Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Glacier BrewHouse

You will know the moment you walk in that this is not your typical brew pub. The scent of the alder wood grill and wood fired oven, the energy of the sparking exhibition cooking line and the glow of the brewery delight your senses. The BrewHouse features rotisserie grilled meats, the freshest Alaskan seafood, brick oven pizza and award winning hand crafted ales. The BrewHouse is Anchorage’s downtown landmark restaurant-“Where Alaskans meet Alaskans”.

737 W. 5th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
11am – 4pm Monday thru Friday
11am – 4pm Saturday and Sunday

Weekend Brunch: 11am – 3pm Saturday and Sunday

Dinner:
4pm – 9:30pm Sunday and Monday
4pm - 10pm Tuesday thru Thursday
4pm - 11pm Friday and Saturday

Bar: open 1 hour later than dining room each evening

Cross Street:
H

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 274-2739

Website:
http://www.glacierbrewhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.
NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.

Public Transit:
We are one block from the 6th Avenue bus terminal.

Executive Chef:
Jolene Moellers

Private Party Facilities:
Our Conference Room seats up to fourteen guests around a granite conference table and is perfect for small business meetings and private celebrations. It is located in the corner of our dining room, behind the French doors. Amenities include a video tape recorder/television and an amplifier separate from the dining room system, allowing you to tune the music to your function. A flip chart is available for use also. We treat this room as another dining room table, requiring no special menu arrangements. We anticipate the use of this room for lunch or dinner service, allowing two hours per meal. If you would like extended use of this room, special arrangements are gladly made - just let us know. Reservations for this room are handled by our front desk crew, just like other dining room reservations.

Private Party Contact:
BrewHouse Front Desk: (907) 274-2739

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Growler Tuesday
64 ozs. of Pure Pleasure!
$6.00 Growlers for our Craft Beers
Blonde • Amber • India Pale Ale • Hefeweizen • Oatmeal
Stout • Raspberry Wheat • Export Lager
$11.00 Growlers for our Specialty Ales
Imperial Blonde • Double IPA (DIPA)
These Crazy Prices are only valid on Tuesday of each week.

Glacier BrewHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (76)
Special Occasion (71)
Fireplace (60)
See All
Great Beer (57)
Casual (54)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Great for Lunch (48)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Good for Groups (43)
Fun (42)
Wood Oven (36)
Pre/post Theatre (35)
Open Kitchen (35)
Business Meals (33)
Comfort Food (31)
Bar Seating (30)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Romantic (26)
Cozy (25)
Local Ingredients (24)
Family Style (23)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Kid-friendly (19)
People Watching (18)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Authentic (18)
Hot Spot (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Private Room (15)
Outstanding Value (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Modern Decor (9)
Healthy (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Seasonal (9)
Quick Bite (7)
Tapas (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Historic (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Spicy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Live Music (2)
Waterfront (2)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dancing (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
3511 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 4 days ago

A consistantly great place to eat.
Be sure to book because this place is populr for very good reasons

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Best calamari as usual. BLT salmon salad was excellent this evening and bread pudding and coffee finished us off perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Usually I have nothing but good things to say about the GBH, but last week the cooks were off their game. One in our party ordered the double smoked rib eye special med rare. It arrived med well and was sent back. The replacement steak appeared to be in two pieces and looked nothing like the classic rib eye shape. It was full of gristle and tendons, not just the normal fat surrounding and marbling a rib eye. I ordered the flat iron steak med. It came medium but was very, very tough to chew. I knew it wouldn't be as tender as a fillet, but it was like shoe leather and the root beer glaze had a distinct burnt taste. The broccolini was uninspired, at best. Please try harder GBH! It will be a long time before I decide to come back. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Rodney is awesome,
He went out of his way to get a lemon drop that was from Orsos - brewhouse needs to practice the lemon drops

Tags: Casual, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Fantastic food and service...ate there twice in 3 days!

Tags: Great Beer, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We come here whenever we are in Anchorage and are never disappointed!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Had the halibut, absolutely excellent! This is our go to place for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Had the Seafood Chowder, Herb Crusted Halibut and the original Peanut Butter Pie for desert. Everything was excellent! Always a great place for treating out of town friends and family!

