About Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland

1021 Virginia Ave NE
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

Jezebel Magazine - #35 of the TOP 100 restaurants in Atlanta
Highest Ranking Seafood Restaurant in the TOP 100
Atlanta Magazine - Highest ranked seafood restaurant in Atlanta
Yelp - 4 Star Rating

GOIN' COASTAL is a sustainable seafood joint. We feature only the highest quality seafood from sources, either fished or farmed that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. So why does this matter?

1. With over 75% of the world fisheries either fully fished or over fished, we believe the choices we make will help to enhance the seafood marketplace for all consumers.

2. Sustainable fishing practices are not only environmentally responsible they yield the highest quality seafood.

Thank you for supporting the sustainable seafood movement by GOIN COASTAL. Now, stop surfing the web and come eat some great seafood!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch 12:00 - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
North Highland

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 941-9117

Website:
http://goincoastalseafood.com/

Parking Details:
We offer free parking just down the street at Highland Hardware. Our spots are free to you, the guest and are clearly marked.

Executive Chef:
Zach Kell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp Tacos
Lobster Mac And Cheese
crab cake
shrimp appetizer
Cornbread
Shrimp & Crab Dip
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Chocolate Bread Pudding
Shrimp And Corn Chowder
Peel and Eat Shrimp
Basil Lemonade
Fried
Bacon Wrapped Oystwrs
Low Country Bouillabaisse
Low country platter
Seafood Dip
Scampi
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)
Oysters
jalapeno corn bread pudding
vodka basil limade
Moscow Mule Cocktail
Lobster Tacos
Scallops Over Risotto
Striped Marlin
Maine Lobster Pot Pie Fritters
lobster roll
Goin Coastal Salad

Private Dining

GOIN'COASTAL features only the highest quality seafood from sources either fished or farmed, that can exist over the long term without compromising species' survival or the health of the ecosystem. Treat your guests to a dining experience that is delicious and executed with the earth in mind.

Goin' Coastal - Virginia Highland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Atlanta / Georgia
Seafood
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Virginia Highland ›

neighborhood gem (103)
fit for foodies (75)
special occasion (39)
See All
romantic (23)
good for groups (22)
hot spot (16)
notable wine list (14)
great for brunch (12)
vibrant bar scene (10)
great for lunch (8)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
707 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed the food and atmosphere. ...

Dined 3 days ago

Really enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Halibut and Lobster mac and cheese were to die for. The salad could have been a meal on its own. Would love to return sometime.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. I eat here on a fairly ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Love this place. I eat here on a fairly regular basis. Always get the same thing. Fish prepared in the "Summer" fashion. "Summer" use to be called "Skinny". It's fish over a bed of couscous with balsamic vinegar and heirloom tomatoes....very pretty presentation. The other night the tomato was sauced and mixed in with the couscous. I wasn't expecting it because it had never been done this way. Maybe someone was experimenting in the kitchen. I was disappointed for the first time since I discovered this place. The fish was great as always but the rest was "off".

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food tasted amazing and was cooked p ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food tasted amazing and was cooked perfectly. Great selection on seafood. The portion size was a little small for the price. Our server seemed a little clueless, but she was very nice. It's very very casual. Not a bad thing though.

food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I enjoyed dinner last night. ...

Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I enjoyed dinner last night. The Wednesday happy hour special on oysters was great. We both enjoyed the fresh fish dinner and the craft beer. Our server Daniel was outstanding. We would highly recommed and will be going back soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the quality of the food, service ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Enjoyed the quality of the food, service and atmosphere. I would return. One of the city's best values for fresh, well prepared quality seafood. I've been to both this location and Canton. They are both very consistently good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Portions were tiny. Even my scallops we ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Portions were tiny. Even my scallops were much smaller than the neighboring table. 3 small scallops for $27. Mahi was super overcooked. Salad was missing ingredients and with slimy greens. Server was inattentive and not friendly.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Stopped over with my GF to have a few do ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Stopped over with my GF to have a few dozen raw oysters, a couple of beers and some hors d'oeuvres. As usual, excellent service, friendly wait staff and have yet to taste sub par food. Menu is not that varied but the dishes are beyond the norm and excellent quality. Will definitely go back to enjoy the warm atmosphere, friendly servers and equally friendly patrons.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love that the seafood is sustainable! T ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Love that the seafood is sustainable! The presentation and quality were excellent, and all in our small group enjoyed the selections. The decor and atmosphere were very pleasant, and our server was wonderful. We will definitely go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent meal well prepared .. The corn ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent meal well prepared .. The corn bread to stare is exceptional.. Mussels were to die for and our entres were low country bowl and halubut.. Both were fresh and presentation was good.. Our server, Bettina was professional and very pleasant

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service as usual!!

Dined on June 10, 2016

Excellent food and service as usual!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Doin Coastal

Dined on June 9, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Delicious food. Many specialty dishes which are well thought out.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

als

Dined on June 8, 2016

very good food. oysters were great for the price on Wednesday.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service2

Great food! Our server was sub-par but g ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Great food! Our server was sub-par but good experience overall.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Ambiance, Awesome Seafood...

Dined on June 1, 2016

Quaint neighborhood spot for great seafood and good libations. Everything about our visit was top-notch beginning with the hostess, the server, the food, the drinks all the way through the key-lime pie desert. We'll definitely be going back.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Hmmm - not so good

Dined on May 29, 2016

Well, we've eaten at Goin' Coastal quite a few times. We had nice, but slow service. The smoked trout crostini was okay, but not so great. My husband got the swordfish blackened which he loved. I got the cobia blackened - okay, but nothing to write home about. Frankly, I felt it was overdone and the sauteed spinach was only so-so as well. I actually hate to write this as I consider Goin' Coastal a neighborhood gem, but it may need to get more goin' for it to stay in the game.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fresh and exceeded my expec ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was fresh and exceeded my expectations. The waiter that I had knew the menu so she was able to answer questions, personally and not from what she was told. I was supervised there wasn't more of a wait. I'll definitely be back very soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were fantastic...we ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

The food and service were fantastic...we will definitely visit again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

This was my 4th time and was somewhat di ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

This was my 4th time and was somewhat disappointed in the entree. Wahoo was very dry and was told that is how it is prepared. But the person sitting next to me at the bar had the same complaint and didn't eat it either. They were sold out of many other options. I got the last salmon which was good. The guy next to me was told it was sold out too.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great atmosphere and excellent fresh sea ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great atmosphere and excellent fresh seafood!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Option for Seafood Restaurant

Dined on May 17, 2016

this restaurant was a nice surprise. We made a reservation but actually since it was the middle of the week, a walk in would probably have been just fine. There were good options for starters and great options for fish and seafood. The food was well prepared and of good quality. We will return to try other selections.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful As Usual

Dined on May 15, 2016

We made a quick last minute decision to eat out on a Sunday evening. Going Coastal is always one of our go to places because the food never disappoints. The sustainably sourced seafood is always well prepared and the service is excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

They have done away with their Sunday br ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

They have done away with their Sunday brunch menu that's online and they only offer a few brunch specials along with their regular menu.

food5
ambience5
service4

Seafood was fresh and very good.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Seafood was fresh and very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Goin Coastal is on point! I've here times the year, and closer would go every week.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our new favorite seafood restaurant in the ATL.

Dined on May 13, 2016

Fried pimento cheese, wreck fish with cheese grits -AMAZING. service was excellent and we will return over and over. It's the perfect date night meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service5

$10+ for a cocktail? C'mon already....

