About Gourmet and Company

214 E Mountcastle Dr Johnson City, TN 37601
Johnson City, TN 37601
View Larger Map

A Johnson City tradition since 1989, Gourmet and Company offers a dining experience that is unique to the region. Dinner menu selections run the gamut from traditional fine dinning classics to exciting specials including exotic meats and exceedingly fresh seafood. Lunches are casual and perfect for socializing or business. We also have an indoor lounge and outdoor patio bar that are fully stocked with a wide selection of wines, fine spirits, and craft beers.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:00am - 3:00pm Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 929-9007

Website:
http://www.gourmetandcompany.com/

Executive Chef:
John Bryant

Additional:
Outdoor dining

Special Events & Promotions:
We have private rooms available for up to 45 people. Please call for more information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Gourmet and Company, Johnson City, TN
  • Gourmet and Company, Johnson City, TN
Gourmet and Company, Johnson City, TN
Gourmet and Company, Johnson City, TN

Gourmet and Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
East Tennessee
Best Food
East Tennessee
Best Service
East Tennessee
2 More
American
East Tennessee
Most Booked
Tri-Cities / Bristol / Kingsport / Johnson City
Best Restaurants in Johnson City ›

Special Occasion (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
See All
Good for a Date (7)
Romantic (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Cozy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Authentic (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
174 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Gourmet and Co is a favorite! Always f ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Gourmet and Co is a favorite! Always fresh local ingredients and changing specials. Great for a date. Great for a special family meal. Great for dinner with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

As always, excellent food and impeccabl ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 22, 2016

As always, excellent food and impeccable service. We were there celebrating our 30th year reunion - perfect atmosphere. We had the oyster appetizer- super fresh, wonderful taste from the sea, served at the perfect temperature. I had the wreck fish entree. It was very good, cooked just right on a velvety, lemony sauce and nicely presented with roasted baby vegetables. My wife had our long time favorite, fresh trout, gently cooked to perfection, ample portion too. We shared the apple pie and sorghum ice cream for dessert. Our server was very knowledgeable about their offering and very attentive to our needs. We are lucky to have Gourmet and Company here in Johnson City. We bring business clients to Gourmet not only for the great food, but the quiet atmosphere allows us to talk at a normal voice level, so rare these days st restaurants..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

quality of food and service was excellen ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

quality of food and service was excellent. pricey for the quantity of food served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The autumn squash and apple bisque was d ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The autumn squash and apple bisque was delicious. Service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This restaurant is always a treat. Servi ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This restaurant is always a treat. Serving up local foods, that are tasty and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is outstanding, as is the servi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food is outstanding, as is the service. This was my first time to have dinner at Gourmet & Co., having enjoyed lunch there several times. Booking reservations online is convenient. The server was very good and answered all our questions. We were celebrating a birthday, and enjoyed the experience immensely.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was good - small portions but tasty ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food was good - small portions but tasty. Salads were very good -2 of us had the beet salad. Service was good but not excellent. Waitress was pleasant and accommodating but forgot who had ordered what in same cases. I guess my final assessment would be: good, nice atmosphere, pleasant staff but not excellent.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was great. Service was very slow, o ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food was great. Service was very slow, over two hours for three meals. The waiter seemed unaware of the menu offerings. He indicated that cornbread would not be offered this evening, then we see a different waiter serve it to the table beside us. Obviously he either lied or was incompetent. Babies should not be allowed. When I pay $170 for three meals, I don't expect to hear a baby cry during my entire meal. We are regulars, but definitely will be a while before we revisit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

The burger was ordered well done and was ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The burger was ordered well done and was served medium well. Great fries! Wonderful wine flight. Tried the s'more and it was terrible. We couldn't eat it. Luckily, we were not charged for it. One of our party members ordered the lemon chicken and did not receive the pumpkin purée as a side on the plate. The brandy Manhattan was so so and the tapas appetizer was lacking taste.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

We enjoyed the opportunity to visit and ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 13, 2016

