About Gervais & Vine

Gervais & Vine is the Vista's favorite gathering place for diners that desire the unique blend of a French cafe, Spanish bodega, and Italian cucina. Our wine bar is the ideal place to unwind after work, or gather with coworkers and friends for a relaxing delicious dinner. We are pleased to offer a beverage menu accented with over 40 esoteric, award winning wines from around the world. We also have a large selection of beer and a full service bar. Happy hour daily 4-6.

Chef Jason Holowacz creates his menu with wholesome, locally grown ingredients. Dinner specials feature fresh fish, choice meats, and seasonal fruits and vegetables.

We also feature wine tastings, live music on Wednesday evenings and ample free parking behind our restaurant. Weather permitting , our patio is a great place to enjoy all that Gervais & Vine has to offer and of course your furry friends are welcome, too. Hope to see y'all soon!

620 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Pulaski

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 799-8463

Website:
http://www.gervine.com/

Entertainment:
We offer Live Music Wednesday & Thursday nights. Wednesdays we have Wine Tastings from 5:30-7:30. Once a month we offer Wine Dinners. Throughout the year we host other awesome events such as Wine Goddess Night and other fundraisers, etc.

Parking Details:
We offer free parking. The large and dedicated parking lot is located behind the restaurant and is reached via Pulaski Street. Entrance is located on the side of G&V and does not face the parking lot or Gervais St.

Executive Chef:
Jason Holowacz

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gervais & Vine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (18)
Good for a Date (15)
Casual (12)
See All
Tasting Menu (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Romantic (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Cozy (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Open Kitchen (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Live Music (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Authentic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fun (2)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Scenic View (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
169 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Very disappointed in this restaurant. The food was either too salty or not hot. Salmon & Grits were barely warm and the meatball dish was very salty. Gouda, Shrimp & Bacon Dip as well as the Fried Green Tomatoes were good! The Buehler Napa Cab was excellent and priced well. We were excited to know there was live music but it was too loud for such a small restaurant.
It felt more like a bar rather than a restaurant to us!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Yum very good. The mussels are wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Good as usual....how ever service was a little slow...

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 23, 2017

ha not been there in a while and now I will definately go more often

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Outstanding service coupled with delicious food and drinks. Never been disappointed here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Fun place to meet friends and share excellent offerings! Outstanding pizza and interesting spreads to share.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Tapas style was great for sharing with a group...will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a reservation at 7:30 but stopped earlier. The manager told us all he had available was outside. The night was very windy but we decided to try. The confusing thing is that a table inside remained available for our entire meal. Not good customer service as the wind played havoc during our 1st and last meal at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

SAT at the bar to eat. Food was great, service was great, interesting conversation. Just a fun evening.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Good food with a peaceful atmosphere. Always a nice dinner date location.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Farm to table. Great tapas choices. Enjoyed the Garnacha wine. Fantastic dessert choices too. Walking distance from downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good food... large portions for a tapas serving. They do not rush you... so you can relax and enjoy!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Loved all the different tapas played we tried
Will come back

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Love love love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I made a reservation for 7 several days in advance . I did not like our table, as it was by the front door with a view of the kitchen. When I asked if there were other tables , our waitress abruptly said "no".
I like Gervais and Vine , but probably won't go there again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food at motor supply always surprises me. I don't know why. It never lets me down. I recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great atmosphere and food!! Excellent service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Had a great time. Only issue was that the place is a bit drafty so I had to keep my coat on. The food was great (oh my goodness, the spreads!!!), the wine menu is phenomenal and the price per glass is reasonable. The waitress was very friendly and made great suggestions. Overall just a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great food. Service was excellent. Would recommend for date night or group of people.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 17, 2017

My husband and I are never disappointed. We highly recommend Gervais & Vine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

food sucked and the staff was rude. they are members of Columbia Originals and would not accept me using my rewards

