HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Sun, 2/25
Time
10:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today

Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland

4.6
1046 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date (23)
  • Neighborhood Gem (20)
  • Fit for Foodies (17)
Jezebel Magazine - #35 of the TOP 100 restaurants in Atlanta
Highest Ranking Seafood Restaurant in the TOP 100
Atlanta Magazine - Highest ranked seafood restaurant in Atlanta
Yelp - 4 Star Rating

GOIN' COASTAL is a sustainable seafood joint. We feature only the highest quality seafood from sources, either fished or farmed that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. So why does this matter?

1. With over 75% of the world fisheries either fully fished or over fished, we believe the choices we make will help to enhance the seafood marketplace for all consumers.

2. Sustainable fishing practices are not only environmentally responsible they yield the highest quality seafood.

Thank you for supporting the sustainable seafood movement by GOIN COASTAL. Now, stop surfing the web and come eat some great seafood!
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(404) 941-9117
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Zach Kell
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
North Highland
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We offer free parking just down the street at Highland Hardware. Our spots are free to you, the guest and are clearly marked.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

GOIN'COASTAL features only the highest quality seafood from sources either fished or farmed, that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. Treat your guests to a dining experience that is delicious and executed with the earth in mind.

View Private Dining Details
What 1046 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6  based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Atlanta)
4.0  Dined on February 18, 2018

Yep, this is the place to go for seafood. There must have been at least eight different types of fish on the menu. Get here early, otherwise you are sure to miss out on a particular fish. Once it is gone, it's gone. Everything is fresh and hot when it comes out of the kitchen. The staff is friendly and most accommodating. We had the crab and shrimp dip as our appetizer and it was ourstanding! Get it when you come. If you like some spice and a little heat, then the blackened fish is the best. You will nor be disappointed, Coastal comes in second.

Report
Helpful
cjeffer2 (Atlanta)
5.0  Dined on February 18, 2018

One of the best low country boil!
Daily fish selection was also fresh and delicious!

Report
Helpful
vipGood2 (Jacksonville)
5.0  Dined on February 17, 2018

Excellent service, outstanding food

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Jacksonville)
5.0  Dined on February 17, 2018

We had a great time. Everything is the best!

Report
Helpful
Newmanj1 (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on February 17, 2018

We ordered the baked oysters which were very good. I ordered the low country boil and my girlfriend ordered the stuffed chicken. They served my girlfriends meal to the table next to us. It took around 15 minutes for her food to get to our table, but it was very good and they took care of our entrees and gave her a free drink. The food was very good and our server was very nice and apologetic.

Report
Helpful
OscarT 
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Excellent service and food, inexpensive bottle of wine, but small overpriced portions.

Report
Helpful
Jimbo (Atlanta)
4.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Very good. My wife and I enjoyed it immensely. Great place for a special Valentine dinner. Service very good as well

Report
Helpful
Wonderful (Atlanta)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Exceeded our expectations. Very casual, comfortable atmosphere and the seafood was better than most more expensive places we've been. We started with the calamari and it was lightly breaded and cooked perfectly...so tender. We each chose from their fresh catches. She had the Arctic char in their Autumn preparation and she loved it. I had the stripped bass in their Coastal preparation, along with a side of pimento cheese grits, and it was seasoned and cooked perfectly. Our server was very attentive and helpful with our menu choices. We will be back soon!

Report
Helpful
JerryJ (Atlanta)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

I took my girlfriend here on a date the day BEFORE Valentines because it was actually the one year anniversary of our first date, so that seemed like a way to celebrate both occasions at once. We sat near the open kitchen next to a window, and it was a romantic setting for our meal and evening. The staff was very attentive, the food was fabulous and fresh, and the atmosphere casual and fun but also perfect for dressing up. We'll definitely go back again.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Atlanta)
3.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

So loud that you can’t hear the person across a tiny table, packed in like sardines. We could hear every word of the conversations on each side of us. Had to wait about 10 mins for any service. Fish was good and fresh, but atmosphere was awful and cheap feeling. We don’t feel the need to return.

Report
Helpful
DDATL (Atlanta)
3.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Went here years ago (~7 years) and loved it. Went this weekend and was honestly quite disappointed and underwhelmed! Ordered the yellowtail tuna miso-style. Miso style was advertised as having bok choy and mixed vegetables, but when I was served, only had raw spinach randomly sprinkled in. Texture was strange and taste was off. The lobster mac and cheese side was basically just mac and cheese with a tiny bit of lobster... another disappointment for a $12 side. Restaurant wasn't busy at all as we had an early reservation, but still seemed to take entirely too long for waitress to bring drinks and extra condiments that were requested. Had to remind the waitress for things that we had requested. Ambiance was great as were the oysters - but for a meal over $120 for two, was very underwhelmed. :(

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Atlanta)
4.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

The food was awesome! Loved the liw country boil and shrimp and grits.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Atlanta)
3.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

This past weekend was the second visit to Goin Coastal that our baked oyster appetizer was served cold. Additionally, I had steamed mussels for my dinner which were served room temperature. The manager compted the baked oysters and I didn’t bother to complain about the mussels. So disappointing because the food here use to be so good. Not sure we will return.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Atlanta)
4.0  Dined on February 6, 2018

Always love going to this spot. It’s good every time and my wife really enjoys getting the lobster Mac and cheese. Sweet waitresses.

Report
Helpful
FelixS (Atlanta)
2.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

We went for a casual night out.
We have dined here before and the food was great.
Tonight the food was awful. It was so salty we couldn't eat it.
The entre's came when we had just gotten the salads.
The entire dinner was a disaster.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Atlanta)
4.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

Got seated right away, nice funky ambience, server was knowledgeable & friendly, although she was pretty busy. Appetizers, calamari was pretty typical, nothing special or different, Chesapeake oysters were good, although overpriced (dozen raw oysters, $28); main entrees were very good, especially the Coastal seasoned Mahi; my wife’s fried seafood platter was heavy on the French fries; dessert (creme brûlée ) was delicious. I thought $8 for a draft (Tropicalia) was a bit much as well.
Overall, we had a nice meal but for over $200 (including tip) for three of us (total two glasses of wine, two beers), I thought it was overpriced.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on February 2, 2018

We sat at the bar; Melissa and Jeff were great behind the bar. They knew the food and liked the food. Refreshing to not just get a "everything is good" canned response. The fish was fresh and delicious. The arugala and crab salad was amazing. The atmosphere was relaxing. It was the perfect place for a Friday dinner after a long hard week. We'll be back!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Greensboro)
5.0  Dined on January 31, 2018

If you appreciate excellent seafood, this place should be near the top of your list for Atlanta dining.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Atlanta)
5.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

Great service and delicious food!
Friendly neighborhood gathering place!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Atlanta)
4.0  Dined on January 25, 2018

Shrimp primavera was pretty good. Service was excellent...drinks were very well blended

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
53