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food is awesome but slow

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fantastic as always. My wife and I love the Brewhouse because of it's high quality. Keep it up

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food, beer, service, and atmosphere!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I had made a reservation for my daughters birthday. She likes the BrewHouse because of their gluten free options. When the hostess tried to seat us in the middle of the room, we asked for a booth and she was pretty rude about it :( ... But our waitress was great. We ordered calamari for our appetizer and that was fantastic! Our dinners were ... just ok ... my husbands ribs were covered in so much sauce that he had to scrape most of it off, and he could not taste the actual pork, he was very disappointed, but said nothing because he did not want our daughters birthday dinner interrupted. Dessert was delicious :)

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I love Brew House. However, $40 for that skinny little rib eye steak was WAY over priced.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 5, 2017

With the reservation it was nice because there was an hour to 2 hour wait without it. It took awhile to get our intital drinks but once we got them the dinner progressed nicely. They were packed and it was very fun but not so loud you couldn't hear your own table.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 5, 2017

it was so good we ate there 2 nights in row unfortunately we only get to anchorage once a year or we would go more often

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Lovely dinner by the cozy fireplace! Great service and delicious food. My husband had the Rockfish and I had the house Blue salad and Bering Sea crab legs. Beautiful presentation on both entrees. Save room for desert! The original peanut butter pie was devine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great place to meet up with friends and when you have family visiting, it's a wonderful place to bring because of the food and beer.

Tags: Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Casual, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Food and cocktails are always delicious and consistent. I can go anytime and I will always enjoy my meal, wonderful flavors and cooked perfectly.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The GF ahi could use a GF wasabi sauce. I make this at home no problem, I would think a place as good as brewhouse could figure it out. Otherwise the ahi is so bland...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Glacier Brew House never disappoints! We travel to Alaska every year for fun and several times for business. Calamari appetizer, Herb Crusted Halibut! Bread Pudding ... mmmmmm. No trip is complete with a meal at the Glacier Brew House ... our favorite restaurant on the planet! ❤❤❤

Tags: Casual, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great atmosphere, noisy but not too much. Cocktails were superb. Menu is varied with many different options. Food quality and preparation was excellent. Highly recommended.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Good food, decent service. Noise level is high though

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Fireplace, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Always a good experience. Excellent food, kind, efficient staff in a comfortable setting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Usually love the baby back ribs, seems they changed their cut and it wasn't as good this time

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 21, 2017

High Quality Casual Restaurant! The beer cheese pretzel was yummy and a large portion. It was a relaxing but trendy environment to take the family or meet up with friends. This is the best one of its kind in Alaska. I have been to similar restaurants in Anchorage and I was disappointed about the food and atmosphere. This one redeem Alaska completely. I will going back soon.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Might be the night we were there...super busy, wait staff not very friendly, food took a long time to come out, disappointed in some entrees...had seafood on pineapple shell, no pineapple, dry cornmeal type breading on seafood, think most was salmon, no variety of seafood like advertised--wonder if they ran out of the usual seafood they use. Tiny bit of dry tasteless rice. Dry, bland, tasteless, not worth $35 by a long shot.
On a good note, coffee brown beer was excellent!

Tags: Fireplace, Great Beer, Wood Oven, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We came to the Brewhouse on a date. We were seated promptly and our waitress came to our table within 10 minutes of us being seated. We were not very impressed with the menu selection for the prices listed. We waited a long time for our food. Our food was very spicy and it was very loud in the restaurant. We will not be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I feel this place has a great atmosphere and that it's really interesting to be able to watch the chefs cook and look at the brewery kegs and the beautiful timber feel. I also really love the people there so accommodating and friendly. If your a person that gets cold the fireplace is so welcoming!

Tags: Private Room, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food and service is wonderful. I've never had a bad experience.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Cozy, Fun, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My first burger was raw the waitress took a while before coming back. Usually service there is better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I live in Fairbanks so it is always a real treat to dine here when I am in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Casual, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was not as good as it has been in the past. My guest and I ordered the same item and it was plated completely different and her ahi tuna was very fatty. The waitress was awesome though and made up for it! Not sure at this point I would go back. Seems like they are just not at holding themselves to the standards they used to.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food took about an hour to get to the table. I could barely hear my date who was sitting right across from me because of a screaming baby. Overall the food was food when we finalyl got it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Favorite restaurant of all time. It's my "go-to" while in Anchorage. Never had a bad experience. Great staff 100% of the time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 18, 2017

A pleasant dining experience. The server was attentive and the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Best shrimp and grits in the state. Great food! Very busy and the people watching is stellar.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

You guys deliver as always. Thank you for the great service!

Tags: Cozy, Wood Oven, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food delightful. Service, not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had reservations for lunch on Valentine's Day. I've eaten at the Brewhouse since 1998 when I moved to Anchorage. The food has gone downhill and the prices have gone up. My date ordered rotisserie chicken with the result four hours later she felt sick. Six hours after eating she was hugging the porcelain God. Not a good experience for her first time there. I had the cheesesteak sandwich. It was okay. I've always thought that good restaurants took the seeds out of jalapeños when they put them in a grilled sandwich. Evidently the cooks are too lazy to do that and give the diner the subtle flavor. That and all the jalapeño slices were clumped together. It seems to me all the dishes are taking a strange flair with fancy stuff being cooked together. The original comfort food meals have been abandoned. Too bad. I doubt I will take my girl friend there again. There are several better places to go in the vicinity with better food and prices.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.