About Geske's Fire Grill

1506 N Lee Trevino Dr
El Paso, TX 79936
View Larger Map

Geske's Grill opened its doors in 2006, quickly becoming one of El Paso’s premier culinary hot spots. Located on El Paso’s east side, owner John Geske set out to create a restaurant that offered good food in a fun and dynamic atmosphere. At Geske’s, we understand that quality is important, and so we offer our customers only the freshest, ingredients, steaks hand-cut fresh daily, dressings made from scratch, homemade desserts, and much more. We’re after the complete dining experience here at Geske’s because we know that is what our customers have come to expect. Every morning, before the hustle and bustle of the lunchtime rush, before the first item is ordered or the first beverage poured, the kitchen inside Geske’s Fire Grill comes alive to perform perhaps the most important rituals of the day. At Geske’s Fire Grill, our number one priority is to our customers, and we pride ourselves on our commitment to quality.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 2:00pm - 10pm; Saturday: 2:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 2:00pm - 8:00pm;

Cross Street:
Vista Del Sol

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(915) 593-3473

Website:
http://www.geskesgrill.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Surf & Turf Entree - Geske's Fire Grill, El Paso, TX
Vegetarian platter - Geske's Fire Grill, El Paso, TX
Prime Rib Dip with Garlic Parmesan Fries - Geske's Fire Grill, El Paso, TX
Red, White And Blue 2.0 A.K.A. The Obama - Geske's Fire Grill, El Paso, TX
Tuna Sandwich - Geske's Fire Grill, El Paso, TX
Sirloin With Fresh Mozarella Side - Geske's Fire Grill, El Paso, TX
Brunch! Chorizo Burger With A Sunny Side Egg! - Geske's Fire Grill, El Paso, TX
Bacon Wrapped Shrimp With Scallops - Geske's Fire Grill, El Paso, TX
Bcs Pasta - Geske's Fire Grill, El Paso, TX
Spinach And Artichoke Dip - Geske's Fire Grill, El Paso, TX
  Crème Brûlée - Geske's Fire Grill, El Paso, TX
Club Sandwich - Geske's Fire Grill, El Paso, TX
Sort By:
S
37 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great Bday Dinner

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on August 29, 2015

We had a blast, we love it here. The food is so good, we tried the new sushi creations and they are amazing....

Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious sea bass

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on August 16, 2015

Our server was really good , friendly and prompt. I am sorry I can't remember his name. There were five of us, two had the seabass which was delicious, one had the shrimp tacos which were in small flour tortillas that fell apart so she just ate the shrimp with her fork but she said it was very good. One person had ceviche which she claimed was fabulous. One person had the pork tenderloin sandwich, I assumed he loved it because he did not say a word until his plate was clean. For sides it seems we all either got mac and cheese or pesto green chile rice, I think the rice won out, the mac and cheese was a little bland and dry , the rice on the other hand was scrumptious. Friends of ours were at the bar having cocktails and a great old time, a fun place to be in the evening . It can get a bit loud but that's life!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food with even greater service

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 15, 2015

I found the restaurant through open table by reading the reviews of past customers. Normally I am very aporetic of other people's opinion, but this time it was spot on. The food was excellent and service was remarkable. I will definitely be returning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu Reads better than Food Tasted!

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 15, 2015

Reading the on-line menu, I eagerly anticipated dining at Geske's. Even reading the menu while seated gave me hopes of a very good meal. However, that was not the case. My "Green Chile and Mushroom Risotto" was very disappointing in it's taste. The tenderloin pieces on top were very good and cooked medium rare as ordered. Our Server was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5

Once again, this place represents!

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2015

Took the family to Geske's for NYE and once again this place did not disappoint. From the appetizers to the main course to the dessert, everything was great. The atmosphere was good too. Even though the place was about 90% full, it wasn't loud. The music was good, like it was Soul music Wednesday. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This salad was old, the con queso was w/mozerrla!!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2014

Not a good eating experience,but the service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Geske's Never Dissapoints

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on November 29, 2014

The cucumber margaritas are the best!!! I also recommend the shrimp and crab green enchiladas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on August 30, 2014

I really enjoyed myself and so did my guest! I had the artichoke dip and salmon and it was sooo good! Wine and drinks were great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great atmosphere, awesome good

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 21, 2014

Definitely worth a second trip. The food was amazing, or server was extremely helpful and helped me surprise my wife with a birthday dessert. Very quiet and is in a good location. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Mother's Day Dinner

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 12, 2014

Everything was great! I love the smoked salmon appetizer and the spinach artichoke dip. Between all five of us, we had a chicken dish, chicken pasta, burger, and club sandwich, the baby had Mac and cheese. Everything was delicious. This is my third time coming here and always leave happy. I also had the tres leeches martini, yum!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Cucumber margaritas are the best!

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on April 19, 2014

Cucumber margaritas are the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food and service was exceptiona

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 8, 2014

The food and service was exceptional. A wonderful evening with an enjoyable atmosphere and fabulous food.

