About Glacier BrewHouse

737 W. 5th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

You will know the moment you walk in that this is not your typical brew pub. The scent of the alder wood grill and wood fired oven, the energy of the sparking exhibition cooking line and the glow of the brewery delight your senses. The BrewHouse features rotisserie grilled meats, the freshest Alaskan seafood, brick oven pizza and award winning hand crafted ales. The BrewHouse is Anchorage’s downtown landmark restaurant-“Where Alaskans meet Alaskans”.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
11am – 4pm Monday thru Friday
10am – 4pm Saturday and Sunday

Weekend Brunch: 10am – 3pm Saturday and Sunday

Dinner:
4pm – 9:30pm Sunday and Monday
4pm - 10pm Tuesday thru Thursday
4pm - 11pm Friday and Saturday

Bar: open 1 hour later than dining room each evening

Cross Street:
H

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 274-2739

Website:
http://www.glacierbrewhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.
NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.

Public Transit:
We are one block from the 6th Avenue bus terminal.

Executive Chef:
Jolene Moellers

Private Party Facilities:
Our Conference Room seats up to fourteen guests around a granite conference table and is perfect for small business meetings and private celebrations. It is located in the corner of our dining room, behind the French doors. Amenities include a video tape recorder/television and an amplifier separate from the dining room system, allowing you to tune the music to your function. A flip chart is available for use also. We treat this room as another dining room table, requiring no special menu arrangements. We anticipate the use of this room for lunch or dinner service, allowing two hours per meal. If you would like extended use of this room, special arrangements are gladly made - just let us know. Reservations for this room are handled by our front desk crew, just like other dining room reservations.

Private Party Contact:
BrewHouse Front Desk: 9072742739x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Growler Tuesday
64 ozs. of Pure Pleasure!
$6.00 Growlers for our Craft Beers
Blonde • Amber • India Pale Ale • Hefeweizen • Oatmeal
Stout • Raspberry Wheat • Export Lager
$11.00 Growlers for our Specialty Ales
Imperial Blonde • Double IPA (DIPA)
These Crazy Prices are only valid on Tuesday of each week.

Restaurant Photos

  • Crispy Fish Sandwich - Glacier BrewHouse, Anchorage, AK
Crispy Fish Sandwich - Glacier BrewHouse, Anchorage, AK

Glacier BrewHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Anchorage / Alaska
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

Special Occasion (69)
Great Beer (66)
Good for a Date (53)
See All
Fireplace (48)
Casual (47)
Good for Groups (46)
Fun (40)
Great for Lunch (38)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Hot Spot (34)
Local Ingredients (33)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Wood Oven (30)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Worth the Drive (30)
Bar Seating (26)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Comfort Food (26)
Business Meals (25)
Authentic (23)
People Watching (22)
Romantic (21)
Open Kitchen (21)
Cozy (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Private Room (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Kid-friendly (15)
Late-night Find (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Family Style (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Seasonal (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Healthy (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Spicy (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Scenic View (3)
Live Sports (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Historic (3)
Tapas (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
3205 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Calamari is amazing, and the service was ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

Calamari is amazing, and the service was excellent! Favorite spot in Anchorage!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anything on the menu is a treat for the ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

Anything on the menu is a treat for the tastebuds! Sitting by the fire in the winter adds to the enjoyment.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Mark was our server. He was wonderful! P ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Mark was our server. He was wonderful! Professional, courteous, on top of things, timely, & kind. Excellent service which helped create a terrific evening. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

They have the best calamari! I had the s ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 28, 2016

They have the best calamari! I had the shrimp and grits this time and it was sooo delicious, I already want to go back for more! Service is good. My husband and I really like this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A little overpriced and not the best qua ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 28, 2016

A little overpriced and not the best quality of food. For instance, the ribs have way too much sauce on them.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

I requested seating for 5 by the firepla ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I requested seating for 5 by the fireplace for my mom's 78th birthday party on 11/4/2016 @ 2:30.

