Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.79mi

About Giardina's Restaurant

Giardina's, one of the Mississippi Delta's most historic restaurants, was founded in 1936 by Joseph Giardina, in Greenwood, Mississippi. A unique blend of sophistication and warmth, Giardina's is the perfect setting for any event. Seating consists of fourteen private booths and the large dining room opens onto a beautiful courtyard. The restaurant's interior space and state-of-the-art kitchen were designed by world-renowned architects. Considerable effort was made to retain the character and charm of the original Giardina's, but the white tablecloths, fine crystal and premium Viking cutlery add the feeling of elegance one would expect from a fine dining restaurant in a large metropolitan area. Giardina's bar, reminiscent of a bygone era, features the same dark wood and tile of the restaurant while offering today's premium liquors, wines and liqueurs. Featuring steaks, seafood and Italian cuisine, Giardina's atmosphere is old world elegant but dress is laid-back "Delta casual.”

314 Howard Street
Greenwood, MS 38930
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Church Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 455-4227

Website:
http://www.giardinas.com/

Executive Chef:
Stevens Flagg

Private Party Facilities:
Yes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Giardina's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Private Room (15)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Worth the Drive (7)
Historic (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Business Meals (6)
Cozy (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Fun (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Casual (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Authentic (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Live Music (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
453 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My wife and I went here expecting a nice quality meal. The hotel it is associated with The Alluvian is a very nice place to stay, however the same cannot be said for the meal at the restaurant. The service was slow but our server was quite nice. There was a problem with the wine and I had to send a bottle back; something I had never done before but it was obviously spoiled. The Chardonnay was the color of honey and tasted like vinegar. It took an excessive period of time to get a replacement bottle and we didn't have any wine to drink until we had been there between 35-40 minutes. We had already finished appetizers. The food was very lackluster. My sea bass reminded me of something I would get from a cafeteria and the Thai chili sauce that came with it tasted like slightly spicy ketchup. My wife's lamb rack had no color to it looking very grey and had absolutely no flavor. The ambiance is extremely lacking with nothing to look at in the drab curtained off cubical other than plain off white walls that are in need of paint. The seating and chairs at my little local diner are much more comfortable. Fine dining this is not. It is not even good food. For me the only thing accomplished was finding a restaurant that I do not want to eat at again. Sorry, I really hate leaving bad reviews-not sure I ever have. Rarely do I ever leave reviews, but this popped up on my open table email requesting a review and I have to be honest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We were saying at the Hotel and decided to stay close. Local people and our driver reccomended it as a place to go. We had a group of six, with two with food allergies . The service and food wer great. They made the accommodations for the food alergy, Every thing was first class.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day Brunch was AMAZING!! The food choices were well presented and appropriate. Our appetizers were delicious. The entrees were very hard to choose from b/c we knew they were all delicious. We thoroughly devoured our Shrimp N' Grits. The desserts ~ ALL THREE OF THEM ~ were FABULOUS!! It was a pleasure to experience Giardina's with my daughter, granddaughter & husband and as an added bonus we had a $50 Credit from The Alluvian. No matter ~ Giardina's is a special place especially to me b/c my best friend's mother, Mary Rose Giardina Graham, worked there until she was nearly 80 years old. We have enjoyed many visits, drinks, dinners and desserts over the years BUT ... Mother's Day 2017 is now my FAVORITE!! Ben, the music man from Vicksburg, was a special treat as well.

Our server was very personable, polite and knowledgeable. She was courteous, attentive and kind. Giardina's .... KUDOS to You!! ALSO .... the Yellow Roses were gorgeous and we delivered ours to Mary Rose Giardina Graham later Sunday afternoon. It was super special to her and to us.

