About Gianni's

1116 Ocean Drive
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

South Beach’s most exceptional experience awaits you at Gianni's, an event space, restaurant and boutique hotel, The Villa, Casa Casuarina, once the former Versace Mansion. The storied historic location couples with attentive personalized service for a unique Miami Beach experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Sunday: 7pm - Closing
Closed on Mondays
Available for lunches and events 7 days per week for catered events. Contact the Director of Catering and Events at 305-728-6518.

Cross Street:
Between 12th and 11th Streets on Ocean Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(786) 485-2200

Website:
http://www.giannisristorante.com/

Catering:
Catered Events can be organized to suit any occasion in the historic atmosphere of The Villa, Casa Casuarina, the former Versace Mansion, for up to 250 persons.

Parking Details:
Valet parking. The valet parking station is in front of The Hotel Victor South Beach, 1144 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139. There is also street parking and garages in the immediate area.

Public Transit:
Several bus stops one block west on Collins Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Stewart

Private Party Facilities:
With private dining options for groups from 2 to 30, the former Versace Mansion provides Miami's most elegant surroundings for private dining, whether a corporate gathering, a celebration or a romantic dinner for two.

Private Party Contact:
Il Sole : 7864852200

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Can be arranged with The Villa Director of Catering and Events. Inquire at 305-728-6518.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 7:00PM - 11:45PM

Tue - Thu 7:00PM - 11:45PM

Gianni's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Miami / Southeast Florida
Best Ambiance
Miami - Dade County
Romantic
Miami - Dade County
2 More
Special Occasion
Miami - Dade County
Mediterranean
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami Beach / South Beach ›

Special Occasion (66)
Romantic (65)
Great for Outdoor Dining (46)
See All
Scenic View (29)
Notable Wine List (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Hot Spot (22)
Good for Groups (14)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
169 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is one of the best in Miami ! I def ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 5 days ago

This is one of the best in Miami ! I deffenetly will be a regular ❤️

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Live Music, Private Room, Comfort Food, Cozy, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A different experience in dinner!!!!!!A ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

A different experience in dinner!!!!!!A beautiful,extraordunary house,with a great menu!!!The only fail was that the photo you see in the internet is a local for dinner with a view to the swimming pool ,but it's only for who are in the hotel,,,your local dinner is a little room where you have no view at all.After you can go around everything

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

My first time at Gianni's was a great ex ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

My first time at Gianni's was a great experience. Outstanding service and the food was delicious. For the venue and the type of food the Overall experience was above expectations for value.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The squid appetizer and gnocchi pasta we ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The squid appetizer and gnocchi pasta were delicious. Chicken entree tasted mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Such great ambiance, very romantic. The ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Such great ambiance, very romantic. The staff are very respectful and the food was amazing!!!

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was spectacular. The staff w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The service was spectacular. The staff was extremely nice, attentive to our needs.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed to have been seated in the ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Disappointed to have been seated in the "meeting room" after having booked reservations two months ago. The room while nice was adorned with patio furniture from outside. Not to brag but the furniture I currently have in my patio far out did the "Versace" Bed Bath and Beyond collection. Other than that the food and service was great. They were out of our first two wine selections. Waiter informed us that they were revamping the menu and selections could be tight through September 2016. Great experience but once is enough. Too many great options in Miami.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The service and food was great! The vale ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The service and food was great! The valet service made us wait too long when our vehicle was located right in front of the restaurant. That was the only down fall that I notice. Would return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing, albeit I honestly went ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was amazing, albeit I honestly went for the views and visit to the mansion, so I was very impressed. We did Miami Spice but ordered a bottle of wine (went for Wine Wednesday where some of the bottles are $50 – did my research) and an appetizer. My boyfriend and I are big eaters, and knowing gourmet restaurants, the portions are usually small, so we ordered another appetizer. Gianni's was overly generous with the portions. With the Pulpo Alla Grilla, they gave you plentiful perfectly-cooked and seasoned pulpo (octopus). With the Montecarlo Bigaro we shared a heaping amount of fresh King Crab and delicious mozzarella. Though the prices for appetizers are about $25 and up, the plate they give you is definitely sharable – impressive for this establishment. By this time we were basically full! We had the Miami Spice risotto and spaghetti options, also delicious. The coconut pannacotta was amazing, with dollops of banana, raspberry and fruits on top. WOW. A. I'm not an octopus person, but this was so perfectly cooked it was crazy good and B. I don't like sweets but the pannacotta was light and fluffy, I would eat this dessert everyday! Thanks for making a great birthday dinner for my fiancé!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice food, OK ambience, good service alt ...

