Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Gotham Bar and Grill

Since first opening its doors in 1984, Gotham Bar and Grill has epitomized New York City dining at its finest, serving Executive Chef Alfred Portale's sublime and refreshingly accessible Contemporary American Cuisine in a dining room that is consistently packed with sophisticated diners from all over the country and the world.

One of the secrets of Gotham's success is that it is an institution that has never become institutional. The unparalleled quality of the food and service are constants, but the rest of the Gotham experience is constantly updated to keep the restaurant feeling as fresh as the day it opened. New menu items are introduced each season, the wine list is always evolving, and the dining room is regularly revamped.

Gotham Bar and Grill has been honored as Most Outstanding Restaurant in the nation by the James Beard Foundation, which named Chef/Owner Alfred Portale Most Outstanding Chef in the nation for 2006.

12 East 12th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 12:00pm-2:15pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday 5:30pm-11:00pm
Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm-11:00pm

The restaurant is wheel chair accessible but please note the restrooms are located downstairs.

Cross Street:
5th Ave + University Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 620-4020

Website:
http://www.gothambarandgrill.com/

Parking Details:
There are numerous parking garages located in the neighborhood.
SP PARKING(2 blocks away west)
20 West 13th St (between 5th & 6th ave) on the left side of the street
OPEN: 24 hours
IMPARK( 2 blocks away east)
60 East 12th street (between broadway & 4th street) on the right side of the street across from The Strand Bookstore
OPEN: 24 hours

Public Transit:
4,5,6,N,R,W,Q to Union Square. Gotham is 2 blocks south on 12th Street.



F,M to 14th Street. Gotham is 1 avenue east and 2 blocks south.



1,2,3 to 14th Street. Gotham is 2 avenues east and 2 blocks south.

Executive Chef:
Alfred Portale

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 9:30PM 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:30PM - 5:30PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Gotham Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (152)
Fit for Foodies (127)
Good for Anniversaries (96)
See All
Good for a Date (88)
Business Meals (87)
Creative Cuisine (80)
Romantic (80)
Good for Birthdays (75)
Great for Lunch (70)
Quiet Conversation (70)
Neighborhood Gem (69)
Notable Wine List (67)
Authentic (39)
Worth the Drive (38)
Bar Seating (37)
Local Ingredients (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
People Watching (31)
Good for Groups (29)
Seasonal (28)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Fun (19)
Cozy (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Tasting Menu (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Casual (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Late-night Find (6)
Scenic View (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
7976 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Gotham takes itself very seriously. The food is worth it. It was rather odd to have to wait for a table when we arrived for our reservation at 5:30 and the restaurant had just opened - and as we waited other groups arriving after we did were seated first. We were a group of four older women.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was good but expensive and the wine list even more so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Limited menu. Waiter forgot about us.They need to expand their lunch menu just a bit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The only issue was service - there were not enough servers.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Excellent Lunch! Delicious food Seafood salad and Duck Breast!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

One of my favorite places to eat when in NY - always ticks the boxes. This time, not so much - the food and atmosphere was great - what I expected - the service, not so much - the wait staff had zero personality - our waiter was not engaging or helpful. It really soured our experience - especially when you bring a real foodie with you - do have to say the sommelier was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. For the money that you spend at this place, the service needs to be better.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We're there at the opening on Sunday...5pm. Therefore it was very quiet but it's the way I like it.
The food is spectacular, service just perfect and ambience quiet and classy in a very comfortable way.
Of course you pay for such a meal. But it's perfect for celebrating an occasion you wish to remember .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Miso cod was excellent, as was the peanut butter Sunday for dessert! Tuna tartare and seafood salad were average for appetizers, but the risotto appetizer was amazing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great food. Although we requested a table in the back we were put at a banquet in the front along the bar. Sort of understandable given we are not at this restaurant often. Great service, worth going back. Hopefully we will establish a relationship that will earn us a better table.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

What an amazing experience! The service was absolutely impeccable! The food was not only beautifully elegantly displayed, but was absolutely delicious! Every bite was an experience. Even the drinks were fabulous. The dinner was not cheap, but it was absolutely worth every penny and I didn't say that about my last 2 restaurant meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

