About Giovannis

25550 Chagrin Blvd
Suite 44122
Cleveland, OH 44122
View Larger Map

Since 1976 Giovanni's continues to serve Cleveland outstanding Italian cuisine & a unique dining experience. Giovanni's has been awarded the Di Rona, AAA & Wine Spectator Award, Cleveland Magazine "Silver Spoon" Award (Best Italian Restaurant & Best Italian Restaurant in Northern Ohio) several times over the years. The wine cellar, classified as one of the country's finest with over 800 selections, earned Wine Spectator's Grand Award.
Giovanni's recent renovation brings the atmosphere more in tune to today's feelings. The Picasso Room with wood paneling, distinctive artwork, fireplace & elegant French doors, seating up to 30, is ideal for corporate & social functions.
The imaginative cuisine offers surprising variations of classic recipes including handmade pastas, seafood, veal, lamb, beef & game. Elegance & first class service are an experience not to be missed. The more casual lounge & bar areas are excellent alternatives serving the same menu as the main dining room.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Richmond Road

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 831-8625

Website:
http://www.giovanniscleveland.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary valet parking available in addition to ample off-street parking.

Executive Chef:
Zach Ladner

Private Party Facilities:
Giovannis can accommodate semi-private parties for up to 16 guests in the Glass Room. The Picasso Room can accommodate private parties up to 35 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Pier Luigi Gregori: 2168318625x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Giovannis, Cleveland, OH
Giovannis, Cleveland, OH

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Giovannis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Food
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Ambiance
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
6 More
Italian
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Overall
Cleveland
Best Food
Cleveland
Best Service
Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Cleveland
Italian
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Beachwood ›

Special Occasion (17)
Romantic (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
See All
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Private Room (9)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Business Meals (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Cozy (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Authentic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Historic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
615 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I made a huge mistake on the tip ( in th ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

I made a huge mistake on the tip ( in the waiters favor) the head waiter came over and question me.. same thing happened in a Fla restaurant, they were not as polite or honest

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Quiet enough to carry on a conversation. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Quiet enough to carry on a conversation. Excellent food. Service is perfect - not too fast or too slow - just right!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They forgot to add my corkage fee and de ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

They forgot to add my corkage fee and decided to add on my bill after I had given them my credit card. Food was nothing sensational and did not live up to the hefty price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

They did not have the meal that I specif ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

They did not have the meal that I specifically wanted which is on their online menu. They should update this. I was disappointed by it. The sides were lackluster, steak was not prepared as I requested. I likely won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Still the best. Food, wine service all s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Still the best. Food, wine service all superb. One of the few places left where you can have a reat elegant dining experience with nothing left to chance. Pierre is the best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a friend's birthday ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We were celebrating a friend's birthday and she loved it. Everything was perfect -food, service, etc. Would definitely return for special occasions!!

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In addition to great food and great serv ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 18, 2016

In addition to great food and great service, they make you feel special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service, outstanding food

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent service, outstanding food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome. Service was amazing and food wa ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Awesome. Service was amazing and food was close to great.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The veal chop was very large and excepti ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The veal chop was very large and exceptional in quality. The scallops were very good. The dinners were accompanied with lots of interesting veggies. Overall, the meal was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pierre (our server) was wonderful in acc ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Pierre (our server) was wonderful in accommodating my dietary needs. He even asked the severity of my allergy in order to inform the chef on how to prepare my food! The entire meal was delicious and we were very satisfied with our entire experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and attentive service alt ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Excellent food and attentive service although the rolls were very late in arriving - after we received our entrees. Other than that, it was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Very nice spot for special occasion. Foo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very nice spot for special occasion. Food very good and wine list is impressive. Crowd on the older side but still good energy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The ceasar salad was amazing. The halibu ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The ceasar salad was amazing. The halibut fish was the best fish I ever had. Great service.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply outstanding. Perhaps my nicest me ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Simply outstanding. Perhaps my nicest meal of the year! Superb ingredients and presentation by a remarkably capable and responsive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

FABULOUS service! We chose this restaur ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 15, 2016

FABULOUS service! We chose this restaurant - "across town" - as someplace we rarely go to. Very impressed by the superb service. Ambiance was warm - dark wood, subdued lighting without being "dark". Noise level was energetic but not loud. Food was excellent to outstanding. I would definitely recommend this to someone looking for a place to dine for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Another great meal at this place. We get ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Another great meal at this place. We get the same server every time by request. Reem is awesome at her job and is valuable to this restaurant. She provides a great experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Could not have been more perfect. Best r ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Could not have been more perfect. Best restaurant

