About Goldmoor Restaurant

9001 Sand Hill Road
Galena, IL 60136
View Larger Map

We welcome our new Executive Chef Carlos Valdez; please join us for a new dining experience!
Recently received the prestigious 2015 Hall of Fame Certificate of Excellence from Tripadvisor.
Unmatched Old World decor, a diverse wine cellar, and premier personal service are all complemented by our chef"s creative cuisine. Enjoy dining in one of our cozy booths, elegant tables with breathtaking views overlooking the Mississippi River or our interactive Chef's Table.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday through Monday from 5pm to 10pm

Cross Street:
Blackjack Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(815) 777-3925

Website:
http://www.goldmoor.com/goldmoor-inn-restaurant.htm

Entertainment:
Occasional special events, variety entertainment.

Catering:
Customized catering menu per clients request.

Parking Details:
Ample parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
Dine at our chefs table, private dining room or Gazebo.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Goldmoor Restaurant, Galena, IL
  • Goldmoor Restaurant, Galena, IL
  • Goldmoor Restaurant, Galena, IL
Goldmoor Restaurant, Galena, IL
Goldmoor Restaurant, Galena, IL
Goldmoor Restaurant, Galena, IL

Goldmoor Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Chicago / Illinois
Scenic View
Chicago / Illinois
Special Occasion
Chicago / Illinois
Best Restaurants in Galena ›

Special Occasion (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Romantic (12)
See All
Scenic View (11)
Good for a Date (7)
Cozy (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Private Room (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Waterfront (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Historic (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Seasonal (2)
Authentic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
313 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We took friends with us who had never be ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We took friends with us who had never been there before. Exceptional food, the owners came to the table to say hi and make sure everything was to our liking. Our server was very attentive and did an excellent job. Planning a return trip!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the food was very good, we were di ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 23, 2016

While the food was very good, we were disappointed because there were 2 large parties ahead of us and they ran out of the beef wellington which is their most recommended dish. Just disappointing when we made the reservations in late July for October...

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful experience. Well worth the dr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Wonderful experience. Well worth the drive. The server was very attentive. The owners greet you personally and make you feel special. Food is spectacular. We will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific location for a gathering of fri ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Terrific location for a gathering of friends. Great food with a beautiful view. We really enjoyed our time at the Goldmoor.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

10 Year anniversary dinner and it was ve ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

10 Year anniversary dinner and it was very nice. We were the only ones in the place when we got there which made it very quiet and quaint. The service is fantastic. The building is beautiful. Unfortunately it was dark during dinner but the view driving up was spectacular. Food was great and we will visit again when we are in Galena. It is off threaten path thats for sure. Driving in and out in the dark and never being there was a little nerve-wracking since its very hilly and curvy. Worth the drive though.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beef Wellington had amazingly tender be ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Beef Wellington had amazingly tender beef and wonderful pastry. Every morsel of food was special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We decided on celebrating our anniversar ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We decided on celebrating our anniversary dinner here because we had a wonderful meal during a previous visit to Galena. The food and atmosphere were just as we remembered, but the service was painfully slow. We heard multiple times how "crazy" busy the restaurant was (it was full) and the staff was working hard, but it took 90 minutes for our entrees to be served. We were provided a free dessert, but that also took 20 minutes to arrive. We often sat with empty water glasses and dirty plates in front of us. I hope this was a fluke, because this restaurant has potential.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

After booking a reservation through open ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

After booking a reservation through open table had to wait 20 minutes to be seated. People were passing by and looks like no one cared. Even though we had an overnight stay there.

There was only one waiter to serve at least six tables. The waitress was rude and unprofessional. I ordered a salad and salmon for the main dish. Salad turned out just ok and salmon was overcooked and spicy.

They make me feel like they didn't care about us being present there. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Lovely atmosphere, friendly efficient s ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Lovely atmosphere, friendly efficient service, well prepared delicious food,beef Wellington was outstanding

Tags: Private Room, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Goldmoor is a secret to so many who come ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Goldmoor is a secret to so many who come or live in galena

It is a must go to anywhere. In Galena is a top one experience

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful, beautiful building! Lo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2016