 
 (Yorkshire)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Nice food, OK ambience, good service although not excellent, quite pricey.

Forgot our chips after we had eaten half our main course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Very disappointing. My husband and I we ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Very disappointing. My husband and I were celebrating our 40th anniversary. We made a reservation like 3 weeks ahead and requested a table in the balcony overlooking the pool. The day prior to the reservation a someone called to confirm. At that time, I mentioned about our request and she said we'll accommodate your request. When we showed the next day, we explained the hostess (by the way not a man in a suit or a girl in a dress and high heels but a woman dressed like if she worked for the valet!) about our request and she said we don't reserve tables, it is based on availability. We insisted and in a rude manner she said: If you want to wait for a table there it will take about 30 min. We were directed to the bar and before we order a drink another hostess (this one dressed in shorts and low heel sandals) came to show us to our table. When we got to the balcony there were 2 empty tables, one like the one we requested and the other by the wall (no view). She showed us to the one with no view. We requested to be seated at the table overlooking the pool and she said sorry that table is reserved. Once again we explain about our request almost 3 weeks prior and she responded we don't reserve specific tables its base on availability (Obviously she was contradicting herself, if they don't reserve specific tables why was that one "reserved"). We requested to speak with the manager. Manager came and my husband started explaining to him. He interrupted my husband and in a kind of rude manner and told him: Do you want that table? go ahead, table is available. Fortunately, our experience improve after that since the service by the waiter and the food was good. However; when we call to get our car from the valet we were told it will take 30 min. After 40 minutes, we called again and finally got our car. We think it was ridiculous to make us wait 40 min standing up waiting for the car which by the way was parked on the street few feet from the entrance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Returned for the 2nd time to this locati ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Returned for the 2nd time to this location to celebrate a birthday.... and it did not disappoint! Besides being absolutely beautiful, the food and service were fantastic. Although a little pricey, you get what you pay for. The ambiance here for a special occasion dinner can not be beat. Good bar scene too....it's classy & romantic. Can't wait to go back again on our next return trip to Miami....

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All horrible. The only good thing that s ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

All horrible. The only good thing that should have been the nice porch view of the pool did not happened because they put us on a small room, even with the restaurant almost empty. The drinks were watery down and our fish was almost cold and with a lot, I mean a lot of thorns caused by the inability of the waitress. A very expensive and umpleasent dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Gianni's was a memorable experience. All ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Gianni's was a memorable experience. All the dishes we tried were very tasty and seasoned to perfection. For dinner we had the:

Truffled mashed potatoes

Crispy Brussel sprouts

Mushroom risotto

Risotto alla Milanese

Blue crab gnocchi

And for dessert the triple chocolate mousse

The dishe serving was perfect amount for sharing between our party. Before dinner we had cocktails which were soooo good you couldn't just have one.

Thank you for the amazing experience! I just wish they would allow us to take more pics! ;)

