Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Mediterraneo Ristorante Italiano
392 reviews
Italian | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
MADE
109 reviews
Contemporary American | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood.
854 reviews
Seafood | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Louie's Modern
768 reviews
Contemporary American | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Jack Dusty Coastal Cuisine and Crafted Cocktails
344 reviews
Seafood | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Roast
646 reviews
American | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Selva Grill
1298 reviews
Latin / Spanish | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
The Melting Pot - Sarasota
88 reviews
Fondue | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Salute! Ristorante - Enoteca
309 reviews
Italian | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Bijou Cafe
108 reviews
Continental | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Clasico Sarasota
43 reviews
Contemporary American | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Michael's On East
1625 reviews
Contemporary American | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Sol's NYC Delicatessen
30 reviews
American | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Social Eatery & Bar
510 reviews
Italian | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Mozaic Restaurant
1265 reviews
Mediterranean | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now

About Giuseppe's Ristorante - Permanently Closed

1900 Main Street
Suite 104
Sarasota, FL 34236
View Larger Map

You"ll be glad you found us!! Giuseppe Prestia the proud owner of Giuseppe's ristorante is pleased to introduce Chef Eduardo, fast becoming a Sarasota favorite, at Giuseppe's the goal still always remains to prepare fresh and flavorful food.
Chef Eddy has 29 years of experience in mastering Italian cuisine, while studying at culinary school in italy, Chef Eddy invested his early years of training improving his knowledge of dessert & pastries, all the recipes are made from scratch including appetizers to homemade pastas infused with basil, spinach, sundried tomatoes etc.
At Giuseppe's you will find unique menu items not commonly found like grilled octopus, pasta with moscardini and strawberry tiramisu.
A long with our unique menu items we also have gluten free pasta and desserts that are homemade. If you prefer a meat free or dairy free dish let us know and we can be more than accomadating.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 1!:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm; Monday 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 366-6610

Website:
http://www.giusepperistorantesrq.com/

Entertainment:
Featuring Lady Jazz from New Orleans Friday and Saturday from 7 to 9:30.

Parking Details:
Our parking garage is located on the corner of Links ave and Ringling blvd

Executive Chef:
Eduardo Forgione

Private Party Facilities:
Rent the whole dinning room.

Private Party Contact:
Giuseppe: 9413666610x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Giuseppe's Ristorante - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

3.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (6)
neighborhood gem (6)
good for groups (5)
See All
great for lunch (4)
late-night find (1)
romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
84 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Entrees

Dined on March 13, 2016

Best PUPA in Sarasota. Only restaurant that serves large octopus tentacles . Home made pasta very good. Linguini missing. House wines good..... generous pour.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I've been to Giuseppe's numerous time an ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

I've been to Giuseppe's numerous time and it is a hit or miss. My pork chop was very tough and my wife's chicken parm was fair. If they would only be a little more consistent. The Tirimusu is fantastic.

food2
ambience3
service3

Dined here on a recent Wednesday evening ...

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

Dined here on a recent Wednesday evening. Both my husband and I had pasta dishes that were sadly lacking any real flavor. Pasta was cooked perfectly al dente but needed seasonings that bring a dish together. Service was good. Restaurant had a nice atmosphere and was not crowded at all Would not return. Sorry b

food5
ambience3
service3

This evening was the most crowded I had ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

This evening was the most crowded I had ever experienced at Giuseppe's. As a result, the service wasn't as quick as what I'm used to experiencing there. The food was still excellent though.

food1
ambience1
service1

Went there for Valentine's Day thinking ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went there for Valentine's Day thinking I get the regular menu, was not the case as they had a one page menu for Valentine s day that didn't even come close to what they offered regularly. After 30 minutes of sitting at the table with no one saying a word to us, we decided to leave. Not a good experience. If it's not a holiday like that the restaurant has a decent menu. I'd go back but not on my list for a long time now.

food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Good food and terrific location downtown!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We enjoyed the eggplant parm appitizer, chicken parm dinner, and a really nice salad. The ambiance is not super romantic, but we enjoyed the experience. We were headed to a play so it was the perfect venue!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

We will be returning very soon.

Dined on February 14, 2016

We will be returning very soon.

food5
ambience3
service4

Not a fancy place by any means, but the ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Not a fancy place by any means, but the food is authentic and very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food at a very good price

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

Guiseppe's is always consistently wonderful from a nice selection of wines by the glass, to delicious entrees at a very good price. Service is always top notch, and we enjoy hearing Lady Jazz every time we're there on the weekend.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful Staff!

