About Gervais & Vine

620 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201
View Larger Map

Gervais & Vine is the Vista's favorite gathering place for diners that desire the unique blend of a French cafe, Spanish bodega, and Italian cucina. Our wine bar is the ideal place to unwind after work, or gather with coworkers for lunch. We are pleased to offer a beverage menu accented with an eclectic selection of over 40 esoteric, award winning wines from around the world.

Chef Jason Holowacz creates his menu with wholesome, locally grown ingredients and lunch and dinner specials feature fresh fish, choice meats, and seasonal fruits and vegetables.

Experience a selection from our small plate menu and then make your wine selection from either a full or half glass, or by the bottle. We also feature live music on Wednesday and Thursday evenings, and when the weather is welcoming, our patio is a great place to enjoy all that Gervais & Vine has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you to the Vista's favorite gathering place.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:30pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:30pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Pulaski

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 799-8463

Website:
http://www.gervine.com/

Entertainment:
We offer Live Music Wednesday & Thursday nights. Wednesdays we have Wine Tastings from 5:30-7:30. Once a month we offer Wine Dinners. Throughout the year we host other awesome events such as Wine Goddess Night and other fundraisers, etc.

Parking Details:
We offer free parking. The large and dedicated parking lot is located behind the restaurant and is reached via Pulaski Street. Entrance is located on the side of G&V and does not face the parking lot or Gervais St.

Executive Chef:
Jason Holowacz

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gervais & Vine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Columbia
Best Restaurants in Columbia ›

Fit for Foodies (16)
Notable Wine List (12)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Romantic (5)
Tapas (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Cozy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Authentic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
128 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Took my mother to Gervais & Vine for her ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 4 days ago

Took my mother to Gervais & Vine for her birthday with pre 6 PM reservations on a Saturday. Despite the fact that a few 4 tops were open, we were given a 2 top by the bar with the 3rd seat protruding into a busy traffic aisle. Took 10 minutes after appetizers arrived to get a 3rd set of silverware with slow service the theme throughout. Food was mediocre given the prices. If you're looking for a nice spot and quality service and food, this isn't it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Had a family get together. Enjoyed shari ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Had a family get together. Enjoyed sharing the tapas menu. Food was good. Service was excellent.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

No power in restaurant and no cancelatio ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

No power in restaurant and no cancelation of reservation or notification.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I have been to G&V many times and I woul ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I have been to G&V many times and I would have to say this was not the best experience I have had. Our server just wasn't attentive at all. She had another table (large party) but they already had their food when we were seated (party of 4). We had to wait for everything: taking our beverage and food orders to getting our order correctly. One person waited five minutes longer than others to get her food. The side items we were sharing were also late. The final item was only given to the kitchen after we asked about it. We were almost finished with our meals when the potatoes were delivered to the table. The server stated she would take it away if we didn't want it any longer. A more appropriate offer would have been to take it off the bill. We would have declined, but it would have been a nice gesture, given the long wait. My friends and I were polite and did not complain throughout the meal.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Enjoyed this gem of a place! It was a w ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Enjoyed this gem of a place! It was a wine flight tasting night and our server was knowledgeable about the wines offered. That added to the fun of small plate options (tapas). Do not miss the crab, bacon dip...wow! They did have live music which was a bit loud for us, but they have an upper room where we were still able to talk and catch up without missing any of the ambience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner was great. Open table reservation ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Dinner was great. Open table reservation was terrible and almost catastrophic. Arrived at restaurant (30th anniversary dinner) and they had no record of reservation. This was not first problem they had lime this. Fortunately after some doing... They did find us a table

Very disturbed with reservation process at open table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, G and V was amazing! I went to ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

