Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Glacier BrewHouse

You will know the moment you walk in that this is not your typical brew pub. The scent of the alder wood grill and wood fired oven, the energy of the sparking exhibition cooking line and the glow of the brewery delight your senses. The BrewHouse features rotisserie grilled meats, the freshest Alaskan seafood, brick oven pizza and award winning hand crafted ales. The BrewHouse is Anchorage’s downtown landmark restaurant-“Where Alaskans meet Alaskans”.

737 W. 5th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
11am – 4pm Monday thru Friday
10am – 4pm Saturday and Sunday

Weekend Brunch: 10am – 3pm Saturday and Sunday

Dinner:
4pm – 11pm Daily

Bar: open 1 hour later than dining room each evening

Cross Street:
H

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 274-2739

Website:
http://www.glacierbrewhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.
NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.

Public Transit:
We are one block from the 6th Avenue bus terminal.

Executive Chef:
Jolene Moellers

Private Party Facilities:
Our Conference Room seats up to fourteen guests around a granite conference table and is perfect for small business meetings and private celebrations. It is located in the corner of our dining room, behind the French doors. Amenities include a video tape recorder/television and an amplifier separate from the dining room system, allowing you to tune the music to your function. A flip chart is available for use also. We treat this room as another dining room table, requiring no special menu arrangements. We anticipate the use of this room for lunch or dinner service, allowing two hours per meal. If you would like extended use of this room, special arrangements are gladly made - just let us know. Reservations for this room are handled by our front desk crew, just like other dining room reservations.

Private Party Contact:
BrewHouse Front Desk: (907) 274-2739

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Growler Tuesday
64 ozs. of Pure Pleasure!
$6.00 Growlers for our Craft Beers
Blonde • Amber • India Pale Ale • Hefeweizen • Oatmeal
Stout • Raspberry Wheat • Export Lager
$11.00 Growlers for our Specialty Ales
Imperial Blonde • Double IPA (DIPA)
These Crazy Prices are only valid on Tuesday of each week.

Glacier BrewHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (84)
Great Beer (81)
Special Occasion (74)
See All
Fireplace (69)
Casual (65)
Good for Groups (61)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Fun (54)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Great for Lunch (53)
Wood Oven (47)
Business Meals (46)
Pre/post Theatre (45)
Local Ingredients (37)
Open Kitchen (37)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Bar Seating (33)
Romantic (33)
People Watching (31)
Sunday Lunch (28)
Worth the Drive (28)
Hot Spot (28)
Comfort Food (27)
Kid-friendly (26)
Cozy (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Great for Brunch (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Happy Hour (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Authentic (21)
Private Room (17)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Family Style (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Late-night Find (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Healthy (12)
Seasonal (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Tapas (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Organic (4)
Historic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Waterfront (2)
Spicy (2)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
3608 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food many of the dishes are fresh because it's the fishing season. Halibut was delicious but most of the entrees are very expensive. Salmon portion size is tiny (but still $34) find is excellent as the place is packed but they could be more generous with their portion sizes. Great beer too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, great date with my wife and baby! Loved the booth we sat in!!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

We ordered chili lime salad and a veggie said. Both were fresh tasting. It's a busy restaurant and the service was a little slow. This is a brew pub atmosphere. Pretty casual with a large brew selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Have to give a shout out to Morgan our server. She handled our group of 8 efficiently, skillfully & with outstanding customer service. She really made our dinner all the more wonderful because of her level of service !

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Best food I've ever had the pleasure of eating. I've gone twice in one week and is a very memorable experience. I will be back, and I'm from Michigan.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

We went to this place based on reviews here and on open table. It was very disappointing. Food was average at best. Crab legs were over cooked and ribeye was half fat or more. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

THis restaurant was highly rated and after our Alaska cruise, it seemed like a great finale. The service was excellent, young people who really cared. We chose fish and chips with local halibut. The coating was too crunchy and dark--cooked too long. The garlic potatoes had actual garlic and that flavor overwhelmed the potatoes. The cheese steak was generous size, I should have left off the red peppers. The beef marked as Wagyu was nothing special buat perhaps overwhelmed by the cheese.

They service giant baking powder biscuits with the most amazing fresh raspberry jam, but biscuits had been reheated and bottom was hard.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Ok for a casual night - service was polite and fast. So much fried and fatty food on the menu - if you like that, this is the place for you

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Very disappointed in our service and the food was mediocre. It's unfortunate too, since this was one of my favorite restaurants in Anchorage. Guess I will be going elsewhere.
And...the staff should never assume someone is a tourist. I have noticed that tourists are treated differently, like it doesn't matter if they are a repeat customer. It shouldn't matter, tourist or not, you should treat everyone like you want them to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Very loud, hard to hold good business conversations in my opinion. Great service, good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We were early for our reservation and they were able to seat us early. The food was wonderful and beautifully presented. We had a very nice lunch!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Fantastic as always! Great cocktails and dinner. Wonderful service! Always a treat!

