Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 2.39mi
  3. Distance: 3.11mi
  4. Distance: 3.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 2.39mi
  3. Distance: 3.11mi
  4. Distance: 3.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 2.39mi
  3. Distance: 3.11mi
  4. Distance: 3.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 2.39mi
  3. Distance: 3.11mi
  4. Distance: 3.18mi

About The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant

Goodstone Inn & Restaurant features a refined approach to French Country cuisine keeping to traditional and classical techniques. The innovative farm-to-table cuisine and the pastoral setting on a 265-acre estate in Virginia's wine and hunt country provide a unique dining experience for restaurant guests.

36205 Snake Hill Road
Middleburg, VA 20117
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 12-2pm
Dinner: 5:30-9pm
Sunday Champagne Brunch: 12-2pm

All published menus are subject to change without notice.

Open seven days a week.

Children over the age of 14 are welcome for dining.

Cross Street:
Foxcroft Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 687-3333

Website:
http://www.goodstone.com/

Catering:
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant will cater to all of your needs - big and small. (Advance notice of such requests is required.) In addition, Goodstone offers an impressive Wine Cellar Dining Room featuring an extensive collection of vintages from Virginia and around the world, and the elegant Manor House for intimate, catered events on the estate.

Parking Details:
Parking is located to the left of the Carriage House where the restaurant is located.

Executive Chef:
Eric Smith

Private Party Facilities:
Parties of nine to twelve are invited to take part in a one-of-a-kind experience in our cellar. A custom menu with wines paired will be created for your group. The experience will be tailored to your party's particular tastes.

Private Party Contact:
Laura Petrosino, Director of Sales and Events: (540) 687-3092

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Weddings, Social and Corporate Groups welcome!

The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (16)
Romantic (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
See All
Worth the Drive (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Cozy (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Authentic (10)
Historic (9)
Seasonal (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Fireplace (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Casual (1)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
777 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

The Inn is fantastic, perfect weekend trip from the DC area. The grounds are fantastic, the town of Middleburg is great, and we really enjoyed our dinner at the Inn's restaurant. The fixed price menu is reasonably priced.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We enjoyed our evening at Goodstone very much. Service terrific, food wonderful
And very romantic.
One complaint - they need air conditioning!

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Spectacular service, and most of the food was outstanding, however the coating on our soft shell crabs was slightly burned, and it was a little pricey for the serving we got. Everything else was absolutely wonderful though.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My husband and I came to Goodstone with pretty high expectations. We'd heard great things from friends who had been there previously. Not sure if it was an off night but we both left very disappointed...by the food, service and ambiance. We weren't hungry enough to order the price fixe 4 course menu so we opted for the a la carte option and both ordered the striploin, then shared a cobbler for dessert. We waited almost an hour for the food to arrive, with the waitress rarely checking in. It was chilly in the restaurant and the lights could have been dimmed a bit. I was surprised...it was a Sat night bur fairly empty, even though there were no other openings when I made the reservation. When our steaks arrived the plates and the food was cold. While I had requested medium well my steak was so overcooked I could hardly cut through it with a steakknife (interestingly I noticed the woman at the next table who also got the steak check to see if she was using the sharp knife). My husband's request for medium rare ended up well done. We paid 54 dollars per steak which was just ridiculous. There was a smear of garlic mash under the beef (also cold) and a couple of cold carrots/beers on the side. We ended the night sharing a dessert which was fresh out of the oven (would have been nice if the waitress mentioned it was scalding hot). Much better than the steak but nothing to write home about. At the end of the day we made the best of it but certainly won't be returning. Our meals at the Salamander where we stayed and the Red Fox Inn were far superior. I usually don't post reviews but hopefully the restaurant decides to pay a bit more attention to all their customers in the future, even those who don't order the full menu and priciest wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

At $45.00 per entree (ala carte) my Pheasant Breast was tasty but consisted of 2 ounces of meat. My husband had the soft shell crab entree and it was one crab on risotto. Portions were appetizer size with a hefty price. For that reason we will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

If you are looking for a exceptional dinning experience in the country side, this is your choice. Simple stunning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 27, 2017

As good as any restaurant in the D.C. Metro area. Not as overpriced and wonderful setting

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

My wife and I decided to go to the Goodstone for Sunday brunch yesterday. We had not been in over a year. The food was excellent...my wife had the eggs benedict with homemade hollandais sauce and i had grilled salmon. Both were excellently prepared and delicious. For starters we had mussels in a tomato broth ...very tasty. They are building a larger dining room with glass walls and a nice view of the countryside so we are looking forward to that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Facility is beautiful, food was OK. Two salmon dishes were under cooked and served only Luke warm. steaks were good. Service was OK but on the slow side.

