Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.46mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi
  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.46mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.46mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi
  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.46mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi

About Golden Mast

Welcome to Weissgerber"s Golden Mast on Okauchee Lake. Wisconsin's Premier Lakeside Restaurant. The food, the view and the service are impeccable, the architecture and ambiance go unmatched. Whether joining us for a romantic dinner for two, a wedding, a banquet or a casual meal in the lounge, we look forward to serving you soon!

W349 N5293 Lacy
Okauchee, WI 53069
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary German

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday 4:30pm - 10:00pm & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:30pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Lake Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 567-7047

Website:
http://www.weissgerbers.com/goldenmast

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment FRIDAY Nights in the Lounge 6:30-10:30PM. 2-3 piece groups. Casual Bar Menu with appetizers, sandwiches, salads and more. Over looking the lake, fireplace, large flat screen TV's.

Catering:
Catering Menu available for groups of 20-350 people. Party Trays of Hot & Cold Items, pick up ready to serve or cooking instructions to finish in your home. Appetizers, Sandwiches, Salads, Full Dinners and more. Perfect for Office Luncheons, Boat Ride Platters, Showers, Casual Picnics off site full catered events and more. Pick Up and Delivery Available. Impress your Guests - Bring The Golden Mast to your next function.

Parking Details:
We have plenty of parking, both in front of our main entrance and private lots for banquet parking. Valet Services are available for hire for large groups or events.

Executive Chef:
John Moosreiner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Golden Mast offers Private Rooms for 2-400 guests. Overlooking Okauchee Lake, most of our rooms have beautiful views and outside access. From corporate functions, weddings, family gatherings and more, the Golden Mast is truly one of the most beautiful banquet destinations in the Mid West.

Golden Mast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (42)
Waterfront (36)
Special Occasion (35)
See All
Romantic (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Worth the Drive (26)
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Good for Groups (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Great for Brunch (15)
Casual (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Cozy (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Authentic (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
People Watching (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Fun (7)
Great Beer (6)
Seasonal (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Business Meals (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Fireplace (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Live Music (2)
Historic (2)
Family Style (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
679 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

This was our first time at the Golden Mast. We asked for a table near a window so we could look out at the lake. We had a perfect table at the end of the room next to a window. The brunch was delicious. It was nice to have a brunch with most of the food delivered to the table rather than having to get up for all of the food. The service was excellent. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

We were looking for a nice place for a Sunday brunch with family. This place was recommended to me by a resident of Oconomowoc. It was perfect and we really enjoyed our meal and the scenery.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

We love the family style brunch. The food is always wonderful and the service and ambiance is outstanding. Hans runs a well oiled machine there, and we always enjoy it for special occasions. The view of the lake is lovely too! The sunday brunch is an outstanding value, it's our favorite!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I share the same birthday. We recently celebrated our birthdays there and after a wonderful dinner the waitress surprised us Shaum Tortes for each of us... it was a very nice gesture and delicious too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Scenic View, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great supper club environment with great food. Love the German theme, but also appreciate the variety that exists behind German.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The Golden Mast is a way to connect with nature all year round. The bar is so pleasant. In winter, we go and heat up by the fire and look at ice sports right in front of our eyes. In summer, we watch the boaters go in an out from the lake access right on the property. The food is good. We go for duck in holiday season and burgers in the summer. Great place.

Tags: Quick Bite, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Overall awesome place. Beautiful facility with exceptional service! Highly recommend it for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I was celebrating my 50th birthday and was looking forward to a nice surf and turf dinner on the water. We've come before and it's a nice restaurant. The French Onion soup was good, but my 8 oz Lobster was over cooked and very small. The steak had little flavor too. It was disappointing especially for the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 12, 2017

For a group of four, we all ordered prime rib on Saturday. The prime rib was served medium well to well done when we all requested medium rare. After pushing food around the plate for a while waiting for the server to come back, she brought out two replacement slices of prime rib. It was still over cooked. Needless to say we were all disappointed being that it was a early evening dinner and the food should have been so over done.

