About Gotham Bar and Grill

12 East 12th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Since first opening its doors in 1984, Gotham Bar and Grill has epitomized New York City dining at its finest, serving Executive Chef Alfred Portale's sublime and refreshingly accessible Contemporary American Cuisine in a dining room that is consistently packed with sophisticated diners from all over the country and the world.

One of the secrets of Gotham's success is that it is an institution that has never become institutional. The unparalleled quality of the food and service are constants, but the rest of the Gotham experience is constantly updated to keep the restaurant feeling as fresh as the day it opened. New menu items are introduced each season, the wine list is always evolving, and the dining room is regularly revamped.

Gotham Bar and Grill has been honored as Most Outstanding Restaurant in the nation by the James Beard Foundation, which named Chef/Owner Alfred Portale Most Outstanding Chef in the nation for 2006.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 12:00pm-2:15pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday 5:30pm-11:00pm
Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm-11:00pm

The restaurant is wheel chair accessible but please note the restrooms are located downstairs.

Cross Street:
5th Ave + University Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 620-4020

Website:
http://www.gothambarandgrill.com/

Parking Details:
There are numerous parking garages located in the neighborhood.
SP PARKING(2 blocks away west)
20 West 13th St (between 5th & 6th ave) on the left side of the street
OPEN: 24 hours
IMPARK( 2 blocks away east)
60 East 12th street (between broadway & 4th street) on the right side of the street across from The Strand Bookstore
OPEN: 24 hours

Public Transit:
4,5,6,N,R,W,Q to Union Square. Gotham is 2 blocks south on 12th Street.



F,M to 14th Street. Gotham is 1 avenue east and 2 blocks south.



1,2,3 to 14th Street. Gotham is 2 avenues east and 2 blocks south.

Executive Chef:
Alfred Portale

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 9:30PM 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:30PM - 5:30PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Gotham Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Union Square ›

fit for foodies (321)
special occasion (313)
romantic (202)
See All
notable wine list (160)
great for lunch (145)
neighborhood gem (136)
hot spot (92)
good for groups (85)
vibrant bar scene (55)
great for brunch (29)
late-night find (20)
kid-friendly (7)
scenic view (7)
great for outdoor dining (7)
Sort By:
Newest
6233 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a Treat!

vip
Dined 3 days ago

I've been coming to this restaurant for over 20 years and it never disappoints. The service is impeccable, the physical space is beautiful and most importantly the food is fantastic. If you have a special occasion to celebrate, you should be going to Gotham Bar & Grill!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined 4 days ago

From start to finish every dish was well presented with really excellent flavors that delighted the palate...I think they are on top of their game and would not hesitate to highly recommend it...it's pricey but delicious....room is quite nice maybe a tad busy....

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a night before the wedding with ...

Dined 5 days ago

This was a night before the wedding with our daughter and cousins. Gotham Grill perfect as always.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The preparation and presentation of the ...

Dined 6 days ago

The preparation and presentation of the food was outstanding. The service was impeccable. Very pleasant atomsphere and ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gotham was awesome. The food was fantas ...

Dined 6 days ago

Gotham was awesome. The food was fantastic, the service was great and it's located in a really cool neighborhood. Must have reservations!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Gotham Bar & Grill did not disappoin ...

Dined 7 days ago

The Gotham Bar & Grill did not disappoint. Food and serve was excellent, ambiance is classic New York.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent Quality of food and service w ...

Dined 7 days ago

Excellent Quality of food and service was all I hoped for

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always find time for Gotham Bar and G ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

We always find time for Gotham Bar and Grill on our trips to New York. It still remains its high standards for delicious food. See you soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service2

Food was great and fine and all you expe ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Food was great and fine and all you expect from a place like this. The service for some reason was slow and inattentive for such a reputable restaurant. To be honest I would go elsewhere in NYC for a better experience for the price. But to reiterate this place is great, but competition in NYC is tough and at the end of the day Gotham Bar and Grill is slowly losing.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dinner in New York

Dined on May 16, 2016

We booked this restaurant on reccomendation for our Sunday night in New York the restaurant was very busy and we now know why it was a first class meal right up there with Michelin star venues that we eat in when in London

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I just love the food here. There were 7 ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

I just love the food here. There were 7 of us and the service was fantastic. Everyone loved their food... from the Hudson Valley Fois Gras (yummm) to the duck and the chocolate cake for dessert...We had several bottles of wine from Sauvignon Blanc to the Cabernet it was great. The Halibut was a bit overcooked but the sauce was fantastic. All in all, a wonderful meal.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good first experience

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

The first two courses were good, but the duck was unforgettable. Very good service and attention to detail from the staff. Had a late night reservation and it was still packed, something to keep in mind.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Suberb!

Dined on May 15, 2016

In my opinion, a trip to Manhattan without a meal at Gotham Bar and Grill is like not seeing Central Park. Not other restaurant epitomizes the feel of the city like this restaurant. When coupled with the level of the cuisine, there is no better place to celebrate a special occasion. Rather than mention a specific dish I can relate that I sampled my 2 dining partner's meals along with mine and everything my table ordered was excellent and I would gladly order again. My server's recommendation for wine pairings was perfect. The efficiency of the kitchen was remarkable, with each course coming to my table at a comfortable pace. I highly recommend this restaurant to any visitor to Manhattan. I will always make plans to return there when I visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, one of the best restau ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great restaurant, one of the best restaurant I have visit. Me and my wife visit May 14 and had a wonderful evening, great food and very good service. Next time in New York we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was, as always, delicious. The ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was, as always, delicious. There service is friendly without being over much.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

staff was very friendly with excellent s ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

staff was very friendly with excellent service,food was also excellent though pricey.I would recommend dining here.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food! Unpretentious!

