About Gotham Bar and Grill

12 East 12th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Since first opening its doors in 1984, Gotham Bar and Grill has epitomized New York City dining at its finest, serving Executive Chef Alfred Portale's sublime and refreshingly accessible Contemporary American Cuisine in a dining room that is consistently packed with sophisticated diners from all over the country and the world.

One of the secrets of Gotham's success is that it is an institution that has never become institutional. The unparalleled quality of the food and service are constants, but the rest of the Gotham experience is constantly updated to keep the restaurant feeling as fresh as the day it opened. New menu items are introduced each season, the wine list is always evolving, and the dining room is regularly revamped.

Gotham Bar and Grill has been honored as Most Outstanding Restaurant in the nation by the James Beard Foundation, which named Chef/Owner Alfred Portale Most Outstanding Chef in the nation for 2006.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 12:00pm-2:15pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday 5:30pm-11:00pm
Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm-11:00pm

The restaurant is wheel chair accessible but please note the restrooms are located downstairs.

Cross Street:
5th Ave + University Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 620-4020

Website:
http://www.gothambarandgrill.com/

Parking Details:
There are numerous parking garages located in the neighborhood.
SP PARKING(2 blocks away west)
20 West 13th St (between 5th & 6th ave) on the left side of the street
OPEN: 24 hours
IMPARK( 2 blocks away east)
60 East 12th street (between broadway & 4th street) on the right side of the street across from The Strand Bookstore
OPEN: 24 hours

Public Transit:
4,5,6,N,R,W,Q to Union Square. Gotham is 2 blocks south on 12th Street.



F,M to 14th Street. Gotham is 1 avenue east and 2 blocks south.



1,2,3 to 14th Street. Gotham is 2 avenues east and 2 blocks south.

Executive Chef:
Alfred Portale

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Foie Gras
Tuna Tartare
Atlantic Halibut
Gotham Chocolate Cake
Muscovy Duck With Foie Gras
Bread and Butter
Chocolate Cake
Parfait
Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras
Mezzi Rigatoni
Shrimp
Roasted Quail
Summer Salad
Vanilla Parfait
Pan Seared Halibut
Curried Kabocha Squash Soup
Gotham Chicory Salad
flourless chocolate cake
Gotham Burger
Black Cod With Miso
Grilled Rack Of Lamb
Wild Mushroom Risotto
Chocolate Peanut Butter Mousse
28 Day Dry Aged New York Steak
Crispy Wild Striped Sea Bass
Bay Scallops
Seabass Ceviche
Slow Cooked Chicken Breast
Organic Kale Salad
Passion Coconut Souffle
s'more
strawberry shortcake
Cherry Lane Farm's Summer Squash
Rack of Lamb
Complementary Pastries
Seared Diver S
Côtes Du Rhône J.L. Chave 2009
Green Garlic Soup
Soffrito Braised Tokyo Turnips
Fennel Scented Strawberries
Stone Street Sazerac
Seafood Risotto
sea food california oysters
vino
Grilled Hanger Steak
Hamachi
40 Day Dry Aged Ribeye
Garlic And Whole Wheat Bread
Seafood Salad
Moradita Beet Margarita
Beefsteak Tomato Salad
Seafood
Frozen Lemon Verbena Parfait
Miso Marinated Black Cod
Chatham C
Seared Duck Breast
Yellow Fin Tuna Tartar
Ricotta Ravioli
Warm Flourless Chocolate Cake With Malt Ice Cream
Roasted Beet And Goat Cheese Salad
Roasted Heirloom Carrots, Beets, And Fennel
Braised Short Rib Ragu With Homemade Pappardelle Pasta And
Goat Cheese Tortellini
Dessert
Sweet Corn Tortellini
Peanut Butter Coupe
Cappuccino
Papardelle With Shaved Veal+Beef+Pork, Mushrooms, Sweet Tomato Sauce
Truffle Crusted Halibut
Roasted Frog Hollow Farm Apricots
Roast Suckling Pig
Caviar
Warm Chocolate Cake With Salted Caramel Ice Cream
Fresh White Alba Truffle Risotto
Tartin
Venison
Steak
Duck Liver Terrine
Gotham Bolognese
muscovy duck breast with braised butternut squash and long cooked kale
Butternut squash ravioli
Thai Lobster
Smoked Steelhead Trout Appetizer
28 Day Dry Aged Niman Rib Eye Steak with Maitre d' Butter
Asparagus Vinaigrette
Spinach salad with poached pears, pecans & gorgonzola cheese
Pear Souffle
Petit Four
Autumn Chicory Salad
Roasted Muscovy Duck
Yellowfin Tuna Tartare
Wild Striped Bass Sashimi
Label Rouge Chicken And Foie Gras Terrine
White Tuna
American Red Snapper
strawberry parfait
Foei Gras
Mascarpone cheesecake
Pork Chop
Butterscotch Coupe

