Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 8 times today

The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant

4.5
865 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Romantic
  • Scenic View
The award-winning Goodstone Inn & Restaurant features a refined approach to French Country cuisine keeping to traditional and classical techniques. Goodstone excels at creating seasonally influenced cuisine.

Drawing inspiration and purpose from the 265-acre estate of rolling hills and farmland, Goodstone provides guests with an unparalleled farm-to-table dining experience, featuring the very finest and freshest of ingredients from the gardens at Goodstone and other local farms. Our wine cellar offers an expansive selection of wines from Virginia’s wine country and around the world.

Enjoy elegant ambiance under the trees while dining in the new Conservatory dining room.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast
Daily 8:00 am–9:45 am
Lunch
Wed–Sat 12:00 pm–2:00 pm
Brunch
Sun 12:00 pm–2:00 pm
Dinner
Daily 5:30 pm–9:30 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(540) 687-3333
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Eric Smith
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Parties of nine to twelve are invited to take part in a one-of-a-kind experience in our wine cellar. A custom menu with wines paired will be created for your group. The experience will be tailored to your party's particular tastes.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Laura Petrosino, Director of Sales and Events: (540) 687-3092
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant will cater to all of your needs - big and small. (Advance notice of such requests is required.) In addition, Goodstone offers an impressive Wine Cellar Dining Room featuring an extensive collection of vintages from Virginia and around the world, and the elegant Manor House for intimate, catered events on the estate.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Foxcroft Road
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is located to the left of the Carriage House where the restaurant is located.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Weddings, Social and Corporate Groups welcome!
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 865 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Great place for that special date. New design is great. Food and service very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely loved our first trip there. Will be many more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Anniversary dinner that turned out great. We stopped going there 2 years ago but decided to try it again. So glad we did. It’s been some of the best culinary experiences that I can remember EVER. I’m a foodie and quite Experienced as I dine for work or pleasure 2 to 3 nights a week in all kinds of terrific restaurants. This one is on top. Kudos to the staff and the new chef. Terrific keep it up guys

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

We had a magical evening at Goodstone celebrating my husband’s birthday. What a beautiful new dining room! The food was fantastic! Two in our party had the pork chop...huge and excellent. One had steak which was very good. I highly recommend the Goodstone Restaurant. If you haven’t been there in the past 6 months, you will be really pleased with the new surroundings.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 1, 2018

We had heard so many great things and were looking forward to our dinner at Goodstone. We went in with high expectations and it simply fell short. Once seated it took 15-20mins for someone to greet us and pour water. After this, we didn't see the staff for another 15mins asking if we wanted drinks. I think our appetizer order was placed an hour after being seated.
We continued to give them the benefit of the doubt but were consistently let down by our waitress. The environment is spectacular. The wine list was great. Grounds were beautiful. The bartender was great and gave us the story of the history of the property.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Our daughter and Son-in-law had their wedding at Goodstone back in 2016. It was a wonderful event and we enjoyed the property very much. We were celebrating my wife's birthday this past weekend and decided to go back to the Inn for a lunch getaway. The food and service was outstanding. We enjoyed seeing the changes and the updates made to the property. We give the property, the food and the service two thumbs up!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Superb experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

You've Upped Your Game! We had not been to The Goodstone Inn in several years, when we were disappointed with the food. We heard you had a new chef and thought we'd give it another try. We're so glad we did!! We had the "Chef's Tasting", and loved everything! So, so impressed. We liked that the chef strives for better and more complex flavors. Also, wonderful wines were perfectly paired with each dish. I wish I could dine there every week! We will definitely be back soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

We have been there a number of times and this time,like the others was wonderful. The staff is great, the management first class and the chef/staff terrific. Can’t say enough great things about it HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Celebrated our anniversary here. Lamb chops were perfect! My husbands fish was too salty and they completely took it off our check. Great service!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Celebrated Mother's Day here. 3 of us at the table wanted the pre-fix dinner except 1 of us didn't like lamb. Even though lamb and the filet were the same price on the menu, they would not substitute a filet for the lamb. They said they had a wedding and couldn't do it. Really? Even on Mother's Day? Very surprising lack of accommodation for a reasonable request on Mother's Day, much less any day. Other high-end restaurants have accommodated substitutions to pre-fix menus or other menu items to please the customer and differentiate that high-end service and can-do attitude. Many will custom-prepare whatever you want. Very, very disappointed. Our special occasion felt like we were part of a business process instead of a fine-dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

My wife and I dined at Goodstone for her birthday earlier this week. What a fantastic experience we had! The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the sommelier was knowledgeable and really listened to our requests, and the light music was perfect for a conversational meal. I had the pork belly appetizer, my wife had the yellowfin sushi, and we shared an asparagus soup. All three were out of this world! For our main plates, my wife had the duck and I had the soft shell crab. Again, our expectations were blown out of the water. Oh, and we started with Kir Royales - some of the best I've had. Overall, one of the best meals we've had in a very long time. We can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

I have gone to Goodstone every April since it opened. It has always been a very nice quiet place for a special occasion. The prices are high but the quality and staff are appropriate for the prices.

