About Giovanni's Ristorante - Nashville

909 20th Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37212
View Larger Map

At Giovanni's you will experience creative Italian cuisine in a multi level, chic and relaxed atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm.
Sundays offering 1/2 price on full bottles from our wine list ( with lunch and dinner only)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 760-5932

Website:
http://www.giovanninashville.com/

Executive Chef:
Giovanni Pinato

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cappuccino
  • Caesar Salad
Cappuccino
Caesar Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private room upstairs can acommodate from 15 to 75 guests seated and 200 for a cocktail recepton with private bar

Giovanni's Ristorante - Nashville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Nashville
Notable Wine List
Nashville
Best Restaurants in West End ›

special occasion (26)
romantic (23)
notable wine list (20)
See All
fit for foodies (19)
neighborhood gem (11)
great for lunch (5)
good for groups (5)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
hot spot (1)
late-night find (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
442 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another fabulous dining experience at Gi ...

Dined 3 days ago

Another fabulous dining experience at Giovanni's??

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

This is a GREAT ITALIAN RESTAURANT, howe ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

This is a GREAT ITALIAN RESTAURANT, however some things make it a 4 not 5. The prices are extremely high for what you get. The wine list is great but again super pricey... The eggplant flavor was great however VERY mushy. I should have sent it back but I was hungry. I would not order it again (I am Italian) The meatballs small but awesome The lamb chops, great! And their home-aid limoncello made the night Awesome

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and atmosphere. Two weeke ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere. Two weekends in a row.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best gluten free Italian option in Nashville

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Great gluten free options with a daily pasta, risotto, and several dessert options. Will definitely return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Date Night

Dined on June 4, 2016

Traveling all over the country and eating at many fine restaurants I get a little spoiled. When I'm home I like to take the wife to a nice place that we can enjoy without the normal everyday bistro scene. This was perfect. Excellent food, great service, awesome wine list, and fantastic ambiance. She loved it and that was what was most important. I can tend to be a little critical, but I have nothing but good things to say about Giovanni's. Remember, its a fine dining restaurant so if your looking for O'Charley prices then this isn't the place, but if you're looking to have a nice date night meal where you can talk without yelling, this is the place to go.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Ambience is great and it is a nice quiet ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Ambience is great and it is a nice quiet place to have conversation over a nice meal. Romantic setting... But it is way overpriced. I had pasta with shrimp and it was $40?? Lamb Chops were $45 and a cheese plate appetizer was $18.95. Here is the kicker- $30 corking fee?????? This is not New York. Food was decent but not amazing. Very sub par for the price. We had a nice time - and service was good- but because of the inflated pricing we have checked this restaurant off the list. Classic case of style over substance.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never Disappoints

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Giovanni's is the only true Northern Italian restaurant in Nashville. The food is great, the service is great, Giovanni is alway steps away, watching the house. Very impressive and the food is divine.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

First, I have never placed a review. I r ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

First, I have never placed a review. I really do not like giving negative feedback, but this meal so warrants it. This is one of the most disappointing restaurants we have ever eatten at. We were here to celebrate our daughters college graduation. We do not mind paying a high price for a meal if we receive a high quality meal accompanied by good service. Yes, the food is ridiculously overpriced and the quality is what one would get at a food court. To start with, first martini was good, but for the second, we watched as the bartender used what was left in the shaker and only he knows what he added to it. It was awful We never received bread until we requested it, same as parmigiana cheese until we asked for it, for the pasta And then we all were most certain it came from a jar sold in the supermarket. 30$ for a small bowl of pasta, no salad. Not once did our server come to inquire how our meal was. I truly can not say enough negative things- we could not wait to get our check and leave.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

In view of some negative reviews we trie ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

In view of some negative reviews we tried Giovanni’s with trepidation. To our delight the ambience and food were excellent and the service was outstanding. It is upscale and expensive. About like Etch, Bob’s, and Morton’s. There are very few moderately priced wines. There are some excellent very expensive wine choices if you happen to be a Nashville media star or are on someone else’s tab. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You have to order their limoncello.

Dined on May 6, 2016

We had been here years ago when in Nashville. So glad we were able to recall it and enjoy again. My husband had one of their veal entrees and I had the special that evening which was eggplant tossed with penne and mozzarella. Both were excellent along with Caesar salads. For dessert we shared the kiwi sorbet accompanied by the limoncello which was the best we've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant decor was spot on. It fel ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

The restaurant decor was spot on. It felt warm and inviting. 6 of us dined last Saturday and had a long, delicious meal with impeccable service from Galveston and "Jack". The food is flawless. Fresh pasta, traditional flavors, perfect execution. We enjoyed everything from.start to finish. Cannot wait to go back!

