Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About Gourmet and Company

A Johnson City tradition since 1989, Gourmet and Company offers a dining experience that is unique to the region. Dinner menu selections run the gamut from traditional fine dinning classics to exciting specials including exotic meats and exceedingly fresh seafood. Lunches are casual and perfect for socializing or business. We also have an indoor lounge and outdoor patio bar that are fully stocked with a wide selection of wines, fine spirits, and craft beers.

214 E Mountcastle Dr Johnson City, TN 37601
Johnson City, TN 37601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:00am - 3:00pm Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 929-9007

Website:
http://www.gourmetandcompany.com/

Executive Chef:
John Bryant

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have private rooms available for up to 45 people. Please call for more information.

Gourmet and Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Local Ingredients (10)
See All
Business Meals (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Romantic (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Cozy (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Authentic (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Seasonal (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
222 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 4 days ago

Upscale restaurant hidden away. A real jewel found for your dining experience which will surprise you. The cost is a little high, but if you are looking to impress your date, this is the place. You must order the French press coffee. It tops off the perfect evening. Low light, class, and romance is what you will discover at Gourmet and company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

They always do a good job at Gourmet but I feel like they are just getting better and better. Every single bite that we had was truly unbelievable. The 72 hour sous vide short ribs special was simply amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Never had a bad experience at Gourmet & Co. We go here often for business meetings.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was beautifully presented, but we found flavors overpowering for each entree, the garlic sauce on the steak and the smoke flavor on the chef special fish. We are willing to pay for quality food, but $150 for two entrees, one small salad, two drinks and 1/2 dozen oysters was just not worth the price for this dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The owner made sure we had a table with plenty of room and Suzanne our waitress took great care of us. Thank you Gourmet for a great friend's lunch.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Always great food and service, try the goat cheese salad, it won't disappoint.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Food was really very good, but a bit overpriced for the portions I think, for both the salads and the entrees. Everything else was quite nice, except for one party of 4 women who were quite loud. Otherwise it is really a nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Birthday celebration for my husband. We both enjoyed a wonderful salad - beautifully presented and the taste was marvelous! My husband added a filet to his and I added salmon. We were both happy with our selections - I took some salmon home and he was wishing for a lot more of the filet because it tasted so good. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Authentic, Vegan, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Don't let the weird awning fool you. This place is great! Awesome food and great service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Pleasant greeting on entry. Promptly seated. Subdued lighting both above and on the table. Waitstaff were great and very helpful with our questions. Service went smoothly but not rushed. My wife and I shared Hummus with thin flatbread - both house-made and very good, and Pickled Shrimp with 3 sauces to start. My wife liked the Hummus so much she had them bag the rest to take home. Entrees were Pan-Seared Red Grouper and the Meyer Lemon Herb Roasted Chicken that were both perfectly cooked. All the entree accompaniments were fresh and prepared well. The gnocchi with the chicken dish was especially good. We shared a Blueberry Cobbler with vanilla bean ice-cream for dessert and a beautiful end for our 27th Wedding Anniversary.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Healthy, Tapas, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Friendly and well-trained wait staff. Excellent and healthy food choices. A relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Gem in Johnson city. Food was outstanding, service was great. Locally sourced meat, vegetables, and fish, expertly prepared by a Chef. Top notch food from appetizers to deserts and drinks.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Awesome meal, as always. Best restaurant in JCY!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I hosted a baby shower lunch for 15 (6 were kids) and they were very accommodating and friendly. They put us in a small secluded area and had an ample amount of staff check on us. The food was delicious and perfect for the occasion. It was the perfect place to celebrate our family's newest addition.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Dining at Gourmet was exceptional, as always. The rack fish was especially delicious, and the steak was prepared perfectly. Our server, Hilary, was knowledgeable and gracious. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Family in town! Take them for a meal of the freshest ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great experience!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Outstanding

