Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

About Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland

Jezebel Magazine - #35 of the TOP 100 restaurants in Atlanta
Highest Ranking Seafood Restaurant in the TOP 100
Atlanta Magazine - Highest ranked seafood restaurant in Atlanta
Yelp - 4 Star Rating

GOIN' COASTAL is a sustainable seafood joint. We feature only the highest quality seafood from sources, either fished or farmed that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. So why does this matter?

1. With over 75% of the world fisheries either fully fished or over fished, we believe the choices we make will help to enhance the seafood marketplace for all consumers.

2. Sustainable fishing practices are not only environmentally responsible they yield the highest quality seafood.

Thank you for supporting the sustainable seafood movement by GOIN COASTAL. Now, stop surfing the web and come eat some great seafood!

1021 Virginia Ave NE
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch 12:00 - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
North Highland

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 941-9117

Website:
http://goincoastalseafood.com/

Parking Details:
We offer free parking just down the street at Highland Hardware. Our spots are free to you, the guest and are clearly marked.

Executive Chef:
Zach Kell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

GOIN'COASTAL features only the highest quality seafood from sources either fished or farmed, that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. Treat your guests to a dining experience that is delicious and executed with the earth in mind.

Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (35)
Good for a Date (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
See All
Casual (21)
Open Kitchen (15)
Healthy (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Cozy (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Fun (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Authentic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Seasonal (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Romantic (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Business Meals (4)
People Watching (4)
Historic (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Family Style (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
875 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined a day ago

The whole experience was fantastic. Our server which I can't recall her name at this time was amazing and took excellent care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Met my best friend for a last minute dinner. I was very lucky to get a table because they are usually booked until late in the evening. T
he mussels are some of the best foot in the city! They always taste very fresh and the broth is unique and delicious. Any of the fish made with the baked preparation is always fantastic.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Great location, great food, great bar and great service. We sat in the bar area and enjoyed the Chesapeake oysters, Tuna appetizer and split the Grouper special. Delicious! Full selection of bourbons and beverages. Great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Everything was great. I made them aware of our birthday celebration and they did something to help celebrate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Loud but good food and non-intrusive but very present wait staff.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was great atmosphere in scenery was good too

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Goin' Coastal has to be one of the best fish restaurants in town-- terrific options and the best part is that they only purchase sustainable seafood and fish. Had the special -- lobster stuffed flounder and it was divine. It was well worth the price!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Awesome! So happy to find this little gem in the neighborhood. As good as any seafood restaurant i have been to in atlanta.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Wednesday night $5 for 1 dozen oysters was a pleasant surprise - made them our starter. I went with the Grouper with the Skinny preparation which was perfect. My husband went with the bowl, which it's apparently known for. It was good, but lacked the seafood contents it boasts. Not a good value on the particular night.

They've remodeled some, and the flow of the place is much better than it once was.
We'll give it another try.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great food, better service. Very nice night out. Server (Breene) had excellent knowledge of the menu. He gave excellent advice and recommendations were spot on.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We went for my birthday, and everyone cleaned their plates. The food is amazing and the staff is nice and personable. We will be back!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Authentic, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Best kept secret. Great food and service. This was my 2nd time going. They didn't disappoint.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were traveling in Atlanta near Stone Mountain. We found this restaurant on Open Table. We did not realize how long it would take to get from Stone Mountain to the restaurant and we arrived 20 minutes late. This caused our reservation to be canceled by the restaurant's system. When we arrived (without a reservation) the restaurant was completely full. The manager (Scott) went out of his way to work us into a table and was very gracious about the entire affair. He offered us an appetizer because it took a while to find us a table. Once we were seated, the food and service was outstanding. The starters were amazing. We had the scallops starter and it was superb. Our entrées were both well prepared and excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant for both the service and for the food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Entrees:
2 Guests got 2 Fish Dishes had a very good flavor cooked right (baked swordfish).
I got the seafood risotto, rissoto flavor was good,but the shimp & scallops a bit over cooked.
My wife got the crab cake a bit dry & crab was shredded too much not "lumpy"..she had better on previous visit in December. She loved her shoestring fries
appetizers:
Chesapeake oysters..delicious.
Calamari ...delicious.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We were with two persons, one person got a wrong order and when the right order came it was cold and it should have been hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Everything was great! There was a great selection of fish.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We both ordered the fried shrimp plate which was the best outside of Florida beaches. The shrimp was jumbo sized and delicately fried to perfection. We love Virginia Highland Goin' Coastal. Excellent service from personable staff. A wonderful evening.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

A nice place to go have a slightly expensive casual dinner. Not exactly a great place for a date night.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Exceptional as always. I make myself order from the board, knowing that I will be receiving fresh, sustainable fish that can be prepared several innovative ways. I always start with the crab dip, but the oyster appetizers are always a great choice.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Historic, Scenic View, Casual, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Everything was great!

