Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

About Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland

Jezebel Magazine - #35 of the TOP 100 restaurants in Atlanta
Highest Ranking Seafood Restaurant in the TOP 100
Atlanta Magazine - Highest ranked seafood restaurant in Atlanta
Yelp - 4 Star Rating

GOIN' COASTAL is a sustainable seafood joint. We feature only the highest quality seafood from sources, either fished or farmed that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. So why does this matter?

1. With over 75% of the world fisheries either fully fished or over fished, we believe the choices we make will help to enhance the seafood marketplace for all consumers.

2. Sustainable fishing practices are not only environmentally responsible they yield the highest quality seafood.

Thank you for supporting the sustainable seafood movement by GOIN COASTAL. Now, stop surfing the web and come eat some great seafood!

1021 Virginia Ave NE
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch 12:00 - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
North Highland

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 941-9117

Website:
http://goincoastalseafood.com/

Parking Details:
We offer free parking just down the street at Highland Hardware. Our spots are free to you, the guest and are clearly marked.

Executive Chef:
Zach Kell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

GOIN'COASTAL features only the highest quality seafood from sources either fished or farmed, that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. Treat your guests to a dining experience that is delicious and executed with the earth in mind.

Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (44)
Good for a Date (35)
Casual (28)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
Healthy (23)
Special Occasion (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Cozy (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Authentic (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Open Kitchen (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Fun (12)
Romantic (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Business Meals (9)
Seasonal (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
People Watching (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Tapas (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Historic (3)
Scenic View (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Great Beer (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
927 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

The seafood paella was dry and overdone and black on the bottom. I thought I ordered shrimp and corn chowder, but there were no shrimp in it and it was loaded with potatoes, so maybe I misunderstood that menu item.
I'll try it again, but I'll just stick to the lobster.

If the food had been better I would have rated the value better.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

I took my husband here for Father's Day diner. We had reservations and were seated immediately upon arriving. The food was good as was the service. This was our first time eating here but we will return. My only complaint is finding a place to park in the area.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

The service we received was outstanding. our waitress was super knowledgeable about the dishes we inquired about. We received our appetizers and drinks without a long wait. The food was exceptional and fresh. I will be recommending to friends and we will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

I was really excited to return to the restaurant as I had been there a few years ago. However things were not as I remembered. The restaurant used to be a little more upscale and for the prices the ambiance and decor left much to be desired. In addition our waitress was nice but did not tell us about the specials or dessert. We asked because we heard her telling the table next to ours about them. Although the food was okay it did not make for a nice Father's Day dinner. We will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant has great seafood. LAURA was our waitress on Father's Day. Her personally was superb and she was very knowledgeable about the menu. LAURA was not afraid to make recommendations. Although we had reservations, the seating for 2 was very tight. And, the other options were high tables in the bar or at the chef table. It actually became amusing watching the servants clever ways of passing by my husband without bumping into his chair. Yes, the aisle tables for 2 is tight. We do plan to go back, however, we pray not to be seated there again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I went for a date. The location is great if you live in the community and can walk there but a little more challenging if you need to park. Upon entering I was met with the scowling face of the hostess (use this word loosely). Not pleasant or even inviting and actually looked like helping me was bothering her. Fast forward to the bad communication, where she neglected to tell me that the only reason I wasn't seated was because she didn't see the second person in my party (who was standing outside). When it was time to be seated we followed behind her like two kids being punished. Our waitress was delightful, I think she may enjoy boxing because everything was "round one, round two" we were pleasantly amused. Waitress was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The mussels, fresh and tasty, the cornbread delicious. I ordered scallops (to die for) but I needed another napkin...Uggh and the only one to ask was the hostess, after an additional scowl she handed it to me (no words just a shove in my direction), I said thanks and she didn't reply...then she flew off (ok that's an exaggeration there was no broom) but off she went. Nonetheless we enjoyed the food, and upon leaving (no goodbye from the hostess) we wondered was the food worth the unpleasant hostess experience. We both agreed it was and hopefully we see a more pleasant hostess next time

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The food is absolutely fabulously fresh and wonderfully prepared. The service is spectacular too. This is a must!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Took a co worker for dinner as he is f on out of state. He love the collards so much he got a second order. Laura did a great job serving us.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Luv this place.. niece in town and took her for first time.. baked oysters were yum, never had before .. mussels and calamari sooo good.. CoastalBowlwell seasoned and two corvinas were just delish.. highly recommend our excellent server, Bettina ... great spot and parking available

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Wonderfully prepared, fresh seafood! Excellent servers! Lobster mac n cheese was a bit overpowered by the cheese; ambient noise was distracting, drinks were just OK; but, we would return and recommend!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Always great service and great fresh fish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food is always excellent. Service better than many four star restaurants. Timing of service is excellent. Food is creative and original. Best seafood in Atlanta.

