About Gertrude's

10 Art Museum Dr.
Baltimore, MD 21218
View Larger Map

Gertrude's Restaurant, located inside the Baltimore Museum of Art (BMA), is where John Shields celebrates Chesapeake cuisine using local foods, in a warm and stylish setting.
Chef & owner John Shields, a Baltimore native who is a cookbook author and television cooking show host, named the restaurant after his grandmother, Gertrude Cleary, who taught him to cook as a child. Gertrude's dishes up a sophisticated regional menu of Chesapeake foods and traditions for lunch, dinner, and brunch using local, organic ingredients whenever possible.
The restaurant's interior, inspired by life on the Eastern Shore of the Chesapeake Bay, is beautiful & elegant yet comfortable. The wall of floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the museum’s Sculpture Garden floods the open & airy dining room with natural light. During the warmer months, additional seats are available on the terrace surrounding a fountain and reflecting pool.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Saturday: 10:30am - 9:00pm
Sunday: 10:30am - 8:00pm

Brunch Menu served on Saturday and Sunday until 3pm
Light Fare Menu on Saturday and Sunday from 3pm - 5pm

Cross Street:
N. Charles St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 889-3399

Website:
http://www.gertrudesbaltimore.com/

Entertainment:
On Friday nights listen to mellow jazz with Gary Thomas & Friends at Gertrude's from 6 to 8pm, while you enjoy dinner or cocktails in a beautiful and relaxing setting.
And the Dottie Tim Jazz Duo plays here on Sundays during our popular brunch, from 11:30 am till 2:30 pm.

Catering:
In addition to birthday parties, anniversary celebrations and corporate affairs, Gertrude's hosts many wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, and “day after” brunches throughout the year, for groups as small as 20 guests, and as large as 150. You may visit our web site, www.gertrudesbaltimore.com, for more info, or contact John Gilligan at jg@johnshields.com (or tel. 410.889.3399 x105).

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot for over 40 cars, operated by the BMA; payment is required to use the BMA's lot. There is also plenty of on-street parking directly in front; parking meters are in effect during our operating hours.

Executive Chef:
Doug Wetzel

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
John Gilligan: 4108893399x105

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Soft Shell Crab Eggs Benedict
Portobello Crab Imperial
Fried Chicken Salad
Vegetable Flatbread
Beignets
Watercress Salad
Fish and Chips
Seared Fresh Atlantic Salmon With Garlic Mashed Potatoes And Spinach
Cream of Crab Soup
Resurrection Ale
Boordy Blush
Neapolitan Macaron Ice Cream Sandwiches
Garden Salad with Zuchettes
Middle Eastern Platter
Lobster and Crawfish Omelet
Focaccia
Eastern Shore Crabcake
Seafood Salad
Ice Cream Sampler
crab cake
Deep Fried Oysters
Fresh Rockfish Stuffed With Crab Imperial
Spinach Salad With Chicken
Chocolate Decadance
Baked Cod
Bacon Manhatten
Dirty Gertie

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Gertrude's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Baltimore / Maryland
Great for Lunch
Baltimore / Maryland
Great for Brunch
Baltimore
4 More
Great for Lunch
Baltimore
Outdoor Dining
Baltimore
American
Baltimore
Most Booked
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Charles Village ›

special occasion (195)
great for lunch (190)
great for outdoor dining (184)
See All
fit for foodies (174)
great for brunch (173)
neighborhood gem (168)
scenic view (115)
good for groups (114)
romantic (97)
kid-friendly (26)
notable wine list (24)
hot spot (16)
late-night find (9)
vibrant bar scene (9)
Sort By:
Newest
3693 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I think Gertrude's has the best brunch i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

I think Gertrude's has the best brunch in Baltimore! The ambiance is great, the food is delicious & the signature cocktails are fabulous.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It took a little while for our server to ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

