About Giardina's Restaurant

314 Howard Street
Greenwood, MS 38930
View Larger Map

Giardina's, one of the Mississippi Delta's most historic restaurants, was founded in 1936 by Joseph Giardina, in Greenwood, Mississippi. A unique blend of sophistication and warmth, Giardina's is the perfect setting for any event. Seating consists of fourteen private booths and the large dining room opens onto a beautiful courtyard. The restaurant's interior space and state-of-the-art kitchen were designed by world-renowned architects. Considerable effort was made to retain the character and charm of the original Giardina's, but the white tablecloths, fine crystal and premium Viking cutlery add the feeling of elegance one would expect from a fine dining restaurant in a large metropolitan area. Giardina's bar, reminiscent of a bygone era, features the same dark wood and tile of the restaurant while offering today's premium liquors, wines and liqueurs. Featuring steaks, seafood and Italian cuisine, Giardina's atmosphere is old world elegant but dress is laid-back "Delta casual.”

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Church Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 455-4227

Website:
http://www.giardinas.com/

Executive Chef:
Stevens Flagg

Private Party Facilities:
Yes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Giardina's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Private Room (11)
See All
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Worth the Drive (7)
Romantic (5)
Casual (5)
Cozy (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Authentic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Historic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
432 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We spent the weekend at the Alluvian Hot ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We spent the weekend at the Alluvian Hotel, which was nice. However the restaurant was a huge disappointment. We were not greeted by a hostess and had to wait several minutes for her to show up. Then we were seated at the very worst table, which was in a doorway, despite having made our reservation several weeks in advance. We asked to move to a different table and were initially told that all the other tables were reserved. Finally the hostess agreed to move us. After that it was at least ten minutes before the server showed up. The rest of the evening continued to go south from there. They played one song, which was on a continuous loop, for at least 30 minutes. The drinks we ordered were not delivered in a timely fashion. In fact, would not have been brought at all if we hadn't asked about them. The server would disappear for 15 to 20 minutes at a time. As she came and went from the kitchen, we could hear her yelling at the kitchen staff. The desserts also took forever to be brought out. The only redeeming factors were that the food was well prepared and our server did deduct our drinks and desserts from the bill. I'm hoping that this was one bad night on their part because I don't know how you keep a AAA four Diamond rating with service like that.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Attractively designed with a # of cozey ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Attractively designed with a # of cozey private booths, good variety of menu choices, small but reasonably priced wine list, service was good. Probably association with the Viking Cooking School & the Alluvian boutique hotel allows a small Mississippi town like Greenwood to support a restaurant that would be @ home in a larger city.

Tags: Authentic, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love the Alluvian Hotel but Giardina's ...

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I love the Alluvian Hotel but Giardina's was disappointing. Ordered three dishes to share--the lamb and risotto was good, the other two dishes--shrimp scampi and sea bass were just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Oyster trio appetizer was fab. Bar b que ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Oyster trio appetizer was fab. Bar b que shrimp was yummy. Loved the cozy private room--definitely romantic atmosphere! Bread pudding made for perfect ending to lovely evening. Will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we eat there every time we are in green ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

we eat there every time we are in greenwood. great food and good service

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is in an amazing hotel a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This restaurant is in an amazing hotel and was a complete disappointment after a fabulous day! We ordered the broiled shrimp, they were completely drenched in Worcestershire sauce and tasted like i was liking the Worcestershire bottle.

Our waitress had no idea how to be a waitress.

The warm spinach salad was nice but the waitress asked us what kind of dressing we wanted on it and we were perplexed as the menu said the salad was dressed, so we ordered oil and vinegar. The salad came out overly dressed with the dressing mentioned in the menu description but the waitress also brought the oil and vinegar for the table?

We then ordered the Veal Piccata. It was TERRIBLE. nothing delicate about the veal or the breading on the outside. It was cooked as if it was chicken fried steak in a thick batter. There was zero lemon taste to the sauce and it had about 1,000 capers on the top. It was served with 5 FIVE noodles that had zero flavor.

