About Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland

1021 Virginia Ave NE
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

Jezebel Magazine - #35 of the TOP 100 restaurants in Atlanta
Highest Ranking Seafood Restaurant in the TOP 100
Atlanta Magazine - Highest ranked seafood restaurant in Atlanta
Yelp - 4 Star Rating

GOIN' COASTAL is a sustainable seafood joint. We feature only the highest quality seafood from sources, either fished or farmed that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. So why does this matter?

1. With over 75% of the world fisheries either fully fished or over fished, we believe the choices we make will help to enhance the seafood marketplace for all consumers.

2. Sustainable fishing practices are not only environmentally responsible they yield the highest quality seafood.

Thank you for supporting the sustainable seafood movement by GOIN COASTAL. Now, stop surfing the web and come eat some great seafood!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch 12:00 - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
North Highland

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 941-9117

Website:
http://goincoastalseafood.com/

Parking Details:
We offer free parking just down the street at Highland Hardware. Our spots are free to you, the guest and are clearly marked.

Executive Chef:
Zach Kell

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp Tacos
Lobster Mac And Cheese
crab cake
shrimp appetizer
Shrimp And Corn Chowder
Shrimp & Crab Dip
Cornbread
Chocolate Bread Pudding
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Basil Lemonade
Peel and Eat Shrimp
Fried
Bacon Wrapped Oystwrs
Low Country Bouillabaisse
Low country platter
Scampi
Seafood Dip
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)
Oysters
jalapeno corn bread pudding
vodka basil limade
Moscow Mule Cocktail
Lobster Tacos
Scallops Over Risotto
Striped Marlin
Maine Lobster Pot Pie Fritters
Goin Coastal Salad
lobster roll

Private Dining

GOIN'COASTAL features only the highest quality seafood from sources either fished or farmed, that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. Treat your guests to a dining experience that is delicious and executed with the earth in mind.

Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Atlanta / Georgia
Seafood
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Virginia Highland ›

Neighborhood Gem (82)
Fit for Foodies (66)
Special Occasion (39)
See All
Good for Groups (26)
Romantic (18)
Hot Spot (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Notable Wine List (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Kid-friendly (4)
Scenic View (3)
Sort By:
Newest
739 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Goin Coastal never lets me down. Always ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Goin Coastal never lets me down. Always a wonderful place to go to. Highly recommend you give it a try!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had been here before and like it, but th ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Had been here before and like it, but this time it was less than average. Had the lobster tail salad to start and the way the server described it was different than what was served. She said the lobster tail had an egg white wash, but it was heavily breaded and really drowned out the lobster flavor. The shrimp and crab dip was way too cheesy at the expense of the seafood flavors. The entrees were good, but not great- we had the shrimp and grits which was very good. My wife's crab cakes were decent, but not great considering the price. Overall, we were disappointed to have gone here for our anniversary.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We went for our anniversary and it was o ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We went for our anniversary and it was our first visit, great food! Definitely will be back! Amazing to get fresh seafood in landlocked Atlanta but can't find it at the beach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was nothing like the website me ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The menu was nothing like the website menu; very limited, no benedicts, for shame!

The wait staff was pleasant but not extremely attentive. The drinks were mediocre as was the

lobster po'boy.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

She crab soup was not only very watery b ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

She crab soup was not only very watery but tasted horrible... sent that back . The shrimp were large and tasty but flash fried almost to a hardness .. a bit over fried. Caesar salad had more croutons than anything else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

AN EVENING ON THE COAST Loved the crab d ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

AN EVENING ON THE COAST

Loved the crab dip. The Tilefish was light and delicious. The server was helpful and made on point suggestions. This place has a total neighborhood vibe, and the atmosphere reflects this. I try to order something different from the chalk boards each visit, which takes me out of my comfort zone and insures my selection will be fresh. Love the new bar area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. Everything that ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was delicious. Everything that we have had from there has been wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had 4 adults & 2 children. Everyone ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had 4 adults & 2 children. Everyone enjoyed their dinner & drinks. The server was great and attentive for a busy Saturday night. We always enjoy our visits!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our 5th time at Goin Coastal in ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This is our 5th time at Goin Coastal in 6 months. We have tried other suggested seafood restaurants and yet nothing compares to GC! We have recommended to all our friends because we know they will never be disappointed with how fresh the fish is and how wonderful the sauces are - not to mention the sides!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and outstanding service. Ev ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Amazing food and outstanding service. Every member of the staff was high energy and very attentive. The food was fresh and delicious!! HIGHLY recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FRESHEST SEAFOOD IN VA HIGHLAND Reservat ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

FRESHEST SEAFOOD IN VA HIGHLAND

Reservations always are advised, even on weekdays. I really like the fact that there are fresh entrees on the chalkboard--like the proverbial box of chocolates, you never know what will be featured on any given day. I find he servers to be well educated on the flavors and preparation. If you are less ambitious, there are standard items on the menu that can be prepared any of several different ways. Goin' Coastal is one of Virginia Highland's classic establishments, meaning a local favorite and unique in its sustainable mission.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service... Arrived early they seat ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great service... Arrived early they seated us with no problems... The people there were nice and the food was awesome I can't wait to go back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We visited the VA Highlands location. Ev ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We visited the VA Highlands location. Everything we had (grouper prepared skinny, yellowfin tuna appetizer and cornbread) was delicious. Our server made sure to let us know immediately that there wasn't much left of the grouper and then ran to put our order in - luckily we ended up getting the last 2 pieces thanks to his quickness. Bartender was also awesome and so friendly. She made a custom drink for my hubby based on what he was looking for and then stopped by our table to introduce herself and to see how it was. Would definitely go again and want to try the Wednesday's oysters special.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit, very impressed! Hostess was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

First visit, very impressed! Hostess was very agreeable to giving us the lovely table in the little window, the service was spot on, and the food very good! Would definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Goin' Coastal is the best!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Goin' Coastal is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing seafood, felt like I was at the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Amazing seafood, felt like I was at the coast eating fresh caught fish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was above average, but the portions on this visit were a little small. This criticism is coming from someone that typically finds restaurants tend to overload your plate, so I'm not a volume eater.