It took a little while for our server to take our order since being called by other tables. However, once he took our order we were taken care of with excellent pace and detail. This is the 2nd time I have eaten here and is quickly becoming a favorite of mine. Excellent food and superior service! Keep it going!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent and the service was very good. The table was decorated with the roses I ordered earlier through the Open Table website as a surprise for my wife's birthday. My wife has expressed to me several times since our dinner on how lovely was the entire experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Friendly service. Accommodated my dad wh ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Friendly service. Accommodated my dad who was on crutches. Beautiful, sunny space. Menu was good for picky eaters and showcased Baltimore specialties. Quality was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Lunch at Gertrude's was tasty as usual, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 7 days ago

Lunch at Gertrude's was tasty as usual, and always feels a little special with white tablecloths and the art museum ambiance. The peach and prosciutto omelette (a daily special) was an intriguing and satisfying flavor combination, though in my view it could have used a little stronger presence of the prosciutto.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the Gertie's crabcake, as always. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Loved the Gertie's crabcake, as always. But the slaw that comes with it was disappointing (unfortunately, also as always). The texture is so coarse it is hard to eat, and it is dry and without taste. Too bad we weren't allowed to substitute.

Salmon and pulled pork delicious.

Having the $15 dinners and $20 wine offered on the same night is brilliant!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Always a good choice for a nice meal; ne ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Always a good choice for a nice meal; never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I always enjoy Gertrudes whether it is f ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I always enjoy Gertrudes whether it is for dinner or brunch. Sitting in the sculpture garden on a hot summer day was relaxing and enjoyable. The service was a bit abrupt, and the server hesitated at a request my dining partner made, but the food and the ambiance was beautiful as always. Look forward to the next occasion that brings me back to Gertrudes

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food as always, but it is a bit lo ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food as always, but it is a bit loud for conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

My most recent visit to Gertrudes's was ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My most recent visit to Gertrudes's was for a business meeting. Several of the attendees came in late, the wait staff was very accommodating of quickly taking their orders and making sure our food all came out at the same time. The wait staff was very excellent. And overall, it was a pleasant dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

I can honestly say i've never had a bad ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I can honestly say i've never had a bad experience at Gertrudes. The food and service have always been impeccable. On occasion i've wanted to order a dish that was sold out but that is a testament to how great the food is...kudos to the chef!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Gertrude's and go there regularly ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I love Gertrude's and go there regularly after jazz concerts at the BMA. The food is good; outdoor dining is lovely. Service is never the best, especially when there's a big crowd AND an event outside. The kitchen can't seem to keep up. But the staff is friendly, and the place is gorgeous, so I will go and go and recommend it highly.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Nice pace for a special occasion. We wer ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Nice pace for a special occasion. We were able to visit with friends and enjoy the service and food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the Saturday night dinner at ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We enjoyed the Saturday night dinner at Gertrudes. Sitting outside was a special treat Food and service was very good. We would go again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Gertrude's has been around a long time a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Gertrude's has been around a long time and there is a reason why! Consistently good food with good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Special occasion with my wife and everyt ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Special occasion with my wife and everything was great. Well worth it!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had a greatttttt time the waitress was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I had a greatttttt time the waitress was great , the food was out pretty fast. The scenery was lovely. I just had a over all nice time. Couldn't have had better 26th birthday thanks so much

Gertrude's

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to Gertrude's every time we're in ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We go to Gertrude's every time we're in Baltimore. Terrific restaurant in one of our favorite museums. Terrific!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gertude's disappoints. We were 4 with v ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Gertude's disappoints. We were 4 with very different food choices. ! person that said it was good, left most on her plate. One of us had the oysters, they vert dry and the greens were very vinegary and my hamburger, ordered rare, was fully brown and dry, no real flavor and the fries were soggy. Although the wait staff seemed to look in our direction, they never saw us and thus poor service. A bad food experience. We really did enjoy the conversation so it was a good evening poor food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Perhaps my favorite Baltimore restaurant ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Perhaps my favorite Baltimore restaurant; Best crab-cakes in town. Lovely atmospheres in great museum, with outdoor dining in Sculpture garden with water features. The staff friendly and attentive. The waiter helped my dining partner try some new tastes.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, service was top-notc ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food was excellent, service was top-notch. Atmosphere was great.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing evening. Service and food ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Disappointing evening. Service and food were mediocre at best. The restaurant was not crowded but our server was inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Service was SUPER. I didn't like the e ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Service was SUPER. I didn't like the entree (too fishy) and the server was very helpful - no negativity at all - ordered something different. Very good

