About Giovanni's Ristorante - Nashville

909 20th Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37212
View Larger Map

At Giovanni's you will experience creative Italian cuisine in a multi level, chic and relaxed atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm.
Sundays offering 1/2 price on full bottles from our wine list ( with lunch and dinner only)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 760-5932

Website:
http://www.giovanninashville.com/

Executive Chef:
Giovanni Pinato

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cappuccino
  • Caesar Salad
Cappuccino
Caesar Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private room upstairs can acommodate from 15 to 75 guests seated and 200 for a cocktail recepton with private bar

Giovanni's Ristorante - Nashville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Nashville
Italian
Nashville
Best Restaurants in West End ›

Special Occasion (16)
Romantic (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
See All
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Groups (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Authentic (6)
Business Meals (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Private Room (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Cozy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fun (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
455 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of many lovely dinners in this beaut ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

One of many lovely dinners in this beautiful restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Best Italian in Nashville! The enti ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The Best Italian in Nashville! The entire staff was incredible and the food was equisite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and impeccable service! Thank ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great food and impeccable service! Thanks to everyone...WLG

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff and ambiance were excellent. T ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The staff and ambiance were excellent. They were very attentive and kind. The food was awful. I left paying $55 for a drink and a simple pasta dish. I was so upset. we were told the chefs were "from New York" implying that they must be very good. My pasta tasted like the entire container of salt was poured on it. My friends pasta wasn't even cooked all the way. The worst place we ate in Nashville. I can't believe I wasted so much money there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

The best food, wonderful wine selection, ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The best food, wonderful wine selection, perfect service. Giovanni Ristorante never disappoints!

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Asked for a kit royale. Server didn't kn ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Asked for a kit royale. Server didn't know what it was so he said they didn't have it. Didn't even ask bar tender. Brought wrong meal to one of our party- said it was her fault. They did finally bring what she ordered - but with no apology. When the bill came they had not corrected it. Charged us for a cocktail we didn't order. And, they charge $12 for cocktail and additional $1.50 if you want tonic in your gin or coke in your bourbon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Fantastic!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best restaurants I have been ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

One of the best restaurants I have been to in Nashville. It has a very private setting without all of the tourist in the food and service was excellent. Very authentic Italian food at its best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner is always terrific at Giovanni's. ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Dinner is always terrific at Giovanni's. I highly recommend it will continue to dine there often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was very fresh, extremely wel ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everything was very fresh, extremely well prepared. We enjoyed every bite of our meal. Service was cordial and friendly but not intrusive. We look forward to going back with friends and family.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food and wonderful service ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Always great food and wonderful service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic, but the service. ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was fantastic, but the service...now that was top shelf! Completely unobtrusive, with attention to every detail!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fresh. The Branzino was ver ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was fresh. The Branzino was very very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Another fabulous dining experience at Gi ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Another fabulous dining experience at Giovanni's??

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a GREAT ITALIAN RESTAURANT, howe ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

This is a GREAT ITALIAN RESTAURANT, however some things make it a 4 not 5.

The prices are extremely high for what you get.

The wine list is great but again super pricey...

The eggplant flavor was great however VERY mushy. I should have sent it back but I was hungry. I would not order it again (I am Italian)

The meatballs small but awesome

The lamb chops, great!

And their home-aid limoncello made the night Awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and atmosphere. Two weeke ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere. Two weekends in a row.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best gluten free Italian option in Nashville

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great gluten free options with a daily pasta, risotto, and several dessert options. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Date Night

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Traveling all over the country and eating at many fine restaurants I get a little spoiled. When I'm home I like to take the wife to a nice place that we can enjoy without the normal everyday bistro scene. This was perfect. Excellent food, great service, awesome wine list, and fantastic ambiance. She loved it and that was what was most important. I can tend to be a little critical, but I have nothing but good things to say about Giovanni's. Remember, its a fine dining restaurant so if your looking for O'Charley prices then this isn't the place, but if you're looking to have a nice date night meal where you can talk without yelling, this is the place to go.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambience is great and it is a nice quiet ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Ambience is great and it is a nice quiet place to have conversation over a nice meal. Romantic setting...

But it is way overpriced.

