About Grace's

When owner Johnny Carrabba set out on his next restaurant venture, he knew his vision would include the fond memories he had of his dear grandmother Grace Mandola. Grace, also known to the family as Mama, was a Sicilian woman born to immigrant parents in Louisiana. She had a flair for cooking, hospitality, and deep faith.

She was known to make bread from scratch every Saturday for her legendary three-hour Sicilian Sunday lunches; and, her newly established family roots in Louisiana added interesting flavors to her home cooked meals. The entire Mandola family, including her five children and fourteen grandchildren, was regularly greeted in her home with smells of warm bread, well brewed sauces and homemade soups. It was around her table that her family learned the true meaning and value of relationships, friendships and good food. These memories are realized when one walks into Johnny Carrabba’s new restaurant, Grace's.

3111 Kirby Drive Houston
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Saturday: 9:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 9:00am - 9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 9:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Branard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 728-6410

Website:
http://www.gracesonkirby.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet as well as an adjoining four-story parking garage for our guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, our private dining space is an intimate and inviting space accommodating up to 45 people.

Grace's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (101)
Special Occasion (79)
Great for Lunch (75)
See All
Good for Birthdays (73)
Great for Brunch (71)
Good for a Date (67)
Sunday Lunch (64)
Casual (58)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Business Meals (51)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Good for Groups (45)
Cozy (45)
Worth the Drive (42)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Family Style (35)
Authentic (34)
Romantic (34)
Fun (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Open Kitchen (25)
Quiet Conversation (25)
People Watching (21)
Hot Spot (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Modern Decor (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Tasting Menu (17)
Kid-friendly (16)
Fireplace (15)
Private Room (13)
Local Ingredients (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Quick Bite (7)
Healthy (7)
Historic (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Seasonal (6)
Scenic View (6)
Spicy (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Live Music (2)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
997 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 10 hours ago

Service was friendly, food came out quickly and the steak frites with mashed potatoes and asparagus was delicious. The teriyaki tuna tacos with mesquite grilled corn was excellent. Flourless chocolate cake was good, but it wasn't very warm, which was disappointing. Overall, a good experience and I would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Was recommended by friend – said to get a reservation because it's always full. The food was delightful and I don't think I've ever described anything as delightful. Will be sure to go back if in Houston.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

True comfort food in a homey but elegant setting. Top of the line service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

The whole Grace's experience was perfection. We chose Grace's because previous experiences had been so good, but today was the best

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

I had a pleasant time, and the food and customer service...GREAT!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything, the service, food, hostess, it's always perfect. I had the Chicken fried chicken biscuit with jalapeño cream gravy and it was OUTSTANDING! My boyfriend had the banana pancakes, and his daughter had a pancake with a side of ice cream. We have always had more than a great meal at Graces.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service were fantastic. The total experience was marginal because of tables jammed to close together and an unbearable noise level. We could not hear each other talk.
I recommend trying it on a week night or maybe for brunch.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

As always, the food was delicious and the service was excellent. Our very pleasant server Glen went above and beyond.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

This place is amazing. It's quickly become one of my favorites. I tried the shrimp and grits for the first time ever and was very impressed. I going right back for more. The 18% automatic gratuity is a bummer but the food and atmosphere are really nice.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was good. Our waiter was a little slow. The air was cold making it uncomfortable to enjoy your meal. I'm glad I remembered to bring a jacket. It was cold the last time I went there too.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Nice meal and atmosphere

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The food is here is always great and usually the staff is, as well. On my last visit, Sunday evening, our waiter left a lot to be desired.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Healthy, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, People Watching, Afternoon Tea, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Spicy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 15, 2017

That was our first time going wasn't in the mood for that kind of food,did order drinks asked for our ticket server Robert never came to collect payment so we left it on the table he ran outside behind us without even checking the table so embarrassing so we back in and the book was on a chair next to the busboy. With that being done we will never ever go to graces again. By the way I've been a restaurant manager for 10 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went on Mother's Day and the restaurant was packed. Service is usually excellent but you could see how exhausted their staff was and service was affected. The food was fantastic as always.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I love Todd and Tim!
Best servers ever!!! Brunch and Dinner are amazing!

