About Grace's

When owner Johnny Carrabba set out on his next restaurant venture, he knew his vision would include the fond memories he had of his dear grandmother Grace Mandola. Grace, also known to the family as Mama, was a Sicilian woman born to immigrant parents in Louisiana. She had a flair for cooking, hospitality, and deep faith.

She was known to make bread from scratch every Saturday for her legendary three-hour Sicilian Sunday lunches; and, her newly established family roots in Louisiana added interesting flavors to her home cooked meals. The entire Mandola family, including her five children and fourteen grandchildren, was regularly greeted in her home with smells of warm bread, well brewed sauces and homemade soups. It was around her table that her family learned the true meaning and value of relationships, friendships and good food. These memories are realized when one walks into Johnny Carrabba’s new restaurant, Grace's.

3111 Kirby Drive Houston
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Branard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 728-6410

Website:
http://www.gracesonkirby.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet as well as an adjoining four-story parking garage for our guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, our private dining space is an intimate and inviting space accommodating up to 45 people.

Grace's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (93)
Good for a Date (66)
Special Occasion (64)
See All
Great for Lunch (62)
Good for Birthdays (59)
Great for Brunch (52)
Cozy (49)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Casual (46)
Sunday Lunch (44)
Worth the Drive (40)
Good for Groups (39)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Business Meals (35)
Family Style (34)
Romantic (30)
Authentic (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Open Kitchen (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Fun (22)
Outstanding Value (20)
Tasting Menu (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Modern Decor (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Bar Seating (14)
People Watching (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Private Room (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Fireplace (11)
Healthy (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Spicy (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Seasonal (3)
Scenic View (3)
Historic (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Music (2)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
910 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and excellence waiter

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 2 days ago

Only been for brunch until this evening. Awesome food in the dinner menu, as well as brunch. I'll definitely be dining there again very soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

I've been to Graces dozens of times. It's our overall favorite restaurant. We've taken a dozen or more friends and it often becomes their favorite restaurant. They take their family and boss. It's impressive. Great food, great waiters, great manager. Buy their cookbook as it's great also.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was very nice. Good variety on the menu. And waitstaff was prompt, attentive and personable. Despite a very crowded Sunday morning restaurant we felt personal service and never rushed.

Only down side was it was a bit loud so conversations were challenging

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Great place to eat!! Everything was awesome❤❤Definitely will go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely delicious!!! Great place for home cooked/comfort food. Highly recommend Grace's on Kirby.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

This was my first time dining at Grace's. The food was outstanding, the staff was accommodating and the overall experience was great. I will be returning soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

I usually go on weekends and always encounter a lengthy wait time for my party size. However, tonight I was seated immediately and service was right on. A truly wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Authentic, Private Room, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

A very good place. -- great food ,service, atmosphere!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good menu well prepared and very good service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Good place to hang out with friends and delicious food always!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Our server Todd K was GREAT!! He was thoughtful, proactive and knew how to keep us happy!
Great job Todd!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This was my first time visiting Grace's and I will DEFINITELY be back!! I loved the ambiance of the restaurant and would recommend Grace's to anyone in Houston or comes to Houston.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

By far our favorite restaurant ...great food, great service, great value.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Family Style, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food, service, ambiance, etc was IMPECCABLE!! This is my new favorite place!

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Romantic, Modern Decor, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The fried chicken was top notch!! Wife had the cornbread stuffed chicken breast which was good but she loved the Mexican corn and string beans more than the chicken. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great place, excellent food, tables much too close together, and very loud. We only like it when not so busy without screaming kids and getting a table that you are not bumped by other customers, waiters, and bus persons (tables too close).... So we try to plan our times accordingly.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great food! Will definitely be back for more. I recommend to anyone in the area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

First time at Grace's, we decided to make a reservation to have an early dinner with my daughter and her family (including a well behaved 2 year old). We were happy with complimentary parking garage, although there is valet parking as well. We had a very short wait. We thought Sunday afternoon might be relatively quiet, but the place was hopping! It was a little bit noisy and staff seemed a little hectic. The menu was diverse and we all ordered something different. The food was pretty average, I was disappointed in the amount of salt and seasoning to the point I could not eat my vegetables. Overall, the service was good, the wait staff very polite and accommodating and we did not feel rushed. It was a good choice for the family.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Family Style, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Delicious food and great service from everyone. Kesha was an awesome waitress.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I enjoyed brunch at Grace's everything was great. The food was delish and I will recommend you guys to my family and friends. I will be coming to visit soon.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Hostess and server was on point with special requests .

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Brunch BRUNCH Brunch BRUNCH Brunch BRUNCH. I highly recommend Brunch!!! And the Mimosas

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great southern comfort food and great ambiance! Great for gatherings and/or business lunches!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 8, 2017

I enjoyed my first dinner at Grace's. I ordered a creole stuffed chicken with crabmeat with 2 sides and salad. Also the garlic breads included. All food were delicious and homemade. The creole chicken had the right balance of the seasoning. Also I ate a carrot cake, which is very good with right amount of spices. I am very happy I tried this. I definitely will eat there again. Grace's is one of the BEST restaurants in Houston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The reception at the front door from the ladies was wonderful. The waiter was very knowledgeable and on point with the time and the menu items. The food was fresh, Oh and that Chicken Tortilla soup and those roasted brusell sprouts was delish as well as the Beef Philly cheese with AU JUS. This isn't my first time experiencing Graces, my son introduced me to you guys. and I always think of you guys when someone wants to go out to dinner or lunch, and I just tried the Brunch, wonderful as well. So thanks for the hospitality for my birthday Mr. Waiter , with the ice cream, cookie, and the candle, an unexpected treat. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Ate here with my family while they were in town. Wonderful menu options for comfort food! Entire family was very pleased. Trevor, our waiter, was great and attentive throughout the meal. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service, excellent ambiance!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Family Style, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Lots of choices on the menu. Our party of four each ordered something different and all were outstanding. Service was attentive but did not rush us.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 6, 2017

our waiter was very friendly and made our birthday celebration special by cutting our cake and presenting it to us on clean plates and forks and placing candles on the cake.
Please send Ben our thanks.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We celebrated 3 birthdays and had a wonderful time with friends and relatives.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Tremendous flavor and outstanding service.
we had a great time and a great meeting .

Tags: Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Went for the Sunday Brunch for wife's birthday, family truly enjoyed the delicious comfort food and the elegant decor

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was great! I made reservations online and was able to come right in and only waited 5 mins for my table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Kitchen staff seemed a little overwhelmed. Screwed up a basic order. Bacon and Biscuits both are side items. Never experienced this before. Maybe due to rodeo crowd. Sherell and Tim the bartenders are fantastic. They work well together and feed off each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The Food always spectacular! The service was superb! A favorite!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Grace's ambiance and service is as expected. However, the food leaves something to be desired. The menu is all over the place (a la Cheesecake Factory), and the food is only OK. I expected more from this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Love to eat @ Graces ... It does not matter what I order, whether I try something new or something I have eaten many times .. I am never disappointed

But ... I always ask for K C to wait on us...!!!!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 1, 2017

This restaurant is conveniently located on Kirby, next to Carrabas and offers Southern, home cooked food. The dishes are large, heavy, high in salt and calories and pretty basic. Desserts are large and common, although well prepared. Coffee is very good.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The waiter forgot to turn our main course order in but the manager comped our dinner because of the snafu. They tried to make it right. Love the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.