About Giovannis

25550 Chagrin Blvd
Suite 44122
Cleveland, OH 44122
View Larger Map

Since 1976 Giovanni's continues to serve Cleveland outstanding Italian cuisine & a unique dining experience. Giovanni's has been awarded the Di Rona, AAA & Wine Spectator Award, Cleveland Magazine "Silver Spoon" Award (Best Italian Restaurant & Best Italian Restaurant in Northern Ohio) several times over the years. The wine cellar, classified as one of the country's finest with over 800 selections, earned Wine Spectator's Grand Award.
Giovanni's recent renovation brings the atmosphere more in tune to today's feelings. The Picasso Room with wood paneling, distinctive artwork, fireplace & elegant French doors, seating up to 30, is ideal for corporate & social functions.
The imaginative cuisine offers surprising variations of classic recipes including handmade pastas, seafood, veal, lamb, beef & game. Elegance & first class service are an experience not to be missed. The more casual lounge & bar areas are excellent alternatives serving the same menu as the main dining room.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Richmond Road

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 831-8625

Website:
http://www.giovanniscleveland.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary valet parking available in addition to ample off-street parking.

Executive Chef:
Zach Ladner

Private Party Facilities:
Giovannis can accommodate semi-private parties for up to 16 guests in the Glass Room. The Picasso Room can accommodate private parties up to 35 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Pier Luigi Gregori: 2168318625x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Giovannis
Giovannis

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Giovannis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Ambiance
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Notable Wine List
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
5 More
Italian
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Overall
Cleveland
Best Service
Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Cleveland
Italian
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Beachwood ›

Special Occasion (36)
Notable Wine List (29)
Romantic (26)
See All
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Great for Brunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
588 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good choice with a variety of dishes. Th ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Good choice with a variety of dishes. The seafood pasta was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent and the staff made su ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was excellent and the staff made sure everyone congratulated us on our 50th anniversary.

My sisters had purchased a gift card for us and we still have a balance which we will use for lunch one day.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pierre and his staff are simply the best ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Pierre and his staff are simply the best.My personal favorite when it comes to fine dining.From the owner and all the employees,first class all the way, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent place for a quiet romantic ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

An excellent place for a quiet romantic evening. While the menu offers an extraordinary number of interesting choices, Giovanni's also offers a long list of specials. The wine list is extensive and most remarkable in that there are a large number of very good wines that are reasonably priced. The food is well prepared and portions are generous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and Jenna was a great server

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great food and Jenna was a great server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined on a Monday evening after recei ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We dined on a Monday evening after receiving an advert in the mail from Giovanni's advertising Monday as "$10 Pasta Night" and beckoning us to try their amazing patio. The service on the patio was inattentive. We had to ask for more bread, more water, and our check. The ambiance suffered due to lack of background music and traffic noise from Chagrin Boulevard. No one bothered to remove the covers from the bar and patio furniture, making diners on the patio feel like unwelcomed afterthoughts. The pasta dishes were amazing, however!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Great time great place great food great ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great time great place great food great service

Really enjoyed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

my name is not Joe Vitale its ken imlach ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

my name is not Joe Vitale its ken imlach. refer to the email address you have on file.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Food and service terrific. Sloppy interi ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food and service terrific. Sloppy interior. Cardboard boxes in wine area. Tableside food prep server eating food while prepping. Drop ceilings and chandeliers don't work. No proper signage for restaurant in an ugly office building - we had to ask janitor cleaning bathrooms where restaurant was. No adherence to dress code. Bill was wrong and smacked of a potential intended overcharge. But as I said, the food and service was terrific. But too many fabulous places to eat in Cleveland, where everything is top notch, to go back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Still one of Cleveland's finest eating e ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Still one of Cleveland's finest eating establishments--excellent in all respects-lovely elegant room while still maintaining a "Cleveland-style" friendliness and warmth from the hosts and serving crew.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is no finer establishment than Gio ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

There is no finer establishment than Giovannis. The meal was top rate and my family had a wonerful time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NONE BETTER IN CLEVELAND OUTSTANDING FOO ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

NONE BETTER IN CLEVELAND

OUTSTANDING FOOD

GREAT OUTDOOR DINING

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was great. The food was OK ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The ambiance was great. The food was OK. Perhaps if we had ordered something else. . .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Never disappoints. Always the same great ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Never disappoints. Always the same great food, service and ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoy the night our food and server was ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Enjoy the night our food and server was great hope to get back again soon

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great night with friends

vip
·Dined on June 3, 2016

A group of six of us went to Giovanni's on a Friday night to celebrate being friends. From the time we walked in the door of the time we walked out the door service was incredible. The staff was helpful and friendly throughout our time th A group of six of us went to Giovanni's on a Friday night to celebrate being friends. From the time we walked in the door of the time we walked out the door the service was incredible. The staff was helpful and friendly throughout our time there. All of the pasta dishes were excellent. One of us had a ribeye which was great the Dover sole was so tender major mouth water there was no need to Chew. We enjoyed appetizers main meal and then a great selection of gelato for dessert. If there was one short coming at all it was in the lack of a selection in the Pinot no war one wi we enjoyed appetizers or main meal and then a great selection of gelato for dessert. If there was one short coming at all it was in the lack of a selection in the Pinot Noir wine list. You love this place and will go back again shortly. It is an upgrade from the ambience of most restaurants but well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food; accommodates shared dishes w ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great food; accommodates shared dishes with a smile. Always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second time here and even better than th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Second time here and even better than the first! Superb food and service !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and Food just what we expected. ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Service and Food just what we expected. Outstanding!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply spectacular. Heavenly cuisine. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Simply spectacular. Heavenly cuisine. If you don't see what you want on the menu they are happy to make something else for you. The service was a little off for the first time ever, but still so enjoyable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Didn't meet expectations

