About Gertrude's - Phoenix

1201 N. Galvin Parkway
# 1511
Phoenix, AZ 85008
View Larger Map

Gertrude’s Restaurant, nestled inside the Desert Botanical Garden, offers a fresh new food experience focusing on ingredients directly from the farm and pasture to the plate.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Desert Botanical Garden

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 719-8600

Website:
http://www.gertrudesrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Our guests may park anywhere in the Desert Botanical Garden public lot. We recommend you park near the entrance, the center parking lot sidewalk is a good landmark.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Taylor

Private Party Facilities:
Chef's Table is right next to the kitchen line and seats up to 12 People

Private Party Contact:
Michelle Jacob, GM: (480) 719-8600

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gertrude's - Phoenix Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (99)
Scenic View (68)
Creative Cuisine (61)
See All
Local Ingredients (57)
Good for a Date (56)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Casual (50)
Great for Lunch (48)
Worth the Drive (47)
Special Occasion (42)
Great for Brunch (33)
Healthy (30)
Seasonal (30)
Romantic (29)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Fun (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good Vegetarian Options (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Modern Decor (18)
Organic (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Authentic (16)
People Watching (16)
Cozy (15)
Afternoon Tea (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Afternoon Coffee (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Disabled Access (11)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Business Meals (8)
Live Music (8)
Historic (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Vegan (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Family Style (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Private Room (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tapas (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Waterfront (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2055 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

It was a rainy Sunday morning, and we weren't sure just what we would find. We were pleasantly surprised that our reservation was accurate, and we were seated right away. The service was excellent (we are always delighted when our server is a mature woman who is both knowledgeable and professional), and the food was very good.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Gertrude's dining experience was very pleasant food and service was good.

the only negatives, were the women's restroom is out of order and the music although very lovely, was a little loud for conversation.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

This was my first time dining at Gertrude's and I will definitely go again. My food was excellent and the service was the best. We sat outside and the view was breath taking!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Met Cousins there from four different states: AZ, MN, ND, and CA. We had a fantastic time!! Sat outside and the setting was wonderful. Our waiters were GREAT!! Time was unrushed and much enjoyed.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant was recommended by a friend. However, it did not live up to expectations. The venue is very noisy - not a place for conversation. There are no bathrooms in the building - how they get away with that is beyond me. The food sounded good, but did not live up to expectations. The small garden salad was the best part of the meal, but the agave vinegrette has a bitter flavor. The chicken salad is more like onion salad. It tasted nothing like chicken, just tasted heavily of chives and spices. The seasonings overpowered the chicken - it could have been any kind of meat....you cannot taste chicken. I asked for bread with my salad and they brought about 8 slices attractively served. However, it must have been sitting out, already sliced, because it was dried out on the ends. I wanted water with my meal, but I got a glass of ice with a splash of water. When the waiter came to fill my glass again he dumped in more ice cubes with what he added before I could ask him to just give me water. The menu items were overpriced. I'm not sure what they are aiming for, but they miss the mark. I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

This is our second visit to Gertrude's in the Botanical Gardens in Scottsdale, as we try to visit AZ once a year from NY . We love the farm fresh cousine and spectacular garden setting in the Scottsdale Botanical Garden. The astmosphere is zen-like as you feast in the cactii garden either for lunch or dinner. This visit we ordered the stuffed paccheri with porcinni mushroom stuffing, roasted corn covered a variety of smoked spices, dover sole and flatiron steak. We shared the panna cotta with fresh berries and roasted honey bits for dessert. Our waitress Kristen was patient with our many inquiries and most accomodating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

Andy, our waiter, was excellent. He was very personable and knowledgeable. The food was very good and the atmosphere perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The only great thing about it is that's inside the desert botanical gardens (beautiful place), other than that I don't see a reason to go. Food was not that great at that price range. The velvet cake was overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was generally delicious, especially the clam appetizer. However when the server spills your wine bottle on you, and all you get is a feeble 'sorry', the service has failed. Fortunately there are many good alternatives in the area that express care for customers. Won't be returning and urge others not to as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I both were extremely pleased at the outstanding quality of our meals, and exceptional service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Healthy, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 13, 2017

It was a beautiful day and a beautiful setting for an afternoon lunch. The food was good and the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have always had a good experience here. The staff is knowledgeable and accommodating. The food is always good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We always receive great service and excellent food at Gertrude's. Make reservations ahead of time, usually busy. Dine outside and enjoy the gardens.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Happens to be inside the gates of the Desert Botanical Garden, which is quite spectacular in its own right.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was our first visit to Gertude's and we will go back. The Sunday lunch offerings were varied and delicious. Two of us had the frittata, our third person at the Eggs Benedict. We also had Mimosas and the Donut Hole dessert. Service was quick and attentive. The server was very knowledgeable about the menu and was able to answer any questions we had.

