About Gotham Bar and Grill

12 East 12th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Since first opening its doors in 1984, Gotham Bar and Grill has epitomized New York City dining at its finest, serving Executive Chef Alfred Portale's sublime and refreshingly accessible Contemporary American Cuisine in a dining room that is consistently packed with sophisticated diners from all over the country and the world.

One of the secrets of Gotham's success is that it is an institution that has never become institutional. The unparalleled quality of the food and service are constants, but the rest of the Gotham experience is constantly updated to keep the restaurant feeling as fresh as the day it opened. New menu items are introduced each season, the wine list is always evolving, and the dining room is regularly revamped.

Gotham Bar and Grill has been honored as Most Outstanding Restaurant in the nation by the James Beard Foundation, which named Chef/Owner Alfred Portale Most Outstanding Chef in the nation for 2006.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 12:00pm-2:15pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday 5:30pm-11:00pm
Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm-11:00pm

The restaurant is wheel chair accessible but please note the restrooms are located downstairs.

Cross Street:
5th Ave + University Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 620-4020

Website:
http://www.gothambarandgrill.com/

Parking Details:
There are numerous parking garages located in the neighborhood.
SP PARKING(2 blocks away west)
20 West 13th St (between 5th & 6th ave) on the left side of the street
OPEN: 24 hours
IMPARK( 2 blocks away east)
60 East 12th street (between broadway & 4th street) on the right side of the street across from The Strand Bookstore
OPEN: 24 hours

Public Transit:
4,5,6,N,R,W,Q to Union Square. Gotham is 2 blocks south on 12th Street.



F,M to 14th Street. Gotham is 1 avenue east and 2 blocks south.



1,2,3 to 14th Street. Gotham is 2 avenues east and 2 blocks south.

Executive Chef:
Alfred Portale

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Foie Gras - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Atlantic Halibut - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Tuna Tartare - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Gotham Chocolate Cake - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Muscovy Duck With Foie Gras - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Pan Roasted Branzino - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Chocolate Cake - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Parfait - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Bread and Butter - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Mezzi Rigatoni - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Good Wine! - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Shrimp - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Roasted Quail - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Summer Salad - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Vanilla Parfait - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Pan Seared Halibut - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Curried Kabocha Squash Soup - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Gotham Chicory Salad - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
flourless chocolate cake - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Gotham Burger - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Black Cod With Miso - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Wild Mushroom Risotto - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Crispy Wild Striped Sea Bass - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Seabass Ceviche - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Passion Coconut Souffle - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
s'more - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
strawberry shortcake - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Cherry Lane Farm's Summer Squash - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Chocolate Peanut Butter Mousse - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Rack of Lamb - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
28 Day Dry Aged New York Steak - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Complementary Pastries - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Seared Diver S - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Grilled Rack Of Lamb - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Côtes Du Rhône J.L. Chave 2009 - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Green Garlic Soup - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Bay Scallops  - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Soffrito Braised Tokyo Turnips - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Fennel Scented Strawberries - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Stone Street Sazerac - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Seafood Risotto - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
sea food california oysters  - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
vino - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Grilled Hanger Steak - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Hamachi - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
40 Day Dry Aged Ribeye - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Garlic And Whole Wheat Bread - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Seafood Salad - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Moradita Beet Margarita - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Beefsteak Tomato Salad - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Organic Kale Salad - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Seafood - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Frozen Lemon Verbena Parfait - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Miso Marinated Black Cod - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Chatham C - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Seared Duck Breast  - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Yellow Fin Tuna Tartar - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Ricotta Ravioli - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Warm Flourless Chocolate Cake With Malt Ice Cream - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Roasted Beet And Goat Cheese Salad - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Roasted Heirloom Carrots, Beets, And Fennel - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Braised Short Rib Ragu With Homemade Pappardelle Pasta And - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Goat Cheese Tortellini - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Dessert - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Sweet Corn Tortellini - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Peanut Butter Coupe - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Cappuccino - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Papardelle With Shaved Veal+Beef+Pork, Mushrooms, Sweet Tomato Sauce - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Truffle Crusted Halibut  - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Roasted Frog Hollow Farm Apricots - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Roast Suckling Pig - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Caviar - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Warm Chocolate Cake With Salted Caramel Ice Cream - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Fresh White Alba Truffle Risotto - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Tartin - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Venison - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Slow Cooked Chicken Breast - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Steak - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Duck Liver Terrine - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Gotham Bolognese - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
muscovy duck breast with braised butternut squash and long cooked kale - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Butternut squash ravioli - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Thai Lobster - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Smoked Steelhead Trout Appetizer - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
28 Day Dry Aged Niman Rib Eye Steak with Maitre d' Butter - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Asparagus Vinaigrette - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Spinach salad with poached pears, pecans & gorgonzola cheese - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Pear Souffle - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Petit Four - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Autumn Chicory Salad - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Roasted Muscovy Duck - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Yellowfin Tuna Tartare - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Wild Striped Bass Sashimi - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Label Rouge Chicken And Foie Gras Terrine - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
White Tuna - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
American Red Snapper - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
strawberry parfait - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Foei Gras - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY
Mascarpone cheesecake - Gotham Bar and Grill, New York, NY

