Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 5.05mi
  2. Distance: 5.28mi
  3. Distance: 9.01mi
  4. Distance: 9.87mi
  1. Distance: 5.05mi
  2. Distance: 5.28mi
  3. Distance: 9.01mi
  4. Distance: 9.87mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 5.05mi
  2. Distance: 5.28mi
  3. Distance: 9.01mi
  4. Distance: 9.87mi
  1. Distance: 5.05mi
  2. Distance: 5.28mi
  3. Distance: 9.01mi
  4. Distance: 9.87mi

About Glen-Ella Springs Restaurant

Glen-Ella Springs Inn Restaurant is open to the public and inn guests beginning at 5:30 pm. Offering one of the finest dining experiences in North Georgia mountains, the restaurant prepares American Continental cuisine with a Southern flare. The setting is rustic, yet elegant and features fireside and outdoor dining depending on the season. Recognized as one of the Top Dining Destinations in the state, Glen-Ella Springs Inn has long been recognized as a north Georgia favorite.

1789 Bear Gap Road
Clarkesville, GA 30523
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Evenings: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday through Saturday.
Please contact the restaurant directly to confirm availability.

Cross Street:
Orchard Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(706) 754-7295

Website:
http://www.glenella.com/our-restaurant/

Parking Details:
Free parking with handicap access.

Executive Chef:
Kyle Arddison

Private Party Facilities:
A private dining room is available in the inn's restaurant which will accommodate up to 35 people. For larger groups, 35 to 140 people, we offer our spacious outdoor open air pavilion. The pavilion has drop down clear view panels as well as heaters for use during winter months. Dozens of menu offerings are available for larger groups providing the ability to create a personalized menu for your group. Facility fee or minimum food charges may be applicable.

Private Party Contact:
Luci Kivett: (706) 754-7295

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special menus are created and offered on New Year's Eve and Valentines Day. Be sure to make your reservation early to ensure you get your preferred time to dine with us.

Glen-Ella Springs Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Romantic (19)
See All
Special Occasion (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Historic (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Authentic (10)
Cozy (9)
Scenic View (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Casual (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Healthy (5)
Fireplace (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Private Room (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
255 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

This place is an hour and half away from me and it's so worth the drive. ❤❤❤❤❤
This was my fourth time dining with them and I've already made my next reservation.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful dinner! Service was excellent. The food as well. I had the trout and my husband had the lamb chops. The portions are very generous. My husband said the french onion soup was the best he's ever had. We also had the crabcake appetizer which was full of lump crab. This was our second time here. I would definitely order the trout again. Wish we would've had room for dessert.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We were celebrating out 37th wedding anniversary. We dined outside by the garden. The birds were active, many plants were blooming and the atmosphere was very peaceful.

Our waitress, Ashley, was very observant and always had our water and wine refilled. The food was amazing.

Friends recommended Glenn- Ella Springs to us and we will definitely recommend to others.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My wife and I have been coming here a couple of times a year for the past 18 years & Glen Ella has never failed to impress us. Also, my wife is a vegetarian and the chef always fixes her something vegetarian friendly. Go, you won't be disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Had an awesome experience for an anniversary trip and meal. Will definitely be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Amazing dinner as always. Wife had the lamb and son had the sword fish. I had one of the best best tenderloins ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Never disappoints. The food is high quality, fresh, and artfully prepared. We were disappointed that we could not eat there two nights in a row, but the second night was booked completely.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Stayed at the Inn so enjoyed the restaurant on site. Unfortunately all outside tables were filled before 7pm so sat inside which was a bit of a disappointment. Food delicious though!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Casual, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My fish entree was overcooked and served cold; vegetables were cold and oily. Dinner was rushed as all tables were booked for the evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The dining experience was wonderful. The atmosphere was relaxing and the food was amazing!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 21, 2017

My husband and I ate here for a date night and we had the best time. The food was excellent, the service was great, and the overall experience was fantastic. We will be back soon!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Delicious food, prompt & courteous service. Rack of lamb was fabulous.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We love Glen-Ella! The food is consistently top notch and the staff is always extremely attentive and friendly. This trip the inn keeper and family were dining at a neighboring table and it was great to see that every table got the same attention and service that the owners received.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 20, 2017

My husband and I ate at Glen-Ella Springs restaurant two nights in a row while staying at the inn. Every dish is beautifully prepared and absolutely delicious - and this comes from one who considers herself a foodie. All the staff at Glen-Ella are super nice, the service was great and the atmosphere was romantic without being formal or stuffy . Wish we could eat like this every night!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Glen-Ella never fails to please us with their great food, chef prepared, and wonderful service!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Organic, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Absolutely amazing. Wonderfully prepared and beautiful to look at. As good as any place we have ever eaten. We had breakfast 3 mornings and dinner twice during our stay at the inn, and every meal was delicious. The chef specials each evening were well worth the trip.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Historic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 14, 2017

