Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Giuseppe's Ristorante

4.0
84 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Good for Groups

Similar Restaurants

About

Giuseppe's Ristorante serves homemade, authentic Italian cuisine in its warm and welcoming bistro. Appetizer options include the eggplant and cheese stuffed rollatini di melenzane and the sauteed shrimp gamberi al limone. Giuseppe's Ristorante makes all of its pasta fresh in-house and features dishes like the farfalle with broccoli and sausage and the spaghetti alla pescatore loaded with shrimp, mussels, calamari and clams extraordinarily flavorful and sumptuous. Other popular entrees include the pollo alla florentina with spinach and provolone cheese in a white wine sauce, veal medallion al marsala in a traditional mushroom marsala sauce and the salmon alla griglia with mixed vegetables. Giuseppe's Ristorante also makes individual-sized pizzas with a variety of toppings, baked or grilled per your preference.

For a sweet end to your meal, try a fresh roasted cup of coffee with homemade, chocolate-coated profiteroles.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 1!:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm; Monday 4:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(941) 366-6610
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Eduardo Forgione
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Rent the whole dinning room.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Giuseppe: (941) 366-6610
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Our parking garage is located on the corner of Links ave and Ringling blvd
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Featuring Lady Jazz from New Orleans Friday and Saturday from 7 to 9:30.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 84 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.0based on all time ratings
4.3
food
4.0
service
3.5
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on March 13, 2016

Best PUPA in Sarasota. Only restaurant that serves large octopus tentacles . Home made pasta
very good. Linguini missing. House wines good..... generous pour.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2016

I've been to Giuseppe's numerous time and it is a hit or miss. My pork chop was very tough and my wife's chicken parm was fair. If they would only be a little more consistent. The Tirimusu is fantastic.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 9, 2016

Dined here on a recent Wednesday evening. Both my husband and I had pasta dishes that were sadly lacking any real flavor. Pasta was cooked perfectly al dente but needed seasonings that bring a dish together. Service was good. Restaurant had a nice atmosphere and was not crowded at all
Would not return. Sorry b

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 27, 2016

This evening was the most crowded I had ever experienced at Giuseppe's. As a result, the service wasn't as quick as what I'm used to experiencing there. The food was still excellent though.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2016

Went there for Valentine's Day thinking I get the regular menu, was not the case as they had a one page menu for Valentine s day that didn't even come close to what they offered regularly. After 30 minutes of sitting at the table with no one saying a word to us, we decided to leave. Not a good experience. If it's not a holiday like that the restaurant has a decent menu. I'd go back but not on my list for a long time now.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2016

We enjoyed the eggplant parm appitizer, chicken parm dinner, and a really nice salad. The ambiance is not super romantic, but we enjoyed the experience. We were headed to a play so it was the perfect venue!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2016

We will be returning very soon.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2016

Not a fancy place by any means, but the food is authentic and very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2016

Guiseppe's is always consistently wonderful from a nice selection of wines by the glass, to delicious entrees at a very good price. Service is always top notch, and we enjoy hearing Lady Jazz every time we're there on the weekend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 6, 2016

When I made the reservation, I indicated we were celebrating both a birthday and anniversary, but neither were acknowledged. The staff were very friendly and prompt with service. The food came out quickly. My husband and mother enjoyed their dishes, veal parmesan and chicken limone. I didn't enjoy mine so much. I had the Spaghetti and Clams and it tasted like it was from a can. Very little flavor. I asked for extra garlic when I placed the order, but it didn't seem like there was any garlic in the dish. No side salads with entree unless you order a la carte. They had a musician who sang, and the volume was fine, not too loud so you could still enjoy your conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 6, 2016

Been there many times, food is great, fettichini Alfredo is sooo good. Staff is friendly and make you feel like you are being welcomed into their home.
A great place to take friends or family for wine,dinner and conversation

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 30, 2016

We waited fo 30 minutes before being seated although we had reservations . Then we waited another ten minutes before anyone came to the table. We had to ask for bread 4 times. However, our food came out in a decent time and was very good. They were not prepared for the size of the crowd. We wish the, well

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 30, 2016

Eating at the same restaurant 3 weeks in a row should give you an idea what we think - plus, I got a different meal each week superb!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 30, 2016

We had been here before and had been very pleased with the food and service. Our disappointment this time may have been due to an 'off night.' Will plan on trying once more in view of earlier pleasures.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 16, 2016

Terrible service, small restaurant with music to loud , was constantly being hit by servers, never going back even with decent food

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 15, 2016

The owner recognized us as we entered and welcomed us back. Some Welcome.
We had reservations for 7:45 PM on Friday Jan 15. We were seated on time. We did not get to place our order until about 8:30 PM. Our soup and salad did not arrive until about 9:15. The soup was cold and needed to be replaced. I went to the owner at about 9:30 PM to ask where our food was. He was less than pleasant about my question. When the food finally arrived, two of the entrees were ok. My entrée and my wife's entrée, both of which were pasta dishes, had plenty of pasta but little else. She ordered pasta with asparagus and was hard pressed to find the asparagus in the dish. My order of pasta with mushrooms and sausage was sadly lacking both ingredients. We pointed this to the waitress but got little response.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 5, 2016

Our group of eight enjoyed a pre-movie dinner at Giuseppe's. Food was delicious and reasonably priced. Staff were attentive and helpful making suggestions and answering questions. Ambience and décor are very simple. It was nice to be able to converse over dinner and actually hear each other. We'll definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 2, 2016

The restaurant is very good but the service was terrible. It took us two hours to eat. The food is excellent however so we will try it again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 2, 2016

