About Grand Cafe @ Omni Los Angeles

251 South Olive St.
Los Angeles, CA 90012
View Larger Map

Positioned in the heart of downtown Los Angeles next to the Museum of Contemporary Art, Grand Café features a California inspired cuisine that focuses on seasonal, local ingredients with an array of choices. This authentic downtown LA restaurant is a popular lunch spot for businesses surrounding the California Plaza, as well as visitors attending the Walt Disney Concert Hall, Ahmanson Theater, Dorothy Chandler, MOCA or The Broad Museum. Grand Café has a comfortable bistro setting and is open daily, serving breakfast and lunch Monday through Friday and a special weekend brunch menu Saturday and Sunday. Choose from one of the signature menu items or enjoy our Deluxe Breakfast Buffet.


Show your valid TAP card, Metro Employee ID, or LA County Employee ID to your server and receive 25% off your lunch bill.
(excluding alcoholic beverages)

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am.
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm.
Saturday & Sunday Brunch 11:00am-2pm

Cross Street:
3rd Floor Omni Hotel (or) Grand Ave Entrance between 2nd & 3rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 356-4155

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/hotels/los-angeles-california-plaza/dining/grand-cafe

Parking Details:
$7 valet parking with validation

Executive Chef:
Simon Warren

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Great for large groups and private events! Please contact restaurant directly to set up a reservation!

Phone: 213-356-4155
Email: lagrandcafe@omnihotels.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Grand Cafe @ Omni Los Angeles
  • Grand Cafe @ Omni Los Angeles
  • Brunch Buffet
  • Patty Melt
  • Curry Chicken Salad
  • Turkey Reuben Sandwich
  • Eggs And Layered Potatoes With Bacon
  • Omelette
  • Bacon Wrapped Pork Belly
Grand Cafe @ Omni Los Angeles
Grand Cafe @ Omni Los Angeles
Brunch Buffet
Patty Melt
Curry Chicken Salad
Turkey Reuben Sandwich
Eggs And Layered Potatoes With Bacon
Omelette
Bacon Wrapped Pork Belly

Grand Cafe @ Omni Los Angeles Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Los Angeles
Californian
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

great for brunch (55)
good for groups (35)
special occasion (29)
See All
great for outdoor dining (21)
great for lunch (20)
kid-friendly (20)
fit for foodies (16)
scenic view (11)
neighborhood gem (5)
romantic (4)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

I really wanted to love the Grand Cafe! ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

I really wanted to love the Grand Cafe! I really did however the food was alright. They really need to offer a variety of dishes. The champagne was good and the service was great considering the restaurant gets really busy. The crowd is quite trendy and diverse which is nice. I highly recommend staying far away from the valet. Take an Uber or park away and walk up. So, the restaurant will validate your parking ticket for 2 hours. After the 2 hours you have to pay the full price. The problem is that the valet service is disorganized. We would have been waiting for over an hour if we didn't run out to the street to get our car from the valet driver. There were cars blocking the drive way waiting to check their cars in. Lucky we only waited 45 mins.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

I would not recommend this place simply ...

Dined 3 days ago

I would not recommend this place simply for the simple fact that they took an unauthorized charge from my card of $140. And getting them to return it has been a big nightmare and a lot of back and forth. Other than that they would have gotten a better review.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

I enjoy eating at the grand cafe. The bo ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I enjoy eating at the grand cafe. The bottomless mimosas and the prime rib are delicious. However, the price is normally 36$ per person for brunch. I was very disappointed to learn that brunch for Father's Day dramatically increased to 50$ per person. That decreased the overall value of the restaurant from a consumer stand point.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice location with valet parking, food n ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Nice location with valet parking, food never disappoints. Chilean sea bass is beyond compare. our family loves celebrating special occasions here and our young grand kids fit right in. Omelet bar is super good and service is fast. We'll definitely be returning for more great food!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I'm in hospitality and the service that ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I'm in hospitality and the service that we received (for the Father's Day Brunch Buffet) was tops from the valet to the desk to the server. Very busy and the noise level was a bit high, but understandably for a special occasion. Still nice ambience, good view, good food (brunch menu), good service, good location... We really had a great time from parking to leaving. Thank you Omni.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

It was amazing and the price was great f ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

It was amazing and the price was great for Father's Day .. The male hostess was a little unfriendly and short but I would definitely come back .. Our waitress was awesome .. We had a party of 21 but they managed our table well ..

