Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.71mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 4.53mi
  4. Distance: 4.94mi
  1. Distance: 1.71mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 4.53mi
  4. Distance: 4.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.71mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 4.53mi
  4. Distance: 4.94mi
  1. Distance: 1.71mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 4.53mi
  4. Distance: 4.94mi

About Goldmoor Restaurant

We welcome our new Executive Chef Carlos Valdez; please join us for a new dining experience!
Recently received the prestigious 2015 Hall of Fame Certificate of Excellence from Tripadvisor.
Unmatched Old World decor, a diverse wine cellar, and premier personal service are all complemented by our chef"s creative cuisine. Enjoy dining in one of our cozy booths, elegant tables with breathtaking views overlooking the Mississippi River or our interactive Chef's Table.

9001 Sand Hill Road
Galena, IL 60136
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday through Monday from 5pm to 10pm

Cross Street:
Blackjack Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(815) 777-3925

Website:
http://www.goldmoor.com/goldmoor-inn-restaurant.htm

Entertainment:
Occasional special events, variety entertainment.

Catering:
Customized catering menu per clients request.

Parking Details:
Ample parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
Dine at our chefs table, private dining room or Gazebo.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Goldmoor Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

5.0

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for a Date (12)
See All
Scenic View (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Cozy (6)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Authentic (3)
Private Room (3)
Historic (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fun (2)
Waterfront (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Business Meals (2)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
348 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was beautifully presented and prepared. We have eaten there twice and were not disappointed

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

The owner came several times to the table and was very gracious. The server at first was not very attentive. She screwed up our drink order. Mind you we were the only table in the restaurant. Food was delicious although the soup was not very hot, yet still good. Beef Wellington was more Medium plus, we ordered Medium Rare. Also, the seat I was on had little support and needs repair. This place has potential and could be great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We stayed at the Goldmoor Inn for an anniversary. We ate in the dining room that evening. It is a small and very personal environment. The Beef Wellington was every bit as good as others have reported. Don't miss it! Watching the sunset over the Mississippi from our table was a special treat.
We also had breakfast and once again, everything was perfect, from the coffee to the Hollandaise sauce on the eggs benedict.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing. The chef used local ingredients to create such tasteful and filling dishes! The steak and salmon were amazing. He even catered to my food allergies. My husband and I would highly recommend this place!

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The building is magnificent when you pull up. Looks like a German castle. The grounds are very charming and well groomed. We were greeted by the owners. They are warm and inviting. We had a beautiful booth that looked out over the grounds and views of the Mississippi River. We had a bottle of wine and the food was excellent. The Beef Wellington was a culinary delight. Our server Chris was very attentive. I would go back again and again.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Exceeded expectations no complaints amazing food outstanding service unique environment

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great quaint place off the beaten path. Service was great and the food was phenomenal and fresh. Seasonal menu had great options for foodies and picky eaters alike. Really great overall experience and would definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The owners are wonderful, the ambiance great. Our only disappointment is the quality of the service, you seem to be severely understaffed. You had 1 waitress who also acted as bus boy and bar tender. The table next to us asked for a Moscow Mule and she did not know how to make it...a very popular drink.
When you charge the prices you charge the service and quality of the food should be much better. You should not have to wait an hour and a half for dinner.
The waitress was great, just way too much on her plate.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We couldn't have found a better place to celebrate our 50th anniversary. Food was beautifully prepared and staff was delightful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Wonderful and relaxing experience. So very pleased with the Goldmoor Inn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This was my second visit to the Goldmoor Inn. The food is exceptional. The owners are so personable. It is 2300 miles from where I live and I truly hope that I get to come back again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We had an outstanding meal and excellent service. The accommodations and the chef's selections were perfect. I highly recommend this venue. Don't miss the chef's table!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food and service were fantastic! Our new go to place in Galena.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We found the meal served here to be one of the best we have ever had. The Beef Wellington was superb. The salmon could not have been prepared better. We will be back and consider doing a chef's kitchen.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This restaurant was wonderful. From the moment we walked in we were treated well. The food was delicious and well-presented and the server was attentive and professional. It was a great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Lovely, out of the way restaurant. The owners were quite friendly and gave us some interesting background on how they came to own the restaurant. The menu was a little limited but the pork chop and salmon meals that my wife and I had were delicious. The wine list was also a little limited but we had a great bottle of Zinfindal Grgrich 2011. My wife and I had a wonderful date night at the Goldmoor but I would re-think the overhead music. I enjoy blues music but it did not fit this setting and it was a little loud. Would have fit in a bar much better. Maybe some nice jazz would work better.

