About Glacier BrewHouse

737 W. 5th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

You will know the moment you walk in that this is not your typical brew pub. The scent of the alder wood grill and wood fired oven, the energy of the sparking exhibition cooking line and the glow of the brewery delight your senses. The BrewHouse features rotisserie grilled meats, the freshest Alaskan seafood, brick oven pizza and award winning hand crafted ales. The BrewHouse is Anchorage’s downtown landmark restaurant-“Where Alaskans meet Alaskans”.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
11am – 4pm Monday thru Friday
10am – 4pm Saturday and Sunday

Weekend Brunch: 10am – 3pm Saturday and Sunday

Dinner:
4pm – 11pm daily

Bar: open 1 hour later than dining room each evening

Cross Street:
H

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 274-2739

Website:
http://www.glacierbrewhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.
NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.

Public Transit:
We are one block from the 6th Avenue bus terminal.

Executive Chef:
Jolene Moellers

Private Party Facilities:
Our Conference Room seats up to fourteen guests around a granite conference table and is perfect for small business meetings and private celebrations. It is located in the corner of our dining room, behind the French doors. Amenities include a video tape recorder/television and an amplifier separate from the dining room system, allowing you to tune the music to your function. A flip chart is available for use also. We treat this room as another dining room table, requiring no special menu arrangements. We anticipate the use of this room for lunch or dinner service, allowing two hours per meal. If you would like extended use of this room, special arrangements are gladly made - just let us know. Reservations for this room are handled by our front desk crew, just like other dining room reservations.

Private Party Contact:
BrewHouse Front Desk: 9072742739x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Growler Tuesday
64 ozs. of Pure Pleasure!
$6.00 Growlers for our Craft Beers
Blonde • Amber • India Pale Ale • Hefeweizen • Oatmeal
Stout • Raspberry Wheat • Export Lager
$11.00 Growlers for our Specialty Ales
Imperial Blonde • Double IPA (DIPA)
These Crazy Prices are only valid on Tuesday of each week.

Restaurant Photos

  • Crispy Fish Sandwich
Crispy Fish Sandwich

Glacier BrewHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

Good for Groups (141)
Special Occasion (126)
Hot Spot (111)
See All
Fit for Foodies (100)
Great for Lunch (100)
Neighborhood Gem (70)
Vibrant Bar Scene (68)
Kid-friendly (60)
Great for Brunch (42)
Romantic (40)
Late-night Find (29)
Notable Wine List (16)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
3091 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Pretty small portions--not as advertised ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 3 days ago

Pretty small portions--not as advertised. tasty though.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

I come to The Glacier BrewHouse every ti ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 3 days ago

I come to The Glacier BrewHouse every time I am in Anchorage. The seafood chowder is fabulous and the buttermilk battered calamari with jalapeno-lime aioli is the best I have ever had. It melts in your mouth. The atmosphere is lively and fun. The lemonades are pretty good too!

Tags: Wood Oven, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Spicy, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience and amazing fo ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great experience and amazing food! One of my favorites as a local!

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A true gem in the heart of downtown Anch ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 4 days ago

A true gem in the heart of downtown Anchorage. Great fresh fish and ambience. Recommended stop for all visiting Anchorage.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Packed house all year long and with good ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Packed house all year long and with good reason. Among the best of the best in Anchorage - one of the world's great food cities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The fresh seafood is amazing. Cooked to ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 6 days ago

The fresh seafood is amazing. Cooked to perfection. The herb crusted halibut was fresh and had amazing flavor. The fresh caught Sockeye salmon was also delicious! Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance and the food is really grea ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 6 days ago

The ambiance and the food is really great. Your bread puddings is like my mom's but a little sweeter.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Tasty cuisine, mostly local or at least ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Tasty cuisine, mostly local or at least Alaskan based, that went well with the delectable selection of beers.

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

My husband's steak wasn't done the way h ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 6 days ago

My husband's steak wasn't done the way he asked and all they did was put it back on the grill.We weren't even comped for this mistake in any way.Any other restaurant I have been to would have offered new steak and not charged for their error.Normally the food is delicious here but I would have to say that was average this visit.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The cocktail menu was inventive - recomm ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The cocktail menu was inventive - recommend the Snow Cosmo. All the dinner entrees were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I come to the Glacier BrewHouse for near ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I come to the Glacier BrewHouse for nearly 20 years, every years with a group of friends during our Alaskan Holiday. It was the first time that we have been not happy with food but after we complained the reaction of the waitress and supervisor was great and complain was hadeld very professional. We definitely will come back next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome calamari w/ jalapeno appetizer ( ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Awesome calamari w/ jalapeno appetizer (crunchy and not-overpowering flavor); and descent portion.

Nice sized, correctly cooked salmon. Very flavorful ling cod main course.