We enjoyed the opportunity to visit and relax over a delicious dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply put, one of the best restaurants ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Simply put, one of the best restaurants in Johnson City for food and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mushroom soup was too salty. Rock fish w ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Mushroom soup was too salty. Rock fish was over cooked. Romaine lettuce was whole and awkward to cut and eat. Wine tasting for $10 was very unique. All three wines that I tried were delicious and have since purchased two bottles of the Cabernet that I sampled. The waitstaff was very good however she didn't offer any coffee at the end of the meal and she didn't offer any ground pepper on the salads. The burgers were excellent and the fries were plentiful and tasty. Overall, the experience was good however for the price and the small portions I wouldn't go for the evening meal. I would try the lunch menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

We have been here several times and have ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We have been here several times and have always enjoyed the whole experience however this time the steak for 2 was tough and the side potato hash didn't seem all that special. Worst menu item we have had.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Delightful experience - totally beyond o ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Delightful experience - totally beyond ordinary menu.

Tags: Comfort Food, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice as usual. Even when crowded, t ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very nice as usual. Even when crowded, the service is better than most other choices in the vicinity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

OMG- I split the aged ribeye with my fri ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 17, 2016

OMG- I split the aged ribeye with my friend, It was delicious! Really great seasonal heirloom tomato salad. Gourmet and Company hits it just right with their seasonal selections and the preparations to make each dish a gourmet delight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Appreciate that Gourmet & Co goes the ex ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Appreciate that Gourmet & Co goes the extra mile to source local ingredients from our regions farmers. So many amazing choices on the menu. The night we went the soup of the day--watermelon gazpacho--was fantastic....the night's fish special also, and the burger was the best I've ever had. Food was fresh, imaginative, and delicious. Service was excellent. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy going to Gourmet and Comp ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2016

I always enjoy going to Gourmet and Company and it is my favorite restaurant in the Tri-Cities area. I was disappointed that other than a Happy Birthday from the server, there was not a little treat for the birthday person at our table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, service and atmosphere. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere. The menu changes frequently and is always creative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the nicer upscale luncheon choice ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 25, 2016

One of the nicer upscale luncheon choices in the Tri-Cities. It's as close as One can get to an upscale bigger city establishment without leaving the ZIP Code. Service was impeccable. Selections were varied. Food was tasty. Atmosphere was perfect. Try it if you haven't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was awesome! So was the service. Wi ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food was awesome! So was the service. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in Johnson city. ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 25, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Johnson city. I always bring out of town guests & friends here & we are never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow! My group of 6 LOVED this spot. We a ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Wow! My group of 6 LOVED this spot. We are all from out of town and like to go to local spots that have their own unique charm. And boy does this place fit the bill! We will be back! And will spread the word. Love, Love, Love Gourmet and Company!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our meal was very good. The service and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our meal was very good. The service and ambience were great. We started with the charcuterie platter which was excellent. Our entrees were the lamb chops and the fish special (barrel fish) and both were very good. Our desserts were the ice cream sandwich which was very good. The maple bacon ice cream inside was very interesting. The French toast bread pudding was good but a bit too heavy for our liking. Overall, a very good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We have dined here several times and eac ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We have dined here several times and each visit has been excellent. This time around, we started with a cocktail and an appetizer combination of oysters and ravioli with ramps. That was followed by main courses of fish and steak, both seasoned with local flavors (ramps included again), and finally some dessert. We paired it with a nice bottle of wine. The service was great as always. Food is very fresh with local vegetables and herbs included in many cases and very well prepared and presented. The meal was delivered to the table at a pace that let us enjoy it without feeling rushed. The wine list has a nice variety of choices. This time, the menu was so interesting it made it really hard to choose -- it all looked good -- and the offerings change regularly. Everything is priced at a level that is very reasonable for this quality of food. This really is the best restaurant in JC!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect dining experience.

