About Graffiato

707 6th St. NW
Washington, DC 20001
View Larger Map

Chef Isabella serves seasonal, artisanal pizzas and small plates inspired by the food he grew up eating in New Jersey prepared by his Italian-American grandmother. With heavy influence from Chef Isabella’s Mediterranean and Latin culinary training, Graffiato is anything but a traditional Italian eatery. Roasted potato gnocchi with pork ragu, chicken thighs with pepperoni sauce, charred octopus with tomato mostarda and mint, and hanger steak with pancetta and wild mushrooms are a few of the signature wood oven roasted dishes. Broccolini with red pepper relish and smoked beets with sheep’s milk ricotta are popular first plates. When the kitchen closes, the oven will stay fired to feed Washingtonians looking for a late-night bite.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Wednesday: 11:30am - 10:00pm (Bar & Pizza Oven Open Until 11:00pm), Thursday -Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm (Bar & Pizza Oven Open Until 12:00am), Bar Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 7:00pm ($5 drink specials and "bites" for $3, $4, $5)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 289-3600

Website:
http://graffiatodc.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Mike Isabella

Restaurant Photos

  • Graffiato
Graffiato

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Graffiato does not have a private room, but we accept inquiries for groups of seven or more. Food and beverage minimums may apply. Please contact us to discuss menus and pricing for group dinners and half- or full-restaurant buyouts.

Graffiato Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Penn Quarter ›

Fit for Foodies (147)
Good for Groups (69)
Neighborhood Gem (62)
See All
Hot Spot (51)
Special Occasion (42)
Great for Lunch (39)
Vibrant Bar Scene (39)
Kid-friendly (23)
Notable Wine List (17)
Romantic (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
931 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went for a Sunday brunch. While the m ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

We went for a Sunday brunch. While the menu had some interesting items and the server explained that it was a "tapas style" restaurant, we were all amazed at how small the plates were (and how expensive each item was!). I enjoyed the pizza, and they have some interesting pizza toppings, but I would refrain from going there due to the overpriced items and the small portion size.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Wonderful experience

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific place ahead of Verizon Center e ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Terrific place ahead of Verizon Center event. Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not sure what all the hype was about. Fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Not sure what all the hype was about. Food was adequate--nothing special. Service was spotty, ambience was meh. I don't think I'll be back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

My second time at this restaurant. One ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

My second time at this restaurant. One of my favorites in DC. Great for foodies - but also not so unfamiliar that a non foodie wouldn't find something great. My nephew loved the pizza and he is so picky! I did the restaurant week prix fix - I had a rock fish dish that was excellent and a steak dish that was quite good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best ever! Totally enjoyed the food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

The best ever! Totally enjoyed the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We decided to try Graffiatto's because o ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

We decided to try Graffiatto's because of the proximity to the Verizon Center , we were going to see Barbra Streisand , you all played some of her music to get us all pumped up . We decided to do the restaurant special , my pork ragu was delicious , the bucatini could have been a little more al dente for my liking , the kale salad was delicious , everything was super fresh , but my favorite was the olive oil gelato , delicious , The staff was very friendly , all working really hard , but with a smile on their faces , our waitress was very attentive and made sure we were out in plenty of time to see our show . Thanks, Graffiatto , for being a part of our memorable evening , we will be back .

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed the chef's choice. The menu sele ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed the chef's choice. The menu selections were interesting . Service was excellent! The noise level was the only negative aspect! It was difficult to maintain a conversation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We arrived for our reservation and were ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

We arrived for our reservation and were promptly seated. However, the chicken was raw, our drinks came late and the waiter looked like he'd rather be anywhere else. When the bill came, he'd tried to sneak the meal on that we'd sent back. Plus, it's super noisy and you can't have any kind of conversation. To top it off, the portions are tapas size. Why don't you advertise as a tapas restaurant instead of Italian? Horrible, absolutely horrible. Even the bathroom was dirty. Never again. Since open table makes you fill out an entry for each category, I chose "energetic" but I mean noisy, and I would recommend this restaurant to NO ONE.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food is absolutely delicious! We had ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food is absolutely delicious! We had the stuffed flatbread and burratta cheese as appetizers, and a couple pasta dishes for dinner (gnocchi was incredible)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Very noisy. Good food for the price-wen ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very noisy. Good food for the price-went on restaurant week and lunch menu was good and affordable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

