About Giovannis

25550 Chagrin Blvd
Suite 44122
Cleveland, OH 44122
View Larger Map

Since 1976 Giovanni's continues to serve Cleveland outstanding Italian cuisine & a unique dining experience. Giovanni's has been awarded the Di Rona, AAA & Wine Spectator Award, Cleveland Magazine "Silver Spoon" Award (Best Italian Restaurant & Best Italian Restaurant in Northern Ohio) several times over the years. The wine cellar, classified as one of the country's finest with over 800 selections, earned Wine Spectator's Grand Award.
Giovanni's recent renovation brings the atmosphere more in tune to today's feelings. The Picasso Room with wood paneling, distinctive artwork, fireplace & elegant French doors, seating up to 30, is ideal for corporate & social functions.
The imaginative cuisine offers surprising variations of classic recipes including handmade pastas, seafood, veal, lamb, beef & game. Elegance & first class service are an experience not to be missed. The more casual lounge & bar areas are excellent alternatives serving the same menu as the main dining room.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Richmond Road

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 831-8625

Website:
http://www.giovanniscleveland.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary valet parking available in addition to ample off-street parking.

Executive Chef:
Zach Ladner

Private Party Facilities:
Giovannis can accommodate semi-private parties for up to 16 guests in the Glass Room. The Picasso Room can accommodate private parties up to 35 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Pier Luigi Gregori: (216) 831-8625

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Giovannis, Cleveland, OH

Report a photo problem

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Giovannis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Romantic (13)
See All
Good for Birthdays (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Business Meals (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Private Room (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Cozy (4)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Historic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Authentic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
671 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I had a wonderful dinner ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My husband and I had a wonderful dinner at Giovannis last Saturday night. Our waiter was fabulous as well as the other staff who helped. We will definitely go back again!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner, service, atmosphere were all exc ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Dinner, service, atmosphere were all excellent. We made our reservations to be seated in the lounge. A bit more activity here then in Giovanni's dining area but still all the same wonderful attributes we know Giovanni's to have. I can never resist the beet salad. My lamb braciole was tender and delicious. My husband chose his favorite on their menu; chicken parmigiano. It always puts a smile on his face. Such great food! From the dessert options, I chose the olive oil cake while my husband chose the peppermint brownie "sundae". Both delicious and perfect endings to our perfect meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fantastic! It feels like home. E ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Always fantastic! It feels like home. Everyone is welcoming The food and service is outstanding :)

Thank you Giovanni's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waiter Philippe was outstanding, the ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The waiter Philippe was outstanding, the food was perfectly prepared and presented beautifully, almost everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience as always. My only co ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great experience as always. My only complaint is that the prices were significantly inflated on New Year's Eve for all dishes on the regular menu. Seems quite excessive for the 20-30% premium on an already high priced menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Excellent food with large portions. Serv ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food with large portions. Service is the best anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

NYE dinner. Great food and service with ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

NYE dinner. Great food and service with 3 course meal. Always a pleasure to dine here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was not very impressed and we had high e ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Was not very impressed and we had high expectations as long-term Clevelanders that have dined at most nice restaurants in the area. Very expensive, which we expected, but was a little surprised that on New Years prices were increased which I suppose is justified due to the night but still weird and almost false advertising from the menu on their website; when you see something is $55 and end up paying $70 . Price would have been tolerable had the veal chop not been extremely fatty to the point I couldn't eat more than half of it. My wife had a bone in veal parmesan which she did enjoy as well as her pickled beet salad. I will not return. I have never been so disappointed in a price-to-quality ratio of my meal. Had to go home and eat leftovers from the night before. All in all, I feel somewhat ripped off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Greet food and service on a very busy ni ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Greet food and service on a very busy night--New Year's Eve. Prix fix menu gave us a chance to taste Kobe beef at a reasonable price.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Historic, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They need to get over themselves. Major ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

They need to get over themselves.

Major attitude issues all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

This is still far and away the best rest ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is still far and away the best restaurant in Cleveland. It is far and away the best service in town if you want high-end dining -- no waiters telling you what they like (who cares) -- attentive yet not hovering. The food offers old standards with creative twists and newer creations. The calamari steak app was outstanding. Not an everyday place but well worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reena was an excellent server and our fo ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Reena was an excellent server and our food was outstanding. Glad we gave it a try after many years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated our anniversary at Giovanni's ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary at Giovanni's. It was romantic with excellent ambiance. There was variety on the menu; the calamari steak and beet salad were full of flavor. The seafood linguini was loaded with clams, mussels, lobster, and scallops. The wine list was enormous and we picked an aromatic '07 Napa Valley Merlot to mark the year of our wedding. Finally, the chef made a special gelato dish to celebrate our special day. I highly recommend Giovanni's for an upscale experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Giovanni's is and has been for many year ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Giovanni's is and has been for many years consistent and wonderful. It can't be beat for classic cuisine, and it makes the best burger (the Gioburger) any of us have ever tasted! The service is friendly and attentive, but not annoyingly so. We'll be headed back soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Possibly the best restaurant we have bee ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Possibly the best restaurant we have been to in a long time. We're so glad we went. The service and menu are top notch. The bananas foster is insane!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. They do spectacular with the ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food. They do spectacular with the menu. Service was bad. They tried. We had the oysters Rockefeller. Finished those. And our drinks. Ordered another round. Finished those. And main course still not there. They were busy. But for quality of restaurant. This was not a good sign. Highly recommend trying them again. Will see if they are better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

They nailed it. Salad, entre, service w ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 16, 2016

They nailed it. Salad, entre, service was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was mixed. Lobster bisque& steak ta ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food was mixed. Lobster bisque& steak tartar, were excellent. Veal was very good. Lamb dish missed the mark.