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

I was very excited to go to this restaurant and it lacked imagination, flavor and the food was way overpriced. The service was great but I would rather go to almost any restaurant in Cleveland other than Giovanni's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Quality food and service

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

As always, service was timely and excellent. My husband and I have had dinners here but it was our first time to have a family brunch with our adult children and my 80 year old mom. The menu was great and offered both breakfast and lunch choices. My husband loved the eggs benedict with prosciutto and pork shoulder. The lemon ricotta pancakes were light and tasty. And I definitely enjoyed the lobster roll. For appetizers, two orders of the ham and eggs were just right for sharing. Would definitely go back for brunch here.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fine food in classic restaurant

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We found the food to be excellent, and the service was superb from the waiter to bus boy . We received special advice and information from the sommelier. Although it is common to find good food in Cleveland, this restaurant had the best service we have experienced. It was truly a 5 star experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This restaurant has a very romantic/inti ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

This restaurant has a very romantic/intimate atmosphere with amazing food and impeccable service. You can't go wrong with this choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food and excellent service. Ve ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Very good food and excellent service. Very "old school NYC vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The entire experience was delightful fro ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The entire experience was delightful from start to finish. The food was fantastic, the service was exceptional, and I will most definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great meal

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Every time we go here our expectations are exceeded. Great service. Great food. 10/10

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Gnochi outstanding! We were there for lu ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Gnochi outstanding! We were there for lunch. Service, food, atmosphere noting less than outstanding. Never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Out of town traveler

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The restaurant is located in the basement of an office building, so being our first time it seemed strange. Once we entered our skepticism went away, the décor was exceptional. Clean, bright and just exquisite. We started with the Wedding Soup & the Octopus Carpaccio , outstanding flavors. Main course was the Orecchiette & the Papparrdelle, the plates were red hot that kept the pasta perfect temperature and the flavors were some of the best we ever had. The wine list was very extensive from high end to every day wine, we settled with a Brunello.

Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Second Time at Giovanni's

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

The Wedge Salads were great. My Cioppino was outstanding. Unfortunately, my Wifes' filet was very tough and hard to chew. I was disappointed in the quality of the meat especially given the price. That is why I rated Food and Value so low.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

A Great Place for a Romantic Dinner

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Giovanni's is a wonderful place for a quiet, romantic dinner. The ambiance is elegant and understated, the service is unobtrusive and attentive and the food is fabulous. It's easy to get there, parking is easy, and it is a very classy place. Prices are up there but not unreasonable for what you get, and you will have a wonderful, romantic and stress-free evening. A Cleveland classic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Has never disappointed !

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Giovanni's is a classic - been in it's present location for years, and has never failed to give impeccable service , excellent food, and beautiful, stylish surroundings. I will never hesitate to recommend it highly - if you haven't tried it - you are missing out on one of the great pleasures of life !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, presentation, service were all impeccable!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

We would highly recommend this for a special evening out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One year anniversary

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

My wife and I went out for out year anniversary the other night. I hadn't been here in close to 12 years so I wanted to go back and try it again. All in all the whole experience was very nice. My wife and I loved the atmosphere and the personal service we received.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant - Pierre's special ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Beautiful restaurant - Pierre's special attention to detail is so special. He split some orders (Lamb shank and Veal Chop-yummy) as well as the fabulous Caesars salad. This is old world dining at its best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is by far one of Cleveland's finest ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

This is by far one of Cleveland's finest dining experiences! The meal was second to none the service was superb in the ambience was very pleasant

Highly

Recommend this fantastic restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was hoping for WOW but received meh....

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

I was in town for my mother's 82nd birthday. Giovanni's came highly recommended so we made the drive from Cuyahoga Falls. We ordered the deviled eggs and octopus appetizers to start. The eggs were kinda gray/green but tasted ok. The octopus was thinly shaved but very fishy tasting. Next, we had our entree's. 3 of 4 people ordered pasta. I selected the bolognaise because the pasta was made in house. The noodle was gummy and unappealing. The sauce was VERY rich and could only be eaten in small portions. Everyone else's meal seemed ok - but no one was blown away. It was a bit of a disappointment. The food was so rich I ended up with heartburn creating a sleepless night.

A couple items to note:

1. Every entrée brought out was put in a copper sauce pan in the dining room and "heated up". Why? It made it seem that the food was cold and not brought too the table when it was ready. Very strange practice.

2. The server brought my mother her dessert with a candle but said "they don't pay me enough to sing". For a $300 dinner - that wasn't a very classy thing to say. I didn't want her to sing but I do expect impeccable professional service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great ambience, attentive service, wonderful food.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

This restaurant is definitely an old school, classic place to dine. They have an excellent menu with a good selection of appetizers, salads, pastas and entrees. It's nice to see there is a restaurant that still offers cherries jubilee, bananas foster and crepes suzette for dessert. The service was attentive without being intrusive. We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience and will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is consistently the best restaurant

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

This is a great restaurant great food great service great owner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We booked a private room for a family ev ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We booked a private room for a family event. The service was incredible! I highly recommend Giovanni's for a special event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.