About Gianni's

South Beach’s most exceptional experience awaits you at Gianni's, an event space, restaurant and boutique hotel, The Villa, Casa Casuarina, once the former Versace Mansion. The storied historic location couples with attentive personalized service for a unique Miami Beach experience.

1116 Ocean Drive
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Sunday: 6pm - Closing
Closed on Mondays
Available for lunches and events 7 days per week for catered events. Contact the Director of Catering and Events at 786-485-2200.

Cross Street:
Between 12th and 11th Streets on Ocean Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(786) 485-2200

Website:
http://www.giannisristorante.com/

Catering:
Catered Events can be organized to suit any occasion in the historic atmosphere of The Villa, Casa Casuarina, the former Versace Mansion, for up to 300 persons.

Parking Details:
Valet parking. There is also street parking and garages in the immediate area.

Public Transit:
Several bus stops one block west on Collins Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Stewart

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Can be arranged with The Villa Director of Catering and Events. Inquire at 786-485-2200.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 7:00PM - 11:45PM

Tue - Thu 7:00PM - 11:45PM

Private Dining

With private dining options for groups from 2 to 30, the former Versace Mansion provides Miami's most elegant surroundings for private dining, whether a corporate gathering, a celebration or a romantic dinner for two.

Gianni's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (51)
Special Occasion (42)
Historic (33)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Good for a Date (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Scenic View (16)
Notable Wine List (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Authentic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Fun (7)
Private Room (7)
Business Meals (7)
People Watching (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Waterfront (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Cozy (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (2)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

if you are going just to see the Versace ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

if you are going just to see the Versace mansion then for sure go. But otherwise not worth it, food was average and service was not that accommodating. Not really a comfortable place to dine, feels very uptight but the pool area is beautiful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Overrated. If you don't mind spending a ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Overrated. If you don't mind spending a fortune to see the inside of the mansion then I would recommend reserving a table but the food was mediocre at best. I was very disappointed with the service as well. Our food wasn't cooked properly and no efforts were made to improve our dining experience. I'm sad to report I think they are relying heavily on their stunning location and doing very little to create a dining experience that reflects the surroundings. We were celebrating my 40th birthday as well as our five year anniversary... despite being advised of this on numerous occasions... no mention was made of our special evening upon our arrival or at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Set in the stunning former home of Giann ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Set in the stunning former home of Gianni Versace....although the interior is looking a little shabby nowadays.....service is very good but food was dull and bland.....VERY, VERY OVERPRICED....good to go once but will not return!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Perfect restaurant. Very private meals w ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Perfect restaurant. Very private meals with great service and atmosphere. Awesome food too!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was so dessapointed about the food.... ...

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

I was so dessapointed about the food.... No good @ all

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

Over all the Mansion was great, food was ...

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

Over all the Mansion was great, food was good drinks were perfect and hand made the decore was one to see and people working were all helpful and attentive. I would defiantly take people there to try it in the future

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Casual, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Private Room, Scenic View, Cozy, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The only way to see the Versace mansion ...

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

The only way to see the Versace mansion is to stay in the hotel or buy a meal. It was neat to see inside and the food was good. However, the meal and especially the wine/cocktails are overpriced.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We were very much looking forward to din ...

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

We were very much looking forward to dinner at Gianni's mostly due to the fact that it is located in the Versace mansion. We were VERY disappointed and I am not hard to please. The staff was very pretentious, ignored our table and practically served and gave us our check in less than an hour. Perhaps this was because I brought my 21 year old daughter and we did not order a $1,200 bottle of wine. They forgot to bring an appetizer and instead of doing so, suggested we just cancel it. There was a dirty cat walking around which is fine in the streets of Italy but not at a supposedly 5 star restaurant. The food portions were small and nothing special. I would only recommend it so that you can see the Versace courtyard. Ther are so many other fabulous places to eat in Miami so you can cancel this one off your list. By the way, the place was practically empty, so perhaps others already aware of this information.

