Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About Gertrude's - Phoenix

Gertrude’s Restaurant, nestled inside the Desert Botanical Garden, offers a fresh new food experience focusing on ingredients directly from the farm and pasture to the plate.

1201 N. Galvin Parkway
# 1511
Phoenix, AZ 85008
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Desert Botanical Garden

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 719-8600

Website:
http://www.gertrudesrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Our guests may park anywhere in the Desert Botanical Garden public lot. We recommend you park near the entrance, the center parking lot sidewalk is a good landmark.

Private Party Facilities:
Chef's Table is right next to the kitchen line and seats up to 12 People

Private Party Contact:
Michelle Jacob, GM: (480) 719-8600

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gertrude's - Phoenix Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (109)
Scenic View (74)
Creative Cuisine (66)
See All
Local Ingredients (62)
Casual (58)
Fit for Foodies (58)
Great for Lunch (56)
Good for a Date (55)
Worth the Drive (48)
Special Occasion (37)
Seasonal (37)
Great for Brunch (36)
Healthy (34)
Sunday Lunch (33)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Romantic (29)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Authentic (23)
Good Vegetarian Options (23)
Fun (22)
People Watching (20)
Organic (20)
Modern Decor (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Cozy (16)
Afternoon Tea (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Afternoon Coffee (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Quick Bite (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Historic (9)
Live Music (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Business Meals (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Vegan (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Family Style (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Fireplace (3)
Spicy (3)
Private Room (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great Beer (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2095 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 12 hours ago

Would recommend . Prices of wine by the glass was about $1.00 to high. It would have been nice if the carnivore options included a smaller portion for those who are lighter eaters

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Gertrude's is a hidden gem. My friends are always surprised when I suggest we go out of our way to eat at the restaurant at the Desert Botanical Garden, and then they are always amazed. This time it was especially good because one of my friends is a strict vegetarian, and Gertrude's always has several great vegetarian dishes.
Go, you'll enjoy it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was fair and small portions were served. The resaurant was way overpriced

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

I love Gertrudes's for its ambiance and good service. However I do feel the chef tries too hard to have a "different" menu that really stretches most peoples taste. With quality, local ingredients one does not have to be wild & crazy to put good food on a plate.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

Very nice experience and we would like to return soon.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined 7 days ago

Gertrude's is one of my favorite places to take friends that are visiting Phoenix. After walking around the botanical garden we had a relaxing lunch. The food is always tasty, healthy and has choices that include a Southwest influence. The outside garden is a beautiful and expertly landscaped.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was very good and our waitress was delightful. Glad we made a reservation or there would have been a 45 minute wait. So nice to eat at such a great spot right in the botanical garden.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Fabulous food, interesting menu and what could be better than their patio!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent, interesting food. Service was fast and server was exceptionally knowledgeable.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Absolutely my favourite restaurant! For the best ambiance outside, excellent menunthat changes from time to time and great service, Gertrude's is a must!!

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Lovely lunch, our third time there and it has been consistently good. Entrees a little on the pricey side but good food& good portions. Can't beat the setting!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We really enjoyed our Sunday brunch at Gertrude's. It was a family gathering for 9 of us, and both service and food were excellent!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Gertrude's was the best place for a good friend and I to meet after a tough week for Sunday brunch. The food was great and the local ingredients added a tough of Arizona. After eating, we walked through the Botanical Gardens enjoying every moment. Two thumbs up for this Phoenix Gem- Gertrude's.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Loved the setting but was not expecting an $80 bill for two with one dessert and the extra cost of having bread at the table. No alcohol.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Wonderful evening on outdoor patio in botanical garden. The waitress was amazing, the setting fantastic, with good friends.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 10, 2017

