About Grand Concourse

Thank you for choosing Grand Concourse, Pittsburgh's premier waterfront seafood restaurant. Our fresh seafood, impeccable service & breathtaking view will make your experience one to remember.

100 West Station Square Drive
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Grand Concourse:

Monday - Friday 11:00am - 4:00pm



Lunch Gandy Dancer Saloon:

Monday - Saturday 11:00am - 4:00pm



Dinner Grand Concourse:

Monday - Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday 4:00pm - 9:00pm



Brunch Grand Concourse:

Sunday 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
East Carson Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 261-1717

Website:
http://www.grandconcourserestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy our live piano entertainment in the main dining room 7 nights a week. Please call for up to date details.

Catering:
Grand Concourse can accommodate any catering need. 3 private catering facilities available.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for dinner. Public lot is also available.

Executive Chef:
Loren Halprin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

5 Pound Lobster - Grand Concourse, Pittsburgh, PA
Brunch Buffet - Grand Concourse, Pittsburgh, PA
Lobster Bisque - Grand Concourse, Pittsburgh, PA
Surf'n'Turf - Grand Concourse, Pittsburgh, PA
Restaurant Week - Grand Concourse, Pittsburgh, PA
Dynamite Scallops - Grand Concourse, Pittsburgh, PA
King Sole with Jumbo Lump Crab Meat - Grand Concourse, Pittsburgh, PA
Maryland Crab Cakes - Grand Concourse, Pittsburgh, PA
Seafood Bisque - Grand Concourse, Pittsburgh, PA
Spinach Salad With Jumbo Crab - Grand Concourse, Pittsburgh, PA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Grand Concourse represents the perfect space for your next extraordinary special event.

Grand Concourse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (123)
Special Occasion (122)
Good for Anniversaries (104)
See All
Great for Brunch (95)
Scenic View (95)
Waterfront (90)
Good for a Date (88)
Good for Birthdays (80)
Romantic (76)
Good for Groups (60)
Sunday Lunch (59)
Worth the Drive (58)
Quiet Conversation (45)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Business Meals (38)
Great for Lunch (36)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Seasonal (31)
Fun (29)
Authentic (29)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Notable Wine List (24)
Cozy (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Kid-friendly (21)
Private Room (17)
Casual (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Family Style (14)
Comfort Food (14)
People Watching (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Healthy (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Local Ingredients (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Live Sports (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fireplace (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Dancing (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
3465 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went for a dinner date. We were seated i ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Went for a dinner date. We were seated in the room overlooking the river with a great view of the city which was very nice. We ordered a special that was being offered for the Pitt restaurant week. The salads we got were wilted and nothing special but the rest of the food was good. Overall it was a nice experience but it was expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

My daughter had a special friend visitin ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

My daughter had a special friend visiting who had never been to Pittsburgh and we were "showing off" our beautiful city to him - we went up to Mt. Washington and came to the Grand Concourse for Sunday brunch. Nothing beats the atmosphere at the Grand Concourse for relaxed elegance! The building is so rich in Pittsburgh history and harkens back to a different time! We had a table with a beautiful view of the city, which our guest appreciated very much! The food was superb, and there were so many options- it was really incredible! Such a treat!!!! Our server was lovely and we never felt rushed ...we felt quite welcome to stay and savor our time together, the delicious food, and the beautiful setting. It doesn't get much better than this! While brunch is a little on the "expensive side," it is worth every penny- especially for a special treat!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a must for folks in from out of t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a must for folks in from out of town!!! The only thing that could improve is the coffee.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunday Brunch - excellent - food and ser ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Sunday Brunch - excellent - food and service. Would recommend to others

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go every year to celebrate my birthda ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

We go every year to celebrate my birthday. It is the best time. The food & service are always on point! Will be back next year!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was just OK, food that should be ho ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was just OK, food that should be hot was lukewarm at best. Not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

The Grand Concourse offered a pre fix me ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

The Grand Concourse offered a pre fix menu for Pittsburgh Restaurant Week. The features were creative with 3 options in each category, appetizer/salad, entree and dessert.

