About Gotham Bar and Grill

12 East 12th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Since first opening its doors in 1984, Gotham Bar and Grill has epitomized New York City dining at its finest, serving Executive Chef Alfred Portale's sublime and refreshingly accessible Contemporary American Cuisine in a dining room that is consistently packed with sophisticated diners from all over the country and the world.

One of the secrets of Gotham's success is that it is an institution that has never become institutional. The unparalleled quality of the food and service are constants, but the rest of the Gotham experience is constantly updated to keep the restaurant feeling as fresh as the day it opened. New menu items are introduced each season, the wine list is always evolving, and the dining room is regularly revamped.

Gotham Bar and Grill has been honored as Most Outstanding Restaurant in the nation by the James Beard Foundation, which named Chef/Owner Alfred Portale Most Outstanding Chef in the nation for 2006.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 12:00pm-2:15pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday 5:30pm-11:00pm
Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm-11:00pm

The restaurant is wheel chair accessible but please note the restrooms are located downstairs.

Cross Street:
5th Ave + University Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 620-4020

Website:
http://www.gothambarandgrill.com/

Parking Details:
There are numerous parking garages located in the neighborhood.
SP PARKING(2 blocks away west)
20 West 13th St (between 5th & 6th ave) on the left side of the street
OPEN: 24 hours
IMPARK( 2 blocks away east)
60 East 12th street (between broadway & 4th street) on the right side of the street across from The Strand Bookstore
OPEN: 24 hours

Public Transit:
4,5,6,N,R,W,Q to Union Square. Gotham is 2 blocks south on 12th Street.



F,M to 14th Street. Gotham is 1 avenue east and 2 blocks south.



1,2,3 to 14th Street. Gotham is 2 avenues east and 2 blocks south.

Executive Chef:
Alfred Portale

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wine

Restaurant Photos

Foie Gras
Tuna Tartare
Gotham Chocolate Cake
Muscovy Duck With Foie Gras
Bread and Butter
Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras
Mezzi Rigatoni
Vanilla Parfait
Pan Seared Halibut
Curried Kabocha Squash Soup
Gotham Chicory Salad
Grilled Rack Of Lamb
Gotham Burger
flourless chocolate cake
Black Cod With Miso
Wild Mushroom Risotto
Chocolate Peanut Butter Mousse
28 Day Dry Aged New York Steak
Crispy Wild Striped Sea Bass
Bay Scallops
Seabass Ceviche
Slow Cooked Chicken Breast
Organic Kale Salad
Passion Coconut Souffle
s'more
strawberry shortcake
Cherry Lane Farm's Summer Squash
Rack of Lamb
Atlantic Halibut
Complementary Pastries
Seared Diver S
Côtes Du Rhône J.L. Chave 2009
Green Garlic Soup
Fennel Scented Strawberries
Soffrito Braised Tokyo Turnips
Stone Street Sazerac
Seafood Risotto
sea food california oysters
vino
Grilled Hanger Steak
Hamachi
40 Day Dry Aged Ribeye
Garlic And Whole Wheat Bread
Seafood Salad
Moradita Beet Margarita
Beefsteak Tomato Salad
Seafood
Frozen Lemon Verbena Parfait
Miso Marinated Black Cod
Chatham C
Seared Duck Breast
Yellow Fin Tuna Tartar
Ricotta Ravioli
Warm Flourless Chocolate Cake With Malt Ice Cream
Roasted Beet And Goat Cheese Salad
Chocolate Cake
Braised Short Rib Ragu With Homemade Pappardelle Pasta And
Roasted Heirloom Carrots, Beets, And Fennel
Goat Cheese Tortellini
Dessert
Sweet Corn Tortellini
Peanut Butter Coupe
Cappuccino
Papardelle With Shaved Veal+Beef+Pork, Mushrooms, Sweet Tomato Sauce
Truffle Crusted Halibut
Roasted Frog Hollow Farm Apricots
Roast Suckling Pig
Caviar
Warm Chocolate Cake With Salted Caramel Ice Cream
Fresh White Alba Truffle Risotto
Venison
Tartin
Steak
Duck Liver Terrine
Gotham Bolognese
Butternut squash ravioli
muscovy duck breast with braised butternut squash and long cooked kale
Thai Lobster
Smoked Steelhead Trout Appetizer
28 Day Dry Aged Niman Rib Eye Steak with Maitre d' Butter
Asparagus Vinaigrette
Spinach salad with poached pears, pecans & gorgonzola cheese
Pear Souffle
Autumn Chicory Salad
Petit Four
Roasted Muscovy Duck
Yellowfin Tuna Tartare
Label Rouge Chicken And Foie Gras Terrine
Wild Striped Bass Sashimi
Parfait
White Tuna
American Red Snapper
strawberry parfait
Foei Gras
Pork Chop
Mascarpone cheesecake
Muscovy duck
Butterscotch Coupe
Bass Sashimi
Caramel Panna Cotta