I brought a friend who was visiting from Italy. He was delighted with the entire experience, as was I! Grazie, Giuseppe!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2015

We were down in LBK for a week's vacation and we went to this restaurant TWICE! Wonderful Italian food in Sarasota! Can't wait until next vacation!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2015

was there on New Year's Eve, not a good indication of the regular menu as it was special.
I would not have ordered anything on the menu if there at normal dining time but
it was adequate. Very friendly

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2015

We had a wonderful experience. The staff were friendly and efficient. The atmosphere was cheerful.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 20, 2015

Based on most reviews I decided to give this a try and take my employees for our annual Christmas dinner. Unfortunately I should have listened to some of the less flattering reviews. I'm Italian and there was nothing that authentic about this place except the name. We ordered several hot appetizers and they were not only tepid but over cooked. I mentioned it to our server to make sure our dinners did not come out cold. They were warm but quite honestly nothing to write home about. The desserts were great though and the staff aimiable. Sorry but, I don't think I'll be going back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 20, 2015

So conveniently located downtown across from movie theatre! What's better than dinner and a movie! A fine dinner...not fast food. Great food, service and reasonable pricing, with music as well. I will go back!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 6, 2015

The noise level from a terrible keyboard player was much to loud. People could not have a conversation. The food was mediocre at best. My veal parm was so tough and dry I could not cut it or eat it. The pasta portions were tiny and the sauce was sparce.

I had to apologize to our invited guests for coming here.

The waitstaff seemed distracted.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 21, 2015

From reading the reviews, our expectations were a little high for this place. We were seated promptly, but the service was a bit hap hazard after that. I don't think our waiter's command of English was really great, and everyone seemed to be scrambling around although the restaurant was not full. Mussel appetizer was tasty - nice plump mussels, but sauce was nothing special. The salads were really good - although we had asked for half salads, we were served and charged for whole ones. The pasta dishes we had were good, but a bit dry and under seasoned. I could have done better at home. Prices were quite reasonable, and they had reasonably priced wines which were good. There are better Italian restaurants around.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 30, 2015

Food was AMAZING! Fresh pasta was delightful and sooo YUMMY! Grilled calamari was the best we've ever tasted...our compliments to the chef! The gal singer put a lovely twist on the evening and we very much enjoyed our experience! Our waiter...thin with an accent...very, very polished and we very much enjoyed his delightful, courteous personality! We will recommend and definitely return! Thank you for a memorable evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 9, 2015

We love this restaurant. The food is fantastic, the waitstaff are friendly and fast. We've dined here about a half dozen times, and it has become our 'go to' place when friends are in town. When we last went, we met two other couples who had never eaten at Giuseppe's. All four were impressed and vowed to go there again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 9, 2015

This is a great little downtown eatery. From the service, to the food and fresh made pasta to the entertainment it all adds up to a really nice dining experience. Owner is always there making sure that his customers are being taken care of and are happy. We go here often.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 22, 2015

We love this charming restaurant. Friendly service and excellent food at a reasonable price keeps us coming back. We've been there for dinner many times and were surprised that the lunch portions were so huge! Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 18, 2015

The food was excellent, but the dining experience was ruined by the terrible service. The restaurant was severely understaffed. The wait staff was unable to provide a level of service we would expect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 16, 2015

We we re told to try. We drove an hour to get to the location. It was worth it. The service was great and the food was prepared by an artisan. All courses were great. We will certainly return.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 12, 2015

Had pasta in pink sauce that was not fully cooked and salty. I had forgotten to give them my living social coupon and when the waiter asked the owner/manager, the owner/manager said just use it next time. He could have easily voided out the bill and taken the discount. The waiter was funny and friendly and Lady Jazz is always good. But I'll let the coupon expire and not go back. Too many other italian places to go to.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 4, 2015

Always get great service and great food. We come here often and recommend it to our friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 5, 2015

We enjoyed our server, he was there when we needed him and didn't hover

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 14, 2015

My partner and I are regular visitors to Giuseppe's Restaurant and we are NEVER disappointed. Chef Eduardo possesses extraordinary culinary skill and his dishes are ALWAYS delicious! Owner Giuseppe and the wait staff treat their customers like family and go the extra mile to make you feel welcome and satisfied. WE LOVE GIUSEPPE'S!!!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 11, 2015

We started our food feast with the eggplant appetizer which was wonderful, just the way the family used to make. The pasta is just great anyone you try. And for your sweet tooth, the ricotta cake/pie is the best!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 21, 2015

Guiseppe's ambiance is very simple and clean, the food is outstanding and the service excellent. We would highly recommend it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 23, 2015

I like to try new restaurants when visiting Sarasota and based on online reviews decided to try Giuseppe's.

The food was amazing at this restaurant. I had the grilled vegetables, eggplant parm and the fresh pasta. Each course was better than the last.

Unfortunately, I can't say the service was at the level which was disappointing. The first waiter took 15 minutes to come over and didn't tell us the specials. At some point in the evening,the server changed. After the entrees came, we were abandoned by the server and the owner came over to the table. He seemed put out that we wanted to order dessert. It was the tiramisu which was really good.

I would recommend this place for take out because the food was absolutely delicious but the service and ambiance leaves a lot to be desired.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 23, 2015

While the service was excellent and the food good, the ambiance is lacking. The live entertainment is actually quite annoying and we watched the singer badger a couple into dancing . When we first arrived there was a group of thirty that came unannounced to the restaurant. In spite of that the service was great and our food came out in a very timely manner. There was pleasant Italian music playing but that soon changed into a not so great Vegas lounge act. I'm sure some people enjoyed it but we will not be back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3