I had a salad, the salmon entree and the orange glazed butter cake. Our guests had some of the other options, butternut squash ravioli and Charlie's chowder. The food was presented well and the service was exceptional.

I was most impressed with the fact that they let my husband and I split the prefix menu. He did order soup and we did tip accordingly.

We will go back, especially with guests. The place was busy, the food was very good and the atmosphere is impressive

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Historic, Casual, Romantic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were really looking forward to having ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

We were really looking forward to having dinner and celebrating a family birthday. The view was beautiful. The Service was slow and poor. Dining room was very loud and table conversation was difficult. Food was dry and overcooked. Would not recommend.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

$150 to wait 2 hours for our food. The s ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

$150 to wait 2 hours for our food. The server said that it was taking "longer than usual" and brought us soup to apologize. We didn't want soup. It was our first time here and we were celebrating our tenth anniversary. We were there for almost 3 hours. Other tables had come and gone before we even got our meal. It was horrible, unacceptable, and not at all what I consider fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Service during Restaurant Week was not o ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Service during Restaurant Week was not outstanding - server forgot to bring us bread, couldn't figure out what drinks weren't available, etc. She tried to take our plates before we were done, despite there being empty tables available (no need to kick us out!). The kitchen ran out of restaurant week dishes and the bar ran out of drinks on their cocktail menu, which certainly happens, but was indicative of not-great planning. In particular, the dessert replacement we received was disappointing and served very strangely. I'm sure they'll plan better next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

It took nearly 3 hours to get through ou ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined 5 days ago

It took nearly 3 hours to get through our meal. Our soup and salad plates were not cleared when dinner arrived. Main courses and desserts were not flavorful, seafood did not seem fresh and not once did anyone drop by to check on us while we were eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We were celebrating our anniversary! The ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

We were celebrating our anniversary! The whole experience was well worth the price!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Have not been here in years. Went for r ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Have not been here in years. Went for restaurant week. Enjoyed the bar. Service was outstanding. Bar tender was friendly started conversation. Felt nice being able to converse with someone until my party arrived. Plus she made excellent drinks. Dinner was enjoyable food was great. We all had a wonderful time. And that waiter was fantastic. We are all planning to get together again at the restaurant. Thanks for great experience.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Comfortable environment, thoughtful and ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Comfortable environment, thoughtful and polite service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant is good but the brunch was re ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Restaurant is good but the brunch was really deceiving. Dry pieces of bagel. Not one piece of fresh bread!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

We were there for Sunday Brunch. The foo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were there for Sunday Brunch. The food was plentiful and delicious! There was a wide variety that satisfied everyone's taste. It was nice to sit in the River Room, not too noisy. The only complaint was that it was very tight seating.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Travel to this place once a year to have ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Travel to this place once a year to have brunch with family over the holiday season.

The architecture of this building provides a great atmosphere and they have tables available next to the river so you can eat inside with a view in the middle of winter. There are plenty of food choices and some items are exceptionally tasty. Lots of simple sides, but it's missing something in regard to the entrée offerings, like maybe they could add a vegetable lasagna or a more hearty, complicated dish.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Charming restaurant! Beautiful view of t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Charming restaurant! Beautiful view of the city! Great food! Nicest staff who treated us like royalty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

While there was a variety of food on the ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 1, 2017

While there was a variety of food on their buffet, much of it was extremely picked over. They also started taking down Christmas decorations right at our table while we were eating!

Tags: Seasonal, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The New Year's Day buffet was fabulous ( ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The New Year's Day buffet was fabulous (as always). Once you go to the buffet, every where else pales in comparison.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All facets of our New Years Day brunch w ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

