About Gertrude's

10 Art Museum Dr.
Baltimore, MD 21218
View Larger Map

Gertrude's Restaurant, located inside the Baltimore Museum of Art (BMA), is where John Shields celebrates Chesapeake cuisine using local foods, in a warm and stylish setting.
Chef & owner John Shields, a Baltimore native who is a cookbook author and television cooking show host, named the restaurant after his grandmother, Gertrude Cleary, who taught him to cook as a child. Gertrude's dishes up a sophisticated regional menu of Chesapeake foods and traditions for lunch, dinner, and brunch using local, organic ingredients whenever possible.
The restaurant's interior, inspired by life on the Eastern Shore of the Chesapeake Bay, is beautiful & elegant yet comfortable. The wall of floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the museum’s Sculpture Garden floods the open & airy dining room with natural light. During the warmer months, additional seats are available on the terrace surrounding a fountain and reflecting pool.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Saturday: 10:30am - 9:00pm
Sunday: 10:30am - 8:00pm

Brunch Menu served on Saturday and Sunday until 3pm
Light Fare Menu on Saturday and Sunday from 3pm - 5pm

Cross Street:
N. Charles St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 889-3399

Website:
http://www.gertrudesbaltimore.com/

Entertainment:
On Friday nights listen to mellow jazz with Gary Thomas & Friends at Gertrude's from 6 to 8pm, while you enjoy dinner or cocktails in a beautiful and relaxing setting.
And the Dottie Tim Jazz Duo plays here on Sundays during our popular brunch, from 11:30 am till 2:30 pm.

Catering:
In addition to birthday parties, anniversary celebrations and corporate affairs, Gertrude's hosts many wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, and “day after” brunches throughout the year, for groups as small as 20 guests, and as large as 150. You may visit our web site, www.gertrudesbaltimore.com, for more info, or contact John Gilligan at jg@johnshields.com (or tel. 410.889.3399 x105).

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot for over 40 cars, operated by the BMA; payment is required to use the BMA's lot. There is also plenty of on-street parking directly in front; parking meters are in effect during our operating hours.

Executive Chef:
Doug Wetzel

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
John Gilligan: 4108893399x105

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Gertrude's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Baltimore / Maryland
Great for Lunch
Baltimore / Maryland
Most Booked
Baltimore / Maryland
4 More
Great for Brunch
Baltimore
Great for Lunch
Baltimore
American
Baltimore
Most Booked
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Charles Village ›

special occasion (186)
great for lunch (185)
great for brunch (183)
See All
fit for foodies (178)
neighborhood gem (169)
great for outdoor dining (134)
good for groups (119)
romantic (104)
scenic view (82)
kid-friendly (28)
notable wine list (26)
hot spot (12)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (6)
Sort By:
Newest
3620 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing!!

Dined 2 days ago

The food was amazing!!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our food was delicious, the ambiance was ...

Dined 4 days ago

Our food was delicious, the ambiance was just perfect for a small graduation party. Many vegetarian, vegan and local products on the menu. We would totally go again and eat outside.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The place has a nice ambiance but their ...

Dined 5 days ago

The place has a nice ambiance but their food is so bland. Not worth the price

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

John Shields brings the best of Maryland ...

Dined 6 days ago

John Shields brings the best of Maryland seafood with some creative variations (that don't totally offend my pure Maryland taste buds) to one of Baltimore's beautiful settings in the renovated Baltimore Museum of Art. The gift shop next door is fabulous too. Been a fan for a long time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb, As Always

Dined 7 days ago

Went to Gertrude's to celebrate a family member finishing grad school at JHU. The crabcakes, the spinach salad, the wine, and the desert were all top notch, as was the service. If you want a special meal, Gertrude's always will make it so.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to Gertrude's a few times. ...

Dined 7 days ago

We have been to Gertrude's a few times. The food and service have always been excellent. This last visit was for our 20th anniversary, I let them know this when I made the reservation and we were treated like royalty!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

Service was slow. Seated quite awhile be ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Service was slow. Seated quite awhile before we had water or order taken. Once we ordered food came out quickly and was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Excellent!! Love Gertrude's!!! First t ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent!! Love Gertrude's!!! First time to have a waiter that had an attitude!! He seemed very busy, too busy!!!

food2
ambience3
service1

Disappointing.

