Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Gotham Bar and Grill

Since first opening its doors in 1984, Gotham Bar and Grill has epitomized New York City dining at its finest, serving Executive Chef Alfred Portale's sublime and refreshingly accessible Contemporary American Cuisine in a dining room that is consistently packed with sophisticated diners from all over the country and the world.

One of the secrets of Gotham's success is that it is an institution that has never become institutional. The unparalleled quality of the food and service are constants, but the rest of the Gotham experience is constantly updated to keep the restaurant feeling as fresh as the day it opened. New menu items are introduced each season, the wine list is always evolving, and the dining room is regularly revamped.

Gotham Bar and Grill has been honored as Most Outstanding Restaurant in the nation by the James Beard Foundation, which named Chef/Owner Alfred Portale Most Outstanding Chef in the nation for 2006.

12 East 12th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 12:00pm-2:15pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday 5:30pm-11:00pm
Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm-11:00pm

The restaurant is wheel chair accessible but please note the restrooms are located downstairs.

Cross Street:
5th Ave + University Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 620-4020

Website:
http://www.gothambarandgrill.com/

Parking Details:
There are numerous parking garages located in the neighborhood.
SP PARKING(2 blocks away west)
20 West 13th St (between 5th & 6th ave) on the left side of the street
OPEN: 24 hours
IMPARK( 2 blocks away east)
60 East 12th street (between broadway & 4th street) on the right side of the street across from The Strand Bookstore
OPEN: 24 hours

Public Transit:
4,5,6,N,R,W,Q to Union Square. Gotham is 2 blocks south on 12th Street.



F,M to 14th Street. Gotham is 1 avenue east and 2 blocks south.



1,2,3 to 14th Street. Gotham is 2 avenues east and 2 blocks south.

Executive Chef:
Alfred Portale

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

MOTHER"S DAY BRUNCH 11:30 AM - 3 PM
THREE COURSE MENU
$75 Per Person $35 Children 12 and under

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 9:30PM 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:30PM - 5:30PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Gotham Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (163)
Fit for Foodies (148)
Good for Anniversaries (143)
See All
Good for a Date (142)
Romantic (104)
Creative Cuisine (103)
Good for Birthdays (103)
Business Meals (95)
Neighborhood Gem (92)
Great for Lunch (88)
Notable Wine List (86)
Quiet Conversation (77)
Authentic (47)
Worth the Drive (46)
Bar Seating (45)
Good for Groups (42)
Modern Decor (37)
Hot Spot (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Cozy (28)
Local Ingredients (27)
People Watching (27)
Fun (23)
Tasting Menu (21)
Comfort Food (21)
Seasonal (18)
Outstanding Value (18)
Historic (18)
Casual (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Healthy (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Great for Brunch (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Disabled Access (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Organic (4)
Family Style (4)
Scenic View (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
7617 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

We want to thank the staff for their attentiveness and excellent service! Dinner was superb and extremely enjoyable. Very pleased with the overall dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

This is one of the great restaurants in New York City. Indeed, It's probably one of the best restaurants in the country. The LI duck and the foie gras remain wonderful dishes.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Best dining experience I've ever had. A memorable celebration. Loved it!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Female sommelier was inexperienced and extremely rude. Food was very good, but still widely overpriced. Atmosphere was stuffy and pretentious.

Very disappointed with overall understanding of the restaurant business. This is a place that just doesn't get it. Would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

My fiancé and I dined at Gotham Bar and Grill to celebrate our engagement. The waitstaff was congratulatory and amazing, we were surprised with champagne to start the meal and from the moment we walked in the experience was spectacular. We spent over two hours dining and could have stayed for hours more.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

This is one of NYC's best restaurants. It's pricy but worth it. The cuisine is superb and the ambiance superior. It's even possible to have a conversation at the table without a lot of ambient noise getting in the way. My only suggestion concerns the service. Pleasant enough waiter but she needs a little more training. She consistently interfered with the conversation by reaching across the able to retrieve the wine bottle so she could pour it. She also needs to slow down when she presents options. It was very hard to understand what she was suggesting. None of this is a big deal. With a bit of guidance she'll be fine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely special place. Great dishes, moreover, thoughtful staffs. Everything was special to treat our guests nicely.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We had the prix fixe harvest luncheon. The pea soup was tasty, but too salty. The branzino was prepared perfectly, but the vegetables lost their character in the sauce. The baked Alaska I did not finish: the meringue was too sweet, and the coconut macaroon base with the sorbets didn't really work together. The chewiness with the sweet meringue and the fruit sorbets....I didn't eat it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Outstanding food, good service, good wine list, low noise level

