About Gertrude's

1201 N. Galvin Parkway
# 1511
Phoenix, AZ 85008
View Larger Map

Gertrude’s Restaurant, nestled inside the Desert Botanical Garden, offers a fresh new food experience focusing on ingredients directly from the farm and pasture to the plate.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Desert Botanical Garden

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 719-8600

Website:
http://www.gertrudesrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Our guests may park anywhere in the Desert Botanical Garden public lot. We recommend you park near the entrance, the center parking lot sidewalk is a good landmark.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Taylor

Private Party Facilities:
Chef's Table is right next to the kitchen line and seats up to 12 People

Private Party Contact:
Michelle Jacob, GM: 4807198600x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Gertrude's
  • Gertrude's
  • Gertrude's
  • Gertrude's
  • Gertrude's
  • Gertrude's
  • Gertrude's
Gertrude's
Gertrude's
Gertrude's
Gertrude's
Gertrude's
Gertrude's
Gertrude's

Gertrude's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Phoenix / Arizona
Outdoor Dining
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Scenic View
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Phoenix ›

great for outdoor dining (348)
scenic view (235)
special occasion (197)
See All
fit for foodies (195)
great for lunch (160)
romantic (84)
great for brunch (81)
good for groups (77)
neighborhood gem (63)
notable wine list (41)
late-night find (28)
kid-friendly (24)
hot spot (16)
vibrant bar scene (13)
Sort By:
Newest
1833 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went for a Summer Sunday brunch before p ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 3 days ago

Went for a Summer Sunday brunch before perusing the gardens. Perfect beginning to a perfect day. French toast is the best I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not enough food and way overpriced . Gui ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Not enough food and way overpriced . Guitar player not so good. Best to dine here outside in cool weather. Then you can enjoy the garden.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I have been to Gertrude's several times. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I have been to Gertrude's several times. I had a friend come from out of town and excited to take her there. It was horrible. The bread was burnt because the waiter forgot about it. I had to get my own knifes for the meal. Horrible service. Very sad because previous visits were wonderful. This ruined it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Since it was the hottest day of the year ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Since it was the hottest day of the year, we opted for salads with grilled salmon. We also tried the lavendar iced tea. Our food and drinks were very delicious and refreshing. Service was very good - everyone was in a cheery good mood. When I made reservations, I noted one person in our party was having a birthday. Our birthday girl was brought a birthday treat of cinnamon donut holes with 3 types of dip (carmel, prickly pear and chocolate). 'Happy Birthday' was spelled out on the dish in chocolate. It was a great treat and a nice surprise for our birthday girl. This was our first time at Gertrudes. We will definitely return and recommend it to friends.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first visit and we really l ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our first visit and we really liked it all around. A little spendy for breakfast, but it was Father's Day. We will definitely go back, for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Anytime you attend an event at the Deser ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Anytime you attend an event at the Desert Botanical Gardens, you should stop by Gertrude's to at least have a drink. It's a great place with great food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have dined at Gertrude's many times a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We have dined at Gertrude's many times and each time it is a great experience,. The food is always delicious and the menu items are interesting and when presented they are also appealing to look at. This has become a favorite for us when in Phoenix.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Flat-iron steak and scallops were amazing! Wait staff was knowledgeable and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delightful! Unique and satisfying blend ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Delightful! Unique and satisfying blends of new and interesting flavors

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My order was incorrect and my husband's burger was undercooked (again). Don't plan on returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Scallops were great, scoop chicken salad ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Scallops were great, scoop chicken salad also very good. Restaurant is SO loud it was hard to talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Food Not So Great

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Came to Gertrude's because we were taking the grandchildren on the flashlight tour and thought it would be special. Sadly, It was too warm to sit outside and their patio is very nice. The cocktails were a little too sweet. Great children's menu. My husband and I both ordered the crab salad but it was very bland and I didn't finish it. Very disappointing. I requested bread but it is not complimentary and the loaf size was too large to justify ordering.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

A great find in a beautiful setting

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We were first timers there, but it certainly will not be the last. Each dish was beautifuly presented and tasty beyond expectations. Wait staff was friendly and helpful. After our experience we do not think you could find anything on their great menu that was not as well made as possible.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gertrude's a fine place to eat

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was excellent. If going to the botanical gardens you MUST STOP @ Gertrude's. Excellent wine list. The smoked salmon Tare Tare is somethin you must order.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Arizona Republic has it wrong!!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

In my humble opinion, I've read often how wonderful Gertrude's is in the Arizona Republic, but I went there Saturday night and I was not really that impressed. The host was in control but the maitre'd was not. He seemed to be wandering around with no idea what he was doing. Yet they were not that busy. Maybe that should have told me something and this was one of the nights that Ballet Arizona was performing. So you would have thought they'd be packed. but they weren't. Now don't get me wrong, the food wasn't bad, but it just wasn't as great as I'd been led to believe it was or at least should be. Give me Beckett's any day over Gertrude's!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great night for dinner and ballet

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

What a fantastic our party had at Gertrude's. Our table placement was ideal. Our waiter was so attentive with such a wonderful sense of humor. Our drinks and dinners were so tasty and served promptly. Finally, we were given a complementary dessert that was just perfect! After this wonderful experience, we proceeded to the Arizona Ballet's performance of Round. What a perfect evening at the Desert Botanical Garden.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu. The waiter was informed and ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great menu. The waiter was informed and very helpful. This is a hidden gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

More than just for garden events.

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I'm going to keep this short because I've raved about Gertudes's in previous review. It's excellent, period. Do not think of Gertrude's only when you are going to BDG for an event. The food ranks among some the the valleys best and most interesting. You can beat the patio with any other I the Valley. Just go.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Terrible, needs new management.

