About Grand Ballroom - Omni Grove Park Inn

290 Macon Avenue
Asheville, NC 28804
View Larger Map

The Ballroom Grand Buffet at The Omni Grove Park Inn is a timeless holiday tradition, serving all of your favorite seasonal dishes.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Currently closed for the season

Cross Street:
Charlotte Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 252-2711

Website:
http://www.groveparkinn.com/

Executive Chef:
William Bierlein

Additional:
Entertainment, Wheelchair Access

Sort By:
Newest
20 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, a planning nightmare.

 
·Dined on November 26, 2015

We went for the Thanksgiving Buffet, and I doubt we'll go back. First, let me be clear, the food and the service were both wonderful. The planning of this event, however, could not have been worse. We arrived about 45 minutes early, and found a line of nearly 100 people waiting. With no guidance or direction, we had to ask around to find that we had to wait in the huge line, pay (including a pre-determined tip), then find another counter to turn in our receipt so we could be called for dinner. During this we learned they were running over an hour behind schedule. Again, the poor staff soldiered through and did a great job, and the meal itself was wonderful. But whoever decided to take nearly 2500 reservations and run a cattle herd of a line with no assistance should be fired. There's no excuse for a Omni property to run such a shoddy, amateur operation, especially at Thanksgiving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Thanksgiving nightmare

 
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Overpriced, understaffed and zero coordination on a "special event". The entire grand ballroom foyer was crowded with confused families and parents with crying small children. Standing in Multiple lines that went both ways. Our "dinner" was overpriced for $150 for two adults but we are still waiting to correct improper charges of 181 on our card.

I wish I could share pictures including a grandmother sitting in the stairway with her head slung in her hands so the management can do a better job getting their act together next time

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Worst wait ever

 
·Dined on November 26, 2015

The food was delicious, but this was the biggest disaster of organization and planning on the staff's part that I have ever seen. Hour + long lines, upset people, horrible customer service, overall set up for a bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Disappointed

 
·Dined on November 26, 2015

I arrived and waited over an hour to be seated after my reservation time. my handicap brother had to stand as there was no where for him to sit. I was overcharged on my credit card by 100.00 that I am now calling accounts receivable to get corrected. The food wasn't overly hot. it was luke warm. the music was loud but luckily we sat in the back. I would think those who sat near the music probably felt it was disruptive. it was pretty inside. it was only a memorable experience due to the stress and failure of a good experience. I would not recommend this dining experience. we traveled 8 hours to stand for over an hour and be overcharged on our credit card. there were elderly people in wheelchairs pressed up against the wall waiting and pregnant women standing for a great length of time. no one was even there to explain why the situation was the way it was. I feel bad that my guests of 8 had a very poor thanksgiving experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

A reservation time is just that. It was ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2015

A reservation time is just that. It was my wedding weekend and having to wait in line behind a huge loud crowd of people. There should have been an information station or someone explaining the process. I love GPI. I lived in Asheville and worked down the road at the Red Cross, and had many blood drives there. But this was unorganized and I was upset. The cost was too high. The food was good, but not even getting a soda with out paying for it was unfortunate. The staff just keep directing us to the bar as if it would make the wait any less. The two line concept was not a good idea and confused most everyone. I will NOT be back for thanksgiving. I waited 3 months to take my bride there and I regret it.

April

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Thanksgiving at Grove Park

 
·Dined on November 26, 2015

They oversold what could've been a lovely experience for Thanksgiving. I paid $250 for my 2 teenagers and me to eat in what was a glorified Golden Coral type experience. People with reservations (myself included) had to wait 2 hours to eat. The entire hotel was overrun. No parking and we were treated like herded cattle. Never again.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

Absolute nightmare - hour wait WITH reservations.

 
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Overall the idea was great - big ballroom decorated with ice sculptures, trays of tasty food, live music, and many tables scattered throughout. HOWEVER, there was not enough planning or staff to seat and serve all 2,600 people that had reservations. The line to wait in just to pay was almost 100 people long, taking an hour to get to the two cashiers available to take your money. Then there was another line - nearly 20 people long - to get to the two hostesses who were seating folks. Seemingly everyone had reservations, however there was no order as to who was in line and when they were being seated. The Grove Park Inn was totally unprepared for this many people, and reservations were a joke. Also, the amount quoted on line was $59.00 per person. What was not mentioned was the 20% resort fee and 20% gratuity plus tax, which brought the total to over $75 per person. The food was good, thank goodness we were serving ourselves buffet-style, as the wait staff was sparse. I will not go back to this Thanksgiving event and recommend to others that they do not attend either.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Disappointed with Thanksgiving Buffet

 
·Dined on November 26, 2015

It took us 30 minutes to check in for our reservation and then another 30 minutes to be seated. There were many empty tables so we couldn't understand why the wait. The service staff did not check on us for water and coffee refills unless we flagged them down and empty plates sat on the table during the entire meal. We were very disappointed in the whole experience and for $59 per person expected better service. The food was outstanding but the wait and service was unacceptable. I would not recommend the Thanksgiving Buffet to anyone and will not go again. I also made a comment on TripAdvisor and saw that other people had the same experience that we had and were just as upset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

GP Thanksgiving Brunch

 
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Pretty good food. Very disorganized getting in. They couldn't handle the Thanksgiving surge.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Excellent Thanksgiving Feast!