They had our reservation and we were seated right away with outdoor seating, which is a great way to enjoy this restaurant. Our server was attentive and prompt despite the restaurant being very busy. We brought friends from outside the US, and they enjoyed it very much, especially with the setting of the Botanical Gardens. Our food was very good, and all enjoyed their selections. The Bay Shrimp salad was small but delicious. Their home-made potato chips are fantastic. Hamburgers and vegetarian wraps were all enjoyed. My son and his wife liked the meat and cheese appetizer plate. My husband and I always like eating here when we visit the Gardens and are happy to recommend it to others.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Gertrudes is a great creative place for lunch at the Desert Botanic Gardens. Wonderful gaspacho made with truffles. Tasty iced tea. Good entrees like BLT and other casual food. Our server was very attentive with info on the food and excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Had been there before for brunch and it was great. Took my visiting granddaughter there Thursday for lunch. My $18 petite shrimp salad was unimpressive. Wait staff hurried and patio tables jammed together. We had a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Had lunch on the patio on a glorious March day. One of the most beautiful spots in town! Luckily, I had thought to make a reservation, which is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED in March. The Botanical Garden was much busier than I expected, being high season and Spring Training. Great service and a nice busy buzz, but expect to wait if you don't plan ahead. Food was terrific, and service friendly.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We are never disappointed with Gertrude's! It's especially awesome this time of year in the garden! It's our go-to romantic dinner spot - don't miss a chance to dine there and enjoy the awesome menu! We also recommend the Cactus Cosmo and the Garden 'Rita!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Fun place to go when visiting the Garden. Our waiter was hugely inexperienced so that was a bit of a distraction. Food quite good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 7, 2017

I am thrilled that DBG finally has a lovely restaurant! I just wish the food selection was better and the prices were lower... $18 for a cheese burger is pretty pricey. I love the patio...the atmosphere of DBG, wildlife roaming around, lighted trees and pathways...perfect venue for a glass of wine and people watching.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Happy xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxoooooooooooooooooooooXxxxxxxxxx

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Wonderful outdoor setting within Botanic Gardens. Food selections are excellent and well prepared. Service friendly yet professional. Good wine selections by the glass.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was delicious! Everybody in our group loved their meal. We had a great time visiting the botanical gardens after we were done with brunch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Healthy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This is a great place to take out of town visitors for lunch and then a walk around the Garden.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Scenic View, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Pastoral venue that blends perfectly into the adjacent Botanical Gardens. My Sunday brunch was delicious, though pricey. The Garden's gift shop is on site and offers distraction while waiting g for a table. Rez is a MUST!

Tags: Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Love going to Gretchen's for Sunday Brunch before a stroll through the Desert Botanical Gardens. Always peaceful and enjoy the terrific food and friendly service.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Perfect brunch experience. Amazing location, superb menu, beautiful place and MAGNIFICENT service. Mary was the most amazing host we had in a long time. We will be back!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Seasonal, Authentic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Scallops are fantastic

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The parking lot is a little far from the restaurant if you have issues walking. Bring your cane or scooter

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Definitely an upscale menu with interesting choices. There is something for everyone. The food was very tasty and the presentation. The patio dining is very enjoyable with nice views. The service personnel is well trained and knowledgeable. This place is worth the effort and reservations are highly recommended.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Casual, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We always dine at Gertrude's while visiting the Botanical Garden. We enjoy the ambiance, the food and the views. The service is friendly and the food is fresh and appetizing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Casual, Modern Decor, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 27, 2017

we had to ask a couple of times for the sides that went with our appetizer, there was only 3 other tables occupied for an early Sunday dinner but we were pretty much ignored. Service was off.
i had a bay shrimp salad - really boring- needed more color needed salt or something, just bla.
Ambiance is great but really need to work on service and lighting is just awful inside - too high and glaring.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Fantastic night out with friends. Gertrude's never disappoints. Food, drinks, service and atmosphere are excellent. Thanks everyone on the Gertrude's team- you have a great spot with wonderful food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Second time eating here within one month. We had company in from out of town and wanted to treat them to something special. Gertrude's did not disappoint. Everyone had a wonderful time, food and service was really great.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I thought the restaurant was lovely but the food was overly expensive and lacked in value.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We always go to Gertrudes when we visit the Desert Landscape garden. Always eat outside and thoroughly enjoy it. MUST have reservations.

Tags: People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I have been to Gertrude's many times and it never disappoints. It is my first spot to take visitors and they always live it as much as I do. Service is exceptional and good is great but what did you do with that fantastic slaw?!?

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Casual, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Scenic View, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Gertrude's menu has really evolved and the food is amazing!! The best patio in the valley!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.