About Graham's at Squaw Valley

1650 Squaw Valley Rd
Olympic Valley, CA 96146
View Larger Map

In business for 21 years, Graham's is located in the historical Poulsen family home. Built in 1946, Sandy and Wayne raised 8 children here. Their home now is our restaurant and also the Christy Lodge which has 6 hotel rooms. Just minutes away from all of the activities in Squaw Valley, Graham's has been a favorite Apres Ski and Dinner House to locals and tourists alike. Summertime means bocce ball with Hor's D'oeuvres and cocktails before dinner on our heated patio with spectacular views of the mountain peaks. Winter time is the time to enjoy the warmth and cozy ambiance of a true mountain lodge, open wood burning fireplaces, vaulted ceilings create a unique Tahoe experience. Graham's also has an active bar scene with full menu dining at the bar. Award winning wine list with 450 selections. Menu changes weekly with a good selection of fresh seafood, great steaks and house specials such as seafood chowder, cheese fondue, duck cassoulet, osso bocco and tarte tatin for dessert.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Dinner: 5:00pm-11:00pm Bar Dining

Cross Street:
Christy Lane

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 581-0454

Website:
http://www.dinewine.com/index.html

Parking Details:
Private lot for 30 vehicles. Walking distance for additional 50 vehicles.

Public Transit:
Free Valley shuttle every 30 minutes. Reno-Tahoe airport shuttle daily. North Lake Tahoe transit bus every hour.

Executive Chef:
Graham Rock

Private Party Facilities:
Graham’s is located in the historic Christy Lodge, the first family house built in 1947 in Squaw Valley and this year we are celebrating our 25th anniversary . .The dining room can seat upto 60 guests. Its high-beamed pine ceiling and rock fireplace gives the distinct feeling of a mountain lodge.

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: 8557932653

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Graham's at Squaw Valley
  • Graham's at Squaw Valley
Graham's at Squaw Valley
Graham's at Squaw Valley

Graham's at Squaw Valley Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Overall
North Lake Tahoe
Best Food
North Lake Tahoe
4 More
Best Service
North Lake Tahoe
Best Ambiance
North Lake Tahoe
Scenic View
North Lake Tahoe
Special Occasion
North Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in Olympic Valley / Squaw Valley ›

Special Occasion (13)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Romantic (10)
See All
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Scenic View (6)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Fun (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Casual (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Cozy (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
133 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

What a gem. Every dish from start to fin ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

What a gem. Every dish from start to finish was excellent. The wine list stretches from very good to ludicrous. Graham himself is quite entertaining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For such a small place and the few diner ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

For such a small place and the few diners the noise level was not desirable. My wife's drink was served with a bug floating in it. And they still charged us for the replacement

I would not recommend this place for the prices or quality of the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Graham's is a solid standby- very good f ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Graham's is a solid standby- very good food, excellent service and a great place to go for dinner. Graham's has been around for a long time for excellent reasons.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Very friendly service. G ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent food. Very friendly service. Great wine selection. Best food in Squaw Valley.

Appetizers and entrees are large portions, so will go home well satisfied. Romantic ambiance with large fireplace.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Menu very limited. Quality and presentat ...

 
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Menu very limited. Quality and presentation of meal is not consistent with the very high prices. Could be a great dining experience if they worked on the menu and quality of food and cooking. Until then, wouldn't go back or recommend to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Our first time but definitely not our la ...

 
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Our first time but definitely not our last time. From the time we walked in until we left we felt at home. The bar was fun, the food was delicious and the service was excellent! We can't wait to return. An extra plus was we got to met Mr. Graham who went out of his way to get an address of a place we were taking about!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very disappointed with Graham's,I ...

 
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I was very disappointed with Graham's,I went because of good reviews but boy was that misleading. The food was not great, very basic food that anyone could make. I had duck breast which came with mashed potatoes/mostly butter and tasted like it was a few days old and veggies that were fine. Everything was cold when it arrived. I did not enjoy it and it was very expensive.

People were friendly but that does not make up for bad food, I felt ripped off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Graham's was a delight. This restaurant ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Graham's was a delight. This restaurant could be in San Francisco, except for the physical building. Interestingly it is located in one of the first homes built in Olympic Valley, Completely modernized and converted for restaurant/bar. The table was well set with white table cloth and pressed black napkins. The food was excellent. My wife had the stuffed chicken breast and I had a very generously sized duck breast. Both were excellent. Our wait staff Kelli and Alfonso were very efficient and pleasant. Alfonso spent his idle moments standing in a spot where he could keep an eye on his tables, a nice touch often not seen today. Wine list was very good and of course full bar was available. We are putting this one on our "must go" list for North Tahoe north shore.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best thing about Grahams is the service. ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Best thing about Grahams is the service. Ambience is odd, feels like a step back in time in some ways. Food is good but not exceptional, especially given the prices. Okay for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Had been wanting to check out Graham's f ...

 
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Had been wanting to check out Graham's for a while. It was fantastic! Had one of the best pieces of elk I've ever had. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Old school, good halibut and sauce with ...

 
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Old school, good halibut and sauce with over cooked red peppers and broc with a rice pilaf with peppers again, salad not very interesting. Wait staff was old, slow and burned out! When switching wine had to ask if we needed new glasses. Silverware still had food stains on them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

This has been our "go to" for Squaw Vall ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This has been our "go to" for Squaw Valley area dining for years - our favorite!

