About Gonza Tacos y Tequila - Wake Forest

A Raleigh favorite opens a new location. Come experience the best Colombian-Mexican restaurant now with a location in Wake Forest!

Hand Crafted Latin Cocktails
Extensive List of Tequilas & Regional Spirits
Carefully Selected List of Latin Wines & Latin Beers

Voted Best Latin Restaurant in the Triangle by Wake County Living Magazine!

Won the Indy Award for Best Mexican / Latin American in the Triangle!

1849-100 S Main St
Wake Forest, NC 27587
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Colombian, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday & Sunday 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 205-2500

Website:
http://gonzatacosytequila.com/

Executive Chef:
David Perez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

El Patio – Our outdoor patio is a perfect location for large groups and parties!

Gonza Tacos y Tequila - Wake Forest Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good for a Date (5)
See All
Creative Cuisine (4)
Spicy (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Authentic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Cozy (1)
People Watching (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
201 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

This is definitely one of our favorite go to restaurants. Good tequila and the foods pretty darn good too. My wife loves the El Plantano and this time I tried the Chicken Tamales special. Both were great. We'll be back again and again for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

We were in the area for the weekend for an event. First night we arrived in town on the later side and had to settle for a busy chain restaurant. Typical experience. Food was bland and mediocre (but you got a big pile of it) and you walked out feeling your lipid profile certainly did not improve. Found Gonza Tacos y Tequila on OT and ratings and menu looked good. Hoping it would at least be an improvement on the night before. And boy was it ever! Freshness and flavor was excellent. Service was as well. Prices were nicely moderate and I would have gladly paid more for this meal. We hit restaurants of all types at least 3 times a week and it is the exception when you walk out of a restaurant feeling you got 2 great tasting meals and excellent service for fifty bucks all in! Sadly we live 3 hours away in Charlotte but will look for reasons to head back over to the Triangle to go again....and we will be first in line if Gonza comes to Charlotte.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 10, 2017

This was the first time we have been to this restaurant and would definitely return. We were seated promptly and our wait person was quick to make an appreance. She was very knowledgeable and explained the various dishes and offered a number of attractive options. The drinks were good and reasonably priced and the main dishes were very good. All in all it was a very good experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 6, 2017

First visit at this location. Delicious food, excellent, caring service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food was delicious as always! It can be hard to get a table so reservations are a good idea here. Worth it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Didn't realize until after we were seated the air-conditioning was out. This on the hottest day of the year. Waitress was nice, but didn't tell us until we asked--said it went out day before and they were trying to get it fixed. Think they should have let us know when we arrived. Made the meal hard to enjoy. Love the restaurant, so we'll be back, but was disappointing night--had brought good friend visiting from out of town.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 20, 2017

I've eaten here several times and always had great service, and excellent food.

My only complaint is, during the summer months, and this has been a recurring annual problem, their air-conditioning struggles; to the point of almost being uncomfortable inside.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I had the shrimp tacos, which were perfect - just spicy enough. The guacamole was ok, but I don't think I'd get it again. Salsa was good. It was quite warm and humid - needed a fan - but the service was quick and polite; overall a good meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Food was great and the wait staff was friendly and attentive. We came for my birthday. It was a nice dinner. We will come back again. It was real loud but I am sure because it was a Friday night. I will come on other days instead.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Have eaten at the Durham location several times and the food and service has always been great. I have to say that I was less than satisfied with the server. We ordered a couple of bar drinks and three waters. He came back with one water and stated that they were out of clean water glasses so two of us would not be getting water. We ordered a guacamole and also an extra bowl of salsa. He never brought the salsa and after 10 minutes we had to ask about the guacamole. It was brought to our table just a few minutes before our meal. I finally asked him to bring us water in to go cups if they still didn't have clean glasses. Even though the food was good we won't be comping back to this location.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Food and service were great as was the outside covered patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We had to spend the night in Wake Forest for a meeting Monday. Used open table and found this place. Food was great! Glad we used the app.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

