About Graham's at Squaw Valley

1650 Squaw Valley Rd
Olympic Valley, CA 96146
View Larger Map

In business for 21 years, Graham's is located in the historical Poulsen family home. Built in 1946, Sandy and Wayne raised 8 children here. Their home now is our restaurant and also the Christy Lodge which has 6 hotel rooms. Just minutes away from all of the activities in Squaw Valley, Graham's has been a favorite Apres Ski and Dinner House to locals and tourists alike. Summertime means bocce ball with Hor's D'oeuvres and cocktails before dinner on our heated patio with spectacular views of the mountain peaks. Winter time is the time to enjoy the warmth and cozy ambiance of a true mountain lodge, open wood burning fireplaces, vaulted ceilings create a unique Tahoe experience. Graham's also has an active bar scene with full menu dining at the bar. Award winning wine list with 450 selections. Menu changes weekly with a good selection of fresh seafood, great steaks and house specials such as seafood chowder, cheese fondue, duck cassoulet, osso bocco and tarte tatin for dessert.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Dinner: 5:00pm-11:00pm Bar Dining

Cross Street:
Christy Lane

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 581-0454

Website:
http://www.dinewine.com/index.html

Parking Details:
Private lot for 30 vehicles. Walking distance for additional 50 vehicles.

Public Transit:
Free Valley shuttle every 30 minutes. Reno-Tahoe airport shuttle daily. North Lake Tahoe transit bus every hour.

Executive Chef:
Graham Rock

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Graham's at Squaw Valley
  • Graham's at Squaw Valley
Graham's at Squaw Valley
Graham's at Squaw Valley

Private Dining

Graham’s is located in the historic Christy Lodge, the first family house built in 1947 in Squaw Valley and this year we are celebrating our 25th anniversary . .The dining room can seat upto 60 guests. Its high-beamed pine ceiling and rock fireplace gives the distinct feeling of a mountain lodge.

Graham's at Squaw Valley Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Tahoe / Reno Area
Neighborhood Gem
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Service
North Lake Tahoe
4 More
Best Ambiance
North Lake Tahoe
Best Value
North Lake Tahoe
Fit for Foodies
North Lake Tahoe
Special Occasion
North Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in Olympic Valley / Squaw Valley ›

romantic (10)
neighborhood gem (10)
special occasion (9)
See All
fit for foodies (7)
notable wine list (6)
good for groups (5)
kid-friendly (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
scenic view (3)
late-night find (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
120 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Cute, old school place that has decent f ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Cute, old school place that has decent food, with large quantities, especially for the price. We go here when the more popular places are booked or when we just want a change of pace. Always get good service and enjoy their great wine list. As long you are ok without hip and happening, you can get a good dinner here. Owner and servers are all very nice.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Ordered the quail appetizer it came to o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Ordered the quail appetizer it came to our table in less than 5 minutes...you can't cook a quail in less than 5 minutes. Wife order raviolis they said were house made...more like Costco Kirkland brand. I had the bison ribeye it was way fatty and mediocre at best.

The waitress was shabbily dressed in clothes that did not fit and looked messy.

I would not recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Never a surprise at Graham's--delicious ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Never a surprise at Graham's--delicious food , a welcoming staff and wonderful wine! We try to come here every time we're in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an unbelievable and outstanding e ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had an unbelievable and outstanding evening at GRAHAM`S !! The food, drink, and ambiance , was excellent . Our server, Peter was most attentive and professional. His personal touch made us feel like we were having an evening with an old friend. Owner and British born, Graham, welcomed us into his establishment and made us feel right at home immediately! His personality, charm, and quick whit is something one MUST experience to appreciate. I highly recommend this restaurant. Thank you, Graham and Peter for making for a most memorable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

friendly staff with excellent food servi ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

friendly staff with excellent food service highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good and the staff were ver ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was good and the staff were very friendly. The location, views and ambience were very good. The prices were higher that a normal $$ restaurant with the cheapest entree being $30.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I enjoyed the Buffalo rib eye, next time ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I enjoyed the Buffalo rib eye, next time I'll try the Elk chop. Nice appetizers too.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Dining in Squaw Valley

