Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Graham's at Squaw Valley

In business for 21 years, Graham's is located in the historical Poulsen family home. Built in 1946, Sandy and Wayne raised 8 children here. Their home now is our restaurant and also the Christy Lodge which has 6 hotel rooms. Just minutes away from all of the activities in Squaw Valley, Graham's has been a favorite Apres Ski and Dinner House to locals and tourists alike. Summertime means bocce ball with Hor's D'oeuvres and cocktails before dinner on our heated patio with spectacular views of the mountain peaks. Winter time is the time to enjoy the warmth and cozy ambiance of a true mountain lodge, open wood burning fireplaces, vaulted ceilings create a unique Tahoe experience. Graham's also has an active bar scene with full menu dining at the bar. Award winning wine list with 450 selections. Menu changes weekly with a good selection of fresh seafood, great steaks and house specials such as seafood chowder, cheese fondue, duck cassoulet, osso bocco and tarte tatin for dessert.

1650 Squaw Valley Rd
Olympic Valley, CA 96146
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Dinner: 5:00pm-11:00pm Bar Dining

Cross Street:
Christy Lane

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 581-0454

Website:
http://www.dinewine.com/index.html

Parking Details:
Private lot for 30 vehicles. Walking distance for additional 50 vehicles.

Public Transit:
Free Valley shuttle every 30 minutes. Reno-Tahoe airport shuttle daily. North Lake Tahoe transit bus every hour.

Executive Chef:
Graham Rock

Private Party Facilities:
Graham’s is located in the historic Christy Lodge, the first family house built in 1947 in Squaw Valley. The dining room can seat up to 60 guests. Its high-beamed pine ceiling and rock fireplace gives the distinct feeling of a mountain lodge.

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: (855) 793-2653

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Graham's at Squaw Valley Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

85% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (8)
Romantic (8)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Casual (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Authentic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Fun (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Scenic View (2)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort by
S
202 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Graham’s was a lovely place to recap our day at Squaw Valley and relax. We had a table for two next to a fireplace, enjoyed a bottle of wine, and otherwise had a wonderful meal. Graham and the staff were very attentive to all the guests — great hospitality. We ordered the filet of beef and the elk chop for our entrees — both cooked to perfection much appreciated after a long day of skiing. We definitely want to dine here again in the future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The asparagus appetizer was great. Thanks to our waiter for telling us to share it as it was very rich. Ample portions of duck and ahi rounded out the meal. Good start to the ski season. Now we just need snow

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2017

I made this reservation to surprise my husband with a date night while on vacation in the area. The wine and food tasted delicious, but as more families arrived for dinner we were completely ignored. We are a mixed race couple and it became very clear that we were not treated equally by our server or any staff at this restaurant. Every caucasian family or couple that arrived received attentive service whereas we were completely ignored after receiving our dinner plates. I had to ask a hostess for our bill after waiting for over 30 minutes with empty plates and glasses in front of us while all tables around us were checked on and offered refills. We will not be returning nor recommending this restaurant to others.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Fantastic service & wonderful food! We sat by the window with a gorgeous view of the mountains!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Incredible food and outstanding service! Graham's is an outstanding dining experience for either special occasions or a romantic Saturday night out. I highly recommend this establishment!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

The food was great, from the appetizer (prosciutto wrapped asparagus), to the seafood chowder, to the elk shank and my wife's chicken dish. It was all delicious! Our waiter, Peter, was a great addition to our dining experience. We will definitely return on our next trip to Squaw!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 9, 2017

My wife and I always hit Grahams when we are in Tahoe and are never disappointed. Graham is always there to greet guests as they arrive and is cheerful and glad to see you. The food is consistently good, you have to try the seafood chowder, and there is enough variety to suit whatever mood you are in. The Elk chops are a favorite of ours, but the bison ribeye is a close second.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Great as always. Graham is totally charming. Feeling so welcomed every visit. Highly recommend this spot

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Graham's has a limited menu, but everything is great!! Friendly atmosphere and good service!

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 24, 2017

The food was excellent! I had the Salmon and it was a huge piece and It was so delicious, I ate it all. My husband had the duck and enjoyed it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Graham's is consistently good, a rarity in Squaw Valley. Although the place itself is a little worn, the food and service are excellent, the ambiance is old Tahoe, and it can accommodate a large group or a table for two comfortably.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We really enjoy Grahams and the staff is great! The duck is awesome as was the gazpacho!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

The food was well prepared with great flavor. The kids loved their steak and mashed potatoes. The buffalo ribeye was cooked medium rare and was delicious. We also had a great tasting and moist sea bass prepared with a macadamia crust. Peter our wait person was very attentive and friendly. We look forward to going there again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Our first visit and what a treat! Graham greeted us at the door and we immediately knew it was special. The food was delicious and a wonderful selection of wine. Our waiter was a delight, having worked at the restaurant for over 25 years.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Graham's is a rare old gem in this day of trendy new places popping up in destination resorts (such as Squaw Valley). The food, wine and ambiance are true classics, and much of the staff has been there since the beginning over 30 years ago. Something is working, and I think its due to the genial host, the great chef, great wine selection, the overall value, and of course the timeless rustic elegance of this historic Squaw building. All the entrees were prepared perfectly, and I would highly recommend the Elk and the Fish Chowder. Classic European American mountain feel.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We love Graham's. It's a classic Squaw Valley location with a wonderful history to the house. Every time we arrive, we're greeted by name by the owner, Graham, and warmly welcomed. My favorite place to sit is in front of the stone fireplace. Cocktails are always superb, the calamari is light and tender, and I love the buffalo ribeye. Highly recommend this beautiful treasure.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We went to Graham's based on recommendations and reviews I saw on OT. Turned out to be a good decision. Host/chef was very personable and friendly and the French food was very good. Excellent Caesar salad. A fresh tuna entrée also excellent. We skipped desserts but they were probably worth having - apple tatin, etc.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Graham's was the highlight meal of the week for us during our summer visit to Squaw Valley. Within walking distance of the Village, we strolled there on a Friday evening, and enjoyed great service and delicious food! The ambiance was comfortable and friendly, and the service was just right. We enjoyed a lovely rose from the ample wine list, and both our appetizers and main course were spot on with flavor. We will definitely be back next trip!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great local business for fine dining and wonderful service. Peter always takes great care of us.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

