Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 2.39mi
  3. Distance: 3.11mi
  4. Distance: 3.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 2.39mi
  3. Distance: 3.11mi
  4. Distance: 3.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 2.39mi
  3. Distance: 3.11mi
  4. Distance: 3.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 2.39mi
  3. Distance: 3.11mi
  4. Distance: 3.18mi

About The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant

The award-winning Goodstone Inn & Restaurant features a refined approach to French Country cuisine keeping to traditional and classical techniques. Goodstone excels at creating seasonally influenced cuisine.

Drawing inspiration and purpose from the 265-acre estate of rolling hills and farmland, Goodstone provides guests with an unparalleled farm-to-table dining experience, featuring the very finest and freshest of ingredients from the gardens at Goodstone and other local farms. Our wine cellar offers an expansive selection of wines from Virginia’s wine country and around the world.

Enjoy elegant ambiance under the trees while dining in the new Conservatory dining room.

36205 Snake Hill Road
Middleburg, VA 20117
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 8:00 am-10:00 am
Lunch Friday and Saturday 12:00 pm–2:00 pm
Brunch Sunday 12:00 pm–2:00 pm
Dinner Daily 5:30 pm–9:00 pm

***Child-free Dining Experience ***

Cross Street:
Foxcroft Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 687-3333

Website:
http://www.goodstone.com/

Catering:
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant will cater to all of your needs - big and small. (Advance notice of such requests is required.) In addition, Goodstone offers an impressive Wine Cellar Dining Room featuring an extensive collection of vintages from Virginia and around the world, and the elegant Manor House for intimate, catered events on the estate.

Parking Details:
Parking is located to the left of the Carriage House where the restaurant is located.

Executive Chef:
Eric Smith

Private Party Facilities:
Parties of nine to twelve are invited to take part in a one-of-a-kind experience in our wine cellar. A custom menu with wines paired will be created for your group. The experience will be tailored to your party's particular tastes.

Private Party Contact:
Laura Petrosino, Director of Sales and Events: (540) 687-3092

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Weddings, Social and Corporate Groups welcome!

The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

3.8

Noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (17)
Romantic (17)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Worth the Drive (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Scenic View (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Cozy (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Seasonal (5)
Authentic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort by
S
829 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 21 hours ago

We did the chefs tasting menu. Good flavors but some odd choices. We were served a cold soup which would have been delightful in August but it was a chilly night in February. Portions were very small in some of the courses. Dishes were seasoned well, but I found myself wishing I ordered a la carte. There is a an extensive wine selection, and I saw others drinking cocktails but we were never offered a cocktail menu.

The ambiance is very romantic and charming. Our service was also quite good. I just found myself disappointed after dropping $300 for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

The wine pairing was not actually paired with the tasting menu plates, champagne arrived after plate finished, and one time did not arrive at all with plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent, great service wonderful wine list and superb food prepared and served to protection. We will certainly dine there again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (West Virginia)·Dined 7 days ago

Very disappointed in the service. The food quality was poor for the price. Very noisy environment with not much space between tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2018

We go to Goodstone every year for my god-daughter's birthday. We adore the food and are spoiled every visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Staff very nice. Service superb. Soft music not overwhelming conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 30, 2018

Wonderful dinner! The new atrium room is comfortable and the fireplace was great. Very attentive staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2018

It had been several years since we last dined @ Goodstone. Their recent renovations, change of chefs, updating kitchen all added to the lovely brunch we had on Sunday. Our table next to a fireplace in the glass Conservatory was very nice. Staff is welcoming & helpful, especially the sommelier. $59 brunch is 3 courses (short menu) including an appertif or Bloody Mary. Local ingredients like Martin's beef was used. If they had chosen a ribeye rather than a sirloin it would have been more tender. Eggs come from their hens so they are fresh & delicious. We met all the barn animals later & enjoyed the tour offered by Cole. There was only one small misstep when they confused our dessert order. They corrected it by bringing the missing choice, leaving us with 3 desserts. Cappuccino was lovely. We love driving out to the country & look forward to another visit in the Spring.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Took my wife here for her birthday dinner and it was fantastic. We had a great time, we ordered the "tasting menu" combined with the wine pairing, and it was a great choice. We got to try things on the menu we probably normally would never order paired with wines by their sommelier (Stephen) and it was excellent. Great ambiance and Aimee even gave us a short tour of the inn afterwards. Staff and service were spot on, made my wife feel special on her day and we had the best time. We'll definitely be back. Thanks again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2017

