About Golden Pheasant Inn

763 River Road
Erwinna, PA 18920
View Larger Map

"Exquisite" is the word to describe this experience - John V.R. Bull, Philadelphia Inquirer.
Perfect for a relaxed country meal, a weekend getaway or a glass of wine by the fire or on our outdoor terrace, it is hard to imagine a more picturesque setting than the Golden Pheasant Inn. The menu offers fresh, seasonal, locally sourced ingredients, The wine list offers over 160 selections by the bottle and 20 by the glass. Located between the Delaware River and Canal in a historic fieldstone inn, we are one hour and fifteen minutes from New York City or Philadelphia, and only 20 minutes north of New Hope, PA. The inn has been family owned and operated for over 27 years. We look forward to welcoming you and sharing the beauty of Bucks County!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm;

Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 8:00pm,

Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Dark Hollow Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 294-9595

Website:
http://www.goldenpheasant.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking on-site.

Executive Chef:
Blake Faure and Jonathan Collier Ramsay

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Golden Pheasant Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fireplace (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Special Occasion (19)
Romantic (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Historic (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Waterfront (14)
Scenic View (14)
Cozy (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Seasonal (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Organic (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great Beer (5)
Authentic (4)
Healthy (4)
Fun (4)
Casual (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Business Meals (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
564 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very enjoyable evening. Quiet and intima ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Very enjoyable evening. Quiet and intimate dining, just what we were looking for.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Great Beer, Fun, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We often bring groups of friends for Sun ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

We often bring groups of friends for Sunday Brunch. In all but the worst weather, it is a pleasant place to sit and watch the river, enjoy the change of seasons and, of course, be able to rely on the great food! It's a local treasure.

Tags: Organic, Historic, Fireplace, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food,service, and ambiance was top n ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

The food,service, and ambiance was top notch! Would definitely recommend to friends and will definitely be back. The brunch menu was extensive and varied in the selecting your course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a lovely Sunday brunch in every reg ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

What a lovely Sunday brunch in every regard! This charming venue features water views in a sunlit room also warmed by a fireplace. We thoroughly enjoyed the fixed price brunch menu that offered plenty of delectable choices and included champagne, soup or salad, main entree, and dessert. The food and presentation were exceptional, as was the service. We will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a lovely experience for a birthda ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

It was a lovely experience for a birthday celebration

Tags: Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It does not get any better than this for ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

It does not get any better than this for a nice time and great food and service 👍

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The perfect place for a country brunch o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The perfect place for a country brunch on a snowy day, with a well tended fire, and some mushroom soup.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were very good; it' ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food and service were very good; it's a classy place. A couple of things could be improved upon. 1) The mushroom soup was slightly underseasoned. Garlic? Onion? Savory herbs? A little something more would be good. 2) The beer I had, Troegs Mad Elf, is 11% alcohol, usually served in a 6-8 ounce glass, not a full pint 3) The salmon was superb, but served in a deep bowl which made it very hard to get to. Unnecessary and should be on a plate.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was great and the service was a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was great and the service was attentive. I find that I prefer veal chops thinner and I did not realize that "flat water" was actually bottled water at additional cost. I count that as a learning.experience for me and.give the meal a grade of A!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We shared our New Years Eve celebration ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We shared our New Years Eve celebration with close friends and everyone at the Pheasant!

Oysters were excellent, as well as my fern salad and Salmon. Finished off the meal with the Creme Brulee and a glass of champagne.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Authentic, Waterfront, Historic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great place to spend New Years. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

What a great place to spend New Years. The food it out of this world along with the service

and the atmosphere. They always do a top rated job and because it was a holiday they never

raise the prices because of it. Way to go. Thanks and I'll be back next year as well with all of

the weeks in between.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went Christmas Eve. Had a good time ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I went Christmas Eve. Had a good time and met lots of new and interesting people. Food was

out of this world (as usual).

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Historic, Fun, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here many times, mostly out ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We have been here many times, mostly outdoors recently. The food has always been very good, but it fell a little short this time. Pricey and service was just OK, but not we expect here.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent service and outstanding qualit ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent service and outstanding quality of cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A terrific meal on a snowy night with gr ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 18, 2016

A terrific meal on a snowy night with great service provided by Maria, who knew the menu well and made excellent recommendations. We both had the pork loin which was fantastic, as was the mushroom soup.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Based on the reviews I'd read, I went in ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Based on the reviews I'd read, I went in expecting an excellent meal and I was very disappointed. To be fair, the appetizers and cocktails were good. We ordered the cheese plate, charcuterie plate, and the French onion soup, and they were all well presented and delicious. The main courses, however, were disappointing. I ordered the halibut, which was tough and overcooked and didn't taste fresh. Normally I love halibut, but this was the worst I'd ever tasted. My husband ordered the steak, which was cooked to his liking based on the color, but he said it tasted like it had been sitting out under a heat lamp for a while so it seemed like it had dried out (which makes sense, because service was slow). My son had the mussels, which he said were good.

The service was very slow. We had one server for the entire solarium room, which was nearly full by the time we left (over 2 hours later). While our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and took her time to explain everything to us in detail, she was clearly overwhelmed by the amount of tables she had.

We did not order dessert because we had waited so long for our other courses. I will say that our server brought us glasses of champagne with the check since my husband had mentioned earlier in the evening that it was my birthday. I thought that was a very nice touch.

