About Gonza Tacos y Tequila - Wake Forest

1849-100 S Main St
Wake Forest, NC 27587
View Larger Map

A Raleigh favorite opens a new location. Come experience the best Colombian-Mexican restaurant now with a location in Wake Forest!

Hand Crafted Latin Cocktails
Extensive List of Tequilas & Regional Spirits
Carefully Selected List of Latin Wines & Latin Beers

Voted Best Latin Restaurant in the Triangle by Wake County Living Magazine!

Won the Indy Award for Best Mexican / Latin American in the Triangle!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Colombian, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday & Sunday 12:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 205-2500

Website:
http://gonzatacosytequila.com/

Executive Chef:
David Perez

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

El Patio – Our outdoor patio is a perfect location for large groups and parties!

Gonza Tacos y Tequila - Wake Forest Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Wake Forest
Best Restaurants in Wake Forest ›

fit for foodies (18)
great for lunch (18)
good for groups (16)
See All
great for outdoor dining (15)
neighborhood gem (15)
kid-friendly (13)
hot spot (7)
special occasion (7)
late-night find (6)
romantic (3)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service

Dined on June 9, 2016

Thanks for a fun night out with friends. Food was great; outdoor dining impeccable for a beautiful night

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great! People who worked there ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Food was great! People who worked there where very great. Always checked in on us.

food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Food great, service no so great

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food here is excellent. Very loud atmosphere. Service was not up to standard. Alcoholic drinks had too much ice and my wife's drink was not a full glass.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Just alright!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Not as good as the location in Raleigh! Food portion sizes small yet pricey! Margaritas are good though!

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Lively but too noisy for conversation

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

If you want Colombian/Mexican food with some interesting things on the menu in a space so noisy conversation is difficult this is the place. We went with 4 couples and conversation was impossible. Food was fine. Service was hurried but all right.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience4
service5

I was not as pleased with this location ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

I was not as pleased with this location as I was the Hillsboro location. The pork belly in my taco was overcooked

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

loved everything!

Dined on March 19, 2016

our hostess was sweet and helpful (Anna) and our server (Diamond) was awesome and knowledgeable about the menu. Food was fabulous and atmosphere was perfect! Great night and we will definately be back soon!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a treat to dine at Gonza!

Dined on March 11, 2016

We usually go to the location at Sawmill but it fills fast especially on a Fri night so we came to W Forest instead. Love the atmosphere, food is always great! One caveat about this location; there is not much parking so you may have to walk a little ways! It's worth it though!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gonza Always Delivers

Dined on March 5, 2016

We always enjoy going to Gonza (whether Wake Forest location or Raleigh on). The food is delicious and the portions are perfect. The decor in the restaurant is awesome. Staff always friendly and spot on. So glad we have a place like this in the area.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service4

Live this place, the food is consistentl ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Live this place, the food is consistently good.

food2
ambience1
service1

Horrible experience. Will not return. Th ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Horrible experience. Will not return. They are so intent on turning tables that it felt like speed dating. Not the first experience like this at this location, but this was the worst.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistantly great food and atmosphere.

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Not your typical "order by the combo" type mexican restaurant. Gonza's always serves up great food and is very family friendly. Love the Mexican Flag, Carne tacos, and the salsa.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

LOVE the chocolate flan!!!

Dined on February 20, 2016

LOVE the chocolate flan!!!

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Overpriced

Dined on February 12, 2016

I ordered the shrimp tacos and wasn't impressed at all. They were tiny and overpriced.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Wild - and not in a good way.

Dined on February 5, 2016

Arrived a few minutes early for a lunch reservation and table wasn't ready. Had to split group due to time constraints after eating for @20 minutes for table to be ready. Restaurant was full of school kids and extremely noisy. Other people came in after we placed our order and were sat, served, and out before we got our food. Can't recommend this location for lunch if you are on a time frame. Waitress seemed very frazzled.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Top Notch

Dined on February 4, 2016

This place has some phenomenol food, and I especially appreciate and look forward to seafood related Tacos. This time I had the salmon tacos, a Chef special, and they were delightful! Steeped in flavor with chimichurri sauce and a spicy punch, the salmon was light and flaky. I also really enjoy the Callo de Hacha (Scallops) and the shrimp tacos. The are paired with a small, very tasty salad and they have some of the best salsa and chips anywhere. Add a margarita, friendly knowledgeable service and a vibrant atmoshphere and you have a winner all around!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of Our Favorites

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

What can I tell you that I haven't said already. This is absolutely one of our favorite restaurants. This time it was my birthday and this is where I wanted to go. We started with the Guacamole, very good. This time I passed on the Chili Relleno (my normal choice) and chose the Chicken Fajitas, most excellent. The chicken was crispy as were all the vegetables. My wife had the Chicken Burrito this time around and said it too was delicious. I discovered their flight club so I had to have a flight of Cabo Wabo. All in all a wonderful night with good food, good drinks and good service. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Restaurant, especially for Wake Forest.

