About Golden Pheasant Inn

763 River Road
Erwinna, PA 18920
View Larger Map

"Exquisite" is the word to describe this experience - John V.R. Bull, Philadelphia Inquirer.
Perfect for a relaxed country meal, a weekend getaway or a glass of wine by the fire or on our outdoor terrace, it is hard to imagine a more picturesque setting than the Golden Pheasant Inn. The menu offers fresh, seasonal, locally sourced ingredients, The wine list offers over 160 selections by the bottle and 20 by the glass. Located between the Delaware River and Canal in a historic fieldstone inn, we are one hour and fifteen minutes from New York City or Philadelphia, and only 20 minutes north of New Hope, PA. The inn has been family owned and operated for over 27 years. We look forward to welcoming you and sharing the beauty of Bucks County!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm;

Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 8:00pm,

Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Dark Hollow Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 294-9595

Website:
http://www.goldenpheasant.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking on-site.

Executive Chef:
Blake Faure and Jonathan Collier Ramsay

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Golden Pheasant Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Romantic
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
Bucks County
5 More
Best Ambiance
Bucks County
Fit for Foodies
Bucks County
Outdoor Dining
Bucks County
Romantic
Bucks County
Special Occasion
Bucks County
Best Restaurants in Erwinna ›

Romantic (38)
Special Occasion (37)
Scenic View (36)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Worth the Drive (10)
Cozy (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Authentic (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Waterfront (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fireplace (5)
Historic (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
523 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always an enjoyable event, whether Brunc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Always an enjoyable event, whether Brunch or Dinner The Golden Pheasant never fails!

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu. Beautiful room with fireplac ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great menu. Beautiful room with fireplace , river views. Unusual salads, nice specials. Will return to try other specials.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

How very disappointed we were. We brough ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

How very disappointed we were. We brought friends there who had never been to the Golden Pheasant. The service was slow and the food was ice cold,all of them. My husband has said he will never go back. Horrible experience!!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Excellent food and service. Very enjoya ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent food and service. Very enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It's very pretty and the service is good ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

It's very pretty and the service is good but the food was not outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

It's been eleven years since we were her ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

It's been eleven years since we were here last, but it is still a wonderful place to spend the evening along the Delaware. The food was excellent, as was the service and the atmosphere. One does pay for this, of course, but that was expected. It was nice that it was quiet enough to have a conversation with friends, without having to strain. It would have been nice to eat outside by the canal, but given the humidity, the air conditioned dining room was the way to go this night. I can think of at least one other inn along the Delaware that I prefer, as it has a deck along the river instead of the canal, but it is nice to have some variety too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Historic, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner at the Golden Pheasant was Outsta ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Dinner at the Golden Pheasant was Outstanding. From the time we arrived until we left everything about the experience was wonderful. From our server Maria, who was very well versed in the menu and able to offer excellent suggestions to the phenomenal tasty, well prepared and presented meal served was great. We go to dinner four times a year with our good friends and always pick a different, upscale Dining Venue. We have done this for over 30 years. The Golden Pheasant is one of the best we have ever been too.

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Historic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful. Excellent service. Definite ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Wonderful. Excellent service. Definitely will return.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Another memorable meal at The Golden Phe ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Another memorable meal at The Golden Pheasant. Fresh inventive food beautifully presented and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service is remarkable and the food ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The service is remarkable and the food is not only wonderful but the presentation was fabulous.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Scenic View, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a wonderful establishment with a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is a wonderful establishment with a beautiful location along the canal. The food is always good whether you have the brunch or select off the bar menu. The staff is always attentive and polite, I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good, although my halibut ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was very good, although my halibut was a bit dry. Service was friendly and good, although they forgot to bring a glass of wine ordered with dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

My husband and I went to celebrate our a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My husband and I went to celebrate our anniversry. We had passed this restaurant many times and loved the location. We were impressed with everything about this restaurant. The food was amazing as well as the service. We can not wait to go back. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambience and service were outstandin ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The ambience and service were outstanding. The first 2 wine selections were not in stock. The "pick 3" cheese plate appetizer was quite tasty and presented very nicely. The lamb shank was cooked to perfection, but the pork chop was a bit tough and not particularly tasty. There's a nice, cozy, and well-stocked bar that's perfect for drinks before and after.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent brunch. As always, the Pheasan ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent brunch. As always, the Pheasant was satisfying. My favorite place to enjoy wonderful food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Maria, our server, was great, and our me ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Maria, our server, was great, and our meal was as good as I have ever had. This was our 5th visit to GPI, and they exceeded their already lofty performance levels. While the every day menu is excellent, try the specials. These folks take full advantage of the local, healthy bounty, and the chef's seasonal/daily specials are very special. I enjoyed a sushi-grade tuna appetizer; a salad of tangy greens, heirloom tomatoes, fresh peaches, watermelon & goat cheese; and a made to order seafood stew. All were extraordinary when paired with an excellent French white burgundy from their award winning cellar.

This place truly is a local treasure and remains our favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my neighbor to the Pheasant becau ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I took my neighbor to the Pheasant because she had never been there. Her jaw dropped over the beauty of the location on the Delaware. She couldn't say enough about the location. She was really impressed with the entree that she ordered and of course the service. Great job Golden Pheasant

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined many times in the past at ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have dined many times in the past at Golden Pheasant Inn, and we haven't been here in a few years. This experience we felt was only average. The location is lovely, the decor is beautiful, and the service is okay. The food was average to below average. We had the chicken, and it was completely dried out, and the vegetables were not crisp. The appetizers and salad were borderline average to good, but I expected more based on our past history. The desserts were worthy of the "foodie" label.

