About Golden Mast

W349 N5293 Lacy
Okauchee, WI 53069
View Larger Map

Welcome to Weissgerber"s Golden Mast on Okauchee Lake. Wisconsin's Premier Lakeside Restaurant. The food, the view and the service are impeccable, the architecture and ambiance go unmatched. Whether joining us for a romantic dinner for two, a wedding, a banquet or a casual meal in the lounge, we look forward to serving you soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary German

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday 4:30pm - 10:00pm & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:30pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Lake Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 567-7047

Website:
http://www.weissgerbers.com/goldenmast

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment FRIDAY Nights in the Lounge 6:30-10:30PM. 2-3 piece groups. Casual Bar Menu with appetizers, sandwiches, salads and more. Over looking the lake, fireplace, large flat screen TV's.

Catering:
Catering Menu available for groups of 20-350 people. Party Trays of Hot & Cold Items, pick up ready to serve or cooking instructions to finish in your home. Appetizers, Sandwiches, Salads, Full Dinners and more. Perfect for Office Luncheons, Boat Ride Platters, Showers, Casual Picnics off site full catered events and more. Pick Up and Delivery Available. Impress your Guests - Bring The Golden Mast to your next function.

Parking Details:
We have plenty of parking, both in front of our main entrance and private lots for banquet parking. Valet Services are available for hire for large groups or events.

Executive Chef:
John Moosreiner

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Golden Mast offers Private Rooms for 2-400 guests. Overlooking Okauchee Lake, most of our rooms have beautiful views and outside access. From corporate functions, weddings, family gatherings and more, the Golden Mast is truly one of the most beautiful banquet destinations in the Mid West.

Golden Mast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Wisconsin
Great for Brunch
Wisconsin
Scenic View
Wisconsin
8 More
Special Occasion
Wisconsin
Best Ambiance
Milwaukee
Great for Brunch
Milwaukee
Outdoor Dining
Milwaukee
Romantic
Milwaukee
Scenic View
Milwaukee
Special Occasion
Milwaukee
Steak
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Okauchee ›

scenic view (86)
special occasion (73)
good for groups (43)
See All
romantic (42)
great for brunch (36)
great for outdoor dining (36)
neighborhood gem (24)
fit for foodies (21)
great for lunch (14)
kid-friendly (13)
notable wine list (7)
vibrant bar scene (7)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
540 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Terrible, food was almost unbeatable. Wo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 5 days ago

Terrible, food was almost unbeatable. Would never go there again and certainly never recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

Great place!! We go to Golden Mast for s ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great place!! We go to Golden Mast for special occasions whenever we can and always love the food, service, and view.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service. We recomme ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding food and service. We recommend The Golden Mast to our friends.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When we were here for dinner, there was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 6 days ago

When we were here for dinner, there was a small wedding reception (22 people) in the dining room we were in. Our server was also assigned to the table of 22 people but we were never forgotten about. I imagine it is normally a lot quieter when no large parties are there but it was still good.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent in everyway. Good food, ambian ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent in everyway. Good food, ambiance, view and service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We like dining near the water and especi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We like dining near the water and especially in an upscale restaurant. The Golden Mast fit the bill and our experience was very satisfying, enjoyable and pleasurable. No complaints and the food met with our expectations.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good was "OK". Service was terrible. Wor ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Good was "OK". Service was terrible. Wort ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Golden Mast is off the beaten path for t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Golden Mast is off the beaten path for those not living or vacationing in the lake country north of I-94. It sits on the water, which is unusual in that exclusive area. Half of our party was delayed 40 minutes due to road repairs on Hwy 16, but we didn't lose our table. The hostess was very considerate and we were lucky that it was a quiet night. While waiting, I had a Bloody Mary in the bar--it was very good and garnished with a large shrimp! Of all things to note in a restaurant review, the Ladies Room was a highlight!! The ceiling must be three stories high--don't miss it! As for the food: I started with the wild rice cream soup, which was really poor. There were very few grains of wild rice to be found in my bowl and overall, the soup had a floury taste. I had the Weiner Schnitzel. It was only ok. It was a large portion, but not as tender as I expected. Others in my party had Sauerbraten, duck and walleye. No one complained, but they didn't rave either. The desserts were good, however, so the evening ended on a high note. The space itself is attractive and well maintained. It is very large, so not the place for an intimate dinner. Unless you need to meet up in that area, which we did that evening, I would not go out of my way to go there.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was perfect. Celebrating our ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Everything was perfect. Celebrating our mothers 80th birthday. Family from TN and MS, all enjoyed.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was OK - salmon was a bit dry. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was OK - salmon was a bit dry. Unfortunately, the service was very slow. Waitress had to be flagged down numerous times to get drinks or bring the bill.

