Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.71mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 4.53mi
  4. Distance: 4.94mi
  1. Distance: 1.71mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 4.53mi
  4. Distance: 4.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.71mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 4.53mi
  4. Distance: 4.94mi
  1. Distance: 1.71mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 4.53mi
  4. Distance: 4.94mi

About Goldmoor Restaurant

We welcome our new Executive Chef Carlos Valdez; please join us for a new dining experience!
Recently received the prestigious 2015 Hall of Fame Certificate of Excellence from Tripadvisor.
Unmatched Old World decor, a diverse wine cellar, and premier personal service are all complemented by our chef"s creative cuisine. Enjoy dining in one of our cozy booths, elegant tables with breathtaking views overlooking the Mississippi River or our interactive Chef's Table.

9001 Sand Hill Road
Galena, IL 60136
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday through Monday from 5pm to 10pm

Cross Street:
Blackjack Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(815) 777-3925

Website:
http://www.goldmoor.com/goldmoor-inn-restaurant.htm

Entertainment:
Occasional special events, variety entertainment.

Catering:
Customized catering menu per clients request.

Parking Details:
Ample parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
Dine at our chefs table, private dining room or Gazebo.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Goldmoor Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

5.0

ambience

4.9

value

4.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (9)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for a Date (7)
See All
Scenic View (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Business Meals (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Private Room (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Historic (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Authentic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Waterfront (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
336 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We had an outstanding meal and excellent service. The accommodations and the chef's selections were perfect. I highly recommend this venue. Don't miss the chef's table!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food and service were fantastic! Our new go to place in Galena.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We found the meal served here to be one of the best we have ever had. The Beef Wellington was superb. The salmon could not have been prepared better. We will be back and consider doing a chef's kitchen.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This restaurant was wonderful. From the moment we walked in we were treated well. The food was delicious and well-presented and the server was attentive and professional. It was a great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Lovely, out of the way restaurant. The owners were quite friendly and gave us some interesting background on how they came to own the restaurant. The menu was a little limited but the pork chop and salmon meals that my wife and I had were delicious. The wine list was also a little limited but we had a great bottle of Zinfindal Grgrich 2011. My wife and I had a wonderful date night at the Goldmoor but I would re-think the overhead music. I enjoy blues music but it did not fit this setting and it was a little loud. Would have fit in a bar much better. Maybe some nice jazz would work better.

Tags: Private Room, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Goldmoor has been wonderful each time my wife and I have dined here. Beef Wellington a real treat. If you go to Galena you should dine here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Could. Not have asked for a better night out. The atmosphere was enchanting from the red cardinal and lighted Christmas tree to the amazing sunset and that was only the view from our table. Crab cakes, Caesar salad, beef Wellington and the pork chop were amazing. The dessert was elegantly displayed was was was an excellent finish to a perfect night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

This is by far the best cuisine and atmosphere in the tri-state area (Iowa, Illinois, Wisconsin). Not inexpensive, but not exorbitant, either. Excellent chef, amazing desserts, exceptional experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We loved our experience at Goldmoor! We went there on New Years Day with our friends - a double date - and had a fantastic time and a fantastic meal. We did not stay at the Goldmoor Inn, but the owners greeted us when we arrived and were incredible friendly and warm. Our waitress was efficient and knowledgeable and again, very warm. The location was beautiful and certainly worth the drive out. Highlights were the Beef Wellington (which we all agreed was to die for) and the Roasted Chicken. Next time we will have to stay there at the Inn and experience the breakfast as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Authentic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

New Years Dinner
My husband and I are truly happy and pleased with the Goldmoore. Our server, Chris such a sweet and professional person. Food was amazing, service was amazing and the place was beautiful! Thank you for the great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This restaurant is the BEST in Galena, Il . It is a very romantic setting. The dining area has about 10 tables. The food is so good. They served a complimentary appetizer that was smoked salmon on fennel and topped with mint.... wonderful!!!
I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience at the Goldmoor Inn. Everyone was so friendly, the food was amazing, and everything perfectly timed. We were introduced to the chef before we left and gave him our compliments as well as kudos to his wife who is the pastry chef. It is definitely a place we look forward to going to again.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Stunning location; beautifully appointed dining area; excellent service; fabulous food.

