Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 5.05mi
  2. Distance: 5.28mi
  3. Distance: 9.01mi
  4. Distance: 9.87mi
  1. Distance: 5.05mi
  2. Distance: 5.28mi
  3. Distance: 9.01mi
  4. Distance: 9.87mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 5.05mi
  2. Distance: 5.28mi
  3. Distance: 9.01mi
  4. Distance: 9.87mi
  1. Distance: 5.05mi
  2. Distance: 5.28mi
  3. Distance: 9.01mi
  4. Distance: 9.87mi

About Glen-Ella Springs Restaurant

Glen-Ella Springs Inn Restaurant is open to the public and inn guests beginning at 5:30 pm. Offering one of the finest dining experiences in North Georgia mountains, the restaurant prepares American Continental cuisine with a Southern flare. The setting is rustic, yet elegant and features fireside and outdoor dining depending on the season. Recognized as one of the Top Dining Destinations in the state, Glen-Ella Springs Inn has long been recognized as a north Georgia favorite.

1789 Bear Gap Road
Clarkesville, GA 30523
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Evenings: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday through Saturday.
Please contact the restaurant directly to confirm availability.

Cross Street:
Orchard Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(706) 754-7295

Website:
http://www.glenella.com/our-restaurant/

Parking Details:
Free parking with handicap access.

Executive Chef:
Kyle Arddison

Private Party Facilities:
A private dining room is available in the inn's restaurant which will accommodate up to 35 people. For larger groups, 35 to 140 people, we offer our spacious outdoor open air pavilion. The pavilion has drop down clear view panels as well as heaters for use during winter months. Dozens of menu offerings are available for larger groups providing the ability to create a personalized menu for your group. Facility fee or minimum food charges may be applicable.

Private Party Contact:
Luci Kivett: (706) 754-7295

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special menus are created and offered on New Year's Eve and Valentines Day. Be sure to make your reservation early to ensure you get your preferred time to dine with us.

Glen-Ella Springs Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (25)
Worth the Drive (25)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Romantic (22)
Good for a Date (21)
Cozy (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Scenic View (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Business Meals (9)
Casual (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Authentic (5)
Fun (4)
Seasonal (4)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
273 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Very good food and service. The atmosphere was delightful. Great place for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We had the most wonderful dinner at Glen-Ella Springs! It was everything you hope for when you book a special dinner, wonderfully prepared seasonal dishes, friendly well-paced service in a elegant but warm space (or on the outdoor patio looking out on the lovely grounds).
My husband raved about his choice of the evening special surf n' turf, amberjack with a pork roulade, but I think my lamb won dish of the night. The New Zealand lamb was cooked perfectly, and was so tender and meaty, it was really amazing! The hand churned ice cream and peach/apricot cobbler was so good, the only regret is that I agreed to share it with my husband.
If you can, plan to spend the night at the Inn. It is such a special place, absolutely beautiful surroundings, historic building, comfortable rooms and you
can enjoy the included delicious breakfast the next morning on the outdoor patio. The fresh baked breads, eggs and french toast casserole were delicious and sent us home with smiles on our faces.
If you are in the NW Georgia area, don't pass up the opportunity to experience a meal or stay at
Glen-Ella Springs.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We stayed at the Inn for a night to celebrate a birthday. The Inn is lovely; well cared for, country-cozy, beautiful grounds, and wonderful staff.
The restaurant was quiet, filled with other guests and one private party. The ambiance is what you'd expect at a country inn. The 2 small dining rooms had stone fireplaces, flowers on the tables, soft music. Watercolors of local sight and towns graced the walls.
My husband and I both had one of two dinner specials- a " Surf and turf" of Alaskan halibut and pork tenderloin, with a berry salsa.This was accompanied by a succotash of corn, tomatoes, and okra. A deep fried jalapeño risotto cake was also on our plates. A lot of different flavors, but it worked, and was delicious.
I started my meal with a peach and goat cheese cold soup; my husband had the warm spinach sales. Both were excellent.
Dessert was a (big!!!!) dish of homemade peach-blueberr ice cream. Superb!
We shared a bottle of excellent Italian wine, from their very good wine list.

The next morning, at the complimentary breakfast for Inn guests, we had terrific eggs and bacon, and a French toast casserole that was out of this world.

Yo go to a small, country inn to relax and get away from it all. Having a restaurant that would be a destination in itself is a plus.

If you live in Georgia, North or South Carolina, or anywhere really, make time to stay at this charming inn.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 5, 2017