overpriced for what it was. The menu on their website is 5 years old and doesn't reflect current prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent find! Great personable service, most tasty food. One of the best places in Tahoe.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We were celebrating my husband's birthday. We had a wonderful meal from the gazpacho soup, fabulous mix green salad with crispy leaks on top, alaskan salmon, chicken breast stuffed with Gorgonzola cheese and pinenuts with porchini mushrooms and to finish the meal, a chocolate mousse with pecans cake. The staff was friendly and attentive. We really enjoyed our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I have been dining at Graham's for about 40 years. Graham, the owner, is extremely friendly and his servers, who also have been there for many years, provide excellent service. It's tucked into an alcove on the entrance road to Squaw Valley and isn't highly visible. Thus Graham's clientele tends to be repeat diners who know him well and keep coming back. Unlike most Tahoe area restaurants, it's more of a local feel than a tourist spot. It's not uncommon to see familiar folks hanging out with Graham at the small bar. The food is consistently excellent. My favorite is the elk loin in lingonberry sauce. The meat is exceptionally lean and tender. Other dishes tend to be on the creative side.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Graham's looked great on their website. Patio w/ spectacular views during the summer - closed. Full menu listed multiple small plates - not really available. Entrées looked very appealing and fairly priced - not in reality. Each entrée was 30 - 35% higher than listed on their menu. Now we were 0 for 3. Although most of their reviews were good, we just couldn't get over the misrepresentations. And speaking with Graham himself on the way out, he admitted that his website menu had not been updated in at least 5 years - SERIOUSLY ? How do they get away with that? Definitely will never see us again. Sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Graham's is one of the best reasons to visit Squaw Valley. It is an original homesteader residence that has been converted to a warm, sophisticated dining establishment. We always come to dinner once or twice during our weeks in the Valley. Graham Rock, Peter and the entire staff are incredibly sharp and capable and create lasting friendships as well as amazing cuisine. It makes for a wonderful dining experience. If you want to meet the REAL locals, come early and dine at the bar. You will be amazed that the retired gentleman to your left was a single digit employee of Genentech and the lovely woman to your right was an Olympic Silver Metalist... but they they will never tell you unless you ask!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Went there for my birthday most recently but have dined there numerous times. Easily Tahoe's best restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This establishment is a real treat. I treated my girlfriend to a birthday dinner, and she was smiling all night long. Graham's always have the best food in Squaw Valley. The experience begins with meeting the owner, Graham, who is also the host. He's a very cheerful chap, and he treats his guests like locals (a rarity at Squaw). The specials tend to be from local farms so the quality is excellent. I've never met the chef(s), and if that were to become a part of the deal, the experience would be 5.0.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We dine here every time we come to Squaw Valley. The food and service are consisently excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Very personable greeting and service from Graham.

Seafood chowder was tasty, full of fresh ingredients and filling.

Graham recommended a good white port to go with the tarte tatin.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Some good and bad. Seafood chowder was REALLY good. Ribeye Steak was super expensive and was a bit too chewy for a $40.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Astonished how good the whole experience was. The food was excellent on all levels. Same with service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We love the atmosphere of Graham's, where you are greeted at the door by name by Graham, and where we have been dining for years. My favorites are the elk and, for dessert, the apple tarte tatin. Great service, too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The three of us had what was probably the most enjoyable meal we've had in the area. The food was excellent. I had a superb seafood chowder, with generous chunks of lobster, my wife had very good baked oysters, and our son had what was termed asparagus strudel, also very tasty. The three of us all had the sea bass, which turned out to be not branzino but Chilean sea bass (Patagonian toothfish), usually a bit too oily and not firm enough, but in this case it was as perfect in consistency and taste as the best European sea bass, perhaps the best fish we've had in the U.S. It came in a whopping panko-coated slab, a portion so generous that, glutton though I may be, I could not quite finish it. With the meal we'd ordered a bottle of Sancerre, one of our favorite wines, and in this case it was so outstanding we wound up drinking a second bottle. The meal itself was enhanced immeasurably by very pleasant conversations with the owner and with our waiter, himself a knowledgeable winemaker; we had the feeling of dining at the house of friends. Food prices are quite reasonable given the quality, and wine markups are actually slightly lower than average. We look forward to another dinner there on our next ski trip to Squaw Valley.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Really awesome dinner in an amazing setting with a great history to the building. Better than any restaurant in the SV Village.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The artichoke spread starts the meal off perfectly. Both the lamb and bison were perfect. Mixed salad had just the right amount of ingredients and dressing

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The best Caesar salad ever. The duck with lavender glaze was stunning

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Service was excellent, food delicious.
Decor could use some updating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

First trip to Squaw Valley. We only had one night for a special dinner. We certainly made the right choice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We had a great dinner at Graham's. The ambiance is always lovely. Particularly good was the asparagus wrapped in a type of puff pastry. Also the pasta with shrimp. Quite delicious. It is a lovely restaurant with a cozy, warm ambiance especially when it is snowing outside.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.