About Gourmet and Company

214 E Mountcastle Dr Johnson City, TN 37601
Johnson City, TN 37601
View Larger Map

A Johnson City tradition since 1989, Gourmet and Company offers a dining experience that is unique to the region. Dinner menu selections run the gamut from traditional fine dinning classics to exciting specials including exotic meats and exceedingly fresh seafood. Lunches are casual and perfect for socializing or business. We also have an indoor lounge and outdoor patio bar that are fully stocked with a wide selection of wines, fine spirits, and craft beers.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:00am - 3:00pm Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 929-9007

Website:
http://www.gourmetandcompany.com/

Executive Chef:
John Bryant

Special Events & Promotions:
We have private rooms available for up to 45 people. Please call for more information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Gourmet and Company
  • Gourmet and Company
Gourmet and Company
Gourmet and Company

Gourmet and Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
East Tennessee
Best Food
East Tennessee
Best Service
East Tennessee
4 More
Best Ambiance
East Tennessee
Best Value
East Tennessee
American
East Tennessee
Most Booked
Tri-Cities / Bristol / Kingsport / Johnson City
Best Restaurants in Johnson City ›

Special Occasion (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Romantic (16)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
161 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delightful experience - totally beyond o ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Delightful experience - totally beyond ordinary menu.

Tags: Comfort Food, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice as usual. Even when crowded, t ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice as usual. Even when crowded, the service is better than most other choices in the vicinity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

OMG- I split the aged ribeye with my fri ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

OMG- I split the aged ribeye with my friend, It was delicious! Really great seasonal heirloom tomato salad. Gourmet and Company hits it just right with their seasonal selections and the preparations to make each dish a gourmet delight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Appreciate that Gourmet & Co goes the ex ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Appreciate that Gourmet & Co goes the extra mile to source local ingredients from our regions farmers. So many amazing choices on the menu. The night we went the soup of the day--watermelon gazpacho--was fantastic....the night's fish special also, and the burger was the best I've ever had. Food was fresh, imaginative, and delicious. Service was excellent. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy going to Gourmet and Comp ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I always enjoy going to Gourmet and Company and it is my favorite restaurant in the Tri-Cities area. I was disappointed that other than a Happy Birthday from the server, there was not a little treat for the birthday person at our table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, service and atmosphere. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere. The menu changes frequently and is always creative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the nicer upscale luncheon choice ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

One of the nicer upscale luncheon choices in the Tri-Cities. It's as close as One can get to an upscale bigger city establishment without leaving the ZIP Code. Service was impeccable. Selections were varied. Food was tasty. Atmosphere was perfect. Try it if you haven't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was awesome! So was the service. Wi ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food was awesome! So was the service. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in Johnson city. ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Johnson city. I always bring out of town guests & friends here & we are never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow! My group of 6 LOVED this spot. We a ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Wow! My group of 6 LOVED this spot. We are all from out of town and like to go to local spots that have their own unique charm. And boy does this place fit the bill! We will be back! And will spread the word. Love, Love, Love Gourmet and Company!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our meal was very good. The service and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our meal was very good. The service and ambience were great. We started with the charcuterie platter which was excellent. Our entrees were the lamb chops and the fish special (barrel fish) and both were very good. Our desserts were the ice cream sandwich which was very good. The maple bacon ice cream inside was very interesting. The French toast bread pudding was good but a bit too heavy for our liking. Overall, a very good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We have dined here several times and eac ...

vip
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We have dined here several times and each visit has been excellent. This time around, we started with a cocktail and an appetizer combination of oysters and ravioli with ramps. That was followed by main courses of fish and steak, both seasoned with local flavors (ramps included again), and finally some dessert. We paired it with a nice bottle of wine. The service was great as always. Food is very fresh with local vegetables and herbs included in many cases and very well prepared and presented. The meal was delivered to the table at a pace that let us enjoy it without feeling rushed. The wine list has a nice variety of choices. This time, the menu was so interesting it made it really hard to choose -- it all looked good -- and the offerings change regularly. Everything is priced at a level that is very reasonable for this quality of food. This really is the best restaurant in JC!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect dining experience.

