Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 5/24
Time
8:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 24 times today

Gertrude's - Phoenix

4.5
2553 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Scenic View
  • Great for Lunch
Gertrude’s Restaurant, nestled inside the Desert Botanical Garden, offers a fresh new food experience focusing on ingredients directly from growers in Arizona and the surrounding region.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, American, Vegetarian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Saturday and Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(480) 719-8600
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Chef's Table is right next to the kitchen line and seats up to 12 People
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Michelle Jacob, GM: (480) 719-8600
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Desert Botanical Garden
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Our guests may park anywhere in the Desert Botanical Garden public lot. We recommend you park near the entrance, the center parking lot sidewalk is a good landmark.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 2553 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.5
service
4.7
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Gertrude's is one of the best restaurants in the Valley. Love the food and patio.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Wow! Our first time at this gem of a restaurant and we will be back. We were celebrating a dear friend's 60th birthday and then attending the Ballet Arizona performance and it was a magical night. OUr server was exeptional and the food fantastic. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Great experience from the food to service to ambience equals great value.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Overall, great dining experience. The only snag was that we had made a reservation early enough in time to make it to the ballet that was being performed at the Desert Botanical Garden that evening. However, they kept telling us our table was not yet free. When it was 20 or so minutes after our reservation time. I had to get into a discussion with the hostess about the fact that they had empty tables outside and we need to get seated to make it to the show. She kept telling me that those tables were reserved but the issue was we also had a reservation and they did not have a table available for us. We finally were seated at one of the empty outdoor tables and the waiter did his best to get us our meals quickly but it put us in a rush and we were late getting to the show.

I would not recommend inside seating as it was very loud inside but the patio was lovely.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Another great meal at Gertrudes. We eat here periodically, and have never been disappointed. The menu changes frequently enough to always be interesting. The chef is very creative, with several unique and interesting choices. Perfect for before garden events, or just a night out. This is one of the best patio dining spots in the valley. The wine list is short but interesting with many Arizona wines.I enjoyed the wild boar this time, and my wife enjoyed her meal also.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Perfect spot for a beautiful night. We were going to the ballet performance at 8, so got a reservation at 5:45. We got a nice table outside and enjoyed a glass of wine. Out waiter started out strong...very knowledgeable about wine, but quickly became visibly frustrated when we decided not to get appetizers before our meal. It was bizarre. I was happy to forgive him for forgetting to put in half my order (they took car of it quickly), but his frustration with us was so obvious and unwarranted. Other customers were complaining about the sun’s glare and and he angrily adjusted the umbrella, making everyone uncomfortable. Food was good enough considering the beautiful setting. I’ll go back but hopefully get a nicer server.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 5 days ago

Food was very disappointing and priced MUCH too high considering the lack of quality! My girlfriends and I attend Ballet Under the Stars every year and have made reservations @ Gertrude's every year as well. Because of our last experience, we decided to dine elsewhere before the performances going forward.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

We had a reservation but still had to wait about 15 minutes. The menu was different then what was online. The waiter seemed rushed and had an attitude. All the food we got was good.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Our party of 7 each ordered a different dish. All but 1 was disappointed in the food. Our server was very nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

The most beautiful and peaceful setting for a meal. The food is always superb.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Lovely Mother’s Day brunch on patio! Wonderful service, Gertrude’s has become our family’s special occasion restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Our family loves to go to Gertrudes for special times together then on to explore the garden.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Had a Mother’s Day brunch with the family. Service was excellent, atmosphere was relaxing, food was very good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Love this place. We were visiting the area and loved it so much we went back twice. I had a mixed green salad with a side of roasted shrimp and roasted veggies. My husband had a salad with dates and also added shrimp. Perfect for lunch or dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Visiting the Desert Botanical Garden, stopped for lunch after
Wards. Food was excellent, great spot to cool down and relax.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

We had a party of 8 on a Sunday evening and service could not have been better. Thoughtfully the restaurant called twice to make sure I knew that the gardens would be closing at 3 p.m. and asked if I wanted to re-book for an evening when they were open. A family event so we stayed with the booking with no regrets. Attentive service and great food. Very relaxing atmosphere. Highly recommend it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Absolutely fantastic dining under the stars with a slight desert breeze and truly farm to table selections. The Korean Chicken Thighs are a must try and the Goat Cheese Cheese Cake is something special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

