About Giovanni's Ristorante - Mid Town

909 20th Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37212
View Larger Map

At Giovanni's you will experience creative Italian cuisine in a multi level, chic and relaxed atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 760-5932

Website:
http://www.giovanninashville.com/

Executive Chef:
Giovanni Pinato

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cappuccino - Giovanni's Ristorante - Mid Town, Nashville, TN
  • Caesar Salad - Giovanni's Ristorante - Mid Town, Nashville, TN

Report a photo problem

Cappuccino - Giovanni's Ristorante - Mid Town, Nashville, TN
Caesar Salad - Giovanni's Ristorante - Mid Town, Nashville, TN

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate Valentine's day with that someone special at Giovanni Restaurant. Enjoy a delicious 4-course prix-fixe menu .

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private room upstairs can acommodate from 15 to 75 guests seated and 200 for a cocktail reception with private bar.

Giovanni's Ristorante - Mid Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Business Meals (7)
See All
Notable Wine List (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Authentic (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Cozy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Dancing (1)
Casual (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
508 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food and nice wine choices. Servic ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Good food and nice wine choices. Service started out very rough but credit the manager for stepping in and taking over. I will return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Our dinner was absolutely magnificent. O ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our dinner was absolutely magnificent. Once again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely atmosphere! The veal scallopini w ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Lovely atmosphere! The veal scallopini was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have been to Giovanni's multiple time ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We have been to Giovanni's multiple times over the years and enjoy the food, service and excellent attention to detail that they provide ! Best Authentic Italian in Nashville hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food. Portions seem small. Servers ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Good food. Portions seem small. Servers were less than attentive on Christmas Eve, though not overly busy. After we declined the wine menu it seemed the attention level of the servers went way down and never recovered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great Italian classics and wonderful pre ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great Italian classics and wonderful presentation and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It is our favorite restaurant in Nashvil ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

It is our favorite restaurant in Nashville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had brunch at Giovanni's this past we ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We had brunch at Giovanni's this past weekend and it was wonderful. It is really the only high end, Northern Italian restaurant in Nashville. Always great service and great food. The fact that Giovanni himself is always there is the reason.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a delightful experience. The foo ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

What a delightful experience. The food was five star. I will definately come here again on my next trip to Nashville and will recommend it to any one I know who is travelling there. Oh and don't forget to try their desserts.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very laid back .... little slower pace t ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Very laid back .... little slower pace than what we are use too, but food was AMAZING !! Thank you for a wonderful experience !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

By far the finest Italian fine dining in ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

By far the finest Italian fine dining in Nashville. Really , nothing compares. From the time you walk in , specials of the evening, attention to the customer, all is superb. Expensive and worth every penny.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One appetizer didn't arrive until the en ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

One appetizer didn't arrive until the entre.

They said they could not serve the eggplant without the melted cheese on top. Then proceeded to badly burn the top of the eggplant and cover it with the cheese-- that they could not omit.....

An overall terrible experience!! Choose one of the many other quality restaurants in Nashville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Excellent authentic food and excellent s ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent authentic food and excellent service--perfectly timed and respectful. A gem in a lovely Nashville neighborhood. Perfect for any occasion, no matter how casual or formal. The ambiance is rare in this day of feeling like a customer everywhere. This "all food made in house" spot feels like home.

