Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 34 times today

Goldfinch Tavern at Four Seasons Seattle

4.6
576 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Northwest
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Scenic View
  • Good for a Date
Approachable sophisticated Pacific Northwest cuisine, simply prepared using the finest regional ingredients and served in a dining room with maritime-inspired design and sweeping views of Elliott Bay.

Ethan Stowell and Four Seasons Hotel Seattle are thrilled to announce the name of their new restaurant collaboration: Goldfinch Tavern. Named for the state bird of Washington, the American goldfinch.

The upscale tavern pays homage to the city’s pioneer days, when taverns catered to lumberjacks and sailors alike, providing a place for travelers and locals to both socialize and conduct business, all while enjoying drinks and food.

icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Northwest, Seafood, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Open Sunday through Thursday 6:30am-12:00am, until 1:00am Friday and Saturday.
Breakfast: Daily, 6:30am - 11:00am
Weekend Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Weekdays 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Sunday through Thursday, 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday through Saturday, 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Happy Hour: Sunday through Thursday, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
(excluding holidays and special promotions)
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(206) 749-7070
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Joe Ritchie
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please contact Andrea Ikata for Catering inquiries: (206) 749-4502
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
First Ave
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking is $17 when dining in the restaurant.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Westlake Center Station, University Street Station, 4th Avenue
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Let Goldfinch Tavern make your next celebration or meeting unforgettable in one of our two private dining rooms. Either room can accommodate up to 16 guests for intimate gatherings or 25 guests for a standing reception. Valet parking, coat check and AV are available for all events.

View Private Dining Details
What 576 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
81% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Goldfinch is a favorite of ours, and we always go when we are in Seattle. Service is impeccable, the food always inventive and interesting innovations on either new things or standards. Root vegetable/leek soup and Manhattan clam chowder were outstanding, while the salmon salad and beet/dungeness crab salad were both tasty. Wines by the glass are pricy for a relatively short pour--the standard of the day. While this is an expensive restaurant, the quality is outstanding and matches the beautiful view of Puget Sound.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 19, 2018

The portions on the scallops and lobster entree were tiny. Two scallops and one piece of lobster 1 1/2 inches long. Literally 3 bites of lobster for $39. Extremely disappointing since I don’t order lobster that often.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Having spent close to $100 a head at the Goldfinch Tavern, I was expecting a memorable (think Michelin *) dining experience. Sadly the experience was far from my expectations.

The pork belly appetizer was smothered in a balsamic glaze that over-powered the dish. My wife's halibut & crab entree was absolutely un-imaginative in everything but the price ($60!). The onion "marmalade" that was featured in my burger was obnoxiously smoked that ruined the entire dish (fennel aoli with the fries was alright). When I brought this to my server's attention, there wasn't even an attempt to correct this.

Dessert was OK, but I've had better donut holes in Seattle (think Dahlia Lounge, served with delicious Devonshire Cream). However, the real dessert was not getting my parking validated gratis and instead being asked to fork over an additional $17.

What was nice: Ambience, Views, Service. Rose wine was excellent.

Overall: Overpriced. Many better options in town, many of which are Ethan Stowell restaurants. I was expecting more from Four Seasons / Ethan Stowell. It would take a lot for me reconsider dining here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Everything about this restaurant I like. The servers are great, knowledgable, friendly and professional. The food is amazing. The table shared some vegetables, which we all enjoyed. Everyone was happy with their entree as well. I always recommend this place, then feel smart and classy when my friends end up liking it as much as I do.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 14, 2018

The prices keep going up as the portions get smaller. Value is negligible. We will NOT dine there ever again, unless new management comes in and makes the prices and portions reasonable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Our meal was amazing. The service was fantastic. My mother had an awesome Mother's Day!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Had the halibut and king crab for two, was so delicious. Excellent service and atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

This place is absolutely to die for! I stayed at the Four Seasons so I had breakfast there first and it was delicious! Later that night I had a business dinner and everything was so good! For an entree, I had the dungeness crab spaghetti and it was literally the BEST TASTING PASTA DISH I HAVE EVER EATEN THUS FAR IN LIFE!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Had the Seafood Stew and Hamachi Crudo and both were excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

We had a wonderful meal, great service, awesome sunset view, and we loved the atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Chef’s tasting menu with wine pairing was exceptional- one of the best I’ve had. Great selection of appetizers. Everything was great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Solid restaurant with some foodie options, but also basic favorites done well. My party had crab cakes, burrata salad & a burger. All were done well and enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 4, 2018

The food was wonderful! We love this restaurant and have been multiple times, but for some reason that no staff member (Managers included) could explain, the service was very slow last night. Not just slow, ridiculously slow. And we are patient, forgiving diners. They said “sorry”, but it was as if our concerns were totally unimportant. With so many terrific restaurants in our city, to return to Goldfinch Tavern again is unlikely. Very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Wonderful and innovative dishes. Great atmosphere .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Delish! I have many dietary restrictions and the chef accommodated beautifully. Wait staff was the right amount of attentive. Portions were cuisine sized-- so you don't leave feeling stuffed and in need of a nap. Highly recommend and will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

The service was great and the ambiance was upscale and romantic. However, they were out of at least two different beers on the menu as well as a few food items and it was only 8pm on a Friday night. My husband had the burger which was average. I ordered the crab pasta and while there was a huge amount of fresh crab the sauce was so lemony that it was almost impossible to eat. The cocktails were divine and we may make this a place to stop for drinks in the future.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Top notch on all fronts - food, service, ambience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Spent $175. Left hungry. Scallops and Lobster entree was literally 2 scallops and half a single lobster tail.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Excellent restaurant in Seattle. Great food, service was brilliant. We really enjoyed eating here and they are great with kids

