About Gianni's

1116 Ocean Drive
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

South Beach’s most exceptional experience awaits you at Gianni's, an event space, restaurant and boutique hotel, The Villa, Casa Casuarina, once the former Versace Mansion. The storied historic location couples with attentive personalized service for a unique Miami Beach experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Sunday: 6pm - Closing
Closed on Mondays
Available for lunches and events 7 days per week for catered events. Contact the Director of Catering and Events at 786-485-2200.

Cross Street:
Between 12th and 11th Streets on Ocean Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(786) 485-2200

Website:
http://www.giannisristorante.com/

Catering:
Catered Events can be organized to suit any occasion in the historic atmosphere of The Villa, Casa Casuarina, the former Versace Mansion, for up to 300 persons.

Parking Details:
Valet parking. There is also street parking and garages in the immediate area.

Public Transit:
Several bus stops one block west on Collins Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Stewart

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Can be arranged with The Villa Director of Catering and Events. Inquire at 786-485-2200.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 7:00PM - 11:45PM

Tue - Thu 7:00PM - 11:45PM

Private Dining

With private dining options for groups from 2 to 30, the former Versace Mansion provides Miami's most elegant surroundings for private dining, whether a corporate gathering, a celebration or a romantic dinner for two.

Gianni's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Miami / Southeast Florida
Special Occasion
Miami / Southeast Florida
Mediterranean
Miami / Southeast Florida
3 More
Romantic
Miami - Dade County
Special Occasion
Miami - Dade County
Mediterranean
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami Beach / South Beach ›

Romantic (50)
Special Occasion (49)
Historic (32)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Good for a Date (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Scenic View (20)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Business Meals (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Fun (5)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (5)
Healthy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Private Room (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Casual (1)
Live Music (1)
Waterfront (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
244 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful house, but the restaurant it's ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

Beautiful house, but the restaurant it's incredible for the italian people! 🙈🙊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

I enjoyed my visit and meal, well worth ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

I enjoyed my visit and meal, well worth the time & money. Ambiance and the history is obviously the reason we eat here so sit outside near the pool. Food was great also i had the Wagyu steak, Medium.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience was Fabulous! The Food was ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The ambience was Fabulous! The Food was Amazing along with the wonderful service by the wait staff. Clearly this is the best restaurant I've Experienced I'n South Beach. For those of you who want that dining experience I highly recommend this establishment. My entire dinner party was in awe! Bravo!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a little disappointed when we we ...

 
 (México)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We were a little disappointed when we were told no pictures were allowed. However the place is beautiful but a little overpriced.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

From the service to the food, absolutely ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

From the service to the food, absolutely amazing!! The only complaint I have is the choice of music and ads… growing up Gianni being my favorite designer, it was a true experience for me!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This our third time dining here. When th ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This our third time dining here. When there is a special occasion, this is our first thought. We started with pan grilled foie gras and marinated sweet breads, both outstanding and the sauces were a great compliment. The rack of lamb and chicken breast next, were fabulous (we had previously had the prawns and Kobe filet) Chef Thomas Stewart always amazes, no wonder he was chosen to cook at the James Beard House last May. Chef Mikey did his usual bang up job on desserts, strawberry shortcake with passion fruit caviar and the coconut parfait with fresh fruit was the topping of the night.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Comida deliciosa, la atencion excelente. ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Comida deliciosa, la atencion excelente. Me encanto...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding location and had the potenti ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Outstanding location and had the potential to be superb choice for my wife''s birthday dinner. Unfortunately Gianni's failed to deliver. I received a phone call from the restaurant confirming the reservation and a rather patronising explanation of what clothing was acceptable. Fair enough I suppose it's a sophisticated place, so we dressed accordingly. Getting to the point the experienced was completely ruined by the fact that the two guests on the next table played loud videos to each other on their phones throughout the meal (the dining room is fairly quite), we asked them politely to stop and they continued. We discretely spoke to the restaurant staff and nothing happened. The loud You Tube show continued. The bill for three of us including wine was $550. I don't mind paying this much when the food, wine and ambiance are all to a high standard. Sadly the ambiance was appalling. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

The property is amazing. The security a ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The property is amazing. The security and restriction from viewing anything but the restaurant is pretty heavy. Probably due to the location in So Beach. As diner only (not a hotel guest) don't expect to see anything but the pool seating and the restroom. You won't be allowed to see a hotel room, go on the 2nd or 3rd floor, and you definitely won't be able to see the roof seating. In fact, we were 30 mins early and were required to wait outside the hotel front door until precisely at our reservation time. No bar visit until after dinner. The bar was and empty hole of a room. Only a couch, no tables or chairs. Seemed more like it was designed to accommodate 6-7 lines of people getting drink but not for mingling.

