About Graham's at Squaw Valley

1650 Squaw Valley Rd
Olympic Valley, CA 96146
View Larger Map

In business for 21 years, Graham's is located in the historical Poulsen family home. Built in 1946, Sandy and Wayne raised 8 children here. Their home now is our restaurant and also the Christy Lodge which has 6 hotel rooms. Just minutes away from all of the activities in Squaw Valley, Graham's has been a favorite Apres Ski and Dinner House to locals and tourists alike. Summertime means bocce ball with Hor's D'oeuvres and cocktails before dinner on our heated patio with spectacular views of the mountain peaks. Winter time is the time to enjoy the warmth and cozy ambiance of a true mountain lodge, open wood burning fireplaces, vaulted ceilings create a unique Tahoe experience. Graham's also has an active bar scene with full menu dining at the bar. Award winning wine list with 450 selections. Menu changes weekly with a good selection of fresh seafood, great steaks and house specials such as seafood chowder, cheese fondue, duck cassoulet, osso bocco and tarte tatin for dessert.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Dinner: 5:00pm-11:00pm Bar Dining

Cross Street:
Christy Lane

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 581-0454

Website:
http://www.dinewine.com/index.html

Parking Details:
Private lot for 30 vehicles. Walking distance for additional 50 vehicles.

Public Transit:
Free Valley shuttle every 30 minutes. Reno-Tahoe airport shuttle daily. North Lake Tahoe transit bus every hour.

Executive Chef:
Graham Rock

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Graham’s is located in the historic Christy Lodge, the first family house built in 1947 in Squaw Valley and this year we are celebrating our 25th anniversary . .The dining room can seat upto 60 guests. Its high-beamed pine ceiling and rock fireplace gives the distinct feeling of a mountain lodge.

Graham's at Squaw Valley Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Tahoe / Reno Area
Neighborhood Gem
Tahoe / Reno Area
Notable Wine List
Tahoe / Reno Area
7 More
Best Overall
North Lake Tahoe
Best Service
North Lake Tahoe
Best Ambiance
North Lake Tahoe
Best Value
North Lake Tahoe
Fit for Foodies
North Lake Tahoe
Romantic
North Lake Tahoe
Special Occasion
North Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in Olympic Valley / Squaw Valley ›

romantic (24)
fit for foodies (23)
neighborhood gem (20)
See All
special occasion (17)
notable wine list (14)
good for groups (12)
vibrant bar scene (5)
scenic view (4)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
111 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food is what you should choose ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Excellent food is what you should choose Graham's for. Grilled trout was outstanding. Bison ribeye looked stellar too. Graham is there to take personal care of all patrons. Five star!!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great local standby

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Always great food with friendly service. A bit pricey. Waiter told us about the specials, but didn't tell us the prices. We ordered the specials, and were subsequently taken aback how pricy one of them was. So buyer beware. Otherwise, our usual fine experience with this neighborhood gem.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3

Traditional and homey with an upscale se ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Traditional and homey with an upscale set of entrees. This is a good place to go with a family member that finds plumpjack too hip and wants something more familiar. Better food and service at plumpjack nearby.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot after a full day of skiing

Dined on March 31, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal at Graham's. We were greeted warmly and the service was extremely friendly and highly attentive. Each of our meals was very good and the desserts were a real treat. The apple tartin with the vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce was a great way to top off the night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Needs a Chef

Dined on March 28, 2016

My wife and I have eaten at Grahams 3 times now, the first time was fantastic. The next 2 times were horrible; the food is not prepared well and really leaves you feeling like you need to stop by Taco Bell to get something good. Over priced for what is served. The staff is very good and don't have a bad thing to say about them, very pleasant.

food3
ambience5
service5

Great place to go. Wonderful staff and ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Great place to go. Wonderful staff and consider a seat at the bar on one of your visits. Lots of fun. Great energy.

food4
ambience5
service5

Graham's is one of the nicest places nea ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Graham's is one of the nicest places near Squaw Valley.

food5
ambience5
service5

We truly enjoyed Graham's, Graham is as ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

We truly enjoyed Graham's, Graham is as much of our experience as the dinner and service. Will definitely be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't miss Grahams while in Squaw Valley

Dined on March 24, 2016

The food is perfection. The host is Charming and gregarious. The overall experience is the best. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food!!

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

We were a group of 10 (5 adults and 5 kids). We were treated very well. The food was wonderful, and I really liked the almond torte for dessert. Yum!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The Local's Gem

Dined on March 19, 2016

Such a gem of a place in Olympic Valley. Truly a special occasion spot with amazing food and wine, warm and super friendly service and a really "locals" vibe. A trip to Squaw isn't complete without a meal or at least a drink at Graham's.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Gra ...

