Gotham Bar and Grill

4.7
8523 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Fit for Foodies
Since first opening its doors in 1984, Gotham Bar and Grill has epitomized New York City dining at its finest, serving Executive Chef Alfred Portale's sublime and refreshingly accessible Contemporary American Cuisine in a dining room that is consistently packed with sophisticated diners from all over the country and the world.

One of the secrets of Gotham's success is that it is an institution that has never become institutional. The unparalleled quality of the food and service are constants, but the rest of the Gotham experience is constantly updated to keep the restaurant feeling as fresh as the day it opened. New menu items are introduced each season, the wine list is always evolving, and the dining room is regularly revamped.

Gotham Bar and Grill has been honored as Most Outstanding Restaurant in the nation by the James Beard Foundation, which named Chef/Owner Alfred Portale Most Outstanding Chef in the nation for 2006.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday 12:00pm-2:15pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm-9:45pm
Friday 5:30pm-10:00pm
Saturday 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Sunday 5:30pm-9:45pm

The restaurant is wheel chair accessible but please note the restrooms are located downstairs.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 620-4020
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Alfred Portale
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
5th Ave + University Place
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There are numerous parking garages located in the neighborhood.
SP PARKING(2 blocks away west)
20 West 13th St (between 5th & 6th ave) on the left side of the street
OPEN: 24 hours
IMPARK( 2 blocks away east)
60 East 12th street (between broadway & 4th street) on the right side of the street across from The Strand Bookstore
OPEN: 24 hours
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
4,5,6,N,R,W,Q to Union Square. Gotham is 2 blocks south on 12th Street.



F,M to 14th Street. Gotham is 1 avenue east and 2 blocks south.



1,2,3 to 14th Street. Gotham is 2 avenues east and 2 blocks south.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM
Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 9:30PM 10:00PM - 10:00PM
Fri 5:30PM - 5:30PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM
Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

What 8523 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 2 days ago

The food was not as good as the last time. ‘Tis is my preferred restaurant but I didn’t find as good this time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Awesome restaurant. Can't say enough good things about it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Amazing soft shell crab. Not to be missed when on the menu!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

We went for my husband's birthday and were extremely pleased with the evening. The service was excellent and right on par. I made a note of it being his birthday and they decorated the dessert we ordered with a cute decorative chocolate and candle. The cocktails were very unique and tasty. The meal was delicious from start to finish. We ordered the smoked duck with chicory salad, soft shell crab, rack of lamb and the peanut butter sundae for dessert. Did not disappoint. This restaurant has been on my go to list for a long time and definitely worth it. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

This was our second visit to this restaurant. We started with the oysters on the half shell. Very good as always. I then had the foie gras. Probably the best I’ve ever had. I then moved on to the duck breasts which was delicious and my husband had the haddock which he thoroughly enjoyed. Our waiter, John, was very helpful without being intrusive....professional and well informed. We were as pleased with this visit as we were on our first, and will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Gotham is reliably top notch in every respect. It is good dining at its best.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant was packed. Our table was ready when we arrived. We made our reservation a month in advance, as one in our party had been here before and highly recommended it. The ambiance was great as was the food, though it was a expensive and the service was a little slow that evening. Our waiter was very friendly and he gave us extra desserts and a birthday treat for one in our party.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

An amazing meal, great service, food allergy aware.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We loved every part of our dining experience at Gotham. The only thing I would suggest is that some quiet music in the background would be nice.
We came from Sydney, Australia and are on our honeymoon, it was the perfect romantic date spot. Can’t recommend it enough!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Gotham Bar & Grill is what high end dining should be: remarkably delicious food, presented beautifully, in a tasteful room, with service that makes one feel like an honored friend. I recommend it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Food presentation and service were excellent.fiid was beautifully plated and delicious

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Gotham continues to be a very high end restaurant, lovely setting, excellent food. Three of us had the miso cod, a signature dish, which was delicious. One had the soft shell crab special. The prices are on the high side, and this particular night, service was slow. But overall, no complaints about the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Again Gotham was a sensational event!!! We will be back!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

This was a wonderful restaurant in which to celebrate my friend's b-day! The food was perfectly prepared, beautifully presented and professionally served! The menu has something for every taste. I liked it so much that I am going back this Saturday to repeat this memorable experience! A gem!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

My family and I have been dining at Gotham since they opened, for special occasions, most importantly for the yearly arrival of soft shell crab season in time for my husband's June birthday. Perfection is not and should not be attainable 24/7. Gotham comes close - closer some years than others. This year our table of 5 was sublimely happy on every level. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 12, 2018

The restaurant was surprisingly empty but our group had a great time. The food and service were terrific. Those who ordered the black cod raved about it. But everyone enjoyed their food. Someone in our party and I ordered branzino and the portions were different. He received 2 fillets and I received one small fillet. Not a big deal but noticeable. It was a first for everyone to try a Burgundy rose’. Pretty cool. The server was pleasant and attentive. I’d like to bring the team back when it’s busier so they can experience the real vibe.

