About Golden Pheasant Inn

763 River Road
Erwinna, PA 18920
View Larger Map

"Exquisite" is the word to describe this experience - John V.R. Bull, Philadelphia Inquirer.
Perfect for a relaxed country meal, a weekend getaway or a glass of wine by the fire or on our outdoor terrace, it is hard to imagine a more picturesque setting than the Golden Pheasant Inn. The menu offers fresh, seasonal, locally sourced ingredients, The wine list offers over 160 selections by the bottle and 20 by the glass. Located between the Delaware River and Canal in a historic fieldstone inn, we are one hour and fifteen minutes from New York City or Philadelphia, and only 20 minutes north of New Hope, PA. The inn has been family owned and operated for over 27 years. We look forward to welcoming you and sharing the beauty of Bucks County!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm;

Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 8:00pm,

Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Dark Hollow Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 294-9595

Website:
http://www.goldenpheasant.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking on-site.

Executive Chef:
Blake Faure and Jonathan Collier Ramsay

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Golden Pheasant Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fireplace (30)
Good for a Date (25)
Romantic (24)
See All
Special Occasion (24)
Historic (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Cozy (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Scenic View (14)
Waterfront (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Seasonal (10)
Great for Lunch (6)
Organic (6)
Authentic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Great Beer (5)
Fun (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Healthy (3)
Business Meals (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
578 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is my third time coming here, and e ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 2 days ago

This is my third time coming here, and each time it has been a great experience. I have brought my children, and they have been very accommodating. The service has been outstanding, paying attention to the littlest of details, and the brunch was great. All of our food was prepared well and we will be coming back. For the area, it is my favorite spot to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had another great meal at The Golden ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

We had another great meal at The Golden Pheasant. Always top-notch food, ambiance and service. Love it here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, service and atmosphere ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Outstanding food, service and atmosphere. Wonderful location !

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, , Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Charcuterie plate was delicious as alway ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Charcuterie plate was delicious as always. It is a particular favorite for us. It's a lot of food though. Consider this when ordering the balance of your meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I visited the restaurant aft ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I visited the restaurant after many great recommendations by numerous friends. It is a restaurant that I have always wanted to visit and it did not disappoint. Our waitress (Hannah) was tremendous and provided some terrific recommendations - if you are a lamb fan, the lamb shank is incredible, and my wife loved her scallops.

Further to the wonderful meal, the Inn is an actually working place to spend the night. While we did not have an opportunity to stay over - it will certainly be something that we make a point to do over the next few months.

It seems to have a repeat customer base (Frenchtown is right across the river) and the customers know all that work at the restaurant by name. It's a great place to try, as I believe you will find your way back. It's a little pricey, but for a special treat, it's well worth the $$$.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Historic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice dinner, even though the room w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice dinner, even though the room was full it was quiet. Our table was beautiful and the food was very good. Just a bit over priced is all I can say.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Valentine's Day

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited the Golden Pheasant Inn on th ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We visited the Golden Pheasant Inn on the Saturday before Valentines Day. Because of the holiday, it was busy but definitely not rushed. We had a lovely table for two by the window. It's spacious and you are definitely not on top of other patrons. The room was cozy with a fire in the fireplace. They offered a special prix fixe menu as well as the regular menu.

We started with a dozen fresh oysters which were probably the freshest I've had in Bucks County. The wine list is great and extensive and the markup is only about 2x so they don't try to gouge you.

The food was delicious. Salads are huge, so you can consider sharing. They are flexible with entrees so if you prefer different accompaniment, they even offer it.

Surprised we have lived in the are this long and have never been here before. We need to go back more often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to return to The Golde ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always a pleasure to return to The Golden Pheasant. The food is amazing and the service is top notch, even on a busy night.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife an I had a lovely dinner celebra ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife an I had a lovely dinner celebrating an early Valentine's Day. The Golden Pheasant has never disappointed us, we have been dining there since 1976! Great menus and ambience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have not been there in a bit but quality ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Have not been there in a bit but quality consistent as ever. Goof food and very good service. Wine list could use more selection priced between the cheaper, mass-produced junk and the high price bottles. But, nonetheless, we found a good value in a red wine. Will certainly return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Historic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The waitress was professional, the pork ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The waitress was professional, the pork chop special was just ok, the brusselsprouts were hard and not cooked throughout. Too expensive for the product provided.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

This was my first visit to Golden Pheasa ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was my first visit to Golden Pheasant. Unfortunately, it will also be my last. I took my GF there for a special occasion.

