About Gonza Tacos y Tequila - Wake Forest

1849-100 S Main St
Wake Forest, NC 27587
View Larger Map

A Raleigh favorite opens a new location. Come experience the best Colombian-Mexican restaurant now with a location in Wake Forest!

Hand Crafted Latin Cocktails
Extensive List of Tequilas & Regional Spirits
Carefully Selected List of Latin Wines & Latin Beers

Voted Best Latin Restaurant in the Triangle by Wake County Living Magazine!

Won the Indy Award for Best Mexican / Latin American in the Triangle!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Colombian, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday & Sunday 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 205-2500

Website:
http://gonzatacosytequila.com/

Executive Chef:
David Perez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

El Patio – Our outdoor patio is a perfect location for large groups and parties!

Gonza Tacos y Tequila - Wake Forest Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (16)
Fun (13)
Creative Cuisine (10)
See All
Good for Groups (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Spicy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Business Meals (4)
Authentic (4)
Family Style (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Historic (2)
Cozy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Healthy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
S
173 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food,good service and reasonable pr ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Good food,good service and reasonable pricing. Hard to beat.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always LOVE Gonza! Love the food, peopl ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Always LOVE Gonza! Love the food, people, atmosphere!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, , Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They have good food but always seem unpr ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

They have good food but always seem unprepared for a crowd. They did make up for slow service with free drinks which was appreciated.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Get ready for some face melting good foo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Get ready for some face melting good food. This place has the best fish tacos I have ever eaten.

Tags: Casual, , Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for authentic Mexican food. ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great place for authentic Mexican food. The food and service was great. I would recommend everyone eat there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love Gonza's. Food is always very good ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I love Gonza's. Food is always very good. Service was excellent. The only thing that I didn't like was the noise. The music was very very loud. When it's that loud everyone has to yell so the person across the table can hear you which makes it even louder. By the end of the meal I had a splitting headache. The noise level will definitely factor into whether I eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was good, but the service was v ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The food was good, but the service was very slow, on what was a very slow night for them. I'd hate to see what it is like on a busy night.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

The fish here is fresh and works well wi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The fish here is fresh and works well with their tacos. The food overall is fresh and nicely prepared. The margaritas and drinks can be improved a little, but not bad if you order the top shelf one. The decor in this place is cool and a fun place to eat. The salsa is just ok and the same for the guacamole, but it is still fresh and taste good.

The service was good both times I went here.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We went to celebrate 2 special occasions ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We went to celebrate 2 special occasions for both our girls... the service was great and the food was wonderful. We have to say that we will be back again. I tell my patients how wonderful your restaurant is. We love Gonza.. thank you again for such wonderful service..

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Historic, Business Meals, Family Style, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, , Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steve's service was excellent, attentive ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Steve's service was excellent, attentive, without hovering. Food was served quickly and hot.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

It was awesome. I just wish they had mo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was awesome. I just wish they had more Tres Leches cake in Sat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We arrived right on time and our table w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We arrived right on time and our table was ready just a moment after (even though the place was packed). Our Server Melissa was knowledgeable on the specials and the menu, plus was attentive and lightning fast. Our dishes came out exactly as ordered, hot and delicious. We're thinking about going back the very next night :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great service.

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Thanks! Loved it!!!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Thanks! Loved it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Started out with chips and salsa, queso ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Started out with chips and salsa, queso and guac - all were good. House margaritas were good, too. Can't comment on too much else on the menu because we all ordered the same thing, the Mexican Flag. It's 3 enchiladas with different filings and sauces, and it was delicious! We all really enjoyed the combination of flavors and will definitely order it again. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good! We will be back!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very good! We will be back!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service, and I would prob ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food and service, and I would probably go there just for the talega dessert!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very slow service and not due to the res ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very slow service and not due to the restaurant being busy. Waitress was very nice but would forget to bring items to the table we had requested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

Authentic Mexican cuisine combined with ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Authentic Mexican cuisine combined with friendly and knowledgeable wait staff.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Gonza never disappoints. Great food, gr ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Gonza never disappoints. Great food, great atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our diner was fantastic (as usual). We ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our diner was fantastic (as usual). We love Gonza's!

