Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi

About Gianni's

South Beach’s most exceptional experience awaits you at Gianni's, an event space, restaurant and boutique hotel, The Villa, Casa Casuarina, once the former Versace Mansion. The storied historic location couples with attentive personalized service for a unique Miami Beach experience.

1116 Ocean Drive
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Sunday: 6pm - Closing
Closed on Mondays
Available for lunches and events 7 days per week for catered events. Contact the Director of Catering and Events at 786-485-2200.

Cross Street:
Between 12th and 11th Streets on Ocean Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(786) 485-2200

Website:
http://www.giannisristorante.com/

Catering:
Catered Events can be organized to suit any occasion in the historic atmosphere of The Villa, Casa Casuarina, the former Versace Mansion, for up to 300 persons.

Parking Details:
Valet parking. There is also street parking and garages in the immediate area.

Public Transit:
Several bus stops one block west on Collins Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Stewart

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Can be arranged with The Villa Director of Catering and Events. Inquire at 786-485-2200.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 7:00PM - 11:45PM

Tue - Thu 7:00PM - 11:45PM

Private Dining

With private dining options for groups from 2 to 30, the former Versace Mansion provides Miami's most elegant surroundings for private dining, whether a corporate gathering, a celebration or a romantic dinner for two.

Gianni's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (69)
Romantic (68)
Good for a Date (59)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Historic (47)
Great for Outdoor Dining (41)
Scenic View (33)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Authentic (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
People Watching (18)
Good for Groups (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Cozy (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Modern Decor (7)
Waterfront (7)
Private Room (7)
Business Meals (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Fun (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Comfort Food (3)
Casual (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Family Style (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
410 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing experience. The atmosphere is perfect for dating

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was okay. Service was fine but they put all the people that they don't approve of in the "dining room". Overall I was very underwhelmed. Pretty disappointing.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

WOW!!!
Winner don't even think of going anywhere else if you want a romantic dinner or taking anyone out to impress for business.
Everything amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Valet parking was a nightmare; we asked several people how to valet & no one was sure on what the procedures were. We were 1st told to park directly in front of the restaurant but once we parked there the valet attendant told us that was wrong & we actually had to park almost 2 blocks down. Hostess was extremely rude, she got frustrated immediately with my father just because he was trying to get clear directions on how to use the valet service. & by frustrated I mean she started blatantly rolling her eyes & interrupting my dad when he would try to explain the situation. Besides that horrid beginning, our waiter was the complete opposite which saved the evening. The food came out minutes after we placed our order & it tasted divine. Should really train their hostesses to have better customer service though.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Phenomenal cuisine. Worth every penny spent and the food offerings are moderately priced given the address. Drinks were a little pricy, but again worth it.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We wrapped up our 20 year anniversary with dinner here and we could not have been more pleased. They are filming a series about Versace so it was only open on the weekend and we were able to get a table. The food, drinks, atmosphere and experience was more than we can describe. This is a must for any South Beach visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The place is beautiful. The food and drinks are pretty good but very pricey. The staff was kind and allowed us to walk around and take pictures freely when we were done with our meal. It's an experience that if possible everyone should have at least once!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Amazing service and settings.. food overall good but a bit too salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (London)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was good. Service was not that attentive. Attitude. Clientele were mostly women party groups. Was expecting a more sophisticated crowd and service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Literally the best and most lavish place I have ever eaten at. I would recommend the Versace Mansion to everyone!

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Can't really rate them. They cancelled our reservation that we had got a month for some private party. Thanks but no thanks to this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Nice evening after 5 years where we spent 2 nights for celebrating a round birthday

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 1, 2017

the dining area is the courtyard of the former Versace mansion which is now a small boutique hotel. the dining area is all outdoors with the pool as a backdrop. It may be the most beautiful setting. I highly recommend it for an intimate date. It is a little pricing but then again it is South Beach so actually compared to other places on Ocean Dr. it's still a good value. I started with CAPESANTE DI VIAREGGIO Maine Scallops, A La Plancha, Fennel Puree, Frisee, Gianni Vanilla Oil they were delicious and buttery soft. Next was SPAGHETTI ALLA CHITARRA which was tasty but probably a notch below everything else I had. For a main course I selected FILETTO DI MANZO ROSSINI 8 Oz Wagyu Filet Mignon, Pomme Confit Grilled Asparagus, Pan Seared Foie Gras Bordelaise Jus . Cooked exactly the way I ordered it and was so good. I had a glass of red wine with dinner. For dessert I had a 3 flavor chocolate mousse which was covered in a red chocolate shell. I opted to pair the 40 year old port with it. Both were very good but the serving of port seemed a little small even for a port. I finished it before the mousse but then again the mousse proved too much on top of everything else. As much as I didn't want to I had to leave a few bites on the plate or they would have had to carry me out of the restaurant. This restaurant alone makes another trip to South Beach a future goal.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Your on Ocean Drive, and then you are magically escorted into tranquility. The service is excellent, and the ambience is superb. We enjoyed our wine and appetizers, but our main course dessert fell short of our expectations. The price is inline with South Beach.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Very elegant to dine in. Ladies be careful through the walk in to the dinning area. My friend fail walking across the rocks and other ladies had similar issues but over all was great. I did not like our waiter telling me they do not do anything for your birthday but after my face expression he brought her a dessert! The evening was beautiful and looking forward to dinner with my husband when we return! P.s I wonder where he got a birthday candle from 🤔

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Beautiful historic location, very elegant. We were seated on the balcony, perfect for people watching. The food was delicious, and the handcrafted cocktails and wine list were excellent. The atmosphere was luxurious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fun, People Watching, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Very beautiful place

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Scenery of the mansion and food were all excellent. Service was good at dinner and at bar in courtyard. Went for a date night and and it was a perfect place. Is much quiter than the surrounding bar/restaurants would recommend and visit again.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Awesome Beautiful Fantastic. Not enough adjectives!!! Highly recommend!!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 26, 2017

From the beginning the host staff made me feel unwelcomed. I asked how much the valet was and after she told me I was informed that she wouldn't seat me till I paid the valet. The food was way over priced for what it was. There was also a open table closer to the water and our waiter told us that it's reserved even though no one was sitting there and no one ended up sitting there as well.

