About Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland

1021 Virginia Ave NE
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

Jezebel Magazine - #35 of the TOP 100 restaurants in Atlanta
Highest Ranking Seafood Restaurant in the TOP 100
Atlanta Magazine - Highest ranked seafood restaurant in Atlanta
Yelp - 4 Star Rating

GOIN' COASTAL is a sustainable seafood joint. We feature only the highest quality seafood from sources, either fished or farmed that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. So why does this matter?

1. With over 75% of the world fisheries either fully fished or over fished, we believe the choices we make will help to enhance the seafood marketplace for all consumers.

2. Sustainable fishing practices are not only environmentally responsible they yield the highest quality seafood.

Thank you for supporting the sustainable seafood movement by GOIN COASTAL. Now, stop surfing the web and come eat some great seafood!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch 12:00 - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
North Highland

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 941-9117

Website:
http://goincoastalseafood.com/

Parking Details:
We offer free parking just down the street at Highland Hardware. Our spots are free to you, the guest and are clearly marked.

Executive Chef:
Zach Kell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Shrimp Tacos - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Lobster Mac And Cheese - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
crab cake - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
shrimp appetizer - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Shrimp And Corn Chowder - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Shrimp & Crab Dip - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Cornbread - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Chocolate Bread Pudding - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Basil Lemonade - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Peel and Eat Shrimp - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Fried - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Bacon Wrapped Oystwrs - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Low Country Bouillabaisse - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Low country platter - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Scampi - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Seafood Dip - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Lobster Roll (Sandwich) - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Oysters - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
jalapeno corn bread pudding - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
vodka basil limade - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Moscow Mule Cocktail - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Lobster Tacos - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Scallops Over Risotto - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Striped Marlin - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Maine Lobster Pot Pie Fritters - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Goin Coastal Salad - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
lobster roll - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA

Private Dining

GOIN'COASTAL features only the highest quality seafood from sources either fished or farmed, that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. Treat your guests to a dining experience that is delicious and executed with the earth in mind.

Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (17)
Healthy (14)
Casual (13)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Cozy (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Fun (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Romantic (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
People Watching (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Business Meals (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Authentic (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Historic (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
827 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Goin' Coastal never disappoints, except ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Goin' Coastal never disappoints, except when they're "out" of a menu item, which happens often. To be honest, this is a good news/bad news indication that everything is going to be absolutely fresh, though unfortunately not always available. So, if your heart is set on oysters (or the tuna poke, or for that matter any menu item) I'd give a call in advance before heading out. Otherwise, it's a nice spot in the heart of the VA-HI n'hood, with a newly enlarged bar, warm and gracious service and great menu and lots of daily (super fresh and seasonal!) specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Neighborhood Gem. We frequent this pla ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Neighborhood Gem. We frequent this place for dinner, we decided to try brunch. The food was delicious and service was top notch.

The only disappointment came from the online menue showing a selection of specialty brunch Bloody Mary's that the restaurant didn't know anything about.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Been before and will probably comeback. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Been before and will probably comeback. "Snow crab " fritters were basically hush puppies and service staff mainly the bartender should learn what beers are what if you are going to have a rotating tap. Everything else was just ok but it's okay because the company made the food an afterthought.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I liked that the fish was so fresh and t ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I liked that the fish was so fresh and the commitment to sustainable seafood. The oysters and rainbow trout were excellent. We also tried the special, which was a lobster stuffed with crab. The lobster was fine, but having spent so much time in Maine it was a little disappointing; the 1 1/4 lb description seemed a little generous and I would have loved a little more claw meat. Overall dinner and drinks were good.

Tags: Cozy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I took friends who I had taken there 2 y ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I took friends who I had taken there 2 years ago and they have never stopped talking about the experience. When they passed through town they insisted on taking me back there and buying my dinner.... Never a disappointment, always excellent!

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent fish dishes. Many types of fis ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent fish dishes. Many types of fish to choose from and several preparation options. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good mussels and flounder in tomato sauc ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Good mussels and flounder in tomato sauce but risotto was undercooked and bland. Enjoyable and attractive, good service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Going Coastal is a nice neighborhood pla ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Going Coastal is a nice neighborhood place with friendly service that's a good place to go for seafood dinner. The daily fresh fish are the highlights of this place and they can be very delicious. You are given a choice of how you like your fresh fish prepared and this is unique and gives you plenty of options. The food is not cheap with an average dish costing $26-28, but not so bad considering that the fish is very fresh, prepared well and very tasty, The fresh bread and snack of delicious cornbread is a welcome way to start. The wine list is fairly limited but very good and beer and cocktails seem more their thing.

