About Grace's

3111 Kirby Drive Houston
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

When owner Johnny Carrabba set out on his next restaurant venture, he knew his vision would include the fond memories he had of his dear grandmother Grace Mandola. Grace, also known to the family as Mama, was a Sicilian woman born to immigrant parents in Louisiana. She had a flair for cooking, hospitality, and deep faith.

She was known to make bread from scratch every Saturday for her legendary three-hour Sicilian Sunday lunches; and, her newly established family roots in Louisiana added interesting flavors to her home cooked meals. The entire Mandola family, including her five children and fourteen grandchildren, was regularly greeted in her home with smells of warm bread, well brewed sauces and homemade soups. It was around her table that her family learned the true meaning and value of relationships, friendships and good food. These memories are realized when one walks into Johnny Carrabba’s new restaurant, Grace's.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Branard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 728-6410

Website:
http://www.gracesonkirby.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet as well as an adjoining four-story parking garage for our guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Grace's, Houston, TX
Grace's, Houston, TX

Private Dining

Whether celebrating with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, our private dining space is an intimate and inviting space accommodating up to 45 people.

Grace's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (80)
Special Occasion (58)
Great for Brunch (56)
See All
Good for a Date (54)
Good for Groups (52)
Great for Lunch (50)
Sunday Lunch (47)
Casual (45)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Cozy (33)
Business Meals (33)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Authentic (26)
Open Kitchen (25)
Worth the Drive (25)
Romantic (25)
Family Style (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Outstanding Value (21)
Fun (19)
Hot Spot (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Kid-friendly (16)
Local Ingredients (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
People Watching (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Private Room (11)
Seasonal (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Healthy (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Fireplace (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Scenic View (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Spicy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Live Sports (3)
Historic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
765 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best bar best bar staff best martini in ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Best bar best bar staff best martini in forever. The baked potato appetizer- outstanding. Tuna tartare - excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a nice dinner with a friend last nig ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a nice dinner with a friend last night to just catch up! So great to have a place where you can hear each other's conversation! Decorated like home, food like home. Great service, we never lacked for anything. Good attention from wait staff but never intrusive. The fried chicken special was enormous, and will be enjoyed for lunch again today! Thanks for a nice evening.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit to Grace's (fir ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

This was my second visit to Grace's (first time for dinner, this time for casual business lunch). A restaurant is outstanding in my book if I'm not able to identify a single thing that I wish had been "better" and Grace's didn't disappoint in any category. One observation -- I did find the main dining room to be noisy at lunch (but to be fair, it was a packed house -- my dinner experience was much calmer and quieter) -- it was just fine for my particular occasion, but I would not recommend the main dining room for a formal business lunch. But that is a minor issue overall -- I live in this neighborhood and it is great to have a restaurant like this so nearby -- it is just a very nice restaurant, with "comfortable and not stuffy" atmosphere, a menu that will appeal to a lot of different tastes, and prices that are quite affordable for what is really a very nice dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went for brunch with out of town family ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Went for brunch with out of town family and Grace's did not disappoint!!! The food especially the strawberry pancakes were simply

amazing. My waiter was really very nice and the service was impeccable. The only thing I found interesting is that they added gratuity of 18% to a party of 3. It was no problem I actually gave 20% because the service was great, but I hadn't experienced this with a small party. This is why they did not earn 5's across the board. Also love covered parking garage next door!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing food! You won't be disappointed! ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Amazing food! You won't be disappointed! This was the best meal I've ever had in Houston!

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have dined at Grace's a few times befo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 30, 2016

I have dined at Grace's a few times before and always had excellent food and service. This time we had a brand new waiter who was clearly not entirely trained and ready for prime time. He was not familiar with the restaurant's bar options, and had to go back to the bar to ask questions (more than once) when taking our beverage order. After taking our entrée order, he came back to the table again to ask one of our diners a follow up question about their order. While he was friendly enough, his lack of confidence was evident and slowed everything down. Certainly not a way to impress our business guest.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Incredibly good service. The food was a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Incredibly good service. The food was also good: I recommend the fried quail.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I started with the crab and ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 28, 2016

My wife and I started with the crab and shrimp campenchana and it was incredible. We've had it at Goode Seafood and Pappas seafood and this was the best. It is a must try. I had the fried chicken. It wasn't the best I've had, but good. I don't need to have it again. My wife had the creole chicken stuffed with crabmeat and it also was really good. The portions were perfect for the price. We had our leftovers for dinner and were full. The service was absolutely flawless. I can't remember the gentleman's name at this moment, but his attentiveness and suggestions were timely. He was a bald African American man and when we return we will request him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Martinis, love the burger. we caes ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Great Martinis, love the burger. we caesar dressing was perfection.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service and food.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wonderful service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal with great southern favor ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Wonderful meal with great southern favorites. Each dish we ordered was delicious. Very pleased how attentive they were with our toddlers needs!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Grace's is one of my favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Grace's is one of my favorite restaurants in a town that has a broad variety of offerings.

I recently hosted a birthday celebration for a relative and specifically requested the quietest areas available. We were placed in the bar which caused me some initial consternation, but it turned out to be a very good choice. Our waiter was superb, friendly and impressively knowlegeable about the menu. Everyone truly enjoyed the food which was ample and tasty. The martinis are the best in Houston, I think.

I highly recommend this place for any kind of a celebration; the staff goes out of their way to meet your specifications.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Grace's for my birthday dinne ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We went to Grace's for my birthday dinner. The food was very well seasoned, portions large and the ambiance is really great. It makes you feel that you're in your classy grandmother's house.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was really good.

