About Golden Mast

W349 N5293 Lacy
Okauchee, WI 53069
View Larger Map

Welcome to Weissgerber"s Golden Mast on Okauchee Lake. Wisconsin's Premier Lakeside Restaurant. The food, the view and the service are impeccable, the architecture and ambiance go unmatched. Whether joining us for a romantic dinner for two, a wedding, a banquet or a casual meal in the lounge, we look forward to serving you soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary German

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday 4:30pm - 10:00pm & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:30pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Lake Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 567-7047

Website:
http://www.weissgerbers.com/goldenmast

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment FRIDAY Nights in the Lounge 6:30-10:30PM. 2-3 piece groups. Casual Bar Menu with appetizers, sandwiches, salads and more. Over looking the lake, fireplace, large flat screen TV's.

Catering:
Catering Menu available for groups of 20-350 people. Party Trays of Hot & Cold Items, pick up ready to serve or cooking instructions to finish in your home. Appetizers, Sandwiches, Salads, Full Dinners and more. Perfect for Office Luncheons, Boat Ride Platters, Showers, Casual Picnics off site full catered events and more. Pick Up and Delivery Available. Impress your Guests - Bring The Golden Mast to your next function.

Parking Details:
We have plenty of parking, both in front of our main entrance and private lots for banquet parking. Valet Services are available for hire for large groups or events.

Executive Chef:
John Moosreiner

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Golden Mast offers Private Rooms for 2-400 guests. Overlooking Okauchee Lake, most of our rooms have beautiful views and outside access. From corporate functions, weddings, family gatherings and more, the Golden Mast is truly one of the most beautiful banquet destinations in the Mid West.

Golden Mast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Wisconsin
Scenic View
Wisconsin
Special Occasion
Wisconsin
5 More
Best Ambiance
Milwaukee
Great for Brunch
Milwaukee
Scenic View
Milwaukee
Special Occasion
Milwaukee
Steak
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Okauchee ›

scenic view (72)
special occasion (64)
good for groups (38)
See All
romantic (38)
great for brunch (38)
great for outdoor dining (29)
fit for foodies (17)
neighborhood gem (16)
kid-friendly (14)
great for lunch (12)
notable wine list (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
523 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

I would have given this an overall 5 sta ...

Dined 7 days ago

I would have given this an overall 5 star rating but the brunch was under par, offering no salads or even veggies of any kind let alone much in the way of healthy food choices except for fruit which was not good. The setting and ambiance is spectacular especially sitting on the patio overlooking the lake and would recommend going for that alone. Service was exceptional as well. We were there for Fathers Day brunch , a buffet which wasn't great but there could be better food options when ordering off the menu during the week.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family of twelve had a wonderful bru ...

Dined 7 days ago

Our family of twelve had a wonderful brunch at the Mast. Great service, delicious food, and a gorgeous place with unbeatable views of the lake. We have dined at the Golden Mast many times over the past 30 years and are never disappointed! A gem in the Lake Country!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Service was slow and the food was not wo ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was slow and the food was not worth the money. But the service at the bar was great and the lake view was nice.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have dined many times at the Golden Mast ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Have dined many times at the Golden Mast many with friends and special occasions and have never been disappointed.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated my husband's 49th Birthday ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We celebrated my husband's 49th Birthday! He ordered the "all you care to eat" Alaskan King Crab legs. He was not even finished eating the first platter of legs when our waitress brought out another full plate. He really enjoyed his meal and this was his first time at this restaurant! My son had the Tenderloin tips and I had the Duck! Very tasty and we had leftovers. For my husbands Birthday they brought him out a Strawberry Schaum Torte on the house. Our waitress was friendly and very attentive. This restaurant is a beautiful place on Okauchee Lake! This was my second time! We definately will go back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had not been to the golden mast for s ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We had not been to the golden mast for some time. Someone had commented to my wife that they had a very good experience there recently. The ambience was wonderful, the food was great, and we also enjoyed happy hour in their bar

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner

Dined on June 5, 2016

We typically celebrate our anniversary at Golden Mast and are never disappointed. Once again we had good food, good service and a wonderful view. Thanks.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing setting

Dined on May 29, 2016

We had a Friends and family get together at the Golden Mast Inn. The staff was very friendly. The food was delicious. The view of the lake was beautiful. The atmosphere of the restaurant and the decor was amazing. Lots of stained glass windows.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant day

Dined on May 29, 2016

Enjoyed Sunday brunch. Wonderful ambience. Brunch was great. It was nice that most courses were served rather than buffet. Service was efficient and our servers were delightful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always exceeds our expectations