Thank you for all the hard work, delicious food, fabulous service and most importantly, for making Mother's Day 2017 a ROARING SUCCESS!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday. We ordered th broiled shrimp and shrimp egg rolls which were both delicious. Three of us ordered hamburgers, and he ordered the manhattan. All were delicious. The chocolate chip cake and the delta delight were so good. The staff including Sara, queen, and mary holly made our night very special! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food and the service were great. It was a great atmosphere for a date.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I would next time ask for a booth! Queen was a fabulous waitress and made the whole evening unforgettable.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The food and service were wonderful, and the atmosphere was lovely.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Sara, the manager, greeted us at our arrivals and was very engaging and made us feel special. Our waitress was very helpful and friendly. I ordered the hamburger and Fries with a special request for egg on top. It was the best burger I have had in a while and the fresh cut and battered fries I am craving again. My husband got the bacon wrapped shrimp special and mashed potatoes. He liked it too as well as our cheesecake dessert. Great time and experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Excellent as always ==We eat here often. The filet is always good as is the fish of the day===I like mine with crabmeat and White wine sauce. I am Gluten Free and I rarely have any trouble. The seared Tuna Salad is good too---

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Bad service, waited 10-15 minutes to get our water refilled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Very good restaurant. Lots of history. This visit didn't meet our expectations not as good as previous visits

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I loved it. I carried my daughter out for her birthday. We had a great time and great food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had a lovely meal! We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Me & my husband really enjoyed this place for his birthday dinner. The food was amazing! The only thing I would recommend would be to our server. She was great when she was around but did not check on us as frequently as we needed to fill water glasses. Overall will be going back & had a wonderful time!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Unfortunately, disappointed on our first trip to the Alluvian and the restaurant. Steak was good but fish average and brussel sprouts were not that good. no flavor. did like the bread pudding!
and the hostess was almost rude when she called because running a little late. when got seated plenty of empty tables. doubt will make a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Steak was fantastic ! Apps were delicious
Atmosphere is great too

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

i have dined here several times and had positive experiences with great food. not this time-i was disappointed to say the least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Part of the experience of staying at the Alluvian hotel is to visit Giardina's. They have many private rooms with close-off curtains that can make for a romantic meal. Rooms can seat 2, 4, 6 or 8 people so can be used for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Private Room, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was wonderful but very disappointed in service. My husband ordered a beer as we were finishing appetizer and don't receive it until we were finishing our main course. I ordered a vodka tonic. It was too strong and I couldn't drink it. I requested additional tonic water when appetizer was served. Received it at end of meal. Was still unable to drink it. Waitress never asked how it was or for that matter how any of our food was. I was charged an additional $2 for the tonic water. Shouldn't have had to pay an additional charge to try to salvage an awful $10 drink.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Service was impeccable and food was super tasty!!! Would definitely recommend to others and plan on going back myself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 14, 2017

disappointed but also think we may have just hit it on a bad night, we came into town late and had made reservations as late as we could and it was the night before valentines although the reservations were made well in advance and they should have known we were coming, server was not very professional, staff were more worried about getting everything cleaned up and going home for the night, steak was good potato was cold

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We spent the weekend at the Alluvian Hotel, which was nice. However the restaurant was a huge disappointment. We were not greeted by a hostess and had to wait several minutes for her to show up. Then we were seated at the very worst table, which was in a doorway, despite having made our reservation several weeks in advance. We asked to move to a different table and were initially told that all the other tables were reserved. Finally the hostess agreed to move us. After that it was at least ten minutes before the server showed up. The rest of the evening continued to go south from there. They played one song, which was on a continuous loop, for at least 30 minutes. The drinks we ordered were not delivered in a timely fashion. In fact, would not have been brought at all if we hadn't asked about them. The server would disappear for 15 to 20 minutes at a time. As she came and went from the kitchen, we could hear her yelling at the kitchen staff. The desserts also took forever to be brought out. The only redeeming factors were that the food was well prepared and our server did deduct our drinks and desserts from the bill. I'm hoping that this was one bad night on their part because I don't know how you keep a AAA four Diamond rating with service like that.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Attractively designed with a # of cozey private booths, good variety of menu choices, small but reasonably priced wine list, service was good. Probably association with the Viking Cooking School & the Alluvian boutique hotel allows a small Mississippi town like Greenwood to support a restaurant that would be @ home in a larger city.