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit here for the we ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This was my second visit here for the weekend brunch. Made reservations to my dad out for fathers day and it was outstanding ! The brunch theme was a backyard BBQ, which was interesting. The ambience feel slightly high end, but with an affordable touch. I constantly recommend this spot to my coworkers and friends for the weekend brunch. I cant wait to have brunch here again! Thank you!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for Father's Day Saturday Brunch. I ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Went for Father's Day Saturday Brunch. It was fabulous! Omelette and carving station, waffles (nice and moist), crab legs and large shrimp with fresh cocktail sauce and melted butter. Miso soup and dim sum. The desserts were fabulous, in smaller portions so you can enjoy several without wasting food. The staff was great and kept the mimosas coming. Will be going back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Valet - $7. All you can eat surf-n-turf ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Valet - $7. All you can eat surf-n-turf brunch buffet with bottomless mimosas - $36 Feeling the entirety of your stomach pushed to it's outer limits = Priceless.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Perfect for lunch before matinee at Disney Hall

Dined on May 28, 2016

The Grand Cafe is our first choice for lunch before a matinee at the Walt Disney Concert Hall. The location is only 2 blocks away, and it quite an elegant setting in the Omni Hotel. It was very noisy inside when we arrived so we asked to change our table to be outside, which was very pleasant. The menu on Saturdays is now primarily brunch, and was limited in typical lunch items. However, we both had items that we enjoyed -- buttermilk pancakes and a French dip sandwich. Both were flavorful and well presented. Service was attentive and timely. We would definitely come here again.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

To whom it may concern, my Neice, took o ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

To whom it may concern, my Neice, took out her aunties, grandmothers, and her mom for Mother's Day, I returned, on May 22, for my anniversary (May 21, )my husband, and I really enjoyed the food and Champange.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time at this restauran ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

This was my first time at this restaurant and I was pleasantly surprised at this hidden gem. I will be returning. Thank You!

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great downtown dining spot

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Second time dining here for brunch prior to the theater. We ordered off the ala carte menu. The frittata was great as was the omelet. I drink a lot of coffee and I judge service by whether my cup ever hits bottom - but they kept it filled. Great ambiance with open windows and a great view. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there to celebrate Mother's Day ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were there to celebrate Mother's Day and will be back every year!

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Brunch hot spot

Dined on May 7, 2016

This place is great for brunch with mimosas! Although it was a little pricey, the mimosas would be filled every time we took a sip! And the buffet has loads of choices! Food was good, apart from the salmon (I totally understand it's dry because it's sitting out trying to keep warm). Would recommend this place for groups and families. It was a bit loud for datetime dining

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service, Great Food, Great Place

Dined on May 7, 2016

Service is great, host have us seated as soon as we walked in. The server is very nice, comes around a few time to make sure we don't need anything. People working always give me a smile and friendly attitude, really made me want to go for second visit. Food is awesome, especially if you love sea food! the crab feet are well prepared and ready for eat, very fresh. Dessert Section are very cute, and for people like sweet or not can both enjoy. Full of pastries choices, I cannot resisted. Almost had 5 different kinds of bread. Asian station, I think they can still improve with a lot of difference choices. For Brunch, fresh omelet and fresh waffle made my weekend. We had a window seat, which I can see the LA Contemporary Art Installation. Outside is would be great if the weather is nice. We even walked around outside after the brunch. Very close to Disney Concert Hall and Broad Museum, made this place a even greater location.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great buffet brunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

We enjoyed the buffet variety for brunch. We did think it would be a little fancier but we're still pleased.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Family Girly Brunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

Really enjoyed the weekend brunch at the Grand Cafe. Lovely setting and attentive, helpful staff. Roast Beef and potatoes could've been warmer but good selection overall

Tags: brunch, group bookings
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Vacation breakfast

Dined on April 28, 2016

The service and food was excellent, but a little pricey for what you get. Two adults for breakfast was $60.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

love brunch @ omni!