What a wonderful, beautiful building! Lovely within as well. The food was delectable and the view of the sunset was spectacular! Everyone should go at least once!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Goldmoor Inn does not disappoint!!! ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The Goldmoor Inn does not disappoint!!! It is a lovely and charming European Inn with small cottages over looking the Mississippi. The restaurant is wonderful! The owners greeted us and chatted with us for a little bit... very nice people. The food was very good from the appetizers to the dessert! Especially wonderful was the view during sunset.... spectacular! If you are going to Galena , please put this on your list for dining!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent, the best food and restaurant ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent, the best food and restaurant my wife and have been to - it's a little "out-of-the-way" but well worth the journey. A true gem !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My wife and I had the 2 special dishes o ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2016

My wife and I had the 2 special dishes of the day. The shrimp jambalaya and rib eye steak. The dishes were outstanding. We also enjoyed the appetizer and dessert. All around the food and service were five stars. It is a very romantic and scenic location. We will be returning to Goldmoor Inn again and bring friends

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We spent our very special 43rd wedding a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We spent our very special 43rd wedding anniversary at the Goldmoor Inn and we stayed in a lovely suite. We dined in their intimate dining room that evening. Our only complaint (and it is really not a complaint) was that it took an hour for our food to be served from the time we ordered. The food was definitely worth waiting for.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful view from every table. Attent ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Beautiful view from every table. Attentive wait staff and service. Good selection on menu, food delicious and lovely presentation. Owner visited every table and diner, most gracious and sincere. The owner even took us back to the kitchen and to meet the chef. CLEAN food preparation areas! The Inn offers special dining for very small group of customers, pre-reserved to dine in the kitchen and observe food preparation and the opportunity to ask the chef questions. Very nice elevated and clothed table and regal chairs to sit in and dine while observing. Would be a 'foodies' delight. Quite unique!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, perfect place for a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was excellent, perfect place for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding. Best dining experience eve ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Outstanding. Best dining experience ever. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quaint off the beaten path -even for Gal ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Quaint off the beaten path -even for Galena- restaurant within an Inn. Intimate setting, friendly enthusiastic service and unique flavorful choices. Worth the drive outside of the business of downtown Galena.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were a bit turned off by the lady at ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were a bit turned off by the lady at the front desk when we walked in. She announced to everyone that came in that we were early for our reservation. We quickly forgot about that for the night, however, once we were seated. The owner is an incredible host. Although short-staffed, it didn't effect the superb service. The food was phenomenal and worth every penny. The atmosphere and view is incomparable. There is no such thing as a bad table at this establishment. Highly recommended and we will go back again!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Treat you like royalty. Talkative owner ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Treat you like royalty. Talkative owner/host, heavy German accent. Misinformed when asked about veggie side dish, didn't seem to know what was in it. Said it had bell peppers, some other things, and some asparagus spears. It actually contained zucchini, yellow squash and carrots. Veggies were actually very good, since they were not overcooked. Roasted potatoes and potato gratin were also very good. Herb roasted half chicken good. Steak tagliata very tasty but underdone on some slices and medium well on others. I would order it again though. Leave the underdone slices to take home as leftovers for next day. Wine selections are sufficient but not all of them are available by the glass. Cocktails were above average. The bread pudding with shaved chocolate bits ala mode was a knockout! Very creamy and tasty. The view of the Mississippi River and the trains that run along the river an the bluffs on the Iowa side, and the wildlife right outside our window is great. [Make sure you ask for a table in the main dining room.] This is a very special destination for dinner in the Galena area. I don't recommend bringing children here. It is more for adults.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Good food, good service, nice views. Bu ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Good food, good service, nice views. But the seating was uncomfortable - when we sat in a booth the backs were very stiff, no incline, and little padding. When we had breakfast the next day at a table the chairs were uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Rude treatment by new owners. Major disa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Rude treatment by new owners. Major disappointment as this used to be a lovely place for a delicious dinner. Shortly after being seated to celebrate our anniversary dinner, the owner told us service was slow that evening and that we would be better off leaving! Terrible customer service with no attempt to make it up to us or induce us to return. How about offering complimentary drinks, a future free meal, something, anything? I fear for the future of this once great place when it seems so easy for the owner to treat guests like they are an inconvenience. Avoid this place unless you hear it is under new ownership in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

Beautiful view and very romantic ambianc ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Beautiful view and very romantic ambiance. Excellent food and service. Friendly and accomodating staff. Outstanding in every way. You will not be disappointed. Five stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I dined here for our anniver ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2016