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Ok

Dined on April 13, 2016

The veal was very good. Caesar salad was forgettable.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb!

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Our Food was excellent. The service was superlative & first-rate. Giovanni's is an outstanding & remarkable restaurant. Recommend for special evening or anytime you want to enjoy a great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chris Always provides incredible service ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Chris Always provides incredible service. The wine list is incredible. On Sunday's all wines no matter the price are half price. A great time to try a wine.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Off night

Dined on March 19, 2016

We always enjoy Giovanni's. The food is consistently outstanding, and the ambience is lovely. Unfortunately, it was an off night service wise. As we had taken out-of-town guests there, we didn't want to make a fuss. One of the entrees was wrong, and one was incomplete. We'll return.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Our meal was superb but the service was ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Our meal was superb but the service was abit slow Inspite of a start time of 6:30pm .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Perfect

Dined on March 6, 2016

Exceptional food and service. We will definitely be back soon! Absolutely perfect in every way.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal before a concert

Dined on March 5, 2016

This is my fourth time eating here and the food never has disappointed me. It was excellent and the service was amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food was really good. ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Great service and food was really good. Would have enjoyed a bit of garlic, as it is an Italian restaurant, but definitely one of the best places in Nashville.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable Service!

Dined on March 5, 2016

The Maître D' and wait staff did not miss a thing. The starters and entrees were interesting and rich with flavor. Creative presentation. I had the Pasta e Fagioli and Shrimp Linguini, and my associate had the Gnocchi. We each tasted the other's dish, and both were wonderful choices. Crème Brulee for dessert was light and not too sweet. I will definitely visit again and would gladly recommend to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Nice atmosphere

Dined on February 19, 2016

Very nice restaurant atmosphere . A good place for romantic evening out , however the entrée portions are very small . The level of quality of food was only fair . It definitely was not worth the price . The wine list per glass was OK but bottled list was incredibly expensive. We were not impressed with the choices on either list . Probably will not go back .

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place! I would go back again anyt ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Great place! I would go back again anytime. The food and service are great!

food2
ambience4
service1

We were disappointed with the Valentine' ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We were disappointed with the Valentine's Day fixed menu. The food was overpriced for the night and the service wasn't up to par. We dine here often, but will not be back on a holiday weekend.

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Valentine's Dinner

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

We have eaten at Giovanni's before and had a wonderful experience. However, this night the experience was less than pleasant. first we were seated at the entry to the bar and the restaurant. This location left us open to being constantly bumped into and made us feel like we were in the way. Being that this was a holiday weekend they had a limited menu, which is understandable. For an Italian restaurant, the options were less than appealing and some of the descriptions were inaccurate. The meal was set to be four courses, the appetizer course came out in timely fashion, then our main course arrived skipping our salads. Thankfully this was corrected quickly and our main course was still hot when we received it. The entire staff seemed to be in a state of chaos the entire evening, making the overall experience seem stressful. We understand that this was a busy night for them and will not judge them solely on this single experience. Thankfully the previous experience was nice enough for us to want to give them another shot.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The entree was art. And the ambiance, ve ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The entree was art. And the ambiance, very romantic, intimate. Was very impressed. It was a great anniversary date. Thank you for your service on our one year milestone.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Each person that I encountered was kind, ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Each person that I encountered was kind, helpful and made the evening wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Restaurant

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Delicious food, great service A bit pricey but great for a special occasion. They make you feel special.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A Great Meal During the NHL All Star Weekend

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

We had dinner at Giovanni's last weekend. The restaurant was packed with both locals and visitors in town for the NHL All Star game. Our food was delicious, we all started with the mixed green salad and then we had the eggplant parm, the tagliatelle Bolognese and the salmon, all prepared perfectly and the service was great. Definitely the best high end Italian food in Nashville, hands down, no contest.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Disappointing and Expensive

Dined on January 26, 2016

I was entertaining a member of our executive team from out of town on Tuesday night. There was only one other group in the restaurant that night. The artichoke salad was very good but the Eggplant Parm was lacking in flavor and was even a little greasy. For an Italian restaurant that was very disappointing. My guests had the salmon which they said was good. Very, very expensive ($17.75 for a glass of wine - ridiculous!) There are other Italian restaurants in Nashville that I think have better food and are a better value.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Quite Good

vip
Dined on January 18, 2016

The setting is nice (quiet, intimate), the waiters are a mix of friendly and snooty. THe food is well prepared and nicely served. I like it because it is dependably good, quiet and a cut above other Italian places nearby. It doesn't WOW you but you leave happy and satisfied.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cozy atmosphere and great service

Dined on January 10, 2016

Giovanni's offers a great atmosphere with top notch service. Food was good, especially loved the breadsticks they served and you want to make sure you order the Creme brûlée for dessert, it was fabulous!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Italy in the south!

