About Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland

1021 Virginia Ave NE
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

Jezebel Magazine - #35 of the TOP 100 restaurants in Atlanta
Highest Ranking Seafood Restaurant in the TOP 100
Atlanta Magazine - Highest ranked seafood restaurant in Atlanta
Yelp - 4 Star Rating

GOIN' COASTAL is a sustainable seafood joint. We feature only the highest quality seafood from sources, either fished or farmed that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. So why does this matter?

1. With over 75% of the world fisheries either fully fished or over fished, we believe the choices we make will help to enhance the seafood marketplace for all consumers.

2. Sustainable fishing practices are not only environmentally responsible they yield the highest quality seafood.

Thank you for supporting the sustainable seafood movement by GOIN COASTAL. Now, stop surfing the web and come eat some great seafood!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch 12:00 - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
North Highland

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 941-9117

Website:
http://goincoastalseafood.com/

Parking Details:
We offer free parking just down the street at Highland Hardware. Our spots are free to you, the guest and are clearly marked.

Executive Chef:
Zach Kell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp Tacos - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Lobster Mac And Cheese - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
crab cake - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
shrimp appetizer - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Shrimp And Corn Chowder - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Shrimp & Crab Dip - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Cornbread - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Chocolate Bread Pudding - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Basil Lemonade - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Peel and Eat Shrimp - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Fried - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Bacon Wrapped Oystwrs - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Low Country Bouillabaisse - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Low country platter - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Scampi - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Seafood Dip - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Lobster Roll (Sandwich) - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Oysters - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
jalapeno corn bread pudding - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
vodka basil limade - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Moscow Mule Cocktail - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Lobster Tacos - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Scallops Over Risotto - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Striped Marlin - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Maine Lobster Pot Pie Fritters - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
Goin Coastal Salad - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA
lobster roll - Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland, Atlanta, GA

Private Dining

GOIN'COASTAL features only the highest quality seafood from sources either fished or farmed, that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. Treat your guests to a dining experience that is delicious and executed with the earth in mind.

Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (25)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Casual (19)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Cozy (14)
Healthy (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Authentic (9)
Romantic (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Bar Seating (6)
People Watching (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Seasonal (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Fun (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Family Style (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Historic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
794 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The flounder was perfection

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 hours ago

The flounder was perfection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Good Good Service Food Music Settin ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Good Good Good Service Food Music Setting except for the parking, the meter would not take my 1 dollar bill and the bar tender said the manager told him to tell me they did not have any quarters in the place?+_)(

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Server was excellent, very helpful. The ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Server was excellent, very helpful. The lobster bisque wasn't good. However, the server and manager welcomed the criticism and feedback and comped the three servings of bisque AND provided a free desert. Overall, a positive experience and would still recommend people give it a try. I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Our bartender Jeremy was EXCELLENT!! Wai ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Our bartender Jeremy was EXCELLENT!! Waitress did a superb job on waiting on us..food was absolutely delicious. Definitely will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great as well as the servic ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was great as well as the service. We will surely return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic trout entree. Enjoyed the cr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Fantastic trout entree. Enjoyed the crab cake appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great people! Great food!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great people! Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good fresh seafood well prepared & ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Very good fresh seafood well prepared & very good service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent seafood restaurant near the he ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Excellent seafood restaurant near the heart of midtown Atlanta. Great choice of fresh fish prepared in any way you select. Service staff was excellent and very helpful. I would definitely return there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Have eaten at Goin Coastal several times ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Have eaten at Goin Coastal several times now. The fish is excellent and always wild caught. It is never farm raised. Vegies are very good.

Service always friendly and good.

Just had their Lobster on Monday night. It was very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delicious casual dinner. Reall ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a delicious casual dinner. Really enjoyed it!

