About Glacier BrewHouse

737 W. 5th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

You will know the moment you walk in that this is not your typical brew pub. The scent of the alder wood grill and wood fired oven, the energy of the sparking exhibition cooking line and the glow of the brewery delight your senses. The BrewHouse features rotisserie grilled meats, the freshest Alaskan seafood, brick oven pizza and award winning hand crafted ales. The BrewHouse is Anchorage’s downtown landmark restaurant-“Where Alaskans meet Alaskans”.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
11am – 4pm Monday thru Friday
11am – 4pm Saturday and Sunday

Weekend Brunch: 11am – 3pm Saturday and Sunday

Dinner:
4pm – 9:30pm Sunday and Monday
4pm - 10pm Tuesday thru Thursday
4pm - 11pm Friday and Saturday

Bar: open 1 hour later than dining room each evening

Cross Street:
H

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 274-2739

Website:
http://www.glacierbrewhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.
NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.

Public Transit:
We are one block from the 6th Avenue bus terminal.

Executive Chef:
Jolene Moellers

Private Party Facilities:
Our Conference Room seats up to fourteen guests around a granite conference table and is perfect for small business meetings and private celebrations. It is located in the corner of our dining room, behind the French doors. Amenities include a video tape recorder/television and an amplifier separate from the dining room system, allowing you to tune the music to your function. A flip chart is available for use also. We treat this room as another dining room table, requiring no special menu arrangements. We anticipate the use of this room for lunch or dinner service, allowing two hours per meal. If you would like extended use of this room, special arrangements are gladly made - just let us know. Reservations for this room are handled by our front desk crew, just like other dining room reservations.

Private Party Contact:
BrewHouse Front Desk: (907) 274-2739

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Growler Tuesday
64 ozs. of Pure Pleasure!
$6.00 Growlers for our Craft Beers
Blonde • Amber • India Pale Ale • Hefeweizen • Oatmeal
Stout • Raspberry Wheat • Export Lager
$11.00 Growlers for our Specialty Ales
Imperial Blonde • Double IPA (DIPA)
These Crazy Prices are only valid on Tuesday of each week.

Glacier BrewHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (71)
Special Occasion (66)
Fireplace (60)
See All
Great Beer (57)
Casual (55)
Good for Birthdays (48)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Great for Lunch (43)
Fun (39)
Pre/post Theatre (37)
Good for Groups (36)
Open Kitchen (32)
Wood Oven (31)
Business Meals (31)
Worth the Drive (31)
Comfort Food (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Romantic (27)
Bar Seating (27)
Family Style (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Hot Spot (24)
Authentic (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Cozy (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
People Watching (19)
Tasting Menu (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Kid-friendly (16)
Outstanding Value (14)
Private Room (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Healthy (11)
Seasonal (9)
Quick Bite (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Tapas (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Historic (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Spicy (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Music (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dancing (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3480 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My first burger was raw the waitress too ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 2 days ago

My first burger was raw the waitress took a while before coming back. Usually service there is better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

I live in Fairbanks so it is always a re ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

I live in Fairbanks so it is always a real treat to dine here when I am in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Casual, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was not as good as it has been ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was not as good as it has been in the past. My guest and I ordered the same item and it was plated completely different and her ahi tuna was very fatty. The waitress was awesome though and made up for it! Not sure at this point I would go back. Seems like they are just not at holding themselves to the standards they used to.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

A pleasant dining experience. The serve ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 3 days ago

A pleasant dining experience. The server was attentive and the food was good.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Best shrimp and grits in the state. Grea ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 4 days ago

Best shrimp and grits in the state. Great food! Very busy and the people watching is stellar.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You guys deliver as always. Thank you fo ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

You guys deliver as always. Thank you for the great service!

Tags: Cozy, Wood Oven, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food delightful. Service, not so much.

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

Food delightful. Service, not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Always great!