My wife and I live Glenn Ella, both the Inn and the Restaurant. The atmosphere is soothing and relaxing. The staff is great. The place has history and charm. It is perfect for special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal and the great atmosphere. Service was great and server was very friendly. We have already recommended this restaurant to others.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Such a great venue. So relaxing and pleasant. Terrific food. A treasured experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We have stayed numerous times to celebrate special occasions and are never disappointed. This is a historic Inn with a gourmet resturant. Dinner is something to look forward to enjoying. We had the Rack of Lamb as did many others. The owners, Ed and Luci Kivett, are quite charming. Inn is about an hour an a half drive from Atlanta. Check out their web site for information about rooms, menus, special packages, etc.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Normally I would give Glen Ella 5's across the board. We raved to foodie friends how great it is and brought them with us and it was good just not as outstanding as usual. New chef? Maybe, my usual rack of lamb presentation was not as perfect as many times before, it was prepared well but just different. The seasonal salad was ok and has always been great, a bit too smoky which it didn't need. We will go back again, it remains my favorite place but I hope things get back to 5 star review worthy.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Glen Ella Springs is the best for any special occasion! The staff, food and setting will fulfill your greatest expectations.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Wonderful food and excellent service. Celebrating son & daughter-in-law's wedding anniversary and my 69th birthday.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Always a very pleasant dining experience at a Glenn Ella! Staff is wonderful. Food is consistently good. Ambiance is quaint and lovely. A rare gem in the area!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We were staying in the Inn and had dinner in the restaurant. We had a wonderful meal, the baked brie was outstanding. I had the homemade ravioli (the first time they offered it) and it was delicious. The scallops served with it were cooked perfectly. My husband had the salmon and had the same comment that it was cooked perfectly.. Service was friendly and couldn't have been more attentive. We will definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Disabled Access, Fireplace, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The chef did a great job without having any advance warning that we are vegan. They were very accommodating, made it no big deal, and came up with something delicious, while our non-vegan friends raved about the rest of the menu and the fact that the restaurant has their favorite beer (Celtic?). Service was fantastic. Cute, quaint, nicely tucked away into a great setting, and great food to compliment all that.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Fireplace, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is a pricey place to eat, but is perfect for a special occasion. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary and had a fabulous evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful early Valentines celebration at Glen Ella. The setting was perfect. The staff was outstanding and the food was delicious.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very good restaurant with a nice historic inn. Good service even on a very busy night. Excellent Molten Chocolate Cake!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

In addition to great food and great service, the restaurant was very accommodating of our vegan dietary needs. I contacted the restaurant a few days in advance to ask if a vegan meal could be prepared. The chef did a wonderful job creating an off-the-menu entrée that was delicious.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Outstanding as always! You won't be disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was delicious. Great choices on the menu. Service was excellent. Very personable from owner Ed. Enjoyed our stay very much!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I cannot say enough good about this restaurant and Inn. Every detail was delightful and delicious! Wanna return soon with all the people I love.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Casual, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing place! Wonderful food, a great ambience and awesome staff! Again, the food was the best I've had in North Georgia and is as good as other hotspots across the country! You will not be disappointed!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Disabled Access, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Saturday night dinner while we were staying at Lake Rabun. Outstanding onion soup. Wine is well selected and very reasonably priced. We had an excellent South African cabernet for 2/3 of what we would have paid in Atlanta. Great atmosphere for a mid-winter dinner with very helpful and friendly service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Delicious food, great wines, great service. It was a nice place for a date night for my husband and I. We would definitely visit again.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fireplace, Casual, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I have been going to Glen-Ella for 10 years and have never been disappointed in the food or service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Healthy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fantastic food! My husband and I had the lamb and the trout. Tons of food on the plate! Four lamb racks perfectly done. Sweet potatoes ND green beans were done to perfection. Usually the sides are not the item that is most memorable but these certainly were on par with the meat entrees. Trout was perfect as well. This was an exceptional meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was prepared in a unique and interesting way. It was absolutely best trout I had ever eaten. Large portions so you filled up. The salmon was also cooked in a way so that it did not have a standard flavor. Extremely lovely to the taste buds. Service was efficient and yet subtle so we could enjoy the privacy of our conversation. Wonderful evening for husband and wife to have some quiet time together

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Fireplace, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Awesome food wonderful service. The food tasted great, very artistally presnted. Service was very very good!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.