Arrived being told we were sitting on a high top table in the bar!!!! My mom uses a walker......

After some scrabbling we finally got a table by the fireplace but also was told normally they don't sit 5 in that area as the tables are for 8.... No response to my request when I sent it 3 weeks ago so why now? (several booths and tables were empty so plenty of room for other guests)

Our server H. Hollis was awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

3 of our burgers (1 kids & 2 adult) were ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 27, 2016

3 of our burgers (1 kids & 2 adult) were burnt. 1 adult peeled off burnt layer, 1 child ate it anyway, 1 adult did not eat it.

I had told 1 of the families present who do not frequent Glacier Brewhouse, that the burgers were "really good here". So, I was not a great reference that night!

We were there celebrating a birthday after we all went to the Nutcracker.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

Great ambience and well worth a visit. G ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great ambience and well worth a visit.

Gets very busy and noisy so try to visit outside of peak meal hours.

Service was friendly but could have been a little more attentive.

Seafood chowder was excellent as was the bread pudding for desert.

Great beers.

Main course (salmon) was a little disappointing surprisingly.

Over all, a must visit during a stay in Anchorage.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food and atmosphere and beer - the ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food and atmosphere and beer - their own! I try to stop here for a meal anytime I am in Anchorage.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Fun, Open Kitchen, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I appreciate being able to have an "Alas ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I appreciate being able to have an "Alaskan experience" dinner for visiting professionals but yet by using the separate, closed dining room, we can still hear each other's conversations and continue are professional discussions. Beautiful food presentations, delicious Alaskan treats, and competent, friendly and speedy wait service. THANK YOU!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glacier Brewhouse is our favorite "go to ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Glacier Brewhouse is our favorite "go to" restaurant in Anchorage.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a large group of 10 celebrating s ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We had a large group of 10 celebrating survival from 10 months of cancer treatment. The waittress was exceptional, even helped figure out how to apportion the bill to cover two meals! She was wonderful! We had a mix of salads, seafood dishes, and pizzas. All was perfect portions and so good! The chili lime shrimp salad wih citrus, apple, walnuts, and romaine was perfect in every way. The pizzas went fast, everyone ooing and ahing on how great they tasted. Noise level was very high, but it is a popular and full restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cool "lodgy' feel with a big fireplace i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Cool "lodgy' feel with a big fireplace in the middle. Large place with lots of seating and lots of people. Even with a reservation, we waited about 15 minutes. Food takes some time to get to the table. I had the pasta jambalaya and it was absolutely delicious as was the pretzel with the beer cheese fondue. My client had the salmon which he raved about. The kitchen is happy to customize an order as well. The King crab leg appetizers for $29/half-pound were a bust as there were three legs and two of the legs hardly had any meat in them. They look impressive as they are so large, but the meat was absent as was the flavor compared to Dungeness Crab. The beer is amazing!!! The Imperial Blonde was my favorite.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Fantastic food with excellent service . ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Fantastic food with excellent service . we arrived 30 minutes before our reservations and they seated us right away, perfect amount of time between courses.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My colleagues and I travel to Anchorage ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My colleagues and I travel to Anchorage a handful of times each year and this is a must go to place. I've had several different items on the menu and have never been disappointed. Great food and atmosphere.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance was nice and rustic feeling

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Ambiance was nice and rustic feeling

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The first thing you'll smell is the wood ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The first thing you'll smell is the wood fire - so inviting. So much energy in this place. And feels authentically Alaskan. The food is consistently delicious. Try their pumpkin ale, the Oktoberfest, and you MUST try the peanut butter pie! TO.DIE.FOR!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Fun, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The wife and I love this place! We have ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The wife and I love this place! We have never been disappointed! Make sure to get a reservation though.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It is a great place! Been here on many o ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It is a great place! Been here on many occasions and always happy with it. Great food! Excellence service. Would recommend to anyone and everyone! No complaints from this customer"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It took quite awhile to receive our beve ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It took quite awhile to receive our beverages, however the food was tasty

