Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About Gertrude's - Phoenix

Gertrude’s Restaurant, nestled inside the Desert Botanical Garden, offers a fresh new food experience focusing on ingredients directly from the farm and pasture to the plate.

1201 N. Galvin Parkway
# 1511
Phoenix, AZ 85008
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Desert Botanical Garden

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 719-8600

Website:
http://www.gertrudesrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Our guests may park anywhere in the Desert Botanical Garden public lot. We recommend you park near the entrance, the center parking lot sidewalk is a good landmark.

Private Party Facilities:
Chef's Table is right next to the kitchen line and seats up to 12 People

Private Party Contact:
Michelle Jacob, GM: (480) 719-8600

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gertrude's - Phoenix Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (99)
Scenic View (70)
Great for Lunch (60)
See All
Creative Cuisine (50)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Local Ingredients (47)
Great for Brunch (47)
Worth the Drive (43)
Casual (42)
Special Occasion (37)
Healthy (37)
Sunday Lunch (37)
Good for a Date (36)
Seasonal (29)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Good Vegetarian Options (23)
Romantic (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Fun (19)
Authentic (17)
Organic (17)
Afternoon Coffee (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Cozy (14)
People Watching (13)
Afternoon Tea (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Live Music (8)
Business Meals (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Historic (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Spicy (3)
Vegan (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Fireplace (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great Beer (1)
Private Room (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
2142 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

This is a very special place. The food is always fantastic. The staff is very helpful and accommodating. Highly recommended.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Tapas, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

Unsurpassed day at the Garden. Highly recommend Arugula salad!!! Eat outside if weather permits. Knowledgeable, helpful waitstaff. Gorgeous setting.

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

After walking the Garden, had lunch at Gertrude's. As usual delicious food and excellent service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Organic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

We had the gazpacho which was terrific. The patio seating is wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

We were going to tour the garden so we met friends for an early lunch. We sat outside and it was lovely. There are many umbrellas so the sun is not a problem. Our server was John (I think his last name is Butler - his last name started with a B) and he was superb. His recommendations for wine were right on point. He is gracious and experienced. The chicken salad wrap was delicious. The corn was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Great Birthday lunch! Food was delicious and the ambiance was perfect. We sat outside surround by the beautiful plants, cactus and trees.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Do you need SOOOO many pickled things? Salt is NOT the only viable seasoning on the rack. We asked what our server's fav dessert was - he admitted it wasn't on the regular menu - it was only offered on special events or something like that ...then Don't use that one as an example. The tomato-onion jam on the burger, made the whole thing taste like a sloppy joe - no thanks. None of the dishes we had demonstrated anything like balance or cohesion. Everything was too much AND not enough, at the same time. Trying too hard, and not enough.
Also, the guy who was restocking the unwrapped straws, for the bar, bare-handed touched EVERY straw - that's gross. Gloves?
Your menu has several fancy sounding ingredients, that might not be so fancy. Your menu read like a pretentious and possibly uppity snooty person came up with it. I don't want to have to ask the server what everything is, because of the way you chose to word your menu. Lame!
Also - because your menu does NOT say, we had to ask three(3) different people what the ** items were. Gluten-free it turns out - WRITE THAT ON YOUR MENU.
This restaurant has done a great job of executing such a poorly planned concept. Good work. We won't be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The Desert Botanical Garden closed early for a special event so our reservation got moved to lunch instead. We had an excellent meal and the musician played nice music. We always enjoy Gertrude's!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We were there for brunch. Overall the meal was underwhelming. French toast was dry and not terribly tasty. The prickly pear sauce for the toast was good, but couldn't save the dish. The breakfast burrito was also dry, and though the ingredients were of a good quality, it couldn't make up for the lack of a light sauce to make it more "moist" . I thought the Quinoa salad was quite good and was the best dish served.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Music could have been softer. Food and service were GREAT.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 18, 2017

I was disappointed in the quantity of food for the money. Also, flavor was lacking. Sitting outdoors was very pleasant but good service lacking.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The service was excellent, the weather cooperated for outdoor dining, the food and drink was well prepared and plentiful, and our out of town guest, who was impressed, paid the bill. We couldn't ask for more.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Excellent evening, the manager and the entire staff were gracious, attentive, and very warm. This was an incredible evening and we cannot wait to return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The garden setting is beautiful. Eat outside if you can.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great food and beautiful setting, but they have to do something about the flies on the patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

6 of us went to Gertrude's for Easter Brunch. Food was great. Wonderful setting. Staff(Joshua) was excellent. All very good.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great restaurant, just wish they had more vegan options for breakfast. Thankful that you can order lunch items to make up for this though!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our party of four had a lovely evening, and delicious meal. It was a perfect evening to dine al fresco, and our server was friendly, knowledgeable, prompt, and professional. The food was great, and the setting really beautiful, surrounded by the gorgeous botanical gardens. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had a wonderful lunch after spending the morning at the Botanical Garden. There were 8 of us, including our 2 grandchildren (11 & 8). The menu had some classic but also interesting choices and a kids menu as well. The food was great and artfully prepared. We were seated quickly and the service was excellent. A great way to cool off and enjoy a lovely meal!