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We celebrated our friends birthday at Graham's, our first dining experience at Graham's after hearing the ravwe reviews about this restaurant for a number of years. The food was wonderful and even though it was an off time of the season in the valley the atmosphere was lively with Graham entertaining the locals at the bar. The service was excellent and we highly recommend Graham's when visiting Squaw Valley. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food is what you should choose ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Excellent food is what you should choose Graham's for. Grilled trout was outstanding. Bison ribeye looked stellar too. Graham is there to take personal care of all patrons. Five star!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great local standby

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Always great food with friendly service. A bit pricey. Waiter told us about the specials, but didn't tell us the prices. We ordered the specials, and were subsequently taken aback how pricy one of them was. So buyer beware. Otherwise, our usual fine experience with this neighborhood gem.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Traditional and homey with an upscale se ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Traditional and homey with an upscale set of entrees. This is a good place to go with a family member that finds plumpjack too hip and wants something more familiar. Better food and service at plumpjack nearby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great spot after a full day of skiing

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal at Graham's. We were greeted warmly and the service was extremely friendly and highly attentive. Each of our meals was very good and the desserts were a real treat. The apple tartin with the vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce was a great way to top off the night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Needs a Chef

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

My wife and I have eaten at Grahams 3 times now, the first time was fantastic. The next 2 times were horrible; the food is not prepared well and really leaves you feeling like you need to stop by Taco Bell to get something good. Over priced for what is served.

The staff is very good and don't have a bad thing to say about them, very pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Great place to go. Wonderful staff and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Great place to go. Wonderful staff and consider a seat at the bar on one of your visits. Lots of fun. Great energy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Graham's is one of the nicest places nea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Graham's is one of the nicest places near Squaw Valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We truly enjoyed Graham's, Graham is as ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

We truly enjoyed Graham's, Graham is as much of our experience as the dinner and service. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't miss Grahams while in Squaw Valley

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

The food is perfection. The host is Charming and gregarious. The overall experience is the best. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food!!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

We were a group of 10 (5 adults and 5 kids). We were treated very well. The food was wonderful, and I really liked the almond torte for dessert. Yum!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Local's Gem

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Such a gem of a place in Olympic Valley. Truly a special occasion spot with amazing food and wine, warm and super friendly service and a really "locals" vibe. A trip to Squaw isn't complete without a meal or at least a drink at Graham's.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Gra ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Graham's--cozy setting, great staff, delicious dinner (the elk was fantastic!), and good wine. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good but not great

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I'd say everything about the meal was just...good. Steak was prepared well, just not a flavorful cut. Price was high, even for a ski area. However, given its the one of very few restaurants of quality near the village, I'd recommend it. Its a quaint place though. Ask for a table by the fireplace if you have a group of 4

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good but not great

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Good but not great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

A true Cassoulet

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

My husband and I had our first cassoulet in France some 12 years ago. Ever since then, we order the dish when we see it on the menu, always with mixed results. None have ever been as good as our first experience. Graham's Cassoulet? Outstanding and just what we have been searching for these 12 years! Our Ceasar salad was not particularly of note but the hot bread with artichoke tapenade was delicious. The staff is ver friendly and the atmosphere cozy. This was our first experience. We will definitely be back...... for more Cassoule.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectatular!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Incredible food, great service, great wine list, overall a fantastic restaraunt and easily our best dining experience during our weeklong stay in Squaw.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great environment

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Graham was awesome and made some special arrangements for my girlfriends birthday. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Wonderful food, wine and service. Never miss a chance to go. Our family has been going for years.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fish and shrimp dishes were mediocre and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Fish and shrimp dishes were mediocre and it was a little sleepy but the boys loved their elk!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

We've been going here for years but this ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

We've been going here for years but this Friday from the amuse Bouche dip to the dessert everything was kicked up a notch. The osso bucco was out of this world. Hope they keep it on the menu all winter long

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super cozy with the fireplace in the bac ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

Super cozy with the fireplace in the backround.Great service,awesome food,very rich and generous portions.

