About Graffiato

707 6th St. NW
Washington, DC 20001
View Larger Map

Chef Isabella serves seasonal, artisanal pizzas and small plates inspired by the food he grew up eating in New Jersey prepared by his Italian-American grandmother. With heavy influence from Chef Isabella’s Mediterranean and Latin culinary training, Graffiato is anything but a traditional Italian eatery. Roasted potato gnocchi with pork ragu, chicken thighs with pepperoni sauce, charred octopus with tomato mostarda and mint, and hanger steak with pancetta and wild mushrooms are a few of the signature wood oven roasted dishes. Broccolini with red pepper relish and smoked beets with sheep’s milk ricotta are popular first plates. When the kitchen closes, the oven will stay fired to feed Washingtonians looking for a late-night bite.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Wednesday: 11:30am - 10:00pm (Bar & Pizza Oven Open Until 11:00pm), Thursday -Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm (Bar & Pizza Oven Open Until 12:00am), Bar Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 7:00pm ($5 drink specials and "bites" for $3, $4, $5)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 289-3600

Website:
http://graffiatodc.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Mike Isabella

Restaurant Photos

  • Graffiato
Graffiato

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Graffiato does not have a private room, but we accept inquiries for groups of seven or more. Food and beverage minimums may apply. Please contact us to discuss menus and pricing for group dinners and half- or full-restaurant buyouts.

Graffiato Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Penn Quarter ›

Fit for Foodies (123)
Good for Groups (58)
Neighborhood Gem (57)
See All
Hot Spot (49)
Special Occasion (40)
Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
Great for Lunch (28)
Good for a Date (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Notable Wine List (16)
Late-night Find (16)
Kid-friendly (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Romantic (14)
Casual (13)
Fun (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Wood Oven (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Tapas (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Business Meals (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Seasonal (4)
Cozy (4)
Vegan (3)
People Watching (3)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Authentic (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
967 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As a big Top Chef fan, I was excited to ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 3 days ago

As a big Top Chef fan, I was excited to try this restaurant when I was in DC for vacation. Unfortunately, I wasn't overly impressed with the experience. My biggest complaint with the restaurant, was that they seemed to blatantly rip off their customers by overcharging them for food, that was just ok in quality. To be clear- I am not cheap when it comes to my dining. I am more than happy to pay for high quality ingredients. That isn't Graffiato's deal- they claim their concept is tapas, but really their concept is to provide customers with two-thirds of an entree and encourage them to order three.

Our table of three ordered three "shareable" plates and a pizza. My husband's spaghetti (which came in a small bowl, and did not come with any serving equipment to "share) was bland and unimpressive. My cousin had another bowl of pasta, that she enjoyed, but wasn't anything special. My octopus dish was fine, but again, wasn't really the type of dish that looked designed to "share." All three dishes were priced at what I would consider a full entree price. I did enjoy the truffle pizza.

The worst gauging example were the drinks. My husband was charged $9 for a 7 oz bud light beer. Seriously? The cocktails were also served in tiny glasses that resembled a large shot glass.

Overall, the food just wasn't that impressive, and definitely wasn't worth what was being charged. Being on television doesn't mean you can cut corners on food and charge whatever you want. I would recommend going elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

It’s listed as a tapas or small plate It ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 3 days ago

It’s listed as a tapas or small plate Italian based restaurant. It is definitely Italian but the plates are a bit bigger than we have seen as ‘small plates’ elsewhere. The Porky’s Revenge pizza is a medium pie size, more than enough for one hungry adult (delicious). We also had the Tuscan Kale salad, which was excellent, and the Potato Gnocchi with pork ragu. The pork ragu was extraordinarily good but the three dishes were too much food for the two of us. Next time, just the pizza and salad, or maybe two main plates. My wife loved the mule cocktail. Service was excellent, but don’t sit downstairs at the back, too hot. The modern décor was meh, with somewhat uncomfortable metal chairs. But the food was really great. Definitely a great find.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our group of six diners shared a number ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our group of six diners shared a number of items and we liked everything. My favorite is the octopus.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Tasting Menu, Fun, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I've been to Graffiato for dinner, brunc ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

I've been to Graffiato for dinner, brunch, and a special event. The food is always delicious and the atmosphere is very welcoming. Would recommend it to anyone!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Tables were so close together that seati ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Tables were so close together that seating was uncomfortable for the gentlemen sitting around us. Consideration for larger tables for two tops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Good food. The pork ragu gnocchi and ve ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

Good food. The pork ragu gnocchi and veal bolognese were excellent. The octopus was somewhat bland and reminded me of canned tuna. Loved the crispy potatoes. Cannolis were some of the best we've ever had.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A unique spin on Italian food - deliciou ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

A unique spin on Italian food - delicious; excellent service; we can't wait to return

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We started with a burrata salad and roas ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

We started with a burrata salad and roasted cauliflower app. Both were very good! I had the gnocchi with pork ragu. It was heavenly. When we walked in, it was very loud, but they seated us upstairs, which was better. I will be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Entree delivered five minutes after sala ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Entree delivered five minutes after salad. Pasta hard (not al dente) and over salted. Overall, a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Great food. The pastas and pizzas are de ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great food. The pastas and pizzas are delicious. I recommend picking an app, a past and a pizza and sharing for two.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Sweet corn agnolotti was life changing! ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Sweet corn agnolotti was life changing! Best I have ever tasted!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food, great service, overall a w ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Amazing food, great service, overall a wonderful experience! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. I love tasting p ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food and service. I love tasting plates that all can share. The cauliflower, crispy potatoes, whitefish, 2 different pizzas were all,really outstanding. This was our second visit and it had been several months between visits. It was even better then I remember. Thstnks for a great evening a great food and service. Outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and cocktails. Front desk was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food and cocktails. Front desk was a little fussy about one member of our party being late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fun place to eat before an event. We at ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Fun place to eat before an event. We ate early so the restaurant was pretty empty when we arrived and then it started filling up. The pasta dishes we shared were great and overall everything we had was good. We want to go back and try the pizza which seemed like a popular choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a great brunch at Graffiato for a fr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had a great brunch at Graffiato for a friend's birthday, surprisingly the place was empty for Saturday brunch. Service was good, I would recommend any of the pizzas they were absolutely delicious! Quiet ambiance, wooden benches/booths. Little pricey for pizza and mimosas

