Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Goldfinch Tavern at Four Seasons Seattle

Approachable sophisticated Pacific Northwest cuisine, simply prepared using the finest regional ingredients and served in a dining room with maritime-inspired design and sweeping views of Elliott Bay.

Ethan Stowell and Four Seasons Hotel Seattle are thrilled to announce the name of their new restaurant collaboration: Goldfinch Tavern. Named for the state bird of Washington, the American goldfinch.

The upscale tavern pays homage to the city’s pioneer days, when taverns catered to lumberjacks and sailors alike, providing a place for travelers and locals to both socialize and conduct business, all while enjoying drinks and food.

99 Union Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open Sunday through Thursday 6:30am-12:00am,
Friday and Saturday 6:30am-1am
Breakfast: Daily, 6:30am - 11:00am

Lunch: Daily, 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Daily, 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Happy Hour: Daily, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
First Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 749-7070

Website:
http://goldfinchtavern.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $17 when dining in the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Westlake Center Station, University Street Station, 4th Avenue

Executive Chef:
Joe Ritchie

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Hang up your aprons and enjoy all the holiday favorites this year at Four Seasons Hotel Seattle! Allow Chef Joe Ritchie and his culinary team to impress your guests with a 3-course feast in Goldfinch Tavern or indulge at our Thanksgiving Buffet located on the 2nd floor of the Hotel. Reserve now!

Private Dining

Let Goldfinch Tavern make your next celebration or meeting unforgettable in one of our two private dining rooms. Either room can accommodate up to 16 guests for intimate gatherings or 25 guests for a standing reception. Valet parking, coat check and AV are available for all events.

Goldfinch Tavern at Four Seasons Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

Noise

Quiet

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Scenic View (22)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Business Meals (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Waterfront (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Romantic (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Cozy (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Casual (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Seasonal (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Authentic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
444 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined a day ago

Varied, delicious flavors across all of our Restaurant Week dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

Enjoyed the food and the beautiful view. Excellent service. Never felt hurried. Food was very good as well as the presentation.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful early dinner, beautiful sunset over the water, impeccable service and delicious food. We were pleasantly surprised by how accommodating the restaurant was for our two children. Kids menu, coloring pages, spill-proof cups. Nonetheless it was a very sophisticated and satisfying dining experience for the adults in our party too. Not an easy balance to strike and it was really well done here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Business Meals, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We had a wonderful evening at goldfinch tavern. Our meal was amazing and delicious and our server, Ryan was superb. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Amazing experience with "Trust the Chef" tasting menu. Warm, attentive service. Can't recommend it more. Picture shows the wonderful first course plates.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We ordered the "Trust the Chef" four-course menu, which is a great bargain for $75. Many of the courses are served by the chefs who prepare them. We've done this before but last week's version was the best yet. We had six small plates as the first course, several of which were outstanding (my favorite was the smoked fish). The baked sole as the second course was fantastic - probably the most tender version of sole we've ever had. The rib cap steak for the third course was perfectly prepared, followed by a great and not overly filling dessert. We asked our server to provide wine pairings and he chose very well (and at reasonable prices). This is a great place for pre-concert dining. Service is friendly and efficient. The bar is always packed and the large private room typically has a business or social event. The wine list isn't huge but selection and prices are reasonable by Seattle standards.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Good food. Bad service, as follows: 1) asked for better table - hostess said no, 2) waiter took way too long to take drink order, 3) Bar took way too long to make drinks, 4) waiter took way too long to take food order, 5) waiter abandoned us and another waiter had to take over table because original waiter couldn't keep up, 6) food server slammed down plates and never asked if we needed anything else.

Overall, the level of service was not consistent with other Four Seasons hotels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Both meals (duck and tenderloin) were not very good at all. The duck was too tough to even cut and had to be sent back. The tenderloin itself was good but the other components to the dish were grainy and not seasoned. Very disappointed in our experience. Our server was wonderful and did all he could but unfortunately at that point the night was a bust.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Goldfinch has become a favorite meeting place for a group of friends. The Food is excellent, service is excellent. I should warn you that even with validation from the restaurant, parking is now $17 (up from $12).

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Excellent location in lobby of Four Seasons. Menu is pretty standard for Seattle selections. Very pricey for portion size and overall atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Excellent waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 18, 2017

We were there for a lovely lunch with out of town guests. View, service and seafood stew were wonderful. The ambiance was very relaxing.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Enjoyed our meal, but thought the service and friendliness was lacking frequently in the interactions. Wasn't expecting a best friend from the experience, just an occasional smile and always a response when food items were delivered and I said, "Thank you." For sure, the wait staff did not merit the 20% automatic gratuity that is added to the total. We ALWAYS tip...usually overdo it, but frequently leave a 20% when we receive outstanding service. This service was FAR from outstanding. The saving grace was definitely the food from appetizer to dessert. Absolutely DELICIOUS!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2017

This is our favorite place in Whistler for a decadent breakfast. The food is always fresh and delicious and the service is always impeccable. The staff manage to be warm and welcoming, there when you need them and never when you don't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

My Hisband and I came to the Goldfish as it was highly recommended . As the Food was good the Service was horriable! We waited 15min just to get our wine and and appetizer. By that time we already new what we wanted to eat so we ordered food. Our Food took 35min witch was odd because there was not many people in the restaurant. Some waiter slapped my plate down and said enjoy and walked off. I was not impressed as this was our honeymoon weekend and wanted nothing But the finest restaurant. I was very disappointed and shocked on how we were served.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Birthday breakfast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Service was excellent. Menu was limited not a white fish dinner on the menu weird for a place that has access to halibut and Pacific cod. I had thr tenderloin which was very good but not cooked to desired temp of medium rare. Others had chicken which was very good. Cheese boars was avg. Warm tomato soup was good but needed something to balance the acidity. Beer selections are limited Which is strange since Seattle has a strong micro brewery presence

