About Gotham Bar and Grill

12 East 12th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Since first opening its doors in 1984, Gotham Bar and Grill has epitomized New York City dining at its finest, serving Executive Chef Alfred Portale's sublime and refreshingly accessible Contemporary American Cuisine in a dining room that is consistently packed with sophisticated diners from all over the country and the world.

One of the secrets of Gotham's success is that it is an institution that has never become institutional. The unparalleled quality of the food and service are constants, but the rest of the Gotham experience is constantly updated to keep the restaurant feeling as fresh as the day it opened. New menu items are introduced each season, the wine list is always evolving, and the dining room is regularly revamped.

Gotham Bar and Grill has been honored as Most Outstanding Restaurant in the nation by the James Beard Foundation, which named Chef/Owner Alfred Portale Most Outstanding Chef in the nation for 2006.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 12:00pm-2:15pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday 5:30pm-11:00pm
Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm-11:00pm

The restaurant is wheel chair accessible but please note the restrooms are located downstairs.

Cross Street:
5th Ave + University Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 620-4020

Website:
http://www.gothambarandgrill.com/

Parking Details:
There are numerous parking garages located in the neighborhood.
SP PARKING(2 blocks away west)
20 West 13th St (between 5th & 6th ave) on the left side of the street
OPEN: 24 hours
IMPARK( 2 blocks away east)
60 East 12th street (between broadway & 4th street) on the right side of the street across from The Strand Bookstore
OPEN: 24 hours

Public Transit:
4,5,6,N,R,W,Q to Union Square. Gotham is 2 blocks south on 12th Street.



F,M to 14th Street. Gotham is 1 avenue east and 2 blocks south.



1,2,3 to 14th Street. Gotham is 2 avenues east and 2 blocks south.

Executive Chef:
Alfred Portale

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 9:30PM 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:30PM - 5:30PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Gotham Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (180)
Fit for Foodies (148)
Good for Anniversaries (146)
See All
Good for a Date (132)
Creative Cuisine (99)
Good for Birthdays (98)
Neighborhood Gem (95)
Business Meals (93)
Romantic (93)
Notable Wine List (90)
Great for Lunch (84)
Quiet Conversation (81)
Bar Seating (54)
Authentic (49)
Worth the Drive (42)
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
Modern Decor (35)
People Watching (34)
Hot Spot (34)
Good for Groups (31)
Local Ingredients (28)
Seasonal (28)
Cozy (28)
Comfort Food (28)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Outstanding Value (21)
Tasting Menu (20)
Fun (19)
Historic (17)
Healthy (16)
Casual (16)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Great for Brunch (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Organic (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
7492 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Splurged and ordered the $68 dover sole ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Splurged and ordered the $68 dover sole special and it was not good at all. Fish was not even warm. Had much better fish for a lot less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

The food. The menu might not sound exo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The food.

The menu might not sound exotic. The menu might give off a whiff of old classic passed its prime.

The food.

The food is delicious.

Dont think [ ] when you read the menu.

Think the best executed [ ] a kitchen prepared you in months.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The restaurant has very good comfortable ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The restaurant has very good comfortable decor. The wait staff are professional and attentive.

The food however is just fair. We had halibut and a strip steak.Both had a beet salad.

The halibet was dry and rather tasteless. The steak was just ordinary. The beet salad was very good.

I can now check the Gotham grill off the list of been there done that. Just another over priced NYC restaurant. I will not be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The best in NYC!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The best in NYC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great dining experience at Gotha ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Another great dining experience at Gotham grill. Food is excellent. 😋😋😋

