Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.10mi

About Ginger 108

Southern Cuisine with a Touch of Asia

Ginger 108 is an eclectic Southern Grill that infuses flavor from two contrasting cultures, the East and West. This collision of ingredients provide Chef Khymi and her team a palate for innovative dishes that are prepared with a Southern flair while leaving a contemporary choice for global ingredients. The menu is comprehensive and alluring. Dishes are authentic and bold. Ginger 108 delivers an elegant, yet fun, informal dining experience. Its sleek modern décor, large glass windows and bamboo accents provide an unmatched atmosphere that parallels its gourmet cuisine. Specialty drinks accentuate the variation of ingredients used in many of the dishes. Everything is thoughtfully prepared from scratch keeping true to its roots using the most natural, organic and sustainable ingredients available.Ginger 108 is one of Kinston’s newest restaurants and is part of the revitalization of the City center and the Arts and Cultural District.

108 W North Street
Kinston, NC 28501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Asian, Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wall's Alley

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 208-2663

Website:
http://www.ginger108.com/

Parking Details:
There is plenty of parking on the street as well as public parking lot behind Mother Earth Brewing and down on Gordon Street.

Executive Chef:
Khymi Harrell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ginger 108 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
See All
Good for a Date (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Authentic (4)
Healthy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Casual (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Business Meals (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Private Room (2)
Romantic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Cozy (2)
Fun (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
127 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Some parts of our meal were really good. The sushi is way under par. The sushi rice was like mush.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Loved the sushi specials! Excellent food and service. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Tried this restaurant for the first time about a year ago and it was amazing. This was my third time visiting. The food was just ok this time. I got the steak and my wife got the lamb chops. Mine was over cooked. Hers was both over and under cooked. The sushi which was delicious both times previous tasted like the skin had not been removed on a few pieces. Overall just not as good as before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

From the host and hostess, who greeted us by throwing open the front door of Ginger 108, to the busboy and all of the servers and sushi chefs, the entire Ginger staff treated us like long-lost family--amazed to see southern Californians in their little home town of Kinston, NC. The decor may seem a bit Spartan at first, but the warmth of everyone's friendliness and the generous space afforded each table soon reveal it's really just a nice way to give patrons privacy in a large spacious place. The food was innovative, fresh, and prepared to perfection. Regional classics, like shrimp and grits, were transformed into something special, while a king crab roll revealed attention to detail and concern for presentation of ingredients not normally found here. What began as an ordinary dinner on the road for business, became an experience worthy of a culinary destination to be sought out on its own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great food with friends and family as usual. It is one of my favorite date night restaurants.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Food, ambiance, service and atmosphere was great have recommended to friends and will be returning soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 8, 2017

It was a bit pricey but the food was good. The staff were great and very helpful. It was extremely cold which made it hard to relax and enjoy our food. I noticed several other customers reacting to the cool temps as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Excellent quality food every time we come here. Tuna tartare is the best in town for appetizer. Sushi is best in town with good selection. Steak is delicious with a nice miso sauce.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Unfortunately we had a unpleasant experience there for our first time. The bartender was also our waitress and she tried to juggle both jobs. It wasn't her fault, she did the best she could. Because of that the food was cold when we got it and we didn't want to say anything because our waitress was already going as fast as she could. The owner definetely needs to hire more people there. The drinks were expensive and our food was cold so we won't be back. Sorry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 24, 2017

This was our third or fourth time at Ginger 108. The first couple of times it was great, but the last time we went we were disappointed and decided not to return. Recently friends from out of town wanted to try it, so we decided to give it another try. Our waiter was personable and efficient, but lacked knowledge of the menu. Rather than find out the answers to our questions, he just made things up. Our group ordered three bottles of wine, which were brought to the table already opened; they were also poured without giving us the opportunity to taste the wine.

Three of us ordered the pan-seared scallops. The scallops arrived perfectly cooked, and with a nice sauce. Unfortunately, the accompanying vegetables were so over-salted as to render them inedible, and it didn't take long for the saltiness to permeate the sauce as well. One diner described her sushi as "mushy".

