Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Goldfinch Tavern at Four Seasons Seattle

Approachable sophisticated Pacific Northwest cuisine, simply prepared using the finest regional ingredients and served in a dining room with maritime-inspired design and sweeping views of Elliott Bay.

Ethan Stowell and Four Seasons Hotel Seattle are thrilled to announce the name of their new restaurant collaboration: Goldfinch Tavern. Named for the state bird of Washington, the American goldfinch.

The upscale tavern pays homage to the city’s pioneer days, when taverns catered to lumberjacks and sailors alike, providing a place for travelers and locals to both socialize and conduct business, all while enjoying drinks and food.

99 Union Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open Sunday through Thursday 6:30am-12:00am,
Friday and Saturday 6:30am-1am
Breakfast: Daily, 6:30am - 11:00am

Lunch: Daily, 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Daily, 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Happy Hour: Daily, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
First Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 749-7070

Website:
http://goldfinchtavern.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $15 when dining in the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Westlake Center Station, University Street Station, 4th Avenue

Executive Chef:
Joe Ritchie

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Let Goldfinch Tavern make your next celebration or meeting unforgettable in one of our two private dining rooms. Either room can accommodate up to 16 guests for intimate gatherings or 25 guests for a standing reception. Valet parking, coat check and AV are available for all events.

Goldfinch Tavern at Four Seasons Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Scenic View (32)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Fit for Foodies (29)
Modern Decor (28)
Waterfront (26)
Local Ingredients (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Fireplace (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Business Meals (14)
Casual (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Romantic (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Cozy (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Seasonal (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
People Watching (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Fun (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Healthy (4)
Authentic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Private Room (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Organic (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
327 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Warm friendly service. Liked the selections from the raw/seafood bar and appetizers. Tuna poke, shaved asparagus salad and the apricot brushchetta. We shared the burger and the nettle ravioli as our mains. The burger was amazing - I would give the pasta a 3 out of 5 which was surprising given that the chef is so well known for his pasta but it could be that it was brought out when we were 1/2 way through the burger so it sat for a few minutes. Great cocktails and a nice wine pairing and then we slid on over to the bar for an after dinner banyuls & port with a scoop of caramel/coffee ice cream to top it all off. If I had to choose I would say that the North side of the dining room is a tad more intimate and I wish they would tone down the light bulbs in the fixtures at the tables next to the windows to make it slightly less glaring as the room is so gorgeous and cozy. Especially as the sun sets the lights come up outside. All in all a great and welcome addition to the Seattle downtown dining scene.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

We had the "trust the chef" dinner and were really impressed with the choices and selections brought out. Also had the wine pairing to go with it - spot on selections! Our waiter David was almost as excited by our dinner as we were - great service and attention. The somilier was knowlegable and generous in his pours. Overall great experience, we plan on coming back with friends!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Where else can you get grilled octopus? Tasty and unusual dishes, assiduous service, surprisingly reasonable prices considering the location, wide ranging menu. The bread served is mostly crust and is maybe a bit too chewy; that's about the only drawback we noticed. It's pretty noisy (we were there on a weeknight during happy hour) but many might consider this an advantage.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

