Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.71mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 4.53mi
  4. Distance: 4.94mi
  1. Distance: 1.71mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 4.53mi
  4. Distance: 4.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.71mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 4.53mi
  4. Distance: 4.94mi
  1. Distance: 1.71mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 4.53mi
  4. Distance: 4.94mi

About Goldmoor Restaurant

We welcome our new Executive Chef Carlos Valdez; please join us for a new dining experience!
Recently received the prestigious 2015 Hall of Fame Certificate of Excellence from Tripadvisor.
Unmatched Old World decor, a diverse wine cellar, and premier personal service are all complemented by our chef"s creative cuisine. Enjoy dining in one of our cozy booths, elegant tables with breathtaking views overlooking the Mississippi River or our interactive Chef's Table.

9001 Sand Hill Road
Galena, IL 60136
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday through Monday from 5pm to 10pm

Cross Street:
Blackjack Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(815) 777-3925

Website:
http://www.goldmoor.com/goldmoor-inn-restaurant.htm

Entertainment:
Occasional special events, variety entertainment.

Catering:
Customized catering menu per clients request.

Parking Details:
Ample parking available.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Goldmoor Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (20)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Romantic (16)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Cozy (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Business Meals (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Waterfront (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Authentic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
370 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Have been to this restaurant several times before and it was always very good. However, this last visit was not up to par. We had a larger group (7 women) and were seated in a private room. The room was pretty, the view was nice, too. This sounds like it would be great however, over time, it felt as though we were cut off from the rest of the restaurant in "no man's land". Service was very slow. The waitress seemed stressed. She did not ask anyone if they wanted drinks. A few at our table asked for coffee and it took a long time. Once we ordered, the salads came out quickly and then we waited. And waited. And waited. Close to an hour. The waitress was no where to be found-she may have stopped in twice over a 45 minute period. I finally got up to ask the woman at the front desk what was taking so long. Our dinners started coming out at that moment but the food was cold once served. The Hanger steak ordered medium rare was raw and 1 person opted to send it back. The other were too hungry and ate it as is.The risotto was undercooked as well. What was supposed to be a great dinner with friends turned out to be so much less than that!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

This was our first dining experience at The Goldmoor, but not our last. Everything about our evening was excellent--from being greeted at the front desk, to our wonderful waitress Ashley, to the owners stopping by to make certain all was well. All the staff was warm and friendly. And the spectacular views and sunset! The food was delicious and the presentation very nice. My husband ordered the special of the evening, a filet mignon, and I ordered the bone-in chicken breast with asparagus and French lentils.

The Goldmoor is a hidden gem and definitely worth the drive if you are visiting or staying in Galena or the Galena Territory.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Been going for years and a little disappointed in food this time. Wish they update some menu options. Still would go back but I think it was better 6 years ago. People and service are great.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Highly recommended for romantic evening or celebration. Service is impeccable. Food superb. Ambiance and scenic views are just lovely. We will return again, as we already have. Our go to place for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food was good, I think the main entree should include a soup or salad not have it as an $8 add... I also don't agree with $12.50 for a mixed drink. It was a date night for my wife and I, but I didn't anticipate spending $ 152 plus the tip.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Halibut was fabulous, only second to the perfect martini. A wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Fantastic food, high quality ingredients prepared with attention to detail. Save room for dessert! Staff is warm and personable, we left feeling welcome and appreciated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The menu is limited, but the quality is top notch. Service is also excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 20, 2017

We hadn't been back to The Goldmoor for quite a while. We will be returning soon.
The chef really knows how to cook. The food was as good as any of the great restaurants found in Chicago or any big city where we've eaten. The ambiance and friendly staff added to a truly enjoyable evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vegan, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

First time at this gem outside Galena. Pleasantly surprised that it was all our table acquaintance told us it would be. Great waitress, new chef was great. The scenic view was splendid!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Overall experience at the inn and restaurant was top notch. Friendly, courteous, and a great dining menu. Top notch!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 26, 2017

This was a lovely spot to enjoy our anniversary dinner. The view was spectacular, and although we ate inside, the manager announced that the sun would be setting soon and invited everyone to go outside for a better view of it. The service was excellent and so was the food. I highly recommend the Goldmoor for a romantic night out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Unique and beautiful setting overlooking the Mississippi and rolling hills of northwest IL. Fabulous food and incredibly efficient wait staff. The owner's personal welcome a nice touch.
Definitely a special occasion spot with a peaceful ambiance.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 26, 2017

A true gem in the quarry of this mining town Galena. The Goldmoor Inn is in the country about 6 miles from downtown. The town is rich with history and fortunate to have this well established B & B Inn to represent the best of the town. The resident owners are all hands on daily. They will meet almost any special request within reason. A wonderful experience. Superb is the word that comes to mind!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on June 25, 2017

