About Glen-Ella Springs Restaurant

1789 Bear Gap Road
Clarkesville, GA 30523
View Larger Map

Glen-Ella Springs Inn Restaurant is open to the public and inn guests beginning at 5:30 pm. Offering one of the finest dining experiences in North Georgia mountains, the restaurant prepares American Continental cuisine with a Southern flare. The setting is rustic, yet elegant and features fireside and outdoor dining depending on the season. Recognized as one of the Top Dining Destinations in the state, Glen-Ella Springs Inn has long been recognized as a north Georgia favorite.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Evenings: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Beginning in September, our restaurant will be closed most Sunday and Monday evenings with a few exceptions. Please contact the restaurant directly to confirm availability.

Cross Street:
Orchard Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(706) 754-7295

Website:
http://www.glenella.com/our-restaurant/

Parking Details:
Free parking with handicap access.

Executive Chef:
Shay Noah

Private Party Facilities:
A private dining room is available in the inn's restaurant which will accommodate up to 35 people. For larger groups, 35 to 140 people, we offer our spacious outdoor open air pavilion. The pavilion has drop down clear view panels as well as heaters for use during winter months. Dozens of menu offerings are available for larger groups providing the ability to create a personalized menu for your group. Facility fee or minimum food charges may be applicable.

Private Party Contact:
Debbie Brunen: 7067547295x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special menus are created and offered on New Year's Eve and Valentines Day. Be sure to make your reservation early to ensure you get your preferred time to dine with us.

Glen-Ella Springs Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Food
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Service
Atlanta / Georgia
5 More
Best Ambiance
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Value
Atlanta / Georgia
Romantic
Atlanta / Georgia
Scenic View
Atlanta / Georgia
Special Occasion
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Restaurants in Clarkesville ›

Romantic (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Special Occasion (16)
See All
Scenic View (14)
Cozy (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fireplace (9)
Historic (8)
Casual (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Authentic (4)
Seasonal (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Fun (2)
Business Meals (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
204 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Took my wife for a romantic evening to c ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Took my wife for a romantic evening to celebrate our 20th anniversary. Could not have had a better time! The atmosphere, service and food were all terrific....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I LOVED our meal! We star ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I LOVED our meal! We started with the baked brie, which was amazing. My beef tenderloin for my entree was perfection, and my husband raved about the macadamia nut chicken. We of course had to have dessert since we saw bread pudding on the menu. This apple bread pudding with homemade cinnamon ice cream was unbelievably delicious!! Highly recommend Glen Ella...it's worth driving on the gravel road to get back there :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. We've dined here numero ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Love this place. We've dined here numerous times for work related events, anniversaries, and date nights. The atmosphere is fantastic any time of the year. There's a back porch that's perfect in the spring and fall months. They have multiple fireplaces inside which are great for colder weather romantic dates. Appetizers are yummy as well. Crab cakes and baked brie are our favorites. They also have a good wine menu and offer suggested pairings with your meal. This trip I had a blackened grouper, served with asparagus and jasmine rice, which was very tasty. My wife had the pasta special, which was very good as well. Glen Ella is also a bed and breakfast, which makes it perfect for a weekend getaway. I have spent time in Atlanta and have spent more money for poorer quality food and atmosphere. Fortunately, we live close now, but Glen Ella is well worth the drive if we didn't. If you live in or anywhere around north Georgia, it is worth your time to drive to Glen Ella.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both the food and service was excellent ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Both the food and service was excellent as always. One of our favorites!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fireplace, Casual, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated my wife's birthday here an ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday here and the food, the service and atmosphere could not have been better. Of course we have been coming here for the better part of twenty years an Glen Ella Springs has never disappointed us. Go, you will most certainly enjoy it.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant. Food is great but ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Wonderful restaurant. Food is great but lacks flexibility on menu pairings.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a charmingly quaint restaurant i ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This is a charmingly quaint restaurant inside the inn with near world class dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! We stayed here for a ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 11, 2016

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! We stayed here for a few nights and were WOWed by the food!!! From breakfast to dinner everything was superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Romantic, Fun, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice cozy atmosphere with fireplace and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Nice cozy atmosphere with fireplace and lit up garden outside next to the water. I can't describe how romantic this was for me and my wife! The food was so delicious I cherished every morsel lol. The service was over the top and made us feel really special! I can't thank them enough for such a wonderful experience!!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining room is cozy and inviting. T ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The dining room is cozy and inviting. The waitstaff is helpful and attentive. I had the trout entree and it was fabulous. The food pairing were inspired and blended for a delicious taste experience. I enjoyed a lovely glass of Georgia wine with dinner. The dessert menu included some very tempting selections. I would certainly make a return visit the next time I am in the area of Clarkesville.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Wonderful evening.

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Delicious food. Wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is incredible, especially the r ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food is incredible, especially the rack of lamb. The historic farmhouse, the decor, the people, the staff, and the area around the inn are all wonderful and breathtaking. If its possible to actually fall in love with a place, for me it is Glen-Ella.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. We'll be back!!!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great experience. We'll be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate here for breakfast and dinner fo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We ate here for breakfast and dinner for two days - it is a B&B. every meal was outstanding and the service was terrific

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was very good. Wait tim ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Food and service was very good. Wait time was a little long. Enjoyed both the food and atmosphere was good.

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

What a Gem! In a location that offers a ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 20, 2016

What a Gem!

In a location that offers a limited number of upscale dining options, Glen-Ella Springs Restaurant was like finding gold in the woods.

I had their signature New Zealand Rack of Lamb which was outstanding with the Jalapeno mint jelly, sweet potatoes seasoned to perfection and green beans.

My wife had beef tenderloin which looked good enough to put in an advertisement.

The portion size was more than she could finish and I still feel guilty for sending any of it back.