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Food was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the shrimp & grits and waffles & ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Enjoyed the shrimp & grits and waffles & wings for Sunday brunch. Our server, Donnie, was very attentive!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always great food. I would definitely r ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Always great food. I would definitely recommend the restaurant to my friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food his great ! ... love the atmosp ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food his great ! ... love the atmosphere and energy no matter where you are in the restaurant. Especially love our wait staff K C..... The manager John is very attentive to the clients.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have always been cheerfully greeted an ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I have always been cheerfully greeted and my friends and myself have been promptly taken to a table. The service and the food has , each visit, been good and delicious. Thank you for no loud music in the background. People may sit at table and have a normal conversation while dining. On some occasions, the "boss man" himself has visited at our table. Yes, I like Grece's.

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely delicious, howev ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious, however, service was a bit lacking. They sat us at the bar room which would've been ok....however, our waiter was also the bar tender and was doing a million other things. By the time he came to check up on us we were already basically finished with our meal. Then it took another 15 minutes to get our check.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Grace's is always a "go-to" restaurant f ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Grace's is always a "go-to" restaurant for great food, service, and atmosphere. My meals are always cooked with perfection and done with finesse. The servers are courteous, friendly, and quick to attend to any requests. Make a reservation when you can as this is a hot spot because of the quality of food, service, and location. My first selection as a quality restaurant for family, friends, and guests; very pleased.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Hot Spot, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an excellent restaurant...... Bo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This is an excellent restaurant...... Both our dinners were very good -- chicken and beef strog., which is hard to find. Reasonable pricing........Nice place -- old style design.... Parking an issue..

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

A special friends gathering to show off ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 7, 2016

A special friends gathering to show off the restaurant to out-of-town guests. Wonderful setting and excellent food. Lemon pie is memorable. The chicken pot pie -- like someone in the kitchen doubled up on the black pepper. Still a memorable lunch.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

This was our first time at Grace's and i ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This was our first time at Grace's and it was a very pleasant experience. The food was good and the ambiance was really nice. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We love dining at Graces. The menu is e ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We love dining at Graces. The menu is expansive enough that everyone gets their choice and the atmosphere is fun! If you want a more quiet environment, dine in the bar.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Grace's to celebrate a close ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We went to Grace's to celebrate a close friend triumph in beating Cancer. The choice was a wonderful one that we all enjoyed. Our waiter Kasey was above and beyond on point all night, he was wonderful and very attentive. He continously came back to check on us but also at the same time made sure not to interrupt our various conversations that was going on. His service deserved 100 starts that's exactly how good he was. The bread was hot and the food was excellent. The bad review I will give is to one of the ladies at the check in booth. We checked in and was told we would not be seated until all the party was there. I explained to her that won't work due to this is a special night for the surprise dinner to celebrate Chemo free and that the others (3 of 4) that were in route were being surprised so the ones (4) that are present now needed to be seated so we can surprise them. She did not care and simply stated this is our policy so we won't seat you until the rest of the party is present. I felt this was ridiculous the restaurant was not busy and even if it is policy it can be broken at discretion. I informed her again this will not work and was about to ask for a manager when another woman walked up and she explained what I said and the other lady said that's fine go ahead and seat them. I feel like that whole situation could have been avoided. The other negative review I will give is if you bring in a cake your party will be charged a $1.00 per person for bringing the cake in and since you're not ordering desert from them. That's just utterly ridiculous, we have get together at numerous restaurants around town and have never been charged a fee. As I explained to the person on the phone that doesn't make sense. I asked for clarification on WHY would we be charged and she Even stated for the ones that don't consume the cake it still a rule to charge a $1.00 per person. After asking several questions she said she will wave the charge. Really, smh

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been to Graces many times. This time I b ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Been to Graces many times. This time I brought my family who was visiting me. They enjoyed the food and the decor at the restaurant. They said Graces was a great choice!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We had the best fish special ever. It sh ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had the best fish special ever. It should be on the menu everyday. Grace's really is a wonderful restaurant that truly captures what "momma's cooking" is all about.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it but felt selections were mostly ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Love it but felt selections were mostly fattening. We both felt food was mediocre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Chicken Tortilla Soup... the fish ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great Chicken Tortilla Soup... the fish tacos weren't great.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This is a nice restaurant to have a meal ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This is a nice restaurant to have a meal with family, friends, or business associates. I love the décor!

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Business Meals, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Grace's is a favorite of ours for brunch ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Grace's is a favorite of ours for brunch on Sundays. The service is great and the food is southern tasty. Whether it's for two of us, on a Sunday date, or with our large family, Sunday brunch has never disappointed.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation through OpenTable ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We made a reservation through OpenTable but when we got there, they said they didn't have a reservation for us. However, they seated us immediately. The food was great! The creole stuffed chicken (I think that's the name) was ridiculously tasty! The canal mac and cheese was a hit also. Not to mention, our waiter was extremely friendly and attentive. I highly recommend and can't wait to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good food and good service. Will de ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Very good food and good service. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place to dine and gather with fami ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great place to dine and gather with family and friend. Sunday brunch is AWESOME. The service is also great.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome and I will be returning! The foo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Awesome and I will be returning! The food, service, location and servers were outstanding!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very loud. Waitress had too many tables ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very loud. Waitress had too many tables and forgot drinks, then brought wrong ones. 5 of us were served and we had to wait for 6th person to get her food so others food cooled while waiting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

One of my top 5 spots for Sunday brunch, ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

One of my top 5 spots for Sunday brunch, romantic date, and happy hour with friends

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Fun, Cozy, Spicy, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time dining at Grace's ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was my first time dining at Grace's and it will not be my last. The food was very good and seasoned nicely. The dining area has a old fashioned look and feel to it but it works for the restaurant. The prices are worth it for the meal sizes and for the area it's in.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meeting old friends. Food good but very ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Meeting old friends. Food good but very noisy and difficult to talk

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food great place

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great food great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.