Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.46mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi
  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.46mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.46mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi
  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.46mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi

About Golden Mast

Welcome to Weissgerber"s Golden Mast on Okauchee Lake. Wisconsin's Premier Lakeside Restaurant. The food, the view and the service are impeccable, the architecture and ambiance go unmatched. Whether joining us for a romantic dinner for two, a wedding, a banquet or a casual meal in the lounge, we look forward to serving you soon!

W349 N5293 Lacy
Okauchee, WI 53069
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary German

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday 4:30pm - 10:00pm & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:30pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Lake Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 567-7047

Website:
http://www.weissgerbers.com/goldenmast

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment FRIDAY Nights in the Lounge 6:30-10:30PM. 2-3 piece groups. Casual Bar Menu with appetizers, sandwiches, salads and more. Over looking the lake, fireplace, large flat screen TV's.

Catering:
Catering Menu available for groups of 20-350 people. Party Trays of Hot & Cold Items, pick up ready to serve or cooking instructions to finish in your home. Appetizers, Sandwiches, Salads, Full Dinners and more. Perfect for Office Luncheons, Boat Ride Platters, Showers, Casual Picnics off site full catered events and more. Pick Up and Delivery Available. Impress your Guests - Bring The Golden Mast to your next function.

Parking Details:
We have plenty of parking, both in front of our main entrance and private lots for banquet parking. Valet Services are available for hire for large groups or events.

Executive Chef:
John Moosreiner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Golden Mast offers Private Rooms for 2-400 guests. Overlooking Okauchee Lake, most of our rooms have beautiful views and outside access. From corporate functions, weddings, family gatherings and more, the Golden Mast is truly one of the most beautiful banquet destinations in the Mid West.

Golden Mast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (33)
Scenic View (32)
Worth the Drive (27)
See All
Romantic (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Special Occasion (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Casual (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Authentic (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Cozy (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
People Watching (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Disabled Access (5)
Fun (5)
Great Beer (5)
Business Meals (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
702 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

Top notch restaurant in beautiful location. My husband really enjoys the duck with spaetzle

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

WAITRESS AND FOOD WAS GREAT. VERY ACCOMMODATING WITH SEATING.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The food is really good but some is fairly expensive. I was there twice within a month. The first time there was a wedding and things going on and getting the food in everything else took longer than usual. Also this last time and the other time parking was an issue and I even have a handicap parking permit. There needs to be more handicap spots

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Sports, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Scenic View, Waterfront, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Dan and I enjoy coming to the Golden Mast, especially for a special occasion (birthday or anniversary. We have always enjoyed the good food and great service.
This past occasion was a little disappointing. The prime rib was very tasty and tender that I had, sadly the lobster was a little over cooked and did not have the usual sweet taste you are known for. Dan's dinner was the combination plate, he enjoyed it very much, no complaints.

The waiter was not very attentive to us or the other tables near us. He never asked if we wanted another cocktail or another soda. We are not sure if he is new, not feeling well or at the end of his shift. We always have had great service from the wait staff at the Golden Mast, so this was a little disheartening. He did bring a birthday schaum torte dessert for me which was very nice of the restaurant to provide a guest.

Overall we will still come to the Golden Mast, hopefully, the recent visit was just a fluke. Sorry we could not give a better review, we do enjoy the restaurant.

Thanks, Dan and Georgiane Delie

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Stuffed Roughy was outstanding. Overall our visit to Golden Mast was one of the best dinners we've had in a long time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Food was excellent. Disappointed ice tea was only from the gun in the bar. Nice restaurant like this could brew tea and pour it over ice. (Yes that's how you make ice tea).
Music in the bar was a nice touch but was not loud in the dining area.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Over all our dinning experience was okay. It was a Sunday with a small to moderate crowd . The hostess sat me and my wife in corner table right of the fireplace . I had a decent view of the lake which is something both my wife and I enjoy . My wife's view was limited . Then the hostess sat another party at a table right next to us .(not cool) After all she had plenty of room to seat them even one table over. The food and the waitress were satisfactory . My prime was to be more medium rare . It was more rare than medium . I did enjoy it and felt as though it was not worth the trouble to send back. Next time I would just order medium. After it was all said and done I had conversation with the hostess after we were getting ready to leave . I inadvertently said it was my wife 35th wedding anniversary . She asked if I'd mention that to our waitress. I said no, she said had we they would have comped our desert . To bad they didn't ask what was the occasion. Free desert would have made up for the other failings . One to ten I'd give it six .

