About Glacier BrewHouse

737 W. 5th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

You will know the moment you walk in that this is not your typical brew pub. The scent of the alder wood grill and wood fired oven, the energy of the sparking exhibition cooking line and the glow of the brewery delight your senses. The BrewHouse features rotisserie grilled meats, the freshest Alaskan seafood, brick oven pizza and award winning hand crafted ales. The BrewHouse is Anchorage’s downtown landmark restaurant-“Where Alaskans meet Alaskans”.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
11am – 4pm Monday thru Friday
10am – 4pm Saturday and Sunday

Weekend Brunch: 10am – 3pm Saturday and Sunday

Dinner:
4pm – 11pm daily

Bar: open 1 hour later than dining room each evening

Cross Street:
H

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 274-2739

Website:
http://www.glacierbrewhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.
NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.

Public Transit:
We are one block from the 6th Avenue bus terminal.

Executive Chef:
Jolene Moellers

Private Party Facilities:
Our Conference Room seats up to fourteen guests around a granite conference table and is perfect for small business meetings and private celebrations. It is located in the corner of our dining room, behind the French doors. Amenities include a video tape recorder/television and an amplifier separate from the dining room system, allowing you to tune the music to your function. A flip chart is available for use also. We treat this room as another dining room table, requiring no special menu arrangements. We anticipate the use of this room for lunch or dinner service, allowing two hours per meal. If you would like extended use of this room, special arrangements are gladly made - just let us know. Reservations for this room are handled by our front desk crew, just like other dining room reservations.

Private Party Contact:
BrewHouse Front Desk: 9072742739x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Growler Tuesday
64 ozs. of Pure Pleasure!
$6.00 Growlers for our Craft Beers
Blonde • Amber • India Pale Ale • Hefeweizen • Oatmeal
Stout • Raspberry Wheat • Export Lager
$11.00 Growlers for our Specialty Ales
Imperial Blonde • Double IPA (DIPA)
These Crazy Prices are only valid on Tuesday of each week.

Restaurant Photos

  • Crispy Fish Sandwich
Crispy Fish Sandwich

Glacier BrewHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
1 More
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

good for groups (127)
special occasion (117)
great for lunch (97)
See All
fit for foodies (95)
hot spot (82)
neighborhood gem (54)
great for brunch (51)
vibrant bar scene (50)
kid-friendly (48)
romantic (39)
late-night find (31)
notable wine list (16)
scenic view (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2986 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I was told about this by a friend. Ate l ...

Dined 6 days ago

I was told about this by a friend. Ate lunch with several colleagues and loved the food. Made reservations and brought my husband back for dinner several days later. He is a seafood lover and said the Alaskan King Crab legs were wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

A really great find for us in anchorage! ...

Dined 6 days ago

A really great find for us in anchorage! Took all 12 of my family there and all loved it! Food is varied and really good. Service was outstanding. If you like good seafood this is the place to go

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a great place to go, but you ca ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

This was a great place to go, but you cant go last minute without and hour + wait time to be seated. Make reservations for sure! Good food, kinda pricey. Great beer, worth the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

The best calamari is found here. We hav ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

The best calamari is found here. We have tried it at many other places and no one comes near to this amazing appetizer.

food5
ambience4
service4

We always enjoy dining at Glacier Brewho ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We always enjoy dining at Glacier Brewhouse: food, service, and atmosphere are excellent! Love the calamari appetizer and bread pudding for dessert!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an night! We went out for our ann ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had an night! We went out for our anniversary. Our was amazing and fun. Helped us feel really comfortable on our night. The calimari was and still proves to be the best in town. The ribs were perfect as well as the halibut. From the food, the people, to just atmosphere, it was once again amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

When we arrived to the restaurant I told ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