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Do not let the exterior location of this restaurant fool you. Once you enter through the doors it's like Alice in Wonderland with a complete transformation that lends one nice surprise after the other. The food quality and presentation - literally art on a plate, personal and attentive service by our waiter (thank you to Kenn), the ambience from the romantic/modern/eclectic decor to the whimsical flight stands for our wine, it is apparent that quality and special touches rate high on the owner's and chef's priority list. With every course either my husband or I would utter, "This is perfect." The dining experience made our anniversary celebration perfect as well. Truly it's no wonder Gourmet & Company has been serving satisfied patrons for 27 years...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was was outstanding.The menu ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 14, 2016

Our service was was outstanding.The menu was unique. Not available any place we have been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal in JC

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 19, 2016

We've dined here several times and it has always been a good experience. Over the past year in particular, the quality and combination of food has really gone up. Don't let the location fool you -- it's in a strip mall area near a major highway. This time we arrived for a late evening reservation and the staff gave us a nice table near the bar (which is open later than the dining area). We had a nice cocktail to start, then a cheese board with regional selections, two wonderful mains (burger and a combination beef/scallop dish), with a nice red wine from Australia. The wine list is not lengthy, but appears carefully considered with a nice range of prices and varietals. The staff is super friendly and when we've been there (often later than normal dinner hours), the ambiance is pleasant and low key. While there is a bar area, it has not been intrusive in any way. This is by far the best fine dining we've had in Johnson City. Prices are very reasonable as well for this quality of food, which features a lot of fresh and regional items. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a great restaurant, my favorite ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 1, 2016

This is a great restaurant, my favorite in JOHNSON City. The food is always great, the service terrific, and a quiet, nice environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our fav place in TRI- delicious food and ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Our fav place in TRI- delicious food and romantic ambiance for date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good but overpriced

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 12, 2016

Good food and nice ambiance but a bit overpriced for what you get.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great date

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2016

My wife and I had an excellent experience. This is our new favorite restaurant. We plan to come back many times to come. The atmosphere is really, really nice and the service is unbeatable. Great attention has been given to every detail including the fine food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great birthday lunch

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Enjoyed a delicious and low key birthday lunch. Can't wait to return for another visit again! The service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wasn't that impressed. I had been hearin ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 21, 2016

Wasn't that impressed. I had been hearing about this restaurant for a while but left feeling unimpressed overall. Not worth it for the price. Service was so so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Great place to go for any occasion or just because

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 26, 2015

Great service and great food!! My hats off to the Chef! Best place to go in Johnson City!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner!

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 13, 2015

Excellent dinner! Everything was great, as always. But miss the bakery - especially the strawberry cake, They have it in a cupcake, but it's not the same.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently great

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 21, 2015

When you want to dine out and know that everything will be perfect, make a reservation at Gourmet & Company. This upscale restaurant features delicious and beautifully presented appetizers, entrees, drinks, and desserts. Diverse menu includes local fare. Servers and bar staff make you feel special. Attentive, offering suggestions, knowledgable, and personable, they work as a team. Todd is the best bartender anywhere. Our server was Hillary. She is a class act. These folks know what they're doing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent meal in JC

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 1, 2015

This was our second visit to the restaurant. We had cocktails, oysters, a salad, and a pasta dish and filet for mains, plus a bottle of wine, topped off with dessert. The food was well prepared and plated. Service was friendly and attentive, but we did not feel rushed. The wine list has some nice choices at reasonable (restaurant) prices. Johnson City is a not a large place, so having some "fine dining" options is welcome. Don't let the location of this place put you off -- it's in a kind of strip mall, but the inside is nicely done. Prices are good value for the quality of food. If you are looking for dining that is a cut above in Johnson City, this is a good choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great Dining Experience

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 29, 2015

This is Johnson City's best restaurant. We always have great time and the service is top notch. Certainly compares with fine dining in much larger cities. Would recommen to try if you haven't .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Place for Dining

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 24, 2015

My boyfriend and I just discovered this restaurant and ate there for lunch. Absolutely great environment, great Food, great service. Looking forward to coming back for dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.