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 9:30PM 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:30PM - 5:30PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Gotham Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Union Square ›

special occasion (276)
fit for foodies (267)
romantic (157)
See All
notable wine list (148)
great for lunch (109)
neighborhood gem (107)
good for groups (66)
hot spot (59)
vibrant bar scene (32)
great for brunch (16)
late-night find (9)
great for outdoor dining (7)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
6343 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Upon first read of the menu, we weren't ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Upon first read of the menu, we weren't impressed, but that definitely changed when the food actually arrived. The execution was spot on. The flavors were so rich and complex. Everything seemed to melt in our mouths. To start I had the wild mushroom and foie gras terrine and my wife had the tuna tartare. Both were excellent! The real highlight was the sweet corn tortellini, which we split next. The sauce was amazing and every bite was incredibly delicious. I used some of the very tasty bread to soak up the sauce. Our entrees were also quite impressive. I enjoyed the lobster, but was even more impressed with my wife's cod. Cooked perfectly! Had that great mouth feel like Chilean sea bass. Then for dessert we split the Gotham chocolate cake. It literally melted in our mouths. It was so good, I could have eaten about three more. On top of the great food, our waitress was on top of everything. The service was absolutely perfect. She made our anniversary dinner the best it possibly could be. We had a wonderful time and left with great memories of an enjoyable night and some delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Perfect and consistent-one of the best o ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 3 days ago

Perfect and consistent-one of the best on the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was cordial, helpful, patient ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

The staff was cordial, helpful, patient and friendly, making our birthday party a congenial success. We appreciated the thoughtful seating arrangement. The salad was excellent as was the dessert with an extra added by the restaurant. The wine was fine. The fish and seafood were disappointing, although the presentation was pretty.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I had been to Gotham Bar and Grill many ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

I had been to Gotham Bar and Grill many times for dinner, and always enjoyed it, but never for lunch. The only complaint I ever had about the restaurant at dinnertime was that it was so energetic (i.e. loud) that sometimes conversations (without shouting) could be challenging. My recent lunch experience at the restaurant was the best of dinner (service, food, ambiance) without the drawback of dealing with the noise level. It was a terrific lunch experience, one I'll certainly look forward to having again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Dining here is always a delightful exper ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Dining here is always a delightful experience. Food is delicious and service is percect. This is our fourth visit in past two years. We love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb restaurant,could do with a few mo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Superb restaurant,could do with a few more half bottles on their wine list.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for the 38.00 lunch I have to sa ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We went for the 38.00 lunch I have to say it must be the best value lunch in New York. I simply cannot fault anything just perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

High end, classic diner referred to as a ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

High end, classic diner referred to as an "institution" of NYC.

Clientele is upper end of NYC locals (i.e. well to do) mixed in with similar Europeans

Probably the highest compliment I can give this place is that reminds me of one of my favourite restaurants in London - the Wolseley.

Comfortable food, classy joint.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Service was impeccable, and the quality ...

vip
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service was impeccable, and the quality and variety of food flavors was extraordinary. Certainly a consistent high quality food experience for any occasion without hesitation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was rather slow and somewhat ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The service was rather slow and somewhat inattentive. The wines were not good value and two of the lower end wines were not in stock. The wine waiter was attentive, but did not make a particularly good recommendation. It was drinkable, but lacked any subtlety, which for $140 was not good enough.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

I had a perfect dinner in this great Man ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I had a perfect dinner in this great Manhattan favourite, the food, ambience, service and wine were everything I expected. I'm now sat in London plotting my next trip to Manhattan and the Gotham Bar and Grill will definitely be on my itinerary.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a classic top notch New York res ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is a classic top notch New York restaurant that always delivers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I was in town with my daughter who had s ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I was in town with my daughter who had subsisted on pizza for a week, so we decided to splurge on a "nice" dinner. Gotham Bar and Grill was incredible! The cuisine was creative and delectable - it just melted in our mouths. I could have ordered at least half the items on the menu; it was so difficult to decide. We ended up with the white asparagus salad, which was the perfect fresh starter. We then moved to the Thai-spiced lobster for my daughter, which was heavenly, and the NY strip for me, which was cooked perfectly. We finished off with a warm chocolate cake that was to die for. I even drank the restaurant's own Pinot Noir from Oregon, and it went so well with my steak. Service was friendly and attentive. We started on the early side, but by the time we finished, the whole restaurant was buzzing. I would return here for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Maitre D was fantastic. Great food and ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Maitre D was fantastic. Great food and selection. Had the Ceviche, Risotto and Lamb. Each one was better than the last. Will return next time I am in town. Loved the ambiance and staff. Cocktails were well crafted

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The very best dinner and dining experien ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The very best dinner and dining experience I have ever had. From the moment we entered the restaurant to the second we left, everything was perfect. The attention to detail was very impressive.

We had the chef's tasting menu accompanied with a wine pairing.