Coming to the El Paso area from Atlanta it's taken my wife and I quite some time to find a dining experience comparable with those experienced back home, Geskes food and service is definitely on a par.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Bad customer service

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 22, 2013

Did reservation on line for 6 people. Was given table close to entrance. Cold wind came in every time people would come in and out. Requested to be moved and hostesses just said nothing could be done. Tried to deal with the cold bursts but it was too uncomfortable to drink and eat. eventually after more than an hour we were able to be moved. This was by other person who worked there. Terrible hostesses. Will not recommend. Made the whole dinner night a fail.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

date night

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on September 1, 2013

Took the wife out for dinner. A friend recommended geskes and I'm glad for it. Was very impressed with the customer service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Night with the wife!

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on August 25, 2013

Made a reservation and walked right in to a table! Service was great an the food was awesome!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on August 18, 2013

My relatives came in from Dallas Tx and it was thier first time! Awesome as always!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Geskes experience

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on July 22, 2013

The service was impeccable and the food I ordered (fish tacos and sweet potato fries) was very tasty and very fairly priced. This is one of my El Paso favorites.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous!

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on July 18, 2013

I am well traveled and incredibly picky. We sampled the ahi tuna, loaded mashed potatoes, mushroom risotto, and pimento cheese dip. All were excellent! (The guacamole that came with the pimento cheese was the only item lacking gastro pub quality.) the service was equally impressive. We will definitely be back next time we're in El Paso. If you are reading this review wondering where to have dinner, you just found it. Get the risotto.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

food and service

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on June 16, 2013

Food and service was awesome. Our server was very attentative. Awesome!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

New Tribe - the Geskians

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 2, 2013

We've become big fans of Geske's. The server (wish I could remember his name) was outstanding. Made it a good experience for each person at the table.

The food is always spot on. Try the macaroni and cheese.

Only complaint: the bread pudding is just too large to eat on your own.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Pleasantly Surprised

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 24, 2013

Everything on the table was very tasty, nicely portioned and professionally served. The price was appropriate to the food and service quality. The desserts were not only delicious, but too much for one person. Save room for the unique bread pudding; very tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Good food, great service

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 24, 2013

Food service was fast, taste was amazing, presentation was nice and service was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love Geskes

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 19, 2013

Geskes is my favorite restaurant in El Paso and I really enjoy going there. The food is outstanding and the prices are awesome. Great quality for a decent price.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Found an excellent resturant.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2013

Found an excellent resturant. Can't wait to go back. Service was top notch. Steaks were cooked as requested and everything was delicious. The banana cream pie took the cake, one of my top two. If a resturant offers banana cream pie that's usually my go to dessert. This is prepared a little differently than you might expect, but it's one of the best I've every had. Sorry, mom.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome place

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on April 20, 2013

Great food and awesome service! Love the ambience!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Service using the Open Table

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on March 2, 2013

I was very impressed with the service using the open table reservations. We made our reservation for 7:15 using the open table app. When we arrived, there were several people waiting for tables. We arrived, identified ourselves and were seated promptly. No waiting! Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great place love the food

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 24, 2013

Great place love the food or to just go have some drinks with friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 23, 2013

Great food, great service, great ambience - I highly recommend it

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a good time at the

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 17, 2013

We had a good time at the restaurant but the service was somewhat bad! The server was nice but took too long to come back when we needed something, the food took a while to come out and the Mac and cheese tasted like if it had just come out from the microwave!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Nice Dinner

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 16, 2013

My husband and I celebrated Valentine's Day dinner. We had a great time. We even took the kids with us. Definitely go again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Romance or celebration!

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 14, 2013

Geskes is the quintessential place for both romantic intimate dinners and group celebrations. They are versatile and can handle a large group as well as a table for two.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 10, 2013

The table was ready before we even got there. Excellent customer service!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really liked the fact that

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 6, 2013

Really liked the fact that I could make a reservation as well as update online. Great service and great food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

GREAT Service!

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2013

I was in El Paso for a football game, and while the game didn't quite go as I'd have hoped, this place made up for it! I was with my dad who can be quite picky, AND it was New Year's Eve, so it was a gamble to go anywhere. When our crabcakes burned, we were given a good one, and two more on the house. They even spotted me a glass of wine to apologize for the inconvenience! The house salad was great, and the glaze on my salmon was house-made. You could actually feel the brown sugar in your teeth - not some glossy slurry out of a jug. Also - I was VERY impressed with the mac&cheese...REAL CHEESE! Not some cheesy soupy goo with noodles! If I'm ever back in El Paso, I'll return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very knowledgable server and

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 1, 2013

Very knowledgable server and very attentive. Dinner specials were delish!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant. I went with

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2012

Great restaurant. I went with a party of 7 which included four teenagers and their grandmother. The food was excellent. Our party ordered fish, burgers and pasta and all were excellent. Service was great. Does not look like much from the outside, but it was great to find a local place that was not a "chain".

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I had my baby shower this

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on November 11, 2012

I had my baby shower this weekend at Geske's. My friends asked me to choose the location and I chose this restaurant because I've always had a good experience and I love the food you have. But during my baby shower I was pretty embarrassed that I picked this place and everyone was commenting on other places we could have gone to.

The food was good. But the service was absolutely ridiculus. The first waiter we had was HORRIBLE!!!! It took him forever to take our drink order and we found out that he was at the end of his shift so I guess he didn't want to be bothered with a large group. The second waiter was a little better but when it came to check out. OMG it took him FOREVER to get our tickets with the right orders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.