About Grace's

3111 Kirby Drive Houston
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

When owner Johnny Carrabba set out on his next restaurant venture, he knew his vision would include the fond memories he had of his dear grandmother Grace Mandola. Grace, also known to the family as Mama, was a Sicilian woman born to immigrant parents in Louisiana. She had a flair for cooking, hospitality, and deep faith.

She was known to make bread from scratch every Saturday for her legendary three-hour Sicilian Sunday lunches; and, her newly established family roots in Louisiana added interesting flavors to her home cooked meals. The entire Mandola family, including her five children and fourteen grandchildren, was regularly greeted in her home with smells of warm bread, well brewed sauces and homemade soups. It was around her table that her family learned the true meaning and value of relationships, friendships and good food. These memories are realized when one walks into Johnny Carrabba’s new restaurant, Grace's.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Branard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 728-6410

Website:
http://www.gracesonkirby.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet as well as an adjoining four-story parking garage for our guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, our private dining space is an intimate and inviting space accommodating up to 45 people.

Grace's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (77)
Great for Lunch (56)
Good for a Date (54)
See All
Special Occasion (53)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Cozy (39)
Great for Brunch (39)
Casual (38)
Sunday Lunch (37)
Good for Groups (37)
Worth the Drive (31)
Romantic (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Business Meals (27)
Family Style (25)
Authentic (23)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Open Kitchen (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Fun (19)
Outstanding Value (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Tasting Menu (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
People Watching (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Fireplace (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Private Room (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Healthy (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Seasonal (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Spicy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Historic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
858 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was so good. Not just friend ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

The service was so good. Not just friendly, but amiable, hospitable and nurturing. Our waiter even went next door to Carraba's for a roll to go with a salad one guest decided to have for brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome as always!!!

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome as always!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service. We have eaten ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food, great service. We have eaten at Grace's several times, and have always been pleased.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only criticism is about my greeter. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

My only criticism is about my greeter. I was greeted and asked to wait until my party arrived. (I had reservations. There were 2 of us and I was waiting on my friend). Other patrons were seated ahead of me, who were also waiting on their other party members to arrive. When the greeter saw that I was observing these other transactions, she offered to seat me.

Disappointing!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Three different meals, appetizers, and d ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Three different meals, appetizers, and dessert all delicious from beginning to end!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner - good service and good foo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Great dinner - good service and good food. Love the atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love love love! The food can be a tad bi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Love love love! The food can be a tad bit salty, but still delicious. Wouldn't change a thing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Authentic, , Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an excellent restaurant with gr ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

This was an excellent restaurant with great service. It was a great Valentine Day selection.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great good, that's all. You HAVE to get ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Great good, that's all. You HAVE to get the Sticky Ribs!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome wait staff and food was excellen ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome wait staff and food was excellent. Planning to return and try other dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere! I totally recommend KE ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Great atmosphere! I totally recommend KENNEDY as a server!!!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fun, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for a family brunch after chur ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Went here for a family brunch after church. Despite being very busy, service was fast and of great quality. I suggest reservations

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Despite reservation, they seated us in t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Despite reservation, they seated us in the bar room BEHIND THE DOOR!! This area seemed to be designated for Black people as aside for 1 other man at the bar, everyone else was Black. Not good. Ordered ribeye steak medium well but got it well burnt. Took 3 bites and that was it. Should have made a stink but didn't to my regret especially with the bill being so high. Was definitely not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Lovely family Restaurant!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Lovely family Restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pre wedding celebration lunch with famil ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Pre wedding celebration lunch with family.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chose Grace's for a business lunch, bas ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Chose Grace's for a business lunch, based on location and reviews. Was not disappointed. Service was attentive, waiter was knowledgeable and friendly and the menu looked delicious. I had the tuna stack and it was fabulous and fresh. Associates had grilled shrimp dinner salad and the roasted beer salad with chicken. All delicious. Seafood campechana as an appetizer was amazing as well. Would almost have sufficed as a light lunch

A couple of observations/opinions/suggestions:

The brunch menu was included inside the main menu. It was confusing as to whether these items were actually available for lunch or not. Would suggest they remove this insert until the weekend, when it's available.

Second, entree pricing was rather expensive for lunch. Even at nicer restaurants serving lunch, I don't like seeing $28-$35 entrees at lunch. Just my opinion. Cut back serving size (and price) for lunch.

Getting into the driveway /entrance from Kirby is very frustrating. I sat through 3 light cycles just to make turn on to side street. And I was only 2 cars from the turn! Consider signage to route cars to an alternative street to enter. This backup made me 10 minutes late for my reservation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I went to dinner with a friend to catch ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I went to dinner with a friend to catch up. Our server was very respectful of our conversation and allowed us to catch up and dine at a leisurely pace. Wonderful food as usual!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a beautiful location and the chicke ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

