About Glacier BrewHouse

737 W. 5th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

You will know the moment you walk in that this is not your typical brew pub. The scent of the alder wood grill and wood fired oven, the energy of the sparking exhibition cooking line and the glow of the brewery delight your senses. The BrewHouse features rotisserie grilled meats, the freshest Alaskan seafood, brick oven pizza and award winning hand crafted ales. The BrewHouse is Anchorage’s downtown landmark restaurant-“Where Alaskans meet Alaskans”.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
11am – 4pm Monday thru Friday
10am – 4pm Saturday and Sunday

Weekend Brunch: 10am – 3pm Saturday and Sunday

Dinner:
4pm – 11pm daily

Bar: open 1 hour later than dining room each evening

Cross Street:
H

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 274-2739

Website:
http://www.glacierbrewhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.
NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.

Public Transit:
We are one block from the 6th Avenue bus terminal.

Executive Chef:
Jolene Moellers

Private Party Facilities:
Our Conference Room seats up to fourteen guests around a granite conference table and is perfect for small business meetings and private celebrations. It is located in the corner of our dining room, behind the French doors. Amenities include a video tape recorder/television and an amplifier separate from the dining room system, allowing you to tune the music to your function. A flip chart is available for use also. We treat this room as another dining room table, requiring no special menu arrangements. We anticipate the use of this room for lunch or dinner service, allowing two hours per meal. If you would like extended use of this room, special arrangements are gladly made - just let us know. Reservations for this room are handled by our front desk crew, just like other dining room reservations.

Private Party Contact:
BrewHouse Front Desk: 9072742739x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Growler Tuesday
64 ozs. of Pure Pleasure!
$6.00 Growlers for our Craft Beers
Blonde • Amber • India Pale Ale • Hefeweizen • Oatmeal
Stout • Raspberry Wheat • Export Lager
$11.00 Growlers for our Specialty Ales
Imperial Blonde • Double IPA (DIPA)
These Crazy Prices are only valid on Tuesday of each week.

Restaurant Photos

  • Crispy Fish Sandwich
Crispy Fish Sandwich

Glacier BrewHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

good for groups (128)
special occasion (109)
great for lunch (95)
See All
fit for foodies (95)
hot spot (86)
neighborhood gem (57)
vibrant bar scene (57)
kid-friendly (51)
great for brunch (48)
romantic (39)
late-night find (29)
notable wine list (15)
scenic view (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
3023 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Once again, our visitors from out of tow ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 5 days ago

Once again, our visitors from out of town (Las Vegas) were extremely impressed. Always a great experience when dining here!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was hopping as usual. Go ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 5 days ago

The restaurant was hopping as usual. Good service though a bit slow if you are in a hurry, we were not. Food was excellent and some unusual offerings (roasted hominy w/fig salad) which we took advantage of and happy that we did so. Parking can be a challenge especially this time of year so plan a few extra minutes to find a spot...it is worth every bit of effort. Being totally satisfied I did not order the world class Bread Pudding which is the best I have found in the US. I have even order it first and if no room, I take it home.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Seems as if the quality of food on Sunda ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 6 days ago

Seems as if the quality of food on Sundays mornings has been off for a while. I look forward to Sunday brunch with zest, but the kitchen hasn't been up to par the last few times I have been. there on Sunday.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Always take visitors here for a meal. N ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always take visitors here for a meal. Never disappointed since my first meal in April 2012!!

Wait staff always friendly and attentive!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Has been a favorite Anchorage restaurant ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Has been a favorite Anchorage restaurant, but was disappointed this visit. Food was bland and combination of items on the plate did not work.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

All 3 of us loved our food and drinks. T ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

All 3 of us loved our food and drinks. The portions were generous and the food presented attractively. Only slight complaint was noise level was a bit high but looking around it was because everyone looked like they were having a good time,no one was obnoxious or disorderly.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have eaten here before and had a great ...