When we arrived to the restaurant I told them we were there for our 7:30pm reservation. The front desk acted weird and after waiting over 10 minutes and watching others be seated, I said something very politely to the girl handing out the pagers, she said she thinks our reservation somehow was canceled, and to hold on a moment. Again we waited, I then asked again and another girl standing next to her was short with me and said "hold on for a second",(which we were doing for some time) and then my husband proceeded to go around to the far side of the front desk where the manager was and ask her what was going on. After about a minute, we were then finally seated. We were never explained why the problem, it was very strange. It just stressed us out before we were even seated. Other than that, our waitress and food was great and I love the atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the ribeye. It came with Brussel s ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I had the ribeye. It came with Brussel sprouts that were ABSOLUTELY delicious. Homemade ginger ale and cream soda are a must

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go here about 2-3 times a year and ha ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We go here about 2-3 times a year and have never had a bad meal or bad service! It's our "go-to" place :)

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing food. But Expensive. The servi ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Amazing food. But Expensive. The service was great, waitress knew about beers on tap and house brews.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Cool atmosphere. Great food and drinks. ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Cool atmosphere. Great food and drinks. Definitely worth a stop.

food5
ambience5
service5

Never a disappointment when I go! Defini ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Never a disappointment when I go! Definitely my favorite restaurant downtown

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First stop on a 10 day cruise tour of Al ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

First stop on a 10 day cruise tour of Alaska. Great place to kick off vacation!

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and atmosphere was fantastic! ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The food and atmosphere was fantastic! The best grilled salmon and halibut I have ever eaten. Great squid appetizer great seafood gumbo and wonderful bread pudding and peanut butter pie

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Brewhouse is a no brainier as the c ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The Brewhouse is a no brainier as the choice for dining when visitors come to town. Excellent menu, service and just the right amount of Alaska added. Greta place. Service and food variety always great.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service. My steak was served b ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent service. My steak was served bloody rare, but I had ordered it medium well. Our waitress returned it for more cooking and it was delicious when cooked more. The salads and desserts are divine!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was pretty good. I got the seared A ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Food was pretty good. I got the seared Ahi Tuna. Flavor was on point. My husband got the ribeye. It was way over cooked, but they ended up taking the steak back while he finished the rest of his plate, and they brought back an entire new order. This time it was perfect. Noise level was loud, but it's part of the atmosphere. Overall evening was great.

food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Awful salad

Dined on June 9, 2016

The waitress didn't know the specials or menu. I ordered the chop salad & it came without bacon & was soggy- seemed like it was old? The waitress used my fork to search through the salad looking for bacon. No offer of a replacement or discount.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Replace the salad

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

The salmon was wonderful but the horseradish salad needs to be replaced. Not at all tasty.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Great Anchorage dinner spot

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

We enjoyed a very good meal, and the menu choices were broad. Our service was excellent. the restaurant was very busy, and the bar area was especially crowded.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Disappointed.

Dined on June 6, 2016

We celibrate my daughters birthday every year at Glacier Brewhouse, and normally we love it. But this year I was very disappointed my daughter had halibut fish and chips she got two pieces of halibut (which honestly wasn't that good) for $26. I had the prime rib cheesesteak but I could barely find any meat. It was basically a pile of peppers, onions and cheese and it wasent very warm when served to me. We didn't have time to wait to have it replaced so I paid and left however the peanut butter pie and the Creme Brulé was delicious.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Splendid experience!

Dined on June 6, 2016

My wife and I were in Anchorage on vacation a few days in connection with a cruise, and actually we desided on booking a table months before while planning the tour. And we did not regret that, an afternoon visit to the bar told us this place was to be enjoyed, and we did!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service3

Our waiter was wonderful. Attentive and ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Our waiter was wonderful. Attentive and polite. However my husbands pizza was not good by any means. It was clearly misshapen and underdone. One side was still raw and doughy, the other side had no cheese or sauce, just crust. It was very disappointing. He was basically unable to eat half the pizza but we were still charged. It was very disappointing.

food5
ambience3
service5

We had a wonderful brunch here today.The ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