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I am always happy with the food and the service at this restaurant in Johnson City. This is a food lover's delight.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We celebrated a special occasion and couldn't have been more pleased with this restaurant. It is a intimate quiet gem of a restaurant . They let us come to early to decorate the table. The food here was awesome - presented in a beautiful way.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Enjoyed my Southern fried chicken salad, which managed to be lighter than I expected, as the chicken was delicately battered and the dressing on the side. Everything tasted fresh and the portion for lunch was just right. My sister had the burger, which was also delicious, and accompanied by perfectly seasoned fries. Dining room had a fun, relaxed look, and service was prompt. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Food was amazing as ever! Our waitress was spread too thin and I didn't like sitting in the back room- I felt like she forgot about us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Best restaurant in the area hands down. Excellent every time. Love taking out of town guests there. Outdoor patio is perfect.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Cozy, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Looked up on "open table" wow it was great from bar cozy, food , and service were excellent!
Definitely would recommend

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My husband and I ate here lne Saturday evening after flyfishing. We were seated on time, all of the staff was courteous and efficient, and the menu had a great variety of entrees offered. My husband had the Little Gem Salad with Diver Scallops and the Heart of Ribeye. I had the Goat Cheese Salad and the Gourmet and Co. Burger. Everything was well prepared and delicious. The only thing we ordered that we personally did not care for was the cornbread...it did not have a sweet flavor and was a little dry. Everything else was great. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great meal and fine dining with more than ample quantity. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Amazing food and quality service. I'll definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2017

the spinach and potato soup was superb. nice wine list. thanks for your attention to special requests.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Everything was wonderful. I eat at Gourmet and Company on a fairly regular basis. The food, the service, and the atmosphere are consistently excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Very slow service. Server spilled tea on my daughter. Not many people there but they seated us all close together so we could all hear each other's conversations. I've had better experiences here. As always however food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Had my sons and a friend with me tonight. It was great! As always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I had the pecan smoked oysters with Benton's country ham, the 28 day aged NY strip with diver scallops, and the homemade ice cream for dessert. My friend had the barrel fish that was over-the-top good. The food is as good as it gets anywhere. Anywhere. The service is always on point. I eat here often with friends and know the standing menu well. It's a seasonal menu, so I'm never bored. There are always specials, too, to liven things up. You won't find a better place. Eat here. Enjoy it. Take your time. Relax after a long week. Savor the flavors.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This was a business dinner and one of the guests was 35 minutes late. Our waiter was excellent at checking on us without interrupting conversations. Food and atmosphere are great.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Amazing as always, the new winter menu is outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The best restaurant in town. Great menu selections and new offerings weekly. Service is impeccable.

However, on this night I was disappointed. I'd always heard how good the pork chop is at Gourmet. Sadly, it was inedible. Tough, dry, tasteless. The worst I've ever had. The server had the cost removed from the bill. Would have been nice to have been given the option of selecting another entree.

The decor is showing some signs of needing a thorough cleaning. Carpet is very stained.

Still, it's the best we have. I'll continue to be a loyal patron. Hope the new year shows improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We recently dined at Gourmet and Company for the third time. The previous visits were top notch. This time, there was a large group celebrating 2 birthdays in a private room adjacent to the main dining room. Although the rooms were separated by doors and curtains, the noise was audible. We were seated right next to the door the wait staff came in and out of for the party, which was mildly annoying. Our waitress was excellent. She has waited on us before, and is knowledgable and personable. The food was tasty, but the portions seemed small for the price. The previous visit I didn't recall this being a problem. Anyway, I think the large party had something to do with the less-than stellar experience. I will definitely return, but will ask to be seated as far as possible from the party room if there happens to be one going on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Gourmet and Co is a favorite! Always fresh local ingredients and changing specials. Great for a date. Great for a special family meal. Great for dinner with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 22, 2016

As always, excellent food and impeccable service. We were there celebrating our 30th year reunion - perfect atmosphere. We had the oyster appetizer- super fresh, wonderful taste from the sea, served at the perfect temperature. I had the wreck fish entree. It was very good, cooked just right on a velvety, lemony sauce and nicely presented with roasted baby vegetables. My wife had our long time favorite, fresh trout, gently cooked to perfection, ample portion too. We shared the apple pie and sorghum ice cream for dessert. Our server was very knowledgeable about their offering and very attentive to our needs. We are lucky to have Gourmet and Company here in Johnson City. We bring business clients to Gourmet not only for the great food, but the quiet atmosphere allows us to talk at a normal voice level, so rare these days st restaurants..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

quality of food and service was excellent. pricey for the quantity of food served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The autumn squash and apple bisque was delicious. Service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.