Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About Gertrude's - Phoenix

Gertrude’s Restaurant, nestled inside the Desert Botanical Garden, offers a fresh new food experience focusing on ingredients directly from the farm and pasture to the plate.

1201 N. Galvin Parkway
# 1511
Phoenix, AZ 85008
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Desert Botanical Garden

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 719-8600

Website:
http://www.gertrudesrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Our guests may park anywhere in the Desert Botanical Garden public lot. We recommend you park near the entrance, the center parking lot sidewalk is a good landmark.

Private Party Facilities:
Chef's Table is right next to the kitchen line and seats up to 12 People

Private Party Contact:
Michelle Jacob, GM: (480) 719-8600

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gertrude's - Phoenix Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (53)
Scenic View (39)
Local Ingredients (30)
See All
Good for a Date (28)
Special Occasion (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Great for Lunch (26)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Great for Brunch (23)
Casual (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Seasonal (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Romantic (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Authentic (9)
Fun (7)
Organic (7)
Cozy (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Good for Groups (6)
People Watching (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Vegan (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Business Meals (3)
Historic (2)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Music (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
2211 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Good vegetarian choices - the Sonoran fried rice and the curried tofu were big hits. Friends liked the chicken thighs and lamb ribs. Service friendly and helpful.

Tags: Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The view is wonderful. Be wary of sitting near the window though (more flies near the brighter light). The service...I think they would have preferred not to be bothered. There was a miscommunication during ordering on both my and the waiter's parts (what was the pastry of the day? Coffee cake, Jalapeño Scone, both? ), which caused the waiter to be rather distant from then on. The huevos rancheros was bland and the tortilla was too thick. The smoked salmon spread was passable, but also lacked flavor and texture. Unfortunately, we won't be back. Course, we got the impression we were not welcome anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Our breakfast entrees were healthy and delicious. Both were perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. The fresh fruit was Excellent!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Could not ask for a better experience. The food, wine, ambience, and service were all excellent. A special request was handling with ease, and our meals were fantastic. Thank you for another wonderful meal at Gertrude's.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Went to visit Botanical Gardens on our family vacation. With the weather being so hot I booked lunch at Gertrude's for the convenience of taking a break. What a great surprise!! Fantastic lunch! One of our favorite places we ate while in Arizona.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Brunch with visiting friend, nice to order from both breakfast and lunch menus

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Horrible experience. Difficulty parking because of closures on their property. They called to see if we were still going to come at 7:02 for a 7 pm appt (we were walking from the lot.)

Front desk person was nice. Server (who appeared to also be the manager) was very brusque and even rude. We ordered an appetizer and he came back to say he 'couldn't sell' that 'tonight.'

After a long absence not taking our order, it became obvious he didn't wish to serve anyone else. We had ordered iced tea; hadn't drank it (seemed unfresh.) We offered to pay for it and go. He presented a bill for it. They were supposed to be open until 9:30; as we left we heard the woman in front tell someone walking in that they were closing
1) there should have been an apology!
2) they should not have charged us for the tea
3) this was our anniversary dinner!! NEVER again
We have been garden members since 2009 when we moved here. We won't be rejoining!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Booked for a team dinner. Had a couple members that required special consideration, gluten and vegan. Everyone had a great meal and drinks, super enjoyable. Finished with a fantastic night time view of the moon and rock formations. Also, not far from town but feels tucked away.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We had a small business meeting of friends. Gertrude's was perfect. It was not a crowded evening and was great for our conversations. The food was just right. We will go again!

Tags: Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Comfort Food, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Fun, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Great foodie experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Have been there before and been very pleased. This visit, I had to hunt down our server in the kitchen to request to place our order. Wasn't offered the dessert menu and it was a special occasion for friend's 93rd birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 18, 2017

As always, enjoy the food, service and the atmosphere of the beautiful gardens; it was a business lunch and we were accommodated wonderfully, no rush etc. And enjoyed the opportunity to make a quick visit to the Gift Shop. Live in Gilbert and rest of group were from Tempe and downtown Phoenix - so happy meeting point. Again, always enjoy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food was mediocre and very over priced. The drinks were ok. Service was bit surly. We were the only table. The ambiance was poor, no music nothing to set the mood or make you feel comfortable. I will not be going back and can not think of any reason to recommend this to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 1, 2017