Since Barton G left, the menu is medium to barely high end Italian. Nothing special on the food. As you may know Barton G's dishes rivaled the property's wow factor. But it's not his kitchen anymore. The service was very friendly and attentive. However, it was a slow night.

The dining room and pool seating, decor and stone work is truly remarkable. So think of the high price is for the property not the food. We spent $650 for 4.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

I did not like the receptionist girl who ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I did not like the receptionist girl who greeted me at the entrance and took me to the table. Arrogante and unmprepared.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The overall dinner experience was amazin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The overall dinner experience was amazing. Our host Alfonso was great. But we came back 2 days later just for drinks with friends and were turned down by the doorman telling us only hotel guests were allowed... we waited 2 Minutes for a cab and another couple came and was let in just for the bar... so... i assume as soon as you spend 400$ on a dinner u r ok but if u just come for drinks u r not.... not a choice for our next guest recommendations to spend their time in SoBe then...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

The whole vibe was off at this place I b ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The whole vibe was off at this place I been looking forward to coming here for years it's nothing I imagined it to be the menu was very small there wasn't much to pick from. the food was not good at all my mother and sister both got a chicken meal and the chicken was still kinda raw. None of our meals had any taste to it. Our server didn't really talk as much . It just wasn't something I would like to experience again. The place was beautiful but the food was just so not good I will never go back. There's always a first time for everything.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

First off - the restaurant exceeds your ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 17, 2016

First off - the restaurant exceeds your expectations. The food was amazing and the service was just as brilliant. This is by far my new favorite restaurant spot in South Beach.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and ambience was amazing. Ho ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The service and ambience was amazing. However, the food really disappointed me. First of all, the restaurant is known to be an italian restaurant. However, other than pasta there was nothing italian on the menu. It was mostly seafood. I tried the chicken dish and it was the most dry chicken I have ever tasted. We also got the salad and the salad was made too salty to the point I couldn't eat it.

Good to take pictures but definitely disappointed by the food for the pricing.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

This was my second time at the restauran ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was my second time at the restaurant and I was looking forward to a romantic evening eating dinner on the balcony overlooking the pool. I was disappointed when we arrived and were told there was a wedding being held in the pool area and we were restricted to where we could eat and walk. The band for the wedding was load and it took away from the experience. There was a bouncer in the courtroom keeping us from walking freely and enjoying the architecture. I feel that if you are making a reservation in advance the restaurant should notify you if an event is being held there. Obviously the wedding had been scheduled in advance as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gianni's is elegant. Food was fine, but ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Gianni's is elegant. Food was fine, but nothing special that struck us as excellent. Our waiter seemed to pay little attention to us. We had to try to catch his attention many times for water, to ask a question, to order, etc. We even poured our own wine!

The restaurant is beautiful. The atmosphere is outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

Place is beautiful... Well you go there ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Place is beautiful... Well you go there just for that. Food was ok. Service is also a little bit above average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Amazing experience with superb food. Sha ...

 
 (Wales)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Amazing experience with superb food. Shame about noisy and inappropriate music.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Food Need A lot More Flavor And Cook ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The Food Need A lot More Flavor And Cooked With Love

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value4

Excellent food and service ! We stayed i ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent food and service !

We stayed in Ft Lauderdale and made the drive to Miami and we are happy we did! Next time we are in South Florida we will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only advantage of this place is the ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The only advantage of this place is the beauty of the villa, very nice and worth seeing... Service is terrible, despite the exact time reservation I had to wait for 15 minutes and was not allowed to go in to use the bathroom without a hostess... The bill was for more than $250, still I was charged $20 for parking and again had to wait at least for 15 minutes outside... Would not recommend to go there...

