About Gourmet and Company

214 E Mountcastle Dr Johnson City, TN 37601
Johnson City, TN 37601
View Larger Map

A Johnson City tradition since 1989, Gourmet and Company offers a dining experience that is unique to the region. Dinner menu selections run the gamut from traditional fine dinning classics to exciting specials including exotic meats and exceedingly fresh seafood. Lunches are casual and perfect for socializing or business. We also have an indoor lounge and outdoor patio bar that are fully stocked with a wide selection of wines, fine spirits, and craft beers.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:00am - 3:00pm Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 929-9007

Website:
http://www.gourmetandcompany.com/

Executive Chef:
John Bryant

Additional:
Patio/Outdoor Dining

Special Events & Promotions:
We have private rooms available for up to 45 people. Please call for more information.

Restaurant Photos

Gourmet and Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
East Tennessee
Best Food
East Tennessee
Best Service
East Tennessee
4 More
Best Ambiance
East Tennessee
Fit for Foodies
East Tennessee
American
East Tennessee
Most Booked
Tri-Cities / Bristol / Kingsport / Johnson City
Best Restaurants in Johnson City ›

special occasion (23)
fit for foodies (17)
romantic (17)
See All
neighborhood gem (13)
great for lunch (11)
good for groups (10)
notable wine list (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
149 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have dined here several times and eac ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

We have dined here several times and each visit has been excellent. This time around, we started with a cocktail and an appetizer combination of oysters and ravioli with ramps. That was followed by main courses of fish and steak, both seasoned with local flavors (ramps included again), and finally some dessert. We paired it with a nice bottle of wine. The service was great as always. Food is very fresh with local vegetables and herbs included in many cases and very well prepared and presented. The meal was delivered to the table at a pace that let us enjoy it without feeling rushed. The wine list has a nice variety of choices. This time, the menu was so interesting it made it really hard to choose -- it all looked good -- and the offerings change regularly. Everything is priced at a level that is very reasonable for this quality of food. This really is the best restaurant in JC!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect dining experience.

Dined on May 21, 2016

Do not let the exterior location of this restaurant fool you. Once you enter through the doors it's like Alice in Wonderland with a complete transformation that lends one nice surprise after the other. The food quality and presentation - literally art on a plate, personal and attentive service by our waiter (thank you to Kenn), the ambience from the romantic/modern/eclectic decor to the whimsical flight stands for our wine, it is apparent that quality and special touches rate high on the owner's and chef's priority list. With every course either my husband or I would utter, "This is perfect." The dining experience made our anniversary celebration perfect as well. Truly it's no wonder Gourmet & Company has been serving satisfied patrons for 27 years...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our service was was outstanding.The menu ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Our service was was outstanding.The menu was unique. Not available any place we have been.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent meal in JC

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

We've dined here several times and it has always been a good experience. Over the past year in particular, the quality and combination of food has really gone up. Don't let the location fool you -- it's in a strip mall area near a major highway. This time we arrived for a late evening reservation and the staff gave us a nice table near the bar (which is open later than the dining area). We had a nice cocktail to start, then a cheese board with regional selections, two wonderful mains (burger and a combination beef/scallop dish), with a nice red wine from Australia. The wine list is not lengthy, but appears carefully considered with a nice range of prices and varietals. The staff is super friendly and when we've been there (often later than normal dinner hours), the ambiance is pleasant and low key. While there is a bar area, it has not been intrusive in any way. This is by far the best fine dining we've had in Johnson City. Prices are very reasonable as well for this quality of food, which features a lot of fresh and regional items. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a great restaurant, my favorite ...

Dined on March 1, 2016

This is a great restaurant, my favorite in JOHNSON City. The food is always great, the service terrific, and a quiet, nice environment.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our fav place in TRI- delicious food and ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Our fav place in TRI- delicious food and romantic ambiance for date night!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good but overpriced

Dined on February 12, 2016

Good food and nice ambiance but a bit overpriced for what you get.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great date

Dined on February 11, 2016

My wife and I had an excellent experience. This is our new favorite restaurant. We plan to come back many times to come. The atmosphere is really, really nice and the service is unbeatable. Great attention has been given to every detail including the fine food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great birthday lunch

Dined on February 6, 2016

Enjoyed a delicious and low key birthday lunch. Can't wait to return for another visit again! The service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2

Wasn't that impressed. I had been hearin ...

Dined on January 21, 2016

Wasn't that impressed. I had been hearing about this restaurant for a while but left feeling unimpressed overall. Not worth it for the price. Service was so so.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to go for any occasion or just because

Dined on December 26, 2015

Great service and great food!! My hats off to the Chef! Best place to go in Johnson City!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent dinner!