I don't know if I'd go back for dinner again, but the drinks and appetizers were good, so I might sit at the bar sometime and check out the pub menu. I wanted to love this place because it's so beautiful, but I didn't.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Organic, Fireplace, Historic, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

My husband and I enjoyed dinner with ano ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed dinner with another couple on a cold December Friday night. We all started with different appetizers and everyone loved what they had from oysters to smoked trout. I had an excellent halibut dish for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A superb evening is an understatement! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

A superb evening is an understatement! A most fantastic experience. The food, the service, the decor all perfect. I will definitely return.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in bucks county absolutely fabulous ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Best in bucks county absolutely fabulous. Highly recommended. Local ingredients every dish was spectacular. Service was excellent

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, , Scenic View, Authentic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I dine here pretty regularly ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My wife and I dine here pretty regularly. Always an excellent experience!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

chairs are way too deep and uncomfortabl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

chairs are way too deep and uncomfortable. brussels sprouts and turnips were seriously undercooked with the core still in the turnips! we recommend roasting them next time. scallops were excellent, pork was good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Beautiful location overlooking the Delaw ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Beautiful location overlooking the Delaware River and Canal, warm ambiance with fireplace crackling. Wait staff friendly and capable. Brunch consisted of Appetizer, Entree and Dessert with a glass of champagne to start. Salads were swimming in the balsamic dressing. Cream of mushroom soup must have been healthy, as no cream was used. My egg topped filet mignon was drenched in Bearnaise sauce, the petite filet, ordered medium to medium rare came out well done, tough and tasting strangely of liver. A smoked salmon benedict had cooked salmon, not the lox we expected, with tons of hollandaise sauce, which blanketed the two other eggs benedict orders. Chef needs to restrain himself on the sauces. Lemon sorbet very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

One of my favorite places to cap off a d ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

One of my favorite places to cap off a day in the country. Food is great and service very attentive. But, it's the atmosphere of an old country inn along the Delaware river that makes it worth the drive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Fireplace, Romantic, Organic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Historic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

What a beautiful restaurant. The food an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

What a beautiful restaurant. The food and service were great. It's one of our favorites. Definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quality food Solid ambiance Ample portio ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Quality food

Solid ambiance

Ample portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Service was exceptional along with excep ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Service was exceptional along with exceptional food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We just found this restaurant. It's nort ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We just found this restaurant. It's north of New Hope PA. Great ride from Princeton area especially in Fall. The food is French/American, very fresh, tasty, presentation was great too. Staff knowledgeable, friendly but not imposing. The environment inside is spectacular, newly renovated and top quality as with everything else we experienced. And, they have a great wine list and a wood burning fireplace.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Organic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Golden Pheasant is one of my favorit ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The Golden Pheasant is one of my favorite dining spots in Bucks County. The entree I ordered was not one of my favorites but everything else was superb - as usual.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I wanted to give my boyfriend an experie ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I wanted to give my boyfriend an experience and we got one. We had champagne, water and coffee for brunch and our glasses and cups were never empty. The maple butternut squash soup was an amazing experience all in it's own. The service, presentation, food quality, atmosphere, and scenic views of both the river and foliage over the hiking path behind the inn were well worth the price.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, , Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Romantic, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and truly exceptional food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great service and truly exceptional food. Perfect for a special occasion dinner and we'd love to go back soon just to hang out in the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good, the flavors weren't as bo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Food was good, the flavors weren't as bold as the menu dictated. More of a rustic style. Waitress actually listed off the soups and said the wild mushroom soup "has pieces of mushroom in it" that was only description given. Bone marrow was the highlight of our dinner. Probably great to go to around the holidays(architecture and location of the inn).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

This was my third time at the Golden Phe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was my third time at the Golden Pheasant since their renovation. Every time was great! Their soups are fantastic. Good flavors, healthy, creative... very pretty place. Thanks!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very attentive to our need ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The staff was very attentive to our needs without being obtrusive. Our dinner selection was prepared perfectly and presented creatively. Best salmon I have had in a long time. Cooked perfectly.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an enjoyable event, whether Brunc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Always an enjoyable event, whether Brunch or Dinner The Golden Pheasant never fails!

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu. Beautiful room with fireplac ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great menu. Beautiful room with fireplace , river views. Unusual salads, nice specials. Will return to try other specials.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

How very disappointed we were. We brough ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

How very disappointed we were. We brought friends there who had never been to the Golden Pheasant. The service was slow and the food was ice cold,all of them. My husband has said he will never go back. Horrible experience!!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Excellent food and service. Very enjoya ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent food and service. Very enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It's very pretty and the service is good ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2016

It's very pretty and the service is good but the food was not outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

It's been eleven years since we were her ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

It's been eleven years since we were here last, but it is still a wonderful place to spend the evening along the Delaware. The food was excellent, as was the service and the atmosphere. One does pay for this, of course, but that was expected. It was nice that it was quiet enough to have a conversation with friends, without having to strain. It would have been nice to eat outside by the canal, but given the humidity, the air conditioned dining room was the way to go this night. I can think of at least one other inn along the Delaware that I prefer, as it has a deck along the river instead of the canal, but it is nice to have some variety too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Historic, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner at the Golden Pheasant was Outsta ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Dinner at the Golden Pheasant was Outstanding. From the time we arrived until we left everything about the experience was wonderful. From our server Maria, who was very well versed in the menu and able to offer excellent suggestions to the phenomenal tasty, well prepared and presented meal served was great. We go to dinner four times a year with our good friends and always pick a different, upscale Dining Venue. We have done this for over 30 years. The Golden Pheasant is one of the best we have ever been too.

Tags: Romantic, , Cozy, Historic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.