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My wife and I spent a romantic evening o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I spent a romantic evening on Valentine's Day dining at Gotham, and we were truly impressed. We began the night being serenaded too the soothing sounds of jazz. Kristen, who doubles as the restaurants manager and sommelier, truly set the tone for the evening..We researched the menu beforehand and decided on wine pairings. We arrived early and had a grand experience tasting bold reds from the Bordeaux region of France. Gotham offers a fantastic list of wines by the glass, and we took full advantage as we prepared our palates for the courses that would follow. My wife enjoyed a cheblis, followed by an order of oysters and lobster. I decided on a Bordeaux and a rack of lamb. Everything was served and cooked to perfection. The desert lacked; however, be reminded we are comparing it to the standards set by the entrees. Only two offerings for desert and the chocolate mousse cake was lacking the richness of chocolate taste I was expecting. Overall a fantastic experience and we will be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably one of the best in NYC, but doe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Probably one of the best in NYC, but does not compare to London (eg Dorchester). Price too high

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was amazing this place is very ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was amazing this place is very clean and the employees are great

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and delicious food. The G ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service and delicious food. The Gotham is so consistent and never fails to deliver. Excellent choice for a business lunch or a lovely dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

As always, a dependable, consistent opti ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

As always, a dependable, consistent option for fine dining in Greenwich Village. Menu is contemporary and service is very good. Cocktails, wine list are outstanding.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The evening was superb and the friend th ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The evening was superb and the friend that came with me from Washington DC had a wonderful time. We both had the duck and it was delicious. Wish I could have had a bite of everything on the menu...the choices were so tempting. Can't wait to go back for another great meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I eat at Gotham B&G every time I visit N ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I eat at Gotham B&G every time I visit NYC. I make sure I go. Beet salad was great. Large U-10 shrimp cocktail and braised short rib pasta appetizer were excellent. Pork chop and lobster entrees were good, not great. Chocolate cake was very good. Always love the tiny cupcake treats at the end. So full when we left we could barely walk. Only overdo it at a great restaurant like this!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the ambiance and service but though ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love the ambiance and service but thought that the food was just mediocre, especially for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a fantastic dining experience -ag ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a fantastic dining experience -again! Our guests were also blown away by the food quality & the outstanding attentive service. We will be back very soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing! Every plate was perfection wit ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing! Every plate was perfection with multiple interesting flavors. The service was genuine and warm. Terrific!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The maitre d Joseph greets you as if you ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The maitre d Joseph greets you as if you're an old friend and regular customer even if you're not. The service is impeccable and the food is outrageously good. We go to NYC once a year and it's our favorite place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best meal in the city in the last 10 ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The best meal in the city in the last 10 years! The oysters were fresh and fabulous - the beet salad was flavorful and the rack of lamb other worldly! The Belle Dog cocktails are a beautifully blended delight! Robert is the best waiter in the City!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second visit. Josheph the manager and ou ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Second visit. Josheph the manager and our server (I'm sorry forgot her name, Blonde with ponytail) were awesome. Seared Foie Gras and Halibut to die for. Nice to see Tokaji on the wine list, as i grew up in hungary, it is a great wine seldom on winelists here. Strongly recommended. I also work in the biz, so i get the difference between a mediocre and an outstanding experience. Nothing mediorce here. Keep it up. See you again soon.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely, well paced experience. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a lovely, well paced experience. The selections were plenty and the wine list extensive.

This is a great restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was incredible make sure you ge ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was incredible make sure you get the lobster you won't regret it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I LIKE THE WAITRESS YOU GOT. HER SERVICE ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I LIKE THE WAITRESS YOU GOT. HER SERVICE IS MORE IMPRESSIVE THAN FOOD.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A superb Restaurant Week lunch, with lo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

A superb Restaurant Week lunch, with lovely choices for each course. Excellent bread and butter to begin. Kale salad and quinoa salad for starters, we both had the fish main course, and the flourless chocolate cake and vacherin for dessert. Lovely wines by the glass. Sat on the sighting raised level, adjacent to the bar, and found it to be quieter and considerably more quiet.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, , Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great service! Restaurant week lunch was ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great service! Restaurant week lunch was really worth the value

