About Gertrude's - Baltimore

10 Art Museum Dr.
Baltimore, MD 21218
View Larger Map

Gertrude's Restaurant, located inside the Baltimore Museum of Art (BMA), is where John Shields celebrates Chesapeake cuisine using local foods, in a warm and stylish setting.
Chef & owner John Shields, a Baltimore native who is a cookbook author and television cooking show host, named the restaurant after his grandmother, Gertrude Cleary, who taught him to cook as a child. Gertrude's dishes up a sophisticated regional menu of Chesapeake foods and traditions for lunch, dinner, and brunch using local, organic ingredients whenever possible.
The restaurant's interior, inspired by life on the Eastern Shore of the Chesapeake Bay, is beautiful & elegant yet comfortable. The wall of floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the museum’s Sculpture Garden floods the open & airy dining room with natural light. During the warmer months, additional seats are available on the terrace surrounding a fountain and reflecting pool.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Saturday: 10:30am - 9:00pm
Sunday: 10:30am - 8:00pm

Brunch Menu served on Saturday and Sunday until 3pm
Light Fare Menu on Saturday and Sunday from 3pm - 5pm

Cross Street:
N. Charles St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 889-3399

Website:
http://www.gertrudesbaltimore.com/

Entertainment:
On Friday nights listen to mellow jazz with Gary Thomas & Friends at Gertrude's from 6 to 8pm, while you enjoy dinner or cocktails in a beautiful and relaxing setting.
And the Dottie Tim Jazz Duo plays here on Sundays during our popular brunch, from 11:30 am till 2:30 pm.

Catering:
In addition to birthday parties, anniversary celebrations and corporate affairs, Gertrude's hosts many wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, and “day after” brunches throughout the year, for groups as small as 20 guests, and as large as 150. You may visit our web site, www.gertrudesbaltimore.com, for more info, or contact John Gilligan at jg@johnshields.com (or tel. 410.889.3399 x105).

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot for over 40 cars, operated by the BMA; payment is required to use the BMA's lot. There is also plenty of on-street parking directly in front; parking meters are in effect during our operating hours.

Executive Chef:
Doug Wetzel

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
John Gilligan: 4108893399x105

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Gertrude's - Baltimore
Gertrude's - Baltimore
Gertrude's - Baltimore
Gertrude's - Baltimore
Gertrude's - Baltimore
Gertrude's - Baltimore
Soft Shell Crab Eggs Benedict
Portobello Crab Imperial
Fried Chicken Salad
Vegetable Flatbread
Beignets
Watercress Salad
Fish and Chips
Seared Fresh Atlantic Salmon With Garlic Mashed Potatoes And Spinach
Cream of Crab Soup
Resurrection Ale
Boordy Blush
Neapolitan Macaron Ice Cream Sandwiches
Middle Eastern Platter
Garden Salad with Zuchettes
Lobster and Crawfish Omelet
Eastern Shore Crabcake
Focaccia
Seafood Salad
Ice Cream Sampler
crab cake
Fresh Rockfish Stuffed With Crab Imperial
Deep Fried Oysters
Spinach Salad With Chicken
Chocolate Decadance
Baked Cod
Dirty Gertie
Bacon Manhatten

Specials

$29 - Two Course Meal

Specials

$29 - Two Course Meal
Details

Two-course meal (crab cake entree or similarly priced) paired with choice of soup/salad or dessert

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service

Valid For: 1 - 6 People

Starts: September 9, 2016

Ends: November 30, 2016

Availability: Tue-Thu 5:00PM-6:00PM 7:45PM-10:00PM
Fri-Sat 5:00PM-6:00PM 8:00PM-10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Gertrude's - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Baltimore / Maryland
Great for Lunch
Baltimore / Maryland
Outdoor Dining
Baltimore / Maryland
7 More
Most Booked
Baltimore / Maryland
Great for Brunch
Baltimore
Great for Lunch
Baltimore
Outdoor Dining
Baltimore
Scenic View
Baltimore
American
Baltimore
Most Booked
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Charles Village ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (192)
Special Occasion (179)
Great for Lunch (151)
See All
Great for Brunch (151)
Fit for Foodies (140)
Scenic View (129)
Neighborhood Gem (126)
Good for Groups (105)
Romantic (93)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Notable Wine List (30)
Good for a Date (26)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Kid-friendly (21)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Business Meals (17)
Seasonal (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Afternoon Tea (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Cozy (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Casual (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Authentic (8)
People Watching (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fun (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Healthy (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Historic (6)
Vegan (6)
Family Style (5)
Live Music (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Tapas (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3772 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have four kids and so I was nervous - ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 3 days ago

I have four kids and so I was nervous - we took my mom out (their grandma) for her birthday. We sat outside, which provided an outlet for the kids - who roamed the sculpture gardens. Our waiter was very welcoming - he made us feel very comfortable. So, although it was upscale, it turned out to be kid friendly, as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, fantastic staff. The Cho ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food, fantastic staff. The Chocolate Ice Cream Sandwich stopped me in my tracks. It was so delicious I had to close my eyes and just THINK about it for a minute. It was that good. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are never disappointed by Gertrudes. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