A very good New Year's Eve meal. However we were seated on the balcony (more like a corridor with wait staff and people going by all the time and the door to another room being constantly opened) just above the dining room and very much felt that we were not part of the New Year's Eve experience. Unless you can be sure of being seated in the main room then I would not recommend this restaurant for a New Year's Eve meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Excellent food with exceptional wine list - well worth the drive to the top of 'Snake Hill' in the beautiful horse country north of Middleburg. We will certainly return

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Superb fillet mignon and great atmosphere made for a lovely dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 26, 2017

This is a truly first rate restaurant. We had dined here a few years ago and while it was good, it has improved in every respect. The food was delicious, modern and beautifully presented. The new solarium room is lovely and the service was terrific.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Delicious food and very sweet hospitality. The wait staff was so kind. They accommodated my vegetarian request and gave us a perfect table, noting my request, which I know is hard to do, and cannot always be accommodated. I do wish the restaurant was a little more quiet/romantic. Food was very good and beautifully presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Our dining experience was sub par. For nearly $500 for 2 I honestly just expect better all around. The setting is lovely but the Inn at Little Washington or Trummer's on Main are by FAR better options for a meal.

The food was on the bland end of the scale, to the point where I'd say it was under seasoned. My pork was cooked to the point where the steak knife was laughably unable to make a dent in my main course. And we were repeatedly ignored by the sommelier. Granted, being in my mid 30's did mean I was on the younger side of the diners, but at the end of the day a high end customer is a high end customer. Everyone deserves good service at this price point.

I took a chance and didn't believe the reviews saying that this establishment had seen better days. Don't make the same mistake I did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2017

We were placed at the nice table, which was located near the wood-burning fireplace to celebrate our Christmas of two. The view was amazing through the windows: piece of nature from the excessive hill. The high glass ceiling provided a bright light to a huge dinning room of the restaurant. Romantic ambiance with magnificent furniture and impressive decorations made the dinning room of the restaurant delirious. The service was delivered by well trained and informed people with smiles, friendly dialogue, and manners. Nourishment was outstanding: it started from the bowl of exquisite flavor of chest nut soup, continued with sprout salad, a delicate meat entree, and ended with a piece of desert, which probably was made with fine ingredients. The process of getting each meal after another one is well organized by the service of the restaurant. Nice atmosphere, great menu, excellent service. We both will come back soon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Wonderful good and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Food was disappointingly average and service was poor. Although dining room is beautiful with floor to ceiling windows, it was very noisy. Value is poor for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 19, 2017

The food at Goodstone Inn is always outstanding and different. The wine selection is extensive and the service is excellent. We keep coming back to one of the best restaurants in Virginia.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Went here for a dinner with friends - the new dining space is beautiful. They have a great fire going and it smells amazing during dinner. The staff are so kind and always remember us and are lovely. It’s a beautiful spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Wonderful meal; great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 13, 2017

Great ambience
Tuna noicise was over seered
Venison was excellent

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2017

The new dining room is lovely.. need some tablecloth on the table tho.. when I go to a place of a certain dining experience at this price level I expect at the minimum some tablecloths on those wooden table..more elegant and more chic. The cooking of my filet mignon was asked medium rare and came out medium.. but it was still delicious. The crème brûlée was not so good.. this was my at least 5 time there.. no as good as some other time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2017

The setting of the Inn was beautiful especially with the light dusting of snow covering the grounds. The food was good the service could improve. Our server was very distracted and the coffee cup in the morning was dirty. Also the Somm didn't seem to want to bother with us. On recommendation he only asked about our budget which seemed somewhat rude. Either way, we'll be back as the Inn is beautiful for a romantic getaway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2017

