About The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant

36205 Snake Hill Road
Middleburg, VA 20117
View Larger Map

Goodstone Inn & Restaurant features a refined approach to French Country cuisine keeping to traditional and classical techniques. The innovative farm-to-table cuisine and the pastoral setting on a 265-acre estate in Virginia's wine and hunt country provide a unique dining experience for restaurant guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 12-2pm
Dinner: 5:30-9pm
Sunday Champagne Brunch: 12-2pm

Open seven days a week.

Children over the age of 8 are welcome for dining.

Cross Street:
Foxcroft Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 687-3333

Website:
http://www.goodstone.com/

Catering:
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant will cater to all of your needs - big and small. (Advance notice of such requests is required.) In addition, Goodstone offers an impressive Wine Cellar Dining Room featuring an extensive collection of vintages from Virginia and around the world, and the elegant Manor House for intimate, catered events on the estate.

Parking Details:
Parking is located to the left of the Carriage House where the restaurant is located.

Executive Chef:
John Leonard

Private Party Facilities:
Parties of nine to twelve are invited to take part in a one-of-a-kind experience in our cellar. A custom menu with wines paired will be created for your group. The experience will be tailored to your party's particular tastes.

Private Party Contact:
Linda Boyer, Director of Sales: 540-687-3333x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant
The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant
The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant
The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant
The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant
The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant
The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant
The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant
The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant
The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant
The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant

The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Washington, D.C. Area
French
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Overall
Virginia - DC Suburbs
5 More
Best Food
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Romantic
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Scenic View
Virginia - DC Suburbs
French
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Middleburg ›

Special Occasion (39)
Romantic (34)
Fit for Foodies (28)
See All
Scenic View (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Great for Brunch (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
671 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A delicious dining experience combined w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

A delicious dining experience combined with a wonderful overnight stay. Gracious staff and beautiful surroundings only a little over an hour from DC. We will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal from start to finish! We ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent meal from start to finish! We opted for a-la-carte dining and each had a delicious salad followed by perfect entrees. The truffled crabcakes were decadent and savory and the risotto featured plentiful farm-fresh vegetables. Excellent service and wine list and an intimate, romantic setting topped off the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Goodstone is one of our favorites. E ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

The Goodstone is one of our favorites. Excellent food and service in a beautiful setting

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had the chateaubriand med rare and it wa ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Had the chateaubriand med rare and it was outstanding, tender and melted in your mouth. The potatoes dauphinoise were actually as good as the steak. A wonderful french themed restaurant.

A small note...chk your bill...the wine price on the bill didnt match the menu...the computer was in error...so chk your bill every where

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dined at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant for ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Dined at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant for my wife's birthday and had a good experience overall.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Fantastic experience. Great food, great ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Fantastic experience. Great food, great service and terrific sommelier

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best dinners we've ever had-- ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

One of the best dinners we've ever had-- and that's saying something! The food was incredible, the setting was beautiful, and the service was perfect. A really lovely experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our lunch visit to Goodstone was our fir ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Our lunch visit to Goodstone was our first, and it did not disappoint! The ambiance, food, service and surroundings were wonderful. The only negative was their parking lot - my shoes had a white dust layer around the edges - they need to pave their parking lot and get rid of the pebbles/dust surface.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had heard good things about the Goods ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had heard good things about the Goodstone Inn and decided to try it for my wife's special birthday (not saying which one!) There were four of us for the meal.

I liked the pricing choices - a la carte or Prix Fixe with identical menus. That pretty much took cost out of consideration as we considered our order.

My brother and I had the filet mignon for the entrée - the steak was the perfect size and perfectly cooked, and all the accompaniments were well chosen and delicious. The ladies ordered Dover sole, which the server expertly deboned at the table. The soup and salad courses and the desserts were also delicious, with sufficient choices for each course to please any taste.

Service was gracious and not hurried, which we appreciated as we regained some appetite after each course.

