About Grace's

When owner Johnny Carrabba set out on his next restaurant venture, he knew his vision would include the fond memories he had of his dear grandmother Grace Mandola. Grace, also known to the family as Mama, was a Sicilian woman born to immigrant parents in Louisiana. She had a flair for cooking, hospitality, and deep faith.

She was known to make bread from scratch every Saturday for her legendary three-hour Sicilian Sunday lunches; and, her newly established family roots in Louisiana added interesting flavors to her home cooked meals. The entire Mandola family, including her five children and fourteen grandchildren, was regularly greeted in her home with smells of warm bread, well brewed sauces and homemade soups. It was around her table that her family learned the true meaning and value of relationships, friendships and good food. These memories are realized when one walks into Johnny Carrabba’s new restaurant, Grace's.

3111 Kirby Drive Houston
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Saturday: 9:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 9:00am - 9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 9:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Branard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 728-6410

Website:
http://www.gracesonkirby.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet as well as an adjoining four-story parking garage for our guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, our private dining space is an intimate and inviting space accommodating up to 45 people.

Grace's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (78)
Casual (57)
Good for a Date (57)
See All
Great for Lunch (56)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Great for Brunch (50)
Good for Groups (48)
Special Occasion (46)
Sunday Lunch (45)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Worth the Drive (41)
Authentic (40)
Cozy (36)
Business Meals (34)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Fun (31)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Romantic (26)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Hot Spot (17)
Bar Seating (16)
People Watching (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Kid-friendly (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Scenic View (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Seasonal (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Spicy (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
1215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

My first visit and the same for my Sister. And we weren't disappointed.

We started with the Sticky Ribs and they were fabu.

I have the Chicken Fried Pork Chop and my Sister had the Baked Chicken and I honestly don't know which was better.

And we both agreed we can't wait to try more of the menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Fun, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

We were seated for a while before our waiter came around. After that the service and the food were good.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

From start to finish , we had a good experience. Our table was ready on time, our waiter was knowledgeable and attentive and the food was tasty and good . I am following a special diet and was able to switch out a vegetable for the mashed potatoes.
We will return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

It was a really great evening, we arrived a little early and was seated quickly. I food arrived in a timely manner and the waiters were very attentive. Grace’s has always been a favorite. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Very nice restaurant with a varied interesting menu. Many comfort foods like fried chicken, some with Mexican seasonings, lots of appetizers and salads to choose from. Service was very good, efficient but not pushy. The restaurant is pretty noisy but not impossible to hear among our group of 4. Really like the homey but not cutesy atmosphere, tasteful décor . Good drinks.

Tags: Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 8, 2017

The food is consistently delicious. I do wish that substituting a green vegetable on the seafood platter, were an option. (Ex . Asparagus or broccoli with instead of twice-baked potato)
The service was even better than the food.
Server was Tanner!! Speaking of exceptional servers, Louis, Robert, and Ian are equally as good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 8, 2017

It was magical.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Service was excellent! Great tasting food, beautiful decor and great vibe!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 8, 2017

I went to Grace's the first time two weeks ago on the recommendation of a friend. I brought an important out of town guest with me and a friend. We all absolutely loved it. The food is delicious, the wait staff is attentive in just the right amount and they make recommendations that are very helpful. Waitstaff is +++. The chef is terrific. Combinations and flavors I'd not have considered are fantastic. I came back within two weeks and brought another friend and now am recommending Grace's to others. I will go back whenever I can.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

We had reservations for 12:30, and was seated in the main dining room at a table directly in front of the kitchen and waking area. The room was very noisy. We asked to be seated elsewhere and was told that there was only one other table available or we could wait for 15 minutes. We took the other table.

We ordered the tuna tower as an appetizer, which was good. Our entrees included the oxtail ravioli and pot pie. Both.dishes were very salty. The garlic bread tasted stale and not garlicky like in other Italian restaurants. We were disappointed with our overall experience.

The service was outstanding, which is the only reason why I have 3 stars for the "overall" category.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2017

I've never had a dish at Grace's that wasn't delicious!! There are so many choices and they are really all amazing. The crab cake is the best I've had in Texas - it is nearly all crab - I'm not sure how it stays together!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We chose Grace mainly by the reviews from former diners. Almost all were very good so we decided to try it. As it turned out, our meal was excellent. I had their version of a shrimp and cheese stuffed chile which came out hot (temperature-wise) and tasted fantastic. My wife had beef stroganoff which she states was also excellent.