Tags: Wood Oven, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was great if you wanted a lo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The service was great if you wanted a long leisurely dinner. We had some place to go next so it seemed a bit slow to us. The fish and special of the evening were outstanding. Great flavors. We had the trout mousse and the crab au gratin for appetizers and these were great also. Overall, affordable, not too noisy, a lovely waitron, and great food. Most enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

ANOTHER GREAT EXPERIENCING AT GOIN' COAS ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

ANOTHER GREAT EXPERIENCING AT GOIN' COASTAL

Busy on a Friday night, but reservation got us a table by the window. Best app is the crabmeat dip, hands down.

Tags: Fun, Open Kitchen, Organic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Breen was a fantastic server. We never h ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Breen was a fantastic server. We never had to look for him for anything. Complete perfection. I absolutely love this place. The lobster macaroni and cheese is my favorite. Great beer selection as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was awsome .the service was aws ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The food was awsome .the service was awsome .love love love it will end back

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was disappointed with the new menu chang ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Was disappointed with the new menu changes. I had checked their website the day of our reservation to be sure our seafood platter was still there and it was -only it wasn't when we arrived. We LOVED the "combo" seafood platter where one could mix several choices of seafood to make a meal. Bring it back even if you can't get the catfish! There are plenty of other great fish options that could be substituted for the catfish. Due to dietary restrictions one of us could eat the fried comb platter only at Goin' Coastal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday afternoon not very busy... but st ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Sunday afternoon not very busy... but still could not get drink refills.

Must be why they leave a bottle of water for you. Good food, small portion size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

My husband and I went to Going Coastal o ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My husband and I went to Going Coastal on a Friday night. The restaurant was busy but not packed (there were tables still available). We got the crab and shrimp au gratin and that was delicious! The highlight of the meal. It took us an hour to receive our entrees from the time we placed our order and that was just too long. The waiter hurriedly apologized but did not seem to care. The main dishes were okay. I got the butternut squash risotto and the shrimp were over-cooked, the scallops under cooked and the risotto lacked flavor. The best part of this dish was the lobster meat. My husband got the pomodoro with hush puppies and his piece of fish was cooked well. Overall, we will not be going back and were underwhelmed by both the service and food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was bland . Appetizer was the only ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was bland . Appetizer was the only food with flavor. Risotto entree was bland, fish entree had very little taste. Friend chicken had odd texture and no flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Great local seafood selections and prepa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great local seafood selections and preparations. My fish was over cooked and chef was gracious to prepare new plate and comp my meal. Pleasant atmosphere and good service

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice, fresh fish. I liked that they offe ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Nice, fresh fish. I liked that they offered a lot of choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great fresh seafood. Service was great ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great fresh seafood. Service was great. The Octopus appetizer........amazing.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food but expensive for the siz ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Very good food but expensive for the size of the portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Server was excellent. All food was excel ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Server was excellent. All food was excellent, except the kale, but i don't like kale. They should have green beans or something as an option for their sides.

Had to wait a while for our entrees, but they were excellent, and we had apps and their cornbread if we were starving.

When the place got packed, it was very noisy.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was great. Wife didn't like the uni ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food was great. Wife didn't like the unisex bathrooms at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The seasoning was bland. Service was slo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The seasoning was bland. Service was slow. Just wasn't great overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

We went on a Wednesday for the $5.00/doz ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We went on a Wednesday for the $5.00/doz oysters for me. My wife had the trout. I had a Caesar salad and my wife the garden salad. Everything was great, as well as my old fashion. We live in the neighborhood and come here fairly often and are never disappointed.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been to goin coastal twice. The fi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I've been to goin coastal twice. The first time about 5 months ago it was great. The second it was lousy. Ordered grouper but would be very surprised if that's what I actually received. My wife order salmon it was raw in the middle. Both had a fishy taste to them. Waiter made a snide remark when I said it was just OK. I guess because I finished my rather small portion. It was OK I didn't say it was uneatable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

My fish was bland. Service was friendly ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My fish was bland. Service was friendly but not attentive. Too small for me. Food was ok but not outstanding

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

We went for my husband's birthday on Sat ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We went for my husband's birthday on Saturday. We first got served two beers that were wrong but, the error wasn't noticed until I ordered another beer and they came out two drastically different colors, the serve noticed it and went back to the bar for clarification. Then my husband ordered the red fish and it was FULL of bones, my dad also thought his grouper was over cooked and tough.

