About Gertrude's - Phoenix

1201 N. Galvin Parkway
# 1511
Phoenix, AZ 85008
View Larger Map

Gertrude’s Restaurant, nestled inside the Desert Botanical Garden, offers a fresh new food experience focusing on ingredients directly from the farm and pasture to the plate.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Desert Botanical Garden

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 719-8600

Website:
http://www.gertrudesrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Our guests may park anywhere in the Desert Botanical Garden public lot. We recommend you park near the entrance, the center parking lot sidewalk is a good landmark.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Taylor

Private Party Facilities:
Chef's Table is right next to the kitchen line and seats up to 12 People

Private Party Contact:
Michelle Jacob, GM: 4807198600x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Gertrude's - Phoenix, Phoenix, AZ
  • Palo Verde And Chihuly From Roof Top - Gertrude's - Phoenix, Phoenix, AZ
  • Gertrude's - Phoenix, Phoenix, AZ
  • Dirty Chips - Gertrude's - Phoenix, Phoenix, AZ
  • Bouchot Mussel - Gertrude's - Phoenix, Phoenix, AZ
  • Gertrude's - Phoenix, Phoenix, AZ
  • Garden Rita - Gertrude's - Phoenix, Phoenix, AZ
Gertrude's - Phoenix, Phoenix, AZ
Palo Verde And Chihuly From Roof Top - Gertrude's - Phoenix, Phoenix, AZ
Gertrude's - Phoenix, Phoenix, AZ
Dirty Chips - Gertrude's - Phoenix, Phoenix, AZ
Bouchot Mussel - Gertrude's - Phoenix, Phoenix, AZ
Gertrude's - Phoenix, Phoenix, AZ
Garden Rita - Gertrude's - Phoenix, Phoenix, AZ

Gertrude's - Phoenix Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Phoenix / Arizona
Most Booked
Phoenix

Great for Outdoor Dining (53)
Scenic View (39)
Local Ingredients (35)
See All
Creative Cuisine (34)
Great for Lunch (34)
Worth the Drive (27)
Casual (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Special Occasion (25)
Good for a Date (24)
Healthy (20)
Great for Brunch (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Romantic (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Fun (12)
Seasonal (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Authentic (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Disabled Access (9)
Organic (8)
Business Meals (8)
Cozy (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Good for Groups (6)
People Watching (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Family Style (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Vegan (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Historic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Waterfront (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1921 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Chef Matt and crew do fantastic food. Th ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Chef Matt and crew do fantastic food. There was a 90 person group and they easily served them and the rest of us with no problem. Food was fantastic. Do not miss the pate and the fried tofu appetizers. Great mixed drinks also.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was very nice and we loved our food. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

It was very nice and we loved our food. We come every year and it always wonderful..

Tags: Casual, Organic, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The venison was excellent! I would defin ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

The venison was excellent! I would definitely order it again at Gertrude's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We were underwhelmed by this food. The p ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

We were underwhelmed by this food. The prices and descriptions had me hopeful we were in for a big treat, but we were underwhelmed. Pasta did not taste fresh. Steak was ok. Kids mac and cheese was pretty good. Chili's thrown in everything. Nice touch but not enough. I am very sorry but we will not be recommending our friends to this overpriced, but average food. The setting was the only thing that kept me from getting upset about how disappointed I was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Lovely atmosphere with all the trees lit ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely atmosphere with all the trees lit up. We ate outside and the heaters kept everyone warm!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very nice evening....Luminaria..with fri ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Very nice evening....Luminaria..with friends who had never been, so Gertrudes new to them but not to me ..I loved my Salad with Salmon. My favorite..but I'm going to try that mobster burger next time‼️‼️

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The menu cannot be matched, and a great ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

The menu cannot be matched, and a great variety of flavors await your taste buds at Gertrude's. Not for the average diner, this restaurant is primed for the foodie searching for unique combinations of fresh ingredients and flavorings. An excellent date venue. Eat a great meal, take a walk through the botanical garden, watch the sunset, all in one great location.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Healthy, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have loved Gertrude's since it opened ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

