Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About Gertrude's - Phoenix

Gertrude’s Restaurant, nestled inside the Desert Botanical Garden, offers a fresh new food experience focusing on ingredients directly from growers in Arizona and the surrounding region.

1201 N. Galvin Parkway
# 1511
Phoenix, AZ 85008
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Desert Botanical Garden

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 719-8600

Website:
http://www.gertrudesrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Our guests may park anywhere in the Desert Botanical Garden public lot. We recommend you park near the entrance, the center parking lot sidewalk is a good landmark.

Private Party Facilities:
Chef's Table is right next to the kitchen line and seats up to 12 People

Private Party Contact:
Michelle Jacob, GM: (480) 719-8600

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gertrude's - Phoenix Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

86% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Fit for Foodies (18)
Scenic View (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Healthy (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Casual (13)
Seasonal (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Romantic (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Authentic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Organic (4)
Cozy (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Fun (3)
Vegan (3)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
2242 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Following some less than favorable experiences at Gertrude's perhaps two years ago, I decided to give the restaurant another chance, given the attractive location of the restaurant and the admittedly well-prepared, imaginative food that places an emphasis on local cuisine. I must say that I was thoroughly impressed with the turnaround the restaurant had undergone since my previous disappointing -- nay, downright infuriating -- experiences. The server was attentive and knowledgeable, the pacing of the courses infallible, and the dishes flavorful and representative of unique location in this corner of the world. Once again, I can recommend Getrude's without reservation (no pun intended!).

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

A great choice for out of town guests. Food is locally sourced and delicious. The menu changes often which gives more of a chance to try new items! Drinks are quite unique with many unusual but delicious combinations. Always an impressive choice.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

Out of town guests were very impressed; service was excellent; patio dining even in warm weather was delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Great food and service. A variety of options for carnivores, omnivores, vegetarians and vegans. Perfect place for a varied group of friends. Ambience in the garden is just perfect. Sit outside if weather permits for a wonderful Arizona experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Geetrude's is a beautiful place. We came for a special anniversary dinner, and because one of us has celiac and they have a number of gluten free options. The manager informed us that the general manager's kid has celiac and the kitchen is trained to handle things carefully. The drinks were unique and tasty. The appetizer and salad, though slow to arrive were also very good (mussels and squid without the bread, and the hearts of palm with fried plantains on the side because they fried everything, including gluteny items, in same fryer), however the plantains were bland and could have used some seasoning, just a touch of salt would've done the trick. Our luck ran out there. The waiter forgot the wine we had told him we wanted with our entrees. And, the bison steak I ordered was cooked well when I ordered it medium rare, and the croquettes that came with it were icy in their centers. I have to say, we would go back for the duck enchiladas, and the huitlacoche sauce on the steak was inspired and delicious. I tried for a long time to get our waiter's attention, but he kept spinning away from our table. Eventually another waiter noticed that I kept looking toward the kitchen and came to ask if I needed anything. The manager was quite apologetic and offered a comped dessert, but we decided to finish the enchiladas and cut our losses. It was really more than enough food, though I would have liked to have a nice bison steak. We were offered a $50 gift certificate for our trouble and we'll use it, though we'll probably just eat the enchiladas, and maybe the risotto. I'm not sure I'd recommend, but it could have just been a bad night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The food was fresh and lots of local ingredients. Very flavorful. They also had live music, 1 guitarist/singer (Jared) who was really great! We had flights of wine and listened to the music. Great time.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

The ambience was lovely, and the food was delicious.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Great Restaurant to have a complete experience with the Gardens and dinner!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Dinner was delicious as usual. Our server, Lisa, was phenomenal. She really made the whole thing come together perfectly. Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 13, 2017

I just don't like Arizona regional Native American food, so I didn't like it at all. However, if you like that food, check the menu and decide.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Pleasant patio setting complete with desert surroundings and quail families. Love the hamburgers - one of the best in town!!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Great food & great service. The outdoor patio is great for a relaxing evening. The only negative was the ice water which had a slight mold/mildew aftertaste.

Tags: Scenic View, Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Fantastic food and wonderful ambiance. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great food, great service, great atmosphere. Highly recommend for locals or out of towners visiting Phoenix.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

an overall great experience, I love being there and the outside dining this season is the best

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 30, 2017

It was a pleasure to sit on their patio - lovely views all around and wonderful music. I may have chosen the wrong entrée - my frittata was thin and tasteless. I wish the chef would check out some actual frittata recipes. I ordered the fresh fruit salad as a side dish. Half the fruit was good, but basically the green melon was not ripe, so I left half of it. The server did not inquire as to why, which is a little surprising in a nice restaurant. My friend loved the Anasazi Bean & Quinoa Salad with Sumac dressing. So, I guess my review is mixed - all in all, I was disappointed in the quality of the food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We enjoyed the unique meals,the green tea and then we shared the tasty donuts. Our waiter was very attentive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Delicious! Both of our meals were attractive and yummy. The waiter suggested a protein to go with my friend's quinoa salad. It was a perfect pairing. The portions are good, the service attentive and the setting magnificent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

After hearing many great things about Gertrude's, we did a couples night there last weekend. There was the regular menu and a special Restaurant Week menu. The 6 of us ordered a variety of items off of both menus. The overall consensus was the food was very average. Particularly given the hefty price tag of the restaurant week option ($44), I felt like I overpaid. Our waiter was very nice, but had extreme difficulties separating the bill into 3 separate bills for the 3 couples present. I literally had to write on each bill what needed to be added or subtracted to get the correct totals. The best part of the dinner was the drinks. My margaritas were awesome. The ambiance is very lovely, particularly after a nice walk through the DBG. But I will not eat at Gertrude's again. For $125 for 2 people, there are WAY to many options in Phoenix that are much, much better. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Seriously, amazing food! I tried to find the name of the new chef and couldn't find anything on him, however, whoever the new chef is...he's doing a great job of mixing sweet and savory. I was really impressed. As a "foodie", I was especially impressed with the Lollipop Kale salad.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2017

The menu was changed this time and I was disappointed. The beet salad they used to have was fabulous!

