About Grace's

When owner Johnny Carrabba set out on his next restaurant venture, he knew his vision would include the fond memories he had of his dear grandmother Grace Mandola. Grace, also known to the family as Mama, was a Sicilian woman born to immigrant parents in Louisiana. She had a flair for cooking, hospitality, and deep faith.

She was known to make bread from scratch every Saturday for her legendary three-hour Sicilian Sunday lunches; and, her newly established family roots in Louisiana added interesting flavors to her home cooked meals. The entire Mandola family, including her five children and fourteen grandchildren, was regularly greeted in her home with smells of warm bread, well brewed sauces and homemade soups. It was around her table that her family learned the true meaning and value of relationships, friendships and good food. These memories are realized when one walks into Johnny Carrabba’s new restaurant, Grace's.

3111 Kirby Drive Houston
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Saturday: 9:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 9:00am - 9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 9:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Branard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 728-6410

Website:
http://www.gracesonkirby.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet as well as an adjoining four-story parking garage for our guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, our private dining space is an intimate and inviting space accommodating up to 45 people.

Grace's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (81)
Great for Lunch (54)
Casual (52)
See All
Good for a Date (49)
Good for Groups (48)
Great for Brunch (48)
Sunday Lunch (46)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Worth the Drive (40)
Special Occasion (37)
Authentic (36)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Business Meals (36)
Cozy (31)
Romantic (24)
Fun (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Hot Spot (18)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Kid-friendly (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
People Watching (8)
Scenic View (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Seasonal (5)
Spicy (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Healthy (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Live Sports (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
1283 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Love the staff,food,and parking. I will visit again. The frozen Mimosa was just right.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was very good. Was very busy and loud so a little difficult for conversation

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Lovely restaurant with a large parking lot and free valet parking. It was packed when we went on Sunday so make sure you have reservations. I got the crawfish Mac and cheese which I had heard about but was not on the menu. It was phenomenal!! My favorite part of the meal.

Tags: Spicy, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was okay. I would categorize it as generic, not inspired. I think they are trying to have too many things on the menu. You don't need Tex-Mex with your southern dishes.
There was nothing wrong with the place, but I wouldn't go out of my way to go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Solid place for a big group or family meal. Menu offers a wide variety of options to accommodate many tastes. I was doing Whole 30 during my visit to Graces and they easily accommodated my special dietary needs. The food was good and large portions. One downside is that it gets pretty busy and requires a wait even with reservations. Overall good experience though and look forward to going back for brunch! Pro tip - skip dessert and head to House of Pies across the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant is amazing. The flavors are selicious, the atmosphere is inviting and cozy. I have yet to be disappointed with any meal or dessert. This is a must visit!!

Tags: Live Sports, Happy Hour, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

The hostess and wait staff are professionals and treat everyone with the appropriate amount of attention and respect. The ambiance of the restaurant is what I might describe as down home elegant. Wonderful menu selection and incredible flavor and quality delivered in the selections we made which included the chicken pot pie, stuffed pork chop, baked chicken, and stuffed chicken breast. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Very slow, hour and half for biz lunch that could have been done in 50 mins

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Interesting menu, good food, and pleasant surroundings

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 8, 2018

This was the second visit. The food was salty and did not live up to its praise by the waiter. Oxtail Ravoli , was mostly just sauce and salty. So disappointed. My first experience was wonderful, What happen?

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on January 8, 2018

My great Houston friend recommended Graces.
I enjoyed your website and had a great time at supper

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 8, 2018

Services was great as was the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Food was just ok. It's not bad but not impressive. We (2 adults and 1 child) went there for Sunday brunch. Brunch menu items have an automatic gratuity charge of 18% added to your bill. That's not on rest of the menu. We did order fro brunch menu. Food comes about 5 minutes after ordering. That tells me that it was pre-cooked. They are also only lukewarm. Service was not good in my opinion. We felt like the server was rushing us to leave. He wasn't as attentive to our table as to some others.