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

$10+ for a cocktail? C'mon already....

food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We love dining at Goin' Coastal but this ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We love dining at Goin' Coastal but this last time was not their best. We came early to insure good service for our elderly parents. In spite of the early hour, our food was not served for over one hour. The Wahoo was tough or overcooked and both my husband and I had ordered it. We asked for my mother's lobster to be prepared so she didn't have to crack it herself. It came whole. We sent it back to the kitchen and we saw it just sitting on the counter prepared for sometime while the rest of us ate our hot meals. My dad's trout looked and tasted superb and we loved the crab shrimp au gratin appetizer. We will definitely return and chalk this up to an unusual night for GC.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Not impressed.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Not impressed. The Crab cakes were mostly filler, about 10 % crab. No good!!!

food4
ambience5
service3

Their entre preparation is outstanding, ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Their entre preparation is outstanding, however their salad was soaked in Caesar dressing making it undesirable. Oysters were fresh and well prepared.

food5
ambience4
service5

The food was awesome! Shrimp and grits, ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was awesome! Shrimp and grits, crab cakes and the shrimp/crab au gratin... and the cornbread had to order more ☺ Service was great too!

food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Not a good place to celebrate Mother's Day.

Dined on May 8, 2016

My son ordered the lobster mac n cheese and loved it. My daughter order the grits said she tasted better. The crab cakes I had was okay at best 18 dollars for 2. My husband was overall disappointed. The place is so loud you can't even hear each other sitting next to the person. They do have fresh food but pricey. This restaurant was not a good place for me to be celebrated as a mom.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyable Dinner

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Friends and I met here for dinner on a Thursday evening. It was pretty empty when we arrived at 6:30p, but filled up as the evening went on. The atmosphere is casual. Portion sizes are 6-8oz. for seafood, although I do wish they came with two sides rather than just one. I love that the restaurant sources sustainable seafood and much of it within 1-2 states away. Although the food was good, nothing we ordered stood out to me as exceptional. I would recommend this restaurant for a quality, simply prepared seafood dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious seafood in the Virginia Highlands

Dined on May 2, 2016

It's wonderful having a seafood restaurant in the "neighborhood" that does a terrific job with the food and service. I will be back again soon!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

The seafood was super fresh and dishes w ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The seafood was super fresh and dishes were executed to perfection. Absolutely will be back for more! We will come to the newly opened bar next time. Thanks for a great dinner!

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Out of towners found a local Gem

Dined on April 29, 2016

We were in from out of town and took a flyer on trying to find something that was not cookie cutter. Boy did we hit the bulls-eye ! We really enjoyed the restaurant, our server was well educated on the menu, and the food was delicious. What else can one ask for.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Mike was the server and very personable ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Mike was the server and very personable and accurate

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We went on a Sunday evening a few weeks ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

We went on a Sunday evening a few weeks ago, and the restaurant was full but not packed. The service was extremely slow and I had to ask a few times for the same items. I had the fried seafood platter and the catfish was not that great. The scallops and shrimp were pretty good. Given the prices compared to the quality of the food, I wouldn't go there again.

food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Been before but disappointed...

Dined on April 20, 2016

We have been several time to Goin' Costal and have had good meals for the most part, and decided to go this past Tuesday for a late bite to eat - 830. While I am not a negative reviewer nor a complainer, we felt as though they were not interested in our business, nor even being open that night. The waitress was hurried to get our order, did not ask how the food was, and seemed more interested in getting us home, than allowing us to enjoy our dinner. The food was mediocre at best, and my $26 fish was so salty that I ate less than half. The waitress hurriedly cleared the table, and my half eaten fish, without a word. Ironically the bill took another 20 minutes to appear. We live a 5 minute walk from here but will likely drive or walk other places next time.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great food

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great Staple but service could be better

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

I come here all the time and absolutely love it. The menu, even as it evolves, continues to be absolutely wonderful. My only consistent complaint is the service. It's never bad, per se- I've never had anyone be rude or anything. But sometimes the service can be a bit inattentive and slow, even when they are slammed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.