About The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant

36205 Snake Hill Road
Middleburg, VA 20117
View Larger Map

Goodstone Inn & Restaurant features a refined approach to French Country cuisine keeping to traditional and classical techniques. The innovative farm-to-table cuisine and the pastoral setting on a 265-acre estate in Virginia's wine and hunt country provide a unique dining experience for restaurant guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 12-2pm
Dinner: 5:30-9pm
Sunday Champagne Brunch: 12-2pm

Open seven days a week.

Children over the age of 8 are welcome for dining.

Cross Street:
Foxcroft Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 687-3333

Website:
http://www.goodstone.com/

Catering:
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant will cater to all of your needs - big and small. (Advance notice of such requests is required.) In addition, Goodstone offers an impressive Wine Cellar Dining Room featuring an extensive collection of vintages from Virginia and around the world, and the elegant Manor House for intimate, catered events on the estate.

Parking Details:
Parking is located to the left of the Carriage House where the restaurant is located.

Executive Chef:
John Leonard

Private Party Facilities:
Parties of nine to twelve are invited to take part in a one-of-a-kind experience in our cellar. A custom menu with wines paired will be created for your group. The experience will be tailored to your party's particular tastes.

Private Party Contact:
Linda Boyer, Director of Sales: 540-687-3333x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Dining Room - The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant, Middleburg, VA
Lounge Fireplace - The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant, Middleburg, VA
The Rolling Fields - The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant, Middleburg, VA
The Courtyard - The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant, Middleburg, VA
Patio View - The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant, Middleburg, VA
The Main Course - The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant, Middleburg, VA
Souffle - The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant, Middleburg, VA
Summer Salad - The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant, Middleburg, VA
Dessert - The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant, Middleburg, VA
Another Cocktail - The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant, Middleburg, VA
Cocktail - The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant, Middleburg, VA

The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Romantic
Virginia - DC Suburbs
French
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Middleburg ›

Romantic (18)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
See All
Quiet Conversation (9)
Scenic View (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fireplace (8)
Cozy (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Historic (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Authentic (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Casual (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
697 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great anniversary dinner. Customized men ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Great anniversary dinner. Customized menu for our special day and complimentary champagne was a nice touch. We both had the rabbit and duck and both were perfect. Highly recommend. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Historic, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a lovely setting, friendly staff, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

It was a lovely setting, friendly staff, cozy atmosphere, and delicious food!

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time visiting the Goo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our first time visiting the Goodstone Inn but it will definitely not be our last! Being a bit of an out of town "foodie" from NYC, the meal was incredible and impeccably prepared. Wonderful place for a special occasion or even a business dinner. You will NOT be disappointed! We cannot wait for our return visit!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outright horrible. Service is poor to sa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Outright horrible. Service is poor to say the least - arrogant and condescending. Food came out cold and had to be sent back out. Then to top it all off when this was noted to the manager after dinner he launched into a tirade and left the room like an angry child. Simply a horrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Not sure what is going on at Goodstone. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Not sure what is going on at Goodstone. We arrived 5 minutes before our stated reservation time and were made to wait about 10 minutes even though there were no other diners in the dining room. Service was mediocre at best. One of our party ordered steak and eggs, requesting the steak be medium rare. It arrived well done with no accompanying steak knife. An drink order was forgotten until the server was reminded. Not what one would expect from an establishment such as Goodstone. The ambience, however, is always top notch. Would not recommend due to cost versus value at this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Enjoyed an excellent Sunday brunch with ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Enjoyed an excellent Sunday brunch with my wife. A bit out of the way and sometimes difficult to get reservations but worth the drive. Small intimate dining area with great views of the surrounding countryside. Best value depends on your choices from the prix fix 3-course menu. We enjoyed the mussels, shrimp and grits, and the petite filet mignon w/eggs. Both of our desserts were delicious as well. Brunch includes champagne, mimosa, or bloody mary. However, if you want coffee with your dessert that is extra. I would recommend including coffee in the prix fix. Overall a very nice, intimate dining experience. Will try again for either lunch or dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely dining room but food was disappoi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Lovely dining room but food was disappointing, very underseasoned and missing components that were listed on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Dined on Saturday celebrating our aniver ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Dined on Saturday celebrating our aniversery the ambiance as always was wonderful service was attentive but not overbearing there when you wanted it to be. The was very very good not great Lamb Rack while cooked to my wifes liking seemed uninspired which was the same feeling I had with the Veal entree. Having been to Goodstone in the past and had been wowed we were expecting the same experience but didnt quite make it this time. We will be back as the restaurant is beautiful and will expect the wow we've had in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Once we found the place (my map program ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Once we found the place (my map program directed us in error to a totally different resort), we enjoyed the ambiance, and the staff was friendly without being jocular. The food was excellent, and we were pleased that the wine list was not horribly expensive. Wines by the glass were in line with better restaurants. The prix fixe menu options were a nice touch.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my 3rd visit to the Goodstone I ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was my 3rd visit to the Goodstone Inn and while I was pleased with my first and second course the main course was very disappointing. We ordered the Chateaubriand for two and sadly the steak came out at best slightly warm. For a meal only portion that was extremely high for the steak not being cooked perfectly. When I informed the server she was quick to send it back to the kitchen and reheat it. However no one reheated all of the veggies that were included as part of the meal. Once the steak returned and it was still not much warmer then before all the sides were completely cold. The manager that evening apologized for the meal and stated she would take care of the main course. I was good with that, but then my check came and not only was it not taken care of, but it had a bottle of wine on my check that was higher priced and not even the same product I had consumed.

