About Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland

1021 Virginia Ave NE
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

Jezebel Magazine - #35 of the TOP 100 restaurants in Atlanta
Highest Ranking Seafood Restaurant in the TOP 100
Atlanta Magazine - Highest ranked seafood restaurant in Atlanta
Yelp - 4 Star Rating

GOIN' COASTAL is a sustainable seafood joint. We feature only the highest quality seafood from sources, either fished or farmed that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. So why does this matter?

1. With over 75% of the world fisheries either fully fished or over fished, we believe the choices we make will help to enhance the seafood marketplace for all consumers.

2. Sustainable fishing practices are not only environmentally responsible they yield the highest quality seafood.

Thank you for supporting the sustainable seafood movement by GOIN COASTAL. Now, stop surfing the web and come eat some great seafood!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch 12:00 - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
North Highland

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 941-9117

Website:
http://goincoastalseafood.com/

Parking Details:
We offer free parking just down the street at Highland Hardware. Our spots are free to you, the guest and are clearly marked.

Executive Chef:
Zach Kell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

GOIN'COASTAL features only the highest quality seafood from sources either fished or farmed, that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. Treat your guests to a dining experience that is delicious and executed with the earth in mind.

Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (23)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Casual (17)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Healthy (13)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fun (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Cozy (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Romantic (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Authentic (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
People Watching (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Historic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
853 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service every time I have the opportunity to dine here. The new bar area is beautiful and inviting. I visit Atlanta several times a year, and always try to find time to dine at Goin' Coastal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Monday night Lobster night....Yum!!! Drinks were better than our last visit, noise level was far better than our last visit! Monday night dining out is the best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Our experience was EXCEPTIONAL, the food was great and service was five star. I believe our server was Jermey or Jerry. Apologize for not remembering him but he was great. Highly recommended

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Hugely disappointed - especially based on experiences with other neighborhood restaurants and reviews we read about Goin' Coastal. From the moment we walked in for our 7 pm reservation until we left 55 minutes later, it was a wholly unimpressive experience (I've felt more welcomed at the nearby beer and burger place around the corner). I cannot honestly remember a Saturday night dinner where we were pushed out the door in less than one hour.

We were treated indifferently by the hostess when we arrived as well as by our server, and although she got around to mentioning the fish specials and the preparations, we learned more from listening to other diners. As noted, we felt rushed and hurried (it wasn't that busy of a Saturday night), and for most of the evening our server was a ghost. We heard about the amazing cornbread as well as the bread platter, but neither were offered to us although our neighbors at adjacent tables seemed to enjoy theirs'. The entrees lacked much in the way of vegetables/garnishes and the fish was mediocre......Appetizers? Deserts? Didn't know they were an option? A second glass of wine? Follow-up on our meals? No.

Value for the price paid - definitely not worth it.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful experience. Excellent service!! Try the gator tail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I have lived in this neighborhood for 12 years and have been to Going Coastal several times. I have never made a comment because I thought the place and food was okay, not great but okay. I now think it's closer to just NOT GOOD. It's not horrible....nice place.....you can have a nice meal there its just not good food. Maybe its due to me going on Sunday evening, I don't know. I had the Mong Chung fish with meso veggies / sauce. The fish was so dry that without the soup of the meso I would have not been able to eat it. The meal was very bland. To top it off the waiter told me that this fish was very much like Snapper (nothing like snapper). My wife had lobster bisque that was not hot and had very little lobster in it.

The most disappointing thing was the Octopus appetizer. My wife and I eat Octopus everywhere we go that serves it so we know when it's good. It wasn't terrible but it was by for the worst I've ever had. It was rubbery and tasteless.

