About Grace's

When owner Johnny Carrabba set out on his next restaurant venture, he knew his vision would include the fond memories he had of his dear grandmother Grace Mandola. Grace, also known to the family as Mama, was a Sicilian woman born to immigrant parents in Louisiana. She had a flair for cooking, hospitality, and deep faith.

She was known to make bread from scratch every Saturday for her legendary three-hour Sicilian Sunday lunches; and, her newly established family roots in Louisiana added interesting flavors to her home cooked meals. The entire Mandola family, including her five children and fourteen grandchildren, was regularly greeted in her home with smells of warm bread, well brewed sauces and homemade soups. It was around her table that her family learned the true meaning and value of relationships, friendships and good food. These memories are realized when one walks into Johnny Carrabba’s new restaurant, Grace's.

3111 Kirby Drive Houston
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Branard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 728-6410

Website:
http://www.gracesonkirby.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet as well as an adjoining four-story parking garage for our guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Grace's, Houston, TX

Report a photo problem

Private Dining

Whether celebrating with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, our private dining space is an intimate and inviting space accommodating up to 45 people.

Grace's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (78)
Great for Lunch (51)
Good for a Date (48)
See All
Great for Brunch (44)
Casual (43)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Sunday Lunch (41)
Good for Groups (40)
Special Occasion (40)
Cozy (36)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Worth the Drive (31)
Family Style (29)
Authentic (28)
Business Meals (27)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Romantic (21)
Open Kitchen (20)
Outstanding Value (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Fun (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Local Ingredients (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
People Watching (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Private Room (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Healthy (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Fireplace (8)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Seasonal (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Spicy (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (3)
Organic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Historic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Sports (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
820 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The cornbread stuffed chicken was a hit ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 hours ago

The cornbread stuffed chicken was a hit with our group. The crab cake was good, however, there was a bit too much bread crumbs for my taste. I loved the grilled asparagus it had a nice chargrilled flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I visit this restrurant on Monday Januar ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

I visit this restrurant on Monday January 16 @ 7:30pm When entering the restaurant I was very disappointed the hostess made me and my family felt if we were walking into a fast restrurant.. I had to ask her to be seated, she ask if I had a reservation which we did because we were there to celebrate my wife birthday.. She acted if she really didn't want to be there however there's was a gentleman at the entry who I'm assuming was a manager he did greet us with a smile..Tye waiter black tall medium built guy was terrible he never ask if we been there before or if we were familiar with the menu, he was soft spoken with no personality did not engage with anyone at the table.. The appetizer was Great!!! and the food was Ok too.. Needs help in the Service area, I expected more from this restaurant..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I truly enjoy dining here, I've never ha ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

I truly enjoy dining here, I've never had a bad experience. The environment is relaxed and comfortable with top notch service. A great place for a business lunch, girls night, romantic evening or a family dinner. Always great service and consistently good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had an awesome time. Everyone was ver ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

We had an awesome time. Everyone was very friendly!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Grace's has become one of our favorite r ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Grace's has become one of our favorite restaurants in Houston ... maybe our favorite. Johnny Carrabba and his team excel in food quality/consistency and service. Manager, Lauren Fuller must sleep there because we see her at all times of day and night:) It's a special place and well worth our fifty mile one way trip.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

all the food is very well prepared and f ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

all the food is very well prepared and flavorful from all of my visits. For the quality and portion size, this is a value restaurant. It was unusually busy the Friday night, so louder than normal, but still within the "festive" rather than unpleasant category.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

It's very nice. Free self parking garag ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It's very nice. Free self parking garage. Valet parking available as well. Busy Friday night at 7:00 PM. Beautiful dining room. We ate in the bar with booths and can be less noisy than the main dining room. Make an Open Table reservation -- ours was honored immediately. Comfort food. The chicken pot pie and the fried chicken were both very good.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had lunch there. It was so loud we coul ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Had lunch there. It was so loud we could not even hear our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

We love the cozy bar at Grace's, it has ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We love the cozy bar at Grace's, it has a fun speakeasy feel to it. Six of us manage to cozy up around the round booth and pull up a couple of chairs. The food is great every time - comfort food at it's finest with a nice variety to choose from. The cocktails are always perfect and the waitstaff is always personal and friendly.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the best dining experien ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 9, 2017

This was one of the best dining experiences I ever had! The staff was great, the place is beautiful and the prices were reasonable.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was outstanding. Enjoyed a nice ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Service was outstanding. Enjoyed a nice casual Sunday night birthday dinner for my mom who loves comfort food. Thank you!