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

We had incredible service from the staff, especially Tiffany. Unfortunately we did not realize that a 20% charge (sort of a tip) is included in the bill. This information was on the check in small print. Our mistake. Food was superb. It was a sunny day and the view beyond the public storage building was exceptional. Our guest was an 82 year old out for a birthday lunch. We requested and were given a very quit table just beyond the bar toward the south end of the restaurant. That critical kindness started a wonderful lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Our 2nd time at Goldfinch Tavern on SRW, and they never dissappoint. Impeccable service, food, ambience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2018

We dined here during Seattle Restaurant Week. The service was top notch and we had a great view of the Great Wheel from our table. The menu was diverse with options for vegans, vegetarians or GF diners. We both enjoyed our meal and will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Incredible food and views! The fresh oysters, Hamachi, and albacore were highlights. Excellent service as well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Good food, nice drinks and attentive but not overbearing service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Perfect, if a bit pricey, for an early dinner before Benaroya Hall. Hamachi Crudo to share, then a risotto and an excellent Dungeness crab spaghetti. Good wine by the glass, plus nice non-alcoholic cocktails. Elegant, ok, salted chocolate cake dessert, excellent Fonté coffee. Very nice servers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Pleasant and relaxing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Goldfinch does not slack on any occasion that I’ve had the pleasure of being their guest. Even when offering special events like this month’s 3 for $33, they do not stint in service or food. I can scarcely think of how a restaurant can rate higher! A Seattle must!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Went here on a Friday thinking it was restaurant week but sadly that was our mistake since Friday and Saturdays don’t count for restaurant week. We ended up getting the tenderloin for 2 and it was awesome. The view would be amazing, but the public storage building killed some of the vibe. Would recommend and would go back for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

The buratta/roasted vegetable salad was probably one of the best salad/entrees I have had. Just enough of everything, a feast for the eye as well as the tummy!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

My friends and I decided to participate in restaurant week and randomly chose Goldfinch Tavern. It was a great deal for the three courses. I really wanted to try the lamb but unfortunately, they were out so I went with the beef option and it was so good. I tried their parfait for the dessert and it was good, my friend's dessert was so much better so I definitely recommend the cake over the parfait. I will definitely come back for another dinner in the future.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 5, 2018

We visited the restaurant during Restaurant Week and were excited about the choices. However, when the food arrived, only one of three entrees was excellent - the spot prawn risotto. The tuna was dry and the beef was basically inedible. We reported this to the manager, but no effort was made to appease us other than to serve another serving of the same meat. The desserts were all good as were the appetizers. Our server was very attentive. We won't visit this restaurant again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

The service here is spot on - Our server was very attentive and knowledgeable of not just the menu, but the available drinks and wines. The food here is amazing, although my dish was on the cooler side, the flavors were all there and I enjoyed every single bite. I will be back again for sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

We went for a date during Restaurant Week, and were really excited about the options. Rather than the standard choice between 3 options, they offer 5 starters and 6 main dishes that all sound to die for (and the 2 we had were). Food was outstanding, and so were the cocktails. We had a cozy booth for just the two of us, and the service was very attentive even though it was packed. Definitely recommend for a romantic evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

My hubby and I were in Seattle for one week, and knew we needed to try out Restaurant Week! Goldfinch Tavern was simply incredible. The portion sizes were very generous, the flavors were amazing, the view was great, and our server, Ryan, was top notch!! We will definitely return. Even without a special prixe fix menu, Goldfinch Tavern is worth every penny. My only minor complaint would be that it was very dark...the table next to us was using flashlights to look at their menu. Ah well, you can’t have it all! Thank you, Ryan + Goldfinch Tavern.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2018

The service was absolutely outstanding. The food is presented well and tasty. The prices are on the high side so not a place you might visit on a regular basis.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

This is a hard review to write. We were there for Easter Brunch which I'm sure wasn't reflective of the food served here in general. The ingredients used were fresh -- cocktail shrimp, raw oysters, salmon tartar, salads and the like -- and everything was good. What food was cooked wasn't much of a challenge for a competent kitchen -- filet mignon, burger made with ground lamb -- use good meat and get the temperature right and you've nailed it. You can do this at home. Two cooked items we tried are worthy of being singled out. The clam chowder was okay but certainly not the best whether compared to the Pacific Northwest variety or the (even better) variety found in New England. And the crab cake, call me an East coast snob, maybe blue crabs are better for caking than are dungeness, but tastier crab cakes are easily found throughout Maryland, Virginia or the Carolinas. Desserts are also worth mentioning. Wow! Their pastry chef is terrific. And now the bill. With tax, tip and one drink each, we left $100 per person well in the rear view mirror. Let me put this in perspective. My wife and I had perfectly adequate breakfast a couple of times in Seattle's Springhill Suites. Yes, I know breakfast isn't brunch, but they only charged us $70 per person there, and they threw in a hotel room for free.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The food is fine but nothing to bring me back. During dinner, the lights are turned way down. Seeing the menu is a challenge and it's more akin to dining in a bar then at a restaurant. The food is not spectacular. The desert, feels like it was cutting edge perhaps seven or eight years ago. This is a place to go if you're in town staying at the hotel, but certainly not worth the trip if you live in Seattle and want to go out to eat. There are far better and more interesting places to eat to drop the kind of change you'll drop eating here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Second time at Goldfinch Tavern and it did not disappoint!
The drinks are well mixed and the food is great.
The atmosphere is relaxing too.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Disappointing quality of food for the weekend brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Love this place. A little pricey but worth the cost. I'd definitely go back, again and again.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
15

Tweets by Goldfinch Tavern at Four Seasons Seattle