HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not bookable

Online reservations at Grand Ballroom - Omni Grove Park Inn can only be made directly on their website.

Grand Ballroom - Omni Grove Park Inn

3.0
23 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion (13)
  • Good for Groups (9)
  • Scenic View (8)
The Ballroom Grand Buffet at The Omni Grove Park Inn is a timeless holiday tradition, serving all of your favorite seasonal dishes.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Currently closed for the season
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(828) 252-2711
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
Cross street: Charlotte Street
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
What 23 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.0
  based on all time ratings
3.8
food
2.9
service
3.0
ambience
2.7
value
Noise · Moderate
45% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
MarieD (New York Area)
3.0
Dined on December 25, 2017

Private note sent to Management about service experience.

Report
Helpful
Clarks (Tampa)
5.0
Dined on December 25, 2017

Our server, Mary, was wonderful! She found the perfect balance between offering great service and not being intrusive while doing so. The meal was very well-prepared and the whole experience a memorable one! Thank you to all the staff who worked during their holiday to make it truly memorable for guests like us.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Orlando)
5.0
Dined on November 23, 2017

One of the best thanksgiving dinner ever

Report
Helpful
Bill (E. Tennessee)
3.0
Dined on November 26, 2015

We went for the Thanksgiving Buffet, and I doubt we'll go back. First, let me be clear, the food and the service were both wonderful. The planning of this event, however, could not have been worse. We arrived about 45 minutes early, and found a line of nearly 100 people waiting. With no guidance or direction, we had to ask around to find that we had to wait in the huge line, pay (including a pre-determined tip), then find another counter to turn in our receipt so we could be called for dinner. During this we learned they were running over an hour behind schedule. Again, the poor staff soldiered through and did a great job, and the meal itself was wonderful. But whoever decided to take nearly 2500 reservations and run a cattle herd of a line with no assistance should be fired. There's no excuse for a Omni property to run such a shoddy, amateur operation, especially at Thanksgiving.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New York Area)
1.0
Dined on November 26, 2015

Overpriced, understaffed and zero coordination on a "special event". The entire grand ballroom foyer was crowded with confused families and parents with crying small children. Standing in Multiple lines that went both ways. Our "dinner" was overpriced for $150 for two adults but we are still waiting to correct improper charges of 181 on our card.
I wish I could share pictures including a grandmother sitting in the stairway with her head slung in her hands so the management can do a better job getting their act together next time

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Raleigh)
3.0
Dined on November 26, 2015

The food was delicious, but this was the biggest disaster of organization and planning on the staff's part that I have ever seen. Hour + long lines, upset people, horrible customer service, overall set up for a bad experience.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Western NC)
1.0
Dined on November 26, 2015

I arrived and waited over an hour to be seated after my reservation time. my handicap brother had to stand as there was no where for him to sit. I was overcharged on my credit card by 100.00 that I am now calling accounts receivable to get corrected. The food wasn't overly hot. it was luke warm. the music was loud but luckily we sat in the back. I would think those who sat near the music probably felt it was disruptive. it was pretty inside. it was only a memorable experience due to the stress and failure of a good experience. I would not recommend this dining experience. we traveled 8 hours to stand for over an hour and be overcharged on our credit card. there were elderly people in wheelchairs pressed up against the wall waiting and pregnant women standing for a great length of time. no one was even there to explain why the situation was the way it was. I feel bad that my guests of 8 had a very poor thanksgiving experience.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charleston)
1.0
Dined on November 26, 2015

A reservation time is just that. It was my wedding weekend and having to wait in line behind a huge loud crowd of people. There should have been an information station or someone explaining the process. I love GPI. I lived in Asheville and worked down the road at the Red Cross, and had many blood drives there. But this was unorganized and I was upset. The cost was too high. The food was good, but not even getting a soda with out paying for it was unfortunate. The staff just keep directing us to the bar as if it would make the wait any less. The two line concept was not a good idea and confused most everyone. I will NOT be back for thanksgiving. I waited 3 months to take my bride there and I regret it.

April

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charlotte)
2.0
Dined on November 26, 2015

They oversold what could've been a lovely experience for Thanksgiving. I paid $250 for my 2 teenagers and me to eat in what was a glorified Golden Coral type experience. People with reservations (myself included) had to wait 2 hours to eat. The entire hotel was overrun. No parking and we were treated like herded cattle. Never again.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Atlanta)
1.0
Dined on November 26, 2015

Overall the idea was great - big ballroom decorated with ice sculptures, trays of tasty food, live music, and many tables scattered throughout. HOWEVER, there was not enough planning or staff to seat and serve all 2,600 people that had reservations. The line to wait in just to pay was almost 100 people long, taking an hour to get to the two cashiers available to take your money. Then there was another line - nearly 20 people long - to get to the two hostesses who were seating folks. Seemingly everyone had reservations, however there was no order as to who was in line and when they were being seated. The Grove Park Inn was totally unprepared for this many people, and reservations were a joke. Also, the amount quoted on line was $59.00 per person. What was not mentioned was the 20% resort fee and 20% gratuity plus tax, which brought the total to over $75 per person. The food was good, thank goodness we were serving ourselves buffet-style, as the wait staff was sparse. I will not go back to this Thanksgiving event and recommend to others that they do not attend either.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3

Hours, Transportation, and Details

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Currently closed for the season
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Charlotte Street
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
Price range
$31 to $50
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(828) 252-2711
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
William Bierlein
Additional
Entertainment, Wheelchair Access