We watched a man lose his Land Rover into the lake while trying to pull out his boat which added lots of entertainment to the night for us, probably not so much for him.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Everything was so perfect. The food was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everything was so perfect. The food was exquisite and service was exceptional. Watching boats and families come in after a day in the sun was lots of fun as well. Thanks for a great visit!

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and environment. Despite ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very good food and environment. Despite reservation that was confirmed had to wait over 30 minutes for a table. Waitress was visibly flustered and taking care of another table with greater attention than our party. Hoping it was just an off night for them.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

My husband is disabled and we have a ser ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My husband is disabled and we have a service dog. We were abruptly told we could not bring him in but she could seat us outside. She made it very uncomfortable for us in front of the other patrons. We were there with 2 other couples and I would have left but it was difficult enough for my husband to even get to the restaurant in the first place to then move him again. I told her it was against the law to refuse us. She said she would seat us BUT that dog needs to be under the table out of sight and if anyone complains it would be on me. Rude, disrespectful and overall inconsiderate of a disability. I hope she never has to deal with a disability. It is a horrible way to live much less have to deal with ignorant people on the subject in a professional setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Our son was on leave from the army and w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our son was on leave from the army and we wanted to take him someplace special and we were so glad we chose Golden Mast from the time we walked into the door to the time we left we had an excellent experience, Melissa our server was excellent ,the food and drinks were outstanding ,when Melissa found out our son was on leave from the Army she brought a special dessert for him which I thought was really nice, we couldn't of asked for a better evening Thank You Everyone.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Golden Mast is a very fine restauran ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The Golden Mast is a very fine restaurant. Nice view of the lake but is a little busy outside because of the boat launch.

Fine to watch.

Great service, food is very good, only a little bit on the pricey side, but bring your wallet and enjoy.

I t was my wife's birthday and she had on a corsage.

They asked what the special occasion was and we received a free strawberry schaum torte for dessert without asking for it. Not too many restaurants do this kind of service and attention to the customers .

Our waiter had us and three other tables of couples and a table of about 14 and the service was properly timed.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We came for a birthday celebration on a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We came for a birthday celebration on a weekday so there was not a lot of people. The food was really good and the service was commendable. My wife liked the clam chowder and the tuna salad. The calamari was fine. The steak was good enough though the rub was a little salty on certain sides.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We had attended a wedding at the Golden ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We had attended a wedding at the Golden Mast in mid May and the food and service was outstanding. We decided we would celebrate our anniversary there even though it is about 40 miles from our home. I looked at the menu on line and discovered the wiener schnitzel and that sealed the deal. Our food was outstanding and the service was attentive without being obtrusive. We even had dessert which was yummy, too!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would have given this an overall 5 sta ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I would have given this an overall 5 star rating but the brunch was under par, offering no salads or even veggies of any kind let alone much in the way of healthy food choices except for fruit which was not good.

The setting and ambiance is spectacular especially sitting on the patio overlooking the lake and would recommend going for that alone. Service was exceptional as well. We were there for Fathers Day brunch , a buffet which wasn't great but there could be better food options when ordering off the menu during the week.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Our family of twelve had a wonderful bru ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our family of twelve had a wonderful brunch at the Mast. Great service, delicious food, and a gorgeous place with unbeatable views of the lake. We have dined at the Golden Mast many times over the past 30 years and are never disappointed! A gem in the Lake Country!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was slow and the food was not wo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was slow and the food was not worth the money. But the service at the bar was great and the lake view was nice.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Have dined many times at the Golden Mast ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Have dined many times at the Golden Mast many with friends and special occasions and have never been disappointed.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated my husband's 49th Birthday ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We celebrated my husband's 49th Birthday! He ordered the "all you care to eat" Alaskan King Crab legs. He was not even finished eating the first platter of legs when our waitress brought out another full plate. He really enjoyed his meal and this was his first time at this restaurant! My son had the Tenderloin tips and I had the Duck! Very tasty and we had leftovers. For my husbands Birthday they brought him out a Strawberry Schaum Torte on the house. Our waitress was friendly and very attentive. This restaurant is a beautiful place on Okauchee Lake! This was my second time! We definately will go back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had not been to the golden mast for s ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We had not been to the golden mast for some time. Someone had commented to my wife that they had a very good experience there recently. The ambience was wonderful, the food was great, and we also enjoyed happy hour in their bar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary dinner

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We typically celebrate our anniversary at Golden Mast and are never disappointed. Once again we had good food, good service and a wonderful view. Thanks.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing setting

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We had a Friends and family get together at the Golden Mast Inn. The staff was very friendly. The food was delicious. The view of the lake was beautiful. The atmosphere of the restaurant and the decor was amazing. Lots of stained glass windows.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant day

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Enjoyed Sunday brunch. Wonderful ambience. Brunch was great. It was nice that most courses were served rather than buffet. Service was efficient and our servers were delightful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always exceeds our expectations

