About Glen-Ella Springs Restaurant

1789 Bear Gap Road
Clarkesville, GA 30523
View Larger Map

Glen-Ella Springs Inn Restaurant is open to the public and inn guests beginning at 5:30 pm. Offering one of the finest dining experiences in North Georgia mountains, the restaurant prepares American Continental cuisine with a Southern flare. The setting is rustic, yet elegant and features fireside and outdoor dining depending on the season. Recognized as one of the Top Dining Destinations in the state, Glen-Ella Springs Inn has long been recognized as a north Georgia favorite.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Evenings: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Beginning in September, our restaurant will be closed most Sunday and Monday evenings with a few exceptions. Please contact the restaurant directly to confirm availability.

Cross Street:
Orchard Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(706) 754-7295

Website:
http://www.glenella.com/our-restaurant/

Parking Details:
Free parking with handicap access.

Executive Chef:
Shay Noah

Private Party Facilities:
A private dining room is available in the inn's restaurant which will accommodate up to 35 people. For larger groups, 35 to 140 people, we offer our spacious outdoor open air pavilion. The pavilion has drop down clear view panels as well as heaters for use during winter months. Dozens of menu offerings are available for larger groups providing the ability to create a personalized menu for your group. Facility fee or minimum food charges may be applicable.

Private Party Contact:
Debbie Brunen: 7067547295x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special menus are created and offered on New Year's Eve and Valentines Day. Be sure to make your reservation early to ensure you get your preferred time to dine with us.

Glen-Ella Springs Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Atlanta / Georgia
Special Occasion
Atlanta / Georgia
Most Booked
N. GA Mountains / Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Clarkesville ›

special occasion (23)
scenic view (19)
romantic (13)
See All
fit for foodies (11)
great for outdoor dining (8)
good for groups (7)
neighborhood gem (7)
notable wine list (5)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
173 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our dinner was outstanding, waitperson K ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Our dinner was outstanding, waitperson Kim was the best, very friendly and a great personality. Glen-Ella is fortunate to have her as a employee. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Wines were affordable and nice to drink. ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Wines were affordable and nice to drink. the food was good, but I have been there when it was great. The trout was pleasant, but I was surprised it was breaded. The veggies were good. Dessert was very good. One of us had teramisu and loved it. I had another dessert.; it was good Chocolate volcano cake. Our server was distracted and slow. Perhaps she was just new. The young woman at the desk inside was great and very helpful. We had a lovely evening catching up with an old friend.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and an incredibly peaceful ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Great service and an incredibly peaceful and beautiful setting.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

not first timers

Dined on April 5, 2016

We have stayed at the inn this restaurant is located at several times. We eat at it's restaurant each time. It is a small sized place, but cozy and romantic. The building is historic and rustic and the food is always good. Their menu isn't huge, but has well rounded choices. Everything we've tried has been wonderful. Each time, including this time, our service has been very good and we will definitely go back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 1, 2016

This was our 4th or 5th time to visit Glen Ella on our anniversary. The food has always been exceptional except this time it was just good. It did not quite seem to be up to the high lever it was 3 years ago on our last visit. Now please understand, I would still recommend this restaurant to all of my friends and we will be back. I would rate it a 7 out of 10 on this visit and previously probably a 9.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was very friendly and made my moth ...

Dined on March 2, 2016

Staff was very friendly and made my mother's 80th birthday very special. The food was excellent too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Long-Term Favorite

Dined on February 11, 2016

Long a favorite restaurant and one that could be counted on for high quality cuisine, some disappointment was experienced in food preparation quality. Most everything was near perfect but the beef filet was burned some on the outside and near raw on the inside. I didn't say anything as I don't want to be a "hard to please" person. This experience won't deter me from future dining at Glen Ella Springs Inn. Lamb chops outstanding. Wine and dessert were great.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been going to Glen-Ella for many ...

