About Golden Pheasant Inn

763 River Road
Erwinna, PA 18920
View Larger Map

"Exquisite" is the word to describe this experience - John V.R. Bull, Philadelphia Inquirer.
Perfect for a relaxed country meal, a weekend getaway or a glass of wine by the fire or on our outdoor terrace, it is hard to imagine a more picturesque setting than the Golden Pheasant Inn. The menu offers fresh, seasonal, locally sourced ingredients, The wine list offers over 160 selections by the bottle and 20 by the glass. Located between the Delaware River and Canal in a historic fieldstone inn, we are one hour and fifteen minutes from New York City or Philadelphia, and only 20 minutes north of New Hope, PA. The inn has been family owned and operated for over 27 years. We look forward to welcoming you and sharing the beauty of Bucks County!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm;

Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 8:00pm,

Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Dark Hollow Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 294-9595

Website:
http://www.goldenpheasant.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking on-site.

Executive Chef:
Blake Faure and Jonathan Collier Ramsay

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Golden Pheasant Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
Bucks County
Best Ambiance
Bucks County
4 More
Fit for Foodies
Bucks County
Outdoor Dining
Bucks County
Romantic
Bucks County
Special Occasion
Bucks County
Best Restaurants in Erwinna ›

special occasion (42)
scenic view (41)
romantic (36)
See All
fit for foodies (33)
great for outdoor dining (28)
great for brunch (22)
neighborhood gem (17)
notable wine list (17)
good for groups (7)
great for lunch (5)
kid-friendly (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
Sort By:
Newest
506 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have dined many times in the past at ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have dined many times in the past at Golden Pheasant Inn, and we haven't been here in a few years. This experience we felt was only average. The location is lovely, the decor is beautiful, and the service is okay. The food was average to below average. We had the chicken, and it was completely dried out, and the vegetables were not crisp. The appetizers and salad were borderline average to good, but I expected more based on our past history. The desserts were worthy of the "foodie" label.

The service staff delivered our starters and dinner almost at the same time, so there was no time to enjoy either course. The dessert came very swiftly, and they cleared the dessert before we were even finished. They didn't even ask if we were done, they just grabbed the plates. I am not sure why we were rushed, as there was not a backlog of people and I felt that for the price point, the service should be consummate.

Overall, I don't believe we will be heading back to the Golden Pheasant.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Found this restaurant to be authentic fr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Found this restaurant to be authentic french cuisine along with a friendly staff. Food was delicious, wine was from an extensive list which can satisfy any wine lover.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal- beautiful setting by the Del ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great meal- beautiful setting by the Delaware

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The servers were fantastic, but the bart ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The servers were fantastic, but the bartender was rude.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a very enjoyable dinner. The foo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had a very enjoyable dinner. The food and service were very good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This was at least my 12th visit to the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was at least my 12th visit to the Golden Pheasant since their major renovations took place. It has become our go to favorite for a any occasion or no occasion at all. From the moment you arrive, you are treated with respect and courtesy. The wait staff is superb, our current favorite waitress is Hannah. ( they are all terrific) The food as always, was excellently prepared, beautifully presented. This visit was for their Father's day Brunch. Our first brunch there. An incredible value for 35.00; you receive a three course meal, including a glass of champagne. Multiple selections with many specials. I had recommended this wonderful restaurant to some skeptical friends of mine, who travel all over the world for food and wine. They returned delighted and plan to go again. Try it, you won't be disappointed. And, they have a very attractive bar area with tables, where they offer their Tavern Menu, which by the way, is available during the week in the main dining rooms.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stuff of the restaurant called us severa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Stuff of the restaurant called us several time to make sure we will be there and warned us ahead of time of the road construction . Service stuff are very friendly and helpful. The same cannot be said about the food, quality wise, not so great, especially considering the price. But we did enjoy the scenery, beautiful location right by the river.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Absolutely great place. We had a drink i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Absolutely great place. We had a drink in the bar, then sat outside by the canal. Just gorgeous. The food was spectacular. Maybe the best burger in the area (there is a bar menu and a dining room menu with higher end entrees as well). Just a perfect experience all the way around.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recently enjoyed a delectable dinner on ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Recently enjoyed a delectable dinner on the canal front patio, beginning with a creative French Blonde martini. The seasonal menu was varied and featured locally sourced items carefully prepared as not to mask the fresh favors. We cleaned our plates! The honey lavender ice cream from Ottsville was the piece de resistance. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Terrible, slow service and very under-wh ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Terrible, slow service and very under-whelmingly, mediocre food. I was embarrassed to bring friends to The Golden Pheasant for an anniversary and birthday celebration! What a shame that such a beautiful place does not have the food to go along with the facade! What an utter disappointment it was! The Golden Pheasant is crossed off my list...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

