About Grace

652 W Randolph St
Chicago, IL 60661
View Larger Map

Grace, the highly anticipated restaurant from acclaimed chef Curtis Duffy, opened late 2012 in the Randolph Street area, just west of downtown Chicago. The subtle elegance of the dining room provides a comfortably luxurious setting in which to enjoy Chef Duffy's Progressive American cuisine, offered in a tasting menu format. In addition to the dining room, a private dining space to accommodate up to 12 is available, as well as a lounge for a pre- or post-dinner drink.
Grace looks forward to welcoming you.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Des Plaines

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 234-9494

Website:
http://www.grace-restaurant.com/

Public Transit:
The closest CTA El stop is the Clinton Green stop. Head west on Lake Street to Des Plaines and go south (left) to Randolph. Turn right; Grace will be on the right.



Accessible CTA bus routes in the area are the 56 Milwaukee, 20 Madison, 14 Jeffery Express & 8 Halsted.



Also nearby is the Metra Ogilvie Station.

Executive Chef:
Curtis Duffy

Private Party Facilities:
The private dining space at Grace accommodates up to 12 for a seated event. For larger events, we offer the option of renting out the entire space. Our main dining room seats up to 64 guests, and the lounge is the perfect place to start the evening off with a cocktail reception. Grace is fully wifi-enabled, and a private entrance for the private dining space is available if desired.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Muser: 3122349494x

Additional:
Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Grace, Chicago, IL
Grace, Chicago, IL

Grace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

5.0

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
See All
Notable Wine List (2)
Sort By:
S
139 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Grace was, as expected, fantastic overal ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Grace was, as expected, fantastic overall. The food was inventive and delicious with only minor considerations of overly modern style that was pretty but did not necessarily heighten the dishes. We both had the fauna menu and loved the lamb sausage, the smoky mushrooms and Miyazaki beef. All of the desserts were delicious for me and I enjoyed the balance of texture and sweet/savory in these. Service was very good if a bit staunch. I know they are going for a more austere look and atmosphere and they achieve this, but that does not always lend itself to the most enjoyable experience. Perhaps a balance in service, design and atmosphere can be found that allows for the beauty of simplicity and austerity without feeling like you, the guest, are under glass.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was beyond belief! Service blew us ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was beyond belief! Service blew us away! Then to top the evening off we received a tour of kitchen and met Curtis the chef. What a place and an amazing guy!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb dining experience, waitstaff, amb ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Superb dining experience, waitstaff, ambience, & wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing! Top 3 in Chicago.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Amazing! Top 3 in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was lovely! Pricey but worth ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Everything was lovely! Pricey but worth the experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The best experience ever

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 20, 2016

The best experience ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the best meal I have had to dat ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 30, 2016

This was the best meal I have had to date and my wife and I go to plenty of tasting menus...

I strongly recommend for anyone and everyone to experience Grace once in their lives...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best restaurant in Chicago! A must go!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 23, 2016

The food was beyond imaginable! The chef is not only creative but also an artist. The food looked so good that we wanted to make posters of each dish! He deserves not only 3 michelin stars but 4 if they ever invent it! The combination of flavors and colors was outstanding. Each dish was an amazing surprise not only to the eyes but also to the mouth!

The sommelier was very attentive explaining each wine and the combinations she made with the food was exquisite! She is a genius! (We had the tasting menu with the paring wines. Very recommendable). The service was excellent from the beginning until the end. Adam was in charge the night we were there and was paying attention to every little detail.

If you ever go to Chicago you must visit Grace it´s an experience you will never forget!

Congratulations to the whole team that works in the restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grace is an appropriate name

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2016

The food is tasty and well balanced with some of the best plate designs. I do personally feel there are too many ingredients on the plate. Subsequently it is a bit hard to taste every single ingredients. I have always enjoyed that aspect of dining at Alinea hence I return from time to time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Grace is a wonderful experience! The ho ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2016

Grace is a wonderful experience! The hostess is welcoming. The dining room is subtle and elegant. The stemware, china, flatware, and linens are lovely. The service is friendly and knowledgeable - perfect. The food is gorgeous and delicious!

Treat yourself to an evening at Grace - you deserve it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fall from Grace?

