About Graffiato

707 6th St. NW
Washington, DC 20001
View Larger Map

Chef Isabella serves seasonal, artisanal pizzas and small plates inspired by the food he grew up eating in New Jersey prepared by his Italian-American grandmother. With heavy influence from Chef Isabella’s Mediterranean and Latin culinary training, Graffiato is anything but a traditional Italian eatery. Roasted potato gnocchi with pork ragu, chicken thighs with pepperoni sauce, charred octopus with tomato mostarda and mint, and hanger steak with pancetta and wild mushrooms are a few of the signature wood oven roasted dishes. Broccolini with red pepper relish and smoked beets with sheep’s milk ricotta are popular first plates. When the kitchen closes, the oven will stay fired to feed Washingtonians looking for a late-night bite.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Wednesday: 11:30am - 10:00pm (Bar & Pizza Oven Open Until 11:00pm), Thursday -Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm (Bar & Pizza Oven Open Until 12:00am), Bar Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 7:00pm ($5 drink specials and "bites" for $3, $4, $5)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 289-3600

Website:
http://graffiatodc.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Mike Isabella

Restaurant Photos

  • Graffiato
Graffiato

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 2:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon 11:00AM - 11:45AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:30PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue 11:00AM - 11:45AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:30PM 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:30PM 5:00PM - 5:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:30PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Fri 1:15PM - 1:30PM 9:45PM - 10:00PM

Sat 11:00AM - 2:00PM 9:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Graffiato does not have a private room, but we accept inquiries for groups of seven or more. Food and beverage minimums may apply. Please contact us to discuss menus and pricing for group dinners and half- or full-restaurant buyouts.

Graffiato Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Penn Quarter ›

fit for foodies (178)
good for groups (91)
neighborhood gem (75)
See All
hot spot (61)
special occasion (54)
great for lunch (53)
vibrant bar scene (51)
kid-friendly (32)
great for brunch (23)
late-night find (23)
notable wine list (22)
romantic (16)
scenic view (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
885 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The prices of their appetizers are insan ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

The prices of their appetizers are insanely expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We didn't know it was a small plate rest ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

We didn't know it was a small plate restaurant. I had the lamb dish. It was so delicious that I wouldn't have shared it anyway!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing food and Nick was an amazing hos ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Amazing food and Nick was an amazing host.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was quite good but service pretty p ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food was quite good but service pretty poor - forgotten order with no apology and pretty grumpy into the bargain. The large shop window on ground floor makes dinner look like fish in a fishbowl , concrete floor makes noise resonate and chair scrape painfully on that surface. Overall pretty average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Our server was extremely inattentive and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our server was extremely inattentive and did not spend much time with us. Would expect better service. Great food. Calamari on the pizza was too salty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Our server was excellent, she helped us ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our server was excellent, she helped us choose great food for my families varieying appetites. Food was delicious. Best way to spend my Birthday.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has a good vibe and is i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This restaurant has a good vibe and is in a great location. The drinks are good but that's about as much as one can say positively. Three of us had pizza (different kinds) and none of it was that great. Then the fourth person had a steak which turned out to be a small plate but was overpriced and not listed as a small plate so a very disappointing dinner. The steak was over seasoned. None of the food is worth the price. The service was fine but not distinguishable. The scene is very young so maybe it's a lot of people without tastebuds yet? In any case, we were all disappointed and I would rather go to Matchbox any day for some really good food, for a much better price, and extremely friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Fell short of others' praises. First ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fell short of others' praises.

First and foremost, I was disappointed at such poor service on a special occasion. I took my girlfriend to Graffiato to celebrate her birthday and mentioned the fact when making my reservation. Not looking for singing or candles and cake, but our absentee waiter missed an opportunity to make someone feel special.

Graffiato is aptly billed in at least this regard: its "inventive Italian comfort food" is, in fact, comfortable. We enjoyed our dishes. And admittedly, they were inventive, though not necessarily inspired. Mike Isabella has garnered great commendations, so surely he will continue to thrive without mine.

