Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

About Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland

Jezebel Magazine - #35 of the TOP 100 restaurants in Atlanta
Highest Ranking Seafood Restaurant in the TOP 100
Atlanta Magazine - Highest ranked seafood restaurant in Atlanta
Yelp - 4 Star Rating

GOIN' COASTAL is a sustainable seafood joint. We feature only the highest quality seafood from sources, either fished or farmed that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. So why does this matter?

1. With over 75% of the world fisheries either fully fished or over fished, we believe the choices we make will help to enhance the seafood marketplace for all consumers.

2. Sustainable fishing practices are not only environmentally responsible they yield the highest quality seafood.

Thank you for supporting the sustainable seafood movement by GOIN COASTAL. Now, stop surfing the web and come eat some great seafood!

1021 Virginia Ave NE
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch 12:00 - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
North Highland

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 941-9117

Website:
http://goincoastalseafood.com/

Parking Details:
We offer free parking just down the street at Highland Hardware. Our spots are free to you, the guest and are clearly marked.

Executive Chef:
Zach Kell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

GOIN'COASTAL features only the highest quality seafood from sources either fished or farmed, that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. Treat your guests to a dining experience that is delicious and executed with the earth in mind.

Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (48)
Good for a Date (36)
Casual (26)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
Healthy (22)
Open Kitchen (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Cozy (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Authentic (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Fun (10)
Seasonal (10)
Romantic (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
People Watching (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Business Meals (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Historic (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Tapas (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
 (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
 (1)
Great Beer (1)
 (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
909 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary after hearing such great things about this restaurant for many years, we find ally made it!! The food, amazing, service, awesome, noise level was extremely high and our 7:45 reservation was seated at 8:15. Very apologetic and accommodating to our needs. We will definitely be back, but with earplugs!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Love the $5 dozen oyster happy hour on Wednesdays. And never had a bad fish plate there yet. Always a treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was exceptional, waitress was very knowledgeable of the menu which boasts super fresh seafood priced to sell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was great and staff was friendly. Be prepared to search for parking. Kitchen ran out of certain dishes by 4pm so go early if celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent service and food atmosphere very casual, Parking is an issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I like visiting this restaurant frequently (3-6/year). If they were open for lunch, I'd visit way more often. Our favorites in Virginia-Highland are Murphy's and Goin' Coastal. Our waiter the other night, Joe, was very friendly and a pleasure. The waitstaff all have been consistently friendly – not the self-important or standoffish type. I greatly enjoy their fish preparations. The only drawback is that the parking meter in front of the place on Virginia Avenue doesn't work well at all.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food! Made the reservation in advance and had no wait even though the place was packed. Fresh fish and the best calamari I've had in Atlanta! Terry was our waiter and did a fantastic job as did everyone from the kitchen to the table! Relaxed atmosphere with a full service bar and no problems accommodating special requests! Thumbs up for sure!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Wood Oven, Gluten Free Options, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Loved it!! The atmosphere and the staff was wonderful. The food was great and well as the prices.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Went here with a group the other night and I am already booking my next reservation. First of all its really cute- great dark wood bar, wood floors and booths! Our waitress was really friendly and the service was on point. But the food oh man! The menu states they get their fish flown in every 36 hours and I believe it everything was so fresh! Everyone agreed - one person had salmon, one had swordfish and the other hamachi and those were all great but my bluefin tuna was outstanding - simply prepared with olive oil salt and pepper over really good couscous- I was completely happy. Appetizers were great too - we had the frito misto, the poke and the octopus with chorizo which was ridiculously good. At the end we all split a peanut butter pie, I would go there just for that!
Shout out to the bar too for some really good creative cocktails- we will be back for sure.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I have visited Goin' Coastal in both locations and thoroughly enjoyed my dinners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My first but not my last visit to this wonderful seafood restaurant! Everything on the menu is appealing and I would like to order and enjoy each and every item! I took the waitress' advice and absolutely loved the seafood risotto for my first experience...The only negative is that parking is difficult since it is located in Virginia-Highlands.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food with a wonderful friend...I haven't been to Va High in years but it was a really good time. I would definitely go back, Goin' Coastal is in the middle of everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent!!! Best seafood place in Druid Hills / Highlands.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Amazing fresh fish selection that changes daily. Servers are very knowledgeable and know how to match fish selections with preparation techniques to maximize flavors. I highly recommend this spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It's been a "go to place" for us since they opened. Excellent seafood options prepared reasonably well. Prices are moderately high but then it seems that most seafood these days commands a premium. I had grouper -- nicely done; my accomplice had crab cake -- not so nicely done -- in fact after two bites, she gave up. It almost tasted as if it was a curry dish although probably not, and, she is not a curry fan. Frankly, it was "off" as compared to past experience. Although I offered to pay for it and have her order something else, the house, to their credit, comped it.

