About Goldmoor Restaurant

9001 Sand Hill Road
Galena, IL 60136
View Larger Map

We welcome our new Executive Chef Carlos Valdez; please join us for a new dining experience!
Recently received the prestigious 2015 Hall of Fame Certificate of Excellence from Tripadvisor.
Unmatched Old World decor, a diverse wine cellar, and premier personal service are all complemented by our chef"s creative cuisine. Enjoy dining in one of our cozy booths, elegant tables with breathtaking views overlooking the Mississippi River or our interactive Chef's Table.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday through Monday from 5pm to 10pm

Cross Street:
Blackjack Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(815) 777-3925

Website:
http://www.goldmoor.com/goldmoor-inn-restaurant.htm

Entertainment:
Occasional special events, variety entertainment.

Catering:
Customized catering menu per clients request.

Parking Details:
Ample parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
Dine at our chefs table, private dining room or Gazebo.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Goldmoor Restaurant
  • Goldmoor Restaurant
  • Goldmoor Restaurant
Goldmoor Restaurant
Goldmoor Restaurant
Goldmoor Restaurant

Goldmoor Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Chicago / Illinois
Scenic View
Chicago / Illinois
Special Occasion
Chicago / Illinois
2 More
American
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Galena
Best Restaurants in Galena ›

Special Occasion (20)
Romantic (18)
Scenic View (18)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Notable Wine List (7)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Waterfront (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Cozy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
Newest
303 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

What a wonderful, beautiful building! Lo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

What a wonderful, beautiful building! Lovely within as well. The food was delectable and the view of the sunset was spectacular! Everyone should go at least once!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Goldmoor Inn does not disappoint!!! ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The Goldmoor Inn does not disappoint!!! It is a lovely and charming European Inn with small cottages over looking the Mississippi. The restaurant is wonderful! The owners greeted us and chatted with us for a little bit... very nice people. The food was very good from the appetizers to the dessert! Especially wonderful was the view during sunset.... spectacular! If you are going to Galena , please put this on your list for dining!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent, the best food and restaurant ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent, the best food and restaurant my wife and have been to - it's a little "out-of-the-way" but well worth the journey. A true gem !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My wife and I had the 2 special dishes o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My wife and I had the 2 special dishes of the day. The shrimp jambalaya and rib eye steak. The dishes were outstanding. We also enjoyed the appetizer and dessert. All around the food and service were five stars. It is a very romantic and scenic location. We will be returning to Goldmoor Inn again and bring friends

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We spent our very special 43rd wedding a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We spent our very special 43rd wedding anniversary at the Goldmoor Inn and we stayed in a lovely suite. We dined in their intimate dining room that evening. Our only complaint (and it is really not a complaint) was that it took an hour for our food to be served from the time we ordered. The food was definitely worth waiting for.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful view from every table. Attent ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Beautiful view from every table. Attentive wait staff and service. Good selection on menu, food delicious and lovely presentation. Owner visited every table and diner, most gracious and sincere. The owner even took us back to the kitchen and to meet the chef. CLEAN food preparation areas! The Inn offers special dining for very small group of customers, pre-reserved to dine in the kitchen and observe food preparation and the opportunity to ask the chef questions. Very nice elevated and clothed table and regal chairs to sit in and dine while observing. Would be a 'foodies' delight. Quite unique!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, perfect place for a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was excellent, perfect place for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding. Best dining experience eve ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Outstanding. Best dining experience ever. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quaint off the beaten path -even for Gal ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Quaint off the beaten path -even for Galena- restaurant within an Inn. Intimate setting, friendly enthusiastic service and unique flavorful choices. Worth the drive outside of the business of downtown Galena.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were a bit turned off by the lady at ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were a bit turned off by the lady at the front desk when we walked in. She announced to everyone that came in that we were early for our reservation. We quickly forgot about that for the night, however, once we were seated. The owner is an incredible host. Although short-staffed, it didn't effect the superb service. The food was phenomenal and worth every penny. The atmosphere and view is incomparable. There is no such thing as a bad table at this establishment. Highly recommended and we will go back again!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Treat you like royalty. Talkative owner ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Treat you like royalty. Talkative owner/host, heavy German accent. Misinformed when asked about veggie side dish, didn't seem to know what was in it. Said it had bell peppers, some other things, and some asparagus spears. It actually contained zucchini, yellow squash and carrots. Veggies were actually very good, since they were not overcooked. Roasted potatoes and potato gratin were also very good. Herb roasted half chicken good. Steak tagliata very tasty but underdone on some slices and medium well on others. I would order it again though. Leave the underdone slices to take home as leftovers for next day. Wine selections are sufficient but not all of them are available by the glass. Cocktails were above average. The bread pudding with shaved chocolate bits ala mode was a knockout! Very creamy and tasty. The view of the Mississippi River and the trains that run along the river an the bluffs on the Iowa side, and the wildlife right outside our window is great. [Make sure you ask for a table in the main dining room.] This is a very special destination for dinner in the Galena area. I don't recommend bringing children here. It is more for adults.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Good food, good service, nice views. Bu ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Good food, good service, nice views. But the seating was uncomfortable - when we sat in a booth the backs were very stiff, no incline, and little padding. When we had breakfast the next day at a table the chairs were uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Rude treatment by new owners. Major disa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Rude treatment by new owners. Major disappointment as this used to be a lovely place for a delicious dinner. Shortly after being seated to celebrate our anniversary dinner, the owner told us service was slow that evening and that we would be better off leaving! Terrible customer service with no attempt to make it up to us or induce us to return. How about offering complimentary drinks, a future free meal, something, anything? I fear for the future of this once great place when it seems so easy for the owner to treat guests like they are an inconvenience. Avoid this place unless you hear it is under new ownership in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