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We took friends with us who had never been there before. Exceptional food, the owners came to the table to say hi and make sure everything was to our liking. Our server was very attentive and did an excellent job. Planning a return trip!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 23, 2016

While the food was very good, we were disappointed because there were 2 large parties ahead of us and they ran out of the beef wellington which is their most recommended dish. Just disappointing when we made the reservations in late July for October...

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Wonderful experience. Well worth the drive. The server was very attentive. The owners greet you personally and make you feel special. Food is spectacular. We will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Terrific location for a gathering of friends. Great food with a beautiful view. We really enjoyed our time at the Goldmoor.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

10 Year anniversary dinner and it was very nice. We were the only ones in the place when we got there which made it very quiet and quaint. The service is fantastic. The building is beautiful. Unfortunately it was dark during dinner but the view driving up was spectacular. Food was great and we will visit again when we are in Galena. It is off threaten path thats for sure. Driving in and out in the dark and never being there was a little nerve-wracking since its very hilly and curvy. Worth the drive though.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Beef Wellington had amazingly tender beef and wonderful pastry. Every morsel of food was special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We decided on celebrating our anniversary dinner here because we had a wonderful meal during a previous visit to Galena. The food and atmosphere were just as we remembered, but the service was painfully slow. We heard multiple times how "crazy" busy the restaurant was (it was full) and the staff was working hard, but it took 90 minutes for our entrees to be served. We were provided a free dessert, but that also took 20 minutes to arrive. We often sat with empty water glasses and dirty plates in front of us. I hope this was a fluke, because this restaurant has potential.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

After booking a reservation through open table had to wait 20 minutes to be seated. People were passing by and looks like no one cared. Even though we had an overnight stay there.

There was only one waiter to serve at least six tables. The waitress was rude and unprofessional. I ordered a salad and salmon for the main dish. Salad turned out just ok and salmon was overcooked and spicy.

They make me feel like they didn't care about us being present there. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Lovely atmosphere, friendly efficient service, well prepared delicious food,beef Wellington was outstanding

Tags: Private Room, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Goldmoor is a secret to so many who come or live in galena
It is a must go to anywhere. In Galena is a top one experience

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2016

What a wonderful, beautiful building! Lovely within as well. The food was delectable and the view of the sunset was spectacular! Everyone should go at least once!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The Goldmoor Inn does not disappoint!!! It is a lovely and charming European Inn with small cottages over looking the Mississippi. The restaurant is wonderful! The owners greeted us and chatted with us for a little bit... very nice people. The food was very good from the appetizers to the dessert! Especially wonderful was the view during sunset.... spectacular! If you are going to Galena , please put this on your list for dining!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent, the best food and restaurant my wife and have been to - it's a little "out-of-the-way" but well worth the journey. A true gem !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2016

My wife and I had the 2 special dishes of the day. The shrimp jambalaya and rib eye steak. The dishes were outstanding. We also enjoyed the appetizer and dessert. All around the food and service were five stars. It is a very romantic and scenic location. We will be returning to Goldmoor Inn again and bring friends

