About Grace's

3111 Kirby Drive Houston
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

When owner Johnny Carrabba set out on his next restaurant venture, he knew his vision would include the fond memories he had of his dear grandmother Grace Mandola. Grace, also known to the family as Mama, was a Sicilian woman born to immigrant parents in Louisiana. She had a flair for cooking, hospitality, and deep faith.

She was known to make bread from scratch every Saturday for her legendary three-hour Sicilian Sunday lunches; and, her newly established family roots in Louisiana added interesting flavors to her home cooked meals. The entire Mandola family, including her five children and fourteen grandchildren, was regularly greeted in her home with smells of warm bread, well brewed sauces and homemade soups. It was around her table that her family learned the true meaning and value of relationships, friendships and good food. These memories are realized when one walks into Johnny Carrabba’s new restaurant, Grace's.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Branard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 728-6410

Website:
http://www.gracesonkirby.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet as well as an adjoining four-story parking garage for our guests.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Grace's
Grace's

Private Dining

Whether celebrating with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, our private dining space is an intimate and inviting space accommodating up to 45 people.

Grace's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (115)
great for lunch (110)
special occasion (109)
See All
great for brunch (90)
fit for foodies (80)
neighborhood gem (75)
romantic (55)
great for outdoor dining (44)
hot spot (39)
kid-friendly (29)
vibrant bar scene (24)
notable wine list (19)
late-night find (13)
scenic view (9)
Sort By:
Newest
619 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was excellent but the wait time ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent but the wait time was ridiculous. It was extremely packed for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Grace's was nice. My only complaints are ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Grace's was nice. My only complaints are (1) that we were seated behind a door and it was a very tight fit. (2) The drinks are VERY EXPENSIVE. ((4) We were under the impression that the birthday person could choose a complimentary dessert from the menu. My friend did and to our surprise we paid for that dessert, because the waiter brought out a complimentary ice cream and cookies. Cool for children, but not adults. 3) I got sick. I think it was more of the combination of foods that I ate. I will dine again, but I will be very careful about what I eat.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food, ambiance and dining experience ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food, ambiance and dining experience was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb, Lauren is an excellent manager!! ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Superb, Lauren is an excellent manager!!....can't say enough good things about Grace's

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had party of 8. asked if we could have s ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

had party of 8. asked if we could have separate cks. 1st waiter said yes, then they switched waiters. She got tickets confused. We didn't like that they added gratuity. Like to add myself. Some tickets had gratuity on tickets and other didn't on final bill. very confusing. Waitress was good until the end w/ tickets.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great experience at Grace's, especially ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great experience at Grace's, especially for a special occasion. The hostesses were professional and accommodating. The food was fantastic as everyone enjoyed the brunch options and mimosas. The service was sub-par with our waitress not being as attentive or focused as I am accustomed to. Overall, we had a great time and will return in the future to perhaps try dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value5

We came for brunch and loved the sausage ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

We came for brunch and loved the sausage & jalapeño gravy/biscuits. The strawberry pancakes were also yummy. Our server was the best, checked on us frequently and recommended items from the menu. Grace's had exactly what we were looking for: comfort food and a quiet atmosphere to start our day.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Grace's on numerous occasio ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

I've been to Grace's on numerous occasion for a variety of reasons. I have never been let down. Our entire group had a great time and the food and service was great!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was amazing. Food was delicious ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

Service was amazing. Food was delicious and atmosphere was delightful! I will definitely be back.

Make sure to try the Baked Potato Dip, you won't be dissatisfied.

Well played Grace's!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent in all respects- from entry an ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Excellent in all respects- from entry and greeting to ambiance and quality of service . The menu is broad and diverse. Every dish is presented well and taste great. A very enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food quality was excellent, but service ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food quality was excellent, but service was slow and inattentive. Very difficult to get waiter's attention and responses were very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

I've been to Grace's a number of times a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I've been to Grace's a number of times and have always enjoyed the experience. The service is generally quite good, the ambiance pleasant and the food good. My only real complaint is that the salads especially the entree salads, tend to be overdressed which leaves them a bit soggy. I have found this to be true of the steak salad with its blue cheese vinaigrette. So, bottom line...order your dressing on the side and enjoy the company, ambiance and service.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Consistently a great place for lunch! T ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Consistently a great place for lunch! There is something for everyone on the menu. Portions are Texas size. The staff are terrific!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was great and made our dinner ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our waiter was great and made our dinner even better. The tuna salad was wonderful!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding Food for my first visit. I'm ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Outstanding Food for my first visit. I'm planning to go back and enjoy another meal. Service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Creative menu. Excellent!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great service. Creative menu. Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I thoroughly enjoyed my experience at Gr ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed my experience at Grace's, and I will dine there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Never had a bad meal here, but many exce ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Never had a bad meal here, but many excellent ones! The crab cake is incredible, shrimp & grits the best I've ever had, their very delicate oxtail ravioli is decadently rich, and the list goes on. But I must give space to the Canal Street mac & cheese. That's a must every time!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was okay I tried the potpie, and cea ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was okay I tried the potpie, and cease salad and the sweet potatoes on two different occasions. Not bad place to meet people

