About Gramercy Grill

2685 Arbutus Street
Vancouver, BC V6J 3Y4
View Larger Map

The Gramercy Grill is a neighborhood bistro with a downtown feel. We choose to offer locally sourced, grass fed & wild products on our menus when every possible. Our commitment to you our guest is to provide a memorable meal in a comfortable room - served with a sense of humor and the skill to make it all seem effortless. Feel free to arrive early for your reservation to enjoy your favourite cocktail at our lively bar before going to your table. If it's not raining you may wish to dine on our sunny patio!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Mediterranean, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
11th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 730-5666

Website:
http://www.gramercy-grill.com/

Catering:
Any size group can be accommodated.

Parking Details:
You will find access to the underground pay parking lot at the rear of the building or you may prefer to park right out front as there is ample street parking in the area.

Public Transit:
Public transit stops within one and a half block - if you are staying in downtown Vancouver you would take the number 18 (The Arbutus bus) and get off at Broadway and Arbutus and walk south one and a half block - we are located at the corner of 11th and Arbutus.

Executive Chef:
Dennis Huang

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gramercy Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Bar Seating (7)
See All
Good for Birthdays (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Casual (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Cozy (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Romantic (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Authentic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fun (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
617 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have been a customer here since they o ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

I have been a customer here since they opened many years ago.

My last visit was in September and we left after a cocktail and appetizer as the server never returned after we had our drinks and shared appy; so no dinner ordered! We decided to meet friends for brunch yesterday and they too have been regulars for years. We had made a ressie with Open Table that has never been credited to our account most likely because the server really couldn't give a ** about our existence. She didn't know the specials, no knowledge of the menu and her body language alone should have sent us to another restaurant. Huge disapointment; only 1 plate of food was correct and "good", the other 3, well 2 ( as 1 meal was cancelled since the server guessed at the ingredients and was wrong) were ok. Corned beef was cold in the sandwich and burger was missing the cheese and the bun was soooo hard. Fruit "salad" was diced apples!! It's a bit sad that when Dennis the chef isn't there, the food isn't consistent. I would hate to see this place close due to lack of interest from the "new" owners of 2 years. Two visits with rude, lacklustre service means we won't be back, way to go GG you just lost 4 long time customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Not a great night, steak overdone and po ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

Not a great night, steak overdone and pork dry.

The mood of a meal is wrecked when one meal has to be recooked.

Server was nice though...

Maybe just a bad night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Great specials. Taste food. Pleasant,att ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great specials. Taste food. Pleasant,attentive service. Quiet for easy conversation!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

nice place, the starters are very good t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

nice place, the starters are very good the service was also very good however the main wasnt as good as it could have been. we both had the lamb shank and the broth was a little too watery for our taste.

overall a pretty decent place.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Seafood boullabaise is the best...especi ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Seafood boullabaise is the best...especially the Broth....DON'T CHANGE IT!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Thanksgiving set dinner from r ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent Thanksgiving set dinner from roast turkey to steelhead catch-of-the-day. Just wonderful. Regular menu is pretty good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always good, staff are just righ ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food is always good, staff are just right. Always a sure thing.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, , Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food with good service in a local r ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Good food with good service in a local restaurant. I've recommended it several times and none have ever been disappointed. Especially notable is the staffs' willingness to accommodate those with physical differences. I have been there with folks in wheelchairs, post-stroke with some paralysis, deafness, and in every case the staff has gone out of its way to assist the person and make everyone comfortable. They don't make a big thing about it. It's just they like clients to be comfortable.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoy the Gramercy on a regular basis ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We enjoy the Gramercy on a regular basis. There are no surprises. Well prepared dishes served by friendly and accommodating staff, many of whom have been there for years. You can go there knowing you will enjoy yourself.

Suggestions would be to vary / expand the appetizer menu and offer a "house" special wine, on a regular basis.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a very pleasant meal and overall ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We had a very pleasant meal and overall experience. The Veal Schnitzel, which we both ordered, was a very generous portion and well prepared. We share an appetizer of chicken livers which was delicious, if not quite hot enough for our taste. If I was looking for a special evening with gourmet dining, I would not have gone to Gramercy. I don't think that it pretends to be that. If you want a pleasant, well prepared meal, friendly and both casual and attentive service, and are looking to pay less than $45 per person including wine, Gramercy would meet those criteria and satisfy you.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I took a 100 year old there for her birt ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I took a 100 year old there for her birthday lunch and the staff were amazing and the food was very good. My friend was delighted and wants to go back for her 110th!!!!

Thanks so much.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This neighbourhood gem never disappoints ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 17, 2016

This neighbourhood gem never disappoints. Went for my wife's birthday. As we are on their email list we get a free entree for birthdays! Sunday night is prime rib night and the meat is tender, juicy and flavourful. Great value. Very pleasant servers.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

everything but the salad was great! the ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 14, 2016

everything but the salad was great! the salad was so vinigary that we sent it back & the next one was marginally better. I would suggest the chef go easier on the vinigar & add a pinch of sugar & taste it himself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent fresh crisp romaine salad. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Excellent fresh crisp romaine salad. Huge portion of turkey, stuffing, potatoes and vegetables. Turkey was moist but not too flavourful. Vegetables barely cooked, which was OK for two of us but the one senior would have liked them a bit softer. Absolutely fabulous lemon tart for dessert.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We go at least once a week love the serv ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We go at least once a week love the service and food never have a complaint

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious (seafood bouillab ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was delicious (seafood bouillabaisse) and great, friendly service

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always good. On this occasion the food w ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Always good. On this occasion the food was great!! So flavourful. Good value! Quiet so people can talk to each other!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Familiar Neighborhood stop while visitin ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Familiar Neighborhood stop while visiting Vancouver, B.C. Canada

We like this place. A mature local spot with reliable quality, friendly, informal, and knowledgeable attention by staff. The corner location is public transportation accessible and with some on-street car parking. Nothing fancy, more of a gastro-pub than fine dining. Protein portions are generous and unpretentious with a cozy and comfortable atmosphere best enjoyed at night. During the day at lunch, a pleasant patio space competes with street traffic but none of the diners seem to mind.