Dined on January 31, 2016

Ordered the Chile Relleno with Chicken Tinga, was great especially if you want low carbs. Of course I got my carbs from the chips they bring to table. Husband ordered jalapeno poppers which are wrapped in bacon for an app, they were delicious!! He also ordered Chicken Fajitas, which he liked.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

A little dissapointed this time

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Gonza ram out of my favorite dish at 5:30 on a Saturday night. I talked to the manager before this night about having this dish daily he said "the owners only want it for Saturday" I know they are doing well at Gonza the food and service are great, noise level a little high but businesses are there to meet the guests needs and that night they didn't. Not happy since I go weekly.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great Fresh Tex-Mex

Dined on January 2, 2016

Great atmosphere and food is always fresh and tasty. Service is good, but bar service can be a little slow at times especially with larger groups. A little on the pricey side, but I certainly think the food and atmosphere make it worth while.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always exceeding expectations

Dined on January 1, 2016

We have been going to Gonza for years now. Starting at the location off of Lead Mine, we moved to the Wake Forest location lately. The other locations are great, yet this one is just a bit quieter and has shorter wait times. We always start with queso or guacamole and end with the coconut flan. We have tried almost every meal option in between and have been pleased with each. Always ask for the special and go for it when it sounds good. We also frequently order the carne asada that's not on the menu. It's the marinated carne meat with 2 sides.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Prompt service. Great good. Courteous st ...

Dined on December 30, 2015

Prompt service. Great good. Courteous staff. The staff followed up throughout the meal.

food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent tacos!

Dined on December 12, 2015

Well-thought menu items in general, although we only tried the tacos. We loved the fresh tortillas; both the corn and flour tortillas were very well prepared. The flour tortillas were just the right thickness and consistently - definitely not your cheapy flour tortillas from the grocery store! The corn tortillas had great texture and density. The taco fillings were very well prepared. I thought it was apparent that the amounts and types of ingredients were given some thought, making it all come together just right. Definitely a chef's touch with these! The scallop tacos were my favorite. The chips and salsa were pretty darn good too ;)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Mexican!

Dined on December 11, 2015

Never disappoints! Friendly staff, great customer service, good food and entertaining for the kids. Love the face painting for the kids on Fridays.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service5

Fun night with hockey team!

Dined on November 29, 2015

Accommodating, fun, easy to work with -- food was amazing, as was the tequila!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Eat here regularly: Great Mexican food & Tequila

vip
Dined on November 28, 2015

I try to come here every week or two, and I've written previous reviews about Gonza's-- there is no change in my opinion. Their menu is limited, and that's good because Gonza's excels at the existing menu. For drinks, I don't even have tequila in my house, but here is where you want to try it. Sit at the bar sometime and ask the bar staff for suggestions; you can't go wrong. The service is excellent, and the management staff is always out-and-about making their rounds, and more importantly, asking the patrons about their meal and service.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

ousanding food and drinks

Dined on November 27, 2015

Have been to Gonza's in wake forest and raliegh. Food and drinks have always been outstanding. Simple but very tasty menu.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Funky Funky

Dined on November 14, 2015

Never knew there were so many kinds of tequila !! And I tried them all !! Seriously, from the cool, hip, funky decor to the menu variety to the drinks, this is a place not to be missed. You'll eat well and have a good time too !! Line up a designated driver if you plan to sample the tequila !!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

We Love it Here

vip
Dined on November 11, 2015

When we think of Mexican oriented food we think of Gonza. The food is great, the tequila is awesome, the service is very good and the restaurant gives off a great vibe. I usually have the Chile Relleno and did so again this time; just awesome. My wife had the El Plantano which she loves. We had two glasses of Cabo Wabo Resposado and the Talega De Plantano for desert. We will be back again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4

Nothing Special

Dined on November 7, 2015

This is my third and final time at this location. I have no issue with the atmosphere or service. My problem is the quality of the food. It is just OK. Nothing on the menu would keep me coming back for more. The portion size for tacos is pretty small considering the prices that are charged. I could go to on the border and have just as good of a meal and walk out with money left in my wallet .