All four of our party enjoyed their meals and drinks. I tried a ginger tamarind margarita and pastor Tacos. The stuffed chile and chicken quesadilla were excellent too. Ate outdoors. Perfect evening

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great s always.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fun, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 2, 2017

I go to Gonza every chance I get and it never disappoints.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Hot Spot, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good time to come for Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Was pretty good food, service was decent just wish they would have let us sit at one of the outside tables unfortunately they said they were all for someone else, perhaps that should be an option when you reserve as there were plenty available when we arrived and several when we left. Plus it was a bit chilly for me and my family inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food tastes great portions are a little small in my opinion but overall great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We brought our out of town friends for dinner. I had a salmon taco special that was out of this world. My friend also ordered that and loved it. The husbands had mahi Mahi magi tacos and beef fajitas. Can't say enough about the food, service or decor. Still a little loud in there but so worth it! We will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This is a place to keep on your Top Ten list, and if you live in Wake Forest it should be pretty close to #1.
As always, the service was prompt, friendly, and professional. The staff kept an attentive - but never interruptive - watch on our dining progress.
The tequila menu has something for everyone, and how can you go wrong with one of the signature Margaritas?
The starter chips are addictive, and the salsa and guacamole are fresh and chunky with lots of flavor.
My Chile Relleno was filled to bursting with delicious chicken tinga, and I added a side of coconut rice for extra texture and just a hint of sweet.
Last but not least: If you have any room left, and if you've never tried the chocolate flan, now is the time! You will not regret it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Had a 100 percent would recommend
Add me to the list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Tables were wobbly. Burrito had no flavor and was made of mostly queso. Very liquidy and not much substance. Also menu was very small. Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The food is always great. We will definitely return.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Tasty cuisine, attentive waitstaff. We celebrated a birthday which the staff recognized. Bringing our own desert was not a problem.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We adore this place. We're unfortunately moving over an hour away next month and will continue to make the drive to Gonza for their ever amazing artisan tacos and the best margaritas and tequila flights in the South East.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Gonza is by far my favorite restaurant of all time. Each time I go there it's an absolute delight.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Cozy, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Good food. Small wine pours. Very loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 23, 2017

have eaten here multiple times. Always excellent service with fresh well prepared food.

Tags: Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Good food,good service and reasonable pricing. Hard to beat.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always LOVE Gonza! Love the food, people, atmosphere!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

They have good food but always seem unprepared for a crowd. They did make up for slow service with free drinks which was appreciated.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Get ready for some face melting good food. This place has the best fish tacos I have ever eaten.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great place for authentic Mexican food. The food and service was great. I would recommend everyone eat there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I love Gonza's. Food is always very good. Service was excellent. The only thing that I didn't like was the noise. The music was very very loud. When it's that loud everyone has to yell so the person across the table can hear you which makes it even louder. By the end of the meal I had a splitting headache. The noise level will definitely factor into whether I eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The food was good, but the service was very slow, on what was a very slow night for them. I'd hate to see what it is like on a busy night.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The fish here is fresh and works well with their tacos. The food overall is fresh and nicely prepared. The margaritas and drinks can be improved a little, but not bad if you order the top shelf one. The decor in this place is cool and a fun place to eat. The salsa is just ok and the same for the guacamole, but it is still fresh and taste good.
The service was good both times I went here.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We went to celebrate 2 special occasions for both our girls... the service was great and the food was wonderful. We have to say that we will be back again. I tell my patients how wonderful your restaurant is. We love Gonza.. thank you again for such wonderful service..

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Steve's service was excellent, attentive, without hovering. Food was served quickly and hot.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was awesome. I just wish they had more Tres Leches cake in Sat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We arrived right on time and our table was ready just a moment after (even though the place was packed). Our Server Melissa was knowledgeable on the specials and the menu, plus was attentive and lightning fast. Our dishes came out exactly as ordered, hot and delicious. We're thinking about going back the very next night :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.