About Gotham Bar and Grill

12 East 12th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Since first opening its doors in 1984, Gotham Bar and Grill has epitomized New York City dining at its finest, serving Executive Chef Alfred Portale's sublime and refreshingly accessible Contemporary American Cuisine in a dining room that is consistently packed with sophisticated diners from all over the country and the world.

One of the secrets of Gotham's success is that it is an institution that has never become institutional. The unparalleled quality of the food and service are constants, but the rest of the Gotham experience is constantly updated to keep the restaurant feeling as fresh as the day it opened. New menu items are introduced each season, the wine list is always evolving, and the dining room is regularly revamped.

Gotham Bar and Grill has been honored as Most Outstanding Restaurant in the nation by the James Beard Foundation, which named Chef/Owner Alfred Portale Most Outstanding Chef in the nation for 2006.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 12:00pm-2:15pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday 5:30pm-11:00pm
Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm-11:00pm

The restaurant is wheel chair accessible but please note the restrooms are located downstairs.

Cross Street:
5th Ave + University Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 620-4020

Website:
http://www.gothambarandgrill.com/

Parking Details:
There are numerous parking garages located in the neighborhood.
SP PARKING(2 blocks away west)
20 West 13th St (between 5th & 6th ave) on the left side of the street
OPEN: 24 hours
IMPARK( 2 blocks away east)
60 East 12th street (between broadway & 4th street) on the right side of the street across from The Strand Bookstore
OPEN: 24 hours

Public Transit:
4,5,6,N,R,W,Q to Union Square. Gotham is 2 blocks south on 12th Street.



F,M to 14th Street. Gotham is 1 avenue east and 2 blocks south.



1,2,3 to 14th Street. Gotham is 2 avenues east and 2 blocks south.

Executive Chef:
Alfred Portale

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wine

Restaurant Photos

Foie Gras
Tuna Tartare
Gotham Chocolate Cake
Muscovy Duck With Foie Gras
Bread and Butter
Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras
Mezzi Rigatoni
Grilled Rack Of Lamb
Vanilla Parfait
Pan Seared Halibut
Curried Kabocha Squash Soup
Gotham Chicory Salad
Gotham Burger
Black Cod With Miso
flourless chocolate cake
Wild Mushroom Risotto
Chocolate Peanut Butter Mousse
28 Day Dry Aged New York Steak
Crispy Wild Striped Sea Bass
Bay Scallops
Seabass Ceviche
Slow Cooked Chicken Breast
Organic Kale Salad
Wild Striped Bass Sashimi
Roasted Frog Hollow Farm Apricots
Passion Coconut Souffle
s'more
strawberry shortcake
Cherry Lane Farm's Summer Squash
Rack of Lamb
Atlantic Halibut
Complementary Pastries
Seared Diver S
Côtes Du Rhône J.L. Chave 2009
Green Garlic Soup
Fennel Scented Strawberries
Soffrito Braised Tokyo Turnips
Stone Street Sazerac
Seafood Risotto
sea food california oysters
vino
Grilled Hanger Steak
Hamachi
40 Day Dry Aged Ribeye
Garlic And Whole Wheat Bread
Seafood Salad
Moradita Beet Margarita
Beefsteak Tomato Salad
Seafood
Frozen Lemon Verbena Parfait
Miso Marinated Black Cod
Chatham C
Seared Duck Breast
Yellow Fin Tuna Tartar
Ricotta Ravioli
Warm Flourless Chocolate Cake With Malt Ice Cream
Roasted Beet And Goat Cheese Salad
Chocolate Cake
Braised Short Rib Ragu With Homemade Pappardelle Pasta And
Roasted Heirloom Carrots, Beets, And Fennel
Goat Cheese Tortellini
Dessert
Sweet Corn Tortellini
Peanut Butter Coupe
Cappuccino
Papardelle With Shaved Veal+Beef+Pork, Mushrooms, Sweet Tomato Sauce
Truffle Crusted Halibut
Roast Suckling Pig
Caviar
Warm Chocolate Cake With Salted Caramel Ice Cream
Fresh White Alba Truffle Risotto
Venison
Tartin
Steak
Duck Liver Terrine
Gotham Bolognese
Butternut squash ravioli
muscovy duck breast with braised butternut squash and long cooked kale
Thai Lobster
Smoked Steelhead Trout Appetizer
28 Day Dry Aged Niman Rib Eye Steak with Maitre d' Butter
Asparagus Vinaigrette
Spinach salad with poached pears, pecans & gorgonzola cheese
Pear Souffle
Autumn Chicory Salad
Petit Four
Roasted Muscovy Duck
Yellowfin Tuna Tartare
Label Rouge Chicken And Foie Gras Terrine
Parfait
White Tuna
American Red Snapper
strawberry parfait
Foei Gras
Pork Chop
Mascarpone cheesecake
Muscovy duck
Butterscotch Coupe
Bass Sashimi
Caramel Panna Cotta

