About Gertrude's

10 Art Museum Dr.
Baltimore, MD 21218
View Larger Map

Gertrude's Restaurant, located inside the Baltimore Museum of Art (BMA), is where John Shields celebrates Chesapeake cuisine using local foods, in a warm and stylish setting.
Chef & owner John Shields, a Baltimore native who is a cookbook author and television cooking show host, named the restaurant after his grandmother, Gertrude Cleary, who taught him to cook as a child. Gertrude's dishes up a sophisticated regional menu of Chesapeake foods and traditions for lunch, dinner, and brunch using local, organic ingredients whenever possible.
The restaurant's interior, inspired by life on the Eastern Shore of the Chesapeake Bay, is beautiful & elegant yet comfortable. The wall of floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the museum’s Sculpture Garden floods the open & airy dining room with natural light. During the warmer months, additional seats are available on the terrace surrounding a fountain and reflecting pool.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Saturday: 10:30am - 9:00pm
Sunday: 10:30am - 8:00pm

Brunch Menu served on Saturday and Sunday until 3pm
Light Fare Menu on Saturday and Sunday from 3pm - 5pm

Cross Street:
N. Charles St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 889-3399

Website:
http://www.gertrudesbaltimore.com/

Entertainment:
On Friday nights listen to mellow jazz with Gary Thomas & Friends at Gertrude's from 6 to 8pm, while you enjoy dinner or cocktails in a beautiful and relaxing setting.
And the Dottie Tim Jazz Duo plays here on Sundays during our popular brunch, from 11:30 am till 2:30 pm.

Catering:
In addition to birthday parties, anniversary celebrations and corporate affairs, Gertrude's hosts many wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, and “day after” brunches throughout the year, for groups as small as 20 guests, and as large as 150. You may visit our web site, www.gertrudesbaltimore.com, for more info, or contact John Gilligan at jg@johnshields.com (or tel. 410.889.3399 x105).

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot for over 40 cars, operated by the BMA; payment is required to use the BMA's lot. There is also plenty of on-street parking directly in front; parking meters are in effect during our operating hours.

Executive Chef:
Doug Wetzel

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
John Gilligan: 4108893399x105

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Soft Shell Crab Eggs Benedict
Portobello Crab Imperial
Fried Chicken Salad
Vegetable Flatbread
Beignets
Watercress Salad
Fish and Chips
Seared Fresh Atlantic Salmon With Garlic Mashed Potatoes And Spinach
Cream of Crab Soup
Resurrection Ale
Boordy Blush
Neapolitan Macaron Ice Cream Sandwiches
Middle Eastern Platter
Garden Salad with Zuchettes
Lobster and Crawfish Omelet
Eastern Shore Crabcake
Focaccia
Seafood Salad
Ice Cream Sampler
crab cake
Fresh Rockfish Stuffed With Crab Imperial
Deep Fried Oysters
Spinach Salad With Chicken
Chocolate Decadance
Baked Cod
Dirty Gertie
Bacon Manhatten

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Gertrude's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Baltimore / Maryland
Great for Lunch
Baltimore / Maryland
Outdoor Dining
Baltimore / Maryland
5 More
Great for Lunch
Baltimore
Outdoor Dining
Baltimore
Scenic View
Baltimore
American
Baltimore
Most Booked
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Charles Village ›

Special Occasion (185)
Great for Outdoor Dining (185)
Great for Lunch (167)
See All
Fit for Foodies (160)
Great for Brunch (158)
Neighborhood Gem (139)
Scenic View (133)
Good for Groups (106)
Romantic (93)
Kid-friendly (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
Hot Spot (17)
Late-night Find (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3736 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good service and good food. Sat outside. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

Good service and good food. Sat outside....gorgeous night.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. One of the best places in B ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food. One of the best places in B'more to dine outside. Salmon Arabella was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I ATE AT GERTRUDE'S ON TWO CONSECQUETIVE ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I ATE AT GERTRUDE'S ON TWO CONSECQUETIVE SATURDAYS BECAUSE OF JAZZ CONCERTS AT THE BMA. FOR THE FIRST DINNER I ORDERED THE FRIED CATFISH THAT WAS SERVED VERY HOT, HOWEVER THE SIDES ESPECIALLY THE GRITS WERE. MY DINING PARTNER COULD NOT EAT THE MASH POTATOES BECAUSE THEY WERE COLD.

