About Glacier BrewHouse

737 W. 5th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

You will know the moment you walk in that this is not your typical brew pub. The scent of the alder wood grill and wood fired oven, the energy of the sparking exhibition cooking line and the glow of the brewery delight your senses. The BrewHouse features rotisserie grilled meats, the freshest Alaskan seafood, brick oven pizza and award winning hand crafted ales. The BrewHouse is Anchorage’s downtown landmark restaurant-“Where Alaskans meet Alaskans”.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
11am – 4pm Monday thru Friday
10am – 4pm Saturday and Sunday

Weekend Brunch: 10am – 2pm Saturday and Sunday

Dinner:
4pm – 9:30pm Sunday and Monday
4pm – 10pm Tuesday thru Thursday
4pm – 11pm Friday and Saturday

Bar: open 1 hour later than dining room each evening

Cross Street:
H

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 274-2739

Website:
http://www.glacierbrewhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.
NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.

Public Transit:
We are one block from the 6th Avenue bus terminal.

Executive Chef:
Jolene Moellers

Private Party Facilities:
Our Conference Room seats up to fourteen guests around a granite conference table and is perfect for small business meetings and private celebrations. It is located in the corner of our dining room, behind the French doors. Amenities include a video tape recorder/television and an amplifier separate from the dining room system, allowing you to tune the music to your function. A flip chart is available for use also. We treat this room as another dining room table, requiring no special menu arrangements. We anticipate the use of this room for lunch or dinner service, allowing two hours per meal. If you would like extended use of this room, special arrangements are gladly made - just let us know. Reservations for this room are handled by our front desk crew, just like other dining room reservations.

Private Party Contact:
BrewHouse Front Desk: 9072742739x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Growler Tuesday
64 ozs. of Pure Pleasure!
$6.00 Growlers for our Craft Beers
Blonde • Amber • India Pale Ale • Hefeweizen • Oatmeal
Stout • Raspberry Wheat • Export Lager
$11.00 Growlers for our Specialty Ales
Imperial Blonde • Double IPA (DIPA)
These Crazy Prices are only valid on Tuesday of each week.

Restaurant Photos

Glacier BrewHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
1 More
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

good for groups (135)
special occasion (135)
fit for foodies (110)
See All
great for lunch (103)
hot spot (89)
great for brunch (60)
vibrant bar scene (57)
kid-friendly (57)
neighborhood gem (55)
romantic (47)
late-night find (42)
notable wine list (18)
scenic view (5)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2946 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience5
service5

Loved the service and the ambiance of Gl ...

Dined 4 days ago

Loved the service and the ambiance of Glacier Brewhouse. Saturday night was very lively! The service was also pretty good- I felt like the server knew what she was talking about. She was really good at up- selling. She got us to order a few things were not on our radar. Where things went south for me has to be the food. Great ingredients, but the preparation of it was all wrong. Things either lacked flavor or they tried to do TOO MUCH. Let the ingredients speak for itself. In the end I left really disappointed. It was one of the least enjoyable meals I've ever had.

food5
ambience4
service5

If you have a group over 10, reserve a s ...

Dined 5 days ago

If you have a group over 10, reserve a side private room.

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

This place has become a victim of it's o ...

Dined 5 days ago

This place has become a victim of it's own success, by this I mean so many people are trying to get in the service and general ambiance has gone down. Food quality is fine but one of our meals was cold by the time it was served. The noise level is too loud to have a conversation without shouting.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and libations were fabulous! The h ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food and libations were fabulous! The halibut is the best we've ever had! I'd go back in a minute if I lived in Anchorage!!!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food, was noisy because they were ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great food, was noisy because they were slammed, higher than I'm used to wait time for food from them but still a great time.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Glacier BrewHouse Has It All

Dined 7 days ago

I went here for dinner as a single and had the most pleasant experience. My server was extremely helpful and attentive, recommending specials in both food and local brew. I didn't particularly care for the beer I ordered and was given another more to my liking almost immediately. King Salmon was the special and although expensive, was beautifully prepared as were the veggies and the rice. The only downside, as far as I'm concerned, is that the place can be a bit loud. However, if you sit across from the bar, the volume isn't quite so bad. The food and service more than make up for it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a group of 9 celebrating a colle ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We were a group of 9 celebrating a college graduation...childhood friends, siblings, parents, adult friends. Great gathering place!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. We had salmon, h ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food was excellent. We had salmon, halibut & seafood pasta. The crabcake appetizer was delicious. Giovanni, our server, was outstanding. Definitely recommend reservations.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The copper river salmon was very good an ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The copper river salmon was very good and the king crab legs were awesome. The service was very good.

