About Graffiato

707 6th St. NW
Washington, DC 20001
View Larger Map

Chef Isabella serves seasonal, artisanal pizzas and small plates inspired by the food he grew up eating in New Jersey prepared by his Italian-American grandmother. With heavy influence from Chef Isabella’s Mediterranean and Latin culinary training, Graffiato is anything but a traditional Italian eatery. Roasted potato gnocchi with pork ragu, chicken thighs with pepperoni sauce, charred octopus with tomato mostarda and mint, and hanger steak with pancetta and wild mushrooms are a few of the signature wood oven roasted dishes. Broccolini with red pepper relish and smoked beets with sheep’s milk ricotta are popular first plates. When the kitchen closes, the oven will stay fired to feed Washingtonians looking for a late-night bite.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Wednesday: 11:30am - 10:00pm (Bar & Pizza Oven Open Until 11:00pm), Thursday -Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm (Bar & Pizza Oven Open Until 12:00am), Bar Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 7:00pm ($5 drink specials and "bites" for $3, $4, $5)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 289-3600

Website:
http://graffiatodc.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Mike Isabella

Restaurant Photos

  • Graffiato, Washington, DC
Graffiato, Washington, DC

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 1:00AM - 5:45AM 6:00AM - 2:00PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:45PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:45PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:45PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:15PM 9:45PM - 10:00PM

Sat 9:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Graffiato does not have a private room, but we accept inquiries for groups of seven or more. Food and beverage minimums may apply. Please contact us to discuss menus and pricing for group dinners and half- or full-restaurant buyouts.

Graffiato Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (82)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
See All
Casual (42)
Hot Spot (40)
Good for a Date (39)
Good for Groups (34)
Fun (29)
Wood Oven (26)
Open Kitchen (24)
Modern Decor (24)
Comfort Food (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Special Occasion (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Tapas (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Authentic (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Late-night Find (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Romantic (10)
Family Style (9)
Worth the Drive (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Cozy (6)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Healthy (5)
People Watching (5)
Vegan (4)
Organic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great Beer (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Spicy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1035 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Roast chicken and White House pizza were ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Roast chicken and White House pizza were both excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was ok. Usually a lot better. Nice ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

It was ok. Usually a lot better. Nice location for caps game

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We had the chefs menu with wine pairings ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We had the chefs menu with wine pairings which was amazing. The food was fantastic as was the wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Excellent food, excellent service, defin ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service, definitely coming back!

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kicked up and perfectly prepared simple ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Kicked up and perfectly prepared simple Italian dishes in a casual environment. We were there for brunch and had the breakfast pizza and chicken and waffles. Both were extraordinary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We visited Graffiato after a Caps game a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We visited Graffiato after a Caps game at Verizon Center. I was astounded by the level and speed of service. Serving team was quite attentive even with a packed house.

We ordered a tomato and basil pizza and tagliatelle pasta. Both were delicious dishes. Pecorino in the tagliatelle really made the dish standout as a winner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed the brussel sprouts and white ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We enjoyed the brussel sprouts and white house pizza. The calamari pizza was good but then after is a bit salty. Definitely a share pizza.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

What got my attention as I was seeking a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

What got my attention as I was seeking a restaurant pre-theatre (Shakespeare) was the name of the owner/chef of this restaurant, Mike Isabella. We were being joined by 'foodies' and all of us had a great dinner. The place is casual and the food is interesting, eclectic, and tasty. The amounts are not by any means huge but what was ordered was filling and very satisfying. We will put this on our return list

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The waiter was very nice but the support ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The waiter was very nice but the support staff seemed confused.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Went here two catch up with two out-of-t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Went here two catch up with two out-of-town girlfriends. Ate during the dinner rush and it was quite lively and tables were mostly full. PRO: Food was great! Two of us got a pasta dish- I had the gnocchi and thought it was fabulous, it was quite large and the meat was tender in a creamy sauce. Pizza was also great according to my friend. Overall portion sizes were larger and we could have split a few things. CON: Service was pretty blah. Our waiter wasn't all that lively or friendly and didn't check in on us enough. Said he would bring a refill on a drink and it took way too long. We had to seek him out to request our bill at the end of the meal which also was slightly annoying.

Overall would consider returning during a less busy hour to see if service improves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Was my first visit, will not be my last. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Was my first visit, will not be my last. The lunch menu was superb (the roasted beet salad was awesome) and the service was better. Definitely a good spot to dine.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Cauliflower starter was fine and easily ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Cauliflower starter was fine and easily shared. Lamb shoulder was generously sized but crackly nature was a bit relentless. Varied prep recommended.

Steak was ludicrously under-sized, especially compared to the lamb entree.

Beignets and Bavarian cream was a bit bland.