We will go again and bring some friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite place in the dc area ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is my favorite place in the dc area! Great setting and staff, fantastic food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Four of us had reservations three months ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Four of us had reservations three months in advance to get a Saturday night table; we were impressed it took that long to get in, so perhaps that added to our high hopes. The food overall was quite tasty-but given the price point and the level this restaurant is trying to reach, the service was TERRIBLE. Always had to ask for our wine to be filled, had to wait nearly 25 minutes after sitting down to even place our order. The room was hot, and we mentioned it several times to no avail. We did the 4 course prix fixe, and again the food was quite good, but the place only had about 15 tables and we had to ask THREE TIMES for our check. The sommelier brought our wine but then vanished--never had a choice to order another bottle. Cocktails were undrinkable--now I like a strong drink, but a Cosmo that tastes like pink vodka straight is hard to stomach. They need to work on their service, big time. We won't be back because there are closer restaurants with comparable food and better service, closer to DC.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

My only complaint is that it took severa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My only complaint is that it took several minutes for anyone to greet us or pour us a glass of water. It was quite noticeable, so much so, that I noticed the Hostess went to the staff and told them to fill our glasses! Food in general is excellent. The dessert was fair.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Found the meal outstanding. The filet mi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Found the meal outstanding. The filet mignon was an especially good cut of meat cooked to perfection and to my specification. Wine by the glass prices were very reasonable. Worth the drive...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

An exceptionally fine restaurant, off th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

An exceptionally fine restaurant, off the beaten track.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

BEST DINNER EVER! Very reasonably priced ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

BEST DINNER EVER! Very reasonably priced for meal quality. Excellent wine choices and friendly, knowledgeable staff. Will dine at Goodstone again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable and relaxing meal. Delic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Very enjoyable and relaxing meal. Delicious food. Great service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just a great meal in a wonderful setting ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Just a great meal in a wonderful setting. Everything was terrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We received incredible service to go alo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We received incredible service to go along with top flight gourmet food. The chateaubriand and sauces were outstanding, and the chef was able to cater to our varied preferences for how done/rare each diner's serving would be. The waitress was very friendly, she knew the details of the menu down pat, and she was over-the-top in accommodating our special requests. The room is very attractive, and the setting, isolated at the top of a "mountain" outside of Middleburg added much to the romantic setting. My very highest recommendation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food the service the atmosphere were ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food the service the atmosphere were all outstanding. We were there for our 24th anniversary. the only disappointment I can say, and I find this everywhere, is.that many diners show up really casual in their dress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome food as always. Food is out of ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Awesome food as always. Food is out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My friend and I have been wanting to go ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

My friend and I have been wanting to go to Goodstone for lunch since we stumbled onto this very scenic property years ago. It was well worth the wait! The food was fantastic. We put ourselves into the hands of the chef for the 4-course surprise menu and it was wonderful. The escargot appetizer was among the very best things we have ever eaten. The crab cakes were really top notch. The fresh salad and crème caramel were excellent too. The staff was so nice and friendly. The service was a touch too leisurely so make sure you plan enough time for lunch. We want to go back again and stay there for a weekend. It is one of the loveliest pieces of property in Northern Virginia.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful Inn and Restaurant

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

A great place for special occasions - we had brunch there on a Sunday morning. Pricey but great service and beautifully prepared food. Restaurant is located adjacent to stables converted to rooms[nicely done, no bales of hay to sleep on ;-) ].