My friend and I have eaten at Goldfinch many,many times. This time was really strange. The waitperson disappeared when my guest complained about the size of his meal (really small piece of halibut on a too large plate). Another server came along and was not very accomplished and our prior server was clearly annoyed that we didn't sing raptures about the fish. We did speak to the manager and said that the serving was very small for an entree, etc. They covered our dessert. The halibut was $25.00 and I would definitely say it wasn't worth it. A disappointment in a restaurant that we really liked.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Amazingly well crafted dishes in a beautiful and chic atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Grilled Pork Chop was dry and tough so at the end resort to have more sauce to soften it (not accommodated to replace other vegetables instead of onions)
King Crab Pasta (pasta under-cooked and crabmeat sauce was watery). I had this dish before in February 2017 and this time was completely night and day.
Requested to serve a cake for wedding anniversary celebration instead not quite appropriate to serving various desserts (a very tiny portion of panna cotta served on a big plate/two types of sorbet/apple cobbler/donuts) which cost us an extra expense on just desserts for $55.00 (then why bother to place a request and I could have ordered a nice Ribeye steak for that price range). If the restaurant just served a cake or chocolate brownies it would be more appropriate. By the time the desserts served it was too late to ask the server to stop as the celebration was on going!!!
This visit with Goldfinch Tavern was the worse and will not be returning. I was so disappointed and I have visited a few of Ethan Stowell restaurants and they are high quality!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Trust the Chef! Seriously. He knows what he's doing and you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Fantastic experience for any foody - and with a view! Service was attentive and impeccable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Waterfront, Tapas, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great before productions at SAM. Very close and convenient with a formal or casual, relaxed Seattle atmosphere. You can dress up or not, and order up or not.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Came here for brunch. Already made my reservation back in the U. K. Arrived early and was seated immediately. Had the buffet brunch..crab cake was delicious as was the cold buffet and mimosas. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Nice view over the waterfront.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Afternoon Tea, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Experienced the Chef's selections and it was outstanding! Every course was unique, fresh and flavors were fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food and service, definitely another hit from Ethan Stowell!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 4, 2017

the oysters were so fresh and served well. loved the menu and the service is tops. staying at the Four Seasons... you would expect not less that outstanding in their properties. they meet that standard.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Fourth or Fifth visit. Service seemed like they were short staff, but also recall last visit, it was lacking. I don't believe the restaurant is run by the Four Seasons, so they do not have their standards. Food was hit and miss. There were 5 of us, 1 raved, 2 said ok/good and 3 said 'whatever' Bill was high (we drank too) and I doubt I will go back for a while to see if they figure it out. It was wonderful at one time. could just be my timing.

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Nice casual place to eat. Had snacks while waiting for dinner menu and waiters were very helpful.

Tags: Organic, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excruciating. The slowest bar and kitchen service we've ever had. 25 minutes to get a double shot whiskey without any cocktail mixing. Our friends had to be quizzed by the bartender so he could close out the tab. Food's good we have had the tasting menu before. But for 20% auto tip, the speed of service was awful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We made reservations at the last minute so as to make it to Benaroya for a performance and were expecting the "usual Four Seasons fare" (awesome in and of itself). The waiter informed us of the unlisted "Chef's Tasting" menu which we rarely decline.

It was a good choice.

Four courses that were diverse, savory, quite well presented, and, um, large. After the appetizer course (six two-person dishes), we thought we were done, but were surprised by the pasta and meat. The personal touch was evident as the chef single-handedly delivered the appetizer, pasta, and meat courses.

We will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Took over an hour to get our lunch, during a business meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Had a lovely brunch with girlfriends, thoroughly enjoyed the buffet and bottomless mimosas! Frankie took great care of us, I'll definitely be back for another brunch.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Happy Hour, Fun, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food and great service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Went to an exhibition opening across the street at Seattle Art Museum.

Tags: Modern Decor, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 17, 2017

A short walk up the hill from the Ferry dock for those who come from afar - to this wonderful place that serves fantastic local fare, offers attentive service and makes you feel at ease, is a place I we enjoy frequently as well as share with great friends. Always a favorite for us. A must in Seattle!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We were 8 people. The food was delicious, but the services was terrible. There are enough waiters, however there was no evidence that someone has organized them and told them who needs to do what. One of our colleagues got his meal quickly and the rest waited nearly 45 min to be served. It was unpleasant experience. Same with the drinks and in the end 3 guys had to get engaged to find and bring us 5 coats.
Will never go there again, neither will recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I took my girl friend there for her birthday and the surprise for her at the end on the dessert was stellar! It was pricey for 2 dishes which came out to be $100 with an auto 20% tip. But the experience was fantastic!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Work dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Second time I have been to Gold Finch (first time was breakfast/brunch, this time was for lunch). Found the food underwhelming and overpriced. Also the portion size on the salmon dish in particular, was laughable. It has beautiful decor and gorgeous views. Could be a great place but the food needs a lot of work.