What a beautiful location and the chicken and waffles were incredible. Also they have a frozen Mimosa that was very tasty. I would definitely recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved everything about Graces.. Our fo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I loved everything about Graces.. Our food was great, Service was even better... and the drinks was over the top with very affordable prices!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch venue for our small group. G ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great lunch venue for our small group. Good service, food and atmosphere on a very busy day. Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The calamari appetizer was delicious. Th ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The calamari appetizer was delicious. They also carry a simple but good wine list, what makes the choice easier. I also recommend the Muga Spanish wine since it goes with most of the food and it's really an impressive red for a good value.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always delicious, very friendly service. ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Always delicious, very friendly service. Lots of great menu choices. Don't leave without having the baked potato dip with the homemade chips! So delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I brought several friends who had not tr ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I brought several friends who had not tried Grace's before. Everyone in the group loved the food and ambiance. Our server was great until it was time to ask for the check. He disappeared for longer than 20 minutes. It almost put a damper on the evening, but since I am a frequent diner at Grace's, I let it slide this time. I will be back with another friend next Monday. Let's see if the service meets the mark.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was delicious. Our waiter was v ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The food was delicious. Our waiter was very professional and attentive. The noise level inside was pretty bad. The restaurant was 3/4 full but it was so loud. I have teenagers so noise does not bother me but I could not hear my friend talking who was sitting beside me. It is a business lunch spot not a place to visit and catch up. I would definitely order take out or possibly try sitting outside?

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good variety of food. Appetizers were v ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Good variety of food. Appetizers were very good. Very friendly waiter. Restaurant was busy. Took a while to get our food but worth the wait.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I absoutely love the strawberry pancakes ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I absoutely love the strawberry pancakes they are to die for and the Mexican vanilla ice cream on top just makes it sooooo much better

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, as always, was amazing. We hadn't ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food, as always, was amazing. We hadn't been there for brunch before and the menu didn't disappoint. The drinks were a little pricey for my taste. There are other brunch spots in that area with much better drink specials. 38.00 for a carafe of mimosas is a little steep. Other locations do 20.00 to 25.00. Would have been nice if those prices were marked in the menu. As I said earlier though, the food was incredible.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Historic, Bar Seating, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Once again I'm a happy camper! Gracie's ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Once again I'm a happy camper! Gracie's did not disappoint! We enjoyed the food & especially our waiter!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was great, food was very good ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Restaurant was great, food was very good, my waiter (Tony) was outstanding. My only complaint is I had a 8.45pm reservation, so why did I have to wait 15 minutes and see somebody who arrived after me get seated. That was the only spoiler.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We waited 20 minutes for our table. We s ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We waited 20 minutes for our table. We sat in the bar and the service was good. Why is your bar hidden behind a door? Our waiter was VERY overloaded with tables. He tried his hardest but just couldn't keep up. We asked a manager-looking guy for appetizers, then for drink refills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

ABSOULUTLY LOVED IT! TUESDAY I HAD TAKEN ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 26, 2017

ABSOULUTLY LOVED IT! TUESDAY I HAD TAKEN 12 LADIES AND FOOD AND SERVICES WAS ABOVE PAR AND I WENT BACK THURSDAY WITH 5 GENTLEMEN AND STILL ABOVE PAR! WILL DEFINITELY BE RETURN FOR BUSINESS AND PERSONALLY OCCASIONS. STAFF, FOOD, ATMOSPHERE EVERYTHING WAS GREAT

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, , Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place. Consistent. Outstanding foo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great place. Consistent. Outstanding food. Excellent service. Will return again !

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delicious food at Grace's. Good w ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Always delicious food at Grace's. Good wine list & excellent cocktails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

AWESOME!! Meal was delicious... fried ch ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 23, 2017

AWESOME!!

Meal was delicious... fried chicken very well seasoned and mashed potatoes were creamy and also well seasoned. Food reminds me of home cooked meals and would highly recommend Grace's. Not the traditional Italian Resturant.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was excellent yet again. I had ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our food was excellent yet again. I had the Creole Stuffed Chicken Breast which was superb and very well season. My daughter gm had the special of the week which was Seafood Enchiladas and omg it was absolutely delicious also, the taste was amazing. Our waiter was excellent, he was on point and refilled our drinks before it was empty. Highly recommend Graces!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, , Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the best places I have v ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was one of the best places I have visited!! Very upbeat atmosphere! Not to mention the food is the bomb! I will definitely be back for more!! Grace's is the best kept secret!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, People Watching, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cornbread stuffed chicken was a hit ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The cornbread stuffed chicken was a hit with our group. The crab cake was good, however, there was a bit too much bread crumbs for my taste. I loved the grilled asparagus it had a nice chargrilled flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I visit this restrurant on Monday Januar ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 17, 2017

I visit this restrurant on Monday January 16 @ 7:30pm When entering the restaurant I was very disappointed the hostess made me and my family felt if we were walking into a fast restrurant.. I had to ask her to be seated, she ask if I had a reservation which we did because we were there to celebrate my wife birthday.. She acted if she really didn't want to be there however there's was a gentleman at the entry who I'm assuming was a manager he did greet us with a smile..Tye waiter black tall medium built guy was terrible he never ask if we been there before or if we were familiar with the menu, he was soft spoken with no personality did not engage with anyone at the table.. The appetizer was Great!!! and the food was Ok too.. Needs help in the Service area, I expected more from this restaurant..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I truly enjoy dining here, I've never ha ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I truly enjoy dining here, I've never had a bad experience. The environment is relaxed and comfortable with top notch service. A great place for a business lunch, girls night, romantic evening or a family dinner. Always great service and consistently good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had an awesome time. Everyone was ver ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had an awesome time. Everyone was very friendly!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.