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I always enjoy eating at Gertrude's and especially like sitting on the patio. The menu has lots of great meal selections. This trip I had the French toast and one of the pieces was almost runny inside - the other was very good, though. The waitress was very kind and offered to order another piece I could take home with me assuring me that undercooked French toast rarely happens. Well, the piece I took home was also undercooked! The order is huge so I didn't leave hungry but I was disappointed.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Lovely venue and tasty, interesting dishes. Our family of 6 lunched on the patio; everyone thoroughly enjoyed the place, the meal, the service. The focus on local sourcing is a real plus for those of us who care about such things (wish we all did...), and the cuisine is sufficiently imaginative for the foodies among us. Expect a leisurely pace, make reservations, and all will be good. A definite for out-of-town guests, but really excellent for locals too. Looking forward to trying a dinner there in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The food at Gertrude's is always wonderful- very creative. We have eaten here a number of times and have always enjoyed it. Unfortunately, this time the service was horrible. Our waiter was extremely inattentive. A drink I ordered never arrived at the table. One of our guests requested sweetener for his coffee and it didn't come until his coffee was completely cold. Our waiter passed the table numerous times without even bothering to check on us. We will try again because of our past experiences but I will make sure that John is not our server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We love the DBG. Usually if we visit in the AM we eat at Gertrudes. The burger was very good.......service could have been a bit quicker. However we were in and out in under an hour.

Tags: Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We always enjoy the delicious food, the gorgeous natural surroundings, the service - everything! This time we tried the gazpacho soup - excellent!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Excellent for a Sunday brunch and a stroll!! Great outdoor seating on a beautiful day!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I have dined at Gertrude's quite a few times. It has always been an exceptional experience. This is the first time I have dined on a weekend for brunch. The food and service was not up to par. The eggs Benedict were not very hot and overcooked. We were halfway through the meal before we got the pepper we requested and had to ask for water and coffee refills. All in all not the best experience but I am hoping this is just a one-time thing. The setting could not be more beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We really enjoyed ourselves. Our server was outstanding! The French toast was off the hook delicious. I thought the steak and eggs would be a bit larger. We were surprised pancakes are not on the menu. Overall it was a great experience. Thank you! We will be back .

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Desert Botanical Garden was very busy, so having reservations for our brunch eliminated a long wait. The soup of the day was a watermelon gazpacho- excellent. Others enjoyed the tuna Benedict, the Gertrude's salad, burgers, and frittata. The amplified singer-guitar player was a bit too loud to enjoy catching up with friends. With doors open, it was inevitable to have some flies share our table, but aggravating. Still, the garden and Gertrude's are an experience not to be missed.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Spectacular location set among beautiful Sonoran Desert plants. The menu is imaganitive, but many offerings are too heavy and expensive for lunch. There was however a short lunch menu and the waiter also announced two specials. In the end everyone was able to order something to their taste. The food came fairly quickly and tasted good. Note do not come here if you expect to pop on and out rapidly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The menu seemed a little limited this time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Our daughter and her partner were here from Australia...and we wanted them to visit the Desert Botanical Gardens...We had been several times...had joined last year...and brought a friend from VA earlier this year. We ate outside on that occasion and decided that it was a perfectly lovely day on the patio...good food...with a visit from the roadrunner. We wanted that same experience again and were not disappointed. Matthew waited on us...and what a delight! We sat next to the wall.. able to see the crystal decor just outside....Matthew answered all our questions...and from his explanations...we all tried a new drink and were happy with our choices. it is a perfect way to top off the garden tour with a memorable experience at Gertrude's on the patio!

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Of course connected to Botanical Gardens and what a great combination. Tour the gardens and finish with quality meal. Must have are the doughnuts for dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Food was excellent. Matt was enthusiastic and wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Very creative menu a little overpriced but then they have a captive audience because of their location at the Desert Botanical Garden. Nice place to include in a visit to the garden.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The patio is beautiful, breakfast was delicious and our server was fantastic. I think his name was Matt.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Good food and great service. Wish they had had heaters on the patio, it was a little cool. Recommend you go after sunset as the ambience is better after dark.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food and ambiance is great! Don't count on them to read / follow through with your special requests that you've noted when making the reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Great ambience. Food reasonably price and good.
Next to a great tourist and local interest...the cactus gardens.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Beautiful setting. Limited, but creative menu. Well prepared food. Exceptional service. A special place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We met friends from out of town at the Botanical Gardens and chose to finish the afternoon with dinner at Gertrude's. We were seated on the patio which was comfortable and lovely. Our server was attentive and enthusiastic. We had the Pork Porterhouse Steak (good but very under cooked near the bone so we sent it back for a bit more fire), the Korean Chicken Thighs (excellent), the Flat Iron Steak (the meat was on the bland side but the vegetables beneath it were better) and the Gertie Burger (which was very good). We split the donuts with three sauces (tasty). The bill was reasonable, particularly when compared to the price of food at other attractions. The next time I would stick to the Korean Chicken Thighs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.