Tags: Great Beer, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Stephan, our server, went above the cal ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Stephan, our server, went above the call of duty to assure that EVERYthing was perfect! We had a VERY special birthday dinner... food was delish, and everyone had fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was a little slow getting there. B ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was a little slow getting there. But when we let them know we were going to show and time was short they really hustled and got our meal out fast! Great server.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service. Reservation time ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food and service. Reservation time was perfect. Went before a PAC event. Would do it again. Thank you.

Tags: Fireplace, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience as always!! Their glute ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great experience as always!! Their gluten free menu is one of the best in town!! They can also cater to a dairy allergy with some of the food items, just ask!! Great, friendly service which keep us coming back!! It was busy but our server never left us hanging! Great for date lunch/night!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiter attentive and very friendly, made ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Waiter attentive and very friendly, made my wife's birthday dinner an enjoyable experience... thank you

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Fireplace, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was impeccable, and the food ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The service was impeccable, and the food was absolutely amazing! I definitely recommend the shrimp grits - they were out of this world!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food, Fun, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was very good. The server wa ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The service was very good. The server was generous and quick.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food, service and drinks were great, as ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food, service and drinks were great, as always. It's always our go-to spot for dinner down town. Reservations needed, they are always busy, but worth the wait!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for my birthday and were not dis ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We went for my birthday and were not disappointed the food was awesome and the service was outstanding, a great combination which is why we coming back :) Thank You

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great customer service

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great customer service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I had never been to the Brewhouse at 3pm ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I had never been to the Brewhouse at 3pm on the weekend, Brunch ends at 3 and there is limited lunch, we waited 50 minutes for our food, my husband ordered the burger, I ordered a side salad and the chowder and my son had fettuccine all fairly basic but it took a very long time, we felt forgotten and it was a strange wait... So I would not recommend heading there until 4 or maybe getting there in time for brunch at 2, just an odd day as the brewhouse is a go to for us and we have never had an issue before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great food excellent service!! We love d ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great food excellent service!! We love dining here for lunch and dinner!!! Thank you for catering to the needs of those with gluten and dairy allergies!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was extremely slow. Took forever ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Service was extremely slow. Took forever to get the food and it didn't seem as busy as usual. It will probably be another 3 months before we return again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We were seated right away, only a short ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We were seated right away, only a short wait with reservation. Food was excellent, service not so much. Tables around us were served much quicker than we were, and were able to get their waitresses' attention easily as she was close by. Overall 4/5 stars.

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fireplace, Casual, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Server did a great job of making our 8 y ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Server did a great job of making our 8 year old's birthday celebration special. Most of our party's food was great. Exceptions: Filet was ok (rather small and not as rare as ordered). Blue cheese salad drenched in dressing, will order dressing on the side next time.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Private Room, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was wonderful to sit near the firepla ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It was wonderful to sit near the fireplace and enjoy a dinner date with my husband. Great drinks, appetizer and meal! Maybe we will leave room for dessert on our next visit! It's nice to have a lovely meal after the drive from Homer. Our waitress was attentive and sweet. Thanks so much! We make a point to dine here as often as we can. 🙂

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Romantic, Family Style, Fireplace, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Historic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The calamari is really good. Ask for ext ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The calamari is really good. Ask for extra jalapeños if you like spicy. The ahi is amazing. The chicken sandwich is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Only thing to say: Peanut butter pie, en ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Only thing to say: Peanut butter pie, enough said. #Dropthemic

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the experience was great, but th ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Overall the experience was great, but the special that evening was halibut cheeks, which were disappointingly overcooked, which made them overpriced.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place, always go there when I' ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Love this place, always go there when I'm in the area. They have excellent dark beer.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.