About Graffiato

707 6th St. NW
Washington, DC 20001
View Larger Map

Chef Isabella serves seasonal, artisanal pizzas and small plates inspired by the food he grew up eating in New Jersey prepared by his Italian-American grandmother. With heavy influence from Chef Isabella’s Mediterranean and Latin culinary training, Graffiato is anything but a traditional Italian eatery. Roasted potato gnocchi with pork ragu, chicken thighs with pepperoni sauce, charred octopus with tomato mostarda and mint, and hanger steak with pancetta and wild mushrooms are a few of the signature wood oven roasted dishes. Broccolini with red pepper relish and smoked beets with sheep’s milk ricotta are popular first plates. When the kitchen closes, the oven will stay fired to feed Washingtonians looking for a late-night bite.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Wednesday: 11:30am - 10:00pm (Bar & Pizza Oven Open Until 11:00pm), Thursday -Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm (Bar & Pizza Oven Open Until 12:00am), Bar Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 7:00pm ($5 drink specials and "bites" for $3, $4, $5)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 289-3600

Website:
http://graffiatodc.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Mike Isabella

Restaurant Photos

  • Graffiato, Washington, DC

Report a photo problem

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 1:00AM - 5:45AM 6:00AM - 2:00PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:45PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:45PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:45PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:15PM 9:45PM - 10:00PM

Sat 9:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Graffiato does not have a private room, but we accept inquiries for groups of seven or more. Food and beverage minimums may apply. Please contact us to discuss menus and pricing for group dinners and half- or full-restaurant buyouts.

Graffiato Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (61)
Casual (57)
Creative Cuisine (52)
See All
Good for a Date (47)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Fun (38)
Comfort Food (37)
Good for Groups (35)
Modern Decor (27)
Wood Oven (27)
Open Kitchen (26)
Happy Hour (24)
Authentic (24)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Hot Spot (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Local Ingredients (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Tapas (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Cozy (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Family Style (13)
Quick Bite (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Romantic (7)
People Watching (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Business Meals (5)
Organic (5)
Healthy (5)
Great Beer (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Vegan (3)
Live Sports (3)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1087 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was outstanding. Server, Wee ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

Everything was outstanding. Server, Weehawken G, made some outstanding suggestions. Crispy potatoes, gnocchi, cavatelli all had an intense deliciousness. Wine, Verrazzano, recommended by server was perfect. Desert (Moulton cake, doughnuts, and pear) was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food for a reasonable price. I w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

Amazing food for a reasonable price. I would recommend going to try the delicious food!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we were 4 adults. shared 3 appetizers, 1 ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

we were 4 adults. shared 3 appetizers, 1 pasta dish and a pizza. More than enough food. VERY good, Especially good if you are going to the verizon center

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Terrible food

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Terrible food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

I've been here many times but wasn't so ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

I've been here many times but wasn't so impressed at this last visit. The person who seated us was nice but other than that I was not impressed with the service or the food. I don't need to go back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great gourmet pizza. Good small plate I ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Great gourmet pizza. Good small plate Italian. Worth a trip to Penn Quarter for great food

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was good. We ordered the White Hou ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was good. We ordered the White House pizza. Really creative with honey and prosciutto. We also ordered gnocchi with lamb, capers and anchovies. It was good but the anchovies and capers seemed lost in the mix.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I was extremely pleased with the choice ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I was extremely pleased with the choice of Graffiato's for early evening dinner for two prior to an event at the Verizon Center across the street. The manager/wearer of many hats was very friendly and made us feel most welcome. We also received very good service from the other services and restaurant personnel. We shared a very tasty broccolini appetizer and I had the excellent mushroom risotto. My colleague had the seashells entrée and he raved about it. All in all, this was a very enjoyable dinner. I would definitely return.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a place for kids (at least given how ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Not a place for kids (at least given how the disinterested waiter ignored us). And the food, while quite good, is small in terms of portions. We contemplated ordering more but since the waiter had again disappeared and the portions were so small, we simply paid the bill and got an after-lunch snack elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

I really enjoyed the food at Graffiato, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I really enjoyed the food at Graffiato, but the service wasn't great. I thought it was really odd that our food seemed to be served "tapas style" when it was ready vs. how we'd ordered, which was clearly as individuals vs. sharing dishes. (Example - side of bacon that I ordered with my french toast came out 10 minutes before my friend's pasta dish and probably 20 minutes before I got my toast.) It also took multiple times to get the check and a lackluster hot chocolate that my friend ordered (30+ minutes). I always cut the waitstaff some slack if they're really busy and clearly working hard, but we were one of the first tables for brunch and the restaurant was (maybe?) 1/3 full. Water refills and clearing plates were prompt, but that was support staff and not our server.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Delicious dinner before a hockey game, w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Delicious dinner before a hockey game, with quick, attentive service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my favorites! We eat before Caps ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 5, 2017

One of my favorites! We eat before Caps and Wizards games. The food is always delicious, the service is excellant, and the atmosphere is great.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sat at the bar. Everyone so friendly and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Sat at the bar. Everyone so friendly and food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Try the Caesar Salad. I don't usually c ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Try the Caesar Salad. I don't usually care for the fishy taste, but if it's there, it's very mild. They top it with lots of freshly shredded Parmesan cheese. But it's the mozzarella balls that are to die for.

