About Giovanni's Kitchen

Great Italian cuisine in a casual, comfortable setting. This is the third restaurant from the Gabriele family, including Giovanni's on the Hill and Il Bel Lago in Creve Coeur. Giovanni's sons Frank and Carmelo bring this taste of Italy to Ladue.

8831 Ladue
St. Louis, MO 63124
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Tueday-Thursday: 11:00am-9:00 pm
Friday: 11:00am-10:00pm
Saturday: 5pm-10pm
Sunday: 5pm-9pm

Cross Street:
I-170

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 721-4100

Website:
http://www.giovanniskitchenstl.com/

Parking Details:
There is a private parking lot for our customers.

Executive Chef:
Alessandro Bozzato

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Giovanni's Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Special Occasion (14)
See All
Authentic (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Casual (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Business Meals (9)
Cozy (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Romantic (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Healthy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
328 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have been to G. Kitchen several times ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

I have been to G. Kitchen several times and the food is wonderful. The service is exceptional whether you sit at a table or the bar. The pasta is authentic italian and does not disappoint. This is one of our regular places to eat!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Delicious food, intimate atmosphere, gre ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious food, intimate atmosphere, great service. A wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Giovanni's Kitchen. The food is ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

We love Giovanni's Kitchen. The food is superb and the service is excellent!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was, as always, delicious and impec ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Food was, as always, delicious and impeccably presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Giovanni's Kitchen is a favorite for a n ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Giovanni's Kitchen is a favorite for a nice, quiet dinner with relaxing conversation, good food and excellent service. Parking in the evening is easy and the staff is very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food always fresh and tasty. Matt our fa ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food always fresh and tasty. Matt our favorite server. Just the right amount of attention. Very resonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and a nice way to celebra ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Delicious food and a nice way to celebrate New Year's Eve...was not rushed at all...which I love!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious as was the limonc ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was delicious as was the limoncello martini. The service was not up to the same level as the food. The server was polite, but not as attentive as one might have expected. The waiter did not bring a glass of wine that was ordered , or butter for bread as requested, and beverages were not promptly refilled. .

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Delicious Italian food--a great find! Ni ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Delicious Italian food--a great find! Nice wine list and great pastas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food! Our waiter was a bit slow bu ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food! Our waiter was a bit slow but we were celebrating with some friends so it was not a big deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was very good. Service was exceptio ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was very good. Service was exceptional our waiter Carmelo was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time here in a month. Think this ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Second time here in a month. Think this will be one of my regulars!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved my meal-- absolutely delicious. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I loved my meal-- absolutely delicious. Really my only complaint was that it took a very long time for the waiter to come to the table in the beginning. Also, I made a reservation on open table and when I got to the restaurant the person seating us said "yeah we are full, they shouldn't have let you make that reservation." He was able to find us a table but it was a little awkward. Everyone was very nice though and the meal was amazing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Always great! Choice of portion size is ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always great! Choice of portion size is appreciated.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good dinner choice! Excellent ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always a good dinner choice! Excellent offerings, well prepared and presented, and good service, but not over done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

i have been to Giovanni's many times and ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

i have been to Giovanni's many times and each time the salad that i order is limp and tasteless. this time i had the Novella salad and the bib lettuce was limp, the mozzarella appeared processed, had no taste and each piece what cut exactly as every other piece. there was no grilled focaccia on my salad plate. for my entre, i had the Tortellacci and it tasted like just blobs of pasta dough with sauce. My dinner guest had the Parmigiana di Pollo and the chicken was paper thin and very little flavor. this dinner was really disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Keep going back! Love the food and the p ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Keep going back! Love the food and the price point is not bad. Friendly service is nice and we always leave happy!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went online to search for a restaurant t ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Went online to search for a restaurant to meet a friend in town visiting a daughter at Wash U. Selected Giovanni's from the reviews. It was a great choice: good food, great ambience, and superlative service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Christmas office lunch. I was ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Went for Christmas office lunch. I was disappointed as the lunch menu was somewhat limited. We asked about appetizers from dinner menu. Waiter warned that not all items are available. One of our group selected a dessert that was not available. Reviews of food around the table were great to OK. Perhaps dinner is a better option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our food was delicious. Our servers wer ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Our food was delicious. Our servers were very attentive. Love this place!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, , Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal here last night! The ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We had a great meal here last night! Their tenderloin (filet mignon) was very tender and flavorful with a really tasty porcini sauce, accompanied by two excellent sides and a nice wine. Good value, too. Only problem was the calories - haha!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great to be at Giovanni Kitchen once aga ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great to be at Giovanni Kitchen once again. Carmello is my favorite waiter and so glad to have him back with us once more for a great dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely evening