My only complaint is that their online menu was woefully out of date. I did complain about this and I see that this has been fixed - their online menu is now accurate.

Mike, our server, was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Excellent food and service every time I have the opportunity to dine here. The new bar area is beautiful and inviting. I visit Atlanta several times a year, and always try to find time to dine at Goin' Coastal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Monday night Lobster night....Yum!!! Drinks were better than our last visit, noise level was far better than our last visit! Monday night dining out is the best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Open Table - You lied!!! You forced us to make a reservation through you for a table. When we got to the restaurant, there were only two other tables with patrons. It was not full or busy or requiring a $100 credit card deposit to hold a table for our meal. Why should I ever trust Open Table again???

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our experience was EXCEPTIONAL, the food was great and service was five star. I believe our server was Jermey or Jerry. Apologize for not remembering him but he was great. Highly recommended

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Hugely disappointed - especially based on experiences with other neighborhood restaurants and reviews we read about Goin' Coastal. From the moment we walked in for our 7 pm reservation until we left 55 minutes later, it was a wholly unimpressive experience (I've felt more welcomed at the nearby beer and burger place around the corner). I cannot honestly remember a Saturday night dinner where we were pushed out the door in less than one hour.

We were treated indifferently by the hostess when we arrived as well as by our server, and although she got around to mentioning the fish specials and the preparations, we learned more from listening to other diners. As noted, we felt rushed and hurried (it wasn't that busy of a Saturday night), and for most of the evening our server was a ghost. We heard about the amazing cornbread as well as the bread platter, but neither were offered to us although our neighbors at adjacent tables seemed to enjoy theirs'. The entrees lacked much in the way of vegetables/garnishes and the fish was mediocre......Appetizers? Deserts? Didn't know they were an option? A second glass of wine? Follow-up on our meals? No.

Value for the price paid - definitely not worth it.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful experience. Excellent service!! Try the gator tail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I have lived in this neighborhood for 12 years and have been to Going Coastal several times. I have never made a comment because I thought the place and food was okay, not great but okay. I now think it's closer to just NOT GOOD. It's not horrible....nice place.....you can have a nice meal there its just not good food. Maybe its due to me going on Sunday evening, I don't know. I had the Mong Chung fish with meso veggies / sauce. The fish was so dry that without the soup of the meso I would have not been able to eat it. The meal was very bland. To top it off the waiter told me that this fish was very much like Snapper (nothing like snapper). My wife had lobster bisque that was not hot and had very little lobster in it.
The most disappointing thing was the Octopus appetizer. My wife and I eat Octopus everywhere we go that serves it so we know when it's good. It wasn't terrible but it was by for the worst I've ever had. It was rubbery and tasteless.
Sorry to you guys who love this place, I just don't see it. Maybe go for the oysters on the cheap night or do a low country boil (something that takes no talent to cook) but pass on the fish. On my walk to this restaurant last night I passed a dozen restaurants.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The only fresh seafood restaurant with as many diverse offerings as the best places in FL. Very very fresh. Great presentation. Great experience for a reasonable price. Pair with a great wine list and be prepared to be impressed!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Plan on going early otherwise you will risk not eating what you want. They run out of food quickly. I made 8:30 reservation and they were out 5 menu items. Also the Low Country Boil would be good but the shrimp are over cooked. Rather large for that dish as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

First time here...Valentine's dinner with my wife...perfect portions, great meal...I had the Lobster Hash special & my wife had the Shrimp Low Country Boil...both of us were well pleased with our meals...will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Everything was great. Very happy about the expanded space.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great seafood spot. Fresh fish is usually best bet and hard to find in Atlanta. Lobster bit overcooked but oysters very good.
Nice surroundings although parking can be issue.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Really good food. Excellent service. I hadn't been in long time, but am now I'm looking forward to going back. Dessert caveat: The gelato place next door is closed M-W. "Winter hours."

Tags: Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The food never disappoints but the music is loud and coupled with the close proximity of the tables you could join in conversations on either side of your table. The bar area is less noisy and that is where I plan to be seated on my next visit.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

the food at goin' coastal was pretty good but very expensive for what it was, so not great value. they didn't tell us they were sold out of certain appetizers until they were ordered and then forgot to bring some. we saw our server two times in 2.5 hours so it was very hard to get drinks or make it known we were missing food.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent customer service, outstanding meal, relaxed atmosphere. Will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great sustainable seafood. Very knowledgeable waitstaff who made it fun to design our meal. Casual dress. Tables can be a little close together.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was wonderful. Absolutely loved the scallops prepared in the rosemary stem. The lobster and mac was delicious. The cornbread was so good I had to take some home. Our server was outstanding. Overall great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.