Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Glacier BrewHouse

You will know the moment you walk in that this is not your typical brew pub. The scent of the alder wood grill and wood fired oven, the energy of the sparking exhibition cooking line and the glow of the brewery delight your senses. The BrewHouse features rotisserie grilled meats, the freshest Alaskan seafood, brick oven pizza and award winning hand crafted ales. The BrewHouse is Anchorage’s downtown landmark restaurant-“Where Alaskans meet Alaskans”.

737 W. 5th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
11am – 4pm Monday thru Friday
10am – 4pm Saturday and Sunday

Weekend Brunch: 10am – 3pm Saturday and Sunday

Dinner:
4pm – 11pm Daily

Bar: open 1 hour later than dining room each evening

Cross Street:
H

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 274-2739

Website:
http://www.glacierbrewhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.
NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.

Public Transit:
We are one block from the 6th Avenue bus terminal.

Executive Chef:
Jolene Moellers

Private Party Facilities:
Our Conference Room seats up to fourteen guests around a granite conference table and is perfect for small business meetings and private celebrations. It is located in the corner of our dining room, behind the French doors. Amenities include a video tape recorder/television and an amplifier separate from the dining room system, allowing you to tune the music to your function. A flip chart is available for use also. We treat this room as another dining room table, requiring no special menu arrangements. We anticipate the use of this room for lunch or dinner service, allowing two hours per meal. If you would like extended use of this room, special arrangements are gladly made - just let us know. Reservations for this room are handled by our front desk crew, just like other dining room reservations.

Private Party Contact:
BrewHouse Front Desk: (907) 274-2739

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Growler Tuesday
64 ozs. of Pure Pleasure!
$6.00 Growlers for our Craft Beers
Blonde • Amber • India Pale Ale • Hefeweizen • Oatmeal
Stout • Raspberry Wheat • Export Lager
$11.00 Growlers for our Specialty Ales
Imperial Blonde • Double IPA (DIPA)
These Crazy Prices are only valid on Tuesday of each week.

Glacier BrewHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (97)
Casual (79)
Good for a Date (74)
See All
Special Occasion (73)
Good for Groups (69)
Good for Anniversaries (63)
Fun (60)
Great for Lunch (58)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Local Ingredients (53)
Creative Cuisine (52)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Hot Spot (42)
Business Meals (42)
Authentic (37)
Fireplace (36)
People Watching (35)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Pre/post Theatre (34)
Comfort Food (33)
Worth the Drive (33)
Sunday Lunch (32)
Bar Seating (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Great for Brunch (27)
Romantic (27)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Wood Oven (25)
Kid-friendly (25)
Cozy (21)
Gluten Free Options (20)
Happy Hour (18)
Open Kitchen (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Late-night Find (16)
Healthy (14)
Seasonal (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Quick Bite (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Family Style (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Private Room (7)
Tapas (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vegan (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Organic (4)
Spicy (3)
Scenic View (3)
Live Sports (3)
Historic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
3706 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined a day ago

Food and waitstaff were excellent. Food is pricey but very good. Front of house needs some work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

A little on the expensive side, food tasted good. Need more specials during the week.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 4 days ago

Overall experience was great! That's why we keep on coming back. Keep it up!
Thanks!

Tags: Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 4 days ago

The foods and drinks are very good as usual, but the waiter was not friendly enough, of course it was not too bad... anyway, we could enjoy the nice and relaxing atmosphere in this house again.

Tags: Fun, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service...love the ambience. Long wait without OpenTable and I would not have gone without the OpenTable reservation.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Best salmon I had in Alaska. Must have top chef there! Highly recommended!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was super yummy , there was five of us and all of us liked what we got.
Amanda was our waitress she was great, friendly but not annoying. We will go again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was great as always. My husband and I come here often. However our server was awful. He came to get out orders, to give us our drinks, and to give us the check. He never came back to check on us or refill drinks. When I stopped him to ask for something he turned his head to look at my but kept walking. The other tables Around us had to frequently stop him to ask for things as well. He wasn't tentative at all and it was frustrating. But the food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 12, 2017

When my wife and I were visiting Anchorage for an overnight stay, folks raved about the Glacier Brewhouse. The restaurant lived up to its billing. My wife had the Sockeye Salmon and I chose Halibut from the dinner menu. Both fish were fresh and well seasoned. They were delicious. Be advised that reservations are a must, if you don't want to wait for an hour. We made reservations on OpenTable and were seated immediately. We were glad we did so.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Glacier Brewhouse is my FAVORITE restaurant in Anchorage. Their calamari appetizer is by far the BEST I have had & I have tested a LOT of calamari! Their food is always fresh & delicious. They have a wide variety of meals. My family & I have never been disappointed in the food or service. Brewhouse is very accommodating as far as special dietary needs. They are ALWAYS busy, so it is always a good idea to make a reserevation.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Waited too long for our food - by the time our food got to our table, it was COLD & not fresh.

Multiple parties were waiting to get seated & out check took a very long time after our plates were taken away from us by OUR server herself.