All facets of our New Years Day brunch was amazing. Look forward to making it an annual rite. The donut machine was one of the neatest things I've ever seen in dining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have chosen the grand concourse for Ne ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I have chosen the grand concourse for New Years brunch many times before but this time it was ok. It was not the best visit. It was busy and there where many empty platters on the buffet. Being there at noon it was disappointing.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Came for New Year's Day brunch buffet. L ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Came for New Year's Day brunch buffet. Lots of good and abundant food options, with fresh omelet and pancake/waffle bar at a reasonable price. Can get a bit crowded, but the seating is comfortable and wait staff very efficient.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Been to the Grand Concourse Sunday Brunc ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Been to the Grand Concourse Sunday Brunch a number of times. This recent visit, New Year's Day (01/01/17), I took our entire family and a few of their significant others for a party of 10. The brunch was amazing as expected! However, this was the first time I have experienced average, to slightly below average service. Our server seemed to be having an off day in my opinion. She seemed to be lacking any enthusiasm / personality that made us feel welcome. Most of my guests had never been to the Grand Concourse before and I would have expected the server to ask and to help explain the layout. I personally cleared a few dishes from the table to create more room for new plates (something I have never done anywhere, but we didn't have the room). I had one guest that couldn't find any jelly. He was directed to go look at two stations by one server. One of the station attendants informed our guest that they had none (jelly). I personally exclaimed to our server that it was hard to believe that a restaurant of this caliber did not have any jelly at all. The server informed me that it should be at one of the stations. In my opinion, the server should have gotten our guest some jelly - needless to say the gentlemen ended up with no jelly for his English muffins. All in all - food was great, service poor.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Lacking salad choices that do not have f ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Lacking salad choices that do not have fatty dressing already in them and healthier bread choices such as 100% whole wheat instead of only offering unhealthy grease dripping rolls and english muffins. Lacking individual coffee carafes so you don't have to wait super long for refills. m

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Great selection of food options and frie ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great selection of food options and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took a friend to their Sunday brunch b ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I took a friend to their Sunday brunch buffet on New Years Day 2016. Once again, I ate so much, did not need to eat the rest of the day! Waiter was excellent, I never needed to ask for anything. Coffee and tea refilled automatically with output being intrusive Food great! Sat in the main train station, decor, soaring ceilings beautiful. Noise level seemed minimum. Will continue to return thereM

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Josh was a wonderful server and the food ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Josh was a wonderful server and the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, Seated fast, Good select ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great service,

Seated fast,

Good selection of food.

However tables are way too close together. We sat at a four top song the wall separating the bar room and dining are - the tables were crammed in beside each other and the people on both sides of us kept bumping into one another when trying to enter and exit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Incredible brunch

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Incredible brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Sunday Brunch especially on St ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fantastic Sunday Brunch especially on Steelers Game Days. Make sure you come hungry and ready to eat yummy food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some how they ran out of all steaks by 8 ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Some how they ran out of all steaks by 8:00 pm on New Year's Eve. Hostess was impatient seating us and didn't tell us that they were out of steaks. Waitress was very short and rushing. When we told her we did not want dessert she didn't seem too pleased. Would not go back to the grand concourse esp when I've heard great things from other people who have gone in the past.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

New Year's Eve

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Server David was outstanding Very pleas ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Server David was outstanding

Very pleasant and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Have been here many time and in the past ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Have been here many time and in the past has always been very good. Not good this time. Food was served Luke warm at best. Manager came out and went to the wrong table to ask about the cold meal.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

We arrived with a group of 6 for NYE din ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We arrived with a group of 6 for NYE dinner. We were seated at our reservation time and were taken care of right away. Everyone enjoyed their food. My only complaint would be some of our steaks were cooked one level above what we asked. Our food and Drinks were overall delicious and we would go back for another special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Historic, Business Meals, Fun, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food quality and service was great. Disa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food quality and service was great. Disappointed that the menu was limited for New Years Eve, instead of the normal menu with more choices. I wish they had informed us when we made the reservations, then we would have had a choice of The Grand Concourse or possibly another venue. I understand the reasoning, but there were many open tables and areas completely unseated, so they have handled larger number of people than that night.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A great New Years Eve, excellent food, g ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A great New Years Eve, excellent food, great service. First time there would highly recommend.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful! A bunch of us went for New Ye ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful! A bunch of us went for New Years Eve and had a very nice time. We all got drinks and an appetizer or a soup/salad which was delicious. The only regrettable decision was that I asked my steak to be medium and it was very much so on the rare side. Other than that we've been a few times and will definitely be back again. I'll just be more specific on my meat!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful! Love the atmosphere! I would ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful! Love the atmosphere! I would definitely go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.