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We dine here several times a year for special occasions. However, it's been quite a while since we've had brunch. It was wonderful. You cannot leave the table still hungry. The food is very high quality & there is a great variety of food. The staff is very friendly, helpful & welcoming. The view is beautiful. It is directly on the lake. The ambience can be for a special occasion or a little more casual. Many locals come here & some come right from their boats. Highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant Dining Eperience

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our first visit to the Golden Mast to celebrate our anniversary. We had a reservation for 7:00 and had to wait about 20 minutes to be seated. While some might find this annoying, we were out for a leisurely evening and didn't mind. We were seated at a window table with a nice view of the lake. Our wait staff was efficient and attentive without being intrusive. We enjoyed a fine meal, nicely presented and were surprised with a complimentary dessert in honor of our anniversary after our waitress overheard us toasting each other; a thoughtful touch. We anticipate dining at the Golden Mast again.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

great food, great time

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

awesome, awesome, awesome.......................

service at the bar and dining was great and the food was better

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Brunch!!!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I took my wife and 7yo daughter here the weekend after Mother's Day as we missed our brunch on Mother's Day. All of the food was amazing and the view over the lake made it that much better. I will definitely be coming back for brunch a lot!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome Dining

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

A fabulous experience as always, my wife and I have dined here many times and this time we brought friends and business partners who are from England. We requested a table for four with a lake view and Mr. Weissgerber accommodated us by seating us at what I feel is their best table. Our guests were thrilled and the food was exceptional from the appetizers to the entrees to the desserts.

When you want that special meal you should place the Golden Mast at the top of your list!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Mother's Day Brunch!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went as a group of seven, celebrating Mother's Day. The brunch was very plentiful and delicious. We were the last seating (2:00) but we all felt like we got plenty to eat from the buffet, and we weren't rushed. Matter of fact, it was kind of nice because it was busy and noisy at first, but got better as other people left. We were seated outside under a canopy with a gorgeous view of Okauchee Lake!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Generally we really enjoy the Golden Mas ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Generally we really enjoy the Golden Mast. Unfortunately or Mothers Day experience was very poor due to seating arrangements. I understand management is maximizing seating capacity for a Mother's Day brunch, but the seating accommodations ruined a special meal. In order to accommodate a very large family there were several tables end to end, but it was still necessary to put chairs at the table ends. Our booth/table with 2 additional chairs (along with booth seating) forced my chair to be back to back against the chair of the large tables end chair. Unfortunately the only pathway to and from the buffet was between my chair and the chair at my back. Most people had to turn sideways to get between the two chairs. There was absolutely no way to create any more space between the chairs because of the awkward setup. At times a small line of people formed waiting to pass in each direction. Conservatively I would say my chair was bumped at least 100 times. Our young waitress apologized several times as I'm sure she could see how disruptive this was. We had already waited long past our reservation time so I didn't want to wait for another table. But for a $150.00+ brunch, I consider this to be unacceptable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Mothers' Day Celebration

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Seated promptly at time of reservation by the owner. Flowers ordered were at the reception desk and ready to be placed on the table. Requested window table was accommodated. Waitress was cheerful and met every request in a timely fashion. Buffet was easily accessible and food was very good.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Not Quite

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My daughters and I had a 12:30 reservation for Mother's Day brunch. We checked in and when we hadn't been seated after waiting 20 minutes, I checked at the hostess stand and they'd forgotten to transfer our name to the "list" from the reservation book. We were finally seated at a two-top which had been made into a three-top - very tiny and right under a drafty vent! The waitress explained that champagne was included, so one of my daughters and I ordered mimosas, thinking this would be included as well. If we'd gone to the brunch line and gotten glasses of orange juice and ordered the free champagne we would've been ok, but when the bill came, I was charged $14 for those 2 drinks. Which I paid. The food was pretty good, but the coffee was not hot and service was slow. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Mother's Day 2016

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our wait was longer than expected. Reservation was at 12:30, we were not seated until 1:15. It was a little frustrating because we had children with us. However the food was excellent and the wait staff were very pleasant and attentive. Great value and beautiful scenery. Our group was impressed with Golden Mast, it was their 1st time there for a majority .

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Four of us went to the Golden Mast for Mother's Day Brunch. A great selection of hot dishes, salads, and desserts. Everyone in the group found the food excellent. The view of Okauchee Lake is always outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had another delightful time at the Golden Mast.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our table for eight was ready when we walked in the door. The service and food was very good. We have dined here several times and are never disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Not all dinners created equal

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Ordered the Elk dinner & was bit disappointed in portion size. Cost over $35, & not enough meat to justify cost. Should have ordered steak, or prime rib. Will know better next time! Still a wonderful place for special celebrations.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and service was excellent

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Food and service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.