About Gervais & Vine

620 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201
View Larger Map

Gervais & Vine is the Vista's favorite gathering place for diners that desire the unique blend of a French cafe, Spanish bodega, and Italian cucina. Our wine bar is the ideal place to unwind after work, or gather with coworkers and friends for a relaxing delicious dinner. We are pleased to offer a beverage menu accented with over 40 esoteric, award winning wines from around the world. We also have a large selection of beer and a full service bar. Happy hour daily 4-6.

Chef Jason Holowacz creates his menu with wholesome, locally grown ingredients. Dinner specials feature fresh fish, choice meats, and seasonal fruits and vegetables.

We also feature wine tastings, live music on Wednesday evenings and ample free parking behind our restaurant. Weather permitting , our patio is a great place to enjoy all that Gervais & Vine has to offer and of course your furry friends are welcome, too. Hope to see y'all soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Pulaski

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 799-8463

Website:
http://www.gervine.com/

Entertainment:
We offer Live Music Wednesday & Thursday nights. Wednesdays we have Wine Tastings from 5:30-7:30. Once a month we offer Wine Dinners. Throughout the year we host other awesome events such as Wine Goddess Night and other fundraisers, etc.

Parking Details:
We offer free parking. The large and dedicated parking lot is located behind the restaurant and is reached via Pulaski Street. Entrance is located on the side of G&V and does not face the parking lot or Gervais St.

Executive Chef:
Jason Holowacz

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gervais & Vine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (11)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
See All
Fun (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Cozy (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Healthy (3)
Live Music (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Romantic (3)
Casual (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Vegan (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Authentic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
141 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

our meal was delicious and even though i ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

our meal was delicious and even though it was tapas style there was plenty of food per plate . the sauces for the scallops were made fresh and the desserts were so tempting we got them to go as we had such a filling dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We got there on time and sat at our tabl ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We got there on time and sat at our table for more than 15 minutes without being approached by a waiter so we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Normally a great restaurant but server w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Normally a great restaurant but server was poor tonight...late, forgetful, not present much. Food was excellent as usual.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Group of college buddies cam to town and ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Group of college buddies cam to town and this was a nice treat that allowed us to share some items and experience a diverse menu. Great beer list and service. Seat in back area but comfortable. Waiter so,it check 6 ways without even a shrug and that was nice. Brussels sprouts and Gambas is a must eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I brought my wife here for her birthday ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 26, 2016

I brought my wife here for her birthday and she absolutely loved it! We tried several items and ended up ordering another filet for us because it was so good! I would definitely recommend checking this place out for the great food and service.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was not satisfied with the service at ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I was not satisfied with the service at all. It took at least 40 minutes or our server to even acknowledge us and another 15 minutes to get us water and menus. The server was not checking in on us and took another 30 minutes to get our order, which came to the table 30 minutes later and were luke-warm at best. Even though we placed our orders that the same time, the three of us received our food at different times, which is not what we had requested. After the had the food, our server became very interested in our table and began checking in too frequently, trying to take away plates of food we were not finished eating and pushing more glasses of wine. After the food was finished and plates cleared, our server seemed in a rush to get us out, but the check still took over 35 minutes to be processed. When the checks arrived, they were not split up properly and we didn't even bother trying to correct the mistake at this point. It took another 30 minutes for us to pay and finally leave. For a solid hour we sat at our table with nothing but our water glasses because our food had be cleared in haste. I would not recommend this restaurant because the service was terrible and the food was not satisfactory for the price. There are many other places in the Vista with better food and service for half the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The food was absolutely phenomenal. Some ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The food was absolutely phenomenal. Some of the best that Columbia has to offer. The service on the other hand was absolutely terrible. Our waiter took 20 minutes just to get our drink order. From then on we may have seen him twice. After dinner was over it took 20 minutes just to get our check and cash out. We were there almost 2 hours total. The food is the only thing that made it worth the wait and to even consider going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

We have always had positive experiences ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 10, 2016

We have always had positive experiences here ! Love this little restaurant. Lamb, duck , filet, salmon, mussels and bruschetta were 2 thumbs up!!! Hope these never leave the menu !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great wine, great value! Alw ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great food, great wine, great value! Always one of our favorite places to come to when we visit Columbia!

