About Golden Mast

W349 N5293 Lacy
Okauchee, WI 53069
View Larger Map

Welcome to Weissgerber"s Golden Mast on Okauchee Lake. Wisconsin's Premier Lakeside Restaurant. The food, the view and the service are impeccable, the architecture and ambiance go unmatched. Whether joining us for a romantic dinner for two, a wedding, a banquet or a casual meal in the lounge, we look forward to serving you soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary German

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday 4:30pm - 10:00pm & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:30pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Lake Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 567-7047

Website:
http://www.weissgerbers.com/goldenmast

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment FRIDAY Nights in the Lounge 6:30-10:30PM. 2-3 piece groups. Casual Bar Menu with appetizers, sandwiches, salads and more. Over looking the lake, fireplace, large flat screen TV's.

Catering:
Catering Menu available for groups of 20-350 people. Party Trays of Hot & Cold Items, pick up ready to serve or cooking instructions to finish in your home. Appetizers, Sandwiches, Salads, Full Dinners and more. Perfect for Office Luncheons, Boat Ride Platters, Showers, Casual Picnics off site full catered events and more. Pick Up and Delivery Available. Impress your Guests - Bring The Golden Mast to your next function.

Parking Details:
We have plenty of parking, both in front of our main entrance and private lots for banquet parking. Valet Services are available for hire for large groups or events.

Executive Chef:
John Moosreiner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Golden Mast offers Private Rooms for 2-400 guests. Overlooking Okauchee Lake, most of our rooms have beautiful views and outside access. From corporate functions, weddings, family gatherings and more, the Golden Mast is truly one of the most beautiful banquet destinations in the Mid West.

Golden Mast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Wisconsin
Best Ambiance
Milwaukee
Steak
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Okauchee ›

Scenic View (29)
Waterfront (23)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Worth the Drive (20)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Romantic (16)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Groups (10)
Historic (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Authentic (9)
Cozy (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Family Style (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Fireplace (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great Beer (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Private Room (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Business Meals (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Casual (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
578 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant was FABULOUS food was gre ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The restaurant was FABULOUS food was great, views wonderful and good value for your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a party of 2 for Thanksgivivg di ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were a party of 2 for Thanksgivivg dinner. We arrived 15 minutes before our reservation time and had to wait 15 minutes past reservation time while looking at several clean, empty tables the entire wait. We were eventually seated at one of them. Slow bar service while waiting even though the bar was not crowded. Food was very poor. Big glob of turkey fat on an already unappetizing platter of turkey and stuffing. Salty mashed potatoes. Burnt pumpkin pie (it was literally black on top). The only thing positive was the atmosphere. It's a beautiful building.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Everything was excellent. Service was gr ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Everything was excellent. Service was great and staff was very friendly

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time going out for Tha ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was my first time going out for Thanksgiving dinner and it was well worth it. The food was delicious, served family style, and there was plenty of it! The wait staff was outstanding and we never felt that we were rushed even though it was very, very busy. Would definitely go there again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Fireplace, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did not realize how many others had n ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We did not realize how many others had no plans to spend Thanksgiving at someones home. The place was packed and they came from noon until well after we left. There were many out in the hall waiting for their table. As it was just the two of us, we were drowning amongst all other tables of 4 or more. There were even children there on this occasion. Food was the traditional turkey dinner with all the fixins. Expensive for it being that but delicious.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

As always, the food was delicious and t ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 16, 2016

As always, the food was delicious and the service was excellent. The Golden Mast is one of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Historic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a great experience here.

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We always have a great experience here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

First time at Golden Mast (although we'd ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 9, 2016

First time at Golden Mast (although we'd been to 7 Seas & Gasthaus). The French Onion Soup was wonderful, although it filled us up so much we didn't finish our entrees nor want dessert. Next time we'll leave room for dessert. Service was perfect.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were in awe of the beautiful interior ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We were in awe of the beautiful interior of the building as soon as we walked in and until we left. We sat by the fireplace in the lounge and had drinks before dinner. The bartenders were very friendly. Our table for dinner was a lake side table with a beautiful view. The food was excellent and the waitstaff very efficient. This was our first time there and believe me, it won't be our last!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We went for the brunch and it was very e ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We went for the brunch and it was very enjoyable. The table overlook the lake which made it a very nice place to eat.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Enjoyed the wonderful ambience with the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Enjoyed the wonderful ambience with the fireplace and overlooking the water. We all ordered the surf and turf, which gives you options for both. Very good, very delightful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and ambience. The Golden Mast ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great food and ambience. The Golden Mast has never disappointed me. When it comes to fine dining they could write the book on how to do it right.

Thanks for a great evening

Bill J

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual our dinners were excellent. Th ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 29, 2016

As usual our dinners were excellent. This is the only place I eat prime rib. Both couples were celebrating our respective anniversaries and we had a great time. Thanks to Hans and his staff, you can never go wrong at the Golden Mast.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding. We have never had ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was outstanding. We have never had a bad meal at Golden Mast. The split king crab legs were tender and tasty. My wife had the lobster and it was very sweet and done to perfection. Only downside was that our server was tight. Her actions were robotic and I'm not sure if she smiled. Otherwise, a very nice dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The staff was friendly, helpful and atte ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The staff was friendly, helpful and attentive. The food was excellent, well prepared and appetizing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations for Sweetest Day. View ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Made reservations for Sweetest Day. View was beautiful and the service was attentive. Chocolate martinis were outstanding but expensive at $12 each. We had the german combination plate and the surf and turf special. Both were very good. Sweet potatoes were done well and not too sweet. Husband particularly enjoyed the seafood soup and was still talking about it days later. Bananas foster was half melted by the time it reached us and a little overpowering with the rum and not enough bananas. Would recommend choosing a different serving dish as it was hard to eat. Overall a very romantic and tasty evening.

