Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Gotham Bar and Grill

Since first opening its doors in 1984, Gotham Bar and Grill has epitomized New York City dining at its finest, serving Executive Chef Alfred Portale's sublime and refreshingly accessible Contemporary American Cuisine in a dining room that is consistently packed with sophisticated diners from all over the country and the world.

One of the secrets of Gotham's success is that it is an institution that has never become institutional. The unparalleled quality of the food and service are constants, but the rest of the Gotham experience is constantly updated to keep the restaurant feeling as fresh as the day it opened. New menu items are introduced each season, the wine list is always evolving, and the dining room is regularly revamped.

Gotham Bar and Grill has been honored as Most Outstanding Restaurant in the nation by the James Beard Foundation, which named Chef/Owner Alfred Portale Most Outstanding Chef in the nation for 2006.

12 East 12th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 12:00pm-2:15pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday 5:30pm-11:00pm
Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm-11:00pm

The restaurant is wheel chair accessible but please note the restrooms are located downstairs.

Cross Street:
5th Ave + University Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 620-4020

Website:
http://www.gothambarandgrill.com/

Parking Details:
There are numerous parking garages located in the neighborhood.
SP PARKING(2 blocks away west)
20 West 13th St (between 5th & 6th ave) on the left side of the street
OPEN: 24 hours
IMPARK( 2 blocks away east)
60 East 12th street (between broadway & 4th street) on the right side of the street across from The Strand Bookstore
OPEN: 24 hours

Public Transit:
4,5,6,N,R,W,Q to Union Square. Gotham is 2 blocks south on 12th Street.



F,M to 14th Street. Gotham is 1 avenue east and 2 blocks south.



1,2,3 to 14th Street. Gotham is 2 avenues east and 2 blocks south.

Executive Chef:
Alfred Portale

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

FATHER'S DAY BRUNCH 11:30 AM-3 PM
THREE COURSE MENU $75
CHILDREN'S MENU $35 (12 and under)

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 9:30PM 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:30PM - 5:30PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Gotham Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (184)
Fit for Foodies (154)
Good for a Date (152)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (142)
Creative Cuisine (114)
Business Meals (109)
Romantic (104)
Good for Birthdays (98)
Notable Wine List (92)
Great for Lunch (89)
Neighborhood Gem (87)
Quiet Conversation (81)
Authentic (53)
Bar Seating (46)
Good for Groups (45)
Worth the Drive (44)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (35)
Modern Decor (32)
Fun (30)
People Watching (30)
Local Ingredients (29)
Hot Spot (28)
Cozy (25)
Casual (22)
Comfort Food (21)
Tasting Menu (21)
Healthy (20)
Seasonal (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Outstanding Value (15)
Historic (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Organic (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Disabled Access (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Vegan (3)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
7697 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Perfect as usual! The waiter was really nice, elegant and polite! We had a great time!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

We visit Gotham for lunch every time we are in NYC. This was the first time Gotham did not meet our expectations. Menu choices were limited and not to our liking , restaurant was only 1/2 filled (a first for us), the waiter, while efficient, was abrupt. The food was excellent.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Cozy, Fun, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was outstanding and the food was delicious!

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Simply stated...Gotham never disappoints. Expertly prepared foods made with obvious care. Service is impeccable. Your environment is a rare relaxed elegance. Our favorite restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Each of our four meals was outstanding (fish cooked to perfection) and the service impeccable!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Cod was very tasty, with a strong Asian flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (México)·Dined 5 days ago

One of my favorite restaurants in NY. The host has always been very friendly. The food is delicious, the service impecable and the wine list exceptional.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Gotham Bar & Grill was superb. We loved the architecture of the room, the high ceilings and beautiful windows at the back. Service was polite and very high level but not stuffy. I would go back in a minute although it is pricey.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

In NYC there are many choices and this one never disappoints. Been here before and we'll be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We go to this restaurant on every trip to New York. It never fails to be one of the best if not the best every time. We love the foie gras and all their fish dishes' the duck is the best in the USA. The desserts should not be skipped, sharing is a great way to go. The service is also just right ,not too much and always there when you need them.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Remains the best value in NY dining. The price fixe lunch at $38 is wonderful. I hate to ever visit NY and not include a lunch at Gotham.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Very good food and excellent service from a kind a competent staff

