About Ginger 108

108 W North Street
Kinston, NC 28501
View Larger Map

Southern Cuisine with a Touch of Asia

Ginger 108 is an eclectic Southern Grill that infuses flavor from two contrasting cultures, the East and West. This collision of ingredients provide Chef Khymi and her team a palate for innovative dishes that are prepared with a Southern flair while leaving a contemporary choice for global ingredients. The menu is comprehensive and alluring. Dishes are authentic and bold. Ginger 108 delivers an elegant, yet fun, informal dining experience. Its sleek modern décor, large glass windows and bamboo accents provide an unmatched atmosphere that parallels its gourmet cuisine. Specialty drinks accentuate the variation of ingredients used in many of the dishes. Everything is thoughtfully prepared from scratch keeping true to its roots using the most natural, organic and sustainable ingredients available.Ginger 108 is one of Kinston’s newest restaurants and is part of the revitalization of the City center and the Arts and Cultural District.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Asian, Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wall's Alley

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 208-2663

Website:
http://www.ginger108.com/

Parking Details:
There is plenty of parking on the street as well as public parking lot behind Mother Earth Brewing and down on Gordon Street.

Executive Chef:
Khymi Harrell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ginger 108 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Raleigh
Best Value
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Kinston ›

Special Occasion (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Groups (8)
See All
Casual (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Romantic (6)
Authentic (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Fun (3)
Business Meals (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Cozy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
108 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent as usual. A great place to mee ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent as usual. A great place to meet friends and family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our group loves to dine at Ginger 108. T ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Our group loves to dine at Ginger 108. The atmosphere is comfortable and service was outstanding. Very happy to see some new additions to the menu. The salmon with roasted brussel sprouts were very good. Looking forward to another visit soon.

Lisa W

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. My husband had ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The food was delicious. My husband had shrimp and grits, put it in the top 3, and he always orders that. Really bice experience, our waiter was friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food with amazing service. I'm hoo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food with amazing service. I'm hooked I eat there almost everyweek

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great food & great service. PLEAS ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Always great food & great service. PLEASE bring back the flank steak skewers! Broccolini soup was amazing! Tuna always a winner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. The service was a li ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The food was great. The service was a little off and waitress acted like she was scared or aloof...not sure which.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The entree was wonderful as expected. Th ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The entree was wonderful as expected. The dessert was absolutely fabulous. The creamiest cheesecake topped with apples and cinnamon. I am not a fan of dessert usually. My husband ordered it and my "taste" turned into several bites. Told the bartender I would like to order that cheesecake and a brandy alexander and skip the meal since that is the only way I can eat a whole piece. Looking forward to the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was pleasurable. The food wa ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Everything was pleasurable. The food was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner. I had the scallops and th ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Great dinner. I had the scallops and they were the best I have ever had!! Love Ginger 108. Going again this week (if flooding doesn't prevent it)!

Tags: Fun, Private Room, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was outstanding and we will be back ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Food was outstanding and we will be back again for sure.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The service was very quick and our serve ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The service was very quick and our server gave great recommendations on cocktails and the meals. The food was beyond amazing! Lived up to every expectation I had! Will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Casual, Great Beer, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love to have dinner at Ginger 108. It ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We love to have dinner at Ginger 108. It is great for a large or small group of friends. Food and service was great that night. Love the $5 cosmos. Hope they continue to have specials.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such an easy go to place where you can g ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Such an easy go to place where you can get great food and service

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A CHEF creates here! Not a huge menu, bu ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 22, 2016

A CHEF creates here!

Not a huge menu, but extremely creative. Everything we tried was wonderfully prepared. Delicious tates you never thought of. Probably not for the meat and potatoes person.

From teen agers to old timers - we all loved it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an amazing experience The servic ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was an amazing experience

The service was outstanding

The atmosphere was very nice

Food was delicious

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a table of 4 and really enjoyed t ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had a table of 4 and really enjoyed the food and conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday dinner for wife. Just two of u ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Birthday dinner for wife. Just two of us. Overall a very positive experience. Had a table near the bar. Couple of men at bar talked so loud that every table could hear them. Dinner selections excellent. I had scallops, wife had crab cakes. Both were good but scallop dish was far superior. After dinner we were not sure why we had been much more frequent diners at C and F. We will be back at Ginger 108 and soon. There were many menu options we want to try. Not so at the upscale place. Seems like they are more interested in impressing customers with the names of the entrees than with their taste and never are there numerous entrees that made our choice difficult. Waitress was very helpful and responsive. Another good thing is that the noise level was not overbearing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everyone in our group (8) overwhelmingly ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Everyone in our group (8) overwhelmingly agreed the dining experience was definitely one of the best we have had. Food/service/drinks were awesome. We will most certainly return!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always look forward to Ginger 108. Food ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Always look forward to Ginger 108. Food is so good with an excellent variety from which to choose.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We came celebrating one dear to us. Ever ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We came celebrating one dear to us. Everyone ordered something different so we had a great menu tasting! My second visit but was sure I wanted to bringy foodies to your place. We all loved it. Even the picky kid enjoyed theac n cheese. Thanks to our waitress for helping us celebrate even with a teething one year old.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was incredible. I had the BBQ S ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was incredible. I had the BBQ Shrimp and Grits, and they were the best I have ever had anywhere. My wife had the scallops. They were incredible also. I would definitely go back over and over again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Welovedoureveningoutwithfriendsfromoutof ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Welovedoureveningoutwithfriendsfromoutoftownwewillbebacksoon