It's hard to find a restaurant in Bucks ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

It's hard to find a restaurant in Bucks County that has consistently fantastic food, consistently interesting and different specials, and consistently better than anything we could cook at home. Not just another touristy restaurant ...

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing, scallops were fabulous!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The menu items were great. Our table ordered the grilled romaine and scallops, my mom was the only one who ordered something different. She had the raviolis. Her food was barely warm when it arrived. I waited very long for my second glass of wine, and had to ask again. I also requested a menu to browse because I had changed my mind and wanted to order an appetizer, and it never came. I had to request it again. Overall the food was really good but the service was lacking. It wasn't that busy at all. We were there for my birthday and had actually changed our reservation from another restaurant to this one. A little disappointing but like I said, the dishes were great. Service needs to be better at a restaurant such as this one.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Nice night out

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We especially appreciated the food, quiet setting and service. We'll return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place on Rout 32

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The Golden Pheasant has been remodeled and the "sun room" that we sat in was beautiful and had river views from just about every seat. The back porch also looked lovely, but I had some concerns about mosquitoes, so take repellent just in case. Dining room was very pleasant as well.

We ate from the Tavern menu available in all areas of the restaurant, but you need to ask. (Note: it is not available on Saturday night.) The standard menu look very good as well, but we were just not in the mood for such a formal dinner that evening. The Tavern menu was outstanding. Every item on the menu was something I would have been happy to try. We both had creative salads that were delicious. I had a burger and it was one of the best ever. And my friend had Turkey Thanksgiving sandwich that was very tasty as well. We both wanted desert, but were too full. Next time. Great experience and will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Plumstead Joe

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

First time there. Great scenic view. Small bar but great service and great drinks. The food was very good and service was fine. Will go again soon

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very pricey. Spent too much money there.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Very pricey. Spent too much money there. food was good.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Always the best

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

If you have not experienced the Sunday brunch here, you must try it. You will never find a better Bloody Mary. Food is excellent as well. Tables are far enough apart that you can enjoy your own conversation.

We go often. The $35 fixed price 3-course meal was wonderful and well worth the money.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful country setting. Great food an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Beautiful country setting. Great food and attentive service. A perfect dinner location. I'm looking forward to our next dinner there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

After a couple of concerns from the past two visits, this was an wonderful experience for all four of us.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a great experience, although, thi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Always a great experience, although, this time our Server kept "dropping" the ball. Got the wrong Desserts even. Wait Staff was excellent though.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Exceptional service and the food was uni ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Exceptional service and the food was unique and excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful dinner here with my wife ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner here with my wife on our first wedding anniversary. Food was great, nice beer and wine list, as well as cocktails. The tavern looked quite popular, but we were seated in the dining area. Brittany, the hostess, was very accommodating and even noticed my note on my reservation about our anniversary and surprised us with champagne!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was terrific. Loved the local farm ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was terrific. Loved the local farm collaboration. Tomato bisque soup was the best I ever tried. Salads were unique and entrees were well prepared. Ambiance was the best of any local Inn or tavern in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Love, love, love The Golden Pheasant Inn

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Creative and delicious food, wonderful, friendly and attentive service, beautiful building and grounds. I highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely environment,great cocktails, so-so food