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 9:30PM 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:30PM - 5:30PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Gotham Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Union Square ›

Special Occasion (195)
Fit for Foodies (157)
Good for Anniversaries (116)
See All
Notable Wine List (114)
Romantic (103)
Good for a Date (99)
Neighborhood Gem (91)
Creative Cuisine (89)
Good for Birthdays (79)
Business Meals (77)
Great for Lunch (73)
Quiet Conversation (57)
Bar Seating (48)
Hot Spot (39)
Good for Groups (38)
Authentic (37)
People Watching (35)
Worth the Drive (34)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Local Ingredients (30)
Seasonal (28)
Modern Decor (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Fun (20)
Tasting Menu (20)
Outstanding Value (19)
Cozy (18)
Healthy (15)
Historic (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Casual (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Family Style (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Vegan (3)
Scenic View (3)
Private Room (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
6744 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Manager came by our table, grabbed our b ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Manager came by our table, grabbed our bill and said thank you while looking the other way as walking away.

The server chased him down because she had just put it on our table 10 seconds before hand.

Felt rushed by the manager. And non appreciated for spending $490 for a table of two.

The server apologized and said he does that frequently.

Upon leaving I witnessed the same manager taking a $100 bill from a patron for getting her a table.

I strongly suggest firing this individual. He is in it for himself, not for the customers nor the ownership.

I hope the ownership sees this message.

Not management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything we ordered was unbelievable. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything we ordered was unbelievable. Every bite was exquisite. Highly recommend, it was incredible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect classic NYC restaurant with deli ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Perfect classic NYC restaurant with delicious food and wine. Cocktails to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

By far one of the best meals I have had. ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

By far one of the best meals I have had. The service was stellar and the atmosphere was fantastic!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went for a birthday luncheon and had ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We went for a birthday luncheon and had asked for a corner table when we made the reservation. We were given a beautiful table in the back in the corner. The restaurant was beautifully decorated for the holidays but even so, the overall ambience was impressive. Dan, our waiter was outstanding despite our being boisterous and taking long to decide on our meal. We each ordered a salad -I had the beet salad which was delicious. For my entree I had the branzino which was prepared with a wonderful sauce and vegetables. It was perfect. Desert was chocolate cake with ice cream. While the prices are on the high side it is worth every penny for a special occasion. The portions are not large but they are decent size where you don't feel overstuffed but you are full. Did I say Dan was outstanding. He made us all feel very special and unrushed despite our almost 3 hour lunch. I would highly recommend this restaurant and look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The greatest restaurant in town! Great f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The greatest restaurant in town! Great food and outstanding service. Just continue with the same attitude.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, pleasant, attentive b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service, pleasant, attentive but not intrusive. Exactly the right noise level in our opinion. Enough to be lively but not so much that one has to strain to be heard by your companions. Delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been dining at Gotham for years! ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We've been dining at Gotham for years! And we'll be dining for years to come. The fare is excellent and varied, the staff is attentive and non-intrusive, the ambiance is fun. Since the 1980s Gotham has maintained its penchant for excellence. Cheers!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lived up to its Michelin Star hype. The ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