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 26, 2016

I was looking forward to a night of fine dining and amazing atmosphere. I was greeted with the best of service all night, amazing cast of servers, introductions, beautiful atmosphere, but surprisingly the star of the show did not show up. The star being the food. Sure it was dressed to impress and styled to the max with wicked creative design, but it lacked appeal. It indeed had strong flavors and amazing textures, again that is where it fell flat----the flavor. The theme of the dishes was lemon, and boy did we get lemon. With just a hint, it drowned out all the other natural flavors that were suppose to exist. One dish after another my appetite slowed down to non-existence by the end of the night. I was dreading the next dish due to the intense fruity flavor. When I think of a theme for the menu, I think of something that will be light, accompany and even make the rest of the dish taste better, and make you want more of that theme till the final curtain call. Of course the flavors became stronger as the night progressed, but the strong lemon taste overpowered my entire experience and sadly dulled my impression of a 3-star Michelin restaurant.But as they say, one dish (menu) does not make the restaurant, but I hope, by chance, if I were to try it once more...it will make the star of each dish stand out and not be overtaken by a supplementary flavor.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoyed every minute of this meal.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2016

Best meal of our lives, food spectacular, wine amazing, service impeccable and friendly. I felt like the evening was all a plan just for us, very personable care and attention. Looking forward to our next dinner at Grace.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2016

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

$1,000 Dinner

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 29, 2016

We were shocked at the cost of this meal. I am still filled with remorse every time I think about it. Although delicious and in a lovely setting how can one justify paying $1,000 for a meal? They did not advertise the price anywhere and although we knew it would be expensive we never imagined it would be this expensive. If you have $1,000 to spend on a 3 hour meal, go to Grace.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
10 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Outstanding for food as art, beauty and tasty.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2016

It was a quiet weekend night and we were seated so we could watch the kitchen which is perfect for food that requires so much staff. Serene space, excellent and not snobby service set the tone to appreciate the beauty and amazing flavors that were presented to us. The price is a barrier if you do not appreciate high level foodery but it was a perfect place to enjoy a great birthday dinner and not make any decision - just sit and enjoy. Every dish and the wine pairings gave pleasure. So unique it just won't work to try and describe individually - especially as the menu is never the same for others. Touring the kitchen adds a nice touch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The best meal I have had in years. Grace ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 3, 2015

The best meal I have had in years. Grace is on the short list for the best restaurant in the United States.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Epic.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2015

Amazing meal and experience, on par or above Next, the old L20, Intro. Book your table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

squab, pig tail, beef cannot go wrong

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2015

squab, pig tail, beef cannot go wrong

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Truly a 10 star meal at Grace

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2015

A truly memorable meal for our 25th wedding anniversary. Impeccable service and unbelievable food paired with delicious wines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Grace !

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2015

Probably an over-used term but definitely applicable to the amazing experience we had at Grace earlier this week. Dining room / ambience beautiful, service was magnificent - incredibly polite and precise yet friendly / smiling, and food was memorable. We had the "Fauna" menu which was superbly well executed with some of most imaginative and memorable individual dishes I've ever enjoyed. The only slight question is whether three desserts are really necessary - maybe something desired by the mid-Western palate but in my view a litle rich and heavy at the end of an incredible meal. However I have to recognize I'm not much of a dessert fan so this view may be in the minority and could well be appropriate for the target audience. One other area of note - wine markups were very reasonable which is not accepted at this caliber of restaurant - what a pleasant & refreshing surprise. Grace is delivering a performance comparable to some of my best ever global dining experiences - hats off to Curtis Duffy and his outstanding team of young highly motivated professionals. We'll be back !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

fun, fantastic

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2015

wildly create food combinations., each course a riot of taste and texture. Best wine pairings i have ever had……..an unusual wine list. Food presentation was often fun: first course was pinned to a log, second course required us to lick the inside of the lid before we ate the food……my favorite was a dessert that looked like a peach, but had to be hit hard with a spoon to be broken up to reveal a fabulous interior. Not a stuffy restaurant, very good for conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic experience

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2015

The whole dining experience at Grace was top notch. The staff was very courteous and responsive. They explained everything about the food and the wine pairings. The timing of when each plate was brought to us was also great. Not too quick to rush us out, but there was enough time to savor each bite and chat. Every item was well presented and thoughtfully designed.