The inn consists of rooms located in several buildings, many of them classic stone buildings on several hundred acres of pastoral rolling Virginia hills.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We celebrated a milestone birthday at Go ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We celebrated a milestone birthday at Goodstone. They made us feel welcome and contributed to our joyful gathering. The ambiance , food, and service make Goodstone an ideal venue for any celebration of life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

GoodStone has done it again

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Due to the prices, we cannot come here often, but when we have a special occasion, this is one of our favorites. OK, plan to spend a bit more, but it will be worth it. Fresh food and herbs from the garden and top notch service. We got the Chateaubriand and it was the best meat dish we've had at any restaurant. We love the location since we live near Aldie. It's a lovely ride through the country - good weather would be the best bet for driving here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small dining room, pretty room, excellen ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Small dining room, pretty room, excellent service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Resting on their laurels

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Shame on you, Goodstone. You have such a marvelous setting and all the elements for a memorable dining experience. You've decided food is not important, as evidenced by the quality of most of our brunch. The asparagus soup was the exception. But the warm apple cobble (which our waiter advised had to be ordered in advance as it is baked to order) was barely off room temperature (and the apples were still crunchy). Our entrees were underwhelming. The grounds and dining room were spectacular. The service (two requests for water were not granted) and the food were on the other end of the scale.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value3

Had a wonderful romantic evening

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Great view, great food; only complaint (if anything) the table wobbled. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We recently had brunch at The Goodstone. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We recently had brunch at The Goodstone. From the welcome, to the service, to the initial courses, to the dessert, everything was perfect. It is romantic, intimate, quiet, and the food is excellent. We will be coming back...What a find in Northern Virginia!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing ambiance. Great service and deli ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Amazing ambiance. Great service and delicious food. The Goodstone is a wonderful choice for any special occasion if you want to make sure it's memorable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent venue for a 40th anniversary. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent venue for a 40th anniversary. Great mix of choices. The fixed price menu had an appetizer, salad, entree and desert. We also stayed at the Inn in one of their cottages.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Should be Renamed Greatstone!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Other then a little hard to find - a sign in Middleburg would have been helpful - Goodstone is great. Outstanding food and service. Fairly priced for the quality of the dining experience. Wine list is great, even has some half bottles. Worthy of a special occasion or just a great place to go. I'm surprised it doesn't receive more press. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience. Nice, quaint at ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Great dining experience. Nice, quaint atmosphere with extensive wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always Excellent

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Goodstone is my favorite restaurant in Northern VA. The menu is varied, cuisine is delicious and the service is excellent. The dining area is intimate and the setting is in the beautiful western Loudoun countryside.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Experience

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We were very impressed with our dining experience and thought everything was excellent - both in terms of service and food. The wine list is exceptional and would normally be a bit intimidating, but the Sommelier simply asked us about our likes/dislikes and we provided a price range. He returned with a perfect bottle, which was at the lowest end of our price point. The food was served elegantly and we were surprised at the large portions. The foie gras was some of the best we've had in years. We are definitely going back to try their brunch, which sounded impressive. The restaurant itself is smaller than we had thought - but it turned out to be perfect, as it wasn't noisy and the servers could be quite attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went for a late Sunday brunch, and had ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I went for a late Sunday brunch, and had the spinach salad with shrimp and grits. The food was Amazing! Everything was fresh and flavorful. This is a very lovely Inn in a beautiful setting. The staff is very friendly and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

This restaurant was so special, so beautiful, with gourmet food and superb service. My husband and I were staying at the Salamander Inn, in Middleburg for our Anniversary and went to Goodstone for our anniversary dinner. This place was perfect! We'd recommend it highly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You will be remiss if you do not eat here.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

The grounds were beautifully manicured. The decor was classic and tasteful, the service was impeccable and the food was outstanding. For a French restaurant thew portions were larger than expected.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been here many times, consistently ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

We've been here many times, consistently good food and service. This time, brought 95 yr old grandma for lunch. It was more about the drive, the time together and finding a quite place to sit and talk. What I particularly appreciated about this experience was that we weren't hungry and each ordered a small salad, but the service was just as impeccable as if we'd spent $500. So, kudos the the establishment for their professionalism.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Fabulous!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Gorgeous spring day at this lovely inn. Staff very patient and attentive. We love to bring our out of town guests here...and they are usually impressed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.