All in all this is a good place and pretty consistent with the quality of their food and service. We will return again.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This is our favorite restaurant in the c ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in the city. Great food, great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was exceptional!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food and service was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great. Food was fresh but no ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was great. Food was fresh but not very flavorful. Nice place but not going to recommend. Just above average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Loved Goin Coastal for my mother's birt ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Loved Goin Coastal for my mother's birthday. Food and service was great and our cocktails were tasty and well made.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed most everything about "Going ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We enjoyed most everything about "Going Coastal" and look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We always go here when in Atlanta and ha ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We always go here when in Atlanta and have recommended to a number of friends and the Wednesday night oyster special is terrific..Always very fresh fish..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were celebrating a family birthday an ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We were celebrating a family birthday and our waiter got into the spirit. He was attentive and knowledgeable about the menu and helped make the evening special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Three of us went for swordfish, salmon a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Three of us went for swordfish, salmon and lobster, respectively - each was cooked perfectly. Starters - baked oysters and salads - were great, too. Prices for food and wine are quite reasonable - we will be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Small'ish restaurant in a popular Va-Hig ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Small'ish restaurant in a popular Va-Highlands neighborhood. Healthy food options and consistently good service. I enjoy meeting friends here and will return many more times.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I met a friend for early dinner on Sunda ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I met a friend for early dinner on Sunday at 4:30. It was quiet with only a few dinners. The fish options were good and the serving was a healthy portion. I would rate it a 7, as I've had a more flavorful trout (this was a bit under-seasoned), but it was fresh and the server was friendly did a great job. I'll go again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The Lobster Mac & Cheese was amazing and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The Lobster Mac & Cheese was amazing and who can beat $1 blackberry mimosas for brunch?! The service was outstanding. All of our questions were answered and we were frequently checked on by our waitress. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time dining at Goin C ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was our first time dining at Goin Coastal. Very easy to find. Parked across the street in paid parking lot six dollars. Which was very reasonable. Seated right away with Open table reservation. Hostess and server were very knowledgeable and friendly. For the appetizer we had crab and shrimp. Which was very good and very fresh. For the entrée I had shrimp and grits. Which was okay. I would recommend getting the shrimp sautéed and not a combination of fried and sautéed along with having the gravy on the side. The gravy did not add anything to the shrimp and grits it actually took away from it. My wife had risotto and fried red snapper. The risotto was not very good it did not look like or taste like risotto. It looked and tasted like chicken and rice. The red snapper was good and very fresh. We had no dessert. Our lovely server gave us some very good tasting cupcakes. I sensed she could tell the risotto wasn't up to par and our disapproval. She was really nice. Overall, on a scale of 1-10. Goin Coastal we both agreed was a 6. Good not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Every time I'm here I always have a rese ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Every time I'm here I always have a reservation set but the people I'm with are always late or extra people come. The staff here still accommodates me. Not to mention, the food has not let me down yet. No matter if you are starving or want something a little lighter they have you covered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed the food and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Really enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Halibut and Lobster mac and cheese were to die for. The salad could have been a meal on its own. Would love to return sometime.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. I eat here on a fairly ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Love this place. I eat here on a fairly regular basis. Always get the same thing. Fish prepared in the "Summer" fashion. "Summer" use to be called "Skinny". It's fish over a bed of couscous with balsamic vinegar and heirloom tomatoes....very pretty presentation. The other night the tomato was sauced and mixed in with the couscous. I wasn't expecting it because it had never been done this way. Maybe someone was experimenting in the kitchen. I was disappointed for the first time since I discovered this place. The fish was great as always but the rest was "off".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

The food tasted amazing and was cooked p ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food tasted amazing and was cooked perfectly. Great selection on seafood. The portion size was a little small for the price. Our server seemed a little clueless, but she was very nice. It's very very casual. Not a bad thing though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My wife and I enjoyed dinner last night. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed dinner last night. The Wednesday happy hour special on oysters was great. We both enjoyed the fresh fish dinner and the craft beer. Our server Daniel was outstanding. We would highly recommed and will be going back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the quality of the food, service ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Enjoyed the quality of the food, service and atmosphere. I would return. One of the city's best values for fresh, well prepared quality seafood. I've been to both this location and Canton. They are both very consistently good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Portions were tiny. Even my scallops we ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Portions were tiny. Even my scallops were much smaller than the neighboring table. 3 small scallops for $27. Mahi was super overcooked. Salad was missing ingredients and with slimy greens. Server was inattentive and not friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Stopped over with my GF to have a few do ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Stopped over with my GF to have a few dozen raw oysters, a couple of beers and some hors d'oeuvres. As usual, excellent service, friendly wait staff and have yet to taste sub par food. Menu is not that varied but the dishes are beyond the norm and excellent quality.

Will definitely go back to enjoy the warm atmosphere, friendly servers and equally friendly patrons.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love that the seafood is sustainable! T ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Love that the seafood is sustainable! The presentation and quality were excellent, and all in our small group enjoyed the selections. The decor and atmosphere were very pleasant, and our server was wonderful. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal well prepared .. The corn ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent meal well prepared .. The corn bread to stare is exceptional.. Mussels were to die for and our entres were low country bowl and halubut.. Both were fresh and presentation was good.. Our server, Bettina was professional and very pleasant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service as usual!!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Excellent food and service as usual!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.