Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Graham's at Squaw Valley

In business for 21 years, Graham's is located in the historical Poulsen family home. Built in 1946, Sandy and Wayne raised 8 children here. Their home now is our restaurant and also the Christy Lodge which has 6 hotel rooms. Just minutes away from all of the activities in Squaw Valley, Graham's has been a favorite Apres Ski and Dinner House to locals and tourists alike. Summertime means bocce ball with Hor's D'oeuvres and cocktails before dinner on our heated patio with spectacular views of the mountain peaks. Winter time is the time to enjoy the warmth and cozy ambiance of a true mountain lodge, open wood burning fireplaces, vaulted ceilings create a unique Tahoe experience. Graham's also has an active bar scene with full menu dining at the bar. Award winning wine list with 450 selections. Menu changes weekly with a good selection of fresh seafood, great steaks and house specials such as seafood chowder, cheese fondue, duck cassoulet, osso bocco and tarte tatin for dessert.

1650 Squaw Valley Rd
Olympic Valley, CA 96146
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Dinner: 5:00pm-11:00pm Bar Dining

Cross Street:
Christy Lane

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 581-0454

Website:
http://www.dinewine.com/index.html

Parking Details:
Private lot for 30 vehicles. Walking distance for additional 50 vehicles.

Public Transit:
Free Valley shuttle every 30 minutes. Reno-Tahoe airport shuttle daily. North Lake Tahoe transit bus every hour.

Executive Chef:
Graham Rock

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Graham’s is located in the historic Christy Lodge, the first family house built in 1947 in Squaw Valley. The dining room can seat up to 60 guests. Its high-beamed pine ceiling and rock fireplace gives the distinct feeling of a mountain lodge.

Graham's at Squaw Valley Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Authentic (7)
See All
Quiet Conversation (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Cozy (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Romantic (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Scenic View (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Casual (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fireplace (1)
Business Meals (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
188 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Graham's is a rare old gem in this day of trendy new places popping up in destination resorts (such as Squaw Valley). The food, wine and ambiance are true classics, and much of the staff has been there since the beginning over 30 years ago. Something is working, and I think its due to the genial host, the great chef, great wine selection, the overall value, and of course the timeless rustic elegance of this historic Squaw building. All the entrees were prepared perfectly, and I would highly recommend the Elk and the Fish Chowder. Classic European American mountain feel.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We love Graham's. It's a classic Squaw Valley location with a wonderful history to the house. Every time we arrive, we're greeted by name by the owner, Graham, and warmly welcomed. My favorite place to sit is in front of the stone fireplace. Cocktails are always superb, the calamari is light and tender, and I love the buffalo ribeye. Highly recommend this beautiful treasure.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We went to Graham's based on recommendations and reviews I saw on OT. Turned out to be a good decision. Host/chef was very personable and friendly and the French food was very good. Excellent Caesar salad. A fresh tuna entrée also excellent. We skipped desserts but they were probably worth having - apple tatin, etc.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

Graham's was the highlight meal of the week for us during our summer visit to Squaw Valley. Within walking distance of the Village, we strolled there on a Friday evening, and enjoyed great service and delicious food! The ambiance was comfortable and friendly, and the service was just right. We enjoyed a lovely rose from the ample wine list, and both our appetizers and main course were spot on with flavor. We will definitely be back next trip!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great local business for fine dining and wonderful service. Peter always takes great care of us.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

overpriced for what it was. The menu on their website is 5 years old and doesn't reflect current prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent find! Great personable service, most tasty food. One of the best places in Tahoe.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We were celebrating my husband's birthday. We had a wonderful meal from the gazpacho soup, fabulous mix green salad with crispy leaks on top, alaskan salmon, chicken breast stuffed with Gorgonzola cheese and pinenuts with porchini mushrooms and to finish the meal, a chocolate mousse with pecans cake. The staff was friendly and attentive. We really enjoyed our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I have been dining at Graham's for about 40 years. Graham, the owner, is extremely friendly and his servers, who also have been there for many years, provide excellent service. It's tucked into an alcove on the entrance road to Squaw Valley and isn't highly visible. Thus Graham's clientele tends to be repeat diners who know him well and keep coming back. Unlike most Tahoe area restaurants, it's more of a local feel than a tourist spot. It's not uncommon to see familiar folks hanging out with Graham at the small bar. The food is consistently excellent. My favorite is the elk loin in lingonberry sauce. The meat is exceptionally lean and tender. Other dishes tend to be on the creative side.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Graham's looked great on their website. Patio w/ spectacular views during the summer - closed. Full menu listed multiple small plates - not really available. Entrées looked very appealing and fairly priced - not in reality. Each entrée was 30 - 35% higher than listed on their menu. Now we were 0 for 3. Although most of their reviews were good, we just couldn't get over the misrepresentations. And speaking with Graham himself on the way out, he admitted that his website menu had not been updated in at least 5 years - SERIOUSLY ? How do they get away with that? Definitely will never see us again. Sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Graham's is one of the best reasons to visit Squaw Valley. It is an original homesteader residence that has been converted to a warm, sophisticated dining establishment. We always come to dinner once or twice during our weeks in the Valley. Graham Rock, Peter and the entire staff are incredibly sharp and capable and create lasting friendships as well as amazing cuisine. It makes for a wonderful dining experience. If you want to meet the REAL locals, come early and dine at the bar. You will be amazed that the retired gentleman to your left was a single digit employee of Genentech and the lovely woman to your right was an Olympic Silver Metalist... but they they will never tell you unless you ask!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Went there for my birthday most recently but have dined there numerous times. Easily Tahoe's best restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This establishment is a real treat. I treated my girlfriend to a birthday dinner, and she was smiling all night long. Graham's always have the best food in Squaw Valley. The experience begins with meeting the owner, Graham, who is also the host. He's a very cheerful chap, and he treats his guests like locals (a rarity at Squaw). The specials tend to be from local farms so the quality is excellent. I've never met the chef(s), and if that were to become a part of the deal, the experience would be 5.0.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We dine here every time we come to Squaw Valley. The food and service are consisently excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Very personable greeting and service from Graham.

