Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Goldfinch Tavern at Four Seasons Seattle

Approachable sophisticated Pacific Northwest cuisine, simply prepared using the finest regional ingredients and served in a dining room with maritime-inspired design and sweeping views of Elliott Bay.

Ethan Stowell and Four Seasons Hotel Seattle are thrilled to announce the name of their new restaurant collaboration: Goldfinch Tavern. Named for the state bird of Washington, the American goldfinch.

The upscale tavern pays homage to the city’s pioneer days, when taverns catered to lumberjacks and sailors alike, providing a place for travelers and locals to both socialize and conduct business, all while enjoying drinks and food.

99 Union Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open Sunday through Thursday 6:30am-12:00am,
Friday and Saturday 6:30am-1am
Breakfast: Daily, 6:30am - 11:00am

Lunch: Daily, 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Daily, 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Happy Hour: Daily, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
First Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 749-7070

Website:
http://goldfinchtavern.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $17 when dining in the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Westlake Center Station, University Street Station, 4th Avenue

Executive Chef:
Joe Ritchie

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Let Goldfinch Tavern make your next celebration or meeting unforgettable in one of our two private dining rooms. Either room can accommodate up to 16 guests for intimate gatherings or 25 guests for a standing reception. Valet parking, coat check and AV are available for all events.

Goldfinch Tavern at Four Seasons Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Waterfront (31)
See All
Scenic View (31)
Good for a Date (28)
Modern Decor (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Business Meals (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Fireplace (19)
Bar Seating (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Happy Hour (17)
Casual (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Romantic (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Cozy (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Fun (8)
People Watching (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Healthy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Seasonal (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Authentic (3)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
366 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined a day ago

We had a superb birthday dinner. We chose the "Chef's Choice" tasting meal and it was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Very disappointed.
I'm no stranger to paying top dollar for a special meal but Goldfinch really missed the mark. The chicken was dry & over cooked and about 15% of the mussels and frites were undercooked and unopened.

Very expensive "foodie lesson" at $375 bucks for 4 people

-A disappointed local.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

We go to Goldfinch Tavern often before Benaroya Hall events. Always great service, wonderful food and nice atmosphere.

The Halibut is really, really good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 15, 2017

It was clean, Great service, the waitress was very friendly, and gave exceptional service, she made sure we had everything we needed at all times. The menu options were great, the buffet had alot of great choices for different types of eating habits... The prices were good for what you got.. Only thing I would complain about is that they don't give you a choice for the tip amount.. They automatically charge you 20%.. .. Which is a great amount for the great service in my case, but in some cases the service might not deserve a 20% tip

Tags: Good for Groups, Fireplace, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Went for Seattle Restaurant Week menu, which was superb (the shellfish bisque was sublime, the spot-prawn gnocchi wonderful, everything else delicious and well prepared). Our server was expert and hit just the right balance of attentiveness and timing; the "suppert" waitstaff was also excellent. We're making plans to go back!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The service was good and the food was tasty but the big downside was that the portion was way too small. They offered no bread, the drinks were full of ice cubes, the soup was under 50 ml, the halibut and steak cut too small and the desserts were tiny. Overall I wouldn't think it's good value but may be good for dates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 13, 2017

While the location and ambiance had a chance to make this a great experience the food just was not up to the task, nor was the wait staff. While they were attentive the pacing of our meal was not okay. Our appetizers were on time but our main course was so late (think 25 mins after our prior course was cleared), as was our coffee when dessert was sent out. We received dessert and then 5 mins later coffee to go with it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 13, 2017

My halibut was perfectly cooked, and the seafood bisque was rich and flavorful. It was a lovely evening.

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We had a lovely view, great food, and excellent service. It's a bit pricey, so be prepared to pay for the privilege.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Tasty food, well made.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Went for restaurant week and the menu was amazing!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Lovely ambiance and location, good service, but the food was just OK. Rather bland and uninspiring presentation and the food tasted fine but nothing you couldn't do yourself at home. If I go out to a "4 star" restaurant like Goldfinch and pay accordingly I expect to be impressed and leave feeling like I got something I either couldn't, or wouldn't, prepare myself.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 10, 2017

My boyfriend and I went to Goldfinch during restaurant week. I had the Shellfish Bisque and when I was about halfway through I found plastic in my soup. It was almost like an inch long plastic wrap. When I was pulling the plastic out of my mouth the waiter was near us and immediately took my soup back to the kitchen.

