About Graham's at Squaw Valley

1650 Squaw Valley Rd
Olympic Valley, CA 96146
View Larger Map

In business for 21 years, Graham's is located in the historical Poulsen family home. Built in 1946, Sandy and Wayne raised 8 children here. Their home now is our restaurant and also the Christy Lodge which has 6 hotel rooms. Just minutes away from all of the activities in Squaw Valley, Graham's has been a favorite Apres Ski and Dinner House to locals and tourists alike. Summertime means bocce ball with Hor's D'oeuvres and cocktails before dinner on our heated patio with spectacular views of the mountain peaks. Winter time is the time to enjoy the warmth and cozy ambiance of a true mountain lodge, open wood burning fireplaces, vaulted ceilings create a unique Tahoe experience. Graham's also has an active bar scene with full menu dining at the bar. Award winning wine list with 450 selections. Menu changes weekly with a good selection of fresh seafood, great steaks and house specials such as seafood chowder, cheese fondue, duck cassoulet, osso bocco and tarte tatin for dessert.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Dinner: 5:00pm-11:00pm Bar Dining

Cross Street:
Christy Lane

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 581-0454

Website:
http://www.dinewine.com/index.html

Parking Details:
Private lot for 30 vehicles. Walking distance for additional 50 vehicles.

Public Transit:
Free Valley shuttle every 30 minutes. Reno-Tahoe airport shuttle daily. North Lake Tahoe transit bus every hour.

Executive Chef:
Graham Rock

Private Party Facilities:
Graham’s is located in the historic Christy Lodge, the first family house built in 1947 in Squaw Valley and this year we are celebrating our 25th anniversary . .The dining room can seat upto 60 guests. Its high-beamed pine ceiling and rock fireplace gives the distinct feeling of a mountain lodge.

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: (855) 793-2653

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Graham's at Squaw Valley Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (9)
Fireplace (9)
Special Occasion (9)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Cozy (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Authentic (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Historic (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Business Meals (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
155 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We loved every aspect of this restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

We loved every aspect of this restaurant from the welcome as we arrived and were seated by the proprietor himself, to our friendly server, to the excellent food and wine.

Thank you for knowing what excellent customer service is and keeping it alive in Squaw.

We can't wait to come back many times!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food and service to match! Graham ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 2 days ago

great food and service to match! Graham's made our top 3 short list of north shore fine dining.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Family of 4 adults had dinner while stay ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Family of 4 adults had dinner while staying in Squaw Valley. The place was cozy, comfortable and welcoming, the waiter not always entirely attentive and a bit chatty but certainly very friendly, the food just OK. As restaurants in the valley go, it is a nice dinner for a not outrageous price, but if you are looking for either a gourmet or budget meal, maybe not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We looked forward to coming back to Grah ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We looked forward to coming back to Grahams after skiing at Squaw. It was not as good as we remembered from the prior year. The staff are wonderful and interesting and the ambiance warm and inviting.

Tags: Fireplace, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Grahams is a local legend and my wife an ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Grahams is a local legend and my wife and I have been coming here to eat for over 30 years. Graham is almost always in the restaurant and greets the folks as they enter and/or leave. The food is spectacular, but you simply must try the seafood chowder. Nothing on the menu will disappoint. The waiters are all very competent and the entire restaurant makes you feel like you are at "

Cheers".

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Graham's is the best restaurant we have ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Graham's is the best restaurant we have been to in Squaw Valley. Away from the crowds and hustle and bustle. Great service and authentic European menu that is delicious.

We tried the calamari with garlic and wonderfully seasoned green salad to start with a glass of Napa Valley Chardonnay. The Petrale Sole and Chicken Roulade were really tasty with a well made ratatouille side on each.

Honestly, we have not had a better meal or better treatment anywhere in Squaw.

