About Golden Pheasant Inn

763 River Road
Erwinna, PA 18920
View Larger Map

"Exquisite" is the word to describe this experience - John V.R. Bull, Philadelphia Inquirer.
Perfect for a relaxed country meal, a weekend getaway or a glass of wine by the fire or on our outdoor terrace, it is hard to imagine a more picturesque setting than the Golden Pheasant Inn. The menu offers fresh, seasonal, locally sourced ingredients, The wine list offers over 160 selections by the bottle and 20 by the glass. Located between the Delaware River and Canal in a historic fieldstone inn, we are one hour and fifteen minutes from New York City or Philadelphia, and only 20 minutes north of New Hope, PA. The inn has been family owned and operated for over 27 years. We look forward to welcoming you and sharing the beauty of Bucks County!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm;

Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 8:00pm,

Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Dark Hollow Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 294-9595

Website:
http://www.goldenpheasant.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking on-site.

Executive Chef:
Blake Faure and Jonathan Collier Ramsay

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Golden Pheasant Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
Bucks County
Best Service
Bucks County
2 More
Best Ambiance
Bucks County
Special Occasion
Bucks County
Best Restaurants in Erwinna ›

Romantic (23)
Special Occasion (22)
Scenic View (21)
See All
Worth the Drive (19)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Cozy (13)
Fireplace (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Waterfront (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Historic (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Authentic (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Seasonal (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Healthy (4)
Organic (4)
Casual (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Great Beer (2)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
540 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A superb evening is an understatement! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

A superb evening is an understatement! A most fantastic experience. The food, the service, the decor all perfect. I will definitely return.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in bucks county absolutely fabulous ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Best in bucks county absolutely fabulous. Highly recommended. Local ingredients every dish was spectacular. Service was excellent

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Authentic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I dine here pretty regularly ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My wife and I dine here pretty regularly. Always an excellent experience!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

chairs are way too deep and uncomfortabl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

chairs are way too deep and uncomfortable. brussels sprouts and turnips were seriously undercooked with the core still in the turnips! we recommend roasting them next time. scallops were excellent, pork was good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Beautiful location overlooking the Delaw ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Beautiful location overlooking the Delaware River and Canal, warm ambiance with fireplace crackling. Wait staff friendly and capable. Brunch consisted of Appetizer, Entree and Dessert with a glass of champagne to start. Salads were swimming in the balsamic dressing. Cream of mushroom soup must have been healthy, as no cream was used. My egg topped filet mignon was drenched in Bearnaise sauce, the petite filet, ordered medium to medium rare came out well done, tough and tasting strangely of liver. A smoked salmon benedict had cooked salmon, not the lox we expected, with tons of hollandaise sauce, which blanketed the two other eggs benedict orders. Chef needs to restrain himself on the sauces. Lemon sorbet very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

One of my favorite places to cap off a d ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

One of my favorite places to cap off a day in the country. Food is great and service very attentive. But, it's the atmosphere of an old country inn along the Delaware river that makes it worth the drive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Fireplace, Romantic, Organic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

What a beautiful restaurant. The food an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

What a beautiful restaurant. The food and service were great. It's one of our favorites. Definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quality food Solid ambiance Ample portio ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Quality food

Solid ambiance

Ample portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Service was exceptional along with excep ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Service was exceptional along with exceptional food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We just found this restaurant. It's nort ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We just found this restaurant. It's north of New Hope PA. Great ride from Princeton area especially in Fall. The food is French/American, very fresh, tasty, presentation was great too. Staff knowledgeable, friendly but not imposing. The environment inside is spectacular, newly renovated and top quality as with everything else we experienced. And, they have a great wine list and a wood burning fireplace.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Organic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Golden Pheasant is one of my favorit ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The Golden Pheasant is one of my favorite dining spots in Bucks County. The entree I ordered was not one of my favorites but everything else was superb - as usual.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I wanted to give my boyfriend an experie ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I wanted to give my boyfriend an experience and we got one. We had champagne, water and coffee for brunch and our glasses and cups were never empty. The maple butternut squash soup was an amazing experience all in it's own. The service, presentation, food quality, atmosphere, and scenic views of both the river and foliage over the hiking path behind the inn were well worth the price.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Romantic, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and truly exceptional food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great service and truly exceptional food. Perfect for a special occasion dinner and we'd love to go back soon just to hang out in the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good, the flavors weren't as bo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Food was good, the flavors weren't as bold as the menu dictated. More of a rustic style. Waitress actually listed off the soups and said the wild mushroom soup "has pieces of mushroom in it" that was only description given. Bone marrow was the highlight of our dinner. Probably great to go to around the holidays(architecture and location of the inn).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

This was my third time at the Golden Phe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was my third time at the Golden Pheasant since their renovation. Every time was great! Their soups are fantastic. Good flavors, healthy, creative... very pretty place. Thanks!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very attentive to our need ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The staff was very attentive to our needs without being obtrusive. Our dinner selection was prepared perfectly and presented creatively. Best salmon I have had in a long time. Cooked perfectly.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an enjoyable event, whether Brunc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Always an enjoyable event, whether Brunch or Dinner The Golden Pheasant never fails!

