Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About Gertrude's - Phoenix

Gertrude’s Restaurant, nestled inside the Desert Botanical Garden, offers a fresh new food experience focusing on ingredients directly from growers in Arizona and the surrounding region.

1201 N. Galvin Parkway
# 1511
Phoenix, AZ 85008
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Desert Botanical Garden

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 719-8600

Website:
http://www.gertrudesrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Our guests may park anywhere in the Desert Botanical Garden public lot. We recommend you park near the entrance, the center parking lot sidewalk is a good landmark.

Private Party Facilities:
Chef's Table is right next to the kitchen line and seats up to 12 People

Private Party Contact:
Michelle Jacob, GM: (480) 719-8600

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gertrude's - Phoenix Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

Noise

Quiet

88% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (76)
Scenic View (56)
Creative Cuisine (49)
See All
Casual (44)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Good for a Date (41)
Local Ingredients (41)
Great for Lunch (38)
Special Occasion (35)
Worth the Drive (34)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Healthy (30)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Romantic (26)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Great for Brunch (26)
Seasonal (24)
Cozy (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Fun (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Authentic (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Organic (12)
Disabled Access (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Great Beer (9)
Live Music (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
People Watching (7)
Vegan (7)
Business Meals (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
2324 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined a day ago

Gourmet food and exceptional service. Perfect before or after a visit to the Botanical Gardens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

I love this spot!! It scores high for ambiance, beauty, excellent service and really creative, savory delicious food. I can’t recommend it highly enough - for ANY occasion!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Spicy, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Lovely evening-diverse menu but lacking some flavor. We enjoyed the Korean chicken thighs however!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We loved everything at Gertrude’s except the size of the dish for the money. I am sure the price is fine for many but we were in a bit of shock. The scallops were great but for $35 we expected a little more on the plate. Picture attached. The service was top notch and the patio was beautiful.

Tags: Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

I always enjoy taking friends here. I count on it being top notch and a fun atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious. Unique. Special. The heaters helped to make it cozy. However, the inside area lighting should be dimmed during evening hours. A permanent restroom should be provided for the restaurant only. The separate entrance should remain open to filter the diners from other guess. Candles on the patio tables would be a excellent addition.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Live Music, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Luminaire Festival event

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a disappointing dinner Sunday evening. Our waiter did not relay changes to the menu.
My husband's beet salad had yummy greens , but the beets were tasteless. His flatiron steak was tasteless. My salmon salad had a generous portion of salmon, but the amaranth grains sprinkled on top were gritty and off-putting. The salad greens were delicious, but were piled on top of chicharrons - can't imagine why.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Too high priced , food was cold, and waiter was not very attentive

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

Always an A+ Experience. Food is outstanding, service is excellent and outdoor dining is superb!
I had a meat ball dish with rice and an awesome tomato based sauce and my wife had the BLT with home made chips! YUM. I highly recommend Gertrude's.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quick Bite, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Wonderful! Such a romantic place. So much so we got engaged!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 10, 2017

We were seated 10 late and we were overcharged at the bar. Sneaky trying to charge extra for a neet drink. Not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

It was excellent! Food and service above expectations. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Gertrude’s.

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 9, 2017

I arrived at 4:30 p.m. for a fabulous scallop dinner at Gertrude's. Afterwards I walked all of the paths enjoying all of the sculptures, gardens and luminarias. It was a very special evening. It was great being able to enjoy the evening prior to the heavy crowds. As I was leaving, people were streaming in so I wouldn't have been able to take such wonderful photos with no one in them.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Healthy, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 9, 2017

An oasis of green tranquility in the middle of the city. Gertrudes never fails to please with delectably delicious and artistically arranged locally sourced cuisine, excellent service and gem like surroundings.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Healthy, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Romantic, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

Excellent food ! We had Frittatas, the American Breakfast, French Toast, Ricotta Donut Holes, the bacon was incredible, and the Garden 'Rita with hot sauce added was super good. Had been here once before and had the burgers. Wow ! Both times, so stuffed when done, but sad it was over, the whole meal and setting were so wonderful. Service was excellent. We sat outside where we could see some of the Botanical Garden and enjoyed the gorgeous weather. They turn the heaters on once the sun drops and the chill hits. Perfect !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Always enjoy our meal here. Great place to entertain out of town friends

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Outdoor seating needed more heaters.....................it was too cold.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Delightful lunch spot! Took a friend who was visiting to Gertrude's for lunch . Delicious food, wonderful ambiance in the Garden, and impeccable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 8, 2017