An amazing evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding menu and presentation. Price ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Outstanding menu and presentation. Pricey, but it is NYC and to be expected for quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Enjoyed a very nice dinner with 2 friend ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Enjoyed a very nice dinner with 2 friends on a Friday night. Ordered small plate/appetizers - shrimp ceviche, tuna tatare, beet salad and entrée shrimp risotto and soy/miso/black cod. Split all dishes among us and we all agreed they were delicious- complex and surprising tastes (beets were wonderful) , delightful presentation. Cod and beets were standouts. Flowerless chocolate dessert was quite nice too but hard to beat the main dishes. We enjoyed the cocktails as well- Hibiscus Mule and Peach Arbor....Servers were very attentive and friendly; decor is understated. Not cheap but I'm putting this on my list for nice places to meet my friends, and clients. Didn't know anything about this rest. before so we were delighted at the great meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good and service were great! Would defi ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Good and service were great! Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite NYC restaurants. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

One of my favorite NYC restaurants. The soft shell crab and beet salad were the Best of the Best. The Nicoise salad was very good also. We celebrated my husbands birthday with a delicious vodka martini and a nice bottle of wine. I have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Incredible as usual.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Incredible as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

In addition to having wonderful, imagina ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

In addition to having wonderful, imaginative food, the Gotham has a very comfortable ambiance. We had a great "anniversary lunch". We plan to return soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the finest restaurants in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This is one of the finest restaurants in NYC. Our dining experience from start to finish was superb. The setting, food, and fantastic servers helped make our family occasion even more special. It's pricey, but worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had enjoyed a great meal during our l ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had enjoyed a great meal during our last visit to New York, so were keen to return when our friends joined us for a major birthday trip to the city.

We were allocated a great table near the back, which was comfortable and not in a busy area. All the dishes we ate were tasty, well executed and imaginative.

Wine list extensive but we also enjoyed a Cosmopolitan.

As it was a birthday dinner, which I included on the reservation, staff wished us 'Happy Birthday' and added little touches to our desserts as well as providing little cakes.

We very much appreciated the thoughtful touches.

It is a very good restaurant. Not cheap but good value for the quality food and service that you will receive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Tuna tartare is always a delight and we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Tuna tartare is always a delight and we both had the crispy soft shell crabs , quite a treat!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A neighborhood gem. We had the Foie Gra ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A neighborhood gem. We had the Foie Gras, Beet Salad and Asian Cod, with a bottle of Phelps "Insignia"....just a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For our small party on a birthday celebr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

For our small party on a birthday celebration, we had a quite table with excellent service and great food. Would definitely go back on future events.

Tags: special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you. Great value for a special mea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Thank you. Great value for a special meal. Definitive NY. Gorgeous food, service & detail. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing second visit. We enjo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Very disappointing second visit. We enjoyed this restaurant so much on my last birthday that we decided to celebrate there again. What a difference a year makes. Our server last year was bubbly, welcoming and suggested the perfect wine and beer pairings for our meal. This year, the server was totally disinterested and unhelpful and did not explain any of the dishes. My husband accidentally knocked over his $18 beer just as he began to drink from the bottle and she did not even offer to get napkins or clean the table. She merely told my husband that she could not replace the beer that had been lost. It could have been another meal at home for all the sparkle that this visit had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Superb. In hospitality, service (includi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Superb. In hospitality, service (including sommelier), food quality and creativity and wine list

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a special treat. Difficult to ge ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Always a special treat. Difficult to get a reservation but worth the effort.

Wonderful food. Great presentation. Excellent service. A top restaurant destination in NYC.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Been there for lunch also and the servic ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Been there for lunch also and the service is more attentive then than at night. Had a wonderful dinner a few years ago to celebrate our anniversary then and after this past visit will only go for lunch.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The quintessential New York supper club ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The quintessential New York supper club

Atmospheric without the barmetric pretense

Very high end American Nouveau which never disappoints

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Go to place for a nice lunch. The prix f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Go to place for a nice lunch. The prix fixe is great value with a great selection of delicious food. Service is attentive and unobtrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous dinner as usual staff was very ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Fabulous dinner as usual staff was very helpful key lime tart was perfect end to a wonderful evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We don't make a trip to NYC without havi ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We don't make a trip to NYC without having a reservation at Gotham. It's my absolute favorite restaurant in New York. The restaurant is gorgeous, and so inviting. The servers have a way of making you feel welcome, comfortable and pampered. LOVE THIS PLACE!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We drive down to New York City yearly fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We drive down to New York City yearly for our anniversary, and we try to pick one of New York's finest restaurants each year. Gotham Bar and Grill was spot on! We enjoyed every aspect of our lunch there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We expected this to be of higher standar ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We expected this to be of higher standard. Service is ok, but not what we are used to at a Micheline Restaurant, and food is not that very good. Overall experience was ok, but nothing more than ok.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The combination of outstanding service a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The combination of outstanding service and delicious food makes Gotham a favorite place in my book. I have never been disappointed with a meal at this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding restaurant ! I would highly ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Outstanding restaurant ! I would highly recommend for anyone who loves fine wine and food. It will be on my list to return to on my next visit to NYC.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A dining pleasure of the highest quality ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

A dining pleasure of the highest quality. Simply spectacular in presentation, taste and ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.