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We spent our very special 43rd wedding anniversary at the Goldmoor Inn and we stayed in a lovely suite. We dined in their intimate dining room that evening. Our only complaint (and it is really not a complaint) was that it took an hour for our food to be served from the time we ordered. The food was definitely worth waiting for.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Beautiful view from every table. Attentive wait staff and service. Good selection on menu, food delicious and lovely presentation. Owner visited every table and diner, most gracious and sincere. The owner even took us back to the kitchen and to meet the chef. CLEAN food preparation areas! The Inn offers special dining for very small group of customers, pre-reserved to dine in the kitchen and observe food preparation and the opportunity to ask the chef questions. Very nice elevated and clothed table and regal chairs to sit in and dine while observing. Would be a 'foodies' delight. Quite unique!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was excellent, perfect place for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Outstanding. Best dining experience ever. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Quaint off the beaten path -even for Galena- restaurant within an Inn. Intimate setting, friendly enthusiastic service and unique flavorful choices. Worth the drive outside of the business of downtown Galena.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were a bit turned off by the lady at the front desk when we walked in. She announced to everyone that came in that we were early for our reservation. We quickly forgot about that for the night, however, once we were seated. The owner is an incredible host. Although short-staffed, it didn't effect the superb service. The food was phenomenal and worth every penny. The atmosphere and view is incomparable. There is no such thing as a bad table at this establishment. Highly recommended and we will go back again!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Treat you like royalty. Talkative owner/host, heavy German accent. Misinformed when asked about veggie side dish, didn't seem to know what was in it. Said it had bell peppers, some other things, and some asparagus spears. It actually contained zucchini, yellow squash and carrots. Veggies were actually very good, since they were not overcooked. Roasted potatoes and potato gratin were also very good. Herb roasted half chicken good. Steak tagliata very tasty but underdone on some slices and medium well on others. I would order it again though. Leave the underdone slices to take home as leftovers for next day. Wine selections are sufficient but not all of them are available by the glass. Cocktails were above average. The bread pudding with shaved chocolate bits ala mode was a knockout! Very creamy and tasty. The view of the Mississippi River and the trains that run along the river an the bluffs on the Iowa side, and the wildlife right outside our window is great. [Make sure you ask for a table in the main dining room.] This is a very special destination for dinner in the Galena area. I don't recommend bringing children here. It is more for adults.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Good food, good service, nice views. But the seating was uncomfortable - when we sat in a booth the backs were very stiff, no incline, and little padding. When we had breakfast the next day at a table the chairs were uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Rude treatment by new owners. Major disappointment as this used to be a lovely place for a delicious dinner. Shortly after being seated to celebrate our anniversary dinner, the owner told us service was slow that evening and that we would be better off leaving! Terrible customer service with no attempt to make it up to us or induce us to return. How about offering complimentary drinks, a future free meal, something, anything? I fear for the future of this once great place when it seems so easy for the owner to treat guests like they are an inconvenience. Avoid this place unless you hear it is under new ownership in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Beautiful view and very romantic ambiance. Excellent food and service. Friendly and accomodating staff. Outstanding in every way. You will not be disappointed. Five stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2016

My wife and I dined here for our anniversary while staying at the inn. We enjoyed the scenic view from our table next to the window and the background music was quiet enough that we could converse easily. The Sicilian flatbread appetizer was fantastic and we both opted for the blackened salmon entre. All of this was prepared perfectly and tasted great with the Stags Leap Chardonnay. A little pricey, but all in all a delicious meal and a very enjoyable dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2016

The service was friendly and cordial, attentive, not intrusive. We were immediately greeted and offered our table, but relaxed a bit with friends in the bar before going to our private table area with gorgoeous views of the Mississippi River in a country setting. We had a wonderful meal, with our friends choosing from fish, beef and chicken. One person at our table mentioned how rarely one is served beef Wellington where both the beef and the crust are cooked to perfection - his was. This seems to be the season for tomato basil soup but I can say that the Goldmoor's chef served the tastiest I've ever eaten! Every potato dish was superb; salads and dressings fresh and tasty; and the desserts were amazing! I don't like to say amazing often, but they were. A ginger shortbread cookie was perfect with coffee ending a truly delicious dining experience. My only regret is that we were not staying the night...the Inn is charming, with expansive, tastefully decorated suites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was exquisite and the chef is extraordinary. We celebrated Mother's Day with my sister and my mom and we had a wonderful experience. The owner presented a rose to each of us and the view from our table was gorgeous overlooking the sunset.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.