Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi

About Gianni's

South Beach’s most exceptional experience awaits you at Gianni's, an event space, restaurant and boutique hotel, The Villa, Casa Casuarina, once the former Versace Mansion. The storied historic location couples with attentive personalized service for a unique Miami Beach experience.

1116 Ocean Drive
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Sunday: 6pm - Closing
Closed on Mondays
Available for lunches and events 7 days per week for catered events. Contact the Director of Catering and Events at 786-485-2200.

Cross Street:
Between 12th and 11th Streets on Ocean Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(786) 485-2200

Website:
http://www.giannisristorante.com/

Catering:
Catered Events can be organized to suit any occasion in the historic atmosphere of The Villa, Casa Casuarina, the former Versace Mansion, for up to 300 persons.

Parking Details:
Valet parking. There is also street parking and garages in the immediate area.

Public Transit:
Several bus stops one block west on Collins Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Stewart

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Can be arranged with The Villa Director of Catering and Events. Inquire at 786-485-2200.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 7:00PM - 11:45PM

Tue - Thu 7:00PM - 11:45PM

Private Dining

With private dining options for groups from 2 to 30, the former Versace Mansion provides Miami's most elegant surroundings for private dining, whether a corporate gathering, a celebration or a romantic dinner for two.

Gianni's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (60)
Special Occasion (58)
Good for a Date (56)
See All
Historic (45)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Scenic View (29)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Authentic (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
People Watching (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Hot Spot (10)
Cozy (10)
Private Room (10)
Business Meals (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Waterfront (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Modern Decor (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Fun (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Family Style (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
355 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Gianni's is beautiful! Makr sure you explore and take pictures. The food is pretty good too.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

My girlfriend and I had a great time. The food was amazing, especially dessert. The staff was full and very attentive. Dining was very private, quiet, and romantic. And the mansion itself was incredible to see in person.

Tags: Historic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined 5 days ago

I've been to Gianni's (formerly Il Sole) a few times. The atmosphere always impresses... the service and food quality - not so much. The place speaks for itself... its beautiful... and the fact that they now let you walk the grounds is a nice touch (used to be reserved for hotel/villa guests. Service and food are average at best - but at a place that looks like this and charges $$$ like this - you just expect more.

Icing on the cake - We went for a special occasion - which was noted on our reservation.... and I informed the waiter as to what we were celebrating... YET - they did NOTHING to acknowledge it... which is disappointing. The place could be great with the right staff and chef. Right now... its mediocre at best.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

We were in South Beach for the weekend just to goof off , we had heard about Gianni's on a previous visit and decided we would try it for a sat.night dinner date with my wife of 43 years.
Gianni's exceded all of our expectations, quality of food was at the very top the wait staff was
above all other restaurants for attention made us feel like family. I would recommend Gianni's
to anyone that visits South Beach a true Gem. thank You

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Back for our second time to this gorgeous place. I recommend reserving a table on the terrace overlooking the amazing pool. It's hard to believe this little gem is just footsteps away from the craziness and tackiness on Ocean Drive. Food is expensive but good. Drinks are REALLY pricey, $21 for ordinary glass of Chardonnay; $24 and up for "crafted cocktails", and $12 for small bottle of Pellegrino (that's just taking advantage). You just have to keep saying, " I'm paying these prices to be here in all of this stunning ambience". Anyway, my husband had a rib-eye which he enjoyed and I had a Mediterranean fish which was delicious. My husband also ordered a side of the truffled mash, which arrived barely warm when he was half way through his steak (needless to say, it was sent back). Portions aren't huge, so if you're hungry I suggest an appetizer, salad or pasta (or at least split it with someone). We split the spaghetti, tomato, basil and mozzarella pasta ($26) for an appetizer which was tasty, but not spectacular. It's worth going just to see Versace's incredible home, but been there, done that, so probably won't be returning unless we are with friends/family that have never seen it.

Tags: Historic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Wir genossen den Abend im Gianni's. Die Atmosphäre war angenehm. Das Essen war sehr gut. Wir waren überrascht über die grossen Portionen im Vergleich zu Schweizer Spitzenrestaurants. Einzig vermisst haben wir einen guten italienischen Espresso. Der Name verpflichtet.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 20, 2017

we could not believe how quiet and peaceful this beautiful spot was. considering it was the middle of dinner and the streets were busy you would never know when your seated.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 16, 2017

food was horrible I asked if they had something more simple to eat
and he told me if you where staying in the hotel there's another menu and he said it as if I would never be allowed to stay here and that I'm not good enough
to stay here we asked for more Bread and he just looked at me like wtf

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Gianni's was delicious and the service was incredible!! We will be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We loved the beautiful villa, food and service but the outside music totally ruined the dining experience...hopefully it was due to Spring g break and it is not like that all the time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My BFF and I try to find unique dining experiences. Gianni's will be part on our annual must do list for dining. Food was amazing. Service was top notch. It's a true touch of class for South Beach Miami.

Tags: Scenic View, Private Room, Historic, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Best service, food and of course ambiance! We had the branzino which was to die for!!! The entire experience was amazing from begging to end!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Historic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Impeccable service, incredible food and a gorgeous view! This historic building brought character and ambience to an unforgettable anniversary dinner!