Dined on May 29, 2016

We dine here several times a year for special occasions. However, it's been quite a while since we've had brunch. It was wonderful. You cannot leave the table still hungry. The food is very high quality & there is a great variety of food. The staff is very friendly, helpful & welcoming. The view is beautiful. It is directly on the lake. The ambience can be for a special occasion or a little more casual. Many locals come here & some come right from their boats. Highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Pleasant Dining Eperience

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our first visit to the Golden Mast to celebrate our anniversary. We had a reservation for 7:00 and had to wait about 20 minutes to be seated. While some might find this annoying, we were out for a leisurely evening and didn't mind. We were seated at a window table with a nice view of the lake. Our wait staff was efficient and attentive without being intrusive. We enjoyed a fine meal, nicely presented and were surprised with a complimentary dessert in honor of our anniversary after our waitress overheard us toasting each other; a thoughtful touch. We anticipate dining at the Golden Mast again.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food, great time

Dined on May 22, 2016

awesome, awesome, awesome....................... service at the bar and dining was great and the food was better

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome Brunch!!!

Dined on May 15, 2016

I took my wife and 7yo daughter here the weekend after Mother's Day as we missed our brunch on Mother's Day. All of the food was amazing and the view over the lake made it that much better. I will definitely be coming back for brunch a lot!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Awesome Dining

Dined on May 8, 2016

A fabulous experience as always, my wife and I have dined here many times and this time we brought friends and business partners who are from England. We requested a table for four with a lake view and Mr. Weissgerber accommodated us by seating us at what I feel is their best table. Our guests were thrilled and the food was exceptional from the appetizers to the entrees to the desserts. When you want that special meal you should place the Golden Mast at the top of your list!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Mother's Day Brunch!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went as a group of seven, celebrating Mother's Day. The brunch was very plentiful and delicious. We were the last seating (2:00) but we all felt like we got plenty to eat from the buffet, and we weren't rushed. Matter of fact, it was kind of nice because it was busy and noisy at first, but got better as other people left. We were seated outside under a canopy with a gorgeous view of Okauchee Lake!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Generally we really enjoy the Golden Mas ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Generally we really enjoy the Golden Mast. Unfortunately or Mothers Day experience was very poor due to seating arrangements. I understand management is maximizing seating capacity for a Mother's Day brunch, but the seating accommodations ruined a special meal. In order to accommodate a very large family there were several tables end to end, but it was still necessary to put chairs at the table ends. Our booth/table with 2 additional chairs (along with booth seating) forced my chair to be back to back against the chair of the large tables end chair. Unfortunately the only pathway to and from the buffet was between my chair and the chair at my back. Most people had to turn sideways to get between the two chairs. There was absolutely no way to create any more space between the chairs because of the awkward setup. At times a small line of people formed waiting to pass in each direction. Conservatively I would say my chair was bumped at least 100 times. Our young waitress apologized several times as I'm sure she could see how disruptive this was. We had already waited long past our reservation time so I didn't want to wait for another table. But for a $150.00+ brunch, I consider this to be unacceptable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers' Day Celebration

Dined on May 8, 2016

Seated promptly at time of reservation by the owner. Flowers ordered were at the reception desk and ready to be placed on the table. Requested window table was accommodated. Waitress was cheerful and met every request in a timely fashion. Buffet was easily accessible and food was very good.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Not Quite

Dined on May 8, 2016

My daughters and I had a 12:30 reservation for Mother's Day brunch. We checked in and when we hadn't been seated after waiting 20 minutes, I checked at the hostess stand and they'd forgotten to transfer our name to the "list" from the reservation book. We were finally seated at a two-top which had been made into a three-top - very tiny and right under a drafty vent! The waitress explained that champagne was included, so one of my daughters and I ordered mimosas, thinking this would be included as well. If we'd gone to the brunch line and gotten glasses of orange juice and ordered the free champagne we would've been ok, but when the bill came, I was charged $14 for those 2 drinks. Which I paid. The food was pretty good, but the coffee was not hot and service was slow. Would not recommend.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Mother's Day 2016

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our wait was longer than expected. Reservation was at 12:30, we were not seated until 1:15. It was a little frustrating because we had children with us. However the food was excellent and the wait staff were very pleasant and attentive. Great value and beautiful scenery. Our group was impressed with Golden Mast, it was their 1st time there for a majority .