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 9:30PM 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:30PM - 5:30PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Gotham Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Union Square ›

special occasion (284)
fit for foodies (279)
romantic (164)
See All
notable wine list (158)
great for lunch (116)
neighborhood gem (111)
good for groups (73)
hot spot (68)
vibrant bar scene (39)
great for brunch (18)
late-night find (14)
great for outdoor dining (7)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
6299 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service, and ambiance at the G ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food, service, and ambiance at the Gotham Grille never disappoints..........!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fabulous. From the time w ...

Dined 5 days ago

Everything was fabulous. From the time we entered until we left we were treated royally. The food was delicious, the service professional and the room was exceptional. We loved it!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best, most elegant, most frie ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

One of the best, most elegant, most friendly, most delicious spots in town. Been coming for years and years and have never been disappointed. Each time I come I am in awe of how splendid it is, how welcome they make you feel, and how spectacular the imaginative dishes look and taste.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited with a small group (4 people) to ...

Dined 6 days ago

Visited with a small group (4 people) to celebrate an upcoming wedding. Was a perfect, classic vibe for a celebratory dinner.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Cool old New York vibe. Good over all wa ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Cool old New York vibe. Good over all was good, but nothing fabulous. The service was very poor. Our server couldn't have been less interested and we felt rushed. Won't be going back but for a nice lunch it's worth a go for the food.

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

The food was incredible, elegant and inc ...

Dined 7 days ago

The food was incredible, elegant and incredibly flavorful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere. Friendly staff an ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Great atmosphere. Friendly staff and great food!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service couldn't of been better. It' ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

The service couldn't of been better. It's always a pleasure dining there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Found staff in different - location with ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Found staff in different - location with reservation at service station not ok - food less than standard compared to previous visits. We were not asked for additional bread - which was substandard for level of restaurant and were never asked for second drink - food kind of tossed at us way too fast and we were done with the experience. Sorry but I had great food and service memories last time - it has so gone down hill and I doubt I would return. You ruined a special night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always reliable and Joseph make everyone ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Always reliable and Joseph make everyone feel special. Food is very flavorful. The tortellini were superb, with just the right mix of mushrooms and artichokes. The soft shell crabs were in season and amazingly sweet (large portion).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

While the food options were numerous and ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

While the food options were numerous and the food flavors delicious, Gotham was not worth the money. It was definitely overpriced compared to other Top 10 restaurants I have eaten at in NYC. Also notable, but not as important... the "secondary" table staff was annoying and not properly trained on the etiquette of waiting tables. Our primary waiter wax excellent!!

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Have been coming for over 25 years. As ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Have been coming for over 25 years. As the years have gone by the food is less spectacular and more just a place that serves good food. Seafood salad use to be the most spectacular item on the menu- now it is mostly avocado( 3 big slices-like half a whole avocado ) with some pieces of seafood-well-prepared but not spectacular in taste or presentation. The entrees are well done- our table of 3 had the soft shell special, lobster main and lamb chops. All were very nicely prepared and delicious. Service was okay, the server reached across me at least 3 times rather than approach from the side......

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Gotham has maintained its high standards ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Gotham has maintained its high standards over the six years I have been going there. All the meats were perfectly cooked and the presentations remain spectacular, especially the desserts which have architectural Splendor. I think the decor is a little too beige 1995 and needs upgrading. The service was attentive as always. In my view this is the best value outstanding restaurant in the city, perhaps along with Nougatine.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal and service. Exquisite to ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Wonderful meal and service. Exquisite tortellini and chocolate cake!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Among the best restaurants in NYC It ha ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Among the best restaurants in NYC It had been years since I'd been to Gotham, so I wondered if it would live up to my memory of my prior experience. Of course, it surpassed it. Everything about this restaurant is worth experiencing. Somehow it manages to be sophisticated while remaining accessible and welcoming. It has a large dining room with space between tables yet manages to feel cozy. The food and service are superb, truly special yet unpretentious. How do you do it? Go, experience this wonderful NYC gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Too expansive for the quality of product ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Too expansive for the quality of products. Nobody at the end. Bad tempo of the service. Impersonal. For 300$ for 2 the dîner it is pity and as it was for my wedding ask it is really ....