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing atmosphere, beautiful scenery, a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Amazing atmosphere, beautiful scenery, and very secluded dining. Food was amazing. A must go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved eating here. The food was excellen ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Loved eating here. The food was excellent as well as the service.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The architecture is amazing! This place ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The architecture is amazing! This place was so beautiful!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Gianni's is the most beautiful restauran ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Gianni's is the most beautiful restaurant in Miami. There is an outdoor patio that overlooks the pool, which is beautifully lit, and also an indoor dining room. We chose to sit outside as there were live musicians playing background music. The food was amazing, along with the cocktails. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came to Miami to celebrate my birthday! ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Came to Miami to celebrate my birthday! Gianni's was where we had my birthday dinner! Approaching the restaurant I was intimidated, people were taking photos.. And we were 25 minutes early.. They sat us early and what can I say It was exquisite!! I was hesitant with the reviews but everyone was so kind from the start. The gentlemen in the front, I think he was a bouncer to the kind lady that seated us to the sweetest server ever! I wish I could remember his name, he even held an umbrella to walk me to the restroom ! He recommended we the prime rib- soooo good!! And my bf had the rib eye. The mousse melted in my mouth!! Best bday ever!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to Giannis many times before ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I have been to Giannis many times before and had a great experience.This time the manager Freddie refused 3 of my guests for their attire....all wearing designer clothing for any upscale Miami restaurant wearing Valentino and Prada....they bought cheap shirts with collars on Ocean Drive and were permitted to enter,my guests wanted to take a photo in front of the pool which I have done many times before and were told no photos allowed! We were seated in a room I have dined in before and it was so hot everyone was sweating.Unfortunately it was not a pleasant experience everyone was looking forward to for the first time and I was very disappointed after my previous positive time at Giannis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Tacky place, not kept up at all. Was tol ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Tacky place, not kept up at all. Was told we needed to request a table in the pool area, although it was not noted anywhere. Had a reservation, still waited 45 minutes as the waitress looked for the menus... Just for a boring table on the 3rd floor, no view, nothing. Pressured into ordering drinks, several times. Food was meh. Smelled funky & was hot. Was told we could not take pictures by the pool, the main attraction of the restaurant. This place is overly hyped for nothing.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Food delicious, ambiance wonderful, only ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food delicious, ambiance wonderful, only service on this evening wasnt fully satisfactory.h

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We didnt stay, the place is not good and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We didnt stay, the place is not good and the people is weired! Its not the kind of restaurants that my family usually go! We went to our hotel and had dinner at Pao Restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

One of he greatest dining experiences I' ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

One of he greatest dining experiences I've ever had. Sitting out by the fountains. Incredible service. Fantastic and creative cocktails. Inspired menu with delectable choices. Great bar afterward. Total experience and over delivered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful. The best restaurant I've ever ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Beautiful. The best restaurant I've ever been to. The ambiance is like no other; you must eat here at least once in your life. Amazing!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is located in Gianni Ver ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This restaurant is located in Gianni Versace's mansion in South Beach. The opportunity to either dine inside in the Art Deco inside dining room, or overlooking the pool make the food a secondary concern. Just a spectacular setting. Service was great overall, and food was very good......good portions, good value and good selection. My guests had seafood and it was excellent.....I had beef and candidly it was not a good cut of meat....sort of tough.

A smaller issue is that within the inside dining room, the music was so loud you could not easily converse with your dinner guests. I asked for the volume to be reduced and they adjusted it.....but not as much as I would have preferred.

But still just a phenomenal experience

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Me and my friend both loved this place. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Me and my friend both loved this place. The service is excellent and the food is exquisite. Our servers were the cutest (*inserts hugging emoji). There was a table that was a little noisy but that was not a problem for us. And the mansion is simply spectacular

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The grounds were Great !!! Don't arrive ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The grounds were Great !!! Don't arrive early before they open @ 7:00,if you do they tell you to wait in a front court yard that is so hot that I was sweating in my jacket before we were seated. No fan,No A/C & no Bar to seat @ while waiting for your table.Then your seated by one person in a first come, first serve setting by one hostess.The food was fair to average. The service was fair. If your a fan of Gianni Versace or your looking for a one time expierence then do it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

As I read the reviews about this restaur ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

As I read the reviews about this restaurant I was a bit scared. I went ahead and reserved anyway and wow was I amazed. Place was perfect it was for my daughters 16th birthday pictures are incredible and you can take them just about anywhere. Service was great and the food was delicious. Best of all the price was even cheaper than I expected. I'm very happy we chose to go here.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the highlights of our tr ...

