About Gotham Bar and Grill

Since first opening its doors in 1984, Gotham Bar and Grill has epitomized New York City dining at its finest, serving Executive Chef Alfred Portale's sublime and refreshingly accessible Contemporary American Cuisine in a dining room that is consistently packed with sophisticated diners from all over the country and the world.

One of the secrets of Gotham's success is that it is an institution that has never become institutional. The unparalleled quality of the food and service are constants, but the rest of the Gotham experience is constantly updated to keep the restaurant feeling as fresh as the day it opened. New menu items are introduced each season, the wine list is always evolving, and the dining room is regularly revamped.

Gotham Bar and Grill has been honored as Most Outstanding Restaurant in the nation by the James Beard Foundation, which named Chef/Owner Alfred Portale Most Outstanding Chef in the nation for 2006.

12 East 12th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 12:00pm-2:15pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday 5:30pm-11:00pm
Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm-11:00pm

The restaurant is wheel chair accessible but please note the restrooms are located downstairs.

Cross Street:
5th Ave + University Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 620-4020

Website:
http://www.gothambarandgrill.com/

Parking Details:
There are numerous parking garages located in the neighborhood.
SP PARKING(2 blocks away west)
20 West 13th St (between 5th & 6th ave) on the left side of the street
OPEN: 24 hours
IMPARK( 2 blocks away east)
60 East 12th street (between broadway & 4th street) on the right side of the street across from The Strand Bookstore
OPEN: 24 hours

Public Transit:
4,5,6,N,R,W,Q to Union Square. Gotham is 2 blocks south on 12th Street.



F,M to 14th Street. Gotham is 1 avenue east and 2 blocks south.



1,2,3 to 14th Street. Gotham is 2 avenues east and 2 blocks south.

Executive Chef:
Alfred Portale

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 9:30PM 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:30PM - 5:30PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Gotham Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (165)
Good for Anniversaries (127)
Fit for Foodies (122)
See All
Good for a Date (104)
Notable Wine List (94)
Creative Cuisine (90)
Good for Birthdays (89)
Romantic (82)
Business Meals (79)
Neighborhood Gem (71)
Quiet Conversation (62)
Bar Seating (57)
Great for Lunch (57)
Authentic (43)
Hot Spot (34)
People Watching (34)
Worth the Drive (32)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Good for Groups (28)
Modern Decor (27)
Seasonal (26)
Cozy (25)
Local Ingredients (25)
Tasting Menu (18)
Historic (17)
Outstanding Value (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Fun (14)
Healthy (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Casual (8)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Organic (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Scenic View (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Fireplace (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
7373 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We tried the restaurant week menu. The a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 hours ago

We tried the restaurant week menu. The appetizers were not a surprise. The taste of both the quinoa and kale salad is a bit exotic. The dessert is pretty good. The chocolate cake melt in mouth, was a bit too sweet but it was paired with salted ice cream which mitigated the sweetness which is good. Gotham has a good reputation, but I would say that today's dining experience wasn't too impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The atmosphere was astonising with being ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

The atmosphere was astonising with being well dressed a must. Every bite from each dish was better than the next. Expensive but you're paying for a memorable dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Healthy, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Days of long ago. A classic dining exper ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

Days of long ago. A classic dining experience and fabulous food. Beautiful room. We will return

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Splendid! Amazing food and service!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Splendid! Amazing food and service!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome meal! Great food wine and servic ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome meal! Great food wine and service! Loved the NY Strip steak and my wife liked the duck breast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply amazing. Every time it exceeds ex ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Simply amazing. Every time it exceeds expectations!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect in almost every way. Perfect ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Perfect in almost every way. Perfect in almost every way.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great restaurant that serves classic f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

A great restaurant that serves classic food using local ingredients. Nice atmosphere and an excellent bar

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Eating here was like being in a timewarp ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Eating here was like being in a timewarp. 1980's style food in an unexciting expense account atmosphere. Boring unimaginative cooking and very bad value. The service however was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Excellent neighborhood gem. Top quality ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent neighborhood gem. Top quality restaurant just down the street.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely lunch, very good food, superb ser ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Lovely lunch, very good food, superb service by Robert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptional as always - been to Gotham m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Exceptional as always - been to Gotham many times and it is always wonderful in every way.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

this restaurant has been in business for ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

this restaurant has been in business for many years.the staff is friendly.the room is elegant.the food is displayed with care ,however,.they seem to never change their menu.I have dined here many times .I had a problem with the duck it was not edible.It was one of my favorite dishes and I have ordered this many times.Sorry to say I will never return to this restaurant .

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

After at least 15 years since our last v ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

After at least 15 years since our last visit here, we returned to Gotham for a celebratory dinner and were delighted to find that the restaurant was as top-notch as we had remembered it. The food was exceptional -- in particular a dover sole entree special and a pear souffle dessert that were sheer perfection. The wine list offers high-quality variety. The waitstaff was friendly, professional, and competent. The meal service was paced perfectly -- not at all rushed, and not too slow. The spacious room and high ceilings provide a simple and elegant setting. Although expensive, the entire experience was first rate and certainly worth the price.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to celebrate our birthdays at lu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We came to celebrate our birthdays at lunch,had the green market prix fixes and absolutely loved dining here. The ambiance is spacious,sleek and modern, the service was excellent- not too much,just enough attention with warmth,the food was delicious especially the salad,halibut and chocolate cake. Also the presentation was gorgeous. I will definitely return and sing the praises of the Gotham!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal, , Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was outstanding even though ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Our service was outstanding even though the restaurant was filled. We had a nice table that was quiet and the food was excellent as well as the wine.