We are never disappointed by Gertrudes. Food and service both very good. I tried the Zucchettes small plate (vegetarian crab cakes) for the first time and loved them; their mushroom barley soup was excellent as well. My husband had an excellent dish of very fresh scallops over risotto.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Great Beer, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Authentic, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On our visit to the museum we had lunch ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

On our visit to the museum we had lunch at Gertrude's. Excellent service and good food. It was very pleasant eating on the patio! I'd definitely recommend Gertrude's when visiting the museum.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful venue. Excellent food. Very ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 7 days ago

Beautiful venue. Excellent food. Very fine service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived at 5:00 and found an outdoor ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 7 days ago

We arrived at 5:00 and found an outdoor table where we could have a good view of the beautiful garden. To our surprise, you could use the provided crayon to draw on the table. We loved the crab cake and oysters. However, the steak was not so good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely restaurant and atmosphere, with a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Lovely restaurant and atmosphere, with ambience. Top drawer, friendly, professional service. Perfect cocktails. Delicious, generous entrée portions, well prepared, served appropriately warm according to dish. I recommend Gertrude's to anyone seeking a satisfying, pleasant, comfortable, enjoyable experience!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of My favorite place for Sunday brun ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

One of My favorite place for Sunday brunch. Love the Bloody Gertrude

Tags: Seasonal, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fine - good but not excepti ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was fine - good but not exceptionally so. Service was great. The reason I would not recommend Gertrude's is the noise level. The four of us could barely hear each other speak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Gertude's was exactly the right place to ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Gertude's was exactly the right place to go for us. We enjoyed the small plates and some soup out under the canopy, looking out at museum sculptures and fountains. Great early evening light meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Every experience at Gertrude's has been ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Every experience at Gertrude's has been awesome! The food is great and located at the BMA is an added attraction when I consider places eat.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gertrude's shines again by offering 50% ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Gertrude's shines again by offering 50% of their proceeds for Dine Out for Life to support Moveable Feast. Not only did we enjoy a great meal, but we supported a great cause simply by choosing Gertrude's.

Tags: People Watching, Vegan, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great for lunch, especially combi ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Always great for lunch, especially combined with a visit to the BMA. I often order the crab soup and the oyster po'boy sandwich.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My office crew took a co-worker out for ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

My office crew took a co-worker out for a wedding shower lunch and had a truly wonderful time. Without requesting it, we were seated in the outdoor sculpture garden by the fountain. What a beautiful spot! Nice menu with lots of options at a good price. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Another amazing experience at Gertrude's ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Another amazing experience at Gertrude's. We celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary and could think of no where else we would rather dine than Gertrude's. I had the Crab Imperial stuffed Rockfish (don't let the "market value" scare you. the price was very reasonable) and my wife can recommend the "Very Berry Salad" (it's her favorite). I don't have a bad thought about our time there. Quick seating, attentive server, delicious food and an elegant atmosphere, all the makings of a memorable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a fine time, my cousin and I. Frien ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Had a fine time, my cousin and I. Friendly informative waiter. Last of the soft shells.

Tags: Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great food

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is probably my 3rd or 4th time visi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This is probably my 3rd or 4th time visiting this lovely restaurant in the last year or so to celebrate a special occasion or just because. I always start out with the restaurant's simple garden salad, and choose one of the big plates. This particular night, I had the fried oysters with the apple slaw and it was delicious. Others enjoyed the lamb, fried catfish, and other dishes that I cannot remember, but were a winner none the less.

Keep doing what you are doing, and I look forward to heading there for brunch one Sunday.

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, terrific menu choices, l ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Wonderful food, terrific menu choices, lovely setting, attentive staff and comfortable seating. Only critique would be that the noise level was very high when the restaurant was full and the band was also playing making it hard to hear one another. We were there for the Sunday brunch. Overall, we loved it and will return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gertrude's is a must-do when you are in ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Gertrude's is a must-do when you are in Baltimore. It's a taste of the region in a beautiful setting. The service is fantastic. Just be sure to make a reservation. They host many private parties so they are sometimes closed at unexpected times.

