About Glacier BrewHouse

737 W. 5th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

You will know the moment you walk in that this is not your typical brew pub. The scent of the alder wood grill and wood fired oven, the energy of the sparking exhibition cooking line and the glow of the brewery delight your senses. The BrewHouse features rotisserie grilled meats, the freshest Alaskan seafood, brick oven pizza and award winning hand crafted ales. The BrewHouse is Anchorage’s downtown landmark restaurant-“Where Alaskans meet Alaskans”.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
11am – 4pm Monday thru Friday
11am – 4pm Saturday and Sunday

Weekend Brunch: 11am – 3pm Saturday and Sunday

Dinner:
4pm – 9:30pm Sunday and Monday
4pm - 10pm Tuesday thru Thursday
4pm - 11pm Friday and Saturday

Bar: open 1 hour later than dining room each evening

Cross Street:
H

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 274-2739

Website:
http://www.glacierbrewhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.
NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.

Public Transit:
We are one block from the 6th Avenue bus terminal.

Executive Chef:
Jolene Moellers

Private Party Facilities:
Our Conference Room seats up to fourteen guests around a granite conference table and is perfect for small business meetings and private celebrations. It is located in the corner of our dining room, behind the French doors. Amenities include a video tape recorder/television and an amplifier separate from the dining room system, allowing you to tune the music to your function. A flip chart is available for use also. We treat this room as another dining room table, requiring no special menu arrangements. We anticipate the use of this room for lunch or dinner service, allowing two hours per meal. If you would like extended use of this room, special arrangements are gladly made - just let us know. Reservations for this room are handled by our front desk crew, just like other dining room reservations.

Private Party Contact:
BrewHouse Front Desk: (907) 274-2739

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Growler Tuesday
64 ozs. of Pure Pleasure!
$6.00 Growlers for our Craft Beers
Blonde • Amber • India Pale Ale • Hefeweizen • Oatmeal
Stout • Raspberry Wheat • Export Lager
$11.00 Growlers for our Specialty Ales
Imperial Blonde • Double IPA (DIPA)
These Crazy Prices are only valid on Tuesday of each week.

Glacier BrewHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (64)
Good for a Date (62)
Great Beer (58)
See All
Fireplace (58)
Casual (51)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Fun (41)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Great for Lunch (38)
Pre/post Theatre (34)
Good for Groups (33)
Bar Seating (32)
Business Meals (30)
Wood Oven (30)
Open Kitchen (29)
Comfort Food (28)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Worth the Drive (26)
Hot Spot (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
People Watching (23)
Local Ingredients (23)
Cozy (22)
Authentic (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Family Style (19)
Romantic (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Kid-friendly (17)
Private Room (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Outstanding Value (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Healthy (10)
Seasonal (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Tapas (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Spicy (6)
Historic (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Live Music (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dancing (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3444 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was amazing and the service was ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was amazing and the service was great. Always a fun place to visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was over priced and not very good. ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was over priced and not very good. Steak was not prepared as asked. Crab legs with tasteless and over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great food and service . Table dirty and ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and service .

Table dirty and was sticky, seats had spilled food on them. 😖

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food is inconsistent.

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

Food is inconsistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Food is always good. They got my order w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Food is always good. They got my order wrong but everything was still great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The cheese and pretzel bread was the bes ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The cheese and pretzel bread was the best part of the meal. The dinners were not memorable but we didn't have to send anything back. Flat Iron steak had good sauce but a little tough and smallish for the price (24.95), the complimentary bread was pretty basic cheap bread and not served with any butter or vinegar for dipping.

We noted that this was a birthday dinner for our twin teenagers and they seated us right next to the serving line in the kitchen. Definitely reduced the "special" occasion feel when you are listening to the servers plating up food and talking through our meal. Handing your dish across the wall to save the server time in circling the dining room is something you expect in a low cost restaurant.

Management obviously doesn't observe the dining area much if at all. If they do - that's not a good omen for the longevity of Glacier Brewhouse.

The server was nice and checked on us but there was a fairly long wait after we asked for bread and then she returned.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

My husband and I went to Glacier Brewhou ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 16, 2017

My husband and I went to Glacier Brewhouse for the first time to celebrate my birthday! The atmosphere was great, not too loud, and we were cozy next to the fire place. Service was great, food didn't take long, and best of all.. it was delicious! We'll definitely be going back.