We had a wonderful brunch here today.The seafood Scramble could not have been better.It consisted of lots of various seafood,scrambled eggs and hollandise sauce Over homemade buttermilk biscuits.Our server Kerrie Could not have been nicer.She helped make our brunch Extra special.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding Service!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Took my husband out on a date and we chose the Brewhouse. We were not disappointed in our choice. From the time we walked in till when we left, the staff was courteous and attentive. We were never lacking in drinks, food or just wonderful interaction with the staff. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

first time

Dined on June 3, 2016

Heard about the brew house for a few year then finally broke down to go and it was absolutely amazing everyone was kind the food was perfect I am definitely coming back

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Crowded and Busy

Dined on June 2, 2016

Crowded and busy sums it up. Despite booking 6 weeks in advance we were kept waiting 30 minutes for a table. They seem more interested in turning over table with very quick service than allowing time for a pleasant meal. Food though was good and the choice of beer extensive. Don't bother about wine, as the list is small and it is after all a beer house.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Stop in Anchorage

Dined on June 2, 2016

We spent the night in downtown Anchorage prior to our cruise. Our group of friends wanted to go out to dinner and I found this restaurant had great ratings, so I decided to make a reservation through Open Table. The Glacier Brewhouse is a very popular restaurant in Anchorage. We arrived for dinner and found the place packed on a Wednesday night. Our waitress was friendly and the menu was huge. We all ordered a variety of drinks and food and everything was great. We'd go back to eat next time we're in downtown Anchorage.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful Seafood

Dined on June 1, 2016

Thank god we had reservations as there was over an hour wait for a table. On a Tuesday night. I had the fish special which was Copper River salmon that was outstanding. A bit pricey but not out of line with dining out prices in Alaska.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Just another over hiped restaurant of a small town

Dined on May 30, 2016

Its just another hiped restaurant, food was average and not worth the price with very loud environment and very slow internet.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Salmon Ever

Dined on May 30, 2016

My husband and I were in Alaska only 3 days and we eat dinner here twice. Last meal here was the best salmon I ever had. Worth every dollar you would spend!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food Great service

Dined on May 29, 2016

I have yet to have a bad dining experience at the Brewhouse. The beer and the food are delicious. The wait staff is attentive and the wait time for the appetizers and entrees was fair. My last trip I ordered the seared ahi tuna and my wife ordered the same. I loved my food and my wife did not care for hers. Seeing that my wife hadn't eaten her food the waitress asked if there was something wrong with the dish. All my wife said was that it "wasn't for her." I got my bill and she had removed my wife's meal from the bill. Needless to say, I will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The Glacier BrewHouse is always exceptio ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The Glacier BrewHouse is always exceptional; I had fresh Copper River King Salmon that was to die for!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food! The herb crusted halibut ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent food! The herb crusted halibut is amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We had to wait almost 1/2 hour even thou ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

We had to wait almost 1/2 hour even though we had a reservation. The food was very marginal considering how expensive it was. We did get a free dessert for my son's birthday which was nice.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Excellent food. Tasty be ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Great service. Excellent food. Tasty beer

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Small Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 26, 2016

I took my Girlfriend for her birthday and met another friend there. We had a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Ordered a steak and pound of King crab l ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Ordered a steak and pound of King crab legs. the steak was great but the King crab legs looked like they found the last odds and ends left and served them to us. They where the tip with almost no meat and Luke warm temperature. We came in at 8pm so maybe they where the last they had sitting around but for the cost felt disappointed and the waiter seemed no apologetic when I asked him about the quality.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vacation Delight

Dined on May 23, 2016

While in Ankorage on vacation we had a dinner meal at Glacier Brewhouse. The food was excellent, especially enjoyed the seafood Chowder. Ambience was very nice. We are a mid-50' s couple dining alone. We enjoyed it so much it was worth a return trip before leaving the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was great. Super attentive an ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our server was great. Super attentive and in a good mood. The food was good, great menu items to make lots of different people happy. I loved the bloody mary bar. Add cheesesticks to the bloody mary bar....it would be a great addition.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.