Sorry to you guys who love this place, I just don't see it. Maybe go for the oysters on the cheap night or do a low country boil (something that takes no talent to cook) but pass on the fish. On my walk to this restaurant last night I passed a dozen restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The only fresh seafood restaurant with as many diverse offerings as the best places in FL. Very very fresh. Great presentation. Great experience for a reasonable price. Pair with a great wine list and be prepared to be impressed!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Plan on going early otherwise you will risk not eating what you want. They run out of food quickly. I made 8:30 reservation and they were out 5 menu items. Also the Low Country Boil would be good but the shrimp are over cooked. Rather large for that dish as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

First time here...Valentine's dinner with my wife...perfect portions, great meal...I had the Lobster Hash special & my wife had the Shrimp Low Country Boil...both of us were well pleased with our meals...will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Everything was great. Very happy about the expanded space.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great seafood spot. Fresh fish is usually best bet and hard to find in Atlanta. Lobster bit overcooked but oysters very good.

Nice surroundings although parking can be issue.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Really good food. Excellent service. I hadn't been in long time, but am now I'm looking forward to going back. Dessert caveat: The gelato place next door is closed M-W. "Winter hours."

Tags: Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The food never disappoints but the music is loud and coupled with the close proximity of the tables you could join in conversations on either side of your table. The bar area is less noisy and that is where I plan to be seated on my next visit.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

the food at goin' coastal was pretty good but very expensive for what it was, so not great value. they didn't tell us they were sold out of certain appetizers until they were ordered and then forgot to bring some. we saw our server two times in 2.5 hours so it was very hard to get drinks or make it known we were missing food.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent customer service, outstanding meal, relaxed atmosphere. Will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great sustainable seafood. Very knowledgeable waitstaff who made it fun to design our meal. Casual dress. Tables can be a little close together.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was wonderful. Absolutely loved the scallops prepared in the rosemary stem. The lobster and mac was delicious. The cornbread was so good I had to take some home. Our server was outstanding. Overall great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had 8pm dinner reservations & was unable to be sat until 8:40. Other than being disappointed with the wait, everything else was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Drinks are very good and reasonably priced. I ordered the seafood Risotto, it was good but the portion sizes was small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great date night spot. The fish is extremely fresh, and the service is wonderful. The cornbread is amazing, as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Healthy, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I had the lobster mac and cheese and it was beyond delicious. I highly recommend goin coastal and will definitely be going back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We were a party of 4 and each of us ordered a different dish. All four were excellent. The waitress was great with food/wine/drink suggestions. Stay away from the Caesar salad if you dislike anchovies. I asked them to leave off the anchovies but had to send back the salad because the dressing was infused with the taste. The cheesecake was a little disappointing - too sweet and wrong consistency. Overall a very nice experience and we will return.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Goin' Coastal never disappoints, except when they're "out" of a menu item, which happens often. To be honest, this is a good news/bad news indication that everything is going to be absolutely fresh, though unfortunately not always available. So, if your heart is set on oysters (or the tuna poke, or for that matter any menu item) I'd give a call in advance before heading out. Otherwise, it's a nice spot in the heart of the VA-HI n'hood, with a newly enlarged bar, warm and gracious service and great menu and lots of daily (super fresh and seasonal!) specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Neighborhood Gem. We frequent this place for dinner, we decided to try brunch. The food was delicious and service was top notch.

The only disappointment came from the online menue showing a selection of specialty brunch Bloody Mary's that the restaurant didn't know anything about.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Been before and will probably comeback. "Snow crab " fritters were basically hush puppies and service staff mainly the bartender should learn what beers are what if you are going to have a rotating tap. Everything else was just ok but it's okay because the company made the food an afterthought.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I liked that the fish was so fresh and the commitment to sustainable seafood. The oysters and rainbow trout were excellent. We also tried the special, which was a lobster stuffed with crab. The lobster was fine, but having spent so much time in Maine it was a little disappointing; the 1 1/4 lb description seemed a little generous and I would have loved a little more claw meat. Overall dinner and drinks were good.

Tags: Cozy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I took friends who I had taken there 2 years ago and they have never stopped talking about the experience. When they passed through town they insisted on taking me back there and buying my dinner.... Never a disappointment, always excellent!

