About Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland

1021 Virginia Ave NE
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

Jezebel Magazine - #35 of the TOP 100 restaurants in Atlanta
Highest Ranking Seafood Restaurant in the TOP 100
Atlanta Magazine - Highest ranked seafood restaurant in Atlanta
Yelp - 4 Star Rating

GOIN' COASTAL is a sustainable seafood joint. We feature only the highest quality seafood from sources, either fished or farmed that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. So why does this matter?

1. With over 75% of the world fisheries either fully fished or over fished, we believe the choices we make will help to enhance the seafood marketplace for all consumers.

2. Sustainable fishing practices are not only environmentally responsible they yield the highest quality seafood.

Thank you for supporting the sustainable seafood movement by GOIN COASTAL. Now, stop surfing the web and come eat some great seafood!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch 12:00 - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
North Highland

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 941-9117

Website:
http://goincoastalseafood.com/

Parking Details:
We offer free parking just down the street at Highland Hardware. Our spots are free to you, the guest and are clearly marked.

Executive Chef:
Zach Kell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp Tacos
Lobster Mac And Cheese
crab cake
shrimp appetizer
Shrimp And Corn Chowder
Shrimp & Crab Dip
Cornbread
Chocolate Bread Pudding
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Basil Lemonade
Peel and Eat Shrimp
Fried
Bacon Wrapped Oystwrs
Low Country Bouillabaisse
Low country platter
Scampi
Seafood Dip
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)
Oysters
jalapeno corn bread pudding
vodka basil limade
Moscow Mule Cocktail
Lobster Tacos
Scallops Over Risotto
Striped Marlin
Maine Lobster Pot Pie Fritters
Goin Coastal Salad
lobster roll

Private Dining

GOIN'COASTAL features only the highest quality seafood from sources either fished or farmed, that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. Treat your guests to a dining experience that is delicious and executed with the earth in mind.

Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Atlanta / Georgia
Seafood
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Virginia Highland ›

Neighborhood Gem (73)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Special Occasion (33)
See All
Good for Groups (20)
Romantic (18)
Good for a Date (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Casual (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Cozy (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Authentic (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Scenic View (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Seasonal (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Healthy (3)
Business Meals (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fun (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
People Watching (2)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
757 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious fresh seafood and fish. We fea ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious fresh seafood and fish. We feasted and celebrated a birthday on a Monday Night!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

After thirty years me and the wife is st ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

After thirty years me and the wife is still dating and our best date yet was Goin Coastal . The whole experience was a total pleasure from parking the car to walking to the Resturant, to being seated was delightful. But the pleasure really started when our waitress showed up and said hi l.m Carla and will be talking care out tonight and taking care of us is what she did. The place was packed with people but never once did we feel neglected or left out and I could see she had a foul load of customers but she was amazing. She gave easy of us equal attention and we all loved her. Now about the meal she broughtout some cornbread squares and water to snack on, we though It was jalapeño breads but it was not but we ate it any way the butter was Devine. I order the sea food boil with crab legs and my wife had her usual when we go to seafood place's the crab cakes which had three crab cakes made of total lump crab and a little binder top hold it together which made my wife announce "now this is a real crab cake" . My sea food boil was on the money every thing was fresh and succulent. For dessert we shared a peach cobbler cheesecake to die for. We had the best time and I have to mention the people dinning were so very cordial and friendly it felt like setting down withe family .

John B

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food choices. The waiter was very ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food choices. The waiter was very helpful and provided good suggestions.

The crab and shrimp dip was worth going by itself.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dined at 6p. Everything was excellent. S ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Dined at 6p. Everything was excellent. Server was very knowledgeable and helpful. We shared crab cakes for appetizer- outstanding with a touch of ginger. Cornbread was delicious. Entrees were Amberjack and Salomon. Everything was fresh tasting and seasoned well. Food was served hot. Shared key lime pie dessert; also very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

There are only a few great seafood resta ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

There are only a few great seafood restaurants in Atlanta I frequent and Going Coastal is one. Wonderfully fresh seafood, consciously sourced to be sustainable and prepared perfectly time and time again. New larger space in VA Highlands now too!

