Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Glacier BrewHouse

You will know the moment you walk in that this is not your typical brew pub. The scent of the alder wood grill and wood fired oven, the energy of the sparking exhibition cooking line and the glow of the brewery delight your senses. The BrewHouse features rotisserie grilled meats, the freshest Alaskan seafood, brick oven pizza and award winning hand crafted ales. The BrewHouse is Anchorage’s downtown landmark restaurant-“Where Alaskans meet Alaskans”.

737 W. 5th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
11am – 4pm Monday thru Friday
11am – 4pm Saturday and Sunday

Weekend Brunch: 11am – 3pm Saturday and Sunday

Dinner:
4pm – 9:30pm Sunday and Monday
4pm - 10pm Tuesday thru Thursday
4pm - 11pm Friday and Saturday

Bar: open 1 hour later than dining room each evening

Cross Street:
H

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 274-2739

Website:
http://www.glacierbrewhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.
NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.

Public Transit:
We are one block from the 6th Avenue bus terminal.

Executive Chef:
Jolene Moellers

Private Party Facilities:
Our Conference Room seats up to fourteen guests around a granite conference table and is perfect for small business meetings and private celebrations. It is located in the corner of our dining room, behind the French doors. Amenities include a video tape recorder/television and an amplifier separate from the dining room system, allowing you to tune the music to your function. A flip chart is available for use also. We treat this room as another dining room table, requiring no special menu arrangements. We anticipate the use of this room for lunch or dinner service, allowing two hours per meal. If you would like extended use of this room, special arrangements are gladly made - just let us know. Reservations for this room are handled by our front desk crew, just like other dining room reservations.

Private Party Contact:
BrewHouse Front Desk: (907) 274-2739

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Growler Tuesday
64 ozs. of Pure Pleasure!
$6.00 Growlers for our Craft Beers
Blonde • Amber • India Pale Ale • Hefeweizen • Oatmeal
Stout • Raspberry Wheat • Export Lager
$11.00 Growlers for our Specialty Ales
Imperial Blonde • Double IPA (DIPA)
These Crazy Prices are only valid on Tuesday of each week.

Glacier BrewHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (88)
Special Occasion (73)
Fireplace (69)
See All
Great Beer (65)
Casual (57)
Great for Lunch (55)
Good for Groups (53)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Fun (48)
Wood Oven (46)
Business Meals (39)
Open Kitchen (39)
Pre/post Theatre (39)
Bar Seating (36)
Romantic (33)
Local Ingredients (30)
Creative Cuisine (28)
People Watching (26)
Comfort Food (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Hot Spot (23)
Cozy (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Kid-friendly (22)
Family Style (22)
Happy Hour (22)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Great for Brunch (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Private Room (19)
Authentic (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Tasting Menu (15)
Modern Decor (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Seasonal (10)
Healthy (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Quick Bite (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Tapas (5)
Spicy (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Historic (2)
Vegan (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Waterfront (2)
Scenic View (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
3552 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 3 days ago

I have food allergies and made it quite clear when I requested a menu item that if it was going to be difficult to deal with, to just do another option which would have been easier. There were three of us and after 40 minutes, we were told there were issues with the item I ordered and they didn't want to 'cross contaminate' so they were having to do something special for it. It took another 10 minutes before the food arrived and it was not what I wanted it all. I appreciate the effort but it would have been nice to have said, "We can make this for you but it will take a long time." I would have opted for my other choice. Instead, it took an hour for everyone to get the food and we had to inhale it to get back to work. They didn't charge us but it wasn't a good experience. It's a good place to eat but I would think twice about going there with food allergies.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 4 days ago

Very loud and very Wood Smokey. My food was cold. Not very good experience this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined 4 days ago

Dinner was awesome! Service was spot-on (greeters, waitress, bus boy.). Food was delicious & as ordered. Went early 5pm, kids have h/work - so quick & less noisy. Enjoyed visiting.

Tags: Wood Oven, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Awesome service and over the top craft beer and menu. A definite must while in town!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Casual, Hot Spot, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We visited on two successive nights (it was so good the first night, we came a second). The first night was excellent! I'd rate it up there with Ocean Avenue Seafood in Santa Monica and just shy of Splash in Des Moines. The second night was good also, but just a tad off. Perhaps it was because it was Sunday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Everything was AMAZING! Only thing was the steak was just a little too charred and I would recommend a little sauce to go with the dish. Very friendly service and pretzel appetizer was great.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Romantic, Great Beer, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our time at the Brew House was enjoyable as usual. The Easter brunch seafood egg dish was a little disappointing. The burger and fries plate is always a winner.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Glacier Brewhous was recommended to us by our daughter, she picked well! We have been there 3 times in 2 weeks, live in the Matsu valley and it is worth the drive! It will be hard to find a better restaurant in ANC. The food has been excellent every meal.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Service, food, and drinks are always great! They always have some local seafood!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