Tags: Private Room, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Goldmoor has been wonderful each time my wife and I have dined here. Beef Wellington a real treat. If you go to Galena you should dine here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Could. Not have asked for a better night out. The atmosphere was enchanting from the red cardinal and lighted Christmas tree to the amazing sunset and that was only the view from our table. Crab cakes, Caesar salad, beef Wellington and the pork chop were amazing. The dessert was elegantly displayed was was was an excellent finish to a perfect night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

This is by far the best cuisine and atmosphere in the tri-state area (Iowa, Illinois, Wisconsin). Not inexpensive, but not exorbitant, either. Excellent chef, amazing desserts, exceptional experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We loved our experience at Goldmoor! We went there on New Years Day with our friends - a double date - and had a fantastic time and a fantastic meal. We did not stay at the Goldmoor Inn, but the owners greeted us when we arrived and were incredible friendly and warm. Our waitress was efficient and knowledgeable and again, very warm. The location was beautiful and certainly worth the drive out. Highlights were the Beef Wellington (which we all agreed was to die for) and the Roasted Chicken. Next time we will have to stay there at the Inn and experience the breakfast as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Authentic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

New Years Dinner
My husband and I are truly happy and pleased with the Goldmoore. Our server, Chris such a sweet and professional person. Food was amazing, service was amazing and the place was beautiful! Thank you for the great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This restaurant is the BEST in Galena, Il . It is a very romantic setting. The dining area has about 10 tables. The food is so good. They served a complimentary appetizer that was smoked salmon on fennel and topped with mint.... wonderful!!!
I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience at the Goldmoor Inn. Everyone was so friendly, the food was amazing, and everything perfectly timed. We were introduced to the chef before we left and gave him our compliments as well as kudos to his wife who is the pastry chef. It is definitely a place we look forward to going to again.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Stunning location; beautifully appointed dining area; excellent service; fabulous food.

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We took friends with us who had never been there before. Exceptional food, the owners came to the table to say hi and make sure everything was to our liking. Our server was very attentive and did an excellent job. Planning a return trip!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 23, 2016

While the food was very good, we were disappointed because there were 2 large parties ahead of us and they ran out of the beef wellington which is their most recommended dish. Just disappointing when we made the reservations in late July for October...

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Wonderful experience. Well worth the drive. The server was very attentive. The owners greet you personally and make you feel special. Food is spectacular. We will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Terrific location for a gathering of friends. Great food with a beautiful view. We really enjoyed our time at the Goldmoor.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

10 Year anniversary dinner and it was very nice. We were the only ones in the place when we got there which made it very quiet and quaint. The service is fantastic. The building is beautiful. Unfortunately it was dark during dinner but the view driving up was spectacular. Food was great and we will visit again when we are in Galena. It is off threaten path thats for sure. Driving in and out in the dark and never being there was a little nerve-wracking since its very hilly and curvy. Worth the drive though.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Beef Wellington had amazingly tender beef and wonderful pastry. Every morsel of food was special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We decided on celebrating our anniversary dinner here because we had a wonderful meal during a previous visit to Galena. The food and atmosphere were just as we remembered, but the service was painfully slow. We heard multiple times how "crazy" busy the restaurant was (it was full) and the staff was working hard, but it took 90 minutes for our entrees to be served. We were provided a free dessert, but that also took 20 minutes to arrive. We often sat with empty water glasses and dirty plates in front of us. I hope this was a fluke, because this restaurant has potential.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

After booking a reservation through open table had to wait 20 minutes to be seated. People were passing by and looks like no one cared. Even though we had an overnight stay there.

There was only one waiter to serve at least six tables. The waitress was rude and unprofessional. I ordered a salad and salmon for the main dish. Salad turned out just ok and salmon was overcooked and spicy.

They make me feel like they didn't care about us being present there. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Lovely atmosphere, friendly efficient service, well prepared delicious food,beef Wellington was outstanding

Tags: Private Room, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Goldmoor is a secret to so many who come or live in galena
It is a must go to anywhere. In Galena is a top one experience

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2016

What a wonderful, beautiful building! Lovely within as well. The food was delectable and the view of the sunset was spectacular! Everyone should go at least once!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The Goldmoor Inn does not disappoint!!! It is a lovely and charming European Inn with small cottages over looking the Mississippi. The restaurant is wonderful! The owners greeted us and chatted with us for a little bit... very nice people. The food was very good from the appetizers to the dessert! Especially wonderful was the view during sunset.... spectacular! If you are going to Galena , please put this on your list for dining!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent, the best food and restaurant my wife and have been to - it's a little "out-of-the-way" but well worth the journey. A true gem !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2016

My wife and I had the 2 special dishes of the day. The shrimp jambalaya and rib eye steak. The dishes were outstanding. We also enjoyed the appetizer and dessert. All around the food and service were five stars. It is a very romantic and scenic location. We will be returning to Goldmoor Inn again and bring friends

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We spent our very special 43rd wedding anniversary at the Goldmoor Inn and we stayed in a lovely suite. We dined in their intimate dining room that evening. Our only complaint (and it is really not a complaint) was that it took an hour for our food to be served from the time we ordered. The food was definitely worth waiting for.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Beautiful view from every table. Attentive wait staff and service. Good selection on menu, food delicious and lovely presentation. Owner visited every table and diner, most gracious and sincere. The owner even took us back to the kitchen and to meet the chef. CLEAN food preparation areas! The Inn offers special dining for very small group of customers, pre-reserved to dine in the kitchen and observe food preparation and the opportunity to ask the chef questions. Very nice elevated and clothed table and regal chairs to sit in and dine while observing. Would be a 'foodies' delight. Quite unique!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.