And if your looking for a nice ending to your meal, try the bourbon and cream. It's delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Ideal location for dining before a Caps ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ideal location for dining before a Caps game. Had a reservation and was seated immediately. Service was attentive and quick. Old school Italian cuisine with a modern twist, just as this Jersey girl likes it! Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Service was unbelievably slow. Ended up ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was unbelievably slow. Ended up giving up plans for seeing a movie because we hadn't received our food yet. Took approximately 25 to get a cocktail order in. Kitchen was confused by orders, and we had to send incorrect orders back multiple times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

The food is just kind of bleh. Also, the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food is just kind of bleh. Also, the server disappeared after taking our order. We have to ask the bus boys to get our dishes and even explain some of the dishes. Terrible service. The food is also not that good, except for some of the dishes. Overall, if you're paying 15-20 per dish, you expect some kind of service, which they didn't provide.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Brought my family to Graffiato for a won ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Brought my family to Graffiato for a wonderful dinner before a Caps game. We had a 5 PM reservation and arrived a few minutes early, so we had a drink at the bar while we waited for our table to be ready. We were seated in a corner, which was perfect. The service started out wonderful but very quickly declined—it appeared that our server had about 6 tables sit down immediately after we did. The entire upstairs filled up very quickly after we sat down. The food came out plate by plate, which was a little odd, but that works for me. But the gaps between the plates were like 10-15 minutes apiece. The person with the first plate was finished with their meal by the time the last person received their plate. Additionally, the last plate delivered was a steak and the steak was incredibly undercooked, which had to be sent back, which then took another 20 minutes. The pacing just seemed a little off, so I'm chalking it up to an off night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Hadn't been in a long time and was pleas ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Hadn't been in a long time and was pleasantly surprised by the new menu; the shift away from small plates works well and is a nice change-up from other restaurants around. Short rib tagliatelle was great, but the real star was the roasted cauliflower with romesco - best cauliflower dish I've ever had. Great, friendly, attentive service. Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was excellent. Sarah our server ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was excellent. Sarah our server was informative, professional, and pleasant. This place is great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mediocre. We were looking for a casual p ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Mediocre. We were looking for a casual place close to our hotel and Graffiato was on the hotel's recommended list. My friend wanted an order or meatballs and server said we don't do that. We pointed out several dishes that had meatballs and still we had to convince her to ask the chef if they would give us an order. Overall good was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

The food was pretty good. We enjoyed the ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was pretty good. We enjoyed the calamari pizza as our appetizer and the pasta was fresh and yummy. The pork belly appetizer was disappointing. It was oddly served after our main meal and the cut was almost all fat. We did not eat more than a bite. I would not recommend the dish.

Service was average. The waitress didn't take much time to check on us or refill drinks. The water guy though was super attentive. I must have had eight glasses of water!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Bathrooms were not clean although they s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Bathrooms were not clean although they smelled of disinfectant (I still smelled the disinfectant in my hair when I got home). Sinks in poor condition, both times I used the bathroom I walked into running water - the faucets were difficult to manipulate and previous users were unable to turn off. Floors were dirty.

Service: appetizer followed by 2 of three salads within two minutes. Then one of three main courses within another minute. Not fun to have salads and main course before we were even half way through appetizer. We asked waiter to slow down and serve us course by course.

Shame on you Mike Isabella and crew.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Occasion was Feast of the Seven Fishes t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Occasion was Feast of the Seven Fishes tasting menu with wine pairing, 24 Dec. Had tried G by Mike Isabella for the same event in previous years and loved it, so we thought we'd try Graffiato this year. Any sense of a special occasion seemed to get lost in the regular dining service also being offered that night at Graffiato. Unlike at G, the Graffiato waiter provided little to no description of each plate, and it took a couple of plates for him to catch up with explaining the wine being served with each plate. The pairings were good, and while the food was tasty, it didn't seem to have the same flair as G, especially the cioppino which was basically a filet of sea bass sitting in cioppino sauce (no clams or mussels?). Next year we'll either return to G or try another place.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Excellent location, food, staff. Decent ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Excellent location, food, staff. Decent portion size for an Italian restaurant. It is not family style but one plate of pasta is plenty of food for one person if you are a moderate eater. The house cocktails are also quite good. I can't think of anything I would change.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food was amazing and there ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

