About Giovanni's Kitchen

8831 Ladue
St. Louis, MO 63124
View Larger Map

Great Italian cuisine in a casual, comfortable setting. This is the third restaurant from the Gabriele family, including Giovanni's on the Hill and Il Bel Lago in Creve Coeur. Giovanni's sons Frank and Carmelo bring this taste of Italy to Ladue.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Tueday-Thursday: 11:00am-9:00 pm
Friday: 11:00am-10:00pm
Saturday: 5pm-10pm
Sunday: 5pm-9pm

Cross Street:
I-170

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 721-4100

Website:
http://www.giovanniskitchenstl.com/

Parking Details:
There is a private parking lot for our customers.

Executive Chef:
Alessandro Bozzato

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Giovanni's Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Midtown
Best Restaurants in Clayton ›

Neighborhood Gem (26)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Casual (12)
Authentic (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Business Meals (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Romantic (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Cozy (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
303 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service were fabulous!

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

Food and service were fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent. Nonna's meatball an ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was excellent. Nonna's meatball and prosciutto/fig appetizers; filet, veal spedini, seafood pasta. Service was marginal. We had 7 people dining at our table and 5 ordered the filet. When they arrived, plates were placed in front of us then pulled away as people began to eat. The wait staff couldn't keep the steaks separated based on preparation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Always a great experience. Matt our serv ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a great experience. Matt our server is very attentive, yet gives us time to enjoy our food and company. We appreciate the choice of portion size. Easy to get a reservation.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate before going the the Symphony. T ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

We ate before going the the Symphony. The food was very good, and the best part is the prices are very reasonable. They have a good wine selection, and again, the prices are reasonable. Once you experience it, you will want to return, as we have.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always, Giavonni's Kitchen was superb ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 7 days ago

As always, Giavonni's Kitchen was superb. There were 8 in our party. Our waiter never wrote anything down, but he filled our orders perfectly. I don't know how he did it! We go there on the Friday after Thanksgiving, and we were not disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had excellent food, and the staff was ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 7 days ago

We had excellent food, and the staff was very accommodating when special requests were made. We are difinitely coming back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food at Giovanni's Kitchen a ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Outstanding food at Giovanni's Kitchen and Bel Lago. Can't go wrong here. Waiters are excellent. I think they were short-handed as service was slow, not the norm though.

"Get the veal. It's the best in the city."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We eat at Giovanni's Kitchen occasionall ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We eat at Giovanni's Kitchen occasionally. This particular evening we met friends for dinner. The seafood ravioli special was delicious. The lobster bisque also delicious. No negatives here. Interestingly, it was the first really cold night but Giovanni's Kitchen was already on it by placing a drapery from the entrance area to keep the cold from entering the dining area. It was so appreciated! I like when places think ahead. This was our guests' first visit and they plan to return, specifically a plan for another option to take business clients for lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had been here once before in the summ ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had been here once before in the summer and had a wonderful meal. Because we were going to be in the area we went back for a repeat performance. I think we even had the same waiter:D Becuase this time the meal was indoors, on a Friday night, and at a popular dinner hour, the atmosphere was rather high energy. The bartender made spot-on cocktails as was our entire dinner. We look forward to returning for another fabulous meal but maybe on a weeknight when the pace would be a tad more relaxed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had one of my favorite waiters that day. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Had one of my favorite waiters that day...Brandon!!!

The food was outstanding as usual. We had the special...fettuccine alfredo with shrimp. Angel, the head chef outdid himself as usual!!!

My girlfriend and I enjoyed a long and leisurely lunch and never felt rushed by any of the waitstaff. I highly recommend GK for a "girl's" lunch!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great evening with Carmello ...o ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Another great evening with Carmello ...of red best waiter in St Loui

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just moved back to St. Louis. We went t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Just moved back to St. Louis. We went there 4 times in just over a week. Recommendations - Burrata al Pomodoro, Canneloni, Chitarrina allo Scoglio and Sicilian Spedini. We had a few other items that were also excellent.

Service is excellent. Looked like quite a few of the diners were regulars and knew the staff which is a sign of an outstanding restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, very good service, not overp ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food, very good service, not overpriced. Overall, very good dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Overall a great dining experience. Food ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Overall a great dining experience. Food and service were everything that one would expect from this brand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place ....we all had the chicken w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Great place ....we all had the chicken which was excellant....their salad a keeper for sure. ..service was just what someone wants. ... always there when you need something but not hovering......took bday person for first time and she can't wait to come back....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely restaurant, good pastas and stand ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Lovely restaurant, good pastas and standard Italian preparations. The restaurant was 100% booked so service suffered a little, but the waiter was aware and worked to take care of us in spite of the crush. Highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always outstanding food and service at G ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always outstanding food and service at Giovanni's and Bel Lago, the best cannelloni in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I was a little worried that it was in a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I was a little worried that it was in a strip mall, but the homemade pasta was outstanding. Will definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous meal. They accommodate your di ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Fabulous meal. They accommodate your dining requests when they can. 6 delicious meals!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!! Pasta was a house made flat no ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Amazing!! Pasta was a house made flat noodle in a Bolognese, reminded me of the same dish I had in Tuscany. My wife had a veal special that was tender and flavorful. Kids have a softball size meatball and a flatbread both were great. Our server was attentive and accommodating. Most impressive about Giovannis Kitchen is price, four of us spent less than 90.00 with drinks, including tip and had a true culinary experience. Great job, kudos to all the staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time visiting this restaurant ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our first time visiting this restaurant and we thoroughly enjoyed it! Wonderful food and great service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was average quality. Service was at ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was average quality. Service was attentive; however, staff lacked polish and basic serving knowledge. There wasn't anything notable to warrant a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Wilted lettuce salad. Entree too heavily ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Wilted lettuce salad. Entree too heavily loaded in sauce. Service good and caring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

This a definatly a new "favorite"! We lo ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This a definatly a new "favorite"!

