About Ginger 108

108 W North Street
Kinston, NC 28501
View Larger Map

Southern Cuisine with a Touch of Asia

Ginger 108 is an eclectic Southern Grill that infuses flavor from two contrasting cultures, the East and West. This collision of ingredients provide Chef Khymi and her team a palate for innovative dishes that are prepared with a Southern flair while leaving a contemporary choice for global ingredients. The menu is comprehensive and alluring. Dishes are authentic and bold. Ginger 108 delivers an elegant, yet fun, informal dining experience. Its sleek modern décor, large glass windows and bamboo accents provide an unmatched atmosphere that parallels its gourmet cuisine. Specialty drinks accentuate the variation of ingredients used in many of the dishes. Everything is thoughtfully prepared from scratch keeping true to its roots using the most natural, organic and sustainable ingredients available.Ginger 108 is one of Kinston’s newest restaurants and is part of the revitalization of the City center and the Arts and Cultural District.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Asian, Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wall's Alley

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 208-2663

Website:
http://www.ginger108.com/

Parking Details:
There is plenty of parking on the street as well as public parking lot behind Mother Earth Brewing and down on Gordon Street.

Executive Chef:
Khymi Harrell

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ginger 108 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Ambiance
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Value
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
4 More
Best Food
Raleigh
Best Ambiance
Raleigh
Best Value
Raleigh
Romantic
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Kinston ›

Special Occasion (20)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Romantic (14)
See All
Good for Groups (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
88 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We came celebrating one dear to us. Ever ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We came celebrating one dear to us. Everyone ordered something different so we had a great menu tasting! My second visit but was sure I wanted to bringy foodies to your place. We all loved it. Even the picky kid enjoyed theac n cheese. Thanks to our waitress for helping us celebrate even with a teething one year old.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was incredible. I had the BBQ S ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was incredible. I had the BBQ Shrimp and Grits, and they were the best I have ever had anywhere. My wife had the scallops. They were incredible also. I would definitely go back over and over again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Welovedoureveningoutwithfriendsfromoutof ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Welovedoureveningoutwithfriendsfromoutoftownwewillbebacksoon

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the shrimp and grits (SnG), an ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I ordered the shrimp and grits (SnG), and I was surprised at the size of the meal in relation to the price and taste. I always order shrimp and grits every time it is available at any restaurant we try for the first time so I'm very particular with SnG. Sadly, I will not order that meal again as I was little disappointed with it. But I digress, besides my gripe about the SnG, my wife and I were pleased with our dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

While our food was outstanding, we had a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

While our food was outstanding, we had an extremely long wait for our sushi, seams they were low on staff our evening, previous meals have been beyond our expectations so this was just one of those things.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We always enjoy going to Ginger 108. Th ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We always enjoy going to Ginger 108. The wait staff are helpful and efficient. The chef is very accommodating to any special needs you might have. Our food is always delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful! Especially the ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food was wonderful! Especially the Sushi!! The scallops were delicious too!! Will be visiting again soon!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Looking forward to eating there because ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Looking forward to eating there because we were told this was a previous chef from the Chef & the Farmer. No complaints with the quality of service we received. But the flavor of the entrees was lacking and the fingerling potatoes in my husband's entrée were actually cold. We live in Raleigh but were raised in Eastern NC, thrilled to have quality restaurants in this area but more work needed on this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Ginger 108 is a fantastic blend of Japan ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Ginger 108 is a fantastic blend of Japanese/American dishes. The service was amazing, as was the food! My husband and I ordered the shrimp sliders & wontons for an appetizer and both were delicious. For dinner we shared a few of their sushi rolls and couldn't have been happier with them. It was the first sushi my husband actually tried and liked. We've been back since then and all the food we've gotten has been amazing! Definitely a hidden gem in Kinston!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service, creative men ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Wonderful food and service, creative menu with many desirable selections.