I have to say for a place that charges about the same prices as L'Auberge Chez Francois which is one of the best french country inns anywhere this was more than disappointing. In my opinion they did not handle or make clear the plan to fix the issue. They should be checking their food and ensure that its ready to be delivered to the table. They should have their billing process buttoned up and it should have been checked before getting to the table at the end of the night. Much work is to be done at the Goodstone Inn. I hope they do improve as they have the capability to be a wonderful place to dine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

We recently celebrated our anniversary a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We recently celebrated our anniversary at Goodstone Inn. We have really enjoyed this restaurant in the past, but cannot say that about the food during our most recent visit. The ambiance and staff were WONDERFUL - the food not so much.

We ordered the Chateaubriand for two which is served with two different sauces, vegetables, and this visit, an individual potato gratin for each person. The meat was very good, the vegetables were undercooked/too crunchy and terribly under salted (I never salt my food but found myself looking for a salt shaker on the table which they don't provide) and one of the sauces arrived to the table separated/clumpy - not executed correctly at all.

We did enjoy the soup and salad we ordered before our entree hence the 'good' rating.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

My wife and I really enjoyed our dinner ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed our dinner last Friday night. I had rack of lamb and my wife had risotto. I started with oysters that were nice and briny. I also had an apple and arugula salad that was very nice. My wife is vegetarian and the menu was limited for her, but Middleburg prides itself on being hunt country and does not cater to vegetarians.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Was disappointed. Very limited luncheon ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Was disappointed. Very limited luncheon menu and price high. Had wanted to see this highly expensive Inn ,grounds etc and thought a good way to do so. Room and ambience lovely. Large company group next to us.. can't blame the restaurant for that and the noise level in the fairly small room. Had to ask wait staff for one item 3 times.In town has much better food choices and at a better price(too bad Red Fox Inn has quit serving lunch).

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

The restaurant is beautiful. We were sea ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful. We were seated promptly. The server failed to tell us the specials or give us the prix fix options we did ask after the fact and she was not extremely pleasant about it. The table we were at was quite large for us and it was difficult to hear conversation. The food while delicious was slightly warmer than room temp and not hot.. but I didn't comment as it was difficult to get our servers attention really.. she also failed to keep my iced tea full which to me is a sign of good service. It was a bit chilly in the restaurant. Overall it was lovely. The food was flavorful and very high quality.. it just seemed for what was a very expensive meal that the experience should have been absolutely first rate and I didn't feel that way. It was my birthday and so I didn't want to ruin it by complaining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Outstanding! Food, service & atmosphere ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Outstanding! Food, service & atmosphere make for any special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fixed price 3 course Sunday brunch seati ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Fixed price 3 course Sunday brunch seatings till 145 was very pleasant. Menu was eggs oriented w/ a petite filet or and shrimp w/ grits. Complimentary champagne, mimosa or Bl Mary was nice.

Carriage house dining room & lounge were lovely.

Best treat were the 100+ acre views & country lanes nearby.

Have to go back for dinner sometime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

First visit, food was awesome. Staff wen ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

First visit, food was awesome. Staff went the extra step to insure we had an enjoyable experience. We had more fun than anyone in the Inn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We were very pleased with lunch with fri ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We were very pleased with lunch with friends. One is gluten intolerant and the menu was carefully adjusted for her. It's a drive into the countryside from Middleburg but the scenery makes it worth it. We will certainly return. The scallops were exceptional.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must if you are in the area for a spec ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

A must if you are in the area for a special occasion. Service and food were top notch. My wife and I expect a lot from our dining experience and this went above and beyond. In line with pricing in the area, but delivers more. Did not do the chateaubriand, but should have. Looked amazing. We were in the area for 3 nights and stayed at Salamander Resort. This was the best dining experience as far as food, wine, privacy and overall experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was such a delicious and special ch ...

vip
 (Poconos)·Dined on September 29, 2016

This was such a delicious and special chef's surprise meal. We opted for the four course offering, & were not disappointed. The ambiance is special, the service is atrenrive, and the food is top notch.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant knew it was our anniversa ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The restaurant knew it was our anniversary and sat us at a lovely table by the window. Service was timely and food selection was a good variety. We both ordered the sole and bones were removed tableside. Nothing but positive experience in all areas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sent my parents here for one of their bi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Sent my parents here for one of their birthdays. They came back with RAVING reviews. They loved the food, the restaurant took the time to put my stepdad's name on the menu, and they had an amazing time. He is hard to please and had nothing but great things to say. Would ABSOLUTELY recommend to friends. Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant wa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant was quite the surprise. The ambiance, the food, and the service was very good or outstanding. Really loved the place. We had crab cakes (they were fantastic) and the Dover sole (it was good). We arrived in time to enjoy a glass of wine near some seating at the Pool area. The views were fantastic and the setting peaceful and remote. This place is a very nice, well kept secret that I intend to go back to visit. It is in a remote corner of the Virginia Hunt Country, and really worth a nice drive. A++

