About Grace's

3111 Kirby Drive Houston
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

When owner Johnny Carrabba set out on his next restaurant venture, he knew his vision would include the fond memories he had of his dear grandmother Grace Mandola. Grace, also known to the family as Mama, was a Sicilian woman born to immigrant parents in Louisiana. She had a flair for cooking, hospitality, and deep faith.

She was known to make bread from scratch every Saturday for her legendary three-hour Sicilian Sunday lunches; and, her newly established family roots in Louisiana added interesting flavors to her home cooked meals. The entire Mandola family, including her five children and fourteen grandchildren, was regularly greeted in her home with smells of warm bread, well brewed sauces and homemade soups. It was around her table that her family learned the true meaning and value of relationships, friendships and good food. These memories are realized when one walks into Johnny Carrabba’s new restaurant, Grace's.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Branard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 728-6410

Website:
http://www.gracesonkirby.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet as well as an adjoining four-story parking garage for our guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Grace's
Grace's

Private Dining

Whether celebrating with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, our private dining space is an intimate and inviting space accommodating up to 45 people.

Grace's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (103)
Good for Groups (98)
Great for Lunch (98)
See All
Great for Brunch (86)
Fit for Foodies (80)
Neighborhood Gem (71)
Romantic (45)
Hot Spot (34)
Comfort Food (29)
Kid-friendly (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for a Date (21)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Casual (15)
Business Meals (14)
Authentic (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Cozy (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Scenic View (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fun (7)
Family Style (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Tasting Menu (4)
Private Room (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
696 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This place was perfect for Saturday brun ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 2 days ago

This place was perfect for Saturday brunch with the family. I would highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very impressed with the look of th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 3 days ago

I was very impressed with the look of this resturaunt & the food was amazing. Delicious! Everyone with me loved it as well. Will definitely come again & tell others about it

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I now believe all carrot cake should be ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

I now believe all carrot cake should be served with a mini carafe of warm cream cheese frosting! Totally FABULOUS! So glad I decided to end my birthday celebration here.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our recent visit to Gr ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We really enjoyed our recent visit to Grace's! Everything we ordered was superb and our server was spot on when making suggestions! We had made our reservation and when we arrived we were offered the available spots for two (open kitchen or in bar area), or we could wait another 5-10 minutes for a dining room table to get up. We are easy going and I chose the bar area even though it seemed busy. The chairs were so comfortable I no longer cared! Ha!

I enjoyed the wine list but they do not provide a cocktail list, just a completely stocked and open bar. Matthew was our server and he was very considerate and fun even though we had questions and couldn't make up our minds!

We settled on a cup of gumbo, house salad, the stuffed poblano, fried chicken, and that was that.

The gumbo was dark and had the perfect amount of spice. My husband enjoyed the salad so much he said he could have had a larger one as an entree. It looked divine! Not your average house salad.

When our entrees arrived, our eyes sparkled because everything looked so amazing! Both dishes were huge!

Hubby tore into the fried chicken and I even got to snag a couple bites. Really nice seasoning and very moist just how fried chicken should be! My stuffed poblano was AMAZINGLY just like Matthew said it would be. Every single bite had so much flavor! Shrimp and crawfish, delicious rice and cream with the perfectly done pepper... So good!

We both had some to take home and then we decided to try a dessert.

I had the Godiva freeze, perfect light tasty way to end a meal although for the price I would have enjoyed it being slightly larger. My husband had the bread pudding with coffee and said it was wonderful, as well.

