Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Gotham Bar and Grill

Since first opening its doors in 1984, Gotham Bar and Grill has epitomized New York City dining at its finest, serving Executive Chef Alfred Portale's sublime and refreshingly accessible Contemporary American Cuisine in a dining room that is consistently packed with sophisticated diners from all over the country and the world.

One of the secrets of Gotham's success is that it is an institution that has never become institutional. The unparalleled quality of the food and service are constants, but the rest of the Gotham experience is constantly updated to keep the restaurant feeling as fresh as the day it opened. New menu items are introduced each season, the wine list is always evolving, and the dining room is regularly revamped.

Gotham Bar and Grill has been honored as Most Outstanding Restaurant in the nation by the James Beard Foundation, which named Chef/Owner Alfred Portale Most Outstanding Chef in the nation for 2006.

12 East 12th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 12:00pm-2:15pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday 5:30pm-11:00pm
Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm-11:00pm

The restaurant is wheel chair accessible but please note the restrooms are located downstairs.

Cross Street:
5th Ave + University Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 620-4020

Website:
http://www.gothambarandgrill.com/

Parking Details:
There are numerous parking garages located in the neighborhood.
SP PARKING(2 blocks away west)
20 West 13th St (between 5th & 6th ave) on the left side of the street
OPEN: 24 hours
IMPARK( 2 blocks away east)
60 East 12th street (between broadway & 4th street) on the right side of the street across from The Strand Bookstore
OPEN: 24 hours

Public Transit:
4,5,6,N,R,W,Q to Union Square. Gotham is 2 blocks south on 12th Street.



F,M to 14th Street. Gotham is 1 avenue east and 2 blocks south.



1,2,3 to 14th Street. Gotham is 2 avenues east and 2 blocks south.

Executive Chef:
Alfred Portale

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 9:30PM 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:30PM - 5:30PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Gotham Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (166)
Fit for Foodies (146)
Good for Anniversaries (142)
See All
Good for a Date (138)
Good for Birthdays (99)
Creative Cuisine (98)
Romantic (92)
Business Meals (91)
Great for Lunch (86)
Neighborhood Gem (82)
Notable Wine List (80)
Quiet Conversation (70)
Authentic (45)
Bar Seating (44)
Worth the Drive (40)
Modern Decor (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (38)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Good for Groups (32)
Hot Spot (30)
People Watching (27)
Comfort Food (25)
Cozy (25)
Local Ingredients (24)
Fun (23)
Seasonal (21)
Tasting Menu (19)
Outstanding Value (17)
Casual (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Historic (15)
Healthy (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Great for Brunch (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Organic (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Family Style (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Scenic View (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
7547 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

I go to Gotham knowing that the food and service will be examplary, and I'm rarely disappointed. Both were perfect at the lunch that I and two friends enjoyed yesterday, from the Greenmarket prix-fixe menu: celeriac velouté with hazelnut garnish, beautifully sauced pan-roasted branzino, and, for dessert, the always delicious chocolate cake (for me) and the vacherin with mango, vanilla semifreddo, and passion fruit sorbet (for my two friends).

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The branzino was like a day on the Italian riviera

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Never disappoints. As good now as when it opened. Mr Portale keeps the kitchen vibrant and inventive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined 4 days ago

We are from the UK and went to GB & G after our wedding at the civic centre. The maitre d was v perceptive and recognised that although there were only two of us we had just wed. The staff then treated us in a special way which helped make our day a great occasion. The staf were friendly, witty and attentive.

I had the fixed price lunch at €38 dollars which was more than good value. My wife chose from the a la carte. The stand out dishes were the Gotham Burger and the renownded Gotham Chocolate Cake. If you're in NYC you'd be mad to miss it.....

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

always outstanding food, service, and décor. Highly recommended.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The decor is beautiful but the food was not acceptable , especially for the high price tag. I ordered the lamb medium well... it came rare. It was so tough that it was practically inedible. My partner ordered the cod which had a good flavor but was also completely undercooked. Not worth it!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This restaurant is worth every 5 star rating!! The food was fantastic! It's a dining experience that will not be forgotten. The food was elegant and decadent at the same time. The ambience was perfect. It was my 40th birthday and it the entire staff made it my special day perfect! Thank you Gotham bar and grill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Loved it. The food was wonderful. This restaurant has a sophisticated vibe but very welcoming ! My dining tip, get the souffle for dessert! 👍👍👍

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was really quite a good experience. The only issues were around the food itself. The portions were quite large, too large. Each course was larger than the last and a final course that could've been a single plate meal itself. This left both my guest and I uncomfortably full. Some guidance on portion size prior to ordering would be nice. Also, I ordered the Niman Ranch Steak and it was... well... one of the poorest executions of a steak I've had in a long time (made worse I think by my high expectations). Tough meat, a far cry from the medium rare I requested, far too charred (also the case for my guests lamb), and over salted. All of these issues were more than made up for by a generously attentive staff, excellent Sommelier, awesome wine, attention to detail and overall perfect service experience. I would go back and simply avoid multiple courses and red meats.