Tags: Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

I was expecting a lot from this Restaura ...

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

I was expecting a lot from this Restaurant; Italian cuisine in former Gianni Versace's house..!

IT HAS BEEN A DISASTER!!!

At the arrival with the car no valet attending us! I had to walk inside the restaurant to call for a valet to park my Jaguar F! Suddenly came the valet he just enter the car moving it for 30 cm and cashing 20 dollars... after 5 minutes I had to go back to the car because the doors were left open and the light were still on....!!!

At the entrance of the restaurant the hostess ( very badly dressed and uncombed but at least friendly ) found my reservation and she accompanied us to the table..., our table was in the indoor room a nicely decorated room, NOT THE TABLE SETTING... glass ware very cheap, different lines of cutlery and poor table clothing.

There were other 3 tables dining at our arrival , all the 3 waiters looked a bit overwhelmed by their duties, only the joungest waiter seemed to be on top of his duties.

We had two starters one pasta dish to share and two main courses, accompanied by a well chilled bottle of Italian white wine.

The food isn't at all Italian the chef in sure he never spent one day in Italy , avarega presentation of the plates and very very average the creativity and the taste.

We payed around 350 usd for two people, not that expensive but surely too much for what we experienced.

Once leaving the restaurant the hostess just weren't at the entrance anymore we left Gianni's on our own with a bitter feeling; we will never go back.

What a petty Gianni Versace house became such a mediocre restautant.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Amazing experience. What a lovely atmosp ...

 
·Dined on January 9, 2017

Amazing experience. What a lovely atmosphere and ambiance. Beautiful decor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place is beautiful. There is art eve ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

The place is beautiful. There is art everywhere. However, beginning from the hostess, the service was horrible. The waiter was definitely appropriate to a place like that. When the food arrived, they had had no idea who ordered what and where asking who ordered the fish? The Brussels sprouts? It was even funny to see how disorganized they were. We ordered dessert and a soda and 15 min after, when we asked the waiter where the dessert and soda was he said ohhh! I will find out. He totally forgot about! It took another 15 min to arrive. Horrible. On the positive side, the food is amazing. I am glad I went once but definitely not going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Very nice historic mansion, a bit pricey ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Very nice historic mansion, a bit pricey, but worth it for a special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

great! the food the aesthetic of the pla ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

great! the food the aesthetic of the place was everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A phenomenal dinner experience from star ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

A phenomenal dinner experience from start to finish. You can feel the history and decadence from the second you walk in the door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

5 stars all around. I love the place, it ...

 
·Dined on January 4, 2017

5 stars all around. I love the place, it's a tradition for my family to come and dine at least once a year. Everything from the food to service is five star. The history and property itself is absolutely gorgeous. Top of the line all around!!!!

Tags: Private Room, Scenic View, Historic, Fun, , Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was fantastic and The ser ...

 
·Dined on January 4, 2017

The atmosphere was fantastic and The service amazing. Now, The food was good especially The veal with tuna mayo as a starter. Great flavours. For main course i had The T-BONE steak it was really Nice done. However The sideorder truffle potato puré was not that good. It was more or less ordinary mashed potatoes. No particulary taste and The texture way too dry to be a puré. The desert was good but way to big you could easily had half of it for one person. The surroundings perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our first dinner at Gianni's an ...

 
·Dined on January 4, 2017

This was our first dinner at Gianni's and the staff was very friendly, especially our server Antonia who is lovely and is an absolute credit to the establishment. The ambiance was wonderful. We were offered a choice between the quieter front dining room, or a poolside table. We chose a table right by the pool which was perfect and we took plenty of photos with none of the resistance to that activity other reviewers have described (in some reviews). In fact, the staff obliged us by taking several of those photos. We dined at several of SB's choice venues during our stay. If you appreciate Spanish revival architecture and an authentic European Mediterranean feel I don't think you can beat Gianni's for setting, location and ambiance in SB. The food was tasty, beautifully cooked and presented - especially the desserts. I will certainly return. They could improve the wine list availability and the somewhat bland crockery, but overall this is a value for a dining experience you won't forget.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but one dish was cold and ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was good but one dish was cold and sides were very late, we complained and received free champagne yet still disappointed with the restaurant portion. beautiful place and unique ambiance.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

