About Goldmoor Restaurant

9001 Sand Hill Road
Galena, IL 60136
View Larger Map

We welcome our new Executive Chef Carlos Valdez; please join us for a new dining experience!
Recently received the prestigious 2015 Hall of Fame Certificate of Excellence from Tripadvisor.
Unmatched Old World decor, a diverse wine cellar, and premier personal service are all complemented by our chef"s creative cuisine. Enjoy dining in one of our cozy booths, elegant tables with breathtaking views overlooking the Mississippi River or our interactive Chef's Table.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday through Monday from 5pm to 10pm

Cross Street:
Blackjack Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(815) 777-3925

Website:
http://www.goldmoor.com/goldmoor-inn-restaurant.htm

Entertainment:
Occasional special events, variety entertainment.

Catering:
Customized catering menu per clients request.

Parking Details:
Ample parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
Dine at our chefs table, private dining room or Gazebo.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Goldmoor Restaurant
  • Goldmoor Restaurant
  • Goldmoor Restaurant
Goldmoor Restaurant
Goldmoor Restaurant
Goldmoor Restaurant

Goldmoor Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Chicago / Illinois
Romantic
Chicago / Illinois
Scenic View
Chicago / Illinois
3 More
Special Occasion
Chicago / Illinois
American
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Galena
Best Restaurants in Galena ›

scenic view (16)
special occasion (16)
romantic (15)
See All
fit for foodies (10)
notable wine list (5)
neighborhood gem (4)
good for groups (1)
Sort By:
Newest
295 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Quaint off the beaten path -even for Gal ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Quaint off the beaten path -even for Galena- restaurant within an Inn. Intimate setting, friendly enthusiastic service and unique flavorful choices. Worth the drive outside of the business of downtown Galena.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were a bit turned off by the lady at ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were a bit turned off by the lady at the front desk when we walked in. She announced to everyone that came in that we were early for our reservation. We quickly forgot about that for the night, however, once we were seated. The owner is an incredible host. Although short-staffed, it didn't effect the superb service. The food was phenomenal and worth every penny. The atmosphere and view is incomparable. There is no such thing as a bad table at this establishment. Highly recommended and we will go back again!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Treat you like royalty. Talkative owner ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Treat you like royalty. Talkative owner/host, heavy German accent. Misinformed when asked about veggie side dish, didn't seem to know what was in it. Said it had bell peppers, some other things, and some asparagus spears. It actually contained zucchini, yellow squash and carrots. Veggies were actually very good, since they were not overcooked. Roasted potatoes and potato gratin were also very good. Herb roasted half chicken good. Steak tagliata very tasty but underdone on some slices and medium well on others. I would order it again though. Leave the underdone slices to take home as leftovers for next day. Wine selections are sufficient but not all of them are available by the glass. Cocktails were above average. The bread pudding with shaved chocolate bits ala mode was a knockout! Very creamy and tasty. The view of the Mississippi River and the trains that run along the river an the bluffs on the Iowa side, and the wildlife right outside our window is great. [Make sure you ask for a table in the main dining room.] This is a very special destination for dinner in the Galena area. I don't recommend bringing children here. It is more for adults.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Good food, good service, nice views. Bu ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Good food, good service, nice views. But the seating was uncomfortable - when we sat in a booth the backs were very stiff, no incline, and little padding. When we had breakfast the next day at a table the chairs were uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Rude treatment by new owners. Major disa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Rude treatment by new owners. Major disappointment as this used to be a lovely place for a delicious dinner. Shortly after being seated to celebrate our anniversary dinner, the owner told us service was slow that evening and that we would be better off leaving! Terrible customer service with no attempt to make it up to us or induce us to return. How about offering complimentary drinks, a future free meal, something, anything? I fear for the future of this once great place when it seems so easy for the owner to treat guests like they are an inconvenience. Avoid this place unless you hear it is under new ownership in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

Beautiful view and very romantic ambianc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Beautiful view and very romantic ambiance. Excellent food and service. Friendly and accomodating staff. Outstanding in every way. You will not be disappointed. Five stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I dined here for our anniver ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My wife and I dined here for our anniversary while staying at the inn. We enjoyed the scenic view from our table next to the window and the background music was quiet enough that we could converse easily. The Sicilian flatbread appetizer was fantastic and we both opted for the blackened salmon entre. All of this was prepared perfectly and tasted great with the Stags Leap Chardonnay. A little pricey, but all in all a delicious meal and a very enjoyable dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was friendly and cordial, at ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The service was friendly and cordial, attentive, not intrusive. We were immediately greeted and offered our table, but relaxed a bit with friends in the bar before going to our private table area with gorgoeous views of the Mississippi River in a country setting. We had a wonderful meal, with our friends choosing from fish, beef and chicken. One person at our table mentioned how rarely one is served beef Wellington where both the beef and the crust are cooked to perfection - his was. This seems to be the season for tomato basil soup but I can say that the Goldmoor's chef served the tastiest I've ever eaten! Every potato dish was superb; salads and dressings fresh and tasty; and the desserts were amazing! I don't like to say amazing often, but they were. A ginger shortbread cookie was perfect with coffee ending a truly delicious dining experience. My only regret is that we were not staying the night...the Inn is charming, with expansive, tastefully decorated suites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional Experience

