Not bookable

This restaurant is temporarily offline. Please contact the restaurant directly or check back shortly for availability.

Gramercy Grill

3.7
673 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Northwest
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Quiet Conversation
  • Cozy

Similar Restaurants

About

The Gramercy Grill is a neighborhood bistro with a downtown feel. We choose to offer locally sourced, grass fed & wild products on our menus when every possible. Our commitment to you our guest is to provide a memorable meal in a comfortable room - served with a sense of humor and the skill to make it all seem effortless. Feel free to arrive early for your reservation to enjoy your favourite cocktail at our lively bar before going to your table. If it's not raining you may wish to dine on our sunny patio!
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Northwest, Mediterranean, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(604) 730-5666
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Dennis Huang
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Any size group can be accommodated.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
11th Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
You will find access to the underground pay parking lot at the rear of the building or you may prefer to park right out front as there is ample street parking in the area.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Public transit stops within one and a half block - if you are staying in downtown Vancouver you would take the number 18 (The Arbutus bus) and get off at Broadway and Arbutus and walk south one and a half block - we are located at the corner of 11th and Arbutus.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 673 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.7based on recent ratings
3.6
food
4.2
service
3.8
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Quiet
81% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Menu choice was a bit disappointing. The featured seafood dish of the evening was Atlantic salmon. This does not appeal to me as I prefer wild salmon as opposed to farmed. I had the duck breast which was a bit chewy. The flavour was nice though. My grandson had mussels. They were the tiniest I had ever seen. His fries didn’t taste freshly made. They could have been reheated. My daughter in law and son had the beef with mashed potatoes and were happy with that. The wait staff are very nice and this restaurant is close to home so I will likely go back. I think it’s a better choice for lunch than dinner. Perhaps they’ll upgrade the quality of the food.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Expensive , poor service long wait times for food to come and quality of food was extremely average

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

It was our first time to the restaurant. The service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 18, 2018

The atmosphere was nice and quiet since the place wasn't crowded at all for a Saturday night.
My husband's soup wasn't nearly hot and our steaks had too much gristle in it.
With our friends, we also shared an order of mussels and fries to start off our meals. The mussels were good but after the first few fries we found the fries were a bit too salty for our taste. Our friends had the lamb shank and tenderloin steaks which they enjoyed.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We made last minute reservations and the hostess was gracious to seat us at table with window view. This intimate neighbourhood hang-out offers 4 course menu for $40 but did not try on this occasion. The salmon with tapenade and prawns was generous and filled the bill for seafood. Definite a throw-back to food scene when sides/ vegetables are not extras. The pork schitznel (2) was also very good. Worth another visit when the weather warms up to check out the patio.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Quite local play. Older crowd. Two waitresses only, also working the bar so things took a while. Not a place to take a date. Out of a lot of the mains. Weekday regular meal place. Food ok meatballs good duck so-so.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We have gone to the Gramercy grill a few times over the last 3 years and have always had great dinners and lunches.
This last weekend was a poor choice of Vancouver restaurants to visit, the soups were not even luke warm, the main courses were horrible, as we both did not eat our meals.

The waitress was very good, as this was not her fault at how the kitchen staff prepared the meals.
Probably the last visit from me to the Gramercy Grill

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Great meal as always. We picked this neighborhood gem to celebrate my birthday as we have been here several times over the years and always enjoyed the food. We appreciate the relaxed ambience, and choice of music which is not overly loud and pleasant to listen to. The venue is cozy and friendly, but not loud, so conversation is easy and yet you can't hear the folks at the next table. Our waiter was attentive, but not obtrusive. Nice that there are several GF options too. Definitely coming back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Good brunch and excellent services. Our brunch took longer than usual, so the staff gave us 20% off for the bill, this is a very nice gesture.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Went for Dine Out Vancouver (DOV). The online menu for Dine Out looked good, but disappointed in the entree and dessert. Those not familiar with DOV, it's a fixed price 3 course meal (appetizer, entree, and dessert). Caesar was good, but it's hard to screw up a Caesar. Steak (2 ordered at the table) was a bit tough - even with med-rare, and wondered if it was the cut specified. Believe it was supposed to be a strip loin. Lemon tart was just so-so. Not as firm as I am accustomed too for a tart. It's a nice neighbourhood restaurant, but fell short of my expectations. It used to be that restaurants would showcase signature dishes for DOV, but this just seems to be a cash grab now. Not the only DOV restaurant that disappointed me this year. Unfortunate, because they should use this as an opportunity to woo customers to return with great food and service. Service, was fine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

We had amazing service thru out our meal! I mentioned we were crammed for time & they kept to our time schedule! But maintaining quality in food & service! I’m totally going to try Gramercy again!
They comp the birthday dessert, but even with it on the bill it was very very inexpensive lunch! 👍🏼

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 31, 2018

We enjoyed the atmosphere and the food. A great neighbourhood restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2018

Gramercy is never disappointing, and the food and service are always excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Great food and great value!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 23, 2018

Excellent food at reasonable prices and friendly relaxed staff, what more do you need?