Beautiful view and very romantic ambianc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Beautiful view and very romantic ambiance. Excellent food and service. Friendly and accomodating staff. Outstanding in every way. You will not be disappointed. Five stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I dined here for our anniver ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My wife and I dined here for our anniversary while staying at the inn. We enjoyed the scenic view from our table next to the window and the background music was quiet enough that we could converse easily. The Sicilian flatbread appetizer was fantastic and we both opted for the blackened salmon entre. All of this was prepared perfectly and tasted great with the Stags Leap Chardonnay. A little pricey, but all in all a delicious meal and a very enjoyable dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was friendly and cordial, at ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The service was friendly and cordial, attentive, not intrusive. We were immediately greeted and offered our table, but relaxed a bit with friends in the bar before going to our private table area with gorgoeous views of the Mississippi River in a country setting. We had a wonderful meal, with our friends choosing from fish, beef and chicken. One person at our table mentioned how rarely one is served beef Wellington where both the beef and the crust are cooked to perfection - his was. This seems to be the season for tomato basil soup but I can say that the Goldmoor's chef served the tastiest I've ever eaten! Every potato dish was superb; salads and dressings fresh and tasty; and the desserts were amazing! I don't like to say amazing often, but they were. A ginger shortbread cookie was perfect with coffee ending a truly delicious dining experience. My only regret is that we were not staying the night...the Inn is charming, with expansive, tastefully decorated suites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional Experience

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was exquisite and the chef is extraordinary. We celebrated Mother's Day with my sister and my mom and we had a wonderful experience. The owner presented a rose to each of us and the view from our table was gorgeous overlooking the sunset.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The Fabulous Goldmoor.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

My friend and I dined at the Goldmoor recently. The food was amazing. We had the beef Wellington. The tenderloin melted in your mouth. They also serve hand crafted cocktails. Delicious! Service was impeccable. The owner even spent time chatting with us. We had a spectacular view of the Mississippi River as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant was outstanding. My wife ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This restaurant was outstanding. My wife and I spent the weekend at the Goldmoor and ate breakfast Saturday and Sunday in addition to dinner on Saturday evening in the restaurant. The food at all meals was exceptional. My wife and I both agree that the Beef Wellington was the best we have ever had. Chef Valdez is outstanding experienced chef. The owners Birgit and Slobo and all of the staff were very warm and welcoming. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, out of the way location

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The Goldmoor is off the beaten path, but worth the effort to get there. All aspects of our experience were outstanding. They have a relatively small menu, but something for everyone. If you are looking for a fine dining experience in the Galena area the Goldmoor would be the place to go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and ambiance Beautiful pla ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Amazing food and ambiance

Beautiful place to stay and eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Will be going back

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Went here for our anniversary dinner. Would have stayed however they were booked for the dates I was looking, amazing food however. I will be taking my wife next year to stay here, the owner even came out and asked us how everything was going, the chef sent out some pickles that were amazing and both of our meals knocked out socks off.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The main course was excellent and the de ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The main course was excellent and the desert was grand. The sweet potato side with my meal was amazing and the bread pudding was the best I ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

EXCELLENT.

