About Gotham Bar and Grill

Since first opening its doors in 1984, Gotham Bar and Grill has epitomized New York City dining at its finest, serving Executive Chef Alfred Portale's sublime and refreshingly accessible Contemporary American Cuisine in a dining room that is consistently packed with sophisticated diners from all over the country and the world.

One of the secrets of Gotham's success is that it is an institution that has never become institutional. The unparalleled quality of the food and service are constants, but the rest of the Gotham experience is constantly updated to keep the restaurant feeling as fresh as the day it opened. New menu items are introduced each season, the wine list is always evolving, and the dining room is regularly revamped.

Gotham Bar and Grill has been honored as Most Outstanding Restaurant in the nation by the James Beard Foundation, which named Chef/Owner Alfred Portale Most Outstanding Chef in the nation for 2006.

12 East 12th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 12:00pm-2:15pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm-9:45pm
Friday 5:30pm-10:00pm
Saturday 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Sunday 5:30pm-9:45pm

The restaurant is wheel chair accessible but please note the restrooms are located downstairs.

Cross Street:
5th Ave + University Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 620-4020

Website:
http://www.gothambarandgrill.com/

Parking Details:
There are numerous parking garages located in the neighborhood.
SP PARKING(2 blocks away west)
20 West 13th St (between 5th & 6th ave) on the left side of the street
OPEN: 24 hours
IMPARK( 2 blocks away east)
60 East 12th street (between broadway & 4th street) on the right side of the street across from The Strand Bookstore
OPEN: 24 hours

Public Transit:
4,5,6,N,R,W,Q to Union Square. Gotham is 2 blocks south on 12th Street.



F,M to 14th Street. Gotham is 1 avenue east and 2 blocks south.



1,2,3 to 14th Street. Gotham is 2 avenues east and 2 blocks south.

Executive Chef:
Alfred Portale

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 9:30PM 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:30PM - 5:30PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Gotham Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (152)
Fit for Foodies (133)
Good for a Date (120)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (118)
Creative Cuisine (95)
Romantic (94)
Business Meals (93)
Notable Wine List (86)
Great for Lunch (83)
Neighborhood Gem (77)
Good for Birthdays (73)
Quiet Conversation (72)
Authentic (49)
Worth the Drive (49)
Bar Seating (48)
Local Ingredients (44)
Seasonal (39)
People Watching (36)
Good for Groups (35)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Healthy (27)
Hot Spot (27)
Fun (23)
Cozy (21)
Tasting Menu (20)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Casual (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Great for Brunch (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Late-night Find (7)
Happy Hour (4)
Scenic View (4)
Vegan (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort by
S
8094 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

We've gone to the Gotham Bar & Grill for the last seven years on my birthday, because it really is my favorite restaurant in the city. The food is always consistently superb, they treat you like gold and it's completely worth the value. I will say that this year it felt as though they were trying to squeeze more people in -- the tables felt much more packed together -- but that might only be a perception. I hope so, in any case.

Long may she reign!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We moved our reservation to an earlier time and they were accommodating. Very nice wine list. Always a good choice when In NYC.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I got the recommendation from a friend in Mexico City and everything he said about Gotham is correct. We enjoyed the place, the food, and the service very much.
We wanted fish for dinner, so we asked our waiter what he would recommend and he said the cod platter (which has been at the restaurant for more than 30 years). He was absolutely right! It is delicious! Thanks for the unforgettable experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Noise level detracts from the experience, and the real big negative is the extremely high prices for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

As always wonderful; takes you away from the "madding crowd" for few hours!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

I've been coming to the Gotham for 30 years.
While it is still very good, the last experience was just so-so. The food was good, but the lag time between courses was extremely slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

A gem. The fish dishes are not to be missed. Wow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Excelente restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Buckinghamshire)·Dined 6 days ago

Exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

We were a group of four friends, two couples. Our dining experience was excellent! The choices offered on the 3 course price-fixed menu were interesting and tasty. The service was impeccable and the ambiance was elegant and comfortable. We met for lunch and stayed, drinking more wine that anticipated, for four + hours! When the dinner crowd started to arrive, we realized we should leave. Yet, the staff never said a word and allowed us to continue our little "party" without interruption.

