Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Gotham Bar and Grill

Since first opening its doors in 1984, Gotham Bar and Grill has epitomized New York City dining at its finest, serving Executive Chef Alfred Portale's sublime and refreshingly accessible Contemporary American Cuisine in a dining room that is consistently packed with sophisticated diners from all over the country and the world.

One of the secrets of Gotham's success is that it is an institution that has never become institutional. The unparalleled quality of the food and service are constants, but the rest of the Gotham experience is constantly updated to keep the restaurant feeling as fresh as the day it opened. New menu items are introduced each season, the wine list is always evolving, and the dining room is regularly revamped.

Gotham Bar and Grill has been honored as Most Outstanding Restaurant in the nation by the James Beard Foundation, which named Chef/Owner Alfred Portale Most Outstanding Chef in the nation for 2006.

12 East 12th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 12:00pm-2:15pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday 5:30pm-11:00pm
Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm-11:00pm

The restaurant is wheel chair accessible but please note the restrooms are located downstairs.

Cross Street:
5th Ave + University Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 620-4020

Website:
http://www.gothambarandgrill.com/

Parking Details:
There are numerous parking garages located in the neighborhood.
SP PARKING(2 blocks away west)
20 West 13th St (between 5th & 6th ave) on the left side of the street
OPEN: 24 hours
IMPARK( 2 blocks away east)
60 East 12th street (between broadway & 4th street) on the right side of the street across from The Strand Bookstore
OPEN: 24 hours

Public Transit:
4,5,6,N,R,W,Q to Union Square. Gotham is 2 blocks south on 12th Street.



F,M to 14th Street. Gotham is 1 avenue east and 2 blocks south.



1,2,3 to 14th Street. Gotham is 2 avenues east and 2 blocks south.

Executive Chef:
Alfred Portale

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 9:30PM 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:30PM - 5:30PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Gotham Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (161)
Fit for Foodies (123)
Good for Anniversaries (113)
See All
Good for a Date (103)
Business Meals (97)
Romantic (91)
Good for Birthdays (87)
Creative Cuisine (86)
Notable Wine List (83)
Quiet Conversation (74)
Neighborhood Gem (71)
Great for Lunch (52)
Authentic (41)
Bar Seating (39)
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
Pre/post Theatre (34)
Worth the Drive (34)
People Watching (33)
Good for Groups (32)
Local Ingredients (27)
Fun (25)
Cozy (25)
Hot Spot (18)
Seasonal (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Healthy (14)
Casual (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Historic (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Organic (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Vegan (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
7802 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

This was our first time at this restaurant. The staff was pleasant and attentive; we never felt rushed or put off with any question or request. The food selection was good and the meal was delicious.
We had the halibut and the pork chop, both excellent.
The desserts were small, but the raspberry soufflé was not only fablous, but an ample portion.
Would definitely eat there again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined 2 days ago

Absolutely brilliant from start to finish. We took our teenagers for our last night in the city and we all loved it. Maitre' d was exceptional

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, People Watching, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

This place has Been consistently good for over 30 years. Everyone we go we ask, "why don't we come more often?" The food is outstanding, it's a beautiful room, and the service is terrific. Yes it's pricey, but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

First rate meal diminished only by the ambient noise level.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 5 days ago

Gotham has been at the top of their game for many years. I'm pleased to have dined here ; it was perfect for an informal business lunch.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

That's the third time that I tried the 28 days New York strip and is impossible to cut!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful ambience and food. This is my second time at Gotham. Their Foies gras is the best I have ever had and did not fail to delight again. The presentation of the food was glorious and the food was delicious. However, we found our waiter to be smug, indifferent, and at times rude. In an extraordinary restaurant like that, it is all about service, and it was clear our waiter felt that he was " above his job" and couldn't seem to get rid of is quickly enough... frankly ruined our evening.! Will be back for all of the above but will never be served by him again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Still very good. The physical plant is a bit worn but service and food still top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