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Healthy, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With the first mouthful of Gertrude's so ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

With the first mouthful of Gertrude's soup of the day, I instantaneously thought this restaurant is quickly rising to one of my top two all time favorites. Finishing our gourmet meal secured this ranking in our minds. We are looking forward to returning. The tastes, preparation and presentation were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a fantastic restaurant with outs ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

This is a fantastic restaurant with outstanding l service. And the location - inside the Baltimore Museum of Art, adjacent to the Homewood campus of the Johns Hopkins University - makes this great restaurant better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant conversation with friends over ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Pleasant conversation with friends over wine and dinner. No rushing, no worries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent sunday brunch....their special ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

excellent sunday brunch....their specials are interesting along with innovative cocktails

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My son attends the University next door ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

My son attends the University next door and Gertrude's is a convenient restaurant that we know to have good service and interesting selections, local flare. It is within the Baltimore Museum of Art, so is a great spot to go before or after visiting the museum. It seems the restaurant accommodates the families of students as well as a place for business or special events.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Family Style, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

AWSOME !!!! Experience I would definit ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

AWSOME !!!! Experience I would definitely recommend this place

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an outdoor table overlooking the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We had an outdoor table overlooking the sculpture garden and it was lovely! A perfect setting in nice weather. Crab cakes were delicious and very meaty. Service was attentive and courteous without being overbearing. A delightful way to end the day after spending time in the museum.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Had lunch with 2 friends. We were seated ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Had lunch with 2 friends. We were seated outside on the terrace overlooking the Sculpture Garden on a beautiful sunny day. Service was prompt, courteous, attentive throughout our meal. I had the seafood salad which had fresh generous amount of crab, large shrimp, and scallops with a lemon vinaigrette that was delicious and finished with a Gertrude's candy bar, dark chocolate mousse with salted soft caramel and hazelnut crunch. It did not disappoint! I want to come back to try weekend brunch!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Impeccable service, superb food.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Impeccable service, superb food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

everything must have ben pre cooked and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

everything must have ben pre cooked and the meal was served too quickly.. Dinner went by too fast and we were done in 45 minutes.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Exceptional food and drinks, excellent ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Exceptional food and drinks, excellent service, and very pleasant ambiance. Would have loved to eat outside near the sculpture garden and fountain, but just a bit hot- will definitely return in more moderate weather to take advantage of the outdoor venue. And of course having the museum to browse in before and/or after eating is a big plus!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Well when I arrived they said I didn't h ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Well when I arrived they said I didn't have a reservation... I got confirmation from this site that my reservation was confirmed, that was a bit annoying but they seated me anyways...

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

My sister and I attended brunch at Gert ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

My sister and I attended brunch at Gertrude's to celebrate her new job. The atmosphere was wonderful, waiter was very engaging and food was delicious and plentiful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

when for brunch had the best rainbow tro ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

when for brunch had the best rainbow trout ever!!!!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came here with a party of 8 on a Frida ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I came here with a party of 8 on a Friday evening, and the dinner was absolutely lovely. The Bertie's Crab Cake was delightful, and the entire party agreed we had a quality meal. Only complaint was that I was served the wrong dish: I was given the incorrect sides and it took quite a while for me to flag down a waiter. Otherwise, we had a great time! Wonderful ambience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Good for Groups, Historic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

What a super welcoming to JHU area! We ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

What a super welcoming to JHU area! We celebrated son's arrival (dinner) and then our departure (brunch). With convenient parking, great location and ambiance, Gertrude's is a gem. First off is the CUISINE - diverse, fresh, creative and delicious! The only reason for not straight 5's is that our server was 'over seated' on the Fri night. Saturday night, our server was super! We look forward to making this 'our neighborhood' go-to when we visit for sure! Thank you for making our special moments that much more special !!! The Crab Cakes, Crab Egg Benedict and Crab Quiche were excellent. Compliments to the chef and his team !

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Good service and good food. Sat outside. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Good service and good food. Sat outside....gorgeous night.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. One of the best places in B ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great food. One of the best places in B'more to dine outside. Salmon Arabella was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I ATE AT GERTRUDE'S ON TWO CONSECQUETIVE ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I ATE AT GERTRUDE'S ON TWO CONSECQUETIVE SATURDAYS BECAUSE OF JAZZ CONCERTS AT THE BMA. FOR THE FIRST DINNER I ORDERED THE FRIED CATFISH THAT WAS SERVED VERY HOT, HOWEVER THE SIDES ESPECIALLY THE GRITS WERE. MY DINING PARTNER COULD NOT EAT THE MASH POTATOES BECAUSE THEY WERE COLD.

BECAUSE OF THE CONVENIENCE WE ATE AT GERTRUDES AGAIN THE FOLLOWING SATURDAY AND I HAD THE SEAFOOD GUMBO, THE GUMBO BROTH WAS VERY THIN, SERVED ROOM TEMPARATURE WITH COLD RICE THAT HAD NOT BEEN COOKED LONG ENOUGH. THE FOOD WAS RETURNED TO THE KITCHEN BECAUSE OF THE TEMPATURE AND QUITE OBVIOUSLY IT WAS HEATED BY THE MICROWAVE. THE THING I ENJOYED MOST WAS THE ICE CREAM SELECTED FOR DESSERT (VANILLA W/FUDGE SYRYP). NOT A VERY GOOD OR SATISFYING DINING EXPERIENCE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

A good expedience. Servers very pleasant ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

A good expedience. Servers very pleasant. Food adequate. Would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.