About The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant

36205 Snake Hill Road
Middleburg, VA 20117
View Larger Map

Goodstone Inn & Restaurant features a refined approach to French Country cuisine keeping to traditional and classical techniques. The innovative farm-to-table cuisine and the pastoral setting on a 265-acre estate in Virginia's wine and hunt country provide a unique dining experience for restaurant guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 12-2pm
Dinner: 5:30-9pm
Sunday Champagne Brunch: 12-2pm

Open seven days a week.

Children over the age of 8 are welcome for dining.

Cross Street:
Foxcroft Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 687-3333

Website:
http://www.goodstone.com/

Catering:
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant will cater to all of your needs - big and small. (Advance notice of such requests is required.) In addition, Goodstone offers an impressive Wine Cellar Dining Room featuring an extensive collection of vintages from Virginia and around the world, and the elegant Manor House for intimate, catered events on the estate.

Parking Details:
Parking is located to the left of the Carriage House where the restaurant is located.

Executive Chef:
John Leonard

Private Party Facilities:
Parties of nine to twelve are invited to take part in a one-of-a-kind experience in our cellar. A custom menu with wines paired will be created for your group. The experience will be tailored to your party's particular tastes.

Private Party Contact:
Linda Boyer, Director of Sales: 540-687-3333x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Food
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Service
Washington, D.C. Area
9 More
Best Ambiance
Washington, D.C. Area
French
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Overall
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Food
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Service
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Value
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Scenic View
Virginia - DC Suburbs
French
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Middleburg ›

special occasion (50)
romantic (46)
fit for foodies (45)
See All
scenic view (34)
notable wine list (31)
great for brunch (17)
great for lunch (14)
neighborhood gem (10)
good for groups (8)
great for outdoor dining (7)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
645 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful romantic evening

Dined 6 days ago

Great view, great food; only complaint (if anything) the table wobbled. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We recently had brunch at The Goodstone. ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

We recently had brunch at The Goodstone. From the welcome, to the service, to the initial courses, to the dessert, everything was perfect. It is romantic, intimate, quiet, and the food is excellent. We will be coming back...What a find in Northern Virginia!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing ambiance. Great service and deli ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Amazing ambiance. Great service and delicious food. The Goodstone is a wonderful choice for any special occasion if you want to make sure it's memorable!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent venue for a 40th anniversary. ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent venue for a 40th anniversary. Great mix of choices. The fixed price menu had an appetizer, salad, entree and desert. We also stayed at the Inn in one of their cottages.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Should be Renamed Greatstone!

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Other then a little hard to find - a sign in Middleburg would have been helpful - Goodstone is great. Outstanding food and service. Fairly priced for the quality of the dining experience. Wine list is great, even has some half bottles. Worthy of a special occasion or just a great place to go. I'm surprised it doesn't receive more press. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience. Nice, quaint at ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great dining experience. Nice, quaint atmosphere with extensive wine list.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Excellent

Dined on May 6, 2016

Goodstone is my favorite restaurant in Northern VA. The menu is varied, cuisine is delicious and the service is excellent. The dining area is intimate and the setting is in the beautiful western Loudoun countryside.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Experience

Dined on May 1, 2016

We were very impressed with our dining experience and thought everything was excellent - both in terms of service and food. The wine list is exceptional and would normally be a bit intimidating, but the Sommelier simply asked us about our likes/dislikes and we provided a price range. He returned with a perfect bottle, which was at the lowest end of our price point. The food was served elegantly and we were surprised at the large portions. The foie gras was some of the best we've had in years. We are definitely going back to try their brunch, which sounded impressive. The restaurant itself is smaller than we had thought - but it turned out to be perfect, as it wasn't noisy and the servers could be quite attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I went for a late Sunday brunch, and had ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

I went for a late Sunday brunch, and had the spinach salad with shrimp and grits. The food was Amazing! Everything was fresh and flavorful. This is a very lovely Inn in a beautiful setting. The staff is very friendly and efficient.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food

Dined on April 29, 2016

Amazing food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on April 25, 2016

This restaurant was so special, so beautiful, with gourmet food and superb service. My husband and I were staying at the Salamander Inn, in Middleburg for our Anniversary and went to Goodstone for our anniversary dinner. This place was perfect! We'd recommend it highly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You will be remiss if you do not eat here.

Dined on April 13, 2016

The grounds were beautifully manicured. The decor was classic and tasteful, the service was impeccable and the food was outstanding. For a French restaurant thew portions were larger than expected.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

We've been here many times, consistently ...

