Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

About Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland

Jezebel Magazine - #35 of the TOP 100 restaurants in Atlanta
Highest Ranking Seafood Restaurant in the TOP 100
Atlanta Magazine - Highest ranked seafood restaurant in Atlanta
Yelp - 4 Star Rating

GOIN' COASTAL is a sustainable seafood joint. We feature only the highest quality seafood from sources, either fished or farmed that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. So why does this matter?

1. With over 75% of the world fisheries either fully fished or over fished, we believe the choices we make will help to enhance the seafood marketplace for all consumers.

2. Sustainable fishing practices are not only environmentally responsible they yield the highest quality seafood.

Thank you for supporting the sustainable seafood movement by GOIN COASTAL. Now, stop surfing the web and come eat some great seafood!

1021 Virginia Ave NE
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch 12:00 - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
North Highland

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 941-9117

Website:
http://goincoastalseafood.com/

Parking Details:
We offer free parking just down the street at Highland Hardware. Our spots are free to you, the guest and are clearly marked.

Executive Chef:
Zach Kell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

GOIN'COASTAL features only the highest quality seafood from sources either fished or farmed, that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. Treat your guests to a dining experience that is delicious and executed with the earth in mind.

Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (41)
Good for a Date (36)
Casual (33)
See All
Special Occasion (24)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Authentic (15)
Cozy (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Business Meals (13)
Fun (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Romantic (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Seasonal (9)
People Watching (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Tapas (3)
Organic (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
965 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Terry was a great server and made the evening enjoyable overall. However, the paella was so-so (shrimp were good but the mussels hardly had any flavor), 'roasted' potatoes seemed fried, sheepshead was disappointing, and overall, the food seemed lackluster.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Erin our service was super top notch and 5 stars. The hostess was less than friendly or accommodating.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 15, 2017

the menu was outstanding. Presentation was the best. Our server, Daniel was wonderfully attentive and made some really good selections for both wine and food. We will definitely be back !

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great seafood from sustainable sources. Nice drink menu as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Wonderful food! We had two incredible fish dishes! Both specials both amazing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2017

CONTINUES TO ELEVATE SUSTAINABLE SEAFOOD CUISINE

Enjoyed a later evening Saturday meal on a warm summer night. The menu has changed for the season, and we started with the delicious crab and shrimp dip which has never disappointed. The seasonal menu offered a seafood platter which I could not resist--very generous portions of broiled seafood. My partner had the shrimp and grits which was also delectable.

The atmosphere is neighborhood-ish and the location in the very heart of Virginia-Highland is hard to beat. Well kept secret--park at the Highland Hardware lot and tell the valet you are patronizing Goin' Coastal and you will park for free.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

My first visit, but will definitely not be my last!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We first ordered a fish of the day coastal style and it was tasteless. For $30 we didn't feel like it was worth spending the money. Our waiter very graciously replaced our order with the lobster Mac and cheese which was to die for! Very good customer service! Very nice manager, hostess, and wait staff.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Goin' Coastal Va-Hi is one of the best seafood restaurants in Atlanta and, while not exactly inexpensive, you get more than you pay for. Monday whole Maine lobster and Wednesday oyster specials are great values. Servers are the best--attentive without being intrusive. The bar is friendly and fun. We live nearby and go often. It's a neighborhood gem and worth a drive across town.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Bar Seating, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Healthy, People Watching, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Absolutely average. The service was poor. The food was below average and overpriced for the presentation and lack of flavor. Our order was messed up. Our fish was cold and this restaurant has sadly become a waste of a good evening. Such a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Fresh seafood, good experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Hostess didn't say hello or welcome. Odd behavior. Service was slow. Food was good but came out in waves. Not sure what is going on with this place but something has changed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Best seafood in Atlanta!! Always fresh. Staff are friendly. Eat at bar or table for great service, food and cocktails. A real gem in the VaHi neighborhood.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This is one of my all time favorite places my only complaint is that the menu has changed and not in a good way the choices are limited. Before the menu offered more of a selection.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We love Goin' Coastal and enjoy having dinner there every few months. We usually just call ahead and reserve a couple seats at the bar. This past time we took my parents with us and so made a reservation the day before for a table. We enjoyed the usual delicious food and good, personalized service. It was a little loud for my father who wears hearing aids, but otherwise good atmosphere. It can be challenging to find parking as well, but worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Wonderful ambiance, good service and and high quality fish. I like how you can pick your preparation and fish and look forward to trying more combinations. Just know the "summer" prep option is heavy on green olives so you order appropriately.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This place is one to go back to time and time again. Superb menu, fresh fish and upbeat.