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A weekly special soft shell crab appetiz ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A weekly special soft shell crab appetizer was Excellent. Cajun stuff chicken entrée was very flavorful - comes with two sides - reasonably priced. Great value wine list as most bottles are priced 3x the per glass price. We will certainly return - over and over and over again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a family meal with our grown kids ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We had a family meal with our grown kids, we sat in the back dining area and it was very nice and quiet. The rest of the dining areas very pretty loud. We all had something different, the fried chicken was very crispy and tender and the chicken pot pie was a favorite.

The menu is mostly comfort food, fried or very rich, so if you are on a diet this is not the place to be. The server was very new and he was wonderful.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Had beet salad which was super! Mac n ch ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Had beet salad which was super! Mac n cheese was delicious, wish they had it as a meal. Fried chicken came out sizzling on plate.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have never had anything but great ser ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have never had anything but great service and exceptional food at Grace's. Between us and our 7 children we have tried, literally, every dish offered on their menu and have never been disappointed. The decor isn't fancy, but very nice. The way they have the rooms set up it doesn't get too loud so you can enjoy actually speaking to everyone at your table! Wait staff is attentive without making you feel rushed. Highly recommend Grace's!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went to Grace's after making reservat ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We went to Grace's after making reservations for four. Somewhat surprised that only 6 or 8 were available, but it was for Saturday night. The couple that we went with had been to Grace's before, and were anxious to have us try it. We were seated immediately, at an acceptable table, and our waiter was outstanding. We had cocktails and appetizers, then had a bottle of wine with our entrees. All of us agreed that the food was superb. We enjoy the Carrabba's across the street, and enjoyed Grace's equally.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was wonderful and Tim gave us ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was wonderful and Tim gave us excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Usually a great place. However we had a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Usually a great place. However we had a new server who wasn't quite ready. Kept messing up the orders and forgetting to refill drinks. Had to ask other servers to please ask him to come to our table. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value5

Food was amazing, but service was lackin ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food was amazing, but service was lacking. Lunch in Houston should not take two hours, and we saw several other tables run through much quicker than us. We had to ask other servers to find our waitress on several occasions because she seemed to disappear.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Great place to go for dinner with your s ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great place to go for dinner with your spouse or for a business lunch. Love the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My date and I enjoyed our food. I had th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

My date and I enjoyed our food. I had the seafood Orka gumbo which was very tasty. My date had the fried chicken with green beans and potatoes. We were both surprised at how many pieces came with this meal and how hot it was from the kitchen. Thanks again!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My new favorite business luncheon spot!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

My new favorite business luncheon spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorites. Go there regularly ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

One of my favorites. Go there regularly with family and friends. Love the diverse menu. Outstanding service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was recommended by several acquainta ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

It was recommended by several acquaintances and I must say it was very enjoyable. I am excited to return for lunch and dinner soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the food and the service. I will ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I love the food and the service. I will definitely be back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Unique comfo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent food and service. Unique comfort food menu. Dining room is fantastic but we sat in the bar this time. The service and ambience there was great. The atmosphere was very friendly. I will go back to Grace's when I get back in town soon.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice atmosphere, we all ordered dif ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very nice atmosphere, we all ordered different meals and everything was over top, a little expensive but worth every penny

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would not recommend Grace's. As an ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I would not recommend Grace's.

As an appetizer, we had the potato dip with fried potato chips. The fried potato chips were very salty. The potato dip tasted like Velveeta cheese rather than potatoes.

For entree's, we had the Shrimp Stuffed Poblano Pepper and the Creole Stuffed Chicken. We both enjoyed our entree's. Although, I was disappointed that the shrimp were "popcorn" shrimp.

The desserts were below par. The highly recommended Carrot Cake tasted like it came from a box. The Bread Pudding was pathetic.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

I absolutely love Graces! The restaurant ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I absolutely love Graces! The restaurant's layout is so convenient for a family event, an intimate date, or even brunch with friends! The bartenders and waitstaff are always pleasant and amazing. The best of all is that the food is delicious! I have not had a meal yet that I haven't enjoyed!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is very good and the service ou ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food is very good and the service outstanding but it is very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

I really like Grace's. However, I was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I really like Grace's. However, I was very unhappy with our table this time. They seated us in the bar at a tiny table. There was barely enough room for me to pull out my chair to sit down. My client was stuffed into a little alcove adjacent to the booth which was behind her. It was not good at all. We asked to be moved but the only alternative they offered was worse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

My family and I came to Grace's for an e ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My family and I came to Grace's for an early Father's Day and Birthday dinner. We were seated prompt at our reservation time, our waiter was pleasant and our food was excellent. The decorate made me feel like I was entering my grandmother home. We will go again!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.