About Gervais & Vine

620 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201
View Larger Map

Gervais & Vine is the Vista's favorite gathering place for diners that desire the unique blend of a French cafe, Spanish bodega, and Italian cucina. Our wine bar is the ideal place to unwind after work, or gather with coworkers for lunch. We are pleased to offer a beverage menu accented with an eclectic selection of over 40 esoteric, award winning wines from around the world.

Chef Jason Holowacz creates his menu with wholesome, locally grown ingredients and lunch and dinner specials feature fresh fish, choice meats, and seasonal fruits and vegetables.

Experience a selection from our small plate menu and then make your wine selection from either a full or half glass, or by the bottle. We also feature live music on Wednesday and Thursday evenings, and when the weather is welcoming, our patio is a great place to enjoy all that Gervais & Vine has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you to the Vista's favorite gathering place.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:30pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:30pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Pulaski

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 799-8463

Website:
http://www.gervine.com/

Entertainment:
We offer Live Music Wednesday & Thursday nights. Wednesdays we have Wine Tastings from 5:30-7:30. Once a month we offer Wine Dinners. Throughout the year we host other awesome events such as Wine Goddess Night and other fundraisers, etc.

Parking Details:
We offer free parking. The large and dedicated parking lot is located behind the restaurant and is reached via Pulaski Street. Entrance is located on the side of G&V and does not face the parking lot or Gervais St.

Executive Chef:
Jason Holowacz

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Gervais & Vine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Columbia
Best Restaurants in Columbia ›

fit for foodies (29)
notable wine list (22)
special occasion (18)
See All
neighborhood gem (13)
romantic (12)
good for groups (11)
great for outdoor dining (9)
hot spot (8)
great for lunch (8)
late-night find (7)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
118 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and the service was outstanding ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food and the service was outstanding. As we were having the coffee the lights went out for over an hour. Not to worry they handled it like pros. Offered us more coffee and took care of all the others with wine and whatever that could give them..

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made a reservation for 8 on open table f ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Made a reservation for 8 on open table for a business meeting. Three of people in our party were unable to attend. By 8:30 the manager was asking us if the others were coming. We told them there would be 5 and were told that the 5 of us would need to fit around a 4 person square table and they do it all the time. Even though there were empty tables around us. A first timer ordered a salad and it was too spicy after one bite, she asked for something else. The mgr said "we delivered what you ordered so we would normally make you pay for it." We will not be returning, ever. Management was rude and potions were skinny, even for tapas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Average visit. It was taco night so we ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Average visit. It was taco night so we ordered the special. The taco's were pretty boring - not bad mind you, just kind of boring. The server was over attentive - my sister was dining with us and obviously upset about something she was telling us, and yet the server kept interupting us. There was only one rose on the menu - thankfully it was good. Enjoyed the live music - perfect sound level so we could still talk and enjoy the music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Dining at Gervais&Vine was an excellent ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Dining at Gervais&Vine was an excellent experience! The food was delicious. We had the filet, scallops and duck breast. All was perfectly prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food! Fun little restaurant with a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great food! Fun little restaurant with a great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Gervais & Vine exceeded all expectations!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Service was outstanding; food was wonderful; my friends and I weren't rushed by staff or management to leave. All in all it was a great meal and atmosphere and I will definitely return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and service! Great date place ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Good food and service! Great date place although it can be a little loud.

Like the location, easy in, easy out. Décor probably needs updating. Overall, good experience. Will return.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

salt, salt everywhere

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

At least one member of our family visits Gervais & Vine at least once/month, so we're very familiar with their menu, service, etc. It's a great place to catch a drink and lite snack after work. This time we were celebrating an anniversary, so we ordered a full meal. The salmon and fingerling potatoes were so salty they were almost inedible; not just "salted," but marinated in so much sodium that it masked the actual flavor of the food. When are restaurants going to learn to leave out the 5000 milligrams of sodium and let patrons salt-to-their-own-taste at the table?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was pretty good. The wine choic ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

The food was pretty good. The wine choices were limited and frankly on the low end side. Prices were a tad high for the quality of the wine. But we had a good time. Since we're don't live in the area not sure we would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Great place to celebrate!

vip
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great place to celebrate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Meal before a game

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We went here before a USC game to get a bite. I am not a big tapas fan, but thought the rest of the group would like it, and they did. They did not have a bottle of wine in stock that we ordered from the printed menu. So we were switched to another. Service was very good except for not knowing about the wine. I always leave a tapas place hungry, and go home with a bigger bill than a more traditional restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Amazing! Love it!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Love watching the chefs prepare the food in front of us. If you can find a seat, definitely sit at the bar!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

one of the best meals yet

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

My guest had the burger and it was special. The one bite that I was allowed indicated it was one of the best I have had in Columbia.

I had the lamb dish. It was spectacular. I enjoy the portions at Gervais and Vine. This was the first time I wanted more.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine list; good ok; service ok

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Really enjoyed the three red wines we tried Buhler, J. Lohr, Tuscan... Food was good, not exceptional.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Great evening!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Wonderful service and food! We love to come here before the Best of Broadway series! Wine tasting was a nice bonus!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

GREAT RESTUARANT ! ALWAYS HAVING A GREAT ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

GREAT RESTUARANT ! ALWAYS HAVING A GREAT EXPERIENCE HERE!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and wine as always

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Had the hummus and some pizza. Both were good, but I feel the pizza could have done with a little less cheese. Otherwise no complaints.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Waitress didn't put all my order in and ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Waitress didn't put all my order in and almost spill my drink on me. But other than that it was okay. Duck was over cooked some.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Outstanding Food Selection

