About Grace's

3111 Kirby Drive Houston
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

When owner Johnny Carrabba set out on his next restaurant venture, he knew his vision would include the fond memories he had of his dear grandmother Grace Mandola. Grace, also known to the family as Mama, was a Sicilian woman born to immigrant parents in Louisiana. She had a flair for cooking, hospitality, and deep faith.

She was known to make bread from scratch every Saturday for her legendary three-hour Sicilian Sunday lunches; and, her newly established family roots in Louisiana added interesting flavors to her home cooked meals. The entire Mandola family, including her five children and fourteen grandchildren, was regularly greeted in her home with smells of warm bread, well brewed sauces and homemade soups. It was around her table that her family learned the true meaning and value of relationships, friendships and good food. These memories are realized when one walks into Johnny Carrabba’s new restaurant, Grace's.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Branard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 728-6410

Website:
http://www.gracesonkirby.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet as well as an adjoining four-story parking garage for our guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Grace's
Grace's

Private Dining

Whether celebrating with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, our private dining space is an intimate and inviting space accommodating up to 45 people.

Grace's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (109)
Good for Groups (107)
Great for Lunch (107)
See All
Great for Brunch (94)
Fit for Foodies (82)
Neighborhood Gem (70)
Romantic (51)
Hot Spot (41)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Kid-friendly (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Notable Wine List (17)
Late-night Find (14)
Scenic View (11)
Sort By:
Newest
665 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I ordered the cornbread stuffed chicken ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 15 hours ago

I ordered the cornbread stuffed chicken breast with cream gravy..one side of candied yams and one side of fresh green beans. I think was absolutely delicious! I will never dining in with my bestfriend this week! Our server was excellent.. Perry was very attentive...prompt..pleasant..and made our dining experience grand! Kudos to Perry R. and to Grace's!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrible Service. Sat outside with my do ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 2 days ago

Terrible Service. Sat outside with my dog and had ho go in twice to get help. Also don't think tip should automatically be added. Won't be back for a long time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

The noise level was excessively loud. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

The noise level was excessively loud. The kind of loud when you walked outside to leave your ears welcome the quiet. Not sure what made it so loud that evening other than several group tables.

Service is usually fantastic, not so much this evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

The service was terrible. The server ope ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service was terrible. The server openly waited hand and foot on two tables of white patrons and totally ignored us. I notified the management on 2 occasions and they did nothing. They just brushed me off and never had the courtesy to acknowledge my issue. The food was good but they have demonstrated to me they have preferred clientele.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Nice variety of dishes. Home style cooki ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

Nice variety of dishes. Home style cooking, Asian touches, Italian, etc. Good service. The restaurant was full and a bit noisy, but there was a party at a large table next to us, so maybe it is not always so bad.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappoints! The food is fabulous ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

Never disappoints! The food is fabulous...and you shouldn't leave without trying the baked potato dip with homemade potato chips! The service is great and we haven't had anything subpar!

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Grace's three times now a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

I have been to Grace's three times now and every time is exceptional. The service and food is always consistent. I have never had a bad meal or experience. Great for wonderful flavors and date nights. They are accommodating to larger groups as well. Love the ox tail raviolis.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food the service is always the top. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food the service is always the top. Have never been disappointed with anything

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

LOVED IT!! My husband has lived in the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

LOVED IT!! My husband has lived in the states for 12 years and thinks this was one of his best meals here. I agree. Amazing food and great prices and adorable restaurant. We split the fried oyster salad and it was to die for. I had the fried quail with mouth watering mashed potatoes and mexi-corn. Husband had creole stuffed chicken with Brussels sprouts and mac & cheese. We were practically moaning with every bite. And trust me, we eat at a lot of places!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waiter was amazing. The food was fa ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our waiter was amazing. The food was fantastic. The ambiance was perfect for any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating the birthday of a fr ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We were celebrating the birthday of a friend. When we told the staff about the occasion they offered a desert of our choice to help us celebrate. That helped make the occasion even more special. Thank you!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was okay. My wife's food was cold a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was okay. My wife's food was cold and our waitress was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

I was suprised that with a lunch reserva ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I was suprised that with a lunch reservation we still had to wait about 20 minutes for our table. It would not have been so bad for dinner we could have gone to the bar for drinks. Otherwise the table service was great.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

They did not honor my reservation and we ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

