Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Grand Cafe @ Omni Los Angeles

Positioned in the heart of downtown Los Angeles next to the Museum of Contemporary Art, Grand Café features a California inspired cuisine that focuses on seasonal, local ingredients with an array of choices. This authentic downtown LA restaurant is a popular lunch spot for businesses surrounding the California Plaza, as well as visitors attending the Walt Disney Concert Hall, Ahmanson Theater, Dorothy Chandler, MOCA or The Broad Museum. Grand Café has a comfortable bistro setting and is open daily, serving breakfast and lunch Monday through Friday and a special weekend Hangover brunch buffet* Saturday and Sunday.

*2-hour seating limit per reservation for weekend Hangover brunch buffet.


Show your valid TAP card, Metro Employee ID, or LA County Employee ID to your server and receive 25% off your lunch bill.
(excluding alcoholic beverages)

251 South Olive St.
Los Angeles, CA 90012
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am.
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm.
Saturday & Sunday Hangover Brunch 10:00am-3pm

Cross Street:
3rd Floor Omni Hotel (or) Grand Ave Entrance between 2nd & 3rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 356-4155

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/hotels/los-angeles-california-plaza/dining/grand-cafe

Parking Details:
$10 valet parking with validation (valid for 2-hours)

Executive Chef:
Simon Warren

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Great for large groups and private events! Please contact restaurant directly to set up a reservation!

Phone: 213-356-4155
Email: lagrandcafe@omnihotels.com

Grand Cafe @ Omni Los Angeles Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Great for Lunch (12)
See All
Special Occasion (11)
Casual (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Fun (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Romantic (2)
Vegan (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
298 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was amazing , you can actually taste all the fresh ingredients that was used, and three mimosa was truly bottomless.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Wow! Has the Sunday Brunch Buffet improved here ~ It is excellent!!! Amazing selections and so many tasty choices are available.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Plenty of food especially shellfish, e.g. Shrimp, crab claw, king crab claw which was the focus of a lot of guests. Waffle cooked to order was excellent as was the omelet. Fried chicken was dry, biscuits were not flaky. Biscuit gravy was good. Breakfast meats were excellent especially the blue berry sausage. Did not try the dessert and had fruit only.
Server poured the mimosa and brought us the bill and never saw her in between. Busboys were attentive but left used cutlery on the table .

They were busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Extremely disappointing. Service was sub-par - and that's being kind. The "chef" - and that's a stretch - at the omelette station was rude, unfriendly and pretty bad at making omelettes. I think its all you can drink mimosas - but we were never asked if we wanted a re-fill. Awful experience. Will not return. Will not recommend. In fact, I will go out of my way NOT to recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Food wasn't very special, the soup was cold but the adobo pork was amazing. We went because we had a Groupon for the BBQ buffet special. Probably won't be going back. The service was very good however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

It was overly priced. This place sold me on having a seafood brunch selection and desserts but when I arrived I was not impressed. The crab legs were good but the sushi was the worst I've ever had for sure not worth the money.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food, service, atmosphere very good. But price was too high.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

The air conditioner was not working and there was a loud blower on the floor next to our table, making it difficult to hear one another speak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Amazing service! A group of 11, we were in and out for lunch at noon in less than an hour, and that included beverages, appetizers, and meals! Fabulous food: delicious, fresh and healthy, and artistic presentation. Perfect for business meetings: well-lit, quite, lovely decor. The only down side was having to sign a form with credit card info to make a reservation; it couldn't be done online so had to be printed, filled out, scanned and emailed back. But, given how good the overall experience was, I'd probably do it again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2017

This is my favorite place to have lunch Downtown during the work week for any occasion: business lunch, birthday/retirement lunch, casual co-worker get together. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. You have an option to dine outdoors on their patio, which overlooks the MOCA courtyard. They have a simple lunch menu that does include vegetarian options. On this day I had the salmon entree that came with couscous and grape tomatoes. It was a perfect summer lunch: flavorful, fresh and light. They also serve a fresh-baked bread basket for each table that's a great starter. Service was very good as usual; my ice tea glass always being refilled without asking. If you're looking for a quick lunch (under an hour) this might not be the place to go. But if you can enjoy a leisurely lunch it's definitely worth going to. Prices are reasonable considering the restaurant is in a Downtown hotel. All in all - a really good experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I had an excellent time for my 36th Birthday. The food and mimosas were awesome. Looking forward to coming again

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I love the Grand Cafe at the Omni. My friends and I meet there for lunch before we go to the shows at the Music Center>. The lunches are good and reasonably priced. But, the best part is the friendly and experienced staff.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great place! The brunch was amazing, choise and quality of the food is excellent, mimosas was made with the right ammount of sparkling wine. I highly recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 29, 2017

They close down kitchen 2-230 ish and start breaking down buffet at 3. So don't make a reservation for after 2. Otherwise food was great! Very nice servers

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I love the Grand Cafe!! I'm from San Diego and every time I'm in LA I make sure to go! This trip we were celebrating my friend's birthday and having a girls day out! The staff was accomidating, they sang her happy birthday. Our server Rddie kept the mimosas flowing!! I think that this brunch is definitely worth the $$. The food is amazing, there is a good variety, and the mimosas are just the right strength, not watered down like most places!! I love it!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