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Food, service, and ambiance was absolutely phenomenal. We went with another couple and shared 6 tapas entries and it was perfect. The filet mignon was one of the best we've ever had and the spicy shrmip dish was out of this world. This is our goto restaurant to take people from out of town to. They are always very impressed!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I may need to try it again.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I went here with my wife for Valentine's Day. It was nice but they had restricted the menu for the day. That is why I want to return. While they altered what was available they didn't alter how they delivered or paired the foods. For that reason you are left with an incomplete meal. I had the lamb and it was...ok. A bit flavorless. Served with a mint...sauce. It was thin; watery. Not a lot of flavor to it, either. It also came with cheesy potatoes, which were very good, and asparagus spears. So my meal was complete. My wife ordered a salad and the Moroccan Pork. The Moroccan Pork also came with salad so she had a salad, a salad and the pork. The pork was very flavorful. Delicious. The sauce served with it was less so. Not sure what it was for. Maybe it was the dressing for the greens. But it was a tapas restaurant with few tapas choices given the reduced menu.

The deserts were wonderful. No complaints on those. Very good without being overly sweet. Not enough to share, which is strange given that it is a tapas restaurant. So we ordered two. The wine selection was fantastic and, easily, the best part of the meal.

Parking is in the back but you have to turn before you get to the facility as there is no alley and you can't get to it once you pass it. There is a creek that borders the side of those buildings so the parking lot is available from one location, only. Turn before you reach the restaurant and then pull in behind the neighboring restaurants to a shared lot.

Tags: late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome Valentine's Day!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This was an awesome Valentine's Day dinner. Our server was great. The food was divine, especially the desert. We always have a great time at this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Went for Valentine's day, as always it has never disappointed me. Food is always great, service is always awesome and all for a price that doesn't break the bank!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines Date

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Had dinner here for Valentines day. They had a special menu. Food was great. Wait staff were all very friendly all smiles. We will definitely go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The fingerling potatoes and pastrami sal ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The fingerling potatoes and pastrami salmon was excellent! The lamb was tasty but hardly two bites. Overall then experience was very good and a wonderful date night out. No fresh ginger or mint for my ginger twist though😞

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

A great date night location

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

A great date night location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was great; however, it took an ...

 
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was great; however, it took an abnormally long tie to recieve food and refills. Our waitress was very energetic and apologetic about the waits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Great restaurant, good ambiance, waitres ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great restaurant, good ambiance, waitress knowledgable about menu, good wine selection

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

inconsistent to say the least

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

i would not recommend this place. our server told us what she thought we wanted to hear so we were disappointed. the pizza was not flat bread but thick and with so little toppings that is should have been our bread service ( which is usually free). my choice of salad was between mixed greens and spinach. what i got was spinach greens with the mixed greens salad dressing.

i order based on descriptions of any dish. i am so disappointed when its not as described

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Excellent atmosphere and great service. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

Excellent atmosphere and great service. A great place to take a date, the food portions are just right not too much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fantastic!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Always enjoy dining at Gervais & Vine. The wine selection is varied & eclectic, the servers make really good suggestions if you're not sure. I absolutely love the duck breast! It's a must have each time! My only negative is that it was slightly chilly in the main dining area but the wine & food warmed me up nicely!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Times!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

I have never been disappointed with this location. Walk-in friendly, but better to reserve a table in the off chance there's a rush. Friendly staff and great food. Prime location for a first date or casual meet up with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just Wonderful!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

First time here, I had lamb chops...AMAZING! Second time, I had the quail...AMAZING! I love their high-gravity beers and their chilli-lime margarita is to die for!!!! The atmosphere is lovely, not too loud, great for conversation. They seated me quickly, had the food out quickly, the staff was attentive and provided fabulous customer service. (Second time, I had an event elsewhere at 8, got to G&V at 7 ate and had drinks and was out by 745). I WILL be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Off Night?

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

The night we dined at this restaurant it was very crowded as well as noisy. The food was good and served quickly. The odd part of the experience was that there was a delay in having my wine served. They were out of wine glasses and even by the time our third small plate was served, I had no wine. Eventually my red wine was served in a champagne flute. Kudos to the server for improvising to please me, but I found it unacceptable that a wine bar would run short of wine glasses. It's a cute restaurant and the food was good, so I will attribute it to being an off night and try them again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Pricey Tapas

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Be sure to get the spreads- so yummy! Service was good but a bit rushed- many people waiting for tables so you could tell they wanted you to move on. Shrimp and scallops were good- lamb was ok. Overall good food but expensive. We spent $120 for three people- only one glass of wine, one beer and no dessert.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great tapas dining

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Spent a Saturday night here enjoying the wine, atmosphere, and good food. Don't miss the spread appetizer trio, it is hugely filling however! The hot shrimp appetizer was pretty bland and I would not get it again, but glad we tried it.

Hostess was great, server even better! Liked the fact there were so many students in the place, just gave it a nice vibe.

Great value for the money. I wish I lived locally so I could enjoy this place again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here not realizing it was restauran ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Came here not realizing it was restaurant week! The food was delicious and the small plates are perfect. Must try the fig and goat cheese cheesecake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We took advantage of their SC Restaurant ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

We took advantage of their SC Restaurant Week tasting menu and it was very tasty. Our server was nice and the food came out in a timely manner but we spent a lot of time waiting on her to come around.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Knowledgeable Service

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

In addition to the great food and wine, our server did an excellent job of matching menu items to our tastes and pairing wine with our food. We enjoyed the dining room area which is quieter than the bar area.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great tapas

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Good food with unique flavors and excellent service but disappointed in table by the door when we made a reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great place to dine

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Went here for new years eve with my wife because she had never been to a tapas place.She realized how the menu works after our server explained it and was delighted with the food and wine. The music in the background was relaxing and we really enjoyed the whole feel of this place. We will be back very soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.