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

A winner in every way. From the moment you are greeted at the front host stand, to the walk out to the front door, you know you are in a special restaurant. There are no bargains here, but once you get past that fact you can settle in for the highest levels of creative food and attentive (but not overbearing) service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was perfect for visiting with friends. Menu offered much variety. My challenge was deciding between lamb and halibut. A friend chose the omelet. Another, the branzino. All were perfectly prepared. Service, as always, was never intrusive, but very thoughtful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Every time we go there is a welcoming atmosphere when you come in. The service is french correct and helpful. The food is delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Classy classic. A forever place to enjoy and relax while you enjoy the good food with the best service where you feel special but not stuffy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is one of New York's legendary restaurants and the experience lives up to the reputation. Service is attentive, food creative and well prepared, and special occasions (we were there for a milestone birthday) treated with warmth and personal touches. Price is worth noting; it's pricey--but value delivered too.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

A little overpriced, but still enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Deservedly among the top ten restaurants in New York. Simply outstanding food -- you eat it the way the chef prepares it, and it's wonderful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My wife is a real foodie, so for our anniversary we treated ourselves.
The food was delicious (we had veg/seafood starters, seafood/fish main - all made to perfection and exploding in your mouth with a harmony of flavors), the (red St. Aubin) wine very complex -
superb yet affordable, desserts (passionfruit/chocolate) great and even the coffee, where many top places slip, was top quality materials and preparation.
All for ~200 + wine + tax + tip, which is what this kind of experience costs like in NY

Despite the restaurant being packed, we had no need to worry about the other tables in terms of personal space nor noise - somehow despite the waiters themselves needing to sometimes maneuver tightly, the design is efficient and sound-absorbent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Lovely experience. We changed our reservation from 4 to 5 same day and when we where seated at a table with a draft we were moved to another table immediately. So all in all, very accommodating and the food was excellent as well!

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Fabulous food and service. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great service , wine list terrific too . Amazing menu

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 12, 2017

La comida estuvo excelente, el menú muy variado. la calidad del servicio de los meseros fue muy buena.
el risotto espectacular.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Outstanding as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Excelente from the begining till the end!!!
Robert was perfect as a waiter, sommelier, everything.
What he recomended is was perfect!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Impeccably prepared dishes, creative use of ingredients, excellent service, warm and friendly sommelier. Chef Portale continues to define top level restaurant management.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I read the reviews and they were mostly very good, so I thought it would be great spot for dinner with my wife. I thought that I got lucky as there was still an open reservation on a Saturday night just three days out. I have to say that I was very disappointed in the experience overall. The service was poor. Our waitress made us feel as if we were at Applebee's. The bus staff were rather abrupt and basically plopped every plate in front of us without saying a word. The food was mediocre at best, especially considering the cost. I admit that the Cod was excellent though. Overall, disappointing and I would not recommend for any occasion.I don't know if we hit an uncharacteristically bad night or this place is like this normally, but we were completely unimpressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I believe Gotham Grill to be the best restaurant in New York City. The food is consistently wonderful and the service impeccable. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Always a welcome treat to dine here. Professional staff, excellently prepared food by professionals. Comfortable surroundings.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great experience. Made a trip to NYC even better. Will definitely be in my future visit checklist

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great food and service

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Delicious food. Great server and service. Extremely accommodating, with relation to getting a quiet table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Eating at Gotham is always an exceptional experience. The pairing of the flavors and the visual artistry of each dish are incomparable. I especially enjoyed the subtle citrus/mango/cilantro flavors of the sea bass ceviche, one of several small dishes we ordered that evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Consistently great. A guaranteed wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Excellent food beautifully presented in a space of understated elegance. Prix fix lunch is a great value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We three have been celebrating our birthdays at Gotham for years. It never disappoints.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Celebrated a triple birthday...so wonderful to be there again! Always wonderful food, delightful service and sitting in the back near the patio, a great way to welcome Spring!!

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Tuna tartare was first and it was similar to what I have had in California just done very well. Next up was the seafood cocktail and it was different and delicious. Third was the seared foi gras, never had it, but man was it tasty would've been the best dosh of the night if it wasnt for the miso cod. That was one of the best prepared seafood dishes I've ever had. I also had the strip steak it was good but not great. Could not recommend this place enough

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Gotham B&G...one of the top half-dozen New York restaurants. Gotham is one of the very few NYC restaurants that are expensive and worth the cost. Try the Seafood Salad and Miso Black Cod and you'll be back for more. If you want to dine instead of just eating, go to Gotham.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Wonderful ambiance, great service from Isella, delicious food and nice presentation. A bit overpriced, especially the lobster which we were told would be a pound + but was much smaller. Disappointed that the restaurant didn't offer a complimentary dessert for someone celebrating a birthday. Most restaurants will do that.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Birthday. Epic experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I used to be a big fan. In spite of the old decor I was always bound to have a good meal. The last two times I have to say , like the decor like the service , the food is getting old. By the time I finished my meal I was bored out of my mind for the slowness of the service. I was offered corked wine. And the food felt very heavy. The brand is worthy of a holiday inn motelor a cafeteria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.