About Grand Cafe @ Omni Los Angeles

251 South Olive St.
Los Angeles, CA 90012
View Larger Map

Positioned in the heart of downtown Los Angeles next to the Museum of Contemporary Art, Grand Café features a California inspired cuisine that focuses on seasonal, local ingredients with an array of choices. This authentic downtown LA restaurant is a popular lunch spot for businesses surrounding the California Plaza, as well as visitors attending the Walt Disney Concert Hall, Ahmanson Theater, Dorothy Chandler, MOCA or The Broad Museum. Grand Café has a comfortable bistro setting and is open daily, serving breakfast and lunch Monday through Friday and a special weekend brunch menu Saturday and Sunday. Choose from one of the signature menu items or enjoy our Deluxe Breakfast Buffet.


Show your valid TAP card, Metro Employee ID, or LA County Employee ID to your server and receive 25% off your lunch bill.
(excluding alcoholic beverages)

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am.
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm.
Saturday & Sunday Brunch 11:00am-2pm

Cross Street:
3rd Floor Omni Hotel (or) Grand Ave Entrance between 2nd & 3rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 356-4155

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/hotels/los-angeles-california-plaza/dining/grand-cafe

Parking Details:
$7 valet parking with validation

Executive Chef:
Simon Warren

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Great for large groups and private events! Please contact restaurant directly to set up a reservation!

Phone: 213-356-4155
Email: lagrandcafe@omnihotels.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Grand Cafe @ Omni Los Angeles
  • Grand Cafe @ Omni Los Angeles
  • Brunch Buffet
  • Patty Melt
  • Curry Chicken Salad
  • Turkey Reuben Sandwich
  • Eggs And Layered Potatoes With Bacon
  • Omelette
  • Bacon Wrapped Pork Belly
Grand Cafe @ Omni Los Angeles
Grand Cafe @ Omni Los Angeles
Brunch Buffet
Patty Melt
Curry Chicken Salad
Turkey Reuben Sandwich
Eggs And Layered Potatoes With Bacon
Omelette
Bacon Wrapped Pork Belly

Grand Cafe @ Omni Los Angeles Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Los Angeles
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Great for Brunch (52)
Good for Groups (32)
Special Occasion (30)
See All
Great for Lunch (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Kid-friendly (19)
Scenic View (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Romantic (5)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
194 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Chaotic front desk took over 15min for s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Chaotic front desk took over 15min for someone to greet us, even though we had reservations, they offered our party of 4 a makeshift seating or wait till seating in the dining area became available. Since we had theatre tickets we had to take the makeshift table. Food was OK, service was OK. We will not be back "ever" during Sunday brunch, too crazy. Just wanted a quiet lunch with friends before going to Disney Hall concert.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Food spread is great with plenty of food ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food spread is great with plenty of food stations.

great for big groups too. you can't beat bottomless mimosas for $40!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Average food and service. Too expensive ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Average food and service. Too expensive for ok quality and limited choices of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I love this place for brunch. I found ou ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I love this place for brunch. I found out about it in April and have been there 2 times already. I also have a function scheduled for September there. The Saturday brunch is just as good as the Sunday brunch. The food is all fresh and taste excellent. i love the fact that the mimosas are already mixed and blended just right for me. The service is really good and they even honor special requests of the diners

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Obviously a new place we enjoy...went tw ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Obviously a new place we enjoy...went two days in a row and will go back when in LA

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Quality Buffet Sunday Brunch! We arrive ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Quality Buffet Sunday Brunch! We arrived a bit early and were able to be seated right away. The service and quality of food was fabulous. One of the best Bloody Mary’s I’ve had in a long time. A must visit.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very pleasant surprise to find what grea ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very pleasant surprise to find what great food and service3 this restaurant has!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The host walked us all the way out to a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The host walked us all the way out to a patio table without ever asking us if we even wanted to sit outside, and it was a hot day. Host was also not friendly and didn't even smile. Not what is expected from a host.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·

Came here to celebrate my birthday with ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Came here to celebrate my birthday with a party of 12 and the service was beyond phenomenal. The staff was friendly, charismatic and attentive to everyone's needs, not only our table, while our mimosa glasses never reached the bottom. When it came to the food, the seafood and omelette/waffle station were a big hit with my table. The seafood was fresh, and the waffles were fluffy, sweet and left you wanting more. I would definitely suggest this place for big parties, but be cautious of the never ending mimosas.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Best to have reservations. Validation f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Best to have reservations. Validation for valet parking. Omelette station very good. Had soft scrambled eggs.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Besides the food tasting good the custom ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Besides the food tasting good the customer service was excellent. The preparers and servers added extra amenities and services I was not aware was available. Great champagne that kept flowing to our table.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I really wanted to love the Grand Cafe! ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I really wanted to love the Grand Cafe! I really did however the food was alright. They really need to offer a variety of dishes. The champagne was good and the service was great considering the restaurant gets really busy. The crowd is quite trendy and diverse which is nice. I highly recommend staying far away from the valet. Take an Uber or park away and walk up. So, the restaurant will validate your parking ticket for 2 hours. After the 2 hours you have to pay the full price. The problem is that the valet service is disorganized. We would have been waiting for over an hour if we didn't run out to the street to get our car from the valet driver. There were cars blocking the drive way waiting to check their cars in. Lucky we only waited 45 mins.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