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was crowded and noisy. Food w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Restaurant was crowded and noisy. Food was good, but overpriced.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This was not a good experience. We had a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This was not a good experience. We had a small plate which had 2 shrimp on it and a salad. The waiter did not like the fact that we just got small plates he mixed up the order and did not bring the correct check. I think he should have told us how small the plate was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

a very pleasant dining experience for us ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

a very pleasant dining experience for us and our out-of-town friends who were looking for great local seafood and they got it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Sunday brunch at Gertrude's is always a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Sunday brunch at Gertrude's is always a treat. They have an excellent regular menu and always have interesting specials like soft-shell crab eggs Benedict and very good Bloody Marys.

Sitting outdoors next to the fountain was delightful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I have been to Gertrudes several times ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I have been to Gertrudes several times and I have always been pleased with my meals there. This was different. The Waiter was incompetent. There was a list of "Spirits" which came with the wine list and I asked him if these were all the "whiskeys" they had. He said yes and I was surprised since none of the three Bourbons even came from Kentucky. Needless to say, after sending him back to the bar to confirm, turned out he was wrong. Next, it took FAR too long to bring the appetizers and when they did, the Spring Rolls were very overdone. The main courses were average at best. A Manager came over later, knew we weren't happy and comped deserts. Nice try and appreciated but just too little, too late.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We enjoyed out dining experience. The f ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We enjoyed out dining experience. The food was quite good if a bit mild on the seasoning. We had gumbo and the vegetarian curry. The server was attentive without been to present. We dined outside. The weather was lovely. We were close to the fountain which did seem a bit loud from the water.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!! High quality, wonderfu ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Love this place!! High quality, wonderful setting and John Shields' Chesapeake cookbook - awesome.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy, fresh delicious food.....great vi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Yummy, fresh delicious food.....great view great wait staff

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, attentive service, beaut ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Delicious food, attentive service, beautiful ambiance. The indoor seating was loud, and therefore chose to eat outdoors. Server was friendly, knowledgable, helpful, and attentive. The food (Rockfish Imperial) was excellent. Vegetables were roasted to perfection. I requested rice as substitute for potato; they gave me rice pilaf, which was very delicately flavored suggesting that this was freshly spiced (not an off-the-shelf spice mix). The menu states which options are gluten free. It was a delightful experience from start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I've eaten at Gertrude's many times befo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I've eaten at Gertrude's many times before and invited a colleague from DC to join me there this past week. The seafood salad which, in the past, has been excellent, tasted as if it had been made a day or two before. The shrimp was not good--tasteless, actually, even though it seemed to have Bay seasoning on it. The lettuces were limp. It didn't even look attractive. I was a bit embarrassed. Perhaps it was a bad day but I'm not planning to return so quickly.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Took my daughter to celebrate her birthd ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Took my daughter to celebrate her birthday..we both love Gertrudes..never disappoints

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing! They have wonderfu ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food was amazing! They have wonderful seafood options. I had the crab cake which was full of real crab. The vegetables were extremely flavorful. Delicious coffee and desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Caesar salad is not difficult to prepa ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

A Caesar salad is not difficult to prepare. But Gertrude's does not know how. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Great for lunch with friends or when tak ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great for lunch with friends or when taking my Advanced Placement high school seniors to the museum.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was at Johns Hopkins for the day and loo ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Was at Johns Hopkins for the day and looked for a nice place not far away for a quick but elegant bite :) Stumbled onto Gertrude's and it was just perfect...I sat outside and food was just right, wine good and the service spot on.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gertrude's was a treat! And a great valu ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Gertrude's was a treat! And a great value for the quality of the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It's a treat to come here. The staff is ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It's a treat to come here. The staff is very attentive and gives excellent service. Take in the muse5um and come here for a drink or appetizers The sculpture garden can be enjoyed from seats on the veranda

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.