P.S. My first and second course were divine!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food, drinks and service were fantastic and left feeling very satisfied. Definitely will be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Just great food and great service. You can always count on Gotham for a delightful dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The maitre'd was very attentive and the bartender was a pro. The food was outstanding. Unfortunately, our waitress was inattentive and invisible. Not st all what I expected from Gotham.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Overall marvelous - has aged wonderfully - a NYC restaurant classic.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Very memorable. A great place with great food and great staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I returned to this restaurant after many years to celebrate a big birthday. The food was as good as I remembered. The waitstaff was friendly and knowledgeable. However, the service was a bit slow and we never got our refills of coffee. My only real complaint was the noise level. We were a group of 7, so the table was a bit on the large side, but I couldn't hear people on the other side of the table at all. I suggest returning for a smaller, more intimate dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Beautiful food, great service, very New York crowd. I had not been here in 25 years, still a lovely place with great character!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Wonderful dinner and our waiter Robert made the evening!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Very Nice excellent food however a little $$$.They could not be more pleasant.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We were told by friends to come to Gotham ... it was the perfect choice! We have a sophisticated palate and were incredibly pleased with every bite!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

One of the best, most solid upscale restaurants there is. Food as delicious as one could hope for. Service is always great too, but not pretentious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We live in the neighborhood and dine here frequently, generally at lunch. We often order the Lunch Prix Fixe. Last week we noted that the portions on the prix fixe were geting smaller and smaller. My first course of grains and vefgetables looked lovely and tasted fine but was just about tablespoon size. The fish main course was a 2-3-oounce portion of fish with a half of a potato and several shreds of veggies. Even the chocolate cake was smaller!
We left hungry! Very disappointed in what we have always considered the best, most consistent
restaurant in town.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Amazing food & service. One of the finest dining experiences in NYC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

A classic in Manhattan. Consistently one of the best restaurants in town. The food and service are amazing, the somelier always hits the bullseye with wine and food pairing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Our good friends frequent Gotham and had recommended it to us for a special night dinner. Our expectations were high, but were met wonderfully. From the ease of reservations online at Open Table, the confirmation phone call, the greeting upon arrival, the pre dinner drink at the bar, the excellent service from all, and most importantly the presentation of the most delicious food, we totally enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

great service, we did not expect our order to taste and look the way it was served. Even thought the portion was small it was well made and tasty. Not as expected but good. Also the waitress was very helpful in the wine selection. Thank you for making the lunch successful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Lovely dinner for my husband's birthday. Staff was very attentive and generous. We had a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Overall an excellent meal but steak was a little over cooked. Risotto was spectacular. Perfect martini. Outstanding service. Expensive but worth it for special occasion. Prix fixe at $75 looked interesting but was required for all so not this time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

$700 for 3 people. So many better nearby options with better value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I was really disappointed. The waiter never came over to ask us how our food was. Water was refilled and the table was serviced but in a very methodical unenthusiastic way. When I finished my wine no one even asked me if I wanted something else to drink. My desert was too sweet and I did not eat much of it. The person who cleared the table could care less that I didn't like it when I mentioned the fact It was overly sweet. My husband loved his starter and everyone at the table agreed his lamb looked amazing. My seafood salad and duck was good. The tables were very close together and we had to move our table over as to not have the table next to us chairs hitting us. The staff never seemed to notice. My husband and I really love to eat at Michelin stared restaurants for the experience but this dinning experience was pretty ordinary and I'm a little confused why this resturant has any stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Food was good but we had wilted salad. Unacceptable at this level of restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The food and the ambiance are what makes the restaurant special. We have never had a disappointing meal there.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Always wonderful from the exceptional service to flawless cuisine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2017

It never grows old and the kitchen is as spot on as the day it opened. Legendary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 27, 2017

This is my second visit to Gotham. However, on this occasion I was not impressed. The fixed-priced lunch menu was good value, but the portions were small. Unfortunately, I also felt rushed. As soon as I finish one course, the next one arrived, without leaving any time to enjoy the food and the experience. It appeared that the staff wanted to end their shift as soon as possible. The soup was interesting, but the fish plain and forgetful. I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Food has been good, but service is not considered as the value of michelin starred restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food. Impecable service and presentation. Excellent bar . Good value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was our third time at Gotham. I don't have a problem with paying $68.00 for Dover Sole but I would have preferred that it was served as the whole fish and not a roulade which was equal to a filet and a half. Disappointing. But will return everything else was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Dinner with parents

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent all around!! And reasonable sound level too. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Outstanding experience in every aspect ... service, food, courtesy.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.