Dined on January 28, 2016

I have been going to Glen-Ella for many years and each time is a special event! Food and service is unsurpassed!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on January 3, 2016

Food was fantastic. We stayed for the night but the restaurant is worth visiting just for dinner. Everything was perfection. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

new years eve dinner

Dined on January 1, 2016

Food was incredible, service was fantastic, what more can you expect?

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

New Year special menu. More crowded and ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

New Year special menu. More crowded and louder than normal of course due to holiday but still had great service and food. We always go when their is a special menu. Te main menu is great too when we celebrate birthdays or just go for a night out

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous dining experience.

Dined on December 17, 2015

We celebrated our wedding anniversary there. It was the best dining experience we've ever had. It was quiet and romantic. The food was fantastic. The staff, from taking my phone reservation to desert, was accommodating, helpful, and professional. We will be going back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Holiday Dinner

Dined on December 12, 2015

We enjoyed our dinner at Glen Ella. The food and atmosphere were amazing! Will go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Consistently Great

Dined on November 28, 2015

While the menu is fresh in the hands of the chef, the food is incredibly consistent and always delicious! Value is never a concern as the quality and portions are truly satisfying. The historically beautiful inn is a fantastic setting for any special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Nice

Dined on November 24, 2015

Good food served pleasingly in a rustic setting with N. GA. mountain scenery.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect date night with my wife.

Dined on November 18, 2015

The atmosphere was very nice. It has a rustic yet elegant feel to the place. My wife and I enjoyed our date here very much and would do it again. It's great to go somewhere off the radar a little bit.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service3

We have eaten there many times and thoro ...

Dined on November 14, 2015

We have eaten there many times and thoroughly enjoyed it. This time, the filets were tough, stringy and not cooked at all as ordered. We sent back two and didn't eat them. It will be a while before we eat there again. We are sorry for that because Glen Ella was our favorite place.

food5
ambience5
service3

David L

Dined on November 14, 2015

Dined there many times over the past 20 years. The food was excellent as usual, the service was slower than usual. Sure the service was an anomaly so I hig hly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service and nice presentatio ...

Dined on November 11, 2015

Outstanding service and nice presentation. Excellent food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Nestled Away for a Superb Experience

Dined on November 6, 2015

Dining at Glen Ella was a perfect experience to end the busy work week It was easy to relax and just enjoy the specialized Customer attention from the excellent staff. The dishes were an attractive presentation while keeping an excellent taste (I chose the French onion soup and Shrimp entree along with the molten chocolate cake) - delish! Fantastic dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!

Dined on November 5, 2015

Had 6 people in our group and ordered 5 different menu items. Everyone agreed that their food was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The best salmon I've ever had

Dined on October 28, 2015

Three girls went to Glen Ella Springs to celebrate our birthdays. The place is so charming and the food and service were impeccable. Two of us got the salmon with butter caper sauce and we both agreed it was the best we've ever had. The other girl got the tomato basil soup and the Brie en croute. It was Devine! Fancy food in a rustic old inn. Great combination. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

Love this restuarant and the B&B

Dined on October 24, 2015

Charming dining room. Great service and good food. We were very pleased and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Was here 4 years ago and loved it enough ...

Dined on October 14, 2015

Was here 4 years ago and loved it enough to return on this vacation. Atmosphere is inviting and relaxing. Food was outstanding. Had the shrimp and grits and they were best ever. Presentation was beautiful.They have recently added a great selection of wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food

Dined on October 9, 2015

The best meal I've ever had. I'm not a fancy person so it was a little awkward for me but the food was so good & it's such a pretty place

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently Wonderful

Dined on September 18, 2015

We have been going to Glen Ella for quite a few years now. We LOVE it ! The reasons are simple: It is consistent ! That is a rare quality in a restaurant, every time we go the dishes we love are excellent, no changes ! There are new items on the menu and that's great but when you have favorites you want them to be repeatable by the kitchen. The owners are so warm and welcoming and once they get to know you they never forget your name and are gracious and friendly. The ambiance is warm and elegant but not stuffy at all ! We cannot say enough how much we love it. We keep saying we are going to stay overnight but since we live so close it seems odd, but I swear we going to wake up to breakfast at Glen Ella one day soon !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

This is a very special restaurant.

vip
Dined on August 22, 2015

My husband and I have been going to Glen Ella for a long time. It's a wonderful place for a special dinner in a very beautiful setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Meal!