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We would highly recommend this restauran ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We would highly recommend this restaurant. The service, food and atmosphere contributed to a very pleasant dining experience. We will definitely go again in the near future.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic sunday brunch in a breathtakin ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Fantastic sunday brunch in a breathtaking setting and with great service.

Tags: Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went with friends for a Sunday Brunch ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We went with friends for a Sunday Brunch. It was served family style at the table except for the egg station and the deserts. As we had one person who had difficulty walking which made this ideal.

The value for the price was very good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

13 family members attended Sunday Brunch ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 2, 2016

13 family members attended Sunday Brunch. The staff was friendly and informative and the food hot and fresh. My 12 year old niece normally doesn't eat much at brunch buffets but ate plenty and loved the tenderloin. Will definitely go back for brunch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Family Style, Authentic, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Historic, Afternoon Coffee, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We had a very enjoyable Sunday brunch. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We had a very enjoyable Sunday brunch. The variety of items served was fabulous.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've eaten there several times but our ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We've eaten there several times but our last visit was not very good. We both had the surf and turf special. I don't like it when restaurants shape a shrimp rather than have the real thing. Kay ordered the filet Mignon medium but it had no pink in it. I ordered the prime rib which had no taste at all. A very disappointing evening when we celebrated our 19th wedding anniversary.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

the main course was fine. the salad was ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 25, 2016

the main course was fine. the salad was wilted and not what one would expect at a place of this caliber. i ordered an appetizer which i never received. it was the little things that turned us off on this experience. my wife and i had been to the gausthaus numerous times and never had a bad experience. the golden mast was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

After many years away we always went to ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 24, 2016

After many years away we always went to the Goldenmast for our anniversary the first 15 - 18 years. it seemed to get very expensive so we stopped going. On a chance after looking at the menu online we decided to give it a try when our son was home on leave. The food was fantastic as we always remembered it. So we thought is was a good time to pickup with the tradition again .

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is my spouse's favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This is my spouse's favorite restaurant and we were there to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Everything was super a little pricy but it was all good. We will certainly return. The food was excellent along with the service. I think everything was to expensive but you get what you pay for. Good job.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent food with great views of the w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent food with great views of the water from almost every seat. Incredible historic décor, like a German castle.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What self respecting supper club doesn't ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 18, 2016

What self respecting supper club doesn't muddle old fashioneds? We had to ask for our waitress twice. Food was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

The food and location was fine. Our wait ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food and location was fine. Our waitress was rather indifferent and we had to flag down other waitresses to get refills and to get our bill adjusted that was incorrect.

No hurry to return as they seem oblivious to customer service.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

A little overpriced. I ordered scallops ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 15, 2016

A little overpriced. I ordered scallops with angel hair pasta which was the special. Dish was excellent but only 4 scallops. Not worth the $26 price tag. Also, was a little disappointed that they charged for refills of soda. Who does that today? So 2 sodas and 2 refills was $10. The atmosphere is amazing with the views of the lake and the food was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Fantastic date night dinner overlooking ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Fantastic date night dinner overlooking the lake. The setting, service and food was perfect. It was also a great value for the Saturday night specials.

Tags: Private Room, Waterfront, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I eat out once a week at a n ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 4, 2016

My wife and I eat out once a week at a nice restaurant and this is our favorite! You cannot beat the lake view and the outside deck dining on those late summer, early fall evenings!

Tags: Historic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was so slow that I needed to ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The service was so slow that I needed to return to the hostess station to get a server to come to the table for our initial order. There was no apology for the slow service and it tainted an otherwise good experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Food was good only disappointment was th ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was good only disappointment was the key lime pie. No key lime taste.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Staff were so kind in welcoming our part ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Staff were so kind in welcoming our party, gave us the best seat in the house to celebrate a big birthday, sent tons of waitstaff to sing happy birthday, just really made us feel special on that big day. So happy they understood it was a big deal to take family there for this celebration, they really added to the experience. Food and atmosphere were great as well. Todd's raspberry mojito is the best. Cheers!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful waterside dining with excellen ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Beautiful waterside dining with excellent service and great food.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Golden Mast is a long time favorite, ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The Golden Mast is a long time favorite, we love German food. We don't often go because it's a little drive, but well worth it. I love their family history and the hardships they all endured to make it such a successful interprise. The bar, dining, and lake view make it a great supper club.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had heard it was lovely since we move ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had heard it was lovely since we moved to WI, and finally took a Sunday drive and found out why everyone recommends the place! It has beautiful art, stained glass windows, a nice valet in the parking lot, and most of all, great food with wonderful service. Our waitress has worked there 1-1/2 years, and people who have worked somewhere for over a year do make a difference - they know the in and out of the food and can explain what is what.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fine, but it took forever t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was fine, but it took forever to get the check, and then for someone to come back to pick up the credit card. What is it with restaurants these days? It's to the point where I ask for the check as soon as the food comes any more. It's really, REALLY, irritating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Terrible, food was almost unbeatable. Wo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Terrible, food was almost unbeatable. Would never go there again and certainly never recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

Great place!! We go to Golden Mast for s ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great place!! We go to Golden Mast for special occasions whenever we can and always love the food, service, and view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.