Tags: Authentic, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I love the Alluvian Hotel but Giardina's was disappointing. Ordered three dishes to share--the lamb and risotto was good, the other two dishes--shrimp scampi and sea bass were just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Oyster trio appetizer was fab. Bar b que shrimp was yummy. Loved the cozy private room--definitely romantic atmosphere! Bread pudding made for perfect ending to lovely evening. Will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

we eat there every time we are in greenwood. great food and good service

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This restaurant is in an amazing hotel and was a complete disappointment after a fabulous day! We ordered the broiled shrimp, they were completely drenched in Worcestershire sauce and tasted like i was liking the Worcestershire bottle.

Our waitress had no idea how to be a waitress.
The warm spinach salad was nice but the waitress asked us what kind of dressing we wanted on it and we were perplexed as the menu said the salad was dressed, so we ordered oil and vinegar. The salad came out overly dressed with the dressing mentioned in the menu description but the waitress also brought the oil and vinegar for the table?

We then ordered the Veal Piccata. It was TERRIBLE. nothing delicate about the veal or the breading on the outside. It was cooked as if it was chicken fried steak in a thick batter. There was zero lemon taste to the sauce and it had about 1,000 capers on the top. It was served with 5 FIVE noodles that had zero flavor.

This restaurant has potential and its in a great spot but the service and food need an OVERHAUL. Will not be spending time or money here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Service was amazing and food was done right, portions were more than ample to a point we could not even think of dessert. Recommend anytime if asked.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was as good as it always is great veal ,steak and fish-The service was exceptional ,we were blessed with a waitress named Queen and she was the "queen" of a waitress! She has the cutest personality and had the most positive attitude -she truly made the evening so special for our table! One night that we will always remember -we left feeling like royalty!!!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Service was great food was terrible not as good as it used to be been doing this dec 26 on anniversary for 9 years will not do again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great food, great service, great experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Historic, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 4, 2016

It was a good dining experience. The wait staff was excellent, setting very nice and food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The lamb and gnocchi should be added to the menu! It was amazing!!! Perfect night!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful meal and had excellent service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 29, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 30th anniversary here. We enjoyed the private rooms, as so many restaurants are loud these days. Also, our food was delicious and our server was friendly. I had the Stuffed Portobello Mushroom and my husband had the Gulf Fried Shrimp for appetizers. Both were excellent! For my entrée, I got the Angel Hair Pasta with grilled chicken and basil pesto sauce. My husband ordered the Lasagna. We thoroughly enjoyed our selections. I would definiitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wow what a terrible dinner-reservations at 8 was seated at 7:55 seen a waitress at 8:15 took order brought water with appetizer-smallest oysters I have ever seen they were the size of a quarter and very over cooked-finally got drinks and bread the waitress had a very bad attitude we had the feeling that we had been forgotten all night -finally our entree arrived steak over cooked and cold my wife's potatoes were cold as well -we were so looking forward to a great evening with friends-should have went to McDonald's it would have been so much better
This was one of the worse waitresses I have ever witnessed
BEWARE OF THIS RESTAURANT IT IS TERRIBLE!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Giardina's is consistently great quality food with good service. The atmosphere is private and quiet and a great place for a romantic evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 22, 2016

It was not great. More plain than I was expecting Was looking for more history, written trivia...something. Restaurant clean. The tables were plain, candle burned out and not replaced when asked.no pictures on the wall, felt like we were sitting in a cell. Waitress nice and pleasant, forgot to pack up our doggie bags. Thought the bill was too expensive for the food we ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 22, 2016

For an appetizer my wife and I split the oyster trio. Delicious. The Giardina Salad was yummy. My wife enjoyed her Shrimp Giardina. I had the 8 oz filet. I requested medium, but it was cooked well, but no matter how it was prepared, the quality of the filet was poor. I realize this is not Ruth Chris, but for $32, the filet could have been a better piece of beef. It was hardly melt in your mouth. I mentioned my disappointment to some friends that had recently dined at Giardina's and their comment about the filet echoed mine. I suggest management find a different beef supplier.
The service was great!
We love Giardina's and the wonderful Alluvian Hotel. I have recommended both to many. Please improve the quality of the beef.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Wonderful get away night with my wife. Food and service we're outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.