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent fish dishes. Many types of fish to choose from and several preparation options. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Good mussels and flounder in tomato sauce but risotto was undercooked and bland. Enjoyable and attractive, good service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Going Coastal is a nice neighborhood place with friendly service that's a good place to go for seafood dinner. The daily fresh fish are the highlights of this place and they can be very delicious. You are given a choice of how you like your fresh fish prepared and this is unique and gives you plenty of options. The food is not cheap with an average dish costing $26-28, but not so bad considering that the fish is very fresh, prepared well and very tasty, The fresh bread and snack of delicious cornbread is a welcome way to start. The wine list is fairly limited but very good and beer and cocktails seem more their thing.

For a change I tried their regular (on the menu) Cajun seafood chowder and while the broth fresh and delicious, the serving was disappointingly small. Unfortunately for me, I am allergic to scallops and asked the dish come without them...and that was fine. Here's what I got for $26 bucks: 4 dime-sized pieces of andouille sausage, 6 little pieces of potato, 3 small mussles, 3 very small shrimp (about the size of a quarter), and one small, nondescript piece of white fish and 1.5 inches long and 1 inch wide. On the positive side there were two large pieces of fresh bread for dipping. I honestly thought this dish was pretty skimpy for a main course--although maybe Ok for a starter. Fortunately, I did order a small Ceasar salad, otherwise I would left pretty hungry. I'd certainly give Goin Coastal another chance, but I would surely avoid the Cajun seafood chowder.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great birthday dinner for my wife. She enjoyed the farm to take food and the perfect ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was quite tasty. My waiter's name rhymes with "green."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Lobster was perfectly steamed & we loved the Sicilian baked grouper. Always enjoy the Picpoul wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We enjoyed our time at Goin' Coastal, the food was good and our waitress Kristie was OUTSTANDING!!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I brought my boyfriend there for his birthday. We had reservations and were seated immediately. Cozy, casual atmosphere and deliciously flavorful food. The waiter Terry, was very professional and personable. This was our second time there. We will be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Delicious brunch! I have been here for dinner before and was skeptical that their kitchen was limited to just seafood, but the duck breakfast and chicken biscuit were both incredible. Our server was very helpful with suggestions and attentive to our table. There were maybe three other tables seated at the same time as us which was really surprising so this one is definitely a neighborhood gem when it comes to brunch. Definitely would return!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food was awesome, everything was cooked to perfection and fresh. Our waiter Green was such a delight, provided great customer service and kept the laughs coming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The flounder was perfection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Good Good Good Service Food Music Setting except for the parking, the meter would not take my 1 dollar bill and the bar tender said the manager told him to tell me they did not have any quarters in the place?+_)(

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Server was excellent, very helpful. The lobster bisque wasn't good. However, the server and manager welcomed the criticism and feedback and comped the three servings of bisque AND provided a free desert. Overall, a positive experience and would still recommend people give it a try. I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Our bartender Jeremy was EXCELLENT!! Waitress did a superb job on waiting on us..food was absolutely delicious. Definitely will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The food was great as well as the service. We will surely return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Fantastic trout entree. Enjoyed the crab cake appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great people! Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Very good fresh seafood well prepared & very good service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Excellent seafood restaurant near the heart of midtown Atlanta. Great choice of fresh fish prepared in any way you select. Service staff was excellent and very helpful. I would definitely return there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Have eaten at Goin Coastal several times now. The fish is excellent and always wild caught. It is never farm raised. Vegies are very good.

Service always friendly and good.

Just had their Lobster on Monday night. It was very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a delicious casual dinner. Really enjoyed it!

Tags: Wood Oven, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The service was great if you wanted a long leisurely dinner. We had some place to go next so it seemed a bit slow to us. The fish and special of the evening were outstanding. Great flavors. We had the trout mousse and the crab au gratin for appetizers and these were great also. Overall, affordable, not too noisy, a lovely waitron, and great food. Most enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.