While we didn't taste them, the pizzas looked terrific.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food is always good, but be prepared ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The food is always good, but be prepared for it being loud if you are seated downstairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food delicious, good service, somewhat h ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Food delicious, good service, somewhat high noise level. Cannoli outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The pizza is great, as is the broccolini ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The pizza is great, as is the broccolini salad and the bolognese. My only complaint is that I had to follow up with the hostess myself after our waitress tuned out a request to change tables due to a terrible draft coming up the stairwell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food, good service and a good ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Excellent food, good service and a good atmosphere make this a very good experience for anyone who loves interesting food and a good setting.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A group of six of us went to dinner here ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A group of six of us went to dinner here the other night and we had made a reservation through Open Table. When we arrived our table wasn't ready for another 15 minutes. They sat us right next to the kitchen so it was pretty warm. A lot of us had dietary restrictions at the table and the server did not seem to be very accommodating. He didn't try to give any suggestions about entree's that people could eat. Additionally my friend had called ahead to ask about gluten free pasta, and someone told her they had it. When we arrived the waiter said they did not have gluten free pasta. Finally, my boyfriend told the waiter that we were celebrating my birthday and although they brought out the dessert we ordered they didn't bring a candle or anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Absolutely fantastic in every way, food, ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Absolutely fantastic in every way, food, service etc. highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum! This place is delicious. I was in t ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Yum! This place is delicious. I was in town just for the weekend and I was recommended this place by someone on Twitter. The food and drinks were great and I will be back again!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graffiato was recommended by the concier ...

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Graffiato was recommended by the concierge at our hotel for authentic Italian food in the Penn Quarter. The food was amazing - everything tasted fresh and our pasta dishes arrived steaming hot - which I really appreciate. Easy walk from hotels in the Penn Quarter. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Overall, the food was fairly good, altho ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Overall, the food was fairly good, although the Fettucine Alfredo was quite salty, which was disappointing. Pizza is definitely the fork-and-knife kind. Attentive service and nice wine selection.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a wonderful meal. The service was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We had a wonderful meal. The service was attentive and friendly. Everything was delicious- especially the Jersey pizza. As a fan of the chef, I was not disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing restaurant in DC. Modern, fresh ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Amazing restaurant in DC. Modern, fresh cooking and amazing cocktails. So good!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was really good and staff friend ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Service was really good and staff friendly. Would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not impressed. I had heard good things ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Not impressed. I had heard good things about Graffiato, but the dishes my friend and I ordered (pizza and pasta) were subpar. There was hardly any cheese on my pizza and not much of the other toppings. My friend's pasta was plain. The sauce was pretty good, but it was just a bowl of pasta with a tomato-based sauce on it. No veggies or anything else to offer some extra flavors. Definitely not worh the higher than normal prices.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We had a great dinner at Graffiato in No ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had a great dinner at Graffiato in November 2016. We chose the chef tasting menu and it was fantastic. We were really impressed with the food. My husband's favorite was the gnocchi. My favorite was the half chicken. I am usually very disappointed with the chicken at restaurants and this far exceeded my expectations. The acidity of the greens and a creamy sauce with a touch of lemon plus the well-cooked chicken made for a great bite. Our server, Nick, was fantastic. He was managing our tasting menu plus a table of 10 behind us that all arrived at different times and were a little difficult. It did it easily. He did a great job with the wine pairings. We were also really impressed with the busing team. They did a great job working as a team making sure each table had water, clean plates and cleared efficiently. We were really impressed with Nathaniel.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good but the service was te ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was good but the service was terrible. There were 4 of us.. The food came out one entrée at a time... no one got there's at the same time. The first one came ..then 10 ,inures later the next one ...then 10 minutes later the next one and the 10 minutes later the 4th one..

It's a shame because the food was good time timing stunk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

It was an excellent experience, we had s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It was an excellent experience, we had so much fun sharing dishes and everything we ordered was delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pizza is the best.

 
 (London)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Pizza is the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was absolutely wonderful. My e ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food was absolutely wonderful. My entire group was very impressed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The Braised Lamb was over cooked and ver ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The Braised Lamb was over cooked and very chewy since that was our main dish it is hard to look past it. Some pieces of it were so cooked that I thought I was eating jerky. What a bummer!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food. Everything is delicious! ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Excellent food. Everything is delicious! We were 15 minutes late but they held a table for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Appetizer and dessert were great. Entree ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Appetizer and dessert were great. Entrees were so so. Service was phenomenal! Pretty reasonably priced.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I found the food a bit to rich and salty ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I found the food a bit to rich and salty. Enjoyed the roasted beet salad, kale salad was well done. The calamari pizza was TOO rich, I would have preferred no breading on the calamari and perhaps a fresh green like agrugla and one less sauce.

Tags: Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I went on the recommendation of a frien ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 24, 2016

I went on the recommendation of a friend and truly enjoyed it!

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Love this place. My parents came into to ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Love this place. My parents came into town for my birthday and they were extremely impressed. My dad, in particular, is an older Italian man and he really enjoyed how Mike Isabella sticks to (as he puts it) "the Italian basics" and produces straightforward, delicious dishes. Highly, highly recommend.

Tags: Hot Spot, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was very fresh and tasty spin on It ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Food was very fresh and tasty spin on Italian cooking. The crispy Brussel sprouts were amazing. A bit noisy with all hard surfaces.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

the service was very good and the waiter ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 19, 2016

the service was very good and the waiter explained the menu to us. The food was fantastic. Very tasty and fresh

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a disappointment! I had been to Gra ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 18, 2016

What a disappointment! I had been to Graffito several times before, and I always liked it. But this time it was subpar. The service in particular was simply bad. The waiter was surly from the beginning. We never got one of the dishes we ordered, and when I told him, he didn't apologize. He didn't come check on our meals, even though the restaurant was almost empty. My pizza also had a weird flavor. We complained to the manager after the meal, and while she apologized, she didn't offer any concession to make up for the poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.