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Slightly over-priced wine, but good food and good service and a nice laid back atmosphere.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great for girlfriend gathering! Food was good and staff was attentive.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We dined at Gervais and Vine for an early NYE dinner. It had been years since we last ate here but were instantly reminded of why it used to be a go-to date night stop for us--great wine, a variety of tapas options, creative cocktails, reasonable price. Our food was delicious (we had the wedge salad, tomato and mozzarella salad, lamb chops, scallops, and goat cheese spread), and the service was awesome! We will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We went there to celebrate our daughter graduating from USC, it was perfect! The food was fantastic, our waiter was very attentive, we had a great time! Great place for a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I found Gervais & Vine a very enjoyable experience for Tapas lovers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

our meal was delicious and even though it was tapas style there was plenty of food per plate . the sauces for the scallops were made fresh and the desserts were so tempting we got them to go as we had such a filling dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We got there on time and sat at our table for more than 15 minutes without being approached by a waiter so we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Normally a great restaurant but server was poor tonight...late, forgetful, not present much. Food was excellent as usual.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

❤the menu!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Group of college buddies cam to town and this was a nice treat that allowed us to share some items and experience a diverse menu. Great beer list and service. Seat in back area but comfortable. Waiter so,it check 6 ways without even a shrug and that was nice. Brussels sprouts and Gambas is a must eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 26, 2016

I brought my wife here for her birthday and she absolutely loved it! We tried several items and ended up ordering another filet for us because it was so good! I would definitely recommend checking this place out for the great food and service.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I was not satisfied with the service at all. It took at least 40 minutes or our server to even acknowledge us and another 15 minutes to get us water and menus. The server was not checking in on us and took another 30 minutes to get our order, which came to the table 30 minutes later and were luke-warm at best. Even though we placed our orders that the same time, the three of us received our food at different times, which is not what we had requested. After the had the food, our server became very interested in our table and began checking in too frequently, trying to take away plates of food we were not finished eating and pushing more glasses of wine. After the food was finished and plates cleared, our server seemed in a rush to get us out, but the check still took over 35 minutes to be processed. When the checks arrived, they were not split up properly and we didn't even bother trying to correct the mistake at this point. It took another 30 minutes for us to pay and finally leave. For a solid hour we sat at our table with nothing but our water glasses because our food had be cleared in haste. I would not recommend this restaurant because the service was terrible and the food was not satisfactory for the price. There are many other places in the Vista with better food and service for half the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The food was absolutely phenomenal. Some of the best that Columbia has to offer. The service on the other hand was absolutely terrible. Our waiter took 20 minutes just to get our drink order. From then on we may have seen him twice. After dinner was over it took 20 minutes just to get our check and cash out. We were there almost 2 hours total. The food is the only thing that made it worth the wait and to even consider going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 10, 2016

We have always had positive experiences here ! Love this little restaurant. Lamb, duck , filet, salmon, mussels and bruschetta were 2 thumbs up!!! Hope these never leave the menu !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great food, great wine, great value! Always one of our favorite places to come to when we visit Columbia!

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Six of us, all evacuees from Hurricane Matthew, decided to share a nice meal. Tapas is great for sharing and this place offered us outstanding tapas. Our waiter was equally great---personable, efficient and knowledgeable. We had a great meal and a great time, and will keep this place in mind next time we are in Columbia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2016

booked a table for 6 originally but then my daughter (a student at USC) wanted to bring 3 more people. The staff had no problem accomodating us. Our server was attentive and fun. She was a little overwhelmed but she did OK. it was a busy Friday night. Food can be a little salty but otherwise was just fine. Order lots of tapas to share around the table. Decent wine list and prices were very reasonable. Would go here again.

Tags: Vegan, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This is our favorite Columbia restaurant, so it's a treat to visit G&V before heading back to Charleston, SC. In the past, G&V did not accept reservations, which was a bummer. It's great that we can make a reservation and not have to worry about waiting for a table. The food is always amazing, and I always look forward to the daily specials. Don't change a thing; this place is a neighborhood gem.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Healthy, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Took my mother to Gervais & Vine for her birthday with pre 6 PM reservations on a Saturday. Despite the fact that a few 4 tops were open, we were given a 2 top by the bar with the 3rd seat protruding into a busy traffic aisle. Took 10 minutes after appetizers arrived to get a 3rd set of silverware with slow service the theme throughout. Food was mediocre given the prices. If you're looking for a nice spot and quality service and food, this isn't it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.