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations for lunch on Valenti ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 7 days ago

We had reservations for lunch on Valentine's Day. I've eaten at the Brewhouse since 1998 when I moved to Anchorage. The food has gone downhill and the prices have gone up. My date ordered rotisserie chicken with the result four hours later she felt sick. Six hours after eating she was hugging the porcelain God. Not a good experience for her first time there. I had the cheesesteak sandwich. It was okay. I've always thought that good restaurants took the seeds out of jalapeños when they put them in a grilled sandwich. Evidently the cooks are too lazy to do that and give the diner the subtle flavor. That and all the jalapeño slices were clumped together. It seems to me all the dishes are taking a strange flair with fancy stuff being cooked together. The original comfort food meals have been abandoned. Too bad. I doubt I will take my girl friend there again. There are several better places to go in the vicinity with better food and prices.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Love Glacier BrewHouse. Food is always d ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love Glacier BrewHouse. Food is always delicious. Service could have been better, waitress was friendly, lacked attentiveness (she was barely around but she was so sweet when she did show up)

Tags: Organic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The first time we visited Brewhouse, the ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The first time we visited Brewhouse, the food was great. My wife couldn't wait to go back. This time it was the weekend before Valentine's Day and it was pretty busy. My brussel sprouts were burned, my steak wasn't seasoned very well, my crab legs were old and smelled sour, and my wife's bread pudding was left in the oven too long; it was very dry. Also, my "second" Earl Grey tea tasted very different from the first one and not in a good way.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

5 star waiter! Good food! Overall a grea ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 11, 2017

5 star waiter! Good food! Overall a great experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the seared Ahi dinner. It's been a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Love the seared Ahi dinner. It's been a favorite of mine for a long time. Also the calamari app is fabulous and and bread pudding is amazing (we always ask for extra Carmel sauce and this is one of the only tunes I'll pick anything over chocolate & peanut butter... although that is also good here).

I've always had great experiences with the salmon and halibut dishes here too. Pizzas and salads are also good.

I've been with friends who have ordered the chicken dinner and it's always seemed dry. Also the salmon dip appetizer was lacking - it was Cold and not our favorite. And we love salmon dips. Also wish they would include the vinegar at the table for the bread. I always hate having to ask for it. It does get a little loud which can be difficult for people with poor hearing.

Overall I have always really liked this restaurant and will make it back regularly. It's one of my favorites in Anchorage!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Private Room, Fireplace, Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always smells like a lovely wood fire!

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Always smells like a lovely wood fire!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We were heading to a show afterwards. O ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We were heading to a show afterwards. Our waiter was fabulous about making our timeline work. The food was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, People Watching, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved the food. Calamari is best in tow ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Loved the food. Calamari is best in town. We made a reservation and requested a window booth, and amazingly got it, which was great. But we've been there, seated in the big open area, and could not have a good conversation due to the surrounding noise. I much prefer the window side.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Glacier Brewhouse is my favorite restaur ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Glacier Brewhouse is my favorite restaurant in Anchorage, perfect for any occasion. The food and service NEVER disappoint. On this occasion, I was treating an out-of-state colleague to the best place I knew! She loved it! In fact, went back another two times during her stay in Anchorage. :)

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, , Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitress seemed impatient and very u ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The waitress seemed impatient and very uninterested in serving us. Their were quite a few miscommunications on our order. The food was ok but with the service from the waitress we're not comfortable mentioning our displeasure with our order. We paid and left. We visited before and it was great. That's why we came back but unfortunately we will probably just chose a different restaurant from here on out

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value4

Always love eating here. It's a treat b ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always love eating here. It's a treat because it is expensive. Friday night was VERY SLOW to get our food. Waitress apologized several times. Waitress was great, however!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We love the Glacier Brewhouse! Our food ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We love the Glacier Brewhouse! Our food is always delicious and the staff is always accommodating. This restaurant is always my first pick!

Tags: People Watching, Great Beer, Wood Oven, Fun, Local Ingredients, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was absent a lot, took a sign ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Our server was absent a lot, took a significant amount of time to greet us, didn't offer us water, seemed out odd to wait on us. The woman bringing us more water and the guy who boxed our food were both warm and friendly. We noticed our server was quite friendly and attentive to the table next to us. I am not sure why we didn't get the same service. The table next to us had men and we were a table of women so perhaps that was a factor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Everything was excellent. It was a great ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Everything was excellent. It was a great dining experience. Eating out at any nice restaurant always seems expensive to me (I'm cheap)! Because Orso/Brewhouse offer gift cards at Costco at a 20% discount, it balances out the cost of the meal. I appreciate the owners going the extra mile to make every part of the meal enjoyable, even the bill.