Dined on February 6, 2016

When I made the reservation, I indicated we were celebrating both a birthday and anniversary, but neither were acknowledged. The staff were very friendly and prompt with service. The food came out quickly. My husband and mother enjoyed their dishes, veal parmesan and chicken limone. I didn't enjoy mine so much. I had the Spaghetti and Clams and it tasted like it was from a can. Very little flavor. I asked for extra garlic when I placed the order, but it didn't seem like there was any garlic in the dish. No side salads with entree unless you order a la carte. They had a musician who sang, and the volume was fine, not too loud so you could still enjoy your conversation.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always good

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Been there many times, food is great, fettichini Alfredo is sooo good. Staff is friendly and make you feel like you are being welcomed into their home. A great place to take friends or family for wine,dinner and conversation

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

delicious food once we were served

Dined on January 31, 2016

We waited fo 30 minutes before being seated although we had reservations . Then we waited another ten minutes before anyone came to the table. We had to ask for bread 4 times. However, our food came out in a decent time and was very good. They were not prepared for the size of the crowd. We wish the, well

food4
ambience2
service4
value4

My wife & I ate at Giuseppe's Ristorante 3 weeks

Dined on January 30, 2016

Eating at the same restaurant 3 weeks in a row should give you an idea what we think - plus, I got a different meal each week superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We had been here before and had been ver ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

We had been here before and had been very pleased with the food and service. Our disappointment this time may have been due to an 'off night.' Will plan on trying once more in view of earlier pleasures.

food4
ambience1
service1

Terrible service, small restaurant with ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Terrible service, small restaurant with music to loud , was constantly being hit by servers, never going back even with decent food

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Extremely Poor Experience

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

The owner recognized us as we entered and welcomed us back. Some Welcome. We had reservations for 7:45 PM on Friday Jan 15. We were seated on time. We did not get to place our order until about 8:30 PM. Our soup and salad did not arrive until about 9:15. The soup was cold and needed to be replaced. I went to the owner at about 9:30 PM to ask where our food was. He was less than pleasant about my question. When the food finally arrived, two of the entrees were ok. My entrée and my wife's entrée, both of which were pasta dishes, had plenty of pasta but little else. She ordered pasta with asparagus and was hard pressed to find the asparagus in the dish. My order of pasta with mushrooms and sausage was sadly lacking both ingredients. We pointed this to the waitress but got little response.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Delicous food / Friendly service

vip
Dined on January 5, 2016

Our group of eight enjoyed a pre-movie dinner at Giuseppe's. Food was delicious and reasonably priced. Staff were attentive and helpful making suggestions and answering questions. Ambience and décor are very simple. It was nice to be able to converse over dinner and actually hear each other. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience2
service1
value5

Guisseppes

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

The restaurant is very good but the service was terrible. It took us two hours to eat. The food is excellent however so we will try it again

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfecto!

Dined on January 2, 2016

I brought a friend who was visiting from Italy. He was delighted with the entire experience, as was I! Grazie, Giuseppe!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

We were down in LBK for a week's vacation and we went to this restaurant TWICE! Wonderful Italian food in Sarasota! Can't wait until next vacation!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

good eats

Dined on January 1, 2016

was there on New Year's Eve, not a good indication of the regular menu as it was special. I would not have ordered anything on the menu if there at normal dining time but it was adequate. Very friendly

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sarasota eatery

Dined on December 27, 2015

We had a wonderful experience. The staff were friendly and efficient. The atmosphere was cheerful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Only thing authentic is the name

Dined on December 21, 2015

Based on most reviews I decided to give this a try and take my employees for our annual Christmas dinner. Unfortunately I should have listened to some of the less flattering reviews. I'm Italian and there was nothing that authentic about this place except the name. We ordered several hot appetizers and they were not only tepid but over cooked. I mentioned it to our server to make sure our dinners did not come out cold. They were warm but quite honestly nothing to write home about. The desserts were great though and the staff aimiable. Sorry but, I don't think I'll be going back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

great find

Dined on December 20, 2015

So conveniently located downtown across from movie theatre! What's better than dinner and a movie! A fine dinner...not fast food. Great food, service and reasonable pricing, with music as well. I will go back!

Tags: romantic
food1
ambience2
service1

I would not recommend this restaurant at all.

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

The noise level from a terrible keyboard player was much to loud. People could not have a conversation. The food was mediocre at best. My veal parm was so tough and dry I could not cut it or eat it. The pasta portions were tiny and the sauce was sparce. I had to apologize to our invited guests for coming here. The waitstaff seemed distracted.

food3
ambience3
service2

Good Italian Food, but Nothing Special

Dined on November 21, 2015

From reading the reviews, our expectations were a little high for this place. We were seated promptly, but the service was a bit hap hazard after that. I don't think our waiter's command of English was really great, and everyone seemed to be scrambling around although the restaurant was not full. Mussel appetizer was tasty - nice plump mussels, but sauce was nothing special. The salads were really good - although we had asked for half salads, we were served and charged for whole ones. The pasta dishes we had were good, but a bit dry and under seasoned. I could have done better at home. Prices were quite reasonable, and they had reasonably priced wines which were good. There are better Italian restaurants around.

food5
ambience3
service5

Food was AMAZING! Fresh pasta was delig ...