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Disappointing.

food5
ambience3
service2

Outstanding crabcake with minimal filler ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Outstanding crabcake with minimal filler and excellent lump crab. Fried and cheese grits were a nice complement and well prepared. Only negative was the service we received. Server never checked on us from time of order until meal was finished. Water and soft drink refills were needed and I had to get up and find the server to request them.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Pleasant

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Attractive dining overlooking sculpture garden-delicious food, gracious service. Lovely place to lunch with friends and enjoy a wonderful museum

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was average. Nothing was reall ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

The food was average. Nothing was really cooked right; for example fish of the day had no moisture. Noise level was terrible; a few huge parties with people who had been drinking way too much. Impossible to have a normal conversation. Too bad as the location is really great. $19 for a glass of Sancerre... which was just average. Service was attentive and it helped a lot. Overall an average experience.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We liked it

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

This was our first time at Gertrude's for dinner, and we liked it. My wife and I had crab cakes, and they were very good. The french fries were also good. Our waiter, Richard, was nice and efficient.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live near Washington, generally dine ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We live near Washington, generally dine out locally, and so had not been to Gertrude's in a number of years. For our 25th wedding anniversary, we decided to go to Gertrude's midday to avoid traffic. Based on past experience, we were hoping for a relaxing, intimate dining experience and fine cuisine. We were not disappointed. Gertrude's menu foregoes trendiness in favor of of a comprehensible selection of dishes and fresh seasonal ingredients. We began with a spring vegetable soup that was fresh, light and the perfect start to our meal. For entrees, we had the skate wing and Gertie's crab cake (broiled). The seafood was fresh and perfectly cooked, and the sauces were both light and beautifully matched to the entrees to enhance their taste and succulence. The vegetable and starch accompaniments were seasonal (e.g., ramps and asparagus), well paired with the entrees, and cooked just right. Even the bread basket was surprisingly pleasant, including a light foccacia bursting with fresh herbal flavor. For dessert, we shared a scrumptious and seasonal berry butter cake served at our request with a wonderful local pistacchio, rather than vanilla, ice cream. As we had requested beforehand, we were served flutes of a lovely cava when we arrived, with, it turns out, the complements of the house. This wine went well with everything, from soup to dessert, and was enough to last the meal. The local coffee was freshly brewed. Portion sizes were just right - we left full but not stuffed. The service was truly exceptional. Gertrude's is very affordable, particularly for the value offered. Thank you to everyone at Gertrude's for making our 25th anniversary celebration so delightful and memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gertrudes was great - eats, atmosphere, ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Gertrudes was great - eats, atmosphere, service. I messed up the date on open table and Gertudes made it ok. i recomend it for special and everyday.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious Crabcakes

Dined on May 8, 2016

As Baltimoreans, we have high standards for all things crab, and Gertrude's delivered. We especially liked that in the cup of crab soup and two crab cakes that we enjoyed, there were no shells. While the restaurant was very busy because it was Mother's Day, our server was attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Gertrude's is a wonderful

Dined on May 8, 2016

Gertrude's is wonderful ! I had the berry salad with Salmon. My mother had the crab cake, to quote her "it is always good!".

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Mothers Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

A perfect venue for 3 friends to meet and reminess about our grown children out of town. Appetizers set the standard for the delicious crab omelet, crab quich and eggs Benedict which followed. Nicely presented we enjoyed them tremendously. Desert was unanimous for the Berger cheesecake - absolutely scrumptious. Can't wait to visit Gertr

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Worth a shot

Dined on May 7, 2016

We did make reservations and were seated promptly. The waiter was attentive, knowledgeable, and helpful. The tart raspberry jam and bread basket were a nice treat. Our soups and entrees were fresh, tasty, and plentiful. The only negatives were the one-percenters next to us that talked incessantly and loudly. We didn't need to hear their views on boarding schools. It was not a peaceful dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Very pricey and only marginal food.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Met a friend for lunch. The food was only so-so and the bill came to $93 before tip. Ouch! For that kind of money, it should have been a whole lot better. It was convenient, but I'd never go there again unless I was at the museum.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really good but not great

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was really good. Substitutions were made to side dishes on one of the specials without notice. Mashed potatoes are not cheese grits. Service was meh.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you!

Dined on May 4, 2016

Always amazing Gertrudes! Thank you for making my special family occasion everything we hoped for!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to have lunch with my two ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

A great place to have lunch with my two grandchildren Hopkins students

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect brunch spot!