I had the best tart tartine ever. And the girl that waited on our table - she was a gem. Will definitely come back when I next visit New York.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Overall solid, great service. Food always good but nothing truly special. For the price tag you can get a better meal in Manhattan. It's very good not great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

One of our favorite NYC spots, we were in town last year about the same time and visited, enjoyed it so much we came back this year.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Attractive, high class restaurant. Food and service is first class with a wide variety of delicious food s to chose from. You will have an enjoyable dinner and time here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

It was all fine. But for some strange reason the host sat us at the second table inside the front door and I didn't feel we were in the restaurant. And there were plenty of open tables. I hosted three people from outside NYC and I felt bad that they couldn't get the full feel of the room. No idea why the host wouldn't ask where we would prefer to sit?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Never disappoints! Food is always wonderful, service is perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Amazing food, best part of the meal was the dessert. The lunch prix-fixe menu was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on September 11, 2017

A must see restaurant in NYC. Great food at a greta price! Awesome servisse!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We come to New York once a year to visit our sons and love to bring them to Gotham for dinner. It's become a family tradition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Consistently best restaurant in NYC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Always at top of it game and never anything but a great meal with service and ambiance to match. My favorite restaurant anywhere. But you pay the price.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Gotham Bar & Grill is my favourite restaurant in the whole on New York. The experience of eating there is sublime.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Service was inattentive and average. The food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Love this place but the lunch service is just okay. Also I think they undercooked my chicken

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Outstanding food, service, ambiance. One of the best restaurants in New York!! Consistently excellent over many years.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Classic New York restaurant that combines great service with great food. It starts out at a world class bar where mixologists prepare classic drinks with incredible precision. The service is warm and makes you feel very welcome. The wine list is superb and integrated with an incredible menu. We dined on the branzino that was outstanding while the 28 day aged stray was equally phenomenal. We dined on decadent desserts and in total had an incredible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We had dinner with friends at Gotham on a Sunday night. We arrived early and had a drink at the bar. The atmosphere was warm and the staff friendly. It was my first visit to this restaurant, but certainly won't be my last. It was a very spacious and elegant setting and did not have the cacophony usually associated with NYC restaurants.

We ordered appetizers and dinner. The branzino was crispy and delicious. The chicken was succulent. The steak and pork chops perfectly cooked.

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Food generally good but Halibut was slightly over cooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

One of the best meals any of us can remember having.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We were greeted by a gentleman that gave us the impression we were not part of the "A" list . The waitress was completely disengaged , and it felt like we were rushed through the meal no time to relax and enjoy the ambiance,all about the turnover. Food was delicious, but would not return for the money and the experience .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Places like the Gotham make me grateful to live in New York. The food is so good. The service is so friendly, and the atmosphere is just local enough to not feel stuffy. I love this place, and love that it's been here and been great forever.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Words cannot express how fabulous the food was at Gotham Bar and Grill. The service was beyond efficient caring and helpful ! From the time we arrived to when we departed this restaurant will definitely be a place to return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Even after all these years, GBAG has not lost a step. Sublime food, perfect ambiance, unparalleled service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Gotham knows the business of service! They do not disappoint! From entry to exit they got it covered! The staff is genuinely nice and knowledgeable! The price point was not overly exaggerated either! The quality of the food and portion sizes and well worth what you pay!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Not on point as I remembered it , this is probably my 6 visit , our server forgot to bring first courses and brought them with entree It happens

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Food was very good today and service was a little slow though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Not worth it. Always wanted to go. $400 for the two of us and I have to say it was definitely not worth it! Won't be back-won't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 26, 2017

On vacation was recommended by a friend. Found the service and venue to be very nice. The food was good but overpriced. Dinner for 2 adults and 10 yr old was 300.00.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Really nice!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Crisp , trained.... albeit mistimed delivery. As great a food experience as ever. Gotham never ceases to perform at a surprisingly high level..., kudos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.