About Giovanni's Kitchen

8831 Ladue
St. Louis, MO 63124
View Larger Map

Great Italian cuisine in a casual, comfortable setting. This is the third restaurant from the Gabriele family, including Giovanni's on the Hill and Il Bel Lago in Creve Coeur. Giovanni's sons Frank and Carmelo bring this taste of Italy to Ladue.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Tueday-Thursday: 11:00am-9:00 pm
Friday: 11:00am-10:00pm
Saturday: 5pm-10pm
Sunday: 5pm-9pm

Cross Street:
I-170

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 721-4100

Website:
http://www.giovanniskitchenstl.com/

Parking Details:
There is a private parking lot for our customers.

Executive Chef:
Alessandro Bozzato

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Giovanni's Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Midtown
Neighborhood Gem
Midtown
Italian
Midtown
Best Restaurants in Clayton ›

Neighborhood Gem (47)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Good for Groups (19)
Great for Lunch (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Kid-friendly (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Romantic (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Casual (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Business Meals (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Cozy (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
273 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Thanks for a delicious meal! My friend ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Thanks for a delicious meal! My friend and I enjoyed your food as it was the star of the evening. My favorite was the proscuitto/melon/fig appetizer. This is a flavor combination that is winning but the addition of the fig made it over-the-top delicious. We were greeted, seated, "eat-ed", and completed quickly but never felt rushed. I also didn't feel the bill was in any way over-priced for the quality of food we received. Thanks!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This is our go-to restaurant. The food ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is our go-to restaurant. The food is always really good. The service is great. I hate to be rushed, they give me a minute to relax and enjoy my wine. I enjoy ALL of the staff, from the bus boys to the waiters. All are enjoyable! I have been here at least 20 times and my food has always been good and consistent. If I could make one change, the large serving for the pasta could be a little larger, for my husband. I LOVE that they offer a small serving of pasta because that allows me to order a salad too.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I asked to split an appetize ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

My wife and I asked to split an appetizer and to split a caprese salad before our main dishes. They were both brought on separate plates each time. Extra attention and effort. Always the way they take care of the customer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brandon our waiter was awesome. He had ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Brandon our waiter was awesome. He had great recommendations and was a pleasure to have as our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

First visit was outstanding all around. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

First visit was outstanding all around. Friendly, helpful and attentive waiter suggested a wine pairing with grouper, which was one of the best fish dishes I have had. We older women don't eat much any more, so his offer to split both salad and dessert was most welcome. Certainly we will visit soon again.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

GK never disappoints! Wonderful service ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

GK never disappoints! Wonderful service, and the meatball is still the best ever! Limoncello cake for desert, happiness!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Matthew was very attentive an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our server Matthew was very attentive and the total experience was quite enjoyable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food at reasonable prices.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent food at reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great evening...Carmello is my favorite ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great evening...Carmello is my favorite waiter..people in from out of town thought the meal was fantastic

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time there. Liked the informality. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

First time there. Liked the informality. Bar drinks were generous and fair priced. Got veal but going to try pasta and wine next time. Our waiter Joe was outstanding and very helpful. We will definitely be back and bring friends. Will ask for Joe.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good food, but we had to wait a ver ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Very good food, but we had to wait a very long time for the food to arrive. We had to ask specifically for some bread and oil, to make the wait for food bearable. And while the food was very good, the prices are a bit high, so the value proposition diminishes in my opinion. It is NOT a $$ restaurant, as indicated in the Open Table list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Six of us enjoyed a delightful evening o ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Six of us enjoyed a delightful evening outside on the patio. Even though you are in a parking lot, the evening was lovely and the food delicious. We enjoyed eggplant parmigiana, salsicca, fish and shrimp. everything was just delicious and the service was great. Sooooo much better than the last time I went where I said I would never go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We ate outside - great night for that, i ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We ate outside - great night for that, in fact, it felt chilly from too much air conditioning inside. We had the red snapper special and it was good - maybe a tad too peppery for me, but overall good. The spinach was really good and the service was really good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Our party of 8 had excellent service wit ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Our party of 8 had excellent service with delicious entrees that pleased every age. The house made pasta is divine! Great place for a special celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good from app to the main very good ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very good from app to the main very good will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent, the service outstand ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was excellent, the service outstanding, and our waiter was terrific.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Prosciutto with melon and figs was real ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Prosciutto with melon and figs was real treat. Our table of 8 included some elderly folks. At the end we asked for separate checks for various groups of us. The waiter was very gracious about doing this. Giovanni's strives to give you a positive experience, and for us they succeeded.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Pretty average. Food was fine, not grea ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Pretty average. Food was fine, not great. Portions were fine. There was no overwhelming weakness. There are some many really good/great restaurants in the area at the same price point. I would probably go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Great place! The food was superb, and t ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great place! The food was superb, and the prices very reasonable! All the servers and waitpersons were very polite, and efficient. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the soup and salad to the entre, es ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

From the soup and salad to the entre, especially the homemade pasta and the steaks you will

find no better prepared or more delicious food. The service was outstanding. Thank you Eric.