We have loved Gertrude's since it opened and been there 8 times, usually bringing friends, which is what you want. The last 2 visits — both in the last two months — have been bad. Many of your dishes have taken a downturn —Particularly the variations on the smoked pork gumbo, which used to be a standout. As long time DBG members we want to love Gertrude's, but that's over. Last Friday 3 of the 6 of us really didn't Ike the smoked pork pozole. Lacking taste and season and full of rough, twiggy vegetables that don't belong in Posole', which is how you are supposed spell it. We let the manager know, but other than "sorry, I'll tell the chef", not much response. It's not just the posole. Visit before, your striped marlin dish was both uninspired as well as dry and overlooked. The version of smoked pork gumbo that time was barely OK, also lacking in flavor and a far cry from a year ago's. The blue crab salad was excessively mayonaisey and not very flavorful. Not to mention you want $8 for a local beer that nobody else in town has the guts to charge more than $4 or $5 for. Come on! We won't be back until the AZ Republics food critic gives 4 stars or better on a new review, which we're going to suggest he do. I'm also complaint to the DBG as well. It's a real shame, as Gertrude's used to be really great and we had a number of good meals and experiences there. You need a new chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Went to dinner after viewing the luminar ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Went to dinner after viewing the luminaria.

Service was good.

I had Korean chicken thighs that were very good. The two had hamburgers that were very good.

Only problem was bread service was late and came with meal.

My mom dropped a ring and after I called them they looked and found it and called me back--very nice!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Lovely food. Good service. Great setting ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Lovely food. Good service. Great setting!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Poor menu selections. Bartenders more in ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Poor menu selections. Bartenders more interested in jokes amongs each other instead of serving

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Fantastic food, great service.

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our wait staff were very good and even r ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our wait staff were very good and even recommended an excellent wine that wasn't the most expensive. All the food was great. One guest wasn't happy with thier meal and the staff immediately refunded the amount. I really couldn't ask for a better experience. This was the second time we have eaten at Gertrudes, both time for dinner.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service, creative menu, fresh ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Wonderful service, creative menu, fresh food, a bit loud due to decor (concrete floor, nothing to absorb sound). A bit higher priced.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, excellent food, good ba ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great service, excellent food, good bar and wines available.

Food was served hot and comes in an expected amount of time. Service is very good. Outdoor patio is very nice and has heaters for the cooler months.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The marginal service and food is outweig ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The marginal service and food is outweighed by the stunning views.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Casual, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

The food was tasty but the "bay shrimp" ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was tasty but the "bay shrimp" salad was very small and the shrimp tasted fishy. $18 for a minimal salad with no sides of any kind is excessive. Gertrude's is a pleasant place to eat if you are visiting the Desert Botanical Garden and don't care about money. The beef dishes are better, very tasty, but still very much over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Beautiful, quiet, romantic patio. Very ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Beautiful, quiet, romantic patio. Very small entrees with a fancy presentation and an even fancier price tag. Staff were friendly. Service was average. Food was mediocre to poor. Two entrees , one glass of wine...$100 before gratuity. Left hungry and underwhelmed.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Checking out Gertrude's, I saw that Mush ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Checking out Gertrude's, I saw that Mushroom Bolognese was on the menu.

I made a reservation and the dish did not disappoint. It was delicious.....perfect blend of tastes and textures. We are ready to return for the same dish.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food options where different, very eclec ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Food options where different, very eclectic! Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such lovely spot - besides people watchi ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Such lovely spot - besides people watching, there's great bird watching, tooM

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I wanted to have a unique and memorable ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I wanted to have a unique and memorable birthday for my wife. Gertrudes food and drinks were prepared like artwork. The Garden Rita definitely delighted my wife's taste buds. I had the Korean Chicken and my wife Tye Blackened Scallops. Both dishes were amazing. However the appetizers (fried tofu and Creado would have been enough for two). We didn't care for the community cat or the Blackhawk which flew overhead while on the patio. It was brief and expected since the armory is nearby. Totally felt great hospitality from the entrance to the exit. I would recommend for couples or groups. The minor complaints didn't interfere with great service and food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

There is no place in Phoenix with a more ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

There is no place in Phoenix with a more beautiful setting for lunch with friends. Just make sure you don't order the posole. They haven't a clue about making it. I'm sure some of the other dishes must be quite acceptable.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