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 5, 2017

This is my second time here and come for the $5 oysters on Wednesday night. Need to come to try some of the other delightful items on the menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This was my first time trying Goin Coastal and I'll be back. Great seafood!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great food and fish selection. Service has always been spot-on.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Excellent cuisine and responsive service! A bit noisy due to a full house. Our seating was moved closer to the window--quieter.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Not up to its usual standards - we generally have great service and food but this week food was slow, fish was dry, and service was slow. Maybe just an off night. Otherwise generally pleased with Goin' Coastal. They have great beer selection, fresh fish, great service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great seafood restaurant with fresh daily caught. Love the baked oyster duo! Very tasty! There are quite a few restaurant nearby and the neighborhood is great for a walk in the late afternoon.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Any time we're in Atlanta, we reserve a table at Goin Coastal in the Virginia Highland neighborhood of northeast Atlanta (inside the beltway) for a casual seafood dinner of excellent and fresh fish flown in from all over. We select whatever's freshly delivered from the chalkboard. We've tried all four preparations and enjoy all four. There is plenty room at the bar for solo diners. Waiters are friendly and personable. I wish they were open for lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The GM Scott does a great job ensuring that the seafood is always top notch and that there is always a variety in choices. The chefs do a phenomenal job knowing the right way to do seafood! Also, our favorite server Laura is exceptional! With that being said, everyone there is so attentive and skilled! So glad this gem is in my hood!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great location. Wonderful, quaint restaurant. Unique menu items.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our sever Lora was amazing. Would go back just for her!
But the food was so fresh! The oysters amazing! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent seafood and great service! really enjoyed this find!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 23, 2017

They cook fish to PERFECTION. The food here is far better than at better known seafood restaurants in town. I have eaten there twice, and both times came away thinking that the chef is passionate about putting fresh and innovative seafood dishes on your table.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The experience was excellent. I've been there before and I would recommend it to anyone. Only thing I wish they would do is bring back the the risotto dish back!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Favorite seafood joint in Atlanta! Consistently delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Organic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 19, 2017

The seafood paella was dry and overdone and black on the bottom. I thought I ordered shrimp and corn chowder, but there were no shrimp in it and it was loaded with potatoes, so maybe I misunderstood that menu item.
I'll try it again, but I'll just stick to the lobster.

If the food had been better I would have rated the value better.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I took my husband here for Father's Day diner. We had reservations and were seated immediately upon arriving. The food was good as was the service. This was our first time eating here but we will return. My only complaint is finding a place to park in the area.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The service we received was outstanding. our waitress was super knowledgeable about the dishes we inquired about. We received our appetizers and drinks without a long wait. The food was exceptional and fresh. I will be recommending to friends and we will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Went for Father's Day. It had been a few years since eating here. We live in the neighborhood so we are locals and are used to having plenty of delicious places to choose from. I was glad we went back I was reminded why we liked it so much to begin with! This place is a seafood gem! My fish was amazing- my husband had the Low Country Seafood boil and loved it.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I was really excited to return to the restaurant as I had been there a few years ago. However things were not as I remembered. The restaurant used to be a little more upscale and for the prices the ambiance and decor left much to be desired. In addition our waitress was nice but did not tell us about the specials or dessert. We asked because we heard her telling the table next to ours about them. Although the food was okay it did not make for a nice Father's Day dinner. We will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This restaurant has great seafood. LAURA was our waitress on Father's Day. Her personally was superb and she was very knowledgeable about the menu. LAURA was not afraid to make recommendations. Although we had reservations, the seating for 2 was very tight. And, the other options were high tables in the bar or at the chef table. It actually became amusing watching the servants clever ways of passing by my husband without bumping into his chair. Yes, the aisle tables for 2 is tight. We do plan to go back, however, we pray not to be seated there again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

My husband and I went for a date. The location is great if you live in the community and can walk there but a little more challenging if you need to park. Upon entering I was met with the scowling face of the hostess (use this word loosely). Not pleasant or even inviting and actually looked like helping me was bothering her. Fast forward to the bad communication, where she neglected to tell me that the only reason I wasn't seated was because she didn't see the second person in my party (who was standing outside). When it was time to be seated we followed behind her like two kids being punished. Our waitress was delightful, I think she may enjoy boxing because everything was "round one, round two" we were pleasantly amused. Waitress was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The mussels, fresh and tasty, the cornbread delicious. I ordered scallops (to die for) but I needed another napkin...Uggh and the only one to ask was the hostess, after an additional scowl she handed it to me (no words just a shove in my direction), I said thanks and she didn't reply...then she flew off (ok that's an exaggeration there was no broom) but off she went. Nonetheless we enjoyed the food, and upon leaving (no goodbye from the hostess) we wondered was the food worth the unpleasant hostess experience. We both agreed it was and hopefully we see a more pleasant hostess next time

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food is absolutely fabulously fresh and wonderfully prepared. The service is spectacular too. This is a must!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.