We will definitely be returning and have told our family and friends they will not be disappointed.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have dined here before. The food is g ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I have dined here before. The food is great and so is the service. I love the Salmon entrée and the Novella Salad. The only thing I am not happy about is that I'm Diabetic and there are no Diabetic friendly desserts. There are over 30 million Diabetics in this country and a lot of restaurants ignore the extra business they could be picking up.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the finest dining experi ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This was one of the finest dining experiences I've ever had. I took a friend there for her Birthday, and she was delighted with the entire experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place for a business lunch. At ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Excellent place for a business lunch. Attentive service. Delicious food. And easy to chat with everyone at the table. I wish I lived in St Louis, I would visit more often!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was excellent, but our server w ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was excellent, but our server was not the best. We waited 15 minutes for menus. We also asked for more bread which we never got. The busboys were top notch, keeping the table cleared and drinks filled. The restaurant is a little tight so my chair was continually bumped and to noise level was very high due to poor acoustics. The food was great and overall we had a good time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent food, service and ambience. Ca ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent food, service and ambience. Carmelo, our waiter was wonderful! Pasta and sauces are always superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Excellent salad, with man ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great service. Excellent salad, with many from which to choose, an amazing entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always impeccable food and service!

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Always impeccable food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Yum! Everything I have had has been cook ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Yum! Everything I have had has been cooked to perfection! My dining companion loves, loves, loves the homemade noodles - very delicious! Highly recommend not only for the food but the people. I love going to a place where the people working look as if they are having as good a time as the patrons. Everyone is so nice, helpful, and friendly!

Only downside is that it can be very noisy when the restaurant is full. We usually opt to eat on the patio if the weather permits.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We can always count on Giovanni's Kitche ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We can always count on Giovanni's Kitchen to give us a superior dining experience--the place to go for something special even if it is just a week night family get together.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carmello is one of my favorite waiters i ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Carmello is one of my favorite waiters in all of St Lpuis... Enjoy the great menu

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Giovanni's Kitchen has become our "go-to ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Giovanni's Kitchen has become our "go-to" restaurant both when we dine alone or take guests. Consistently fine experience every time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely love the salads with Buratta ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Absolutely love the salads with Buratta and the Novella, both with balsamic glaze drizzled with honey. Fab cannelloni, lamb chops and filet mignon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is consistently excellent, well ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food is consistently excellent, well-prepared and delivered professionally. The staff is competent and friendly. Prices are reasonable and the menu is varied. Ambiance is urban casual and relaxed. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Giovanni's Kitchen has great food and at ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Giovanni's Kitchen has great food and attentive service. Obviously, this place has caught on because the noise level and the crowd at lunch was overwhelming.

I would suggest making a reservation at an "odd" time…earlier or later than the usual!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Veal is always very good at Giovanni's. ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Veal is always very good at Giovanni's. Party of 4, veal, scampi, chicken spedini all above average. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

As always enjoy the treatment you get fr ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

As always enjoy the treatment you get from Head Chef and Owner Frank. Food was terrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The service and friendly wait staff were ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The service and friendly wait staff were wonderful. You don't always experience that when dining out. Excellent food and reasonable price. Tried the canneloni. It was definitely homemade. Very light and tender. The Novella salad is my very favorite especially with the Honey balsamic vinegarette dressing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food, great service and modera ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent food, great service and moderately priced.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Good food at reasonable prices. Nice atm ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Good food at reasonable prices. Nice atmosphere. Wait staff is efficient at least on weeknights. Haven't been on a weekend yet.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I have dined at this restaurant twice be ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I have dined at this restaurant twice before and I enjoyed the experience and food. This evening, I invited six friends to join me. We all experienced a pleasant evening and each individual enjoyed his dinner selection.

The service was efficient and the dining room was quiet which allowed all seven of us to participate in the conversation of everyone at the table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.