As always the food was amazing and there were a couple of new items since my last visit. The glazed pork belly was phenomenal as was the gnocchi. My collage loved the mushroom pizza and our waiter was helpful and pleasant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Holiday dinner with friends

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Holiday dinner with friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

this restaurant is a good one. we'll try ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 20, 2016

this restaurant is a good one. we'll try the pizza next time but were in need of a full meal. well maybe not as full as we had ! but the brussel sprouts were fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Solid Italian with great lunch box speci ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Solid Italian with great lunch box specials, e.g., meatball flatbread.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, , Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is great, and the service and a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food is great, and the service and ambiance are, as well.... however there was some confusion about the reservation, which I made through OpenTable.

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Casual, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went here for a pre-theatre dinner near ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Went here for a pre-theatre dinner near the Harman Center. Had heard the pizza was great but opted for drinks, appetizers and pasta instead and went away very happy. I ordered a spicy version of a Margherita and it was so good I had a second rather than opting for wine with dinner. Roasted cauliflower and octopus appetizers were great, as was a seafood & shells pasta dish. For an informal meal with better-than-informal food, I'd go again. Next time I'll try that pizza. A pleasant surprise.

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was awesome. Made the mistake of ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Service was awesome. Made the mistake of booking early, which coincided with a caps game.

Food was ok, I'll have to give it another try as table after table raved about the pizza (after we had ordered pasta). Pasta came out a little too heavily sauced for our tastes, tho some would like that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

This was our first time at Graffiato and ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This was our first time at Graffiato and it was spectacular. The service was amazing, they made my birthday so special and kept their eye on us the whole time making sure the food was coming out at the right time. I wish I could go back every weekend!

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to dinner to celebrate my friend ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We went to dinner to celebrate my friend's birthday before a Caps game and did the Chef's Tasting menu with the premium pairings. It was absolutely fabulous. The food came out in nice timing and everything was terrific. The most notable dish for me was the lamb that was roasted then crisped in a pan - fabulous. The wine pairings were spot on and really complemented the food. My friend is going to go again when her friend comes to town at the end of the month.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I ate dinner here before ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My husband and I ate dinner here before going to a concert at the 9:30 club. Service was outstanding. Our server knew we were in a hurry, and our food came out very quickly. Everything we ordered was delicious, especially the tagliatelle, crispy potatoes, and caesar salad with cream cheese croutons. This was our 4th or 5th time eating here and it never disappoints!

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved it! I took my dad for his birthd ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I loved it! I took my dad for his birthday and they brought out a sparkler for him which was fun. The food was awesome and everything is shareable. Great experience overall.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"I always want to try this Isabella rest ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 13, 2016

"I always want to try this Isabella restaurant...It did not disappoint. I was promptly sat down near the bar and greet by my waiter. I ordered the tasting menu and strapped in for the ride.

The meal started with a meat and cheese platter and broccolini. The Gorgonzola was out of this world! The apps were followed by a tasty combination of pasta's each with their own unique look and taste. The lamb shoulder followed which was succulent and tender. The side of Brussels sprouts was a nice compliment to the lamb. The dessert closed out the meal which was Butterscotch Budino, absolutely amazing.

I definitely would return to try more dishes. Service was well-timed and friendly, the wait staff was very attentive and helpful! Graffiato is a definite must try!"

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered scrambled eggs + cheese with sal ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Ordered scrambled eggs + cheese with salad for brunch. eggs+cheese were cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Food was terrific. Service started out g ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was terrific. Service started out great, but we had trouble finding our server to get additional drinks, ans then to get the check. It was also REALLY loud. But I would go back considering the food - it was delicious, and easily large enough portions for sharing amongst 3 of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

This is my second time at Graffiato. The ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This is my second time at Graffiato. The first time we had a fantastic experience, hence the return visit. We invited our friends Saturday to celebrate a special occasion. This time, not so great. There are three main reasons I would spend my money elsewhere:

  1. First, we were seated on the very crowded second floor and felt like we had to wear our winter jackets the entire meal. Every time the front door of the restaurant opens (on the first floor), you feel the breeze/draft from the outside traveling up the stairs. Umm??
  1. Second, we confirmed the special occasion through the hostess and nothing we done for the special request. Do not go to Graffiato if you're celebrating a special occasion. We saw several tables get birthday desserts with sparklers which looked cool, so perhaps we should have said birthday.
  1. Lastly, the service was super awful. We waited about 10 minutes until we saw a server. Turns out not even our server, but he brought us drinks. Additionally, my entree arrived about 10-15 minutes after the other entrees. It was awful! Everyone ate cold food waiting for me to get my pasta. To make up for the mistake, the server brought us two glasses of champagne...we had four guests in our party. Weird.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.