The ambiance is wonderful (and the only reason why this is not a 1 star review).

The service, however, was perfunctory and cold. Our server seemed disinterested from the beginning.

The food was dreadful. For starters, my GF's arugula, goat cheese and beet salad was so overdressed that she commented that she said it tasted like drinking pure vinegar. She only ate half of it. My butternut squash bisque (a special), was completely tasteless. I only ate two spoonfuls and left the rest. Despite both plates being barely eaten, our server cleared them and never asked if anything was wrong.

For entrees, my GF's pork chop was nicely cooked but severely under seasoned. She brought it to life with some salt and pepper but could not cure the barely cooked Brussels sprouts, which she left on the plate. My halibut entree was rancid and had to be removed from the table immediately as the smell was so offensive the table next to us noticed it. How that fish got past the kitchen is beyond me. The replacement salmon was slightly better but was mushy instead of flaky.

After this, we quickly asked for the check. During the course of our meal, no one from management came to our table to discuss the serious problems we encountered. That's a shame.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value4

Very enjoyable evening. Quiet and intima ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Very enjoyable evening. Quiet and intimate dining, just what we were looking for.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Great Beer, Fun, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We often bring groups of friends for Sun ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We often bring groups of friends for Sunday Brunch. In all but the worst weather, it is a pleasant place to sit and watch the river, enjoy the change of seasons and, of course, be able to rely on the great food! It's a local treasure.

Tags: Organic, Historic, Fireplace, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food,service, and ambiance was top n ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food,service, and ambiance was top notch! Would definitely recommend to friends and will definitely be back. The brunch menu was extensive and varied in the selecting your course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a lovely Sunday brunch in every reg ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

What a lovely Sunday brunch in every regard! This charming venue features water views in a sunlit room also warmed by a fireplace. We thoroughly enjoyed the fixed price brunch menu that offered plenty of delectable choices and included champagne, soup or salad, main entree, and dessert. The food and presentation were exceptional, as was the service. We will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a lovely experience for a birthda ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was a lovely experience for a birthday celebration

Tags: Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It does not get any better than this for ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It does not get any better than this for a nice time and great food and service 👍

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The perfect place for a country brunch o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The perfect place for a country brunch on a snowy day, with a well tended fire, and some mushroom soup.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were very good; it' ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food and service were very good; it's a classy place. A couple of things could be improved upon. 1) The mushroom soup was slightly underseasoned. Garlic? Onion? Savory herbs? A little something more would be good. 2) The beer I had, Troegs Mad Elf, is 11% alcohol, usually served in a 6-8 ounce glass, not a full pint 3) The salmon was superb, but served in a deep bowl which made it very hard to get to. Unnecessary and should be on a plate.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was great and the service was a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was great and the service was attentive. I find that I prefer veal chops thinner and I did not realize that "flat water" was actually bottled water at additional cost. I count that as a learning.experience for me and.give the meal a grade of A!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We shared our New Years Eve celebration ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We shared our New Years Eve celebration with close friends and everyone at the Pheasant!

Oysters were excellent, as well as my fern salad and Salmon. Finished off the meal with the Creme Brulee and a glass of champagne.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Authentic, Waterfront, Historic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great place to spend New Years. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

What a great place to spend New Years. The food it out of this world along with the service

and the atmosphere. They always do a top rated job and because it was a holiday they never

raise the prices because of it. Way to go. Thanks and I'll be back next year as well with all of

the weeks in between.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went Christmas Eve. Had a good time ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I went Christmas Eve. Had a good time and met lots of new and interesting people. Food was

out of this world (as usual).