It was great for restaurant week as well ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

It was great for restaurant week as well--plenty of options.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I'd never been to graffiato, so I wanted ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I'd never been to graffiato, so I wanted to try it out for restaurant week. The food was pretty good, not great, but more importantly, I wouldn't recommend it for RW. It didn't really feel like a deal. I had forgotten I went to another Mike Isabella restaurant for RW last year and thought the same thing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

My friend and I lucked out and dined her ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

My friend and I lucked out and dined here during Restaurant Week, so we had a fantastic three course meal. Graffiato specializes in small plate Italian cuisine, so we were able to share. Our waiter recommended an excellent wine to accompany our main course. Downstairs is pretty loud during happy hour, but I was pleasantly surprised to discover that we could carry on a conversation in normal voices upstairs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

My friend and I had a great lunch at Gra ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

My friend and I had a great lunch at Graffiato during Restaurant Week. We had the RW lunch special, which was a great deal for full-size portions of appetizer, entree and dessert. We tried the delicious roasted cauliflower in pesto; it was terrific. We also tried the gnocchi and rockfish, both of which were freshly prepared with lots of fresh vegetables and were very tasty. We capped off the meal with the passionfruit sorbet, which was absolutely delicious. I can't wait to go back and try other menu items. I thought it was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I've been here a few times, and every ti ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I've been here a few times, and every time it's been solid, but nothing has ever wowed me. I thought after the first time that maybe I just ordered the wrong things, but I ordered some dishes that are otherwise getting great reviews and I just felt a little underwhelmed. I'd be fine with returning for something casual with mitigated expectations, but for a special occasion I would look elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Service was great. I generally go to Gr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service was great. I generally go to Graffiato because I love that they have Prosecco on tap, but on my last visit, the Prosecco was flat. As usual the food and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was good though not spectacular ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was good though not spectacular; the desserts were exceptional. Our server knew her stuff and was able to respond to very specific questions. The prices seemed a little high for what we got. A few complaints: it was pretty noisy--lots of concrete, tables close together. We started getting our food before our drinks were delivered--and we had to ask twice for our drinks. One of us ordered one of the cocktail specials and sent it back because it tasted awful; the server apologized profusely--turned out the cocktail had not been mixed correctly. Two of us had the grilled octopus, which was quite good but just a tiny bit too tough. The pizza was very good; I think that's likely what the restaurant does best. The cannoli was perfect--small, perfectly proportioned, and crisp. The chocolate budino (sort of a pudding/mousse) was delicious, as was the salted caramel gelato. Lots of beer, liquor, and wine options.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Had a wonderful night out at Graffiato . ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Had a wonderful night out at Graffiato . So happy they were able to accommodate our group of 6. We were greeted promptly by our server and specials explained. We tried the pizza special and it was the perfect appetizer size for us. The wine list was good and very reasonable. Our group all tried different pastas or pizza and were all very pleased. Wish I lived closer , I'd be there every week!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the octopus salad. the octopu ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I ordered the octopus salad. the octopus was tough and the sauce was too sweet. My colleague had a vegetable sandwich kind of thing, which she said was so-so. I've been to this restaurant before as well as the one in Richmond. I think they try, but I have not been impressed with the food. We only had coctails at Richmond location because we didn't want to eat there. The bartender was very friendly and made great cocktails. The food, however, on the two occasions I ate it did not measure up. Graffiato's is one of many over-rated eating places that's more about the place than the fare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Expectations exceeded! Loved the express ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Expectations exceeded! Loved the express lunch menu which is about 5 inches square (I'll have trouble reading it when I'm 70!) Cesar salad with those warm, filled croutons was great! The crispy chicken was full of flavor and textures! Even the cannoli was like that great Italian bakery in the Bronx!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Worst Italian i have ever eaten. Even th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Worst Italian i have ever eaten. Even the pizzas were yuky... never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Very loud and they stuck us in the back ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Very loud and they stuck us in the back near the kitchen, so could not hear any of our party speak. The waiter was very slow with his service, but the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

For us, much too noisey. Food delicious. ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

For us, much too noisey.

Food delicious.

Waitress was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

Bathroom was pretty filthy, I got the se ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Bathroom was pretty filthy, I got the sense that the place is overwhelmed....