I would definitely come back to Grace.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 8, 2015

ex·quis·ite

ekˈskwizət,ˈekˌskwizət/

adjective 1. extremely beautiful and, typically, delicate.

Knowing the entire backstory of Grace makes me love this place even more. I traveled to Chicago from Los Angeles to dine there, and I was not disappointed; in fact, it was the highlight of my trip.

If you are down to spend about $750 on a dinner for two-- maybe more-- PLEASE choose Grace. Chef Curtis Duffy will not let you have an experience that is shy of perfection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fantastic!!! The service ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2015

Everything was fantastic!!! The service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Truly special!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2015

Loved it! Of course you spend quite a bit of money, but it is well worth it. Go for the wine pairing!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2015

We greatly enjoyed our dining experience. The food was creative and the service was attentive without being overbearing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Experience

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2015

Jose and rest of the dining room led us along an amazing culinary journey. Each dish from the kitchen was exquisite, beginning with vibrant use of color and innovative plating at first sighting, a good description of what was in front of us (this was the one place that might have had room for improvement) and then the medley of aroma, flavor and mixed textures confirmed the excellence of each dish. Overall cuisine uses classic gourmet techniques on high quality ingredients, with a sprinkling of international spices and employing a few molecular gastronomy techniques (but not so many to distract from the elegance).

We chose to add the wine pairings to our experience and that too was amazing. The sommelier had selected excellent additions to each course, and his passion and knowledge came through with each pour that he described.

I highly recommend Grace to those who appreciate fine dining. A worthy recipient of 3 Michelin stars.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Grace is a triumph, or at least a semi-triumph!

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 20, 2015

Highly imaginative food that mostly succeeds, but not always. Sometimes its over-subtle or bland. Still, even the failures are provocative. The wine pairings with the food here are especially good and well considered.

The servers, wine steward, and everyone, are very friendly and unstuffy, but without being too familiar. The pleasant decor is understated (emphasizing the food?) and not especially impressive or beautiful. So what?

Not quite up to the standard of Alinea, but close. Not as theatrical.

You definitely do want to dine here!! Somewhat expensive, but worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Perfection

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2015

Our experience at Grace was perfect. There isn't more to say, so I won't try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding. Service pace w ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2015

The food was outstanding. Service pace was too fast. Sommelier was great. Captain of our service copped an attitude.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Wonderful

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2014

Simply Amazing! It is the best meal we have ever had in our 60+ years. The combination of ingredients makes a food that one normally does not prefer taste wonderful and the presentations of the food are exquisite. All the personnel from the reception to the chefs in the kitchen are friendly, relaxed, knowledgable, and efficient. Everything was perfect. One could argue that it is an expensive meal. We would argue that it is also a good value because of the quality. It is more than just a dining experience rather it is an artistic experience as well. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

NOT worth the price

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 19, 2014

Very good food, excellent service, nice place with atmosphere .... nothing to complain about other than it's 2x as expensive as Tru and NOT twice as good.

If you go once, you'll probably not go back because it's just not worth it. Alinea was cheaper too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Superb tasting menu at Grace

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2014

Went here for my birthday dinner and we were not disappointed. Grace had just received its 3rd Michelin star, and the food was impeccable. We did the 9 course tasting menu, both choosing the fauna menu. We added in the wine pairing which was a wonderful accompaniment and very nice pours. I'd highly recommend Grace.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Not Alina for sure , but same prices!!!!

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 3, 2014

I have been to Alinia and motto many times so I was excited to try grace.

The place is pleasant and comfortable.

The presentation , textures and colors were great and very creative but it really fell short on taste. The different tastes they combined just did not go. It seems they are trying so hard to reinvent , but out of my 9 courses (fauna) 3 very great !!! 3 were ok and 3 I just did not like.

The flora menu was BLAND !!! no depth to the tastes, but great presentation .

We are foodies ! We spend money on great food and we were disappointed.

We had a request for the staff that was very simple but they were completely inflexible. A restaurant of this kind , with these prices, $300.00 per person should bend over backwards for the customer and they did not , had it to been a freezing cold late Chicago night we probably would have left just because of their inflexibility .

the wine list is good, we picked a wine from an vineyard we know well and when the bill came we noted they served us a bottle that was $100.00 more than the bottle we picked.