We were so delighted and enjoyed everything so much! We will probably order the sundae to share next time. ;)

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We really enjoyed Grace's. They have man ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We really enjoyed Grace's. They have many "comfort" dishes on the menu. The food with well-spiced with a pleasant kick. The servers are attentive even when the restaurant is busy. Parking is easy with the adjacent free parking garage. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I have been here many times! I brought m ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I have been here many times! I brought my husband for our anniversary I knew he would like it and he loved it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The outside patio was beautiful and cool ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The outside patio was beautiful and cool considering we live in Houston and it was the tail end of Summer. The food was great, but one dish was unexpectedly spicy. The wine was great and the desserts amazing. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for date night or a special occasion.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was delicious and the wait staf ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food was delicious and the wait staff is first rate. I could not decide on what to order so our server ordered for me and it was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My dish of beef stroganoff was too salt ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

My dish of beef stroganoff was too salty. I am in the "heavy taste" range; if I find it salty, it is over the limit. This is my first visit and hope I will have better experience with other dishes next time.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food, the waitress, the quietness, and t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Food, the waitress, the quietness, and they were able to accommodate my request for table location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Once again! With 16 people in my party J ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Once again! With 16 people in my party Jonathan did great! The food is amazing! Thank you so much for making my mom's 82nd birthday brunch wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place and the food is to die ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Love this place and the food is to die for the service is excellent

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We met some friends and enjoyed a great ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We met some friends and enjoyed a great meal with great service. The Sticky Ribs appetizer was delicious. My wife had MAW MAW'S PORK POT ROAST with creamy mashed potatoes - awesome. I had RANDI'S FRIED CHICKEN - awesome. Got the bread pudding and a piece of carrot cake for dessert - double awesome.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time at Graces and w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This was our second time at Graces and we absolutely love it. We love the cozy booth in the bar and Peter has given us exceptional, fun service both times. The food, cocktails and wine are delicious, and the historic Houston photos that line the walls are a wonderful, vintage touch. We'll be back often, Graces is one of our new favorite spots, and we dine out several times a week all over Houston.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate in the bar area (although not at ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We ate in the bar area (although not at the bar). This is a smaller room and definitely cozy. Service was excellent and prompt (mostly Pete - it was done on a team basis). Menu is a bit more adventurous than some without being wildly exotic, Beets salad and Beef Stroganoff were both very well executed. Dessert menu is not extensive.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food in a warm, homey but eleg ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Wonderful food in a warm, homey but elegant atmosphere. Cozy bar.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had fried seafood platter. Catfish a bi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Had fried seafood platter. Catfish a bit overdone. Stuffed crab didn't taste right so didn't finish it. Rest of meal good. Gumbo was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

This is probably the sixth review I've d ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This is probably the sixth review I've done on Graces. It is my favorite restaurant in all of Houston. For twice the money you can find a meal as good but you won't find consistently good food and service for a reasonable price like you will at Grace's. You could literally just close your eyes and point at the menu and say bring me that and it will be outstanding. Best Chicken Tortilla soup I've ever had. It has so many flavors that the name should be changed. Godiva Freeze is the perfect small dessert when you want something but not too much. Great steaks, pork chop, and gumbo as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very salty and adequate. I ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food was very salty and adequate. I liked the atmosphere. I felt rushed to eat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I thought the food was good - I had frie ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I thought the food was good - I had fried chicken and hubby had short ribs - but I thought it was overpriced. Also, our waiter gave a very strange description of the oxtail ravioli - which I was going to get. He said it's good as long as they cook it right - uhh, do they sometimes cook it wrong?! Anyway, I would go back for the mac and cheese alone. Totally delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience, had a awesome evening ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great experience, had a awesome evening dining. Can't wait to return👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Family Style, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Jonathan was great. It was ou ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our server Jonathan was great. It was our first time and he was so patient. The food was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Best food ever! My daughter your & enco ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Best food ever! My daughter your & encouraged to go there! It phenomenal! Loved it & am going o tell all of my friends it. I pleasantly surprised. It was really great.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

AMAZING AS ALWAYS! Had braised short ri ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

AMAZING AS ALWAYS! Had braised short ribs with polenta this time, awesome. My friend didn't love her oxtail ravioli, but everyone else loved all they ordered. Especially the tuna stack and fried oyster salad.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved Grace's. The service was excep ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We loved Grace's. The service was exceptional and the food was delicious! Can't wait to return!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Cozy, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the second time for me and my f ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