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Our dinner was great, service excellent. The food very well presented. I had filet mignon and mashed potatoes with vegetables, and 4 ounces of the split crab legs with melted butter. The stuffed mushroom appetizer with brie,pecans and cranberry jam was very good. Everything was superb, until dessert. Do not get the key lime pie! It was grainy, overly sweet, and not real key lime flavor. Wish I would have gotten the creme brulee. Overall a good experience, would definitely recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Frozen greenbeens stright from any high school lunch no flavor and still hard. Steak was not cooked correctly, no flavor made my son sick. Very expensive for very poor food. The only thing didn't mess up was the baked potatoes. Spent the rest of the in the bathroom. We will never go back.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Our dinner itself was good- our server was great (very attentive service!) my lack of stars on this category was for our experience at the bar. It took 20 minutes (with only 6 other guests at the bar and 2 bartenders serving drinks- or lack there of) to get one round of drinks.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Perfect spot to celebrate special occasions with great food and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

It was our 51st anniversary! Wanted to go to some place special. We haven't been there for several years! Saw you had a brunch, so we decided to come! This is the weirdest brunch we have ever been too! We like to either order or go up and pick out what we like! Several items we don't eat! The tray idea is not what we liked. When we asked the waitress about "I bet you waste a lot of food." Her answer was the owner has a compost pile and they put it in there. We felt it was wasteful! Not a good system for a brunch! Everyone I have told about how your brunch was, was appalled by it and the waste!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Recently relocated to the area and was highly recommended! The food was excellent. The lakefront view was beautiful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Waterfront, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

We were celebrating our 30th. We moved to the area 5 years ago and we have been looking for a nice restaurant that we love the atmosphere and love the food...I think we found it. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We loved the restaurant building, the decor, the setting and the food. This place is so unique! Definitely worth the drive. It is a gem!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 3, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants, but they were having a really bad night. Waiting for their response. Not sure if I'll go back

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

We were staying on the lake and took some people there. It is quite expensive for what you get. Three of us had weiner schnitzel and it was very dry. We get it in Milwaukee a few times a year and it is much juicier. The bread appetizer was very good. The waitress was nice and had obviously been there a long time. I don't know that I would go back, or at least I would not get the schnitzel if I did.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Love the ambiance with all the beautiful wood and decorations. Very classy. All our dishes were wonderful and nicely presented.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We brought friends to the Golden Mast when they were visiting. I was so impressed with the entire experience. Michael was our server and did an incredible job. The four entrees were fabulous. The drinks were excellent. Atmosphere is wonderful and the view was great. We will absolutely go back soon. So much on the menu in a nice, comfortable setting.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Requested a window seat, and got one of the best they had. Had a great meal which included a complimentary desert for our anniversary. They made a special day even better.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

We celebrated our 36th Wedding Anniversary on 8-22-17. My husband is confined to a wheelchair yet we easily got into the restaurant. We were then taken to a lakeside table. It was a lovely dinner and our server, Samantha, was so nice. I had the daily special - Surf and turf. Cooked and served to perfection. My husband enjoyed the German Combination plate which was rouladen, duck, weiner schnitzel, red cabbage, and spaetzel. He thoroughly enjoyed it. We can't wait to go again to enjoy some of the other dishes which caught our eye.

Strongly recommend The Golden Mast.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We go to Golden Mast at least once a summer to enjoy the food and ambience. My husband enjoyed Roast duck and I had the Walleye Almondine. The fish tasted a bit fishy- not bad, but not as fresh as it could have been. The cocktails were very good and it was a beautiful day to watch the boaters bringing in their boats to the dock.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This was our first time at the Golden Mast. We asked for a table near a window so we could look out at the lake. We had a perfect table at the end of the room next to a window. The brunch was delicious. It was nice to have a brunch with most of the food delivered to the table rather than having to get up for all of the food. The service was excellent. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We were looking for a nice place for a Sunday brunch with family. This place was recommended to me by a resident of Oconomowoc. It was perfect and we really enjoyed our meal and the scenery.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We love the family style brunch. The food is always wonderful and the service and ambiance is outstanding. Hans runs a well oiled machine there, and we always enjoy it for special occasions. The view of the lake is lovely too! The sunday brunch is an outstanding value, it's our favorite!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

