About Giardina's Restaurant

314 Howard Street
Greenwood, MS 38930
View Larger Map

Giardina's, one of the Mississippi Delta's most historic restaurants, was founded in 1936 by Joseph Giardina, in Greenwood, Mississippi. A unique blend of sophistication and warmth, Giardina's is the perfect setting for any event. Seating consists of fourteen private booths and the large dining room opens onto a beautiful courtyard. The restaurant's interior space and state-of-the-art kitchen were designed by world-renowned architects. Considerable effort was made to retain the character and charm of the original Giardina's, but the white tablecloths, fine crystal and premium Viking cutlery add the feeling of elegance one would expect from a fine dining restaurant in a large metropolitan area. Giardina's bar, reminiscent of a bygone era, features the same dark wood and tile of the restaurant while offering today's premium liquors, wines and liqueurs. Featuring steaks, seafood and Italian cuisine, Giardina's atmosphere is old world elegant but dress is laid-back "Delta casual.”

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Church Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 455-4227

Website:
http://www.giardinas.com/

Executive Chef:
Stevens Flagg

Private Party Facilities:
Yes

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wine

Giardina's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Mississippi
Neighborhood Gem
Mississippi
Romantic
Mississippi
3 More
Special Occasion
Mississippi
Steak
Mississippi
Most Booked
North Mississippi
Best Restaurants in Greenwood ›

special occasion (33)
romantic (31)
good for groups (19)
See All
fit for foodies (14)
notable wine list (13)
neighborhood gem (10)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for brunch (5)
late-night find (4)
hot spot (3)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
358 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Queen was an excellent server. Loved our ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Queen was an excellent server. Loved our food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really good and the private ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was really good and the private dining rooms are special. The service was great.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Filet

Dined on May 5, 2016

The filet was recommended by a friend-- we ordered it rare-med rare "Pittsburgh " style--peppered and seared--excellent. Salad was good but scant. Spinach souffle was good. Nice wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Average food that's over priced & slow service

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was average and over priced. Service was extremely slow. We had reservations for 6:30 and they weren't busy at the time we arrived. The restaurant seemed to pick up a little but they still weren't so busy that our service should have been as slow as it was. It was only two of us and we were there for two hours! I doubt I'd go back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Birthday Celebration

Dined on April 29, 2016

My sister and I took our mother for her birthday. The menu has a variety of food choices; all sounded delicious. We were not disappointed! The presentation of each selection was appealing to the eye and the palette. Our server, Queen was knowledgable of the food and the history of the restaurant. She made our night enjoyable and treated us like extended family. We were never rushed and allowed to have conversation as late as we wanted. It was a beautiful night! I am anxious to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

best steak in town

Dined on April 5, 2016

As usual, Giardina's comes through with the best steak around. This was a business dinner with out of town guests. Out of town people always really enjoy the history, setting, and amazing food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Memories

Dined on April 3, 2016

This restaurant will give you memories for many years. Booths are private and have great atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Greenwood's Pearl

Dined on April 2, 2016

Found this restaurant to be equal to anything in New Orleans or New York

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant!

Dined on March 13, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Giardina's last weekend. Nadia was a fabulous waitress!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Greenwood Gem!

Dined on March 12, 2016

My wife and I stayed at the Alluvian for a weekend away. The Viking cooking class on Friday was great, the spa throughout the weekend, and ending up at Giardina's Saturday was a perfect finish. We both were in the mood for pasta. I got the shrimp scampi (wonderful) and she got something else (?). The bread pudding was a fantastic finish. Really impressed with this joint!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Amazing food, as always! Service was hor ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Amazing food, as always! Service was horrible. I hate not feeling welcome or as a bother

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have been many times and always enjoy ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

We have been many times and always enjoy the atmosphere and food. Will definitely be back

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect for special occasion

Dined on February 28, 2016

Quiet and romantic, very good food and wine. It helped make our special occasion memorable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service

