to give it a go since it was restaurant week in Pittsburgh. Although we didn't order from the special restaurant week menu, we ordered from the regular menu and the entrees were just okay. Not bad, not great. The watermelon salad was very good and the smashed sweet potatoes were a nice treat out of the ordinary. However, the atmosphere here is among the best in Pittsburgh. Our service was mediocre as we had a brand new server that couldn't answer many questions without running to check on the answers. So, all in all, our experience was 'not bad'. The atmosphere made the experience worthwhile.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Grand Concourse is pleasant. We had chic ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Grand Concourse is pleasant. We had chicken parmigiana, and it was a trifle too thick for our taste. An asparagus side was perfect.

The main room is lovely to look at and I'd recommend sitting either in the main dining room or the bar and not at the side facing the river and the railroad tracks.

Decent wine list. This restaurant was supposed to be the best, but I would say it is very good and probably better than the neighboring restaurants, but not outstanding. Our sever who had been there for 20 years was lovely.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Amazing food and service. We especially ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food and service. We especially liked the raw bar and Nancy was very helpful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's been a number of years since I have ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 5 days ago

It's been a number of years since I have been to Pittsburg and the Grand Concourse.

The ambiance and the service were as I remembered - outstanding. The watermelon salad was excellent and lobster bisque very nice. The entrees on the other hand - crab cakes and snapper were good but not outstanding and not on par with the rest of the experience.

Notwithstanding, I would recommend - especially if seeking a romantic evening -

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Service was very slow at the beginning ( ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Service was very slow at the beginning (took almost 10 minutes to get drinks), but vastly improved over the evening.

I appreciated a vegan entree, but wish appetizers and desserts would have been vegan friendly, or labeled as such. Waitress seemed a bit unsure if a soup and sorbet was vegan.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Always enjoyable. One of the best overa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 7 days ago

Always enjoyable. One of the best overall restaurant experiences in Pittsburgh.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Average food. Probably not worthy the pr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Average food. Probably not worthy the price. However, the view and atmosphere was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Service was terrible. We had a party of ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Service was terrible. We had a party of 6 and were placed at a table for 8. The chairs were not removed and it was really awkward trying to seat everybody (the waitress eventually corrected this by removing the chairs but the table was still too big). We asked about a custom appetizer and was told no by the waitress and ordered something else, then she brought the appetizer and acted like it was complementary and when the bill came we were charged for it. They brought our appetizers out and very shortly after that brought our dinners so the dinners were cold by the time we got to them. Rushed us through dinner, even though the restaurant was empty. Really expensive place, disappointed in the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

The food was wonderful. The view was be ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was wonderful. The view was beautiful. The service was outstanding. A friend from Florida came to Pittsburgh to introduce a young woman from Thailand to Duquesne University. This was a historic evening and the Grand Concourse made it even more so. My friends ordered the salmon rockefeller with the Martha's vineyard salad as well as the mahi mahi with the appetizer of Charlie's chowder. I ordered their lemon spiced salmon with sweet mashed potatoes with an appetizer of watermelon gazpacho. What wonderful flavors. What serious seafood! What a night! Colin is our favorite waiter. He served us with flair and expertise. He acted as though we were his only customers! In every category, the Grand Concourse excels.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! Great meal for a decent price ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent! Great meal for a decent price. Wide selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to this buffet many years ag ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I have been to this buffet many years ago and have a fond memory of what it was like. Although the setting is basically the same, beautiful and elegant, the buffet itself suffers. It was rather noisy, hectic, and overall crowded this time around. I try to avoid buffet's in general but made the exception because of past experiences here. The general attire of most of the patrons was the same you would see at a Golden Corral! Sleeveless T shirts, flip flops. Just not what I would expect at a nearly $30/plate dinner downtown. The food was overall fine, but a heavy portions to desserts, sweets, cookies, doughnuts, and the like. In general, I felt like this has become a tourist destination and not what I pictured. I might try it again in 20 years!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

Options are plentiful and delicious. Our ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Options are plentiful and delicious. Our entire party was able to find outstanding choices for brunch with a wide variety of preferences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I love the grandeur of this historical l ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I love the grandeur of this historical landmark. I am so glad they preserved this train station. The Sunday brunch far exceeded my expectations. The selection of food will satisfy the majority of people's tastes. The banana foster pancakes are terrific. What a way to start your day -- in a beautiful building, great food, service and view of the city skyline.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the ambiance was wonderful our ser ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