It's wonderful no tourist trap the food ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

It's wonderful no tourist trap the food was very good 👍👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place , where do I begin, the ambia ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

This place , where do I begin, the ambiance the service and the food is amazing !!!! Literally the best place I went on south beach !!! Gianni Versace would be very proud one word "Lovely" 💕💕💕💕💕

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is worth visiting this place, the for ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

It is worth visiting this place, the former house of late Gianni Versace. Typical Italian cuisine, efficient service, unique eambience

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was excellent, it exceeded my ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Everything was excellent, it exceeded my expectations.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Gianni's was not what I expected but it ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Gianni's was not what I expected but it wasn't bad at all. The food was mediocre but the drinks were amazing. The service was great and so was the staff. Its a must visit, dining in the Versace mansion! Overall 4 out of 5 stars!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the ribeye and it was delicious! P ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

I had the ribeye and it was delicious! Perfectly medium rare. My husband had the filet mignon (medium) and unfortunately, as he got to the end of it, he noticed it was closer to a rare/medium rare. They offered to re-cook the three bites he had left but it just seemed silly. The ambiance was beautiful. There were two things that stood out to us. 1. There are no cameras allowed (cell phones, yes but no "cameras" - we didn't know this) -seeing it was Christmas Eve, we were taking pictures. The hostess wanted to confiscate the camera. We refused and said we will keep it with us and not take anymore pictures (we didn't take any more pictures on the camera) the hostess threatened to send the manager. We said ok. Manager never came for that. 2. We were done with our dinner and were lingering over dessert when we saw the staff start to move and pack up the tables. The restaurant was mostly empty but there were still a couple tables eating their entrees. Unfortunately, these two instances soured the our experience. It should have could have been wonderful, but it wasn't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

Not worth the money. We believe there i ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Not worth the money. We believe there is too much hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I am vegan and told the host about my di ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

I am vegan and told the host about my dietary preferences when I confirmed the reservation.... The kitchen was supposed to be notified about it... But was not.

The waiter told me they don't have any vegan options except for the salad and that the chef would not make anything that was not on the menu since the kitchen was busy. I had to push back and was finally able to get a vegan risotto. The serving staff did not smile almost at all the entire evening....

My family loved their food, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Restaurant is beautiful inside, food was ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Restaurant is beautiful inside, food was distinctive and outstanding. Service was gracious, and server was charming and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend this restaurant for a memorable experience. It is a bit expensive, but reasonable considering the location and overall quality.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated my sister's birthday and it w ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

Celebrated my sister's birthday and it was an awesome and great experience. I love the mansion because of its historical background and its cozy. For more pictures of the place, visit my instagram @kjgz. Awesome!!!

Tags: Healthy, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, , Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Private Room, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

So I decided to select this restaurant t ...

 
·Dined on December 19, 2016

So I decided to select this restaurant to propose to my now new fiance. With the mansions deep history and breath-taking classy Miami architecture the service there was outstanding one of the most impressive staff that I have seen in a while and I would like to give Mrs. Nikolina a special Bravo - Zulu for being apart of the proposal she was extremely helpful and was very discreet with the process. She also provided professional qualities with her services, she was pleasant and polite and just a all around outstanding waitress. As far as the food, great food along with decent presentation, however, the portions should be bigger especially the lamp chops that way you can get a bang for you buck. Overall I rate this place with a 4.5 star rating. And btw not trying to brag but I did make history there by having a posted picture of our engagement!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our 4th dinner at Giannis. Unf ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was our 4th dinner at Giannis. Unfortunately, we didn't feel that the food was as special as in the past. My shrimp was undercooked and uninspiring. My wife had fish that was good but not great. We also felt that the portions were smaller than in the past.