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My new favorite restaurant in Houston. Lunch, brunch and dinner menus choice are outstanding!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have visited Grace's on numerous occasions and I regret to say this was the first time the food was subpar. Two of my dinner guest were served cold mashed potatoes with their entrée and a third guest complained the seafood platter was very dry and lacked any taste. I hope this instance was only due to the Mother's Day crowd and not a pattern that will continue. For me, I ordered the Steak Fritte (16 ounce rib-eye with fries) . The steak was flavorful, but a little on the fatty side for a rib-eye. Will I go back? Of course, Grace's is one of my favorite hang-outs. I just hope they do not disappoint again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food & service. Although We arrived 20 minutes late we were seated within 30 minutes despite how busy they were.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Too expensive could have gotten food a little cheaper somewhere else my mom enjoyed your self but we want be returning

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

•Loud environment
•25 mins. wait although I had reservations
•Food was not hot
•Tight seating areas

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was great! Our waiter was horrible. It took him forever to bring my drink. My food had came out before he brought me something to drink.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was my first visit. I took my mother and best friend for Mother's Day, which was their first visit as well. We had an exceptional waiter. I wish I was goid at remembering names, but I'm not. Anyway, he was very professional, and fun, and provided helpful suggestions regarding food selections. Everything he recommended was great. The only negative feedback I have to offer was the abundance of salt used to season the food. The spinach and asparagus was heavily salted, even the re-dos. The batter on my chicken fried chicken was so salty I had to remove it. That defeated the whole purpose of "fried".

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Quick Bite, Family Style, Fun, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Casual, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

As always, everything was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Awesome lunch/ brunch. We wanted to expose my Mother to a new place. This was a great choice. We sampled each other's plates and the food was excellent!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It was our first time, it was my Son's college graduation luncheon and it was great. Our waiter Barry was excellent!!!! Will be back soon!!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our reservation's was 115pm & after checking in, our table was ready at 110!!!! Loved it!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great place to dine!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I recommend the Randi's fried chicken. Excellent choice. Also the pot pork roast. Great seasoning and food is out by 15 mins. Free parking in the garage behind the restaurant also.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fun, Spicy, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 11, 2017

This restaurant was the prefect setting to host my gradaute school graduation dinner. The food was great and the staff provided excellent service. I would definitely have other gatherings here. Everyone was nice and friendly and praised me for my accomplishment.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

My husband and I have been to Grace's at least 15 times since it opened. We have been here for spontaneous dinners out and also as a part of large groups. It is always excellent, this trip was no exception.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Very nice resteraunt, food was great and service was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I tried Graces for the first time yesterday. The food was really delicious and during the week days for lunch you are able to choose a complimentary soup or salad which was great because I was looking forward to trying the chicken tortilla soup. Some guests in my party commented that the salad seemed like it came out of a store bought bag so they should have fresh salad for a place like that where I'm sure most people are ordering salads. The grilled chicken breast was slightly dry as well but it still had a smoky flavor. Everything overall was great and I would most likely dine here again.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Had seen this restaurant in the area and wanted to try it, finally did and glad we did! Of course it was a very busy Sunday, but we had fortunately made a reservation in advance. The staff was so polite and helpful. Our server was exceptional. The food was wonderful from the salad to the fried chicken to the pancake desert!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Met the GM for the first time. Appeared to be very focused.
First impression are lasting impressions. Enough said.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent, friendly, courteous service. My guests were impressed.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food. Most entrees are enough for two! Service was impeccable!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great fun and good food. Less than stellar waiter, but he was OK and we had a wonderful time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Grace's was more than I expected so that was a pleasant surprise. I had the impression it would be more casual but the white tablecloths at least prepared me for a more than expensive menu I hadn't expected. It is expensive for some place so family oriented. And it's noisy. The dining room is large, the ceilings high and the sound echos. But it's still a nice place to visit as everyone is prone to do. We saw lots of business lunch attired folks but I wouldn't want to try and have a client lunch there with all the noise. Perhaps there are smaller, quieter rooms than the main dining room. Overall, the food was really good and we had a nice time save for the expensive bill.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Really good food and good service. A little bit loud if you are trying to have a quiet conversation.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We have been to Grace's many times and usually it is our neighborhood "go to" when we invite friends for dinner. The last couple times were disappointing (food mediocre, service mediocre) but this time it was all fabulous. Food was great - everyone was very happy with their choices - service was outstanding. I am glad they are back on track and I suspect Johnny Mandolla personally oversaw more attention and focus to detail. We will definitely put this back in the list of places to go to more frequently. BTW - the desserts are just to die for! Everything is good, but they are ridiculously superb. We are in walking distance to Grace's and decided we will probably walk over for dessert and iced team sometimes when we feel like a giant splurge in goodness.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.