Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About Gourmet and Company

A Johnson City tradition since 1989, Gourmet and Company offers a dining experience that is unique to the region. Dinner menu selections run the gamut from traditional fine dinning classics to exciting specials including exotic meats and exceedingly fresh seafood. Lunches are casual and perfect for socializing or business. We also have an indoor lounge and outdoor patio bar that are fully stocked with a wide selection of wines, fine spirits, and craft beers.

214 E Mountcastle Dr Johnson City, TN 37601
Johnson City, TN 37601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:00am - 3:00pm Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 929-9007

Website:
http://www.gourmetandcompany.com/

Executive Chef:
John Bryant

Additional:
Outdoor dining

Special Events & Promotions:
We have private rooms available for up to 45 people. Please call for more information.

Gourmet and Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Business Meals (13)
Romantic (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Cozy (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Fun (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Authentic (2)
Organic (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Private Room (2)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Historic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
197 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great meal and fine dining with more than ample quantity. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing food and quality service. I'll definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2017

the spinach and potato soup was superb. nice wine list. thanks for your attention to special requests.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Everything was wonderful. I eat at Gourmet and Company on a fairly regular basis. The food, the service, and the atmosphere are consistently excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Very slow service. Server spilled tea on my daughter. Not many people there but they seated us all close together so we could all hear each other's conversations. I've had better experiences here. As always however food was great.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Had my sons and a friend with me tonight. It was great! As always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I had the pecan smoked oysters with Benton's country ham, the 28 day aged NY strip with diver scallops, and the homemade ice cream for dessert. My friend had the barrel fish that was over-the-top good. The food is as good as it gets anywhere. Anywhere. The service is always on point. I eat here often with friends and know the standing menu well. It's a seasonal menu, so I'm never bored. There are always specials, too, to liven things up. You won't find a better place. Eat here. Enjoy it. Take your time. Relax after a long week. Savor the flavors.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This was a business dinner and one of the guests was 35 minutes late. Our waiter was excellent at checking on us without interrupting conversations. Food and atmosphere are great.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Amazing as always, the new winter menu is outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The best restaurant in town. Great menu selections and new offerings weekly. Service is impeccable.

However, on this night I was disappointed. I'd always heard how good the pork chop is at Gourmet. Sadly, it was inedible. Tough, dry, tasteless. The worst I've ever had. The server had the cost removed from the bill. Would have been nice to have been given the option of selecting another entree.

The decor is showing some signs of needing a thorough cleaning. Carpet is very stained.

Still, it's the best we have. I'll continue to be a loyal patron. Hope the new year shows improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We recently dined at Gourmet and Company for the third time. The previous visits were top notch. This time, there was a large group celebrating 2 birthdays in a private room adjacent to the main dining room. Although the rooms were separated by doors and curtains, the noise was audible. We were seated right next to the door the wait staff came in and out of for the party, which was mildly annoying. Our waitress was excellent. She has waited on us before, and is knowledgable and personable. The food was tasty, but the portions seemed small for the price. The previous visit I didn't recall this being a problem. Anyway, I think the large party had something to do with the less-than stellar experience. I will definitely return, but will ask to be seated as far as possible from the party room if there happens to be one going on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Gourmet and Co is a favorite! Always fresh local ingredients and changing specials. Great for a date. Great for a special family meal. Great for dinner with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 22, 2016

As always, excellent food and impeccable service. We were there celebrating our 30th year reunion - perfect atmosphere. We had the oyster appetizer- super fresh, wonderful taste from the sea, served at the perfect temperature. I had the wreck fish entree. It was very good, cooked just right on a velvety, lemony sauce and nicely presented with roasted baby vegetables. My wife had our long time favorite, fresh trout, gently cooked to perfection, ample portion too. We shared the apple pie and sorghum ice cream for dessert. Our server was very knowledgeable about their offering and very attentive to our needs. We are lucky to have Gourmet and Company here in Johnson City. We bring business clients to Gourmet not only for the great food, but the quiet atmosphere allows us to talk at a normal voice level, so rare these days st restaurants..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

quality of food and service was excellent. pricey for the quantity of food served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The autumn squash and apple bisque was delicious. Service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This restaurant is always a treat. Serving up local foods, that are tasty and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food is outstanding, as is the service. This was my first time to have dinner at Gourmet & Co., having enjoyed lunch there several times. Booking reservations online is convenient. The server was very good and answered all our questions. We were celebrating a birthday, and enjoyed the experience immensely.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food was good - small portions but tasty. Salads were very good -2 of us had the beet salad. Service was good but not excellent. Waitress was pleasant and accommodating but forgot who had ordered what in same cases. I guess my final assessment would be: good, nice atmosphere, pleasant staff but not excellent.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The burger was ordered well done and was served medium well. Great fries! Wonderful wine flight. Tried the s'more and it was terrible. We couldn't eat it. Luckily, we were not charged for it. One of our party members ordered the lemon chicken and did not receive the pumpkin purée as a side on the plate. The brandy Manhattan was so so and the tapas appetizer was lacking taste.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food was great. Service was very slow, over two hours for three meals. The waiter seemed unaware of the menu offerings. He indicated that cornbread would not be offered this evening, then we see a different waiter serve it to the table beside us. Obviously he either lied or was incompetent. Babies should not be allowed. When I pay $170 for three meals, I don't expect to hear a baby cry during my entire meal. We are regulars, but definitely will be a while before we revisit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 13, 2016