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

We've been here many times, consistently good food and service. This time, brought 95 yr old grandma for lunch. It was more about the drive, the time together and finding a quite place to sit and talk. What I particularly appreciated about this experience was that we weren't hungry and each ordered a small salad, but the service was just as impeccable as if we'd spent $500. So, kudos the the establishment for their professionalism.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Gorgeous spring day at this lovely inn. Staff very patient and attentive. We love to bring our out of town guests here...and they are usually impressed.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great gem in the country

Dined on April 2, 2016

A warm, friendly country inn with great food and views

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

The service was friendly, professional a ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

The service was friendly, professional and spot on. The food was fantastic. If you're looking for a special night out look no further.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Amazing.

Dined on March 17, 2016

beautiful beautiful setting. food was extraordinary. can't say enough wonderful things about this glorious place. make a reservation today!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic!!

Dined on March 15, 2016

Fantastic!!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

So comfortable here

Dined on March 14, 2016

We are new to the area and love this spot! We have stayed on site for a few nights and the grounds are amazing. There is a 3-mile trail that surrounds the property. It is so beautiful. The bar is small and quaint, and there's a fireplace in the bar area with a comfy over-stuffed couch to relax with your cocktail before dinner. The food is a bit pricey but I think it's worth it. The Goodstone experience is a hard one to match!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Real gem, loved it.

Dined on March 9, 2016

Beautiful setting high on a hill. Causal elegant decor with beautiful views from large windows across farmland and trees. Perfect setting for any occasion. Excellent meal. Unique menu that did not disappoint.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very nice

Dined on March 6, 2016

Had Birthday dinner here. Osso Bucco was wonderful. Sole was good, but had better accompaniments (creamed spinach and crispy roasted potatoes). Strawberry cheesecake was divine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superior location and food

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

The atmosphere is wonderful. Beautiful views of the meadows and country landscape. The staff is very attentive and the food is great! It is a pleasure to dine at this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Fantastic service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SCENIC DAY TRIP TO UNSURPASSED LUNCH!

Dined on March 2, 2016

Passing through Aldie and Middleburg, down a beautiful, winding country lane in Virginia horse country to an "almost missed it" dark little sign for Stonegate Inn and Restaurant, our group of 4 was, for the second time, delighted with everything about the trip and the culinary experience. We chose the "Chef's Surprise" for a celebratory lunch ($50 each for 4 courses) and had no regrets. Every dish was superb, from the fresh mussels, fresh kale salad and perfectly cooked beef filet to the crème caramel. I could write pages about the seasonings and flavorings of each, but suffice it to say that each serving was perfectly proportioned and supremely satisfying. There was beautiful and tasteful music in the light-filled porch room surrounded by large arched windows over the rolling countryside. Our waiter, Jon, was delightful...helpful, friendly and funny, and timed our servings perfectly so we never felt rushed or languished.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hunt Country Gem

Dined on February 27, 2016

Venture out a bit and come to this romantic and restored B&B with an unbelievable dining experience in an intimate space...offset with an old wall that survived a devastating fire, the setting overlooking the Middleburg Hunt Country is unmatched. Except for the food that is...try the mussels (disguised on the menu almost like a spanish dish) and order two due to how good they are and likely to be stolen by your table mates...superb wine list with variety of price points and excellent cocktails. This is a date place, whether first or hundred and first, and the convenient b&b nature allows for a brief walk to your room.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Splendid second visit

Dined on February 27, 2016

This was our second visit and certainly will not be our last. Service, food, and atmosphere were outstanding. If you are looking for elegant dining in a lovely quiet dining room this is the place for you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE THIS PLACE!!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Delicious, high quality food for an amazing price. I've been here twice now for the chef's choice 4-course lunch. This last lunch was incredible. We started with a mussels appetizer. The broth was sooo good - I couldn't get enough bread to dip into the broth. The salad was so tasty with yummy figs and candied pecans. The entree was a filet mignon and potato croquette. The meat was so tender, moist and flavorful. The potato croquette was perfectly crispy on the outside and flavor-packed on the inside. Dessert was a salted caramel flan with rice balls and a shortbread cookie. It was a perfect balance of sweet and salty. I can't wait to go back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and amazing service. Highly recommend

Dined on February 13, 2016

This place is an amazing find. Great food and the service was exceptional. They even went out of their way to have roses on my table for Valentine's Day. Perfect example of fine dining without the hustle and bustle of being in down town DC. It is excluded and has a very romantic and personal environment.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Not kid-friendly

Dined on February 7, 2016

I made a reservation for Feb 7 to celebrate my birthday with my family and 9-month old granddaughter. When I asked for a high chair, the waiter said that the did not have any. I said that I felt that was discriminatory against children and he said that they normally cater to couples. Even though the food was good, I will not go back. They should welcome children as well as adults.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderfully tasteful & beautiful dining experience

Dined on February 7, 2016

This place is in the hills of Middleburg and is a wonderful restaurant in every fashion. The country French Cuisine is done immaculately and the restaurant is romantic in every way. Plus they have in my opinion (and I'm sure the Washingtonian Magazine's opinion) an award winning wine selection. That's why they have a sommelier. This place invigorates a relationship, might have helped save a marriage or two, and is all around one of the best restaurants in Northern Virginia or the state for that matter.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

