About Giardina's Restaurant

314 Howard Street
Greenwood, MS 38930
View Larger Map

Giardina's, one of the Mississippi Delta's most historic restaurants, was founded in 1936 by Joseph Giardina, in Greenwood, Mississippi. A unique blend of sophistication and warmth, Giardina's is the perfect setting for any event. Seating consists of fourteen private booths and the large dining room opens onto a beautiful courtyard. The restaurant's interior space and state-of-the-art kitchen were designed by world-renowned architects. Considerable effort was made to retain the character and charm of the original Giardina's, but the white tablecloths, fine crystal and premium Viking cutlery add the feeling of elegance one would expect from a fine dining restaurant in a large metropolitan area. Giardina's bar, reminiscent of a bygone era, features the same dark wood and tile of the restaurant while offering today's premium liquors, wines and liqueurs. Featuring steaks, seafood and Italian cuisine, Giardina's atmosphere is old world elegant but dress is laid-back "Delta casual.”

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Church Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 455-4227

Website:
http://www.giardinas.com/

Executive Chef:
Stevens Flagg

Private Party Facilities:
Yes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Giardina's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Mississippi
Special Occasion
Mississippi
Steak
Mississippi
6 More
Best Overall
North Mississippi
Best Food
North Mississippi
Best Service
North Mississippi
Best Ambiance
North Mississippi
Best Value
North Mississippi
Most Booked
North Mississippi
Best Restaurants in Greenwood ›

Special Occasion (14)
Private Room (13)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
See All
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Romantic (9)
Worth the Drive (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Casual (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Historic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
385 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was a good dining experience. The wa ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 4, 2016

It was a good dining experience. The wait staff was excellent, setting very nice and food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The lamb and gnocchi should be added to ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The lamb and gnocchi should be added to the menu! It was amazing!!! Perfect night!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a wonderful meal and had exce ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful meal and had excellent service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our 30th ann ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 29, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 30th anniversary here. We enjoyed the private rooms, as so many restaurants are loud these days. Also, our food was delicious and our server was friendly. I had the Stuffed Portobello Mushroom and my husband had the Gulf Fried Shrimp for appetizers. Both were excellent! For my entrée, I got the Angel Hair Pasta with grilled chicken and basil pesto sauce. My husband ordered the Lasagna. We thoroughly enjoyed our selections. I would definiitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow what a terrible dinner-reservations ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wow what a terrible dinner-reservations at 8 was seated at 7:55 seen a waitress at 8:15 took order brought water with appetizer-smallest oysters I have ever seen they were the size of a quarter and very over cooked-finally got drinks and bread the waitress had a very bad attitude we had the feeling that we had been forgotten all night -finally our entree arrived steak over cooked and cold my wife's potatoes were cold as well -we were so looking forward to a great evening with friends-should have went to McDonald's it would have been so much better

This was one of the worse waitresses I have ever witnessed

BEWARE OF THIS RESTAURANT IT IS TERRIBLE!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Giardina's is consistently great quality ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Giardina's is consistently great quality food with good service. The atmosphere is private and quiet and a great place for a romantic evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

For an appetizer my wife and I split the ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 22, 2016

For an appetizer my wife and I split the oyster trio. Delicious. The Giardina Salad was yummy. My wife enjoyed her Shrimp Giardina. I had the 8 oz filet. I requested medium, but it was cooked well, but no matter how it was prepared, the quality of the filet was poor. I realize this is not Ruth Chris, but for $32, the filet could have been a better piece of beef. It was hardly melt in your mouth. I mentioned my disappointment to some friends that had recently dined at Giardina's and their comment about the filet echoed mine. I suggest management find a different beef supplier.

The service was great!

We love Giardina's and the wonderful Alluvian Hotel. I have recommended both to many. Please improve the quality of the beef.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

It was not great. More plain than I was ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 22, 2016

It was not great. More plain than I was expecting Was looking for more history, written trivia...something. Restaurant clean. The tables were plain, candle burned out and not replaced when asked.no pictures on the wall, felt like we were sitting in a cell. Waitress nice and pleasant, forgot to pack up our doggie bags. Thought the bill was too expensive for the food we ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Wonderful get away night with my wife. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Wonderful get away night with my wife. Food and service we're outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived late in the evening because t ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We arrived late in the evening because there was an available option for a reservation of 9pm. This time worked well for us due to us coming in from out of town (4 hrs away) and my brother chose this restaurant to celebrate his birthday as he's been excited to try it for months now. When we received our food, there was so much pepper in my pasta primavera I couldn't even eat it, almost as if it was spilled on accident into my meal. And nothing on the menu description mentioned it being heavily peppered. However, my mother said the meatballs in her spaghetti were also extremely peppery where she was also unable to eat them. We asked for bread and were told by our waitress that "because we came so late" it was all hard and she didn't think we would want it. There were several times where it was mentioned that items weren't available or that we should go ahead and order almost immediately after we were seated due to the kitchen closing soon. We stayed only long enough to eat our meal and felt rushed to leave. We weren't there over 40 minutes. I write this to suggest that the reservation of 9 & 9:30pm be removed so that no one else has this same experience. This lovely spot seems like it has the potential to be a wonderful experience. However, that was our first time to visit and it was less than desirable. Hopefully others will have a better experience than we did while trying to celebrate my brother's special day.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

Had a reservation at 9 on Friday night. ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Had a reservation at 9 on Friday night. We were greeted by a very friendly host and had a truly outstanding experience. We had steak and grouper. From the wine list, appetizers, hot tamales, to the salad, entree and desert, this place is top shelf.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great experience that capped a ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was a great experience that capped a great weekend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The experience we had at Giardina's will ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 14, 2016