food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently excellent. Gotham never mai ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Consistently excellent. Gotham never mails it in!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Gotham has a very limited lunch menu and ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Gotham has a very limited lunch menu and the restaurant was less than half full. Some of the menu choices were very good, like the soft shell crab, but the rest was generally average for a fairly high-end restaurant. It was fine for a long relaxed lunch with friends. I would recommend it to a friend who might appreciate the somewhat old world charm.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second time here and brought my frien ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

My second time here and brought my friends and family (6 people). Elegant ambiance and excellent service. Attentive and good pacing of food. We had seafood salad, beet salad, duck, miso glzed black bass, pork chop, and the Branzino. Everything was as excellent as it had been when I went couple years ago. A little disappointed in the branzino as it was a piece of fish versus an entire branzino as I am used to in San Francisco. Also had a sauce on top of fish that I think masked the flavor of the fish and left the skin soggy. Put the sauce on the plate or around the sides?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic service and a great food exper ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Fantastic service and a great food experience. A little bit expensive and to "classy" for my taste. Bit overall was this a rememberable visit.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Sadly disappointing. Clearly coasting on ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Sadly disappointing. Clearly coasting on its reputation, not its reality. The staff do not have joy. The food does not have spirit. The prices overpower the limited quality of experience. If you want an authentic fine dining experience where the service enhances the true quality of the food, go elsewhere. If you want a fancy veneer and $100 steak, this is your place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambience and the food! 28 day age ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Great ambience and the food! 28 day aged steak was superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the first time in NY with my wife ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

It was the first time in NY with my wife and my two sons. The special occasion was a family dinner. Everything was outstanding. I hope be back soon.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

One of the best meals I've had in a long ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

One of the best meals I've had in a long time. Food & service--superb.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

First rate from start to finish. The pla ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

First rate from start to finish. The place was packed even at 6.30 p.m. and it's easy to understand why. A great room, attentive but not overpowering service, good selection of wines, and as good as it gets to fine dining. The menu is not too extensive and could maybe handle a couple of more selections. Even though it was busy the noise level is pitched just right and TGBG is a 'must visit' for anyone who enjoys the full experience of what a great restaurant should be.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, lunch, neighbourhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated a special birthday at Goth ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

We celebrated a special birthday at Gotham Bar and Grill and enjoyed an outstanding meal. The food was delicious and the service was top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent restaurant. Great, great Food. ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Great, great Food. Fantastic foie gras and also the lamb. Corkage fee - 55 dollars. Perfect service.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in Everyway

Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was absolutely outstanding. My wife and I were visiting NYC for our tenth anniversary and Gotham was the perfect dinner experience. The service was also amazing and the price was very reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant; excellent food; ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

My favorite restaurant; excellent food; superior service; great ambiance; great size and location; I would highly recommend to anyone and will continue to dine at Gotham each and every time I'm in New York City.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great dinner but don't rush us

Dined on June 10, 2016

Could not hear waiter. We were a group of five. It wasn't just me. Also, we were pressed to get our order in, even though we were a few minutes early for our 9pm res. We didn't need the push

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good service, tasting and fast.

Dined on June 9, 2016

The place is large with tables each other making the place very energetic.The food for example ,the burger was delicious! and the tuna tartar a good experience.if I am close to that place definitely will be my first option.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Again top classe!

Dined on June 6, 2016

Since many years my favourite Restaurant in NYC. Great food perfectly presented and a excellent service makes every visit to en event. Specially recommend for fish cooked to perfection. One little negative point for this time: the daily special dessert was definitely too big and heavy for 2 persons. We hardly could eat half.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service2

Definitely not worth the money.

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Definitely not worth the money.

food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite. Superb food, great and attent ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Exquisite. Superb food, great and attentive service. Pricey but the food is worth it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For 30 (?) years, absolutely and consist ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

For 30 (?) years, absolutely and consistently the finest dining experience in New York.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Food

Dined on June 3, 2016

I had the lunch prix fixe. Great deal for the price. the waitstaff was attentive and the food was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

a New York Classic

Dined on June 3, 2016

I used to dine at the gotham bar & grill 30 years ago as a 30 year old New Yorker. still a gorgeous setting... great service. great noise control. great neighborhood. good to okay food. expensive. wonderful memories. go at least once in your lifetime.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful, top-notch meal and service.

Dined on May 30, 2016

Beautiful, top-notch meal and service.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on May 30, 2016

Outstanding food and presentation throughout. Truly a standout experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food and service. We love coming here for special occasions and to bring visitors to NYC. Always great food (and menu) and service. A favorite!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.