About Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland

1021 Virginia Ave NE
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

Jezebel Magazine - #35 of the TOP 100 restaurants in Atlanta
Highest Ranking Seafood Restaurant in the TOP 100
Atlanta Magazine - Highest ranked seafood restaurant in Atlanta
Yelp - 4 Star Rating

GOIN' COASTAL is a sustainable seafood joint. We feature only the highest quality seafood from sources, either fished or farmed that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. So why does this matter?

1. With over 75% of the world fisheries either fully fished or over fished, we believe the choices we make will help to enhance the seafood marketplace for all consumers.

2. Sustainable fishing practices are not only environmentally responsible they yield the highest quality seafood.

Thank you for supporting the sustainable seafood movement by GOIN COASTAL. Now, stop surfing the web and come eat some great seafood!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch 12:00 - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
North Highland

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 941-9117

Website:
http://goincoastalseafood.com/

Parking Details:
We offer free parking just down the street at Highland Hardware. Our spots are free to you, the guest and are clearly marked.

Executive Chef:
Zach Kell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

GOIN'COASTAL features only the highest quality seafood from sources either fished or farmed, that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. Treat your guests to a dining experience that is delicious and executed with the earth in mind.

Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Atlanta / Georgia
Seafood
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Virginia Highland ›

neighborhood gem (100)
fit for foodies (78)
special occasion (38)
See All
romantic (28)
good for groups (20)
great for brunch (17)
hot spot (16)
notable wine list (15)
vibrant bar scene (13)
late-night find (11)
great for lunch (9)
scenic view (6)
kid-friendly (6)
 (3)
 (3)
 (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
689 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were fantastic...we ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food and service were fantastic...we will definitely visit again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

This was my 4th time and was somewhat di ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

This was my 4th time and was somewhat disappointed in the entree. Wahoo was very dry and was told that is how it is prepared. But the person sitting next to me at the bar had the same complaint and didn't eat it either. They were sold out of many other options. I got the last salmon which was good. The guy next to me was told it was sold out too.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great atmosphere and excellent fresh sea ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great atmosphere and excellent fresh seafood!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Option for Seafood Restaurant

Dined on May 17, 2016

this restaurant was a nice surprise. We made a reservation but actually since it was the middle of the week, a walk in would probably have been just fine. There were good options for starters and great options for fish and seafood. The food was well prepared and of good quality. We will return to try other selections.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful As Usual

Dined on May 15, 2016

We made a quick last minute decision to eat out on a Sunday evening. Going Coastal is always one of our go to places because the food never disappoints. The sustainably sourced seafood is always well prepared and the service is excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

They have done away with their Sunday br ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

They have done away with their Sunday brunch menu that's online and they only offer a few brunch specials along with their regular menu.

food5
ambience5
service4

Seafood was fresh and very good.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Seafood was fresh and very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our new favorite seafood restaurant in the ATL.

Dined on May 13, 2016

Fried pimento cheese, wreck fish with cheese grits -AMAZING. service was excellent and we will return over and over. It's the perfect date night meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service5

$10+ for a cocktail? C'mon already....

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

$10+ for a cocktail? C'mon already....

food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We love dining at Goin' Coastal but this ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We love dining at Goin' Coastal but this last time was not their best. We came early to insure good service for our elderly parents. In spite of the early hour, our food was not served for over one hour. The Wahoo was tough or overcooked and both my husband and I had ordered it. We asked for my mother's lobster to be prepared so she didn't have to crack it herself. It came whole. We sent it back to the kitchen and we saw it just sitting on the counter prepared for sometime while the rest of us ate our hot meals. My dad's trout looked and tasted superb and we loved the crab shrimp au gratin appetizer. We will definitely return and chalk this up to an unusual night for GC.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Not impressed.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Not impressed. The Crab cakes were mostly filler, about 10 % crab. No good!!!

food4
ambience5
service3

Their entre preparation is outstanding, ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Their entre preparation is outstanding, however their salad was soaked in Caesar dressing making it undesirable. Oysters were fresh and well prepared.

food5
ambience4
service5

The food was awesome! Shrimp and grits, ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was awesome! Shrimp and grits, crab cakes and the shrimp/crab au gratin... and the cornbread had to order more ☺ Service was great too!

food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Not a good place to celebrate Mother's Day.

Dined on May 8, 2016

My son ordered the lobster mac n cheese and loved it. My daughter order the grits said she tasted better. The crab cakes I had was okay at best 18 dollars for 2. My husband was overall disappointed. The place is so loud you can't even hear each other sitting next to the person. They do have fresh food but pricey. This restaurant was not a good place for me to be celebrated as a mom.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyable Dinner

Dined on May 5, 2016

Friends and I met here for dinner on a Thursday evening. It was pretty empty when we arrived at 6:30p, but filled up as the evening went on. The atmosphere is casual. Portion sizes are 6-8oz. for seafood, although I do wish they came with two sides rather than just one. I love that the restaurant sources sustainable seafood and much of it within 1-2 states away. Although the food was good, nothing we ordered stood out to me as exceptional. I would recommend this restaurant for a quality, simply prepared seafood dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious seafood in the Virginia Highlands

Dined on May 2, 2016

It's wonderful having a seafood restaurant in the "neighborhood" that does a terrific job with the food and service. I will be back again soon!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

The seafood was super fresh and dishes w ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The seafood was super fresh and dishes were executed to perfection. Absolutely will be back for more! We will come to the newly opened bar next time. Thanks for a great dinner!