We can't wait to go back for another meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graham's and Graham are great. This is a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Graham's and Graham are great. This is a great restaurant in Squaw Valley. We had friends with us who hadn't been to Graham's before and they are planning their next dinner there with more friends. We loved our evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Graham's has fabulous food, but even mor ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Graham's has fabulous food, but even more important is the atmosphere and service! Food, atmosphere and service are all wonderful. Yummy steak cooked to perfection and delicious ravioli. We had a lovely round table right by the fireplace - so cozy. One could not ask for a more welcoming respite from the snow! The owner takes time to greet each guest and remembers your name when you leave. Highly recommend Graham's!

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great hospitality. We w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food and great hospitality. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spectacular as always! Best restaurant ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Spectacular as always! Best restaurant intge Valley!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arrived during a snowstorm. Waiters were ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Arrived during a snowstorm. Waiters were not able to make it to work. We were warned may be a little slow. Did not seem to be a problem Food was really tasty. Shares salad with my husband and they split onto two plates. The little things make a big difference. Will go back next time in Squaw Village.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gosh we want to give this place high ran ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Gosh we want to give this place high ranks but the food was just terrible. We are business owners and know what a bad social media rating means. But we can not represent this as something good. The king crab was fishy. The duck was chewy and over cooked. The sole was mushy. Positives. The scallops were cooked to perfection. But that is about it for good. Gawwd we wanted to like this place. Peter and Alejandro were wonderful and the wine lost was great and totally affordable. Peter is a go to for wine recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

First time at the restaurant and to be f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

First time at the restaurant and to be frank we were not impressed with the dinners. Nothing exceptional but the price. Over rated and expensive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great menu and great food. The ambiance ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great menu and great food. The ambiance is fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Absolutely wonderful night! Graham's ne ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Absolutely wonderful night! Graham's never disappoints, fabulous experience and incredible food -- the perfect evening xoxoxo Thank you!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Graham's has great food, a wonderful win ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Graham's has great food, a wonderful wine list, and the ambiance is superb!

We enjoyed our evening with our Table for two in front of the fireplace.

Graham's has superb service and is real price performer!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I went to Graham's the wee ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

My family and I went to Graham's the week of Christmas 2016 to celebrate the holidays. We fell in love with the place as well as Graham, himself.

The "foodie" menu was fantatstic. Luckily my family loves to eat and explore new foods and tastes. Everyone's meal was delicious. We ordered appetizers, soups, salads and entrees. None of our choices were a disappointment. Everything was top notch.

The service is also gold star. We were treated like royalty by our server as well as the rest of the staff. I would recommend this restaurant to all my friends and family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hands down the best dining in Squaw Vall ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Hands down the best dining in Squaw Valley, possibly in all Tahoe region. Great wine collection to go with unique and tasty menu. We have been dining at Graham's for over 10 years when visiting Squaw and never disappoints.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful dinner to celebrate my h ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner to celebrate my husband's birthday! Everyone very personable, ambiance warm and welcoming, our waiter was superb and shared some interesting stories with us. Will definitely be back! Thank you for making a birthday dinner memorable!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, , Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is not bad and we had a friendly ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Service is not bad and we had a friendly welcome. Interesting menu items with Tahoe prices. Yummy duck breast and buffalo ribeye dinner. Server forgot our soda and after dinner coffee menu, but that's ok. Recommend but wouldn't go out of my way to dine.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was delicious. Rustic ingredien ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was delicious. Rustic ingredients, with refined technique. The house is gorgeous, and a perfect environment after a long day of skiing. The price point is definitely more than the listed $$, so be prepared to shell out a large chunk of coin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Friendly service, great food, fabulous d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Friendly service, great food, fabulous dessert. It was my first trip but won't be the last!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a gem. Every dish from start to fin ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2016

What a gem. Every dish from start to finish was excellent. The wine list stretches from very good to ludicrous. Graham himself is quite entertaining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For such a small place and the few diner ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 9, 2016

For such a small place and the few diners the noise level was not desirable. My wife's drink was served with a bug floating in it. And they still charged us for the replacement

I would not recommend this place for the prices or quality of the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Graham's is a solid standby- very good f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Graham's is a solid standby- very good food, excellent service and a great place to go for dinner. Graham's has been around for a long time for excellent reasons.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Very friendly service. G ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent food. Very friendly service. Great wine selection. Best food in Squaw Valley.