Lived up to its Michelin Star hype. The burger and cod were excellent and our service was amazing.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful place and excellent food. It's ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Beautiful place and excellent food. It's true that is a little bit expensive but, the quality of the food it is outstanding. It's also a restaurant where you can have a nice conversation with friends, which is something unusual in USA's restaurants. My husband goes usually there for lunch with his friends, so I decided to go for a dinner with mine and it was an excellent choice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

First time here. Loved everything. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

First time here. Loved everything. The service was very good without being intrusive. We sat in a smaller corner which was quite nice because it was more quite. Cocktails were pretty good. My cosmo I sent back because it was bitter tasting. I think the bartender left the pith on the orange peel and it ruined the drink. No biggy though. Dinner was wonderful. The mushroom risotto, the fois gras were both wonderful. I had the miso glazed cod which was wonderful. Came with sticky rice and baby bok choy. Absolutely delicious. My husband had the branzini and he loved it. He enjoyed the peanut butter sundae which must have been good because it was all gone. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great table, great service, great food!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great table, great service, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was well executed and of superior q ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was well executed and of superior quality. However, it lacked the creativity and nuances one expects at this price point. Wine list was overpriced, bread was cold and served by a surly individual who clearly didn't want to be there. Restaurant is very overrated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Restaurant is lovely and food was delici ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Restaurant is lovely and food was delicious. The dover sole was perfectly prepared. The beet salad and the spare rib rigatoni were outstanding. The one odd thing was that they took the time to ask us if we had show reservations and what time we wanted to leave but yet when we were ready for our check and needed to leave, our server was no where to be found. What's the point of asking about the show and time you'd like to leave if you don't have a process to follow through on it. Other than that, it was a lovely meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The food, presentation, service and dec ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food, presentation, service and decor are fantastic. One of the best meals we have had.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant! Very trendy, the food ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great restaurant! Very trendy, the food is amazing and the service is outstanding.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A must do when in New York City. Best ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2016

A must do when in New York City. Best drinks and food by far.

Tags: Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best meals we've ever eaten. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

One of the best meals we've ever eaten. Our server was phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific!!!!!!

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Terrific!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent and inviting atmosphere and fo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Excellent and inviting atmosphere and food combined with good service and friendliness. The host helped us with table selection and advising the waiter that we needed to be out by 8:00 to go to a comedy show. A few of us had the black cod which was excellent and another had the lamb. Nice bar area if you like to sit there. Highly recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prix fixe lunch with specially priced wi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Prix fixe lunch with specially priced wines was the very best value!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a beautiful restaurant! Although we ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 2, 2016

What a beautiful restaurant! Although we tend to stick to the tried and true when we come to NY, we decided to try all new (to us) places this year. We went on a Thursday night. The place was packed when we arrived at 8pm. The crowd was handled well by the staff and everything was perfect. The gentleman who seated us remarked on our request for a 'cozy table' and he certainly obliged. Everything was stellar from start to finish. We had beet salad/tuna tartar for first course, and black` cod/lobster for second. All dishes had great presentations and the flavors were fabulous. We come to NYC at least once a year and will definitely be back!! A magical evening all around!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A really good dinner; I would definitely ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

A really good dinner; I would definitely recommend.

We had to wait 15 minutes extra for our table, but the bar is comfortable and the cocktails we had while waiting were excellent.

The table was great; good distance between tables and overall the decor is very attractive. My only complaint would be the state of ceiling - in a place like this why wouldn't you at least give it a lick of paint?!

The service was outstanding - the waiter was very friendly and happy to provide recommendations, but not at all pushy. Food was arguably slightly slow to arrive, depending on how much time you like between courses. Frequency of water refills was just right.