For a change I tried their regular (on the menu) Cajun seafood chowder and while the broth fresh and delicious, the serving was disappointingly small. Unfortunately for me, I am allergic to scallops and asked the dish come without them...and that was fine. Here's what I got for $26 bucks: 4 dime-sized pieces of andouille sausage, 6 little pieces of potato, 3 small mussles, 3 very small shrimp (about the size of a quarter), and one small, nondescript piece of white fish and 1.5 inches long and 1 inch wide. On the positive side there were two large pieces of fresh bread for dipping. I honestly thought this dish was pretty skimpy for a main course--although maybe Ok for a starter. Fortunately, I did order a small Ceasar salad, otherwise I would left pretty hungry. I'd certainly give Goin Coastal another chance, but I would surely avoid the Cajun seafood chowder.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great birthday dinner for my wife. She e ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great birthday dinner for my wife. She enjoyed the farm to take food and the perfect ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was quite tasty. My waiter's name rhymes with "green."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lobster was perfectly steamed & we loved ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Lobster was perfectly steamed & we loved the Sicilian baked grouper. Always enjoy the Picpoul wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our time at Goin' Coastal, th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We enjoyed our time at Goin' Coastal, the food was good and our waitress Kristie was OUTSTANDING!!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I brought my boyfriend there for his bir ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I brought my boyfriend there for his birthday. We had reservations and were seated immediately. Cozy, casual atmosphere and deliciously flavorful food. The waiter Terry, was very professional and personable. This was our second time there. We will be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious brunch! I have been here for d ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Delicious brunch! I have been here for dinner before and was skeptical that their kitchen was limited to just seafood, but the duck breakfast and chicken biscuit were both incredible. Our server was very helpful with suggestions and attentive to our table. There were maybe three other tables seated at the same time as us which was really surprising so this one is definitely a neighborhood gem when it comes to brunch. Definitely would return!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was awesome, everything was coo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food was awesome, everything was cooked to perfection and fresh. Our waiter Green was such a delight, provided great customer service and kept the laughs coming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The flounder was perfection

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The flounder was perfection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Good Good Service Food Music Settin ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Good Good Good Service Food Music Setting except for the parking, the meter would not take my 1 dollar bill and the bar tender said the manager told him to tell me they did not have any quarters in the place?+_)(

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Server was excellent, very helpful. The ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Server was excellent, very helpful. The lobster bisque wasn't good. However, the server and manager welcomed the criticism and feedback and comped the three servings of bisque AND provided a free desert. Overall, a positive experience and would still recommend people give it a try. I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Our bartender Jeremy was EXCELLENT!! Wai ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Our bartender Jeremy was EXCELLENT!! Waitress did a superb job on waiting on us..food was absolutely delicious. Definitely will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great as well as the servic ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The food was great as well as the service. We will surely return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic trout entree. Enjoyed the cr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Fantastic trout entree. Enjoyed the crab cake appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great people! Great food!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great people! Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good fresh seafood well prepared & ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Very good fresh seafood well prepared & very good service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent seafood restaurant near the he ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Excellent seafood restaurant near the heart of midtown Atlanta. Great choice of fresh fish prepared in any way you select. Service staff was excellent and very helpful. I would definitely return there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Have eaten at Goin Coastal several times ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Have eaten at Goin Coastal several times now. The fish is excellent and always wild caught. It is never farm raised. Vegies are very good.

Service always friendly and good.

Just had their Lobster on Monday night. It was very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delicious casual dinner. Reall ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a delicious casual dinner. Really enjoyed it!

Tags: Wood Oven, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was great if you wanted a lo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The service was great if you wanted a long leisurely dinner. We had some place to go next so it seemed a bit slow to us. The fish and special of the evening were outstanding. Great flavors. We had the trout mousse and the crab au gratin for appetizers and these were great also. Overall, affordable, not too noisy, a lovely waitron, and great food. Most enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

ANOTHER GREAT EXPERIENCING AT GOIN' COAS ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

ANOTHER GREAT EXPERIENCING AT GOIN' COASTAL

Busy on a Friday night, but reservation got us a table by the window. Best app is the crabmeat dip, hands down.

Tags: Fun, Open Kitchen, Organic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Breen was a fantastic server. We never h ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Breen was a fantastic server. We never had to look for him for anything. Complete perfection. I absolutely love this place. The lobster macaroni and cheese is my favorite. Great beer selection as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was awsome .the service was aws ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The food was awsome .the service was awsome .love love love it will end back

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was disappointed with the new menu chang ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Was disappointed with the new menu changes. I had checked their website the day of our reservation to be sure our seafood platter was still there and it was -only it wasn't when we arrived. We LOVED the "combo" seafood platter where one could mix several choices of seafood to make a meal. Bring it back even if you can't get the catfish! There are plenty of other great fish options that could be substituted for the catfish. Due to dietary restrictions one of us could eat the fried comb platter only at Goin' Coastal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday afternoon not very busy... but st ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Sunday afternoon not very busy... but still could not get drink refills.

Must be why they leave a bottle of water for you. Good food, small portion size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Love this place

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My husband and I went to Going Coastal o ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My husband and I went to Going Coastal on a Friday night. The restaurant was busy but not packed (there were tables still available). We got the crab and shrimp au gratin and that was delicious! The highlight of the meal. It took us an hour to receive our entrees from the time we placed our order and that was just too long. The waiter hurriedly apologized but did not seem to care. The main dishes were okay. I got the butternut squash risotto and the shrimp were over-cooked, the scallops under cooked and the risotto lacked flavor. The best part of this dish was the lobster meat. My husband got the pomodoro with hush puppies and his piece of fish was cooked well. Overall, we will not be going back and were underwhelmed by both the service and food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was bland . Appetizer was the only ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was bland . Appetizer was the only food with flavor. Risotto entree was bland, fish entree had very little taste. Friend chicken had odd texture and no flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Great local seafood selections and prepa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great local seafood selections and preparations. My fish was over cooked and chef was gracious to prepare new plate and comp my meal. Pleasant atmosphere and good service

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice, fresh fish. I liked that they offe ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Nice, fresh fish. I liked that they offered a lot of choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great fresh seafood. Service was great ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great fresh seafood. Service was great. The Octopus appetizer........amazing.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food but expensive for the siz ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Very good food but expensive for the size of the portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Server was excellent. All food was excel ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Server was excellent. All food was excellent, except the kale, but i don't like kale. They should have green beans or something as an option for their sides.

Had to wait a while for our entrees, but they were excellent, and we had apps and their cornbread if we were starving.

When the place got packed, it was very noisy.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.