The lobster Mac and Cheese is decadent and defies hyperbole. The fish and oysters are always on point too. You won't be disappointed but do expect to pay a little more for quality.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We often go to both Going Coastals, as w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We often go to both Going Coastals, as we live in Milton. We hope soon there will be one have way between near us! Crabbapple!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

AMAZING food! The Ahi appetizer was soo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

AMAZING food! The Ahi appetizer was soooo good we ordered two!! Our party had the filet, crab legs, lobster Mac (unbelievable) and scallop risotto. The sides were incredible. We will be going back!!! They were out of oysters due to the truck forgetting them, so we will try next time!!

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have tried this place before and quali ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I have tried this place before and quality use to be better. For example, the crab & shrimp dip use to be very chunky and full of flavor. This time it was mostly cheese. I ordered the tuna and while the seasoning tasted good, the mashed potato side tasted very artificial. Overall, I feel this place use to be better and at least this time it didn't leave to expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great fresh seafood! Small quiet restau ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great fresh seafood! Small quiet restaurant with very attentive wait staff. Great for adult small groups. Will return.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our first time there, and it was for our ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Our first time there, and it was for our anniversary. We loved it! and will definitely be back!! My only word of caution is that the online (web) menu from their website is outdated. (new menu) subsequently we were disappointed that we couldn't get a lobster roll at dinner. But we had shrimp, scallops and the yellow fin tuna, all delicious. Just update your website please. We got our lobster roll fix though, the next day, at BeetleCat, it was DELICIOUS!!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our server and the bartender were great! ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Our server and the bartender were great! Great recommendations on food and drinks, and great service!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BEST SEAFOOD IN ATLANTA Sustainable, fre ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

BEST SEAFOOD IN ATLANTA

Sustainable, fresh seafood is always my first choice in selecting a seafood restaurant. Goin' Coastal meets all of this criteria and more. Walk in the door and you get the feeling you are dining in a true neighborhood establishment. It's a great place to try something new, and the servers are capable of making informed, honest suggestions. People who advise that there is no parking are uninformed that HIGHLAND WOODWORKING has a number of spots reserved specially for Goin' Coastal patrons. Just mention this to the attendant and you won't be charged.

Tags: Healthy, Great Beer, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Bar Seating, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent coastal bowl. Prices rather hi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent coastal bowl. Prices rather high though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service was excellent but unfortunately ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Service was excellent but unfortunately some of the food fell short of e pec rations. Fish in Bol Chou was amazing'. Highly recommend that! Being from Va and MD, I was very disappointed in she crab soup. I've had much better. My husband didn't care for his lobster roll. Maybe it was off day. Willing to give it another try bc my swordfish was yummy and so was my son's fried shrimp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

This is our 7th time eating at Goin Coas ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This is our 7th time eating at Goin Coastal in less than a year! We go to other recommended seafood restaurants or restaurants that supposedly have great seafood and we cannot find any restaurant that has fresher and better tasting seafood. We recommend to all our friends. This time we met a couple of friends who had heard our hype and they thoroughly said it lived up to our boasting if the best fish in the city!

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great seafood - had the Tuna Poke and Cr ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great seafood - had the Tuna Poke and Crab cakes which were both great starters and very good. My main course was Opah in a miso sauce with vegetables. It was large portion of fish and very tender and tasty. Capped it off with key lime pie that was great finishing touch. Our waiter was very informative and attentive. We will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great, as always. We were, howe ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Food was great, as always. We were, however, disappointed that a few of our favorite beers and wines - on the menu - were unavailable. Hope that was a one-time occurance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation but still had to wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a reservation but still had to wait. It also seemed like they were short staffed because it took a long time to see our waiter. It's a little pricey for seafood but if it's as fresh as they claim then it's worth it for the cost of shipping.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Goin Coastal never lets me down. Always ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Goin Coastal never lets me down. Always a wonderful place to go to. Highly recommend you give it a try!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had been here before and like it, but th ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Had been here before and like it, but this time it was less than average. Had the lobster tail salad to start and the way the server described it was different than what was served. She said the lobster tail had an egg white wash, but it was heavily breaded and really drowned out the lobster flavor. The shrimp and crab dip was way too cheesy at the expense of the seafood flavors. The entrees were good, but not great- we had the shrimp and grits which was very good. My wife's crab cakes were decent, but not great considering the price. Overall, we were disappointed to have gone here for our anniversary.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We went for our anniversary and it was o ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We went for our anniversary and it was our first visit, great food! Definitely will be back! Amazing to get fresh seafood in landlocked Atlanta but can't find it at the beach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was nothing like the website me ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The menu was nothing like the website menu; very limited, no benedicts, for shame!

