About Grace's

When owner Johnny Carrabba set out on his next restaurant venture, he knew his vision would include the fond memories he had of his dear grandmother Grace Mandola. Grace, also known to the family as Mama, was a Sicilian woman born to immigrant parents in Louisiana. She had a flair for cooking, hospitality, and deep faith.

She was known to make bread from scratch every Saturday for her legendary three-hour Sicilian Sunday lunches; and, her newly established family roots in Louisiana added interesting flavors to her home cooked meals. The entire Mandola family, including her five children and fourteen grandchildren, was regularly greeted in her home with smells of warm bread, well brewed sauces and homemade soups. It was around her table that her family learned the true meaning and value of relationships, friendships and good food. These memories are realized when one walks into Johnny Carrabba’s new restaurant, Grace's.

3111 Kirby Drive Houston
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Saturday: 9:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 9:00am - 9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 9:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Branard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 728-6410

Website:
http://www.gracesonkirby.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet as well as an adjoining four-story parking garage for our guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, our private dining space is an intimate and inviting space accommodating up to 45 people.

Grace's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (96)
Great for Lunch (77)
Good for Birthdays (73)
See All
Great for Brunch (64)
Special Occasion (64)
Good for a Date (64)
Casual (58)
Good for Groups (53)
Sunday Lunch (51)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Business Meals (50)
Worth the Drive (41)
Fun (40)
Authentic (38)
Cozy (35)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Romantic (22)
Bar Seating (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
People Watching (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Tasting Menu (12)
Notable Wine List (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Seasonal (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Scenic View (5)
Spicy (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1150 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

We had 7 people on a round table, as we requested.... All enjoyed their food and waiter was really good...Prices are reasonable.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was just ok. Waitress wasn't as friendly as she could've been but the atmosphere was nice.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Met a great friend for lunch. Main waiter was awful. Tony lacked people skills. He would be better served behind the scene. Etoufee wasn't good. But, my Cosmo was excellent! My experience this time will not stop from coming back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

My pancakes and bacon were cold. My guest had the waffles and chicken. Chicken was piping hot while the waffles were cold. Our waiter, Tim, was superb.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely great place to celebrate 3 birthdays at one time!!! Everyone invited enjoyed their first experience there. Having another birthday dinner there soon!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was awesome the service was great

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Very good food and service was excellent. Will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and service are always stellar! Randy's fried chicken is delectable and a standard favorite of ours. This last dining experience was for my mom's birthday and it was fantastic. Highly recommend. Sunday brunch draws a huge crowd so be prepared to wait a bit but certainly worth it. If you go during the week for dinner, your wait time will likely be significantly less.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Spicy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Grace's has delicious food. Very much comfort food. Service on a Monday lunch was great. I will say it is a bit pricey, but so worth the food. Everything I had there was great. I will be back for sure.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Our waiter was very helpful in making recommendations. The food taste was excellent and very ambient.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Awesome atmosphere, great food, friendly staff. I love Gracies! This is my new favorite spot!

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Lots of options on the menu. Shrimp burger was great. Service outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Celebrated my wife Birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

We wanted to visit Graces before Hurricane Harvey, but it was already closed. Glad to eat here again. The food and service was wonderful as always.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We were able to make a reservation but when we arrived, we found that Graces was not open for business on Augurlst 31, 2017.

Unfortunately, we can't accurately rate our experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Food was awesome! Good creative southern food. You can find plenty of healthy choices without losing flavor. We did have the restaurant week meal; however, they picked items that were from their regular menu. Flavor was fantastic. My cocktail was very good. Along with the service being outstanding. I would recommend this place for a good dinner or lunch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We had a wonderful time. The food was excellent as was the service and the martinis.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 23, 2017

I was referred to the restaurant by a friend. So, I decided to visit there for my birthday dinne with two close family members. I was sorely disappointed. The waiter was not welcoming, he rushed us to order, didn't ask if we were a returning guest or first time, tried to clear our plates before we were finished. Never refilled our water. Just poor service, the food was less than par and over priced. The ambiance was the best part and the company I was sharing my birthday dinner.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Our waitress, Caroline B, was not friendly, helpful or attentive. Made us feel unwelcomed and would not encourage us to come back again. Business meal that took entirely too long and with very little attention from our server. No refills on drinks until we paid the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Great waiter , he was so patient with my "no cheese" order changes.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We tried the Restaurants Weeks menu and had amazing snapper. We always enjoy everything aboutGrace's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food was just OK. Nothing special and certainly not justified by the price paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

It was a birthday but the server never acknowledged. Overall, loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The hostess are the best. Warm / greeting/ and attentive. They work hard to ensure you dinning experience is great

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great food! Great service! Will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Good service, good food. Only complaint very noisy.

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Food was very good. The gumbo was some of the best I have ever enjoyed. Prices were reasonable and the wine selection good with very reasonable pricing. Overall a good experience.The only thing that kept the overall experience from being excellent was the very poor timing of the service. The entrees arrived 2-3 minutes after the first course arrived. We had to rush the first course so the entrees would not get cold. This was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Waiter Bruce did a spectacular job. Everyone's food was wonderful. A great evening all around

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Overall experience was below my expectations. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Visited during Houston Restaurant Weeks. Loved the choices. My fav is the Godiva Freeze!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 16, 2017

First time to visit Grace's for Houston restaurant weeks. Food, service, and ambience are top notch! Will be back to try brunch soon. Highly recommend!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Grace's is one of those places that I never tire of. This visit was with friends for Houston Restaurant Weeks was delicious and an exceptional value. However, you can't go wrong at any time by ordering the fried chicken, fried pork chop or any of the varied menu items. Great food and I love their bar!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Went for a Birthday celebration with a group of 5 people. The atmosphere was lovely and even though we all ordered different meals everyone LOVED what they ordered. I will definitely be returning and I recommend to any who is looking for a meal with a casual dress and great food with a twist of elegance.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great.............................................as usual.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Excellent food, ambience, and great service! A great place to eat, but, make sure you have a reservation for Sunday Brunch!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great Brunch.. celebrating my father-in-law 75 birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

As always the everything was perfect. Grace's is where we take everyone to go enjoy the best food, and great service.

We actually tried something new this time. We tried the bread pudding..... OMG we were always a little scared because we aren't fans of cranberries, but we were wrong! Get the bread pudding.

We love Grace's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We made reservations for 5:45p and was very surprised that we were not seated until 6:15p. The host kept telling us that they were waiting on a table to become available and that was the reason for the delay. When we were finally seated (and yes, my entire party was on time), we were seated in the back of the restaurant alone. Which was ok, but all of the tables were empty. I mean no one was sitting in about 3 large empty tables in an entire section of the restaurant. I didn't make a big deal of it because we were entertaining some friends that we hadn't seen in a while,, but this was absolutely ridiculous for us to have to wait 45 minutes on a table when reservations were made in advance. On another note, other people did not show up to the empty tables for a least another hour and hour and a half. This actually makes me rethink any future reservations at this restaurant. The food was very flavorful and plentiful. The waiter was nice, but not as attentive as I would have expected for an upscale place. We tipped very well regardless. Not sure the next time when we will go there. Would have like a better overall experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great food and great service but extremely noisy.
I'll be back but will request to be seated in the quieter dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Our food was great. Service was a little slow. Apple pie is really good as was shrimp stuffed poblano and chicken pot pie. Pot pie uses different spices but still very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.