As usual, G and V was amazing! I went to celebrate with my two daughters and spouses for my 60th. One couple is vegetarian so we thought they would be the best choice. They were! Server was great (I have never had a bad server here!) and food was amazing. We had our usual staples of game as and tried some new ones like the fried eggplant fries which were incredible!! Also enjoyed two great bottles of wine! Love it!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu to choose from! There were th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great menu to choose from! There were three of us and we all found items we especially liked, plus trying each other's. Grape leaves were so-so but the other 6 items we had were great! Very interesting wine list with a couple of great red blends. Our server was friendly and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. Server was lacking personali ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food. Server was lacking personality and helpfulness. Kept running away from table before we could tell him what we needed and would not come back for long periods of time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent tapas, good way to have dinner ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent tapas, good way to have dinner without devouring huge American portions typically offered. Superb ingredients +++. I thought drinks were a little under- poured and would gladly pay more for a larger pour. The waiter was new but immediately professed that and did a very good job. I think he was Mark and he should be commended as he had a lot of tables. A little louder than I like but that is typical for this type of food venue. Overall a very nice dinning experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food and the service was outstanding ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food and the service was outstanding. As we were having the coffee the lights went out for over an hour. Not to worry they handled it like pros. Offered us more coffee and took care of all the others with wine and whatever that could give them..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made a reservation for 8 on open table f ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Made a reservation for 8 on open table for a business meeting. Three of people in our party were unable to attend. By 8:30 the manager was asking us if the others were coming. We told them there would be 5 and were told that the 5 of us would need to fit around a 4 person square table and they do it all the time. Even though there were empty tables around us. A first timer ordered a salad and it was too spicy after one bite, she asked for something else. The mgr said "we delivered what you ordered so we would normally make you pay for it." We will not be returning, ever. Management was rude and potions were skinny, even for tapas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Average visit. It was taco night so we ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Average visit. It was taco night so we ordered the special. The taco's were pretty boring - not bad mind you, just kind of boring. The server was over attentive - my sister was dining with us and obviously upset about something she was telling us, and yet the server kept interupting us. There was only one rose on the menu - thankfully it was good. Enjoyed the live music - perfect sound level so we could still talk and enjoy the music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Dining at Gervais&Vine was an excellent ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Dining at Gervais&Vine was an excellent experience! The food was delicious. We had the filet, scallops and duck breast. All was perfectly prepared.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food! Fun little restaurant with a ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great food! Fun little restaurant with a great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Gervais & Vine exceeded all expectations!

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Service was outstanding; food was wonderful; my friends and I weren't rushed by staff or management to leave. All in all it was a great meal and atmosphere and I will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and service! Great date place ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Good food and service! Great date place although it can be a little loud.

Like the location, easy in, easy out. Décor probably needs updating. Overall, good experience. Will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

salt, salt everywhere

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

At least one member of our family visits Gervais & Vine at least once/month, so we're very familiar with their menu, service, etc. It's a great place to catch a drink and lite snack after work. This time we were celebrating an anniversary, so we ordered a full meal. The salmon and fingerling potatoes were so salty they were almost inedible; not just "salted," but marinated in so much sodium that it masked the actual flavor of the food. When are restaurants going to learn to leave out the 5000 milligrams of sodium and let patrons salt-to-their-own-taste at the table?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was pretty good. The wine choic ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

The food was pretty good. The wine choices were limited and frankly on the low end side. Prices were a tad high for the quality of the wine. But we had a good time. Since we're don't live in the area not sure we would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Great place to celebrate!

vip
 (Savannah)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great place to celebrate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Meal before a game

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We went here before a USC game to get a bite. I am not a big tapas fan, but thought the rest of the group would like it, and they did. They did not have a bottle of wine in stock that we ordered from the printed menu. So we were switched to another. Service was very good except for not knowing about the wine. I always leave a tapas place hungry, and go home with a bigger bill than a more traditional restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Amazing! Love it!

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Love watching the chefs prepare the food in front of us. If you can find a seat, definitely sit at the bar!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

one of the best meals yet

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

My guest had the burger and it was special. The one bite that I was allowed indicated it was one of the best I have had in Columbia.