Dined on August 20, 2015

This place has great food, amazing garden views, friendly staff, and good pricing! What more could you ask for? Oh yeah it's a beautiful Inn that you can stay at as well for a weekend getaway with a pool and outdoor activities! I recommend this place to everyone!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Secluded Gem!

vip
Dined on August 18, 2015

Looking for an anniversary dinner location in a small town was not an easy task so finding Glen Ella was a great find! It's located down a beautifully secluded wooded road. On a lovely piece of property it also features a B&B. The charming restaurant was perfect for a quiet celebration. The menu was fantastic. We opted for a chicken pasta special and a grouper dish, both which were quite good. Service was impeccable and so was the atmosphere. We would definitely go again and highly recommend this hidden gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

When in Clarkesville, eat trout!

Dined on July 25, 2015

I peeked at the menu before booking a room at this B&B and making a dinner reservation. My husband loves trout and he wasn't disappointed. The spinach salad was as good as a dessert - loaded with pecans. I had their version of shrimp and grits and loved it. The wine and bread complemented the meal perfectly. Our waitress was local and very engaging. Because it was my husband's birthday, he splurged on had the bread pudding swimming in cinnamon ice cream. He was very stingy about sharing because it was so delicious! We also had an amazing breakfast the next morning at the same place but this time we ate outside overlooking the garden. Perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service2

Terrible

Dined on July 18, 2015

Terrible disappointment. Ordered the fish special, red fish, and it was like flavorless rubber.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Dinner

Dined on July 16, 2015

Wonderful meal and dessert. Staff was very accommodating and pleasant. Very enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Special Place

Dined on July 10, 2015

We return to Glen Ella time after time for a wonderful meal. If we get to chat with owners Ed & Lucy, we always leave happy. Even if you are too full for dessert, order the fabulous bread pudding!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb!

Dined on June 30, 2015

Absolutely wonderful! The dinner and dessert were phenomenal. Service was great and atmosphere was nice and also quiet with light music in the background. The beef tenderloin was so good. Also, their homemade peach/blueberry ice-cream is off the hook. Highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Girls weekend

vip
Dined on June 27, 2015

Here on vacation for a girls weekend found this gem bed and breakfast restaurant. The food was amazing the scenery was amazing. The lamb chops were the biggest hit of the table, fish was outstanding as well. Can't wait to come back here one day with my husband and have romantic and Breakfast stay and dinner. If you're coming to Clarksville it is worth the trip heck it's worth just driving here for this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently excellent

vip
Dined on May 28, 2015

excellent food and service in a warm and friendly atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Glen-Ella Spring Restaurant

Dined on May 21, 2015

Our entire experience at the Glen-Ella Springs Inn and Restaurant was a FIVE STAR RATING. The food was spectacular, made fresh for each meal. Wine list was good. Service was beyond exceptional. It was also a romantic setting for our 44th wedding celebration dinner and stay. Would recommend it all to everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

25th Anniversary weekend

Dined on May 16, 2015

The meal, service and ambience were all exceptional. The rack of lamb was cooked perfectly and was one of the largest lamb portions that I have ever received. My wife had the trout which was also excellent. We would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

What an amazing setting for a restaurant!

vip
Dined on May 9, 2015

My husband and I have been dining at Glen Ella Springs for more than 20 years. We love going there and will continue to go there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our favorite country Inn and the ...

Dined on May 2, 2015

This is our favorite country Inn and the restaurant is one of the reasons why... We have ordered trout, beef, and lamb and all were cooked to perfection. Portions are very generous and the seasonal vegetables are farm fresh The service is always warm and friendly. The staff is knowledgeable about all the menu items and can recommend the perfect wine to enhance the flavors.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.