Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.46mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi
  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.46mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.46mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi
  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.46mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi

About Golden Mast

Welcome to Weissgerber"s Golden Mast on Okauchee Lake. Wisconsin's Premier Lakeside Restaurant. The food, the view and the service are impeccable, the architecture and ambiance go unmatched. Whether joining us for a romantic dinner for two, a wedding, a banquet or a casual meal in the lounge, we look forward to serving you soon!

W349 N5293 Lacy
Okauchee, WI 53069
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary German

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday 4:30pm - 10:00pm & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:30pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Lake Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 567-7047

Website:
http://www.weissgerbers.com/goldenmast

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment FRIDAY Nights in the Lounge 6:30-10:30PM. 2-3 piece groups. Casual Bar Menu with appetizers, sandwiches, salads and more. Over looking the lake, fireplace, large flat screen TV's.

Catering:
Catering Menu available for groups of 20-350 people. Party Trays of Hot & Cold Items, pick up ready to serve or cooking instructions to finish in your home. Appetizers, Sandwiches, Salads, Full Dinners and more. Perfect for Office Luncheons, Boat Ride Platters, Showers, Casual Picnics off site full catered events and more. Pick Up and Delivery Available. Impress your Guests - Bring The Golden Mast to your next function.

Parking Details:
We have plenty of parking, both in front of our main entrance and private lots for banquet parking. Valet Services are available for hire for large groups or events.

Executive Chef:
John Moosreiner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Golden Mast offers Private Rooms for 2-400 guests. Overlooking Okauchee Lake, most of our rooms have beautiful views and outside access. From corporate functions, weddings, family gatherings and more, the Golden Mast is truly one of the most beautiful banquet destinations in the Mid West.

Golden Mast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (20)
Scenic View (16)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Romantic (11)
Historic (11)
Cozy (10)
Fireplace (10)
Casual (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Authentic (7)
Seasonal (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Bar Seating (6)
People Watching (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Private Room (1)
Dancing (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
635 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

While the food was good, the prices were very high for what you got.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our family attended the Mother's Day Brunch this past Sunday. Although we had 11:30 reservations, we were not seated until 1215. We were disappointed that there was no made to order omelet station and the buffet seemed very crammed into the bar section. The waffle offering on the buffet was dried out. The salmon and blintz were very good. I would not recommend the Golden Mast for Mother's Day as I feel they overbook and can't handle the increase in diners. We have been to the Golden Mast for regular dinner, and the food was wonderful.

Tags: Waterfront, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food and service, seated before our reservation

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We ate at a busy time (6:30 on Prom night) but the service was prompt and attentive, and the food was excellent. The view overlooking Okauchee Lake can not be beat.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The Golden Mast was perfect to take a special person to dinner to thank her for an extra special favor she did for us. It was a great restaurant for a special German dinner. I had been looking for a place that served spaetzel (not sure of the spelling) and it was delicious!

Thank you!

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, People Watching, Special Occasion, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary. We have decided that we would make this a tradition at the Golden Mast. Our meal was fantastic . My prime rib was the best I've had in years and my wife's lamb chops were great. My compliments to the chef. Our waitress Karla was wonderful. She was experienced and very personable. We will definitely recommend the Golden Mast to our friends.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food would have received 5 stars except soups were on the bland side. Since the rest of the food was so great, it stood out that the soup was below average. We can't wait to come back as overall Golden Mast is wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for their Sunday brunch on Easter and everything was amazing. Food was buffet style and everything seemed very fresh and hot and would definitely go back again. Recommend the hot ham, the peel and eat shrimp and of course all of the deserts...mmm, mmm good!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Historic, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was excellent. We hosted first experience guests from Madison and they were impressed

Tags: Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Historic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Wait staff was great and the food was wonderful. Setting perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The service was terrible. We didn't get waited on until sitting at our table for about 10 min, which wasn't even out waitress, it was someone who was just taking our drink order for us. When our waitress finally arrived she approached the table and simply said "Are you ready?" Never introduced herself or apologized for the wait! And to top things off , the food was awful. I ordered the surf and turf, which was their Saturday night special. The lobster was ok but the steak was just simply a piece of meat that was cooked, no flavor whatsoever. I could've cooked it better myself at home! Overall, this experience was awful and we do not plan on returning here. Very overpriced for the service and quality of food they offer.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We frequent the Golden Mast and brought friends who were most impressed and can't wait to come back for the Chicken Gabrielle

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, People Watching, Authentic, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Business Meals, Dancing, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Historic, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Family Style, Casual, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My family helped me celebrate my birthday at the Golden Mast. The food and service were fantastic. The sauerbraten was excellent and their dessert menu was great as well. We thought the Spinach and Artichoke dip was very tasty. The Temptation Chocolate Torte was decadent and excellent. They also surprised me with a Strawberry Schaum Torte for my birthday. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 15, 2017