This restaurant has potential and its in a great spot but the service and food need an OVERHAUL. Will not be spending time or money here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Service was amazing and food was done ri ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Service was amazing and food was done right, portions were more than ample to a point we could not even think of dessert. Recommend anytime if asked.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was as good as it always is gre ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was as good as it always is great veal ,steak and fish-The service was exceptional ,we were blessed with a waitress named Queen and she was the "queen" of a waitress! She has the cutest personality and had the most positive attitude -she truly made the evening so special for our table! One night that we will always remember -we left feeling like royalty!!!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great food was terrible not ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Service was great food was terrible not as good as it used to be been doing this dec 26 on anniversary for 9 years will not do again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Great food, great service, great experie ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great food, great service, great experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Historic, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a good dining experience. The wa ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 4, 2016

It was a good dining experience. The wait staff was excellent, setting very nice and food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The lamb and gnocchi should be added to ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The lamb and gnocchi should be added to the menu! It was amazing!!! Perfect night!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a wonderful meal and had exce ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful meal and had excellent service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our 30th ann ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 29, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 30th anniversary here. We enjoyed the private rooms, as so many restaurants are loud these days. Also, our food was delicious and our server was friendly. I had the Stuffed Portobello Mushroom and my husband had the Gulf Fried Shrimp for appetizers. Both were excellent! For my entrée, I got the Angel Hair Pasta with grilled chicken and basil pesto sauce. My husband ordered the Lasagna. We thoroughly enjoyed our selections. I would definiitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow what a terrible dinner-reservations ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wow what a terrible dinner-reservations at 8 was seated at 7:55 seen a waitress at 8:15 took order brought water with appetizer-smallest oysters I have ever seen they were the size of a quarter and very over cooked-finally got drinks and bread the waitress had a very bad attitude we had the feeling that we had been forgotten all night -finally our entree arrived steak over cooked and cold my wife's potatoes were cold as well -we were so looking forward to a great evening with friends-should have went to McDonald's it would have been so much better

This was one of the worse waitresses I have ever witnessed

BEWARE OF THIS RESTAURANT IT IS TERRIBLE!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Giardina's is consistently great quality ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Giardina's is consistently great quality food with good service. The atmosphere is private and quiet and a great place for a romantic evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

It was not great. More plain than I was ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 22, 2016

It was not great. More plain than I was expecting Was looking for more history, written trivia...something. Restaurant clean. The tables were plain, candle burned out and not replaced when asked.no pictures on the wall, felt like we were sitting in a cell. Waitress nice and pleasant, forgot to pack up our doggie bags. Thought the bill was too expensive for the food we ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

For an appetizer my wife and I split the ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 22, 2016

For an appetizer my wife and I split the oyster trio. Delicious. The Giardina Salad was yummy. My wife enjoyed her Shrimp Giardina. I had the 8 oz filet. I requested medium, but it was cooked well, but no matter how it was prepared, the quality of the filet was poor. I realize this is not Ruth Chris, but for $32, the filet could have been a better piece of beef. It was hardly melt in your mouth. I mentioned my disappointment to some friends that had recently dined at Giardina's and their comment about the filet echoed mine. I suggest management find a different beef supplier.

The service was great!

We love Giardina's and the wonderful Alluvian Hotel. I have recommended both to many. Please improve the quality of the beef.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful get away night with my wife. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Wonderful get away night with my wife. Food and service we're outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived late in the evening because t ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We arrived late in the evening because there was an available option for a reservation of 9pm. This time worked well for us due to us coming in from out of town (4 hrs away) and my brother chose this restaurant to celebrate his birthday as he's been excited to try it for months now. When we received our food, there was so much pepper in my pasta primavera I couldn't even eat it, almost as if it was spilled on accident into my meal. And nothing on the menu description mentioned it being heavily peppered. However, my mother said the meatballs in her spaghetti were also extremely peppery where she was also unable to eat them. We asked for bread and were told by our waitress that "because we came so late" it was all hard and she didn't think we would want it. There were several times where it was mentioned that items weren't available or that we should go ahead and order almost immediately after we were seated due to the kitchen closing soon. We stayed only long enough to eat our meal and felt rushed to leave. We weren't there over 40 minutes. I write this to suggest that the reservation of 9 & 9:30pm be removed so that no one else has this same experience. This lovely spot seems like it has the potential to be a wonderful experience. However, that was our first time to visit and it was less than desirable. Hopefully others will have a better experience than we did while trying to celebrate my brother's special day.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

