Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.71mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 4.53mi
  4. Distance: 4.94mi
  1. Distance: 1.71mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 4.53mi
  4. Distance: 4.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.71mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 4.53mi
  4. Distance: 4.94mi
  1. Distance: 1.71mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 4.53mi
  4. Distance: 4.94mi

About Goldmoor Restaurant

We welcome our new Executive Chef Carlos Valdez; please join us for a new dining experience!
Recently received the prestigious 2015 Hall of Fame Certificate of Excellence from Tripadvisor.
Unmatched Old World decor, a diverse wine cellar, and premier personal service are all complemented by our chef"s creative cuisine. Enjoy dining in one of our cozy booths, elegant tables with breathtaking views overlooking the Mississippi River or our interactive Chef's Table.

9001 Sand Hill Road
Galena, IL 60136
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday through Monday from 5pm to 10pm

Cross Street:
Blackjack Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(815) 777-3925

Website:
http://www.goldmoor.com/goldmoor-inn-restaurant.htm

Entertainment:
Occasional special events, variety entertainment.

Catering:
Customized catering menu per clients request.

Parking Details:
Ample parking available.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Goldmoor Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

87% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Scenic View (15)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Romantic (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Special Occasion (9)
Cozy (9)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Fun (2)
Waterfront (2)
Authentic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Casual (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort by
S
385 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 11, 2017

We were recommended here by the owner of The Farmer’s Guesthouse. Food was amazing, atmosphere was calm, staff was super friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. We will be coming back again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Went to this restaurant based on reviews. The food was delicious!!! The best risotto I have ever had, the appetizer of scallops and bacon were outstanding. I highly recommend this restaurant. Quaint and wonderful food. On a date and the booth was nice and romantic, which I did request a booth based on pics I saw. Drove to Goldmoor at night, so could not appreciate the views. I will return for sure!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 5, 2017

This place was amazing and worth the drive! Beef Wellington cooked to perfection! I will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Amazing food!! Every bite was fantastic. We almost cancelled plans for next evening dinner just because we wanted to eat there again. Service superb.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

The Goldmoor was a beautiful place, service was excellent and food was good. I would recommend this facility again.

Downside: I did call in ahead of time to notify it was our anniversary; they did nothing different in honor of our anniversary.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 28, 2017

I stayed at the Goldmoor Inn for my wedding Anniversary and ate at the Goldmoor restaurant. The service was very good, the menu offers a good selection, the ambiance was nice and the food was excellent- we were pleasantly surprised. We ended up eating there both nights in town and enjoyed our meals including crab cakes, short ribs, chicken Marsala and Caesar salad. Highly recommend for a nice evening dinner in Galena.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We came into town for the weekend and tried several restaurants over our stay, and The Goldmoor was our favorite. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful (try the Blaum Hellfyre + Coke!), the steaks were top-notch, and the dessert was delicious (I had a soaked pear and it was incredible)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Even though this restaurant and resort is about 15 minutes out of Galenta, the drive was definitely worth it. The restaurant is beautiful and the views are lovely. We both decided to try the house specialty which was Beef Wellington. The steak was perfectly done to our satisfaction. The starters were terrific. My husband had the Trio of Bruschetta which was a very large portion of perfectly done crostini with three different toppings. I had the Southern crabcake served with the creole sauce. The desserts looked great but we just settled for ice cream as we were completely satiated with the dinner. The alcholic drinks were very generous. Our server was very attentive but did not bother us while we were chatting. We highly recommend this restaurant and loo forward to going back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 21, 2017

You won’t stumble across the Goldmoor unless someone sends you there, because it’s way out in the countryside of Galena. But oh my it’s worth the drive. Lovely bucolic setting, beautiful view of Mississippi River, county estate feel. We scored a table with a sunset view and watched the sun drop below the horizon - stunning. Those running the estate/hotel/restaurant were warm and welcoming and super attentive. Very comfy seating within a small number of tables makes this an intimate dining experience. After a glass of wine we moved on to a trio of bruschetta that were out of the ordinary and a highlight- balsamic fig and goat cheese, roasted pepper and white bean, salmon and capers. Yum! We had the pork chop and the beef Wellington, which is their signature dish and very well made. The beef was tender and perfectly cooked. Ample portions, we loved our meal and this place. Next time we will book a room!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2017