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 21, 2018

We had a very enjoyable relaxing experience at this very good restaurant....food was excellent...as was the attentive non intrusive service....we will be back...for sure 😊😊...

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 20, 2018

unfortunately the dine out menu showing on the website was evidently the menu from last year so the menu was not quite as shown which was disappointing as we had anticipated something that was now not an option. Other than that, everything was good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Used to frequent this restaurant but hadn’t been there for 18 months. I think it’s under new ownership. My steak was average and my partner said her seafood bowl was amazing. Would want to try again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 6, 2018

Good food. Nice presentation. Good service.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We hadn't been to Gramercy Grill for a couple of years and were pleased to find the service, food and ambiance were as good as we remembered. All we missed was that they only do the muscles one way where previously there was a choice. The lobster sea food spaghetti was wonderful and worth the trip from the North Shore.
A good find!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 20, 2017

food delicious, waiter exceptionally helpful to me re a sudden car emergency

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 18, 2017

Delicious food and an interesting menu with plenty of choices. The restaurant is pleasant, with comfortable seats and good lighting.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Weekend lunch, no specials, limited menu and wine list. Food was good but uninspiring

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 1, 2017

Service was excellent

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 22, 2017

The lunch menu which is actually available has fewer options than the one on their website.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 15, 2017

Food and service was above average but not great. It is a convenient, acceptable local restaurant.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 11, 2017

I had a chicken sandwich with a salad. The sandwich was great, the salad was terrible: nothing but lettuce and an insufficient amount of dressing. My wife had soup and salad. Again, the soup was great, the salad not so much. Come on guys! Making a good salad isn't that tough

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 10, 2017

The restaurant has a nice, relaxing atmosphere suitable for a quiet conversation. Service was highly attentive and friendly. The menu items are priced mid-range so there is no sticker shock. We had the clams to start. This dish was very flavorful with a generous serving of clams enhance with sliced chorizo. We selected the seafood bowl and the lamb shank for main courses and both did not disappoint. The assortment of seafood included crab claws, mussels, scallops, prawns and fish pieces in a tomato broth. The serving portion was quite generous and tasty. My lamb shank was very large and served with assorted sliced vegetables in a broth base. The lamb was easy to cut and very flavorful. Dessert selections included the lemon tart and blueberry cheesecake. Each was nicely presented and garnished with fresh cream.
While there were five other couples dining in the main area it was disconcerting that the room was mostly empty during the length of our meal. This lack of patronage certainly does not reflect the excellent service and food quality. This place is a neighborhood gem and worth a drive to the west side of Vancouver for any occasion.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 2, 2017

We have dined at this restaurant many times but not during the past year. We wonder if it has changed ownership.
Although the prawns and duck were tasty, the pasta dish and mussels were not. In fact, we question the freshness of the mussels as the main consumer of them had gastric problems and another diner, who tried a couple of them, was also affected.
Where fresh salmon is readily available, to have the catch of the day farmed salmon is not acceptable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 24, 2017

Not a great wine selection, what we first chose was not available.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 20, 2017

They had good seafood but nothing about this place was outstanding. The waiters got the prices of the catch of the day wrong- one said it was $20 and one said it was $28, which in my opinion is a huge price difference. They charge for bread which was unexpected. Overall the food was good , location was below expectations and the service was fair. Might return in the future if we're in the neighbourhood.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 24, 2017

I didn't enjoy my meal because I ordered a pasta and the pasta noodles were under cooked and my whole entree wasn't hot enough in general. I've been to more high end restaurants who didn't have a $3 charge on bread so for this being quite casual I didn't expect that.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2017

We Have been many times over the years and we come all the way from Burnaby because we like it so much. Wish it was in our neighbourhood.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2017

Quaint atmosphere, enjoyed he fact there was no loud music playing and we could carry on a conversation. Great meal for the price point, will return again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Went to Grammercy for Mother's Day lunch. Had a lovely very server. Our brunches were all different and all very good. I had the Prime Rib Hash and it was delicious. Light tomato based sauce. The meat was plentiful and very tender. The eggs were perfectly poached. I have been here before for brunches and dinners and have not been disappointed...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 3, 2017

Had a good meal, Keith our server was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2017

A real go to place in the neighborhood. Quiet enough to carry on a conversation unlike all the chain restaurants around.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 2, 2017

I tend to do a lot of birthday lunches there with friends, food and service has always been good and they have never rushed us through a meal, so it has always been a pleasant dining experience. I love the brunches and lunches there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2017

Great food as usual. Amazing service! Thanks Irish!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2017

Service and food were great! Will return.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
17