About Glen-Ella Springs Restaurant

1789 Bear Gap Road
Clarkesville, GA 30523
View Larger Map

Glen-Ella Springs Inn Restaurant is open to the public and inn guests beginning at 5:30 pm. Offering one of the finest dining experiences in North Georgia mountains, the restaurant prepares American Continental cuisine with a Southern flare. The setting is rustic, yet elegant and features fireside and outdoor dining depending on the season. Recognized as one of the Top Dining Destinations in the state, Glen-Ella Springs Inn has long been recognized as a north Georgia favorite.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Evenings: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Beginning in September, our restaurant will be closed most Sunday and Monday evenings with a few exceptions. Please contact the restaurant directly to confirm availability.

Cross Street:
Orchard Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(706) 754-7295

Website:
http://www.glenella.com/our-restaurant/

Parking Details:
Free parking with handicap access.

Executive Chef:
Shay Noah

Private Party Facilities:
A private dining room is available in the inn's restaurant which will accommodate up to 35 people. For larger groups, 35 to 140 people, we offer our spacious outdoor open air pavilion. The pavilion has drop down clear view panels as well as heaters for use during winter months. Dozens of menu offerings are available for larger groups providing the ability to create a personalized menu for your group. Facility fee or minimum food charges may be applicable.

Private Party Contact:
Debbie Brunen: 7067547295x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special menus are created and offered on New Year's Eve and Valentines Day. Be sure to make your reservation early to ensure you get your preferred time to dine with us.

Glen-Ella Springs Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Atlanta / Georgia
Special Occasion
Atlanta / Georgia
Most Booked
N. GA Mountains / Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Clarkesville ›

Special Occasion (18)
Romantic (15)
Scenic View (14)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good for Groups (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Worth the Drive (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Casual (3)
Cozy (3)
Good for a Date (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Authentic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Business Meals (1)
Seasonal (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
184 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

WE HAVE BEEN THERE A NUMBER OF TIMES AND ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

WE HAVE BEEN THERE A NUMBER OF TIMES AND HAVE NEVER BEEN DISAPPOINTED. FOOD, SERVICE, AMBIANCE ARE TOP NOTCH.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful ............ food grea ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Always wonderful ............ food great .................. outstanding and interesting ambiance...

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoy Glen-Ella. The menu is varied ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We enjoy Glen-Ella. The menu is varied each time we dine here. Wait staff excellent. Friendly. Always a great treat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Similar to our previous experiences, we ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Similar to our previous experiences, we enjoyed excellent food, service, ambience, and friendly discussions with others enjoying their meals.

Would definitely recommend

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Exquisite food. Very helpful with gluten ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Exquisite food. Very helpful with gluten free specially prepared alternatives. Warm, friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very warm and gracious owners, beautiful ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very warm and gracious owners, beautiful outdoor gardens, extra sweet waitress, and the food was simply a delight.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our meal at Glen Ella Springs ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We enjoyed our meal at Glen Ella Springs. The staff is fantastic! We loved that it was really secluded and quiet which made the perfect restful evening after a long day. The food is okay, not great, but we would go back. Our suggestions would be to refine the dishes a bit, reduce portion size, cut back on the salt severely, and offer a la carte as well as fixed plates.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a bit of a trek to get there, it w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

It is a bit of a trek to get there, it would be very difficult without GPS, and don't bring your sports car as its about a mile in on an unpaved road but the food was definitely worth the trip. I would definitely recommend it and we will return if we're in the area again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful evening. It has been a while ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wonderful evening. It has been a while since we visited (since new ownership), and we found it just as delightful as previous visits. Love the fresh trout!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here many times and have ne ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We have been here many times and have never been disappointed

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glen Ella is an old stagecoach inn that ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Glen Ella is an old stagecoach inn that has been remodel and the charm remains.

We like to take out of town guest because of the delicious food and historic appeal.

It is always the go to place for our wedding anniversary. Our favorite dessert is bread

pudding for my husband and creme brulee is my favorite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our dinner was outstanding, waitperson K ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Our dinner was outstanding, waitperson Kim was the best, very friendly and a great personality. Glen-Ella is fortunate to have her as a employee.

Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wines were affordable and nice to drink. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Wines were affordable and nice to drink. the food was good, but I have been there when it was great. The trout was pleasant, but I was surprised it was breaded. The veggies were good. Dessert was very good. One of us had teramisu and loved it. I had another dessert.; it was good Chocolate volcano cake.

Our server was distracted and slow. Perhaps she was just new. The young woman at the desk inside was great and very helpful. We had a lovely evening catching up with an old friend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great service and an incredibly peaceful ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great service and an incredibly peaceful and beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

not first timers

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

We have stayed at the inn this restaurant is located at several times. We eat at it's restaurant each time. It is a small sized place, but cozy and romantic. The building is historic and rustic and the food is always good. Their menu isn't huge, but has well rounded choices. Everything we've tried has been wonderful. Each time, including this time, our service has been very good and we will definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

This was our 4th or 5th time to visit Glen Ella on our anniversary. The food has always been exceptional except this time it was just good. It did not quite seem to be up to the high lever it was 3 years ago on our last visit. Now please understand, I would still recommend this restaurant to all of my friends and we will be back. I would rate it a 7 out of 10 on this visit and previously probably a 9.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Staff was very friendly and made my moth ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Staff was very friendly and made my mother's 80th birthday very special. The food was excellent too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Long-Term Favorite