 
·Dined on November 26, 2015

My family and I had dinner at the Grove Park Inn Thanksgiving 2015. It was excellent!! The food was awesome - shrimp, crab legs, carving station, endless salads, the best mac and cheese EVER.... and probably the best bread pudding and pecan pie I have ever had. The staff were super nice and accommodating. All the guests were in festive moods and interacted happily with each other. So much food to choose from - I can't even list it all. I'm sure we will make this a yearly family tradition. I highly recommend it! Loved the live music as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Ballroom was not a great experience

 
·Dined on November 26, 2015

This was our second year doing the Grove Park Thanksgiving buffet. However, last year we were in the blue ridge dining room which is much nicer. We had no service. NOBODY came to ask if we wanted drinks. My husband cleared our own plates. It was not nearly as good as last year and we will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Recommend the Grove Park but not the Ballroom.

 
·Dined on November 26, 2015

We had an absolutely wonderful Thanksgiving Day throughout the entire Grove Park Inn but we were expecting to be in the Blue Ridge Room instead of the ballroom. (Our error). Make sure you choose the correct room for your buffet. There is no view at all. The ambiance of the 2 buffet areas are night and day. Luckily it was a beautiful day and we were able to take the rest our wine outside to enjoy the views. We also wandered throughout the Inn and loved everything else.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

excellent!!!!!

 
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary at the Open Table Thanksgiving buffet. What a pleasant time, good servive and great food. Thank you for helping to create a fond memory.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome Thanksgiving spread!

 
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Food was amazing and the Inn has much history on display. My husband and I brought my daughter and boyfriend for Thanksgiving lunch in Grand Ballroom. Enjoyed seeing all of the gingerbread houses as well. The view from the patio was breathtaking. Only downside was our table was in corner against kitchen door, so we kept getting bumped into. It was really tight squeeze. Otherwise awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Once you get your table all is FINE

 
·Dined on November 26, 2015

This review is for Thanksgiving lunch. The reservation check in needed better organization. We were given different check in information at the three areas that you need to go through to be seated. The first stop point lined you up and asked that only one person in the party wait in the line. The others should go sit in another area to be sent a text later. The second stop is where you pay and then told that the entire party must be together. We were then corralled in front of a door awaiting our name to be called. After 15 minutes of waiting a lady asked if everyone with our reservation time had been seated. We raised our hand and then were told that we were to check in at this third and final station. We then were shown to our table within 5 minutes. The location of the table was in a far corner where we had to navigate between tables and people. Half way to the table I stopped the host and told him that the table would be difficult for us to get to. He took us back to the table assignment area where we were immediately assigned a different table. Once seated we ordered a bottle of wine. We went to the wonderful buffet and served ourselves. A wait staff person swiftly came by with a glass of wine and placed it in front of my husband. We were confused since we had ordered a bottle. That mistake was later corrected. All entrees were excellent. Wine and coffee was wonderful. Live music was flawless with an excellent choice of ballroom music. The dessert table had a wonderful eye pleasing presentation, however the pastries and cakes were dry and without flavor. I noticed that most people were choosing ice cream. Overall the flavor of the food made the experience enjoyable. Our server was accomodating and pleasant. Considering the number of people served that day our experience was good and I will spend another Thanksgiving Day meal at the Omni Grove Park Inn.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

While it was a little pricey, the food w ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2015

While it was a little pricey, the food was plentiful and down right yummy. There is a large variety to choose from for all taste buds. We will definitely return again. The only downside was the confusion for first timers to pay first then give the receipt to the hostess. Maybe the hotel should have instruction signs next year.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointing!

 
·Dined on December 25, 2014

Not at all impressed. We were very disappointed - food was, with one or two exceptions, not very good. Holiday decorations were pretty sparse. Service was poor - even for a buffet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Too many people, too rushed for the money

 
·Dined on December 25, 2014

The experience was akin to eating lunch in a football stadium. Too many people, bland food and overzealous wait staff rushing you to finish in hopes of turning tables over quickly. A complete waste of nearly $200. The view at the resort, however, was breathtaking and the holiday decor was beautiful.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Way too expensive.

 
·Dined on November 27, 2014

$70 pp (after the mandatory included 20% gratuity) is way too much for any buffet that doesn't include any drinks and you get poor service.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Exceptional Thanksgiving Feast!

 
·Dined on November 27, 2014

The staff were outstanding and the food was equally outstanding! We've just started a new holiday tradition. Thanks to the staff and beautiful live music/musicians who made us feel so special!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.