Tags: Family Style, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not sure if we hit an off night as we do ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Not sure if we hit an off night as we don't frequent the restaurant. The food was all served barely warm, including the soup. The filet mignon was quite tough/chewy. For the price one would expect higher quality; at the very least the food should be fresh and hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

If you don't have a reservation, you'll ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

If you don't have a reservation, you'll probably have to wait, but it's worth it! Always a great time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always excellent! We've neve ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food is always excellent! We've never had anything less than an excellent meal here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food delicious as always. Highly recomme ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food delicious as always. Highly recommend the Halibut Fish and Chips, some of the best in Anchorage. Atmosphere is fun and the wait staff is friendly. Try to get a table next to the fireplace if possible☺

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Glacier Brewhouse is my favorite restaur ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Glacier Brewhouse is my favorite restaurant, and I've been many times. This week I ordered the seared Ahi tuna. It was tasty, but my plate arrive with nothing but fish and rice. It looked plain and unadorned. I later checked the menu online and realized they had forgotten the kimchi and other decor that usually goes on the plate. I should have spoken up at the restaurant, but I server had moved on, my group was already eating, and I let it go. Guess they got in a hurry. However, the part that did make it onto the plate was delicious.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Four of us for dinner and each entree a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Four of us for dinner and each entree a hit! Here from California and will be back! Great food and service!

Tags: , Open Kitchen, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a high quality meal before the ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great for a high quality meal before the theater. The shrimp and grits could only be improved by removing the tails from the shrimp before serving. The flank steak was outstanding as it was.

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Calamari and King Crab Legs were phenome ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Calamari and King Crab Legs were phenomenal. The Cream Soda was also delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter said you had to work at openi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The waiter said you had to work at opening the crab leg, and boy was he right.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Great staff and food was fabulous as alw ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great staff and food was fabulous as always!! This is forcing me to write more so I am writing more. There you go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We're regular diners at this restaurant. ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We're regular diners at this restaurant. Most often we have a 4 or 5 star experience, but not tonight. The food was good, but the service was unusually terrible. The restaurant was not as busy as usual, which should have been beneficial to us as diners, but it wasn't...read on.

Our server was a woman named Johnnie. She was unfriendly, and overall acted as if our party of 3 was an obligation. The bussers in our area were far more friendly toward us than Johnnie. This is unfortunate because the server represents the entire restaurant staff because the server interacts with the patron more than any other restaurant staff.

Johnnie took our order mostly without a problem, though she seemed annoyed when we asked her for more time so we could decide on our order.

About 15 minutes after we were served our meal by the bussers, Johnnie finally came by to ask how we liked our food. By this time we had eaten half of our dinner, so her question was too late to be useful.

We asked her to please refill our water glasses only one time, and she complained to us about how her bussers shouldn't put so much ice in our water glasses because the glasses must then be refilled more often. Again, she acted like serving us was her obligation. I'd say she acted as if she doesn't like her job.

Later, she delivered the bill. I provided my card as payment. She then picked up the bill and my card and disappeared for 10 minutes...Really? 10 minutes to run my card? When she came back she remarked she thought she had already brought me my card, and acted irritated. Her irritation appeared to be directed toward me, which was obviously inappropriate.

As you can read, although the food was good, our service was far less than stellar, so I'm giving the restaurant only 2-stars today.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

I am from Mexico City, I was there with ...

 
 (México)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I am from Mexico City, I was there with a friend this week. We ate tuna and salmon both delicious meals; we recommend this restaurant, ask for a mojito and say cheers!!!

Tags: , Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was really wanting steak. Got there an ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I was really wanting steak. Got there and what I wanted was about $35.95 or higher. Wasn't willing to pay that. Settled for the double fried chicken sandwich. It was good, but not what I really wanted . Our server Mark was top notch

Tags: Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waiter Mark was hilarious and very h ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our waiter Mark was hilarious and very helpful with anything on the menu. The food was delicious and the inside was very clean and well decorated. Overall great experience for me and my date.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Business Meals, People Watching, , Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent! Very nice atmosp ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was excellent! Very nice atmosphere, good service. Cocktails were the only thing that were a little slow coming out but no worries!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Family Style, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was fine. I think it could be bette ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was fine. I think it could be better for the price but it was still good. The place when we got there was fairly empty, so noise level was low. The service our waiter gave us was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our first time there and it was a ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 6, 2017

It was our first time there and it was awesome. Our server was fantastic and the food was great! Glad we checked it out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glacier Brewhouse was excellent as alway ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Glacier Brewhouse was excellent as always! The food is always wonderful. The service is amazing. This is one of my favorite places in Anchorage!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only once, in all the years we have gone ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Only once, in all the years we have gone to Glacier BrewHouse, have we had a disappointment... and the moment we let them know, they made it right and served us well. Always excellent food; we take any out of town visitors there!