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Wonderful, it is rarely that I have very good food like here! I will come back again and again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Took our new Columbia grad for a celebratory lunch and were treated like royalty right down to the congratulatory note on his dessert! The prix fixe Greenmarket lunch options are delectable one and all (yes, between the four of us we tried them all but the assorted sorbets), and a great value. Favorite items were the pea soup and the branzino. We will be back soon for dinner!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Said it before and I'll say it again: For quality of food and overall experience, The Gotham has the best deal in the city for lunch. It's not cheap, but it's not expensive and it is one of the best values in this or any other city, including Paris, London and Rome. An old friend said, "This place is underrated. The food is so good, as is the presentation, and yet it's so understated that it's easy to take it for granted. But one never should. It is simply a great restaurant offering a great lunch deal. It's memorable for dinner, too, but the lunch...." He's right.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Authentic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We got the date mixed up and arrived on the wrong day, they couldn't do enough for us instead of turning us away they found a table after 5 mins. All staff were delightful, we had the black cod and the pork chop both cooked to perfection. Would recommend the shell fish bisque which was also excellent. I have visited many restaurants around the world gotham is one of the best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 17, 2017

One of NYC's greatest restaurants. It stays true to its heritage yet always staying present and fresh. From the maitre d to the servers everyone seems to genuinely re care about giving you a unique and special experience. It will remain one of my families most enjoyed respites in a world where there are few.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Amazing!!
Miso Cod
Shrimp Cocktail
Duck.
All expertly prepared

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Totally outstanding restaurant. The food and service are consistently beyond expectation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

They never filled our water glasses. There was no music. My frittata was dry and tasteless . The service was non existent . Overall a horrible experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mothers day Brunch .Everything was terrific .the food was exquisite and the service was impeccable under the watchful eye of the manager .The staff anticipated our every need before we even said a word .The presentation was wonderful and the frittata was the best I ever had .

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Gotham was great, as usual! I dine there often and it's consistently amazing. I've been going for 25 years and they've never once disappointed me. That is quite an accomplishment for a restaurant. I can't say enough good things and of course, I introduce everyone I know to Gotham.

Tags: Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Authentic, Organic, Historic, Business Meals, Healthy, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is reliably a wonderful meal and experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Loved it. Perfect, as always. My favorite place downtown. 100% recommend it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Deservedly a NY institution: restrained but flavourful food, excellent service and an always warm and welcoming space.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was delish. Especially enjoyed the special pasta appetizer and salmon tartar. Mains were duck and black cod- both great. Must get chocolate cake. Not cheap but worth it for special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food and service were extraordinary. Very few people around the world enjoy this level of fine dining.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Top flight NY restaurant with prices to match. It's a shame it is so expensive. But among a certain clientele, it is very popular. And it was sold out on a rainy, windy Saturday night.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food, wonderful service, lovely atmosphere. Still one of my favorites

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We drove in pouring rain from Philly to NYC on Saturday for theater and dinner at Gotham. Also happened to be my birthday. Dinner was GREAT as usual We wish we lived closer so that we could go to Gotham more often. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was outstanding and the service was impeccable but holy moly was it expensive. It was our anniversary so I knew it would be, but it still felt expensive.

Our server was personable, but not too irritating. He gave wonderful food and drink advise and they even gave us a little treat for our anniversary.

Great experience

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Service was great and friendly, food was very good and ambiance comfortable and not too noisy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Best restaurant in NYC year after year Perfect service Great food Have been enjoying birthday celebrations every year for a decade. Seafood salad, rack of lamb, pork chop fabulous. Great wine list and perfect cocktails.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Wonderful, as usual. The prix fix lunch is amazing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Outstanding lunch, perfect food and service!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

One of the Best in NYC as usual, great food tops, service outstanding. On entry the welcoming staff superb...
easy street parking

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

As always, the service and ambiance is wonderful, and the food is varied and has many healthy
options. It is still my favorite place to meet friend, network, and take my family visit for from other cities.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

If you want to splurge a little or have a date night this is the place to do it. Our waiter John was excellent and had some great recommendations for drinks and food. We had the fish and 28 days aged steak which was both cooked to perfection. The manager even came over and made sure everything was good and we were satisfied. I like that they don't rush you out or hover over you for anything.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Excellent food, albeit expensive, with a very pleasant setting. Service very good, but, after dropping dessert menus, our waiter vanished for way too long. A downer on value is very few reasonably priced wines out of a large list. Found a good St. Joseph for a fair price, but shouldn't have to search that much.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Gotham has the Perfect mix.Excellent food,wine and service.Highly recommended.You will not be disappointed

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.