To be clear, there is enough to appreciate at Graffiato, but I felt the praises (and prices) are more reflective of a local star power, or at least achievements outside this particular restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Graffiato was awesome. I was with a larg ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Graffiato was awesome. I was with a large group for a birthday party and even though a few of us were late, which I understand is very annoying for restaurants, they were super accommodating and did not even remotely seem irritated. The food was delicious, drink options fantastic, service awesome from host stand to bartender to server.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beyond excellent food, especially the Al ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Beyond excellent food, especially the Aleppo Shells. The sauce was absolutely delicious and perfectly spicy. Perfect portion sizes! The Chocolate Cherry Cannoli were seriously yummy, as were the Mk and Cookies....mmmmm.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was good

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

It was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

This restaurant came highly recommended ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This restaurant came highly recommended by many friends and all had had great experiences there in the past. While the servers were very friendly and knowledgeable, we seemed to have hit Graffiato on an "off night." We had to send back a dish due to flavor being off, but given that this was a special occasion, we were disappointed in how the dinner turned out. But, my friends who were already huge fans said they'd be willing to come back in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Great little place! Our server was amazi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great little place! Our server was amazing and the food flavor was astounding. My only issue (and bear in mind that I don't live in DC) was the cost of the food. I didn't have any problems dropping $15 on a pasta dish, until the plate came out with 5 pieces of pasta. It was basically the size of an appetizer for 1 person. Also, the beers were around $8, and that was for a 10oz pour. The pizza was $20, and was HEAVEN, and the size was as should be expected - about 12 inches in diameter. I would totally go back to this place it was so great, but if you're hungry and on any sort of a budget, you may be a little disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We wish that one person from the party c ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We wish that one person from the party could do the chef tasting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great stuff just woefully and ridiculous ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great stuff just woefully and ridiculously overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great with the exception ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Everything was great with the exception of our server. She was not attentive and walked away from me twice while I was talking to her. Her assistant was far better than she. I gave him a separate cash tip to ensure he was paid for his hard work. The food and atmosphere was good. I would definitely give it another try!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Creative dishes and very flavorful. Most ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Creative dishes and very flavorful. Most of the time the kitchen really works, but there is the occasional sinker.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

There was no reason to bring out the pla ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

There was no reason to bring out the plates at different times. Certainly the two salads could have come together. I had to start eating before my friend; her entree came after I was finished eating. And metal chairs scraping on a cement floor? Ugh

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

We met friends there for brunch. While ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We met friends there for brunch. While the food was very good, the service was slow and erratic which surprised us because the place was not that busy. Our friends from out of town expressed consternation at the relatively small portion size given the prices. Overall we enjoyed our brunch but will try somewhere else next time in search of a more reasonable price/quality balance.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

All the dishes are served family style. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

All the dishes are served family style. For some that's a problem because , when you have four people as we did, you barely get a taste of the succulent rock fish and its crispy skin. For the pasta dishes family style service works well. I recommend the cloud-like gnocchi in the savory pork ragout with velvety riccotta cheese topping it off. My dining companions liked the buccatini with veal. The pasta was tender but not over-cooked and the there is a nice balance of topping to noodles. Definitely try the flatbread with pepperoni sauce if they have it on the menu. The desserts are also sharable. Every dish was well seasoned and perfectly cooked. The wait staff was friendly and knowledgable. Overall it was a great experience and I look forward to going back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awful. One meal came out and we waited 1 ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Awful. One meal came out and we waited 10 minutes for the other. We were told it was because they come from 2 different kitchens but if there are 2 people at the table, having the meals come out 10 minutes apart is unacceptable. Nobody checked on us, it was just embarrassing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Most food was very good, especially vegg ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Most food was very good, especially veggie appetizers. Bathrooms dirty and messy, not what you expect at this type of restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We are huge Top Chef fans so we were exc ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We are huge Top Chef fans so we were excited to try out Mike Isabella's place while visiting DC. It was just okay. The flounder was really good, but the pizza was just average. Zeppole were to die for. We should have skipped the rest of the meal and gone straight for dessert! The biggest surprise was the bill, which came in at roughly $200 with tip for dinner for four. Entres are very moderately priced (under $20) and we had no appetizers, so we assume it was the drinks, but that still seems a lot for two beers, one glass of wine and two Diet Cokes (that no one offered to refill). Wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I love this restaurant. Service is alwa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I love this restaurant. Service is always wonderful and the menu changes with the season. Never had anything I don't love.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible menu as always -- the black t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Incredible menu as always -- the black truffle pizza was mind-blowing. Great drink options and specials menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absurdly overpriced for the little amoun ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Absurdly overpriced for the little amount of decent but non-special food you get. If you must go there, the pork belly was good and at least felt like we were eating something at least partially substantial.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Amazing food!The waitstaff was very know ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Amazing food!The waitstaff was very knowledgeable and made great recommendations.I recommend it wholeheartedly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fun trendy restaurant ! Upstairs was pe ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Fun trendy restaurant ! Upstairs was perfect for our large size party . Able to carry on a conversation without shouting.