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Do not let the exterior location of this restaurant fool you. Once you enter through the doors it's like Alice in Wonderland with a complete transformation that lends one nice surprise after the other. The food quality and presentation - literally art on a plate, personal and attentive service by our waiter (thank you to Kenn), the ambience from the romantic/modern/eclectic decor to the whimsical flight stands for our wine, it is apparent that quality and special touches rate high on the owner's and chef's priority list. With every course either my husband or I would utter, "This is perfect." The dining experience made our anniversary celebration perfect as well. Truly it's no wonder Gourmet & Company has been serving satisfied patrons for 27 years...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was was outstanding.The menu ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Our service was was outstanding.The menu was unique. Not available any place we have been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal in JC

vip
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We've dined here several times and it has always been a good experience. Over the past year in particular, the quality and combination of food has really gone up. Don't let the location fool you -- it's in a strip mall area near a major highway. This time we arrived for a late evening reservation and the staff gave us a nice table near the bar (which is open later than the dining area). We had a nice cocktail to start, then a cheese board with regional selections, two wonderful mains (burger and a combination beef/scallop dish), with a nice red wine from Australia. The wine list is not lengthy, but appears carefully considered with a nice range of prices and varietals. The staff is super friendly and when we've been there (often later than normal dinner hours), the ambiance is pleasant and low key. While there is a bar area, it has not been intrusive in any way. This is by far the best fine dining we've had in Johnson City. Prices are very reasonable as well for this quality of food, which features a lot of fresh and regional items. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a great restaurant, my favorite ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

This is a great restaurant, my favorite in JOHNSON City. The food is always great, the service terrific, and a quiet, nice environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our fav place in TRI- delicious food and ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Our fav place in TRI- delicious food and romantic ambiance for date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good but overpriced

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Good food and nice ambiance but a bit overpriced for what you get.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great date

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

My wife and I had an excellent experience. This is our new favorite restaurant. We plan to come back many times to come. The atmosphere is really, really nice and the service is unbeatable. Great attention has been given to every detail including the fine food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great birthday lunch

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Enjoyed a delicious and low key birthday lunch. Can't wait to return for another visit again! The service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wasn't that impressed. I had been hearin ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

Wasn't that impressed. I had been hearing about this restaurant for a while but left feeling unimpressed overall. Not worth it for the price. Service was so so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Great place to go for any occasion or just because

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Great service and great food!! My hats off to the Chef! Best place to go in Johnson City!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner!

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Excellent dinner! Everything was great, as always. But miss the bakery - especially the strawberry cake, They have it in a cupcake, but it's not the same.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently great

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

When you want to dine out and know that everything will be perfect, make a reservation at Gourmet & Company. This upscale restaurant features delicious and beautifully presented appetizers, entrees, drinks, and desserts. Diverse menu includes local fare. Servers and bar staff make you feel special. Attentive, offering suggestions, knowledgable, and personable, they work as a team. Todd is the best bartender anywhere. Our server was Hillary. She is a class act. These folks know what they're doing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent meal in JC

vip
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

This was our second visit to the restaurant. We had cocktails, oysters, a salad, and a pasta dish and filet for mains, plus a bottle of wine, topped off with dessert. The food was well prepared and plated. Service was friendly and attentive, but we did not feel rushed. The wine list has some nice choices at reasonable (restaurant) prices. Johnson City is a not a large place, so having some "fine dining" options is welcome. Don't let the location of this place put you off -- it's in a kind of strip mall, but the inside is nicely done. Prices are good value for the quality of food. If you are looking for dining that is a cut above in Johnson City, this is a good choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great Dining Experience

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on October 29, 2015

This is Johnson City's best restaurant. We always have great time and the service is top notch. Certainly compares with fine dining in much larger cities. Would recommen to try if you haven't .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Place for Dining

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

My boyfriend and I just discovered this restaurant and ate there for lunch. Absolutely great environment, great Food, great service. Looking forward to coming back for dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great along with the service. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Food was great along with the service. Will be back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An experience getting there, but well wo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

An experience getting there, but well worth the effort. Very interesting. and innovating decor. Eclectic cuisine and friendly and attentive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always top notch

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 4, 2015

I have yet to be disappointed at Gourmet & Co. Best hummus I've ever had and the truffle fries are to die for.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Local farm was delivering fresh veggies....

