Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.11mi
  2. Distance: 2.70mi
  3. Distance: 3.14mi
  4. Distance: 4.16mi
  1. Distance: 1.11mi
  2. Distance: 2.70mi
  3. Distance: 3.14mi
  4. Distance: 4.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.11mi
  2. Distance: 2.70mi
  3. Distance: 3.14mi
  4. Distance: 4.16mi
  1. Distance: 1.11mi
  2. Distance: 2.70mi
  3. Distance: 3.14mi
  4. Distance: 4.16mi

About Golden Pheasant Inn

"Exquisite" is the word to describe this experience - John V.R. Bull, Philadelphia Inquirer.
Perfect for a relaxed country meal, a weekend getaway or a glass of wine by the fire or on our outdoor terrace, it is hard to imagine a more picturesque setting than the Golden Pheasant Inn. The menu offers fresh, seasonal, locally sourced ingredients, The wine list offers over 160 selections by the bottle and 20 by the glass. Located between the Delaware River and Canal in a historic fieldstone inn, we are one hour and fifteen minutes from New York City or Philadelphia, and only 20 minutes north of New Hope, PA. The inn has been family owned and operated for over 27 years. We look forward to welcoming you and sharing the beauty of Bucks County!

763 River Road
Erwinna, PA 18920
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm;

Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 8:00pm,

Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Dark Hollow Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 294-9595

Website:
http://www.goldenpheasant.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking on-site.

Executive Chef:
Blake Faure and Jonathan Collier Ramsay

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Golden Pheasant Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
See All
Special Occasion (22)
Romantic (19)
Scenic View (18)
Waterfront (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Cozy (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Historic (8)
Healthy (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Seasonal (6)
Authentic (5)
Fireplace (4)
Organic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Casual (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
619 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Probably the best French onion soup we have ever had! The grilled romain salad was probably the worst salad I have ever had! Salad is a great part of the meal, sothat was bad! The service was very good and the place it quite lovely!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Beautiful location, great food, great server. Will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Menu selections, quality of food, service and total experience were just top-shelf stellar! An excellent chef, professional wait staff and beautiful building and grounds all combined for an amazing anniversary dinner. Go there if your like food prepared and served the right way, you will not be sorry you did!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Scenic View, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We went to the Golden Pheasant at the recommendation of a friend to celebrate my partner's birthday with her parents. To say that it was extraordinary would be an understatement. The food, the drinks, the service, and the ambiance were all exceptional. It will be a new very special place. It was about an hours drive but well worth it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Seasonal and daily menus. Delicious food. The leach salad was light and tasty. Definitely worth the drive up the river.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This was our first visit to this restaurant.
Food was great and very original.
Scenery was beautiful. On one side was a view of the River and the other facing the canal. Very romantic.
Would definitely return.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Everything was wonderful; we had an excellent evening! I was very proud to introduce my friends and family to your restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Always a great dining venue. Went early this time and were rewarded by views of Delware and Canal.
Seafood is especially good with care in putting togther the right flavors.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I had a very pleasant Sunday lunch while the 3 others in the party chose brunch items. On the whole, they thought it very good but not exception. I certainly enjoyed my salad and charcuterie plate, especially the Pâté.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I took my sister here for brunch while she was visiting from out-of-state. We loved the atmosphere! The dishes were also very unique. I definitely recommend for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The Inn is beautiful and located along the scenic Delaware river. My partner and I had a very nice table next to the fireplace and enjoyed the large table. Our food was very good however not very creative. Because of that, we passed on dessert as the few selections were very ordinary and not worth the calories, even though I believe they would have been delicious. Our service was very good although we had to ask that the pace of courses be slowed down.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Marvelous food, setting and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 26, 2017

This is a beautiful restaurant, right on the river. The main dining room with its white linen and gleaming stemware was ever so elegant. For those who like more casual, there is a lively bar, but we didn't go there. All four of us raved about our food, especially the smoked trout dip which we all shared. My husband and I each had the veal chop, and it was done to perfection with a delicious rice and sauce. Service was prompt and attentive without being intrusive. I've been here a couple of times before, and I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We had a 8p reservation which is there last seating on Sunday night , they were very accommodating an we never felt rushed the food was good & creative options on the menu made it really nice . Our server was wonderful

