Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.46mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi
  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.46mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.46mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi
  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.46mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi

About Golden Mast

Welcome to Weissgerber"s Golden Mast on Okauchee Lake. Wisconsin's Premier Lakeside Restaurant. The food, the view and the service are impeccable, the architecture and ambiance go unmatched. Whether joining us for a romantic dinner for two, a wedding, a banquet or a casual meal in the lounge, we look forward to serving you soon!

W349 N5293 Lacy
Okauchee, WI 53069
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary German

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday 4:30pm - 10:00pm & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:30pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Lake Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 567-7047

Website:
http://www.weissgerbers.com/goldenmast

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment FRIDAY Nights in the Lounge 6:30-10:30PM. 2-3 piece groups. Casual Bar Menu with appetizers, sandwiches, salads and more. Over looking the lake, fireplace, large flat screen TV's.

Catering:
Catering Menu available for groups of 20-350 people. Party Trays of Hot & Cold Items, pick up ready to serve or cooking instructions to finish in your home. Appetizers, Sandwiches, Salads, Full Dinners and more. Perfect for Office Luncheons, Boat Ride Platters, Showers, Casual Picnics off site full catered events and more. Pick Up and Delivery Available. Impress your Guests - Bring The Golden Mast to your next function.

Parking Details:
We have plenty of parking, both in front of our main entrance and private lots for banquet parking. Valet Services are available for hire for large groups or events.

Executive Chef:
John Moosreiner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Golden Mast offers Private Rooms for 2-400 guests. Overlooking Okauchee Lake, most of our rooms have beautiful views and outside access. From corporate functions, weddings, family gatherings and more, the Golden Mast is truly one of the most beautiful banquet destinations in the Mid West.

Golden Mast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (28)
Scenic View (27)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Worth the Drive (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Great for Brunch (17)
Romantic (16)
Good for a Date (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Cozy (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Casual (10)
Authentic (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Historic (8)
Fireplace (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Seasonal (6)
People Watching (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Fun (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Business Meals (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great Beer (3)
Healthy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Dancing (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
649 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

We used to go to the Gasthaus a lot, another restaurant owned by the Weissgerber family. I figured it was time to give the Golden Mast a try. WOW! Amazing food, top notch service, great atmosphere. I didn't realize they had a large outdoor patio when we first walked in or I would have asked for a table outside. Beautiful views of the lake. It's safe to say we found our new favorite spot. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a very pleasant, comfortable and delicious dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

We came to Golden Mast on a Tuesday and having not been there for a while, I was expecting for the food to be good granted the prices and location. However, the food was average at best and didn't have much flavor to it. It seemed as though the menu hasn't changed in the last 20 years. Our filets were a bit overcooked and didn't taste much like anything special. I think a revamp of the menu is needed in order to draw those that are looking for a more unique food menu in addition to the location. I also think the ambiance and decor needs to be updated from a supper club type atmosphere to something a bit more updated. A big positive is that the fish fry is still good and the location is great right on the lake with great views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and excellent service, as always
A great place to relax and enjoy a perfect evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Always a great meal with attentive service in beautiful setting on Okauchee Lake

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Cozy, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 14, 2017

My husband wanted to take me here for years, so we finally went for our 20th anniversary dinner on a Wednesday evening. It sadly didn't live up to expectations. We were seated at a table for 2 with a nice view of the lake, and it had that traditional Wisconsin supper club feel with friendly staff. Unfortunately we were seated in a large dining room, where a loud, larger group came in half way through our meal. We should have asked to be moved... Not even the staff singing "Happy Anniversary" to us quieted the noisy group.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 11, 2017

As recommended by a fellow coworker I tried the Sunday brunch. I was extremely pleased to be greeted graciously by Hans! What a wonderful gentleman. Food was delicious and a wide decadent variety. Xxoo I will be back again Stacey Z

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We went to the Golden Mast on a Saturday evening with 7pm reservations. It was a beautful day so we asked to be seated outside overlooking the Lake. The view was fantastic, the food was delicious (mussels, prime rib, crab legs)! Saturday is build your own surf and turf combo :)
Would highly reccomend for a casual dinning experience or a fancy date.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Go for a drink and some small plates. Enjoy the view.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 6, 2017

The view was fantastic and the food was even better.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The Chicken Gabrielle was quite good but could have used more beurre blanc sauce. The extra sauce would have made a great addition to the dry sticky pasta served as a side. The vegetables were unappetizing to look at and therefore went uneaten. My husband had the Shrimp and Scallop Scampi and mentioned that there were far more shrimp than scallops. He thought the taste overall was very good though his pasta was sticky and dry as well. His vegetables also went uneaten. Nonetheless, we will dine here again because the good outweighs the bad.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great food, nice atmosphere! The service was polite and attentive. I would definitely do it again. Thanks

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Excellent service Food is delicious Great outdoor patio with an awesome view My husband and I always feel welcome when we eat there The owners are sweethearts Always attentive to your needs

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Healthy, Comfort Food, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Casual, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Very friendly staff and accommodating for our needs. Great food wonderful setting

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

While the food was good, the prices were very high for what you got.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our family attended the Mother's Day Brunch this past Sunday. Although we had 11:30 reservations, we were not seated until 1215. We were disappointed that there was no made to order omelet station and the buffet seemed very crammed into the bar section. The waffle offering on the buffet was dried out. The salmon and blintz were very good. I would not recommend the Golden Mast for Mother's Day as I feel they overbook and can't handle the increase in diners. We have been to the Golden Mast for regular dinner, and the food was wonderful.