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

BEAUTIFUL VENUE, UNLIKE ANYTHING I'VE EVER SEEN, TRULY MEMORABLE ENVIRONMENT. EXPENSIVE BUT VERY GOOD FOOD, ROMANTIC, PRIVATE AND COMFORTABLE.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

all was excelent in the night I have birthday dinner

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Beautiful and Historic Mansion. The food was fantastic and the staff was so kind and eager to answer my questions. Definitely would go again next time I'm in Miami.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Yea well that'sj good for kss but and she tkI hope juihuyjjhjjh I'll thhhhhujhihuhjhjjjjfkjyms

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The location is beautiful. The attention to detail is amazing, but the food is very expensive and smaller portions. They also charge you for water and 20% gratuity no matter what, even if service is very slow or non existent. Overall it's definitely a must see, but be prepared to pay for the nice venue

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I read all other reviews and I compared to what was said and from my experience I loved it I will definitely be back!

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Not pleased with the service. Our server did not pay attention to us. Did not even asked how was our meal. Not worth it of the 20% automatic gratuity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Awful food, an insult to Italian food and the magnificent venue that hosts this "restaurant"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed dinner at Gianni's in March. The food was excellent and the service outstanding. It is stunning location and we would thoroughly recommend it for dinner or for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Such potential..... so poorly managed..... too bad the staff don't really want to be there and have no direction...... poor lighting as well which is criminal given the setting and what they have to work with which could be a world class environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Gianni's atmosphere is authentic Italian in its decor and food selections. The wine list is fabulous and allows one to pick from many selections that fit the dinner. The service is outstanding, attentive, and knowledgable in helping select wines and after dinner cordials.
The ambience at Gianni's allows one to travel in mind and spirt to Italy. Dinner at Gianni's is a treat that meets the diner's expectation of delicious food, great service, romantic atmosphere and creates memories to be shared with family and friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 1, 2017

It has been a dream of mine to dine at Gianni Versace's former mansion so upon planning a trip to Miami, I made sure to make a dinner reservation for the last night of my trip. I had a wonderful dining experience on the patio at Gianni's. Upon arrival, the hostess seated us by the pool which was truly breathtaking. The staff members were phenomenal, especially our server Robert G. He was very respectful and had an amazing personality. Robert is truly a treasure to Gianni's team. He is without a doubt the best server I have had the pleasure to meet. I will be sure to request Robert the next time I dine at Gianni's. I highly recommend making a dinner reservation just before sunset so you have the opportunity to see the vibrant beauty of the colorful tile mosaics that decorate the pool during the day. As we had our meal, we watched the night fall and the pool began to glow magically. Both during the day and night, the pool is beyond gorgeous. The restaurant has an intimate and very romantic atmosphere. The food was delicious. Everything we ordered came out perfectly. I look forward to bringing my family and friends to Gianni's so they can also experience this magical atmosphere. I look forward to returning in the future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Historic, Authentic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Incredible. A beatiful place with a food that seemed to be done by a ten years old child. Lobster bad seasoned not cold neither warm. No napkins on the tables . The valet at the hotel beside. They have to make it simple and much better. The place deserve it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Muy decadente el sitio pudiendo ser fantástico, la comida correcta si más , desorbitado el precio por la calidad y servicio, atracción turística sin mas

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Food was great but service was slow and there was only 2 other guests in the room we were in.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 27, 2017

For a place with such high expectations with dress code for guests, should over exceed the guests expectations also, unfortunately they did not. Beautiful atmosphere, unedible dishes and poor service along with management . Such a shame for what the Versace hotel represents, which is class and beauty..

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 25, 2017

12$for a bottle of water!!! Food was good and original.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 24, 2017

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and wine this past Friday night. The service was outstanding. The food quality was fantastic. And, the wine was awesome. We will definitely be coming back again.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food and service were good. Ambiance and surroundings are great. Prices are high for what you get, but you are in South Beach! We felt somewhat rushed to place our orders and eat like they needed the table for the next party. Not encouraged to take our time at all.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Staff was super professional and accommodating. Food was wonderful and atmosphere was magical, obviously. Didn't want to leave. So amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Fantastic food, spectacular atmosphere!!!!! A true dinning experience. I liked it better than tour d'argent in Paris.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Managers assessment"the kitchen is not quite focused tonight".

We arrived early and were seated at a very nice poolside table. We thought we ordered a bottle of wine but instead two glasses arrived. No big deal and we accepted them. Oh, but the wine tasted old, as it sometimes does when poured from an open bottle and we sent them back.

Restaurant is lightly populated at 7pm.

Waited 20 minutes for our salad to arrive. Ok, the waitress says the kitchen staff did not see the order ticket. We were surprised.

Salad was ok but then - the entree comes out, 30 minutes later.

Waitress tries to filet the supposedly cooked whole fish but has trouble. She says the fish is raw and it must go back to the kitchen. This is a $59 entree and it comes out raw after too long a wait.

We pack it in after the manager says the kitchen lacks focus tonight.

We asked for and got a small accommodation, (one glass of old wine), and no apology for our time. We leave without eating.

Never again we will not waste our time.

Tags: Historic, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It waa beautiful but our service sucked! Refund! Hahah

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good food and great service. Request Robert G as your server.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

There is no other place to compare Gianni to. It's in a class of its own. My valentine dinner with my wife was over the top as only Versace would do. The whole front of the house was covered with rose petals.

Meal was unique and very good. The prices are higher than the meal is worth, but the service and atmosphere are well worth the extra costs. Everyone MUST experience this venue at least once in their life.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Wonderful restaurant. The food was great but the experience is what takes the cake. If you're in Miami this is a must go spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was amazing! Compliments to the chef
My husband and I were there for dinner for Valantines!
The Villa is beautiful and we had a great table by the courtyard, the waiters were very attentive
And I can't say enough about the food.
The menu is a little pricy but worth every penny

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.