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Six of us, all evacuees from Hurricane M ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Six of us, all evacuees from Hurricane Matthew, decided to share a nice meal. Tapas is great for sharing and this place offered us outstanding tapas. Our waiter was equally great---personable, efficient and knowledgeable. We had a great meal and a great time, and will keep this place in mind next time we are in Columbia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

booked a table for 6 originally but then ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2016

booked a table for 6 originally but then my daughter (a student at USC) wanted to bring 3 more people. The staff had no problem accomodating us. Our server was attentive and fun. She was a little overwhelmed but she did OK. it was a busy Friday night. Food can be a little salty but otherwise was just fine. Order lots of tapas to share around the table. Decent wine list and prices were very reasonable. Would go here again.

Tags: Vegan, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This is our favorite Columbia restaurant ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This is our favorite Columbia restaurant, so it's a treat to visit G&V before heading back to Charleston, SC. In the past, G&V did not accept reservations, which was a bummer. It's great that we can make a reservation and not have to worry about waiting for a table. The food is always amazing, and I always look forward to the daily specials. Don't change a thing; this place is a neighborhood gem.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Healthy, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my mother to Gervais & Vine for her ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Took my mother to Gervais & Vine for her birthday with pre 6 PM reservations on a Saturday. Despite the fact that a few 4 tops were open, we were given a 2 top by the bar with the 3rd seat protruding into a busy traffic aisle. Took 10 minutes after appetizers arrived to get a 3rd set of silverware with slow service the theme throughout. Food was mediocre given the prices. If you're looking for a nice spot and quality service and food, this isn't it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Had a family get together. Enjoyed shari ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Had a family get together. Enjoyed sharing the tapas menu. Food was good. Service was excellent.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

No power in restaurant and no cancelatio ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 16, 2016

No power in restaurant and no cancelation of reservation or notification.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I have been to G&V many times and I woul ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I have been to G&V many times and I would have to say this was not the best experience I have had. Our server just wasn't attentive at all. She had another table (large party) but they already had their food when we were seated (party of 4). We had to wait for everything: taking our beverage and food orders to getting our order correctly. One person waited five minutes longer than others to get her food. The side items we were sharing were also late. The final item was only given to the kitchen after we asked about it. We were almost finished with our meals when the potatoes were delivered to the table. The server stated she would take it away if we didn't want it any longer. A more appropriate offer would have been to take it off the bill. We would have declined, but it would have been a nice gesture, given the long wait. My friends and I were polite and did not complain throughout the meal.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Enjoyed this gem of a place! It was a w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Enjoyed this gem of a place! It was a wine flight tasting night and our server was knowledgeable about the wines offered. That added to the fun of small plate options (tapas). Do not miss the crab, bacon dip...wow! They did have live music which was a bit loud for us, but they have an upper room where we were still able to talk and catch up without missing any of the ambience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner was great. Open table reservation ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Dinner was great. Open table reservation was terrible and almost catastrophic. Arrived at restaurant (30th anniversary dinner) and they had no record of reservation. This was not first problem they had lime this. Fortunately after some doing... They did find us a table

Very disturbed with reservation process at open table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, G and V was amazing! I went to ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 18, 2016

As usual, G and V was amazing! I went to celebrate with my two daughters and spouses for my 60th. One couple is vegetarian so we thought they would be the best choice. They were! Server was great (I have never had a bad server here!) and food was amazing. We had our usual staples of game as and tried some new ones like the fried eggplant fries which were incredible!! Also enjoyed two great bottles of wine! Love it!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great live music!