While the ambiance was wonderful our service initially was slow and the plates not cleared from our table. The waitress waited for us to move salad plates and soup bowls instead of her removing them. The tables were too close and made for a very uncomfortable end to our meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food excellent! Service execellent!! Ho ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food excellent! Service execellent!! House wine the worst. Couple years ago you House Wine was Fourteen Hand, it was Great. Your house doesn't deserve to be on your menu. It had a negative effect on the evening.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were a group of sorority sisters havi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We were a group of sorority sisters having our yearly reunion. We were staying at a B&B on the Northside. Received $12 off our total because of a partnership with the GC. The River Room is always a good choice when with out of town guests. Great view of the Mon River, the city skyline, the trains and the Smithfield St Bridge. Stephanie was our server and was very attentive to the 5 of us. Rolls and salmon pate always delish! As was the salmon. Can't miss with Charley's chowder. Wish we had had separate checks though. Took too much time and effort trying to figure out who owed what. But having dinner in such a beautiful historic building is always a treat!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently outstanding food served by ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Consistently outstanding food served by an attentive and knowledgeable server with a scenic view. Food was beautiful to look at and delicious. Special requests were no problems and service was relaxed but attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love to visit the Grand Concourse ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Always love to visit the Grand Concourse and sit in the river facing room with the great city view. A beautiful historic place and the Gandy Dancer Saloon is great for cocktails

. Great for private events. The food fine - though may need to step up their game have as Pittsburgh palates getting a bit more sophisticated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Always great food and great atmosphere. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always great food and great atmosphere. Maitre d' and wait staff exceptionally helpful and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were there for our anniversary as Wel ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were there for our anniversary as

Well as my parents anniversary. My mother's steak was so well done and dry. My husband's salmon was not fresh. We were very disappointed since in the past we have enjoyed our dinners there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

The staff with whom I spoke on the phone ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The staff with whom I spoke on the phone were very gracious and accommodating. I changed my reservation a few times and they were always helpful. I live in NJ and was really looking forward to my family's Sunday brunch at Grand Concourse. Our wait staff was very attentive and professional, as well. However, the food left a LOT to be desired! The scrambles eggs were hard and chewy. The food options were more limited than when I was there 2 years ago. My cousin said his food was bland and that the chicken was dry. I may go there again... I don't know.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The River Room is great. You get to have ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The River Room is great. You get to have an airy view of the outside and the air conditioning works much better than in the main dining room b

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Cannot travel to Pittsburgh without Sund ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Cannot travel to Pittsburgh without Sunday brunch at Grand Concourse

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The scallops were the worst I have ever ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The scallops were the worst I have ever had - very tough & stringy. We were seated on a veranda, not in the beautiful room with the marble & stained glass mentioned in the AAA TourBook. Service was slow at best. We were not impressed & would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

We came to celebrate our daughter's Mast ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We came to celebrate our daughter's Masters graduation from Duquesne University.

It was ok; not outstanding for the quality of the food. Maybe because we had a late reservation and it was the end of the night. We were seated under an airconditioning vent that I asked to be turned down. At first it seemed like a big production, but when the couple at the only other occupied table in the room asked, it was adjusted. Even the server said that it was too cold in that spot.

The server was EXCELLENT. My husbands food did not come out as ordered, and was VERY salty. She insisted on taking it back to correct it. She also asked if I would like to substitute something for my potatoes as they were the root of the salt problem. I accepted and was thankful; the red potatoes were way too salty.

There was also something going on in Station Square and instead of parking in the lot and getting validation as I was promised when I make the reservation, we were told that parking was a flat $10 and that we could get a $2 rebate from the restaurant, or go to the garage at the opposite end of the square. We turned into the valet area thinking that we could drive through and found we couldn't and just paid for the valet as it was a long day and we hadn't had anything since breakfast leaving the Philadelphia area and were starving. We thought that we could use a card, but they said cash only so we were scrambling to see if anyone had any cash on them. When we came out we saw that our car had just been pulled to the side. As we had already dropped a bit of cash on dinner that we weren't really impressed with, and paid for parking which I was told on the phone would be free and the valet had not parked or had to go retrieve our car, I didn't tip him and he seemed very annoyed.