BECAUSE OF THE CONVENIENCE WE ATE AT GERTRUDES AGAIN THE FOLLOWING SATURDAY AND I HAD THE SEAFOOD GUMBO, THE GUMBO BROTH WAS VERY THIN, SERVED ROOM TEMPARATURE WITH COLD RICE THAT HAD NOT BEEN COOKED LONG ENOUGH. THE FOOD WAS RETURNED TO THE KITCHEN BECAUSE OF THE TEMPATURE AND QUITE OBVIOUSLY IT WAS HEATED BY THE MICROWAVE. THE THING I ENJOYED MOST WAS THE ICE CREAM SELECTED FOR DESSERT (VANILLA W/FUDGE SYRYP). NOT A VERY GOOD OR SATISFYING DINING EXPERIENCE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

A good expedience. Servers very pleasant ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

A good expedience. Servers very pleasant. Food adequate. Would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Welcoming, good and timely service, deli ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Welcoming, good and timely service, delicious food. Wish it were in my neighborhood!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were a table of 8 that hadn't seen ea ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We were a table of 8 that hadn't seen each other for awhile. It was a great night together !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing lobster dinner but husband ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Disappointing lobster dinner but husbands appetizers were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Donna's is ever reliable for a business ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Donna's is ever reliable for a business lunch and lunch or dinner with friends. It has something delicious for everyone's taste, is attractive and easy to get to, and the parking is stress-free — a major consideration. The noise level is very manageable and, when the weather cooperates, the outdoor seating is delightful.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I enjoy eating here when I'm visiting th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I enjoy eating here when I'm visiting the beautiful Baltimore art museum. It's very busy during lunch so I make sure to make reservations. The menu selection is very large! The food was fresh and beautifully presented. I ordered from the small plate section of the menu plus a salad and it was the perfect portion for lunch; not too much food to finish. I really like how the menu is divided up: large plates, small plates, design your own plate, sandwiches, soups, salads, sides, appetizers, wow! So many selections! Staff was friendly and professional. I look forward to returning in the Fall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love Gertrude's but the staff was havi ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I love Gertrude's but the staff was having a very hard time dealing with a very large birthday party that evening. I am not sure why we weren't prioritized ahead of such a large group. There were only 4 of us and we had to wait way too long at every step.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had overall a great dinner! I would l ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had overall a great dinner! I would like to go back and try more items off the menu. I had a great dish of rockfish - one of my favourite fish - and it was grand. my wife had a steak that was a bit dry. Great service, and drinks were fantastic.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Honestly cannot say enough about this re ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Honestly cannot say enough about this restaurant. The staff is AMAZING, the food is OUT OF THIS WORLD, the restaurant is GORGEOUS, and there is nothing that I would have changed about the dining experience. Love love love Gertrudes!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Museums aren't just for art anymore. I l ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Museums aren't just for art anymore. I live in Texas and the restaurant attached to the Kimbal Museum in Fort Worth is as much a feast for the stomach as the artifacts in the museum are a feast for the eyes. The same could be said about the Baltimore Museum of Art and Gertrude's. Come one and all to feast artistically and gastronomically! You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I enjoyed my visit to Gertrude's. As al ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I enjoyed my visit to Gertrude's. As always, the service was great and the food was good. My friend and I were seated immediately and so the on-line reservations worked wonderfully. Along with great fun and service, education followed as we visited many of the exhibits of the museum. Great afternoon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

the fried chicken was over cooked and ha ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

the fried chicken was over cooked and hard to eat. the broccoli was almost raw. the cream for the coffee was sour. the experience was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

This was my first time at Gertrude's I r ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

This was my first time at Gertrude's I really enjoy the dining experience even though it was a business dinner! I will come back for lunch and brunch. I am looking forward to dining outside once it cools down.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Gertrude's is an excellent place for spe ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Gertrude's is an excellent place for special occasions - it never fails to deliver. We had excellent service, food, and a wonderful experience all around.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a BMA member we have dined here many ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

As a BMA member we have dined here many times over the years and usually the meals are very good. But on this night i was not impressed with my entree and neither was my husband. I ordered the crab imperial portobello which came with dry rice pilaf, asparagus and I've had better crab imperial. My husband had the barbecue pork entree and he said it was mediocre. I commented that it says something when the highlight of the meal was the bread. It may have been an off night. We got the last seating after Jazz in the Sculpture Garden.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Gertrude's was recommended by a friend w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Gertrude's was recommended by a friend whom we met for dinner. Unfortunately they were having a large concert event and it was very busy with people having dinner first and also getting boxed meals from the bar. The bar staff was overwhelmed. Despite this the barmaid made us some delicious cocktails. The hostess seated us too close to all the bustle (we should have spoken up) because tables weren't set. The food was good but nothing extraordinary. The cocktails made up for it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Water was offered at our table. As we d ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Water was offered at our table. As we drank we noticed that the water tasted sweet. We summarized that it must have been watered down soda. The server did not verify what she was serving. Luckily, we was not something that could have made us sick.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

This dinner was for my husband's birthda ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This dinner was for my husband's birthday. Afterwards, he said, the meal was fabulous! Best food he ever ate is always at Gertrude's! Best gift he could have was time with our adult children and their dates in a sophisticated atmosphere with great food. Everyone enjoyed their entrees. The selection is varied enough to suit most any taste, but the way the food is prepared and served is far above the quality of many area restaurants. The ambiance is the other part of the gift of eating at Gertrude's. There was a two piece combo playing softly in the background. You could see the sculpture garden and the gracious architecture along Charles Street's skyline on a beautiful evening. Six of us were treated like royalty by the wait staff. Beautiful celebration, wonderful food and atmosphere with the perfect level of attention given throughout the evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gertrude's is fine but it is getting a l ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Gertrude's is fine but it is getting a little tired in its offerings. It is the only "nicer" place near the Hopkins Homewood campus so if you have never been, it will be fine. But if you live or work nearby, there are only so many times you can return.

