About Gonza Tacos y Tequila - Wake Forest

1849-100 S Main St
Wake Forest, NC 27587
View Larger Map

A Raleigh favorite opens a new location. Come experience the best Colombian-Mexican restaurant now with a location in Wake Forest!

Hand Crafted Latin Cocktails
Extensive List of Tequilas & Regional Spirits
Carefully Selected List of Latin Wines & Latin Beers

Voted Best Latin Restaurant in the Triangle by Wake County Living Magazine!

Won the Indy Award for Best Mexican / Latin American in the Triangle!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Colombian, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday & Sunday 12:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 205-2500

Website:
http://gonzatacosytequila.com/

Executive Chef:
David Perez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

El Patio – Our outdoor patio is a perfect location for large groups and parties!

Gonza Tacos y Tequila - Wake Forest Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Wake Forest
Best Restaurants in Wake Forest ›

Good for Groups (15)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Special Occasion (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Romantic (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Fun (1)
Business Meals (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Casual (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Authentic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
Newest
133 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Well here I go again. This is without ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Well here I go again. This is without question one of my favorite places to dine. This was a business lunch and it worked out great. It was actually quiet and the food was great. It always is. I had the chicken quesadilla. Just the right amount of food for a lunch. With the chips and salsa it makes a very filling lunch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Mex around. Great food and service.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Best Mex around. Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was awesome as usual. A tense expe ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food was awesome as usual. A tense expensive. The only issue is we feel rushed for placing orders and moved in/out. I think we were in for a total of 35 minutes. Party of 3 at 630 on a Friday. Wasn't packed like it usually is but instead of asking if we wanted more drinks---it was desert, no, check and she paced back and forth to see if we had put card in can...and after we did pay she took can - which we thought unusual....wouldn't you wait for us to leave? I appreciate wanting to turn tables - but would also like to relax and enjoy my evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Normally I would have scored Gonza much ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Normally I would have scored Gonza much higher. This was an off night for them. Our food took more than 45 minutes to arrive and when it did half of our entrees were not correct and some of our food was cold. Gonza is one of favorite restaurants so we will return. Hope the service will be better next time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We had expected more based on prior revi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had expected more based on prior reviews. Food was okay. The shrimp tacos were good. The tacos with the braised short rib beef was not what I would have expected. I had expected the short rib beef to be shredded and somewhat lean. The beef was cubed (which was odd) and had pieces of fat attached to it. Not at all appetizing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Entree quality is always consistent. Gre ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Entree quality is always consistent. Great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wish they had a lunch menu rather than j ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Wish they had a lunch menu rather than just the dinner menu. Servings were very large and pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Never disappoints! Great food and great ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Never disappoints! Great food and great service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service are always really g ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food and service are always really good at this location and the one on Lead Mine Road. Haven't tried the others yet, but Gonza has a good thing going!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious. My side salad ha ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was delicious. My side salad had heart of palm and watermelon with some yummy balsamic vinaigrette. Wow it was amazing for a side salad. Our waitress was great and checked on us often. Everyone ordered different types of tacos and enjoyed every bite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first time at Gonza Tacos y ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was my first time at Gonza Tacos y Tequila (Wake Forest Location). The food was great very authentic . The waiter helped us with great things to eat from the menu. He was very helpful. The food was great and the service. We will come back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly staff. My melon margarita was w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Friendly staff. My melon margarita was watery and disappointing, my quesadilla was cool when it was brought out. Disappointing compared to first location.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

always excellent - never disappointed - ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

always excellent - never disappointed - and no, I'm not easy to please ;~)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Thanks for a fun night out with friends. Food was great; outdoor dining impeccable for a beautiful night

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great! People who worked there ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Food was great! People who worked there where very great. Always checked in on us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food great, service no so great

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food here is excellent. Very loud atmosphere. Service was not up to standard. Alcoholic drinks had too much ice and my wife's drink was not a full glass.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Just alright!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Not as good as the location in Raleigh! Food portion sizes small yet pricey! Margaritas are good though!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Lively but too noisy for conversation

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

If you want Colombian/Mexican food with some interesting things on the menu in a space so noisy conversation is difficult this is the place. We went with 4 couples and conversation was impossible. Food was fine. Service was hurried but all right.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

I was not as pleased with this location ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

I was not as pleased with this location as I was the Hillsboro location. The pork belly in my taco was overcooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great good and awesome atmosphere- we lo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Great good and awesome atmosphere- we love gonzos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

loved everything!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

our hostess was sweet and helpful (Anna) and our server (Diamond) was awesome and knowledgeable about the menu. Food was fabulous and atmosphere was perfect! Great night and we will definately be back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat to dine at Gonza!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

We usually go to the location at Sawmill but it fills fast especially on a Fri night so we came to W Forest instead. Love the atmosphere, food is always great! One caveat about this location; there is not much parking so you may have to walk a little ways! It's worth it though!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Gonza Always Delivers

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We always enjoy going to Gonza (whether Wake Forest location or Raleigh on). The food is delicious and the portions are perfect. The decor in the restaurant is awesome. Staff always friendly and spot on. So glad we have a place like this in the area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Live this place, the food is consistentl ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Live this place, the food is consistently good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Horrible experience. Will not return. Th ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Horrible experience. Will not return. They are so intent on turning tables that it felt like speed dating. Not the first experience like this at this location, but this was the worst.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Consistantly great food and atmosphere.