My husband and I stayed at the Inn and dined at the restaurant both nights we were in Clarksville. The food is amazing and the patio is beautiful! We can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We have been coming here for years and this was the first time we had to send food back. We were a group of 4 and 2 meals had to go back to get cooked more. Most unusual. It was a Saturday night and they were very busy perhaps that was the problem, it took us 2.5 hours to complete our meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The restaurant at Glen Ella Springs Inn was superb. The service was better than ever. The staff are friendly and cordial. A great place for a fine dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Beautiful setting with the best food and service available anywhere. This will be our first choice for all our special occasions and fine dinning outings. We were more than pleased with the dining experience. We will recommend Glen-Ella Springs to all our friends and neighbors!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We were a party of four for a birthday occasion. As usual, the food and service was excellent. Glen Ella is such a special place for us with or without an occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Very calm and peaceful environment. Amazing food and great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Glen-Ella is the very best restaurant in North Georgia....maybe even the entire South! It just doesn't get any better than Glen Ella!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Scenic View, Fun, Afternoon Tea, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Food is outstanding! Simple but quality menu. Dishes are expertly prepared, flavorful, and seasoned just right allowing the true flavors to shine! Beautiful presentation and plated creatively. Highly recommended to one and All!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Lovely restaurant, excellent meal, great service - wish we lived closer!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We had a lovely dinner on the patio while staying at the inn. The food was delicious and the garden setting was romantic and relaxing. I wish we lived in the area so that it could be a go to place for us on a regular basis!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Vegan, Comfort Food, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Our server, Ashley, was very attentive and made our dining experience an excellent experience. We ordered salads followed by their trout and salmon entrees. Both were very tasty. We look forward to a return visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This is always a wonderful restaurant to visit. You can count on excellent service and fantastic food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Amazing find in the N. Ga mountains. A real gem. Highly recommend this place. Make a reservation and take the trip. It's worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 29, 2017

This place is beautiful and the food is incredible.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Great dinner to start off our vacation in NE Georgia.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This place is an hour and half away from me and it's so worth the drive. ❤❤❤❤❤
This was my fourth time dining with them and I've already made my next reservation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Wonderful dinner! Service was excellent. The food as well. I had the trout and my husband had the lamb chops. The portions are very generous. My husband said the french onion soup was the best he's ever had. We also had the crabcake appetizer which was full of lump crab. This was our second time here. I would definitely order the trout again. Wish we would've had room for dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We were celebrating out 37th wedding anniversary. We dined outside by the garden. The birds were active, many plants were blooming and the atmosphere was very peaceful.

Our waitress, Ashley, was very observant and always had our water and wine refilled. The food was amazing.

Friends recommended Glenn- Ella Springs to us and we will definitely recommend to others.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My wife and I have been coming here a couple of times a year for the past 18 years & Glen Ella has never failed to impress us. Also, my wife is a vegetarian and the chef always fixes her something vegetarian friendly. Go, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Had an awesome experience for an anniversary trip and meal. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Amazing dinner as always. Wife had the lamb and son had the sword fish. I had one of the best best tenderloins ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Stayed at the Inn so enjoyed the restaurant on site. Unfortunately all outside tables were filled before 7pm so sat inside which was a bit of a disappointment. Food delicious though!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Casual, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Never disappoints. The food is high quality, fresh, and artfully prepared. We were disappointed that we could not eat there two nights in a row, but the second night was booked completely.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My fish entree was overcooked and served cold; vegetables were cold and oily. Dinner was rushed as all tables were booked for the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The dining experience was wonderful. The atmosphere was relaxing and the food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 21, 2017

My husband and I ate here for a date night and we had the best time. The food was excellent, the service was great, and the overall experience was fantastic. We will be back soon!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Delicious food, prompt & courteous service. Rack of lamb was fabulous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We love Glen-Ella! The food is consistently top notch and the staff is always extremely attentive and friendly. This trip the inn keeper and family were dining at a neighboring table and it was great to see that every table got the same attention and service that the owners received.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 20, 2017

My husband and I ate at Glen-Ella Springs restaurant two nights in a row while staying at the inn. Every dish is beautifully prepared and absolutely delicious - and this comes from one who considers herself a foodie. All the staff at Glen-Ella are super nice, the service was great and the atmosphere was romantic without being formal or stuffy . Wish we could eat like this every night!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Glen-Ella never fails to please us with their great food, chef prepared, and wonderful service!

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Absolutely amazing. Wonderfully prepared and beautiful to look at. As good as any place we have ever eaten. We had breakfast 3 mornings and dinner twice during our stay at the inn, and every meal was delicious. The chef specials each evening were well worth the trip.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 14, 2017

My wife and I live Glenn Ella, both the Inn and the Restaurant. The atmosphere is soothing and relaxing. The staff is great. The place has history and charm. It is perfect for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal and the great atmosphere. Service was great and server was very friendly. We have already recommended this restaurant to others.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Such a great venue. So relaxing and pleasant. Terrific food. A treasured experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We have stayed numerous times to celebrate special occasions and are never disappointed. This is a historic Inn with a gourmet resturant. Dinner is something to look forward to enjoying. We had the Rack of Lamb as did many others. The owners, Ed and Luci Kivett, are quite charming. Inn is about an hour an a half drive from Atlanta. Check out their web site for information about rooms, menus, special packages, etc.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Normally I would give Glen Ella 5's across the board. We raved to foodie friends how great it is and brought them with us and it was good just not as outstanding as usual. New chef? Maybe, my usual rack of lamb presentation was not as perfect as many times before, it was prepared well but just different. The seasonal salad was ok and has always been great, a bit too smoky which it didn't need. We will go back again, it remains my favorite place but I hope things get back to 5 star review worthy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Glen Ella Springs is the best for any special occasion! The staff, food and setting will fulfill your greatest expectations.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.