Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Goldfinch Tavern at Four Seasons Seattle

Approachable sophisticated Pacific Northwest cuisine, simply prepared using the finest regional ingredients and served in a dining room with maritime-inspired design and sweeping views of Elliott Bay.

Ethan Stowell and Four Seasons Hotel Seattle are thrilled to announce the name of their new restaurant collaboration: Goldfinch Tavern. Named for the state bird of Washington, the American goldfinch.

The upscale tavern pays homage to the city’s pioneer days, when taverns catered to lumberjacks and sailors alike, providing a place for travelers and locals to both socialize and conduct business, all while enjoying drinks and food.

99 Union Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open Sunday through Thursday 6:30am-12:00am,
Friday and Saturday 6:30am-1am
Breakfast: Daily, 6:30am - 11:00am

Lunch: Daily, 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Daily, 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Happy Hour: Daily, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
First Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 749-7070

Website:
http://goldfinchtavern.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $17 when dining in the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Westlake Center Station, University Street Station, 4th Avenue

Executive Chef:
Joe Ritchie

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Let Goldfinch Tavern make your next celebration or meeting unforgettable in one of our two private dining rooms. Either room can accommodate up to 16 guests for intimate gatherings or 25 guests for a standing reception. Valet parking, coat check and AV are available for all events.

Goldfinch Tavern at Four Seasons Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (36)
Good for a Date (30)
Local Ingredients (23)
See All
Fit for Foodies (23)
Special Occasion (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Business Meals (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Waterfront (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Romantic (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Cozy (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Casual (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Fun (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Seasonal (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Authentic (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fireplace (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
413 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant is in the four seasons hotel it is across the street from the Seattle art museum and not far from pikes place market you need a reservation the service is excellent do have the12 oyster appetizer just fantastic 4 each of 3 different local oysters also treat yourself to the fruit compote and little vanilla donut holes small tasty dessert

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy, Casual, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Food is terrific! I prefer the open format of the front of the restaurant, the back is a more traditional restaurant. Service was excellent if a little cloying, quiet brunch. :)

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Wait team was great! Personable , not too much and not too little. Accommodating and caring.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We had a great experience, very good foot and excellent service, would go back....

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We had an amazing dinner here with our toddler and baby. They were so welcoming and helpful with the kids. They have a great kids menu, even gabe our daughter some kids cutlery, lots of crayons and Disney princess colouring sheets. She was happy and busy while we had an amazing meal. Presentation was beautiful. Everything was on point as usual at Four Seasons, thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The quality of the food and the overall experience is always excellent. The entire team is highly skilled in giving each and every guest the best experience. I wish they would bring back the pretzels that were on the previous menu (before the remodel). The one thing I do not like is the automatic addition of 20% to the bill. I much prefer to express appreciation for my experience in the amount that matches the experience. I do not like this predetermined for me.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Service was excellent.. food was excellent. Would definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Wait staff was good but the food took too long to come out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 26, 2017

I seldom write an unfavorable review on the theory that if you can't say anything nice, don't say anything at all. But after lunch at Goldfinch Tavern the other day, I feel compelled to register my dissatisfaction. Let's start by saying, this is a Four Seasons after all, so value-for-the-money is always a contradiction in terms. A bowl of soup with six ounces of broth (really a cup of soup) and small side salad (albeit nicely dressed) for $17 is not a bargain lunch. But, as I said, it's the Four Seasons and the view is lovely, so it is what it is.

But the problem was the service. The waiter was clearly inexperienced in his role. He hovered making chit-chat at the beginning then disappeared for a too-long interval before taking our order. Then he forgot part of the order, never apologized for his oversight, and failed to take the item off the bill.

Meanwhile, two different staff members interrupted our business conversation to ask how we were enjoying our lunch. Besides being insensitive to the fact we were engaged in a conversation (is it not possible for two women to be having a business conversation?), it appears that there are more bosses than workers in the dining room. Maybe Goldfinch could spend its money on one good waiter and omit the good-will ambassadors who are satellites each in their own orbits, oblivious to what the other is doing.

Then there is the matter of the 20% service charge included in the bill. I'm not opposed to a service charge policy, but I wish I had noticed that policy when looking through the menu. Unfortunately for me, when the bill came I failed to notice the modifier "Extra Gratuity" on the gratuity line. My fault that I added another 20% on what was already a ridiculous bill for lunch.

