About Glen-Ella Springs Restaurant

Glen-Ella Springs Inn Restaurant is open to the public and inn guests beginning at 5:30 pm. Offering one of the finest dining experiences in North Georgia mountains, the restaurant prepares American Continental cuisine with a Southern flare. The setting is rustic, yet elegant and features fireside and outdoor dining depending on the season. Recognized as one of the Top Dining Destinations in the state, Glen-Ella Springs Inn has long been recognized as a north Georgia favorite.

1789 Bear Gap Road
Clarkesville, GA 30523
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Evenings: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday through Saturday.
Please contact the restaurant directly to confirm availability.

Cross Street:
Orchard Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(706) 754-7295

Website:
http://www.glenella.com/our-restaurant/

Parking Details:
Free parking with handicap access.

Executive Chef:
Kyle Arddison

Private Party Facilities:
A private dining room is available in the inn's restaurant which will accommodate up to 35 people. For larger groups, 35 to 140 people, we offer our spacious outdoor open air pavilion. The pavilion has drop down clear view panels as well as heaters for use during winter months. Dozens of menu offerings are available for larger groups providing the ability to create a personalized menu for your group. Facility fee or minimum food charges may be applicable.

Private Party Contact:
Luci Kivett: (706) 754-7295

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special menus are created and offered on New Year's Eve and Valentines Day. Be sure to make your reservation early to ensure you get your preferred time to dine with us.

Glen-Ella Springs Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

5.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (24)
Cozy (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Fireplace (16)
Historic (14)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Scenic View (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Casual (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Healthy (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Authentic (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Business Meals (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vegan (2)
Private Room (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Late-night Find (0)
Sort By:
S
230 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The chef did a great job without having any advance warning that we are vegan. They were very accommodating, made it no big deal, and came up with something delicious, while our non-vegan friends raved about the rest of the menu and the fact that the restaurant has their favorite beer (Celtic?). Service was fantastic. Cute, quaint, nicely tucked away into a great setting, and great food to compliment all that.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Fireplace, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is a pricey place to eat, but is perfect for a special occasion. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary and had a fabulous evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful early Valentines celebration at Glen Ella. The setting was perfect. The staff was outstanding and the food was delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very good restaurant with a nice historic inn. Good service even on a very busy night. Excellent Molten Chocolate Cake!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

In addition to great food and great service, the restaurant was very accommodating of our vegan dietary needs. I contacted the restaurant a few days in advance to ask if a vegan meal could be prepared. The chef did a wonderful job creating an off-the-menu entrée that was delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Outstanding as always! You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was delicious. Great choices on the menu. Service was excellent. Very personable from owner Ed. Enjoyed our stay very much!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I cannot say enough good about this restaurant and Inn. Every detail was delightful and delicious! Wanna return soon with all the people I love.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Casual, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing place! Wonderful food, a great ambience and awesome staff! Again, the food was the best I've had in North Georgia and is as good as other hotspots across the country! You will not be disappointed!

Tags: Disabled Access, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Saturday night dinner while we were staying at Lake Rabun. Outstanding onion soup. Wine is well selected and very reasonably priced. We had an excellent South African cabernet for 2/3 of what we would have paid in Atlanta. Great atmosphere for a mid-winter dinner with very helpful and friendly service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Delicious food, great wines, great service. It was a nice place for a date night for my husband and I. We would definitely visit again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fireplace, Casual, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I have been going to Glen-Ella for 10 years and have never been disappointed in the food or service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Healthy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fantastic food! My husband and I had the lamb and the trout. Tons of food on the plate! Four lamb racks perfectly done. Sweet potatoes ND green beans were done to perfection. Usually the sides are not the item that is most memorable but these certainly were on par with the meat entrees. Trout was perfect as well. This was an exceptional meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was prepared in a unique and interesting way. It was absolutely best trout I had ever eaten. Large portions so you filled up. The salmon was also cooked in a way so that it did not have a standard flavor. Extremely lovely to the taste buds. Service was efficient and yet subtle so we could enjoy the privacy of our conversation. Wonderful evening for husband and wife to have some quiet time together

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Fireplace, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Awesome food wonderful service. The food tasted great, very artistally presnted. Service was very very good!!

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Beautiful gem in the Georgia mountains. We went there for New Years eve which is also our anniversary. Limited menu but what they do they do well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Always a lovely experience in dining in a cozy, out in the woods hideaway. Food is excellent always and service as well.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Historic, Good for a Date, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Took my husband for a quiet overnight stay at the Inn. Restaurant on premises so no travel involved. Dinner was quiet with nice ambience and attentive wait staff. Food was unique and delicious. Enjoyed our weekend very much!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We hiked the Panther Creek trail and had a dinner reservation at Glen Ella. We arrived early and sat in the lobby in front of fire place and had a glass of wine. The lobby was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Our table was by the window and it was quiet. The food was very good. We had crab cake appetizer, market salad, shrimp and grits and a chicken and pasta special entree. We split the molten chocolate cake. This is a very charming and romantic place. We drove back to Atlanta after dinner - a full day but enjoyable.