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We took a friend here for Sunday brunch prior to a chamber music concert at Benaroya Hall as a gift for Hanukkah. I've been here twice recently for lunch, and had very good service and food. This time, however, was a disappointment.
It took awhile before we were brought water, and even longer before our server acknowledged our presence. When he approached the table, he said, "I'm ready to take your order." He didn't offer us anything to drink, or ask if we had questions about the menu. Our friend was slow making her decision about what to order, and he walked away twice in a huff. The restaurant wasn't busy, I don't know why he was so impatient; I thought he was rude.
My husband and I each ordered a cup of the butternut squash soup, and salad. He also ordered a fruit smoothie. My husband didn't like the soup as it was spicy hot; one of the staff came by and asked if he was still enjoying his soup, to which he replied he never enjoyed the soup and she cleared away the dish. I don't know whether or not we were charged for the soup as he didn't check the bill. He was also dissatisfied with his fruit smoothie because the glass it was served in was hot, which made the smoothie warm. Unfortunately he didn't send it back, or provide feedback to our server.
My crab and beet salad was delicious, as was the soup.
I felt badly that I had suggested the Goldfinch Tavern for our outing, and certainly won't take my husband there again. The experience wasn't up to par of Ethan Stowell's restaurants.
I am fully supportive of the 20% automatic gratuity, distributing it to all staff. However, when there's an issue, I feel it's unfair being charged 20% for poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service was very good, ambience is fine, food disappointing.
Wife had crab, beet salad which was good but not really special: sort of like I would make myself.
I had oysters which were delicious. Pretty hard to screw up plain, fresh oysters so I give no stars for that.
My mussels were almost disastrous. Close to 10 of then didn't open and with a few exceptions the rest were tiny, tough and grisly.
They were in a kind of wine sauce I think, and it was bland and uninteresting. I love mussels and I don't think that I've ever not eaten all on my plate until these.
Wife had mushroom pasta which was good, but again, nothing to justify all the hype around this place.
Desserts fine, but ordinary.
In sum, except for the mussels, the food was decent but certainly not of a quality that have us eager to go back.
Our server was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We enjoyed the Trust the Chef dinner and it was absolutely fantastic! Delicious variety of bites, a truly impressive offering, that left us full but not uncomfortably so. Staff was very attentive and pleasant. Overall a wonderful experience!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We were a party of six, celebrating a birthday as well as enjoying the visit with some out of town friends. I had also special-ordered a birthday cake for dessert in advance. Everything was excellent - the food and service were outstanding. The cake was really good, several members of our party said it was among the best cakes ever! All in all, a truly enjoyable evening on all fronts. Then, later it turned out there was a glitch with my credit card and the restaurant management was kind and patient as that was sorted out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Waitress didn't tell us than some items on the menu were not available until we were ordering. Chose the king crab pasta as a back-up and it tasted like nothing. Extremely bland. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food and service! I went with a friend pre-symphony and Michelle, our waitress, was super. We shared the pork which was moist and tender, scallops perfectly cooked, carrots beautifully prepared, the bruschetta which was delicious with sour cherry and goat cheese and had the pistachio ice cream (made in house) and the lemon budino for dessert. I'd highly recommend it all. The only thing we didn't care for was a red cabbage accompaniment which was over-salted. Considering how good everything else was, it's a small complaint. We'd go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

A delicious brunch, beautifully presented with several items to choose from plus attentive professional staff. We will go back soon for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I have not had a good pork chop in ages and this one was magnificent!! The delicata squash was a little late getting to the table but it was good . The service was excellent.
The view of the Ferris wheel at night is lovely !

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Nice menu, but I was disappointed that the crab cakes (which are wonderful) are not available at dinner.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Family lunch, 3 families, 2 eniors, 2 little kids. The most wonderful and magical 4 hours. Like being in Italy. Food was great, pace was as fast as we needed to keep food on the table and slow enough for everyone to relax and join in the conversation. The table was perfect for 6 adults to convers and 2 little ones to do activities and feel included. Service was great, friendly accommodating yet gave us our space. Thank you for this gift!

Tags: Family Style, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very comfortable atmosphere, food was excellent. The salmon tartine was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Good service and the food was good.
Two of the gals were celebrating their birthdays, so they
gave a complimentary dessert little cookie for all of us... not much,
but very nice.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas dinner...a lovely experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.