Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.79mi

About Giardina's Restaurant

Giardina's, one of the Mississippi Delta's most historic restaurants, was founded in 1936 by Joseph Giardina, in Greenwood, Mississippi. A unique blend of sophistication and warmth, Giardina's is the perfect setting for any event. Seating consists of fourteen private booths and the large dining room opens onto a beautiful courtyard. The restaurant's interior space and state-of-the-art kitchen were designed by world-renowned architects. Considerable effort was made to retain the character and charm of the original Giardina's, but the white tablecloths, fine crystal and premium Viking cutlery add the feeling of elegance one would expect from a fine dining restaurant in a large metropolitan area. Giardina's bar, reminiscent of a bygone era, features the same dark wood and tile of the restaurant while offering today's premium liquors, wines and liqueurs. Featuring steaks, seafood and Italian cuisine, Giardina's atmosphere is old world elegant but dress is laid-back "Delta casual.”

314 Howard Street
Greenwood, MS 38930
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Church Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 455-4227

Website:
http://www.giardinas.com/

Executive Chef:
Stevens Flagg

Private Party Facilities:
Yes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Giardina's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (22)
Romantic (22)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Special Occasion (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Cozy (15)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Fun (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Authentic (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Business Meals (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
476 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Everything we expected and more! Wonderful experience! Food was delicious and our service exceptional!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great atmosphere, private dining, great service, food was unique to the area, prepared perfectly, steak and oysters, bread pudding all were fantastic.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great bartender; Queen was our waitress and was very fun and knowledgeable. Fantastic meal, steaks were perfectly cooked and really first class. Special place even on a not too busy Tuesday night. We will make another road trip.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great meal and our server, Queen, is the best!!no waiting for an awesome booth and the bar served us the best bourbon drink.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Fantastic! The food was out of this world. My husband and I couldn't have been more pleased. Super romantic and such a treat! The Chef does an outstanding job. I have food allergies and they found several safe and amazing options for me.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We are never disappointed by Giardina's. It combines elegant dining with southern charm and outstanding service. It provides a unique private dining experience that was perfect for our girls' weekend trip. The wine list is adequate for selections by the glass when you have a diverse group with varying preferences. We definitely plan to return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

We loved it! It is a special place & young Charles was our waiter. He was very kind with a lovely demeanor. We especially enjoyed the fried green tomatoes, shrimp & grits and eggplant parmesan. It's private, as you have your very own room "closed off" by a curtain.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Wonderful dinner! Both of our entrees were superb. We love the coziness of the private dining booth!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Overall 4/5.
Food was average this evening but the atmosphere and drinks were great. Service was poor tonight but is not typically.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

One of my favorite aspects of our experiences was the privacy. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I highly recommend the catfish cakes and the onion rings. All of the staff was very friendly. We had an amazing time and will most definitely return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Wonderful service and food, cannot wait to go again!!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Delicious food and wonderful service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Our favorite for special occasions...birthdays, anniversary, date night. We reserve a small special booth, have cocktails in the bar, then a wonderful dinner. My wife had smoked oysters for her entree, I had the catch of the day which was my favorite, red snapper. Both were yummy. We love the Giardina Salad...it's loaded with capers, olives, anchovies.
Our waiter, Charles, was a young college student. He was polite, attentive, and it was apparent he was happy to be there.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food was Great. Steaks were cooked as ordered and the wait staff was friendly and attentive. Would eat there again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I enjoyed my meal. I was a little disappointed in the size of the fish filet (grouper) for the cost of the meal. The food was good though. Our waitress was polite and knowledgeable about the menu. I would return if I have the opportunity.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We had a group of eight(8) people. Everyone ordered different appetizers so that entire group could sample. The entrees were excellent. A very diverse menu. So, there was something special for everyone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Amazing food! The catfish cakes were wonderful as an appetizer. I had the New York strip topped with mushrooms and spinach as a side and my wife had the special grouper over greens topped with a smoky sauce. We both agreed that it was in our top ten best meals ever eaten category!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Wonderful addition to Alluvian Hotel. No need to leave hotel when a top notch dining venue is there. Had a delicious meal in a lovely setting. Will definitely go again when in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the meal, the food was excellent, and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 29, 2017

My husband and I enjoy private dining and oysters were excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We enjoyed the historical setting! It was a fun experience!
Everyone on staff was very friendly but it seemed like a busy night so things seemed slow coming out. My husband had a delicious filet but the spaghetti & meatballs I ordered was pretty underwhelming. There were several other things on the menu that were tempting but I thought "if they're offering a spaghetti & meatballs here then it must be a phenomenal spaghetti & meatballs!". It wasn't. All in all, I would recommend this restaurant for the atmosphere, not the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 19, 2017

