Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi

About Gianni's

South Beach’s most exceptional experience awaits you at Gianni's, an event space, restaurant and boutique hotel, The Villa, Casa Casuarina, once the former Versace Mansion. The storied historic location couples with attentive personalized service for a unique Miami Beach experience.

1116 Ocean Drive
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Sunday: 6pm - Closing
Closed on Mondays
Available for lunches and events 7 days per week for catered events. Contact the Director of Catering and Events at phone number listed above directly.

Cross Street:
Between 12th and 11th Streets on Ocean Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(786) 485-2200

Website:
http://www.giannisristorante.com/

Catering:
Catered Events can be organized to suit any occasion in the historic atmosphere of The Villa, Casa Casuarina, the former Versace Mansion, for up to 300 persons.

Parking Details:
Valet parking. There is also street parking and garages in the immediate area.

Public Transit:
Several bus stops one block west on Collins Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Stewart

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Can be arranged with The Villa Director of Catering and Events. Inquire within Gianni's directly.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 7:00PM - 11:45PM

Tue - Thu 7:00PM - 11:45PM

Private Dining

With private dining options for groups from 2 to 30, the former Versace Mansion provides Miami's most elegant surroundings for private dining, whether a corporate gathering, a celebration or a romantic dinner for two.

Gianni's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (69)
Romantic (59)
Good for a Date (55)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Great for Outdoor Dining (41)
Scenic View (37)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Hot Spot (26)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Notable Wine List (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Good for Groups (16)
Authentic (15)
People Watching (14)
Cozy (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Historic (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Business Meals (9)
Fun (8)
Bar Seating (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Casual (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Live Music (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Waterfront (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Dancing (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
511 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 13 hours ago

What an amazing place. Food was average. Prices are absolutely not worth it. Both our pastas were overcooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

One of the most beautiful meals i've eaten!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Nice atmosphere and generally good food. I was expecting a higher level service for the venue.
Wine list too expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful location by the pool in the backyard of the versace mansion. Very classy and traditional vibe. Live music playing by the pool. Excellent service but food was not as phenomenal as expected for the price and location (versace villa). A bit over priced, but worth the once in a lifetime experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Un endroit merveilleux au service impeccable. Le rêve !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

The food is just ok. When you pay that much for a meal it's expected that the food will be amazing. The service was spectacular and the place is gorgeous. During dinner service, the place is silent. No soft music, nothing. Only the sounds of fast cars and their music from the street. I would recommend going to take the picture, but don't waste your time on the expensive mediocre food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

I loved the cozy garden. A lil bit too close to each tables but not too bothered. I will try it again for special occasion!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was okay. I wouldn't say it was amazing, but not bad either. Unfortunately, there was a wedding taking place on the day of our reservations so we couldn't sit by the nice pool area. Instead we got seated upstairs in like an awkward terrace setting. I probably wouldn't come back again. I would recommend it if it's your first time, just to experience the Versace Mansion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Gianni's was fantastic!!
My 23 year old son and I were in town celebrating my birthday. I wanted to pick a place with good food for mom and an interesting twist to be certain it was an enjoyable experience for both of us. SUCCESS!!
We went because we both love fashion and respect the history behind the venue, but were both pleasantly surprised by the food! The lamb chops were from heaven. Kudos to the👨🏻‍🍳 and many thanks to Gianni's for making my experience fantastic!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food was great. Service was lacking but overall nice experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Watch out for drink charges. Ordered Hennessy after dunner for $20/drink. Was charged $65 for Hennessy XO. It was definitely not XO. In fairness the charge was adjusted - but they insisted we got XO - which was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Sehr schönes romantisches Ambiente. Der Service sollte etwas besser sein

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

A Beautiful place to dine. Magnificent pool area with lusious landscaping & cozy tables. Miami Spice menu was excellent. Cocktails were delicous but very expensive-our only negative criticism.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great service and great food, slightly pricey, but worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Low quality food.
Worst hostess atenttion.
More name than quality.
Ill never come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The experience and atmosphere was very nice! Loved the live music too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 8, 2017

I went to this restaurant because it offers a Miami Spice menu and I was curious about the restaurant so it seemed like the perfect opportunity to try it. My experience was outstanding from start to finish. I highly recommend this restaurant, fantastic food, gorgeous romantic atmosphere and the service was wonderful. It is a unique dining experience in Miami Beach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Fantastic evening, I was worried about the reviews but we had a completely opposite experience. From the moment you walk In you know your somewhere special, the view was spectacular. The food was delicious not the best ever. but it's really a special place for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Amazing ambience and experience. Food and service good but it is the decor, architecture and setting that makes this a must do dining experience in South Beach