This had been the first time we had experienced such horrible service/served COLD food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Every time I am in Alaska I make sure to eat here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Even though we had a reservation we were handed a pager and had to wait. No room at the bar. Drinks were seriously watered down. They don't seem to care about open table reservations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (London)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Please book in advance as it gets very business and takes a lot of cruise ship business. We had a shirt wait for our table and was expecting basic comfort food but was surprised at the quality and presentation. The calamari was large chucks not your normal small round fried calamari and probably the best i have had. The flat iron steak was well presented and tender whereas but wife's sockeye salmon was packed with flavour. Lots of choices on home brewed beer as well.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Glacier Brewhouse was packed when we went. We had reservations and still had a bit of a wait given the crowds. The food was very good. I had locally caught halibut which was outstanding. We also had pork belly and a pizza with pear and gorgonzola which were very good as well. Good size portions which we enjoyed the next evening.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Glacier Brewhouse, or GB's as my family refers to it, is always a great place to go. We've been going for several years. Ambiance is great - if you're going for the friendly and lively atmosphere. They accommodated us when I had to move our reservation an hour later. I give them kudos for reading the comments I included in my reservation and gladly complied. I had soup - Tomato - and it was too rich and lacked flavor for my taste. The pretzel cheese fondue appetizer was great - great crust and great cheese dip! The rest of my dinner - I had steak and shrimp - was great. Steak was cooked the way I requested and shrimp was cooked just right. Service was always great and friendly. Attentive bussers and servers. Will come back again and would highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 8, 2017

When visiting Anchorage, I highly recommend visiting the Glacier BrewHouse. The appetizers and drink menu were excellent. And the main entrees were superb. Great atmosphere. But make sure to reserve a table. Over an hour wait without reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Online reservations was easy and glad we did since they were pretty busy. Walked in gave name on the reservation and was seated in minutes.
The ambience here is great, I love the exposed wood, huge fireplace and the smells of wood and food from the grills were amazing! It was a little on the noisy side but they were very busy which could explain why the service also wasn't the best and food a little slow coming out. Recommend the Calamari as an Appetizer, you get a lot and the pieces are huge...but beware it may be a little spicy for some people. Daughters for their meals had a bowl of Seafood Chowder and one had the chicken Caesar salad which both Girls said was really good. My wife had the Halibut and I had the cheesesteak sandwich with fries. We all enjoyed our food and wrapped it up with creme brûlée and Bread Pudding both were very tasty!! Coffee with dessert was excellent for a restaurant!!! Overall a great experience and would recommend to friends and family!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

King salmon catch of the day and the herb crusted halibut were both exceptional. Enjoyed their own brewed craft beers. Great waitress. A bit high priced but worth the extra expense.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Visiting from the lower 48, first night in Alaska. Local suggested this place and since we had no other place of reference we went with it. We found it VERY touristy and over priced. We walked around downtown a bit afterwards and wished we had gone to others that we can upon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Very good all around dining experience..highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 6, 2017

The waiter spilled two beers on my dad. Only the one beer my dad was drinking was taken off of the bill. The waiter should have taken off the round of beers and provided a clean, dry, t-shirt from the gift shop. The pizza was more dough than toppings. I was really looking forward to having lunch with my family and it turned out poorly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Great food and appreciated being able to get a great meal late in the evening after a Bucs baseball game. We treated some hungry ball players !

Tags: Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 4, 2017

While the restaurant itself is a mainstay in Anchorage; the service and food can be spotty at best. I had dined there 2 nights in a row while entertaining friends and family from out of state. The first night the food and service was better although items were left of the appetizer plates as well as food arriving quite a bit later than usual. The second night the same thing happened with the appetizers and when the food arrived, the mashed potatoes were cold and the steak was way undercooked. I would have notified my server but her was distracted by the traffic flow of customers flowing in and out of the door at record pace and the bar took forever with the second round of drinks. . I have always enjoyed the meals at the Brewhouse, however I think in these instances they kinda dropped the ball. I will dine there again, I just hope we get there either before the rush or slightly there after.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Love this place, you can spend any occasion there. The food is very good, I would highly recommend this restuarant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 3, 2017

This was a great place and came highly recommended. All our meals were great, the service was wonderful and pleasant and the drinks good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Wonderful food and service. One of the very best dining experiences during our Alaska vacation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Si estas en anchorage y quieres ir al lugar donde comen los locales. Muy buena comida, buen ambiente. Si no haces reservacion tendrás que esperar de 45 min - 1 hr

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The excellent food was accentuated by the stellar service. The entire staff were attentive, courteous, and made the experience very memorable. Thanks for helping to make our evening everything we hade hoped it would be. We dined at the Brewhouse on our wedding night, 10 years ago, and this tenth anniversary visit was a perfect replay of the hospitality and great food we enjoyed then.
Thanks so very much!!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great experience and service. Food on this visit was surprisingly not top notch. Steak was dry and over cooked, king salmon was undercooked. Calamari was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2017

On vacation with 3 kids ages 5 to 10. Great kids menu. Service was great and the King Crab was fantastic. Great downtown location.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Anchorage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 26, 2017

The food was outstanding. Everything we had was cooked to perfection!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We finally got a table on our third attempt. Every day it was a wait of anywhere between 30 - 75 minutes. We finally got smart and made a reservation (for the next day). Maybe our expectations were simply too high but we just couldn't understand why this place was soooo crazy busy. The food, on the expensive side, was nothing to write home about (the halibut at $36 was really without any imagination, and blah at best), the rockfish had a nice yogurt sauce but again nothing special. We preferred 49th State Brewing Company!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 25, 2017

This was our second visit to Alaska and both times we ate there. The beer is very good and the food is great. The prices are high as are most restaurants in Alaska. We travel a lot and visit brewpubs wherever we are, and the food and menu here are very good. I drink IPA 's and was a little disappointed in the ibu's in this.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The food was poor and the bar service was awful. I didn't get my drink until dinner was served. I was told that the bar was behind but one person was serving and three were just standing around talking to each other. The quality of the food was mediocre at best. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We are here two days in a row on our vacation because it was so good. Make a reservation well in advance in the summer. We aren't the only ones who know how good it is. I have eaten here several times and I have never been disappointed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Terrible. Not worth your dollar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Enjoyed while vacationing. Servers were very helpful, food was delicious and home brews were amazing.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food was good, servers were very friendly. Only concern is the lack of respect from the lady at the front. Acted like she was better than anyone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.