Had a reservation at 9 on Friday night. ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Had a reservation at 9 on Friday night. We were greeted by a very friendly host and had a truly outstanding experience. We had steak and grouper. From the wine list, appetizers, hot tamales, to the salad, entree and desert, this place is top shelf.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great experience that capped a ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was a great experience that capped a great weekend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The experience we had at Giardina's will ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 14, 2016

The experience we had at Giardina's will assure our return for a future meal. The gumbo was excellent and they actually blackened the tuna on the salad that I ordered (instead to f just sprinkling it with generic Cajun seasoning). It's so good to have such an excellent fine dining locale here in Greenwood. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were having a joint wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We were having a joint wedding anniversary celebration with another couple. The food at Giardinia's is excellent and our waitress was most accommodating. The individual rooms with curtains make for an intimate, private evening. This was not our first Giardinia's experience and we will continue to go, certainly for special occasions, since it is a bit pricey!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Our server was very nice. The red fish t ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our server was very nice. The red fish that we both had was over cooked. The dessert was the best part of the meal. Service was good but meal was poor. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

While I would give our dining experience ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 28, 2016

While I would give our dining experience at Giardina's a 4 overall, I will say what was a disappointment was that once we were seated it took about 25 minutes before our waiter came by our booth. Once our waiter finally showed up, his service was prompt and the food was extraordinary. I think the way the tables are set up, it might be easy to unknowingly ignore a guest. Also the guests in the booth in front of us were very loud. Otherwise it was a great experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Good food. Nice atmosphere and great ser ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Good food. Nice atmosphere and great service. Would have liked to have had things salted a bit better.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our experience was wonderful! Loved the ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our experience was wonderful! Loved the food and our waiter.

She was pleasant and took her time. She also was very sweet to my 3 year old and took her time explaining items on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a party of 7. Enjoyed it thorough ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a party of 7. Enjoyed it thoroughly. Great food. Great service.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak I've ever had and my girlfrie ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Best steak I've ever had and my girlfriend always gets some type of pasta and loves it- atmosphere is great for a date and the quality of the food and the expirience far outweighs the price

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The atmosphere was fantastic and the foo ...

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The atmosphere was fantastic and the food was out of this world. The best shrimp and grits I've ever had. Our waitress was very nice but did not check on us to see if we needed anything. We would have loved more drinks and dessert. Again, the food was outstanding, so I will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Very attentive staff

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Very attentive staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience - s ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 16, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience - so much so that we had dinner there on Friday and Saturday night!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was great, overpriced, but great. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Steak was great, overpriced, but great. Their specialty cake was yellow cake mix with pecans in it and ice cream on top. Not sure what makes this a specialty. The calamari was decent. Baked oysters good. Eggplant parmesan was embarassing. Huge hunks, like 1 1/2-2 inches thick, of eggplant that were battered and deep fried. The center of the eggplant was still somewhat raw. Maybe this is an eggplant Mississippi thing but Italian it is not. Service is decent. Our bill was wrong, twice, but she was super nice. Definitely will not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

I was extremely disappointed in my dinin ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 12, 2016

I was extremely disappointed in my dining experience except for "Queen" who was a fantastic server. The food was not good at all, and the way they have the tables set up in individual rooms was way too weird for me personally. Not a good experience at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

We've always made a special trip to Giar ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 3, 2016

We've always made a special trip to Giardina's when in greenwood. This was a huge disappointment. Loud noises from the kitchen, a waitress with an "I don't care" attitude, and just passable food! They need to get their act back together again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Has deteriorated unfortunately. More att ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Has deteriorated unfortunately. More attention to detail needed. Hot food please. Improve knowledge of wait staff. Make it great again please.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Great for couples or special night out. ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great for couples or special night out. Variety of menu selections to meet all tastes & desires including nightly specials. Nice option for private dining as well but need to request with reservations.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Queen was an excellent server. Loved our ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Queen was an excellent server. Loved our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was really good and the private ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was really good and the private dining rooms are special.

The service was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.