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Really excellent! Delicious and beautifu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Really excellent! Delicious and beautifully presented food, perfect service, lovely atmosphere and very comfortable for conversation with friends. One of the best I have been to in a while and I go out alot in many places worldwide.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

gotham has been there forever. on my top ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

gotham has been there forever. on my top 10 list. great food. great service. priced reasonably considering the quality. not be on the same tier as daniel's or bouley, but they are really close.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We celebrated Restaurant Week with frien ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We celebrated Restaurant Week with friends. Lunch was delicious with many choices. Service was attentive abd unpretentious. We had short ribs and a grilled fish. Strongly recommend the restaurant for excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Let's be clear. The Gotham is one of the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Let's be clear. The Gotham is one of the best restaurants in New York. It's also an extraordinary value at lunch, if just a little too expensive at dinner. it says something, though, that I continue to go to both, although much less frequently for dinner.

The Gotham casts a subtle spell. It's so effortless and it so does not wear its heart on its sleeve that it's possible to not realize, until about halfway through the meal, how wonderful it is. I've taken numerous guests there, of all ages. Everyone remembers it. Everyone goes back. For good reason.

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, , Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is highly rated for Amer ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This restaurant is highly rated for American cuisine and we tried it for the 3 course lunch during NYC Restaurant Week. We found everything fine and nothing special. (Maybe we just prefer French or Italian cooking). Entrée portions were tasting menu size and one of the 3 entrée choices had a $10 surcharge. Kind of tacky planning. We are unlikely to return-- there are many places we like better if we want to splurge during the rest of the year.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Given the décor, relatively civil spacin ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Given the décor, relatively civil spacing between tables, service and quality of the food, Gotham has become our "go to" restaurant among the top places in town. Presentation details (the ceviche, seafood salad), main dishes cooked perfectly to order (duck, halibut) accompanied by interesting grains and vegetables--all well worth the expense. Service is prompt and attentive without helicopter effect. Even at full capacity (which seems to be all the time), a table of four to six can enjoy conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a pleasure to go back to Gotham B ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Always a pleasure to go back to Gotham Bar and Grill. It's been consistently excellent over the decades -- in service, ambiance, value, and quality and presentation of food.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was excellent, the food was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The service was excellent, the food was super, and the price fixed menu for lunch is bargain.

I have only good things to say about this place. Go with a friend or with you grandmother, everyone will enjoy!

I wish I was in NYC more often!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

i have been coming to this restaurant fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

i have been coming to this restaurant for many years and the quality of food and service is always consistenly great!!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is our go-to restaurant for a sophi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This is our go-to restaurant for a sophisticated, friendly environment and reliable high quality food options

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Week

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Restaurant Week

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I had been under the impression that I w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I had been under the impression that I was making a restaurant week reservation (available for lunch only it turns out) so was a bit unprepared for the price, but other than that Gotham Bar & Grill is tops - perfect atmosphere, perfect food quality. Fresh ingredients, intelligent flavor mixes. Nearly all of the wine list was either way or way-way out of my price range but the bottom-rung bottle I selected was still perfectly delightful. Service is understated and no rush, respectful and old-school. This classic restaurant is a perfect place to experience everything a white-tablecloth dining experience should be.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Gotham is a timeless classic. You can't ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Gotham is a timeless classic. You can't go wrong.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My friend and I both just turned 70 and ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 7, 2017

My friend and I both just turned 70 and celebrated our joint birthdays with dinner here. The ambiance is elegant and stylish. The food is delicious. We had a great evening. Kudos to the waitress, chef, and management.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for our anniversary dinner and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Went here for our anniversary dinner and it was truly amazing.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food for restaurant week lunch was o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The food for restaurant week lunch was outstanding. Fish dish and the soup. If you are into chocolate, DO NOT MISS the CHOCOLATE CAKE. It is wonderful!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This was my first visit. While the food ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 6, 2017

This was my first visit. While the food was impeccable, we waited 35 minutes after our reservation time to be seated, the tables were too close together, and the timing of the meal was slightly off. The ambiance was just a little dated. I wouldn't describe it as old world charm, it just needed to be updated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.