About Golden Pheasant Inn

763 River Road
Erwinna, PA 18920
View Larger Map

"Exquisite" is the word to describe this experience - John V.R. Bull, Philadelphia Inquirer.
Perfect for a relaxed country meal, a weekend getaway or a glass of wine by the fire or on our outdoor terrace, it is hard to imagine a more picturesque setting than the Golden Pheasant Inn. The menu offers fresh, seasonal, locally sourced ingredients, The wine list offers over 160 selections by the bottle and 20 by the glass. Located between the Delaware River and Canal in a historic fieldstone inn, we are one hour and fifteen minutes from New York City or Philadelphia, and only 20 minutes north of New Hope, PA. The inn has been family owned and operated for over 27 years. We look forward to welcoming you and sharing the beauty of Bucks County!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm;

Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 8:00pm,

Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Dark Hollow Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 294-9595

Website:
http://www.goldenpheasant.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking on-site.

Executive Chef:
Blake Faure and Jonathan Collier Ramsay

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Golden Pheasant Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Romantic
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
Bucks County
6 More
Best Service
Bucks County
Best Ambiance
Bucks County
Best Value
Bucks County
Fit for Foodies
Bucks County
Romantic
Bucks County
Special Occasion
Bucks County
Best Restaurants in Erwinna ›

special occasion (51)
romantic (44)
scenic view (39)
See All
fit for foodies (37)
notable wine list (22)
great for brunch (21)
great for outdoor dining (20)
neighborhood gem (14)
good for groups (12)
great for lunch (11)
kid-friendly (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
hot spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
487 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Always a great experience, although, thi ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Always a great experience, although, this time our Server kept "dropping" the ball. Got the wrong Desserts even. Wait Staff was excellent though.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional service and the food was uni ...

Dined 4 days ago

Exceptional service and the food was unique and excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful dinner here with my wife ...

Dined 4 days ago

Had a wonderful dinner here with my wife on our first wedding anniversary. Food was great, nice beer and wine list, as well as cocktails. The tavern looked quite popular, but we were seated in the dining area. Brittany, the hostess, was very accommodating and even noticed my note on my reservation about our anniversary and surprised us with champagne!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was terrific. Loved the local farm ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was terrific. Loved the local farm collaboration. Tomato bisque soup was the best I ever tried. Salads were unique and entrees were well prepared. Ambiance was the best of any local Inn or tavern in the area.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love, love, love The Golden Pheasant Inn

Dined on May 7, 2016

Creative and delicious food, wonderful, friendly and attentive service, beautiful building and grounds. I highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Lovely environment,great cocktails, so-so food

Dined on May 6, 2016

Our first visit, our anniversary dinner: the bar,bartender,and cocktails were first rate, as was the ambiance and the service in general. We had crab cakes (I've had better), onion soup (quite good), flat bread (good), scallops (I've had better) and the steak with sausage (meh). I would say that the quality of the food does not justify the price. We will likely return, probably sit at the bar for a burger, or maybe try the brunch with visitors.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent for Sunday Brunch!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Golden Pheasant Inn consistently provides and excellent dining experience ... great food and attentive service in a comfortable setting. I met friends for Sunday brunch, started with prosecco and oysters, then enjoyed the mushroom soup, Croque Madame and finished with carrot cake. All were well-prepared and delicious. A couple in the food business accompanied us and were very impressed and, for a first, said that they would return in the future. The Inn strikes a nice balance of having good food without being too pricey and without the stuffiness you find sometimes in Bucks County eating establishments. Overall, I would recommend highly and it is definitely worth a long lunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely night out

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Excellent food and service, but evening was marred by 2 loud tables of 4 who must have been drinking long before we arrived. Once they left, things improved. Waitress began by asking if we had been there before, and explained what stays on the menu and what changes seasonally. Everything we ordered was wonderful, although so much food that we each took half our entrees home. Started with charcuterie and cheese plates, moved on to roast pork loin chop and steak, and shared a peanut butter chocolate dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience

Dined on April 22, 2016

We go here for special occasions and we have lots of choices. We have never had a bad experience and each visit we find something new to enjoy.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

A Renewed Pleasure

Dined on April 16, 2016

Over a year since our last visit. Still a treat with their focus on seasonally and locally available produce, meats and cheeses.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Charming Inn

Dined on March 20, 2016

Up to date menu served beautifully. Restored rooms with fireplace and river views. Great food and drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Drinks were a bit expensive, but very he ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Drinks were a bit expensive, but very healthy pour. Ambiance was beautiful and staff were friendly.

food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Golden Pheasant Inn

Dined on March 13, 2016

I took my girlfriend out for a special dinner. I requested their most romantic table. We were seated in a cozy little room right in front of the fireplace. Great table, it was a bit warm in the room so no fire. They give you a long speech about Farm to Table, their ingredients etc. I felt it was a bit long and a tad pretentious. Maybe a bit of history about the Inn would be nice, it's a lovely old house. The food was served quickly. I received the wrong appetizer, I ordered Oysters and received Tuna. I ate the Tuna because it looked good, but would have liked to try the Oysters, as they were highly recommended by our server. I had scallops, everything about them was perfect. My girlfriend had the Cowboy steak. The steak itself was excellent, however they put some tangy sauce on the steak and some sort of grilled cheese. Both were not needed, maybe a light sauce. The meat was fine on it's own, I felt the sauce and cheese were too much. Overall a great place, we will be going back to dine on the patio when that opens up.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Revisit after 17 years!