I would not recommend this place simply ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I would not recommend this place simply for the simple fact that they took an unauthorized charge from my card of $140. And getting them to return it has been a big nightmare and a lot of back and forth. Other than that they would have gotten a better review.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

I enjoy eating at the grand cafe. The bo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I enjoy eating at the grand cafe. The bottomless mimosas and the prime rib are delicious. However, the price is normally 36$ per person for brunch. I was very disappointed to learn that brunch for Father's Day dramatically increased to 50$ per person. That decreased the overall value of the restaurant from a consumer stand point.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Nice location with valet parking, food n ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Nice location with valet parking, food never disappoints. Chilean sea bass is beyond compare. our family loves celebrating special occasions here and our young grand kids fit right in. Omelet

bar is super good and service is fast. We'll definitely be returning for more great food!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I'm in hospitality and the service that ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I'm in hospitality and the service that we received (for the Father's Day Brunch Buffet) was tops from the valet to the desk to the server. Very busy and the noise level was a bit high, but understandably for a special occasion. Still nice ambience, good view, good food (brunch menu), good service, good location... We really had a great time from parking to leaving. Thank you Omni.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was amazing and the price was great f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was amazing and the price was great for Father's Day .. The male hostess was a little unfriendly and short but I would definitely come back .. Our waitress was awesome .. We had a party of 21 but they managed our table well ..

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This was my second visit here for the we ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was my second visit here for the weekend brunch. Made reservations to my dad out for fathers day and it was outstanding ! The brunch theme was a backyard BBQ, which was interesting. The ambience feel slightly high end, but with an affordable touch. I constantly recommend this spot to my coworkers and friends for the weekend brunch. I cant wait to have brunch here again!

Thank you!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Father's Day Saturday Brunch. I ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Went for Father's Day Saturday Brunch. It was fabulous! Omelette and carving station, waffles (nice and moist), crab legs and large shrimp with fresh cocktail sauce and melted butter. Miso soup and dim sum. The desserts were fabulous, in smaller portions so you can enjoy several without wasting food. The staff was great and kept the mimosas coming. Will be going back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valet - $7. All you can eat surf-n-turf ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Valet - $7. All you can eat surf-n-turf brunch buffet with bottomless mimosas - $36

Feeling the entirety of your stomach pushed to it's outer limits = Priceless.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect for lunch before matinee at Disney Hall

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The Grand Cafe is our first choice for lunch before a matinee at the Walt Disney Concert Hall. The location is only 2 blocks away, and it quite an elegant setting in the Omni Hotel. It was very noisy inside when we arrived so we asked to change our table to be outside, which was very pleasant. The menu on Saturdays is now primarily brunch, and was limited in typical lunch items. However, we both had items that we enjoyed -- buttermilk pancakes and a French dip sandwich. Both were flavorful and well presented. Service was attentive and timely. We would definitely come here again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

To whom it may concern, my Neice, took o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

To whom it may concern, my Neice, took out her aunties, grandmothers, and her mom for Mother's Day, I returned, on May 22, for my anniversary (May 21, )my husband, and I really enjoyed the food and Champange.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time at this restauran ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

This was my first time at this restaurant and I was pleasantly surprised at this hidden gem. I will be returning. Thank You!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great downtown dining spot

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Second time dining here for brunch prior to the theater. We ordered off the ala carte menu. The frittata was great as was the omelet. I drink a lot of coffee and I judge service by whether my cup ever hits bottom - but they kept it filled. Great ambiance with open windows and a great view. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Had great brunch for mother's day. Gave ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Had great brunch for mother's day. Gave my mother a rose and food was great with nice seat looking over downtown la.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were there to celebrate Mother's Day ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were there to celebrate Mother's Day and will be back every year!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch hot spot

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This place is great for brunch with mimosas! Although it was a little pricey, the mimosas would be filled every time we took a sip! And the buffet has loads of choices! Food was good, apart from the salmon (I totally understand it's dry because it's sitting out trying to keep warm). Would recommend this place for groups and families. It was a bit loud for datetime dining

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Great Service, Great Food, Great Place

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Service is great, host have us seated as soon as we walked in.

