Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Glacier BrewHouse

You will know the moment you walk in that this is not your typical brew pub. The scent of the alder wood grill and wood fired oven, the energy of the sparking exhibition cooking line and the glow of the brewery delight your senses. The BrewHouse features rotisserie grilled meats, the freshest Alaskan seafood, brick oven pizza and award winning hand crafted ales. The BrewHouse is Anchorage’s downtown landmark restaurant-“Where Alaskans meet Alaskans”.

737 W. 5th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11am – 4pm Daily

Weekend Brunch: 11am – 3pm Saturday and Sunday

Dinner:
4pm – 9:30 pm Sunday and Monday
4pm - 10pm Tuesday -Thursday
4pm - 11pm Friday & Saturday

Bar: open 1 hour later than dining room each evening

Cross Street:
H

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 274-2739

Website:
http://www.glacierbrewhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.
NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.

Public Transit:
We are one block from the 6th Avenue bus terminal.

Executive Chef:
Jolene Moellers

Private Party Facilities:
Our Conference Room seats up to fourteen guests around a granite conference table and is perfect for small business meetings and private celebrations. It is located in the corner of our dining room, behind the French doors. Amenities include a video tape recorder/television and an amplifier separate from the dining room system, allowing you to tune the music to your function. A flip chart is available for use also. We treat this room as another dining room table, requiring no special menu arrangements. We anticipate the use of this room for lunch or dinner service, allowing two hours per meal. If you would like extended use of this room, special arrangements are gladly made - just let us know. Reservations for this room are handled by our front desk crew, just like other dining room reservations.

Private Party Contact:
BrewHouse Front Desk: (907) 274-2739

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Growler Tuesday
64 ozs. of Pure Pleasure!
$6.00 Growlers for our Craft Beers
Blonde • Amber • India Pale Ale • Hefeweizen • Oatmeal
Stout • Raspberry Wheat • Export Lager
$11.00 Growlers for our Specialty Ales
Imperial Blonde • Double IPA (DIPA)
These Crazy Prices are only valid on Tuesday of each week.

Glacier BrewHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (114)
Casual (83)
Special Occasion (73)
See All
Local Ingredients (73)
Good for Groups (69)
Good for a Date (68)
Creative Cuisine (61)
Fun (58)
Hot Spot (56)
Great for Lunch (56)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Authentic (49)
Fit for Foodies (47)
People Watching (37)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Worth the Drive (36)
Business Meals (35)
Comfort Food (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Bar Seating (29)
Happy Hour (27)
Healthy (25)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Romantic (23)
Great for Brunch (21)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Cozy (20)
Late-night Find (20)
Kid-friendly (20)
Gluten Free Options (18)
Tasting Menu (18)
Seasonal (15)
Quick Bite (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Spicy (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Vegan (5)
Tapas (4)
Live Music (3)
Live Sports (3)
Organic (3)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
3840 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 12 hours ago

Our waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu and was very attentive. The food was amazing, as ever. The overall experience was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Food was good, service was stellar. Our waiter, Mark H was friendly and knowledgable!

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The food is excellent. I had the Seafood Crustini for app & the Seared Ahi tuna for the main entree. Both were flavorful and delicious . Portions are plenty and the service is attentive and friendly. Always a must eat when in town. ❤

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Our server seemed distracted. She did not ask to fIll up beverages unless the drinks were alcohol.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food was good the service was slow. We were seated near a window and it was very cold.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Can't go wrong with this restaurant. You'll need reservations usually.

Tags: Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food was great as is usual and the waiter took great care of the seven of us.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Been many times. Family visiting and we went for lunch. Everyone enjoyed their meals. And they all liked the ambience and of course the beer.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Excellent on all fronts, except it's a bit noisy so if you really want to communicate it's not your best choice. But food usually brings me back anyway.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 15, 2017

As always great food but the service could have been better. Be advised when GBH gets busy service declines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Wonderful place. Excellent meal. We had the Salmon and the Halibut. Both great. A must when in Anchorage.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Quick and delicious! The noise was a bit much, but nothing we couldn't still have a conversation with. Our server was great, I think her name was Sarah? We're locals so we will be back. Their root beer was a favorite at our table!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Our favorite restaurant when we visit Anchorage. Great food.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Our server only checked on us about 3 times and wasn't very accommodating. I never even got to ask her for another drink.. My sister and I barely ate our food either and she just took them away to box them up without a care in the world if we liked the food or not or asking if we even wanted dessert. So we didn't order any because she obviously wanted us gone.
I've been to the Brewhouse many times before this was the worst service I've encountered. We were pretty disappointed.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Beautiful restaurant. Be sure to get reservations! Food was excellent though a bit more limited menu than we expected. Excellent service even though they were busy. Good for small groups of family or friends.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