Dined on April 26, 2016

we had brunch here on our honeymoon and we absolutely loved it! the hotel staff is lovely and very obliging.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Bad Service and No flavor

Dined on April 9, 2016

We were a small group of people and every single time we had to ask for more soda, water, or mimosas. We had to constantly be asking for a fork because they would take it with the plate. The times that they passed we felt ignored. The variety of food was good, but not worth the price. The seafood had no flavor and for $36 + tax I expect some flavor on my food. No flavor on the crabs, fish or shrimp. For the Asian section there were dumplings and gyoza that tasted bland like dough and it was a disappointment. The ambiance couldn't solve the food, service and value, so overall my rating is poor.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch. Will definitely come back!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Great brunch. Will definitely come back!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for groups!

Dined on April 3, 2016

This is such a great spot to catch up with friends. The food is delicious and there is a lot to choose from... It's not too crowded or loud so you can easily engage in conversation with your group. The staff was friendly. The bottomless mimosas was a big PLUS too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday Brunch HIT!!

Dined on April 2, 2016

My boyfriend and I came here for brunch on a saturday. What a great time we had! The view of the MOCA and the people visiting was enjoyable to watch as we sipped our bottomless mimosas and dined on snow crab and shrimp. Yummy carving station and omelettes. Delightful bite-sized desserts. We enjoyed the brunch and the energy in the place was great! People celebrating and enjoying family and friends. Great food and the mimosas were flowing. I would definitely recommend for couples, or a group of friends!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I enjoyed Easter Brunch a ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed Easter Brunch at the Omni Grand Cafe and were quite pleased with, not only, the food options, but the ambience and service as well. You can imagine Easter brunch being over-crowded, limited choices, etc, but the Grand Cafe had ample room and no shortage of cuisine. They even had the Easter Bunny greeting and taking pictures with the guests. We'd like to go for dinner at some point to compare, but it was wonderful and the perfect choice for our Easter brunch outing.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3

Buffets can be crowded and food runs out ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Buffets can be crowded and food runs out sometimes, but this was not the case at the Grand Cafe. Spacing of the tables from the food was good and food was re-stocked often which was nice. Great selections. I just miss the oysters, maybe they weren't in season.

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Grand Cafe @Omni

Dined on March 13, 2016

We were there for Sunday Brunch, after 40 minutes, without asking, the waiter gave us the check and remove our glasses from our table. We have a minor, I indicated my son is 12 years old at check in, but he was being charge for adult. (he is a picky eater, he only eat fresh foods & one slice of prime rib) They seemed want to have our table in a rush, the other tables around us were eating there longer than us, We were the only Asians there, I hope that was not the reason, we were being over charged & rude services at the end. My niece was the one who paid for my birthday, I found out we were over charged after.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Books and Bubbles!

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

My book club centers around unlimited mimosa brunches (don't judge us!) and saw Grand Cafe on a list online. I've eaten lunch here as I work across the street so I figured the food would be good. We had an 11a reservation and it wasn't too crowded (the crowds started after noon). We were seated promptly and all were impressed with the shrimp and crab station we passed on the way to our table. I don't typically eat shrimp at buffets (lack of cleaning) but this shrimp looked amazing...too all of us! The food was great, from the breakfast items, to the prime rib, to the partially shelled crab claws...and let's not forget the mimosa that kept on coming! We weren't even half way through our book discussion before we decided to come back for next month's meeting! I've been staying at various Omni's for the past couple of years and their customer service is top notch from the hotel to the restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Everyone but one of the managers was outstanding

