Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Motor Supply Company BistroMotor Supply Company Bistro
(1528)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Columbia, Columbia
Booked 41 times today
Ruth's Chris Steak House - ColumbiaRuth's Chris Steak House - Columbia
(799)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Columbia, Columbia
Booked 20 times today
Blue MarlinBlue Marlin
(1745)
$$$$
Low Country | Columbia, Columbia
Booked 57 times today
Cowboy Brazilian Steakhouse - ColumbiaCowboy Brazilian Steakhouse - Columbia
(411)
$$$$
Brazilian Steakhouse | Columbia, Columbia
Booked 22 times today
Cola's RestaurantCola's Restaurant
(904)
$$$$
American | Columbia, Columbia
Booked 51 times today
Al's UpstairsAl's Upstairs
(256)
$$$$
Italian | Columbia, Columbia
Booked 7 times today
Hampton Street VineyardHampton Street Vineyard
(558)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Columbia, Columbia
Booked 16 times today
Ristorante DivinoRistorante Divino
(320)
$$$$
Italian | Columbia, Columbia
Booked 12 times today
The Oak TableThe Oak Table
(869)
$$$$
American | Columbia, Columbia
Booked 28 times today
The Melting Pot - Columbia SCThe Melting Pot - Columbia SC
(100)
$$$$
Fondue | Columbia, Columbia
Booked 5 times today
Saluda'sSaluda's
(1538)
$$$$
American | Columbia, Columbia
Booked 32 times today
Rosso Trattoria ItaliaRosso Trattoria Italia
(1201)
$$$$
Italian | Columbia, Columbia
Booked 15 times today
Tombo GrilleTombo Grille
(433)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Columbia, Columbia
Booked 19 times today
Solstice KitchenSolstice Kitchen
(1425)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Columbia, Columbia
Booked 26 times today
Bistro on the BoulevardBistro on the Boulevard
(114)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Irmo, Columbia
Booked 3 times today

About Gervais & Vine

Gervais & Vine is the Vista's favorite gathering place for diners that desire the unique blend of a French cafe, Spanish bodega, and Italian cucina. Our wine bar is the ideal place to unwind after work, or gather with coworkers and friends for a relaxing delicious dinner. We are pleased to offer a beverage menu accented with over 40 esoteric, award winning wines from around the world. We also have a large selection of beer and a full service bar. Happy hour daily 4-6.

Chef Jason Holowacz creates his menu with wholesome, locally grown ingredients. Dinner specials feature fresh fish, choice meats, and seasonal fruits and vegetables.

We also feature wine tastings, live music on Wednesday evenings and ample free parking behind our restaurant. Weather permitting , our patio is a great place to enjoy all that Gervais & Vine has to offer and of course your furry friends are welcome, too. Hope to see y'all soon!

620 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Pulaski

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 799-8463

Website:
http://www.gervine.com/

Entertainment:
We offer Live Music Wednesday & Thursday nights. Wednesdays we have Wine Tastings from 5:30-7:30. Once a month we offer Wine Dinners. Throughout the year we host other awesome events such as Wine Goddess Night and other fundraisers, etc.

Parking Details:
We offer free parking. The large and dedicated parking lot is located behind the restaurant and is reached via Pulaski Street. Entrance is located on the side of G&V and does not face the parking lot or Gervais St.

Executive Chef:
Jason Holowacz

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gervais & Vine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (8)
Tapas (7)
Good for a Date (7)
See All
Fit for Foodies (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Casual (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Cozy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Fun (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Authentic (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Business Meals (3)
Scenic View (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Live Music (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
183 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Particularly loved the Scallops. Only complaint concerned the Bread Pudding. It was a bit dry for my tastes.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Outstanding dinner. Enjoy random Tapas items off the menu and some wine. Went for an anniversary. Great food great service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We enjoyed everything we ordered...the mussels were wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Server was rude. Place was dead for a Saturday night. Cheese selection was sub par. Overpriced for what it is.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Even though the restaurant was not busy, our waiter provided terrible service. After taking our drink order, he was so slow to return that we had to ask someone else about our food. When the waiter did bring our food, he neglected to bring several of the dishes we had ordered. We found out that he had not submitted the orders for the food at all. Avoid this restaurant---it was a poor experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Everything was as expected EXCEPT the steak was below their usual quality. Usually it melts in your mouth. This time it was a bit "stringy" for lack of a better description. My husband had some fat in his. The scallops were excellent as always, wine was good, spinach artichoke spread yummy. Desert was delicious. We love it here and will continue to go as long as the quality stays high. Server was one of the best we have had. Sorry I did not get her name.