food4
ambience3
service3

Service was ok but the food arrival was ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Service was ok but the food arrival was slow.

food2
ambience5
service1

Waitress was very inattentive. Failed t ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Waitress was very inattentive. Failed to pick up appetizer of King crab in timely fashion. The $29 appetizer was tepid and dried out. King Salmon arrived on a ginormous pile of rice, which absorbed all the buerre blanc. The veggies were very pedestrian, green beans and carrots. For $45, this should have been more upscale....

food5
ambience4
service5

Our favorite restaurant. We continue t ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Our favorite restaurant. We continue to come back and are not disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glacier Brewhouse always delivers. Food ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Glacier Brewhouse always delivers. Food was amazing, drinks were amazing and it was perfect for going for my husbands birthday. No complaints ever!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great first time experience using opent ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great first time experience using opentable and sister site to have flowers delivered. Restaurant was great and very friendly staff. Celebrated our26th anniversary with in laws celebrating their 25th. Waitress even decorated and gave us free deserts.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

was given wrong pasta dish

Dined on May 9, 2016

I was given the wrong pasta dish. It took a while for me to figure it out. It tasted good though

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Very limited menu with high prices for l ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Very limited menu with high prices for local fare. Service was ok, noise level was high, but it was Mother's Day. I've been going there for years but it may be time to pick someplace new. The menu doesn't seem to change much except for the most costly items. I'll try lunch there a few times before I sign off on the Brewhouse.

food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Nice place but so-so food

Dined on May 8, 2016

The waiter was not very punctual, nor was he very friendly. The food, I had the chicken fried chicken. The biscuit was as dry as a piece of leather, the egg was dried out from setting on the service tray to long (NEVER should have been brought to the table) and the potatoes were all but burnt!!! My guests food was marginally above mine. Very disappointing for a quality restaurant to serve food like this and have waiters that so apparently dislike their job on Mother's Day.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great server

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great server

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Noisy but nice

Dined on May 7, 2016

We requested the quietest seating when we made our reservation. Our table was far from quiet and if this is the quietest one I am amazed. The service was excellent and the food quite good so we adjusted our attitudes and reduced our time in the noisy atmosphere. The overall rating is ok but not great.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5

Great server and I love how they were ab ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Great server and I love how they were able to split our order at no extra cost.

food3
ambience5
service5

Beer on tap and deserts are great. Jalap ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Beer on tap and deserts are great. Jalapeño corn bread is the best! Steaks are ok. Just lacks flavor. Really good root beer made in house.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Dining Experience!

Dined on May 6, 2016

I don't recall the name of our server, but he did a great job waiting on our bachelorette party that night! He friendly and funny and really made the ladies enjoy themselves. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience and I'll be sure to let people know that Glacier Brewhouse is a great place to dine!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good Food, Always Packed, Excellent Beer

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

I hit this place every time in Anchorage. Just a solid place for good seafood, energetic atmosphere (always always always packed) and really great beer. Seafood entrees always good. Halibut is especially good every time. It is way too loud, however. You basically have to shout to talk to anyone. Food is pretty pricey, but typical for Anchorage. However, the absolute must reason to come here is for the Peanut Butter Pie Dessert. It is outrageously good.

Tags: kid-friendly, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service.

Dined on May 5, 2016

Salmon was what I wanted, and I received a delicious piece of fresh salmon!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Noisy. Very busy. Bus guy was very hel ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Noisy. Very busy. Bus guy was very helpful. Waitress too busy

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Good food, reservation weirdness

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was good, but when we sat down to our reserved table at 3:45, the server told us that there was another reservation for that table at 5. When then heard her say the same thing to a table next to us. It put everybody on edge knowing that we didn't have much time to enjoy our meal. We would have ordered more appetizers before our main course and desserts and coffee afterwards, but did not have enough time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brewhouse Brunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

