Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

About Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland

Jezebel Magazine - #35 of the TOP 100 restaurants in Atlanta
Highest Ranking Seafood Restaurant in the TOP 100
Atlanta Magazine - Highest ranked seafood restaurant in Atlanta
Yelp - 4 Star Rating

GOIN' COASTAL is a sustainable seafood joint. We feature only the highest quality seafood from sources, either fished or farmed that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. So why does this matter?

1. With over 75% of the world fisheries either fully fished or over fished, we believe the choices we make will help to enhance the seafood marketplace for all consumers.

2. Sustainable fishing practices are not only environmentally responsible they yield the highest quality seafood.

Thank you for supporting the sustainable seafood movement by GOIN COASTAL. Now, stop surfing the web and come eat some great seafood!

1021 Virginia Ave NE
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch 12:00 - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
North Highland

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 941-9117

Website:
http://goincoastalseafood.com/

Parking Details:
We offer free parking just down the street at Highland Hardware. Our spots are free to you, the guest and are clearly marked.

Executive Chef:
Zach Kell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

GOIN'COASTAL features only the highest quality seafood from sources either fished or farmed, that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. Treat your guests to a dining experience that is delicious and executed with the earth in mind.

Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Casual (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
See All
Fit for Foodies (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Authentic (11)
Cozy (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Healthy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Business Meals (4)
Fun (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Romantic (4)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
People Watching (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort by
S
1015 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food! Went for a birthday dinner and would go back and try different items!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything we ordered was salty. Service was shoddy from the beginning. Way overpriced for experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

There were 3 of us at dinner and every item was delicious. Our group started with the oysters, then we also had the special which was the Ginger Salmon, Blackened Snapper, and 'Coastal' Trout with pimento cheese grits. Every plates was completely clean at the end of the dinner. Meal was incredible and service was great, we will all be dining here again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Excellent experience for our date night. Food was excellent. Service was very good. Enjoyed and would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Birthday Friday night out. Looking for good lobster dinner and this was the place.
Surprised with a wonderful birthday dessert that two of us could not finish.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Great food, relaxed neighborhood atmosphere, excellent wait staff. Thanks for a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2018

I read the great reviews and my time at Goin Costal far exceeded my expectations. Exceptional service and ambiance. I will definitely be back

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2018

We went on New Year’s Eve. We were greeted by a very friendly hostess. Our server was also friendly and attentive. The food is, in my opinion, the best seafood in town! The atmosphere is very relaxed, not pretentious at all! We had a great time!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Always superb food. Scallop and swordfish specials were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 24, 2017

The food and service were great. I would definitely go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 23, 2017

I love the sustainability effort and we enjoyed our meal. Only complaint is the creme brulee was not congealed all the way through - soupy just below the top. My husband ate it anyway the taste was so good 😊 We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 23, 2017

We ordered the Scottish Salmon special that came with risotto and broccoli and the Scampi Primavera. We started with a fried calamari app that was outstanding. The menu was a little confusing as there are also 4 ways you may have your fish prepared. We weren’t sure about how the Scottish Salmon was going to be prepared - it was none of the four. When you say Scampi I automatically think of shrimp. The Scampi Primavera was vegetarian in nature - if you wanted shrimp it had to be added. No problem. Our waitress was helpful with explanations. We were impressed with the variety of seafood and fish offered. They have a sustainable fish creed that they follow. The tables in the dining room are quite close together. No worries unless you are discussing a sensitive subject.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Excellent dinner of Redfish with coastal seasonong, cooked to perfection.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Came here for the crab cakes as I heard they were good. I would not recommend them. They were also out of Lobster and swordfish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Good reliable neighborhood restaurant. Not going to win any awards. Fish quality is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 19, 2017

Love this place and the service. Had a delicious Hot Toddy. The bartender brought it to me personally
Amazing service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 19, 2017

Great lobsters

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 16, 2017

We were specifically looking for seafood and were not disappointed. Every bite of our meal was delightful. Our waitperson was fun and friendly yet professional. The restaurant had a warm and cozy Virginia Highlands neighborhood vibe. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Tried the fish stew/soup for the first time – delicious. The cornbread was sinfully scrumptious, as always. Drinks were good, and our waitress was a pleasure. This is one of our favorite local restaurants in Virginia-Highland. The fresh swordfish from North Carolina was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Excellent fish and enjoyed the option of preparation types. A little pricey(especially the apps), but overall great tasting food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2017