Linzen torte reminded us at the time we spent in Germany.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I had heard about Grahms for years but h ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

I had heard about Grahms for years but had never tried it. I took the opportunity to go with a friend and his girlfriend and we had a very nice time. Good service and good food. I must say that after all these years I expected it to be better.

Food was well prepared but lacked serious imagination. Plating was not very nice. If the food had had a little more care in the presentation it would have been far better and more appealing. Don't get me wrong. The food was tasty just not visually impressive.

We brought our own wines that fit the dinner well but found that our glasses had an odd Oder to them. It was quickly fixed but still. They should never have gotten to our table like this.

All in all a nice evening but the restaurant played a back seat to the event and could have been so much more.

I also found it odd that the owner was at the bar drinking as we left and blurted out. See you soon buddy. Thanks for coming with out even getting out of his seat. It was kind of a see you later. Some might find it charming but after spend 100 plus Per person in Tahoe I would have expected more.

Corkage at 25 bucks per 750ml was way too much for the service and the quality of the stemware.

A good place but could be SO MUCH MORE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great Find in Snow Country

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

You don't often find such a well crafted fine dining experience in the midst of a ski village ... and we did. The welcome was warm and genuine, the table was perfect, the service was full of charm and character, and the meal was as nicely crafted as one can find, anywhere. Don't miss this great old- world dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal at Grahams.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

Thanks again for another excellent meal. We always enjoy the atmosphere and delicious food, and warm greeting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Graham's is Always Reliable!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

Every time we're in the area we always return to Graham's for dinner. Consistent quality food and friendly staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

We LOVED this restaurant from start to finish! Let me start out by saying Graham is an absolute delight. Greets and welcomes all of his guests at the door as if they were coming to his home for dinner. Very Special! During our three night stay in the Squaw Valley area, Graham's was hands down our best dining experience. The Buffalo Rib Eye was melt in your mouth delicious and I'm still dreaming about the Apple Tarte Tartin. Table B5 is the best seat in the house for a party of two. Don't miss this little gem of a restaurant if your in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not quite what we'd hoped

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

Graham's didn't quite live up to expectations, or reviews. The people are lovely, the space is fabulous, but the food was just so-so. Salmon was overcooked and the elk was undercooked. The foie gras was boring. It wasn't worth the price.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Awful experience

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

The service was awful, the waiter was not understanding at all that we had a big wedding party near us that was very noisy with children running around the restaurant screaming. It is very, very pricey and the food was not even good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Great food!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 1, 2015

We went here for dinner with a couple friends based on some favorable reviews we had seen. The Sea Bass was great, and the Elk Chops were very good also. Peter was our waiter and was very knowledgable about the food and wine menu and had some great stories about the history of the restaraunt.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect For Special Celebration

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2015

We have dined at Graham's for years and will continue to do so. We love Graham and his staff...they make you feel special. This is an intimate restaurant so very special. They can accomodate large groups also.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and gracious staff. Will ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 20, 2015

Fantastic food and gracious staff. Will go there every time I'm in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot for dinner just outside the village

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2015

Our visit to Grahams started with a warm greeting from Graham himself. We started with the Carese salad which was one of the specials. They were nice enough to split it so we each had our own generous plate of fresh deliciousness. My husband ordered the lamb shank which was served over couscous. The meat was tender and the portion was huge. I had the chicken roulade which has a lovely marsala sauce and mushrooms. The chicken was tender and moist and it went perfectly with mashed potatoes and fresh vegetables. Service throughout the meal was stellar!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.