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 29, 2015

when we were there for lunch in the courtyard. It was a wonderful surprise, and he was very knowledgeable about their produce. Love this restaurant. It's in a strip shopping center, so the exterior isn't very appealing. Don't let the outside fool you. Fantastic food; excellent ambience, and the outdoor courtyard seems very secluded. Did I mention that I love this place?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous!

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on May 22, 2015

Great food, perfect for an anniversary dinner or a special night out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent , although the food was excel ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 21, 2015

Excellent , although the food was excellent, the staff made us feel welcome and glad to serve us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect Night

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on May 2, 2015

When I originally decided to come to this restaraunt, I had mixed feelings. Usually when I have visited gourmet French restraunts, the waiters have been pretentious and the atmosphere snobby; However, this has changed my outlook entirely. With a wonderful atmosphere, as soon as you open the door you feel at ease. Immediately you will be approached by the outstanding staff that will help you in anyway imaginable. Even after altering the menu, the staff had a thorough knowledge of all dishes and how they are prepared. Service was prompt and is adapted to the speed at which you eat your food, so right as I finished my first dish, my waiter brought out my second dish. All in all this was an amazing experience that I will never forget.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for meeting and catching up ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on May 1, 2015

Great place for meeting and catching up with old friends. The food is very good. The servers are usually very attentive without being intrusive. Love Gourmet & Company and eat there often.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 21, 2015

Everything you would want in fine dining. Food, service, ambiance were great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Food/Slow Service

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 18, 2015

One of our favorite restaurants but this evening they were off their game. Slow service with very few folks in the restaurant and limited servers. The appetizer crab on cornbread was a bust but the entrees good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Enjoyable meal, amiable service, above average.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 11, 2015

The restaurant is in an outside mall. Cars pulling up at night shine lights into the restaurant, so don't sit by the windows at the front of the restaurant if that bothers. The decor was suitable. The bar was appropriate, but nothing special. Our service was slow, as if a waiter went home early and left more work than the remaining staff could handle, or as if a large party arrived without a reservation, taxing the waitstaff. There was, in fact, a large party dining that evening, but I don't know if a reservation was made. The slow service was made up for by an amiable waiter, and enjoyable food at competitive pricing.

I had the warm spinach salad, which was good, without over cooking nor over spicing. I recommend it. I also had the lobster macaroni, which was delightfully prepared in a mild and creamy sauce with adequate amounts of lobster to flavor the dish. I'd have been pleased with more lobster, but wasn't disappointed. The french fries were plentiful and perfectly cooked, without a greasy taste but with appropriate crispness.

My wife had a salad, and salmon. Both were fine, with ample portions and good presentations. She had a Riesling, from a nice selection of wines, commensurate with the type of restaurant we chose. She was pleased with her meal, too. Prices were typical for the area and type of restaurant. I would return as this was a nice, better than average, restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Why didn't we go here before??

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on March 20, 2015

Incredible restaurant - wish we had come sooner. But we are going back again this weekend...with some of our dearest friends. And you will see us again! Guaranteed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite restaurant in Johnson City!

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on March 14, 2015

Everything I've ever eaten here has exceeded expectations. The quail is exquisite and no one should leave without trying the black truffle fries. The in-house made bread was fresh and very flavorful. I also recommend the Goat Cheese salad (comes with citrus panko encrusted goat cheese) and a delicious and potent cocktail called a Tequini (very reasonably priced). Our server Ken went above and beyond to make our visit special and perfect. Flawless food and service, as usual!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.