We all agreed that we won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Lost our Open Table reservation, but did everything they could to finally accommodate us as quickly as possible.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Dining here is always a delight! Now that they've added an incredible sushi bar, there are even more enjoyable options! As an avid foodie, this place ranks among my favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our regular Friday night date night was wonderful. My husband and I enjoy every visit. There are always friends there that we see each Friday night. The food and drink are superb.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Always great food--by far the best restaurant in the area

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food and service as usual. We always see friends we know even if we go alone. Excellent bar menu. If you have never tried a Wits End then know it is my favorite there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great meal all around. Updated menu is excellent. Small plates are shareable generous portions and very flavorful. The Yellowfin tartar is an exceptional value. Large plates include a diverse selection of high quality entree choices. There is something for everyone; from a hearty Rib eye steak or rack of lamb to Asian bowls, scallops or shrimp and grits. Full bar and a great value wine list round out the experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

It had been a year since we last ate at Ginger 108. The food was great as was the service. Last year service was extremely slow. This year it was much better. Food was served in a timely manner and great quality.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Interesting small and large plate menu with nice presentation. Service was slow, brought plates out one at time with noticeable delays between each. One party member had sushi that was delivered to table when other diners were nearly finished. Ordered sampler desert for table and server didn't bring plates until asked.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Our group of 12 met again at Ginger 108 for our annual Christmas party. The food was great. We had a variety of different things including sushi and desserts. I had the grilled tuna salad which was cooked perfect. Everyone has a wonderful time and the service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent as usual. A great place to meet friends and family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Our group loves to dine at Ginger 108. The atmosphere is comfortable and service was outstanding. Very happy to see some new additions to the menu. The salmon with roasted brussel sprouts were very good. Looking forward to another visit soon.
Lisa W

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The food was delicious. My husband had shrimp and grits, put it in the top 3, and he always orders that. Really bice experience, our waiter was friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food with amazing service. I'm hooked I eat there almost everyweek

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Always great food & great service. PLEASE bring back the flank steak skewers! Broccolini soup was amazing! Tuna always a winner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The food was great. The service was a little off and waitress acted like she was scared or aloof...not sure which.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The entree was wonderful as expected. The dessert was absolutely fabulous. The creamiest cheesecake topped with apples and cinnamon. I am not a fan of dessert usually. My husband ordered it and my "taste" turned into several bites. Told the bartender I would like to order that cheesecake and a brandy alexander and skip the meal since that is the only way I can eat a whole piece. Looking forward to the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Everything was pleasurable. The food was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Great dinner. I had the scallops and they were the best I have ever had!! Love Ginger 108. Going again this week (if flooding doesn't prevent it)!

Tags: Fun, Private Room, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Food was outstanding and we will be back again for sure.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The service was very quick and our server gave great recommendations on cocktails and the meals. The food was beyond amazing! Lived up to every expectation I had! Will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Casual, Great Beer, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We love to have dinner at Ginger 108. It is great for a large or small group of friends. Food and service was great that night. Love the $5 cosmos. Hope they continue to have specials.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Such an easy go to place where you can get great food and service

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 22, 2016

A CHEF creates here!
Not a huge menu, but extremely creative. Everything we tried was wonderfully prepared. Delicious tates you never thought of. Probably not for the meat and potatoes person.
From teen agers to old timers - we all loved it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was an amazing experience
The service was outstanding
The atmosphere was very nice
Food was delicious

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had a table of 4 and really enjoyed the food and conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Birthday dinner for wife. Just two of us. Overall a very positive experience. Had a table near the bar. Couple of men at bar talked so loud that every table could hear them. Dinner selections excellent. I had scallops, wife had crab cakes. Both were good but scallop dish was far superior. After dinner we were not sure why we had been much more frequent diners at C and F. We will be back at Ginger 108 and soon. There were many menu options we want to try. Not so at the upscale place. Seems like they are more interested in impressing customers with the names of the entrees than with their taste and never are there numerous entrees that made our choice difficult. Waitress was very helpful and responsive. Another good thing is that the noise level was not overbearing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Everyone in our group (8) overwhelmingly agreed the dining experience was definitely one of the best we have had. Food/service/drinks were awesome. We will most certainly return!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Always look forward to Ginger 108. Food is so good with an excellent variety from which to choose.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We came celebrating one dear to us. Everyone ordered something different so we had a great menu tasting! My second visit but was sure I wanted to bringy foodies to your place. We all loved it. Even the picky kid enjoyed theac n cheese. Thanks to our waitress for helping us celebrate even with a teething one year old.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.