Service was attentive.. Good fun reasonable price .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Restaurant presentations are wonderful; ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Restaurant presentations are wonderful; great atmosphere. Bathrooms need serious renovating. Didn't know that items we ordered were small plates. Staff is top notch. Hostess greeted us warmly. Our server was energetic, attentive and efficient.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I've always liked Graffiato, and I will ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I've always liked Graffiato, and I will continue to return. With that being said, I was a bit disappointed by the service and level of preparation the restaurant displayed to my friends and I for our special occasion. We arrived and were initially brought to a dirty (uncleared) table to be sat at downstairs, brought back to the host stand, then brought upstairs to a clean but unset table. A busser came up and dropped silverware off at the table (in the middle) and just plopped the plates and napkins down for us to set ourselves without an apology for being unprepared and unprofessional. The dishes were decent, but a bit lackluster in comparison to some of the things I've had there before. I felt that the value was lacking, considering we were paying $16 for a small watermelon salad, etc. Perhaps I've become spoiled by the influx of creative and exceptional restaurants to DC with service standards well above what was commonly accepted in DC prior. I feel that Graffiato is now falling behind the rising standards and needs to step up a bit to continue to be competitive in the evolving and vibrant Chinatown/Mt Vernon/Penn Quarter neighborhood.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We got excellent service and sampled ser ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We got excellent service and sampled serval f the pasta dishes as well as the White House pizza. Everything was solid but not amazing, in a neat but not special. I would recommend, but will not go out of my way to go back.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Great desserts!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great desserts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Deliciousness

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Deliciousness

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went for dinner before a concert at Veri ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Went for dinner before a concert at Verizon Center. Small portion tastings menu was perfection. We had the chicken thigh and rockfish filet. The surprise of the meal was deep fried cream cheese croutons with my Caesar salad. We both would highly recommend the restaurant to anyone who enjoys a genuinely good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really like this place pre-concert. Seat ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Really like this place pre-concert. Seated us on time (had a reservation) and the waitress and staff were more than helpful and courteous. The in-house Ginger Beer and Califlower dish were standout. Will be back-

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The dishes were amazing! Pepperoni Sauce ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The dishes were amazing! Pepperoni Sauce and Crispy Chicken Thighs were 2 highlights for me. And you can't go wrong with dessert! Service was great. Food was always coming and cup never went dry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent choice for unique experience w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Excellent choice for unique experience with food made differently. Great atmosphere.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had I known it was a small plates restau ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Had I known it was a small plates restaurant, I would not have gone. Down with small plates!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Been here several times - food is good, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Been here several times - food is good, not amazing. Felt pricey this time and left not feeling full. It's a heavy meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The homemade mango soda was a nice blend ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The homemade mango soda was a nice blend of sweet and savory. While the portion of sweet corn agnolotti was small, it's a week later and I'm still thinking about the delicious flavor! If you're hungry, the spaghetti dish had a larger portion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.