Best value in Kinston

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great place for some unique dishes and sushi. Good wine list as well as some craft beers. Service is always great as it is a well run business

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Seven of us ate and had cocktails. The specialty drink was especially good- got the blueberry marqarita with basil and it was very good. We had a combination of various "small plates" and various "large plates. Every single dish was good from the sushi to the steak skewers and the scallops were the best I've had in a long time. My only complaint would be some of the dishes were not hot when we got them but they were still excellent. This is not a quick in-and-out restaurant but a leisurely dining experience. The new Japanese lounge with the Sushi bar is very unique and restful. I'd recommend it for after work socials, intimate dinners, or group dinners. I will definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Overall excellence: menu, ambiance, service

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Especially liked the varied menu, seafood including crab cakes, and rack of lamb. Both served tasty and well prepared vegetables and potatoes or rice. Servers were friendly and professional. One of the best places to eat in Kinston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding. Everyone at ou ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was outstanding. Everyone at our table got a different entree. Each one was beautifully presented with excellent flavor and food parings. Considering they didn't seem busy, we waited a very long time for our food so I wouldn't expect to dash in here and grab a bite. Plan to take your time and enjoy the company of your dining partners. I considered Ginger 108 a "plan b" because we couldn't get in the Chef and Farmer but it was equally as good with larger portions. As a result, Ginger 108 will probably be "plan a" going forward.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family gathering of 9. The service was o ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Family gathering of 9. The service was outstanding ( thank you Kaitlyn). All of us will return, either separately or as a group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good food!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Always good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Ginger 108

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Great atmosphere and ambience, a rare find in most small town restaurants. The recent Friday evening visit found the restaurant understaffed, but overall, the experience was notable. The noodles with shrimp dish was excellently prepared. I also enjoyed the side order of macaroni and cheese. Lots of young aduts entered for dinner while I was there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

overpriced

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

food was quite delicious but way overpriced. (can't charge New York City prices in Kinston, NC).

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

There is Another Great Restaurant in Kinston, NC!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

We came to Kinston, NC from Dallas, TX to visit the very popular PBS "a Chef's Life" restaurant of A Chef and A Farmer, which we have already reviewed! We were staying two nights and our hotel recommended Ginger 108 for the second evening. It was wonderful! I would call it upscale, creative Asian! The Shrimp Sliders was one of the best ever and my entrée was a great Seared Diver Scallops with ginger squash and mushrooms! My husband's pork chop was equally delicious! Their food was a really great blend of wonderful dishes with an Asian twist. The service and ambiance were wonderful and don't forget the dessert! We highly recommended Ginger 108!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were passing through on our way home ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

We were passing through on our way home to the Midwest and Kinston was stop over for us so we were checking out all the local spots! Fun town.. Good food and drinks and service was good too

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Great Restaurant for a small town

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Ginger 108 has great food and is a wonderful find for a town as small as Kinston. They have good service and the restaurant has a fantastic ambiance. I would recommend this to anyone that loves good food and a great atmosphere!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent and unique

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

The décor is very striking, peaceful, and enhances the experience. We had some small plates and some large plates. The scallops were perhaps the best, as was the gingered bok choy(greens). The large plate portions were large and we ended up taking half home with us. Service was excellent and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this restaurant!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

I have dined at Ginger 108 several times, I had out of state guests and wanted them to experience one of our small town's better restaurants. We totally enjoyed our evening at Ginger 108. The atmosphere was wonderful. Our server was very professional and cordial. The only small criticism we had was that the service was a little slow. However, the food was well worth the wait!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Dinner with Friends

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

A group of friends meets at Ginger 108 every three months. Dinner is always great and the wine wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Another bright spot in downtown Kinston

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

went on a Saturday night. No troubles with the reservation. Yellowfin tartare appetizer was excellent and shared by the 3 of us. The surf and turf sushi roll was so good we ordered another and our other roll with salmon and a small piece of collard leaf was very good also. The crab cakes were very good, not excellent. Service was very good. Attentive but not hovering. finished off with dessert in to-go boxes to take down to Mother Earth and complete the night. This 2-3 block area of Kinston is one of my favorite places to go for a night out. with Mother Earth, Ginger 108, Boiler Room, Chef and the Farmer, and Olvera Street Taqueria you can't go wrong.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great!