Tags: Authentic, Organic, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Cozy, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful food, service, and ambience. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Delightful food, service, and ambience. Quiet enough to enjoy conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic, great food, very formal servic ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Romantic, great food, very formal service, a bit pricy, was surprised it wasn't packed, but I suspect the prices are holding people back. They would be better off to balance things a bit and fill the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were in town for a business conferenc ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We were in town for a business conference and had dinner at Giovanni's. The service was friendly and professional, and the food was authentically Italian. Everything was outstanding. The ribeye steak was prepared perfectly, and the appetizers were great as well. The maitre'd was gracious and helpful. I'd highly recommend Giovanni's.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and great service. I highly r ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food and great service. I highly recommend! They also have a shuttle to get people back downtown after dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall awesome !!!!! Would highly recom ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Overall awesome !!!!! Would highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, a bit pricey, nice atmosphere ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good food, a bit pricey, nice atmosphere, great wine (but pricey)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were pleasantly surprised with the hi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised with the hidden gem. Our meals were amazing to say the least! The lasagna was delicious and so was the pasta dinner special of penne ala vodka. We were in town for the Nashville Ultra Marathon and pasta is the best way to prepare for a race. We could definitely come back here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding dining experience everytime. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Outstanding dining experience everytime. Food, Service, Ambiance, Wine List they have it all!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Risotto is some of the best I have e ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The Risotto is some of the best I have ever had. The Chicken Scarpetta was outstanding. Orechetta with sausage and zucchini was also great. This Italian gem has been consistently serving authentic, outstanding Italian dishes. We visit this restaurant every time we come to Nashville.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Best Northern Italian restaurant in town ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Best Northern Italian restaurant in town, hands down. Authentic dishes, lovingly prepared. Elegant and refined atmosphere, professional yet unobtrusive service make for a top notch dining experience. Highly recommended!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was absolutely fantastic and th ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was absolutely fantastic and the service was outstanding. Highly recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. The atmosphere i ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The food was excellent. The atmosphere is probably quiet but we were seated by a large loud group. The pasta was especially good. I would like to see a more affordable wine list though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is the best Italian restaurant in T ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This is the best Italian restaurant in Tn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Deliciosu food, excellent service...A tr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Deliciosu food, excellent service...A truly perfect evening!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a visitor to Nashville this restauran ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 5, 2016

As a visitor to Nashville this restaurant came highly recommended by the hotel as well as my limo driver. I have a tendency to be somewhat critical of Italian restaurants in the south but this restaurant was exceptional. It exceeded my expectations in both quality of the meal as the service was commensurate with the service. I highly recommend this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Though the food was very good, I though ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Though the food was very good, I though it was overpriced for the serving size. The staff was very good.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Giovanni's is the best true Italian rest ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Giovanni's is the best true Italian restaurant in Nashville. The food is excellent as is the service. Always a fun time and Giovanni is always there, which is a good sign.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of many lovely dinners in this beaut ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 22, 2016

One of many lovely dinners in this beautiful restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Best Italian in Nashville! The enti ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 13, 2016

The Best Italian in Nashville! The entire staff was incredible and the food was equisite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and impeccable service! Thank ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great food and impeccable service! Thanks to everyone...WLG

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff and ambiance were excellent. T ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The staff and ambiance were excellent. They were very attentive and kind. The food was awful. I left paying $55 for a drink and a simple pasta dish. I was so upset. we were told the chefs were "from New York" implying that they must be very good. My pasta tasted like the entire container of salt was poured on it. My friends pasta wasn't even cooked all the way. The worst place we ate in Nashville. I can't believe I wasted so much money there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

The best food, wonderful wine selection, ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 30, 2016

The best food, wonderful wine selection, perfect service. Giovanni Ristorante never disappoints!

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Asked for a kit royale. Server didn't kn ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Asked for a kit royale. Server didn't know what it was so he said they didn't have it. Didn't even ask bar tender. Brought wrong meal to one of our party- said it was her fault. They did finally bring what she ordered - but with no apology. When the bill came they had not corrected it. Charged us for a cocktail we didn't order. And, they charge $12 for cocktail and additional $1.50 if you want tonic in your gin or coke in your bourbon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Fantastic!

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best restaurants I have been ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 15, 2016

One of the best restaurants I have been to in Nashville. It has a very private setting without all of the tourist in the food and service was excellent. Very authentic Italian food at its best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner is always terrific at Giovanni's. ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Dinner is always terrific at Giovanni's. I highly recommend it will continue to dine there often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was very fresh, extremely wel ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everything was very fresh, extremely well prepared. We enjoyed every bite of our meal. Service was cordial and friendly but not intrusive. We look forward to going back with friends and family.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.