Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

Gourmet and Company

4.8
249 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Perfect For:
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
A Johnson City tradition since 1989, Gourmet and Company offers a dining experience that is unique to the region. Dinner menu selections run the gamut from traditional fine dinning classics to exciting specials including exotic meats and exceedingly fresh seafood. Lunches are casual and perfect for socializing or business. We also have an indoor lounge and outdoor patio bar that are fully stocked with a wide selection of wines, fine spirits, and craft beers.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:00am - 3:00pm Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(423) 929-9007
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
John Bryant
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We have private rooms available for up to 45 people. Please call for more information.
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine
What 249 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.9
service
4.8
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Outstanding food and presentation. Food was cooked to perfection and very innovative. Really enjoyed and will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Fantastic as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Excellent as always. Food and service are the best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We have eaten at gourmet and company several times. The food is fresh and always prepared beautifully. They always rotate the menu according to what is fresh and available in season. We had a party of 5 and we all tried something different. Steak trout and chicken were wonderful. Tried the clams as an appetizer and they were so good. Service was great as well. Our server Rachael took great care of us. If you are looking for the best dining experience of Johnson city or even the Tri cities area this is the place to go.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Absolutely wonderful! Great experience through and through, the wait staff are exceptional (Adam) is very knowledgeable on the menu and always makes it a fun and enjoyable experience. Food is always delicious - we will be back soon!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We are from Knoxville, but are in Johnson City regularly and we've dined her quite a few times. It's always been great and this time was no exception. We had a cheese board, salad, and two mains (pasta and fish), plus cocktails and wine. The food is nicely prepared and presented and is just perfectly cooked....very interesting combinations of flavors. The wine list is broad enough to find some interesting selections at any price point. The wait staff is really pleasant and engaged in making sure you have a nice evening. The location is a bit odd the first time you go -- it's in a sort of strip mall -- but the interior is well done and obviously the food is the main thing. Highly recommended if you are in JC and looking for dining that's a cut above.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

Great food! Always delicious. A family favorite for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 6, 2018

GREAT place. Love it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

The ambiance of the restaurant was great. The noise level was very low and I could have a conversation at a normal sound level. The service was efficient and friendly. Most of all the food was fantastic. I absolutely enjoyed my dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

We live in Asheville NC surrounded by fabulous restaurants but sometimes it’s nice to get out of town for a pretty drive and a new lunch experience. We picked a winner with Gourmet and Company.!!! Very surprised considering its strip mall location.
I had their Lamb Bolognese accompanied by three grilled toasts with a large salade composée. Perfection. My husband chose the flounder fish and chips, very light and fresh. No grease. Even the apricot iced tea was made special by the addition of large orange slices. We finished with a shared toffee cake with a local root beer sauce and wonderful ice-cream. Oh my!!!

The restaurant is beautifully decorated in understated browns and taupes with calm lighting and comfortable seating. We were thrilled to be served by John who was well informed and pleasant to speak with. So refreshing to have truly professional waitstaff! We so look forward to another trip to Gourmet and Company.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Gourmet and Company is always delightful. The food is always good; the atmosphere quiet. I can count on having privacy for business discussions.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Valentines lunch with my Valentine of 47 years. Always nice at Gourmet & Co. whatever the occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

One of the best meals my husband and I have ever had and the best meals we have ever had in Johnson City.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Our meals and service were excellent and we plan to return the next visit to JC.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed this evening as we have several prior visits. Interesting menu selection, the locally sourced mushroom soup was fantastic. Excellent local choice.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 10, 2018

We had a party with family for my husband’s 80th birthday. The food was not good. Very disappointed. The last time we ate there the food was excellent. Must have a new chef? I hope this was a fluke.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 19, 2017

My daughter and I went to Gourmet & Co for a special mother- daughter Christmas lunch today. Because I booked a reservation on Open Table we had a great table alongside the outer wall. My daughter had the luncheon chicken sliders and truffle fries and I ordered the chicken salad; we shared the spinach artichoke dip appetizer and it all was delicious! Taylor was our waiter and the service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 7, 2017

I sat at the bar for the first time. Service was excellent per usual. Pea hummus was amazing. I had the special (mahi mahi on brioche), and it was delicious. Gourmet and company is my favorite place to eat in Johnson City.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 6, 2017

I will recommend the restaurant to people looking for a different dining experience. Probably not for everybody. Food was okay for me personally, but I thought it was way overpriced.