Dined on February 20, 2016

Food was very good. The waitress was very helpful, friendly, and smiling , which always put the patron in a relaxed mood.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly superlative dining experience

Dined on February 20, 2016

This was our second visit to Guardina's. They offer delicious entrees, salads, and the homemade gelato is pretty hard to beat as a way to finish off a meal. The blackened tuna salad was Perfectly seasoned and not overcooked. Service is second to none, and the waitstaff is most attentive. I'll gladly return the next time a special occasion comes up.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Good hotel restaurant

Dined on February 9, 2016

We were staying at the hotel in which Giardina's is located. It was acold very windy evening and it was nice not to have to go out to enjoy a good meal. The restaurant is mostly individual cubicles with a curtain to give privacy. The diners in the cubicles around us were so loud that we felt shut out instead of private. Perhaps with quieter neighbors it would have had a different feel. The service was excellent the food a little above average. I suggest sticking to the Italian dishes. The items we ordered that were not Italian were a little below average. The wine list is impressive and the restaurant is exceptionally clean and when you're not shut off in your private cubicle you can look through the pictures decorating the walls which detail the history of the area. Suggest the restaurant open up a little more space and offer fewer cubicles. Would probably eat here again on a blustery night.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great gathering place

Dined on February 6, 2016

This is wonderful place to meet friends for drinks or dinner. Bartenders are able to craft anything you desire and the setting, either in the bar or the lobby of the hotel, to enjoy those drinks allows conversation without raising your voice. That's a plus! Food is always good and service is also but earlier is better since the kitchen can get behind if there are large parties. Great place to go in Greenwood

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Poor Service

Dined on January 31, 2016

There were bread plates on the table, but no bread ever came. We didn't get any wine, but they left the wine glasses on the table. For being a supposed fancy restaurant, we were not well attended to. Our water glasses were often empty, and while we were in a private booth with a curtain, each time our server left and closed the curtain she never closed it all the way. We then got the bread pudding to go, and they brought us the dessert, but did not include any silverware. When we asked for silverware and said none was included, they were not apologetic in anyway. We were celebrating our anniversary and they knew that; we were told happy anniversary once, and it wasn't until after we paid and were leaving. Overall, for being a nice restaurant I felt like I was being rushed the entire time, and wasn't appreciated as a customer.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Rushed

Dined on January 1, 2016

Enjoyed it except we couldn't relax at all. Sat down at 6. By the time we got settled. Ordered drinks and was served the drinks our waitress informed us we would need to order soon because the next reservation was 7:30. Quite the downer to a relaxing evening we had planned for a solid month with family from out of town. It was in no way the waitresses fault. She was great. It was obviously the way the restaurant was being managed that evening...our family enjoyed the food but not the rush

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Quality

Dined on December 29, 2015

The taste and quality was wonderful for all items ordered (oysters, steak, shrimp, etc.). The Giardina sauce was amazing. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere is very quaint and throwb ...

Dined on December 19, 2015

The atmosphere is very quaint and throwback to a year gone by. The food was excellent and the wait staff never left us with a need

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Over rated

Dined on December 19, 2015

We were in the last room by the kitchen and you could hear all the arguments and conversations in the kitchen as if we were sitting with the cooks. My wife had a steak and it was very good I had the chicken that was on the dry side and lacked flavor. Sides all cost extra and were average in tast but above average in price. The waiter was very attentive. The Krystal grill is in my opinion food wise at the same level but a much better value. I don't drink spirits so I cannot comment on the bar or wine selection. To sum it up I'm glad I went but I don't believe I would go back

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Delta Gem

Dined on November 21, 2015

Private small individual dinning rooms are great for small group. We had 4 couples and had a blast while enjoying some great food and drink.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary

Dined on November 14, 2015

Stayed at the Alluvian Hotel in which Giardina's is located. Private booth dining with curtains. Light dimmer switch and server call button included. Very nice old south experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience!

