Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 9 times today

Golden Pheasant Inn

4.5
716 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary French
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Special Occasion
  • Creative Cuisine
"Exquisite" is the word to describe this experience - John V.R. Bull, Philadelphia Inquirer.
Perfect for a relaxed country meal, a weekend getaway or a glass of wine by the fire or on our outdoor terrace, it is hard to imagine a more picturesque setting than the Golden Pheasant Inn. The menu offers fresh, seasonal, locally sourced ingredients, The wine list offers over 160 selections by the bottle and 20 by the glass. Located between the Delaware River and Canal in a historic fieldstone inn, we are one hour and fifteen minutes from New York City or Philadelphia, and only 20 minutes north of New Hope, PA. The inn has been family owned and operated for over 27 years. We look forward to welcoming you and sharing the beauty of Bucks County!
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary French, Contemporary American, Organic
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm;

Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 8:00pm,

Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(610) 294-9595
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Blake Faure and Jonathan Collier Ramsay
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Dark Hollow Road
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Ample parking on-site.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 716 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.8
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Beautiful restaurant with fine food ,great cocktails, polished service and beautiful river views.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great Mother’s Day brunch. The most lovely place for a civilized meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We had a wonderful meal & experience at the Golden Pheasant. The food was fabulous, the servers were beyond nice, efficient & pleasant. It was a shame the weather was miserable, otherwise everything was perfect!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Always a great experience. Good food, good service. One of our favorite places to go.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Beautiful canal side table. Food and drinks were very good. A memorable evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Thoroughly enjoy our visit to the Inn & Restaurant. Stayed for a weekend and had dinner on Friday & Saturday night. They have a fine selection of fish -monk fish and halibut.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We came here for the first time and had high expectations, but were disappointed by the mediocre food and service. First, they brought us someone else’s appetizers. Once we received ours, they were good, we had calamari and arugula salad. The bread they brought out was tough, old, and stale tasting. We were in no hurry and enjoying the ambiance, but noted that it took probably 45 at least for our entrees to arrive. When they did arrive, the plates and food were scalding hot. They must have been sitting under a heat lamp for a long time. The food was just ehhh. I really expected more. Afterwards, I ordered decaf coffee, which was awful. It tasted like coffee that was sitting in a pot all day. The dessert wasn’t too bad, but the Ice cream came half melted. Maybe we came on a busy or short staffed night? Not sure, but it was disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We had a great evening for my wife's Birthday. The food was top notch and the service excellent. I had a smoky pork chop over garbanzo beans with sausage. My wife had Halibut. Both meals were cooked perfectly and very tasty. The our server was both professional and friendly and the entire staff were verywelcoming and helpful. I highly recommend the Golden Peasant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

This was our second time here. The food and service was again excellent. The food and spirits are super fresh (most from local vendors). Worth the drive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

It’s was a great place to go and eat delicious food.👍🏼

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great dining experience with a very relaxing atmosphere. The service was impeccable and I would highly recommended the Golden Pheasant Inn.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Server was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu, but slow to bring bread and apps to table (30 minutes). Was with a party of 6, and for the most part, everyone enjoyed their meal. The 2 of us that got the ravioli not so much. It was cold and bland. The grilled Romaine salad was served cold as well and smothered in dressing and cheese (yuck). The food is very pricey and not the quality that it used to be under Chef Michele. Not sure if we’ll return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Amazing everything

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Wonderful atmosphere. Service was excellent and food was outstanding!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter dinner was our first experience at the restaurant. The staff was outstanding, very attentive to our every need. The atmosphere was bright and pleasant. Everything from the soup to dessert was fabulous! We will be visiting again soon! We highly recommend the dining experience!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Always a delight. Food is reliably excellent. Service is friendly, fast, and professional. Beautiful view. Clean, comfortable, historic dining rooms. Easy to hear table conversation. Best Sunday brunch in the area. Worth the drive.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 30, 2018

What happened? That is the question which needs to be answered.

As you drive over the one-lane bridge, you come across a dimly lit gem glowing atop the mighty Delaware River and you immediately start to salivate. You feel privileged, you feel fancy, and most importantly you feel excited for the meal you're about to experience. The Golden Pheasant was known as a rich experience, rich in flavors but also rich in ambiance and mood. And we have very fond memories of special occasions being celebrated at The Golden Pheasant Inn, meals that we'll always remember. But something happened that made that experience change. While the wonderful attitude and exuberance of the great wait staff remain, unfortunately the same recipes have remained as well...over and over and over again.

We had highs and lows at our recent trip to TGP. That initial mood and excitement was extremely high upon arriving, but slowly went down throughout the night. The mussels on special were great, yet the famous french onion soup was not so famous. I think I would have been much happier just ordering 3 appetizers versus a single appetizer and entree. The majority of the entrees have not changed in at least 2-3 years.

There comes a time in a great restaurant's life, where the question of "to change or not to change" comes up. TGP is begging for that question to be answered...YES, change me! And while a hike for most, the hike had always been worth the drive. You almost can see the writing on the wall now, a soon-to-be forgotten gem. I want to say great things, I want to keep referring friends up there but I would personally love to see the menu be overhauled.