Tags: Disabled Access, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Tasty and hot entrees & appetizers (when they eventually arrived, and not in the order you would expect). Service was spotty and slow. The bar was not stocked with the beverages listed on the menu and, on a Saturday night, too. Wait staff kept claiming they were busy. But, they're always busy. This was an unusual night as the service, kitchen, and bar are exceptional in my past experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I can't wait to go back and try more delicious plates!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food was excellent, grest server and lovef the ambience. It was very busy for a Thursday night so the parking lot was full due to other businesses in the area

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

As our last meal in Cola while our daughter was a student concluded, I left G&V regretting that we had only first patronized it a month earlier. Not sure if I will get back to Cola anytime soon but G&V will be a destination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

we went for my daughters graduation. we had a reservation but had to wait 30 minutes before we were seated, with the restaurant only half full. they were out of many food options which was from a limited menu to begin with. The service was absolutely horrible!!!!! The place was dirty. We had to continually ask for water refills, bread etc. Would not recommend this place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We had reservations at 5:15pm to celebrate college graduation. As soon as we were seated, we began to order. We had 7 people and when we had received the check and were paying, one of the managers came to ask us if we werei about to leave since they had more reservations for that table. She was very nice but I was shocked she asked us without asking our server. Not a good way to end our dining experience that night and our bill was about $400 and we were never sitting there without eating.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Amazing food and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Very disappointed in this restaurant. The food was either too salty or not hot. Salmon & Grits were barely warm and the meatball dish was very salty. Gouda, Shrimp & Bacon Dip as well as the Fried Green Tomatoes were good! The Buehler Napa Cab was excellent and priced well. We were excited to know there was live music but it was too loud for such a small restaurant.
It felt more like a bar rather than a restaurant to us!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Yum very good. The mussels are wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Good as usual....how ever service was a little slow...

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 23, 2017

ha not been there in a while and now I will definately go more often

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Outstanding service coupled with delicious food and drinks. Never been disappointed here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Fun place to meet friends and share excellent offerings! Outstanding pizza and interesting spreads to share.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Tapas style was great for sharing with a group...will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had a reservation at 7:30 but stopped earlier. The manager told us all he had available was outside. The night was very windy but we decided to try. The confusing thing is that a table inside remained available for our entire meal. Not good customer service as the wind played havoc during our 1st and last meal at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was tasty but not strictly mediteranian. The dessert was great. Good place for a date if you don't know someone's food preferences.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

SAT at the bar to eat. Food was great, service was great, interesting conversation. Just a fun evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Good food with a peaceful atmosphere. Always a nice dinner date location.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Farm to table. Great tapas choices. Enjoyed the Garnacha wine. Fantastic dessert choices too. Walking distance from downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good food... large portions for a tapas serving. They do not rush you... so you can relax and enjoy!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Loved all the different tapas played we tried
Will come back

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Love love love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I made a reservation for 7 several days in advance . I did not like our table, as it was by the front door with a view of the kitchen. When I asked if there were other tables , our waitress abruptly said "no".
I like Gervais and Vine , but probably won't go there again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food at motor supply always surprises me. I don't know why. It never lets me down. I recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great atmosphere and food!! Excellent service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Had a great time. Only issue was that the place is a bit drafty so I had to keep my coat on. The food was great (oh my goodness, the spreads!!!), the wine menu is phenomenal and the price per glass is reasonable. The waitress was very friendly and made great suggestions. Overall just a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great food. Service was excellent. Would recommend for date night or group of people.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 17, 2017

My husband and I are never disappointed. We highly recommend Gervais & Vine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

food sucked and the staff was rude. they are members of Columbia Originals and would not accept me using my rewards

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Slightly over-priced wine, but good food and good service and a nice laid back atmosphere.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great for girlfriend gathering! Food was good and staff was attentive.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We dined at Gervais and Vine for an early NYE dinner. It had been years since we last ate here but were instantly reminded of why it used to be a go-to date night stop for us--great wine, a variety of tapas options, creative cocktails, reasonable price. Our food was delicious (we had the wedge salad, tomato and mozzarella salad, lamb chops, scallops, and goat cheese spread), and the service was awesome! We will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We went there to celebrate our daughter graduating from USC, it was perfect! The food was fantastic, our waiter was very attentive, we had a great time! Great place for a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 7, 2016

I found Gervais & Vine a very enjoyable experience for Tapas lovers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.