This really isn't a complaint but more of a comment... in my opinion there is such a thing as a server being too attentive. The server would not allow your drink to get half empty.

I will say overall it was a good dining experience it just wasn't really for me.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 15, 2017

Consistently awesome!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 6, 2017

Gourmet and company never fails to please me...food is always perfect in every way. It is my favorite place to dine in Johnson City.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 25, 2017

Always perfect food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Excellent as always!! Chef John never ceases to amaze us!! Highly recommended Gourmet and Company!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 12, 2017

Gourmet and Company has a limited number of seats, but the menu had something for everyone (looking for a good continental-type meal). Our server (Zach) was friendly and helpful. He was there when we needed him, but did not hover.

We were next to private dining room, filled with middle aged men talking over each other, but even so, it was not loud.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 12, 2017

We had a wonderful business dinner this past week night. Thanks for a terrific night! Food was excellent. I love the seasonal changes to the menu. Wait staff was very attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 3, 2017

Gourmet and Company always has wonderful food, and yesterday's selection was no different!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 23, 2017

From first course to dessert, everything was perfectly prepared and served flawlessly. Although we live about a two hour drive away, we will look forward to another dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 16, 2017

Upscale restaurant hidden away. A real jewel found for your dining experience which will surprise you. The cost is a little high, but if you are looking to impress your date, this is the place. You must order the French press coffee. It tops off the perfect evening. Low light, class, and romance is what you will discover at Gourmet and company.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 9, 2017

They always do a good job at Gourmet but I feel like they are just getting better and better. Every single bite that we had was truly unbelievable. The 72 hour sous vide short ribs special was simply amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 6, 2017

Never had a bad experience at Gourmet & Co. We go here often for business meetings.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was beautifully presented, but we found flavors overpowering for each entree, the garlic sauce on the steak and the smoke flavor on the chef special fish. We are willing to pay for quality food, but $150 for two entrees, one small salad, two drinks and 1/2 dozen oysters was just not worth the price for this dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 18, 2017

The owner made sure we had a table with plenty of room and Suzanne our waitress took great care of us. Thank you Gourmet for a great friend's lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 1, 2017

Always great food and service, try the goat cheese salad, it won't disappoint.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 28, 2017

Food was really very good, but a bit overpriced for the portions I think, for both the salads and the entrees. Everything else was quite nice, except for one party of 4 women who were quite loud. Otherwise it is really a nice atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 15, 2017

Birthday celebration for my husband. We both enjoyed a wonderful salad - beautifully presented and the taste was marvelous! My husband added a filet to his and I added salmon. We were both happy with our selections - I took some salmon home and he was wishing for a lot more of the filet because it tasted so good. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 14, 2017

Don't let the weird awning fool you. This place is great! Awesome food and great service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 30, 2017

Pleasant greeting on entry. Promptly seated. Subdued lighting both above and on the table. Waitstaff were great and very helpful with our questions. Service went smoothly but not rushed. My wife and I shared Hummus with thin flatbread - both house-made and very good, and Pickled Shrimp with 3 sauces to start. My wife liked the Hummus so much she had them bag the rest to take home. Entrees were Pan-Seared Red Grouper and the Meyer Lemon Herb Roasted Chicken that were both perfectly cooked. All the entree accompaniments were fresh and prepared well. The gnocchi with the chicken dish was especially good. We shared a Blueberry Cobbler with vanilla bean ice-cream for dessert and a beautiful end for our 27th Wedding Anniversary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 28, 2017

Friendly and well-trained wait staff. Excellent and healthy food choices. A relaxing atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 23, 2017

Gem in Johnson city. Food was outstanding, service was great. Locally sourced meat, vegetables, and fish, expertly prepared by a Chef. Top notch food from appetizers to deserts and drinks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2017

Awesome meal, as always. Best restaurant in JCY!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7