About Glacier BrewHouse

737 W. 5th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

You will know the moment you walk in that this is not your typical brew pub. The scent of the alder wood grill and wood fired oven, the energy of the sparking exhibition cooking line and the glow of the brewery delight your senses. The BrewHouse features rotisserie grilled meats, the freshest Alaskan seafood, brick oven pizza and award winning hand crafted ales. The BrewHouse is Anchorage’s downtown landmark restaurant-“Where Alaskans meet Alaskans”.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
11am – 4pm Monday thru Friday
10am – 4pm Saturday and Sunday

Weekend Brunch: 10am – 3pm Saturday and Sunday

Dinner:
4pm – 9:30pm Sunday and Monday
4pm - 10pm Tuesday thru Thursday
4pm - 11pm Friday and Saturday

Bar: open 1 hour later than dining room each evening

Cross Street:
H

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 274-2739

Website:
http://www.glacierbrewhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.
NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.

Public Transit:
We are one block from the 6th Avenue bus terminal.

Executive Chef:
Jolene Moellers

Private Party Facilities:
Our Conference Room seats up to fourteen guests around a granite conference table and is perfect for small business meetings and private celebrations. It is located in the corner of our dining room, behind the French doors. Amenities include a video tape recorder/television and an amplifier separate from the dining room system, allowing you to tune the music to your function. A flip chart is available for use also. We treat this room as another dining room table, requiring no special menu arrangements. We anticipate the use of this room for lunch or dinner service, allowing two hours per meal. If you would like extended use of this room, special arrangements are gladly made - just let us know. Reservations for this room are handled by our front desk crew, just like other dining room reservations.

Private Party Contact:
BrewHouse Front Desk: 9072742739x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Growler Tuesday
64 ozs. of Pure Pleasure!
$6.00 Growlers for our Craft Beers
Blonde • Amber • India Pale Ale • Hefeweizen • Oatmeal
Stout • Raspberry Wheat • Export Lager
$11.00 Growlers for our Specialty Ales
Imperial Blonde • Double IPA (DIPA)
These Crazy Prices are only valid on Tuesday of each week.

Restaurant Photos

  • Crispy Fish Sandwich
Crispy Fish Sandwich

Glacier BrewHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

Good for Groups (122)
Special Occasion (111)
Hot Spot (100)
See All
Great for Lunch (91)
Fit for Foodies (90)
Neighborhood Gem (68)
Vibrant Bar Scene (55)
Kid-friendly (43)
Romantic (37)
Great for Brunch (32)
Late-night Find (24)
Great Beer (22)
Casual (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Fireplace (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Wood Oven (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Fun (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
People Watching (10)
Authentic (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Business Meals (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Scenic View (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Family Style (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Private Room (5)
Seasonal (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Cozy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Sports (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3124 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Mark our waiter was EXCEPTIONAL. He was ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 3 days ago

Mark our waiter was EXCEPTIONAL. He was attentive and provided excellent customer service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Spicy, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Quick Bite, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good Halibut. The beer was great ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Really good Halibut. The beer was great too and the service was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It used to be awesome and you got plenty ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

It used to be awesome and you got plenty of food. This time I felt like they really didn't give us much in the way of sides. I felt left wanting for more brussel sprouts. I think in total there were only six sprouts on my plate. So horribly disappointing. For how much the menu costs, I do not feel like people should leave feeling this way. This has never happened before, I really felt let down on this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Love their menu. Wine list and beer sel ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Love their menu. Wine list and beer selection is more than adequate. Comfortable in the bar or in the dining area. The Glacier BrewHouse is my go to place to entertain friends and out of town guests.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a reservation but were 20 mins la ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had a reservation but were 20 mins late getting seated. The staff was friendly enough, but we wouldn't have been seated when we were if we had not pointed out we were still waiting. I think they forgot about us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