We enjoyed the opportunity to visit and relax over a delicious dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Simply put, one of the best restaurants in Johnson City for food and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Mushroom soup was too salty. Rock fish was over cooked. Romaine lettuce was whole and awkward to cut and eat. Wine tasting for $10 was very unique. All three wines that I tried were delicious and have since purchased two bottles of the Cabernet that I sampled. The waitstaff was very good however she didn't offer any coffee at the end of the meal and she didn't offer any ground pepper on the salads. The burgers were excellent and the fries were plentiful and tasty. Overall, the experience was good however for the price and the small portions I wouldn't go for the evening meal. I would try the lunch menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We have been here several times and have always enjoyed the whole experience however this time the steak for 2 was tough and the side potato hash didn't seem all that special. Worst menu item we have had.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Delightful experience - totally beyond ordinary menu.

Tags: Comfort Food, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very nice as usual. Even when crowded, the service is better than most other choices in the vicinity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 17, 2016

OMG- I split the aged ribeye with my friend, It was delicious! Really great seasonal heirloom tomato salad. Gourmet and Company hits it just right with their seasonal selections and the preparations to make each dish a gourmet delight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Appreciate that Gourmet & Co goes the extra mile to source local ingredients from our regions farmers. So many amazing choices on the menu. The night we went the soup of the day--watermelon gazpacho--was fantastic....the night's fish special also, and the burger was the best I've ever had. Food was fresh, imaginative, and delicious. Service was excellent. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2016

I always enjoy going to Gourmet and Company and it is my favorite restaurant in the Tri-Cities area. I was disappointed that other than a Happy Birthday from the server, there was not a little treat for the birthday person at our table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere. The menu changes frequently and is always creative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 25, 2016

One of the nicer upscale luncheon choices in the Tri-Cities. It's as close as One can get to an upscale bigger city establishment without leaving the ZIP Code. Service was impeccable. Selections were varied. Food was tasty. Atmosphere was perfect. Try it if you haven't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food was awesome! So was the service. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 25, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Johnson city. I always bring out of town guests & friends here & we are never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Wow! My group of 6 LOVED this spot. We are all from out of town and like to go to local spots that have their own unique charm. And boy does this place fit the bill! We will be back! And will spread the word. Love, Love, Love Gourmet and Company!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our meal was very good. The service and ambience were great. We started with the charcuterie platter which was excellent. Our entrees were the lamb chops and the fish special (barrel fish) and both were very good. Our desserts were the ice cream sandwich which was very good. The maple bacon ice cream inside was very interesting. The French toast bread pudding was good but a bit too heavy for our liking. Overall, a very good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We have dined here several times and each visit has been excellent. This time around, we started with a cocktail and an appetizer combination of oysters and ravioli with ramps. That was followed by main courses of fish and steak, both seasoned with local flavors (ramps included again), and finally some dessert. We paired it with a nice bottle of wine. The service was great as always. Food is very fresh with local vegetables and herbs included in many cases and very well prepared and presented. The meal was delivered to the table at a pace that let us enjoy it without feeling rushed. The wine list has a nice variety of choices. This time, the menu was so interesting it made it really hard to choose -- it all looked good -- and the offerings change regularly. Everything is priced at a level that is very reasonable for this quality of food. This really is the best restaurant in JC!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Do not let the exterior location of this restaurant fool you. Once you enter through the doors it's like Alice in Wonderland with a complete transformation that lends one nice surprise after the other. The food quality and presentation - literally art on a plate, personal and attentive service by our waiter (thank you to Kenn), the ambience from the romantic/modern/eclectic decor to the whimsical flight stands for our wine, it is apparent that quality and special touches rate high on the owner's and chef's priority list. With every course either my husband or I would utter, "This is perfect." The dining experience made our anniversary celebration perfect as well. Truly it's no wonder Gourmet & Company has been serving satisfied patrons for 27 years...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 14, 2016

Our service was was outstanding.The menu was unique. Not available any place we have been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 19, 2016

We've dined here several times and it has always been a good experience. Over the past year in particular, the quality and combination of food has really gone up. Don't let the location fool you -- it's in a strip mall area near a major highway. This time we arrived for a late evening reservation and the staff gave us a nice table near the bar (which is open later than the dining area). We had a nice cocktail to start, then a cheese board with regional selections, two wonderful mains (burger and a combination beef/scallop dish), with a nice red wine from Australia. The wine list is not lengthy, but appears carefully considered with a nice range of prices and varietals. The staff is super friendly and when we've been there (often later than normal dinner hours), the ambiance is pleasant and low key. While there is a bar area, it has not been intrusive in any way. This is by far the best fine dining we've had in Johnson City. Prices are very reasonable as well for this quality of food, which features a lot of fresh and regional items. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 1, 2016

This is a great restaurant, my favorite in JOHNSON City. The food is always great, the service terrific, and a quiet, nice environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.