We love the choice of portion size and the flavors were awesome.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Outstanding Dinner! Incredible value. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 12, 2016

An Outstanding Dinner! Incredible value.

We have heard about Giovanni’s but have never been there until a couple nights ago. The food, atmosphere and our server Matthew were terrific. This was one of the top two dinners of our trip to Clayton/St. Louis (the other was Oceano Bistro).

I must tell you that we had reservations for 6:00PM. When we arrived, there were people at four other tables. Within 30 minutes (perhaps because it was a Wednesday) the entire restaurant was full. Suggestion: Make Reservations!

We started with their Calamaretti (fried Calamari). It was the nest calamari we have had in years. Because of the calamari, my wife wanted a small salad. Matthew said he will have a small, off the menu, salad made for her, which he did. I, however, went for their “Novella” salad: Bibb lettuce, a light vinaigrette, fresh Mozzarella, Gorgonzola crumbles & grilled focaccia. Absolutely wonderful.

My wife went for the special of the day: a red grouper. It was fantastic. (She even let me have a bite!) This was the first time I have ever seen her completely finish an entrée! I had the “Tonno Ai Ferri”: pepper encrusted Ahi Tuna on a bed of fresh spinach and a roasted red pepper and onion marinara sauce. The Ahi tuna was cooked perfectly. The entrée was quite large, but I assure you, there wasn’t a bite left.

Matthew did a good job helping me select a good wine. I wish their wine list was a bit broader, but his selection was excellent.

I must tell you, as I did Matthew, that I personally feel Giovanni’s is much better than Tony’s in downtown St. Louis. I started going to Tony’s in 1975 when it was on Broadway, but the last time we were there a few years ago we decided not to go back. We MUCH prefer Giovanni’s. Giovanni's is an incredible value!!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

They added sundried tomatoes to my Caesa ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 4, 2016

They added sundried tomatoes to my Caesar salad which pretty well ruined it. Service was slow although waiter was very attentive. The patio is quite pleasant. The food was okay but not outstanding.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Definitely will be back. Food and servic ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Definitely will be back. Food and service were excellent!

Tags: Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, especially their unusual ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Delicious food, especially their unusual salads and melt in your mouth cannelloni.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Giovanni's is somewhat of a smaller vers ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Giovanni's is somewhat of a smaller version of Bel Lago, a different menu with reduced prices and portions, a more casual environment as well. However, there is the same excellent quality that has come to be expected from this family of restaurants. Never a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Thanks for a delicious meal! My friend ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Thanks for a delicious meal! My friend and I enjoyed your food as it was the star of the evening. My favorite was the proscuitto/melon/fig appetizer. This is a flavor combination that is winning but the addition of the fig made it over-the-top delicious. We were greeted, seated, "eat-ed", and completed quickly but never felt rushed. I also didn't feel the bill was in any way over-priced for the quality of food we received. Thanks!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This is our go-to restaurant. The food ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is our go-to restaurant. The food is always really good. The service is great. I hate to be rushed, they give me a minute to relax and enjoy my wine. I enjoy ALL of the staff, from the bus boys to the waiters. All are enjoyable! I have been here at least 20 times and my food has always been good and consistent. If I could make one change, the large serving for the pasta could be a little larger, for my husband. I LOVE that they offer a small serving of pasta because that allows me to order a salad too.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I asked to split an appetize ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 16, 2016

My wife and I asked to split an appetizer and to split a caprese salad before our main dishes. They were both brought on separate plates each time. Extra attention and effort. Always the way they take care of the customer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brandon our waiter was awesome. He had ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Brandon our waiter was awesome. He had great recommendations and was a pleasure to have as our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

First visit was outstanding all around. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 14, 2016

First visit was outstanding all around. Friendly, helpful and attentive waiter suggested a wine pairing with grouper, which was one of the best fish dishes I have had. We older women don't eat much any more, so his offer to split both salad and dessert was most welcome. Certainly we will visit soon again.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

GK never disappoints! Wonderful service ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

GK never disappoints! Wonderful service, and the meatball is still the best ever! Limoncello cake for desert, happiness!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Matthew was very attentive an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our server Matthew was very attentive and the total experience was quite enjoyable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food at reasonable prices.

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent food at reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great evening...Carmello is my favorite ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great evening...Carmello is my favorite waiter..people in from out of town thought the meal was fantastic

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time there. Liked the informality. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 31, 2016

First time there. Liked the informality. Bar drinks were generous and fair priced. Got veal but going to try pasta and wine next time. Our waiter Joe was outstanding and very helpful. We will definitely be back and bring friends. Will ask for Joe.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good food, but we had to wait a ver ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Very good food, but we had to wait a very long time for the food to arrive. We had to ask specifically for some bread and oil, to make the wait for food bearable. And while the food was very good, the prices are a bit high, so the value proposition diminishes in my opinion. It is NOT a $$ restaurant, as indicated in the Open Table list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.