Dined on February 21, 2016

Upon arrival to our reservation, my girlfriend and I were not acknowledged by one of the managers in the front. We stood there for a while until I addressed him and he was not very friendly for some reason. We came for mimosas and breakfast and he told us we weren't allowed to have mimosas before 11. It was already 10 so I said umm that's fine sir we can wait.) (Although I didn't understand why we weren't "allowed".) He then took us to our seating which was the absolute first table when you come in. I prefer more secluded areas and it was a beautiful day so I asked if we could sit at the patio/outdoor area... He became a bit frustrated and seemed adamant in the fact that there was no room for us there because of a soon to come large party. That's understandable, so then I asked what seemed to be the most insulting question he must have heard all his life. "Can we sit at the window there?" There was a cute window facing the Moca, perfect for me and my girlfriend to sit and talk but this manager almost fainted!?! He looked as if I asked could we sit on his face, or as if I Said something even more utterly disgusting. He reluctantly sat us at the window and my beautiful girlfriend and myself sat at the table feeling terrible about our experience thus far... We had no idea why we were being treated in such a manner but had several hypothesis we didn't want to assume. After he went away, we were highly uncomfortable until Augustus showed up. He took our orders and said we could have mimosas before 11 no problem. He Even made special ones with pineapple because my lady can't have Oj. Another lady, I want to say here name was Sandra? Kept our cups filled and from then on we had a wonderful time away from our first encounter. But we will never forget how he made us feel when we arrived. Wonderful people all around except for that erratic, frenzied manager.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience4
service5

Came here for valentines brunch. The ser ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Came here for valentines brunch. The service was great our glasses were always full. We enjoyed our bottomless mimosas.

food2
ambience3
service3

It was fairly ok. Price is too expensive ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

It was fairly ok. Price is too expensive.

food4
ambience2
service4
value5

Sunday Brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

The Sunday Brunch was chock full of delectable options, I found the selection to be very vast which catered to even the most distinctive palate, I questioned the Champagne and juice used for the Mimosas; the Champagne was a bit too bitter for my taste, and the juice tasted more like a mixed fruit instead of the traditional orange juice, but the food made up for the unpleasant Mimosa. I would recommend the Grand Cafe to all of my family and friends, and whenever I'm on the west coast, I would definitely brunch with you guys again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nom

Dined on February 14, 2016

Buffet was great. Small selection, but great quality. Bottomless mimosa-- by the pitcher. Waiters were attentive. Overall, would come again for Sunday brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service4

Overall good experience. Food was pretty ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Overall good experience. Food was pretty good for a buffet. Everything was well stocked and drinks were always refilled.

food5
ambience4
service5

The downtown LA Brunch that you must not ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

The downtown LA Brunch that you must not miss - flowing champagne/mimosas, jumbo shrimp, crab legs, carving station, roasted vegetables, soups, pastries, breakfast items including Eggs Benedict and omelet station, desserts and the usual coffee/tea/OJ. GREAT FRIENDLY SERVICE!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Omni Hotel Brunch

Dined on January 17, 2016

We do brunch about twice a month. Read a review on Open Table and the reviews stated they had a seafood station. I was sold. Loved, loved the seafood station. Oysters, crab claws, shrimp, crab legs, smoked salmon and flowing mimosas, what's not to like. Recommending to friends and family and we'll be back.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch

Dined on January 17, 2016

Great food and service. Excellent spot for special occasions and large groups. Reasonable parking w/validation. Beautiful decor

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Hard to find

Dined on January 17, 2016

This restaurant is on the 3rd floor. It took me forever to find this place, all it has in the directions is the street address but this is a large hotel. The seating was OK but I am not sure what the people were talking about with regards to a view. The only thing of a view is a sculpture and some ponds, not bad but certainly not worth going there for. The buffet was excellent though!

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Brunch -- Bottomless Mimosas

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

They offer a good variety of breakfast foods. Omelette Station, breakfast potatoes, few breakfast meats, cereal, fruit, pastries. From 11am-2pm they have crab legs, oysters, and other seafood items.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Sunday Brunch is the BEST!!! And, t ...

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

The Sunday Brunch is the BEST!!! And, the whole city seems to be here! Great variety, wonderful handmade Omelets, carving station for Prime Rib, a seafood table that is "to die for"! and FLOWING ENDLESS champagne...

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.