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu. Beautiful room with fireplac ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great menu. Beautiful room with fireplace , river views. Unusual salads, nice specials. Will return to try other specials.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

How very disappointed we were. We brough ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

How very disappointed we were. We brought friends there who had never been to the Golden Pheasant. The service was slow and the food was ice cold,all of them. My husband has said he will never go back. Horrible experience!!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Excellent food and service. Very enjoya ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent food and service. Very enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It's very pretty and the service is good ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2016

It's very pretty and the service is good but the food was not outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

It's been eleven years since we were her ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

It's been eleven years since we were here last, but it is still a wonderful place to spend the evening along the Delaware. The food was excellent, as was the service and the atmosphere. One does pay for this, of course, but that was expected. It was nice that it was quiet enough to have a conversation with friends, without having to strain. It would have been nice to eat outside by the canal, but given the humidity, the air conditioned dining room was the way to go this night. I can think of at least one other inn along the Delaware that I prefer, as it has a deck along the river instead of the canal, but it is nice to have some variety too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Historic, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner at the Golden Pheasant was Outsta ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Dinner at the Golden Pheasant was Outstanding. From the time we arrived until we left everything about the experience was wonderful. From our server Maria, who was very well versed in the menu and able to offer excellent suggestions to the phenomenal tasty, well prepared and presented meal served was great. We go to dinner four times a year with our good friends and always pick a different, upscale Dining Venue. We have done this for over 30 years. The Golden Pheasant is one of the best we have ever been too.

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Historic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful. Excellent service. Definite ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Wonderful. Excellent service. Definitely will return.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Another memorable meal at The Golden Phe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Another memorable meal at The Golden Pheasant. Fresh inventive food beautifully presented and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service is remarkable and the food ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The service is remarkable and the food is not only wonderful but the presentation was fabulous.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Scenic View, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a wonderful establishment with a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is a wonderful establishment with a beautiful location along the canal. The food is always good whether you have the brunch or select off the bar menu. The staff is always attentive and polite, I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good, although my halibut ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was very good, although my halibut was a bit dry. Service was friendly and good, although they forgot to bring a glass of wine ordered with dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Beautifully renovated inside. Pretty pat ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Beautifully renovated inside. Pretty patio. Mosquitos were biting outside, but we were promptly moved to a table indoors when we mentioned it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I went to celebrate our a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 14, 2016

My husband and I went to celebrate our anniversry. We had passed this restaurant many times and loved the location. We were impressed with everything about this restaurant. The food was amazing as well as the service. We can not wait to go back. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambience and service were outstandin ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2016

The ambience and service were outstanding. The first 2 wine selections were not in stock. The "pick 3" cheese plate appetizer was quite tasty and presented very nicely. The lamb shank was cooked to perfection, but the pork chop was a bit tough and not particularly tasty. There's a nice, cozy, and well-stocked bar that's perfect for drinks before and after.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent brunch. As always, the Pheasan ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent brunch. As always, the Pheasant was satisfying. My favorite place to enjoy wonderful food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Maria, our server, was great, and our me ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Maria, our server, was great, and our meal was as good as I have ever had. This was our 5th visit to GPI, and they exceeded their already lofty performance levels. While the every day menu is excellent, try the specials. These folks take full advantage of the local, healthy bounty, and the chef's seasonal/daily specials are very special. I enjoyed a sushi-grade tuna appetizer; a salad of tangy greens, heirloom tomatoes, fresh peaches, watermelon & goat cheese; and a made to order seafood stew. All were extraordinary when paired with an excellent French white burgundy from their award winning cellar.

This place truly is a local treasure and remains our favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my neighbor to the Pheasant becau ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 23, 2016

I took my neighbor to the Pheasant because she had never been there. Her jaw dropped over the beauty of the location on the Delaware. She couldn't say enough about the location. She was really impressed with the entree that she ordered and of course the service. Great job Golden Pheasant

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined many times in the past at ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have dined many times in the past at Golden Pheasant Inn, and we haven't been here in a few years. This experience we felt was only average. The location is lovely, the decor is beautiful, and the service is okay. The food was average to below average. We had the chicken, and it was completely dried out, and the vegetables were not crisp. The appetizers and salad were borderline average to good, but I expected more based on our past history. The desserts were worthy of the "foodie" label.

The service staff delivered our starters and dinner almost at the same time, so there was no time to enjoy either course. The dessert came very swiftly, and they cleared the dessert before we were even finished. They didn't even ask if we were done, they just grabbed the plates. I am not sure why we were rushed, as there was not a backlog of people and I felt that for the price point, the service should be consummate.

Overall, I don't believe we will be heading back to the Golden Pheasant.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Found this restaurant to be authentic fr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Found this restaurant to be authentic french cuisine along with a friendly staff. Food was delicious, wine was from an extensive list which can satisfy any wine lover.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal- beautiful setting by the Del ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great meal- beautiful setting by the Delaware

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The servers were fantastic, but the bart ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 2, 2016

The servers were fantastic, but the bartender was rude.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a very enjoyable dinner. The foo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had a very enjoyable dinner. The food and service were very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This was at least my 12th visit to the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was at least my 12th visit to the Golden Pheasant since their major renovations took place. It has become our go to favorite for a any occasion or no occasion at all. From the moment you arrive, you are treated with respect and courtesy. The wait staff is superb, our current favorite waitress is Hannah. ( they are all terrific) The food as always, was excellently prepared, beautifully presented. This visit was for their Father's day Brunch. Our first brunch there. An incredible value for 35.00; you receive a three course meal, including a glass of champagne. Multiple selections with many specials. I had recommended this wonderful restaurant to some skeptical friends of mine, who travel all over the world for food and wine. They returned delighted and plan to go again. Try it, you won't be disappointed. And, they have a very attractive bar area with tables, where they offer their Tavern Menu, which by the way, is available during the week in the main dining rooms.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.