The food was excellent. I had the tuna tartare first, which I would thoroughly recommend. I then had the heirloom carrot; this was my least favourite course but it was certainly acceptable. I had the lamb for main, which was simple but really tasty, then had the black forest for dessert. In hindsight, the pear soufflé or peanut butter sundae would have been better options. The choice of wine is very good and the menu caters for different budgets.

Value-wise, this was an expensive dinner but I was happy. If you want to save money, skip the second course and the cocktails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had heard many thing about Gotham and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I had heard many thing about Gotham and was curious to give it a try now that Inwork in the neighborhood. The food and drinks are way too expensive. My $56 strip steak was very salty and my dinner companion's $85 Rib eye steak was good... that's not a typo $85. Martinis $20 each. This is not a 4 star restaurant. I have two brothers (one a gourmet chef) in the food biz and they couldn't believe the prices. I've been to quite a lot of gourmet places. This is not one of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

We had an amazing time celebrating my hu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We had an amazing time celebrating my husbands birthday here. We were taken care of really well. I had made reservations over a month ahead and I would recommend that completely. The food was great and the portions for the entrees were a good size. We ordered the ceviche for appetizers and it tasted great. All of the food was very fresh and overall an amazing night for a celebration.

We had a really good table overlooking the rest of the dining area, thank you Gotham and thank you to our server John!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Going strong after many years. Extensive ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Going strong after many years. Extensive wine list with good values. Appreciated visit from Chef Portale!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wow. Well worth the trip. Everything was ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Wow. Well worth the trip. Everything was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved all of it, fantastic lunch!! Yo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We loved all of it, fantastic lunch!! You can be sure we will be back next time we are in NY.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A "must visit" every time we are in NYC. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 29, 2016

A "must visit" every time we are in NYC. Solid service and amazing food. Never disappoints. Treat yourself

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gotham Bar and Grill is simply one of th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Gotham Bar and Grill is simply one of the best restaurants in Manhattan.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our 6th visit. Never disappoints. Great ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Our 6th visit. Never disappoints. Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best experience. Excellent f ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

One of the best experience. Excellent food and services. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is my wife and my favorite restaura ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This is my wife and my favorite restaurant in New York City. This particular meal was a gift to long term friends who recently - after 25 years together - got married. They thought it was the perfect gift and the four of us had a wonderful time: delicious food which was well-prepared; service which was unobtrusive; and attractive décor - with early Christmas decorations.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were running late from watching a pla ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We were running late from watching a play and they were most gracious to keep our reservations. We were not rushed and the service was welcoming and top notch. I ordered the duck and the foie gras was the best I ever had. It capped a wonderful Thanksgiving week experience in New York for me and my family. They were the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful venue, great service. Well pri ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Beautiful venue, great service. Well priced drinks. Wonderful choice for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A menu you will not find anywhere else- ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

A menu you will not find anywhere else- delectable and georgous!

Our waitress was disappointing-did not offer a menu explanation or offer wine suggestions. Felt a bit ignored. But the food and ambiance made up for that flaw.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Always outstanding Never disappointed ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Always outstanding

Never disappointed

Seafood salad is superb

Apple tart Tatin superb

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very good first and third courses. But t ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Very good first and third courses. But they completely missed on very expensive truffle risotto !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

I took two of my friends celebrating the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

I took two of my friends celebrating their honeymoon here, but found the service to be absolutely terrible:

1) No offer to take our coats when we entered

2) When serving bread to the table, the waiter dropped my bread, and then picked it up and simply placed it on my plate

3) When re-filling bread, the server asked the two gentlemen at the table for refills but didn't ask the lady

4) When cleaning bread crumbs off the table before dessert, the waiter swept the crumbs right onto my lap

5) Despite it being a special occasion we were celebrating (I wrote this in the OpenTable comments when making the booking and reminded them on the phone too), nothing special was done. I had to ask for a little something and they later served some financiers to the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Apart from the 30 minutes wait, the expe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Apart from the 30 minutes wait, the experience was very good. The wine list was a bit expensive in my opinion, but the food was awesome.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.