The experience we had at Giardina's will assure our return for a future meal. The gumbo was excellent and they actually blackened the tuna on the salad that I ordered (instead to f just sprinkling it with generic Cajun seasoning). It's so good to have such an excellent fine dining locale here in Greenwood. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were having a joint wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We were having a joint wedding anniversary celebration with another couple. The food at Giardinia's is excellent and our waitress was most accommodating. The individual rooms with curtains make for an intimate, private evening. This was not our first Giardinia's experience and we will continue to go, certainly for special occasions, since it is a bit pricey!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Our server was very nice. The red fish t ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our server was very nice. The red fish that we both had was over cooked. The dessert was the best part of the meal. Service was good but meal was poor. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

While I would give our dining experience ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 28, 2016

While I would give our dining experience at Giardina's a 4 overall, I will say what was a disappointment was that once we were seated it took about 25 minutes before our waiter came by our booth. Once our waiter finally showed up, his service was prompt and the food was extraordinary. I think the way the tables are set up, it might be easy to unknowingly ignore a guest. Also the guests in the booth in front of us were very loud. Otherwise it was a great experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Good food. Nice atmosphere and great ser ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Good food. Nice atmosphere and great service. Would have liked to have had things salted a bit better.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our experience was wonderful! Loved the ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our experience was wonderful! Loved the food and our waiter.

She was pleasant and took her time. She also was very sweet to my 3 year old and took her time explaining items on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a party of 7. Enjoyed it thorough ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a party of 7. Enjoyed it thoroughly. Great food. Great service.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak I've ever had and my girlfrie ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Best steak I've ever had and my girlfriend always gets some type of pasta and loves it- atmosphere is great for a date and the quality of the food and the expirience far outweighs the price

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The atmosphere was fantastic and the foo ...

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The atmosphere was fantastic and the food was out of this world. The best shrimp and grits I've ever had. Our waitress was very nice but did not check on us to see if we needed anything. We would have loved more drinks and dessert. Again, the food was outstanding, so I will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Very attentive staff

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Very attentive staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience - s ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 16, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience - so much so that we had dinner there on Friday and Saturday night!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was great, overpriced, but great. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Steak was great, overpriced, but great. Their specialty cake was yellow cake mix with pecans in it and ice cream on top. Not sure what makes this a specialty. The calamari was decent. Baked oysters good. Eggplant parmesan was embarassing. Huge hunks, like 1 1/2-2 inches thick, of eggplant that were battered and deep fried. The center of the eggplant was still somewhat raw. Maybe this is an eggplant Mississippi thing but Italian it is not. Service is decent. Our bill was wrong, twice, but she was super nice. Definitely will not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

I was extremely disappointed in my dinin ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 12, 2016

I was extremely disappointed in my dining experience except for "Queen" who was a fantastic server. The food was not good at all, and the way they have the tables set up in individual rooms was way too weird for me personally. Not a good experience at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

We've always made a special trip to Giar ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 3, 2016

We've always made a special trip to Giardina's when in greenwood. This was a huge disappointment. Loud noises from the kitchen, a waitress with an "I don't care" attitude, and just passable food! They need to get their act back together again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Great for couples or special night out. ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great for couples or special night out. Variety of menu selections to meet all tastes & desires including nightly specials. Nice option for private dining as well but need to request with reservations.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Queen was an excellent server. Loved our ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Queen was an excellent server. Loved our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was really good and the private ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was really good and the private dining rooms are special.

The service was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Filet

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 5, 2016

The filet was recommended by a friend-- we ordered it rare-med rare "Pittsburgh " style--peppered and seared--excellent. Salad was good but scant. Spinach souffle was good. Nice wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Average food that's over priced & slow service

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was average and over priced. Service was extremely slow. We had reservations for 6:30 and they weren't busy at the time we arrived. The restaurant seemed to pick up a little but they still weren't so busy that our service should have been as slow as it was. It was only two of us and we were there for two hours! I doubt I'd go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Birthday Celebration

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2016

My sister and I took our mother for her birthday. The menu has a variety of food choices; all sounded delicious. We were not disappointed! The presentation of each selection was appealing to the eye and the palette.

Our server, Queen was knowledgable of the food and the history of the restaurant. She made our night enjoyable and treated us like extended family. We were never rushed and allowed to have conversation as late as we wanted.

It was a beautiful night!

I am anxious to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

best steak in town

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 5, 2016

As usual, Giardina's comes through with the best steak around. This was a business dinner with out of town guests. Out of town people always really enjoy the history, setting, and amazing food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Memories

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 3, 2016

This restaurant will give you memories for many years. Booths are private and have great atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Greenwood's Pearl

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Found this restaurant to be equal to anything in New Orleans or New York

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant!

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 13, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Giardina's last weekend. Nadia was a fabulous waitress!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Greenwood Gem!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2016

My wife and I stayed at the Alluvian for a weekend away. The Viking cooking class on Friday was great, the spa throughout the weekend, and ending up at Giardina's Saturday was a perfect finish. We both were in the mood for pasta. I got the shrimp scampi (wonderful) and she got something else (?). The bread pudding was a fantastic finish. Really impressed with this joint!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing food, as always! Service was hor ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 9, 2016

Amazing food, as always! Service was horrible. I hate not feeling welcome or as a bother

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

We have been many times and always enjoy ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 4, 2016

We have been many times and always enjoy the atmosphere and food. Will definitely be back

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Perfect for special occasion

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Quiet and romantic, very good food and wine. It helped make our special occasion memorable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.