I took an old friend who was in town fro ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I took an old friend who was in town from California. Requisite for us is a close in location, good food, service and ambience, as well as where we can have a conversation without unnecessary background music. We found all of the above at Gertrude's outdoor patio dining on a perfectly

beautiful evening. Our server, whose name escapes me, was spot on knowledgeable about the wine and food recommendations, the service was impeccable. We didn't have to wait for attention, nor were we rushed. the pace was perfect. My guest commented that this was definitely a great way to spend an evening. From him that was a great compliment to my choice and to Gertrude's fine dining experience. Cudos to all, I will be back and I'm sure my guest will as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is excellent; food and cockt ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The service is excellent; food and cocktails are delicious! There is no better setting than the beautiful Desert Botanical Gardens for any dining occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Gertrude's is always wonderful. The wea ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Gertrude's is always wonderful. The weather on the patio next to the Desert Botanical Garden was perfect and the food was delicious. The scallops melted in your mouth. It is on the expensive side but it was well worth it for us.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, service and outdoor patio. Wo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good food, service and outdoor patio. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful brunch with a friend. T ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had a wonderful brunch with a friend. The food was magnificent, and the service was even better. Put this into the setting Botanical Garden setting and you could not ask for more.

This is a great find, and a great value. I am already planning my next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have always enjoyed Gertrude's but disap ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Have always enjoyed Gertrude's but disappointed this time......not a fan of this year's fall/winter menu. Marlin? Chicken thighs? And our little neck clams were full of black sand and basically inedible. Ambiance and service as expected .....and they did take the clams off the bill without us having to ask but I highly doubt we will go back unless we are at the Garden and looking for lunch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Just a bit below my expectations. I thi ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Just a bit below my expectations. I think the menu is a bit narrow, I would like more choices.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Gertrudes has something that no other re ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Gertrudes has something that no other restaurant has: it's in the DBG garden! The DBG garden is the most beautiful inspiring relaxing place in the world in my opinion. There's nothing like soaking up the Sonoran desert in style and grace. The staff are on top of things. We love the new chef (Mark Taylor). The wine list is affordable and delightful. The only reason we rated it a 4 instead of 5 stars is that the bar menu is too cloyingly sweet and not competitively modern enough. We wanted the bar menu to be like Blue Hound or Bitter & Twisted. We also wanted the menu to indicate allergy items (lactose, gluten, nuts, etc). On the plus side, the menu offers rare items such as venison and creative genius (sonororan fried rice). For ambiance, we were seated by the loveliest fountain and surrounded by herbs, vegetable plants and of course cactus. Just what the doctor ordered before an amazing night of jazz in the garden.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and servers were terrific. F ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The service and servers were terrific. Food--great. Cauliflower appetizer a wonder:

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited Phoenix from out of town and ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We visited Phoenix from out of town and spent a great afternoon bumming around the Desert Botanical Gardens before having a light dinner at Gertrudes. The food was amazing, we loved it! I think it was a bit noisy inside, but the outdoor seating was delightful.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ranks at the top of one my favorite plac ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Ranks at the top of one my favorite places to eat. The ambiance of the outside eating area is unmatched, and the food is good too.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Horrible dining music played on low qual ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Horrible dining music played on low quality speakers on the patio. Kitchen exhaust goes right onto patio so we smelled like charred burgers the rest of the night. My $35 entree consisted of three medium sized scallops with a tomato sauce. Waaaay overpriced entree. Best part about this place is the botanical garden.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Bread service was CHARGED for and on top ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Bread service was CHARGED for and on top of that, it was ice cold in the center. Brussel sprouts side dish was over done and too salty. The cactus cosmo cocktail recommended by the waiter tasted like cough medicine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

The entire experience was lovely!

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The entire experience was lovely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We often enjoy an early dinner at Gertru ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We often enjoy an early dinner at Gertrude's before evening classes at the Desert Botanical Garden.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Birthday party for 7. Food and service ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Birthday party for 7. Food and service were excellent. Very accommodating for special requests related to the birthday. Patio dining was outstanding. Only suggestion for Gertrude's -- need Crown Royal at the bar. We will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Creative and tasty menu. We had a Monday ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Creative and tasty menu. We had a Monday lunch with a visiting parent...two treats in one with access to the garden. We enjoyed the BLT special that day while our guest had a delicious (BIG) hamburger. Attentive server and not rushed through meal, even though we saw folks waiting as we left. Reservations recommended.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.