We both had cosmos - now in all fairness, we are cosmo snobs -- gotta use fresh lime juice, Cointreau, and Tito's vodka. After shaking the stew out of it, it should be a pale pink color with ever so small ice crystals on top. Unfortunately, the cosmos were among the worse that we have ever had -- very deep red color, I'd guess too much cranberry and not enough lime juice and probably not shaken sufficiently -- we won't do that again!

Still, in our neighborhood, Goin' Coastal is a fair option and we will go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food is consistently great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We were happy to see that the $5.00 oysters were still available. That's the main reason we wanted to go on a Wednesday. The seafood risotto was wonderful. My husband
did not care for the red fish. But all in all, an enjoyable evening, as always.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Very mediocre experience. Food was OK but overpriced for what was provided. There are too many better places to eat the same type of seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Terry once again made our experience awesome. He explained the specials in detail even though the crowd noise was challenging. We ended up having four courses that were perfectly matching the description either on the menu or told by Terry. The courses were not rushed and the transition from course to course was smooth. The list of fresh fish is always diverse and makes decision making difficult as they all sound delicious. We were celebrating my fiancées birthday and we were surprised with a desert for her. We love this place and will continue to go our selves as well as encouraging others to try this gem out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We had a great time as always!
"The Harvest Moon" was crisp and refreshing
The Oysters were close to perfect !
And the trout with the new Baked preparation was really a hit !paleo perfection!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Excellent, but we got there too late for $5 oysters

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great drinks and seafood. Cool laid back atmosphere. Will be back.

Tags: , Fun, , ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great restaurant and atmospheric environment very good food and drinks.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was good as expected. Seemed slightly understaffed and not s deal breaker but if you are out of lobster don't charge for lobster if it isn't included. Will go back and recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent food. Comfortable welcoming atmosphere. Great service by Erika and Jeremy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great time. Kind staff. Slightly overpriced for what was offered.

Tags: Fun, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great experience and the food was spot on. Laura (sp) our server was on point. Bash the GM came by and suggested the Tilefish and Tuna plates, which were nice. Would definitely recommend the place. We brought our own wine, which was fine with them, you gotta like that in a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Fabulous brunch and good spicy bloody Mary's!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Thanks for another great evening. Food and service excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The service is amazing. The food is amazing. We go at least every other Friday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The whole experience was fantastic. Our server which I can't recall her name at this time was amazing and took excellent care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Met my best friend for a last minute dinner. I was very lucky to get a table because they are usually booked until late in the evening. T
he mussels are some of the best foot in the city! They always taste very fresh and the broth is unique and delicious. Any of the fish made with the baked preparation is always fantastic.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great location, great food, great bar and great service. We sat in the bar area and enjoyed the Chesapeake oysters, Tuna appetizer and split the Grouper special. Delicious! Full selection of bourbons and beverages. Great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We arrived ahead of our reservation but were seated within minutes. Our waitress took a few minutes to come to the table but then gave us great service throughout the meal. We enjoyed the dip for an appetizer. Grouper special was great. We will be back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Everything was great. I made them aware of our birthday celebration and they did something to help celebrate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Loud but good food and non-intrusive but very present wait staff.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was great atmosphere in scenery was good too

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Goin' Coastal has to be one of the best fish restaurants in town-- terrific options and the best part is that they only purchase sustainable seafood and fish. Had the special -- lobster stuffed flounder and it was divine. It was well worth the price!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Awesome! So happy to find this little gem in the neighborhood. As good as any seafood restaurant i have been to in atlanta.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.