Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Goldfinch Tavern at Four Seasons Seattle

Approachable sophisticated Pacific Northwest cuisine, simply prepared using the finest regional ingredients and served in a dining room with maritime-inspired design and sweeping views of Elliott Bay.

Ethan Stowell and Four Seasons Hotel Seattle are thrilled to announce the name of their new restaurant collaboration: Goldfinch Tavern. Named for the state bird of Washington, the American goldfinch.

The upscale tavern pays homage to the city’s pioneer days, when taverns catered to lumberjacks and sailors alike, providing a place for travelers and locals to both socialize and conduct business, all while enjoying drinks and food.

99 Union Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open Sunday through Thursday 6:30am-12:00am,
Friday and Saturday 6:30am-1am
Breakfast: Daily, 6:30am - 11:00am

Lunch: Daily, 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Daily, 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Happy Hour: Daily, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
First Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 749-7070

Website:
http://goldfinchtavern.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $17 when dining in the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Westlake Center Station, University Street Station, 4th Avenue

Executive Chef:
Joe Ritchie

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Let Goldfinch Tavern make your next celebration or meeting unforgettable in one of our two private dining rooms. Either room can accommodate up to 16 guests for intimate gatherings or 25 guests for a standing reception. Valet parking, coat check and AV are available for all events.

Goldfinch Tavern at Four Seasons Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

ScenicView (45)
Foodies (35)
GoodForDates (32)
See All
CreativeCuisine (28)
LocalIngredients (26)
BusinessMeals (26)
SpecialOccasions (26)
Waterfront (25)
Anniversaries (24)
HappyHour (21)
HandcraftedCocktails (18)
Birthdays (17)
BarSeating (16)
Romance (16)
QuietConversation (14)
Lunch (14)
ModernDecor (13)
Fireplace (13)
Groups (12)
Casual (12)
Cozy (12)
SundayLunch (11)
PrePostTheatre (11)
WorthTheDrive (10)
VibrantBarScene (10)
Fun (10)
TastingMenu (9)
Seasonal (9)
NotableWineList (9)
AfternoonCoffee (7)
NeighborhoodGem (7)
HotSpot (7)
Brunch (7)
Healthy (6)
Authentic (6)
PeopleWatching (5)
ComfortFood (4)
ChildFriendly (4)
LateNightFind (3)
PaleoFriendly (3)
VegetarianOptions (3)
FamilyStyle (3)
AfternoonTea (3)
GlutenFree (2)
Organic (2)
GreatBeer (2)
MolecularGastronomy (2)
PrivateRoom (2)
DisabledAccess (2)
Tapas (1)
QuickBite (1)
Sort By:
S
301 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined a day ago

Just great. Everything you expect in a four seasons.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Went for my graduation dinner with 6 guests. We got one of everything on happy hour menu. Food was delicious, wait staff was excellent, and they gave me a free dessert! Will definitely come back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Waterfront, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We were six with a reservation two hours before a Sunday Benaroya show. The restaurant was not full, and there seemed to be plenty of staff, but the service was spotty. It took about forty minutes for our cocktails to be served. The staff were pleasant, and attentive, but orders were given to the wrong patrons, and no one offered pepper for anything. Simple conversations like, "yes, leave the wine glasses, we are looking at the wine menu" had to be reiterated. Despite having planned 1.5 hours for the meal, we ran out of time for dessert/coffee. The food was good, but not remarkable, with creative recipes, local provenance, and careful preparations. The portions were ample, making the price point reasonable, but the wine was overpriced. It was noisier than we expected, making it difficult to hear from a centrally located table. There are so many really good restaurants in Seattle, when I'm this underwhelmed, I'm unlikely to return.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food, service, and ambiance were superb, but they were not worth the high prices charged.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Professional and attentive service, lovely ambiance, and excellent food. Not the most inexpensive place you will find, but the quality is very high, and it's a lovely experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Food was really great! Coffee really really bad.....

