Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.11mi
  2. Distance: 2.70mi
  3. Distance: 3.14mi
  4. Distance: 4.16mi
  1. Distance: 1.11mi
  2. Distance: 2.70mi
  3. Distance: 3.14mi
  4. Distance: 4.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.11mi
  2. Distance: 2.70mi
  3. Distance: 3.14mi
  4. Distance: 4.16mi
  1. Distance: 1.11mi
  2. Distance: 2.70mi
  3. Distance: 3.14mi
  4. Distance: 4.16mi

About Golden Pheasant Inn

"Exquisite" is the word to describe this experience - John V.R. Bull, Philadelphia Inquirer.
Perfect for a relaxed country meal, a weekend getaway or a glass of wine by the fire or on our outdoor terrace, it is hard to imagine a more picturesque setting than the Golden Pheasant Inn. The menu offers fresh, seasonal, locally sourced ingredients, The wine list offers over 160 selections by the bottle and 20 by the glass. Located between the Delaware River and Canal in a historic fieldstone inn, we are one hour and fifteen minutes from New York City or Philadelphia, and only 20 minutes north of New Hope, PA. The inn has been family owned and operated for over 27 years. We look forward to welcoming you and sharing the beauty of Bucks County!

763 River Road
Erwinna, PA 18920
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm;

Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 8:00pm,

Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Dark Hollow Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 294-9595

Website:
http://www.goldenpheasant.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking on-site.

Executive Chef:
Blake Faure and Jonathan Collier Ramsay

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Golden Pheasant Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fireplace (27)
Special Occasion (23)
Romantic (23)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Historic (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Scenic View (14)
Cozy (13)
Waterfront (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Seasonal (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Authentic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Organic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Healthy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Fun (3)
Casual (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
586 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

This was our first visit , we will be going back again soon . We had a fantastic time the staff is wonderful and the food was excellent. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (London)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We went for a nice Sunday brunch - the food and ambiance were great and the selection had a good mix of options for everyone. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 2, 2017

GP is a go to place for our family.

The food is served with exceptional care and quality.

The staff are welcoming, very professional and catering to your needs.

Always a pleasure to dine in this establishment.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We ordered the West coast oysters in the hope there is less pollution over there than the waters of the East coast ; smallest oysters we ever had. Taste was OK. We had the lamb shank, very tender, delicious. It was accompanied by barbecue sauce , luckily it was on the side...The fingerling potatoes were tasteless and dry and wrinkled, the mashed potatoes were fine. There was a small piece of greenery, I cannot remember what is was nor how it tasted. The apple crumble was nice. I feel this is not fine dining but uninspirational same old same old comfort food. If I see more purreed or mashed food I might scream one day...Please when is this trend going to end? At home I cook every day more creative (and fresher) food than this and I am not a pro. Service was very friendly as usual!

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The restaurant is very nice and cozy. The wait staff was excellent. The food looked pretty. However, the food was just ok. The prices were high for just an ok meal. I wouldn't return, however, if anyone asked me about it, I would recommend it, they may like it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Food was absolutely perfect. Mushroom soup is spectacular from the first bite on.
Maria is probably one of the most attentive severs we've ever had.
Very nice evening. Great quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We had an excellent dinner. The only negative was the almost empty dining room...too quiet. However, this is
Is one of the very best restaurants in the area, no doubt about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This is my third time coming here, and each time it has been a great experience. I have brought my children, and they have been very accommodating. The service has been outstanding, paying attention to the littlest of details, and the brunch was great. All of our food was prepared well and we will be coming back. For the area, it is my favorite spot to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had another great meal at The Golden Pheasant. Always top-notch food, ambiance and service. Love it here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Outstanding food, service and atmosphere. Wonderful location !

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Charcuterie plate was delicious as always. It is a particular favorite for us. It's a lot of food though. Consider this when ordering the balance of your meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I visited the restaurant after many great recommendations by numerous friends. It is a restaurant that I have always wanted to visit and it did not disappoint. Our waitress (Hannah) was tremendous and provided some terrific recommendations - if you are a lamb fan, the lamb shank is incredible, and my wife loved her scallops.