food4
ambience4
service5

Another Eclectic Spot in Wake Forest

Dined on November 6, 2015

Gonza's is another one of the hidden gems, that are not really hidden in Wake Forest. They stick to a simple menu which is executed extremely well, and timely. From order to table was maybe 8 minutes. We had a few different types of tacos, and look forward to going back to try the others. Was a little let down by the guacamole. Its definitely pre-made and a very small portion. Great tequila selection, but the premium margaritas were a little overpriced for the amount delivered.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2

Gonza Tacos Gone-zo So So

Dined on November 6, 2015

First time at this restaurant. Arrived early for a 25 person party to eat at our regular 5-6PM time since the party did not start until 7PM, let alone when food would be ordered and served. Had used Open Table which worked they had our reservation, however, the table was near a busy aisle, not private at all, and one person faced the kitchen, the other person would have faced thne waiting people in the restaurant. We asked for a change which they accomodated at an outside table, very nice, much quieter. Asked the waitress for her recommendation of the top priced items ~$13-$14 and was disappointed when the meal arrived. The chocolate chipolte covering was too sweet and overpowered the entire meal. Wife's meal of a chicken chimichanga was great. I ordered a margarita & it was more than my meal ($15) after a $1 mixing charge & $2 special ingredient (mix) were added. These were not explained on the menu nor at the beginning by the waitress & asked for a explanation. The manager came over, introduced himself, and mentioned these extra charges are customary and graciously took them off since it was not explained at the beginning of the ordering process & it was my first time there (which I mentioned to the waitress ahead of our meal & drink order). Left a 20% tip as usual, then joined the party which was also outside, very noisy, had a hard time carrying on a conversation. Left around 8PM, the party did not order their meals yet, however, the staff was very accomodating to help set up and make arrangements for the presents, cake, etc. There was a long wait outside so maybe this was just an off night for the service and staff.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3

Great location!

vip
Dined on October 30, 2015

While I enjoyed my dinner at Gonza in Wake Forest, I enjoy the ambience and food at the Raleigh location a bit more. Our server mixed up my order (I needed corn tortillas), but he mahi mahi tacos were delicious! I also enjoyed my Sangria.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was exceptional as always. We ...

Dined on October 21, 2015

The food was exceptional as always. We celebrated my husband's 30th birthday with some dear friends and we all enjoyed the food, service, and ambience. It was more quiet than usual but we were there on a week night.

food5
ambience5
service5

Not your usual Mexican food

vip
Dined on October 7, 2015

We always have a great meal here. If you're looking for the usual Burritos and Enchiladas found in other Mexican restaurants, this isn't your place. But if you want great unusual food that's hard to beat, this is the place!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!

Dined on October 2, 2015

I've been to both locations of Gonza Tacos - the Wake Forest location is bigger and is open for lunch more often than the other location. The food is amazing. The service was great. I've had the tacos a few times, but this time I tried the "Mexican Flag". At first, I was concerned because it didn't come with the standard rice and beans. But I shouldn't have worried - it was plenty of food and so delicious! Our waiter was friendly, attentive, polite and efficient. What more could you ask for?

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The chicken tortilla soup is amazing! Al ...

vip
Dined on October 2, 2015

The chicken tortilla soup is amazing! Also recommend El Platano and the carne tacos

food4
ambience3
service5

I really enjoyed Gonza!! The service was ...

vip
Dined on September 12, 2015

I really enjoyed Gonza!! The service was incredible. We had chips with guacamole as our appetizer. The guac was good though I wish they didn't bring out half full salsa. My husband and I love salsa. I got the chicken mole enchiladas and loved them. My husband got the Mexican flag enchiladas. He enjoyed, but wished the portion was bigger. It is definitely a family place, but we will be back!

food5
ambience4
service4

A quick favorite

Dined on September 4, 2015

After only our 1st visit we knew we found a new favorite restaurant. The Mexican/Columbian fusion is delightful. The ingredients always seem fresh. I can't seem to order anything but the carnitas because they are so amazing. The atmosphere is great, but the real draw has been the wait staff. Service is quick and the food consistently great. The menu is not huge, but what they offer is all excellent. Get the rice as your side and you will not be disappointed! I recommend this restaurant to all my friends and it is at the top of my list!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

We love it here

vip
Dined on August 29, 2015

This has become a regular stop on our places to eat out. We love everything about it. The food is great and the tequila is awesome. Love those build your own flights. The service is always great and everyone is so friendly. We'll keep coming back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.