My wife and I dined here for our anniversary while staying at the inn. We enjoyed the scenic view from our table next to the window and the background music was quiet enough that we could converse easily. The Sicilian flatbread appetizer was fantastic and we both opted for the blackened salmon entre. All of this was prepared perfectly and tasted great with the Stags Leap Chardonnay. A little pricey, but all in all a delicious meal and a very enjoyable dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was friendly and cordial, at ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2016

The service was friendly and cordial, attentive, not intrusive. We were immediately greeted and offered our table, but relaxed a bit with friends in the bar before going to our private table area with gorgoeous views of the Mississippi River in a country setting. We had a wonderful meal, with our friends choosing from fish, beef and chicken. One person at our table mentioned how rarely one is served beef Wellington where both the beef and the crust are cooked to perfection - his was. This seems to be the season for tomato basil soup but I can say that the Goldmoor's chef served the tastiest I've ever eaten! Every potato dish was superb; salads and dressings fresh and tasty; and the desserts were amazing! I don't like to say amazing often, but they were. A ginger shortbread cookie was perfect with coffee ending a truly delicious dining experience. My only regret is that we were not staying the night...the Inn is charming, with expansive, tastefully decorated suites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional Experience

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was exquisite and the chef is extraordinary. We celebrated Mother's Day with my sister and my mom and we had a wonderful experience. The owner presented a rose to each of us and the view from our table was gorgeous overlooking the sunset.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The Fabulous Goldmoor.

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 5, 2016

My friend and I dined at the Goldmoor recently. The food was amazing. We had the beef Wellington. The tenderloin melted in your mouth. They also serve hand crafted cocktails. Delicious! Service was impeccable. The owner even spent time chatting with us. We had a spectacular view of the Mississippi River as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant was outstanding. My wife ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 1, 2016

This restaurant was outstanding. My wife and I spent the weekend at the Goldmoor and ate breakfast Saturday and Sunday in addition to dinner on Saturday evening in the restaurant. The food at all meals was exceptional. My wife and I both agree that the Beef Wellington was the best we have ever had. Chef Valdez is outstanding experienced chef. The owners Birgit and Slobo and all of the staff were very warm and welcoming. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, out of the way location

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 17, 2016

The Goldmoor is off the beaten path, but worth the effort to get there. All aspects of our experience were outstanding. They have a relatively small menu, but something for everyone. If you are looking for a fine dining experience in the Galena area the Goldmoor would be the place to go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and ambiance Beautiful pla ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 3, 2016

Amazing food and ambiance

Beautiful place to stay and eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Will be going back

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Went here for our anniversary dinner. Would have stayed however they were booked for the dates I was looking, amazing food however. I will be taking my wife next year to stay here, the owner even came out and asked us how everything was going, the chef sent out some pickles that were amazing and both of our meals knocked out socks off.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The main course was excellent and the de ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2016

The main course was excellent and the desert was grand. The sweet potato side with my meal was amazing and the bread pudding was the best I ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

EXCELLENT.

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 13, 2016

I would come here over and over again to dine. It was the most romantic and classy place I have ever been, and it's right in our backyard from Dubuque. We were so thrilled, we are going to book this place for our wedding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 23, 2016

We traveled to Galena for a weekend away to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We searched online for a restaurant to have a "nice" dinner. We found it! The inn keepers were friendly and informative. The entire property is beautiful. We were seated by a window and got see a gorgeous sunset over the ice and snow covered Mississippi River. Service was good and the food was delicious. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food is outstanding, and the service ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2016

The food is outstanding, and the service is unparalleled. This restaurant truly cannot be matched. It is a foodie's dream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Goldmoor is a gem!

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 31, 2015

The Goldmoor is impeccable, from the ambiance to the service to the food. We highly recommend dining there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great find!!!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 17, 2015

My husband and I were staying at the Inn and had heard about the great food from friends and family. I had ordered salmon and my husband preferred steak. Both were presented nicely, cooked perfect and tasted delicious!!! Our waiter was attentive and had good recommendations. Our booth where we sat was private and faced the windows. The ambiance was very nice and romantic. The perfect end to the dinner was our apple strudel desert. We had breakfast in our room one morning, and it was a beautiful presentation and amazingly tasty too!!! Best restaurant in Galena!!!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Banquet hall food at gourmet prices.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 11, 2015

Banquet hall food at gourmet prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Pleasant Gem tucked away from the city

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 10, 2015

This restaurant has a great view in the setting sun. Most tables are next to external windows.

The service was very good and they give you quite enough time to eat and enjoy the ambiance. This is definitely a go-to place for a romantic dinner or special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.