We have ever been to in CLE. And we live here! Great tuna tartare, filet, rib eye steak, whiskey sour, strong tito's and tonic, fantastic dessert, service, ambience. Special occasion could NOT have been more special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very elegant restaurant for celebratin ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 27, 2016

A very elegant restaurant for celebrating special events; the food and service are all of high quality and worth going back for many times!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Italian food in Cleveland! The rest ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Best Italian food in Cleveland! The restaurant serves traditional Italian in a quiet setting. Service was excellent. The penne alla vodka is HIGHLY recommended. Tiramisu has odd presentation (in a stemless wine glass) but has authentic taste. The restaurant is pricey (considering the number of cheap Italian joints in town) but Giovanni's is worth it for the awesome food and fitting atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Private Room, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Giovannis is always a great place to eat ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Giovannis is always a great place to eat. It was my wife's birthday. We have had the pleasure to eat at Giovannis before. They have an outstanding wine list. The wine we had last year for her birthday they were out of. The wine manager came over and said he would select a wine that tasted just like the one we had a year ago. He was right on. we both had the short rib and it was outstanding. The service, food and wine are all first class. We will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The evening was very nice. The server ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The evening was very nice. The server Don was very attentive to us.the food was amazing.We went to celebrate my birthday .

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a fine dining restaurant with gr ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is a fine dining restaurant with great food and even better service. Our server was Shante and she was awesome. She knew the menu well and gave excellent suggestions for food and drinks. The other helpers were awesome as well. My water glass never got below half full as they were constantly refreshing it. It is a wonderful dining experience. Worth every penny. I had the fig salad, which Shante recommended, and it was delicious. The Cioppino was great as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant! Great food and go ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Excellent restaurant! Great food and good service. Pricey but worth it overall. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This was a great dining experience . It ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was a great dining experience . It was our first time. Service was everything we expected. Food was plentiful , and tasty. Will be back again. I have already recommended it to several colleagues.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good choice with a variety of dishes. Th ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Good choice with a variety of dishes. The seafood pasta was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent and the staff made su ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was excellent and the staff made sure everyone congratulated us on our 50th anniversary.

My sisters had purchased a gift card for us and we still have a balance which we will use for lunch one day.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pierre and his staff are simply the best ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Pierre and his staff are simply the best.My personal favorite when it comes to fine dining.From the owner and all the employees,first class all the way, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent place for a quiet romantic ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 10, 2016

An excellent place for a quiet romantic evening. While the menu offers an extraordinary number of interesting choices, Giovanni's also offers a long list of specials. The wine list is extensive and most remarkable in that there are a large number of very good wines that are reasonably priced. The food is well prepared and portions are generous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and Jenna was a great server

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great food and Jenna was a great server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined on a Monday evening after recei ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 8, 2016

We dined on a Monday evening after receiving an advert in the mail from Giovanni's advertising Monday as "$10 Pasta Night" and beckoning us to try their amazing patio. The service on the patio was inattentive. We had to ask for more bread, more water, and our check. The ambiance suffered due to lack of background music and traffic noise from Chagrin Boulevard. No one bothered to remove the covers from the bar and patio furniture, making diners on the patio feel like unwelcomed afterthoughts. The pasta dishes were amazing, however!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Great time great place great food great ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great time great place great food great service

Really enjoyed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

my name is not Joe Vitale its ken imlach ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2016

my name is not Joe Vitale its ken imlach. refer to the email address you have on file.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Food and service terrific. Sloppy interi ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food and service terrific. Sloppy interior. Cardboard boxes in wine area. Tableside food prep server eating food while prepping. Drop ceilings and chandeliers don't work. No proper signage for restaurant in an ugly office building - we had to ask janitor cleaning bathrooms where restaurant was. No adherence to dress code. Bill was wrong and smacked of a potential intended overcharge. But as I said, the food and service was terrific. But too many fabulous places to eat in Cleveland, where everything is top notch, to go back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Still one of Cleveland's finest eating e ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Still one of Cleveland's finest eating establishments--excellent in all respects-lovely elegant room while still maintaining a "Cleveland-style" friendliness and warmth from the hosts and serving crew.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is no finer establishment than Gio ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 8, 2016

There is no finer establishment than Giovannis. The meal was top rate and my family had a wonerful time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NONE BETTER IN CLEVELAND OUTSTANDING FOO ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 25, 2016

NONE BETTER IN CLEVELAND

OUTSTANDING FOOD

GREAT OUTDOOR DINING

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was great. The food was OK ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 24, 2016

The ambiance was great. The food was OK. Perhaps if we had ordered something else. . .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Never disappoints. Always the same great ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Never disappoints. Always the same great food, service and ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoy the night our food and server was ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Enjoy the night our food and server was great hope to get back again soon

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.