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Gertrude's is always superb and this visit was no exception. We tried the specials for Phoenix Restaurant Week. I hope they make it to the regular menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food was amazing, ambiance as well. Staff was great. Chef walked around asking how everything was and we got to know him and know more about the place and menu. He even brought out the wonderful desserts.

Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We were looking for a quick easy brunch place that was not a greasy spoon. Gertrude's exceeded all our expectations. It's at the entrance of the Botanical Gardens and you do not have to pay admissions to Gardens. Staff is friendly and efficient. The menu is gourmet locally delicious and visually tight-good targeted items for brunch and lunch- not a bunch of gooey typically sugary buttery items. Steak and eggs with fingerling potatoes as perfect- clean and delicious.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 15, 2017

It was my birthday. Loved the dessert. The noise level was off the chart. We could not hear each other. One reason was the room itself; the other reason was that there was a table of at least 10 young women drinking and laughing and talking very loudly at a table not even that close to us. It really took away from the celebration.

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 10, 2017

we were looking for southwest flavor with a view and found a gem. This is located at the botanical garden so the patio is superbly tended. the food stood up to the best we had in New Orleans the week before - we even impressed my foodie San Francisco daughter with pics of our choices. Wonderful find!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Gertrude's remains to be 'hit and miss'. Service was friendly, informative. Food took over 30 minutes to be presented. Burger was huge and good. Duck enchilada was ok. Plate needs to add greens. Too much starch and protein. Cost is high for product and service given.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Love the Desert Botanical Garden, and this is one of it's gems.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The staff was very accommodating in describing the meals and sauces for someone with food allergies. For the foodies out there, the chef came to the table to make sure we understood the offerings and what the ingredients were. Very nice evening with friends .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 25, 2017

I took my great-nephew here before the flashlight tour - our yearly "date" for special time together. He had the cheeseburger off the kids menu and said it was "the best hamburger ever!" I had the soup and salad - cold pea soup was the special that night - and both were very good. Always enjoy spending time at the garden and eating at Gertrude's.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

This place is practically in my back yard. The garden is our weekly get away spot.
Having Gertrudes is the icing on the cake.
There menu has several constants but also seasonal additions to tantalize your taste buds.
It is one of the few restaurants in town that can truly make a great Gin Martini.
The outdoor patio is astonishing. This place is in the heart of the city but you would never know it. Food Fun Fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Good vegetarian choices - the Sonoran fried rice and the curried tofu were big hits. Friends liked the chicken thighs and lamb ribs. Service friendly and helpful.

Tags: Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The view is wonderful. Be wary of sitting near the window though (more flies near the brighter light). The service...I think they would have preferred not to be bothered. There was a miscommunication during ordering on both my and the waiter's parts (what was the pastry of the day? Coffee cake, Jalapeño Scone, both? ), which caused the waiter to be rather distant from then on. The huevos rancheros was bland and the tortilla was too thick. The smoked salmon spread was passable, but also lacked flavor and texture. Unfortunately, we won't be back. Course, we got the impression we were not welcome anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Our breakfast entrees were healthy and delicious. Both were perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. The fresh fruit was Excellent!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Could not ask for a better experience. The food, wine, ambience, and service were all excellent. A special request was handling with ease, and our meals were fantastic. Thank you for another wonderful meal at Gertrude's.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Went to visit Botanical Gardens on our family vacation. With the weather being so hot I booked lunch at Gertrude's for the convenience of taking a break. What a great surprise!! Fantastic lunch! One of our favorite places we ate while in Arizona.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Brunch with visiting friend, nice to order from both breakfast and lunch menus

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Horrible experience. Difficulty parking because of closures on their property. They called to see if we were still going to come at 7:02 for a 7 pm appt (we were walking from the lot.)

Front desk person was nice. Server (who appeared to also be the manager) was very brusque and even rude. We ordered an appetizer and he came back to say he 'couldn't sell' that 'tonight.'

After a long absence not taking our order, it became obvious he didn't wish to serve anyone else. We had ordered iced tea; hadn't drank it (seemed unfresh.) We offered to pay for it and go. He presented a bill for it. They were supposed to be open until 9:30; as we left we heard the woman in front tell someone walking in that they were closing
1) there should have been an apology!
2) they should not have charged us for the tea
3) this was our anniversary dinner!! NEVER again
We have been garden members since 2009 when we moved here. We won't be rejoining!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Booked for a team dinner. Had a couple members that required special consideration, gluten and vegan. Everyone had a great meal and drinks, super enjoyable. Finished with a fantastic night time view of the moon and rock formations. Also, not far from town but feels tucked away.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We had a small business meeting of friends. Gertrude's was perfect. It was not a crowded evening and was great for our conversations. The food was just right. We will go again!

Tags: Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Comfort Food, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Fun, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.