At this restaurant, all the food should be great! The atmosphere is definitely something special and for that, it is worth the trip. Unfortunately the service was simply adequate. The hostess seemed to have an attitude reminding us that we were "not allowed to leave the first floor." It's how you deliver the message that the upper floors are a hotel. I'm not sure we will return as we don't feel that the price we paid was worth the entire dining experience and there are .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Definitely a place worth going to for th ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

Definitely a place worth going to for the historical significance. The food was very good. Service was very good, along with menu. They were very low on their lower priced wines - which were still not low priced. The waiter came by 3 times to say they were out of 3 different $200 bottles of wine.

It smelled a bit musty, likely from age of building and humidity, but we had a lovely, memorable dinner.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Place is really outstanding. The food wa ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

Place is really outstanding. The food was good. Pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Casa Casuarina is unique and beautiful - ...

 
·Dined on December 8, 2016

Casa Casuarina is unique and beautiful - what an utter shame that the restaurant is so horrible. Gianni's is quite simply, nothing more than a tourist trap. The food is awful, the wait staff is a bunch of kids with no experience and only a marginal proficiency in English. I had to ask three separate people for some cracked red pepper before I found someone who understood what I was saying. There is no "presentation" - my friend ordered baby lamb chops - and what came out were three lamb chops on a white plate and a white bowl of lumpy mashed potatoes next to it (poor Gianni Versace must be rolling over in his grave). I had something they called "Orecchiette Verdi" - which the menu said was “Broccolini, italian sausage, garlic, lemon, pecorino romano." When it came, it was Orecchiette pasta (overcooked) soaked in some pasty and unidentifiable red sauce, with big slices of sausage and huge pieces of broccolini with big stems that were so under cooked you could barely chew through them. When I asked the waiter - some nice young girl who knew nothing about wait service – “why is there a red sauce on my broccoli rabe?” - she retrieved some guy from the kitchen who said the red sauce was some kind of red pepper sauce. Who puts a red pepper sauce (it tasted more like a tomato based sauce) on broccoli rabe (and moreover, doesn't even disclose that on the menu).

Want some wine - perhaps a glass of champagne as an aperitif to start? A bottle of Veuve Clicquot Brut "Yellow Label" - which sells for about $50 bucks in a liquor store (and which they probably buy for much less) was $155 for a bottle or $24 for a glass.

Prior to Gianni's we had dinner a Juvia, Villa Azur and Il Gabbiano (three ultra top notch restaurants - great food beautifully presented - professional wait staff - great ambiance) so Gianni's was a huge letdown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

This Location is one of the best i ve ev ...

 
·Dined on December 5, 2016

This Location is one of the best i ve ever seen

Gianni was a genius. The Gardenpool is gorgeous and the meal too.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful house, but the restaurant it's ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Beautiful house, but the restaurant it's incredible for the italian people! 🙈🙊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

I could not have picked a better place i ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

I could not have picked a better place in Miami to have my 40th birthday dinner. The staff,the food and the scenery without a doubt the best I had in Miami. I will return soon.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed my visit and meal, well worth ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

I enjoyed my visit and meal, well worth the time & money. Ambiance and the history is obviously the reason we eat here so sit outside near the pool. Food was great also i had the Wagyu steak, Medium.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience was Fabulous! The Food was ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

The ambience was Fabulous! The Food was Amazing along with the wonderful service by the wait staff. Clearly this is the best restaurant I've Experienced I'n South Beach. For those of you who want that dining experience I highly recommend this establishment. My entire dinner party was in awe! Bravo!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a little disappointed when we we ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

We were a little disappointed when we were told no pictures were allowed. However the place is beautiful but a little overpriced.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

From the service to the food, absolutely ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

From the service to the food, absolutely amazing!! The only complaint I have is the choice of music and ads… growing up Gianni being my favorite designer, it was a true experience for me!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.