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Tapas, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food quality has gone down since we ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food quality has gone down since we were here last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

We have been to Graffiato numerous times ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We have been to Graffiato numerous times, but not in several months. We were surprised by the deterioration of the quality of the food. Everything was well over-salted, and lacked distinction. We were quite disappointed. It is time for Chef to rework the menu.

Staff was attentive and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

We were excited to finally try this, hav ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We were excited to finally try this, having followed Mike Isabella's rise for years. We invited our niece and her roommate for dinner on a Saturday, both of them are college freshmen and budding foodies. To say we were disappointed is an understatement. We were seated at a table in the back on the first floor by the kitchen, which normally wouldn't be bothersome but there are just a couple of tables back there so it felt like Siberia. It was also about 90 degrees and sweltering, something that was not acknowledged by our waiter even though it was clear the AC wasn't working. I'm not sure if upstairs was better but the downstairs tables were definitely subpar. The food was only okay. The flatbread and pepperoni sauce were very good, as we'd heard. Everything else though was just average, although the cream cheese croutons were an interesting touch. In summary, I'm glad we can say we tried it but we'll likely not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

We went to Graffiato for the third time ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We went to Graffiato for the third time on a Saturday night, to meet friends from out of town. We enjoyed the cocktails and draft beers, plus the creative modern Italian cuisine, as always. We were given a spot in a corner and, while the restaurant was busy and noisy, we chatted without a problem. The staff took excellent care of us and let us linger as the crowd ebbed and flowed, replenishing our water glasses constantly. Our friends asked us to choose one of our favorite places in DC and Graffiato proved we chose wisely!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service and we had the friendliest ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great service and we had the friendliest waiter. The food was great and the portions were just enough--not too big or small--so that we could try several dishes. The octopus and ceasar salad, especially those crutons, were delicious. Definitely will be coming back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and great service. The pota ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great food and great service. The potato gnocchi with pork ragu was just fabulous. We also had the Porky' s Revenge pizza and it was crispy and delicious. Bar and table service was attentive and friendly. Reasonable wine list. We'd definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, interesting preparations, an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food, interesting preparations, and liked being able to share a variety of small plates. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Organic, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

we haven't been here since it opened. th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

we haven't been here since it opened. that time we ordered the tasting menu which was great! this time we ordered some appetizers to share ( crispy potatoes were crispy and delish) and then gnocchi and rockfish. both were very good. I could have eaten three more pieces of fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious! Especially really interestin ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Delicious! Especially really interesting ceasar with homemade croutons, octopus, and hanger steak.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Phenomenal food. Really amazing menu, ab ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Phenomenal food. Really amazing menu, absolutely loved everything we ordered!

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality has gone down over the years. I ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Quality has gone down over the years. I've been many times. Probably don't need to go back anytime soon.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Everything we had was delicious but smal ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Everything we had was delicious but small pate portions were tiny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Everything we had was delicious and we l ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Everything we had was delicious and we left feeling full, but not too stuffed. The music was a little loud, it was hard to hear our waiter and each other. But we all had a good time!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The BEST pizza you will ever have. Get t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The BEST pizza you will ever have. Get the Countryman Pizza and add prosciutto. You will not regret it!!! Everything else was fabulous as well, but the Countryman Pizza was beyond ... Go! Eat! Enjoy!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

consistent, fresh and interesting offeri ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

consistent, fresh and interesting offerings. nice ambiance, a little clattery.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good food, although the price points on ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Good food, although the price points on the pizza are a bit high. The waitress made an error on processing our payment; hoping that will be reversed by the restaurant soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Very nice brunch. We had a vegan, a veg ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very nice brunch. We had a vegan, a vegetarian and someone with substantial food allergies in our group, and things worked out well for all.

Tags: Business Meals, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for a Sunday brunch. While the m ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We went for a Sunday brunch. While the menu had some interesting items and the server explained that it was a "tapas style" restaurant, we were all amazed at how small the plates were (and how expensive each item was!). I enjoyed the pizza, and they have some interesting pizza toppings, but I would refrain from going there due to the overpriced items and the small portion size.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Enjoyable eating experience. While the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Enjoyable eating experience. While the dishes were small, they were packed with flavor.

Tags: Comfort Food, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Big fan of Graffiato. Not a cheap night ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Big fan of Graffiato. Not a cheap night out, but everything we ate/drank was excellent. Worth it when you're up for a more expensive meal.

Tags: Wood Oven, Seasonal, Tapas, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful experience

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wonderful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific place ahead of Verizon Center e ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Terrific place ahead of Verizon Center event. Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not sure what all the hype was about. Fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Not sure what all the hype was about. Food was adequate--nothing special. Service was spotty, ambience was meh. I don't think I'll be back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

My second time at this restaurant. One ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

My second time at this restaurant. One of my favorites in DC. Great for foodies - but also not so unfamiliar that a non foodie wouldn't find something great. My nephew loved the pizza and he is so picky! I did the restaurant week prix fix - I had a rock fish dish that was excellent and a steak dish that was quite good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.