Staff are helpful. Space is okay. The menu could use some freshening up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great day - dined outside for lunch with ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great day - dined outside for lunch with two friends. We were all enticed by the Soft Shell Crab offering and were not disappointed. The Peach Iced Tea was just right - weather was perfect and the restaurant filled as we ate with just the right amount of service and then a leisurely tour of the BMA.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I like Gertrude's...the food is good, th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I like Gertrude's...the food is good, the service very good, and the location is perfect for a visit to the BMA. However, although the menu is extensive, I think it's too expensive for the kind of restaurant it is. The prices need to be more moderate especially for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Last night we went to Gertrude’s for Tue ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Last night we went to Gertrude’s for Tuesdays with Gertie. We admire John Shields for honoring his grandmother in this way and treating all of us. Tuesday with Gertie offers a prix fix entrée for $15.00. Wine is offered at $20.00 a bottle. Set in the beautiful BMA Museum, the restaurant always has a lively vibe. Our server, Purna, was friendly and attentive – he really took excellent care of us. The rolls and corn bread were so hot and tasty. They make Maryland Pan-fried Chicken only on Tuesday, so I had to have it. The dish included a breast, thigh, leg and wing accompanied with mashed potatoes, gravy, 2 biscuits and broccoli ($15.00). It was so much, I have lunch for today. The other meals enjoyed were the Salmon alla Bella with asparagus and wild rice pilaf ($15.00), and 2 orders of the Grilled Jumbo Shrimp and Crab - Gulf shrimp & Clayton’s crabmeat wrapped in thinly sliced pancetta and served over local cheddar-Pepper Jack grits, with garlic spinach ($27.00 each) . Everyone raved about their dishes. We enjoyed a bottle of Vinho Verde (crisp, fresh white wine) and Fourteen Hands Merlot (full bodied red wine). Thank you for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic. We went during ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was fantastic. We went during restaurant week & got quite a bargain as well as fantastic food. Love this restaurant. Our server was a bit inattentive and the restaurant was not busy at the early hour during which we dined, but usually, the service is very good at Gertrude's. The food is always good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

The food was pretty bland. The service w ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was pretty bland. The service was just OK. If you are in the area check it out. But I wouldn't go out of my way.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I was pleasantly surprised how delicious ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised how delicious the food was and would recommend this restaurant to anyone! The staff was hospitable and friendly. I can't wait to come back and try other items on the menu.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of the food was very good. 2 ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The quality of the food was very good. 2 of us had the crabcake with potatoes. The other couple had A shrimp platter and crab imperial. Their bar inventory is marginal. 2 of the requested drinks were not available. The server tried to take the food order before serving the ordered cocktails. The split Cesar salAd order was not split and brought out on one dish. No offer for ground pepper. No salt. No good bye walking out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Delicious as always..yummy watermelon g ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Delicious as always..yummy watermelon gazpacho .....fresh yummy food..

Beautiful view

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went with a small group to celebrate m ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I went with a small group to celebrate my recent engagement over dinner and our waiter was amazing and made the meal special for us. We hardly noticed him throughout the meal as our water and wine was refilled and dishes were brought and taken away. The meal was seamless and we are excited to go back for brunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite meal and dining experience! De ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Exquisite meal and dining experience! Definitely a hidden gem in Baltimore.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant atmosphere is great. We s ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The restaurant atmosphere is great. We sat outside on the patio. The food was delicious. The only complaint I had was that the portions are really small for the price you pay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pleasant. Wait staff was pleasant a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Very pleasant. Wait staff was pleasant and attentive. Food was quite good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Gertrude's is always fantastic. There co ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Gertrude's is always fantastic. There commitment to the delicious cuisine of the Chesapeake Bay is unmatched. On this visit we especially enjoyed Coddies, an old Baltimore tradition of a little cake of cod and potato deep-fried and served atop a Ritz cracker. Located inside the Baltimore Museum of Art -- diners can enjoy an after-diner stroll though the museum's sculpture garden that is adjacent to Gertrude's outdoor seating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent. Noise ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Noise level can be quite high, especially when live music was added.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful experience , food was delish, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Wonderful experience , food was delish, service was great. It was Restaurant Week.

Hope to visit again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual the food and service were impec ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

As usual the food and service were impeccable. It is the only reliable restaurant in this town as far as food quality, creativeness of cuisine, farm to table ingredients, service, ambiance and wine selections that one should spend their money on. The rest are imitators. Chef John Shields started the restaurant movement in this town and still rules it oh this many years later. KUDOS Gertrude's! You reign supreme!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whether it is a party of 5 or 72 there i ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Whether it is a party of 5 or 72 there is predictable consistency with the service, foods and drinks. A beautiful gem adjacent to the Baltimore Museum of Art.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brought my 2 grandchildren from Californ ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Brought my 2 grandchildren from California for dinner. This is their favorite Maryland restaurant.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.