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2017

There was an extremely noisy party gong on and they seated us right in the middle of this. People were standing within inches of our table talking with one another. We have no problem with parties or others having a good time, but felt very uncomfortable being in the middle of this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2017

We loved sitting at the bar and watching the kitchen produce such creative selections for entrees. The staff made us feel welcomed. I would definitely return!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Restaurant was busy and service was slow -that is all

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Very good shrimp and crab dip to start. Caesar salad was just okay. Trout was delicious. Scampi pasta had no scampi...perhaps a different name would be better suited. Servicer wad pleasant. We will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2017

We sat at the back bar by the kitchen and we were handed a sample of the special appetizer as a treat. Great people work there and it's always great fish. Can't beat it.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2017

My favorite neighborhood gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Run don’t walk to Goin Coastal.
We just found GC. Th best seafood we have had in Atlanta in 40 years. Grow up on the coast and was used to fresh seafood, perfectly presented. Just like at Goin Coastal. Great service. From the GM to the servers to the front of the house, a well oiled machine that makes it look casual and effortless. Ask for Daniel, a terrific waiter. The food is amazing. Ask about the key lime cheesecake. We are so happy to have found GC.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 18, 2017

I was craving oysters and crab legs so we decided to try this place out because it is very close to the house. Our server was very nice so that is why I gave the place 3 stars. Our raw oysters were good but a little overpriced to not have choices of oysters. They were cleaned very well though. We got two basil smash drinks which were kind of weak but taste pretty good. Do not, I repeat do not get the crab legs! They were extremely small and impossible to open due to the outside being so soggy. Maybe we should have visited this spot for fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Excellent food and service. Music was really bad. Please play some lounge music. ☺️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 2, 2017

I mentioned in my reservation with Open Table that it was a special occasion, but our waitress never mentioned it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Great venue for fresh seafood. Good wine list and very friendly and helpful staff.

Tags: Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 21, 2017

We visited Going Coastal for my daughter's 11th birthday because she specifically requested seafood. We made the reservation late so there were only early and late reservations available and the reviews were really positive so we had really high hopes. We arrived early and received a lovely table in the middle of the restaurant which features an open floorpan with views of the open kitchen. Our waiter was really friendly and personable - we loved him.

Our dinner selections on the other hand left alot to be desired. As a possible excuse - they just switched to the Fall menu 3 days prior - so there is something to be said for having no time to settle-in and make changes...we were definitely the guinea pigs here! I found the poke appetizer to be lacking in flavor - both the tuna and the seaweed salad aspects were cold and flavorless. As well I think the tuna had been cut too fine - it had more the appearance of catfood and less a sophisticated poke dish. The fall salads were ok - the dressing had an appropriate amount of bite and the pumpkin or squash balanced the tart with a rich sweet. They could've either been a bit larger or presented in a smaller dish because they looked really sparse and unattractive.

My fried seafood dish was fine, my daughter's salmon was ok, nothing bad but also nothing great....

I hope my opinions can be incorporated for more enjoyable nights for others in the near future. Thanks :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 20, 2017

There were 4 of us out for a friends get together. All of us selected from the fresh fish menu. It was delicious. The pimento cheese grits were great.
The cocktails were fabulous too. The service was outstanding!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 18, 2017

First time. Heard about on Atlanta Eats. A little pricey for regular menu, however came for the $5 oyster special. Had three dozen and lived them all. Food was very good. I would come back again.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 16, 2017

My SO and I went there for their Monday night $20 lobster special. The lobster was delicious! As was the complimentary corn bread & the smoked trout mousse on toast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Daniel took great care of us and the lobster mac and cheese was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2017

To accompany the great food quality and service, I would like a nicer room and tables; white tablecloths would be a good addition. At these prices, the ambiance is low.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

The food and service is great. We had a mid sized party so seating was tight, its not spacious but the food makes up for it. The PARKING however was a headache thats the only really negative I have. Other than than it wad a good experience I would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 7, 2017

CANNOT GET ENOUGH OF THIS PLACE

I am a frequent diner at Goin' Coastal, and this past experience only serves to confirm this establishment as being among my favorites. The ambiance is sublime, the service on point, and the food selection and preparation is outstanding. Many comments suggest that parking is an issue, but the lot a block away at Highland Woodworking has FREE spots reserved for patrons of Goin' Coastal every night of the week--just tell the attendant where you are dining. Virginia Highland remains a favorite neighborhood and Goin' Coastal is one of the dining superstars.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, People Watching, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.