The wait staff was pleasant but not extremely attentive. The drinks were mediocre as was the

lobster po'boy.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

She crab soup was not only very watery b ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

She crab soup was not only very watery but tasted horrible... sent that back . The shrimp were large and tasty but flash fried almost to a hardness .. a bit over fried. Caesar salad had more croutons than anything else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

AN EVENING ON THE COAST Loved the crab d ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

AN EVENING ON THE COAST

Loved the crab dip. The Tilefish was light and delicious. The server was helpful and made on point suggestions. This place has a total neighborhood vibe, and the atmosphere reflects this. I try to order something different from the chalk boards each visit, which takes me out of my comfort zone and insures my selection will be fresh. Love the new bar area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. Everything that ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was delicious. Everything that we have had from there has been wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had 4 adults & 2 children. Everyone ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had 4 adults & 2 children. Everyone enjoyed their dinner & drinks. The server was great and attentive for a busy Saturday night. We always enjoy our visits!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our 5th time at Goin Coastal in ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This is our 5th time at Goin Coastal in 6 months. We have tried other suggested seafood restaurants and yet nothing compares to GC! We have recommended to all our friends because we know they will never be disappointed with how fresh the fish is and how wonderful the sauces are - not to mention the sides!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and outstanding service. Ev ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Amazing food and outstanding service. Every member of the staff was high energy and very attentive. The food was fresh and delicious!! HIGHLY recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FRESHEST SEAFOOD IN VA HIGHLAND Reservat ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

FRESHEST SEAFOOD IN VA HIGHLAND

Reservations always are advised, even on weekdays. I really like the fact that there are fresh entrees on the chalkboard--like the proverbial box of chocolates, you never know what will be featured on any given day. I find he servers to be well educated on the flavors and preparation. If you are less ambitious, there are standard items on the menu that can be prepared any of several different ways. Goin' Coastal is one of Virginia Highland's classic establishments, meaning a local favorite and unique in its sustainable mission.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service... Arrived early they seat ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great service... Arrived early they seated us with no problems... The people there were nice and the food was awesome I can't wait to go back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We visited the VA Highlands location. Ev ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We visited the VA Highlands location. Everything we had (grouper prepared skinny, yellowfin tuna appetizer and cornbread) was delicious. Our server made sure to let us know immediately that there wasn't much left of the grouper and then ran to put our order in - luckily we ended up getting the last 2 pieces thanks to his quickness. Bartender was also awesome and so friendly. She made a custom drink for my hubby based on what he was looking for and then stopped by our table to introduce herself and to see how it was. Would definitely go again and want to try the Wednesday's oysters special.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit, very impressed! Hostess was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

First visit, very impressed! Hostess was very agreeable to giving us the lovely table in the little window, the service was spot on, and the food very good! Would definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Goin' Coastal is the best!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Goin' Coastal is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing seafood, felt like I was at the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Amazing seafood, felt like I was at the coast eating fresh caught fish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was above average, but the portions on this visit were a little small. This criticism is coming from someone that typically finds restaurants tend to overload your plate, so I'm not a volume eater.

All in all this is a good place and pretty consistent with the quality of their food and service. We will return again.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This is our favorite restaurant in the c ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in the city. Great food, great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was exceptional!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food and service was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great. Food was fresh but no ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was great. Food was fresh but not very flavorful. Nice place but not going to recommend. Just above average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Loved Goin Coastal for my mother's birt ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Loved Goin Coastal for my mother's birthday. Food and service was great and our cocktails were tasty and well made.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed most everything about "Going ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We enjoyed most everything about "Going Coastal" and look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.