About Gertrude's

1201 N. Galvin Parkway
# 1511
Phoenix, AZ 85008
View Larger Map

Gertrude’s, the much-anticipated restaurant nestled inside the Desert Botanical Garden, offers a fresh new food experience focusing on ingredients directly from the farm and pasture to the plate.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Desert Botanical Garden

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 719-8600

Website:
http://www.gertrudesrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Our guests may park anywhere in the Desert Botanical Garden public lot. We recommend you park near the entrance, the center parking lot sidewalk is a good landmark.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Taylor

Private Party Facilities:
Chef's Table is right next to the kitchen line and seats up to 12 People

Private Party Contact:
Michelle Jacob, GM: 4807198600x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Gertrude's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Phoenix / Arizona
Most Booked
Phoenix / Arizona
Outdoor Dining
Phoenix / Scottsdale
1 More
Most Booked
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Phoenix ›

great for outdoor dining (653)
scenic view (404)
fit for foodies (354)
See All
special occasion (328)
great for lunch (292)
great for brunch (154)
romantic (146)
good for groups (139)
neighborhood gem (88)
notable wine list (60)
kid-friendly (51)
late-night find (39)
hot spot (24)
vibrant bar scene (22)
 (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1812 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service3

Beautiful location. Service was good if ...

Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful location. Service was good if slow. Overall the food was good. Great presentation but some of the dishes leaned more to the side of bland, espy dessert. We would try it again, but maybe not until the next seasonal menu change.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food and the ambience.

Dined 3 days ago

The service is attentive without being overbearing... friendly, food-educated and professional wait staff. The view can't be beat. Super-relaxing place to be. Love the hummus appetizer... that and a cactus cosmopolitan and then a BLT and I could sit with a friend for 3 hours. And have done just that. More than once.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

12th visit to Gertrudes

Dined 6 days ago

Menu has changed...food and cocktails were well average, well below previous experiences.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great food and wine. Evening spoilt by v ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food and wine. Evening spoilt by very frosty hostess who made us sit at the bar for 15 mins been though out table was ready. But go for the food and wine and a great location.

Tags: fit for foodies, outdoor eating, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Your only choice ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Unfortunately this is the only choice if you want to eat at the botanical gardens. I was mainly there because i was watching a show and wanted to get a dinner. Few things. Most of there selections are ok. I bought the fish with "musy peas" ... i have to say there is no universe where those peas were "mushy" they were 1. cut in half not mushed, 2 very crunchy fish was ok, but too smothered in sauce We didnt have dessert because the dessert selection was poor Also i'd expect a place at the botanical gardens to actually have really good views, nope you get views of the entrance.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Add some buffer to the noise level inside.

Dined on May 21, 2016

Too noisy when full....you need to buffer the sound.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner at Gertrude's

Dined on May 21, 2016

Lovely dinner on the patio. Excellent service. We got the crab meat salad and the humus appetizer. An good choice for a warm evening. Another table ordered the artisan bread, which looked delicious, however, it was tough and difficult to chew even though we have no dental problems. It was the only disappointment. It was very quiet on the patio, but quite noisy inside.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved siting outside, lovely spot for re ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Loved siting outside, lovely spot for relaxing, eating and drinking. Our server was excellent ,attentive but not overly, very knowledgeable re the food and wine menu.. Relaxing, fun meal with frinds,

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Absolutely loved the setting, especially ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Absolutely loved the setting, especially at night. Fantastic place. Had a group of 7 there on a business dinner. The drawback was the speed in service. Felt like a pace more suited to a casual afternoon wandering around vs. a business dinner where multiple courses would be more of the norm. Might go back on a Saturday afternoon; wouldn't return with a business group.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience. Our server ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. Our server was great and fun! The view and sunset was spectacular!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Blue Crab Salad

Dined on May 17, 2016

The Blue Crab Salad presentation was poorly designed as an entree. With no accompaniments, it was overpriced and left me eating off my friend's plate to feel as if I had complete a meal. Her entree was at least twice mine in size. Hers was well accompanied. After all, it was my birthday we were celebrating! My entree didn't do its job.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Service was very good but brunch food ju ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Service was very good but brunch food just ok. The French toast was excellent, light and fluffy however, the eggs benedict, a brunch favorite was very disappointing. Very little flavor, barely could find let alone taste the Canadian bacon, eggs a bit overcooked. Very disappointed! Restaurant was not busy early Sunday morning but the patio looked inviting - just a little too hot to sit outside. Friendly staff and competent service person

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Gertrude's several times ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We have been to Gertrude's several times and every time the food, service, and ambience were wonderful! We enjoy walking through the DBG and then sitting down to a lovely meal. The patio dining is usually very comfortable, but inside is fine too. I have a gluten sensitivity and the server was very helpful and asked the chef about a dish he was not sure contained any gluten. We will return! Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

This was my second visit to Gertrudes, o ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This was my second visit to Gertrudes, once for lunch and this time for dinner. Their mixed drink list is interesting, I combined one of the seltzer drinks with alcohol and it was very good. The wine selection is good, but not great. Although the food has good presentation qualities, I would rate their quality to be only medium. I ordered the quinoa salad with salmon. The salmon was a charge up of $5. and was a minimal piece of smoke fish presented with four small spinach leaves on top of the quinoa definitely a small salad portion that would not suffice for dinner. My friend ordered the swordfish and it too was a very small portion, and too overcooked. Sorry but won't be trying Gertrudes again.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Good, but a rough start.