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

The best restaurant in Kinston by far! Prettier and better atmosphere than "Chef..." and much better food and value. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Feel in love with this place as soon as ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Feel in love with this place as soon as I sat down. And the food is amazing ☺️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Birthday Dinner

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was excellent. We were there on a busy night, and it seemed like our waitress was a bit overwhelmed. It took a while to flag her down when we needed something, but overall, everything was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

An anomily for Kinston North Carolina. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

An anomily for Kinston North Carolina. Miso soup was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We waited 1 1/2 for our food but it was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

We waited 1 1/2 for our food but it was very good when we finally received it. Ginger needs to hire more waitresses and some with better manners also.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

disappointed

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

one selection was over salted and another was over cooked. one selection (salmon) was fine, and i would order it again. the poorly prepared items were taken off the tab but the experience was disappointing. cannot recommend until quality control in the kitchen is improved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Unfriendly staff

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Hostess was not friendly or personable. Waitress was good. Took over an hour to get apps and then 20 more mins for food. Chicken was way over cooked. Shrimp was very good. Might try again but hope it's better!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Service and food were great. We especial ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on December 10, 2015

Service and food were great. We especially enjoyed the sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best salmon dish...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on November 5, 2015

Best salmon dish...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Jan's Birthday

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on October 15, 2015

I was looking a Special place local to take my lovely wife on her Birthday. I was told about Ginger 108 by some friends and then I went on-line. I was impressed by the menu, prices, and pictures of the atmosphere. I made reservations and we arrived to a receptive staff and a Lovely atmosphere. The wait staff, menu, prices, and quality were awesome. We found Ginger 108 to be a very relaxed environment. "Take your time and enjoy." Enjoy we did. So many choices to choose from. I did the appetizers, Sushi, and Entree. My eyes were bigger than my stomach so I got a to go box. In fact, I just finished it and it was Still Excellent. My wife is very particular, but she was very impressed. Would I recommend this to a friend? Yes. Will I be returning to Ginger 108? Yes. I cannot speak enough about our Ginger 108 dining experience. Ginger 108 will need to get more available parking or start a Valet parking service. Best kept secret in Kinston, N.C.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kinston Downtown NIght Life !

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on October 2, 2015

Enjoyed a great meal and wonderful service at Ginger 108. We'll be going back again soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ginger 108 dinner

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 16, 2015

We both started with their beet salad which was outstanding. The entrees were equally delicious. Their wine list was very good indeed and extremely reasonably priced. We settled for a Chatham Vinyard Chard. Which went very well with our entrees. Service was excellent and the food prices were very reasonable. In all, this was an excellent experience an we look forward to returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good food with screaming kids

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

Booked a reservation, was seated with no problems. Excellent food with spotty service. There was a large table with four or five children who were way too young to be there and made an immense amount of noise. Most restaurants with those prices have some kind of policy about children that age. It detracted greatly from what would have been an otherwise excellent dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3

Good and still improving

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 11, 2015

Ginger 108 seems to be improving with time. It is much better than it was 2 years ago when I went there for the first time. The menu has improved and the service is excellent. The ribeye was excellent and plentiful. The seared scallops were very good but the portion was small for the price ( 4 scallops). The menu also lacked a small plate or side salad offering. I would still score this restaurant 8.5 out of 10 and recommend it to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Customer service is everything

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 10, 2015

when we first arrived we were very excited to try this place because of the reviews on yelpNo matter how good your food is customer service is everything. I do not want to blame any particular person because as a whole clearly there is an I in team at this establishmet. we received our drinks and went ahead and ordered our sushi after the waitress politely explained our best options. My date dropped his sushi and soy splattered everywhere. We then realized we had no napkins a waitress I assume she was one - walked past saw and they got us napkins now mind you it sat there for a good 15 minutes a puddle of soy. while bringing out the main dish is when the mess was kind of cleaned. She wiped it half way up and said I'll be right back, we then realized we had NO Silverware so we waited on her "coming back" well we sat back in our big green chair drank our beer and waited. Not touching our food u would think all 4 people busy around us would take notice but NOPE nothing. The sushi chefs didn't even make eye contact like clearly something is wrong you don't sit and stare at perfectly looking food. 20 minutes goes by and we lay eyes on our waitress for the FIRST time. (Letting us know why she said she was very busy) She said how is everything with a confused look I said we don't know we have nothing to eat with. She then gets very apologetic she says she will talk to the manager Tyler , comes back and she let's us know that since nothing was wrong with our food there would be no compensation for anything and we can box it up for u to take. DO WHAT! I am spending 100 bucks for 2 ppl and you can't compensate me 1.00 for my 20 minute inconvenience. Now that's just rude and ignorant plus u couldn't come over to kill me with kindness and explain that yourself. I never even mentioned being compensated in any way the waitress did because she felt that was the appropriate thing to do. Very poor management and I hope the owner knows exactly how business is being ran.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.