Our daughter and her family joined us and she said the

server was super. I agree, I honestly think she was the

best server we have ever had. Love this place!

Tags: Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took neighbor friends for dinner. Excel ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Took neighbor friends for dinner. Excellent food and service as usual. Best Hispanic god in Raleigh. Wish they had a location closer to Clayton

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to Gonza with family, food was WOND ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Went to Gonza with family, food was WONDERFUL! Our server was awesome. We had a blast!! What more could you ask for?

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fun, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always great food and service Love the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Always great food and service

Love the atmosphere

Tags: Spicy, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service coupled with fresh, ex ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent service coupled with fresh, expertly made and delicious food like the pescado tacos or the chicken quesadilla or the chilequiles roja. Michayla is an incredibly attentive server who remembers preferences and never lets your drinks or chip bowl empty!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seated on time, service and food were gr ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Seated on time, service and food were great, we'll be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Others keep copying Gonza but only the o ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Others keep copying Gonza but only the original continues to deliver. Mexican is new to NC. As a native Texan we take it for granted. Nice to get quality Mexican dishes in Raleigh and an enormous Tequila selection. It makes all the difference when the managers LOVES and KNOWS Tequila. I'd love to host live salsa music nights at Gonza with Tequila specials and floating food samples. Definitely has late night party potential.

Tags: Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food. Prices are great. I di ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Very good food. Prices are great. I did like the options on the menu and the specials.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had just close on the house and decid ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We had just close on the house and decided to celebrate. Staff was very friendly and attentive, the food and drinks were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way overpriced! Food was good but the dr ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Way overpriced! Food was good but the drinks were too pricey. Margaritas should never have to be $14! And wait staff does not advise you that they're using top shelf liquor and not telling you the price.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Great food with fresh ingredients, very ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great food with fresh ingredients, very friendly and helpful service. Cool decor.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service! Everyone i ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent food and service! Everyone is so friendly! Excellent bartender! Very impressed!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Late-night Find, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food and service were both fantastic ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food and service were both fantastic. It was not the normal, everyday fast-serve Mexican food. The food was more fresh and modern. The restaurant was a little too dark, but, otherwise, we had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Not as packed as the one in Raleigh but ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Not as packed as the one in Raleigh but still the same great taste and atmosphere

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We always love eating at Gonza's. The on ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We always love eating at Gonza's. The only negative for this night was they were out of guacamole! Yes, hard to believe a Mexican restaurant would be out of guacamole. I guess they didn't buy enough avocados? I mean, it doesn't take but a few minutes to make guacamole.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

They pared salmon with cucumber and hot ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 13, 2016

They pared salmon with cucumber and hot pepper and pineapple on unique small tortillas and served it with a delightful, fresh side salad with a pear slice. This was so tasty. They also have the best salsa anywhere, all delivered with incredible service each time...in this case by Caroline who really gives attention to making sure the customer is satisfied with the meal and experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was quite good. Our waitress (and ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Food was quite good. Our waitress (and I should have remembered her name} was efficient but not pushy or phony. Great place to go.

Tags: Spicy, Quick Bite, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Well here I go again. This is without ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Well here I go again. This is without question one of my favorite places to dine. This was a business lunch and it worked out great. It was actually quiet and the food was great. It always is. I had the chicken quesadilla. Just the right amount of food for a lunch. With the chips and salsa it makes a very filling lunch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Mex around. Great food and service.

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Best Mex around. Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was awesome as usual. A tense expe ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food was awesome as usual. A tense expensive. The only issue is we feel rushed for placing orders and moved in/out. I think we were in for a total of 35 minutes. Party of 3 at 630 on a Friday. Wasn't packed like it usually is but instead of asking if we wanted more drinks---it was desert, no, check and she paced back and forth to see if we had put card in can...and after we did pay she took can - which we thought unusual....wouldn't you wait for us to leave? I appreciate wanting to turn tables - but would also like to relax and enjoy my evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.