Tags: Healthy, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

For. That. Location food. Need to. Be out. Of. The. Normal .

Need. A. New chef or. New management!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Eggs Benedict was cold, english muffin burnt. In lieu of potatoes, ordered side salad with dressing on the side; the salad came dressed. Friend ordered full arugula salad but the size served was definitely not a full order. This visit was very disappointing.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great location with a nice outdoor eating area, adjacent to Botanical Garden. Combine the two for a great evening outing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Seating ambiance on the outdoor patio is truly outstanding. We were there on a perfect Phoenix day, sunny and about 70 degrees. Gorgeous vegetation surrounded us as we watched quail walking through the flowerbeds just inches from our feet. Our server was extraordinarily pleasant, attentive but not overbearing, knowledgeable about the menu, and willingly accommodated special dietary requests. Manager went out of his way to thank us for coming as we were leaving. Food was extra fresh, focus on local ingredients (though a somewhat expensive) so I would call this more of a special occasion spot rather than a regular rotation.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Seasonal, People Watching, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Steak was amazing! Ambiance was romantic and serene.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Convenient after a day walking in Desert Botanical Garden . Nice place cor a cocktail but very overpriced for average food. All 3 hamburgers were overcooked.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our server Mary was excellent. She described the dishes ingredients and prep with great flair. She was very knowledgeable of the ingredients as well as the surrounding gardens. She was very attentive and appreciative and makes you want to plan your next visit.

Sunday 1/29/31 1:30 rez

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I always enjoy Gertrudes. We sat outside for a beautiful sunny day which we were in dire need of. Love the food. Fantastic non-alcoholic beverages.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Live Music, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Mary, our server, was engaging without being intrusive. She readily offered us ideas without "steering" us towards any "house favorites". My wife and I ended up having a fabulous breakfast brunch including 2 cocktails (specials), eggs Benedict on Ahi, a wonderful frittata, a shared half order of French toast with raspberry sauce (amazing!!!) followed off with ricotta donuts with caramel, raspberry and chocolate sauces, and coffee (hey we had just finished climbing Camelback) nearby. Great morning!!!!!

Tags: Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Another fantastic meal at Gertrude's! The new spring brunch menu just came out and the selections were a mix of old favorites and some exciting new dishes. Tried the big eye tuna tartare, hummus and split the new breakfast burrito. Great service, great venue and a beautiful setting. we will definitely be back in a few weeks when the spring dinner menu comes out.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Waiter was outstanding with very good food and beverage recommendations.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Excellent food. Great wait staff. Comfortable and beautiful outdoor seating. This restaurant came recommended and I would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great outside seat. Beautiful garden setting. Excellent service. We've eaten here many times and the food is always great. Full bar, nice big cocktails, local beer and wine. A must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great atmosphere in the Desert Botanical Garden! Cool vibe with a guitarist playing. Food was interesting, fresh and very tasty. The service was exceptional as they tried to meet my specific requests. Waitress was nice and personable. A little pricey but so worth it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Pamela was great! Highly recommend the ricotta donut holes! The music man was the perfect accompaniment!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 22, 2017

A great place located within the Desert Botanical Garden. The food and service are very good. There's always live music for weekend brunch. The outside patio is a real treat during good weather.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The setting within the Botanical Gardens is spectacular. It is near the entrance so easy to start with a meal or end with a meal. We both had the daily special--chicken salad fried wrap--slightly spicy and very tasty. We shared the apple quince cobbler with vanilla black pepper ice cream which was very, very good. The wait staff is very friendly, attentive and helpful. The indoor restaurant is somewhat noisy, but no more so than most restaurants. The outdoor patio area is lovely, very romantic and would be perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I can't really give a review since they closed the garden with no notice. The park ranger wouldn't even let anyone across the bridge. The only notice they put up was a sandwich board at the entrance to the drive - I drove 45 minutes to meet up with friends from out of state and we ended up going to Old Town Scottsdale instead. Barrio Queen was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 18, 2017

While the outdoor setting was amazing the meal was not pleasing due to our over-zealous waiter. We ordered appetizers and he continued to push us to order our entre. We finally ordered. We ordered soup and an entre. Unfortunately within minutes our order came out. Including the soup AND the entre when in fact we hadn't even finished our appetizers. Certainly soup and entre should never come out together. Finally while we were still finishing our meal he came out with the desert menu and held it in his hand while asking us if we were interested in desert. We felt what could have been a wonderful meal was less than wonderful due to the unprofessional service. Seems that additional training is in order.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 17, 2017

I had requested outside dining but because the weather was very cool we opted to dine inside. Outside heaters were not yet in place.

