About Gianni's

1116 Ocean Drive
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

South Beach’s most exceptional experience awaits you at Gianni's, an event space, restaurant and boutique hotel, The Villa, Casa Casuarina, once the former Versace Mansion. The storied historic location couples with attentive personalized service for a unique Miami Beach experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Sunday: 7pm - Closing
Closed on Mondays
Available for lunches and events 7 days per week for catered events. Contact the Director of Catering and Events at 305-728-6518.

Cross Street:
Between 12th and 11th Streets on Ocean Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(786) 485-2200

Website:
http://www.giannisristorante.com/

Catering:
Catered Events can be organized to suit any occasion in the historic atmosphere of The Villa, Casa Casuarina, the former Versace Mansion, for up to 250 persons.

Parking Details:
Valet parking. The valet parking station is in front of The Hotel Victor South Beach, 1144 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139. There is also street parking and garages in the immediate area.

Public Transit:
Several bus stops one block west on Collins Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Stewart

Private Party Facilities:
With private dining options for groups from 2 to 30, the former Versace Mansion provides Miami's most elegant surroundings for private dining, whether a corporate gathering, a celebration or a romantic dinner for two.

Private Party Contact:
Il Sole : 7864852200

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Can be arranged with The Villa Director of Catering and Events. Inquire at 305-728-6518.

Gianni's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Miami / Southeast Florida
Romantic
Miami / Southeast Florida
Mediterranean
Miami / Southeast Florida
4 More
Best Ambiance
Miami - Dade County
Romantic
Miami - Dade County
Special Occasion
Miami - Dade County
Mediterranean
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami Beach / South Beach ›

special occasion (63)
romantic (63)
great for outdoor dining (45)
See All
scenic view (33)
notable wine list (29)
fit for foodies (22)
neighborhood gem (22)
hot spot (21)
good for groups (15)
late-night find (7)
great for brunch (6)
great for lunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
143 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This restaurant is located in Gianni Ver ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant is located in Gianni Versace's mansion in South Beach. The opportunity to either dine inside in the Art Deco inside dining room, or overlooking the pool make the food a secondary concern. Just a spectacular setting. Service was great overall, and food was very good......good portions, good value and good selection. My guests had seafood and it was excellent.....I had beef and candidly it was not a good cut of meat....sort of tough.

A smaller issue is that within the inside dining room, the music was so loud you could not easily converse with your dinner guests. I asked for the volume to be reduced and they adjusted it.....but not as much as I would have preferred.

But still just a phenomenal experience

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Me and my friend both loved this place. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Me and my friend both loved this place. The service is excellent and the food is exquisite. Our servers were the cutest (*inserts hugging emoji). There was a table that was a little noisy but that was not a problem for us. And the mansion is simply spectacular

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The grounds were Great !!! Don't arrive ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The grounds were Great !!! Don't arrive early before they open @ 7:00,if you do they tell you to wait in a front court yard that is so hot that I was sweating in my jacket before we were seated. No fan,No A/C & no Bar to seat @ while waiting for your table.Then your seated by one person in a first come, first serve setting by one hostess.The food was fair to average. The service was fair. If your a fan of Gianni Versace or your looking for a one time expierence then do it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

As I read the reviews about this restaur ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

As I read the reviews about this restaurant I was a bit scared. I went ahead and reserved anyway and wow was I amazed. Place was perfect it was for my daughters 16th birthday pictures are incredible and you can take them just about anywhere. Service was great and the food was delicious. Best of all the price was even cheaper than I expected. I'm very happy we chose to go here.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fairly well prepared and decent ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Food was fairly well prepared and decently presented. The gnocchi with crab was fairly good. But, nothing was mind-blowing or exceptional, certainly not worth the prices they charge.

Pro tip: NEVER sit outside. The music is horribly loud, gaudy, tacky neon lights decorate the courtyard and it was miserably hot and humid- zero air flow and no fans. No fans for outdoor seating in Miami, are you serious?! The indoor dining room was beautiful, like Triton's underwater palace and we should have been sat there in the first place.