The menu is huge and the funny thing about it is that it contains very diverse dinners. Mine was New Orleans/Southwest, my wife's Stroganoff was classical Russian, but they also serve a chicken pie and even a couple Chinese choices. Kinda strange but.......I imagine they are good too. The only negative is that it is a large restaurant and very, very noisy. They should really do something to quiet it down.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

I just recently went here for my Birthday Celebration and my group and I really enjoyed it. I live in Galveston county and it was definitely worth the drive!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Came with cousin’s for a birthday celebration! The ambiance , food and service was impeccable! Will be back...

Tags: Healthy, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Great Southern Fried Pork chop and gravy! Will always come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

The food was awesome, the ambience was great, the server was great, and the prices are not bad.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Lovely place to dine with family, friends, and business colleagues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

I made a reservation for lunch for my husband's birthday. We were seated on the patio(as requested) immediately. Service was friendly and prompt, and the food was great. Our server even brought out a surprise birthday dessert for us. That was a special touch. I will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

The only reason I didn’t give the ambiance 5 stars is the noise level. It was very crowded and quite noisy at first, but got quieter after a big party left. The food and service was outstanding! We will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 21, 2017

I really enjoyed dining at Grace's, but I strongly recommend you make a RESERVATION. On the weekends this place is jammed packed with guests. Our server Glenn was AWESOME! He was very attentive and friendly. Would definitely recommend this place for any special occasion .

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Great food and wonderful service. Overall very good experience. A bit noisy in the evening. If I was the manager I would tell the clowns coming to dine in such a nice restaurant to remove their ball hats during their meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 18, 2017

The service at all of Johnny Carrabba’s restaurants is always impeccable. Grace’s is no exception.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 17, 2017

We had a table of four for dinner. It was the first time for three of our group. Everyone liked their food, and will be returning to Grace's.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Grace’s is not customer friendly to make adjustments on their menu

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 16, 2017

I’ve dined at Grace’s several times, usually at lunch. It is at a convenient location, has valet parking and honors reservation, although they can get a little behind at peak times. The service is friendly and attentive. While the food isn’t haute cuisine it is very good and the menu is varied. The Gumbo is spicy and comfort foods are just that - they bring comfort.

Grace’s is a great, fun place that is suitable for a business meal, a date or a gathering of friends. You’ll enjoy yourself.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Excellent service, food and atmosphere! I had the shrimp and grits which were AWESOME! Will definitely be back for more great dining!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 14, 2017

One of my best friends just moved back to Houston, and we were talking about areas for brunch. I ate here for a bachelorette weekend last year and loved it so much, I suggested it again. Our water glasses seldom went empty, the food was hot and fresh, and our drinks were wonderful. Cannot wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 14, 2017

I really enjoyed my time ar Grace's! I will be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 13, 2017

The a/c was freezing us out. The receptionist didn’t send guest to the right table. Poor seating choice. Food too spicy. Very expensive for what you get.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Good basic comfort food, good friendly service, easy, never too loud...
Unfortunately, my food was over salted - very salty....and the environment, though intended to be warm and inviting has a “cafeteria feel” that all in our party agreed was a miss....too many tables, too much ambient lighting, maybe better to have perimeter booths and more dramatic lighting....some may like it as is - if you are 80 years old - it’s probably perfect....it is not a place I would take a date or a visitor to impress...

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 9, 2017

It was meh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Outstanding in everyday. This restaurant never disappoints.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Your bone in rib-eye was delicious, but nearly half of it was fat! It was not worth the $59 for two. I’m not likely to return because of it.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Everything is consistently good at Grace's. The only drawback is the noise level. It is almost impossible to carry on a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Had a date at Grace's - good menu, interesting choice of Southern cooking but nicely prepared and very tasty. The mashed potatoes were the 1st I'd ever had where I didn't want gravy - really, really good. I'd definitely go back.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Awesome! It's always a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We usually eat on the patio, but it was hot this day so we are inside. The restaurant was pretty full, but still the noise was deafening. Couldn't hardly catch up with friends in there!!

Our waiter was awesome though so that made up for it.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

My first visit was fantastic until I return home and notice that some one had keyed my car, I valet parked also, but truly enjoyed the food

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great experience as always at Grace’s. Wait staff was very attentive, and we always love the ambience and atmosphere. Good food and a good time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.