I highly recommend this restaurant for any special occasion, large group, or intimate dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such delicious food! Best risotto we've ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Such delicious food! Best risotto we've ever had. The staff were also very accommodating.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Duck was melt in your mouth tender and d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Duck was melt in your mouth tender and delicious. Halibut was cooked perfectly. Wine selection could be better, as I saw only one sauvignon blanc, which was not in the reasonably-priced range. There are many choices on the high end, but very few moderately priced wines on the list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Must say that the Niman Ranch Ribeye was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Must say that the Niman Ranch Ribeye was perfectly made as ordered...Perfect compliment of truffle mashed potatoes... My wife had the Dover Sole which was also on the weekly menu. Amazing food, always amazing service.. you can never go wrong with this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gotham Bar and Grill is one of my favori ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Gotham Bar and Grill is one of my favorite restaurants. We went for my sister's birthday, I mentioned online that we were celebrating a birthday and they actually made a note of it and had a special treat for the birthday girl. I've found that when I mention a special occasion when making reservations online at other places they just ignore the request. The attention to detail in the service and food is why Gotham Bar and Grill is my go to restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been going to Gotham Bar and Grill ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We've been going to Gotham Bar and Grill for several anniversaries and special occasions, and we love it. I'm always in awe at how every component of what is on the plate is cooked so perfectly. Typically I'll go to a restaurant and see that the protein is perfectly cooked but the side dishes are either overcooked or underseasoned and overall taste like an afterthought....but everything that ends up on a plate at Gotham is just delicious. Everything. There is literally not one thing that I've eaten at this restaurant that I did not thoroughly enjoy. We had the mushroom risotto, seafood salad (tons of seafood!), the lobster dish, and the rack of lamb and enjoyed every bite of every dish. Dessert was the apple tarte tatin, as always, and it was delicious (my fave!). The portions are substantial and filling, and the food is impeccably prepared. Compliments to the chef and to the entire team.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went with my mom. I had the tuna tare ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I went with my mom. I had the tuna tare tare and the steak rare, but it arrived over cooked. She had the seasonal salad and the duck which was cooked to perfection. It was a great dinner . We LOVED our server Robert, he was the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The decor and menu is pretty dated. The ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The decor and menu is pretty dated. The tuna tartare tasted acidic/vinegary and was nothing special. The winter salad was unimpressive and not very flavorful. The high point was the mushroom risotto. Very creamy, rich but complex. The pork chop was solid. Service was very nice and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

All three courses were amazing with some ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

All three courses were amazing with something for any palette.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been dining at GB&G for many years ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We've been dining at GB&G for many years and moved away for a period of time. Now that we are back. We were happy to see that the same high quality food, service and ambiance still remains. We are customers for life!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of the best restaurants in t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This is one of the best restaurants in the United States and the lunch menu is one of the best deals in the country. That's not an exaggeration.

The lone negative is that it makes it tough to go to the Gotham for dinner. I've been there and done that, but it's extraordinarily expensive, almost to the point where it's hard to justify, especially after you've had the lunch.

And yet.... My son and I had Thanksgiving there. It wasn't cheap, but it was great. I guess it means, Dont overlook the Gotham. You're missing out if you do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Gotham never disappoints. It's elegant ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Gotham never disappoints. It's elegant dining, with a great ambiance, low noise level and outstanding food and service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant, good for a business lunch. Food ...

 
 (México)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Elegant, good for a business lunch. Food ok but not spectacular as the Zagat review implies. Waiter never gave any suggestion, comment, asked how everything was; just a solemn thanks after paying the check. I guess the greenmarket menu goes with no service or attention at all.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was great, service was impeccable. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Food was great, service was impeccable. Crowd was a bit older. Both the chicken, and lamb dish was amazing. Dessert was even better. Great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Still amazing after all these years. A ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Still amazing after all these years. A real cut above normal "high end" NYC restaurants. Everything is perfection.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is absolutely the most consistently ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This is absolutely the most consistently excellent restaurant in NYC. Always friendly. Always elegant. Always delicious. I cannot rate it higher.... although the addition of a gluten-free bread to the bread basket would be nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great fine dining experience. Good meal ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great fine dining experience. Good meal sizes. Great service with healthy food options

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We love this restaurant. Consistently w ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We love this restaurant. Consistently wonderful. We had a delay due to cold weather, and our greeting was as warm as it was cold outside (20 degrees).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love coming to this restaurant. Food a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I love coming to this restaurant. Food always fabulous and service great too. I went with a bunch of friends and they did not rush us to order or leave the table when we were done. A great evening all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this restaurant. The only commen ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I love this restaurant. The only comment I have is that for the first time, I was not enamoured of the entree (quail) The sauce was too sweet, but just as well, the piece of quail was so tiny it would not have even qualified for restaurant week - and we were not lunching during restaurant week.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing! Food, Ambiance everything! Get ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Amazing! Food, Ambiance everything! Get the shortrib pasta app. Delish! /'d the seafood salad.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the BEST restaurants in NYC. Exce ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

One of the BEST restaurants in NYC.

Exceptional! Outstanding!

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When we lived in the city we used to go ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

When we lived in the city we used to go to this restaurant often. The service was good but average compared to other nice NYC restaurants. Food was just okay. Not great. Seemed like the staff really didn't care if the experience was nice.

This place has good memories for me, but I am not sure I would go back or recommend to others.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

As usual, the food and service were exce ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

As usual, the food and service were excellent. Our favorite go to spot!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing meal, all the food was ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had an amazing meal, all the food was prepared to perfection. Fantastic sommelier helped us choose a unique wine that was reasonably priced. Get the Tarte Tatin for dessert.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.