A great place to eat and enjoy the view of the lake. This has always been a quality restaurant though the years
The food was perfect and the waitstaff outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Went there for the brunch. It was the first time eating there. We were very impressed with the food selection and the quality of the food served. We especially enjoyed the create your own omelet station, the peel and eat shrimp, and the desserts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Casual, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overall it was a great experience. The food was good (peel and eat shrimp a little tough), but New York Strip was very good. Bananas Foster was also good. Service was a bit slow but not horrible. Our server has another large table that I believe was taking a little more of her time. We will go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Fireplace, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food and service were excellent. Dining at the Golden Mast is a very enjoyable dinning experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I brought a guest from out of town and we were both pleased. The food was amazing. We had a window seat and the view was beautiful. It is a wonderful place for a special occasion. I will be back for sure. It is so refreshing to go to a Restaurant where all of the staff regardless of their job duties was dressed professionally. You guys really know how to make an evening special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Extremely noisy. Could not even hear our waitress. Tables entirely too close together. Difficult to even get to our table. For the prices charged, we should not have to navigate around people who are already seated and in some cases difficult not to disturb them bumping in between their chairs.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

You can always expect a great meal with wonderful ambiance when you dine at Golden Mast. The professionalism of the servers is top notch! Love this place!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We have been to Golden Mast many times for special occasions. For some reason, this visit does not rank as one of the better ones but it was still worth it for a nice dinner.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

we were a mixed-age group, including two toddlers, gathering for an anniversary. the staff was extremely helpful. they arranged for high chairs, were attentive at the table and anticipated our needs. the hostess thoughtfully brought a dessert surprise and joined in singing "Happy Anniversary." we enjoyed the way the Sunday Buffet was served, with part of the meal brought to our table, with a variety of additional choices at the buffet area. this worked very well with the children. I would bring my aged father to this type of service, as it would accommodate his needs very well-giving him choices without too many trips back and forth to a buffet. we had a wonderful time, and I checked the noise level as moderate due to the level of noise we probably contributed.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We ate brunch at The Golden Mast for my mom's 60th birthday. It was perfect! Great food and extremely good service. I can't wait to come back for another brunch!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Service was excellent. Atmosphere was quite nice. One diner in our party sent their steak back (legitimately) twice to get it cooked right. Rest of the food was cooked right but when looking at the total bill vs. the quality of the food the evening was overpriced. There are better local restaurants to drop $75/person on for a night out.

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Cozy, Fireplace, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch, which is always outstanding. Served family style, it's a very nice experience witha great view of the lake. The food is superb and bountiful, and I believe the price is a bargain. My only complaint was that I felt we were being rushed out at the end of our meal. The waitress took our forks, spoons, and napkins before we got a chance to have dessert or coffee. I don't like that at all. Otherwise the experience was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was such a wonderful surprise to find this gem that we had never been to.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Fireplace, Authentic, Historic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My wife and I took our 3 kids to the restaurant. The service was great, very helpful, family friendly. The food, always super good. The meat spread delivered to each diner's table is sensational. To end the brunch with made to order dessert options of bananas foster or cherry jubilee, doubt your gonna find another brunch offering that. The window seats in the winter are better for keeping an eye on the ice fisherman.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

as always Hans puts on a great value in dining, service was excellent, drinks were good, food perfect even when the New Years crowd was huge we didn't feel rushed or pressured

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent with fantastic food and an great menu for all tastes.

Tags: Fireplace, Waterfront, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Having eaten here before which was fantastic, this last time was awful. I will go back, but never on a holiday such as New Years Eve. We did not get the seat we requested, the food was Luke warm to cold, and the some steak was as ordered and others fine. It seemed that those who knew the owner got top treatment while those in line got what they got. The staff was so busy that it took forever to get the check. For a $250 meal, we expected more for out money.

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My wife and I had our wedding at the Golden Mast Inn and have returned often due to the friendly service, outstanding food, scenic views, and beauty of the structure and grounds. Our New Year's Eve dinner was a great experience this year. I'm sure we'll be back several more times this year!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Wonderful dinner and a drink at the bar before dinner, the quiet location of our table looking over the lake and near the fireplace made our dinner on our first anniversary a remarkable experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We enjoyed a great meal with our entire family. It was the perfect setting for our special occasion. The holiday lights and Christmas trees along the docks were very festive. The service and food were fabulous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We had a great expensive christmas meal for our family.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We ate just off of the Bar/Lounge where they had a great Accordion player named Roger Boll for German night.

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Historic, Waterfront, Live Music, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The restaurant was FABULOUS food was great, views wonderful and good value for your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were a party of 2 for Thanksgivivg dinner. We arrived 15 minutes before our reservation time and had to wait 15 minutes past reservation time while looking at several clean, empty tables the entire wait. We were eventually seated at one of them. Slow bar service while waiting even though the bar was not crowded. Food was very poor. Big glob of turkey fat on an already unappetizing platter of turkey and stuffing. Salty mashed potatoes. Burnt pumpkin pie (it was literally black on top). The only thing positive was the atmosphere. It's a beautiful building.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Everything was excellent. Service was great and staff was very friendly

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was my first time going out for Thanksgiving dinner and it was well worth it. The food was delicious, served family style, and there was plenty of it! The wait staff was outstanding and we never felt that we were rushed even though it was very, very busy. Would definitely go there again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Fireplace, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We did not realize how many others had no plans to spend Thanksgiving at someones home. The place was packed and they came from noon until well after we left. There were many out in the hall waiting for their table. As it was just the two of us, we were drowning amongst all other tables of 4 or more. There were even children there on this occasion. Food was the traditional turkey dinner with all the fixins. Expensive for it being that but delicious.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.