I loved that our server offered to make an appetizer into an entree for me however the octopus was also overcooked. The service was great! The food was meh, not memorable.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Very good food and excellent service. Ch ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Very good food and excellent service. Chowders and salads were delicious, as were the crab cakes. The only disappointment was the monk fish special overpowered by the bacon it was wrapped in. However, the vegetable of the day was also delicious and the service very attentive and friendly. We will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Goin' Coastal is always a very good plac ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Goin' Coastal is always a very good place to eat. The service was outstanding and the atmosphere was very comfortable. The food was excellent. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Cozy, Authentic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great, our server was attentive ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food was great, our server was attentive and made recommendations based on our likes.The overall experience was really nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I want to love Goin' Costal. The vision ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I want to love Goin' Costal. The vision of the restaurant is one thAt I support. However after giving it a second try, I doubt I'll be going again. First? The good: we had the 87 Manhattans-- awesome! My daughter had the low country boil--a winner I would consider going back for. The not so good: (1) the ousted were not properly shucked--we had to dig them out; they tasted okay but were stringy and dry. For 28/dozen, we expect better. (2) the Caesar salad was overdressed; nice anchovies on top, though. I'd ask for half the amount if there's a next time. (3) I had grouper with spinach and my spouse had yellowfin tuna with mashed potatoes. The fish were okay, just not what I expected from a restaurant that commands these prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

My husband and I celebrated my birthday ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 21, 2016

My husband and I celebrated my birthday there prior to going to a concert at Callanwolde. We had a fantastic meal. The she crab soup was some of the best we have ever tasted. I had the special which was crab-stuffed rainbow trout with a red pepper beurre blanc sauce. It was delicious! My husband had the blackened redfish and said it was good too. Our server was very attentive. All in all, a memorable meal and a happy birthday!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious fresh seafood and fish. We fea ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Delicious fresh seafood and fish. We feasted and celebrated a birthday on a Monday Night!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

After thirty years me and the wife is st ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2016

After thirty years me and the wife is still dating and our best date yet was Goin Coastal . The whole experience was a total pleasure from parking the car to walking to the Resturant, to being seated was delightful. But the pleasure really started when our waitress showed up and said hi l.m Carla and will be talking care out tonight and taking care of us is what she did. The place was packed with people but never once did we feel neglected or left out and I could see she had a foul load of customers but she was amazing. She gave easy of us equal attention and we all loved her. Now about the meal she broughtout some cornbread squares and water to snack on, we though It was jalapeño breads but it was not but we ate it any way the butter was Devine. I order the sea food boil with crab legs and my wife had her usual when we go to seafood place's the crab cakes which had three crab cakes made of total lump crab and a little binder top hold it together which made my wife announce "now this is a real crab cake" . My sea food boil was on the money every thing was fresh and succulent. For dessert we shared a peach cobbler cheesecake to die for. We had the best time and I have to mention the people dinning were so very cordial and friendly it felt like setting down withe family .

John B

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food choices. The waiter was very ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food choices. The waiter was very helpful and provided good suggestions.

The crab and shrimp dip was worth going by itself.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dined at 6p. Everything was excellent. S ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Dined at 6p. Everything was excellent. Server was very knowledgeable and helpful. We shared crab cakes for appetizer- outstanding with a touch of ginger. Cornbread was delicious. Entrees were Amberjack and Salomon. Everything was fresh tasting and seasoned well. Food was served hot. Shared key lime pie dessert; also very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

There are only a few great seafood resta ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 7, 2016

There are only a few great seafood restaurants in Atlanta I frequent and Going Coastal is one. Wonderfully fresh seafood, consciously sourced to be sustainable and prepared perfectly time and time again. New larger space in VA Highlands now too!

The lobster Mac and Cheese is decadent and defies hyperbole. The fish and oysters are always on point too. You won't be disappointed but do expect to pay a little more for quality.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.