I had the lamb dish. It was spectacular. I enjoy the portions at Gervais and Vine. This was the first time I wanted more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine list; good ok; service ok

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Really enjoyed the three red wines we tried Buhler, J. Lohr, Tuscan... Food was good, not exceptional.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Great evening!

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Wonderful service and food! We love to come here before the Best of Broadway series! Wine tasting was a nice bonus!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

GREAT RESTUARANT ! ALWAYS HAVING A GREAT ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

GREAT RESTUARANT ! ALWAYS HAVING A GREAT EXPERIENCE HERE!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and wine as always

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Had the hummus and some pizza. Both were good, but I feel the pizza could have done with a little less cheese. Otherwise no complaints.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Waitress didn't put all my order in and ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Waitress didn't put all my order in and almost spill my drink on me. But other than that it was okay. Duck was over cooked some.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Outstanding Food Selection

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Food, service, and ambiance was absolutely phenomenal. We went with another couple and shared 6 tapas entries and it was perfect. The filet mignon was one of the best we've ever had and the spicy shrmip dish was out of this world. This is our goto restaurant to take people from out of town to. They are always very impressed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I may need to try it again.

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I went here with my wife for Valentine's Day. It was nice but they had restricted the menu for the day. That is why I want to return. While they altered what was available they didn't alter how they delivered or paired the foods. For that reason you are left with an incomplete meal. I had the lamb and it was...ok. A bit flavorless. Served with a mint...sauce. It was thin; watery. Not a lot of flavor to it, either. It also came with cheesy potatoes, which were very good, and asparagus spears. So my meal was complete. My wife ordered a salad and the Moroccan Pork. The Moroccan Pork also came with salad so she had a salad, a salad and the pork. The pork was very flavorful. Delicious. The sauce served with it was less so. Not sure what it was for. Maybe it was the dressing for the greens. But it was a tapas restaurant with few tapas choices given the reduced menu.

The deserts were wonderful. No complaints on those. Very good without being overly sweet. Not enough to share, which is strange given that it is a tapas restaurant. So we ordered two. The wine selection was fantastic and, easily, the best part of the meal.

Parking is in the back but you have to turn before you get to the facility as there is no alley and you can't get to it once you pass it. There is a creek that borders the side of those buildings so the parking lot is available from one location, only. Turn before you reach the restaurant and then pull in behind the neighboring restaurants to a shared lot.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome Valentine's Day!

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This was an awesome Valentine's Day dinner. Our server was great. The food was divine, especially the desert. We always have a great time at this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints!

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Went for Valentine's day, as always it has never disappointed me. Food is always great, service is always awesome and all for a price that doesn't break the bank!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines Date

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Had dinner here for Valentines day. They had a special menu. Food was great. Wait staff were all very friendly all smiles. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The fingerling potatoes and pastrami sal ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The fingerling potatoes and pastrami salmon was excellent! The lamb was tasty but hardly two bites. Overall then experience was very good and a wonderful date night out. No fresh ginger or mint for my ginger twist though😞

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

A great date night location

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

A great date night location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was great; however, it took an ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was great; however, it took an abnormally long tie to recieve food and refills. Our waitress was very energetic and apologetic about the waits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Great restaurant, good ambiance, waitres ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great restaurant, good ambiance, waitress knowledgable about menu, good wine selection

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

inconsistent to say the least

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

i would not recommend this place. our server told us what she thought we wanted to hear so we were disappointed. the pizza was not flat bread but thick and with so little toppings that is should have been our bread service ( which is usually free). my choice of salad was between mixed greens and spinach. what i got was spinach greens with the mixed greens salad dressing.

i order based on descriptions of any dish. i am so disappointed when its not as described

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Excellent atmosphere and great service. ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

Excellent atmosphere and great service. A great place to take a date, the food portions are just right not too much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fantastic!

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Always enjoy dining at Gervais & Vine. The wine selection is varied & eclectic, the servers make really good suggestions if you're not sure. I absolutely love the duck breast! It's a must have each time! My only negative is that it was slightly chilly in the main dining area but the wine & food warmed me up nicely!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.