About Giovanni's Kitchen

8831 Ladue
St. Louis, MO 63124
View Larger Map

Great Italian cuisine in a casual, comfortable setting. This is the third restaurant from the Gabriele family, including Giovanni's on the Hill and Il Bel Lago in Creve Coeur. Giovanni's sons Frank and Carmelo bring this taste of Italy to Ladue.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Tueday-Thursday: 11:00am-9:00 pm
Friday: 11:00am-10:00pm
Saturday: 5pm-10pm
Sunday: 5pm-9pm

Cross Street:
I-170

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 721-4100

Website:
http://www.giovanniskitchenstl.com/

Parking Details:
There is a private parking lot for our customers.

Executive Chef:
Alessandro Bozzato

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Giovanni's Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
St. Louis
Italian
St. Louis
Best Overall
Midtown
3 More
Best Value
Midtown
Neighborhood Gem
Midtown
Italian
Midtown
Best Restaurants in Clayton ›

neighborhood gem (45)
fit for foodies (36)
special occasion (25)
See All
good for groups (18)
great for lunch (18)
great for outdoor dining (14)
notable wine list (10)
kid-friendly (9)
romantic (7)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
251 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was one of the finest dining experi ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was one of the finest dining experiences I've ever had. I took a friend there for her Birthday, and she was delighted with the entire experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, but our server w ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was excellent, but our server was not the best. We waited 15 minutes for menus. We also asked for more bread which we never got. The busboys were top notch, keeping the table cleared and drinks filled. The restaurant is a little tight so my chair was continually bumped and to noise level was very high due to poor acoustics. The food was great and overall we had a good time.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent food, service and ambience. Ca ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent food, service and ambience. Carmelo, our waiter was wonderful! Pasta and sauces are always superb.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Excellent salad, with man ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great service. Excellent salad, with many from which to choose, an amazing entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always impeccable food and service!

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Always impeccable food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Yum! Everything I have had has been cook ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Yum! Everything I have had has been cooked to perfection! My dining companion loves, loves, loves the homemade noodles - very delicious! Highly recommend not only for the food but the people. I love going to a place where the people working look as if they are having as good a time as the patrons. Everyone is so nice, helpful, and friendly!

Only downside is that it can be very noisy when the restaurant is full. We usually opt to eat on the patio if the weather permits.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We can always count on Giovanni's Kitche ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We can always count on Giovanni's Kitchen to give us a superior dining experience--the place to go for something special even if it is just a week night family get together.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carmello is one of my favorite waiters i ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Carmello is one of my favorite waiters in all of St Lpuis... Enjoy the great menu

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Giovanni's Kitchen has become our "go-to ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Giovanni's Kitchen has become our "go-to" restaurant both when we dine alone or take guests. Consistently fine experience every time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely love the salads with Buratta ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Absolutely love the salads with Buratta and the Novella, both with balsamic glaze drizzled with honey. Fab cannelloni, lamb chops and filet mignon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is consistently excellent, well ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food is consistently excellent, well-prepared and delivered professionally. The staff is competent and friendly. Prices are reasonable and the menu is varied. Ambiance is urban casual and relaxed. Highly recommended!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Giovanni's Kitchen has great food and at ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Giovanni's Kitchen has great food and attentive service. Obviously, this place has caught on because the noise level and the crowd at lunch was overwhelming.

I would suggest making a reservation at an "odd" time…earlier or later than the usual!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Veal is always very good at Giovanni's. ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Veal is always very good at Giovanni's. Party of 4, veal, scampi, chicken spedini all above average. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

As always enjoy the treatment you get fr ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

As always enjoy the treatment you get from Head Chef and Owner Frank. Food was terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The service and friendly wait staff were ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The service and friendly wait staff were wonderful. You don't always experience that when dining out. Excellent food and reasonable price. Tried the canneloni. It was definitely homemade. Very light and tender. The Novella salad is my very favorite especially with the Honey balsamic vinegarette dressing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food, great service and modera ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent food, great service and moderately priced.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Good food at reasonable prices. Nice atm ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Good food at reasonable prices. Nice atmosphere. Wait staff is efficient at least on weeknights. Haven't been on a weekend yet.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I have dined at this restaurant twice be ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I have dined at this restaurant twice before and I enjoyed the experience and food. This evening, I invited six friends to join me. We all experienced a pleasant evening and each individual enjoyed his dinner selection.

The service was efficient and the dining room was quiet which allowed all seven of us to participate in the conversation of everyone at the table.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent - really enjoyed it. The porti ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Excellent - really enjoyed it. The portions were not large, but they were APPROPRIATE and very delicious and "fresh-tasting."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time here. The servic ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This was our first time here. The service is outstanding. The pasta is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

One of the best meals I've had in a long ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

One of the best meals I've had in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was good. Loved the lambrusco! ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Service was good. Loved the lambrusco! Unique take on fried mozzarella in tomato sauce! Lasagna and chicken parm and Caesar salad also solid. Well priced for the ambience and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Not perfect, but very good, quality food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Not perfect, but very good, quality food and service and atmosphere, though nothing to rave about. Would definitely come back if I lived in the area. Wine List had some excellent wines at moderate prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good Middle of the Road Formal Dining

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Not real romantic setting, like at their Hill location and the Il Bel Lago property, but good. Everything was excellent except the bartender didn't seem to have a handle on how to make a Long Island Iced Tea drink.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food from appetizers through dessert was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food from appetizers through dessert was great. The service was below par and so what disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

Overall a real gem.

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Overall a real gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

As usual, Giavonni's kitchen was wonder ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

As usual, Giavonni's kitchen was wonderful. We had been there many times before and this time was no different. I love this restaurant!!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and drink was outstanding but maybe ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food and drink was outstanding but maybe we hit them on a bad night bc service was slooooow. Although our waiter was at the mercy of others he was very nice. Also it was very loud. Going to try on a weeknight or earlier on a weekend next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Great evening

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Carmello was an excellent server...special fish was great and ahh the desert

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb lunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Our server(s) was grand as was the chef. Our complements t all.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was VERY spicy, I thought there ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The food was VERY spicy, I thought there might be a Thai chef in the kitchen but was told he was Filipino, same difference. If I want spicy hot I go to Thai or Indian places...

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

wonderful, attentive staff Carmelo is ex ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

wonderful, attentive staff Carmelo is exceptional!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A surprising gem in a strip mall setting ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

A surprising gem in a strip mall setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Top notch Italian food

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Here, consistent with the other family restaurants. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Outstanding

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Great Value Attention to deta ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Excellent

Great Value

Attention to detail.

Food is classic Italian.

The pasta is too die for.

Parpadelle is excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great neighborhood gem, staff so welcomi ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Great neighborhood gem, staff so welcoming, ask for Carmelo to serve you, he's great. The pappardelle was wonderful, my wife had the grouper, she loved it. Thanks for nice date night..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

food just OK

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

I had the Caesar salad which was over-dressed and the lettuce not crisp. I had also asked for no kale in the salad but it came with kale anyway. my colleague had the pappardelle bolognese and it was extremely heavy and not flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Horrible experience. Ordered a full orde ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Horrible experience. Ordered a full order of pasta that barely filled the bowl. When I asked if that was a full order the host came back with a small empty bowl and said this is our small. It makes no difference the size of the bowl if you choose not to fill it. I am not eatting the bowl. I won't return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Not impressed, had to ask for bread twic ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Not impressed, had to ask for bread twice, had to ask for water, had to ask twice for diet coke.

My food was not hot, waiters and staff spent a lot of time at the front door talking to maitre'd, instead of paying attention to diners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.