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 9:30PM 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:30PM - 5:30PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Gotham Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Union Square ›

Special Occasion (312)
Fit for Foodies (281)
Great for Lunch (167)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (160)
Romantic (160)
Notable Wine List (146)
Good for Groups (61)
Hot Spot (58)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Good for a Date (38)
Vibrant Bar Scene (36)
Business Meals (30)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Great for Brunch (20)
Worth the Drive (15)
Local Ingredients (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Fun (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
People Watching (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Seasonal (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Authentic (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Healthy (6)
Cozy (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Family Style (5)
Casual (4)
Scenic View (4)
Historic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
Newest
6552 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

red shrimp risotto is excellent and the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

red shrimp risotto is excellent and the Colorado Lamb was superbly tender and tasty.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was amazing but the service was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was amazing but the service was very disappointing. To order drinks or food or even get some bread for the table, we had to keep asking for a waiter to come over. Very surprising, so maybe it was just an off night, but our table was very disappointed in that aspect of the dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Celebrating a birthday, everything was, ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Celebrating a birthday, everything was, as always, perfect. I had the thai lobster, it was deliciously flavored, not overbearingly thai. My friends had steaks that they loved. Salads were light and seasonal (first day of autumn). The shrimp in my shrimp cocktail were firm and tasty. The wait staff and bartenders were attentive and made the evening wonderful start to finish. Oh, and the desserts were great too,

Lots of sharing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gotham is one of my favorite restaurants ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Gotham is one of my favorite restaurants in the world. The sweet corn tortellini is an excellent starter and the cocktails are delicious. The atmosphere is perfect--very beautiful decor and an upsacale but comfortable setting. Love the whole place!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was right to our expectations ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was right to our expectations. We were more than happy to have chosen this place. First time I came to Gothams was in 1991. An we keep coming back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and service, only wish it ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very good food and service, only wish it was a little more creative , menu seems the same through out the last 20 yrs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We went to celebrate our anniversary and ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We went to celebrate our anniversary and we're not disappointed. The food was terrific, service was excellent and we'd enthusiastically recommend it.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything continues to be excellent.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Everything continues to be excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food is a bit too salty but overall ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The food is a bit too salty but overall is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

I was dining there with my two daughters ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I was dining there with my two daughters. We were seated near the front of the restaurant in a corner when there was ample seating, more open air seating. My daughters do not like a scene, so I didn't make one. However, it was a horrible space! A table of five were squeezed in next to us and someone had to move from the other table just to enable my daughter to out of the space we were in to go to the bathroom. Not what I would expect from a high-end restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food, service, atmosphere. We had ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great food, service, atmosphere. We had wonderful dining experience at Gotham. Dining room is beautiful, food delicious. We had steak and pork chop, both cooked perfectly and tasted fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had my parents in town and was looking ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I had my parents in town and was looking for a really nice place to take them out: stylisch, marvellous food, best service and not too noisy. This restaurant was perfect for us - we had great steaks and also seafood, the sommelier did a great job recommeding us a delicious wine for an affordable price (they have a exquisite and an expensive selection of wines). The waiters were top notch, friendly, efficient but not intrusive. This evening at Gotham's was great.

Just make sure you book a table ahead of time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Romantic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was so impressed by the professionalism ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Was so impressed by the professionalism and atmosphere. Initially a reservation for 2 as meeting my sister. Friends wanted to meet us and we threw in a last minute request when we arrived to see if they could possibly change the reservation to 4 people - keep in mind that this was at 7 on a Saturday in the city. Not only did they accommodate us, they did so in a friendly and timely manner - no attitude at all. The host was the best of the best. I consider that to be restaurant management 101. I was sold right there. That being said, the fine experience continued from our time getting a drink at the bar thru dessert. Service was flawless and food was impeccably plated. Granted, this restaurant is on the high end, but the experience lived up to it. Would absolutely return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We always live dining at this place... T ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We always live dining at this place... The service is friendly and excellent as is the food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, particularly the Bla ...

vip
 (México)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was excellent, particularly the Black Cod....., don't miss it!