I had pasta with shrimp and it was $40?? Lamb Chops were $45 and a cheese plate appetizer was $18.95. Here is the kicker- $30 corking fee?????? This is not New York. Food was decent but not amazing. Very sub par for the price. We had a nice time - and service was good- but because of the inflated pricing we have checked this restaurant off the list. Classic case of style over substance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Never Disappoints

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Giovanni's is the only true Northern Italian restaurant in Nashville. The food is great, the service is great, Giovanni is alway steps away, watching the house. Very impressive and the food is divine.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First, I have never placed a review. I r ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

First, I have never placed a review. I really do not like giving negative feedback, but this meal so warrants it. This is one of the most disappointing restaurants we have ever eatten at. We were here to celebrate our daughters college graduation. We do not mind paying a high price for a meal if we receive a high quality meal accompanied by good service. Yes, the food is ridiculously overpriced and the quality is what one would get at a food court. To start with, first martini was good, but for the second, we watched as the bartender used what was left in the shaker and only he knows what he added to it. It was awful We never received bread until we requested it, same as parmigiana cheese until we asked for it, for the pasta And then we all were most certain it came from a jar sold in the supermarket. 30$ for a small bowl of pasta, no salad. Not once did our server come to inquire how our meal was. I truly can not say enough negative things- we could not wait to get our check and leave.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

In view of some negative reviews we trie ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

In view of some negative reviews we tried Giovanni’s with trepidation.

To our delight the ambience and food were excellent and the service was outstanding.

It is upscale and expensive. About like Etch, Bob’s, and Morton’s.

There are very few moderately priced wines. There are some excellent very expensive wine choices if you happen to be a Nashville media star or are on someone else’s tab.

We will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

You have to order their limoncello.

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We had been here years ago when in Nashville. So glad we were able to recall it and enjoy again. My husband had one of their veal entrees and I had the special that evening which was eggplant tossed with penne and mozzarella. Both were excellent along with Caesar salads. For dessert we shared the kiwi sorbet accompanied by the limoncello which was the best we've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant decor was spot on. It fel ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The restaurant decor was spot on. It felt warm and inviting. 6 of us dined last Saturday and had a long, delicious meal with impeccable service from Galveston and "Jack". The food is flawless. Fresh pasta, traditional flavors, perfect execution. We enjoyed everything from.start to finish. Cannot wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ok

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

The veal was very good. Caesar salad was forgettable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Superb!

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Our Food was excellent. The service was superlative & first-rate.

Giovanni's is an outstanding & remarkable restaurant. Recommend for special evening or anytime you want to enjoy a great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chris Always provides incredible service ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Chris Always provides incredible service. The wine list is incredible. On Sunday's all wines no matter the price are half price. A great time to try a wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Off night

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We always enjoy Giovanni's. The food is consistently outstanding, and the ambience is lovely. Unfortunately, it was an off night service wise. As we had taken out-of-town guests there, we didn't want to make a fuss. One of the entrees was wrong, and one was incomplete. We'll return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Our meal was superb but the service was ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Our meal was superb but the service was abit slow Inspite of a start time of 6:30pm .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Absolutely Perfect

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Exceptional food and service. We will definitely be back soon! Absolutely perfect in every way.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal before a concert

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

This is my fourth time eating here and the food never has disappointed me. It was excellent and the service was amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food was really good. ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Great service and food was really good. Would have enjoyed a bit of garlic, as it is an Italian restaurant, but definitely one of the best places in Nashville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Impeccable Service!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

The Maître D' and wait staff did not miss a thing. The starters and entrees were interesting and rich with flavor. Creative presentation. I had the Pasta e Fagioli and Shrimp Linguini, and my associate had the Gnocchi. We each tasted the other's dish, and both were wonderful choices. Crème Brulee for dessert was light and not too sweet. I will definitely visit again and would gladly recommend to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Very nice restaurant atmosphere . A good place for romantic evening out , however the entrée portions are very small . The level of quality of food was only fair . It definitely was not worth the price . The wine list per glass was OK but bottled list was incredibly expensive. We were not impressed with the choices on either list .

Probably will not go back .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Great place! I would go back again anyt ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Great place! I would go back again anytime. The food and service are great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were disappointed with the Valentine' ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We were disappointed with the Valentine's Day fixed menu. The food was overpriced for the night and the service wasn't up to par. We dine here often, but will not be back on a holiday weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Valentine's Dinner

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We have eaten at Giovanni's before and had a wonderful experience. However, this night the experience was less than pleasant. first we were seated at the entry to the bar and the restaurant. This location left us open to being constantly bumped into and made us feel like we were in the way. Being that this was a holiday weekend they had a limited menu, which is understandable. For an Italian restaurant, the options were less than appealing and some of the descriptions were inaccurate. The meal was set to be four courses, the appetizer course came out in timely fashion, then our main course arrived skipping our salads. Thankfully this was corrected quickly and our main course was still hot when we received it. The entire staff seemed to be in a state of chaos the entire evening, making the overall experience seem stressful. We understand that this was a busy night for them and will not judge them solely on this single experience. Thankfully the previous experience was nice enough for us to want to give them another shot.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

The entree was art. And the ambiance, ve ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The entree was art. And the ambiance, very romantic, intimate. Was very impressed. It was a great anniversary date. Thank you for your service on our one year milestone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Each person that I encountered was kind, ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Each person that I encountered was kind, helpful and made the evening wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Restaurant

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Delicious food, great service A bit pricey but great for a special occasion. They make you feel special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.