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

we had a GREAT experience this past Saturday...wanted to go with another couple but OpenTable had only late res. times (9pm)..we wanted to go for an outdoor cocktail then dinner...turns out there was a small wedding (hence to late time) but it worked to our advantage...may have discouraged people ..outside was wide open and we sat right alongside the canal...it was cool but beautiful...our server, Maria, was TERRIFIC...i'd go anywhere she worked...VERY helpful descriptions of each item on the menu...we took advantage of her suggestions...and they did not disappoint!!!!!...had a mushroom soup...so good!!!...not creamy and not watery!...then a ramp salad....never had it...very local ingredients... presentation was SUPERB...nice seafood stew and veal chop for our meals...and a FABULOUS dessert of strawberry shortcake....YUM...we don't do dessert BUT...and at the end of the entire meal...really didn't have that bloated OMG i ate too much feeling....it was light and so very good...a very leisurely atmosphere and a WONDERFUL meal....can't wait to go back....maybe Sunday brunch....just bring some extra $$...ain't cheap but certainly worth the money!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Piece of wood stick left in steak. Waitress very inattentive. Crab cakes dry, fishy and top burnt. All around poor experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Very beautiful place and great service. I'm not one for seafood so I went with something from bar menu. Nice night out

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Everything was delicious, service was great, water view was the big draw, bright cheery dining room

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 11, 2017

This was one of the best meals we have had in a long time. Our server was very knowledgeable and spent time guiding us through the menu and telling us about how the meals were prepared and sourced. The trout dip appetizer was more like chunks of delicious smoked fish accompanied by quinoa and horseradish that we could combine. The mushroom soup was a delicately flavored broth base with freshly gathered mushrooms. I was thrilled that one of the specials was 2 soft shell crabs with local farro and asparagus. Several diners commented that the crabs were the best they ever tasted. We could not believe we had never been to the Golden Pheasant Inn after living in Bucks for 29 years. We will be back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We discovered this gem of an inn and restaurant on a fall drive up the Delaware River in Pennsylvania. We were so taken by it's historical looking quaintness, that when we got home, we looked it up The Golden Pheasant online and made a reservation to go back a week later.
This week's visit was our third dinner there and we've fallen in love with it, driving 45 minutes to enjoy the ambiance, superb 'farm to table' fine dining, and reflectively enjoying the view of the Delaware River as we share a special time together. We look forward to going back in the summer, having enjoyed Fall, Winter and now Spring there together.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We rediscovered The Golden Pheasant after many years. The extensive renovations and impressive menu make the 40 mi. drive one-way well worth it. The cuisine is excellent and its presentation, stunning. This is the second time we have eaten here within a month.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Highly recommend , wonderful atmosphere, service and cuisine

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Nice looking place, great cocktails, good service, food sucks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Hannah provided a comfortably paced meal (even guessed my husband's order) with excellent service and personality. The Solarium was comfortable, clean and offered an uninterrupted view of the canal. My scallop dish was superb but unfortunately, my husband's veal was tough and the knife wasn't sharp enough to cut through it. But things happen, we understand that. We look forward to going again soon.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Everything was amazing. I had the Sirloin and Sausage and could not have been more delighted. Another person in my party had the Salmon which was cooked to perfection. The cheese assortment was not to be believed and the homemade Ice Cream was a perfect end to the meal. I even have to mention how fantastic my Cappuccino was. And our server - I wish I had a better memory so I could mention her by name - was delightful. As were the young people who always made sure our water was filled and promptly asked if I wanted another Iced Tea. Well done, Golden Pheasant Inn - we'll be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Beautiful drive along the Delaware, charming house with a great view. Friendly service, large menu selection, best escargot I ever had, unique menu options- roasted wild ramp, wild mushroom soup, etc, large portion entrees & delicious too. Desserts to die for, great wine & after dinner drinks. A fantastic evening with friends.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2017