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Lovely evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly recommend Giovanni's Kitchen. We ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Highly recommend Giovanni's Kitchen. We've been several times and the food never disappoints, outstanding as is the service. Very busy on this Saturday night and I could see why, but no excessive waiting for anything. The best cannelloni anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Half the group ordered Chicken Parmigian ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Half the group ordered Chicken Parmigiana and it was very good. The sauce was especially good. Enjoyed the focaccia bread and olive oil with herbs. Prices are good and would go back again definitely!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were fabulous!

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Food and service were fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent. Nonna's meatball an ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Food was excellent. Nonna's meatball and prosciutto/fig appetizers; filet, veal spedini, seafood pasta. Service was marginal. We had 7 people dining at our table and 5 ordered the filet. When they arrived, plates were placed in front of us then pulled away as people began to eat. The wait staff couldn't keep the steaks separated based on preparation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Always a great experience. Matt our serv ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Always a great experience. Matt our server is very attentive, yet gives us time to enjoy our food and company. We appreciate the choice of portion size. Easy to get a reservation.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate before going the the Symphony. T ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We ate before going the the Symphony. The food was very good, and the best part is the prices are very reasonable. They have a good wine selection, and again, the prices are reasonable. Once you experience it, you will want to return, as we have.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always, Giavonni's Kitchen was superb ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

As always, Giavonni's Kitchen was superb. There were 8 in our party. Our waiter never wrote anything down, but he filled our orders perfectly. I don't know how he did it! We go there on the Friday after Thanksgiving, and we were not disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had excellent food, and the staff was ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had excellent food, and the staff was very accommodating when special requests were made. We are difinitely coming back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food at Giovanni's Kitchen a ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Outstanding food at Giovanni's Kitchen and Bel Lago. Can't go wrong here. Waiters are excellent. I think they were short-handed as service was slow, not the norm though.

"Get the veal. It's the best in the city."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We eat at Giovanni's Kitchen occasionall ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We eat at Giovanni's Kitchen occasionally. This particular evening we met friends for dinner. The seafood ravioli special was delicious. The lobster bisque also delicious. No negatives here. Interestingly, it was the first really cold night but Giovanni's Kitchen was already on it by placing a drapery from the entrance area to keep the cold from entering the dining area. It was so appreciated! I like when places think ahead. This was our guests' first visit and they plan to return, specifically a plan for another option to take business clients for lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had been here once before in the summ ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had been here once before in the summer and had a wonderful meal. Because we were going to be in the area we went back for a repeat performance. I think we even had the same waiter:D Becuase this time the meal was indoors, on a Friday night, and at a popular dinner hour, the atmosphere was rather high energy. The bartender made spot-on cocktails as was our entire dinner. We look forward to returning for another fabulous meal but maybe on a weeknight when the pace would be a tad more relaxed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had one of my favorite waiters that day. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Had one of my favorite waiters that day...Brandon!!!

The food was outstanding as usual. We had the special...fettuccine alfredo with shrimp. Angel, the head chef outdid himself as usual!!!

My girlfriend and I enjoyed a long and leisurely lunch and never felt rushed by any of the waitstaff. I highly recommend GK for a "girl's" lunch!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great evening with Carmello ...o ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Another great evening with Carmello ...of red best waiter in St Loui

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just moved back to St. Louis. We went t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Just moved back to St. Louis. We went there 4 times in just over a week. Recommendations - Burrata al Pomodoro, Canneloni, Chitarrina allo Scoglio and Sicilian Spedini. We had a few other items that were also excellent.

Service is excellent. Looked like quite a few of the diners were regulars and knew the staff which is a sign of an outstanding restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, very good service, not overp ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food, very good service, not overpriced. Overall, very good dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Overall a great dining experience. Food ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Overall a great dining experience. Food and service were everything that one would expect from this brand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place ....we all had the chicken w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Great place ....we all had the chicken which was excellant....their salad a keeper for sure. ..service was just what someone wants. ... always there when you need something but not hovering......took bday person for first time and she can't wait to come back....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.