This place is sooo good. The pizzas are fantastic, and the chicken sandwich is amazing! I will definitely be going back. We've also had their flourless torte and peanut butter pie. That PB pie is to die for!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, People Watching, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Authentic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food was excellent! We just love going here one of our favorite places to go to!
Our server I wish I could remember her name, she looked like Cinderella was so awesome, and checked on us several times, which we like !
We will be back!
Just love this place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Food was quite good. Beers were also good. Noise level is very high. Had a reservation and was seated 20 minutes late.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

The service was not very good. Very unresponsive waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Unfortunately we didn't get seated until 6:45 for a 6:00 reservation and service was not as good as it normally is. We were a bit disappointed this time. Usually this is one of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 6, 2017

This place has amazing beer and food. We have gone a few times with big groups but we had to make a reservation. It is always very busy especially in the summer. The service was great and they had a kids menu for our toddler. Would definitely recommend this place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great staff from the front door to the table and great food too!

Tags: Casual, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

This is used to be my favorite place when visiting anchorage but the menu has gone foo foo and not good at all. Service is ok but not what used to be. Go for drinks but food some where else.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

For such a large building their seating is left to be desired. Not any spacious booths for groups or more than a couple really,just tables bunched together so close I felt I was at a large wedding with strangers. Food was good but definitely over priced and pizzas were totally cold. Wait times were pretty long even with reservations but that's to be expected when it's packed. The waitress was very kind and she removed pizzas off the tab and gave a free dessert. Overall I would give another shot when they are less busy. However I rarely ever eat out so it's not probable.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Mine burger was dry,no cheese ,no dressing on bun, my wife order wings they was nasty she was sick for the rest of the evening spending time in the bathroom

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Best shrimp & grits ever touched a girls lips!
Wait staff was very friendly. Kept our glasses full.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We regularly visit Glacier Brewhouse & haven't ever been disappointed. Its one of our favorite restaurants & somewhere we look forward to going every time.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, People Watching, Late-night Find, Organic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 3, 2017

As always this restaurant is in my top two in Anchorage. It is not always easy to get a reservation, but when you are able, the food, service and ambience is the best! It is casual but awesome! My compliments to the entire staff! Exceptional!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food waa good. My medium steak came out medium rare/rare, but it was still good. Service was nice as well. Attentive but not overbearing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

My friend's salad came out with a hair under a portion of the salad on the edge of her plate. Waiter immediately took care of replacement and we received 3 apologies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We were traveling in Alaska with a few nights in Anchorage our first week and one night at the end of our second. We don't usually repeat restaurants while traveling but the dinner was so exceptional the first week that we returned for our last meal and it was as outstanding again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Good food but very, very loud. Not good for conversation.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 2, 2017

All three entrees were overdone. Waitress was curt. One item that was bought to the table was incorrect was the wrong and she had to return it to the kitchen. She was given an unusual situation to deal with and was abrupt and rude about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Best Calamari! Great cocktails. Very good food and excellent service. Be prepared though its quite expensive, but worth it!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We were visiting Anchorage and found Glacier Brewhouse online. All of the food was delicious , fresh and creative. If ever we are in Anchorage again, we will certainly make sure to make a reservation.

Tags: Authentic, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

The food is great food, decent service but slow and Noisy.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 31, 2017

3rd year in a row going to Glacier Brewhouse for our anniversary.
Not regulars, just special occasions, this is our goto place in Anchorage,
Never been disappointed there.
I try different meals, wife always gets the herb crusted halibut.
great food, beers, wines, port, excellent service (Morgan took great care of us).

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Glacier Brewhouse is always amazing. It's one of my favorite spots in Anchorage.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Came off the train,have been here before and knew to make a reservation ! Love this place.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Usually or experience is fantastic. But this was not good. I had a ribeye medium rare and it was tough and unflavorful. Unattitive staff and felt like they didn't even care about our business. I know it's tourist season but it totally felt like they didn't care. Appetizer we had was smoked salmon dip, it was cold not warm. Not their usual fare. This was a special event, I talked people into going here and it was a bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.