But I think this was the last time that I will be going to Goodstone. They have expanded the restaurant with a new kitchen and everything is now local farmer grown. The first part of the experience was slightly off because I went to the same door that I had always gone to enter the restaurant to walk into an empty bar area and empty dining room. A young woman and fellow came out with almost an attitude that we were trespassing. They asked they could help us and I said we had reservations. We were then escorted downstairs. It felt like we had been intruders or something.

But the real reason that I doubt that I will return is that I am not fond of this "local farmer" mentality that seems to be a trend. I live local to Middleburg and I buy local goods. I can cook up a locally grown meal just fine. What I have gone to Goodstone for is a over the top kind of celebration meal and I would like to have a menu with significant variety with ingredients and techniques that I cannot reproduce. What we have now with Goodstone is great presentation, great cooking, overpriced locally grown ingredients and very small portions. The variety is lacking.

I have watched this transition in the past couple of visits. For the same price, the Red Fox Inn will now be my go-to for celebrations.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 20, 2018

The food was great, but service needs to be improved. It took 2 hours for the entire lunch to be completed. A relaxed lunch is nice, but this was way too slow.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We enjoyed an anniversary dinner here in the past. Sunday's Brunch was attended by my sister, myself and our husbands after the ladies went to Goat Yoga - the restaurant was kind enough to relax the dress code as many of the patrons had done the same. My sister and brother-in-law could not stop commenting on the beauty of the dining room. We all ordered Steak and Eggs for the 3 course entrée, the steak consisted of filet mignon (which we all ordered rare) and Bloody Mary's around. We all decided that this will be our "go to" brunch when entertaining out of town guests.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

The restaurant at Goodstone Inn consistently delivers an exceptional experience. We took a friend to brunch there this past Sunday to enjoy their beautiful, newly remodeled, glass enclosed dining area under the trees. This is now a stunning setting to match its always friendly and professional service and delicious, creative food. Goodstone has been a favorite for years and its new dining area elevates the experience even further.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

As always, the food was excellent, and we often return for special occasions. Unfortunately, we found the new solarium setting a sharp contrast to the ambiance we've enjoyed in the past at The Goodstone. There is no sound-baffling to the 20-foot glass walls and ceiling; with the kitchen not too far away, we heard dishes and cutlery clanking periodically, and the noise factor was quite high. A big disconnect between the beautiful setting of the Inn and restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

One of my very favorite restaurants. Goodstone is truly a gem.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

First time dining at The Goodstone. Went for breakfast, passed through beautiful countryside before arriving at the scenic inn. Pleasantly greeted and seated by a host on arrival. Great service from the waiter. The food was 5 star all the way! Flaky croissants tasted straight from the oven. Mouthwatering mushroom and feta omelet. The absolute best crispy potatoes ever. Terrific coffee, fresh squeezed oj inclusive in the great price of $25 pp. Gorgeous dining space.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 8, 2018

This is a high end restaurant -- very disappointing. The food was average at best. The service was some of the worse experienced. Not attentive; no follow-ups; three errors; and just didn't care. For the price; it is highly disappointing and I don't recommend.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The location and views were spectacular! The service, not so much. Took quite a while for us to get our food, and while we weren't in a rush, we were still hungry! For the prex fixe price - food was ok and many things came out wrong or not at all. Disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The place was simply beautiful! It was my partner's birthday and I really wanted to go somewhere quiet and elegant away from the kids. This was the spot! The food was great! The staff was amazing! Everyone was very kind helpful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

My husband and I have been to Goodstone many times in the past, but not since they redid their dining room about 6 months ago. They have really upped their game. It was superb in all aspects. The atmosphere is lovely, the food was excellent and the service was outstanding. We were celebrating our anniversary and mentioned that to the bartender. He must have relayed the information to our waiter as we were treated to a wonderful dessert with Happy Anniversary written on the plate in chocolate along with two glasses of sparkling wine. It was such a nice surprise to end an already wonderful experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Excellent, friendly service. Food and wine great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Always a wonderful experience- great food, excellent wine list and superb service. We will certainly return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We went there with two other couples to celebrate all our anniversaries together. The food was very good on both the taste and presentation. They looked like something from the Iron Chefs out of Food Network. But the coffee was very flat, not worth the $3 they charged for a small cup. The waiter was very friendly. But he did not come to refill our water until after we had asked. With only 3 other tables in the room, this should not have happened at a high-end place like this.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 18, 2018

