About Gervais & Vine

Gervais & Vine is the Vista's favorite gathering place for diners that desire the unique blend of a French cafe, Spanish bodega, and Italian cucina. Our wine bar is the ideal place to unwind after work, or gather with coworkers and friends for a relaxing delicious dinner. We are pleased to offer a beverage menu accented with over 40 esoteric, award winning wines from around the world. We also have a large selection of beer and a full service bar. Happy hour daily 4-6.

Chef Jason Holowacz creates his menu with wholesome, locally grown ingredients. Dinner specials feature fresh fish, choice meats, and seasonal fruits and vegetables.

We also feature wine tastings, live music on Wednesday evenings and ample free parking behind our restaurant. Weather permitting , our patio is a great place to enjoy all that Gervais & Vine has to offer and of course your furry friends are welcome, too. Hope to see y'all soon!

620 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Pulaski

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 799-8463

Website:
http://www.gervine.com/

Entertainment:
We offer Live Music Wednesday & Thursday nights. Wednesdays we have Wine Tastings from 5:30-7:30. Once a month we offer Wine Dinners. Throughout the year we host other awesome events such as Wine Goddess Night and other fundraisers, etc.

Parking Details:
We offer free parking. The large and dedicated parking lot is located behind the restaurant and is reached via Pulaski Street. Entrance is located on the side of G&V and does not face the parking lot or Gervais St.

Executive Chef:
Jason Holowacz

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gervais & Vine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (10)
Foodies (8)
GoodForDates (8)
See All
SpecialOccasions (8)
Casual (8)
CreativeCuisine (7)
Romance (6)
Groups (6)
TastingMenu (6)
NeighborhoodGem (5)
Birthdays (5)
Cozy (5)
OutdoorDining (4)
Fun (4)
HappyHour (4)
QuickBite (3)
NotableWineList (3)
PeopleWatching (3)
LateNightFind (3)
QuietConversation (3)
BarSeating (2)
ScenicView (2)
LiveMusic (2)
Anniversaries (2)
Lunch (2)
HotSpot (2)
LocalIngredients (2)
PrePostTheatre (2)
BusinessMeals (2)
Authentic (2)
WorthTheDrive (2)
OpenKitchen (2)
Organic (1)
VegetarianOptions (1)
ComfortFood (1)
VibrantBarScene (1)
Healthy (1)
FamilyStyle (1)
Seasonal (1)
DisabledAccess (1)
Sort By:
S
177 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Server was rude. Place was dead for a Saturday night. Cheese selection was sub par. Overpriced for what it is.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Even though the restaurant was not busy, our waiter provided terrible service. After taking our drink order, he was so slow to return that we had to ask someone else about our food. When the waiter did bring our food, he neglected to bring several of the dishes we had ordered. We found out that he had not submitted the orders for the food at all. Avoid this restaurant---it was a poor experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Everything was as expected EXCEPT the steak was below their usual quality. Usually it melts in your mouth. This time it was a bit "stringy" for lack of a better description. My husband had some fat in his. The scallops were excellent as always, wine was good, spinach artichoke spread yummy. Desert was delicious. We love it here and will continue to go as long as the quality stays high. Server was one of the best we have had. Sorry I did not get her name.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Disabled Access, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food was excellent, grest server and lovef the ambience. It was very busy for a Thursday night so the parking lot was full due to other businesses in the area

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

As our last meal in Cola while our daughter was a student concluded, I left G&V regretting that we had only first patronized it a month earlier. Not sure if I will get back to Cola anytime soon but G&V will be a destination.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