Not sure we will be returning for food again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I asked for window seat and they gave it to us. We came in on our Harley's and were in bike attire and they never blinked an eye. The ride down 83 is very nice and to stop for dinner at Golden Mast was a great night cap. Would recommend. A little on the pricey side but the ambiance out-weighs it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The brunch was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

It took 1 hour 30 minutes to be served the soup/ salad course. When the soup finally arrived it was cold. Around 2 hours we got the main course. Two of our party left without getting food. Ruined what should have been a fantastic evening

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

My husband and I came for all you can eat crab legs with my father and his girlfriend. As soon as we ordered the waitress was rude to us. She never asked if we wanted additional drinks or more servings of crab. We had to ask every time and it was a clear inconvenience every time we did. She also spilled water (from the crab) on my dad and butter on my husband and didn't apologize. Every time she brought more crab she just handed the plate to my husband (to put on the table) and left without saying anything. This is supposed to be a nice place and we were very unhappy with how we were treated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 27, 2017

My guest and I had a lovely evening dinner at the Golden Mast. Impressive German lodge kind of feel to the place. I had requested a nice window table. We were given one but it had a so so view and near loud tables. They were nice about switching us to the perfect table near window near fireplace. Limited wine list but the petit syrah we had was nice. My guest had the wiener schnitzel over spaezle, while I had the prime rib special. Both were nice although my rib was cooked more than I had request. Since it was my guest's birthday we were brought a special dessert which was one the best I've ever tried. Good, attentive server. Wish we lived closer.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Service, food, and views are all exceptional. The ambience, the inviting atmosphere, and the personal attention by owner and staff are remarkable. Since our last visit, I have promised several friends and family members that we will get back as soon as we can...for the quality food...the seasonal views...and the impeccable service.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We came to the Golden Mast to celebrate our friends' 45th wedding anniversary with them. We did not tell our waitress, however, she overheard our toast and surprised them at the end of the meal with a special strawberry shortcake dessert. It made the night extra special. Aside from this, our food was delicious. We had an issue with the prime rib being overdone and the cook promptly replaced it with a "medium" slice.
Actually, our waitress, Tess, was the icing on the cake. She was delightful and professional. Our courses were timed perfectly and she checked in on us very unobtrusively. We would definitely recommend Golden Mast to others.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner. Property is impeccably manicured. Loved all of the collections, stained glass, and beautiful view of the lake. Had a table of 5 and service was great. We all had different things, primarily German but also Elk fillets. Salad was great. Main courses were great and didn't have room for dessert but saw schaum torte that looked tremendous. Took pictures outside along the lake. A beautiful day and great place. Hadn't been there in over 20 years as we live out of state. It was a real treat to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 8, 2017

for her to come back so we could order cocktails she brought salads forgot the bread, still waited for our drinks the n our meals came, somewhere the "timing" was off, it was good but not great, I realize you went for the casual atmosphere but really people coming in off their boats with swimsuits on, there should be some sort of dress code for the other guests that are appropriately dressed for dinner. Wished it could of been a better night since it will be awhile before we see our son again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Four meals were ordered. 2 orders were steak. I have always know you guys as a steak place. My steak, a tenderloin, was ask for rare to medium, and it came out well done. I am not the type of person to send food back in a restaurant. Worked in industry many years, and you were busy. Second steak was a king cut prime rib. That was ordered medium rare and it was mooing still. Waitress said prime rib is hard to cook. I have lived in the area 15 years and this was my second time going to your restaurant and it will be the last time. There are many excellent places around that know how to serve food.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Thursday AYCE snow crab special is quite good. However, we were seated in the bar while the whole dining room was open. A loud, obnoxious man at the bar made half the meal very annoying. Be sure you get a decent seat by the windows in the dining room -- not bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Second visit in a month with table for 12. Very satisfied first visit. Second time table placed facing service stations, computers,etc. , entrance. Server reluctance to separate checks and also adding loyalty points. Could not appreciate lake view or band with table location as previous visit. Food service, quality very good.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Good food, great service. Year after year we enjoy the food, ambiance, and service for our anniversary. This year is it our 51st.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Service was much slower than we had ever experienced before. Had to wait quite long for the bread basket to be served. The butter dish was never delivered. Had to go to neighboring table to get salt and pepper. Never was able to get fresh-made dessert at dessert station as the omelet/pasta bar preparer never moved over to the dessert station (he was covering both the dessert and omelet station when I got my omelet). I made eye contact several times with the preparer. After 6 people who came after me were served before me, I returned to my table without cherries jubilee or bananas foster, dissatisfied.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Beautiful place and staff was wonderful to us. The food is so so. I remember it being a higher classs place at one time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great food, service, and view!