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I don't know why ORSO continues to offer ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I don't know why ORSO continues to offer a menu of dishes that do not appeal to folks who like traditional fare. The food is excellent quality, presentation is nice. The "trendy" menu leaves few choices for those like my wife and I, who are not into specialty dishes. The smoked salmon chowder is awesome. We split the seafood mac & cheese and an appetizer, had a loaf of bread (that used to be free) and I had a glass of wine. That should not have cost a hundred bucks with the tip. The service, as always, was superb and the staff is just awesome. That and the convenient location to the ACPA are the only reason we are repeat diners.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Glacier Brewhouse always delivers. I do ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Glacier Brewhouse always delivers. I don't go there enough, to be honest. From the drinks to the apps to the mains and the great service - it is ALWAYS a fabulous place to go.

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic service--ask for Mark!! Grea ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fantastic service--ask for Mark!! Great host in a busy place. You will be a bit crowded but the food is excellent. Consistent, solid Alaskan dishes with something for everyone. Great brews and selection too. Make reservations early!

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Open Kitchen, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, attentive waiter, reasonable ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Good food, attentive waiter, reasonable noise level.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Private Room, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I had hoped (and asked) for warm bread, ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I had hoped (and asked) for warm bread, but that must not be on the menu anymore. The blue cheese salad was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Quality you can depend on. The glacier ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Quality you can depend on. The glacier Brewhouse is always a must when I'm in anchorage.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Fun, Modern Decor, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious meal, great beers, and a chanc ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Delicious meal, great beers, and a chance to catch up with friends.

Willing to make substitutions due to dietary constraints without issue (or an extra charge).

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Wood Oven, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch is highly recommended! Great foo ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Brunch is highly recommended! Great food and a great price!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and the service was ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was great. Always a fun place to visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was over priced and not very good. ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was over priced and not very good. Steak was not prepared as asked. Crab legs with tasteless and over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great food and service . Table dirty and ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great food and service .

Table dirty and was sticky, seats had spilled food on them. 😖

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Always a fun place to get out to. Love t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Always a fun place to get out to. Love their kids menu for my 5yo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waiter was very helpful and knowledg ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Our waiter was very helpful and knowledgeable and efficient

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is inconsistent.

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Food is inconsistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Food is always good. They got my order w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Food is always good. They got my order wrong but everything was still great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The cheese and pretzel bread was the bes ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The cheese and pretzel bread was the best part of the meal. The dinners were not memorable but we didn't have to send anything back. Flat Iron steak had good sauce but a little tough and smallish for the price (24.95), the complimentary bread was pretty basic cheap bread and not served with any butter or vinegar for dipping.

We noted that this was a birthday dinner for our twin teenagers and they seated us right next to the serving line in the kitchen. Definitely reduced the "special" occasion feel when you are listening to the servers plating up food and talking through our meal. Handing your dish across the wall to save the server time in circling the dining room is something you expect in a low cost restaurant.

Management obviously doesn't observe the dining area much if at all. If they do - that's not a good omen for the longevity of Glacier Brewhouse.

The server was nice and checked on us but there was a fairly long wait after we asked for bread and then she returned.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

My husband and I went to Glacier Brewhou ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 16, 2017

My husband and I went to Glacier Brewhouse for the first time to celebrate my birthday! The atmosphere was great, not too loud, and we were cozy next to the fire place. Service was great, food didn't take long, and best of all.. it was delicious! We'll definitely be going back.

Tags: Family Style, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not sure if we hit an off night as we do ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Not sure if we hit an off night as we don't frequent the restaurant. The food was all served barely warm, including the soup. The filet mignon was quite tough/chewy. For the price one would expect higher quality; at the very least the food should be fresh and hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.