We usually dine when we are headed to a ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We usually dine when we are headed to a show at the performing arts center. Being able to park and walk to everything is great!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Family Style, Casual, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our dinner there. Service w ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner there. Service was attentive and friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hostess had a bit of an attitude, needs ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Hostess had a bit of an attitude, needs to remember what customer service is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

When reservations were made I requested ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

When reservations were made I requested by the fireplace and when seated we were the farthest from the fireplace. My wife ordered steak and shrimp med well and it was rare, sent it back and by the time it came back she had finished her meal so she had to eat steak by itself with no apology. It was our daughter's birthday. We won't dine here any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The location was recommended friends and ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The location was recommended friends and enjoyed the food. The waiter was humble and kind...

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Worth the extra money. You really have t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Worth the extra money. You really have to spend an extra $15 - $20 to get a decent meal in Anchorage, especially if you are here without a car. Since I didn't want to go into the $40 - $60 range for an entree, this was an ideal compromise. Lovely moist salmon and a fine selection of craft brews. Suitable for a single female traveler.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Authentic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We were visiting Anchorage for one night ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We were visiting Anchorage for one night and reserved on-line after searching the web. Gret dining and outstanding atmosphere. Staff were pleasant and more than helpful. Great all round experience. Would recommend to anyone as a great dinner location. Best to book ahead as it is extremely popular.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Cozy, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful, but miss the o ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Everything was wonderful, but miss the old menu especially the Thai based pizza

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food, but a limited menu and way to ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Good food, but a limited menu and way to crowded and loud. Also, the price is a bit much for what you get.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fireplace, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Perfect night!!! Great food (Alaskan k ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Perfect night!!! Great food (Alaskan king crab), beer and atmosphere! So glad we found this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite restaurants in town. ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in town. Service is always impeccable and food delicious. Slightly higher priced due to downtown location and popularity, but worth it when its all said and done.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food quality is not consistent. My favor ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Food quality is not consistent. My favorite dish is great one day and very poor another day...service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

This place was recommended to us by frie ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

This place was recommended to us by friends who had recently been to Alaska. Great place and great food. I would go back again. Only thing that disappointed us was the lack of one of their t shirts in our sizes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Brewhouse - Good atmosphere. We ha ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Nice Brewhouse - Good atmosphere. We had mixed feelings on the food. The calamari was excellent, the cod great, the chowder - didn't eat it. Very strange texture. Nice wait staff and fast service. Moderate pricing. Very crowded.

Tags: People Watching, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Casual, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The special was just alright tonight. It ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The special was just alright tonight. It was a bit lackluster in taste but cooked perfectly. Halibut with some crab butter sauce I forgot the name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Visiting the area. Thought it would be a ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Visiting the area. Thought it would be area authentic. Food was good but nothing special. Noise level was very high. Couldn't hardly hear our table people talking. Service was slow.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Always have had great service and food. ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Always have had great service and food. Beer is excellent too.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had 2 appetizers and a pizza. It was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We had 2 appetizers and a pizza. It was very delicious! They ran out of their Amber beer though!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Glacier Brewhouse came recommended by se ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Glacier Brewhouse came recommended by several people, so we tried it on our last night in Alaska. Overall, the food was hit or miss, the environment lively but loud, and the beer fantastic. Like most restaurants in Alasaka, The Brewhouse is pricey, and not quite worth it. Food: We started with the Caesar salad - it was wilted and browned, but the dressing was good. I'm not sure what serving we got, as most of the salads looked huge, our's were measly. The bread was nothing to write home about, good but dried out and missing a proper crust. Our entrees were so-so. My husband had the seafood fettuccine. It came out piping hot, and cooked well. Flavors were ok, but the seafood was a let down. After 10 days of fresh seafood, the shrimp and salmon definitely tasted of a lesser (frozen) quality. I had the house grilled salmon. My entree came out cold, the salmon very greasy and under seasoned, the "crab" (a miserably small clump) overtly salty, and the arugala side salad over dressed. The roasted potatoes, upon which the salmon was served, were the star of the dish! Perfectly seasoned, browned - delish. Beer: We ordered two flights of beer - every option was fantastic. The Imperial Blonde was phenomenal, and strong (beware!). We each had a pint of Blonde as well - smooth, sweet and not too heavy. Service: There is a ton of staff! Our waitress, while not very knowledgable, was very nice. From what we experienced in Anchorage, Glacier Brewhouse is good compared to the rest of the city's offerings. Just don't come with too high of expectations. **Defintely make a reservation! Our's was perfectly honored, but the wait is long and deep without one.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We had reservations and were seated on t ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We had reservations and were seated on time. Our waiter was attentive. A steak ordered medium rare arrived rare, but they quickly took it back to the kitchen and made it medium rare. I enjoyed my meal that night and then enjoyed my leftovers as another meal. Even though I thought I was full, I shared a few bites of creme brûlée, which did not disappoint.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak and beer are great here! The c ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The steak and beer are great here! The creme brûlée is to die for, and so are the brussel sprouts (which is weird for me to say!). Apparently you have to ask for butter with the bread (I was told most people just use olive oil, which also wasn't brought, but I didn't care for feeling like an inconvenience for something that's kind of a given). Otherwise, my husband always has to eat here when we come to town because he loves the beer and the ribeye. It's not my #1 choice, but they have some great food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, People Watching, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a must dining experience in Anch ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