Overall, it was just ok. I had much better. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

Overall the restaurant was wonderful. The service could have been a lot better due to the waiters standing around. We would have to look for someone if we had a question. Being that it was our first time their, the waiter did not give any recommendations nor pay attention as to when we asked questions. The food was very good and we would like to come back to try the brunch. Overall the scenery was wonderful. Great place to eat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Restaurant was smoky. The ventilation is bad..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Place was nice, food and that frozen mimosa was amazing but service was very slow and inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

As always, I enjoy everything about Grace's. Amazing ambiance and food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 6, 2018

I have always loved Grace's and have been there many times, but it was not good on this visit. Slow service, badly made martini that had to be sent back ( and I am not that picky). Was given 2 menu's with two different prices , I guess they did not cull old menu's when they increases prices, had to ask more than once for correct condiment, was given sour cream instead of mayo, I ordered the spare ribs which I had had before and they were not as good, Did the recipe change??The sauce was too strong or off.... I guess they were overloaded that night and needed more staff...
This was a celebration of a friend's big promotion to CEO at her company and nothing special was done though I mentioned in my reservations.
On the whole, rather disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Consistently good as always. Not the least expensive dinner you will have but always very, very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Always enjoy eating at Grace's. Service is always excellent. Food is very good, I love everything I've had there, especially the Brussel sprouts, fried chicken, fried pork chop, and short ribs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We went to Grace's for a birthday brunch celebration. I requested a seat by the fireplace. When we arrived we were told if was next to the first place, which was fine. However, it was a cold day and the fire was not lite, and the table we had was right next to the waiters galley (which was a little distracting). That was the only negative. Our waiter, Angel, was awesome. The food was delicious and the restaurant is pretty and comfortable. We also got a free birthday dessert!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

It’s a very good place to eat, reservations are not required, BUT they are recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Grace’s is aMaZiNg! My girlfriend’s and I go often, but this last time I attended with the hubby. Needless to say, he LOVED it! Food was EXCELLENT, and the frozen mimosas are DIVINE!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2017

I used to love this place, but it’s just average to me now. The past couple of times we’ve been there the food and service weren’t truly up to par - especially considering the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2017

The Mac and cheese was extremely salty as well as the batter for the chicken fried chicken for both of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Fabulous food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Food was fantastic, especially the shrimp relleno. Wine was reasonably priced. We ate in the bar/library since it is more casual. Server did a great job. All and all a great dinner with friends.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Our service was bad..... Restaurant was very busy anf our waiter had too many tables. A ''major'' contributing factor was that the restaurant has totally inadequate bus staff... Very slow refills on tea and removal of plates. One of our group had extra sour cream for a dish and got very sick later in the evening. Obviously, bad sour cream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
·Dined on December 23, 2017

One of my favorite places, only this time the seafood platter was disappointing. The fish had no flavor, shrimps were okay, but the stuffed crab was tasty. Sent the food back in hopes of getting better seasoned fish the second time. It came back the same. I boxed it up to give to my son at home. Although we weren't asking for anything, they comped our platters. I thought that was a great gesture!
I will continue to eat there, especially since the seafood campechanas is the BEST I've had!! Thanks Grace's!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Great food!! Excellent service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 21, 2017

The food was very delicious and the service was great. The noise level was very high so it was difficult to have a conversation with guests.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 20, 2017

A great place for a business lunch. A convenient spot to "meet in the middle" between downtown and Greenway Plaza. Sweet potato crusted fish special was outstanding. Delicious and a good value. Something for everyone on the eclectic menu.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 20, 2017

The holiday season is a great time to spend with new and old friends. Some really good friends that we haven't seen in over a year called and we invited them to dinner at Grace's. The reservation was perfect an 'on time'. The table was good and the waiter was really great. The food selection is both fine dining and comfort food. We enjoyed all the food and the service was great and it all made for a perfect get together.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2017

The food was savory and the service was pleasant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 16, 2017

While the food is excellent- it was so loud and noisy we could hardly talk to one another.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

Loved the service. Food was fantastic. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

Waiter was amazing & the food amazing as well. Definitely will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with a beautiful woman couldn’t ask for a better evening!!! She loved the meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

Wonderful experience. Wait staff very attentive- EXCELLENT service and great food.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 15, 2017

My family of 5 picked Grace's for dinner before heading to a play downtown. Everyone in the family found something on the menu that they throroughly enjoyed. The overall experience was excellent. The best part of the evening was our waiter, Loren. He was professional, engaging, attentive and made the evening better than we could have expected. We will be back and will definitely reserve a table in Loren's section.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.