We have eaten at this wonderful restaurant many times and have NEVER been disappointed!
Great food, staff, atmosphere. Would highly recommend when visiting the Galena area or, also, worth a special trip:-)

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Loved it!!! Fabulous place to go, cant wait to go back, owners are wonderful!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2017

There was a large party on the night we dined at the restaurant. The servers were very nice however running around. Ambiance was a bit hectic and stressful.
I ordered the Cesar Salad and the menu did not indicated that it was not cut and tossed. I received large pieces of lettuce with a side of Cesar dressing. I do not like to cut up and toss my own Cesar Salad at a nice restaurant. I would of preferred to have the menu provide added information. The salad took a long time to arrive. The waitress apologized several times.
Our food was well prepared but it also took a long time. They charged us $8.00 to share the Beef Wellington. We had the braised pear for desert and that was excellent.
I did ask the hostess if they did anything special for birthdays as it was my husbands birthday that day. I additionally indicated this on the comments of the open table reservation. The hostess said she would take care of it and make sure his birthday was acknowledged. We did not receive any acknowledgement of my husbands birthday from any of the restaurant staff.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Beautiful location and wonderful food. This is a great place for a special event.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Anniversary Chef’s Table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We’ve been here a number of times and it seems to get better each time-like a fine wine that improves with age. The whole package is just outstanding. Even though the price points may be higher than other places in the Galena area, their food, service and ambiance still make this a good value. Beef Wellington is great. Our guests had the Halibut and Duck and both raved about them. Just a lovely evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Have been to this restaurant several times before and it was always very good. However, this last visit was not up to par. We had a larger group (7 women) and were seated in a private room. The room was pretty, the view was nice, too. This sounds like it would be great however, over time, it felt as though we were cut off from the rest of the restaurant in "no man's land". Service was very slow. The waitress seemed stressed. She did not ask anyone if they wanted drinks. A few at our table asked for coffee and it took a long time. Once we ordered, the salads came out quickly and then we waited. And waited. And waited. Close to an hour. The waitress was no where to be found-she may have stopped in twice over a 45 minute period. I finally got up to ask the woman at the front desk what was taking so long. Our dinners started coming out at that moment but the food was cold once served. The Hanger steak ordered medium rare was raw and 1 person opted to send it back. The other were too hungry and ate it as is.The risotto was undercooked as well. What was supposed to be a great dinner with friends turned out to be so much less than that!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

This was our first dining experience at The Goldmoor, but not our last. Everything about our evening was excellent--from being greeted at the front desk, to our wonderful waitress Ashley, to the owners stopping by to make certain all was well. All the staff was warm and friendly. And the spectacular views and sunset! The food was delicious and the presentation very nice. My husband ordered the special of the evening, a filet mignon, and I ordered the bone-in chicken breast with asparagus and French lentils.

The Goldmoor is a hidden gem and definitely worth the drive if you are visiting or staying in Galena or the Galena Territory.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Been going for years and a little disappointed in food this time. Wish they update some menu options. Still would go back but I think it was better 6 years ago. People and service are great.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Highly recommended for romantic evening or celebration. Service is impeccable. Food superb. Ambiance and scenic views are just lovely. We will return again, as we already have. Our go to place for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food was good, I think the main entree should include a soup or salad not have it as an $8 add... I also don't agree with $12.50 for a mixed drink. It was a date night for my wife and I, but I didn't anticipate spending $ 152 plus the tip.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Halibut was fabulous, only second to the perfect martini. A wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Fantastic food, high quality ingredients prepared with attention to detail. Save room for dessert! Staff is warm and personable, we left feeling welcome and appreciated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The menu is limited, but the quality is top notch. Service is also excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 20, 2017

We hadn't been back to The Goldmoor for quite a while. We will be returning soon.
The chef really knows how to cook. The food was as good as any of the great restaurants found in Chicago or any big city where we've eaten. The ambiance and friendly staff added to a truly enjoyable evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vegan, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

First time at this gem outside Galena. Pleasantly surprised that it was all our table acquaintance told us it would be. Great waitress, new chef was great. The scenic view was splendid!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Overall experience at the inn and restaurant was top notch. Friendly, courteous, and a great dining menu. Top notch!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 26, 2017