My wife and I went here expecting a nice quality meal. The hotel it is associated with The Alluvian is a very nice place to stay, however the same cannot be said for the meal at the restaurant. The service was slow but our server was quite nice. There was a problem with the wine and I had to send a bottle back; something I had never done before but it was obviously spoiled. The Chardonnay was the color of honey and tasted like vinegar. It took an excessive period of time to get a replacement bottle and we didn't have any wine to drink until we had been there between 35-40 minutes. We had already finished appetizers. The food was very lackluster. My sea bass reminded me of something I would get from a cafeteria and the Thai chili sauce that came with it tasted like slightly spicy ketchup. My wife's lamb rack had no color to it looking very grey and had absolutely no flavor. The ambiance is extremely lacking with nothing to look at in the drab curtained off cubical other than plain off white walls that are in need of paint. The seating and chairs at my little local diner are much more comfortable. Fine dining this is not. It is not even good food. For me the only thing accomplished was finding a restaurant that I do not want to eat at again. Sorry, I really hate leaving bad reviews-not sure I ever have. Rarely do I ever leave reviews, but this popped up on my open table email requesting a review and I have to be honest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We were saying at the Hotel and decided to stay close. Local people and our driver reccomended it as a place to go. We had a group of six, with two with food allergies . The service and food wer great. They made the accommodations for the food alergy, Every thing was first class.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day Brunch was AMAZING!! The food choices were well presented and appropriate. Our appetizers were delicious. The entrees were very hard to choose from b/c we knew they were all delicious. We thoroughly devoured our Shrimp N' Grits. The desserts ~ ALL THREE OF THEM ~ were FABULOUS!! It was a pleasure to experience Giardina's with my daughter, granddaughter & husband and as an added bonus we had a $50 Credit from The Alluvian. No matter ~ Giardina's is a special place especially to me b/c my best friend's mother, Mary Rose Giardina Graham, worked there until she was nearly 80 years old. We have enjoyed many visits, drinks, dinners and desserts over the years BUT ... Mother's Day 2017 is now my FAVORITE!! Ben, the music man from Vicksburg, was a special treat as well.

Our server was very personable, polite and knowledgeable. She was courteous, attentive and kind. Giardina's .... KUDOS to You!! ALSO .... the Yellow Roses were gorgeous and we delivered ours to Mary Rose Giardina Graham later Sunday afternoon. It was super special to her and to us.

Thank you for all the hard work, delicious food, fabulous service and most importantly, for making Mother's Day 2017 a ROARING SUCCESS!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday. We ordered th broiled shrimp and shrimp egg rolls which were both delicious. Three of us ordered hamburgers, and he ordered the manhattan. All were delicious. The chocolate chip cake and the delta delight were so good. The staff including Sara, queen, and mary holly made our night very special! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The food and the service were great. It was a great atmosphere for a date.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I would next time ask for a booth! Queen was a fabulous waitress and made the whole evening unforgettable.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The food and service were wonderful, and the atmosphere was lovely.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Sara, the manager, greeted us at our arrivals and was very engaging and made us feel special. Our waitress was very helpful and friendly. I ordered the hamburger and Fries with a special request for egg on top. It was the best burger I have had in a while and the fresh cut and battered fries I am craving again. My husband got the bacon wrapped shrimp special and mashed potatoes. He liked it too as well as our cheesecake dessert. Great time and experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Excellent as always ==We eat here often. The filet is always good as is the fish of the day===I like mine with crabmeat and White wine sauce. I am Gluten Free and I rarely have any trouble. The seared Tuna Salad is good too---

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Bad service, waited 10-15 minutes to get our water refilled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Very good restaurant. Lots of history. This visit didn't meet our expectations not as good as previous visits

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I loved it. I carried my daughter out for her birthday. We had a great time and great food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had a lovely meal! We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Me & my husband really enjoyed this place for his birthday dinner. The food was amazing! The only thing I would recommend would be to our server. She was great when she was around but did not check on us as frequently as we needed to fill water glasses. Overall will be going back & had a wonderful time!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Unfortunately, disappointed on our first trip to the Alluvian and the restaurant. Steak was good but fish average and brussel sprouts were not that good. no flavor. did like the bread pudding!
and the hostess was almost rude when she called because running a little late. when got seated plenty of empty tables. doubt will make a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Steak was fantastic ! Apps were delicious
Atmosphere is great too

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2017

i have dined here several times and had positive experiences with great food. not this time-i was disappointed to say the least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Part of the experience of staying at the Alluvian hotel is to visit Giardina's. They have many private rooms with close-off curtains that can make for a romantic meal. Rooms can seat 2, 4, 6 or 8 people so can be used for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.