Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

About Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland

Jezebel Magazine - #35 of the TOP 100 restaurants in Atlanta
Highest Ranking Seafood Restaurant in the TOP 100
Atlanta Magazine - Highest ranked seafood restaurant in Atlanta
Yelp - 4 Star Rating

GOIN' COASTAL is a sustainable seafood joint. We feature only the highest quality seafood from sources, either fished or farmed that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. So why does this matter?

1. With over 75% of the world fisheries either fully fished or over fished, we believe the choices we make will help to enhance the seafood marketplace for all consumers.

2. Sustainable fishing practices are not only environmentally responsible they yield the highest quality seafood.

Thank you for supporting the sustainable seafood movement by GOIN COASTAL. Now, stop surfing the web and come eat some great seafood!

1021 Virginia Ave NE
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch 12:00 - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
North Highland

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 941-9117

Website:
http://goincoastalseafood.com/

Parking Details:
We offer free parking just down the street at Highland Hardware. Our spots are free to you, the guest and are clearly marked.

Executive Chef:
Zach Kell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

GOIN'COASTAL features only the highest quality seafood from sources either fished or farmed, that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. Treat your guests to a dining experience that is delicious and executed with the earth in mind.

Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (41)
Good for a Date (32)
Fit for Foodies (26)
See All
Casual (24)
Healthy (20)
Special Occasion (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Cozy (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Fun (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Authentic (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Seasonal (9)
Romantic (9)
People Watching (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Business Meals (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Historic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
892 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

The food is consistently great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

We were happy to see that the $5.00 oysters were still available. That's the main reason we wanted to go on a Wednesday. The seafood risotto was wonderful. My husband
did not care for the red fish. But all in all, an enjoyable evening, as always.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Very mediocre experience. Food was OK but overpriced for what was provided. There are too many better places to eat the same type of seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Terry once again made our experience awesome. He explained the specials in detail even though the crowd noise was challenging. We ended up having four courses that were perfectly matching the description either on the menu or told by Terry. The courses were not rushed and the transition from course to course was smooth. The list of fresh fish is always diverse and makes decision making difficult as they all sound delicious. We were celebrating my fiancées birthday and we were surprised with a desert for her. We love this place and will continue to go our selves as well as encouraging others to try this gem out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We had a great time as always!
"The Harvest Moon" was crisp and refreshing
The Oysters were close to perfect !
And the trout with the new Baked preparation was really a hit !paleo perfection!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Excellent, but we got there too late for $5 oysters

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great drinks and seafood. Cool laid back atmosphere. Will be back.

Tags: , Fun, , ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great restaurant and atmospheric environment very good food and drinks.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was good as expected. Seemed slightly understaffed and not s deal breaker but if you are out of lobster don't charge for lobster if it isn't included. Will go back and recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent food. Comfortable welcoming atmosphere. Great service by Erika and Jeremy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great time. Kind staff. Slightly overpriced for what was offered.

Tags: Fun, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great experience and the food was spot on. Laura (sp) our server was on point. Bash the GM came by and suggested the Tilefish and Tuna plates, which were nice. Would definitely recommend the place. We brought our own wine, which was fine with them, you gotta like that in a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Fabulous brunch and good spicy bloody Mary's!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Thanks for another great evening. Food and service excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The service is amazing. The food is amazing. We go at least every other Friday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The whole experience was fantastic. Our server which I can't recall her name at this time was amazing and took excellent care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Met my best friend for a last minute dinner. I was very lucky to get a table because they are usually booked until late in the evening. T
he mussels are some of the best foot in the city! They always taste very fresh and the broth is unique and delicious. Any of the fish made with the baked preparation is always fantastic.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great location, great food, great bar and great service. We sat in the bar area and enjoyed the Chesapeake oysters, Tuna appetizer and split the Grouper special. Delicious! Full selection of bourbons and beverages. Great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We arrived ahead of our reservation but were seated within minutes. Our waitress took a few minutes to come to the table but then gave us great service throughout the meal. We enjoyed the dip for an appetizer. Grouper special was great. We will be back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Everything was great. I made them aware of our birthday celebration and they did something to help celebrate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Loud but good food and non-intrusive but very present wait staff.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was great atmosphere in scenery was good too

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Goin' Coastal has to be one of the best fish restaurants in town-- terrific options and the best part is that they only purchase sustainable seafood and fish. Had the special -- lobster stuffed flounder and it was divine. It was well worth the price!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Awesome! So happy to find this little gem in the neighborhood. As good as any seafood restaurant i have been to in atlanta.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Wednesday night $5 for 1 dozen oysters was a pleasant surprise - made them our starter. I went with the Grouper with the Skinny preparation which was perfect. My husband went with the bowl, which it's apparently known for. It was good, but lacked the seafood contents it boasts. Not a good value on the particular night.

They've remodeled some, and the flow of the place is much better than it once was.
We'll give it another try.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great food, better service. Very nice night out. Server (Breene) had excellent knowledge of the menu. He gave excellent advice and recommendations were spot on.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We went for my birthday, and everyone cleaned their plates. The food is amazing and the staff is nice and personable. We will be back!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Authentic, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Best kept secret. Great food and service. This was my 2nd time going. They didn't disappoint.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were traveling in Atlanta near Stone Mountain. We found this restaurant on Open Table. We did not realize how long it would take to get from Stone Mountain to the restaurant and we arrived 20 minutes late. This caused our reservation to be canceled by the restaurant's system. When we arrived (without a reservation) the restaurant was completely full. The manager (Scott) went out of his way to work us into a table and was very gracious about the entire affair. He offered us an appetizer because it took a while to find us a table. Once we were seated, the food and service was outstanding. The starters were amazing. We had the scallops starter and it was superb. Our entrées were both well prepared and excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant for both the service and for the food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Entrees:
2 Guests got 2 Fish Dishes had a very good flavor cooked right (baked swordfish).
I got the seafood risotto, rissoto flavor was good,but the shimp & scallops a bit over cooked.
My wife got the crab cake a bit dry & crab was shredded too much not "lumpy"..she had better on previous visit in December. She loved her shoestring fries
appetizers:
Chesapeake oysters..delicious.
Calamari ...delicious.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We were with two persons, one person got a wrong order and when the right order came it was cold and it should have been hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Everything was great! There was a great selection of fish.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We both ordered the fried shrimp plate which was the best outside of Florida beaches. The shrimp was jumbo sized and delicately fried to perfection. We love Virginia Highland Goin' Coastal. Excellent service from personable staff. A wonderful evening.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

A nice place to go have a slightly expensive casual dinner. Not exactly a great place for a date night.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Exceptional as always. I make myself order from the board, knowing that I will be receiving fresh, sustainable fish that can be prepared several innovative ways. I always start with the crab dip, but the oyster appetizers are always a great choice.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Historic, Scenic View, Casual, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Everything was great!

My only complaint is that their online menu was woefully out of date. I did complain about this and I see that this has been fixed - their online menu is now accurate.

Mike, our server, was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Excellent food and service every time I have the opportunity to dine here. The new bar area is beautiful and inviting. I visit Atlanta several times a year, and always try to find time to dine at Goin' Coastal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Monday night Lobster night....Yum!!! Drinks were better than our last visit, noise level was far better than our last visit! Monday night dining out is the best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Open Table - You lied!!! You forced us to make a reservation through you for a table. When we got to the restaurant, there were only two other tables with patrons. It was not full or busy or requiring a $100 credit card deposit to hold a table for our meal. Why should I ever trust Open Table again???

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.