Tags: Waterfront, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food and service, seated before our reservation

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We ate at a busy time (6:30 on Prom night) but the service was prompt and attentive, and the food was excellent. The view overlooking Okauchee Lake can not be beat.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The Golden Mast was perfect to take a special person to dinner to thank her for an extra special favor she did for us. It was a great restaurant for a special German dinner. I had been looking for a place that served spaetzel (not sure of the spelling) and it was delicious!

Thank you!

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, People Watching, Special Occasion, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary. We have decided that we would make this a tradition at the Golden Mast. Our meal was fantastic . My prime rib was the best I've had in years and my wife's lamb chops were great. My compliments to the chef. Our waitress Karla was wonderful. She was experienced and very personable. We will definitely recommend the Golden Mast to our friends.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food would have received 5 stars except soups were on the bland side. Since the rest of the food was so great, it stood out that the soup was below average. We can't wait to come back as overall Golden Mast is wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for their Sunday brunch on Easter and everything was amazing. Food was buffet style and everything seemed very fresh and hot and would definitely go back again. Recommend the hot ham, the peel and eat shrimp and of course all of the deserts...mmm, mmm good!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Historic, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was excellent. We hosted first experience guests from Madison and they were impressed

Tags: Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Historic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Wait staff was great and the food was wonderful. Setting perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The service was terrible. We didn't get waited on until sitting at our table for about 10 min, which wasn't even out waitress, it was someone who was just taking our drink order for us. When our waitress finally arrived she approached the table and simply said "Are you ready?" Never introduced herself or apologized for the wait! And to top things off , the food was awful. I ordered the surf and turf, which was their Saturday night special. The lobster was ok but the steak was just simply a piece of meat that was cooked, no flavor whatsoever. I could've cooked it better myself at home! Overall, this experience was awful and we do not plan on returning here. Very overpriced for the service and quality of food they offer.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We frequent the Golden Mast and brought friends who were most impressed and can't wait to come back for the Chicken Gabrielle

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, People Watching, Authentic, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Business Meals, Dancing, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Historic, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Family Style, Casual, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My family helped me celebrate my birthday at the Golden Mast. The food and service were fantastic. The sauerbraten was excellent and their dessert menu was great as well. We thought the Spinach and Artichoke dip was very tasty. The Temptation Chocolate Torte was decadent and excellent. They also surprised me with a Strawberry Schaum Torte for my birthday. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 15, 2017

A great place to eat and enjoy the view of the lake. This has always been a quality restaurant though the years
The food was perfect and the waitstaff outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Went there for the brunch. It was the first time eating there. We were very impressed with the food selection and the quality of the food served. We especially enjoyed the create your own omelet station, the peel and eat shrimp, and the desserts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Casual, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overall it was a great experience. The food was good (peel and eat shrimp a little tough), but New York Strip was very good. Bananas Foster was also good. Service was a bit slow but not horrible. Our server has another large table that I believe was taking a little more of her time. We will go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Fireplace, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food and service were excellent. Dining at the Golden Mast is a very enjoyable dinning experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I brought a guest from out of town and we were both pleased. The food was amazing. We had a window seat and the view was beautiful. It is a wonderful place for a special occasion. I will be back for sure. It is so refreshing to go to a Restaurant where all of the staff regardless of their job duties was dressed professionally. You guys really know how to make an evening special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Extremely noisy. Could not even hear our waitress. Tables entirely too close together. Difficult to even get to our table. For the prices charged, we should not have to navigate around people who are already seated and in some cases difficult not to disturb them bumping in between their chairs.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

You can always expect a great meal with wonderful ambiance when you dine at Golden Mast. The professionalism of the servers is top notch! Love this place!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We have been to Golden Mast many times for special occasions. For some reason, this visit does not rank as one of the better ones but it was still worth it for a nice dinner.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

we were a mixed-age group, including two toddlers, gathering for an anniversary. the staff was extremely helpful. they arranged for high chairs, were attentive at the table and anticipated our needs. the hostess thoughtfully brought a dessert surprise and joined in singing "Happy Anniversary." we enjoyed the way the Sunday Buffet was served, with part of the meal brought to our table, with a variety of additional choices at the buffet area. this worked very well with the children. I would bring my aged father to this type of service, as it would accommodate his needs very well-giving him choices without too many trips back and forth to a buffet. we had a wonderful time, and I checked the noise level as moderate due to the level of noise we probably contributed.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We ate brunch at The Golden Mast for my mom's 60th birthday. It was perfect! Great food and extremely good service. I can't wait to come back for another brunch!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Service was excellent. Atmosphere was quite nice. One diner in our party sent their steak back (legitimately) twice to get it cooked right. Rest of the food was cooked right but when looking at the total bill vs. the quality of the food the evening was overpriced. There are better local restaurants to drop $75/person on for a night out.

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Cozy, Fireplace, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch, which is always outstanding. Served family style, it's a very nice experience witha great view of the lake. The food is superb and bountiful, and I believe the price is a bargain. My only complaint was that I felt we were being rushed out at the end of our meal. The waitress took our forks, spoons, and napkins before we got a chance to have dessert or coffee. I don't like that at all. Otherwise the experience was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was such a wonderful surprise to find this gem that we had never been to.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Fireplace, Authentic, Historic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.