They did not honor my reservation and we waited another 20 minutes for a table. The service was incredibly slow. They did not being water to the table. Slow to get the check to leave. Not The quality I expected from a Johnny Carrabba restaurant. I doubt I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Very nice restaurant but TOO NOISY!!!! ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Very nice restaurant but TOO NOISY!!!! Hard to hold a conversation.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We celebrate a birthday there on Wednesd ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We celebrate a birthday there on Wednesday, August 17 and have wonderful time. The atmosphere was perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food friendly staff food was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Delicious food friendly staff food was good and hot

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THIS WAS AN EXCELLENT DINING EXPERIENCE ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

THIS WAS AN EXCELLENT DINING EXPERIENCE AND SERVICE COULD NOT HAVE BEEN BETTER.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service and atmosphere was great! ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food, service and atmosphere was great! I will be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always enjoy the food and atmosphere lov ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always enjoy the food and atmosphere love bringing out town guest and first timers who are always impressed with Graces's as we are.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always love Grace's, it's my husband a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I always love Grace's, it's my husband and I favorite place to dine, romantically or just on a whim. And now my mother in law, mother, clients and friends love it as well.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was friendly and knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our server was friendly and knowledgeable about items on the menu, and she made great recommendations! The food was excellent! Will definitely be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food and the service were wonderful. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food and the service were wonderful. This is the 2nd time I have been here and the first time I brought my family. Everyone had a wonderful time and felt the food was delicious. I would definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and exceptional service by Ca ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food and exceptional service by Casey!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

amazing home cooking and great atmospher ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

amazing home cooking and great atmosphere that feels like someone's home. And if you didn't know the fried chicken is some of the best in Houston.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Johnny Carrabba is a master restaurateur ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Johnny Carrabba is a master restaurateur. His collection of dining spots are all top notch and conveniently located right beside one another ... Carrabba's, Mia's, and Grace's. Grace's is the latest of the three and has an eclectic menu that will surprise you. Everything from pot pie to steak & enchilada to crab cakes. There's literally something for everyone of every generation. Manager, Lauren Fuller, works hard to keep things going and takes time to make sure every diner is having a good time. Can't say enough nice things about Grace's.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant, great food and won ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, great food and wonderful service! Highly recommend. Todd the waiter gave us excellent service and was very accomodating to my Mother in Law who has dietary restrictions. She loved her custom ordered brunch. We will be regulars from now on.

Thanks

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall dinner was great. The only probl ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Overall dinner was great. The only problem was the noise factor, I am half deaf

and the noise pierced my ear drums.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was great. Dinner t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food and service was great. Dinner time is busy. I suggest making reservations. We add reservations and was seated away.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Out with friends and had a wonderful exp ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Out with friends and had a wonderful experience. From the valet to the hostesses to our wait staff, everyone was awesome! The food was phenomenal !!!!!! Will definitely return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at Grace' ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was our first time dining at Grace's and we will return. We tried the RW offerings and were pleased. We saw a lot of other things on the menu that we want to try so that will prompt our return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I introduce my girlfriend to this place. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I introduce my girlfriend to this place. My daughter introduce me to it for Christmas brunch and it was great. I wanted to give my girlfriend the same excitement but I was told that brunch is only served for the weekend. I hope to bring her back soon. Enjoyed every thing.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Food was great! Fried chicken was crispy ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food was great! Fried chicken was crispy. The oxtail ravioli were delicious. I'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were at Gracie's to celebrate a frien ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We were at Gracie's to celebrate a friend's birthday. Everything was perfect! We all had a lovely time! Thank you!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fabulous and so fresh. Our wait ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food was fabulous and so fresh. Our waiter, Carlos, was very attentive and friendly. I had the Oxtail Raviolis and they were so tender and savory. Looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful experience- great atm ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Always a wonderful experience- great atmosphere, great food selection and very good service.

Very consistent .

A go to place with my family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always good and the service ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food is always good and the service is great! An enjoyable place to go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service. Staff was welcoming, ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent service. Staff was welcoming, fun, and courteous. We are seniors 68 + and could not have been more pleased with the warm and friendly greeting we received. Keep up the great work, we will be back soon!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great! I ordered the wing ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything was great! I ordered the wings pancakes and frozen Mimosa. It was so worth it!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great southern style home cooking with s ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great southern style home cooking with service and decor to match

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.