When you finally find it, which isn't easy, it's a very nice spot. Nice setup for Sunday brunch. I don't fancy the idea of mimosas being mixed prior to pouring but hey, it's bottomless. Who cares. If you opt for no oj, just tell the server. LOVE THE HOT SEAFOOD POT full of goodies. If you don't eat red meat, though, you're out of luck because the tasty andouille sausage is already mixed in with crab legs, shrimp and crab claws that have already been cracked for you. Now that I know how to get to it, without the help of the receptionist because she didn't know either, I will definitely be back

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

My family came here for the Sunday brunch buffet and were very impressed. There were four of us and my 3 year old son and there was wonderful food for everyone. The service was excellent and the food options and quality were incredible especially for the price.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

What can I say: it was adequate but not above and beyond in any way. 1) the service was fine at the beginning but we really didn't get any attention after we received our food, which was ordered à la cart off the menu instead of the buffet ; 2) this led us to believe that people who pay $50 for the weekend buffet breakfast definitely get all the attention; 3) when we were ready for the check, our plates hadn't been cleared although it had been a good 10 minutes since we had finished eating; 4) I saw our waiter walk back-and-forth between other tables at least 15 times before we finally flagged down the busperson to request our check. That about sums it up. This was not a particularly busy weekend morning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We keep trying this place, but the service just never gets better. Two hours to order and eat salad and we still had to ask for the bill...cmon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 12, 2017

One of my favorite lunch spots near my office. The variety of buffets are great as well

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We came for a birthday lunch with 4 adults and 2 toddlers- they were so friendly and accommodating! The restaurant has a relaxed vibe while still feeling classy. The lunch buffet was delicious! Thank you for a great afternoon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food, service, and quality was top notch! I'd definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent service and the choices of good were very nice. Relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: Disabled Access, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 25, 2017

They were so accommodating to our special requirements (being vegan). Really nice people.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Went the BBQ, it was yummy! only thing that I didn't like, was the waiting... reservation was for 11:00 am and BBQ was not ready until closer to 12:00. They did have a salad bar and bread and drinks before that, so I guess it was ok. Will need to come try it again for Brunch!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Maitre'd was very cordial and seated us quickly putting our entire party together when we had separate Open Table reservations for 4 persons and for 3 persons. Service to clear used plates was a little slow compared to other buffets.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Love this place, came here for Fathers day brunch and it was AWESOME! I am a huge fan of brunches and this BRUNCH was by the best set up, food presentation, food preparation and most of all TASTE was superb! I will definitely be coming back for brunch and for their regular breakfast menu. Love this Café/Hotel. Very nice Hotel as well, tucked in DTLA!

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Visited Grand Cafe for Father's Day Brunch. The variety of food was excellent. Everyone in my party was happy with th choices available. The service was excellent. The servers were readily available and friendly. The Host and Hostess were understanding when I requested a table inside instead of a table outside they were going to seat us, it was a very hot day. So, they made accommodations to seat us inside in a timely fashion without making it seem like it was burdensome to do so. Overall, our experience there was excellent. Also, Grand Cafe gave each Father a special barbecue rub as a gift which I plan on using this July 4th.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

OMG !! Went on Father's Day to celebrate my husband day. The food was delicious and you had a good selection to choose from. We will be going back. The price was bad either

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great selection for brunch plus bottomless mimosas. The buffet had very fresh food with a great variety, from American, French, Asian etc. The mimosas were good as well but could have stood for less pulp. I don't eat shellfish but the crab legs and shrimp were bountiful. The salmon I did have was bomb!! I would recommend this place if you want to splurge for brunch i.e special occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2017

This is one of the best Sunday brunches out there. The food was wonderful, especially the prime rib. There were plenty of choices including breakfast items and desserts. The champagne, coffee, and tea were always kept topped off. This was our first time there but certainly not the last. Service was always friendly. A couple of things, though. We were four people and the first two got there and were seated about five minutes ahead of us. When we got there, they couldn't find our reservation (even though I called and confirmed that morning), but they said they could seat us. We were never told that our other people were already there! My sister in law happened to see me a few tables over. Good thing we didn't wait out front. It was one of our choices. Bad coordination at the host desk. Also, sitting in the back room was way too noisy. We had to yell at each other to be heard. They stick the larger parties out there and we were seated by a group of about fifteen. If you can, choose to sit in the center. That's where all the food is anyway. All in all, The Grand Cafe is a keeper and we will definitely be back. Don't pass this one up. $49 per adult and $10 valet parking with validation. So worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Wow! Grand Cafe at the Omni blew us away! For $40, we partook in a gorgeous, beautifully displayed, tasty spread with something for everyone, including seafood and several surprising ethnic food choices (dim sum, kimchee fried rice, congee, menudo) as well as some vegetarian and vegan options - and unlimited mimosas. The room is lovely, with the buffet thoughtfully placed around to allow plenty of space to walk. The food was great quality and prepared with care. We found the value to be impressive, and we will be back again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Delicious seafood and prime rib brunch buffet. Very attentive staff. Its pricey yet well worth it for what you get!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food was delicious. Our waiter was was very good. The atmosphere was just right and the cafe was very clean.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Food was delicious and the price was a little high but worth it. I couldn't breathe I was so satisfied with the food. The mood was good and not a lot of noise.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Loved the Sea Bass...Definitely will be back if it's on the menu again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We all loved the crab claws!! Cracked and ready to eat.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I went for Mother's Day brunch. It was great. I was given a tiara and a rose. The selection of tasty food was great. Mimosas were wonderful. I only had one, my glass was never allowed to be empty. I was queen for the day.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Took my mom and family for mother's day brunch, super friendly staffs and great services!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Same options as last year, no changes or increase in value for patrons.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.