If you feel needy of the prestige of the Four Seasons, go to Goldfinch. Otherwise, there are lots of other places to have a business lunch in downtown Seattle.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Had brunch there on a Sunday. Ambience could be improved, kind of dark unless you get a window table. There are lots of good brunch choices. Food is good, but not great. Service was superb.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Let's be clear: I LOVE Ethan Stowell's pasta and just about everything else. My husband isn't a fan of fish, but since we were meeting friends at SAM for the Yayoi Kusama exhibit, Gold Finch was RIGHT there, convenient. Cocktails were great. (Lusty Lady get's a thumbs up.) Bruschetta? Check! The dry aged strip was DRY and tough. (I tasted it.) I felt bad for my Sweetie. He never sends anything back. He should have. Wine helped and desserts (a riesling with fresh berries and donut holes) left only a sweet memory.
I'm certain this is a great restaurant if you like fish. We will just keep telling our friends about the other Ethan Stowell restaurants we like.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The meal was excellent and the view beautiful! This was an all around great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The service was outstanding and so was the food!! We went for lunch and then returned on the weekend for brunch! So delicious. Would go back again in a heartbeat if I lived in Seattle!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We went to Goldfinch Tavern specifically for their weekend brunch from 10 am-2 pm. We were seated at 12:45 or 1--plenty of time, we thought, to enjoy the buffet. However, several items listed on the menu--e.g., oysters--were never available. Other items were available during our first pass through the buffet, but were never replenished: poke, asparagus, etc. Eventually we were told they had run out of oysters!

The buffet comes w/1 entree. One diner ordered a la carte, and her entree was served right away. Other entrees didn't come until 45 min later, as we had to specifically request they be served (?!), even though we had ordered them at the beginning of the meal.

Eventually, 2 entrees (of 4) were delivered. 30 min later, we had to inquire after the 2 remaining entrees. We were informed that the kitchen had misplaced the order, and that our entrees wold be prepared ASAP. However, approx. another 30 min later, they still hadn't been delivered, at which point, we simply gave up. We had to flag down yet another server (our original one having long disappeared) to request that our MIA entrees be boxed up to go.

A shout-out to Jessica, the assistant restaurant manager, who bravely attempted to wrangle our missing entrees. She was gracious and deeply apologetic, and she kindly comped us 2 buffets to make up for what had turned into a comedy of errors. She even went so far as to scrounge up 2 servings of poke, from where I know not. (Maybe someone ran to the Market? Or to a neighboring Tom Douglas restaurant? Regardless, her efforts were much appreciated.)

The food that was available was fine. The cookies, creme brulee and panna cotta shots were delicious too.

There are other mega-brunches in Seattle: i.e., Salty's or Palisades. Both are much more expensive than Goldfinch Tavern's. That perhaps should have been the first clue that we would get what we paid for. For Seattle's only 5-star hotel, this experience was a bit shambolic.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Disabled Access, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Almost everything was fantastic (cocktails, appetizers, wine, most of the entrees). I let the server talk me out of the king salmon and into the roast chicken, and that was my one regret. I expected the chicken to be excellent based on the strong recommendation, but it was a little tough and dry. I'm sure the salmon would have been quite good given it's a regional specialty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great atmosphere and beautiful views. Service was great. Dined on a Saturday afternoon and there was primarily a brunch menu with brunch buffet and just a few lunch items. On a Saturday afternoon would like to have a full lunch menu.
Overall it was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Everything about our experience was fantastic other than the $17 parking charge added ion top of an already above average priced lunch, plus tax on a 20% service charge. The food and service were excellent, delicious, amazing; and we would do it again. Just be prepared for sticker shock; ours was a $100 lunch for two by the time all was said and done (with no alchohol) .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Lunch with 2 adults and a child can go up to like $100.00. Special occasion for us!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2017