 
 (Ireland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was one of the highlights of our trip to Miami. The mansion is amazing and it is a magical experience dining here. Myself and my Husband had dinner on a Friday night and we were lucky enough to get the best seat by the pool. We couldn't have been any closer, it was just perfect. The staff are super friendly and the guy serving us couldn’t have been any more helpful, he also had a good sense of humour which made the experience really relaxed. The food is Italian and we had a Primi and Secondi course. The Primi dish was lovely and the Secondi dish was really nice too, the portions are quite generous so there was no room for dessert when it came to it. It is expensive but it is well worth it for the experience alone. We did notice that many people had dessert only and couple of drinks so this is always an option if don’t fancy spending too much money here but still want to get the experience. Would highly recommend dining here, we both really loved it and we got some great pictures.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fairly well prepared and decent ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Food was fairly well prepared and decently presented. The gnocchi with crab was fairly good. But, nothing was mind-blowing or exceptional, certainly not worth the prices they charge.

Pro tip: NEVER sit outside. The music is horribly loud, gaudy, tacky neon lights decorate the courtyard and it was miserably hot and humid- zero air flow and no fans. No fans for outdoor seating in Miami, are you serious?! The indoor dining room was beautiful, like Triton's underwater palace and we should have been sat there in the first place.

The service staff never asked if we wanted an outdoor versus indoor table. And when we complained about how hot and uncomfortable it was, they said of course we can move you inside, all you had to do was ask. That was extremely off-putting. As someone who has worked in fine dining for several years, I know the guest should never "have to ask" - those needs should be anticipated and accommodated before the guest ever "has to ask". We should have been asked our preference at the door.

That said, our server, who's name I don't remember, was outstanding. He was attentive, yet unobtrusive, personable and had great recommendations (even if we didn't take them). He was knowledgeable and did make every effort to make us comfortable once we communicated how miserable the courtyard seating was. Again though, we should have been offered at the host stand our choice of seating, since there was plenty of space in the indoor dining room.

Only real value here is to say you ate dinner in the Versace mansion, which is how they can get away with charging so much for food that wasn't the slightest bit memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

The ambiance, wine list and wonderful se ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The ambiance, wine list and wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

I cannot say enough about this place. Bi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I cannot say enough about this place. Bitter sweet feeling because I really loved Versace's fashions in the 80's and 90's. Not only was it stunning inside every corner but the service and staff were outstanding, they were so attentive and genuinely very nice. The food was excellent as well, every dish was busting with flavor. Wine list was excellent as well. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was everything I thought ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The restaurant was everything I thought it was going to be and more.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very disappointed in the food and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I was very disappointed in the food and the service. You pay that much for food it should be spectacular. The atmosphere was beautiful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

This was definetly on my bucket list and ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This was definetly on my bucket list and I'm so glad I got to go! Not only is this place absolutely breathtaking, it also has an amazing menu. Nothing we ordered was short of fantastic. The drinks were beautiful too (I ordered a Medusa bubble-something). We got to take pictures by the pool and walked around a little. I loved every moment of being there and would love to go again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely beautiful restaurant and amaz ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Absolutely beautiful restaurant and amazing food. The staff is so friendly and the management was amazing. What a great night out with my husband!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would definitely recommend this restau ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I would definitely recommend this restaurant service was truly amazing along with our waiter. Everything he recommended from drinks to dessert was on point and very tasteful. Will definitely be back when in Miami.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Years ago I dreamt of once visiting the ...

 
 (Zürich)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Years ago I dreamt of once visiting the former house of Gianni Versace, but then again when it became a hotel, I was not sure I would really like to stay there:

So when I was told it became a restaurant, I thought this would be my chance to see it. I expected little of the food and approximate service.

I was amazed, the food was excellent and the service outstanding. So I had a marvellous dinner on the terrace overseeing the beautiful pool. Just the perfect evening...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dining experiences on Mi ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

One of the best dining experiences on Miami Beach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.