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I would come here over and over again to dine. It was the most romantic and classy place I have ever been, and it's right in our backyard from Dubuque. We were so thrilled, we are going to book this place for our wedding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

We traveled to Galena for a weekend away to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We searched online for a restaurant to have a "nice" dinner. We found it! The inn keepers were friendly and informative. The entire property is beautiful. We were seated by a window and got see a gorgeous sunset over the ice and snow covered Mississippi River. Service was good and the food was delicious. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food is outstanding, and the service ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

The food is outstanding, and the service is unparalleled. This restaurant truly cannot be matched. It is a foodie's dream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Goldmoor is a gem!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

The Goldmoor is impeccable, from the ambiance to the service to the food. We highly recommend dining there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great find!!!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

My husband and I were staying at the Inn and had heard about the great food from friends and family. I had ordered salmon and my husband preferred steak. Both were presented nicely, cooked perfect and tasted delicious!!! Our waiter was attentive and had good recommendations. Our booth where we sat was private and faced the windows. The ambiance was very nice and romantic. The perfect end to the dinner was our apple strudel desert. We had breakfast in our room one morning, and it was a beautiful presentation and amazingly tasty too!!! Best restaurant in Galena!!!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Banquet hall food at gourmet prices.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

Banquet hall food at gourmet prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Pleasant Gem tucked away from the city

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

This restaurant has a great view in the setting sun. Most tables are next to external windows.

The service was very good and they give you quite enough time to eat and enjoy the ambiance. This is definitely a go-to place for a romantic dinner or special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointment

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 9, 2015

The ambiance and scenic view were wonderful, however, the service was painfully slow, and for the price, the food quality was mediocre at best. Our party of 4 ordered an entree each and shared two dessert orders for a total of nearly 3 hours spent at this restaurant. The Goldmoor came highly recommended, but we were not at all impressed.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Tried the restaurant since we were stayi ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

Tried the restaurant since we were staying at the resort and had a delicious dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Goldmore Outstanding

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 2, 2015

This restaurant is a gem out in the country with a beautiful view. From the very first greeting upon entering to leaving it is excellent. The waitress brought us a basket of rolls with lavender butter that was outstanding. For my entree I ordered the salmon that was done perfectly and very flavorable, my husband had the filet and he said the same. We had a wonderful Pinot Noir with dinner. The owner walked around talking to the customers, our waitress was perfect. You can not beat the ambiance of this restaurant. They have a beautiful bar room. It is small and lovely, well appointed as is the entire restaurant. The food is exceptional to say the least. Our waitress was very attentive as has always been in the past. They continue to excell.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Review for Men: In a word "Fabulous"

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2015

If you love your wife this is the place. Fabulous view, fabulous service, fabulous entrée's, and fabulous atmosphere for romantic evening. A special thanks to the owners, staff and waiter for accommodating my special "dessert" request and delivering the 20th anniversary ring with class and right on time. Thanks again. Definitely will return and recommend for anyone with a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

amazing

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

The most wonderful restaurant went for our anniversary and had a wonderful time

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 7, 2015

What a fabulous meal. The Goldmoor tops our list for fine dining in the Galena area! The view of the Mississippi River is stunning from every table. The service is impeccable and the ambiance is classic sophistication. The wine list is good and appetizers tasty and well portioned. All three of us had the Beef Wellington and it was superb. We will go back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very romantic place

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 12, 2015

My husband and I went there to celebrate to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. No one else was there so it was very quiet. We loved the décor, the service, the food and we even got to meet the owner which was really nice. They even gave us a free dessert since it was our anniversary. I love the look of the inn/restaurant. It looks castle like. The grounds and even the scenery is beautiful. I would love to stay there sometime! Very lovely place all around.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, long wait

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 28, 2015

The meals were very good. The Beef Wellington and the Salmon. My husband was wondering where the rest of his salmon was though. It was very small especially compared to my meal and the salmon I had had at another nearby restaurant the night before. The table was a little noisy, would have rather had a booth. The owner was very friendly but the people next to our table annoyingly loud, not the fault of the restaurant obviously. The meal took a very long time to come out but not as long as those next to us. They had come in just a few moments after us and when we left after having dessert they still hadn't gotten their food. We weren't in a hurry so it wasn't a big deal but it was noticeably a long wait time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

We loved the service and the tour afterw ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 15, 2015

We loved the service and the tour afterwards. The appetizer and dessert were the best. My husband ordered his steak medium and is was well done. Mine was overcooked also but not as much as his. The potatoes were just ok. The veggie was great. We were disappointed that the brush was too high and we couldn't see the water from our table.

The peacefulness and beauty of the grounds makes it a very special place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

service was excellent, ambience great, k ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2015

service was excellent, ambience great, kitchen fell down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.