Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland

4.6
1091 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for a Date
  • Creative Cuisine
Jezebel Magazine - #35 of the TOP 100 restaurants in Atlanta
Highest Ranking Seafood Restaurant in the TOP 100
Atlanta Magazine - Highest ranked seafood restaurant in Atlanta
Yelp - 4 Star Rating

GOIN' COASTAL is a sustainable seafood joint. We feature only the highest quality seafood from sources, either fished or farmed that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. So why does this matter?

1. With over 75% of the world fisheries either fully fished or over fished, we believe the choices we make will help to enhance the seafood marketplace for all consumers.

2. Sustainable fishing practices are not only environmentally responsible they yield the highest quality seafood.

Thank you for supporting the sustainable seafood movement by GOIN COASTAL. Now, stop surfing the web and come eat some great seafood!
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(404) 941-9117
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Zach Kell
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
North Highland
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We offer free parking just down the street at Highland Hardware. Our spots are free to you, the guest and are clearly marked.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

GOIN'COASTAL features only the highest quality seafood from sources either fished or farmed, that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. Treat your guests to a dining experience that is delicious and executed with the earth in mind.

View Private Dining Details
What 1091 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

GREAT SPOT FOR A LATE SPRING DINNER

Two us had the shrimp and grits, which is a great standby for a warm evening in Virginia Highland. If you don't order the crab dip as an appetizer, then you are missing a real treat. It comes with light toasted bread which is ideal for dipping in the piping hot crabmeat.

Ours server was very efficient and friendly. The drinks were creative and refreshing. I will be back again and again

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

The new menu since our visit awhile back is a bit confusing and only got more so when we asked some questions. However, the food was good and the drinks were excellent!
Early dinner on a Wednesday evening and were taking our time but felt a little rushed to put our orders in.
Celebrating a MAJOR birthday and although they new that info, there was a small chalkboard saying happy birthday on our table but no birthday dessert or anything?
Perhaps if we were regulars it may have been different but off of our list as a place to go for a special occasion dinner.
Somewhat disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We had An amazing time and the manager accommodated me for the surprise Father’s Day dinner I planned and my waitress was amazing, I wish I remembered her name

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

The service was excellent and the food was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

I’ve been several times and never had a bad experience. Goin Coastal is quietly one of the best dining experiences in ATL. Great food, wine, cocktails, and service.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 6 days ago

The menu changed for the worse. The food was uninspired and served cold. Worst of all, our corner of the restaurant was swarming with fruit flies, which our server acknowledged. It made the entire meal utterly disgusting. We will never return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

The food was bland and menu was limited. The waiter was nice and knowledgeable about the foods.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Neighborhood gem never disappoints. Love sitting at the bar and enjoying a glass of wine before the wonderful seafood meal.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 24, 2018

We made reservations to celebrate my sister’s birthday.
Quite possibility the worst dinning experience we have ever had.
We were seated at 7:30 pm.
Drink order taken at 7:40 pm.
Drinks came at 7:50 pm
Food order taken at 8:00 pm
At 8:15 we were advised they were out of the swordfish my sister ordered. She asked for the halibut. They were out of halibut. So she asked for salmon.
Sensing food was going to take a bit longer we requested my little nephew’s chicken fingers and fries be brought out. They obliged.
At 8:25 I was advised they were out of the risotto that was to accompany my scallops. Since I did not like any of the other sides, I opted for the scallops to be served with Caesar salad.
Note: The restaurant opens at 5:00 pm.
While all this was going on we still did not have the straws we asked our server for. So we then asked the manager for some straws. She was nice enough to bring two straws for a party of four.
At 8:30 the manager brought us complimentary shrimp bruschetta. The bread was so thick that the shrimp seemed an afterthought. I don’t eat shrimp anyway.
Our dishes finally arrived at 8:45 pm.
My wife tasted and pushed back her shrimp & grits. Not good. Manager returned to the table 5 minutes later to apologize saying she tried it and agreed it was way too salty.
The “caesar salad” I received consisted of two small heads of romaine, base removed, drizzled with some dressing and sprinkled with shaved Parmesan. The blackened scallops were thin and over-seasoned. Disappointing.
The salmon my sister ordered was seasoned well but over-cooked.
We called it quits at that point. No we would not like to-go boxes.
The only person who enjoyed their meal was my nephew.
Who would have thought the best dish we received at a seafood restaurant was chicken fingers and french fries.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 24, 2018

The food was good, but not a fan of the new menu. The choices of presentation were part of what set you apart...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Well prepared fresh seafood, friendly attentive service, fun atmosphere, plus 12 oysters (very small, but go down easily with beer or wine) for $5 on Wednesday nights.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We were looking for someplace new and different to have dinner with our couple friends - a place that was not too ‘fru-fru’, as my girlfriend stated. We found exactly what we were looking for at Goin’ Coastal. It was a nice community gem in VA Highlands. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable about the menu and daily specials.