Dined on March 10, 2016

Stayed and ate at the Pheasant 17 yrs ago for a special occasion. It was great, especially the restaurant . In the area last week and revisited for dinner. Food and bar were fantastic, service impeccable! Maria, our server was incredible! Will return as soon as possible!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Went for the Sunday brunch and as this w ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Went for the Sunday brunch and as this was our second time experiencing this brunch, it didn't disappoint. One of my favorite entrees from a previous visit wasn't available on the menu this time, however the chef was gracious enough to make it for me. Thank you for making my day! You don't find this very often and the chef and server must be complimented. Our meals were wonderful and the ambiance of the restaurant adds to the dining experience. By the way, the Bloody Mary's are exceptional. We will return again.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Awesome ambiance and even better food!

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I went there for Valentine's Day and they didn't disappoint. Great scenery, ambiance and food! We'll definitely be back!

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service2

I had high hopes for this restaurant. Am ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

I had high hopes for this restaurant. Ambiance was very nice. Food was average/disappointing. 2 of us had duck breast. It was mostly fat. 1 in our party had the steak. Very fatty. Service was average. The waitress forgot things we ordered. Will not go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for an anniversary

Dined on February 11, 2016

We went for our 15th anniversary. It was perfect. A great night out for a special occasion. The server was wonderful and didn't rush us at all. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

delightful

Dined on February 6, 2016

could not check off items I did not experience. Had a wonderful evening...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday dinner

vip
Dined on February 5, 2016

We went to The Golden Pheasant Inn to celebrate my birthday. It was the first time that we visited this restaurant. It was a lovely experience. We were seated at a table right in front of the fireplace. The food was delicious, and afterward we were treated to complementary champagne and ice cream. We will certainly be back to enjoy another fine meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Dinner

Dined on January 31, 2016

Took my wife there for her birthday. Food was excellent. Restaurant itself is charming. Service is top notch. I will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Blown away

Dined on January 30, 2016

We ate here on 1/31/16. It was our anniversary and we were looking for an intimate restaurant that we had not been to yet. The GPI was highly recommended. We were told to request the room to the right of the bar. I was so happy that we got that room! The atmosphere with the large fireplace was exactly what I was looking for. I wish I could remember my server's name because she made our experience even better. She was so knowledgeable about the history of the inn and each item on the menu. We went with her recommendations which did not disappoint. The food is farm to table and you can taste that in everything from our soup and salads, butter/breads and dinner/deserts. This is truly a dining experience. So, go there planning to spend the money ( it is well worth it ) and TAKE YOUR TIME! We were there for about two hours from start to finish. I am already planing on going back once the garden terrace is open and again for my MIL's birthday in January!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Date Night

Dined on January 30, 2016

We love it here! The food is great and we love the cheese tray. We love to sit by the fire and enjoy good food and wine. The service is excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience
service5

Incredible food but did not appreciate t ...

Dined on January 21, 2016

Incredible food but did not appreciate the $25 corkage fee. It wasn't the cost as much it was the "principle of the issue" The compromised the experience. Not a prudent move on their part.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect meal, perfect service !

Dined on January 16, 2016

We had a divine dining experience at the Golden Pheasant Inn. The duck was extraordinary and my partner thoroughly enjoyed the cowboy steak. The marrow bone appetizer was also a true pleasure for my taste buds. The server celebrated each dish as she described the details, ingredients and which local farm was being presented. Our water glasses were always filled by the delightful young gentlemen who shared the roles of greeting us at the door and offering us more water. We sat in the dining room with surrounding windows (to the left of the bar). The well- maintained fireplace created a cozy country feeling of home. For our table, the background sound from other guests was not an issue. This was the best meal I've had in Bucks County. Looking forward to returning for our next "special treat". Thank you to all the people that made this happen.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner

Dined on January 14, 2016

The food was so fresh and delcious. The staff and other guest were so friendly. Very large portions. Only thing I was not a fan of is there was a $7 sharing fee.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Golden Pheasant gets a gold star!