Big problem: wine list was out of date. We ordered a 2009 vintage and got a 2014 vintage with no acknowledgement. We sent it back which generated some high anxiety. The issue was partially resolved but with a lesser wine at a higher price and without a price adjustment. Not the way a restaurant of this rank should do business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

I made a huge mistake on the tip ( in th ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 6, 2016

I made a huge mistake on the tip ( in the waiters favor) the head waiter came over and question me.. same thing happened in a Fla restaurant, they were not as polite or honest

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Quiet enough to carry on a conversation. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Quiet enough to carry on a conversation. Excellent food. Service is perfect - not too fast or too slow - just right!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They forgot to add my corkage fee and de ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

They forgot to add my corkage fee and decided to add on my bill after I had given them my credit card. Food was nothing sensational and did not live up to the hefty price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

They did not have the meal that I specif ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

They did not have the meal that I specifically wanted which is on their online menu. They should update this. I was disappointed by it. The sides were lackluster, steak was not prepared as I requested. I likely won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Still the best. Food, wine service all s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Still the best. Food, wine service all superb. One of the few places left where you can have a reat elegant dining experience with nothing left to chance. Pierre is the best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a friend's birthday ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We were celebrating a friend's birthday and she loved it. Everything was perfect -food, service, etc. Would definitely return for special occasions!!

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In addition to great food and great serv ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 18, 2016

In addition to great food and great service, they make you feel special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service, outstanding food

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent service, outstanding food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome. Service was amazing and food wa ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Awesome. Service was amazing and food was close to great.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The veal chop was very large and excepti ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The veal chop was very large and exceptional in quality. The scallops were very good. The dinners were accompanied with lots of interesting veggies. Overall, the meal was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pierre (our server) was wonderful in acc ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Pierre (our server) was wonderful in accommodating my dietary needs. He even asked the severity of my allergy in order to inform the chef on how to prepare my food! The entire meal was delicious and we were very satisfied with our entire experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and attentive service alt ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Excellent food and attentive service although the rolls were very late in arriving - after we received our entrees. Other than that, it was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Very nice spot for special occasion. Foo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very nice spot for special occasion. Food very good and wine list is impressive. Crowd on the older side but still good energy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The ceasar salad was amazing. The halibu ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The ceasar salad was amazing. The halibut fish was the best fish I ever had. Great service.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply outstanding. Perhaps my nicest me ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Simply outstanding. Perhaps my nicest meal of the year! Superb ingredients and presentation by a remarkably capable and responsive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

FABULOUS service! We chose this restaur ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 15, 2016

FABULOUS service! We chose this restaurant - "across town" - as someplace we rarely go to. Very impressed by the superb service. Ambiance was warm - dark wood, subdued lighting without being "dark". Noise level was energetic but not loud. Food was excellent to outstanding. I would definitely recommend this to someone looking for a place to dine for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Another great meal at this place. We get ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Another great meal at this place. We get the same server every time by request. Reem is awesome at her job and is valuable to this restaurant. She provides a great experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Could not have been more perfect. Best r ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Could not have been more perfect. Best restaurant

We have ever been to in CLE. And we live here! Great tuna tartare, filet, rib eye steak, whiskey sour, strong tito's and tonic, fantastic dessert, service, ambience. Special occasion could NOT have been more special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very elegant restaurant for celebratin ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 27, 2016

A very elegant restaurant for celebrating special events; the food and service are all of high quality and worth going back for many times!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Italian food in Cleveland! The rest ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Best Italian food in Cleveland! The restaurant serves traditional Italian in a quiet setting. Service was excellent. The penne alla vodka is HIGHLY recommended. Tiramisu has odd presentation (in a stemless wine glass) but has authentic taste. The restaurant is pricey (considering the number of cheap Italian joints in town) but Giovanni's is worth it for the awesome food and fitting atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Private Room, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Giovannis is always a great place to eat ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Giovannis is always a great place to eat. It was my wife's birthday. We have had the pleasure to eat at Giovannis before. They have an outstanding wine list. The wine we had last year for her birthday they were out of. The wine manager came over and said he would select a wine that tasted just like the one we had a year ago. He was right on. we both had the short rib and it was outstanding. The service, food and wine are all first class. We will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The evening was very nice. The server ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The evening was very nice. The server Don was very attentive to us.the food was amazing.We went to celebrate my birthday .

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.