About Grace's

When owner Johnny Carrabba set out on his next restaurant venture, he knew his vision would include the fond memories he had of his dear grandmother Grace Mandola. Grace, also known to the family as Mama, was a Sicilian woman born to immigrant parents in Louisiana. She had a flair for cooking, hospitality, and deep faith.

She was known to make bread from scratch every Saturday for her legendary three-hour Sicilian Sunday lunches; and, her newly established family roots in Louisiana added interesting flavors to her home cooked meals. The entire Mandola family, including her five children and fourteen grandchildren, was regularly greeted in her home with smells of warm bread, well brewed sauces and homemade soups. It was around her table that her family learned the true meaning and value of relationships, friendships and good food. These memories are realized when one walks into Johnny Carrabba’s new restaurant, Grace's.

3111 Kirby Drive Houston
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Saturday: 9:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 9:00am - 9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 9:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Branard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 728-6410

Website:
http://www.gracesonkirby.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet as well as an adjoining four-story parking garage for our guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, our private dining space is an intimate and inviting space accommodating up to 45 people.

Grace's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (111)
Great for Lunch (90)
Good for Birthdays (80)
See All
Special Occasion (77)
Great for Brunch (72)
Sunday Lunch (68)
Casual (62)
Good for a Date (60)
Business Meals (60)
Good for Groups (55)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Worth the Drive (42)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Authentic (40)
Fun (39)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Cozy (31)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Bar Seating (25)
Romantic (25)
Hot Spot (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Kid-friendly (20)
People Watching (20)
Family Style (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Quick Bite (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Private Room (9)
Seasonal (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Spicy (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Healthy (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Fireplace (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Scenic View (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Historic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Live Sports (2)
Late-night Find (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1078 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

We've dined here several times and find the food generally good. the service is excellent, well trained staff, polite and attentive. The noise level varies from loud to deafening at times, but otherwise, a nice local place for a reliable meal and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Two friends and I had a wonderful dinner at Grace's Restaurant. We all decided on the lighter side choices and we're not disappointed. It was a very enjoyable evening and we will definitely return,

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Grace's is a nice gem. Great comfort food. If you are counting calories, don't go. If you love fried chicken, pot roast, and food your Mom used to make, this is the place. I love Grace's

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

The food, the service and the ambience were all what I've come to expect as Grace's. The pot roast and mashed potatoes were first rate. Our waiter provided excellent and low key service. I will continue to recommend Grace's for a good dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place for small or large parties! The service is always exceptional for the moment you walk in.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

almost a regular here lol...always great food and great times......consistent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was amazing, especially the wings and waffles. The service was sub par. Our waiter seemed very monotone and not excited to be there.

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

My waiter was extremely slow, but I would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Way too noisy to talk over the din. Several large parties that were in a separate room, but not closed off. Singing and clapping were too much to hear over. And our server was either too over stretched or had a bad memory. We had to ask several times where our drink order was. Refills too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Do not go if you're looking for a quiet place to talk. You have to yell like you are in a club to be heard over all the noise. I don't understand what it is about Carrabba's restaurants that they all think it's so cool to see and hear the kitchen. It only makes it much more noisy. Unfortunately, we were seated right in front of the kitchen and the restaurant was very crowded. The food was excellent, but I was hoarse from having to scream to be heard by my table-mates.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Third time dining at Graces. Each time food and service are superb. So tasty. Looking forward to the next visit.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I alway enjoy my food except on this last visit. The steak was old and burnt. I didn't make a fuss because my date was visiting the restaurant for the first time.
I'll be back and hope this was a fluke.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Very homey feel!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Awesome food and awesome service at a great price! Menu has something for everyone especially high quality old fashioned home cooking. Love the ambience of eating in someone's home too! Bar is a great place for a quick bite too!!!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Ate at the bar, great settings for good conversation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 9, 2017

This is my second visit to Grace's and they were just as good as the first time I came! My friends each tried the oxtails ravioli and shrimp & grits and they loved each entree! I had the beef & chorizo picadillo breakfast...soo good! Oh and we started our meal by trying the baked potato dip...definate must try! Thanks for helping make my girlfriends birthday so great!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Casual, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