Dined on May 13, 2016

Amazing food! Unpretentious!

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Very noisy

Dined on May 12, 2016

The food is lovely, but the noise is insufferable and comfortable conversation is impossible.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always superb. Delicious food. Professio ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Always superb. Delicious food. Professional wait staff.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Always fabulous!

Dined on May 9, 2016

I can always count on a spectacular meal here. We ordered completely different things and everyone raved about their dinner. So good!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Place

Dined on May 8, 2016

Gotham Bar and Grill is one of our favorites. Although it is pricey the ambiance, food and service are well worth it. We dine there a few times a year and we are never disappointed. The food is fabulous, the staff is knowledgeable and attentive and we have never felt rushed. We can't wait until our next dining experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb experience!

Dined on May 8, 2016

The steak was beyond every other meal I have ever had. Seriously, everyone needs to try the steak. The chocolate cake was also very good. The staff was extremely professional and the service was great. We will definately come back the next time we're in New York.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an amazing dinner. The food was o ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We had an amazing dinner. The food was outstanding.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Still Great

Dined on May 7, 2016

I love the duck and the pork chop. The service is perfect. certainly my favorite place for special occasions

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exquisite food, lovely restaurant

Dined on May 7, 2016

Having been three times now, twice for excellent value lunch, once for dinner, I can vouch for the consistent high standard of the food, attentiveness and helpfulness of staff. A real treat to eat here, but at prices that you would pay in lesser establishments. Lunch is a high end bargain.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Been coming over 20 years. Service terrible

Dined on May 6, 2016

Drinks were not offered. Sparkling water was warm and only offered to me. I ordered it before the other 2 people came. We had to ask for drinks 2 times. Call me if you want to know more. I am a regular and I will think about coming back soon. I had lunch about 2 weeks ago and it was great.Clan the light coverings. It was not worth $400 plus for 3 people and we were never asked for a wine order.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Excellent lunch-prix-fixe deal (deliciou ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent lunch-prix-fixe deal (delicious, perfectly prepared high quality food), however mark-up on wines too high (e.g. same Taittinger champagne 50% more expensive than at the "Oyster Bar")... the Latino "helping hand" staff was very friendly, attentive and reliable... the "main" waiter though was unfortunately cynic, arrogant and unattentive...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Always terrific. Never disappointing. A ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Always terrific. Never disappointing. A true standout after all these years.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on May 5, 2016

Food was truly wonderful. The flavors and pairings of the main proteins with sides melded beautifully. Service was impeccable. Truly pleasant and wonderful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Classic restaurant best Branzino ever!!! ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Classic restaurant best Branzino ever!!! Go go go

food5
ambience5
service3

Great ambience. Seated on time. Service ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Great ambience. Seated on time. Service was attentive by busboys and runners but very sporadic by the main waiter. Food was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A classic!

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

I absolutely love Gotham Bar and Grill. Upscale without being pretentious, Gotham Bar and Grill embodies the class "farm to table" cooking style with unparalleled sophistication—the dishes are approachable, the flavors otherworldly. The food is fantastic, portions fair, service extraordinary, and atmosphere delightfully warm. The staff is also extremely detail-oriented, greeting me with "welcome back" when I hadn't been there in over 2 years, and serving a "happy anniversary" cookie at the end of our meal with complimentary petit fours. I unreservedly recommended Gotham Bar and Grill for any special occasion!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ALWAYS RELIABLE

Dined on May 2, 2016

Been here many times and ALWAYS have had a great experience of food and service and ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was incredible!

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

The food was incredible!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Returning to Gotham Bar and Grill

Dined on May 1, 2016

We lived in New York City for some 35 years until 1995. We were among the first customers after Gotham opened and frequented the restaurant over the years. It has always been exceptional and we found this time to be excellent as well. We now live in Napa CA and returned to Gotham to celebrate our 55th wedding anniversary. Glad we did! Richard+Barbara

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant. Fabulous service, food ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Great restaurant. Fabulous service, food and ambiance, plus they honor their reservation.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Experience!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Impeccable service and dishes! My husband and I had our anniversary dinner at Gotham and we were blown away by the service and our meals. The staff seated us at a lovely table, and they had us seated right beside each other, very romantic! My husband had the Tortellini and Chicken, and I had the Risotto and Cod. We were beyond impressed with our dishes! By far the best meal we had in New York, if not ever. The staff surprised us with a little dessert with an edible "Happy Anniversary", it was lovely. Even our cocktails were outstanding! It's an amazing experience not to be missed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Not worthy of such high ratings

Dined on April 30, 2016

I'm baffled as to how Gotham Grill remains as a top rated restaurant in NYC. The prices were astronomical compared to the quality - and quantity - of the food. I usually do not mind small portions at fine dining restaurants but this was over-the-top small, especially given the prices. The service was mediocre. I've been to MUCH better restaurants in NYC with prices almost half as expensive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best waiter I’ve ever had.

Dined on April 29, 2016

Best waiter I’ve ever had. Took his time with us and very knowable.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Welcoming ambience and fab good. The pea ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Welcoming ambience and fab good. The peanut butter crunch sundae was sublime and worth the calories.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.