First Time Left Us Speechless

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

I must say that it is difficult for me to score any restaurant as outstanding, since I always rate restaurants relative to itself and the expectation, as opposed to other restaurants, but I must say that my first time at The Goodstone was beyond memorable. The lady and I had split the foie gras "French toast" and the chateaubriand. Dinner and the wine were quite delicious (we split a bottle of the Ken Wright Pinot Noir to go with the beef). And then, we finished off the night with a molten chocolate cake and an apple raisin cobbler, the latter a knockout. I cannot wait for the next special occasion to visit at this beautiful inn in equally beautiful Middleburg.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful location and superb food

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

My husband and I went here for my birthday and arrived early. Even though they would seat us early, we had custom cocktails at the nice bar in the warm reception lounge, formerly the carriage house. The entire staff are very friendly and welcoming. Our meal was superb and we had a corner window table as requested. The view is wooded rolling hills and a creek. If you don't want to drive home they have beautiful rooms in converted stables. We had been here once before and loved it, but this time it even exceeded our expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Indulge Yourself

Dined on January 30, 2016

One of my retirement goals is to have a truly great meal once per quarter, and this fits the bill. My lady friend and I enjoyed once of the best meals of our lives. The food was perfect, the atmosphere romantic, the service excellent, and everything went spectacularly well. You've helped me fulfill part of my bucket list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Goodstone Inn Restaurant

vip
Dined on January 19, 2016

This was our third or fourth dinner at the Goodstone Inn and as always we enjoyed it immensely. It was a cold night in Middleburg, VA and it was a delight to walk into the Inn and be greeted by a roaring fire. The dinning room is an architectural delight with it's high ceilings and exposed beams. Dinner was delicious. I always have the Dover sole which was delicious as usual. My husband had the filet mignon and enjoyed it. An after dinner drink by the fire completed a wonderful evening. We'll be back and next time plan to stay at the Inn.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Steven was, once again, such an incredib ...

Dined on January 19, 2016

Steven was, once again, such an incredible host and gentleman. His wine masterful attention to detail and world class wine list always have us in awe. We can't wait to visit again when that beautiful pool is open. Cheers!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Dining Experience

Dined on January 16, 2016

We went on a Saturday evening with friends to celebrate a birthday. From the beginning our visit was wonderful. Given the season, it was already dark by the time we sat down, so we couldn't enjoy the scenery from the restaurant. Instead, we sat in front of the huge fireplace. The hostess was a lot of fun from the moment we walked through the door to the time we left - not at all pretentious, which you might expect given the price point of the meal. We started with a bottle of the house prosecco, which was delicious. We all chose their 4 course prix fixe menu and ensured that we all chose different items so we could cover as much of the menu as possible. EVERYTHING was delicious. To go with dinner, we wanted to get a bottle of wine, but their wine menu was a little intimidating - so many choices. The sommelier was very helpful. I told him I wanted an Oregon Pinot Noir, gave him my price point, and he brought out a bottle that was fabulous. My husband and I ordered the chateaubriand, which the sommelier plated for us at the table. After dinner, two of us wanted a glass of madeira. Surprisingly, they had none, so the sommelier went in search of a replacement. While we were waiting to see what he would bring out, the hostess commented that when the sommelier's given a challenge he always exceeds the initial request. He did not disappoint; he brought out a sherry instead that was delicious. Yes, it was a very expensive dinner. But everything was perfect. I think it was well worth the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Scenic and Delicious

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

This secluded restaurant and inn is a find if you like unusual locations and fine food. It is quiet, the staff is first rate, as befits the heart of Virginia's horse country.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly Recommend Goodstone

Dined on January 3, 2016

I have gone for brunch 3 or 4 times now and have never been disappointed. From the first course to the third everything was so delicious for all in our group. The fixed-price brunch even included options for pescitarians. I ordered the eggs benedict and the first time it came out the white was almost as runny as the yellow. I sent it back and within just a few minutes a new plate came out and the food was cooked to perfection. I get eggs benedicts 99% of the time when I go out for brunch, so I've tasted more than my fair share. The Goodstone's was easily the best I've had. The building is beautiful and very tastefully decorated. There is a beautiful view onto farmland. Even in the winter, it was beautiful and serene to see. We found a shuffleboard platform, complete with discs and sticks, and we enjoyed a few games of shuffleboard before heading home.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great find!

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

New Years Eve prix fix. Great food- each and every course was great. And Stephen makes the best old Fashioneds.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible meal. Mushroom strudel was su ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

Incredible meal. Mushroom strudel was superb. Chateaubriand was delectable.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.