 
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I have eaten here before and had a great experience. This time, unfortunately, was different. Everyone was nice and the service was great as always, but the food wasn't that great. I ordered the cheesesteak and it was completely bland. Everyone in my party of 10 said there food was either over or undercooked and one of the pizzas came to the table visibly burned. The waitress was nice and brought it back but the fact that it was brought out in the first place was disturbing. Very disappointed.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Amazing food, fantastic staff, and simpl ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Amazing food, fantastic staff, and simply good. A bit noisy due to all the patrons but it's packed for a reason. In house brews were fantastic, paired perfect with the entrees, and dessert was delicious, especially the peanut butter pie. Went there for the crab legs which were outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The key was great service. I know we ove ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The key was great service. I know we overstayed because we were really having fun but didn't order much. The wait staff was super - attentive but not pushy. Tipped them an extra $20 because the place was packed. Really a class act. And the appetizers were great.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

This is one of our "mandatory" stops whe ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This is one of our "mandatory" stops when friends are visiting. It was excellent as always and our visitors were very impressed.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always start with the best calamari ev ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I always start with the best calamari ever. Two of us ordered sandwiches for lunch and the third ordered fish and chips. We all liked our meals and had enough leftover to take home for a snack.

I have been going to GB for many years. The serving staff has always been friendly, efficient, and enthusiastic. When I see visitors standing outside looking at the menu, or discussing how long they might have to wait for a table, I always want to say "It's worth it." ...because it is!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food, especially t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent service and food, especially the halibut - either herb-crusted or as fish & chips upgrade.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The fish and chips was very overdone. De ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The fish and chips was very overdone. Dessert, as usual, was excellent. The last time we went to the BrewHouse, we decided the dinner menu was too limited, perhaps because it was tourist season. We thought we'd try lunch next time. Unfortunately, as far as value and good food, we'll be trying some new Anchorage restaurants for a change of pace. We've had many good years at the BrewHouse and are sad to see it going downhill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Make reservations if you do not want to ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Make reservations if you do not want to wait for a table. We still had a 15+ minute wait with a reservation. Service is so so. Food is good and prepared well. Large portions. Come in for an exceptional cold beer.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This is a very popular, noisy and crowde ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This is a very popular, noisy and crowded restaurant. Be sure to make reservations. Food and beer are very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was mediocre at best. I was exp ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was mediocre at best. I was expecting a lot from the pizza since they ever ties that the sauce with homemade. It wasn't much better than a store-bought frozen pizza. The rest of the party and my groups food was not what they expected, especially for the price you pay for it. You can get much better seafood for less money at other restaurants.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We looked forward to this meal hearing a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We looked forward to this meal hearing about the great food at Glacier Brewhouse. However, the breaded halibut was only fair--an unfortunate way to cook what should be a fresh and delicious fish. Why not offer a grilled or baked option? The breaded halibut was served with mediocre mashed potatoes--very disappointing. And the baked tofu for our vegetarian son was bland and tasteless: surely some fresh and interesting dishes could be offered for vegetarians. The most disappointing aspect of our visit was the atmosphere--The restaurant is huge, with tables packed in closely to one another and the noise level is extreme. We couldn't carry on a conversation without shouting. If you're looking for a relaxed, quiet meal with fresh and simple food this is not the place for you.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Delicious food and wonderful beer, espec ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Delicious food and wonderful beer, especially ribeye steak, yammy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The portions were quite large and the re ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The portions were quite large and the restaurant was very amenable to splitting an entree. The appetizers were very big as well, but theyserved our entree before we had eaten half of it. This suggests some issues.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Good beer selection, delicious food, had ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Good beer selection, delicious food, had a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Way too expensive for what you get. Ent ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Way too expensive for what you get. Entrée plate was filled up with pre-washed green leaves & very little else. Very noisy!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Great beer and excellent food. Love the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great beer and excellent food. Love the atmosphere. Good with our 9 year old son.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointed visit. My medium steak ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Very disappointed visit. My medium steak was raw. My husbands mid rare steak was mid well. Coffee was cold. Bar drinks took incredibly long time to receive. Glacier Brewhouse is normally are restaurant of choice. After this experience we're concerned it's going down like so many others.