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

We were there for lunch. I had the BLT, one of my favorite sandwiches, because the server said their's was one of the best interpretations of a BLT he's ever had. It was good but where was the bacon? It was like so many other restaurants that serve this staple of all sandwiches and leave off the bacon. I think I had one slice! When our server checked on us and asked how things were I said my sandwich could use more bacon he said "kinda of skimpy on the bacon huh?" But didn't offer to get me more. If you're going to serve a BLT then serve it with bacon, otherwise sell it as a tomato and lettuce sandwich. As a DBG member I'll go back but the jury is still out on whether this is a good value or not.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Pros and Cons

Dined on May 10, 2016

This was our second visit to Gertrude's; the first visit was fantastic. This visit, the food was still good but the service was terrible. We waited 45 minutes to get an appetizer and the entire meal was an hour and a half. For the price, it was not worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service despite being super busy.

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great service despite being super busy.

food5
ambience5
service5

Waitstaff and Hostess were awesome. We h ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Waitstaff and Hostess were awesome. We had a special request, that was served with a smile. Over all just an awesome place to relax and have a quiet dinner.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Spent Mother's Day for Brunch and we all enjoyed such a beautiful setting. Food and Service was great!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3

Beautiful ambiance, limited menu but the ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Beautiful ambiance, limited menu but the food we had was wonderful

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Music great

Dined on May 7, 2016

You need to clean the slab on the table. Crumbs get on the slab and just winping does not get rid of the crumbs in between slates, middle one.

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Disappointed

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was not good, and waaaay overpriced for quality. Ordered eggs Benedict, and got a hard boiled egg. Waiter said that's what Benedict is. My mom's steak and eggs was waaaay overpriced for the overcooked quality. Was served by under aged staff. That was really weird being served by kids in that atmosphere. Took forever to get drinks. Wanted a special day and got underwhelmed for the venue. Would not recommend for food.

food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Disappointed

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our waitress, Kayla (ID: 1048), was slow and disinterested, while the overall ambiance was noisy and chaotic. They were overbooked. Of the meals we ordered: The swordfish was moist and good; the flat iron steak was too tough; the ham steak was good. Overall, this might be a good place for lunch but it was a real disappointment for dinner.

food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Service was slow. Server wasn't particu ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Service was slow. Server wasn't particularly friendly, kind of standoff-ish. Food was excellent. Place was very noisy in a brassy, clashy way.

Tags: late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

We ate outdoors where it was quiet, great view & easy to carry a conversation. Food was excellent & server very attentive & helpful. Great pre-concert venue.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Average at best

Dined on May 7, 2016

The patio has a nice atmosphere, yet the food is something to be desired. Our clams were overcooked and tough, my salad was soggy and drenched in dressing. My husbands scallops however were cooked perfectly. Mojito was tart. The desserts were disappointing and our experience was subpar.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Dinner before music

Dined on May 7, 2016

Loved the ability to have a light but delicious salad (we each had crab with roasted corn)and two sides (we each had smoked salmon and split roasted potatoes). With a nice drink, it made for the perfect amount of food! And a beautiful night under the sunset sky.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Overpriced food and noisy

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was overpriced and the atmosphere was chaotic and loud. Not the relaxing mood you want to leisurely walk through the gardens with.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

.Great location and wonderful unique foods

Dined on May 6, 2016

Our server was very good at describing the food and making great recommendations

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

Guest at Botanical Gardens

Dined on May 6, 2016

We were visiting the light show at the Botanical Garden and made evening reservation to eat. The menu is limited and very expensive for what you get. A glass of house white wine was $12 vs $6.50 on the grounds. The service was very good and the atmosphere more like a diner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved the ambiance and sitting outside.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was excellent. I always look for organic and farm to table dining. The quality of the food was perfect. We flew in for mothers day weekend. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was delicious. Three of us had dif ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was delicious. Three of us had different orders and all loved. Our server was excellent - very helpful in making suggestions. The host was a little confused - so our table reservation/seating started out a bit rocky. Once there, all forgotten because of great service and cuisine.

food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Disappointing

Dined on May 5, 2016

We came to Gertrude's for a change in pace prior to visiting the Garden and the Bruce Munro exhibit. The food selection was limited in my opinion, however we enjoyed what was ordered. The wait staff were very pleasant, however service was slow and disappointing.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Had a larger lunch sleection than dinner selection

Dined on May 5, 2016

This could really be a great restaurant but it seems to favor the quick meal rather than a dinning experience

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

The food at Gertrude's is some of the finest around. All well prepared and presented. Service was excellent as well. My only issue would be for the price the portions are a little small.

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

so so

Dined on May 4, 2016

The hostess was snotty... the desert was awful...some sort of toffee pudding that wasn't pudding at all.

food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Disappointing venue

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Overpriced with mediocre food snd hit and miss service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Dinner Waiter was Brad.

Dined on May 3, 2016

He was most congenial and helpful in suggesting special foods. We so enjoyed the quietness of the Gardens and the atmosphere. The food was excellent. Hope to be back again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Latinas enjoining AZ at botanical gardens 😊

Dined on May 3, 2016

Order appetizers and just enjoy all the dishes 😊 we love coming here and bringing friends

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice dsy/evening

Dined on May 3, 2016

Nice place to have a really good meal w/ good service, before or after visiting the Desert Botanical gardens

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.