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great live music!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great menu to choose from! There were th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great menu to choose from! There were three of us and we all found items we especially liked, plus trying each other's. Grape leaves were so-so but the other 6 items we had were great! Very interesting wine list with a couple of great red blends. Our server was friendly and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. Server was lacking personali ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food. Server was lacking personality and helpfulness. Kept running away from table before we could tell him what we needed and would not come back for long periods of time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent tapas, good way to have dinner ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent tapas, good way to have dinner without devouring huge American portions typically offered. Superb ingredients +++. I thought drinks were a little under- poured and would gladly pay more for a larger pour. The waiter was new but immediately professed that and did a very good job. I think he was Mark and he should be commended as he had a lot of tables. A little louder than I like but that is typical for this type of food venue. Overall a very nice dinning experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food and the service was outstanding ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food and the service was outstanding. As we were having the coffee the lights went out for over an hour. Not to worry they handled it like pros. Offered us more coffee and took care of all the others with wine and whatever that could give them..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made a reservation for 8 on open table f ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Made a reservation for 8 on open table for a business meeting. Three of people in our party were unable to attend. By 8:30 the manager was asking us if the others were coming. We told them there would be 5 and were told that the 5 of us would need to fit around a 4 person square table and they do it all the time. Even though there were empty tables around us. A first timer ordered a salad and it was too spicy after one bite, she asked for something else. The mgr said "we delivered what you ordered so we would normally make you pay for it." We will not be returning, ever. Management was rude and potions were skinny, even for tapas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Average visit. It was taco night so we ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 13, 2016

Average visit. It was taco night so we ordered the special. The taco's were pretty boring - not bad mind you, just kind of boring. The server was over attentive - my sister was dining with us and obviously upset about something she was telling us, and yet the server kept interupting us. There was only one rose on the menu - thankfully it was good. Enjoyed the live music - perfect sound level so we could still talk and enjoy the music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Dining at Gervais&Vine was an excellent ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Dining at Gervais&Vine was an excellent experience! The food was delicious. We had the filet, scallops and duck breast. All was perfectly prepared.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food! Fun little restaurant with a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great food! Fun little restaurant with a great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Gervais & Vine exceeded all expectations!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 7, 2016

Service was outstanding; food was wonderful; my friends and I weren't rushed by staff or management to leave. All in all it was a great meal and atmosphere and I will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and service! Great date place ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Good food and service! Great date place although it can be a little loud.

Like the location, easy in, easy out. Décor probably needs updating. Overall, good experience. Will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

salt, salt everywhere

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 28, 2016

At least one member of our family visits Gervais & Vine at least once/month, so we're very familiar with their menu, service, etc. It's a great place to catch a drink and lite snack after work. This time we were celebrating an anniversary, so we ordered a full meal. The salmon and fingerling potatoes were so salty they were almost inedible; not just "salted," but marinated in so much sodium that it masked the actual flavor of the food. When are restaurants going to learn to leave out the 5000 milligrams of sodium and let patrons salt-to-their-own-taste at the table?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was pretty good. The wine choic ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 24, 2016

The food was pretty good. The wine choices were limited and frankly on the low end side. Prices were a tad high for the quality of the wine. But we had a good time. Since we're don't live in the area not sure we would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Great place to celebrate!

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great place to celebrate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Meal before a game

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We went here before a USC game to get a bite. I am not a big tapas fan, but thought the rest of the group would like it, and they did. They did not have a bottle of wine in stock that we ordered from the printed menu. So we were switched to another. Service was very good except for not knowing about the wine. I always leave a tapas place hungry, and go home with a bigger bill than a more traditional restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Amazing! Love it!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Love watching the chefs prepare the food in front of us. If you can find a seat, definitely sit at the bar!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

one of the best meals yet

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 8, 2016

My guest had the burger and it was special. The one bite that I was allowed indicated it was one of the best I have had in Columbia.

I had the lamb dish. It was spectacular. I enjoy the portions at Gervais and Vine. This was the first time I wanted more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine list; good ok; service ok

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 5, 2016

Really enjoyed the three red wines we tried Buhler, J. Lohr, Tuscan... Food was good, not exceptional.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Great evening!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 30, 2016

Wonderful service and food! We love to come here before the Best of Broadway series! Wine tasting was a nice bonus!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

GREAT RESTUARANT ! ALWAYS HAVING A GREAT ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 28, 2016

GREAT RESTUARANT ! ALWAYS HAVING A GREAT EXPERIENCE HERE!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and wine as always

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2016

Had the hummus and some pizza. Both were good, but I feel the pizza could have done with a little less cheese. Otherwise no complaints.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.