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Good for brunch!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Good for brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food and solid service. My table wa ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Good food and solid service. My table was less than ideal....awkwardly positioned in a booth behind a swinging door. I would definitely go back but request a different table.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebrated the Birthdays of two sons dur ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Celebrated the Birthdays of two sons during Sunday Brunch. Great choices and the waiter, Marcus was excellent, taking care of our every need.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Family Style, Private Room, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very cold day called for a special pla ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

A very cold day called for a special place to brunch with friends. Warm fire, good southern food, all was well until I got the bill. A party of 3 and the server added a 18% gratuity to the bill. The worst part is the server shorted himself, I tip Waaaaaay more than 18%.

There was no mention of automatic gratuity on the menu. I'm offended and won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

The food and service was great. The prob ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food and service was great. The problem we had was that we had a reservation for two at 8 pm were told that there was a 20 minute wait 59 mins later we were finally seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Still had to wait 30 minutes for a table ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Still had to wait 30 minutes for a table with a reservation.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great combination of comfort good and a ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great combination of comfort good and a comfortable atmosphere.

Never, ever disappoints!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent staff and excellent food. I wo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent staff and excellent food. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Easy self parking, food always great, se ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Easy self parking, food always great, service always wonderful. Randy's Chicken is the best.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The occasion was a birthday celebration. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The occasion was a birthday celebration. This was our first visit and we will definitely come back. The food was delicious, especially the carrot cake. Our waiter was very attentive. I also liked it that there was no background music making conversation much easier to hear. I will bring my husband next time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food was excellent. A real t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Service and food was excellent. A real treat for my out of town friends. Quiet enough we could talk, though it was a Wed. 7 pm seating and restaurant was not full. Casual southern elegance. Recommend

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Graces is a great restaurant - terrific ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Graces is a great restaurant - terrific menu and food delicious. The waiter was terrific. What more do you want?

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love being there!!! The service i ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Always love being there!!! The service is always wonderful and the food is delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites - sitting in the ba ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

One of our favorites - sitting in the bar to eat is the best. Great food, service and ambience. We love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was so pleasant to have lunch with fa ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

It was so pleasant to have lunch with family including kids for a friend's birthday! We ❤️Grace's

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were celabrating both New Years Eve a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were celabrating both New Years Eve and my son in law's more than his goal in sales at his company that moved him up to a new level

Great night

Our waiter Perry was the best

We love Grace's every time we go

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was very informative and provided ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Waiter was very informative and provided a great service. The food was seasoned well and had very good taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Seating seemed a little cramped. The foo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Seating seemed a little cramped. The food was good. The regular mac n cheese was excellent!

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food did not live up to the hype at ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food did not live up to the hype at all. The chicken was way too salty and the macaroni and cheese with bacon was not prepared with the right kind of cheese. In addition, it was cold in the restaurant and we had an issue with them not wanting to turn on the fireplace we were sitting right next to for fear up upsetting the couple next to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

This restaurant NEVER disappoints in foo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This restaurant NEVER disappoints in food as well as service. The staff is always courteous and attentive. The food is ALWAYS delicious!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The table was ready at our reservation t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The table was ready at our reservation time and the food was amazing!! We really loved our waiter and the atmosphere was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated a wonderful evening with my h ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Celebrated a wonderful evening with my husband. Great food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit. Great food. Great serv ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

First time visit. Great food. Great service. Great spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place for a girls night out during ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Nice place for a girls night out during the holidays! Crab cakes, mac and cheese were delicious!! The pineapple martini that was recommended by our waitress was AWESOME!! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Grace's is a marvelous place to dine. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Grace's is a marvelous place to dine. The ambience is great and the eclectic menu has something delicious for everyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was my 3rd visit to Graces!! Great ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This was my 3rd visit to Graces!!

Great food and service, everyone should try this Restaurant. Easy parking and access to the freeways.

I especially love the Crabcake!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Spicy, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food excellent.. service is less impress ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Food excellent.. service is less impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We arrived at the restaurant exactly 1 m ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We arrived at the restaurant exactly 1 min past our reserved time. We ended up waiting 15 min and at that point I told the hostess what was the point of making a reservation if we had to wait this long. She then asked if the 3 of us wanted to sit at a table for 6 rather than wait for the next 4 top.. obviously if we had a reservation, we should have been sat the the next available table rather than them waiting for a group of 6 to come and be seated before us.. we went with the 6 top table and it was fine.. the waiter didn't pay much attention to us at all. He took our order, I had to ask for the bread, and he came back after we were done eating, with the check. I've been here before with a friend who is a usual and we were treated like royalty. This goes to show, they are selective with their good service. The food is always great, that's the only good experience we had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Spicy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

My first visit with many more to come! ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 19, 2016

My first visit with many more to come! Loved everything about it - the food, the service, the decor - everything was perfect!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.