service is very good. food overall is so-so. had the Caesar salad, steamed clams, crab cakes. expresso was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This is my third time at Goldfinch and I will continue to dine here. The service is impeccable, the ambiance is great and the food is always top notch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We were very impressed! We used to go to ART, but Goldfinch is so much better! More interesting menu and the food was really excellent. We scheduled our monthly get together here and we will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Just great. Everything you expect in a four seasons.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Went for my graduation dinner with 6 guests. We got one of everything on happy hour menu. Food was delicious, wait staff was excellent, and they gave me a free dessert! Will definitely come back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Waterfront, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We were six with a reservation two hours before a Sunday Benaroya show. The restaurant was not full, and there seemed to be plenty of staff, but the service was spotty. It took about forty minutes for our cocktails to be served. The staff were pleasant, and attentive, but orders were given to the wrong patrons, and no one offered pepper for anything. Simple conversations like, "yes, leave the wine glasses, we are looking at the wine menu" had to be reiterated. Despite having planned 1.5 hours for the meal, we ran out of time for dessert/coffee. The food was good, but not remarkable, with creative recipes, local provenance, and careful preparations. The portions were ample, making the price point reasonable, but the wine was overpriced. It was noisier than we expected, making it difficult to hear from a centrally located table. There are so many really good restaurants in Seattle, when I'm this underwhelmed, I'm unlikely to return.

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food, service, and ambiance were superb, but they were not worth the high prices charged.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Professional and attentive service, lovely ambiance, and excellent food. Not the most inexpensive place you will find, but the quality is very high, and it's a lovely experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Food was really great! Coffee really really bad.....

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I had wanted to visit Goldfinch for some time. My friends and I came for Brunch last Sunday. Our waiter was pretty awful. I realized that every check automatically includes gratuity and that may be one of the reasons the service was so bad. Our waiter would never check on us or offer to refill/ replenish beverages. His mannerisms were so strange his service- or lack there of- ruined an important milestone. And the food- was good but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 23, 2017

specifically asked for salmon to be cooked medium - raw in center. Asparagus so raw they were like wood. flavors mediocre. not worth the money or the time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Although in The Four Season's hotel, we have routinely enjoyed a relatively inexpensive dinner during happy hour which ends at 6:00. They take reservations for 5:45 and I request a window table for the lovely waterfront view. Service is impeccable with 2-3 servers following up with beverages, food, and service clearing. My husband enjoyed the happy hour Unusual Margarita while I had the prosecco for $7. We shared dozen oysters for $18, split the burger which was perfectly cooked rare, and the mussels. The latter was such a large portion that we only got through half. IMHO Taylor Shelfish has better prepared steamed mussels. Great overall experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Outstanding, creative local food menu. Great options for vegetarians, pescatarians and meatatarians alike. Awesome views and Seattle ambiance!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Excellent food and service; beautiful view. The grilled pork chop was delicious and you should definitely bust the diet for dessert. Goat cheese cheesecake as wonderful. Server was knowledgeable about wine and recommended nice pairings for our food choices.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great attentive and professional service. Food well executed. The chowder was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The food was not very good. We ordered the King crab pasta, came up very dry with pieces of crab bone in it. It had an okay flavor but the fact that it was so dry it was very disappointing. It was also the most expensive item on the lunch menu. The other food we ordered was fine but again, for the price you would expect to get an amazing meal. The drinks were good, the server was attentive when he came to check on us, but food and drinks took a long time to be served. We had also told them in advance we were celebrating our anniversary, but there were no special details, not even a note or congratulations from the staff. You would expect something from a place associated with the Four Seasons, but nothing. I would not recommend this place to other people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was my second time dining here and my brother and I brought my mom here for Mother's Day. They absolutely loved the view as we got to sit right next to the window, watching the sunset and Ferris wheel light up. The food was wonderful and the waiter was polite and conversational. Everything was great!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Attentive service, beautiful and tasty salad. Other appetizers and entrees are decent given the price tag. The house-made ice cream was delicious, especially tart cherry and coffee.
My dining partner had a shellfish allergy reaction immediately after tasting the hamachi crudo...

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Highly recommend. Great signature cocktails, yummy food, generous portions, attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Wonderful meal that was a true experience. Everyone at the restaurant was knowegable and gracious. There are not many places were you can have a 3 hour meal that is well times and is seemlesd. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Outstanding. The burger was astounding, the fries delicious and ample (we just warmed up yesterday's leftovers to have with lunch). We will definitely go back and look forward to working our way around an exceptional menu. Thanks to Massimo, our thoughtful waiter, and to the kitchen crew!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Casual, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This place was awesome. We had a table that looked out at the ferries wheel. We did the tasting menu and it's was phenomenal. Prices were good and the service was great. I highly recommend this for business meals.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.