What a wonderful restaurant to celebrate life's special moments.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 18, 2017

My husband and I share the same birthday. We recently celebrated our birthdays there and after a wonderful dinner the waitress surprised us Shaum Tortes for each of us... it was a very nice gesture and delicious too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Scenic View, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great supper club environment with great food. Love the German theme, but also appreciate the variety that exists behind German.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The Golden Mast is a way to connect with nature all year round. The bar is so pleasant. In winter, we go and heat up by the fire and look at ice sports right in front of our eyes. In summer, we watch the boaters go in an out from the lake access right on the property. The food is good. We go for duck in holiday season and burgers in the summer. Great place.

Tags: Quick Bite, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Overall awesome place. Beautiful facility with exceptional service! Highly recommend it for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I was celebrating my 50th birthday and was looking forward to a nice surf and turf dinner on the water. We've come before and it's a nice restaurant. The French Onion soup was good, but my 8 oz Lobster was over cooked and very small. The steak had little flavor too. It was disappointing especially for the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 12, 2017

For a group of four, we all ordered prime rib on Saturday. The prime rib was served medium well to well done when we all requested medium rare. After pushing food around the plate for a while waiting for the server to come back, she brought out two replacement slices of prime rib. It was still over cooked. Needless to say we were all disappointed being that it was a early evening dinner and the food should have been so over done.

Not sure we will be returning for food again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I asked for window seat and they gave it to us. We came in on our Harley's and were in bike attire and they never blinked an eye. The ride down 83 is very nice and to stop for dinner at Golden Mast was a great night cap. Would recommend. A little on the pricey side but the ambiance out-weighs it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The brunch was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

It took 1 hour 30 minutes to be served the soup/ salad course. When the soup finally arrived it was cold. Around 2 hours we got the main course. Two of our party left without getting food. Ruined what should have been a fantastic evening

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

My husband and I came for all you can eat crab legs with my father and his girlfriend. As soon as we ordered the waitress was rude to us. She never asked if we wanted additional drinks or more servings of crab. We had to ask every time and it was a clear inconvenience every time we did. She also spilled water (from the crab) on my dad and butter on my husband and didn't apologize. Every time she brought more crab she just handed the plate to my husband (to put on the table) and left without saying anything. This is supposed to be a nice place and we were very unhappy with how we were treated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 27, 2017

My guest and I had a lovely evening dinner at the Golden Mast. Impressive German lodge kind of feel to the place. I had requested a nice window table. We were given one but it had a so so view and near loud tables. They were nice about switching us to the perfect table near window near fireplace. Limited wine list but the petit syrah we had was nice. My guest had the wiener schnitzel over spaezle, while I had the prime rib special. Both were nice although my rib was cooked more than I had request. Since it was my guest's birthday we were brought a special dessert which was one the best I've ever tried. Good, attentive server. Wish we lived closer.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Service, food, and views are all exceptional. The ambience, the inviting atmosphere, and the personal attention by owner and staff are remarkable. Since our last visit, I have promised several friends and family members that we will get back as soon as we can...for the quality food...the seasonal views...and the impeccable service.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We came to the Golden Mast to celebrate our friends' 45th wedding anniversary with them. We did not tell our waitress, however, she overheard our toast and surprised them at the end of the meal with a special strawberry shortcake dessert. It made the night extra special. Aside from this, our food was delicious. We had an issue with the prime rib being overdone and the cook promptly replaced it with a "medium" slice.
Actually, our waitress, Tess, was the icing on the cake. She was delightful and professional. Our courses were timed perfectly and she checked in on us very unobtrusively. We would definitely recommend Golden Mast to others.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner. Property is impeccably manicured. Loved all of the collections, stained glass, and beautiful view of the lake. Had a table of 5 and service was great. We all had different things, primarily German but also Elk fillets. Salad was great. Main courses were great and didn't have room for dessert but saw schaum torte that looked tremendous. Took pictures outside along the lake. A beautiful day and great place. Hadn't been there in over 20 years as we live out of state. It was a real treat to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.