Tags: Fireplace, Family Style, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was New Years Eve and packed. We only ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was New Years Eve and packed. We only had to wait a few minutes for our table. Our waitress was a bit overwhelmed and we waited a bit longer than normal to be taken care of. The tables were very close together and it was loud. Not the kind of place I'd want to go on a romantic date. It was ok for a double date-pre NYE dinner. Our spinach dip appetizer was delicious but small portioned. Our salads were very tasty. We had a Caesar and a Blue Cheese. They were well portioned and had great flavor. The ribs were good (not great) and jumbalaya pasta wasn't anything to write home about. I used to come here all the time and haven't for a while because the food went downhill. I think they still have some slack to pick up in the food department. I like their sister, Orsos, much better and will probably not come back to Brewhouse for a while again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great atmosphere, friendly service, and ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great atmosphere, friendly service, and good craft beer. We enjoy sitting in the bar.

Food can be hit or miss, they lack consistency and quality control in this area! Management attributes this to being busy and high volume...

Go here for the beer and the great atmosphere, but be warned about the food...

Tags: Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I wish they would revive the thai pizza, ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I wish they would revive the thai pizza, but i guess they have to keep a modern menu. Ok, rant is out, this is a lively place, even without muzac. Bring your discussions n dress a little-be scene!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We visited on New Year's Eve and were ex ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We visited on New Year's Eve and were excited because we don't treat ourselves very often. I'd made a reservation for two for 6:00 because we were meeting friends for the fireworks at 7:15. I had made the reservation through Open Table and we'd arrived about 20 minutes early. They said they had checked us in, but we were too early and they wouldn't be able to seat us until 6. We were fine with that and enjoyed a drink while waiting. It seemed they kept seating people who had arrived after us. Finally at about 6:15, we went up to the front desk to make sure they hadn't forgotten about us. They said they were running a little behind and we'd be seated soon. About 10 munutes later, they finally took us to a table and told us they were buying us an appetizer. We really appreciated that. The rest of the experience was great, except the calamari was a little rubbery. I loved my pepper crusted Alaska salmon and my wife enjoyed her halibut. We had to text our friends to let them know we were running a little behind, but we made it to Town Square for the fireworks and had a wonderful New Year's Eve.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Despite having a reservation (at a time ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Despite having a reservation (at a time picked by the restaurant, not our first choice) we still had to wait a half hour to get seated. When we asked the hostess how much longer, she was unsympathetic to the point of being rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been here many time and continue ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been here many time and continue to dine again. Most times we find a seat in the bar area, but this time we had a reservation for a table. We were seated along the south wall. That location can be a little chilly because o the glazing, so bring a sweater or (shawl or the ladies). All levels of clothing from casual to formal. Food was creative and tasty. Hostesses and server and bus person were all friendly.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My sis and I enjoyed a couple drinks whi ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My sis and I enjoyed a couple drinks while we waited for our fig and chevre salad, seafood chowder, and wagyu sliders. The sliders needed a bit more sauce, and the food took a bit longer than usual, but the Brewhouse is always a favorite, with professional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Calimari was a bit overcooked but other ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Calimari was a bit overcooked but other than that very good as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very popular venue; need to book in ad ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 31, 2016

A very popular venue; need to book in advance.

Great ambiance, good food.

Can be a little noisy when full, as to be expected.

Well worth a visit

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

we love coming there to eat all the time ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 30, 2016

we love coming there to eat all the time,hospitality is awesome ,clean place. thank you so much for everything. A++++++++++

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the atmosphere were both ou ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food and the atmosphere were both outstanding. Unfortunately we had a server that understood or spoke very little english and we had a few misunderstandings that led to poor service. She was not impolite, she just made a lot of mistakes. For example, she didn't bring me the drink that I ordered. And she brought our main course out before the appetizers.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Food was served cold. They happily took ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was served cold. They happily took it back but returned with lukewarm food. I would have preferred a hot meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Great Alaskan restaurant. The beer selec ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great Alaskan restaurant. The beer selection is great! Service is very good. Highly recommend the beer flight.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The fettuccine jambalaya is delicious hi ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The fettuccine jambalaya is delicious highly recommend it! I can't wait to go back and try some of the other food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.