Our waiter was otherwise good but overall the price was way too high and the forced 20℅ tip just capped off a already non impressive night.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (London)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Amazing place. Great food & fantastic venue. Well worth a visit!
Make sure you have the truffle mash & save room for desert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We have been visiting Miami Beach for several years and this is the best dining experience we have had. Exquisite environment, very friendly and attentive staff , superb food. We will definitely return.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Food was excellent.
Service disappointed me. Forgot to bring my aperitif. Took too long. Service not attentive. And in the end of dinner they include 50$ service charge. For what?!

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 19, 2017

One of a kind experience in the heart of SoBe. The atmosphere is stunning. Surprisingly, the food and service were a match.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I went with my husband for our three year anniversary and it was lovely! Great ambiance beautiful place we took many pictures.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great Service! The food was outstanding! The environment was very welcoming!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Versace home looks gorgeous & the food was amazing!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were greeted with a Very unfriendly welcome at the podium entrance before entering the Villa. Followed by the next greeter pointing to a table that was recently vacated and asking if it was acceptable. We accepted and were told to "take pictures " ( not my reason for making a dinner reservation ) while waiting for the table to be serviced. After about 15 of standing in the outdoor dining area my husband asked how much longer it would be to have the table serviced. ( we were a party of 4) The response was " we need to clear it " duhhhhh. We've been standing around waiting with an abundance of staff standing around as well . Finally seated , I ordered a glass of Chardonnay and the waiter proceeded to pour , in a red wine glass a portion of 2-3 ounces at best. I never saw anything like it. It was actually comical . I politely inquired whether they offered two different size servings and he said , no. We are carefully monitored and I can pour only this amount. Quite frankly it a was pathetic portion and embarrassing to hear a grown man explain why a guest should accept such a serving. Sad for him , more sad for us !! Things didn't get much better. Expected so much more from the Versace family !!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was more exclusive the first time we came for dinner (2 years ago), when there were no tables placed on the grass area in front of the pool. We were advised of a dresscode, where it was mentioned no shorts or slippers, but even though we were dressed to the nines, there were quite a lot of kids (even at 9 pm) and a lot of them wore shorts and slippers..... does the dress code not apply to kids? It does bring the exclusivity of this restaurant down.
The menu was not that special and had limited options, for a restaurant that is supposed to be this exclusive. Some more special gourmet Italian dishes (ie arugula with parmesan and olive oil, Osso Buco and meat and pasta dishes with truffle) would be advisable.
The waiters were very friendly, but could not provide us a table change (where we were seated it was very windy).

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The staff were extremely rude and I will always give the staff the benefit of the doubt but in this case I could not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Beautiful, peaceful setting. Creative Italian menu and everything we had was fabulous. A very special oasis in the heart of South Beach!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Was such a great experience that we go this night again!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Fun, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Enjoyable meal in an historic, beautiful setting. Food good value but limited wine list and somewhat pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Gianni's staff was very friendly and informative. They made very good recommendations. They left us in privacy, but balanced that with attentiveness. Definitely a destination for a special occasion. The mixologist was first rate. Cocktails were first class. Desserts were worth the wait!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We were were having our celebratory dinner for a Bachelorette party and the bachelorette was so excited to dine at Versace's home. The two bartenders inside, Alex and Jose, were very friendly and jovial. We moved the group to the outside area for dinner and the courtyard was beautiful! The food was very good too. The only issue we had was our service at dinner. The server seemed annoyed and unattentive. Normally this wouldn't phase our group; however, this is an upscale restaurant with pricey dishes so a certain level of service is expected. We decided that we wanted to try numerous dishes and when we asked for extra plates the server was less than eager to help us. It didn't leave us with a great experience at the end and we were eager to leave as we began to feel unwelcome by this server as he left us with empty water glasses most of the meal. Overall, I would dine here again based on atmosphere, the indoor cocktail lounge, and the beautiful courtyard. Hopefully, a more attentive server will take care of you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Amazing all around!! Have been here many times before and it doesn't disappoint! The unique decor & history is outstanding!! The old adage goes…you get what you pay for!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It was a delicious meal, with great service!!! Such a beautiful ambiance, on such a perfect night!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Beautiful place, decor, ambiance. I would come back just for the pleasure to be seating by the pool.
Food.... I have eaten better ao fungi risotto, in much cheaper Italian restaurants.
The service was excellent ... Israel, our server, was very attentive, and explain in detail every special of the night. 5 stars to him.
I'm a coffee lover, and the espresso I had that night was an insult to an Italian restaurant. Shouldn't be called espresso, but American coffee in a small cup.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Can not wait to go back!! What a breathtaking room. Impeccable service and a great meal. Couldn't ask for more.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The best dinner experience ever!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.