We had a good evening but was our 56 anniversary and had hoped for better

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

What a disappointment. We were celebrating my daughters birthday with extended family. I could deal with the service being sub par if the food made up for it. It did not. The steak was tough. The menu is also very limited - 4 entries only. We had also arranged with the staff that we were there for a birthday. They completely forget this until after our desert arrived and we reminded the staff about this.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Menu changes on every visit. You get to try things you would have never thought of. Service is perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Simply elegant & delicious. This is a quaint inn in the heart of Middleburg. Everything was amazing. Although this wasn't a special occasion for us, just a date night, it didn't disappoint and I left feeling somehow more calm, elevated and maybe a little more refined than when I arrived! It wasn't so stuffy however, that you felt uncomfortable. The Inn staff were friendly and the waiters impeccable.
I absolutely loved my meal and so did my husband. I had the rabbit and pheasant and my husband had the salad savoy and salmon - each meal and presentation were way above par! His salmon literally melted in his mouth - wow! We finished with an apple cobbler and it was to die for! Great service, great menu and outstanding atmosphere. It's about $100pp so if you expect that then go an enjoy!!! I can't wait to come back! Next time I'm going to book a room for the weekend too!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 12, 2017

This restaurant is noted for gourmet, creative dining. The offerings on the menu looked promising, but nothing tasted special in any way. The kale salad (minus Parmesan) was simply a plate of kale with a light dressing, the lamb was well prepared, but tasteless. The accompanying sweet potatoes were dry and simply baked, the roasted brussel sprouts were large and tough. The only noteworthy part of the meal was the extremely high price for ordinary food.
Was all of this the result of the fact that the kitchen is being renovated and the chef is working out of a portable trailer?

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Fine dining in relaxed atmosphere. Good for special occasion or business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

While staying at Goodstone for two nights we had the pleasure of eating two breakfasts and two dinners in the dining room. The food, service, and choices were excellent. This restaurant more than met our expectations. I loved the food and the wine list. Next time we travel to Middleburg we plan on staying and dining again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants. Outstanding and not discovered by the Washington crowd yet!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

First visit since the introduction of a new menu. Not sold on the new concept but will give it time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This place is phenomenal! As special as The Inn at Little Washington. The food was spectacular and the grounds are worth a visit all on their own. Can't recommend it highly enough

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Probably our 10th time at this place over the last few years. Good stone is fantastic and their service is second to none. Reliably fresh creative and seasonal.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Wedding Anniversary, food was wonderful. The sommolier is one of the best we have ever seen. Menus are unique and the atmosphere is intimate. We always enjoy dining here, it was our 3rd time, once was for lunch, the others were back to back anniversaries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Breathtaking, Home-run, and lots of brownie points.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Very disappointed with the food and some of the service, especially for the price paid for brunch. Omelette was very plain and only had two small pieces of lobster. Dessert on the menu was a tart cherry cobbler but in fact an apple cobbler was substituted. The server did not think this was a big deal, but it was misleading and disappointing. Also the apple cobbler was burnt on top but the apples were not cooked enough.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The Goodstone Inn always delivers an outstanding dining experience. As we live more than an hour's drive away, my wife and I particularly enjoy mid-day Sunday brunch at the Inn. This past weekend, with friends, we again enjoyed an excellent three course brunch and well-chosen wine in an elegant, quiet, hilltop country setting. The service is consistently very friendly and professional and the experience is outstanding from start to finish. We are regulars.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Quaint environment among the mountains of Middleburg.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was our second time dining at Goodstone. Our first visit, in November of 2105, was spectacular, maybe our finest meal ever! Food was incredible, service was impeccable and the ambiance was lovely. Last week, we found it maintaining its wonderful service. But our disappointment stems from the food being only slightly above average, a more limited menu and a sizable increase in prices. We were disappointed as we made this visit a highlight of our trip to Middleburg. We probably won't return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our Sunday brunch was an exceptional experience!! The food was delicious, attractively presented and beautifully seasoned. The service was attentive, charming, but not intrusive. We will be back again and again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This level of fine dining commands excellent service and food, and leaves the diner feeling completely sated and happy. The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant exceeded all expectations from start to finish; they set a new standard for fine cuisine.

We started with the oysters, which were full of flavor that was only enhanced by the pomegranate mignonette and bed of sea salt. The fricassé d'escargot did not disappoint with the perfectly done escargot and carrot purée that had the right level of sweetness to carry to the next course. The apple & arugula salad was fresh, light, and the right interlude to an entree. I selected the sea scallops - having lived on the coast in northern New England, I've become a sort of snob when it comes to shellfish and seafood but I knew I would not be disappointed here. I was beyond impressed with not only the quality and size of the scallops, but also the perfect timing of the searing that resulted in heavenly delicious servings. The figs and butternut squash purée added to the delight with their perfect pairing.