The server is very nice, comes around a few time to make sure we don't need anything.

People working always give me a smile and friendly attitude, really made me want to go for second visit.

Food is awesome, especially if you love sea food!

the crab feet are well prepared and ready for eat, very fresh.

Dessert Section are very cute, and for people like sweet or not can both enjoy.

Full of pastries choices, I cannot resisted. Almost had 5 different kinds of bread.

Asian station, I think they can still improve with a lot of difference choices.

For Brunch, fresh omelet and fresh waffle made my weekend.

We had a window seat, which I can see the LA Contemporary Art Installation.

Outside is would be great if the weather is nice.

We even walked around outside after the brunch.

Very close to Disney Concert Hall and Broad Museum, made this place a even greater location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great buffet brunch

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We enjoyed the buffet variety for brunch. We did think it would be a little fancier but we're still pleased.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Family Girly Brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Really enjoyed the weekend brunch at the Grand Cafe. Lovely setting and attentive, helpful staff. Roast Beef and potatoes could've been warmer but good selection overall

Tags: Group Bookings, Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Vacation breakfast

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

The service and food was excellent, but a little pricey for what you get. Two adults for breakfast was $60.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

love brunch @ omni!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

we had brunch here on our honeymoon and we absolutely loved it! the hotel staff is lovely and very obliging.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bad Service and No flavor

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We were a small group of people and every single time we had to ask for more soda, water, or mimosas. We had to constantly be asking for a fork because they would take it with the plate. The times that they passed we felt ignored. The variety of food was good, but not worth the price. The seafood had no flavor and for $36 + tax I expect some flavor on my food. No flavor on the crabs, fish or shrimp. For the Asian section there were dumplings and gyoza that tasted bland like dough and it was a disappointment. The ambiance couldn't solve the food, service and value, so overall my rating is poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Great brunch. Will definitely come back!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Great brunch. Will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for groups!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

This is such a great spot to catch up with friends. The food is delicious and there is a lot to choose from... It's not too crowded or loud so you can easily engage in conversation with your group. The staff was friendly. The bottomless mimosas was a big PLUS too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday Brunch HIT!!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

My boyfriend and I came here for brunch on a saturday. What a great time we had! The view of the MOCA and the people visiting was enjoyable to watch as we sipped our bottomless mimosas and dined on snow crab and shrimp. Yummy carving station and omelettes. Delightful bite-sized desserts. We enjoyed the brunch and the energy in the place was great! People celebrating and enjoying family and friends. Great food and the mimosas were flowing. I would definitely recommend for couples, or a group of friends!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I enjoyed Easter Brunch a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed Easter Brunch at the Omni Grand Cafe and were quite pleased with, not only, the food options, but the ambience and service as well. You can imagine Easter brunch being over-crowded, limited choices, etc, but the Grand Cafe had ample room and no shortage of cuisine. They even had the Easter Bunny greeting and taking pictures with the guests.

We'd like to go for dinner at some point to compare, but it was wonderful and the perfect choice for our Easter brunch outing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Buffets can be crowded and food runs out ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Buffets can be crowded and food runs out sometimes, but this was not the case at the Grand Cafe. Spacing of the tables from the food was good and food was re-stocked often which was nice. Great selections. I just miss the oysters, maybe they weren't in season.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Grand Cafe @Omni

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We were there for Sunday Brunch, after 40 minutes, without asking, the waiter gave us the check and remove our glasses from our table.

We have a minor, I indicated my son is 12 years old at check in, but he was being charge for adult. (he is a picky eater, he only eat fresh foods & one slice of prime rib)

They seemed want to have our table in a rush, the other tables around us were eating there longer than us, We were the only Asians there, I hope that was not the reason, we were being over charged & rude services at the end. My niece was the one who paid for my birthday, I found out we were over charged after.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Books and Bubbles!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

My book club centers around unlimited mimosa brunches (don't judge us!) and saw Grand Cafe on a list online. I've eaten lunch here as I work across the street so I figured the food would be good.

We had an 11a reservation and it wasn't too crowded (the crowds started after noon). We were seated promptly and all were impressed with the shrimp and crab station we passed on the way to our table. I don't typically eat shrimp at buffets (lack of cleaning) but this shrimp looked amazing...too all of us!

The food was great, from the breakfast items, to the prime rib, to the partially shelled crab claws...and let's not forget the mimosa that kept on coming! We weren't even half way through our book discussion before we decided to come back for next month's meeting!

I've been staying at various Omni's for the past couple of years and their customer service is top notch from the hotel to the restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.