This is a must dining experience in Anchorage. Calamari to die for. Exquisite salmon and halibut. The ahi tuna is highly recommended. Reservations a must whether in visitor season or not. Even then expect to wait because this place is always packed. But the food makes up for it. No tourist trap here. This is where Alaskans and frequent business visitors dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

This was a remarkable experience. The r ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was a remarkable experience. The ride up and back in the tram was perfectly lovely. The view from the bar and the table were both stupendous. Dinner was fresh and delicious. Fish was well prepared.

Tags: Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great beer - good food. With Open Table ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great beer - good food. With Open Table, we didn't have to wait. Food came out shortly after our drinks. Service was great and fast!

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Pretty small portions--not as advertised ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Pretty small portions--not as advertised. tasty though.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

I come to The Glacier BrewHouse every ti ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I come to The Glacier BrewHouse every time I am in Anchorage. The seafood chowder is fabulous and the buttermilk battered calamari with jalapeno-lime aioli is the best I have ever had. It melts in your mouth. The atmosphere is lively and fun. The lemonades are pretty good too!

Tags: Wood Oven, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Spicy, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience and amazing fo ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Always a great experience and amazing food! One of my favorites as a local!

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A true gem in the heart of downtown Anch ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

A true gem in the heart of downtown Anchorage. Great fresh fish and ambience. Recommended stop for all visiting Anchorage.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food with good gluten free options ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great food with good gluten free options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Packed house all year long and with good ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Packed house all year long and with good reason. Among the best of the best in Anchorage - one of the world's great food cities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The fresh seafood is amazing. Cooked to ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The fresh seafood is amazing. Cooked to perfection. The herb crusted halibut was fresh and had amazing flavor. The fresh caught Sockeye salmon was also delicious! Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance and the food is really grea ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The ambiance and the food is really great. Your bread puddings is like my mom's but a little sweeter.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Tasty cuisine, mostly local or at least ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Tasty cuisine, mostly local or at least Alaskan based, that went well with the delectable selection of beers.

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

My husband's steak wasn't done the way h ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My husband's steak wasn't done the way he asked and all they did was put it back on the grill.We weren't even comped for this mistake in any way.Any other restaurant I have been to would have offered new steak and not charged for their error.Normally the food is delicious here but I would have to say that was average this visit.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The cocktail menu was inventive - recomm ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The cocktail menu was inventive - recommend the Snow Cosmo. All the dinner entrees were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.