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Our first visit, our anniversary dinner: the bar,bartender,and cocktails were first rate, as was the ambiance and the service in general. We had crab cakes (I've had better), onion soup (quite good), flat bread (good), scallops (I've had better) and the steak with sausage (meh). I would say that the quality of the food does not justify the price. We will likely return, probably sit at the bar for a burger, or maybe try the brunch with visitors.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent for Sunday Brunch!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Golden Pheasant Inn consistently provides and excellent dining experience ... great food and attentive service in a comfortable setting. I met friends for Sunday brunch, started with prosecco and oysters, then enjoyed the mushroom soup, Croque Madame and finished with carrot cake. All were well-prepared and delicious. A couple in the food business accompanied us and were very impressed and, for a first, said that they would return in the future. The Inn strikes a nice balance of having good food without being too pricey and without the stuffiness you find sometimes in Bucks County eating establishments. Overall, I would recommend highly and it is definitely worth a long lunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Lovely night out

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Excellent food and service, but evening was marred by 2 loud tables of 4 who must have been drinking long before we arrived. Once they left, things improved. Waitress began by asking if we had been there before, and explained what stays on the menu and what changes seasonally. Everything we ordered was wonderful, although so much food that we each took half our entrees home. Started with charcuterie and cheese plates, moved on to roast pork loin chop and steak, and shared a peanut butter chocolate dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Experience

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We go here for special occasions and we have lots of choices. We have never had a bad experience and each visit we find something new to enjoy.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Renewed Pleasure

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Over a year since our last visit. Still a treat with their focus on seasonally and locally available produce, meats and cheeses.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Charming Inn

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Up to date menu served beautifully. Restored rooms with fireplace and river views. Great food and drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Drinks were a bit expensive, but very he ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Drinks were a bit expensive, but very healthy pour. Ambiance was beautiful and staff were friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Golden Pheasant Inn

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

I took my girlfriend out for a special dinner. I requested their most romantic table. We were seated in a cozy little room right in front of the fireplace. Great table, it was a bit warm in the room so no fire.

They give you a long speech about Farm to Table, their ingredients etc. I felt it was a bit long and a tad pretentious. Maybe a bit of history about the Inn would be nice, it's a lovely old house.

The food was served quickly. I received the wrong appetizer, I ordered Oysters and received Tuna. I ate the Tuna because it looked good, but would have liked to try the Oysters, as they were highly recommended by our server.

I had scallops, everything about them was perfect. My girlfriend had the Cowboy steak. The steak itself was excellent, however they put some tangy sauce on the steak and some sort of grilled cheese. Both were not needed, maybe a light sauce. The meat was fine on it's own, I felt the sauce and cheese were too much.

Overall a great place, we will be going back to dine on the patio when that opens up.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Revisit after 17 years!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Stayed and ate at the Pheasant 17 yrs ago for a special occasion. It was great, especially the restaurant . In the area last week and revisited for dinner. Food and bar were fantastic, service impeccable! Maria, our server was incredible! Will return as soon as possible!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for the Sunday brunch and as this w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Went for the Sunday brunch and as this was our second time experiencing this brunch, it didn't disappoint. One of my favorite entrees from a previous visit wasn't available on the menu this time, however the chef was gracious enough to make it for me. Thank you for making my day! You don't find this very often and the chef and server must be complimented. Our meals were wonderful and the ambiance of the restaurant adds to the dining experience. By the way, the Bloody Mary's are exceptional. We will return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Awesome ambiance and even better food!

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I went there for Valentine's Day and they didn't disappoint. Great scenery, ambiance and food! We'll definitely be back!

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I had high hopes for this restaurant. Am ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I had high hopes for this restaurant. Ambiance was very nice. Food was average/disappointing. 2 of us had duck breast. It was mostly fat. 1 in our party had the steak. Very fatty. Service was average. The waitress forgot things we ordered. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Perfect for an anniversary

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

We went for our 15th anniversary. It was perfect. A great night out for a special occasion. The server was wonderful and didn't rush us at all. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

delightful

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

could not check off items I did not experience. Had a wonderful evening...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday dinner

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

We went to The Golden Pheasant Inn to celebrate my birthday. It was the first time that we visited this restaurant. It was a lovely experience. We were seated at a table right in front of the fireplace. The food was delicious, and afterward we were treated to complementary champagne and ice cream. We will certainly be back to enjoy another fine meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Dinner

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Took my wife there for her birthday. Food was excellent. Restaurant itself is charming. Service is top notch. I will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.