Appetizers and entrees are large portions, so will go home well satisfied. Romantic ambiance with large fireplace.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Menu very limited. Quality and presentat ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Menu very limited. Quality and presentation of meal is not consistent with the very high prices. Could be a great dining experience if they worked on the menu and quality of food and cooking. Until then, wouldn't go back or recommend to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Our first time but definitely not our la ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Our first time but definitely not our last time. From the time we walked in until we left we felt at home. The bar was fun, the food was delicious and the service was excellent! We can't wait to return. An extra plus was we got to met Mr. Graham who went out of his way to get an address of a place we were taking about!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very disappointed with Graham's,I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 15, 2016

I was very disappointed with Graham's,I went because of good reviews but boy was that misleading. The food was not great, very basic food that anyone could make. I had duck breast which came with mashed potatoes/mostly butter and tasted like it was a few days old and veggies that were fine. Everything was cold when it arrived. I did not enjoy it and it was very expensive.

People were friendly but that does not make up for bad food, I felt ripped off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Graham's was a delight. This restaurant ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Graham's was a delight. This restaurant could be in San Francisco, except for the physical building. Interestingly it is located in one of the first homes built in Olympic Valley, Completely modernized and converted for restaurant/bar. The table was well set with white table cloth and pressed black napkins. The food was excellent. My wife had the stuffed chicken breast and I had a very generously sized duck breast. Both were excellent. Our wait staff Kelli and Alfonso were very efficient and pleasant. Alfonso spent his idle moments standing in a spot where he could keep an eye on his tables, a nice touch often not seen today. Wine list was very good and of course full bar was available. We are putting this one on our "must go" list for North Tahoe north shore.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best thing about Grahams is the service. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Best thing about Grahams is the service. Ambience is odd, feels like a step back in time in some ways. Food is good but not exceptional, especially given the prices. Okay for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Had been wanting to check out Graham's f ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Had been wanting to check out Graham's for a while. It was fantastic! Had one of the best pieces of elk I've ever had. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Old school, good halibut and sauce with ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Old school, good halibut and sauce with over cooked red peppers and broc with a rice pilaf with peppers again, salad not very interesting. Wait staff was old, slow and burned out! When switching wine had to ask if we needed new glasses. Silverware still had food stains on them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

This has been our "go to" for Squaw Vall ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2016

This has been our "go to" for Squaw Valley area dining for years - our favorite!

Everything from ambiance to food to service is exceptional; we'll be back every chance we get when we are in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic restaurant in Squaw Valley. We ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fantastic restaurant in Squaw Valley. We might not have found this place if a friend hadn't told us about it. We're so glad that he did. Great meal, great wine list, and a very friendly owner. Cheers Grahams!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cute, old school place that has decent f ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Cute, old school place that has decent food, with large quantities, especially for the price. We go here when the more popular places are booked or when we just want a change of pace. Always get good service and enjoy their great wine list. As long you are ok without hip and happening, you can get a good dinner here. Owner and servers are all very nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Ordered the quail appetizer it came to o ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Ordered the quail appetizer it came to our table in less than 5 minutes...you can't cook a quail in less than 5 minutes. Wife order raviolis they said were house made...more like Costco Kirkland brand. I had the bison ribeye it was way fatty and mediocre at best.

The waitress was shabbily dressed in clothes that did not fit and looked messy.

I would not recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Never a surprise at Graham's--delicious ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Never a surprise at Graham's--delicious food , a welcoming staff and wonderful wine! We try to come here every time we're in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an unbelievable and outstanding e ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had an unbelievable and outstanding evening at GRAHAM`S !! The food, drink, and ambiance , was excellent . Our server, Peter was most attentive and professional. His personal touch made us feel like we were having an evening with an old friend. Owner and British born, Graham, welcomed us into his establishment and made us feel right at home immediately! His personality, charm, and quick whit is something one MUST experience to appreciate. I highly recommend this restaurant. Thank you, Graham and Peter for making for a most memorable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

friendly staff with excellent food servi ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 23, 2016

friendly staff with excellent food service highly recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.