About Gonza Tacos y Tequila - Wake Forest

A Raleigh favorite opens a new location. Come experience the best Colombian-Mexican restaurant now with a location in Wake Forest!

Hand Crafted Latin Cocktails
Extensive List of Tequilas & Regional Spirits
Carefully Selected List of Latin Wines & Latin Beers

Voted Best Latin Restaurant in the Triangle by Wake County Living Magazine!

Won the Indy Award for Best Mexican / Latin American in the Triangle!

1849-100 S Main St
Wake Forest, NC 27587
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Colombian, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday & Sunday 12:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 205-2500

Website:
http://gonzatacosytequila.com/

Executive Chef:
David Perez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

El Patio – Our outdoor patio is a perfect location for large groups and parties!

Gonza Tacos y Tequila - Wake Forest Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (11)
Casual (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
See All
Good for Groups (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Authentic (5)
Spicy (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Family Style (3)
Business Meals (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Romantic (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
158 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very good! We will be back!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good! We will be back!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service, and I would prob ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food and service, and I would probably go there just for the talega dessert!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very slow service and not due to the res ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very slow service and not due to the restaurant being busy. Waitress was very nice but would forget to bring items to the table we had requested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

Authentic Mexican cuisine combined with ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Authentic Mexican cuisine combined with friendly and knowledgeable wait staff.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Gonza never disappoints. Great food, gr ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Gonza never disappoints. Great food, great atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our diner was fantastic (as usual). We ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our diner was fantastic (as usual). We love Gonza's!

Our daughter and her family joined us and she said the

server was super. I agree, I honestly think she was the

best server we have ever had. Love this place!

Tags: Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took neighbor friends for dinner. Excel ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Took neighbor friends for dinner. Excellent food and service as usual. Best Hispanic god in Raleigh. Wish they had a location closer to Clayton

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to Gonza with family, food was WOND ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Went to Gonza with family, food was WONDERFUL! Our server was awesome. We had a blast!! What more could you ask for?

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fun, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always great food and service Love the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Always great food and service

Love the atmosphere

Tags: Spicy, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service coupled with fresh, ex ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent service coupled with fresh, expertly made and delicious food like the pescado tacos or the chicken quesadilla or the chilequiles roja. Michayla is an incredibly attentive server who remembers preferences and never lets your drinks or chip bowl empty!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seated on time, service and food were gr ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Seated on time, service and food were great, we'll be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Others keep copying Gonza but only the o ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Others keep copying Gonza but only the original continues to deliver. Mexican is new to NC. As a native Texan we take it for granted. Nice to get quality Mexican dishes in Raleigh and an enormous Tequila selection. It makes all the difference when the managers LOVES and KNOWS Tequila. I'd love to host live salsa music nights at Gonza with Tequila specials and floating food samples. Definitely has late night party potential.

Tags: Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food. Prices are great. I di ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Very good food. Prices are great. I did like the options on the menu and the specials.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had just close on the house and decid ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We had just close on the house and decided to celebrate. Staff was very friendly and attentive, the food and drinks were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way overpriced! Food was good but the dr ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Way overpriced! Food was good but the drinks were too pricey. Margaritas should never have to be $14! And wait staff does not advise you that they're using top shelf liquor and not telling you the price.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Great food with fresh ingredients, very ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great food with fresh ingredients, very friendly and helpful service. Cool decor.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service! Everyone i ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent food and service! Everyone is so friendly! Excellent bartender! Very impressed!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Late-night Find, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food and service were both fantastic ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food and service were both fantastic. It was not the normal, everyday fast-serve Mexican food. The food was more fresh and modern. The restaurant was a little too dark, but, otherwise, we had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Not as packed as the one in Raleigh but ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Not as packed as the one in Raleigh but still the same great taste and atmosphere

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We always love eating at Gonza's. The on ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We always love eating at Gonza's. The only negative for this night was they were out of guacamole! Yes, hard to believe a Mexican restaurant would be out of guacamole. I guess they didn't buy enough avocados? I mean, it doesn't take but a few minutes to make guacamole.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

They pared salmon with cucumber and hot ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 13, 2016

They pared salmon with cucumber and hot pepper and pineapple on unique small tortillas and served it with a delightful, fresh side salad with a pear slice. This was so tasty. They also have the best salsa anywhere, all delivered with incredible service each time...in this case by Caroline who really gives attention to making sure the customer is satisfied with the meal and experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was quite good. Our waitress (and ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Food was quite good. Our waitress (and I should have remembered her name} was efficient but not pushy or phony. Great place to go.