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Casual, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Tapas, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great food and atmosphere...our server was terrific! Definitely will come back

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Food was not as good as prior visit , the food was cold and from the bread to the main course.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 2, 2017

I have been to Goin' Coastal several times before, and I decided to bring some out of town friends who'd never been. We all enjoyed our meals and the service very much. They commented on what a great, unique dining experience it was.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Great food and super service from Paige. We'll be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 29, 2017

This was my 1st time eating here along w/ my friend as it was her birthday. The service & food were excellent. I definitely recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary after hearing such great things about this restaurant for many years, we find ally made it!! The food, amazing, service, awesome, noise level was extremely high and our 7:45 reservation was seated at 8:15. Very apologetic and accommodating to our needs. We will definitely be back, but with earplugs!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Love the $5 dozen oyster happy hour on Wednesdays. And never had a bad fish plate there yet. Always a treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was exceptional, waitress was very knowledgeable of the menu which boasts super fresh seafood priced to sell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was great and staff was friendly. Be prepared to search for parking. Kitchen ran out of certain dishes by 4pm so go early if celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent service and food atmosphere very casual, Parking is an issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I like visiting this restaurant frequently (3-6/year). If they were open for lunch, I'd visit way more often. Our favorites in Virginia-Highland are Murphy's and Goin' Coastal. Our waiter the other night, Joe, was very friendly and a pleasure. The waitstaff all have been consistently friendly – not the self-important or standoffish type. I greatly enjoy their fish preparations. The only drawback is that the parking meter in front of the place on Virginia Avenue doesn't work well at all.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food! Made the reservation in advance and had no wait even though the place was packed. Fresh fish and the best calamari I've had in Atlanta! Terry was our waiter and did a fantastic job as did everyone from the kitchen to the table! Relaxed atmosphere with a full service bar and no problems accommodating special requests! Thumbs up for sure!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Wood Oven, Gluten Free Options, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Loved it!! The atmosphere and the staff was wonderful. The food was great and well as the prices.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Went here with a group the other night and I am already booking my next reservation. First of all its really cute- great dark wood bar, wood floors and booths! Our waitress was really friendly and the service was on point. But the food oh man! The menu states they get their fish flown in every 36 hours and I believe it everything was so fresh! Everyone agreed - one person had salmon, one had swordfish and the other hamachi and those were all great but my bluefin tuna was outstanding - simply prepared with olive oil salt and pepper over really good couscous- I was completely happy. Appetizers were great too - we had the frito misto, the poke and the octopus with chorizo which was ridiculously good. At the end we all split a peanut butter pie, I would go there just for that!
Shout out to the bar too for some really good creative cocktails- we will be back for sure.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I have visited Goin' Coastal in both locations and thoroughly enjoyed my dinners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My first but not my last visit to this wonderful seafood restaurant! Everything on the menu is appealing and I would like to order and enjoy each and every item! I took the waitress' advice and absolutely loved the seafood risotto for my first experience...The only negative is that parking is difficult since it is located in Virginia-Highlands.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food with a wonderful friend...I haven't been to Va High in years but it was a really good time. I would definitely go back, Goin' Coastal is in the middle of everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent!!! Best seafood place in Druid Hills / Highlands.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Amazing fresh fish selection that changes daily. Servers are very knowledgeable and know how to match fish selections with preparation techniques to maximize flavors. I highly recommend this spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It's been a "go to place" for us since they opened. Excellent seafood options prepared reasonably well. Prices are moderately high but then it seems that most seafood these days commands a premium. I had grouper -- nicely done; my accomplice had crab cake -- not so nicely done -- in fact after two bites, she gave up. It almost tasted as if it was a curry dish although probably not, and, she is not a curry fan. Frankly, it was "off" as compared to past experience. Although I offered to pay for it and have her order something else, the house, to their credit, comped it.

We both had cosmos - now in all fairness, we are cosmo snobs -- gotta use fresh lime juice, Cointreau, and Tito's vodka. After shaking the stew out of it, it should be a pale pink color with ever so small ice crystals on top. Unfortunately, the cosmos were among the worse that we have ever had -- very deep red color, I'd guess too much cranberry and not enough lime juice and probably not shaken sufficiently -- we won't do that again!

Still, in our neighborhood, Goin' Coastal is a fair option and we will go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food is consistently great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We were happy to see that the $5.00 oysters were still available. That's the main reason we wanted to go on a Wednesday. The seafood risotto was wonderful. My husband
did not care for the red fish. But all in all, an enjoyable evening, as always.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Very mediocre experience. Food was OK but overpriced for what was provided. There are too many better places to eat the same type of seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Terry once again made our experience awesome. He explained the specials in detail even though the crowd noise was challenging. We ended up having four courses that were perfectly matching the description either on the menu or told by Terry. The courses were not rushed and the transition from course to course was smooth. The list of fresh fish is always diverse and makes decision making difficult as they all sound delicious. We were celebrating my fiancées birthday and we were surprised with a desert for her. We love this place and will continue to go our selves as well as encouraging others to try this gem out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We had a great time as always!
"The Harvest Moon" was crisp and refreshing
The Oysters were close to perfect !
And the trout with the new Baked preparation was really a hit !paleo perfection!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Excellent, but we got there too late for $5 oysters

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.