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Graham's--cozy setting, great staff, delicious dinner (the elk was fantastic!), and good wine. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good but not great

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

I'd say everything about the meal was just...good. Steak was prepared well, just not a flavorful cut. Price was high, even for a ski area. However, given its the one of very few restaurants of quality near the village, I'd recommend it. Its a quaint place though. Ask for a table by the fireplace if you have a group of 4

food3
ambience4
service3

Good but not great

Dined on March 11, 2016

Good but not great

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A true Cassoulet

Dined on March 7, 2016

My husband and I had our first cassoulet in France some 12 years ago. Ever since then, we order the dish when we see it on the menu, always with mixed results. None have ever been as good as our first experience. Graham's Cassoulet? Outstanding and just what we have been searching for these 12 years! Our Ceasar salad was not particularly of note but the hot bread with artichoke tapenade was delicious. The staff is ver friendly and the atmosphere cozy. This was our first experience. We will definitely be back...... for more Cassoule.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectatular!

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

Incredible food, great service, great wine list, overall a fantastic restaraunt and easily our best dining experience during our weeklong stay in Squaw.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great environment

Dined on March 3, 2016

Graham was awesome and made some special arrangements for my girlfriends birthday. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal

vip
Dined on February 24, 2016

Wonderful food, wine and service. Never miss a chance to go. Our family has been going for years.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4

Fish and shrimp dishes were mediocre and ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Fish and shrimp dishes were mediocre and it was a little sleepy but the boys loved their elk!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been going here for years but this ...

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

We've been going here for years but this Friday from the amuse Bouche dip to the dessert everything was kicked up a notch. The osso bucco was out of this world. Hope they keep it on the menu all winter long

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Super cozy with the fireplace in the bac ...

vip
Dined on January 28, 2016

Super cozy with the fireplace in the backround.Great service,awesome food,very rich and generous portions. Linzen torte reminded us at the time we spent in Germany.

food3
ambience3
service3

I had heard about Grahms for years but h ...

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

I had heard about Grahms for years but had never tried it. I took the opportunity to go with a friend and his girlfriend and we had a very nice time. Good service and good food. I must say that after all these years I expected it to be better. Food was well prepared but lacked serious imagination. Plating was not very nice. If the food had had a little more care in the presentation it would have been far better and more appealing. Don't get me wrong. The food was tasty just not visually impressive. We brought our own wines that fit the dinner well but found that our glasses had an odd Oder to them. It was quickly fixed but still. They should never have gotten to our table like this. All in all a nice evening but the restaurant played a back seat to the event and could have been so much more. I also found it odd that the owner was at the bar drinking as we left and blurted out. See you soon buddy. Thanks for coming with out even getting out of his seat. It was kind of a see you later. Some might find it charming but after spend 100 plus Per person in Tahoe I would have expected more. Corkage at 25 bucks per 750ml was way too much for the service and the quality of the stemware. A good place but could be SO MUCH MORE.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Find in Snow Country

Dined on January 21, 2016

You don't often find such a well crafted fine dining experience in the midst of a ski village ... and we did. The welcome was warm and genuine, the table was perfect, the service was full of charm and character, and the meal was as nicely crafted as one can find, anywhere. Don't miss this great old- world dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent meal at Grahams.

Dined on January 18, 2016

Thanks again for another excellent meal. We always enjoy the atmosphere and delicious food, and warm greeting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graham's is Always Reliable!

Dined on December 28, 2015

Every time we're in the area we always return to Graham's for dinner. Consistent quality food and friendly staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic!

Dined on November 28, 2015

We LOVED this restaurant from start to finish! Let me start out by saying Graham is an absolute delight. Greets and welcomes all of his guests at the door as if they were coming to his home for dinner. Very Special! During our three night stay in the Squaw Valley area, Graham's was hands down our best dining experience. The Buffalo Rib Eye was melt in your mouth delicious and I'm still dreaming about the Apple Tarte Tartin. Table B5 is the best seat in the house for a party of two. Don't miss this little gem of a restaurant if your in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4

Not quite what we'd hoped

Dined on September 27, 2015

Graham's didn't quite live up to expectations, or reviews. The people are lovely, the space is fabulous, but the food was just so-so. Salmon was overcooked and the elk was undercooked. The foie gras was boring. It wasn't worth the price.

Tags: kid-friendly
food2
ambience1
service1

Awful experience

Dined on September 12, 2015

The service was awful, the waiter was not understanding at all that we had a big wedding party near us that was very noisy with children running around the restaurant screaming. It is very, very pricey and the food was not even good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!

Dined on August 1, 2015

We went here for dinner with a couple friends based on some favorable reviews we had seen. The Sea Bass was great, and the Elk Chops were very good also. Peter was our waiter and was very knowledgable about the food and wine menu and had some great stories about the history of the restaraunt.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Perfect For Special Celebration

Dined on August 1, 2015

We have dined at Graham's for years and will continue to do so. We love Graham and his staff...they make you feel special. This is an intimate restaurant so very special. They can accomodate large groups also.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and gracious staff. Will ...