As always a great experience.Amazing creative food love the atmosphere.We sat outside and had a. Awesome host Bethany delightful.What a great addition to the garden.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Great service and good food in a wonderful location.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

We had an incredible time from service to food. The chef is very creative and everything had exquisite flavor. Kristin took care of us and following her recommendations proved to be right on point. Beautiful and peaceful setting as well. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 25, 2018

A little disappointed. We went because we thought it would be a perfect place to have lunch following our outing at the Desert Botanical Garden.
Too many flies, too noisy, pricey, food fair.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 24, 2018

The menu had very little that was appealing to me or my guest. Gertrude’s has been my go-to place for our many out of state visitors, but this menu has left most of them having trouble finding anything that sounds like a good idea.
This makes me very sad. I hope changes will be made soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Excellent local ingredients. Healthy foodies nice portion sizes and the presentation WOW. Shrimp and grits were DELISH. Steak and asparagus was DIVINE. Do not pass up the bread service or u will regret it. $$ but it is worth every penny for dining

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

The setting was beautiful but the food was rather bland.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

wonderful place! great views, food and service! would recommend for a nice lunch or brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Gertrudes is a favorite for its simple excellence and inviting patio atmosphere. It is a delight for out of town guests and in town friends alike

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

It was an enjoyable experiences but recommend making reservations to avoid long wait at busy times like lunch. The particular waiter we had was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Beautiful setting, delicious selections (many with unique ingredients we had to look up). Impeccable service and wonderful outdoor experience in the shade!

Highly recommend reservations!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Gertrude’s “all-day” menu is no longer appealing for a nice lunch at the Botanical Gardens. The food is too heavy and most of the entrees are exotic meats. What happened too the creative sandwiches and salads? One of the remaining salads on the menu was loaded with oversized, wild arugula that was impossible to eat (and tasteless). Gertrude’s was one of our favorite places...not sure about the future. I would no longer recommend to visitors!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Excellent experience - food and service was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Absolutely enjoyed the experience and will be returning often!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Beautiful outdoor setting! Serenaded by the all the birds. The hamburgers and salads were amazing. A little pricey, but worth the experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

I just love this restaurant for visitors and also just for whenever you want something special, beautiful and delicious!❤️

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 16, 2018

The menu lean too heavily to southwestern. Too few modern American choices

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Noisy. Interior smelled like sour fish. Reservation was for shady patio table but half of our party melted in the sun. Had to walk by a filthy and empty Dasani water refrigerator along with trays of duery plates from tables on our way out to the patio. Server was absent and disengaged. Took 20 min for drink order to arrive. One guest ordered salsa and it was delivered after she finished her meal.

This place could be terrific but it’s clear the current management isn’t committed to effectively running the front of the house.

Won’t return which is sad since the garden is so lovely.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Another wonderful experience at Gertrude's ! The service, setting, food and overall experience are just fantastic. Our meals were excellent, the cold brew coffee was perfect, and Josh provided superb service. We will be back very soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We tried this place after a friend of ours recommended it and loved it. It's the type of restaurant you go to if you want to hang out and not be rushed. We enjoy going out to eat and not being turned out in 45 min or less. We hung out for a little over 2 hours in this beautiful atmosphere. The outside eating is perfect and not crouded with tables.

The food was delicious! I ordered the wild boar and my wife had some type of grain dish... which she loved. There are plenty of GF options as well. We are always looking for this as our son is gluten intolerant.

We will be definitely making this a regular stop especially when the desert botanicals gardens are open in the evenings.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The wild boar was absolutely delicious

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The food was not overly exceptional, but still quite good. The Chicken salad wrap (buffalo chicken) actually had no spice at all, but was full of flavor. My date (vegan) had the tofu and was satisfied with the meal (the pickles were absolutely intense, strong, plan to pucker up). It was incredibly loud so don't plan on any quiet conversations. There is really very little more to say - nothing was exceptional, and at the same time, there were no issues with the meal. Overall, it was an above average experience, but only a little above. I do recommend the restaurant and would certainly go back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Always great! Food is different, exceptional, and service is wonderful!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
64

Tweets by Gertrude's - Phoenix