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

A nice dinner, not fantastic for $90 for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

A nice dinner, not fantastic for $90 for two peoplel. Noisy, kind of slow, portions on the small side. Dessert was wonderful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Wonderful Italian good with a sophistica ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Wonderful Italian good with a sophisticated touch....what could be better than that

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The atmosphere is best described as "fre ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The atmosphere is best described as "frenetic", at least upstairs where we always seem to be seated. It's loud, and there are swarms of servers bringing out food and drinks and clearing plates. The tables are closely packed and many are directly adjacent to the servers' station. That said, the food and cocktails are so excellent that we will continue to go back as often as possible. It's also a great choice for a pre-show/game meal at the Verizon Center across the street - you can easily be in and out in an hour and ready to head in for the concert or sporting event.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food as always. Good, attentive se ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great food as always. Good, attentive service. Because it was a slow night they were closing around us at 845pm which was bizarre, but I guess it was just one of those nights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

While the food was incredibly delicious, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

While the food was incredibly delicious, I have to admit that the portions were not nearly large enough - especially for the amount paid. I understand what small plates are, but $16 for a pasta should result in a filling meal (it does not). Love the quality of the food, but left very unfulfilled for price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Order the sweet corn pasta! Oh my gosh, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Order the sweet corn pasta! Oh my gosh, their best yet!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding!

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been here before and found the caul ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I've been here before and found the cauliflower appetizer amazing and enjoyed the pizza. This time had shells with seafood; the tomato sauce tasted like it came straight from a can: tasteless. There was hardly any seafood and it was nothing special. We were taking out a friend and so didn't want to make a big deal at the time but we should have sent the food back. The beets appetizer was tasty enough but overpriced for what it was. Overpriced, underwhelming, was a theme but my husband enjoyed his rockfish though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Graffiato is fine. The food is good - n ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Graffiato is fine. The food is good - not great - and they push it out fast which is great if you're in a hurry, but also makes for a somewhat impersonal experience. Staff are friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Birthday celebration in July...we went h ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Birthday celebration in July...we went here for the seasonal fresh corn agnolotti but were really impressed with just about all of our dishes. Graffiato's plates are tapas sized and ideally should be shared so that you can savor several different items. Our party of 3 ordered 4 dishes and 1 dessert (plus a bottle of very reasonably priced red wine that was truly enjoyable). Aside from the superb agnolotti, we ordered a succulently prepared pork belly with cucumber, cilantro, peaches and basil–an original and memorable combination. We also ordered a pizza, which might have initially appeared to be a "safe" choice given the more complex offerings on the menu but we were exceptionally pleased with it. The pizza was fired in Graffiato's wood burning oven, which imbued it with a wonderfully smokey flavor. The one disappointment was the cannoli. It was oddly salty (could the pastry chef have mistaken salt for sugar?). We made our server aware of this oddity thus, he suggested we order the zeppole instead...a perfect ending to our meal. My only criticism would be the pace of the dinner. All 4 dishes were brought out essentially at the same time though we had specified that we wanted them served in a particular order. That said, we felt very rushed even though the restaurant wasn't trying to turn our table (there were many empty tables at that point). If you'd like to spend more than 45 minutes enjoying your meal (and there's plenty to enjoy here), I would recommend letting your server know that you absolutely don't want plates arriving one on top of the other. We'll definitely make a return visit and next time we'll be very clear that we'd like to take our time savoring their outstanding food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We had a delightful dinner at Graffiato ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a delightful dinner at Graffiato on Saturday. The burrata was excellent, and I thoroughly enjoyed the agnolotti. My date thought the gnocchi was top notch. We were a little less blown away by the special that night - a rockfish crudo, and were completely stuffed by the time our pizza arrived (but ate it anyway!).

My only comment was that the hostesses were a bit put off when I asked to sit down at the (mostly empty) bar while we were waiting because I was feeling a bit lightheaded; they reminded us that the bar was only for customers who were eating. (We were about to!)

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great desserts!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great desserts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was very different but so tasty ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food was very different but so tasty. Well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was exceptional. All of my family ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Food was exceptional. All of my family (including 2 kids, 11 and 12) enjoyed a wide variety of the small plates. Only downside was the fact that AC was not working properly so we were very warm throughout dinner. We certainly would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

The sweet corn agnolotti are little pill ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The sweet corn agnolotti are little pillows of heaven!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.