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Four of us went to the Golden Mast for Mother's Day Brunch. A great selection of hot dishes, salads, and desserts. Everyone in the group found the food excellent. The view of Okauchee Lake is always outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Had another delightful time at the Golden Mast.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our table for eight was ready when we walked in the door. The service and food was very good. We have dined here several times and are never disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Not all dinners created equal

Dined on May 7, 2016

Ordered the Elk dinner & was bit disappointed in portion size. Cost over $35, & not enough meat to justify cost. Should have ordered steak, or prime rib. Will know better next time! Still a wonderful place for special celebrations.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was excellent

Dined on May 4, 2016

Food and service was excellent

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1st class

Dined on May 1, 2016

Went for a special occasion. Everyone in our group of seven raved about their food. This was a very relaxed atmosphere after a semi-stressful day. I had the roast duck. I have enjoyed a lot of roast duck over the years but this ranks right up there at the best ever category. Well rendered and so crisp. Our server paid attention to every detail.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Sunday Brunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

Very poor timing on food brought to table. Food from stations was consumed before platters of semi warm food was brought to table from kitchen. Amounts of food were equivalent for a small group, not the 7 we had. Some did not get to try some tings. Had keep asking for coffee. Food was removed from table without asking if finished. Seemed like we were on a 1 hour time limit for the table. Not doing this one again. Sticking with the buffet brunches.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and window seating

Dined on April 30, 2016

My favorite is the almond crusted chicken so that was my first choice for my Birthday dinner with family. Everyone enjoyed their meals and the scenic view. I was even surprised with a delicious strawberry treat for the occasion. It was really a fun night out. Thank you to our Server. 8)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and staff were excellent. First ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food and staff were excellent. First time for one of our party and she enjoyed it.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Service was good, but a long wait even f ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Service was good, but a long wait even for a guaranteed reservation, just like their other restaurant, Seven Seas (had a 3 hour wait there a few years ago for Easter, despite having a confirmed reservation). They try and cram in too many people and reservations. Food was average and cold. I haven't been to Golden Mast since '91 and won't be returning any time soon!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Tasty Easter

Dined on March 27, 2016

As usual, our Easter Buffet was outstanding! The joyful & professional staff are always a real treat. Their breakfast sausages are so good, as well as the quiche & blintzes. My husband enjoys the beef and chicken. I'm hooked on their salmon and chocolate covered strawberries. We toasted to a Happy Easter at our F A V O R I T E restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Easter Brunch at The Golden Mast

Dined on March 27, 2016

We have been to the Golden Mast several times, always extremely pleased. My family is very excited when I say that we are doing Easter there. We will be out there this summer. Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Highly recommended

Dined on March 20, 2016

Great experience. Hostess wasn't the friendliest but the servers were amazing and food was great. Highly recommended

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food

Dined on March 9, 2016

We had the shrimp and scampi and prime rib. It was the best prime rib I have ever had. Very juicy and melt in your mouth prime rib. 12 oz was a lot and the price for it was worth it. The scampi was very good also. Very flavorful. We will be back for sure.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Food and Service.

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Wonderful view and a good value when you compare to other high end restaurants in the area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was wonderful. We had a great ta ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was wonderful. We had a great table overlooking the lake right next to the fireplace. My wife said she felt like a real Valentine. It was a perfect time, great food, warm ambience!

food5
ambience5
service5

Went here for Valentine's Day wasn't sur ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went here for Valentine's Day wasn't sure what to expect but everything was great. Food and service was perfectly on point and the restaurant ambiance was welcoming and comfortable.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Pre-Valentines Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

We scheduled dinner the night before Valentines Day to avoid limited menus, over packed etc, but I found they did a different menu for the day prior as well... so the best items I wanted from the small plate menu were not available. I requested a corner booth or window seat via open table the night prior and ended up right outside the noisy kitches where you get hit by every waitress, host and bus person who walks thru. Not ideal, but still one of my favorite places... it's a destination not just a restaurant. I've photographed probably 50 weddings there and they were all virtually flawless and great food, and I've been everywhere. My other half and I strolled after dinner into the bar, where I found it to be quiet and empy, with more comfy chairs, wish I snuck in there for my dinner sooner!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was so pleased with the entire experience.

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was amazing. I went for a special occasion and it was the perfect place for a romantic evening. I would like to come back in the summer to experience the lake. The staff was amazing and I liked the homey feel.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect restaurant!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Feb. 13th our family of 10 celebrated granddaughter's 18th birthday at this beautiful restaurant on Okauchee Lake, Wisconsin. Excellent service and food!! It was a wonderful experience and we will certainly return in future. I recommend the Golden Mast for any occasion!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable experience

Dined on February 7, 2016

Great food, wonderful atmosphere, attentive service. We took friends who had never been before and we all had great fun. We all would recommend the brunch to everyone.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place!

Dined on February 7, 2016

We celebrated Valentine's dinner here last weekend and couldnt have asked for a more perfect setting. The restaurant is gorgeous, with beautiful views of the lake, perfect ambiance for a romantic dinner and the food was outstanding! We talked about it the whole time we ate! Thank you for the great service and amazing food! We will return!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.