Dined on January 3, 2016

we have wanted to go to the golden pheasant for brunch for a while now and finally had an opportunity to go with friends. Our meals were fantastic, Eggs Benedict, the golden pheasant omelette and some of the specials. The bloody marys are delicious! Made with Old Bay seasoning, yum yum. The scenery is beautiful the service was great however be ready to pay the price for it.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on January 1, 2016

We dined at The Golden Pheasant on New Year's Eve. The atmosphere was lovely and lively in an elegant fashion. We were escorted to the most amazing table, right in front of the fireplace. The service and food were outstanding. It was a magical night. Thank you! Chuck Charlton, Sr. & Noel Farina-Buonopane

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Mush

Dined on December 25, 2015

The good part is, the restaurant is nice, the customers are people you can imagine having at your house, and the overall atmosphere is pleasant and appealing. The bad part was the food. Menu descriptions are elaborate but that is also the problem. Halibut with garbanzo beans and other accompaniments was tasteless mush, in my opinion. A waste of an entrée. Duck breast was fairly good, but the kimchee on it did not enhance the dish. The prime rib was just poorly cooked, so rare it had that unpleasant texture of barely-cooked meat.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Christmas Eve dinner was very, very good ...

Dined on December 24, 2015

Christmas Eve dinner was very, very good this year. Ambiance was warm and inviting. Nice harp in background. Would recommend. Earlier seatings are nicer, less noise and crowds. Server Chris was very nice.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a find

Dined on December 24, 2015

Went for Christmas eve dinner and my wife and I were totally impressed. All people involved in the operation were friendly and proud to have you as a guest. We have lived in Bucks County since 1977 and do not know how we overlooked this gem. Traveling there may be a little exciting if there is snow on the road, but that fireplace glowing would make up for the excitement of the drive. Great find and a great wine list.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Quaint between the Delaware and Canal

Dined on December 5, 2015

Very nice place to dine. Did not get the room we wanted, but that may have been my mistake that I was not more specific. They could not change us to that room, sadly. Our table server was very nice and knowledgeable with great detail. Was our second time there. Would go again. Its pricey though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a Winner

Dined on November 29, 2015

This is my absolute favorite spot for brunch, any season it's always perfect!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!!

Dined on November 29, 2015

What a great find, this special place has tons of charm, great atmosphere and the food and service is surpassed by none.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4

Wonderful Find

Dined on November 27, 2015

Beautiful beyond belief, huge fire places, warm and romantic right on the Delaware River. Onion soup was the best, served with their wonderful bread. Tavern sandwiches were messy, roll flaked over everything and portobello sandwich sauce was sour...not good. Beer selection was incredible and enjoyable. We will come back and try something different.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

A really excellent thanksgiving dinner . ...

Dined on November 26, 2015

A really excellent thanksgiving dinner . Would recommend to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Pleased

Dined on November 21, 2015

Have been dining with the Faure family for about 30 years and have always had delicious food and great wines. Had the pleasure of actually sitting next to and having a chat with Michel this past weekend at the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Brunch

vip
Dined on November 15, 2015

I made a very good brunch on their field greens salad and what used to be a quite generous charcuterie plate (and a couple of pints of a local porter). My one complaint was with the charcuterie plate; it was really quite a bit smaller, despite the price increase, than a few months, back. In fact, the little ceramic jar of the duck mousse was less than half filled. When questioned, my server said that the kitchen used up most of it, earlier. She did bring me another of piece of the pheasant pate with their apologies.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

wonderful as always

Dined on November 5, 2015

Every time I dine at the Golden Pheasant, I am reminded of the good old days when restaurants really took an interest in all aspects of their business. This restaurant never fails to succeed and exceed my expectations. The atmosphere is warm and inviting, the entire staff is welcoming and seem to be genuinely pleased that we are dining with them. Our wait person, Maria, was attentive, yet unobtrusive and always has her guests best interest at heart. Her descriptions of the specials are wonderful!! A minor glitch with my drink was handled promptly and professionally and the bartender arrived a bit later to make sure everything was ok. The chef and her kitchen staff take a lot of time to prepare the most wonderful, tasty, and thoroughly enjoyable food. The mushroom soup, a special, had such depth of flavor, and the Fish Stew, another special was made with pure love :) Not to mention, top notch ingredients. Not normally a dessert eater, I was pleased and surprised by a birthday dessert plate of two beautiful heart shaped chocolate treats, accompanied by two lovely glasses of champagne...all compliments of the house. A wonderful evening in a wonderful cozy venue. Thank you...we'll be back soon!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Yes... you can please everyone!

Dined on November 4, 2015

I took my father for his 90th birthday. Each of the four of us had very different tastes, and my father is not typically into gourmet food. I was so happy when everyone "raved" about their meals. To begin, two of us split the salad listed as, "Swallow Hill Farm Arugula Greens, Marolda Farms Beets and Goat Cheese Salad." There was more in it than was listed; pomogranate seeds for example... and it provided both of us with a healthy portion and an exquisitely delicious salad. Dad and I had the lamb, which was a sizable portion and outstanding, my world-traveled food savvy friend had the Alaskan Halibut, which she said was 5-star, and my stepmother had the Scottish Salmon, which was delicious and presented to perfection. All with a lovely fresh baked bread, local organic butter, dipping oil, and a minced olive relish. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.