In the end, it's a great experience for the first-time patron. But if you're going for a repeat visit, you'll be disappointed given the price. The menu needs to evolve, but the character and gem need to stay.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We love Golden Pheasant. For the last 14 years we have enjoyed casual and special family dinners there . We appreciate the fact that we can drive from the city on a Friday evening and settle down for a wonderful cocktail and dinner before we drive the short distance to our weekend home.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Both the food and the service were excellent, as they have been when we dined here in the past; however, there was a wedding or other large party that seemed to have filled most of the main dining room. We were not informed of this when we booked the reservation (as I feel we should have been). In addition, there was no parking available when we arrived at 7:00 PM. This made it necessary for us to make several u-turns on River RD until a spot opened up. There is very little room on River RD at this point so looping around like this was difficult.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

We were staying in the area for the weekend and made reservations based on previous reviews and online menu. We were expecting a great experience and we were not disappointed. Beautiful dining room with views of the Delaware and cozy fireplace. Food was exceptional with excellent service. Intend to return with a stay at the Inn also.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Been here three or four times for dinner. In the past, it has been acceptable largely due to the ambiance. The food has never been outstanding, but tonight was a disappointment for our entire party of five. Tonight, our party all described their food as disappointing. Two diners had the halibut, which was served lukewarm with mashed potatoes that were cool, two had chicken roasted with capers, also lukewarm, and the fifth (me) had the seafood stew which had potential but was overloaded with shrimp vs fish. Perhaps they try too hard, and should stick with basics. Even though we are local, it's unlikely we will revisit. Oh, and it's the most expensive restaurant in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Their Sunday champagne brunch never fails to provide a wonderful experience: beautiful scenery, lovely room, delicious food (much of it locally sourced). Don't miss the Bloody Mary's!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Great food in a beautiful setting

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Excellent on all fronts. Back in a heartbeat!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great experience. Excellent service and food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Excellent food and service, beautiful dining rooms and nice bar. Always good, been here many times and always perfect.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Have eaten here numerous times before but 2/11 was a disappointment. Desperately disappointed by probably the worst soup I’ve ever been served in a restaurant. Described as butternut squash soup one might expect a thick, rich, glossy bowl of soup that packed flavor. Not so, it looked and tasted like I imagine dishwater to taste. I strongly suspect that this was the prior day’s soup that was running low and was watered down to make it go further. Can’t believe that a professional chef could make something that poor. Okay so every restaurant has an off day but on sending it back to the kitchen was told that the manager had questioned the wateriness and under seasoned soup earlier in the day ..... so why try to serve it to paying customers ??? It was taken off the bill but I ended up sitting and watching my wife with her appetizer.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Very nice country charm. Great food great cocktails.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

i would recommend for quality dining and good service. i don't know about checking all those options above 'cause we just come for those, the food and service, and yes the ambiance. don't know about the other options. but for those things i mentioned here, very nice.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Another good dining experience at Golden Pheasant! Food and service are very good, and they use local ingredients. Good wine list, and ambiance is casual and enjoyable. Maria is an outstanding server! Look forward to returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2018

A friends get together and wanted great food, leisurely and nice atmosphere. Kelly was our server and I would definitely want her to serve me again, so nice. Look forward to our next visit 🤗

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Excellent food, ambiance and service. Great wine list and lots of varied menu choices to appeal all tastes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2018

Always a delight from arrival thru dinner and departure- will return frequently

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Excellent service but the fireplace was so smoky we asked to be moved because our eyes were burning from the smoke. The soup was excellent (mushroom). My wife had the scallops which were a little over cooked. I had the halibut which was even more over cooked. Our bill was about $125.00 which, for what we got and how well it was prepared, extremely overpriced. We probably won’t be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 7, 2018

The overall dining experience was pleasurable until we left the restaurant. The waitress we had followed us out to the parking lot and demanded a higher tip be left. Her approach was aggressive and off-putting. I said I would follow up the next day with a phone call but she wanted it taken care of on the spot. In order to end this uncomfortable situation my husband quickly took more cash out of his pocket to give her, bringing her total tip to over 20 percent. We had left close to that to begin with. We both felt humiliated and somewhat bullied by her behavior. It soured our dining experience there and ruined his birthday celebration.
We have dined at wonderful and very exclusive restaurants all over the world and have never experienced a situation as this. We felt the owners should know about her inappropriate behavior.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 1, 2018

Absolutely amazing. Went for NYE. So romantic I could cry. The fireplace was beautiful and the food was perfection.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We just went to the Golden Pheasant for New Year's Eve. I've heard such wonderful things about this restaurant. The restaurant itself is beautiful but the food is not. My husband and I feel like we took our hard earned $300 and flushed it down the toilet. The soups were pretty good but that's it really. The salad we got had wilty lettuce and the balsamic dressing was so acidic it felt like my mouth was burning. The filet was so peppery you couldn't taste anything else on the dish. The worst of all was the desserts. The chocolate cake was so old. It must have been frozen and thawed out. It was so dry and crumbly. I really don't like leaving bad reviews but I just couldn't help it this time. Especially since we spent so much money.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We have been here a few times . The service is great , the ambience is amazing . We spent our New Years Eve here this year and were very happy we did . Amazing food great drinks and the service is fantastic .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Always fabulous. the food and the service is wonderful. There's always a view where ever you sit, either the river or the canal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2017

Magnificent! One of our favorite places for 'date night'. The food was truly outstanding. Love it!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
18