This was a lovely spot to enjoy our anniversary dinner. The view was spectacular, and although we ate inside, the manager announced that the sun would be setting soon and invited everyone to go outside for a better view of it. The service was excellent and so was the food. I highly recommend the Goldmoor for a romantic night out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Unique and beautiful setting overlooking the Mississippi and rolling hills of northwest IL. Fabulous food and incredibly efficient wait staff. The owner's personal welcome a nice touch.
Definitely a special occasion spot with a peaceful ambiance.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 26, 2017

A true gem in the quarry of this mining town Galena. The Goldmoor Inn is in the country about 6 miles from downtown. The town is rich with history and fortunate to have this well established B & B Inn to represent the best of the town. The resident owners are all hands on daily. They will meet almost any special request within reason. A wonderful experience. Superb is the word that comes to mind!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on June 25, 2017

We have been traveling to Galena for 30 years and did not know about this hidden treasure. Everything was perfect, the food outstanding. We thought we were in the wrong place at first because you pull up to a small chalet looking building with no signage. Small, quaint overlooking the Mississippi. A must for any occasion. We will be back and have referred many since our dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Wonderful dinner with beautiful views. They were understaffed, but are waitress made up for it by hustling and virtually doing everything by herself.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Romantic place to have dinner. We watch the sun set over the Mississippi River. The food and service was superb.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was out of this world. It was the best!!!! When I called they were busy that night and were completely full. I was lucky there was a cancellation at 9 PM I didn't care that I had to wait until 9 PM for dinner, I usually eat around 6 PM but the wait was worth it ! I got the creme brûlée as my dessert and it would literally melt in your mouth. The oven roasted chicken breast was juicy and with a lot of flavor. If I could I will be dining here everyday, you have to try it you won't be dissapointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Absolutely impressive! My husband and I went for our 10 year Anniversary and were blown away by the flavors of the food. The Beef Wellington was indescribably delicious. We will not wait another 10 years to enjoy this restaurant!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Very disappointing. Told staff it was our anniversary and was not even offered an anniversary drink-flower-or dessert. They did not make our special day happy or special! Was told that Caesar salad was large enough to share and it came barely large enough for 1 person. Waitress was just adequate, she said she would tell the chef but never came back with a reply. My beef Wellington was delicious. Husband's pork chop overdone, he was never asked how to prepare it. Was told it was a new chef and the prior one left problems that they were hoping were resolved? Excuse? Dessert menu very minuscule. (How can there be no chocolate???) Food overpriced for the quality. So sad to say that we will not be going back! Such a shame because the area is beautiful!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Beautiful place and wonderful food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Everything was beautifully presented and prepared. We have eaten there twice and were not disappointed

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The owner came several times to the table and was very gracious. The server at first was not very attentive. She screwed up our drink order. Mind you we were the only table in the restaurant. Food was delicious although the soup was not very hot, yet still good. Beef Wellington was more Medium plus, we ordered Medium Rare. Also, the seat I was on had little support and needs repair. This place has potential and could be great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We loved The Goldmoor Inn. The setting is beautiful and serene, and the owners and waitstaff did everything possible to make us feel welcome and comfortable. They allowed us to dine at a very slow pace, not rushing anything along the way, since that was our request. The food was delicious. The only thing that might have made the special occasion (my sister's 50th birthday) more special is if the restaurant had offered a complimentary dessert or some special treat for such an occasion -- especially because I had called twice to discuss that it was indeed a special occasion. We did order a delicious dessert item, but we had to pay for it. So, I feel that, overall, we had the same experience we would have had were it not a special event ... but that experience was indeed very pleasant. One of the owners gave us a brief tour of part of the inn after our meal as well, and I would like to stay here sometime (we only dined this visit). I would recommend the restaurant at The Goldmoor Inn highly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We stayed at the Goldmoor Inn for an anniversary. We ate in the dining room that evening. It is a small and very personal environment. The Beef Wellington was every bit as good as others have reported. Don't miss it! Watching the sunset over the Mississippi from our table was a special treat.
We also had breakfast and once again, everything was perfect, from the coffee to the Hollandaise sauce on the eggs benedict.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.