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Historic, Fun, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here many times, mostly out ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We have been here many times, mostly outdoors recently. The food has always been very good, but it fell a little short this time. Pricey and service was just OK, but not we expect here.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent service and outstanding qualit ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent service and outstanding quality of cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A terrific meal on a snowy night with gr ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 18, 2016

A terrific meal on a snowy night with great service provided by Maria, who knew the menu well and made excellent recommendations. We both had the pork loin which was fantastic, as was the mushroom soup.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Based on the reviews I'd read, I went in ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Based on the reviews I'd read, I went in expecting an excellent meal and I was very disappointed. To be fair, the appetizers and cocktails were good. We ordered the cheese plate, charcuterie plate, and the French onion soup, and they were all well presented and delicious. The main courses, however, were disappointing. I ordered the halibut, which was tough and overcooked and didn't taste fresh. Normally I love halibut, but this was the worst I'd ever tasted. My husband ordered the steak, which was cooked to his liking based on the color, but he said it tasted like it had been sitting out under a heat lamp for a while so it seemed like it had dried out (which makes sense, because service was slow). My son had the mussels, which he said were good.

The service was very slow. We had one server for the entire solarium room, which was nearly full by the time we left (over 2 hours later). While our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and took her time to explain everything to us in detail, she was clearly overwhelmed by the amount of tables she had.

We did not order dessert because we had waited so long for our other courses. I will say that our server brought us glasses of champagne with the check since my husband had mentioned earlier in the evening that it was my birthday. I thought that was a very nice touch.

I don't know if I'd go back for dinner again, but the drinks and appetizers were good, so I might sit at the bar sometime and check out the pub menu. I wanted to love this place because it's so beautiful, but I didn't.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Organic, Fireplace, Historic, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

My husband and I enjoyed dinner with ano ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed dinner with another couple on a cold December Friday night. We all started with different appetizers and everyone loved what they had from oysters to smoked trout. I had an excellent halibut dish for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A superb evening is an understatement! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

A superb evening is an understatement! A most fantastic experience. The food, the service, the decor all perfect. I will definitely return.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in bucks county absolutely fabulous ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Best in bucks county absolutely fabulous. Highly recommended. Local ingredients every dish was spectacular. Service was excellent

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, , Scenic View, Authentic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I dine here pretty regularly ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My wife and I dine here pretty regularly. Always an excellent experience!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

chairs are way too deep and uncomfortabl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

chairs are way too deep and uncomfortable. brussels sprouts and turnips were seriously undercooked with the core still in the turnips! we recommend roasting them next time. scallops were excellent, pork was good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Beautiful location overlooking the Delaw ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Beautiful location overlooking the Delaware River and Canal, warm ambiance with fireplace crackling. Wait staff friendly and capable. Brunch consisted of Appetizer, Entree and Dessert with a glass of champagne to start. Salads were swimming in the balsamic dressing. Cream of mushroom soup must have been healthy, as no cream was used. My egg topped filet mignon was drenched in Bearnaise sauce, the petite filet, ordered medium to medium rare came out well done, tough and tasting strangely of liver. A smoked salmon benedict had cooked salmon, not the lox we expected, with tons of hollandaise sauce, which blanketed the two other eggs benedict orders. Chef needs to restrain himself on the sauces. Lemon sorbet very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

One of my favorite places to cap off a d ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

One of my favorite places to cap off a day in the country. Food is great and service very attentive. But, it's the atmosphere of an old country inn along the Delaware river that makes it worth the drive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Fireplace, Romantic, Organic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Historic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

What a beautiful restaurant. The food an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

What a beautiful restaurant. The food and service were great. It's one of our favorites. Definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quality food Solid ambiance Ample portio ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Quality food

Solid ambiance

Ample portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Service was exceptional along with excep ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Service was exceptional along with exceptional food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We just found this restaurant. It's nort ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We just found this restaurant. It's north of New Hope PA. Great ride from Princeton area especially in Fall. The food is French/American, very fresh, tasty, presentation was great too. Staff knowledgeable, friendly but not imposing. The environment inside is spectacular, newly renovated and top quality as with everything else we experienced. And, they have a great wine list and a wood burning fireplace.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Organic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.