My sweetie enjoyed his fish meal, but I was somewhat disappointed in my blackened monkfish. The portion size of my fish was as long as my index finger and the fish tasted very bland. The manager acknowledged my disappointment in the size of my fish and requested an additional piece, which was about the size of my thumb print.

All in all, the ambiance, service, food and beverages were good, but I was disappointed in the size and lack of flavor of my fish.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

This dinner was the best we have had at Goin" Coastal in quite a while. Every single thing about it was better, oyters, drinks and food for four. Every morsel on every plate was as superb as any seafood anywhere, especially Atlanta, most especially the immediate area which is for seafood amatuers only. Having a real mamanger who cares makes the difference. We dine here often for 8 years. This was the finest evening .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

We sat at the bar-my family and I which is normal for us. Our bartender was phenomenal despite me forgetting her name. I gave them five stars for service,drinks,scenery and food. BTW the drink called "Smash" was divine and healthy.
SJW

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Had a great experience for a Mother's Day dinner! The fish and king grabs were very yummy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Staff was fantastic and the food excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Our waiter was great, food great. All
In all great all the way.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Service was non existent. Server started to take our order and got distracted by another table and just walked away. As a result missed hearing some of our order. Ordered raw oysters and was missing one of the oysters. We cut our dinner short and ended at the appetizers and went to eat our entree somewhere else. The server was oblivious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Every meal is cooked perfectly. I do not know how they do it, but anything I have ordered has been cooked to the perfect flavor, and temperature. The food is always very good and everyone at the table always says the same thing. I have to eat gluten free and it is easy here. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

They are always excellent with both my dietary restrictions and my husband's. Lots of care went into researching dishes for us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Nice dining experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

We went on a date night before going to the High Museum so we arrived early . There wasn't much of a crowd so a waiter was relaxed and attentive. They were willing to prepare a dish not on the menu (blackened scallops as a main course ) which was excellent. We would recommend or happily take friends back with us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Birthday dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Lobster Mac and cheese was delicious. Companion had scallop risotto which was very good. Service was attentive without being obnoxious. Nice selection of cocktails. Will definitely return. Parking at hardware store definitely a bonus in busy Virginia Highland.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Excellently prepared fish, beautiful outside seating watching life in Virginia Highlands. And the best waiter around - Terry!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Service was hard to get. They were out of most of the fresh fish.
If you are gluten free - beware! Even though I put it in my reservation notes and told the server we were still brought an appetizer that had gluten in it. It took a while to find someone to tell and once we did the kitchen had run out of fresh tuna so we ended up leaving since the other item we wanted to order had just run out as well.
I had thought this would be a perfect spot for gluten free dining and I was wrong.
Hopefully service and the kitchen will change for the better soon - it used to be a great spot! I keep trying it again and have been disappointed...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Excellent food and the service was exceptional! The server was very accommodating, friendly, and knowledgeable about the menu. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We always have a great experience when we eat at Goin’ Coastal. The food is great and the service is always on point.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We got there about 10 minutes early Hostess seated us at the bar said she will come and get us up when table was ready 25 minutes later we had to go back to the hostess. she forgot us our food was great and everything else is fine but that was the only problem

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Deliciously prepared sustainable seafood in a popular neighborhood location. I had the cod, prepared "costal style" and my dining companion had the shrimp and grits. Both of us thoroughly enjoyed our selections. We shared an order of creviche as a starter. The restaurant was full, even at 9 PM, so I am glad I had an Open Table reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

I’ve wanted to try this place for a very long time. It was well worth the wait......great service, fantastic food and a cool atmosphere. Can’t wait to come back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

The food and the service were outstanding. It always is at this restaurant! Well done.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Very cool little restaurant. The food was fresh, flavorful and delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Oyster Wed was great! What a value...
The too loud reggae music, even tho I honor Bob Marley & love reggae, felt contrived & at an aggressive decibel level... not conducive to my preferred digestion ambiance.
Let me suggest carefully selected, food conducive jazz by masters... so much to choose from.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We arrived to a celebratory notice on our table, pleasant welcome and quick but not rushed service. The choices of fish and preparation style were perfect for our taste. Each of us was very pleased with our choice. The complimentary sides for our1 undecided diner was much appreciated as were the 2 birthday desserts. Great spot for casual but delicious dining.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Food was super lemony, there was so much lemons on my shrimp scampi. I couldn’t even eat it, it was so sour.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Good food and service and fun, laid-back atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 3, 2018

We waited about an hour after our reservation time. There was no room at the bar. No real apology from anyone but the stressed hostess. We were promised “something” complimentary. Got nothing and never saw a manager. Food was good but overpriced. I won’t go back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

I know it sounds crazy, but had really great chicken dish in seafood place. My husband had blackened grouper--said it was very spicy but delish.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2018

Family reunion

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
28