Dined on November 14, 2015

My husband and I went here for a birthday dinner and enjoyed it so much we had to go back! The waitess was very attentive. The head chef came to speak to us several times to check on the meal and the drinks. Their beer list is good and their wine list is amazing. I personally enjoyed their hand crafted cocktails and menu specialty item! Delicious and PERFECT for a date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Open House Night

Dined on November 13, 2015

Busy. Service slow. Hostesses helped servers. Great team player. Gave us a glass of wine to make up for slow service. Will go back. Great local historic location

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Road trip through Mississippi

Dined on November 10, 2015

The food and service were excellent. Would make a trip back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience!

Dined on November 8, 2015

From the time we walked in until the time we walked out it was nothing less than a great experience. The Staff was great the food was wonderful and the Ambiance was amazing. We got to meet Chef Stevens and had a great conversation with him. You its are doing it right there. Thanks for the great experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great romantic time with wife for her birthday.

Dined on November 8, 2015

The shrimp appetizer was great. We ordered 6 of the oyster Bienville that were also very good. I love the comeback sauce but a little strong for my salad. My wife had the filet and she said it was excellent. I had the scallops and grits. Very good but a little too rich for me. Overall we had a great meal and time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3

Food quality was dissapointing.

Dined on October 24, 2015

Overall food quality was dissapointing. Pricing was high. Service was good.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great date night

Dined on October 3, 2015

Such a unique dining experience in a private booth. Food was fantastic and reasonably priced. Wonderful service. We will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

A friend and I went to Greenwood for a s ...

Dined on September 18, 2015

A friend and I went to Greenwood for a seminar so we made a reservation. The food was great and the atmosphere was exactly what we were looking for to just sit and catch up. Great dining experience!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience1
service4

Restaurant

Dined on September 8, 2015

First, chairs are most uncomfortable for those with back problems. Suggest improved (upscale) chairs with more padding or a "booth configuration" option. Walls need updated painting. Same with wall pictures. Overall booth appearance is not on same level as hotel rooms or what one would expect to find in restaurant at this price point. Not in sync with expectations!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

Better than expected

vip
Dined on September 5, 2015

First time in this restaurant (and in greenwood). Charming place. Has a lot of character. Food was better than we expected. Lamb chops were superb. Ribeye was very good but not great. Catfish cakes: average (thus did not get 5 stars). Dessert was a yellow cake which was delicious. Would definitely go back if it wasn't that far.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience1
service5

It was TOO quiet!

Dined on August 28, 2015

Great server but not the best ambience! We would have liked maybe a little more "fun" for a friday night.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place

Dined on August 8, 2015

Great food and service. Would recommend for dinner and special occasions.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

August 1

Dined on August 2, 2015

As usual, we thoroughly enjoyed Giardina's. The adjoining Alluvian Hotel always makes for a lively bar and social scene. If you can manage to stay at the hotel you are assured of a late night lively atmosphere after dinner at a great restaurant. We generally stay away from fried foods, but when at a restaurant like Giardina's the fried shrimp and oysters cannot be missed. We were not disappointed as both were cooked to perfection. Additionally, the broiled scallops were exceptional. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

We love this place...

Dined on August 1, 2015

My husband loves everything on the menu. I am a picky eater and I was so glad to see more things added to the menu that I like. My fav is the boom-boom shrimp which is a Chef's special.. (Not on menu) steaks are always delicious and any pasta. Great quite little booths with friendly wait staff.. Hot tamales are also good! Go and eat and find out for your self.....

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I ate here recently for ...

Dined on July 25, 2015

My husband and I ate here recently for my birthday celebration, and we thoroughly enjoyed the entire dining experience. No reason to drive to Jackson or Memphis!!! The experience at Gardinia's equals and exceeds some of the larger town establishments.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Very nice restaruant

Dined on July 18, 2015

Steak was the best. Cooked perfectly and very tender. The private dining experience is very nice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.