Dined on December 13, 2015

Excellent dinner! Everything was great, as always. But miss the bakery - especially the strawberry cake, They have it in a cupcake, but it's not the same.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Consistently great

Dined on November 21, 2015

When you want to dine out and know that everything will be perfect, make a reservation at Gourmet & Company. This upscale restaurant features delicious and beautifully presented appetizers, entrees, drinks, and desserts. Diverse menu includes local fare. Servers and bar staff make you feel special. Attentive, offering suggestions, knowledgable, and personable, they work as a team. Todd is the best bartender anywhere. Our server was Hillary. She is a class act. These folks know what they're doing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4

Excellent meal in JC

vip
Dined on November 1, 2015

This was our second visit to the restaurant. We had cocktails, oysters, a salad, and a pasta dish and filet for mains, plus a bottle of wine, topped off with dessert. The food was well prepared and plated. Service was friendly and attentive, but we did not feel rushed. The wine list has some nice choices at reasonable (restaurant) prices. Johnson City is a not a large place, so having some "fine dining" options is welcome. Don't let the location of this place put you off -- it's in a kind of strip mall, but the inside is nicely done. Prices are good value for the quality of food. If you are looking for dining that is a cut above in Johnson City, this is a good choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Dining Experience

vip
Dined on October 29, 2015

This is Johnson City's best restaurant. We always have great time and the service is top notch. Certainly compares with fine dining in much larger cities. Would recommen to try if you haven't .

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Place for Dining

Dined on October 24, 2015

My boyfriend and I just discovered this restaurant and ate there for lunch. Absolutely great environment, great Food, great service. Looking forward to coming back for dinner!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great along with the service. ...

Dined on October 10, 2015

Food was great along with the service. Will be back again soon.

food4
ambience4
service5

An experience getting there, but well wo ...

vip
Dined on October 3, 2015

An experience getting there, but well worth the effort. Very interesting. and innovating decor. Eclectic cuisine and friendly and attentive staff.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always top notch

Dined on September 4, 2015

I have yet to be disappointed at Gourmet & Co. Best hummus I've ever had and the truffle fries are to die for.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Local farm was delivering fresh veggies....

vip
Dined on July 29, 2015

when we were there for lunch in the courtyard. It was a wonderful surprise, and he was very knowledgeable about their produce. Love this restaurant. It's in a strip shopping center, so the exterior isn't very appealing. Don't let the outside fool you. Fantastic food; excellent ambience, and the outdoor courtyard seems very secluded. Did I mention that I love this place?

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous!

Dined on May 22, 2015

Great food, perfect for an anniversary dinner or a special night out!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect Night

Dined on May 2, 2015

When I originally decided to come to this restaraunt, I had mixed feelings. Usually when I have visited gourmet French restraunts, the waiters have been pretentious and the atmosphere snobby; However, this has changed my outlook entirely. With a wonderful atmosphere, as soon as you open the door you feel at ease. Immediately you will be approached by the outstanding staff that will help you in anyway imaginable. Even after altering the menu, the staff had a thorough knowledge of all dishes and how they are prepared. Service was prompt and is adapted to the speed at which you eat your food, so right as I finished my first dish, my waiter brought out my second dish. All in all this was an amazing experience that I will never forget.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for meeting and catching up ...

Dined on May 1, 2015

Great place for meeting and catching up with old friends. The food is very good. The servers are usually very attentive without being intrusive. Love Gourmet & Company and eat there often.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

vip
Dined on April 21, 2015

Everything you would want in fine dining. Food, service, ambiance were great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2

Good Food/Slow Service

Dined on April 18, 2015

One of our favorite restaurants but this evening they were off their game. Slow service with very few folks in the restaurant and limited servers. The appetizer crab on cornbread was a bust but the entrees good.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3

Enjoyable meal, amiable service, above average.

Dined on April 11, 2015

The restaurant is in an outside mall. Cars pulling up at night shine lights into the restaurant, so don't sit by the windows at the front of the restaurant if that bothers. The decor was suitable. The bar was appropriate, but nothing special. Our service was slow, as if a waiter went home early and left more work than the remaining staff could handle, or as if a large party arrived without a reservation, taxing the waitstaff. There was, in fact, a large party dining that evening, but I don't know if a reservation was made. The slow service was made up for by an amiable waiter, and enjoyable food at competitive pricing. I had the warm spinach salad, which was good, without over cooking nor over spicing. I recommend it. I also had the lobster macaroni, which was delightfully prepared in a mild and creamy sauce with adequate amounts of lobster to flavor the dish. I'd have been pleased with more lobster, but wasn't disappointed. The french fries were plentiful and perfectly cooked, without a greasy taste but with appropriate crispness. My wife had a salad, and salmon. Both were fine, with ample portions and good presentations. She had a Riesling, from a nice selection of wines, commensurate with the type of restaurant we chose. She was pleased with her meal, too. Prices were typical for the area and type of restaurant. I would return as this was a nice, better than average, restaurant.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Why didn't we go here before??

Dined on March 20, 2015

Incredible restaurant - wish we had come sooner. But we are going back again this weekend...with some of our dearest friends. And you will see us again! Guaranteed!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite restaurant in Johnson City!