I finished the meal with the sorbet dessert - one sizable scoop each of lemon, mango, and raspberry, each more delicious than the next.

I left the restaurant perfectly full of excellent food and drink. My only regret is not having tasted EVERYTHING on the menu. I must make the trip out there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The service is friendly and professional. If you are in a talkative mood they will participate in your banter, if you are making a key point in whatever conversation you are having they respectfully and quietly fill the water glass, for example, or wait until later to come to your table.

The food selections were up-scale and varied. It is always hard to choose, coming down to a hard choice between three options that would each be perfect. The quality is well done, i.e. not something the amateur chief could easily duplicate if they had the time and skill set.

We find the best part was the sommelier. We recommend ordering your courses and then putting yourself in Stephen's hands for wine to accompany your courses. You will get to try a variety of good wine that pairs well with each course - Stephen knows his stuff. If you are a foodie and appreciate wine and how it complements or accentuates the food, this is a great choice. It is also fun to hear why the wine was selected for the pairing and we, at least, always learn something new.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Simply extraordinary in every respect. Former menu and highly personalized service.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our first time at Goodstone. We liked the menu and the extensive wine list; the food was very good, service was ok to good, but all-in-all it was a bit over-priced. Also, the rural road getting there was very narrow and full of pot-holes; ok during daylight hours but marginal at night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Had this restaurant on my list for some time and it definitely lived up to all the ratings I had previously read. It is a bit out of the way but well worth the drive - especially since the drive is through the rolling hills of Virginia. Everything about the meal was top or the line and the staff was extremely gracious. I look forward to returning in the near future. Although I live too close to take advantage of the lodging - but it would definitely be a lovely inn to spend the weekend.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Early valentines day

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Everything was Lovely! We celebrated my husband's 60th birthday. Really want to stay overnight sometime soon.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Historic, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Goodstone continues to be our "go to" place with visiting family and friends... as well as for a special date night. Best meals in Middleburg - always paired with the perfect wine with the help Sommelier Stephen Elfahdi!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Private Room, Seasonal, Business Meals, Fireplace, Cozy, Special Occasion, Historic, Scenic View, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 18, 2017

My wife and I were in Middleburg on a short honeymoon following our wedding. We had heard and read good things about the Goodstone Inn. We had dinner there on a Tuesday night. The restaurant is quite small but was not full. It is a beautiful setting, and all the staff were very pleasant and did a good job. The food, however, while mostly good was disappointing for the price paid (dinner for two, with an "inexpensive" half bottle of wine and tip came to about $250). We did the price fixed dinner (appetizer, salad, main course and dessert). We both had the butternut squash soup, which was very good. The arugula and apple salad was nice but nothing special. I had the rack of lamb that I liked and was well prepared; my wife had the rockfish which she did not care for and I too thought wasn't very good (strong "fish" taste). Desserts also were good, but not outstanding. For the price paid we expected better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Our service was perfect! I rated less than perfect due to the noise level. It's a small, but beautuful, room. The food was timed exactly for our enjoyment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

There was one big disappointment in the evening. When we arrived, there were only two couples in the restaurant. And we had a RESERVATION. We were sat at the least desirable table and location - a table for four (even though there were two of us) - near the door where it was chilly because it was right next to the bar entrance. There were at least four or five empty tables for two at the windows near the bay windows (which were very nice). We remarked on this to the person who sat us down and then again to the "owner" a French gentleman. They did not offer to move us and he said rather sarcastically "Well this is the way it is sometimes." We could not help but notice that we were the only same-sex couple in the restaurant. All the heterosexual couples got the nicer tables. I don't know if this was intentional or not - thinking two women don't need the nicer table. We were celebrating a special occasion - my anniversary of ordination to the priesthood (I am a pastor.) While everything else was fine, this experience set the evening off to a bad start. In retrospect we feel we should have declined our reservation and left. We will certainly tell our friends about this particularly experience about how different kinds of couples are treated differently. PS. We know that the tables were not reserved only for guests who were staying at the Inn (we were not) because another couple (heterosexual) staying at the same resort as us were given a nice table by the windows.

3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Another fantastic meal, staff did a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My wife and I have had several special meals, including our 25th wedding anniversary dinner, at the Goodstone Restaurant. On every occasion, the entire experience has been five star quality. The food is delicious, creative, and perfectly presented. The entire staff is thoroughly professional. The Sommelier kindly helps us through our limited knowledge to the perfect pairing with our food. This is a consistently delightful experience. Highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised after walking in - Inn is older and restaurant has an "older" feel but the food was outstanding and the sommelier knew his stuff!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.