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was exquisite and the chef is extraordinary. We celebrated Mother's Day with my sister and my mom and we had a wonderful experience. The owner presented a rose to each of us and the view from our table was gorgeous overlooking the sunset.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The Fabulous Goldmoor.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

My friend and I dined at the Goldmoor recently. The food was amazing. We had the beef Wellington. The tenderloin melted in your mouth. They also serve hand crafted cocktails. Delicious! Service was impeccable. The owner even spent time chatting with us. We had a spectacular view of the Mississippi River as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant was outstanding. My wife ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This restaurant was outstanding. My wife and I spent the weekend at the Goldmoor and ate breakfast Saturday and Sunday in addition to dinner on Saturday evening in the restaurant. The food at all meals was exceptional. My wife and I both agree that the Beef Wellington was the best we have ever had. Chef Valdez is outstanding experienced chef. The owners Birgit and Slobo and all of the staff were very warm and welcoming. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, out of the way location

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The Goldmoor is off the beaten path, but worth the effort to get there. All aspects of our experience were outstanding. They have a relatively small menu, but something for everyone. If you are looking for a fine dining experience in the Galena area the Goldmoor would be the place to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and ambiance Beautiful pla ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Amazing food and ambiance

Beautiful place to stay and eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Will be going back

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Went here for our anniversary dinner. Would have stayed however they were booked for the dates I was looking, amazing food however. I will be taking my wife next year to stay here, the owner even came out and asked us how everything was going, the chef sent out some pickles that were amazing and both of our meals knocked out socks off.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The main course was excellent and the de ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The main course was excellent and the desert was grand. The sweet potato side with my meal was amazing and the bread pudding was the best I ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

EXCELLENT.

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I would come here over and over again to dine. It was the most romantic and classy place I have ever been, and it's right in our backyard from Dubuque. We were so thrilled, we are going to book this place for our wedding!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

We traveled to Galena for a weekend away to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We searched online for a restaurant to have a "nice" dinner. We found it! The inn keepers were friendly and informative. The entire property is beautiful. We were seated by a window and got see a gorgeous sunset over the ice and snow covered Mississippi River. Service was good and the food was delicious. We will definitely be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food is outstanding, and the service ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

The food is outstanding, and the service is unparalleled. This restaurant truly cannot be matched. It is a foodie's dream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Goldmoor is a gem!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

The Goldmoor is impeccable, from the ambiance to the service to the food. We highly recommend dining there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great find!!!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

My husband and I were staying at the Inn and had heard about the great food from friends and family. I had ordered salmon and my husband preferred steak. Both were presented nicely, cooked perfect and tasted delicious!!! Our waiter was attentive and had good recommendations. Our booth where we sat was private and faced the windows. The ambiance was very nice and romantic. The perfect end to the dinner was our apple strudel desert. We had breakfast in our room one morning, and it was a beautiful presentation and amazingly tasty too!!! Best restaurant in Galena!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Banquet hall food at gourmet prices.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

Banquet hall food at gourmet prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Pleasant Gem tucked away from the city

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

This restaurant has a great view in the setting sun. Most tables are next to external windows.

The service was very good and they give you quite enough time to eat and enjoy the ambiance. This is definitely a go-to place for a romantic dinner or special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointment

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 9, 2015

The ambiance and scenic view were wonderful, however, the service was painfully slow, and for the price, the food quality was mediocre at best. Our party of 4 ordered an entree each and shared two dessert orders for a total of nearly 3 hours spent at this restaurant. The Goldmoor came highly recommended, but we were not at all impressed.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Tried the restaurant since we were stayi ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

Tried the restaurant since we were staying at the resort and had a delicious dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Goldmore Outstanding

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 2, 2015

This restaurant is a gem out in the country with a beautiful view. From the very first greeting upon entering to leaving it is excellent. The waitress brought us a basket of rolls with lavender butter that was outstanding. For my entree I ordered the salmon that was done perfectly and very flavorable, my husband had the filet and he said the same. We had a wonderful Pinot Noir with dinner. The owner walked around talking to the customers, our waitress was perfect. You can not beat the ambiance of this restaurant. They have a beautiful bar room. It is small and lovely, well appointed as is the entire restaurant. The food is exceptional to say the least. Our waitress was very attentive as has always been in the past. They continue to excell.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Review for Men: In a word "Fabulous"