We were greeted warmly, and asked that our request for an outdoor table be changed to indoors. The hostess was gracious and accommodating. Gertrude's makes excellent use of local ingredients, and the menu offers numerous choices for gluten-free, vegetarian, and vegan patrons. Service was excellent - attentive, but not hovering!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 8, 2017

Did not enjoy the food at this place. Overly priced for the lack of quality it offers. We ordered
The duck enchiladas which were questionable in quality and a reuben which was not up to par. The only good thing we had was coffee and desert but who doesnt like desert. Would not recommend this place.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on December 5, 2017

Wonderful evening dining outside at Gertrude’s! Great ambiance, great farm to table food, great service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Comfort Food, Fun, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 4, 2017

Food was well done. Good wine selection. Servers were attentive

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2017

Really enjoyed it. Beautiful setting. Our server was Lisa and she was great. Looking forward to coming again the next time we are at the Botanical Garden.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 4, 2017

We dined at Gertrude's during the Desert Botanical Gardens Luminarias event and had a lovely experience. We sat outside, which I highly recommend, because the inside of the restaurant is so noisy it makes conversation a challenge. The menu has changed since last I was there, and everything was delicious, but the lollipop kale appetizer we ordered was extraordinary.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 4, 2017

The restaurant was very loud. We had a party of six and could not carry on a conversation without yelling to each other. Menu is different. Food was good but took a long time for it to appear at the table. If I go back, I will sit outside to enable conversation with my dining companions.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

Booking was easy through Open Table, the food was very good. I would definitely recommend to friends and will attend again.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Great place eat after a matinee. The food was delicious and unique. The atmosphere being surrounded by the Botanical Gardens is second to none. The service was impeccable. Try it you'll like it.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

Food was unevent. Soup was great. Fish was not, one dish was unetible and the other was bland to the point of boring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 2, 2017

It began with waiting to be seated, the hosteses appeared to be struggling with getting parties seated (?). The menu was not up to the usual delectable options. The beef was not up to your normal standards—not cooked properly, no flavor. We have dined with you many times for many special occasions, hence very disappointed. Should have done the Luminaria buffet.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Incredible food. Cocktails unbelievable. Try the Mushroom Manhattan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2017

The food, service and ambience were superb. We had the bison filets, marlin and Korean chicken. They were all great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Went on opening night of luminaria.
We all had their Gertieburger--was cold and bun was a bit stale.
Martini was weak
Have been here a few times before and was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 2, 2017

We've been before. Food is very good- portions too large for old folks. Noise not too bad. Service, both table and kitchen was pretty slow.
Tom McLaughlin

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

our meal complemented nicely our visit to Las Luminarias at the Phoenix Desert Botanical Garden.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2017

We had great food and service. Delicious pork and Corn
Finally..such a great menu and food. But why was peach cobbler presented in aluminum foil? What?
Can hardly wait to go back for afternoon cheesecake and coffee before a members stroll of garden. Keep that menu coming! Yummy pork cheeks! The BEST corn poblano Ga ivsa

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Next to the Desert Botanical Gardens it is a natural selection before touring the gardens at one of its many evants. However, the quality of the menu items has decreased over the last several years. They are trying to be trendy and unique in the selections but they are not quite pulling it off. Maybe are new chef would help. Until then stick with a burger or steak.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 30, 2017

My friend and I had dinner at Gertrude’s when we visited for the Luminarias. We had a table outside which was perfect as inside seemed a little noisy but it was very busy. The food was amazing. Perfect portion sizes of tasty innovative dishes, perfectly cooked and presented. We never knew Kale could taste so delicious. We also had the pork cheek and duck enchiladas, also tasty and beautifully presented. The donuts were the most delicious we have aver tasted and the chocolate and coffee sorbet divine. The service was attentive but not rushed and the outdoor garden with the cacti was fountain made for a lovely ambient setting for dining. We cannot recommend Gertrude’s highly enough. Not cheap but certainly not overpriced and well worth the cost for a superb meal with some nice twists made with locally sourced produce. 5 Stars all the way.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Organic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 29, 2017

Had lunch for a business meeting and everyone had a good time and loved the food. The portions were a little large but you get your moneys worth and have leftovers!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 27, 2017

I was very impressed with the number of vegan/vegetarian options that you guys offer now! Thank you!!! Will recommend to everyone!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Healthy, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.