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Wow is all I can say...trite, true & terrific!!! Gianni's at the Versace Mansion in South Beach was a trip to the Roman Forum Miami Beach Style. The ambiance blew me away! Architecture, interior design, objects d'art, lighting plus gorgeous palm & banana trees combined with culinary magic, beverage artistry and a knowledgeable attentive wait staff created a night to remember.
Cocktails, appetizers, nibbles, salad, main course, wine & dessert flowed deliciously seamlessly perfectly… the night still lives brightly in my memory.
If you have the chance go. It is a wonderful sensory experience!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 3, 2017

They only had seating in the courtyard at 93 degrees. In the past we ate in the dining room that was comfortable. We had a party of 5 and all were disappointed in the meals. Doubt we would go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Très bon restaurant italien, beau cadre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Filet mignon was excellent. Lobster was not so good. Chocolate mousse desert was decent. Sitting outside, even at 9pm, was hot! We needed the maître d' to bring us a fan. But the balcony view of the pool is gorgeous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Beautiful place, Food was ok. Service was great I will return one more time so my husband can see the beautiful architecture but that's about it. Food and drinks were over priced.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

One word awesome!!! It was fab loved the lobster great time

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Berkshire)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The courtyard space outside dining is very nice. The food is very poor. Don't go for dining but my teenage girls loved the vibe!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Food was great but my request to be seated by the pool was ignored when reservation was made. They didn't tell me until I arrived, that the pool area was reserved by a corporate company for their fashion launch. That was disappointing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Hostess are rude and have zero costumer service. Manager has no control of the the hostess or service Waiters however are amazing. I don't recommend you waste your time or money. Not worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Birthday dinner love the atmosphere , food was ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Wonderful dining experience!
Great food, great service, beyond beautiful location.
One of a kind dining experience.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Gianni's, located in the former Versace Mansion in Miami Beach (now the boutique hotel Villa Casa Casuarina) is definitely a destination restaurant. The venue is superb, decor opulent, and the main outside seating area by the mosaic-decorated pool breathtakingly lovely. The sad history (there are always tourists at the front steps photographing where Gianni Versace met his end in 1997) adds an extra piquancy. Though some reviews dispute this, both appetizers and mains were superb; desserts, though, while beautifully presented, seemed merely fair. Reservation was honored promptly. Afterwards one can stroll the property, and even ascend to what had been the observatory. All that being said, a few caveats are in order: Service is merely adequate. And outdoor seating anywhere in South Florida in the summer months is going to be very warm and humid, even at night. The venue is located in South Beach right on Ocean Drive so there is a constant stream of crawling, bumper-to-bumper traffic for many blocks; plan your route and timing accordingly. (Traffic sounds do not intrude in the restaurant; however there is also no ocean view.) Pricey, of course. On balance, not a Michelin-star experience, but an excellent choice for a night to impress.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Waiters need to be more tentative to customers . 30 minutes waiting on a request for an item is way to long .

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Me and my wife we know many good places and restaurants in Miami and was mostly in all "place to be" places. So we wanted to try Gianni's the first time and had a big expectation. But at the end we was disappointed. The location is great, without a question. The hostess are also very nice who get you to the table. But up from there, you will get a better service everywhere else. All waiters was toered, stressed and not friendly, and that even if there was three waiters for a few tables. We had to ask for everything, bread, drinks, etc. The food was nothing special. You get better food at most of the other italian places, but Gianni's charges the high end prices for regular food. So all in all. It is nice to see the location from inside, very nice. But the dining experience was disappointing and not worth it. I have no problem to spent money for a great evening, this is Miami. But I have a problem to spent mich money for a bad evening, bad service and bad food. I had the impression that the waiters was thinking that they are Versace personally and that we have to be thankful, to dine there. So the value of the combination of food and the location is not worth it. So I can not recommend that restaurant. Sorry about that, but this location deserves a much better team and kitchen, then it would become a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Great service and great music.

Enjoyed the restaurant 100%

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Such an incredible experience! My daughter and I went for her birthday and it was very sophisticated as well as intimate. It is expensive, but worth every dime.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Everything was amazing. Food, service were exceptional. The mansion is beyond beautiful. This is what I consider a memorable dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We dined at Gianni's on July 15th. My wife and I have been James Beard Foundation members for 20 years. We met Chef Stewart at the Beard House in May 2016 when Gianni's came to cook at the House and we were very impressed by the dinner that he prepared for the Beard House dinner . When the invitation to come to the restaurant was made as the evening drew to a close, we agreed that we would have to go to Miami Beach to eat at Gianni's. I must say that it was definitely worth the trip. The food was amazing and the service was excellent. Chef spent time with us at our table and put together the perfect selections for our dinner. All the staff were exemplary. As foodies we travel for great meals and I will repeat myself by saying "it was worth the trip". Thank you Chef for a wonderful food experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great ambiance, good food, beautiful place and excellent service, the waiter and manager are very attentive, our time was perfect, thanks.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Food was terrible service and view was nice but besides that not so much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.