Thanks for the opportunity to share feedback.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We celebrated our twelfth anniversary at Gotham Bar & Grill. The restaurant and staff made sure our special occasion was a wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

In 20 years it did not lose a bit. Still a great place to go to and excellent food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Best meal of the trip. Everything about this place we lived. The food was amazing. The ambience and service outstanding. Loved the wine. Great part of the village. Definite repeater

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

I had not been to GB&G in a long while. The food and decor were still excellent. The place was less noisy than I remembered despite a full house.

In general the service was very professional. The one flaw was that I found our waiter relatively inattentive. Not terrible, but much less engaged and solicitous than I would have expected. He did whatever I asked well, sometimes a little slowly, and never proactively.

Overall I would return happily, but preferably sit at a different station.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Wedding anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Our 6th visit. Superb in every respect, as always.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Gotham is a reliable and consistently excellent restaurant. Service is always first rate and accommodating and food is prepared to individual taste. The ambience is lovely and comfortable.

Wheelchair access is not apparent and should be raised before making a reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Superb service, excellent dishes, prices commensurate

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

This is a classic NYC restaurant serving American cuisine at it's finest. The ambiance is understated elegance which sets the perfect tone for the elegantly presented cuisine. The Gotham chocolate cake and artisan chocolates are outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Very expensive but the food was outstanding as always, as was our service. The presentation was beautiful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

It’s really quite an accomplishment to survive in the restaurant business for so long and more of a wonder that Gotham remains so exceptional. We’re happy to count the many wonderful meals here and recall how each one was fresh and exciting. There’s nothing truly ordinary and nothing left as average. Each dish is carefully crafted, delightfully presented, and all flavors memorable. I’d find an excuse to return and be amazed all over again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Wow, exceeded our expectations. Marvelous service. Lamb was a beautiful cut of meat and prepared perfectly! I don't often order desert but the chocolate cake was extra special with homemade almond ice cream. Really worth the price and calories! Highly recommend!!
Bob H.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Very surprised on a hot day in June this restaurant wasn’t serving Rosé or Sovengien Blanc by the glass. We ordered a bottle of Rosé - they were out of the first two we ordered. The Rosé we settled on then needed to be decanted and chilled - too warm and not dry as we asked for. Ordered two desserts; key lime pie and chocolate cake. Received six bite size chocolate candies. Thought they were complementary, so we ate them. Waiting and wondering about our chocolate cake, we asked our waitress who told us we ordered the chocolate candy, not the cake. The four of us agreed we ordered the cake. Waitress didn’t charge for the candy when the bill came - good not to be charged for something we didn’t order. Bill was nearly $700 for four, so pretty disappointed on the wine, dessert and service. Can’t say we’ll be going back. It’s fair to expect better from this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Ended up sitting at the bar and it was lovely! Great service, delicious food.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Service was terrible. Our reservation time was not respected and then we were given a corner table by the exit when we had arranged a nice table in the middle.
Portions are not good, food comes late and I didn’t enjoy the evening that was planned. I’m very disappointed. It’s the last time I go to this place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Service was incredibly slow!! Worst in 30 years of going to Gotham

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

We have been to Gotham Bar and Grill twice before and it was outstanding. Food was not as good this time but we ordered differently. Our waitress, Gabriella, was so great and very helpful. We are from New Orleans and used to fabulous experiences. This was up there. We did notice how much the wine has gone up. I think you should be able to order a bottle of chardonnay for less than $150.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 1, 2018

We have been dining here for many years and it never disappoints. Consistently good food and service. Do not miss the chocolate cake. It is a must. All the food is fresh, delicious and beautifully plated.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Phenomenal meal, beautiful presentation, attentive service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 31, 2018

2年ぶりのNYC。今回は所用がありひとり旅でしたが、思い切って予約しました。
週末だったので軽いランチはなく、早めのディナー。
人気のタルタルは非常に美味しかったです。
皆さんのお声通りでした。

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Always the best dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Visiting NYC a friend suggested GothamBar and Grill. If you want a dining experience this is the place. Attention to detail is the key here. As soon as you walk in they make you feel at home. Don’t come here and expect a rushed meal. It’s pricey but so worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Gotham for lunch is a special experience. I’ve been doing lunch here since the 3 course Prix Fix lunch was introduced many years ago. This week 3 generations of my family (me my daughter and her 20 year old daughter plus 2 friends were seated exactly as I’d requested on Open Table. Dan, our server could not have been better! His personality suited all of us and his service was attentive, not intrusive.
Our 2 hour lunch was wonderful! I’ll be back soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Celebramos nuestro aniversario de matrimonio
Experiencia muy interesante

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
214

Tweets by Gotham Bar and Grill