It was good. Scenery was beautiful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Gertrude's is a great addition to Desert Botanical Garden.
We love going there whenever visiting the garden. Breakfast,
Lunch and Dinner have always been very good to outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The food and drinks were good but the service was outstanding. The restaurant closes at 8:00 but we didn't realize how late it was and finally left at 9:15. We never felt rushed and the server did not even bring the check until we asked! It was a delightful evening.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Outstanding as always. We both had the chilled zucchini soup and BLT.
They were excellent.
Ate outside and it was beautiful.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Always a good meal but the noise level inside makes conversation extremely difficult. We were really shouting at each other 🙁

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Aside from the high price the food was tasty. I had the farmers soup and salad for 14.00. it was a vuot of soup and a small salad. Most of the meals were 15.00 plus It was mid week so there wasn't a crowd so it was not crowded. if you are taking your date to the gardens this would a place you could do a pre or post light meal. I would suggest it for convenience but I think there are other restaurants that can give you more value for the price.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Very disappointing food selection and no Hendricks or Tanqueray (or similar) gin.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Have eaten at the restaurant one other time. Decided to try it again before seeing the Topia Ballet. We ordered 2 glasses of wine; two salmon salads and two coffees. The salmon salad was not worth the money and for $70 we could have eaten off premise much less expensively.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 6, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was exceptional. It was a bit loud and difficult to carry on a conversation but that could have been because we were between two large groups.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Most menu items are overworked and too over-the-top. Chef seems to like to get too creative. Prefer to eat off the "sides" menu or simpler fare if I can find it on the menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great food before Topia ballet. Waiter was either new or not good. Awkward serving style, reached across my plate and rubbed arm across my plate while I was still eating to take another pesons's finished plate. Didn't even try to distribute separate checks to parties at table left them in a stack both times. And he was kind of pushy. Patio is great but noise while dining inside is awful. Can't hear anyone at table speak.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 30, 2017

I have been to Gertude's so many times and always have good food on the beautiful patio.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great food and service. Food was hot and good selection for every type of diner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The service was incredible, he really knew what he was talking about. The food was so delicious we ate too much. Didn't save room for dessert. The appetizer corn is beyond belief.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We eat here 4-6 times a year, sometimes before a DBG event, sometimes just because we really like the experience. The food is always very good to great, as is the service. Short but tasteful wine list. You can't beat the outdoor patio.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Food and table service were excellent. Delays until food, drinks, dessert came. Loud, crowded

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner before the Ballet Topia. A little noisy inside. Next time we will sit in the patio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Not our 1st time there, & keep returning back - love it !
Always glad we can sit outside, when we can. It's way too noisy inside to be able to converse w/ease.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Scenic View, Romantic, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Delicious food. Best Manhattan! Waiter was knowledgeable, friendly and accommodating- really added to the experience. Once the restaurant filled up service got slow and paying the bill took a long time; we could see the waiter working hard but he needed another server. Overall a great dinner before the ballet.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Our dining experience at Gertrude's was disappointing. The menu is very limited and the inside dining room is extremely noisy---conversation without shouting is not possible. The menu has changed with the new chef, and we missed some of the old standards. Prices seem expensive for the value. The people next to us expressed the same frustration. This was convenient because we were seeing the ballet afterwards but the food is definitely not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My wife had the blackened scallops which she thought outstanding. I would have rated the food at a five rather than a four but my seafood pasta, which was very tasty, was advertised as having both fish and roe. It came with only the roe and some extremely tiny bits of what may have been fried fish.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Nice for lunch anytime. Good for casual romantic or lunch with a friend. Looking forward to going back next time I'm in Phoenix.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We were given a gift certificate for this resteraunt. The atmosphir & setting are high points. We went to try out the Brunch. We started with the donut appeatizer, they were wonderful & the accompanied sauces were very good. The lenonade made with infuzed blueberies was sweet, yet still had the tart flavor lemonade should. We split the 2 Benedicts plates, Regular & the Tunacake. The hollindaize on the regular Benedict could have had a little more zing to it. The fingerlink potatoes served with them were very good. Overall, though it was good, for what it cost it could have been better.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I wish I could remember our server's name because he was amazing! The food is always good there! The lemonade vinegarette is to die for and I tried the lavender lemon drop and it was very delicious!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 16, 2017

This was a nice surprise to couple with the Garden. Great staff and beautiful area! I have already recommended it and will definitely return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I love going to Gertrude's: good food, great surroundings and generally enjoyable!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Beautiful food on a remarkably beautiful day, my belated Mother's Day gift was really lovely. Made me wish I could come here more often....

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.