About Gonza Tacos y Tequila - Wake Forest

A Raleigh favorite opens a new location. Come experience the best Colombian-Mexican restaurant now with a location in Wake Forest!

Hand Crafted Latin Cocktails
Extensive List of Tequilas & Regional Spirits
Carefully Selected List of Latin Wines & Latin Beers

Voted Best Latin Restaurant in the Triangle by Wake County Living Magazine!

Won the Indy Award for Best Mexican / Latin American in the Triangle!

1849-100 S Main St
Wake Forest, NC 27587
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Colombian, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday & Sunday 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 205-2500

Website:
http://gonzatacosytequila.com/

Executive Chef:
David Perez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

El Patio – Our outdoor patio is a perfect location for large groups and parties!

Gonza Tacos y Tequila - Wake Forest Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (11)
Fun (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Authentic (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Spicy (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
People Watching (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Business Meals (2)
Romantic (2)
Cozy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Healthy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
190 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and service were great as was the outside covered patio

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We had to spend the night in Wake Forest for a meeting Monday. Used open table and found this place. Food was great! Glad we used the app.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

All four of our party enjoyed their meals and drinks. I tried a ginger tamarind margarita and pastor Tacos. The stuffed chile and chicken quesadilla were excellent too. Ate outdoors. Perfect evening

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great s always.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fun, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good time to come for Mother's Day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Was pretty good food, service was decent just wish they would have let us sit at one of the outside tables unfortunately they said they were all for someone else, perhaps that should be an option when you reserve as there were plenty available when we arrived and several when we left. Plus it was a bit chilly for me and my family inside.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food tastes great portions are a little small in my opinion but overall great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We brought our out of town friends for dinner. I had a salmon taco special that was out of this world. My friend also ordered that and loved it. The husbands had mahi Mahi magi tacos and beef fajitas. Can't say enough about the food, service or decor. Still a little loud in there but so worth it! We will be back!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This is a place to keep on your Top Ten list, and if you live in Wake Forest it should be pretty close to #1.
As always, the service was prompt, friendly, and professional. The staff kept an attentive - but never interruptive - watch on our dining progress.
The tequila menu has something for everyone, and how can you go wrong with one of the signature Margaritas?
The starter chips are addictive, and the salsa and guacamole are fresh and chunky with lots of flavor.
My Chile Relleno was filled to bursting with delicious chicken tinga, and I added a side of coconut rice for extra texture and just a hint of sweet.
Last but not least: If you have any room left, and if you've never tried the chocolate flan, now is the time! You will not regret it!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Had a 100 percent would recommend
Add me to the list

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Tables were wobbly. Burrito had no flavor and was made of mostly queso. Very liquidy and not much substance. Also menu was very small. Not going back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The food is always great. We will definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Tasty cuisine, attentive waitstaff. We celebrated a birthday which the staff recognized. Bringing our own desert was not a problem.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We adore this place. We're unfortunately moving over an hour away next month and will continue to make the drive to Gonza for their ever amazing artisan tacos and the best margaritas and tequila flights in the South East.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Family Style, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Organic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Gonza is by far my favorite restaurant of all time. Each time I go there it's an absolute delight.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Cozy, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Good food. Small wine pours. Very loud

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 23, 2017

have eaten here multiple times. Always excellent service with fresh well prepared food.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Good food,good service and reasonable pricing. Hard to beat.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always LOVE Gonza! Love the food, people, atmosphere!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

They have good food but always seem unprepared for a crowd. They did make up for slow service with free drinks which was appreciated.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Get ready for some face melting good food. This place has the best fish tacos I have ever eaten.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great place for authentic Mexican food. The food and service was great. I would recommend everyone eat there.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I love Gonza's. Food is always very good. Service was excellent. The only thing that I didn't like was the noise. The music was very very loud. When it's that loud everyone has to yell so the person across the table can hear you which makes it even louder. By the end of the meal I had a splitting headache. The noise level will definitely factor into whether I eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The food was good, but the service was very slow, on what was a very slow night for them. I'd hate to see what it is like on a busy night.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The fish here is fresh and works well with their tacos. The food overall is fresh and nicely prepared. The margaritas and drinks can be improved a little, but not bad if you order the top shelf one. The decor in this place is cool and a fun place to eat. The salsa is just ok and the same for the guacamole, but it is still fresh and taste good.
The service was good both times I went here.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We went to celebrate 2 special occasions for both our girls... the service was great and the food was wonderful. We have to say that we will be back again. I tell my patients how wonderful your restaurant is. We love Gonza.. thank you again for such wonderful service..

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Historic, Business Meals, Family Style, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Steve's service was excellent, attentive, without hovering. Food was served quickly and hot.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was awesome. I just wish they had more Tres Leches cake in Sat.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We arrived right on time and our table was ready just a moment after (even though the place was packed). Our Server Melissa was knowledgeable on the specials and the menu, plus was attentive and lightning fast. Our dishes came out exactly as ordered, hot and delicious. We're thinking about going back the very next night :-)

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food. Great service.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Thanks! Loved it!!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Started out with chips and salsa, queso and guac - all were good. House margaritas were good, too. Can't comment on too much else on the menu because we all ordered the same thing, the Mexican Flag. It's 3 enchiladas with different filings and sauces, and it was delicious! We all really enjoyed the combination of flavors and will definitely order it again. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very good! We will be back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food and service, and I would probably go there just for the talega dessert!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very slow service and not due to the restaurant being busy. Waitress was very nice but would forget to bring items to the table we had requested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Authentic Mexican cuisine combined with friendly and knowledgeable wait staff.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Gonza never disappoints. Great food, great atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our diner was fantastic (as usual). We love Gonza's!
Our daughter and her family joined us and she said the
server was super. I agree, I honestly think she was the
best server we have ever had. Love this place!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Took neighbor friends for dinner. Excellent food and service as usual. Best Hispanic god in Raleigh. Wish they had a location closer to Clayton

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Went to Gonza with family, food was WONDERFUL! Our server was awesome. We had a blast!! What more could you ask for?

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fun, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.