Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

About Grace

Grace, the highly anticipated restaurant from acclaimed chef Curtis Duffy, opened late 2012 in the Randolph Street area, just west of downtown Chicago. The subtle elegance of the dining room provides a comfortably luxurious setting in which to enjoy Chef Duffy's Progressive American cuisine, offered in a tasting menu format. In addition to the dining room, a private dining space to accommodate up to 12 is available, as well as a lounge for a pre- or post-dinner drink.
Grace looks forward to welcoming you.

652 W Randolph St
Chicago, IL 60661
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Des Plaines

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 234-9494

Website:
http://www.grace-restaurant.com/

Public Transit:
The closest CTA El stop is the Clinton Green stop. Head west on Lake Street to Des Plaines and go south (left) to Randolph. Turn right; Grace will be on the right.



Accessible CTA bus routes in the area are the 56 Milwaukee, 20 Madison, 14 Jeffery Express & 8 Halsted.



Also nearby is the Metra Ogilvie Station.

Executive Chef:
Curtis Duffy

Private Party Facilities:
The private dining space at Grace accommodates up to 12 for a seated event. For larger events, we offer the option of renting out the entire space. Our main dining room seats up to 64 guests, and the lounge is the perfect place to start the evening off with a cocktail reception. Grace is fully wifi-enabled, and a private entrance for the private dining space is available if desired.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Muser: (312) 234-9494

Additional:
Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Grace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

5.0

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Tasting Menu (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Romantic (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Seasonal (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Authentic (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Business Meals (4)
Cozy (3)
Organic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
Casual (1)
Live Music (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
167 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We came here for my wife's 25th birthday. From the moment we walked in the door to sit until the moment we left, we were in a culinary gaze. Every dish was well crafted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Once in a lifetime. Absolutely phenomenal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Grace was wonderful. Chef Duffy has created a beautiful kitchen that is producing some extremely creative and tasty food. Service was impeccable, from walking in the door, to calling a ride to the hotel. Don't go here to eat, go here to learn what eating can be.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Words simply cannot describe the experience, other than "amazing."

Food is over the top. Service is absolutely flawless. Definitely worth trying at least once if you enjoy fine dining.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Grace is the BEST restaurant in Chicago.

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 30, 2017

I've been to many Michelin-starred fine-dining restaurants and Grace definitely ranks top 3 in terms of the total experience. The service was flawless, the food was divine (both vegetarian and non-vegetarian menus), and wine pairing was beyond artful. We really appreciated the attention to detail and the thoughtfulness that went into everything.

Bravo.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Fantastic experience!! Attention to detail and drive for greatness was impressive! Really enjoyed the tour and the food OMG is fantastic!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 24, 2017

It is not that it's not a good meal. But for a three star Michelin restaurant, and you have to pay almost $1000 dollars for two people including tip, I was expecting more surprises, extra services, more personal care, and more unique style. Everything is done in a high quality, but seems almost too business and corporate like. There are other one/two Michelin star restaurants that I would choose to go back to, and recommend them to friends over this experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Amazing tasting menu put together by Chief Duffy and Staff. From the moment you walk in you can see why they have kept their three Michelin star rating. Truly amazing that we have one of the best restaurants in the world in our backyard. The harmonies of flavor in every dish matched perfectly with our paired wines. The warmth of the staff also made this night above and beyond. Cannot recommend enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kuala Lumpur)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The servers were very attentive and very friendly. I would say the customer service was really excellent. The food was fantastic and was presented in a very creative way making this a unique experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Michelin 3-star chef from Johnstown Ohio in Chicago, who sources ingredients from Huron Ohio. What a treat it was to dine at Grace Restaurant. Imagine eating a work of art that combines vaguely familiar ingredients repurposed to create vivid flavors never experienced before, dazzling your taste buds, on a continuously evolving menu that changes with the seasons. And a world renown chef who meets all of his patrons individually at the end of the night. Above and beyond the usual fine dining. Get reservations a few months in advance!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Wow. Where to start.
The service at Grace--unparalleled. We have never had such a flawless experience; it is very obvious that everyone working at Grace is more than a team, but rather, a family. Big thank you to Adam, Amy and our sommelier with the black glasses (sorry we didn't catch your name). Nothing pretentious about what is going on at Grace, just humble yet professional people who truly care about the food and beverage they serve. On that note, the food was incredible. Each dish was executed beautifully, with a perfect contrast of textures and temperatures, playing on seasonal high-quality ingredients. It was a real adventure for the palate! Now to the wine, we did the standard pairing and we were absolutely blown away by how well each glass complimented the food. Unique selection that did not overpower any of the dishes, but brought out some of the more hidden flavours. The explanation offered by each person who dropped a plate and then finally by the Somm, who explained perfectly why the wine was chosen for that dish, couldn't have been better. We ate at Alinea two days later and did the reserve wine pairing which had nothing on Grace's standard pairing. In fact, Alinea was a mile away from Grace in terms of both food and especially service, which did not match their 3 star repertoire. Hate to compare the two restaurants, but we were terribly disappointed with Alinea meanwhile Grace will forever be a restaurant we would feel so privileged to eat in again. The dining room in Grace is so tasteful and elegant and had a calm, warm feel to it. The best dining experience we've had to date, it will definitely be hard to top. A final note, thank you for remembering our birthdays and making our trip to Chicago so special (we came from Vancouver for this meal). Should be on Worlds 50 Best . Well deserved ***