Nice wine list and properly cold beer. Less pricey than more trendy close-in city establishments with hipper vibe. We asked for assistance to call for a ride back downtown, Uber not available on our visits. This didn't work out and we waited for quite a while a couple of blocks north before we were able to Old School flag a cab. Dine local!

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

As usual our experience at Gramercy Gril ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 20, 2016

As usual our experience at Gramercy Grill was excellent. As it was my wife's birthday we were celebrating one of the guests brought a Birthday cake. The staff graciously served it without charging us "corkage" and with no apparent resentment that we were not buying the dessert from the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was slow but the food was delici ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Service was slow but the food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

The food was tasty & the service was att ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was tasty & the service was attentive overall. Most people were dining on the patio so it was fairly quiet inside.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent as always are go to place when ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent as always are go to place when in town, food is great and awesome service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love to be able to walk to this comfo ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 18, 2016

We love to be able to walk to this comfortable, friendly little gem. Food is always good. Very interesting and delicious specials

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten at this restaurant many tim ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 13, 2016

I have eaten at this restaurant many times in the last few years. I have always found the service to be acceptable. On this occasion, the service was extremely poor. The server was not pleasant. When asked about the time delay, our server said "we are busy today" with no timeline offered. The time taken from ordering our lunch to receiving our lunch was 45+ minutes. The manager finally stepped in and apologized offering us our drinks for free and an order of bread. However, we would have preferred paying the full amount and having our food served in a timely manner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Three of us were there for a birthday lu ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Three of us were there for a birthday lunch. The food and service were excellent, as always.

The lemon tart is to die for!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good neighbourhood restaurant with frien ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Good neighbourhood restaurant with friendly service.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Reliable local gem Another yummy night ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Reliable local gem

Another yummy night at the local. Not too fancy but still has what you need for a not too involved evening. Wine list ok. Good from good to very good. Nice selection. Specials tend to be worth ordering.

Service right on the night we went.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Prime Rib Sundays

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 18, 2016

Went with friends to Prime Rib Sunday dinner which was very delicious from the Yorkshire Pudding, lovely gravy and choice beef. Enjoyed the atmosphere as always. Great neighbourhood spot.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always great

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 18, 2016

We love this little neighbourhood jewel. we can walk. The food and service are always great. Excellent specials. If you want a roast beef dinner with Yorkshire pudding you can't beat the Sun evening special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was OK. Dessert was awesome - thei ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was OK. Dessert was awesome - their lemon tart is a must; would go there again just for that.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good seafood

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 16, 2016

The Gramercy Seafood Bowl was excellent. The nice assortment of shellfish and fish coupled with the savoury sauce made it tasty.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great Place to have a Birthday Lunch

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 18, 2016

Four of us celebrated our dear friend's birthday with a delightful lunch on Saturday. We received attentive service and the birthday gal's dessert came complete with a candle. The Gramercy has become my neighbourhood go to place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Going down hill?

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 18, 2016

For many years, we have enjoyed the G Grill, but with our latest visit we are unlikely to return. The food (special for St. P's day) was sub-standard, and had a "pre-packaged" taste to it. Not anything like we have enjoyed in the past. Perhaps there is new ownership? Or the chef had an off night?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Nice Place!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2016

We really enjoyed dinner... it was very good quality at half the cost of downtown. I'm going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Good but Inconsistent

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Attractive restaurant with good service and friendly staff. My friend and I had scallops in both a shared appetizer and the seafood hot pot that she had. The scallops in her hot pot were perfectly done but the appetizer's were over done. Having said that, we had a good dinner and left fairly satisfied.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place for enjoyable evening

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2016

We celebrated Valentine's Day here and had a delightful evening. Quiet enough for conversation, great friendly, prompt service and delicious food. My husband ordered duck which was perfectly cooked and I had the sablefish which was also well cooked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious Black Cod!

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 7, 2016

Very tasty meal cooked Chinese New Year style even if a bit pricey, we both really enjoyed thee flavour and portion size was perfect . Nice relaxed atmosphere. Friendly service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always good with great specials!

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Always good with great specials!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nothing Special

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 2, 2016

My friend and I finished work and went to this restaurant, we picked this restaurant because seeing many good reviews in Open Table, we ordered a salad to start with and asked if the chef would splits the salad into half for us, the answer was yes but would charge $1.50 extra, not sure if this is because taking too much extra time doing this so the restaurant decided to charge customer extra but we decided we can do it ourselves instead. Well, for sure this isn't leave us a good impression as some restaurants even offer doing this for us. Food here was not great either so will not come again and will not recommend to our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Kits Special

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 1, 2016

It is very enjoyable to dine at a restaurant where you have space between you and your neighbours and can actually carry on a conversation without having to scream over loud music. As well the food is delicious and the service was very good. It is a neighbour hood gem!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.