This used to be more elegant. No more table clothes and bad loud Musial kills the ambiance.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

We went for brunch. It was nice to get out of the city. We loved the dining area - glass walls and ceiling bringing the outdoors in. Service was gracious. The host brought out 2 complimentary glasses of sparkling rose as we were celebrating our anniversary, which was very nice of him.

Food was OK tasting. Brunch was set menu. OK options for vegetarians. Wouldn't recommend to vegans. For a vegetarian, thought the meal was overpriced.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

The food we ordered was all impressive and though I would have preferred there be more of a selection of reasonably priced wines on the list (there were a few, but majority were $100 and up), the wine Stephen helped us choose was remarkable. What keeps me from giving a five star review is due to service and schedule. The website lists the dining hours at 5:30pm - 9:00pm on a Friday night. I would expect that means they are seating until 9pm and kitchen would remain open until about 10ish or so. We had an 8pm reservation but due to driver delays, arrived approximately 8:15pm. Though it was a Friday, there were only 2 other tables seated and nobody arrived after us. We chose the bisque as our first course fairly quickly and were reviewing the wine list while thinking about our other courses when our server encouraged us to submit the rest of our order. We shared that we were still considering and would order each course as we decided, but she told us that we should submit everything together so the kitchen wouldn't be confused and because the chef made clear he wanted to close the kitchen at 9pm. I would not expect this kind of service at a high end restaurant. Simply because the restaurant is empty, we have to hurry up and get everything ordered so it is cooked by 9pm? I've checked with friends and acquaintances in the service industry and everyone agrees that a 9pm closing would mean seating stops then, not kitchen closing. If not for this, I would have given a perfect review.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

This is the 3rd time we've been back and still love it. This is our first time back since the renovation and although it's beautiful, I really missed the old atmosphere. Before renovation it was quaint, romantic, dimly lit and much quieter. I think it has now lost the French Country Inn appeal. Previously, you really did think you were in a beautiful restaurant in France. Now it feels like a very modern looking restaurant anywhere.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Food and service not as good a it was 2-3 years ago.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 19, 2018

The ambiance is great. The quality of the food was good but pricier than its value.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Frisée/kale salad was bland and uninspired, lacking acidity and seasoning. Loup de Mer and Scallops were fine. 3 small scallops with minimal garnish. Nice portion of rockfish in watery broth with fennel scraps and some mushrooms. Both dishes needed more substance than only the protein and some small veg. Service took over an hour for the first course. Too many reservations at the same time. Wine list was extensive. Would not go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2018

We were told 12:30 was the first available time for brunch. When we arrived there were plenty of tables! Clearly we could have come earlier which we preferred. Service was incredibly SLOW! Even guests who arrived after us were being served their food before we were! Our water glasses were never refilled. After an hour and 45 minutes I had to request our dessert be delivered and bring our check because this brunch had taken so long! We've had much better experience before, but this past Sunday was not good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

I took my son there (along with his sister) for his birthday and he is a serious foodie. We chose the prix fixe menu of six courses which was fantastic. And the staff and Stephen were just wonderful and checking on us often to be sure everything was satisfactory. It was more than that. They made us feel special. An all around wonderful experience!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

We went for dinner. Overall, a very good experience. The price point is on the higher side which would be indicative of a special occasion meal as opposed to an average meal. I would definitely return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 16, 2018

We did the chefs tasting menu. Good flavors but some odd choices. We were served a cold soup which would have been delightful in August but it was a chilly night in February. Portions were very small in some of the courses. Dishes were seasoned well, but I found myself wishing I ordered a la carte. There is a an extensive wine selection, and I saw others drinking cocktails but we were never offered a cocktail menu.

The ambiance is very romantic and charming. Our service was also quite good. I just found myself disappointed after dropping $300 for dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The wine pairing was not actually paired with the tasting menu plates, champagne arrived after plate finished, and one time did not arrive at all with plate.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

Excellent, great service wonderful wine list and superb food prepared and served to protection. We will certainly dine there again

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Very disappointed in the service. The food quality was poor for the price. Very noisy environment with not much space between tables.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
22