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2015

If you love your wife this is the place. Fabulous view, fabulous service, fabulous entrée's, and fabulous atmosphere for romantic evening. A special thanks to the owners, staff and waiter for accommodating my special "dessert" request and delivering the 20th anniversary ring with class and right on time. Thanks again. Definitely will return and recommend for anyone with a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

amazing

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

The most wonderful restaurant went for our anniversary and had a wonderful time

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 7, 2015

What a fabulous meal. The Goldmoor tops our list for fine dining in the Galena area! The view of the Mississippi River is stunning from every table. The service is impeccable and the ambiance is classic sophistication. The wine list is good and appetizers tasty and well portioned. All three of us had the Beef Wellington and it was superb. We will go back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very romantic place

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 12, 2015

My husband and I went there to celebrate to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. No one else was there so it was very quiet. We loved the décor, the service, the food and we even got to meet the owner which was really nice. They even gave us a free dessert since it was our anniversary. I love the look of the inn/restaurant. It looks castle like. The grounds and even the scenery is beautiful. I would love to stay there sometime! Very lovely place all around.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, long wait

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 28, 2015

The meals were very good. The Beef Wellington and the Salmon. My husband was wondering where the rest of his salmon was though. It was very small especially compared to my meal and the salmon I had had at another nearby restaurant the night before. The table was a little noisy, would have rather had a booth. The owner was very friendly but the people next to our table annoyingly loud, not the fault of the restaurant obviously. The meal took a very long time to come out but not as long as those next to us. They had come in just a few moments after us and when we left after having dessert they still hadn't gotten their food. We weren't in a hurry so it wasn't a big deal but it was noticeably a long wait time.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

We loved the service and the tour afterw ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 15, 2015

We loved the service and the tour afterwards. The appetizer and dessert were the best. My husband ordered his steak medium and is was well done. Mine was overcooked also but not as much as his. The potatoes were just ok. The veggie was great. We were disappointed that the brush was too high and we couldn't see the water from our table.

The peacefulness and beauty of the grounds makes it a very special place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

service was excellent, ambience great, k ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2015

service was excellent, ambience great, kitchen fell down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 5, 2015

Very clean and romantic setting with a great view of the Mississippi River. The staff was friendly and the food good. This is a high end/class restaurant so if you're looking for it to be inexpensive, it's not the place for you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kind of Disapointed

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 19, 2015

We went here for our anniversary dinner. The building and scenery were absolutely beautiful! Our server was nice, but we could tell he was new (had to come back to ask what kind of potatoes we wanted with our entree). To start, we ordered an appetizer and it took a really long time to come to our table. When we received our main entree, my husband had to send back his steak because it was very rare (ordered medium rare). We were excited to order dessert ( the waiter at another table talked about a chocolate volcano), but when we went to order we were informed they were out of it. It was very disappointing. The other negative factor was there was a wedding reception going on while we were eating and the wedding guests were rather loud and sometimes vulgar when in the bar area. That kind of ruined the romantic atmosphere of the restaurant. Overall it was a nice time and I'd like to give the place another chance.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Excellent food!! Very romantic!! Superb staff!!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 29, 2015

Walking into the Goldmoor, I wasn't sure what to expect after reading mixed reviews on trip advisor but the Goldmoor exceeded our expectations in every way!! The ambiance was extremely romantic as we sat in a quiet, candlelit booth overlooking the river. The waiter Adam was very friendly, sweet and attentive. The food was extraordinary and was served to us in a reasonable amount of time. After reading some prior reviews regarding long wait times for food , we were pleasantly surprised. The ambiance was very romantic and inviting. I thought it was a extra added touch that the owners stopped by our table to make sure everything was prepared to perfection and we were having a great experience, and we were! We had a very memorable evening at the Goldmoor and we'll definitely be back! Thank you Goldmoor staff, you did an outstanding job! Thank you!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite in Galena!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 28, 2015

Food, service and atmosphere always outstanding here. Personal attention from owner and chef. There are many fine restaurants in Galena and we have visited most of them. Goldmoor remains our favorite. Come and watch the sun set over the Mississippi River--gorgeous view.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I would give them another try

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 22, 2015

My 13 year old daughter and I chose the Goldmoor for a special dinner. We put on our Sunday best in anticipation of a very special evening. The server was pleasant and the house manager checked on us frequently. The food was very good, but we waited over an hour and fifteen minutes for the entrees. Good bread on holds you for so long.

Despite the long wait, I would give them another shot.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Wonderful experience!! Ambience was rela ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

Wonderful experience!! Ambience was relaxing and romantic, wait staff was very friendly, efficient and food was excellent!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great find

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Great experience overall. Train is a little closer than I would like but many people may not notice it. Our server was quite slow but it seemed that other tables received better service so I don't believe that all experiences would be the same as ours. Food was amazing filet was juicy and tender

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

we had a very nice time !!!!!!!! the foo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

we had a very nice time !!!!!!!! the food was great !!!!!!!!!!!! cottage was great ,love the hot tub,fireplace !!!!!!!!!and breckfast very good !!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.