Our server was stretched thin but still managed to do a great job of getting our three courses out with perfect timing and a great attitude.

One area for improvement is more attention to drink refills.

Overall, a great experience at a price that is reasonable in a comfortably elegant setting.

As an added bonus, we arrived early and while we were strolling the grounds of the Inn we met one of the owners. Luci graciously took time to tell us about the history of the Inn, the restaurant and the event venue.

The restaurant has plenty of awards and five star reviews without mine but I can attest Glenn-Ella Springs Restaurant is every bit as good as their excellent reputation.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal, the food and servic ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Always a great meal, the food and service is excellent . There aren't many nice places to eat in our rural neighborhood and this place is as good as any fine restaurant in any city.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fireplace, Scenic View, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our food was excellent, delicious and be ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Our food was excellent, delicious and beautifully plated. The Riesling wine was a wonderful accent to the meal and Chris, our server, was delightful. She provided great service with a charming sweetness about her. The ambience was lovely. A very special opportunity for us to just enjoy ourselves. Thank you for all of that!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner which was perfectly prepar ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 27, 2016

We had dinner which was perfectly prepared along with wine. Our waitress was friendly

and efficient. We sat outside which made for a perfect evening meal.

Our breakfast the next morning was also freshly made--scones, fruit, and the option for

blueberry pancakes, scrambled eggs and bacon. All quite delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE HAVE BEEN THERE A NUMBER OF TIMES AND ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 23, 2016

WE HAVE BEEN THERE A NUMBER OF TIMES AND HAVE NEVER BEEN DISAPPOINTED. FOOD, SERVICE, AMBIANCE ARE TOP NOTCH.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful ............ food grea ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Always wonderful ............ food great .................. outstanding and interesting ambiance...

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoy Glen-Ella. The menu is varied ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We enjoy Glen-Ella. The menu is varied each time we dine here. Wait staff excellent. Friendly. Always a great treat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Similar to our previous experiences, we ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Similar to our previous experiences, we enjoyed excellent food, service, ambience, and friendly discussions with others enjoying their meals.

Would definitely recommend

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Exquisite food. Very helpful with gluten ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Exquisite food. Very helpful with gluten free specially prepared alternatives. Warm, friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very warm and gracious owners, beautiful ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very warm and gracious owners, beautiful outdoor gardens, extra sweet waitress, and the food was simply a delight.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our meal at Glen Ella Springs ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We enjoyed our meal at Glen Ella Springs. The staff is fantastic! We loved that it was really secluded and quiet which made the perfect restful evening after a long day. The food is okay, not great, but we would go back. Our suggestions would be to refine the dishes a bit, reduce portion size, cut back on the salt severely, and offer a la carte as well as fixed plates.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a bit of a trek to get there, it w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 29, 2016

It is a bit of a trek to get there, it would be very difficult without GPS, and don't bring your sports car as its about a mile in on an unpaved road but the food was definitely worth the trip. I would definitely recommend it and we will return if we're in the area again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful evening. It has been a while ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wonderful evening. It has been a while since we visited (since new ownership), and we found it just as delightful as previous visits. Love the fresh trout!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here many times and have ne ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 13, 2016

We have been here many times and have never been disappointed

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glen Ella is an old stagecoach inn that ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Glen Ella is an old stagecoach inn that has been remodel and the charm remains.

We like to take out of town guest because of the delicious food and historic appeal.

It is always the go to place for our wedding anniversary. Our favorite dessert is bread

pudding for my husband and creme brulee is my favorite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our dinner was outstanding, waitperson K ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Our dinner was outstanding, waitperson Kim was the best, very friendly and a great personality. Glen-Ella is fortunate to have her as a employee.

Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wines were affordable and nice to drink. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Wines were affordable and nice to drink. the food was good, but I have been there when it was great. The trout was pleasant, but I was surprised it was breaded. The veggies were good. Dessert was very good. One of us had teramisu and loved it. I had another dessert.; it was good Chocolate volcano cake.

Our server was distracted and slow. Perhaps she was just new. The young woman at the desk inside was great and very helpful. We had a lovely evening catching up with an old friend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great service and an incredibly peaceful ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great service and an incredibly peaceful and beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

not first timers

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 5, 2016

We have stayed at the inn this restaurant is located at several times. We eat at it's restaurant each time. It is a small sized place, but cozy and romantic. The building is historic and rustic and the food is always good. Their menu isn't huge, but has well rounded choices. Everything we've tried has been wonderful. Each time, including this time, our service has been very good and we will definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 1, 2016

This was our 4th or 5th time to visit Glen Ella on our anniversary. The food has always been exceptional except this time it was just good. It did not quite seem to be up to the high lever it was 3 years ago on our last visit. Now please understand, I would still recommend this restaurant to all of my friends and we will be back. I would rate it a 7 out of 10 on this visit and previously probably a 9.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always amazing food and service and wine ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 16, 2016

Always amazing food and service and wine in a quiet , rustic chic atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was very friendly and made my moth ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 2, 2016

Staff was very friendly and made my mother's 80th birthday very special. The food was excellent too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Long-Term Favorite

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2016

Long a favorite restaurant and one that could be counted on for high quality cuisine, some disappointment was experienced in food preparation quality. Most everything was near perfect but the beef filet was burned some on the outside and near raw on the inside. I didn't say anything as I don't want to be a "hard to please" person. This experience won't deter me from future dining at Glen Ella Springs Inn. Lamb chops outstanding. Wine and dessert were great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been going to Glen-Ella for many ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2016

I have been going to Glen-Ella for many years and each time is a special event! Food and service is unsurpassed!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2016

Food was fantastic. We stayed for the night but the restaurant is worth visiting just for dinner. Everything was perfection. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.