The manager came to apologize and offered me a new bowl of soup or a free drink. I wasn't interested in either. The rest of the dinner just seemed okay after that. I really appreciate the effort and the service after the incident, but they still charged me full price for the dinner ($32 - restaurant week special + automatic 20% tip). They did cover for my valet parking though ($17 dollars on Sunday nights).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food was amazing. Our meal started out with great servoce, but then fell flat very quickly. Our server left and no one told us. we had to flag down another server after about 30 mins of not being checked on. I had been told about the awesome brunch experience, and the amazing service. I was really disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Super brunch made our visit across the street to the Sam Art Museum even more enjoyable. BTW you flower arrangements at the concierge desk are truly lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Good food, not great. Very good service. Nice view of waterfront.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We went during the Seattle restaurant week, 3 course for only $32. Definitely worth every penny. :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Went for Seattle Restaurant Week. Tasting menu was nice but not spectacular. Service was lovely.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Hot Spot, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I was there for restaurant week. The menu choices were many which sometimes is not the case. I had the shellfish bisque, the Halibut and the strawberry rhubarb tart. All were very tasty. My only criticism is that I thought there was too much crumble on the tart. The fruit was excellent, however.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Basic food, everything was under seasoned. Nice piece of halibut, no sauce to be seen, potatoes and raw spinach leaves sprinkled over it for color.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Like to go to Goldfinch before performances at the Symphony or the Moore. Happy hour menu is very good but Restaurant Week was just days old and we had a Wednesday night performance; Good Karma! 3 course special menu was a great value and showcased some of their usual menu items. Appetizer of 3 shucked oysters were perfect. Halibut and smoked clam linguini both enjoyable entrees and portion sizes were normal rather than shrunk for Restaurant week pricing.

$32/person for 3 course meal was a great value and perfect start for our evening. Enjoy the more casual vibe. You don't have to get too dressed up to dine at the Tavern!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I met a colleague at Goldfinch Tavern, excited for the opportunity to experience a meal at this restaurant located at The Four Seasons during Seattle Restaurant Week. What a disappointment. I feel bad for recommending this location as a spot for us to meet. Everything we ate was incredibly underseasoned. The seafood was overcooked. The bisque was the most watery, creamless, and bland soup I have ever had. There was no attention to presentation, which spilled soup left on the plate as the server lowered the plate to the table and prawns just thrown into a bowl of gnocchi, landing all on one side. The dessert was dry and tasted processed, as if it were delivered by Sisco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Went there for Seattle Restaurant week, 3 course for $32. Food was quite good. Ambiance very nice, and wait staff did a good job. Would definitely return to this restaurant.
Concerns: I thought the wine pours (wine by the glass) were somewhat minimal in size, also I still am not used to the fact that automatically they put a 20% surcharge on the meal....it is hard to express ones satisfaction or dissatisfaction with the service if a 20% tip is automatic.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 5, 2017

As big Ethan Stowell fans we were excited to test the Goldfinch out during Seattle Restaurant Week. Came away thinking we had a meal with good and bad dishes and found the total bill was way higher than expected.

My husband had a really nice raw salmon and beet starter and my main course halibut was very good. I had the lamb terrain as a starter. The terrain was dry, and in texture reminded me of canned corned beef from my childhood. Flavor was lacking. I put it down to a bad choice on my part, but then my husband had the shrimp gnocchi dish as a main which he said was lacking in flavor, he had to ask for salt to pep it up. Chocolate hazelnut cheesecake for desert was OK.
Our main reason we will not return was all the extra costs, water at $9, coffee at $5/cup and a fixed 20% service charge added to all bills(we were only 2), along with alcohol we ended up paying way more than at similar quality restaurants during SRW.

There were a lot of wait staff, but service was nothing special but adequate. Our spoons for desert were delivered while we were still eating our main course, and then I watched our deserts come from the kitchen, and as the waiter reached our table he realized we hadn't quite finished our main course so circled around the dining room with them in his hand until we had.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Took advantage of the Seattle Restaurant Week menu and was impressed by the quantity and selection. Every item we ordered was delicious. The halibut and beef were cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 4, 2017

The service and setting were excellent. This was a Seattle Restaurant Week visit, so the value was also really good. The food was not quite what we'd normally expect from an Ethan Stowell place, but we think that can be chalked up to the aforementioned SRW where they're trying to provide a lower cost than usual. The lamb terrine was a little dry and crumbly, the stinging nettle pasta's strongest flavor was butter, and the cheesecake dessert was on the small side. We would definitely go back and try the regular menu for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 4, 2017