This was the second time for me and my family. We tried a totally different menu. We all agree, Grace's is a hidden jewel and the food is top 10 in Houston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my second time to Grace's both t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

This is my second time to Grace's both times were to celebrate birthdays. They have something on the menu for everybody. Perfectly cooked Southern Comfort dishes, mouth watering steaks, a wide array of fresh vegetable sides, crab cakes with a lot of crab not full of breading, and great salads and desserts. The only addition I would have liked is a french baguette or sourdough bread basket rather than garlic toast though it was very spicy and good. It is noisy in the main room but there is a back room that was much quieter if you are a couple or small group and has a very warm and welcoming atmosphere. There is an extensive selection of wines, beers, and cocktails too. The service is excellent with food coming in a timely manner, the staff knowledgeable, glasses refilled quickly and everyone friendly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Grace's. The food was so good, wi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I love Grace's. The food was so good, wine selection was good and service was excellent. It was a bit noisey but when the weather is nice the outdoor eating area is awesome. I will definitely be back

Tags: Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the cornbread stuffed chicken ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I ordered the cornbread stuffed chicken breast with cream gravy..one side of candied yams and one side of fresh green beans. I think was absolutely delicious! I will never dining in with my bestfriend this week! Our server was excellent.. Perry was very attentive...prompt..pleasant..and made our dining experience grand! Kudos to Perry R. and to Grace's!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Graces is the perfect neighborhood gem. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Graces is the perfect neighborhood gem. A great go to restaurant when wanting to take someone some where nice but looking for a comfortable feel. Order the fried pork chop, it does not disappoint. Enjoy :)

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible Service. Sat outside with my do ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Terrible Service. Sat outside with my dog and had ho go in twice to get help. Also don't think tip should automatically be added. Won't be back for a long time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

First time visiting Grace in Houston is ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

First time visiting Grace in Houston is was a great experience food,service ambience! On my next visit to Houston I will go back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The noise level was excessively loud. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The noise level was excessively loud. The kind of loud when you walked outside to leave your ears welcome the quiet. Not sure what made it so loud that evening other than several group tables.

Service is usually fantastic, not so much this evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

The service was terrible. The server ope ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The service was terrible. The server openly waited hand and foot on two tables of white patrons and totally ignored us. I notified the management on 2 occasions and they did nothing. They just brushed me off and never had the courtesy to acknowledge my issue. The food was good but they have demonstrated to me they have preferred clientele.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Nice variety of dishes. Home style cooki ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Nice variety of dishes. Home style cooking, Asian touches, Italian, etc. Good service. The restaurant was full and a bit noisy, but there was a party at a large table next to us, so maybe it is not always so bad.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappoints! The food is fabulous ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Never disappoints! The food is fabulous...and you shouldn't leave without trying the baked potato dip with homemade potato chips! The service is great and we haven't had anything subpar!

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Grace's three times now a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I have been to Grace's three times now and every time is exceptional. The service and food is always consistent. I have never had a bad meal or experience. Great for wonderful flavors and date nights. They are accommodating to larger groups as well. Love the ox tail raviolis.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food the service is always the top. ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The food the service is always the top. Have never been disappointed with anything

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

LOVED IT!! My husband has lived in the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

LOVED IT!! My husband has lived in the states for 12 years and thinks this was one of his best meals here. I agree. Amazing food and great prices and adorable restaurant. We split the fried oyster salad and it was to die for. I had the fried quail with mouth watering mashed potatoes and mexi-corn. Husband had creole stuffed chicken with Brussels sprouts and mac & cheese. We were practically moaning with every bite. And trust me, we eat at a lot of places!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waiter was amazing. The food was fa ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our waiter was amazing. The food was fantastic. The ambiance was perfect for any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.