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Out of towners found a local Gem

Dined on April 29, 2016

We were in from out of town and took a flyer on trying to find something that was not cookie cutter. Boy did we hit the bulls-eye ! We really enjoyed the restaurant, our server was well educated on the menu, and the food was delicious. What else can one ask for.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Mike was the server and very personable ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Mike was the server and very personable and accurate

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We went on a Sunday evening a few weeks ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

We went on a Sunday evening a few weeks ago, and the restaurant was full but not packed. The service was extremely slow and I had to ask a few times for the same items. I had the fried seafood platter and the catfish was not that great. The scallops and shrimp were pretty good. Given the prices compared to the quality of the food, I wouldn't go there again.

food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Been before but disappointed...

Dined on April 20, 2016

We have been several time to Goin' Costal and have had good meals for the most part, and decided to go this past Tuesday for a late bite to eat - 830. While I am not a negative reviewer nor a complainer, we felt as though they were not interested in our business, nor even being open that night. The waitress was hurried to get our order, did not ask how the food was, and seemed more interested in getting us home, than allowing us to enjoy our dinner. The food was mediocre at best, and my $26 fish was so salty that I ate less than half. The waitress hurriedly cleared the table, and my half eaten fish, without a word. Ironically the bill took another 20 minutes to appear. We live a 5 minute walk from here but will likely drive or walk other places next time.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great food

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great Staple but service could be better

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

I come here all the time and absolutely love it. The menu, even as it evolves, continues to be absolutely wonderful. My only consistent complaint is the service. It's never bad, per se- I've never had anyone be rude or anything. But sometimes the service can be a bit inattentive and slow, even when they are slammed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SEAFOOD AT ITS SUSTAINABLE BEST

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

I always have a great experience at Goin Coastal and this night was no exception. The daily specials encourage you to try something new; perhaps a selection out of your normal comfort zone. The waitstaff is very knowledgable about each feature, so you can be assured you will be guided to a choice that meets your expectations. The vibe exemplifies the cool sophistication of the Virginia Highland neighborhood, but never stuffy and absent of any pretense. A great choice for an intimate dinner for two or for a larger group.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Lovely staff Pimento cheese fritters we ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

Lovely staff Pimento cheese fritters were great but portion too small to share as an app.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good neighborhhood sea food

Dined on March 27, 2016

Goin' Coastal is a low time Virginia Highland spot that has good sea food and excellent service. The prices are comparable to other good sea food restaurants in Atlanta. While the wine list is relatively short it does contain several interesting selections and the prices are quite reasonable.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Local Favorite!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Some dear friends of ours recommended this restaurant to us a few years ago. With our first visit, we were hooked right away. The food is incredible, always fresh, from the oh-so-delicious crab legs to the deserts. Even better...the team that works there truly goes out of their way to make you feel at home, more than just a valued customer. This is--hands down--one of our favorite dining experiences in Atlanta. Many thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great neighborhood place

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Erica at the bar always takes care of us. Food is consistently good. Great date night

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the seafood here is always great and wel ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

the seafood here is always great and well presented. Terry is a very personable and knowledgeable. we always look forward to the specials and fresh fish varieties that are always a favorite with my fiancé and i. the atmosphere is perfect. definitely one of our new favorite restaurants. i suggest anyone give it a try.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Eating off the coast in midtown

Dined on March 20, 2016

Really good eatery located in Poncey -High large portions, high quality great staff. The catfish is exceptional as was the fish stew with plenty of crustaceans swimming in a tasty sauce. Prices are moderate and fair. Well worth a try , great on Sundays.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place

Dined on March 20, 2016

Where do I begin with this review. I only have great things to say about this place. The food is AMAZING. The wine list is outstanding and the service was unbeatable. Sunday Brunch is also a great time to stop by. $1 mimosa is the special.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always interesting seafood. Fresh and creative!

Dined on March 19, 2016

Our go to place for a relaxed place just a step up. We can cook almost anything but seafood well. All the cook books in the South can't do justice to the outstanding job Coastal does on the grill. Outstanding!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Crab cakes were really good. I wish they ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

Crab cakes were really good. I wish they had raw oysters on the menu. I had the lobster mac and cheese and it was huge. I ate half and took the rest home. It tasted just as great the next day. The service could have been alittle more attentive. However, I will be back since the food was very fresh and good portion size.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!!

Dined on March 11, 2016

Great food and customer service!! Friendly and great hospitality!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is awesome. Some of the best ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

This place is awesome. Some of the best food and services is great. Thanks again.

food5
ambience4
service5

Went for dinner with daughter and my wif ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Went for dinner with daughter and my wife to celebrate my wife's birthday. Dinner was great, service was great and to top it off, was surprised with a piece of ooey gooey butter cake to celebrate!

food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was great!

Dined on March 6, 2016

Our server was great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Seafood

Dined on March 6, 2016

Great Seafood solid spot in the neighborhood to get seafood

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

It's the best place for fresh Seafood.

Dined on March 5, 2016

It's the best place for fresh Seafood.

food5
ambience3
service5

The entire experience was awesome!

Dined on February 28, 2016

The entire experience was awesome!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.