I had a great first experience and then the second time was only an average experience. I had the halibut during Seattle Restaurant Week and it was a bit too salty and dry. The shellfish bisque was incredibly overpowering with a flavor that wasn't desirable. Our waiter never came by which kind of sucked since they get an auto 20% gratuity no matter how small of a party. The food was only OK and parking is expensive unless you are able to find street parking. To me, not worth the hassle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 3, 2017

We went for Restaurant Week and were delighted with the overall experience. We will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 3, 2017

If you see the Stinging Nettle pasta on the menu, EAT IT. If it's not, don't worry. Whatever you order is probably going to taste amazing. Also I could only give the service 5 stars. They deserve 6.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Good food, but regular prices are high, service was slow, and it's lacking in ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Nothing beats the service and level of professionalism at a Four Seasons. The dark atmosphere has a variety of seating areas. It's family friendly. The tuna poke is the best I've had to date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The Hubby and I were excited to try Goldfinch Tavern after hearing so many good things about the food. And it's in a Four Seasons so it has to have high standards, right? Unfortunately we were terribly disappointed. The atmosphere is nice and service was very friendly and attentive. But the food. It was just mediocre. We had the beef tartar, oysters and crispy fried olives to start. I LOVE olives but these tasted like they were bought in the freezer section and dumped in the fryer, like any other bad breaded frozen fare. The tartar tasted like beef, but no other flavor or seasoning. Bland. And to top off the starters, the oysters did not taste fresh. This is a non-starter for this Pacific Northwesterner. For entrees, I had the grilled octopus and the Hubby had the salmon, which was forgettable. My octopus was not right. On the tough side and chewy, but overcharred in several areas. We had high hopes for Goldfinch but were disappointed in everything we ordered. There wasn't a standout in the bunch! I'll give our server credit for for taking the tartar and octopus off our tab. But she also didn't act at all surprised that we were disappointed. Scout, a nearby restaurant, has far better tartar, oysters and octopus in a relaxed, inviting atmosphere. With so many options in downtown Seattle, we likely won't be going back to Goldfinch anytime soon (or ever).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Everything was fine, especially the wonderful service from all personnel... I felt that the food was overpriced and for that reason, I likely won't return.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The Goldfinch is a wonderful new find, to me, and one I will be sure to visit in the future. The food--I love the beet and crab salad--are unique and worth having on a second and third visit. The wine, while delicious, was way more expensive ($17!) than is in my comfort zone for my fairly frequent lunches with family and friends. The dishes I saw on other tables looked just as good as my salad. My decaf cappuccino was super. It's really a lovely place to hang out with friends and enjoy tasty and fresh dishes.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Incredible food and impeccable service. And don't miss the donuts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was our first visit to Goldfinch. The food was good and the service was good, until the candles were brought to our table. They are oil and the smell from them is so powerful that it ruined the taste of the food and wine. Battery operated candles give the same ambiance without ruining the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I had dinner here alone prior to a Seattle Symphony concert. I ordered the "Trust the Chef" tasting menu, which is a phenomenal value for $75. This usually consists of a series of appetizers served together, a pasta course, an entrée, and a dessert. Everything was superb! Among the appetizers, the scallops crudo were phenomenal! The pasta included small clams and a fascinating sauce. The entrée was several slices of perfectly prepared steak with potatoes, mushrooms, and beets, with a smoky nose that was fascinating. Dessert was great. Service is always good. The wine list is excellent and prices are reasonable by Seattle standards.

This is a restaurant that is very popular for happy hour. Dinner guests include travelers, Symphony patrons, and lots of businesspeople.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Fantastic experience.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Warm friendly service. Liked the selections from the raw/seafood bar and appetizers. Tuna poke, shaved asparagus salad and the apricot brushchetta. We shared the burger and the nettle ravioli as our mains. The burger was amazing - I would give the pasta a 3 out of 5 which was surprising given that the chef is so well known for his pasta but it could be that it was brought out when we were 1/2 way through the burger so it sat for a few minutes. Great cocktails and a nice wine pairing and then we slid on over to the bar for an after dinner banyuls & port with a scoop of caramel/coffee ice cream to top it all off. If I had to choose I would say that the North side of the dining room is a tad more intimate and I wish they would tone down the light bulbs in the fixtures at the tables next to the windows to make it slightly less glaring as the room is so gorgeous and cozy. Especially as the sun sets the lights come up outside. All in all a great and welcome addition to the Seattle downtown dining scene.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had the "trust the chef" dinner and were really impressed with the choices and selections brought out. Also had the wine pairing to go with it - spot on selections! Our waiter David was almost as excited by our dinner as we were - great service and attention. The somilier was knowlegable and generous in his pours. Overall great experience, we plan on coming back with friends!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.