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Long a favorite restaurant and one that could be counted on for high quality cuisine, some disappointment was experienced in food preparation quality. Most everything was near perfect but the beef filet was burned some on the outside and near raw on the inside. I didn't say anything as I don't want to be a "hard to please" person. This experience won't deter me from future dining at Glen Ella Springs Inn. Lamb chops outstanding. Wine and dessert were great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been going to Glen-Ella for many ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

I have been going to Glen-Ella for many years and each time is a special event! Food and service is unsurpassed!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Food was fantastic. We stayed for the night but the restaurant is worth visiting just for dinner. Everything was perfection. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

new years eve dinner

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Food was incredible, service was fantastic, what more can you expect?

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year special menu. More crowded and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

New Year special menu. More crowded and louder than normal of course due to holiday but still had great service and food. We always go when their is a special menu. Te main menu is great too when we celebrate birthdays or just go for a night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous dining experience.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

We celebrated our wedding anniversary there. It was the best dining experience we've ever had. It was quiet and romantic. The food was fantastic. The staff, from taking my phone reservation to desert, was accommodating, helpful, and professional. We will be going back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Holiday Dinner

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

We enjoyed our dinner at Glen Ella. The food and atmosphere were amazing! Will go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently Great

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

While the menu is fresh in the hands of the chef, the food is incredibly consistent and always delicious! Value is never a concern as the quality and portions are truly satisfying. The historically beautiful inn is a fantastic setting for any special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Nice

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on November 24, 2015

Good food served pleasingly in a rustic setting with N. GA. mountain scenery.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Perfect date night with my wife.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on November 18, 2015

The atmosphere was very nice. It has a rustic yet elegant feel to the place. My wife and I enjoyed our date here very much and would do it again. It's great to go somewhere off the radar a little bit.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten there many times and thoro ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

We have eaten there many times and thoroughly enjoyed it. This time, the filets were tough, stringy and not cooked at all as ordered. We sent back two and didn't eat them. It will be a while before we eat there again. We are sorry for that because Glen Ella was our favorite place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

David L

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Dined there many times over the past 20 years. The food was excellent as usual, the service was slower than usual. Sure the service was an anomaly so I hig

hly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Outstanding service and nice presentatio ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on November 11, 2015

Outstanding service and nice presentation. Excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nestled Away for a Superb Experience

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on November 6, 2015

Dining at Glen Ella was a perfect experience to end the busy work week It was easy to relax and just enjoy the specialized Customer attention from the excellent staff. The dishes were an attractive presentation while keeping an excellent taste (I chose the French onion soup and Shrimp entree along with the molten chocolate cake) - delish! Fantastic dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on November 5, 2015

Had 6 people in our group and ordered 5 different menu items. Everyone agreed that their food was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best salmon I've ever had

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on October 28, 2015

Three girls went to Glen Ella Springs to celebrate our birthdays. The place is so charming and the food and service were impeccable. Two of us got the salmon with butter caper sauce and we both agreed it was the best we've ever had. The other girl got the tomato basil soup and the Brie en croute. It was Devine! Fancy food in a rustic old inn. Great combination. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this restuarant and the B&B

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

Charming dining room. Great service and good food. We were very pleased and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Was here 4 years ago and loved it enough ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on October 14, 2015

Was here 4 years ago and loved it enough to return on this vacation. Atmosphere is inviting and relaxing. Food was outstanding. Had the shrimp and grits and they were best ever. Presentation was beautiful.They have recently added a great selection of wines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on October 9, 2015

The best meal I've ever had. I'm not a fancy person so it was a little awkward for me but the food was so good & it's such a pretty place

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently Wonderful

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

We have been going to Glen Ella for quite a few years now. We LOVE it ! The reasons are simple: It is consistent ! That is a rare quality in a restaurant, every time we go the dishes we love are excellent, no changes ! There are new items on the menu and that's great but when you have favorites you want them to be repeatable by the kitchen. The owners are so warm and welcoming and once they get to know you they never forget your name and are gracious and friendly. The ambiance is warm and elegant but not stuffy at all ! We cannot say enough how much we love it. We keep saying we are going to stay overnight but since we live so close it seems odd, but I swear we going to wake up to breakfast at Glen Ella one day soon !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a very special restaurant.

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

My husband and I have been going to Glen Ella for a long time. It's a wonderful place for a special dinner in a very beautiful setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing Meal!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2015

This place has great food, amazing garden views, friendly staff, and good pricing! What more could you ask for? Oh yeah it's a beautiful Inn that you can stay at as well for a weekend getaway with a pool and outdoor activities! I recommend this place to everyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Secluded Gem!

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 18, 2015

Looking for an anniversary dinner location in a small town was not an easy task so finding Glen Ella was a great find! It's located down a beautifully secluded wooded road. On a lovely piece of property it also features a B&B. The charming restaurant was perfect for a quiet celebration. The menu was fantastic. We opted for a chicken pasta special and a grouper dish, both which were quite good. Service was impeccable and so was the atmosphere. We would definitely go again and highly recommend this hidden gem!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.