You can't go wrong with the gumbo or tortilla soup. Really good! Never had a bad meal and service is great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Experience was so so. Food was ok, but the fried chicken in bone was very messy. Waiter was ok. Very nice, but busy with other tables. Left to find it had rained and the valet had parked my car under a crepe myrtle tree. I will need a car wash to get it all off. Really stuck into the groves of my back window. Basically waste of time would have rather gone to Mia's. Food just as good and less expensive.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Love this place. Great food and attentive service. What could be better?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Louis was great and personable. Food was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food. Good atmosphere and service. Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I recommend going here for brunch! The waffle and wings were very good-- the wings are well-seasoned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Occasion: We were celebrating mom's 90th birthday. Our server, Peter interacted well with our 5-person party (including responding appropriately to moms' forgetfulness). He even comp'd her mimosa. She had a wonderful time. Everyone agreed Grace's will be acted to our respective recommendation/revisit lists.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Stopped for dinner on our way downtown to the theater. Food was great and we were in and out in plenty of time to make our show without feeling rushed. We love Grace's!

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Grace's continues to be one of my 'go-to' restaurants for many occasions: business lunches, date nights, after-church brunch, girls' lunch...on-point friendly service, delicious food and presentations...and where else in this city are you going to find oxtail ravioli (my fave!)?

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 28, 2017

As always, Grace's has great food, service, and ambiance. Thanks Johnny for another awesome restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 27, 2017

One of our favorites.....We eat here often. A great combination of different cultures.

Really great chicken fried chicken...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 25, 2017

This is good southern comfort food. I would recommend the fried chicken, macaroni and cheese, and the frozen Mimosas. Everything my party ate was delicious. The pork chop and the waffle tasted just as great. Even the broccolini was bursting with flavor. I would definitely come back again.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Graces did not miss a beat. Great dining experience, and impeccable service. This is the expectation from a Johnny Carrabba restaurant and it did not disappoint.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This was my first visit to Grace's and I was pleasantly surprised by the ambiance and service. The food was absolutely amazing and our waiter Bruce felt like family. I'll definitely be back!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The food was amazing! I had the oxtail ravioli and my fiancé had the sticky ribs and canal street mac and cheese. Taste buds were on overload because of the flavors in our meal. Oh, and dessert...the apple pie...yummy!! If we are in the Houston area again, we will definitely be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The drinks were great, atmosphere was delightful and the food was out of this world! Can't wait to come back again!! Loved the whole experience!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Fun, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 23, 2017

My only issue was the seating. It was entirely too small of an area

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We had been referred by friends, so when the right occasion arose (family birthday) we decided to go to Grace's, and we were not disappointed. Everything from ambiance to service to food, was wonderful and we cannot wait to come back and try different items off the menu; we have already recommended to others. Our waiter was very attentive and helpful, making the experience so much better. We look forward to returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Took boyfriend for Father's Day. It was his second time, my 5th. I had the oxtail ravioli and yams. He had the stuff chicken w green beans. Everything was great. Prices are moderate. Love the menu. Not to fun of the desserts.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Have dined before with reservations, had to wait quite awhile with reservations. And, when seated was seated in the bar area.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Love love love this place food was very good nice product presentation food wasn't too expensive at all the mimos were also lovely but was just too cold by the bar due to employees keeping the freezer open other than that a great experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We found the Sunday Brunch to be a pretty busy time to go. Reservations essential as I heard over an hour wait for walk ins.
Enjoyed the Food, not too many brunch locations in town, so a solid choice.
Our Server was busy, but seemed to enjoy what he does and had a lot of pride in his restaurant and it's food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Thank you Grace's for a wonderful brunch experience pin Father's Day! The ladies are the hostess with the mostess! Lol thank you for taking care of my request. I wish I remembered our waitress name.ugh very nice. My boyfriend and I will be back! 🤗😘

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Friendly ambiance! The pork chop and eggs were delicious! Frozen mimosa.. awesome. Great value; portion size was good. Will definitely visit again

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.