We received a gift card for Christmas and decided to use it. Although the restaurant was lovely, the staff very friendly, service excellent, I felt it was way overpriced for what you received. If you just want a quiet dinner and don't mind expense at all, then you might enjoy this restaurant. For my main course, I ordered the filet, and the presentation was beautiful, but the steak was not tender and the tablespoon of mashed potatoes was not hot. Because the person who gave us the gift card was dining with us, I did not tell the waitress of my complaint.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Had not visited in several years since an unfortumate kitchen problem had had a negative effect on what should have been a special occasion. This time, a superlative dining experience. Best food and wine pairings I've had since dining in Paris at a 2 star Michelin restaurant. Chef and somelier top notch. The new addition is wonderful. Light and airy but with great acoustics. Recommending it to all my friends and will be back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Absolutely lovely. The building is beautiful to walk into. The dining-atrium has a real fireplace. The somm paired wines and food beautifully. Go! Enjoy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2017

The food was ok. The price was fair. The new "conservatory" has an open kitchen design so the noise of clattering dishes, running water and pots and pans was way too loud - not the intimate ambiance of the old Goodstone. Lastly, the service was simply outstanding from the waitress to the bartender to the "concierge." However due to overall assessment, the ok food and especially the noise, we will not be back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Beautiful surroundings, excellent menu. They accomodated my nut allergy very graciously and well. Started with tuna nicoise which was lovely but quite tasteless in spite of few olive crumbs. No seasoning or dressing on potatoes, will not order again. Husband loved his rabbit and pistachio terrine.
He had the beef with mushrooms, perfect! I loved my crisp skinned rockfish in an acitic delicious broth.
Great crusty bread and sweet butter. Thank you for not adding honey or salt or truffle to the butter!
Dessert was. a key lime. Heesecake and chocolate something for husband. We wanted to lick the plates!
Service good but wrong ordered delivered and wine not poured. Othwise we enjoyed our experience very much and will return

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Big changes here for the lovely Goodstone Inn. If you haven't been here in a while you might want to come back to check it out. Renovations, new menu which is outstanding, professional and welcoming staff. Menu is interesting and appealing. Total experience is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Still one of our favorite dining spots. The new solarium setting is lovely.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 17, 2017

My wife and I have dined at the Goodstone several times. The food, service, and ambience have been excellent every time. The renovated dining room is wonderful - light and airy; more space between tables; cozy fireplace in the dining room; tasteful decor. Stephen, as always was the consummate sommelier, welcoming us back and advising on the right wine for our food. We had the striploin; the black truffle butter was a delicious complement!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Love the ambiance and the new addition for dining! Absolutely stunning! Love the drive through the countryside to get there. The food was wonderful, with a limited but outstanding menu and excellent wine list. Can't wait to go back! The maitre d' is a very friendly , knowledgeable and caring person.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2017

I enjoyed the food on Saturday evening but I learned only yesterday when I reviewed my itemized bill that I was charged twice for a lemon (panacotta-style) dessert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2017

I don’t write reviews often, but this place deserves a great one. I experienced above and beyond service. The grounds are beautiful - if it’s not too dark, I recommend getting there early to walk around a bit, and after dinner, go upstairs to the bar to sit by the fire place. As far as food selection, I strongly recommend the duck breast if it’s on the menu. It’s pricey, but for my special occasion, it was memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Dinner at Goodstone is always extraordinary—exceptional food, wine, and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The food was a huge disappointment. They brought the wrong wine, the appetizer tasted like wallpaper, entree was not has advertised. They need a new chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Dined here Friday 10/06 for our Anniversary. They have changed chefs and the food is definitely not what it used to be - the new addition is lovely, though if the weather is inclement those who cannot do stairs will have to walk outside to reach the restaurant. The soup was sent back by not only my husband but several other guests. The maitre'd was rude. We are very sorry to lose a place we have gone to for years to celebrate holidays and special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

First time in their new downstairs dining room. Good size space and nice fire place. The sommelier, Stephen, is excellent! Fantastic craft cocktail and wine pairing throughout the dinner. The menu was small but I understand they were in the process of changing it. Still there was something for everyone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 25, 2017

I notified the restaurant via open table request and a phone call that we would be celebrating two important birthdays at dinner. I was very disappointed when nothing was done to make the dinner special. No candle in their dessert. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.