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Our entire experience at Grace was like none other. From the moment we walked into Grace, we felt absolute warmth and attentiveness not only from the staff, but also through each dish we tasted. Every aspect of the restaurant was so well-thought-out, from each item on the Fauna menu to every piece of decor in each room. After our meal, we were welcomed to see the kitchen where each chef was so friendly and willing to answer any questions about the dishes we had. I definitely see myself coming again, and so I highly recommend Grace to all who appreciate culinary excellence as well as an upbeat atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We had a pleasant time. I loved 2 courses of the floral menu that we very refined: asparagus from Belgium with caviar and a very fresh artistic plate with lemon and broccoli. My husband was a little disappointed with his protein menu where the meats were well prepared but did not have a more refined taste in themselves if it makes sense... The service for great and the ambiance was quiet and agreeable. Overall, I think it is a little too expensive for the tasting experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We had an extraordinary experience. The service was a one, the servers were like ninjas, ever so quietly clearing the table. The food and Therese notation of the food was truly incredible. Enjoyed every minute and entree of the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on April 11, 2017

This was a winner. We loved the hostess, the food, the waiter- everything. Thanks for the menu and wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Perfect experience!! All the food are well cooked and they tastes so good! This is my favorite Michelin restaurant! Grace worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Buckinghamshire)·Dined on April 5, 2017

A superb evening of inventive and excellently delivered dishes. Super wine list. Excellent and knowledgeable staff. Our second visit. We'll go again for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

3 years anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Simply amazing.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Absolutely amazing dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Loved the attention to detail and willingness of team to engage with guests in a non-rigid fashion. Keep it up! Down to earth foodies exist and enjoy talking @ things other than the restaurant industry. I do wish that the environment included interesting musical accompaniment-difficult to please everyone, but the silence is uninteresting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The experience left me in awe of the level of attention to detail. Worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Outstanding food and wonderful service. Definitely a high cost dining experience but worth every penny. As a treat, at the conclusion of the meal, the staff gave us a tour of the kitchen.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I have never been to a 3 star that did not have any fist growths on the wine list. That set the tone for a dismal evening. I food was OK at best. There is no way they should even have one star, this is perplexing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Outstanding food, service and ambiance. Best wine pairing experience ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Incredible experience. The quality and simplicity of great ingredients would shine through, while also transformed and complex at the same time. A food lovers dream

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

One of the most Under Whelming Dining Experience of my Life

If given the choice again would rather go to Oriele - Grace was a huge Disapointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Grace was, as expected, fantastic overall. The food was inventive and delicious with only minor considerations of overly modern style that was pretty but did not necessarily heighten the dishes. We both had the fauna menu and loved the lamb sausage, the smoky mushrooms and Miyazaki beef. All of the desserts were delicious for me and I enjoyed the balance of texture and sweet/savory in these. Service was very good if a bit staunch. I know they are going for a more austere look and atmosphere and they achieve this, but that does not always lend itself to the most enjoyable experience. Perhaps a balance in service, design and atmosphere can be found that allows for the beauty of simplicity and austerity without feeling like you, the guest, are under glass.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food was beyond belief! Service blew us away! Then to top the evening off we received a tour of kitchen and met Curtis the chef. What a place and an amazing guy!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Superb dining experience, waitstaff, ambience, & wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Amazing! Top 3 in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Everything was lovely! Pricey but worth the experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 20, 2016

The best experience ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 29, 2016

This was the best meal I have had to date and my wife and I go to plenty of tasting menus...

I strongly recommend for anyone and everyone to experience Grace once in their lives...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was beyond imaginable! The chef is not only creative but also an artist. The food looked so good that we wanted to make posters of each dish! He deserves not only 3 michelin stars but 4 if they ever invent it! The combination of flavors and colors was outstanding. Each dish was an amazing surprise not only to the eyes but also to the mouth!
The sommelier was very attentive explaining each wine and the combinations she made with the food was exquisite! She is a genius! (We had the tasting menu with the paring wines. Very recommendable). The service was excellent from the beginning until the end. Adam was in charge the night we were there and was paying attention to every little detail.
If you ever go to Chicago you must visit Grace it´s an experience you will never forget!
Congratulations to the whole team that works in the restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2016

The food is tasty and well balanced with some of the best plate designs. I do personally feel there are too many ingredients on the plate. Subsequently it is a bit hard to taste every single ingredients. I have always enjoyed that aspect of dining at Alinea hence I return from time to time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2016

Grace is a wonderful experience! The hostess is welcoming. The dining room is subtle and elegant. The stemware, china, flatware, and linens are lovely. The service is friendly and knowledgeable - perfect. The food is gorgeous and delicious!

Treat yourself to an evening at Grace - you deserve it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 25, 2016

I was looking forward to a night of fine dining and amazing atmosphere. I was greeted with the best of service all night, amazing cast of servers, introductions, beautiful atmosphere, but surprisingly the star of the show did not show up. The star being the food. Sure it was dressed to impress and styled to the max with wicked creative design, but it lacked appeal. It indeed had strong flavors and amazing textures, again that is where it fell flat----the flavor. The theme of the dishes was lemon, and boy did we get lemon. With just a hint, it drowned out all the other natural flavors that were suppose to exist. One dish after another my appetite slowed down to non-existence by the end of the night. I was dreading the next dish due to the intense fruity flavor. When I think of a theme for the menu, I think of something that will be light, accompany and even make the rest of the dish taste better, and make you want more of that theme till the final curtain call. Of course the flavors became stronger as the night progressed, but the strong lemon taste overpowered my entire experience and sadly dulled my impression of a 3-star Michelin restaurant.But as they say, one dish (menu) does not make the restaurant, but I hope, by chance, if I were to try it once more...it will make the star of each dish stand out and not be overtaken by a supplementary flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2016

Best meal of our lives, food spectacular, wine amazing, service impeccable and friendly. I felt like the evening was all a plan just for us, very personable care and attention. Looking forward to our next dinner at Grace.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.