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Definitely one of the best Seattle hotel restaurants. Would recommend. Service is everything you would expect at The Four Seasons.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, People Watching, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Nice location for dining downtown Seattle. Appetizers were amazing. Drinks were imaginative. Recommend their Margarita. Halibut entre was a little dry, but overall, experience was great. Waiter worked hard to ensure we liked the wine we ordered by allowing a taste first.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 8, 2017

The food was spectacular with very fresh seafood and unique presentations. The chef was creative and thoughtful in his special plating. Each dish had those wonderful additions that add flavor and texture. We both enjoyed the "special complete meal created by the chef". You don't have to make any decisions and the chef knows what ingredients he has that are at their peak of freshness. Our server, Janine, make a wonderful meal even better. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 2, 2017

From the moment we arrived until we left 2.5 hours later everyone was great, they were able to accommodate a last minute,extra person to my party without any fuss. Our waitress was very attentive and kept checking on us. Food was amazing, drinks were also amazing, and dessert was well yum. Overall I was truly pleased and will definitely be coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 31, 2017

The lobster roll is worth every cent. Service is attentive and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Top notch service, some of the best I've had in the Greater Seattle area. However, food was not quite as good as the service. If I could give the food 3.5 I would, but there is not star setting for that, so I gave them 3.0 for food. The ambience and décor is very nice, refined and modern.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Best burger ever!!! Please don't change the goldfinch burger or take it off the menu… Ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent food with friendly, unobtrusive and efficient service.
The beet and crab salad along with the braised octopus are outstanding starters. A perfectly prepared hamburger and a big bowl of clams, both with generous portions of crunchy
fries made for a very delicious dinner. To top it off we enjoyed watching the sun set behind the Olympics.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Goldfinch has become one of our favorites. The food is always perfectly prepared, and they always have something new on their menu that I want to try. This time we were there for lunch after a show at the Art Museum. It was a wonderful afternoon. I had the lobster roll and C had the fennel-crusted halibut.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Decided to take my wife and son out for a brunch as part of my wife's birthday. This place was really nice, the food was good and the service was awesome. Didn't realize there is a place in Seattle for great breakfast and to chill.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Everything was absolutely outstanding, the service, the food, the wine. It was perfect!!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

This restaurant is in the four seasons hotel it is across the street from the Seattle art museum and not far from pikes place market you need a reservation the service is excellent do have the12 oyster appetizer just fantastic 4 each of 3 different local oysters also treat yourself to the fruit compote and little vanilla donut holes small tasty dessert

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy, Casual, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food is terrific! I prefer the open format of the front of the restaurant, the back is a more traditional restaurant. Service was excellent if a little cloying, quiet brunch. :)

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Wait team was great! Personable , not too much and not too little. Accommodating and caring.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We had a great experience, very good foot and excellent service, would go back....

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We had an amazing dinner here with our toddler and baby. They were so welcoming and helpful with the kids. They have a great kids menu, even gabe our daughter some kids cutlery, lots of crayons and Disney princess colouring sheets. She was happy and busy while we had an amazing meal. Presentation was beautiful. Everything was on point as usual at Four Seasons, thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The quality of the food and the overall experience is always excellent. The entire team is highly skilled in giving each and every guest the best experience. I wish they would bring back the pretzels that were on the previous menu (before the remodel). The one thing I do not like is the automatic addition of 20% to the bill. I much prefer to express appreciation for my experience in the amount that matches the experience. I do not like this predetermined for me.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Service was excellent.. food was excellent. Would definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Wait staff was good but the food took too long to come out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Enjoyed my dinner here. Had delicious salmon and a great old fashioned. Service was attentive and kind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 26, 2017

I seldom write an unfavorable review on the theory that if you can't say anything nice, don't say anything at all. But after lunch at Goldfinch Tavern the other day, I feel compelled to register my dissatisfaction. Let's start by saying, this is a Four Seasons after all, so value-for-the-money is always a contradiction in terms. A bowl of soup with six ounces of broth (really a cup of soup) and small side salad (albeit nicely dressed) for $17 is not a bargain lunch. But, as I said, it's the Four Seasons and the view is lovely, so it is what it is.

But the problem was the service. The waiter was clearly inexperienced in his role. He hovered making chit-chat at the beginning then disappeared for a too-long interval before taking our order. Then he forgot part of the order, never apologized for his oversight, and failed to take the item off the bill.

Meanwhile, two different staff members interrupted our business conversation to ask how we were enjoying our lunch. Besides being insensitive to the fact we were engaged in a conversation (is it not possible for two women to be having a business conversation?), it appears that there are more bosses than workers in the dining room. Maybe Goldfinch could spend its money on one good waiter and omit the good-will ambassadors who are satellites each in their own orbits, oblivious to what the other is doing.

Then there is the matter of the 20% service charge included in the bill. I'm not opposed to a service charge policy, but I wish I had noticed that policy when looking through the menu. Unfortunately for me, when the bill came I failed to notice the modifier "Extra Gratuity" on the gratuity line. My fault that I added another 20% on what was already a ridiculous bill for lunch.

If you feel needy of the prestige of the Four Seasons, go to Goldfinch. Otherwise, there are lots of other places to have a business lunch in downtown Seattle.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Had brunch there on a Sunday. Ambience could be improved, kind of dark unless you get a window table. There are lots of good brunch choices. Food is good, but not great. Service was superb.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.