Further to the wonderful meal, the Inn is an actually working place to spend the night. While we did not have an opportunity to stay over - it will certainly be something that we make a point to do over the next few months.

It seems to have a repeat customer base (Frenchtown is right across the river) and the customers know all that work at the restaurant by name. It's a great place to try, as I believe you will find your way back. It's a little pricey, but for a special treat, it's well worth the $$$.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Historic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very nice dinner, even though the room was full it was quiet. Our table was beautiful and the food was very good. Just a bit over priced is all I can say.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We visited the Golden Pheasant Inn on the Saturday before Valentines Day. Because of the holiday, it was busy but definitely not rushed. We had a lovely table for two by the window. It's spacious and you are definitely not on top of other patrons. The room was cozy with a fire in the fireplace. They offered a special prix fixe menu as well as the regular menu.

We started with a dozen fresh oysters which were probably the freshest I've had in Bucks County. The wine list is great and extensive and the markup is only about 2x so they don't try to gouge you.

The food was delicious. Salads are huge, so you can consider sharing. They are flexible with entrees so if you prefer different accompaniment, they even offer it.

Surprised we have lived in the are this long and have never been here before. We need to go back more often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always a pleasure to return to The Golden Pheasant. The food is amazing and the service is top notch, even on a busy night.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Over-priced and unexceptional. We went to celebrate Valentine's Day and this was our first time at The Golden Pheasant. While it does offer a pleasing ambiance the food was average at best. We both enjoyed the french onion soup but dinner was dry and under-seasoned, Our server was not what you would expect at a restaurant at this price point; we asked for bread three times and she said it was baking. We ended up asking the busboy who provided basic Italian bread as our entrees were served. Our waitress also forgot our coffees, and ultimately brought them out about 15 minutes after our desserts arrived. Restaurant charges a $25 corking fee which is still significantly less than their wine price options. Based on overall experience we are unlikely to return.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife an I had a lovely dinner celebrating an early Valentine's Day. The Golden Pheasant has never disappointed us, we have been dining there since 1976! Great menus and ambience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Have not been there in a bit but quality consistent as ever. Goof food and very good service. Wine list could use more selection priced between the cheaper, mass-produced junk and the high price bottles. But, nonetheless, we found a good value in a red wine. Will certainly return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Historic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The waitress was professional, the pork chop special was just ok, the brusselsprouts were hard and not cooked throughout. Too expensive for the product provided.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was my first visit to Golden Pheasant. Unfortunately, it will also be my last. I took my GF there for a special occasion.

The ambiance is wonderful (and the only reason why this is not a 1 star review).

The service, however, was perfunctory and cold. Our server seemed disinterested from the beginning.

The food was dreadful. For starters, my GF's arugula, goat cheese and beet salad was so overdressed that she commented that she said it tasted like drinking pure vinegar. She only ate half of it. My butternut squash bisque (a special), was completely tasteless. I only ate two spoonfuls and left the rest. Despite both plates being barely eaten, our server cleared them and never asked if anything was wrong.

For entrees, my GF's pork chop was nicely cooked but severely under seasoned. She brought it to life with some salt and pepper but could not cure the barely cooked Brussels sprouts, which she left on the plate. My halibut entree was rancid and had to be removed from the table immediately as the smell was so offensive the table next to us noticed it. How that fish got past the kitchen is beyond me. The replacement salmon was slightly better but was mushy instead of flaky.

After this, we quickly asked for the check. During the course of our meal, no one from management came to our table to discuss the serious problems we encountered. That's a shame.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Very enjoyable evening. Quiet and intimate dining, just what we were looking for.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Great Beer, Fun, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We often bring groups of friends for Sunday Brunch. In all but the worst weather, it is a pleasant place to sit and watch the river, enjoy the change of seasons and, of course, be able to rely on the great food! It's a local treasure.