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

The brew house is our favorite in restau ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The brew house is our favorite in restaurant in anchorage. Great food, great service! We spent our 10th anniversary here and they did not disappoint. Thanks for another great meal!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We got food poisoning After a 2 hour din ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We got food poisoning After a 2 hour dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Quintessential Alaska brew pub. It was p ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Quintessential Alaska brew pub. It was perfect for our casual family dinner. The food was delicious and the ambiance was exactly what you'd expect from an Alaskan brewery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My fiance and I had one night in Anchora ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

My fiance and I had one night in Anchorage on our way back home and we decided to dine here. The beers and food were all wonderful. I had the Hefeweizen and IPA's. We shared the pretzels with ale cheese dip, crab legs, and ribs. It was fun to try a number of things. Our family loved GBH a few days later on their way back home too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

More for tourist and cruise clients, sti ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

More for tourist and cruise clients, still a great meal and best beer. I bought the tee shirt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our waitress was awesome! She was very f ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Our waitress was awesome! She was very friendly and made my 21st birthday very special when she brought out my dessert with a candle in it! Although the fondue cheese on the pretzel appetizer was not very good, all of the other food we ordered was great.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a lively, busy brewhouse that is ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This is a lively, busy brewhouse that is large, but with different seating areas, not cavernous-- casual, fun, and has great food, really excellent. My husband and I each had salmon, his grilled and mine pan sauteed with a light sauce--and they were cooked perfectly. The calamari appetizer was real, beautifully prepared fish, not little crunchy fried "chew toys," as one server put it--really exceptional. The Caesar salad was very nice (I'm pretty picky about these) - and we enjoyed a bottle of Oregon pinot. Servers are knowledgeable and friendly. It may be casual inside, but the standards are high on the food and the servers do an excellent job.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great to eat. Great tables with reservat ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great to eat. Great tables with reservation. Recommend to anyone.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Usually we enjoy our date nights at Glac ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Usually we enjoy our date nights at Glacier Brew, but this time we were less impressed. The white wine was served in a dirty glass at room temperature. The salmon dish was overcooked and under seasoned. The potatoes had a burnt taste to them and the salad was wilted. The service was good. Our waitress was very attentive and returned our salmon dish. Overall, I think we will just come back for brew and appetizers and not dinner.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

We went for the Halibut and were not dis ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We went for the Halibut and were not disappointed. We had the Herb Crusted Alaskan Halibut and the Fish and Chips with Halibut. Both were delicious! The calamari was also great as an appetizer. We loved the extra kick with the jalapeno chips and the aioli.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Good thing I made a reservation

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Good thing I made a reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were visiting friends and she suggest ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We were visiting friends and she suggested the Brewhouse. It was family-friendly but pricey. The food was great and I found "out of the ordinary" dishes that you can't find everywhere.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I was told about this by a friend. Ate l ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I was told about this by a friend. Ate lunch with several colleagues and loved the food. Made reservations and brought my husband back for dinner several days later. He is a seafood lover and said the Alaskan King Crab legs were wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A really great find for us in anchorage! ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

A really great find for us in anchorage! Took all 12 of my family there and all loved it! Food is varied and really good. Service was outstanding. If you like good seafood this is the place to go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a great place to go, but you ca ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

This was a great place to go, but you cant go last minute without and hour + wait time to be seated. Make reservations for sure! Good food, kinda pricey. Great beer, worth the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best calamari is found here. We hav ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The best calamari is found here. We have tried it at many other places and no one comes near to this amazing appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We always enjoy dining at Glacier Brewho ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We always enjoy dining at Glacier Brewhouse: food, service, and atmosphere are excellent! Love the calamari appetizer and bread pudding for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.