Dined on January 2, 2016

For an Italian restaurant in Nashville we were very impressed. The food was amazing!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was excellent, service could be better

Dined on January 2, 2016

I had my first long-awaited experience at Giovanni's for dinner Saturday night. My husband and I were celebrating my birthday with 4 other friends. We were seated immediately and brought some warm, delicious bread. Drinks were slow to arrive, but came before food orders were taken. The gentleman who took our orders was an older Italian man. He asked what I would like for my entree, and after I told him, he asked me if I would like soup or salad. I told him that I would simply like a side of broccoli - which is probably an odd request - but that's what I wanted to go with my pasta-heavy dish. He looked confused, but went on to the next person at the table. When meals arrived via the food runner, my broccoli appeared, but my entree did not. When the gentleman who took our order finally came back to the table, he acted as if he hadn't heard me order the entree. Now, who would order only a side of broccoli for dinner?! If they did, wouldn't you confirm you had heard correctly? Anyway, my meal arrived about 15 minutes later, after (at my urging) my friends had all finished their meals. Not a word was said by the staff about the mix-up, but to be fair, it did not appear on our bill either. To be honest, I would rather have paid for my entree and had it on time than received it late for no cost. Overall, the food was excellent, but the service could really use some work. I will give them another try since the food was so amazing, but I'm REALLY hoping to see an improvement in service!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

romantic

Dined on January 2, 2016

The atmosphere was great but the food portion was small for the price.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food and service.

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

Fabulous food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Excellent

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

Menu recently changed...excellent offerings. Food is consistently wonderful.

Tags: special occasions, neighbourhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

Very over priced

Dined on December 25, 2015

We dine out a lot and enjoy trying new restaurants . We don't mind paying for good food and service, but this place is WAY over priced for not good food and very small portions. I still can't believe the prices they charge for the food and drinks! Double of most other places....seriously! With so many wonderful restaurants in Nashville, try somewhere else. You can go out two nights for the price of one night here.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous with one notable caution....

vip
Dined on December 24, 2015

We had a romantic Christmas Eve dinner for two before the family chaos! It was festive and the decor is warm and cozy (the acoustics allowed for us to still have intimate conversation despite a full room) ; the other patrons were dressed appropriately and beautifully for the holiday; and our meal was prepared perfectly. Just heed our warning on the portion size. We typically split our meal; an appetizer, a salad and an entree, and are perfectly satisfied in today's supersized foodservice culture. Plus we are visiting and didn't care for leftovers, next day being Christmas. But at Giovanni's we quickly learned with each course that this is not the place to share anything. Starting with the sausage and peppers, a favorite that never gets old when we dine Italian, was quite small, basically 3 cocktail sausages (which I've never seen, I think they must make them), but it was as I said perfectly flavorful. Often this starter is a meal itself. We're from Chicago; we know Italian! We then had the wedge, which was half of the average size wedge (which as you know is practically half a head of lettuce). Followed by the veal entree, this was not as slightly proportioned, but there wasnt a bite leftover after the app and salad. I wish the waiter had mentioned it when we ordered, but maybe they didn't want to offend (although I'm fairly petite, so what to offend) or perhaps he thought we were on a budget, which was not the case. The bill for our meal and two very nice bubbly cocktails each was $140. That would otherwise be about as expected in upscale Italian dining, so that explains my 3 star on value. I honestly would rather have paid $240 then to have the portions be so notable. Every other category is truly 5 star, and I recommend you try it. The upside is that we got to indulge in their tiramisu. Delish. We never have room for dessert, so that was a nice treat to finish our dinner experience. Enjoy yours!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Over-Rated

Dined on December 24, 2015

This beautiful restaurant has decent food with no special twist or artistic combination or presentation. The prices are outrageous for the dish type and the amount of the serving. There are much better Italian restaurants in Nashville for half to one third the price. The wine list (book) is more than extensive with prices ranging from $90-$2K per bottle. The service is excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great find

Dined on December 12, 2015

My wife and I were visiting Nashville and this was an OT recommendation. The food was very good. We started with a cheese plate that was awesome. My wife said it was one of the best eggplant parmesan she's ever had. I got the bone-in veal chop. It was very delicious, but not $63 delicious. The creme brulee was fantastic. Overall, a very good experience and I'd definitely recommend trying the place (just ask about the price of the specials...).

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.