We have been traveling to Galena for 30 years and did not know about this hidden treasure. Everything was perfect, the food outstanding. We thought we were in the wrong place at first because you pull up to a small chalet looking building with no signage. Small, quaint overlooking the Mississippi. A must for any occasion. We will be back and have referred many since our dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Wonderful dinner with beautiful views. They were understaffed, but are waitress made up for it by hustling and virtually doing everything by herself.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Romantic place to have dinner. We watch the sun set over the Mississippi River. The food and service was superb.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was out of this world. It was the best!!!! When I called they were busy that night and were completely full. I was lucky there was a cancellation at 9 PM I didn't care that I had to wait until 9 PM for dinner, I usually eat around 6 PM but the wait was worth it ! I got the creme brûlée as my dessert and it would literally melt in your mouth. The oven roasted chicken breast was juicy and with a lot of flavor. If I could I will be dining here everyday, you have to try it you won't be dissapointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Absolutely impressive! My husband and I went for our 10 year Anniversary and were blown away by the flavors of the food. The Beef Wellington was indescribably delicious. We will not wait another 10 years to enjoy this restaurant!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Very disappointing. Told staff it was our anniversary and was not even offered an anniversary drink-flower-or dessert. They did not make our special day happy or special! Was told that Caesar salad was large enough to share and it came barely large enough for 1 person. Waitress was just adequate, she said she would tell the chef but never came back with a reply. My beef Wellington was delicious. Husband's pork chop overdone, he was never asked how to prepare it. Was told it was a new chef and the prior one left problems that they were hoping were resolved? Excuse? Dessert menu very minuscule. (How can there be no chocolate???) Food overpriced for the quality. So sad to say that we will not be going back! Such a shame because the area is beautiful!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Beautiful place and wonderful food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Everything was beautifully presented and prepared. We have eaten there twice and were not disappointed

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The owner came several times to the table and was very gracious. The server at first was not very attentive. She screwed up our drink order. Mind you we were the only table in the restaurant. Food was delicious although the soup was not very hot, yet still good. Beef Wellington was more Medium plus, we ordered Medium Rare. Also, the seat I was on had little support and needs repair. This place has potential and could be great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We loved The Goldmoor Inn. The setting is beautiful and serene, and the owners and waitstaff did everything possible to make us feel welcome and comfortable. They allowed us to dine at a very slow pace, not rushing anything along the way, since that was our request. The food was delicious. The only thing that might have made the special occasion (my sister's 50th birthday) more special is if the restaurant had offered a complimentary dessert or some special treat for such an occasion -- especially because I had called twice to discuss that it was indeed a special occasion. We did order a delicious dessert item, but we had to pay for it. So, I feel that, overall, we had the same experience we would have had were it not a special event ... but that experience was indeed very pleasant. One of the owners gave us a brief tour of part of the inn after our meal as well, and I would like to stay here sometime (we only dined this visit). I would recommend the restaurant at The Goldmoor Inn highly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We stayed at the Goldmoor Inn for an anniversary. We ate in the dining room that evening. It is a small and very personal environment. The Beef Wellington was every bit as good as others have reported. Don't miss it! Watching the sunset over the Mississippi from our table was a special treat.
We also had breakfast and once again, everything was perfect, from the coffee to the Hollandaise sauce on the eggs benedict.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing. The chef used local ingredients to create such tasteful and filling dishes! The steak and salmon were amazing. He even catered to my food allergies. My husband and I would highly recommend this place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The building is magnificent when you pull up. Looks like a German castle. The grounds are very charming and well groomed. We were greeted by the owners. They are warm and inviting. We had a beautiful booth that looked out over the grounds and views of the Mississippi River. We had a bottle of wine and the food was excellent. The Beef Wellington was a culinary delight. Our server Chris was very attentive. I would go back again and again.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Exceeded expectations no complaints amazing food outstanding service unique environment

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great quaint place off the beaten path. Service was great and the food was phenomenal and fresh. Seasonal menu had great options for foodies and picky eaters alike. Really great overall experience and would definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The owners are wonderful, the ambiance great. Our only disappointment is the quality of the service, you seem to be severely understaffed. You had 1 waitress who also acted as bus boy and bar tender. The table next to us asked for a Moscow Mule and she did not know how to make it...a very popular drink.
When you charge the prices you charge the service and quality of the food should be much better. You should not have to wait an hour and a half for dinner.
The waitress was great, just way too much on her plate.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We couldn't have found a better place to celebrate our 50th anniversary. Food was beautifully prepared and staff was delightful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Wonderful and relaxing experience. So very pleased with the Goldmoor Inn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This was my second visit to the Goldmoor Inn. The food is exceptional. The owners are so personable. It is 2300 miles from where I live and I truly hope that I get to come back again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We had an outstanding meal and excellent service. The accommodations and the chef's selections were perfect. I highly recommend this venue. Don't miss the chef's table!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food and service were fantastic! Our new go to place in Galena.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We found the meal served here to be one of the best we have ever had. The Beef Wellington was superb. The salmon could not have been prepared better. We will be back and consider doing a chef's kitchen.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This restaurant was wonderful. From the moment we walked in we were treated well. The food was delicious and well-presented and the server was attentive and professional. It was a great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Lovely, out of the way restaurant. The owners were quite friendly and gave us some interesting background on how they came to own the restaurant. The menu was a little limited but the pork chop and salmon meals that my wife and I had were delicious. The wine list was also a little limited but we had a great bottle of Zinfindal Grgrich 2011. My wife and I had a wonderful date night at the Goldmoor but I would re-think the overhead music. I enjoy blues music but it did not fit this setting and it was a little loud. Would have fit in a bar much better. Maybe some nice jazz would work better.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Goldmoor has been wonderful each time my wife and I have dined here. Beef Wellington a real treat. If you go to Galena you should dine here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Could. Not have asked for a better night out. The atmosphere was enchanting from the red cardinal and lighted Christmas tree to the amazing sunset and that was only the view from our table. Crab cakes, Caesar salad, beef Wellington and the pork chop were amazing. The dessert was elegantly displayed was was was an excellent finish to a perfect night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.