Service is outstanding, with a remarkable attitude.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gracious dining. Exceptionally fine food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Gracious dining. Exceptionally fine food. The service is particularly attentive. The ambiance is lovely. Price is high.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful lunch. Great waiter and fanta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Wonderful lunch. Great waiter and fantastic AGM Johnilson

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always always always a treat!!!! thank ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

always always always a treat!!!! thanks so much for remaining the same all these years. i would eat here every nite if i could!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chocolate cake was best I ever had! ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The chocolate cake was best I ever had! I'm 44 years old mind you; so I had no shortage of good cake. This cake was amazing! It just melts in your mouth. I'd go again just for the cake. And dinner was good too...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always a delicious dinner with except ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

As always a delicious dinner with exceptional service. Miso Black Cod the best!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went after US Open. They were ok with us ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Went after US Open. They were ok with us not changing after the game but I would recommend nice casual to dressy. Food is expensive - esp salad dish for $25 but the quality was high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Used to be NY dining at its best. Now co ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Used to be NY dining at its best. Now complacent and lost its mojo. Tables are cramped. Service was okish. Virgin mohito was nothing other than a lemonade with a leaf of mint (we complained and was taken off the bill). Starters (tuna tartare and shrimp cocktail) were excellent. Steak was ok but for that price one expects way better. Pork loin was chewy and far too seasoned, really bad overall. We did not bother with dessert, we just wanted to get out. It used to be the highlight of any of my trips to NY, I am afraid I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Relaxing atmosphere, atte3ntive wait sta ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Relaxing atmosphere, atte3ntive wait staff (but they don't hover), pleasant background noise from other customers. In all a very nice place with excellent food and service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always terrific!!! Great food, great amb ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Always terrific!!! Great food, great ambiance, attentive service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

If you are going to New York, this has t ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

If you are going to New York, this has to be on the list of things that have to be done. It is an excellent experience.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, People Watching, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For years I worked across the street fro ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

For years I worked across the street from the Gotham and often arranged businesses lunches there. So when I returned for dinner ten years later I expected a quality experience, especially given the Michelin star and the Zagat A+ grade. Instead, we were greeted by glum and ill-informed wait staff, and then kept waiting and waiting--60 minutes for the first course and another 30 for the second. The food was adequate in quality--one could have done just as well at any restaurant chosen randomly in the Union Square neighborhood (where I live). When we complained nicely to the manager he condescendingly told us how nice we were in politely expressing our concerns. I might also add that the tables were crammed cheek by jowl. Perhaps Friday night at 8 PM is the wrong time to come to the Gotham, but I do not have what it takes to show up at noon or 5 PM when, being the first to arrive, our party might be noticed and treated with some professional care.

If there were such a thing as anti-Danny-Meyer restaurant culture, it would be found at the Gotham.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Everything was perfect, the food, the pr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Everything was perfect, the food, the prix fixe lunch, the attentive service, the feeling of not being rushed, the quiet.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gotham never disappoints- the entire exp ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Gotham never disappoints- the entire experience was wonderful!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was expecting the place to be stuffy but ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Was expecting the place to be stuffy but that wasn't the case at all. Had one of the best steaks ever!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I just love this restaurant! Every time ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

I just love this restaurant! Every time I am in New York, I try to have dinner at Gotham.

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gotham Bar & Grill is a long time favori ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Gotham Bar & Grill is a long time favorite restaurant. It never disappoints! The food, service and ambiance are excellent. They have a market lunch for $38 that is an excellent value. It's also fun to go to the bar and have a light bite or dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as ever. Set lunch is good value. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great as ever. Set lunch is good value. Great burger too

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and excellent service! It ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Wonderful food and excellent service! It will never go out of favor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After two decades, Gotham still never ce ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

After two decades, Gotham still never ceases to impress.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is overrated and over priced. This ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food is overrated and over priced. This was a horrible, horrible restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

The special Key Lime Tart was so much la ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The special Key Lime Tart was so much larger than expected that we shared it with the table next to us! It served 7 of us and we were told it was for 2 but would probably be okay for our table of 3 . . . we shared it with the table of 4 next to us :)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was wonderful food, just over air-con ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

It was wonderful food, just over air-conditioned and a bit expensive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb service by Robert and the sommeli ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Superb service by Robert and the sommelier. Divine warm peach souffle with yogurt ice cream, pure taste of summer. Sauteed soft shell crabs. Roasted duck with foie gras. All beautifully plated and served. A total treat during the Labor Day weekend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always we had an amazing dinner. Perf ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

As always we had an amazing dinner. Perfection! Absolute Perfection!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gotham is a "big night out" - very speci ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Gotham is a "big night out" - very special, and very good, but also tough on the wallet. If you can afford it, do it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.