Again this is not mistakes a restaurant of this caliber should make.

I am sorry to say that I can not recommend this restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

A perfect evening at Grace

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2014

I took my girlfriend to Grace for her birthday and it was a wonderful experience. We had been wanting to go for quite a while, and once Grace earned its 3rd Michelin star we decided not to wait any longer. The food was as imaginative as any place we have ever been, including elBulli and The French Laundry. The only restaurant in Chicago that can even compare is Alinea, which we have been to twice. In my opinion, Grace is superior to Alinea in several ways. The decor at Grace is sophisticated yet warm, unlike Alinea, which we found a bit cold. The service was outstanding, which you would expect, but everyone was also very friendly and not even a bit snobby. We loved our wine and we asked if we could find it at retail. Upon leaving, the host gave us an envelope with the carefully-removed wine label inside so we could try to find it ourselves. At the end of our meal, we were offered a tour of the spotless kitchen and we got to speak with chef Duffy. It meant a lot to us that the chef was actually in the kitchen. When we last ate at Alinea, Chef Achatz unfortunately wasn't there that evening. The only thing we would have liked to see was a requirement that all male diners wear jackets. In such an elegant and sophisticated setting, jackets should still be required. I would highly recommend Grace and I believe it is the finest example of haute cuisine in Chicago and one of the best on the planet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Deserves all the stars!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 21, 2014

Grace was just awarded the Michelin Three Star Award and completely deserves the accolade.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was sadly underwhelmed...an off night?

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2014

So, for starters, this is an expensive restaurant. We knew that, and that's NOT the issue. We have been to many highly acclaimed restaurants in and out of the City-this is something we enjoy. Some of the dishes were quite good - others were either a bit weird or lacking. The wine pairing, on several glasses, was spot on; but nothing you'd necessarily want to buy outside of that meal. The interior was very nice and relaxed. Service was good, but occasionally missed it for those who really pay attention (most people would not have noticed).

The bottom line is while this was good, it was not new, groundbreaking, or fresh, save for the initial delivery of food in what appeared to be a hollowed-out log. Much of what was done that evening is being done in several places in the city, with better results, for quite a bit less money. Elizabeth and Goosefoot come to mind.

It's clear the chef worked at Alinea, because there's hints of that here, but the over-the-top creativity is not there, nor are several of the courses in terms of flavor or texture (the meat course, for example, was overly tough).

We had made these reservations about 3 weeks before the Michelin stars came out, and dined after they were announced. So, perhaps we had too high of expectations. Still, though, at this price point, each course should be better than the last, each wine should stand on its own, and service should generally be flawless. Such was not the case the night we went, hence the title above.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Best meal and food experience in my life!! Really!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2014

Every mouthful, every sip and every detail done to perfection!! The presentation was exceptional and enhanced an already perfect dish. The staff was totally knowledgeable on all aspects of the experience; the food, the wine, the coffee, the presentation, the process. Their knowledge enhanced the overall service level which was perfect and respectful. This is the first Michelin 3 star restaurant we have been to and it is a huge difference form the 2 star restaurants we have been to - in every way.

We had the wine pairing and it was a fantastic match.

We also took the kitchen tour which I would highly recommend to others. Chef Curtiss is fully engaged in all details and we saw him plating dishes himself.

Grace gets my highest recommendation and we will go again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

special treat

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 14, 2014

Dining as an experience, dining as an art form. Live like the 1% for one unforgettable meal that's more than a meal. The choreography of the service, the elegance of presentation and the desire to create wonder and awe in the diner with amazing tastes that follow one another in a collage of gastromonic joy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Well deserving of Michelin Stars

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 31, 2014

This was truly one of my favorite dining experiences of all time. We each had the Fauna menu with the wine pairings and I would say it is a must for a special occasion. I personally preferred it to Alinea, but Alinea is 2nd on my all time list. The sommelier was a delight and it was great to meet Chef Curtis Duffy at the end of a very special evening. They sent us home in an uber with menus and chocolate for a keepsake. Congrats to Grace on the well-deserved Three Michelin Stars!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.