Everything from ambiance to food to service is exceptional; we'll be back every chance we get when we are in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic restaurant in Squaw Valley. We ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fantastic restaurant in Squaw Valley. We might not have found this place if a friend hadn't told us about it. We're so glad that he did. Great meal, great wine list, and a very friendly owner. Cheers Grahams!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cute, old school place that has decent f ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Cute, old school place that has decent food, with large quantities, especially for the price. We go here when the more popular places are booked or when we just want a change of pace. Always get good service and enjoy their great wine list. As long you are ok without hip and happening, you can get a good dinner here. Owner and servers are all very nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Ordered the quail appetizer it came to o ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Ordered the quail appetizer it came to our table in less than 5 minutes...you can't cook a quail in less than 5 minutes. Wife order raviolis they said were house made...more like Costco Kirkland brand. I had the bison ribeye it was way fatty and mediocre at best.

The waitress was shabbily dressed in clothes that did not fit and looked messy.

I would not recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Never a surprise at Graham's--delicious ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Never a surprise at Graham's--delicious food , a welcoming staff and wonderful wine! We try to come here every time we're in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an unbelievable and outstanding e ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had an unbelievable and outstanding evening at GRAHAM`S !! The food, drink, and ambiance , was excellent . Our server, Peter was most attentive and professional. His personal touch made us feel like we were having an evening with an old friend. Owner and British born, Graham, welcomed us into his establishment and made us feel right at home immediately! His personality, charm, and quick whit is something one MUST experience to appreciate. I highly recommend this restaurant. Thank you, Graham and Peter for making for a most memorable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

friendly staff with excellent food servi ...

 
·Dined on June 23, 2016

friendly staff with excellent food service highly recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good and the staff were ver ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was good and the staff were very friendly. The location, views and ambience were very good. The prices were higher that a normal $$ restaurant with the cheapest entree being $30.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I enjoyed the Buffalo rib eye, next time ...

 
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I enjoyed the Buffalo rib eye, next time I'll try the Elk chop. Nice appetizers too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Dining in Squaw Valley

 
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We celebrated our friends birthday at Graham's, our first dining experience at Graham's after hearing the ravwe reviews about this restaurant for a number of years. The food was wonderful and even though it was an off time of the season in the valley the atmosphere was lively with Graham entertaining the locals at the bar. The service was excellent and we highly recommend Graham's when visiting Squaw Valley. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food is what you should choose ...

 
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Excellent food is what you should choose Graham's for. Grilled trout was outstanding. Bison ribeye looked stellar too. Graham is there to take personal care of all patrons. Five star!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great local standby

 
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Always great food with friendly service. A bit pricey. Waiter told us about the specials, but didn't tell us the prices. We ordered the specials, and were subsequently taken aback how pricy one of them was. So buyer beware. Otherwise, our usual fine experience with this neighborhood gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Traditional and homey with an upscale se ...

 
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Traditional and homey with an upscale set of entrees. This is a good place to go with a family member that finds plumpjack too hip and wants something more familiar. Better food and service at plumpjack nearby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great spot after a full day of skiing

 
·Dined on March 31, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal at Graham's. We were greeted warmly and the service was extremely friendly and highly attentive. Each of our meals was very good and the desserts were a real treat. The apple tartin with the vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce was a great way to top off the night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Needs a Chef

 
·Dined on March 28, 2016

My wife and I have eaten at Grahams 3 times now, the first time was fantastic. The next 2 times were horrible; the food is not prepared well and really leaves you feeling like you need to stop by Taco Bell to get something good. Over priced for what is served.

The staff is very good and don't have a bad thing to say about them, very pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Great place to go. Wonderful staff and ...

 
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Great place to go. Wonderful staff and consider a seat at the bar on one of your visits. Lots of fun. Great energy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Graham's is one of the nicest places nea ...

 
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Graham's is one of the nicest places near Squaw Valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We truly enjoyed Graham's, Graham is as ...

 
·Dined on March 25, 2016

We truly enjoyed Graham's, Graham is as much of our experience as the dinner and service. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't miss Grahams while in Squaw Valley

 
·Dined on March 24, 2016

The food is perfection. The host is Charming and gregarious. The overall experience is the best. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food!!

 
·Dined on March 21, 2016

We were a group of 10 (5 adults and 5 kids). We were treated very well. The food was wonderful, and I really liked the almond torte for dessert. Yum!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Local's Gem

 
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Such a gem of a place in Olympic Valley. Truly a special occasion spot with amazing food and wine, warm and super friendly service and a really "locals" vibe. A trip to Squaw isn't complete without a meal or at least a drink at Graham's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Gra ...

 
·Dined on March 14, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Graham's--cozy setting, great staff, delicious dinner (the elk was fantastic!), and good wine. We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good but not great

 
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I'd say everything about the meal was just...good. Steak was prepared well, just not a flavorful cut. Price was high, even for a ski area. However, given its the one of very few restaurants of quality near the village, I'd recommend it. Its a quaint place though. Ask for a table by the fireplace if you have a group of 4

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good but not great

 
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Good but not great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

A true Cassoulet

 
·Dined on March 7, 2016

My husband and I had our first cassoulet in France some 12 years ago. Ever since then, we order the dish when we see it on the menu, always with mixed results. None have ever been as good as our first experience. Graham's Cassoulet? Outstanding and just what we have been searching for these 12 years! Our Ceasar salad was not particularly of note but the hot bread with artichoke tapenade was delicious. The staff is ver friendly and the atmosphere cozy. This was our first experience. We will definitely be back...... for more Cassoule.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectatular!

 
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Incredible food, great service, great wine list, overall a fantastic restaraunt and easily our best dining experience during our weeklong stay in Squaw.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great environment

 
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Graham was awesome and made some special arrangements for my girlfriends birthday. Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal

 
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Wonderful food, wine and service. Never miss a chance to go. Our family has been going for years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fish and shrimp dishes were mediocre and ...

 
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Fish and shrimp dishes were mediocre and it was a little sleepy but the boys loved their elk!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.