THANK YOU Gotham Bar and Grill for a helping to create a memorable experience for four friends who live on different coasts and rarely get to see each other.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (México)·Dined 7 days ago

Always love going back there. It's a NY classic. However, they need to update the decor; not change it just update it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 14, 2017

This is an all time favorite restaurant in NYC - the service is impeccable, the food very good - an exception to excellent was the mashed potatoes and vegetables for the third course were lukewarm, which is surprising - and the breads were not as fresh as usual - so not excellent this time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 14, 2017

Superb! Most refined in all aspects

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2017

A Top 5 restaurant in all of NY. Incredible presentation and flavors to die for. I go as much as possible and have turned many people on to it who continue to thank me and rave about it

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Always wonderful. Consistently, delicious. Our waiter was friendly and made a great-food evening fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 13, 2017

One of the best experiences I've had so far from a restaurant. It deserves its Michelin star!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Excellent food, wine list and service
My wife and I were thoroughly pleased with our dinner

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 11, 2017

A long-time New York resident recommended this restaurant to me and it did not disappoint. It is not a small restaurant, but the staff, lighting, and table arrangement made it feel cozy and quiet. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable, and professional. The drinks were creative, which does not seem to be the norm in NYC as it is in the great food scene my home in the Denver area. Our food was great, cod for me and lamb for my wife. It is a bit pricey, but well worth it for a nice dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Great evening out. Food and service stellar!
Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Service and food were great. Our server, when made aware of food allergy, was conscientious about checking the ingredients for our dishes. In addition, she came over many times to see how everything was. The food selection on the prix fixed menu was varied and quantities were adequate. We left satisfied not stuffed ! Another wonderful experience.

Tags: Seasonal, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 10, 2017

My first trip back to Gotham in 20 years. It was as superb as I remember it. Joseph the maitre 'd set the perfect tone of hospitality on a crowded evening. Sublime food, great service, outstanding atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

Amazing. From the service at the bar when we arrived to the quality of the food at dinner. Top notch. Staff took care of our every need. Food was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Always, always, always a special occasion - whether for business, with friends or the aforementioned special occasion.
Wonderful food. Exceptional treatment.
We argue over HOW SOON we can return.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Gotham is a neighborhood treasure, both for special occasion with friends or everyday eating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

What a fabulous place. Wonderful fine dining experience. Really accommodating staff ( one of our party was dairy free and that was no problem at all). Gorgeous food. A really lovely place. Highly recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Delightful experience from start to finish. An impromptu decision to celebrate our son’s 7th birthday with a smart family meal (he wanted to wear a tie and ordered his Dad and brother to do the same!). We booked same day (Tuesday) and they treated us excellently throughout and made him feel very special. They were excellent with the children, even varying the starter to make it more child friendly. Food was very good - tasty and beautifully presented. We had a wonderful experience and we wouldn’t hesitate to return. We could tell there were a number of regular customers enjoying return visits as there was clearly a good rapport with the restaurant team. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this restaurant to visiting family or friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Wonderful restaurant: service was impeccable, food was delicious, presentation of food was beautiful, ambiance is elegant.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2017

My favorite NY restaurant. Never disappoints. Food is exquisite and wait staff excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2017

One of all time faves in NYC! Never disappointed and always ready to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Absolutely fabulous in every way, then and now. The food, the service, the hospitality is the best in New York. Great seasonal menu, creative use of ingredients and far more comforting than "tweezer food". The staff is accommodating and knowledgeable. Continues to be the best!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on November 3, 2017

This is one of our favourites. Whenever we are in NYC we dine here. Consistently good food and wine with great service - our server has been there for eight years - surely a good indicator for a great restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2017

One word to cover the overall experience and food: fabulous

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Sin duda el risotto de hongos delicioso y las costillas de cordero super ricas, postre fe manzana lo mejor de la noche!! Sin duda regresaria

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Food and service always top shelf. A bit pricey, but worth it, if you want a great meal in a beautiful atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Excellent service, food, and decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Terrific meal
Excellent wine recommendation by sommelier
Great service
Does not fail to please

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2017

This is our go-to place for special occasions, and it has been for years. Attentive staff, delicious food, a relaxed and very New Yorky crowd. Nothing beats Gotham.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Everything was great at this expensive restaurant. The food was delicious, service excellent, ambience very nice; however the portions are too small. Hopefully management will reconsider the stingy portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.