we went for my daughters graduation. we had a reservation but had to wait 30 minutes before we were seated, with the restaurant only half full. they were out of many food options which was from a limited menu to begin with. The service was absolutely horrible!!!!! The place was dirty. We had to continually ask for water refills, bread etc. Would not recommend this place!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We had reservations at 5:15pm to celebrate college graduation. As soon as we were seated, we began to order. We had 7 people and when we had received the check and were paying, one of the managers came to ask us if we werei about to leave since they had more reservations for that table. She was very nice but I was shocked she asked us without asking our server. Not a good way to end our dining experience that night and our bill was about $400 and we were never sitting there without eating.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Amazing food and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Very disappointed in this restaurant. The food was either too salty or not hot. Salmon & Grits were barely warm and the meatball dish was very salty. Gouda, Shrimp & Bacon Dip as well as the Fried Green Tomatoes were good! The Buehler Napa Cab was excellent and priced well. We were excited to know there was live music but it was too loud for such a small restaurant.
It felt more like a bar rather than a restaurant to us!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Tasting Menu, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Yum very good. The mussels are wonderful

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Good as usual....how ever service was a little slow...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 23, 2017

ha not been there in a while and now I will definately go more often

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Outstanding service coupled with delicious food and drinks. Never been disappointed here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Fun place to meet friends and share excellent offerings! Outstanding pizza and interesting spreads to share.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Tapas style was great for sharing with a group...will definitely be back.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a reservation at 7:30 but stopped earlier. The manager told us all he had available was outside. The night was very windy but we decided to try. The confusing thing is that a table inside remained available for our entire meal. Not good customer service as the wind played havoc during our 1st and last meal at this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

SAT at the bar to eat. Food was great, service was great, interesting conversation. Just a fun evening.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Good food with a peaceful atmosphere. Always a nice dinner date location.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Farm to table. Great tapas choices. Enjoyed the Garnacha wine. Fantastic dessert choices too. Walking distance from downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good food... large portions for a tapas serving. They do not rush you... so you can relax and enjoy!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Loved all the different tapas played we tried
Will come back

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Love love love this place!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I made a reservation for 7 several days in advance . I did not like our table, as it was by the front door with a view of the kitchen. When I asked if there were other tables , our waitress abruptly said "no".
I like Gervais and Vine , but probably won't go there again

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food at motor supply always surprises me. I don't know why. It never lets me down. I recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great atmosphere and food!! Excellent service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Had a great time. Only issue was that the place is a bit drafty so I had to keep my coat on. The food was great (oh my goodness, the spreads!!!), the wine menu is phenomenal and the price per glass is reasonable. The waitress was very friendly and made great suggestions. Overall just a great meal!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great food. Service was excellent. Would recommend for date night or group of people.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Casual, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 17, 2017

My husband and I are never disappointed. We highly recommend Gervais & Vine.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

food sucked and the staff was rude. they are members of Columbia Originals and would not accept me using my rewards

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Slightly over-priced wine, but good food and good service and a nice laid back atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great for girlfriend gathering! Food was good and staff was attentive.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We dined at Gervais and Vine for an early NYE dinner. It had been years since we last ate here but were instantly reminded of why it used to be a go-to date night stop for us--great wine, a variety of tapas options, creative cocktails, reasonable price. Our food was delicious (we had the wedge salad, tomato and mozzarella salad, lamb chops, scallops, and goat cheese spread), and the service was awesome! We will definitely be back soon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We went there to celebrate our daughter graduating from USC, it was perfect! The food was fantastic, our waiter was very attentive, we had a great time! Great place for a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I found Gervais & Vine a very enjoyable experience for Tapas lovers.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

our meal was delicious and even though it was tapas style there was plenty of food per plate . the sauces for the scallops were made fresh and the desserts were so tempting we got them to go as we had such a filling dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We got there on time and sat at our table for more than 15 minutes without being approached by a waiter so we left.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Normally a great restaurant but server was poor tonight...late, forgetful, not present much. Food was excellent as usual.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

❤the menu!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Group of college buddies cam to town and this was a nice treat that allowed us to share some items and experience a diverse menu. Great beer list and service. Seat in back area but comfortable. Waiter so,it check 6 ways without even a shrug and that was nice. Brussels sprouts and Gambas is a must eat.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 26, 2016

I brought my wife here for her birthday and she absolutely loved it! We tried several items and ended up ordering another filet for us because it was so good! I would definitely recommend checking this place out for the great food and service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.