The service staff never asked if we wanted an outdoor versus indoor table. And when we complained about how hot and uncomfortable it was, they said of course we can move you inside, all you had to do was ask. That was extremely off-putting. As someone who has worked in fine dining for several years, I know the guest should never "have to ask" - those needs should be anticipated and accommodated before the guest ever "has to ask". We should have been asked our preference at the door.

That said, our server, who's name I don't remember, was outstanding. He was attentive, yet unobtrusive, personable and had great recommendations (even if we didn't take them). He was knowledgeable and did make every effort to make us comfortable once we communicated how miserable the courtyard seating was. Again though, we should have been offered at the host stand our choice of seating, since there was plenty of space in the indoor dining room.

Only real value here is to say you ate dinner in the Versace mansion, which is how they can get away with charging so much for food that wasn't the slightest bit memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

The ambiance, wine list and wonderful se ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The ambiance, wine list and wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

I cannot say enough about this place. Bi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I cannot say enough about this place. Bitter sweet feeling because I really loved Versace's fashions in the 80's and 90's. Not only was it stunning inside every corner but the service and staff were outstanding, they were so attentive and genuinely very nice. The food was excellent as well, every dish was busting with flavor. Wine list was excellent as well. Can't wait to return.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was everything I thought ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The restaurant was everything I thought it was going to be and more.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very disappointed in the food and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I was very disappointed in the food and the service. You pay that much for food it should be spectacular. The atmosphere was beautiful.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

This was definetly on my bucket list and ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This was definetly on my bucket list and I'm so glad I got to go! Not only is this place absolutely breathtaking, it also has an amazing menu. Nothing we ordered was short of fantastic. The drinks were beautiful too (I ordered a Medusa bubble-something). We got to take pictures by the pool and walked around a little. I loved every moment of being there and would love to go again

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely beautiful restaurant and amaz ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Absolutely beautiful restaurant and amazing food. The staff is so friendly and the management was amazing. What a great night out with my husband!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would definitely recommend this restau ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I would definitely recommend this restaurant service was truly amazing along with our waiter. Everything he recommended from drinks to dessert was on point and very tasteful. Will definitely be back when in Miami.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Years ago I dreamt of once visiting the ...

 
 (Zürich)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Years ago I dreamt of once visiting the former house of Gianni Versace, but then again when it became a hotel, I was not sure I would really like to stay there:

So when I was told it became a restaurant, I thought this would be my chance to see it. I expected little of the food and approximate service.

I was amazed, the food was excellent and the service outstanding. So I had a marvellous dinner on the terrace overseeing the beautiful pool. Just the perfect evening...

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dining experiences on Mi ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

One of the best dining experiences on Miami Beach.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated my son's 25th Birthday at ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We celebrated my son's 25th Birthday at Gianni's. Lovely setting, average food and very overpriced. Good service. Worth trying once but we won't be back.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The service was a little slow. Our filet ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The service was a little slow. Our filet was ordered as medium but was brought out medium well. It took the server 15 minutes after we received our food to first check on us. He agreed that the filet was not cooked correctly and was in fact, medium well. The lamb chops were also cooked medium well instead of medium.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

The Villa is gorgeous I didn't want to l ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The Villa is gorgeous I didn't want to leave such a beauty the pool and the fountains are amazing as well as the food. It is a bit pricey but the over all experience is definitely worth it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

I absolutely loved being there. I have ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I absolutely loved being there. I have such admiration for Gianni Versace he was an inspiration and still is. I am so happy they keep him alive still through the restaurant I'm sure he guards it and loves the way it is. It was an absolute all around fabulous experience and can't wait to go again!!! The waitress we had, Somona, was absolutely a Gem!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, ambiance, service and setting

 
 (Manchester)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

My wife daughter (8) and I wanted a special place for our last night in Miami and this exceeded all expectations. I emailed the restaurant before booking to see if the could prepare something plain for our daughter. We he a speedy response and they were very accommodating.

We were greeted by a friendly hostess which was refreshing for an restaurant of this standard. We were made to feel very welcome, live acoustic music, the everlasting aura of the great man and his unique style and perfect service and food!