Tags: Spicy, Quick Bite, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Well here I go again. This is without ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Well here I go again. This is without question one of my favorite places to dine. This was a business lunch and it worked out great. It was actually quiet and the food was great. It always is. I had the chicken quesadilla. Just the right amount of food for a lunch. With the chips and salsa it makes a very filling lunch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Mex around. Great food and service.

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Best Mex around. Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was awesome as usual. A tense expe ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food was awesome as usual. A tense expensive. The only issue is we feel rushed for placing orders and moved in/out. I think we were in for a total of 35 minutes. Party of 3 at 630 on a Friday. Wasn't packed like it usually is but instead of asking if we wanted more drinks---it was desert, no, check and she paced back and forth to see if we had put card in can...and after we did pay she took can - which we thought unusual....wouldn't you wait for us to leave? I appreciate wanting to turn tables - but would also like to relax and enjoy my evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Gonza is one of my favorite places to di ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Gonza is one of my favorite places to dine. When anyone suggests we dine out Gonza is always at the top of the list. I love the appetizers, entrees and deserts. The tequila is pretty darn good too. My favorite is the Chili Relleno. My drink is the Cabo Wabo Reposado. If you haven't been here you need to try it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Spicy, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Normally I would have scored Gonza much ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Normally I would have scored Gonza much higher. This was an off night for them. Our food took more than 45 minutes to arrive and when it did half of our entrees were not correct and some of our food was cold. Gonza is one of favorite restaurants so we will return. Hope the service will be better next time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We had expected more based on prior revi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had expected more based on prior reviews. Food was okay. The shrimp tacos were good. The tacos with the braised short rib beef was not what I would have expected. I had expected the short rib beef to be shredded and somewhat lean. The beef was cubed (which was odd) and had pieces of fat attached to it. Not at all appetizing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Entree quality is always consistent. Gre ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Entree quality is always consistent. Great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wish they had a lunch menu rather than j ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Wish they had a lunch menu rather than just the dinner menu. Servings were very large and pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Never disappoints! Great food and great ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Never disappoints! Great food and great service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service are always really g ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food and service are always really good at this location and the one on Lead Mine Road. Haven't tried the others yet, but Gonza has a good thing going!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious. My side salad ha ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was delicious. My side salad had heart of palm and watermelon with some yummy balsamic vinaigrette. Wow it was amazing for a side salad. Our waitress was great and checked on us often. Everyone ordered different types of tacos and enjoyed every bite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first time at Gonza Tacos y ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was my first time at Gonza Tacos y Tequila (Wake Forest Location). The food was great very authentic . The waiter helped us with great things to eat from the menu. He was very helpful. The food was great and the service. We will come back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly staff. My melon margarita was w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Friendly staff. My melon margarita was watery and disappointing, my quesadilla was cool when it was brought out. Disappointing compared to first location.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

always excellent - never disappointed - ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 6, 2016

always excellent - never disappointed - and no, I'm not easy to please ;~)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Thanks for a fun night out with friends. Food was great; outdoor dining impeccable for a beautiful night

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great! People who worked there ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Food was great! People who worked there where very great. Always checked in on us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food great, service no so great

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food here is excellent. Very loud atmosphere. Service was not up to standard. Alcoholic drinks had too much ice and my wife's drink was not a full glass.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Just alright!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Not as good as the location in Raleigh! Food portion sizes small yet pricey! Margaritas are good though!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.