About Gertrude's - Phoenix

1201 N. Galvin Parkway
# 1511
Phoenix, AZ 85008
View Larger Map

Gertrude’s Restaurant, nestled inside the Desert Botanical Garden, offers a fresh new food experience focusing on ingredients directly from the farm and pasture to the plate.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Desert Botanical Garden

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 719-8600

Website:
http://www.gertrudesrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Our guests may park anywhere in the Desert Botanical Garden public lot. We recommend you park near the entrance, the center parking lot sidewalk is a good landmark.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Taylor

Private Party Facilities:
Chef's Table is right next to the kitchen line and seats up to 12 People

Private Party Contact:
Michelle Jacob, GM: 4807198600x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Gertrude's - Phoenix
  • Gertrude's - Phoenix
  • Gertrude's - Phoenix
  • Gertrude's - Phoenix
  • Gertrude's - Phoenix
  • Gertrude's - Phoenix
  • Gertrude's - Phoenix
Gertrude's - Phoenix
Gertrude's - Phoenix
Gertrude's - Phoenix
Gertrude's - Phoenix
Gertrude's - Phoenix
Gertrude's - Phoenix
Gertrude's - Phoenix

Gertrude's - Phoenix Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Phoenix / Arizona
Great for Lunch
Phoenix
Outdoor Dining
Phoenix
Best Restaurants in Phoenix ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Great for Lunch (25)
Fit for Foodies (25)
See All
Scenic View (25)
Special Occasion (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Great for Brunch (15)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Healthy (6)
Romantic (6)
Authentic (5)
Casual (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Cozy (4)
Family Style (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1859 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Server was not attentive. Bread on BLT w ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

Server was not attentive. Bread on BLT was stale and hard. Beef on French dip was tough and fatty.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Second visit in one week. Fun place to ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Second visit in one week. Fun place to visit to see what creative cold soups the chef has created. Specialty teas and lemonades are always a treat.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and the food was delicious ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great service and the food was delicious! The patio was perfect

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the creative menu and each chos ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We loved the creative menu and each chose something different but equally tasty. The service was attentive! Great donuts with dipping sauces for dessert--YUM.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We met a friend from the university we t ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We met a friend from the university we taught at for 20 years. This is a perfect place for meeting friends or for a business meeting. We found the noise level very quiet and our waiter was excellent and attentive...but not too much so. The food is amongst the most creative in the city. I like the fact that the menu is varied enough for everyone, but not so extensive that the menu is confusing. Good ambiance...good and creative menu...ecellent service...and excellent food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Menu unique and creative. Love the onlin ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Menu unique and creative. Love the online reservation. Service outstanding.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Terrific staff.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Delicious food. Terrific staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had visitors with me from Providence, ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

I had visitors with me from Providence, Rhode Island and wanted to make a good

impression. I didn't have to worry, the waiter was wonderful, explaining the ingredients and

such. When my friend spoke of the old fashioned lemonade, he went in the kitchen and came

back with the lemonade from all fresh ingredients no sugar.

We had a great time!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great Sunday brunch at Gertrude ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had a great Sunday brunch at Gertrudes flowing our Botanical Gardens visit. Food was delicious as always.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gertrude's is our "go-to" spot for all f ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Gertrude's is our "go-to" spot for all family celebrations. Its location in the Botanical Gardens allows for a relaxing stroll before dinner. The food is always spectacular, and the wait staff may change through time, but always provides exceptional service. We enjoy sitting in the outdoor patio because the noise level rises substantially inside the building.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Great spot at the Desert Botanical Garde ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great spot at the Desert Botanical Garden. We go before taking a class or after spending time at the garden. Would be perfect if they would add Tanqueray Gin to their bar.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We met some friends at the DBG for a str ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We met some friends at the DBG for a stroll followed by dinner at Gertrude's. We must have been the last reservation of the night at 7:30.

Our server was very good and had several good recommendations. The food, as usual, was outstanding and the atmosphere was pleasant, although the staff began cleaning the facility as we were eating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious and creative flavorings. The ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Delicious and creative flavorings. The setting doesn't get mush prettier than the patio.

Tags: Scenic View, Healthy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

An excellent experience at Gertrude's. T ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

An excellent experience at Gertrude's. The brunch options were varied and interesting. The wine list is good with local and regional options. Our service was attentive without being overwhelming - just perfect for a lazy brunch. The outdoor patio area is a treat, and the food was just great. Thank you for another wonderful meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent fresh crafted food and unique ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent fresh crafted food and unique drinks..the Lavender Lemonade was especially delicious and their coffee was also excellent! Our server was wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dining when visiting the Desert Bo ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great dining when visiting the Desert Botanical Garden. Restaurant was unusually quiet on this visit -- it normally is quite busy. Very good food!

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was unique and delicious. I en ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was unique and delicious. I enjoyed the creativity in the appetizers and the flavor in my main course.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Paleo Friendly, Vegan, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We expected an atmosphere and menu more ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We expected an atmosphere and menu more in keeping with Gertrude's location at the Desert Botanical Gardens. We found it to be a bar that serves food and were disappointed, even though the offerings were adequate, service friendly and the location convenient. We will plan on eating elsewhere on our next trip to the Botanical Gardens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Our server was excellent!! He was the be ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our server was excellent!! He was the best part of the experience

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

old standby. a place that is quiet and ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

old standby. a place that is quiet and has good food and service. Quiet being very important.