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I had wanted to visit Goldfinch for some time. My friends and I came for Brunch last Sunday. Our waiter was pretty awful. I realized that every check automatically includes gratuity and that may be one of the reasons the service was so bad. Our waiter would never check on us or offer to refill/ replenish beverages. His mannerisms were so strange his service- or lack there of- ruined an important milestone. And the food- was good but not great.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 24, 2017

specifically asked for salmon to be cooked medium - raw in center. Asparagus so raw they were like wood. flavors mediocre. not worth the money or the time

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Although in The Four Season's hotel, we have routinely enjoyed a relatively inexpensive dinner during happy hour which ends at 6:00. They take reservations for 5:45 and I request a window table for the lovely waterfront view. Service is impeccable with 2-3 servers following up with beverages, food, and service clearing. My husband enjoyed the happy hour Unusual Margarita while I had the prosecco for $7. We shared dozen oysters for $18, split the burger which was perfectly cooked rare, and the mussels. The latter was such a large portion that we only got through half. IMHO Taylor Shelfish has better prepared steamed mussels. Great overall experience.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great attentive and professional service. Food well executed. The chowder was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Attentive service, beautiful and tasty salad. Other appetizers and entrees are decent given the price tag. The house-made ice cream was delicious, especially tart cherry and coffee.
My dining partner had a shellfish allergy reaction immediately after tasting the hamachi crudo...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Highly recommend. Great signature cocktails, yummy food, generous portions, attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Outstanding. The burger was astounding, the fries delicious and ample (we just warmed up yesterday's leftovers to have with lunch). We will definitely go back and look forward to working our way around an exceptional menu. Thanks to Massimo, our thoughtful waiter, and to the kitchen crew!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Casual, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This place was awesome. We had a table that looked out at the ferries wheel. We did the tasting menu and it's was phenomenal. Prices were good and the service was great. I highly recommend this for business meals.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We had another excellent meal at Goldfinch Tavern this past week. The halibut was especially good and the goat cheese salad is definitely worth ordering. Service, as usual, was efficient and friendly. We had a new dessert, a multi-layer chocolate concoction with accompanying amaretto-flavored ice cream, which was phenomenal! The wine list covers a good range of offerings and prices.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner - great vibe and great service. Prices a bit steep but the restaurant is in the Four Seasons Hotel, so not too surprising. My halibut entree was excellent but my husband's steak was average and a bit tough, especially given the price. We will try again and perhaps stick with the fish.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We had a superb birthday dinner. We chose the "Chef's Choice" tasting meal and it was wonderful

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Goldfinch Tavern is a great spot to grab a bite before going to events at Benaroya. Happy hour is short but the food is very good. Well-designed space surrounding a fireplace, with a view overlooking Elliott Bay. Staff friendly and attentive. Will definitely go back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Very disappointed.
I'm no stranger to paying top dollar for a special meal but Goldfinch really missed the mark. The chicken was dry & over cooked and about 15% of the mussels and frites were undercooked and unopened.

Very expensive "foodie lesson" at $375 bucks for 4 people

-A disappointed local.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great service very friendly and casual. Food was delightful.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We go to Goldfinch Tavern often before Benaroya Hall events. Always great service, wonderful food and nice atmosphere.

The Halibut is really, really good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 15, 2017

It was clean, Great service, the waitress was very friendly, and gave exceptional service, she made sure we had everything we needed at all times. The menu options were great, the buffet had alot of great choices for different types of eating habits... The prices were good for what you got.. Only thing I would complain about is that they don't give you a choice for the tip amount.. They automatically charge you 20%.. .. Which is a great amount for the great service in my case, but in some cases the service might not deserve a 20% tip

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Fireplace, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Went for Seattle Restaurant Week menu, which was superb (the shellfish bisque was sublime, the spot-prawn gnocchi wonderful, everything else delicious and well prepared). Our server was expert and hit just the right balance of attentiveness and timing; the "suppert" waitstaff was also excellent. We're making plans to go back!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The service was good and the food was tasty but the big downside was that the portion was way too small. They offered no bread, the drinks were full of ice cubes, the soup was under 50 ml, the halibut and steak cut too small and the desserts were tiny. Overall I wouldn't think it's good value but may be good for dates.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 13, 2017