The service staff delivered our starters and dinner almost at the same time, so there was no time to enjoy either course. The dessert came very swiftly, and they cleared the dessert before we were even finished. They didn't even ask if we were done, they just grabbed the plates. I am not sure why we were rushed, as there was not a backlog of people and I felt that for the price point, the service should be consummate.

Overall, I don't believe we will be heading back to the Golden Pheasant.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Found this restaurant to be authentic fr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Found this restaurant to be authentic french cuisine along with a friendly staff. Food was delicious, wine was from an extensive list which can satisfy any wine lover.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal- beautiful setting by the Del ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great meal- beautiful setting by the Delaware

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The servers were fantastic, but the bart ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The servers were fantastic, but the bartender was rude.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a very enjoyable dinner. The foo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had a very enjoyable dinner. The food and service were very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This was at least my 12th visit to the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was at least my 12th visit to the Golden Pheasant since their major renovations took place. It has become our go to favorite for a any occasion or no occasion at all. From the moment you arrive, you are treated with respect and courtesy. The wait staff is superb, our current favorite waitress is Hannah. ( they are all terrific) The food as always, was excellently prepared, beautifully presented. This visit was for their Father's day Brunch. Our first brunch there. An incredible value for 35.00; you receive a three course meal, including a glass of champagne. Multiple selections with many specials. I had recommended this wonderful restaurant to some skeptical friends of mine, who travel all over the world for food and wine. They returned delighted and plan to go again. Try it, you won't be disappointed. And, they have a very attractive bar area with tables, where they offer their Tavern Menu, which by the way, is available during the week in the main dining rooms.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stuff of the restaurant called us severa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Stuff of the restaurant called us several time to make sure we will be there and warned us ahead of time of the road construction . Service stuff are very friendly and helpful. The same cannot be said about the food, quality wise, not so great, especially considering the price. But we did enjoy the scenery, beautiful location right by the river.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Absolutely great place. We had a drink i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Absolutely great place. We had a drink in the bar, then sat outside by the canal. Just gorgeous. The food was spectacular. Maybe the best burger in the area (there is a bar menu and a dining room menu with higher end entrees as well). Just a perfect experience all the way around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recently enjoyed a delectable dinner on ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Recently enjoyed a delectable dinner on the canal front patio, beginning with a creative French Blonde martini. The seasonal menu was varied and featured locally sourced items carefully prepared as not to mask the fresh favors. We cleaned our plates! The honey lavender ice cream from Ottsville was the piece de resistance. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Terrible, slow service and very under-wh ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Terrible, slow service and very under-whelmingly, mediocre food. I was embarrassed to bring friends to The Golden Pheasant for an anniversary and birthday celebration! What a shame that such a beautiful place does not have the food to go along with the facade! What an utter disappointment it was! The Golden Pheasant is crossed off my list...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

It's hard to find a restaurant in Bucks ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

It's hard to find a restaurant in Bucks County that has consistently fantastic food, consistently interesting and different specials, and consistently better than anything we could cook at home. Not just another touristy restaurant ...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing, scallops were fabulous!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The menu items were great. Our table ordered the grilled romaine and scallops, my mom was the only one who ordered something different. She had the raviolis. Her food was barely warm when it arrived. I waited very long for my second glass of wine, and had to ask again. I also requested a menu to browse because I had changed my mind and wanted to order an appetizer, and it never came. I had to request it again. Overall the food was really good but the service was lacking. It wasn't that busy at all. We were there for my birthday and had actually changed our reservation from another restaurant to this one. A little disappointing but like I said, the dishes were great. Service needs to be better at a restaurant such as this one.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Nice night out

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We especially appreciated the food, quiet setting and service. We'll return.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place on Rout 32

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The Golden Pheasant has been remodeled and the "sun room" that we sat in was beautiful and had river views from just about every seat. The back porch also looked lovely, but I had some concerns about mosquitoes, so take repellent just in case. Dining room was very pleasant as well.

We ate from the Tavern menu available in all areas of the restaurant, but you need to ask. (Note: it is not available on Saturday night.) The standard menu look very good as well, but we were just not in the mood for such a formal dinner that evening. The Tavern menu was outstanding. Every item on the menu was something I would have been happy to try. We both had creative salads that were delicious. I had a burger and it was one of the best ever. And my friend had Turkey Thanksgiving sandwich that was very tasty as well. We both wanted desert, but were too full. Next time. Great experience and will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Plumstead Joe

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

First time there. Great scenic view. Small bar but great service and great drinks. The food was very good and service was fine. Will go again soon

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very pricey. Spent too much money there.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Very pricey. Spent too much money there. food was good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Always the best

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

If you have not experienced the Sunday brunch here, you must try it. You will never find a better Bloody Mary. Food is excellent as well. Tables are far enough apart that you can enjoy your own conversation.

We go often. The $35 fixed price 3-course meal was wonderful and well worth the money.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful country setting. Great food an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Beautiful country setting. Great food and attentive service. A perfect dinner location. I'm looking forward to our next dinner there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

After a couple of concerns from the past two visits, this was an wonderful experience for all four of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a great experience, although, thi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Always a great experience, although, this time our Server kept "dropping" the ball. Got the wrong Desserts even. Wait Staff was excellent though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Exceptional service and the food was uni ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Exceptional service and the food was unique and excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful dinner here with my wife ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner here with my wife on our first wedding anniversary. Food was great, nice beer and wine list, as well as cocktails. The tavern looked quite popular, but we were seated in the dining area. Brittany, the hostess, was very accommodating and even noticed my note on my reservation about our anniversary and surprised us with champagne!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was terrific. Loved the local farm ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was terrific. Loved the local farm collaboration. Tomato bisque soup was the best I ever tried. Salads were unique and entrees were well prepared. Ambiance was the best of any local Inn or tavern in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.