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Not your typical "order by the combo" type mexican restaurant. Gonza's always serves up great food and is very family friendly. Love the Mexican Flag, Carne tacos, and the salsa.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

LOVE the chocolate flan!!!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

LOVE the chocolate flan!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Overpriced

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

I ordered the shrimp tacos and wasn't impressed at all. They were tiny and overpriced.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Wild - and not in a good way.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Arrived a few minutes early for a lunch reservation and table wasn't ready. Had to split group due to time constraints after eating for @20 minutes for table to be ready. Restaurant was full of school kids and extremely noisy. Other people came in after we placed our order and were sat, served, and out before we got our food. Can't recommend this location for lunch if you are on a time frame. Waitress seemed very frazzled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Always Top Notch

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

This place has some phenomenol food, and I especially appreciate and look forward to seafood related Tacos. This time I had the salmon tacos, a Chef special, and they were delightful! Steeped in flavor with chimichurri sauce and a spicy punch, the salmon was light and flaky. I also really enjoy the Callo de Hacha (Scallops) and the shrimp tacos. The are paired with a small, very tasty salad and they have some of the best salsa and chips anywhere.

Add a margarita, friendly knowledgeable service and a vibrant atmoshphere and you have a winner all around!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Our Favorites

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

What can I tell you that I haven't said already. This is absolutely one of our favorite restaurants. This time it was my birthday and this is where I wanted to go. We started with the Guacamole, very good. This time I passed on the Chili Relleno (my normal choice) and chose the Chicken Fajitas, most excellent. The chicken was crispy as were all the vegetables. My wife had the Chicken Burrito this time around and said it too was delicious. I discovered their

flight club so I had to have a flight of Cabo Wabo. All in all a wonderful night with good food, good drinks and good service. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Restaurant, especially for Wake Forest.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Ordered the Chile Relleno with Chicken Tinga, was great especially if you want low carbs. Of course I got my carbs from the chips they bring to table. Husband ordered jalapeno poppers which are wrapped in bacon for an app, they were delicious!! He also ordered Chicken Fajitas, which he liked.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A little dissapointed this time

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Gonza ram out of my favorite dish at 5:30 on a Saturday night. I talked to the manager before this night about having this dish daily he said "the owners only want it for Saturday" I know they are doing well at Gonza the food and service are great, noise level a little high but businesses are there to meet the guests needs and that night they didn't. Not happy since I go weekly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

Great Fresh Tex-Mex

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Great atmosphere and food is always fresh and tasty. Service is good, but bar service can be a little slow at times especially with larger groups. A little on the pricey side, but I certainly think the food and atmosphere make it worth while.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Always exceeding expectations

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We have been going to Gonza for years now. Starting at the location off of Lead Mine, we moved to the Wake Forest location lately. The other locations are great, yet this one is just a bit quieter and has shorter wait times. We always start with queso or guacamole and end with the coconut flan. We have tried almost every meal option in between and have been pleased with each. Always ask for the special and go for it when it sounds good. We also frequently order the carne asada that's not on the menu. It's the marinated carne meat with 2 sides.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prompt service. Great good. Courteous st ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Prompt service. Great good. Courteous staff. The staff followed up throughout the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent tacos!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Well-thought menu items in general, although we only tried the tacos.

We loved the fresh tortillas; both the corn and flour tortillas were very well prepared. The flour tortillas were just the right thickness and consistently - definitely not your cheapy flour tortillas from the grocery store! The corn tortillas had great texture and density.

The taco fillings were very well prepared. I thought it was apparent that the amounts and types of ingredients were given some thought, making it all come together just right. Definitely a chef's touch with these!

The scallop tacos were my favorite. The chips and salsa were pretty darn good too ;)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Mexican!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

Never disappoints! Friendly staff, great customer service, good food and entertaining for the kids. Love the face painting for the kids on Fridays.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun night with hockey team!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

Accommodating, fun, easy to work with -- food was amazing, as was the tequila!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Eat here regularly: Great Mexican food & Tequila

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

I try to come here every week or two, and I've written previous reviews about Gonza's-- there is no change in my opinion.

Their menu is limited, and that's good because Gonza's excels at the existing menu.

For drinks, I don't even have tequila in my house, but here is where you want to try it. Sit at the bar sometime and ask the bar staff for suggestions; you can't go wrong.

The service is excellent, and the management staff is always out-and-about making their rounds, and more importantly, asking the patrons about their meal and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.