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the shrimp and grits (SnG), an ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 16, 2016

I ordered the shrimp and grits (SnG), and I was surprised at the size of the meal in relation to the price and taste. I always order shrimp and grits every time it is available at any restaurant we try for the first time so I'm very particular with SnG. Sadly, I will not order that meal again as I was little disappointed with it. But I digress, besides my gripe about the SnG, my wife and I were pleased with our dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

While our food was outstanding, we had a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 16, 2016

While our food was outstanding, we had an extremely long wait for our sushi, seams they were low on staff our evening, previous meals have been beyond our expectations so this was just one of those things.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We always enjoy going to Ginger 108. Th ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 8, 2016

We always enjoy going to Ginger 108. The wait staff are helpful and efficient. The chef is very accommodating to any special needs you might have. Our food is always delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful! Especially the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food was wonderful! Especially the Sushi!! The scallops were delicious too!! Will be visiting again soon!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Looking forward to eating there because ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Looking forward to eating there because we were told this was a previous chef from the Chef & the Farmer. No complaints with the quality of service we received. But the flavor of the entrees was lacking and the fingerling potatoes in my husband's entrée were actually cold. We live in Raleigh but were raised in Eastern NC, thrilled to have quality restaurants in this area but more work needed on this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Ginger 108 is a fantastic blend of Japan ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Ginger 108 is a fantastic blend of Japanese/American dishes. The service was amazing, as was the food! My husband and I ordered the shrimp sliders & wontons for an appetizer and both were delicious. For dinner we shared a few of their sushi rolls and couldn't have been happier with them. It was the first sushi my husband actually tried and liked. We've been back since then and all the food we've gotten has been amazing! Definitely a hidden gem in Kinston!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service, creative men ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Wonderful food and service, creative menu with many desirable selections.

Best value in Kinston

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great place for some unique dishes and sushi. Good wine list as well as some craft beers. Service is always great as it is a well run business

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Seven of us ate and had cocktails. The specialty drink was especially good- got the blueberry marqarita with basil and it was very good. We had a combination of various "small plates" and various "large plates. Every single dish was good from the sushi to the steak skewers and the scallops were the best I've had in a long time. My only complaint would be some of the dishes were not hot when we got them but they were still excellent. This is not a quick in-and-out restaurant but a leisurely dining experience. The new Japanese lounge with the Sushi bar is very unique and restful. I'd recommend it for after work socials, intimate dinners, or group dinners. I will definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Overall excellence: menu, ambiance, service

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 19, 2016

Especially liked the varied menu, seafood including crab cakes, and rack of lamb. Both served tasty and well prepared vegetables and potatoes or rice. Servers were friendly and professional. One of the best places to eat in Kinston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding. Everyone at ou ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was outstanding. Everyone at our table got a different entree. Each one was beautifully presented with excellent flavor and food parings. Considering they didn't seem busy, we waited a very long time for our food so I wouldn't expect to dash in here and grab a bite. Plan to take your time and enjoy the company of your dining partners. I considered Ginger 108 a "plan b" because we couldn't get in the Chef and Farmer but it was equally as good with larger portions. As a result, Ginger 108 will probably be "plan a" going forward.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family gathering of 9. The service was o ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Family gathering of 9. The service was outstanding ( thank you Kaitlyn). All of us will return, either separately or as a group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good food!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 21, 2016

Always good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Ginger 108

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2016

Great atmosphere and ambience, a rare find in most small town restaurants. The recent Friday evening visit found the restaurant understaffed, but overall, the experience was notable. The noodles with shrimp dish was excellently prepared. I also enjoyed the side order of macaroni and cheese. Lots of young aduts entered for dinner while I was there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

overpriced

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 31, 2016

food was quite delicious but way overpriced. (can't charge New York City prices in Kinston, NC).

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

There is Another Great Restaurant in Kinston, NC!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 30, 2016

We came to Kinston, NC from Dallas, TX to visit the very popular PBS "a Chef's Life" restaurant of A Chef and A Farmer, which we have already reviewed! We were staying two nights and our hotel recommended Ginger 108 for the second evening. It was wonderful! I would call it upscale, creative Asian! The Shrimp Sliders was one of the best ever and my entrée was a great Seared Diver Scallops with ginger squash and mushrooms! My husband's pork chop was equally delicious! Their food was a really great blend of wonderful dishes with an Asian twist. The service and ambiance were wonderful and don't forget the dessert! We highly recommended Ginger 108!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were passing through on our way home ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 17, 2016

We were passing through on our way home to the Midwest and Kinston was stop over for us so we were checking out all the local spots! Fun town.. Good food and drinks and service was good too

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.