Tags: Organic, Historic, Fireplace, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food,service, and ambiance was top notch! Would definitely recommend to friends and will definitely be back. The brunch menu was extensive and varied in the selecting your course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

What a lovely Sunday brunch in every regard! This charming venue features water views in a sunlit room also warmed by a fireplace. We thoroughly enjoyed the fixed price brunch menu that offered plenty of delectable choices and included champagne, soup or salad, main entree, and dessert. The food and presentation were exceptional, as was the service. We will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was a lovely experience for a birthday celebration

Tags: Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It does not get any better than this for a nice time and great food and service 👍

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The perfect place for a country brunch on a snowy day, with a well tended fire, and some mushroom soup.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food and service were very good; it's a classy place. A couple of things could be improved upon. 1) The mushroom soup was slightly underseasoned. Garlic? Onion? Savory herbs? A little something more would be good. 2) The beer I had, Troegs Mad Elf, is 11% alcohol, usually served in a 6-8 ounce glass, not a full pint 3) The salmon was superb, but served in a deep bowl which made it very hard to get to. Unnecessary and should be on a plate.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was great and the service was attentive. I find that I prefer veal chops thinner and I did not realize that "flat water" was actually bottled water at additional cost. I count that as a learning.experience for me and.give the meal a grade of A!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We shared our New Years Eve celebration with close friends and everyone at the Pheasant!
Oysters were excellent, as well as my fern salad and Salmon. Finished off the meal with the Creme Brulee and a glass of champagne.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Authentic, Waterfront, Historic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

What a great place to spend New Years. The food it out of this world along with the service
and the atmosphere. They always do a top rated job and because it was a holiday they never
raise the prices because of it. Way to go. Thanks and I'll be back next year as well with all of
the weeks in between.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I went Christmas Eve. Had a good time and met lots of new and interesting people. Food was
out of this world (as usual).

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Historic, Fun, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We have been here many times, mostly outdoors recently. The food has always been very good, but it fell a little short this time. Pricey and service was just OK, but not we expect here.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent service and outstanding quality of cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 18, 2016

A terrific meal on a snowy night with great service provided by Maria, who knew the menu well and made excellent recommendations. We both had the pork loin which was fantastic, as was the mushroom soup.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Based on the reviews I'd read, I went in expecting an excellent meal and I was very disappointed. To be fair, the appetizers and cocktails were good. We ordered the cheese plate, charcuterie plate, and the French onion soup, and they were all well presented and delicious. The main courses, however, were disappointing. I ordered the halibut, which was tough and overcooked and didn't taste fresh. Normally I love halibut, but this was the worst I'd ever tasted. My husband ordered the steak, which was cooked to his liking based on the color, but he said it tasted like it had been sitting out under a heat lamp for a while so it seemed like it had dried out (which makes sense, because service was slow). My son had the mussels, which he said were good.

The service was very slow. We had one server for the entire solarium room, which was nearly full by the time we left (over 2 hours later). While our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and took her time to explain everything to us in detail, she was clearly overwhelmed by the amount of tables she had.

We did not order dessert because we had waited so long for our other courses. I will say that our server brought us glasses of champagne with the check since my husband had mentioned earlier in the evening that it was my birthday. I thought that was a very nice touch.

I don't know if I'd go back for dinner again, but the drinks and appetizers were good, so I might sit at the bar sometime and check out the pub menu. I wanted to love this place because it's so beautiful, but I didn't.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Organic, Fireplace, Historic, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed dinner with another couple on a cold December Friday night. We all started with different appetizers and everyone loved what they had from oysters to smoked trout. I had an excellent halibut dish for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

A superb evening is an understatement! A most fantastic experience. The food, the service, the decor all perfect. I will definitely return.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Best in bucks county absolutely fabulous. Highly recommended. Local ingredients every dish was spectacular. Service was excellent

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Authentic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.