Tags: Historic, Fireplace, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Took my wife for a romantic evening to celebrate our 20th anniversary. Could not have had a better time! The atmosphere, service and food were all terrific....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My husband and I LOVED our meal! We started with the baked brie, which was amazing. My beef tenderloin for my entree was perfection, and my husband raved about the macadamia nut chicken. We of course had to have dessert since we saw bread pudding on the menu. This apple bread pudding with homemade cinnamon ice cream was unbelievably delicious!! Highly recommend Glen Ella...it's worth driving on the gravel road to get back there :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Love this place. We've dined here numerous times for work related events, anniversaries, and date nights. The atmosphere is fantastic any time of the year. There's a back porch that's perfect in the spring and fall months. They have multiple fireplaces inside which are great for colder weather romantic dates. Appetizers are yummy as well. Crab cakes and baked brie are our favorites. They also have a good wine menu and offer suggested pairings with your meal. This trip I had a blackened grouper, served with asparagus and jasmine rice, which was very tasty. My wife had the pasta special, which was very good as well. Glen Ella is also a bed and breakfast, which makes it perfect for a weekend getaway. I have spent time in Atlanta and have spent more money for poorer quality food and atmosphere. Fortunately, we live close now, but Glen Ella is well worth the drive if we didn't. If you live in or anywhere around north Georgia, it is worth your time to drive to Glen Ella.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Both the food and service was excellent as always. One of our favorites!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fireplace, Casual, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday here and the food, the service and atmosphere could not have been better. Of course we have been coming here for the better part of twenty years an Glen Ella Springs has never disappointed us. Go, you will most certainly enjoy it.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Wonderful restaurant. Food is great but lacks flexibility on menu pairings.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This is a charmingly quaint restaurant inside the inn with near world class dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 11, 2016

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! We stayed here for a few nights and were WOWed by the food!!! From breakfast to dinner everything was superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Romantic, Fun, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Nice cozy atmosphere with fireplace and lit up garden outside next to the water. I can't describe how romantic this was for me and my wife! The food was so delicious I cherished every morsel lol. The service was over the top and made us feel really special! I can't thank them enough for such a wonderful experience!!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The dining room is cozy and inviting. The waitstaff is helpful and attentive. I had the trout entree and it was fabulous. The food pairing were inspired and blended for a delicious taste experience. I enjoyed a lovely glass of Georgia wine with dinner. The dessert menu included some very tempting selections. I would certainly make a return visit the next time I am in the area of Clarkesville.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Delicious food. Wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food is incredible, especially the rack of lamb. The historic farmhouse, the decor, the people, the staff, and the area around the inn are all wonderful and breathtaking. If its possible to actually fall in love with a place, for me it is Glen-Ella.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great experience. We'll be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We ate here for breakfast and dinner for two days - it is a B&B. every meal was outstanding and the service was terrific

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Food and service was very good. Wait time was a little long. Enjoyed both the food and atmosphere was good.

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 20, 2016

What a Gem!

In a location that offers a limited number of upscale dining options, Glen-Ella Springs Restaurant was like finding gold in the woods.

I had their signature New Zealand Rack of Lamb which was outstanding with the Jalapeno mint jelly, sweet potatoes seasoned to perfection and green beans.

My wife had beef tenderloin which looked good enough to put in an advertisement.

The portion size was more than she could finish and I still feel guilty for sending any of it back.

Our server was stretched thin but still managed to do a great job of getting our three courses out with perfect timing and a great attitude.

One area for improvement is more attention to drink refills.

Overall, a great experience at a price that is reasonable in a comfortably elegant setting.

As an added bonus, we arrived early and while we were strolling the grounds of the Inn we met one of the owners. Luci graciously took time to tell us about the history of the Inn, the restaurant and the event venue.

The restaurant has plenty of awards and five star reviews without mine but I can attest Glenn-Ella Springs Restaurant is every bit as good as their excellent reputation.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Always a great meal, the food and service is excellent . There aren't many nice places to eat in our rural neighborhood and this place is as good as any fine restaurant in any city.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fireplace, Scenic View, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Our food was excellent, delicious and beautifully plated. The Riesling wine was a wonderful accent to the meal and Chris, our server, was delightful. She provided great service with a charming sweetness about her. The ambience was lovely. A very special opportunity for us to just enjoy ourselves. Thank you for all of that!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 27, 2016

We had dinner which was perfectly prepared along with wine. Our waitress was friendly

and efficient. We sat outside which made for a perfect evening meal.

Our breakfast the next morning was also freshly made--scones, fruit, and the option for

blueberry pancakes, scrambled eggs and bacon. All quite delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 23, 2016

WE HAVE BEEN THERE A NUMBER OF TIMES AND HAVE NEVER BEEN DISAPPOINTED. FOOD, SERVICE, AMBIANCE ARE TOP NOTCH.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Always wonderful ............ food great .................. outstanding and interesting ambiance...

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We enjoy Glen-Ella. The menu is varied each time we dine here. Wait staff excellent. Friendly. Always a great treat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Similar to our previous experiences, we enjoyed excellent food, service, ambience, and friendly discussions with others enjoying their meals.

Would definitely recommend

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Exquisite food. Very helpful with gluten free specially prepared alternatives. Warm, friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very warm and gracious owners, beautiful outdoor gardens, extra sweet waitress, and the food was simply a delight.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We enjoyed our meal at Glen Ella Springs. The staff is fantastic! We loved that it was really secluded and quiet which made the perfect restful evening after a long day. The food is okay, not great, but we would go back. Our suggestions would be to refine the dishes a bit, reduce portion size, cut back on the salt severely, and offer a la carte as well as fixed plates.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 29, 2016

It is a bit of a trek to get there, it would be very difficult without GPS, and don't bring your sports car as its about a mile in on an unpaved road but the food was definitely worth the trip. I would definitely recommend it and we will return if we're in the area again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wonderful evening. It has been a while since we visited (since new ownership), and we found it just as delightful as previous visits. Love the fresh trout!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 13, 2016

We have been here many times and have never been disappointed

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Glen Ella is an old stagecoach inn that has been remodel and the charm remains.

We like to take out of town guest because of the delicious food and historic appeal.

It is always the go to place for our wedding anniversary. Our favorite dessert is bread

pudding for my husband and creme brulee is my favorite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Our dinner was outstanding, waitperson Kim was the best, very friendly and a great personality. Glen-Ella is fortunate to have her as a employee.

Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.