Our luncheon choices were very good.

Inside noise level was most uncomfortable. We didn't linger over coffee and dessert because of the noise level.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Truly the most beautiful patio in Phoenix! And the food is great, too! Scrumptious fried curried tofu appetizer and delicious black bean soup. Seared scallops were amazing.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This is a small indoor & large outdoor seating venue. It is inside the Desert Botanical Gardens in Phoenix. It was my 1st time there & my wife has been here 3x's now. All of the guests that visit us love touring the gardens & then going over to Gertrudes for some good eats & drinks. A good venue, with the cactus gardens to view surrounding the venue. You can relax, recharge & enjoy a great ending to your day.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

A special setting and inspired menu. Even with a limited diet we had choices and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent lunch. The food was delicious, perfectly prepared. The service was fair at best.. The waitress was pleasant but not friendly or solicitous of our meal or needs. Perhaps indifferent is the best description.

And yes we would return; the food was that good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Fun, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Paleo Friendly, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Organic, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Gertrude's never disappoints. We have eaten there several times and always find it to be delicious and adventurous with great servers. We love the inventive use of local ingredients like cactus fruit for sweetening and in jams. The food is excellent and the servers are knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 6, 2017

So we're out-of-towners visiting the Phoenix botanical gardens, it's starting to get dark we're and running out of time to find a nice restaurant for dinner. Quickly snagged a table at Gertrudes without really checking it out. What a treat we were in for. The smoked (flavor) and fried (texture) tofu was very tasty, helped greatly by the EPIC tomato kasaundi sauce - flavor and richness for days. Hummus was a big hit for the whole table, with the cucumber making a convert out of one of us. The Sea Island red beans and quinoa was really filling: crunchy chickpea tempura (sprinkled on as little pieces) was the PERFECT texture to this delicious salad.

The gertie burger: originally ordered 1 to split (given our raid on appetizers), however, within 2 bites it was clear another would have to be ordered. Served with fingerling potatoes (which are so good and generous in portion size, we took the leftovers "home" to our hotel suite and enjoyed them cold). Our sassy and awesome server who didn't mind that we minnesotans wanted to sit outside,(whilst everyone else was indoors) helped make it the absolute perfect experience, and we can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Gertrude's was a pleasant experience. The waitress was very knowledge about the menu and explained things very well. The food was very good, but on the spendy side. It was our anniversary so it was well worth it. The staff in the restaurant proper were very kind and had smiles on their faces.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

surprisingly remote for the middle of the city, great surroundings and the food well prepared and service truly outstanding.

Tags: Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food and service was excellent! Indulging in Baked Alaska was on my "Bucket List"! What a pleasant surprise to see it on the special New Years Eve dinner menu. I was able to check one more off, making it a special evening with my family! My g grandson said the P& J. Sandwich was the best he ever ate!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went there for Las Noches, it started pouring, so we ate early at Gertrude's (our reservation was for 7:30, they took us at 7:00). The blackened scallops were surprisingly good. It's small, I wouldn't make a special trip to eat there, it's convenient if you're visiting the Desert Botanical Garden.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was amazing! They were very accommodating with our request not to be seated outside since it was raining. We sat at the Chefs Table and got to see the inner workings of their kitchen. Very memorable night!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Beautiful night, fabulous setting, wonderful food. Gertrude's is a favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Wonderful celebration with family before the Los Noches de Luminaries. Everything was perfect! This is our holiday tradition! Thank you for the memories!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Pre-Lumi dinner.

Our party of 6 was seated on the patio. It was a chilly night and the staff quickly distributed heaters to our table. We ordered the Brussel Sprouts for appetizers and fingerling potatoes for appetizers. The potatoes were as expected, but the Brussel Sprouts were a disappointment. They were mostly raw and did not have much flavor. For entree's we all ordered the signature burger. The arrived cooked to order and were very tasty. While we were waiting for dessert, it started to rain. The staff seem well prepared and quickly distributed umbrellas over the table were diners we still eating. We have eaten here several time and the food is nothing special. Overall the restaurant is convenient if one is planning on meeting at the botanical garden. Otherwise I would not make the trip. There are many other restaurants in the valley with better food and prices.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Amazing food start to finish!! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.