Would love if rosemary bread was available. Busy and loud (but spacious, so tolerable)– surprising for a Tuesday night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Reservations required to avoid long wait ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Reservations required to avoid long wait. We arrived and were promptly seated as per our reservation. Our server was excellent. The food was good. We had a variety of seafood entrees. All were good, but nothing special. Deserts were also good. The noise level is very high. Difficult to carry on a conversation around the table of four.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

An old favorite that never fails to plea ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

An old favorite that never fails to please. Great brews to go with excellent food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We ordered our steaks medium rare, they ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We ordered our steaks medium rare, they came to us medium well. The potatoes were charred and the portions were tiny. The price of each of our meals did not coincide with the amount of food presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Seated at scheduled time. The Chateau S ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Seated at scheduled time. The Chateau St Michele Chardonnay was spot on. Conversation was impossible given the noise factor. Crab cakes were over cooked on the outside, mushy on the inside, greasy, fishy tasting. The Cobb salad needed a good toss, all the dressing was at the bottom. It looked dull as if it had been sitting around awhile and the bacon bits on the top looked like kibbles which I pushed aside. My mother's favorite salad, the Brewhouse Blue was lifeless with a few nuts and fewer grapes. We had Old Blue boxed to take home where we could resuscitate it. This is about as easy as it gets for a meal and they failed miserably.

I'm very happy that I prepared the dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Ambiance and service good. This time i s ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Ambiance and service good. This time i speciale came for the haddock. I was a bit disepoited because the portion was small and it was batterd with a thick crust which I don't like. I prefer it pure. I will be back for different choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

To loud! To loud! To loud! To loud! To l ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

To loud! To loud! To loud! To loud! To loud! To loud!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great atmosphere for a night out with fr ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great atmosphere for a night out with friends or your family. We plan on returning again and again!

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again Open Table led us to a fabulo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Once again Open Table led us to a fabulous choice of restaurants when we traveled to Anchorage. The king salmon and halibut were wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Although the food is decent, with each v ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Although the food is decent, with each visit the quality has gone down. This used to be a favorite of mine but I feel the quality has gone down and the food is way over priced. Bread pudding is still amazing though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

top-notch service! From the minute we wa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

top-notch service! From the minute we walked in the door we were treated very well. drinks were great and our food delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We thought it was just ok. The service w ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We thought it was just ok. The service was great but the food was just ok. The salmon was dry and not too impressed with what you get for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Battered cod was outstanding, water tast ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Battered cod was outstanding, water tasted awful. Overall a good dining exp

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

The Glacier Brewhouse was a good experi ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The Glacier Brewhouse was a good experience. I was dining alone and don't eat large meals so I ended up just getting a bowl of seafood chowder. I found it

to be packed with fresh flavorful seafood. My server was very efficient and was always smiling. She did not show me any individualized attentions. The prices are in line with othersI Alaska which is to say they are a bit high.

Beven sure to get a reservation. There can be long waits.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Try the calamari.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Try the calamari.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Place, if you don't mind noise and ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Good Place, if you don't mind noise and long waits.

Even on a Monday night with a reservation and arriving 10 minutes early, we still waited 45minutes for a table (wait times for people without reservations were upwards of an hour and a half). It was very loud, but the food was great and the waitress comped our appetizer because of our long wait. Better than average and the beer was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This is always a good stop for a meal. ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

This is always a good stop for a meal. Do get the halibut sandwich...

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent as always.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good food but very noisy. Peanut butter ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Good food but very noisy. Peanut butter pie is the draw for us. Perhaps the best dessert our family has ever found.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I've been to the Brewhouse many times ov ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I've been to the Brewhouse many times over the years. I do think that over the years the quality of the food is going down and the price has risen. It is not as special as it once was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Fantastic! Would go again for sure. Grea ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Fantastic! Would go again for sure. Great halibut and potatoes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Good service. Very loud, esp ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food. Good service. Very loud, especially during tourist season. Not recommended if you want a quiet meal. Otherwise, a great place to go with a group.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Like everything in Alaska pricey but oth ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Like everything in Alaska pricey but otherwise good food, ambiance, etc.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Brunch here is delicious. Great portions ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Brunch here is delicious. Great portions for the price. I enjoy he Bloody Mary bar on the weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrible Service! I was less than 20 min ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Terrible Service! I was less than 20 minutes late for my reservation. They canceled my reservation without ANY advance notification. The one at front was EXTREMELY RUDE! Totally a nightmare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

You need to book ahead or face a long wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

You need to book ahead or face a long wait. I had to send back my rock fish as it was underdone and the meal was cold. However, the second Meal was delicious.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Food was good, service was great. The ma ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food was good, service was great. The major disadvantage of eating here is the noise - with aging ears, it is difficult to have a conversation. Clearly a popular place, the restaurant is very crowded. DO NOT even attempt to just drop into this great eating spot without reservations, especially on a summer weekend!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This place really picked-up after 730pm ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This place really picked-up after 730pm on a Wednesday, glad we made reservation. Atmosphere was good, not too loud & easy to hold a conversation. Not only bar food served here, so that's nice!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Margaritas were really bad. Husband and ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Margaritas were really bad. Husband and I sent ours back and we rarely send anything back. Ahi tuna was okay, nothing to write home about. Husband enjoyed his seafood fettuccini. Son in law got a steak but did not enjoy it. Waitress was delightful but just not pleased this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.