Dined on October 31, 2015

Food was AMAZING! Fresh pasta was delightful and sooo YUMMY! Grilled calamari was the best we've ever tasted...our compliments to the chef! The gal singer put a lovely twist on the evening and we very much enjoyed our experience! Our waiter...thin with an accent...very, very polished and we very much enjoyed his delightful, courteous personality! We will recommend and definitely return! Thank you for a memorable evening!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

always a solid choice

Dined on October 9, 2015

We love this restaurant. The food is fantastic, the waitstaff are friendly and fast. We've dined here about a half dozen times, and it has become our 'go to' place when friends are in town. When we last went, we met two other couples who had never eaten at Giuseppe's. All four were impressed and vowed to go there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Great little downtown restaurant

Dined on October 9, 2015

This is a great little downtown eatery. From the service, to the food and fresh made pasta to the entertainment it all adds up to a really nice dining experience. Owner is always there making sure that his customers are being taken care of and are happy. We go here often.

food5
ambience5
service5

Guiseppe's excels

vip
Dined on September 22, 2015

We love this charming restaurant. Friendly service and excellent food at a reasonable price keeps us coming back. We've been there for dinner many times and were surprised that the lunch portions were so huge! Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service2

The food was excellent, but the dining e ...

vip
Dined on September 18, 2015

The food was excellent, but the dining experience was ruined by the terrible service. The restaurant was severely understaffed. The wait staff was unable to provide a level of service we would expect.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience.

Dined on September 16, 2015

We we re told to try. We drove an hour to get to the location. It was worth it. The service was great and the food was prepared by an artisan. All courses were great. We will certainly return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service4

Not customer friendly and food average to minus

vip
Dined on September 12, 2015

Had pasta in pink sauce that was not fully cooked and salty. I had forgotten to give them my living social coupon and when the waiter asked the owner/manager, the owner/manager said just use it next time. He could have easily voided out the bill and taken the discount. The waiter was funny and friendly and Lady Jazz is always good. But I'll let the coupon expire and not go back. Too many other italian places to go to.

food5
ambience5
service5

Returning diners

Dined on September 4, 2015

Always get great service and great food. We come here often and recommend it to our friends.

food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoy living right the street

vip
Dined on August 5, 2015

We enjoyed our server, he was there when we needed him and didn't hover

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Superb

Dined on July 14, 2015

My partner and I are regular visitors to Giuseppe's Restaurant and we are NEVER disappointed. Chef Eduardo possesses extraordinary culinary skill and his dishes are ALWAYS delicious! Owner Giuseppe and the wait staff treat their customers like family and go the extra mile to make you feel welcome and satisfied. WE LOVE GIUSEPPE'S!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Italian Tastiness!

vip
Dined on July 11, 2015

We started our food feast with the eggplant appetizer which was wonderful, just the way the family used to make. The pasta is just great anyone you try. And for your sweet tooth, the ricotta cake/pie is the best!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5

Guiseppe's exceeds expectations

vip
Dined on June 21, 2015

Guiseppe's ambiance is very simple and clean, the food is outstanding and the service excellent. We would highly recommend it!

food5
ambience3
service3

Awesome food, not so great service

vip
Dined on May 23, 2015

I like to try new restaurants when visiting Sarasota and based on online reviews decided to try Giuseppe's. The food was amazing at this restaurant. I had the grilled vegetables, eggplant parm and the fresh pasta. Each course was better than the last. Unfortunately, I can't say the service was at the level which was disappointing. The first waiter took 15 minutes to come over and didn't tell us the specials. At some point in the evening,the server changed. After the entrees came, we were abandoned by the server and the owner came over to the table. He seemed put out that we wanted to order dessert. It was the tiramisu which was really good. I would recommend this place for take out because the food was absolutely delicious but the service and ambiance leaves a lot to be desired.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service5

While the service was excellent and the ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2015

While the service was excellent and the food good, the ambiance is lacking. The live entertainment is actually quite annoying and we watched the singer badger a couple into dancing . When we first arrived there was a group of thirty that came unannounced to the restaurant. In spite of that the service was great and our food came out in a very timely manner. There was pleasant Italian music playing but that soon changed into a not so great Vegas lounge act. I'm sure some people enjoyed it but we will not be back.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.