Perfectly brilliant!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful time with my fiancé there

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The ambience was great, the service was impeccable, and the food was amazing

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place and excellent service!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Amazing place and excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Food In A Great House

 
 (Singapore)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

I went to Gianni's primarily to see the inside of the former Versace mansion. I was able to get a super last-minute (as in 1 hour before!) 10pm online reservation, and it was worth it! The food was good. However, the portions are too big. So better scale down the number of dishes, or bring a date & share! The host Freddy Erazo was gracious and friendly. My only complaint was the table where I sat was uneven, and yet the waiter did not put anything underneath it. And sometimes it takes too long to have my water replenished. But ither than those minor things, I give the restaurant full marks.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Each dish was beautifully presented and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Each dish was beautifully presented and tasted perfect. The waitress was helpful in choosing an Italian wine to accompany the meal. From place settings to the gardens to the pool, everything was exquisite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Good food, awkward service.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We enjoyed the food, even though it was a bit pricey (but we expected that). The ambiance was wonderful (we sat outside on the terrace overlooking the pool), and the house itself is worth touring after dinner.

However, the service was very friendly but quite erratic (we had no menu inside the leather-bound menu cover handed to my wife, and I received only half a menu. This was quickly rectified when I brought it to their attention, but it was a silly mistake for such an "upscale" restaurant and it got things off to a weird start. Some spoons missing (tea) or not replaced, pepper not on the table, a table that rocked back and forth, etc. Erratic tea refill service, no option to switch out the black napkins to match our white clothes, etc.

Otherwise, very satisfactory food in fair proportions. A beautiful setting that needs a better manager to bring the level of service up to truly "excellent" from awkward.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Historic, in a sense

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The building where Gianni's is located belonged to a famous designer and it is just beautiful. The food was Italian and prepared very well . We had a lovely time here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waiter was unnecessarily very haughty an ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Waiter was unnecessarily very haughty and condescending. Also the valet gave me my car back with a dent on the hood and front bumper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Meal was fantastic Atmosphere was beauti ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Meal was fantastic

Atmosphere was beautiful

Very Romantic

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bad quality food, overpriced.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The place itself is pretty especially outside by the pool. The food tasted like it was from Olive Garden, not worth how much we paid for it. Will not go there again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

The place was spectacular.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The place was spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Date Night

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Such a great experience. Food was delicious. Ambiance and view were spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

One of the best dinning experiences I've had in a long time. Outstanding!!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gianni's was a wonderful experience, it ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Gianni's was a wonderful experience, it made my trip to Miami. Getting to experience dinner at the home of a former Italian designer , enjoy the delicious wine and beautiful view of the pool. Amazing appetizers good food and all my girlfriend kept saying was let's take a picture. As soon as we got home the first thing we did was watch the Versace lifetime movie, make sure you try the Nero d'Avola.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed that the wine was not ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

I was disappointed that the wine was not served professionally but holding by the label.

Tags: hot spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

Hostess could have been a bit less dry ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Hostess could have been a bit less dry and more welcoming and could have asked us if we want to sit inside or outside. We learned about outside sitting after we finished.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Dinner at the Mansion

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

food and table service was very good.The hostess was however rude and uninformed about the mansion itself. She did not have a clue how to treat the general public let alone paying customers.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excelent Gourmet experience

 
 (México)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was great, the place is outstanding, service was so good!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The experience of a life time! Amazing p ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The experience of a life time! Amazing pasta, great dessert, nice wine selection. Servers and other workers were awesome with taking your picture in different locations of the mansion. This was my favorite memory of my past weekend in South Beach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Expectations exceeded

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Simply spectacular! From the hostess to our server Roberto and Nina it was a treat. The lobster and pannacotta were delicious! You could tell that our fellow diners shared in our reverence for the location and appreciated the friendly sophistication. I have to believe Gianni is very happy that so many are enjoying his Miami pied-a-terre.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Over price place and gorgeous decor ! If ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Over price place and gorgeous decor ! If you want to take pictures for social media that is the place, but for nice dinner look somewhere else

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Stunning in all aspects!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Amazing location and exquisite food. Service excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.