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was a big disappointment. Steak ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was a big disappointment. Steaks ordered medium-well, were nearly blackened. The cherry cobbler dessert was a bunch of dried fruit and granola. If this had been Appleby's I would not have any complaints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

A quiet, elegant restaurant near Middleb ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 29, 2016

A quiet, elegant restaurant near Middleburg, VA. When I made the reservation, I mentioned we were celebrating a birthday. After being seated, the server handed us our personalized menus - at the top of the menu was written Happy Birthday. At the end of the meal, the menus were presented to us rolled up like a scroll with a ribbon tied around them.

Additionally, my husband left his credit card in the payment folio and we were contacted the next day with an offer to mail the card back. A wonderful experience all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A delicious dining experience combined w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 23, 2016

A delicious dining experience combined with a wonderful overnight stay. Gracious staff and beautiful surroundings only a little over an hour from DC. We will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal from start to finish! We ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Excellent meal from start to finish! We opted for a-la-carte dining and each had a delicious salad followed by perfect entrees. The truffled crabcakes were decadent and savory and the risotto featured plentiful farm-fresh vegetables. Excellent service and wine list and an intimate, romantic setting topped off the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Goodstone is one of our favorites. E ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The Goodstone is one of our favorites. Excellent food and service in a beautiful setting

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had the chateaubriand med rare and it wa ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Had the chateaubriand med rare and it was outstanding, tender and melted in your mouth. The potatoes dauphinoise were actually as good as the steak. A wonderful french themed restaurant.

A small note...chk your bill...the wine price on the bill didnt match the menu...the computer was in error...so chk your bill every where

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dined at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant for ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Dined at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant for my wife's birthday and had a good experience overall.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Fantastic experience. Great food, great ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Fantastic experience. Great food, great service and terrific sommelier

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best dinners we've ever had-- ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 31, 2016

One of the best dinners we've ever had-- and that's saying something! The food was incredible, the setting was beautiful, and the service was perfect. A really lovely experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our lunch visit to Goodstone was our fir ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Our lunch visit to Goodstone was our first, and it did not disappoint! The ambiance, food, service and surroundings were wonderful. The only negative was their parking lot - my shoes had a white dust layer around the edges - they need to pave their parking lot and get rid of the pebbles/dust surface.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had heard good things about the Goods ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had heard good things about the Goodstone Inn and decided to try it for my wife's special birthday (not saying which one!) There were four of us for the meal.

I liked the pricing choices - a la carte or Prix Fixe with identical menus. That pretty much took cost out of consideration as we considered our order.

My brother and I had the filet mignon for the entrée - the steak was the perfect size and perfectly cooked, and all the accompaniments were well chosen and delicious. The ladies ordered Dover sole, which the server expertly deboned at the table. The soup and salad courses and the desserts were also delicious, with sufficient choices for each course to please any taste.

Service was gracious and not hurried, which we appreciated as we regained some appetite after each course.

We will go again and bring some friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite place in the dc area ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is my favorite place in the dc area! Great setting and staff, fantastic food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Four of us had reservations three months ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Four of us had reservations three months in advance to get a Saturday night table; we were impressed it took that long to get in, so perhaps that added to our high hopes. The food overall was quite tasty-but given the price point and the level this restaurant is trying to reach, the service was TERRIBLE. Always had to ask for our wine to be filled, had to wait nearly 25 minutes after sitting down to even place our order. The room was hot, and we mentioned it several times to no avail. We did the 4 course prix fixe, and again the food was quite good, but the place only had about 15 tables and we had to ask THREE TIMES for our check. The sommelier brought our wine but then vanished--never had a choice to order another bottle. Cocktails were undrinkable--now I like a strong drink, but a Cosmo that tastes like pink vodka straight is hard to stomach. They need to work on their service, big time. We won't be back because there are closer restaurants with comparable food and better service, closer to DC.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

My only complaint is that it took severa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2016

My only complaint is that it took several minutes for anyone to greet us or pour us a glass of water. It was quite noticeable, so much so, that I noticed the Hostess went to the staff and told them to fill our glasses! Food in general is excellent. The dessert was fair.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Found the meal outstanding. The filet mi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Found the meal outstanding. The filet mignon was an especially good cut of meat cooked to perfection and to my specification. Wine by the glass prices were very reasonable. Worth the drive...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

An exceptionally fine restaurant, off th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 4, 2016

An exceptionally fine restaurant, off the beaten track.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

BEST DINNER EVER! Very reasonably priced ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 26, 2016

BEST DINNER EVER! Very reasonably priced for meal quality. Excellent wine choices and friendly, knowledgeable staff. Will dine at Goodstone again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.