Dependable menu that always pleases.

Tags: Scenic View, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful view. I will go back. The BLT ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Beautiful view. I will go back. The BLT was delicious.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Didn't have a very good selection. Order ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Didn't have a very good selection. Ordered the Swordfish and seasonal vegetables, fish was overcooked veggies were undercooked, I know they were going for fresh crisp, failed at that attempt, carrots were still crunchy hard as if raw.

Nice try but learned not to eat seafood in Arizona when on a trip from the northwest.

Would not go back unless the menu changed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Went to Desert Botanical Garden with fri ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Went to Desert Botanical Garden with friend on a Saturday and stopped in for brunch. Had their version of eggs Benedict, which chef was kind enough to split in kitchen. Was plenty for two along with shared bowl of fruit chef also split for us. (It wasn't busy, but I wouldn't expect this to be done if it were.)

Fruit was perfectly ripe - berries, honeydew, and pineapple. Eggs were poached exactly as ordered, and muffin base well toasted. Good dish all around.

Waiter excellent - kept glasses full and plates cleared at appropriate times and never felt rushed.

Great place to keep in mind for weekend brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Super dinner on a super-hot night....lit ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Super dinner on a super-hot night....literally. We had a lovely dinner with work partners - it was nice the restaurant was not all busy due to the heat. It was the first time I've been when it wasn't jamming. The change was nice; our server was attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love having a great restaurant to go to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Love having a great restaurant to go to within the Desert Botanical Garden!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Went for a Summer Sunday brunch before p ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Went for a Summer Sunday brunch before perusing the gardens. Perfect beginning to a perfect day. French toast is the best I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not enough food and way overpriced . Gui ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Not enough food and way overpriced . Guitar player not so good. Best to dine here outside in cool weather. Then you can enjoy the garden.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I have been to Gertrude's several times. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I have been to Gertrude's several times. I had a friend come from out of town and excited to take her there. It was horrible. The bread was burnt because the waiter forgot about it. I had to get my own knifes for the meal. Horrible service. Very sad because previous visits were wonderful. This ruined it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Since it was the hottest day of the year ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Since it was the hottest day of the year, we opted for salads with grilled salmon. We also tried the lavendar iced tea. Our food and drinks were very delicious and refreshing. Service was very good - everyone was in a cheery good mood. When I made reservations, I noted one person in our party was having a birthday. Our birthday girl was brought a birthday treat of cinnamon donut holes with 3 types of dip (carmel, prickly pear and chocolate). 'Happy Birthday' was spelled out on the dish in chocolate. It was a great treat and a nice surprise for our birthday girl. This was our first time at Gertrudes. We will definitely return and recommend it to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first visit and we really l ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our first visit and we really liked it all around. A little spendy for breakfast, but it was Father's Day. We will definitely go back, for dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Anytime you attend an event at the Deser ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Anytime you attend an event at the Desert Botanical Gardens, you should stop by Gertrude's to at least have a drink. It's a great place with great food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have dined at Gertrude's many times a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We have dined at Gertrude's many times and each time it is a great experience,. The food is always delicious and the menu items are interesting and when presented they are also appealing to look at. This has become a favorite for us when in Phoenix.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Flat-iron steak and scallops were amazing! Wait staff was knowledgeable and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delightful! Unique and satisfying blend ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Delightful! Unique and satisfying blends of new and interesting flavors

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My order was incorrect and my husband's burger was undercooked (again). Don't plan on returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Scallops were great, scoop chicken salad ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Scallops were great, scoop chicken salad also very good. Restaurant is SO loud it was hard to talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Food Not So Great

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Came to Gertrude's because we were taking the grandchildren on the flashlight tour and thought it would be special. Sadly, It was too warm to sit outside and their patio is very nice. The cocktails were a little too sweet. Great children's menu. My husband and I both ordered the crab salad but it was very bland and I didn't finish it. Very disappointing. I requested bread but it is not complimentary and the loaf size was too large to justify ordering.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

A great find in a beautiful setting

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We were first timers there, but it certainly will not be the last. Each dish was beautifuly presented and tasty beyond expectations. Wait staff was friendly and helpful. After our experience we do not think you could find anything on their great menu that was not as well made as possible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gertrude's a fine place to eat

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was excellent. If going to the botanical gardens you MUST STOP @ Gertrude's. Excellent wine list. The smoked salmon Tare Tare is somethin you must order.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Arizona Republic has it wrong!!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

In my humble opinion, I've read often how wonderful Gertrude's is in the Arizona Republic, but I went there Saturday night and I was not really that impressed. The host was in control but the maitre'd was not. He seemed to be wandering around with no idea what he was doing. Yet they were not that busy. Maybe that should have told me something and this was one of the nights that Ballet Arizona was performing. So you would have thought they'd be packed. but they weren't. Now don't get me wrong, the food wasn't bad, but it just wasn't as great as I'd been led to believe it was or at least should be. Give me Beckett's any day over Gertrude's!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.