Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 4 times today

Gonza Tacos y Tequila - Wake Forest

4.7
223 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mexican
Perfect For:
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Groups
A Raleigh favorite opens a new location. Come experience the best Colombian-Mexican restaurant now with a location in Wake Forest!

Hand Crafted Latin Cocktails
Extensive List of Tequilas & Regional Spirits
Carefully Selected List of Latin Wines & Latin Beers

Voted Best Latin Restaurant in the Triangle by Wake County Living Magazine!

Won the Indy Award for Best Mexican / Latin American in the Triangle!
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mexican, Colombian, Latin American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday & Sunday 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(919) 205-2500
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
David Perez
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

El Patio – Our outdoor patio is a perfect location for large groups and parties!

View Private Dining Details
What 223 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.4
service
4.5
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Fun night out with friends!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Waitress was very nice. Food was really good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Great food, great time!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Was a very nice restaurant, music was kinda loud. Service was slow.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

always a consistent experience. Great food and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Love everything about it. Location, food, service, price and ambience! Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 21, 2018

I LOVE Gonza and frequent the Sawmill Rd location quite frequently. We were in the Wake Forest area so we decided to go that location to celebrate my birthday. Our waitress was not interested in our table at all. We wanted to order more drinks after our first round but she never came back once the food was on the table except to bring the check. We told her it was my birthday and nothing happened. I have celebrated my birthday here before and have seen what happens. Overall, I still love Gonza and the food was amazing; however, that waitress has made me not want to visit the Wake Forest location again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Great experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2018

We both enjoyed our meal. The margaritas were a better mix of ice to liquid than offered by some other restaurants. I liked the shredded chicken enchiladas with mole and my husband had steak tacos and the soup. We like the salsa and chips too, but I’d prefer some salt on the chips—either regular or a seasoned salt.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Server seemed to be covering a lot of tables, but did a decent job balancing everything. Food was great; the Mexican Flag dish is enough for two people if you eat the chips and salsa beforehand.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Food was amazing and staff was extremely friendly. Plus they gave me a bobble head to hold while they prepared my table, so that was pretty cool. Manager(I think) could wing her eyeliner like a boss.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 23, 2018

We have dined here on multiple occasions and each time has been a very pleasurable experience. The staff is attentive and efficient and the food is a great value. I am relatively new to the area having relocated from the north where we had a few special restaurants and it was nice to find this one after moving here. Gonza Tacos y Tequila Wake Forest is in a class by itself compared to the many other Mexican style restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Never disappoints! Always great food! Gonza’s is our favorite- Cameron is the best with a margarita!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Great food and service. Definitely a place to go.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2017

One of our Favorite places to eat!! Always great! Always a good vibe and food does not disappoint! From the margarita's , chips, to my favorite cameron ....just go!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 21, 2017

We had a fabulous time here! The food and service were great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 1, 2017

Pleasant surprised. We had always passed the restaurant not knowing much about it. Wanted to try something different. Loved the food and we typically do not eat Latin American. Great service. Cannot wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 1, 2017

Great dinner and service. Thank you Michaela for accommodating us. We will be back!

Sara

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 17, 2017

Awesome place, great invironment! Great music, great service and great food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 12, 2017

I always enjoy the authentic Mexican taco cuisine. I enjoyed the thanksgiving taco. It’s a special for the holidays but I would eat it year round.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 10, 2017

My husband ordered the fajitas and said they were very bland, as if someone forgot to season them at all. The other dishes we had were wonderful (nachos and chicken tacos).

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 17, 2017

This is definitely one of our favorite go to restaurants. Good tequila and the foods pretty darn good too. My wife loves the El Plantano and this time I tried the Chicken Tamales special. Both were great. We'll be back again and again for sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

We were in the area for the weekend for an event. First night we arrived in town on the later side and had to settle for a busy chain restaurant. Typical experience. Food was bland and mediocre (but you got a big pile of it) and you walked out feeling your lipid profile certainly did not improve. Found Gonza Tacos y Tequila on OT and ratings and menu looked good. Hoping it would at least be an improvement on the night before. And boy was it ever! Freshness and flavor was excellent. Service was as well. Prices were nicely moderate and I would have gladly paid more for this meal. We hit restaurants of all types at least 3 times a week and it is the exception when you walk out of a restaurant feeling you got 2 great tasting meals and excellent service for fifty bucks all in! Sadly we live 3 hours away in Charlotte but will look for reasons to head back over to the Triangle to go again....and we will be first in line if Gonza comes to Charlotte.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 10, 2017

This was the first time we have been to this restaurant and would definitely return. We were seated promptly and our wait person was quick to make an appreance. She was very knowledgeable and explained the various dishes and offered a number of attractive options. The drinks were good and reasonably priced and the main dishes were very good. All in all it was a very good experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 6, 2017

First visit at this location. Delicious food, excellent, caring service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 22, 2017

Always a fantastic experience. The food is incredible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 29, 2017

The food was delicious as always! It can be hard to get a table so reservations are a good idea here. Worth it.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 21, 2017

Didn't realize until after we were seated the air-conditioning was out. This on the hottest day of the year. Waitress was nice, but didn't tell us until we asked--said it went out day before and they were trying to get it fixed. Think they should have let us know when we arrived. Made the meal hard to enjoy. Love the restaurant, so we'll be back, but was disappointing night--had brought good friend visiting from out of town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 20, 2017

I've eaten here several times and always had great service, and excellent food.

My only complaint is, during the summer months, and this has been a recurring annual problem, their air-conditioning struggles; to the point of almost being uncomfortable inside.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 19, 2017

I had the shrimp tacos, which were perfect - just spicy enough. The guacamole was ok, but I don't think I'd get it again. Salsa was good. It was quite warm and humid - needed a fan - but the service was quick and polite; overall a good meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 14, 2017

Food was great and the wait staff was friendly and attentive. We came for my birthday. It was a nice dinner. We will come back again. It was real loud but I am sure because it was a Friday night. I will come on other days instead.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 2, 2017

Have eaten at the Durham location several times and the food and service has always been great. I have to say that I was less than satisfied with the server. We ordered a couple of bar drinks and three waters. He came back with one water and stated that they were out of clean water glasses so two of us would not be getting water. We ordered a guacamole and also an extra bowl of salsa. He never brought the salsa and after 10 minutes we had to ask about the guacamole. It was brought to our table just a few minutes before our meal. I finally asked him to bring us water in to go cups if they still didn't have clean glasses. Even though the food was good we won't be comping back to this location.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2017

Food and service were great as was the outside covered patio

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 11, 2017

We had to spend the night in Wake Forest for a meeting Monday. Used open table and found this place. Food was great! Glad we used the app.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2017

All four of our party enjoyed their meals and drinks. I tried a ginger tamarind margarita and pastor Tacos. The stuffed chile and chicken quesadilla were excellent too. Ate outdoors. Perfect evening

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2017

Great s always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2017

I go to Gonza every chance I get and it never disappoints.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Good time to come for Mother's Day

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Was pretty good food, service was decent just wish they would have let us sit at one of the outside tables unfortunately they said they were all for someone else, perhaps that should be an option when you reserve as there were plenty available when we arrived and several when we left. Plus it was a bit chilly for me and my family inside.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Food tastes great portions are a little small in my opinion but overall great place.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6