A Great special occasion destination. I went for dinner and the Golden Pheasant met all my prior high expectations of the food and service. I rode about 50 min's to get there & it was well worth it. You immediately relax went you arrive and look out on the river and the food is awesome.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Farm to table restaurant! This was our third time having dinner here for my husband & I. We love the ambiance of this restaurant in an old stone house. This time we brought our 2 teenage sons for Easter dinner & we enjoyed sitting outside for the 1st time on the patio, which was strewn with outdoor lights. There's a quaint garden and view of the canal from the comfy wicker seating. Our waitress was wonderful and her twin sister also popped over to our table to answer questions! We started with the Dungeness Crab Cakes appetizer and Traditional Charcuterie Plate, both very nice. All loved our dinners (1 Lancaster County Frenched Chicken Breast, 2 Lancaster County Porterhouse Steaks & my ultimate favorite meal at Golden Pheasant - Seafood Stew!). Looks like they have some great, creative items on the Tavern food menu as well as a Brunch menu too. So will probably bring our teens back and check that out! Love this place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Cozy, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter dinner at Golden Pheasant Restaurant. Had dinner on the porch, and we loved the layout of the restaurant and the ambience. Service by two waitresses, who were twins, was excellent. The entrees, however, were just so-so, with the exception of the halibut entree which was very good. Food was not hot when served. The chicken entrée was tough and unappetizing in appearance. The steak and lamb entrées offered a sizable portion, but the quality/taste didn't compare to other high end restaurants, and the lamb was overcooked. Overall, the food was overpriced and underwhelming, but the ambience and service are worth a second try.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Always a pleasure at the Golden Pheasant!
Tyler took are reservation and accommodated our special requests. Laurie, does a phenomenal job running the front of the house, she is so friendly! Yolanda and crew provided excellent service, and the food is always perfect!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Healthy, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We've been here twice before & everything, especially venue (looking out over Delaware or Canal), service, and food was outstanding. However. last Sunday we had to send back two dishes. Rarely do we send back any. One wasn't hot, the other the salad wasn't properly dressed (very bitter). We'll check in later, maybe it was a bad day for the chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Delicious and creative seasonal menu. Lovely ambiance especially during the holidays. Friendly and attentive wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was our first visit , we will be going back again soon . We had a fantastic time the staff is wonderful and the food was excellent. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (London)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We went for a nice Sunday brunch - the food and ambiance were great and the selection had a good mix of options for everyone. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 2, 2017

GP is a go to place for our family.

The food is served with exceptional care and quality.

The staff are welcoming, very professional and catering to your needs.

Always a pleasure to dine in this establishment.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We ordered the West coast oysters in the hope there is less pollution over there than the waters of the East coast ; smallest oysters we ever had. Taste was OK. We had the lamb shank, very tender, delicious. It was accompanied by barbecue sauce , luckily it was on the side...The fingerling potatoes were tasteless and dry and wrinkled, the mashed potatoes were fine. There was a small piece of greenery, I cannot remember what is was nor how it tasted. The apple crumble was nice. I feel this is not fine dining but uninspirational same old same old comfort food. If I see more purreed or mashed food I might scream one day...Please when is this trend going to end? At home I cook every day more creative (and fresher) food than this and I am not a pro. Service was very friendly as usual!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The restaurant is very nice and cozy. The wait staff was excellent. The food looked pretty. However, the food was just ok. The prices were high for just an ok meal. I wouldn't return, however, if anyone asked me about it, I would recommend it, they may like it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Food was absolutely perfect. Mushroom soup is spectacular from the first bite on.
Maria is probably one of the most attentive severs we've ever had.
Very nice evening. Great quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We had an excellent dinner. The only negative was the almost empty dining room...too quiet. However, this is
Is one of the very best restaurants in the area, no doubt about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This is my third time coming here, and each time it has been a great experience. I have brought my children, and they have been very accommodating. The service has been outstanding, paying attention to the littlest of details, and the brunch was great. All of our food was prepared well and we will be coming back. For the area, it is my favorite spot to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.