Tags: Modern Decor, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

Our service was absolutely terrible. Wai ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Our service was absolutely terrible. Waiter was cold, did not share the specials, we had to ask. Never came around. Brought out both orders instead of one by one per our request. For the price of the meal we were expecting A Mastros steak house expirience and we paid 200$ for IHOP.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Food wasn't great but ambiance and servi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food wasn't great but ambiance and service was great. Its beautiful felt the history in this place, we got the versace wine which was just ok.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice place but pricey. I would reg ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Very nice place but pricey. I would regard this as "Eat the View!" kind of place. The setting in the old Versace mansion is spectacular. The food is good and priced accordingly. It's definitely worth eating here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

The Versace Mansion is one of a kind and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The Versace Mansion is one of a kind and a must see when in SoBe. Gianni's menu is approachable and solid. The Cocktails are craft and the wine list generous. This prices are high, but you will have reliable food and drink in a one of a kind setting.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The overall experience was amazing. Our ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The overall experience was amazing. Our waiter was nice and the ambiance was unforgettable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Stunningly beautiful atmosphere with won ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Stunningly beautiful atmosphere with wonderful food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The menu was limited but what we ordered ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The menu was limited but what we ordered was fabulous - filet mignon with foie gras, lobster risotto, tomato linguine. It was very expensive for what is was $45+ per dish. We were seated in a small enclosed room but after we left, we saw a beautiful outside deck overlooking the stunning swimming pool which would've been a far more enjoyable and pretty dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

If you are visiting or live in Miami, it ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 26, 2016

If you are visiting or live in Miami, it's worth going at least once. The overview of the pool is simply amazing. The food was good, nothing spectacular. The cocktails in the other hand were superior. Wouldn't go back unless it's a very special occasion or if I'm with someone that's dying to go.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Amazing and romantic setting, food was e ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Amazing and romantic setting, food was excellent with wonderful plate display and texture.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You cannot go to Miami and not come here ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 23, 2016

You cannot go to Miami and not come here. Versace Versace Versace Versace

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING FOOD. AMAZING EXPERIENCE. A g ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 23, 2016

AMAZING FOOD.

AMAZING EXPERIENCE.

A great place to dress up and enjoy some GREAT food. The atmosphere is great and this mansion is just beautiful!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! Simply Amazing! The food was gr ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Amazing! Simply Amazing! The food was great and so was the service!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service, food, and ambiance is AMAZI ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The service, food, and ambiance is AMAZING! If you are visiting Miami and would like a night to remember, you must include Giana's.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was outstanding but the f ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The atmosphere was outstanding but the food was just "ok"

Worth dining there to see the Versace mansion but would not go back based on the food. Good Italian food but not exceptional...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

3 Star dinning at a 5 Star price. You co ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 22, 2016

3 Star dinning at a 5 Star price. You come because it's the famous VM and not because of the food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Other reviews which we read prior to goi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Other reviews which we read prior to going were remarkably accurate.... The first wine we requested was no longer available. They came back with a suggestion (much pricier) which we agreed to. They came back in a few minutes to apologize that they were out of that wine as well (even though they recommended it) and suggested another wine that was still more expensive! Quite annoying. They forgot to set the table properly (I had no knife or fork) and had to ask after they had brought the food. The staff are very pleasant and nice but just seem poorly trained. The ambience is stunning, however, and makes up for the food (good but not outstanding by any means). You're definitely paying for the hype and location, not the chef!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

I wanted to see the mansion without spen ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2016

I wanted to see the mansion without spending $1100 a night on a room. The food and service far surpassed my expectations. The location is stunning. As beautiful as you would imagine it to be. The food was surprisingly delicious and the service was on point an un pretentious.

The menu is not large, but between a cocktail, an appetizer and two mains everything was beautifully plated and a stand out on taste. It's not cheap, but did anyone expect it to be?

The above plus two mid range glasses of wine cost a bit more than $200. 20% gratuity is include on the bill.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful surroundings sat with an amazi ...

 
 (Edinburgh)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Beautiful surroundings sat with an amazing view of Versace's gold lined pool. Lovely ambience. Food was incredible. Slightly snooty staff who tried to be professional but failed to be genuine or sincere with their service. Great setting, lovely meal and beautiful and historic setting but staff need to be better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Amazing all around. Will always remembe ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Amazing all around. Will always remember the day I went and ate at the Versace Masion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.