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I always enjoy my dinners at the Brewhouse! Many thanks for an awesome place to take people for a fun evening~

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The Brewhouse has become our go to resturaunt. Three people in our party have severe food sensitivities and everyone at the Brewhouse has always been extra careful. We love that their gluten free options are listed on the menu. It's always busy, because the food is great. Make reservations, if you don't want a long wait. Also, be aware, it can get a bit smokey from the grill/smoker.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Mothers Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Drinks and food were delicious. Service was great. Check in was quick. It was just really really loud. But other than that, great experience.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Fireplace, Romantic, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 14, 2017

One of our favorites fumbled on Mother's Day with the service as our smaller party was served after larger, later arriving parties. But we will still return for another round after a little time passes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food so good...makes your toes curl! lol!! Awesome food, good portions, not overly pricey. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My wife and I frequent Glacier Brewhouse....at least twice per month! We went for Mothers Day this year and the food was horrible...extreme disappointment! My noodles were not cooked thoroughly and my wife's meal was extremely salty. I understand that it was busy but food quality should not be sacrificed! That and we could not understand our waitress.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always great food and greet service. Every menu item is prepared with care and deliciousness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was phenomenal! The salmon dip was delicious and I highly recommend it as a start and the peanut butter pie as dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Tags: Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service was the best we have ever had there. We got a table near the middle of the room and it was perfect. The food was so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I was not very impressed with the quality of food and the presentation seemed well below par for a restaurant that used to be great it is now seemingly in that state of complacency that has lost its shine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I always enjoy the atmosphere and variety on the menu. Especially appreciated the fresh king salmon and halibut. However the cut of the halibut was so poor (soft, brown, tail?) that we asked for a replacement. The second serving was firm and white. We know our fish and know it wasn't right. I was even suspicious that it could be another species such as rockfish. Kevin was excellent in responding to our concerns. You make the best Caesar salad, second to Marx Bros, in Alaska.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Good for a Date, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Requested a booth and didn't get it. My fettuccine dish was bad. Waiter not cordial.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 13, 2017

i love to eat at glacier brew house,excellent atmisfere ,excellent service and cost . A++++++++++++

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Great Beer, Healthy, Historic, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great place to catch up with family and friends.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Had the special, fresh King Alaskan salmon. They were very flexible and allowed me to get it prepared the way the other salmon dish was since it seemed more appealing to me. Fun bustling atmosphere, tried the pizza which was also very good. Service was great. Better make a reservation though since it seems very busy! Entire menu looked good and it was good opportunity to have fresh not frozen salmon at this time of year (early May). They have a great selection of non-alcoholic beverages as well. No views of the mountains but great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Best meal in Anchorage! Lived the ambiance, beer and service was great!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

the food is better than it used to be, and there are good options for most people. The server was very nice about subbing items on the dinner entrees. a decent if pricy wine list. I like the room a lot, but boy, it is noisy!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The food was great, service was just ok. Some of the servers were pretty surly. Make sure you make a reservation especially during tourist season.

Tags: Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Really great for a "dining experience". Impressive johnny-on-the-spot service! LOVED the gluten free options spelled out on the menu!

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Fireplace, Fun, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 6, 2017

First time in Anchorage and started out with one of the best fish dishes I have ever had. Picked the location because I wanted a place that brews beer and the Glacier Brewhouse has great selection of beer but also excellent food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Always a treat to eat here! Some of the best food and service in Anchorage!

Tags: Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Love this place! This time was a bit weird as normally we are in and out within an hour or so and it took a bit longer than normal. We always hit the Brewgouse for dinner, lunch, or brunch before a show At the PAC, but this time we just barely made it to the show after being there for almost two hours. Won't stop us from going again as this was a first!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quick Bite, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 3, 2017

wonderful food
great atmosphere
awesome service (wait staff: Morgan!)
super friendly restaurant

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Fireplace, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great service with great beer. Noisy environment but fun.

Tags: Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 1, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants, but 4 of us ordered steaks and 3 of them were too rare. Even after sending them back still too rare. They did comp our meals but disappointing as we expected better.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The seafood fettuccine is not my favorite entrée that I've had at the Brewhouse. It was a poor choice on my part. Every other detail of the experience was fantastic, and without any question we will continue to patronize this restaurant until the doors fall off. :)

Thanks for another great evening!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Fun, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Casual, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.