Dined on July 20, 2015

Fantastic food and gracious staff. Will go there every time I'm in town.

food3
ambience4
service5

Great spot for dinner just outside the village

Dined on July 20, 2015

Our visit to Grahams started with a warm greeting from Graham himself. We started with the Carese salad which was one of the specials. They were nice enough to split it so we each had our own generous plate of fresh deliciousness. My husband ordered the lamb shank which was served over couscous. The meat was tender and the portion was huge. I had the chicken roulade which has a lovely marsala sauce and mushrooms. The chicken was tender and moist and it went perfectly with mashed potatoes and fresh vegetables. Service throughout the meal was stellar!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

What a delight!

Dined on July 10, 2015

Another delightful evening at Graham's! Graham himself is so welcoming and gracious. It makes dining with him very special. Our diner was exceptional, perfectly prepared and presented. The service was warm and attentive. We will come back again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service2

Used to be excellent!

Dined on July 5, 2015

Old time glory. Food & service were excellent back to a few years when we visited often. Now it's on the downhill slide.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, great service, welcoming atmosphere

vip
Dined on June 27, 2015

My husband and I dined at Graham's initially on 6/26/15 for our anniversary. Every bit of food was amazing - the artichoke spread served with the bread, the scallop appetizer, sea bass, ravioli, and lemon cheesecake were all perfectly prepared and absolutely delicious. The service was equally good. As we left the restaurant we walked through the bar and met Graham who promptly offered to buy us a glass of wine. We accepted his offer and went into the bar and had a couple of drinks (Cat makes a fantastic Cosmopolitan) and talked with several locals and Peter, the general manager. My husband and Peter talked a lot about wines and Peter suggested we come back the next night and he would bring in a bottle from his private cellar. We were excited about the idea of coming back for dinner since we had such a great experience with both the food and the staff, and we thought it was especially nice that Peter made such a generous offer. We came back the next night and had dinner - Peter was our waiter. Before we ordered our first course Peter brought out the wine he had talked about the night before, which turned out to be a really great bottle of wine. We had brought a bottle as well and shared a taste with Peter. Once again, everything we ordered was truly delicious - asparagus strudel with brie, seafood chowder, duck, and the sea bass - yes, it was so good I ordered it again! The experience at Graham's was like no other dining experience I've had. I have been to my share of fine dining restaurants but never have I had an experience where you are treated so well by people I just met. All of the staff at Graham's were very welcoming. After talking with Graham more the second evening it is clear that he treats his staff well, and in return, they treat his customers well. Needless to say, I highly recommend Graham's. My husband and I now refer to Graham's as "our place in Tahoe" and we are already talking about when we can get back there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding from start to finish

Dined on June 14, 2015

Three of us were on special weight loss diet however our server (I wish I could remember her name) communicated with the chef to have our dishes prepared according to our diet. My halibut was delicious as was my husband's lamb chops! We had requested that the high calorie sauces not be added. One of our party did have his meal without making any changes to the chef's menu and his was excellent! Thank you chef for accommodating our diet. We really did not want to offend you and we cannot wait to return when the diet is over!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

A special treat in Tahoe!

Dined on May 30, 2015

What a treat to be welcomed like old friends, treated like members of the family and served a most delicious meal. The house salad with fried leeks, walnuts and gorgonzola was a yummy start. We had the two special entrees for the evening; blackened salmon with rice and farmer's market veggies and lamb rack with mint sauce, mashed potatoes and the veggies. Not only were the salmon and lamb absolutely delish, but the veggies were cooked to perfection, a true sign of a really good kitchen. And then for dessert, Tarte Tatin. Topped with vanilla ice cream and warm caramel sauce, it was a delightful end to a really wonderful evening. We will come back any time we are in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best dinners in Squaw Valley!

Dined on March 9, 2015

A great mountain restaurant. Really good food, ambience and service. Easily the best place for dinner in Squaw Valley. Interesting food selections, good wine list. Our server was full of information about the area, and his menu recommendations were spot on. Definitely going back again on our next trip.

food5
ambience5
service5

Graham's Restaurant in Olympic Valley is ...

Dined on February 28, 2015

Graham's Restaurant in Olympic Valley is always outstanding. During the months of March and April the crowds in the Valley thin out so it's a great time to get special treatment here. We love it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a charming welcoming restaurant ...

vip
Dined on February 22, 2015

This is a charming welcoming restaurant with outstanding service and delicious food. My wife raved about the sea bass and I thoroughly enjoyed the chicken roulade. The apple tartine was a delightful finish to a lovely meal.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.