There was a large table with 6-8 young children that destroyed the bathroom and were quite noisy in the restaurant. After several attempts to use the restroom and being pushed out by children, I spoke with the manager. He didn't seem interested in doing much but apologizing. It was late in the evening in a very nice restaurant. Who in hell brings their children? We dropped $300 on a meal, including a $100 steak with which we were very unimpressed. I would NOT recommend this restaurant. The manager made several visits to our table, mentioning how he's had to comp several tables because of the children. Did we get anything comped? No.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Known for their service, ours was not so great. We were in the back corner and were forgotten for long periods. That said, the food was great, as was the size of the bill.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Fabulous restaurant with great food and great people! Big thumbs up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great staff, service and food. Top notch with quality and fresh ingredients. Highly recommended!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

A four-hour meal that was wonderfully paced. We were given the time to enjoy the creative cocktail selection, very good wine list, and of course, delectable dishes. We couldn't decide so each of us got the First, Second, and Third plates -- all of good portion. The plating was beautiful and cooked perfectly. Oh, and we got dessert, too. The service was attentive, neither haughty or overbearing. And, the maitre'd happily took our picture! A perfect evening with friends. We will return.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great classic American food. Very New York. Beautifully decorated.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

From start to finish we were very well taken care of. Extensive wine list but poor value. We still managed to find something affordable with help of a wonderful sommelier . Not our first time there and never disappointed

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Always fantastic--never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Excellent , as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We were visiting my daughter in NYC. A friend recommended Gotham to us for a fine dining experience. It is a beautiful place with awesome food. I had the duck breast. It was so very tender with a great tasting sauce and side dishes that complimented the duck. My daughter said her Salmon was the best she has ever had. Service was wonderful. We will be back

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Soft shell crabs totally delicious...portion a bit small.
The sweet butter served with crisp tiny baguettes is always a treat.
Service so professional and welcoming.
Dessert made special by almond paste plaque with chocolate script, "Congratulations."

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Incredible. Will 100% be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Overpriced mediocrity..there are so many better restaurants in this town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great last minute choice! Excellent experience, will go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Simply the best restaurant in NYC (maybe anywhere?). Food is interesting and fabulous. Service is impeccable. I've been going here for 25+ years and it's always great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Overrated and over priced
Based on the zagat rating and reviews I was expecting a spectacular meal. I was served freakin onion rings with my steak. I can get that at Outback Steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Mediocre. Felt like a time warp back 25 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Still our vote for one of best three in NYC. Just a great restaurant - great food, well trained staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Gotham bar and grill used to be much better than these days.
In terms of quality of both food and service, they are not the same.
Moreover, their prices are becoming very expensive though things have gone down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Our waiter had a terrible attitude and did not care whether we were happy or not. Three orders of lamb had so much fat on them that there was barely 3 or 4 bites of meat. We have been going to Gotham for years and have been happy every time. We will not be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Wonderful meal. Food was prepared, tasted and served perfectly.

Celebrating Grandson's 21st birthday.

My branzino was superb. And, we could actually talk to each other! What a novelty in NYC restaurants. Lovely round table toward the back was a perfect location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

As with so many restaurants these days....the only disappointment came with the uninformed, unprepared, unappreciative people (mostly tourists) who have no sense of decorum. Between their t-shirts, sneakers, shorts, AND cell phones, they must think they were dining at Denny's!!
Shame management would rather have the dollar$, then the decorum!
Our meal was wonderful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The ambiance, service and quality of ingredients were very good. The menu choices are too limited and the charge for each selection is far too high.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Dinner was great, shared a terrine and a seafood salad to start, followed by a great steak an exceptional local Pinot and coffee. Great atmosphere, service and food to match.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2017

I know gotham is a bit of an icon but I thought food was a bit overpriced. $56 for steak. Should have been $40-$45. Ive eaten top places allover nyc. Gotham a bit overrated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Always outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2017

I had not dined here in a while, but a friend told me it was still excellent. I did not find them wrong. We were three people, and enjoyed everything we ordered. The staff was excellent and attentive. I would gladly return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The food was great! Especially seafood salad was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

This is absolutely one of the very best in the City.
The menu is creative without being over the top.
The food is perfectly prepared, even with the adjustments I asked for
(the lamb chops pink inside and charred on the outside.)
Great flavor.
Friendly service people.
ready to go back immediately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The handcrafted vodka cocktails were scrumptious and the sea bass entree was divine. My friends were in from TX and thoroughly enjoyed their dining experience. It was very special for them.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Setting was nice. Service was good. Food was just okay. I was expecting more for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

All excelent, except the table assigned was horrible. Is it because I reserved through OpenTable?

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.