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Casual, Fun, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Three of us get together @ the Golden Mast once a year. This is always as "special" get together and we try to plan it when the weather will be beautiful...as it was. We always choose the breakfast choice because we feel that the buffet is priced too high for our budgets, although it looks tempting with many good choices. There are a number of choices on the breakfast menu to choose from. Our waitress was cheery, helpful and paid attention to our table even though the restaurant was crowded. We'll plan on going again next year.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I enjoyed everything except the waitress. She was snippy and rude. I get it I am young and she probably thought I wouldn't leavr a a good tip but still. She only check back with me three times the whole dinner. Other than that the place was fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The food and service both dining and at the bar was outstanding. Also on the way out we were greeted with thank you by Guss. My wife an I found this to be yet another thing that will bring us back

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We used to go to the Gasthaus a lot, another restaurant owned by the Weissgerber family. I figured it was time to give the Golden Mast a try. WOW! Amazing food, top notch service, great atmosphere. I didn't realize they had a large outdoor patio when we first walked in or I would have asked for a table outside. Beautiful views of the lake. It's safe to say we found our new favorite spot. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had a very pleasant, comfortable and delicious dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We came to Golden Mast on a Tuesday and having not been there for a while, I was expecting for the food to be good granted the prices and location. However, the food was average at best and didn't have much flavor to it. It seemed as though the menu hasn't changed in the last 20 years. Our filets were a bit overcooked and didn't taste much like anything special. I think a revamp of the menu is needed in order to draw those that are looking for a more unique food menu in addition to the location. I also think the ambiance and decor needs to be updated from a supper club type atmosphere to something a bit more updated. A big positive is that the fish fry is still good and the location is great right on the lake with great views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food and excellent service, as always
A great place to relax and enjoy a perfect evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Always a great meal with attentive service in beautiful setting on Okauchee Lake

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Cozy, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 14, 2017

My husband wanted to take me here for years, so we finally went for our 20th anniversary dinner on a Wednesday evening. It sadly didn't live up to expectations. We were seated at a table for 2 with a nice view of the lake, and it had that traditional Wisconsin supper club feel with friendly staff. Unfortunately we were seated in a large dining room, where a loud, larger group came in half way through our meal. We should have asked to be moved... Not even the staff singing "Happy Anniversary" to us quieted the noisy group.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 11, 2017

As recommended by a fellow coworker I tried the Sunday brunch. I was extremely pleased to be greeted graciously by Hans! What a wonderful gentleman. Food was delicious and a wide decadent variety. Xxoo I will be back again Stacey Z

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We went to the Golden Mast on a Saturday evening with 7pm reservations. It was a beautful day so we asked to be seated outside overlooking the Lake. The view was fantastic, the food was delicious (mussels, prime rib, crab legs)! Saturday is build your own surf and turf combo :)
Would highly reccomend for a casual dinning experience or a fancy date.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Go for a drink and some small plates. Enjoy the view.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 6, 2017

The view was fantastic and the food was even better.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The Chicken Gabrielle was quite good but could have used more beurre blanc sauce. The extra sauce would have made a great addition to the dry sticky pasta served as a side. The vegetables were unappetizing to look at and therefore went uneaten. My husband had the Shrimp and Scallop Scampi and mentioned that there were far more shrimp than scallops. He thought the taste overall was very good though his pasta was sticky and dry as well. His vegetables also went uneaten. Nonetheless, we will dine here again because the good outweighs the bad.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great food, nice atmosphere! The service was polite and attentive. I would definitely do it again. Thanks

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.