I don't know what the noise level would normally be; there was only 1 other couple at the time we were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

THE GALS AT THE HOSTESS DESK...AWESOME!! ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

THE GALS AT THE HOSTESS DESK...AWESOME!!!!!!! WE CAME FOR SPECIAL BIRTHDAYS AND WANTED A TABLE IN THE RIVER ROOM - THEY TOTALLY CAME THRU....BEST STAFF EVER!!!!!!! THEN COMES THE GREAT FOOD...AND WONDERFUL VIEW..... WE ARE DEF COMING BACK (FROM OHIO) AND I HAVE ALREADY TOLD EVERYONE ABOUT OUR EXPERIENCE.... BUT SERIOUSLY....THE HOSTESS DESK - THEY TOOK OUR BIZZILLION CALLS AHEAD OF TIME...GOT US EXACTLY WHAT WE ASKED FOR...EVEN TOOK US EARLY!

WAIT STAFF IN BAR IS OUTSTANDING...CLAMS CASINO NOT ON MENU - THEY MADE IT FOR US....EVERYONE WAS AWESOME...THANK YOU AGAIN FOR A SPECIAL EVENING!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tonight was a perfect night. The Grand ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Tonight was a perfect night. The Grand Concourse is a historic, elegant, grand restaurant located along the Mon River in a former train station. The view of the Mon River and downtown Pittsburgh is outstanding from their River Room. I had the privilege of introducing two new friends to this elegant, favorite place. One friend and I had the Salmon Rockefeller. It had just enough spinach and crab. Delicious! Her husband is a steak lover and enjoyed his sirloin very much. We all had the Martha's Vineyard salad. Desserts were delectable: they had cheesecake. I had the famous key lime pie. Wow! The service was outstanding. Colin, our waiter acted as though we were his only customers. This is a unique location and our night could not have been more special! The Grand Concourse is a must-visit, Pittsburgh treasure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the Grand Concourse Sunday brunc ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We love the Grand Concourse Sunday brunch. We live in Cleveland and this has become a must-do meal to cap off our annual Kennywood trips. The cost for the three of us ($80 before tip) makes this a special occasion meal for we average bears, but it's totally worth it. The charm of the gorgeous old building and the spectacular views of downtown across the river set the perfect scene. We've always had friendly wait staff, especially important when working with a little girl. And what can be said about the food? It's spectacular. We talk about this meal all year and can't wait to come back for it. After the sensory overload and mega-junkfood of Kennywood on Saturday, this is the perfect, calming, nourishing, delicious antidote for the brain and belly on Sunday. We like to round out our soul-satisfying Sunday with a trip to Phipps Conservatory before heading back home. And funny...no matter how much fun we have at Kennywood or how many breathtaking things we see at the Conservatory, the Grand Concourse meal is always the thing we talk about most. I can't wait till next summer when we can come again!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seated promptly and the waitress was ver ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Seated promptly and the waitress was very accommodating the selection was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food, with high quality choice ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very good food, with high quality choices for a buffet. We did not eat the breakfast food, but stayed with the lunch choices. The prime rib was delicious had a nice seafood bar with salmon and shrimp. Cold salads were very good and the multitudes of desert choices were delicious. Overall a very good value for the price.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointed with my overall experience. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Disappointed with my overall experience. The food was mediocre. We had the citrus lemon chicken with potato croquette and it tasted greasy. The bread was enjoyable and the service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

The evening was all we thought it would ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The evening was all we thought it would be. Great waitress, great food, great atmosphere!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was absolutely fantastic, the ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our waiter was absolutely fantastic, the food was delicious, and (for a high end establishment) the prices weren't bad. Absolutely wonderful!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service and wonderful food. The be ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great service and wonderful food. The beginning of a great night at station square... enjoyed Open air music after dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was exquisite. Service was beyond e ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Food was exquisite. Service was beyond expectations. Ambience was perfect for an anniversary meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrible service- had to find staff to a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Terrible service- had to find staff to ask for water and 1st course. which came cold ..

no supervision of staff - it seemed completely empty and now I know why

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Great food. Great service. Great view. C ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food. Great service. Great view. Chris our server was great! And also Herbert who we've had serve us before. He was nice enough to stop by and say hello even though we weren't seated at his table

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.