As a local, it has been difficult to get in for dinner in the past several years. We were able to get a table for six at a decent time. Menu had the classics and even a few new items. Every was great. Beer was excellent and the sangria was spot on.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Spicy, Seasonal, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The service was spectacular. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and friendly and very attentative to our table. Food was good. My only suggestion is to have some more Vegan/vegetarian friendly options.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fun, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, People Watching, Casual, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I always want to tell people who are perusing the menu outside, or those deciding it's not worth the wait, that they would not regret eating there. The food and the service have been second to none, for us.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Always excellent service, servers very knowledgeable with menu, what's avaialble what has run out. Never disappointed!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Brewhouse used to be a sure thing, food was great. However the last 2 times I am seeing a decline in food quality BIG TIME and the staff was just ok.
Not sure what ig goin on but they are moving the wrong direction.
Disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Was very nice and good food. It was perfect for my husband's birthday dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Never have had a bad experience...great food, awesome service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We've eaten at the Glacier Brewhouse many times. Consistently great service and food. We've chosen later hours (8:00 pm and beyond) because the noise level does drop significantly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Lovely food, extremely busy. Service took a while to take our drink orders, but they were extremely busy and courteous when they did. Make sure you have time to wait a bit but it's perfect for an evening out with friends and has amazing pizza and desert. Our desert did come a bit too soon but they were very kind and it was just more insentive to finish our plates. Food if worth the money. Get the goat cheese mushroom pizza.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food was slow to come out. The noise level was higher than normal. Our server was fantastic though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I have been a long time patron of the Brewhouse, but for what ever reason the food has lacked in its quality and value. I am quit disipointed what the Brewhouse has become. I wonder if the 49th State Brewery is hurting it.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Always excellent!!! Never let us down when entertaining guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The staff is exceptional! Ask for Mark's section :) he was fantastic and very helpful in answering questions. The food was delish! I had a steak that melted in my mouth! I like that they also have a gluten free menu, which a couple of my friends said was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Calimari was good, great halibut, rib eye very good, brussel sprouts burnt and raw.
Mojito was expensive and tasted awful.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Loved our seats by the fireplace. Great waitress! She added to our dining experience with her helpful suggestions,

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Private Room, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Authentic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I just ordered the seafood chowder and blue cheese salad. And it doesn't seem like much to get excited about... but it was sooooo good and filling. The waiter was attentive... occasionally we waited for refills on our water. Portion sizes were good and atmosphere was energizing. Smell of the fire stove is always amazing. Overall delicious. We made a reservation with short notice and we didn't have to wait at all when we arrived. Seated immediately.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Seafood chowder was great as were the crab cakes. I had the shrimp and grits for the second time and it was a tasty meal

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food, service and atmosphere. Our table was ready at the reservation time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food service was slow and once we got our food, it had to be sent back twice. Overall the quality of food did not justify prices nor the long wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The menu for Glacier BrewHouse displayed on OpenTable is out of date. The server advised that several items I identified that encouraged this choice of restaurant had been unavailable for an extended period. However, the food that was available was incredible, so I wasn't disappointed for long. They also did not have a problem removing gluten items from dishes to offer most dishes in a gluten friendly form.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 28, 2017

BEST CALAMARI IN TOWN! LOVE THIS PLACE. My sister and I go here for little get togethers

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 28, 2017

It's easy to make reservations online. There's a wide variety of beverages both alcoholic and non. The menu has great options for seafood lovers, salad lovers, steak lovers and anyone in between. All at a fair price. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. The dining area is classy with a relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Overall, a good brew pub with a reasonably deep menu. Wait staff was attentive, and the ambiance was better than average for a brew pub. I recommend reservations on the weekend because they can fill up quickly. Vegetarians can usually find something here and if you don't see it on the menu, they can substitute tofu for meat in several of the dishes. Food quality is what you would expect for a higher end brew pub - not fine dining, but well prepared with decent quality ingredients.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great food, nice atmosphere, and awesome staff. Our waitress was amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We had a wonderful experience! Our server was very friendly and helpful. We had fresh halibut for dinner, and a starter of calamari which was excellent. Great beer too! Highly recommended.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Service needs a good overall. Servers are way too busy to pay attention to individual tables and everything feels rushed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 25, 2017

splendid, although my alderwood ribeye was alot better the time before. I think it was the basalmic ribeye i had the year before, much better dish than this year's...

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 24, 2017

lAll out-of-state business guests enjoyed the food.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 23, 2017

A consistantly great place to eat.
Be sure to book because this place is populr for very good reasons

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Best calamari as usual. BLT salmon salad was excellent this evening and bread pudding and coffee finished us off perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Usually I have nothing but good things to say about the GBH, but last week the cooks were off their game. One in our party ordered the double smoked rib eye special med rare. It arrived med well and was sent back. The replacement steak appeared to be in two pieces and looked nothing like the classic rib eye shape. It was full of gristle and tendons, not just the normal fat surrounding and marbling a rib eye. I ordered the flat iron steak med. It came medium but was very, very tough to chew. I knew it wouldn't be as tender as a fillet, but it was like shoe leather and the root beer glaze had a distinct burnt taste. The broccolini was uninspired, at best. Please try harder GBH! It will be a long time before I decide to come back. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.