Seafood chowder was tasty, full of fresh ingredients and filling.

Graham recommended a good white port to go with the tarte tatin.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Some good and bad. Seafood chowder was REALLY good. Ribeye Steak was super expensive and was a bit too chewy for a $40.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Astonished how good the whole experience was. The food was excellent on all levels. Same with service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We love the atmosphere of Graham's, where you are greeted at the door by name by Graham, and where we have been dining for years. My favorites are the elk and, for dessert, the apple tarte tatin. Great service, too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The three of us had what was probably the most enjoyable meal we've had in the area. The food was excellent. I had a superb seafood chowder, with generous chunks of lobster, my wife had very good baked oysters, and our son had what was termed asparagus strudel, also very tasty. The three of us all had the sea bass, which turned out to be not branzino but Chilean sea bass (Patagonian toothfish), usually a bit too oily and not firm enough, but in this case it was as perfect in consistency and taste as the best European sea bass, perhaps the best fish we've had in the U.S. It came in a whopping panko-coated slab, a portion so generous that, glutton though I may be, I could not quite finish it. With the meal we'd ordered a bottle of Sancerre, one of our favorite wines, and in this case it was so outstanding we wound up drinking a second bottle. The meal itself was enhanced immeasurably by very pleasant conversations with the owner and with our waiter, himself a knowledgeable winemaker; we had the feeling of dining at the house of friends. Food prices are quite reasonable given the quality, and wine markups are actually slightly lower than average. We look forward to another dinner there on our next ski trip to Squaw Valley.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Really awesome dinner in an amazing setting with a great history to the building. Better than any restaurant in the SV Village.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The artichoke spread starts the meal off perfectly. Both the lamb and bison were perfect. Mixed salad had just the right amount of ingredients and dressing

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The best Caesar salad ever. The duck with lavender glaze was stunning

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Service was excellent, food delicious.
Decor could use some updating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

First trip to Squaw Valley. We only had one night for a special dinner. We certainly made the right choice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We had a great dinner at Graham's. The ambiance is always lovely. Particularly good was the asparagus wrapped in a type of puff pastry. Also the pasta with shrimp. Quite delicious. It is a lovely restaurant with a cozy, warm ambiance especially when it is snowing outside.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Our meals were very tasty, especially the stuffed chicken. We enjoyed the cozy ambiance. Only issue was being misled by the outdated, less expensive menu listed through Open Table.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We come several times a year and we are never disappointed. Perfect for locals (but then we Know That!) and for Squaw guests. Number One in Squaw. Perfect for a ski area.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were a party of 6, our family get together. The seating was roomy and comfortable, we were not rushed, we could talk privately with no one listening. Food was good, actually quite good. Lots of service w wine, food and water glasses filled all the time. Owner asked us periodically if we were being taken care of. Quite a good experience. Would certainly go back and recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Nice location-walking distance from Squaw valley. Very good food--a little pricey but definitely enjoyed our meal!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent food - great service, superb wine, and the ability to come up with an off-menu vegetarian dish for one of our party without notice made Graham's a wonderful experience, as usual.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great food, great service. A special
Place. That is all needed to be said even though they insist I use at least 50 characters.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Graham's consistently delivers wonderful meals and a great sanctuary to enjoy great company and toast a fun day.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We loved every aspect of this restaurant from the welcome as we arrived and were seated by the proprietor himself, to our friendly server, to the excellent food and wine.
Thank you for knowing what excellent customer service is and keeping it alive in Squaw.
We can't wait to come back many times!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 17, 2017

great food and service to match! Graham's made our top 3 short list of north shore fine dining.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Family of 4 adults had dinner while staying in Squaw Valley. The place was cozy, comfortable and welcoming, the waiter not always entirely attentive and a bit chatty but certainly very friendly, the food just OK. As restaurants in the valley go, it is a nice dinner for a not outrageous price, but if you are looking for either a gourmet or budget meal, maybe not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Grahams is a local legend and my wife and I have been coming here to eat for over 30 years. Graham is almost always in the restaurant and greets the folks as they enter and/or leave. The food is spectacular, but you simply must try the seafood chowder. Nothing on the menu will disappoint. The waiters are all very competent and the entire restaurant makes you feel like you are at "
Cheers".

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We looked forward to coming back to Grahams after skiing at Squaw. It was not as good as we remembered from the prior year. The staff are wonderful and interesting and the ambiance warm and inviting.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Graham's is the best restaurant we have been to in Squaw Valley. Away from the crowds and hustle and bustle. Great service and authentic European menu that is delicious.
We tried the calamari with garlic and wonderfully seasoned green salad to start with a glass of Napa Valley Chardonnay. The Petrale Sole and Chicken Roulade were really tasty with a well made ratatouille side on each.
Honestly, we have not had a better meal or better treatment anywhere in Squaw.
We can't wait to go back for another meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Graham's and Graham are great. This is a great restaurant in Squaw Valley. We had friends with us who hadn't been to Graham's before and they are planning their next dinner there with more friends. We loved our evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.