Dined on March 14, 2015

Everything I've ever eaten here has exceeded expectations. The quail is exquisite and no one should leave without trying the black truffle fries. The in-house made bread was fresh and very flavorful. I also recommend the Goat Cheese salad (comes with citrus panko encrusted goat cheese) and a delicious and potent cocktail called a Tequini (very reasonably priced). Our server Ken went above and beyond to make our visit special and perfect. Flawless food and service, as usual!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Gourmet provides Great service AND great food!

Dined on March 3, 2015

I love the atmosphere, the food and the service at Gourmet. Whether for a friend's birthday celebration or a romantic dinner for two they take great care of you! Johnson city institution!! You must try it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Finally found great dining

vip
Dined on February 21, 2015

We have been looking for a fine dining restaurant in the Tri-Cities and finally found it. The fresh fish special was amazing. We each had a salad that we were very impressed with as well. Friendly, attentive service. This is our new go-to place for a nice night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

One of the best (if not THE best) in Johnson City!

Dined on February 15, 2015

My wife and I went here for Valentines day (our first after getting married just before Christmas) and the whole experience was fantastic. We arrived about an hour before our reservation fully expecting to just enjoy a few drinks at the bar before our table was ready. One drink later and they actually offered to seat us early if we wanted. Our waitress was energetic and seemed generally excited about the menu...and knowledgeable as well, she generally gave us recommendations rather than just repeating what the menu already said. Then of course came the food...both dishes were unique and absolutely perfectly prepared! We even splurged on desert and it was even better than the hype our server gave it. Overall the whole experience at Gourmet and Company was top notch. On the pricy side, but you truly get what you pay for here and we both felt it was very resonale. We will definitely come back and recommend it to all of our friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A great Valentine's Day Experience

Dined on February 14, 2015

From the opening glass of wine to the dessert and coffee, it was a perfect dinner. Our server was friendly well informed and always appeared when we needed her.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful and surprising find in Johnson City

Dined on January 29, 2015

The food and service were excellent. The lamb chops (special of the day) and the pork medallions were cooked perfectly and tasted great. Gourmet & Co even caters to vegetarians. If you come to Johnson City, please don't miss dinner here.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful experience as always

Dined on January 10, 2015

This one of several times that we have been there, that is why we brought guests with us. The food was excellent, except that my husband's steak was a bit over cooked. Also it was so busy that the noise level was higher than we have ever experienced before. That may be due to increased popularity. Our friends enjoyed it as well. I know they have an outdoor place to eat in the warmer months, but we have always eaten inside. We also know they serve lunch, but we have never been there at that time. Also when it is quieter, I would say that it was romantic. We will definitely go there again, but maybe at a later time. The shrimp and diver scallops were excellent, and our guests really enjoyed the duck. My husband and our neighbor really liked the roasted red pepper soup.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Great find hidden in Johnson City

Dined on January 2, 2015

Visiting my daughter and her husband in the area again a year later and there continues to be very few upscale restaurants. Gourmet didn't disappoint with a perfectly cooked filet and their amazing butternut squash risotto. I could have gone the whole night though without seeing a waitress delivering food use her bare hands to restack a filet on top of a risotto cake. Presentation is important but not at the sacrifice of ick. I know they use their bare hands in the kitchen but she isn't in the kitchen.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Gourmet and Co.

Dined on December 10, 2014

This was a hidden gem I did not know about. I had the Filet along with a Risoto cake, entire meal was excellent. Would highly recommend, also hear the lunch menu is fabulous too.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Always consistent

Dined on November 28, 2014

Each time we've eaten here we have had consistently good food and service. The menu changes based on what is available locally at various times of the year, and yet there are usually some staples that remain from visit to visit. I would say the food is always very good, if not great. No one in the party has ever had a bad meal here. Service is always good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

A pleasant surprise---all great except d ...

Dined on October 24, 2014

A pleasant surprise---all great except dessert was disappointing---espresso torte was too mild and dry---but steak, scallops, and salad were quite tasty. would return

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Intriguing Menu

vip
Dined on October 4, 2014

This restaurant's menu made us select Gourmet and Company for our dinner while traveling. My husband was very pleased with his venisen entree, as the venison was very tender and delicious. I was disappointed with the bay scallops on my goat cheese salad entree, as the scallops were very salty.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5

to dine for

Dined on October 3, 2014

The meal was for my fiancee's birthday. From the outside, I was concerned. Location was in a strip mall. However, entering into the restaurant was a pleasant surprise. The decor was warm and intimate. We were greeted and seated. The server was quite nice and very efficient. We had the stuffed mushrooms, Autumn salad and goat cheese salad and the pork entree and pan roasted chicken. The food was exquisite. The melding of flavors, spices, and textures showed that there was both thought and love put into the dishes. The seats were comfortable. The lighting was as well. The wine and spirits menu was impressive. While it was a pricey encounter, we will revisit Gourmet and Company.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.