Dined on May 1, 2016

My friends and I had a fabulous time at brunch the other day. One of my friends noted how beautiful the aesthetic was, how great the mimosas and waffles were, and how mad she was that she didn't know about this place sooner!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

I've said it before and I'll say it agai ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

I've said it before and I'll say it again. This place is one the best kept secrets in Baltimore. The food and service are excellent. And it's located in about the last place you'd expect to fine a high quality restaurant. The brunch menu alone is worth the drive.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great brunch place

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

I loved Gertrudes- came with my children ages 8, 13 and 15 for brunch. They loved everything; the portions were huge and my 8 yr old said he wished he could have brunch there every weekend. It was very busy but the service was very good. Because it was so loud with many large dining groups I want able to really appreciate the live music. We were able to

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Awesome food, service, ambiance

Dined on May 1, 2016

We had a great time. It is a special place with an awesome staff. The food is fantastic and the munu is thoughtful and fun. The quality of food is superb. Number one spot in Baltimore - outside seating is beautiful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

JHU Admin Lunch for Three

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

This review is from the reservation made by Ilene McCoy for 4/27. Three admins from JHU were treated to lunch and served by Olga. Olga did not provide attentive service. We watched her serve diligently to the larger parties around us. When she finally came to our table to retrieve the check, Yvonne expressed her disappointment for the neglect and delayed timing for their return to work. Otherwise, the food was amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Needs Improvement

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

This was a disappointment. I went for my Birthday Brunch. Apparently the waitress has difficulty making a cappucino or latte depending on the type of milk and brought me one with no coffee. The apple challah french toast is soaked in apple juice and the cream cheese filling was not great. The waitress finally brought a coffee and then made some very awkward remarks when we asked for a photo - she misunderstood and thought we wanted a photo of the food. I was overall disappointed but the food was edible, they fixed the coffee and did not charge for it I believe.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The homemade sodas were delicious and th ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The homemade sodas were delicious and the bread on table was amazing. We were running a little late for our reservation and they were very understanding and our waiter was kind enough to split our check for us even though he mentioned they don't normally do it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never been disappointed

Dined on April 23, 2016

I have been going to Gertrude's for many, many years for different reasons; just for lunch or brunch, for several Wedding Anniversaries, birthday's for my family or just because I was in the area and got lucky to be seated without a reservation. I love John Shield's and his restaurant is the best in Baltimore in my opinion. I was there last Saturday for my 36th Wedding Anniversary and was greeted with Happy Anniversary from servers to table waiters. They topped off my dinner with Happy Anniversary written in chocolate on both my husband and my desert plates.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A very pleasant evening.

Dined on April 23, 2016

When my wife and I were looking for a place to meet and eat with out of town friends, we happily thought of Gertrudes. It was a great choice. Good food, good service, a good wine selection and we were set for a very pleasant evening. The fact that it is in the Baltimore Art Museum is a real plus.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure

Dined on April 23, 2016

Gertrude's never fails to please. We all really enjoyed our meals.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!!!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food and great ambiance! I had a wonderful time here. Brought my family here for my mother's birthday and the food was incredible. Our waiter was lovely and the weather was nice. Would absolutely come here again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go Gertrude's!

Dined on April 22, 2016

It is always a must when in Baltimore - always business - to do brunch or dinner at Gertrude's. Wonderful cocktails, delicious food, delightful and helpful staff. Please open up in the UK...

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, neighbourhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fountains in the city.

Dined on April 22, 2016

My grandson who is now l4 has loved Gertrudes since he was six years old. This unique restaurant with the fountains and flowing water appeals to children as well as discerning adults. The food is superb and appeals to all ages. The service is kind and knowledgeable. Waiters treat children and the ladies who lunch with equal respect.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Treat Yourself to Gertrude's

Dined on April 22, 2016

Great salads, huge sandwiches, yummy crab cakes. Skip the overdone duck spring rolls.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Best crab cakes

Dined on April 22, 2016

3 in our party of 5 ordered Gerties crab cake...and all of us said best ever!! Wonderful food in a relaxed, gorgeous setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Like an old friend

Dined on April 20, 2016

Gertrudes has been one of our favorite places for the past 15 years. We have been there to celebrate Mother's Day, Anniversaries, lunch with 20 friends, and just plain old dinner! This last trip was not my favorite meal there. We ordered a special Wahoo dinner. We were told that it was a South American fish served on polenta. The polenta was the best part of the dish. I could have eaten a bwol of it! It was so tasty. However, the fish was so burned on the skin side that it fish itself was stuck to the skin. Neither one of us enjoyed the Wahoo. We did end with an amazing dessert, Gertrude's Candy Bar. It was decadent. We will go again because Gertrudes is like an old friend.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant at Baltimore Museum of Art!!!

Dined on April 20, 2016

Highly recommend this restaurant located on the first floor of the museum. Lunch menu is excellent with many choices. Crab cakes are superior at Gertrude's! Crab quiche also excellent! This restaurant is a gem!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.