My halibut was perfectly cooked, and the seafood bisque was rich and flavorful. It was a lovely evening.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Tasty food, well made.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Went for restaurant week and the menu was amazing!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Lovely ambiance and location, good service, but the food was just OK. Rather bland and uninspiring presentation and the food tasted fine but nothing you couldn't do yourself at home. If I go out to a "4 star" restaurant like Goldfinch and pay accordingly I expect to be impressed and leave feeling like I got something I either couldn't, or wouldn't, prepare myself.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food was amazing. Our meal started out with great servoce, but then fell flat very quickly. Our server left and no one told us. we had to flag down another server after about 30 mins of not being checked on. I had been told about the awesome brunch experience, and the amazing service. I was really disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Super brunch made our visit across the street to the Sam Art Museum even more enjoyable. BTW you flower arrangements at the concierge desk are truly lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Good food, not great. Very good service. Nice view of waterfront.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We went during the Seattle restaurant week, 3 course for only $32. Definitely worth every penny. :)

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Went for Seattle Restaurant Week. Tasting menu was nice but not spectacular. Service was lovely.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Hot Spot, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I was there for restaurant week. The menu choices were many which sometimes is not the case. I had the shellfish bisque, the Halibut and the strawberry rhubarb tart. All were very tasty. My only criticism is that I thought there was too much crumble on the tart. The fruit was excellent, however.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Went there for Seattle Restaurant week, 3 course for $32. Food was quite good. Ambiance very nice, and wait staff did a good job. Would definitely return to this restaurant.
Concerns: I thought the wine pours (wine by the glass) were somewhat minimal in size, also I still am not used to the fact that automatically they put a 20% surcharge on the meal....it is hard to express ones satisfaction or dissatisfaction with the service if a 20% tip is automatic.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 5, 2017

As big Ethan Stowell fans we were excited to test the Goldfinch out during Seattle Restaurant Week. Came away thinking we had a meal with good and bad dishes and found the total bill was way higher than expected.

My husband had a really nice raw salmon and beet starter and my main course halibut was very good. I had the lamb terrain as a starter. The terrain was dry, and in texture reminded me of canned corned beef from my childhood. Flavor was lacking. I put it down to a bad choice on my part, but then my husband had the shrimp gnocchi dish as a main which he said was lacking in flavor, he had to ask for salt to pep it up. Chocolate hazelnut cheesecake for desert was OK.
Our main reason we will not return was all the extra costs, water at $9, coffee at $5/cup and a fixed 20% service charge added to all bills(we were only 2), along with alcohol we ended up paying way more than at similar quality restaurants during SRW.

There were a lot of wait staff, but service was nothing special but adequate. Our spoons for desert were delivered while we were still eating our main course, and then I watched our deserts come from the kitchen, and as the waiter reached our table he realized we hadn't quite finished our main course so circled around the dining room with them in his hand until we had.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Took advantage of the Seattle Restaurant Week menu and was impressed by the quantity and selection. Every item we ordered was delicious. The halibut and beef were cooked to perfection.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 4, 2017

The service and setting were excellent. This was a Seattle Restaurant Week visit, so the value was also really good. The food was not quite what we'd normally expect from an Ethan Stowell place, but we think that can be chalked up to the aforementioned SRW where they're trying to provide a lower cost than usual. The lamb terrine was a little dry and crumbly, the stinging nettle pasta's strongest flavor was butter, and the cheesecake dessert was on the small side. We would definitely go back and try the regular menu for a special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 4, 2017

I had a great first experience and then the second time was only an average experience. I had the halibut during Seattle Restaurant Week and it was a bit too salty and dry. The shellfish bisque was incredibly overpowering with a flavor that wasn't desirable. Our waiter never came by which kind of sucked since they get an auto 20% gratuity no matter how small of a party. The food was only OK and parking is expensive unless you are able to find street parking. To me, not worth the hassle.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 3, 2017

We went for Restaurant Week and were delighted with the overall experience. We will definitely return!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.