This was my first time trying the brunch menu at the Brewhouse. Everything was delicious. I ordered the chicken fried chicken, which was absolutely fantastic. The portions were enormous for the price of the meal. We all probably could have split a couple entrees. I definitely recommend checking out the brunch; it's a nice change of pace from the regular (albeit excellent) menu.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, drinks, and service as usual.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent food, drinks, and service as usual. Good selection of beers, apps, entrees, and deserts. Overall a good place to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our time at the Brewhouse

Dined on May 1, 2016

Reservations recommended because this is a very busy place

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The place never falls short of perfect, ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The place never falls short of perfect, even being gone for 7 years, we couldn't wait to have dinner at our favorite restaurant. And it lived up to our expectations once again. The food was delicious, service was spot on and we always live the energetic atmosphere. We weren't disappointed and can never say enough good things about the Brewhouse. Can't wait for our next visit.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was good, but fell short of excellent.

Dined on April 29, 2016

We were a party of 11, and we had very good service. However, reviews I had seen put this restaurant in the moderately priced category, and most of the seafood entree choices were over $30. I found this surprising since the seafood could be considered one of the few locally sourced ingredients. In addition, I found some of the seasonings overpowering to the mild flavors of the Halibut. My students' pizza with fresh mozzarella, tomato, and basil had too much tomato, rendering it a bit soggy. Highlights were the pretzel and cheese fondue appetizer along with a fantastic creme brulee.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Super Friendly Service

Dined on April 29, 2016

We were there with a large party of teens who were in town for an academic event. Initially concerned that a brewhouse wouldn't fit well with us but was very pleasantly surprised. Everyone had a great time. I'm especially grateful to our server, Becky, who had the patience and temperament to make us feel welcome. Highly recommended!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Before a PAC Show

Dined on April 29, 2016

It is always fun to have dinner before one of our shows. It is also nice that we get to meet at 5pm because after 7pm the BrewHouse is very noisey. We do enjoy the food. They are always very accommodating on where they seat us and we appreciate that very much.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Glacier brew house

Dined on April 28, 2016

Good food. Very busy but right on time with reservations. Service not speedy but ok if you are relaxing. Kind of high prices for food but pretty good and plenty for a meal , a good place for out of town guests and great beer choices. Would definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Experience

Dined on April 27, 2016

Have eaten many many times here but this time the salads were very bland and the service mediocre. Had to ask for items more than once with long waits. They were busy which I understand but simple things like balsamic vinegar with the bread was forgotten and took forever to get. As usual the Ahi was great.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service3

Our service was spotty. Long delays bet ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Our service was spotty. Long delays between ordering and food on table. Food was really good, but steak was over done and cool, not hot. Seafood fettuccine had cooled. Seems food sat on the line way to long. Flavors were great, but it was not what it used to be. Only star was calamari, which was fantastic. Even desert was long delayed so ice cream had nearly melted into a puddle. Waitress was kind enough to bring another, but the damage was done. We will go back, but if this continues i doubt it will be often.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Really ordinary

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

I was quite disappointed by my experience at the Glacier BrewHouse. The grilled salmon was the most flavorless that I had in six days in Anchorage and area. The Belgian White brewed on the premises was just plain flat. I personally have NO idea of the Brew House's apparent popularity. Oh, and the prices were high for what you got. NOT value.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food and drinks

Dined on April 24, 2016

The waitress was a knowledgeable asset, she provided us a great rundown on the evening specials. The food did take a while to reach our table; but it was extremely busy that day, lots of social events going. The taste was expected, good quality. A favorite spot for any day other than the weekend, I would still recommend this place to anyone wanting to eat a good meal. Also, a great brewery location, the beer is where it's at!

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

I expected a better brunch experience

Dined on April 23, 2016

I absolutely love Brewhouse for dinner, brunch experience however was not that good. We arrived for our reservation about 5 minutes before they open at 10, staff walked right by us and ignored us completely like we were invisible. A simple "we would be with you shortly" or something would have been nice. The food was quite fancy and good, but there are no brunch items for kids at all. Who would want to eat pizza or chicken fingers at 10 in the morning? The server also seemed to be just waking up and couldn't get our order right several times. We did enjoy our Crab Cake Benedicts and Seafood Scramble.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Definitely amazing food here. The price reflects the food quality (not a cheap place to eat unless you order pizza or soup). Also, it is a pretty noisy restaurant. That beings said, it is a fantastic place to eat and take visitors to.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.