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Terrible, needs new management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Beautiful location. Service was good if ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Beautiful location. Service was good if slow. Overall the food was good. Great presentation but some of the dishes leaned more to the side of bland, espy dessert. We would try it again, but maybe not until the next seasonal menu change.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Love the food and the ambience.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The service is attentive without being overbearing... friendly, food-educated and professional wait staff. The view can't be beat. Super-relaxing place to be. Love the hummus appetizer... that and a cactus cosmopolitan and then a BLT and I could sit with a friend for 3 hours. And have done just that. More than once.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

12th visit to Gertrudes

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Menu has changed...food and cocktails were well average, well below previous experiences.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and wine. Evening spoilt by v ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food and wine. Evening spoilt by very frosty hostess who made us sit at the bar for 15 mins been though out table was ready. But go for the food and wine and a great location.

Tags: fit for foodies, outdoor eating, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Your only choice ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Unfortunately this is the only choice if you want to eat at the botanical gardens. I was mainly there because i was watching a show and wanted to get a dinner.

Few things. Most of there selections are ok. I bought the fish with "musy peas" ... i have to say there is no universe where those peas were "mushy" they were 1. cut in half not mushed, 2 very crunchy

fish was ok, but too smothered in sauce

We didnt have dessert because the dessert selection was poor

Also i'd expect a place at the botanical gardens to actually have really good views, nope you get views of the entrance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Add some buffer to the noise level inside.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Too noisy when full....you need to buffer the sound.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Dinner at Gertrude's

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Lovely dinner on the patio. Excellent service. We got the crab meat salad and the humus appetizer. An good choice for a warm evening. Another table ordered the artisan bread, which looked delicious, however, it was tough and difficult to chew even though we have no dental problems. It was the only disappointment. It was very quiet on the patio, but quite noisy inside.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved siting outside, lovely spot for re ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Loved siting outside, lovely spot for relaxing, eating and drinking. Our server was excellent ,attentive but not overly, very knowledgeable re the food and wine menu.. Relaxing, fun meal

with frinds,

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely loved the setting, especially ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Absolutely loved the setting, especially at night. Fantastic place. Had a group of 7 there on a business dinner. The drawback was the speed in service. Felt like a pace more suited to a casual afternoon wandering around vs. a business dinner where multiple courses would be more of the norm. Might go back on a Saturday afternoon; wouldn't return with a business group.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Wonderful dining experience. Our server ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. Our server was great and fun! The view and sunset was spectacular!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Blue Crab Salad

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

The Blue Crab Salad presentation was poorly designed as an entree. With no accompaniments, it was overpriced and left me eating off my friend's plate to feel as if I had complete a meal. Her entree was at least twice mine in size. Hers was well accompanied. After all, it was my birthday we were celebrating! My entree didn't do its job.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Service was very good but brunch food ju ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Service was very good but brunch food just ok. The French toast was excellent, light and fluffy however, the eggs benedict, a brunch favorite was very disappointing. Very little flavor, barely could find let alone taste the Canadian bacon, eggs a bit overcooked. Very disappointed!

Restaurant was not busy early Sunday morning but the patio looked inviting - just a little too hot to sit outside. Friendly staff and competent service person

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We have been to Gertrude's several times ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We have been to Gertrude's several times and every time the food, service, and ambience were wonderful! We enjoy walking through the DBG and then sitting down to a lovely meal. The patio dining is usually very comfortable, but inside is fine too. I have a gluten sensitivity and the server was very helpful and asked the chef about a dish he was not sure contained any gluten. We will return! Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit to Gertrudes, o ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This was my second visit to Gertrudes, once for lunch and this time for dinner. Their mixed drink list is interesting, I combined one of the seltzer drinks with alcohol and it was very good. The wine selection is good, but not great.

Although the food has good presentation qualities, I would rate their quality to be only medium. I ordered the quinoa salad with salmon. The salmon was a charge up of $5. and was

a minimal piece of smoke fish presented with four small spinach leaves on top of the quinoa

definitely a small salad portion that would not suffice for dinner. My friend ordered the swordfish and it too was a very small portion, and too overcooked.

Sorry but won't be trying Gertrudes again.

Tags: great for lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Good, but a rough start.

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

We were there for lunch. I had the BLT, one of my favorite sandwiches, because the server said their's was one of the best interpretations of a BLT he's ever had. It was good but where was the bacon? It was like so many other restaurants that serve this staple of all sandwiches and leave off the bacon. I think I had one slice! When our server checked on us and asked how things were I said my sandwich could use more bacon he said "kinda of skimpy on the bacon huh?" But didn't offer to get me more. If you're going to serve a BLT then serve it with bacon, otherwise sell it as a tomato and lettuce sandwich. As a DBG member I'll go back but the jury is still out on whether this is a good value or not.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Pros and Cons

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

This was our second visit to Gertrude's; the first visit was fantastic. This visit, the food was still good but the service was terrible. We waited 45 minutes to get an appetizer and the entire meal was an hour and a half. For the price, it was not worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Great service despite being super busy.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Great service despite being super busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Waitstaff and Hostess were awesome. We h ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Waitstaff and Hostess were awesome. We had a special request, that was served with a smile. Over all just an awesome place to relax and have a quiet dinner.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Spent Mother's Day for Brunch and we all enjoyed such a beautiful setting. Food and Service was great!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful ambiance, limited menu but the ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Beautiful ambiance, limited menu but the food we had was wonderful

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Music great

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

You need to clean the slab on the table. Crumbs get on the slab and just winping does not get rid of the crumbs in between slates, middle one.

Tags: scenic view
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.