Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About Gertrude's - Phoenix

Gertrude’s Restaurant, nestled inside the Desert Botanical Garden, offers a fresh new food experience focusing on ingredients directly from the farm and pasture to the plate.

1201 N. Galvin Parkway
# 1511
Phoenix, AZ 85008
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Desert Botanical Garden

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 719-8600

Website:
http://www.gertrudesrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Our guests may park anywhere in the Desert Botanical Garden public lot. We recommend you park near the entrance, the center parking lot sidewalk is a good landmark.

Private Party Facilities:
Chef's Table is right next to the kitchen line and seats up to 12 People

Private Party Contact:
Michelle Jacob, GM: (480) 719-8600

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gertrude's - Phoenix Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (99)
Scenic View (71)
Great for Lunch (54)
See All
Creative Cuisine (51)
Local Ingredients (48)
Special Occasion (44)
Worth the Drive (42)
Good for a Date (41)
Great for Brunch (41)
Casual (40)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Sunday Lunch (36)
Healthy (33)
Seasonal (30)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Romantic (24)
Good Vegetarian Options (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Fun (18)
Authentic (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Organic (15)
Cozy (14)
Afternoon Coffee (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
People Watching (10)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Business Meals (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Historic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Live Music (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Spicy (2)
Family Style (2)
Vegan (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fireplace (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Private Room (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
2192 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Gertrude's is a great addition to Desert Botanical Garden.
We love going there whenever visiting the garden. Breakfast,
Lunch and Dinner have always been very good to outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The food and drinks were good but the service was outstanding. The restaurant closes at 8:00 but we didn't realize how late it was and finally left at 9:15. We never felt rushed and the server did not even bring the check until we asked! It was a delightful evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Always a good meal but the noise level inside makes conversation extremely difficult. We were really shouting at each other 🙁

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Aside from the high price the food was tasty. I had the farmers soup and salad for 14.00. it was a vuot of soup and a small salad. Most of the meals were 15.00 plus It was mid week so there wasn't a crowd so it was not crowded. if you are taking your date to the gardens this would a place you could do a pre or post light meal. I would suggest it for convenience but I think there are other restaurants that can give you more value for the price.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Very disappointing food selection and no Hendricks or Tanqueray (or similar) gin.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Have eaten at the restaurant one other time. Decided to try it again before seeing the Topia Ballet. We ordered 2 glasses of wine; two salmon salads and two coffees. The salmon salad was not worth the money and for $70 we could have eaten off premise much less expensively.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was exceptional. It was a bit loud and difficult to carry on a conversation but that could have been because we were between two large groups.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great food before Topia ballet. Waiter was either new or not good. Awkward serving style, reached across my plate and rubbed arm across my plate while I was still eating to take another pesons's finished plate. Didn't even try to distribute separate checks to parties at table left them in a stack both times. And he was kind of pushy. Patio is great but noise while dining inside is awful. Can't hear anyone at table speak.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Most menu items are overworked and too over-the-top. Chef seems to like to get too creative. Prefer to eat off the "sides" menu or simpler fare if I can find it on the menu.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 31, 2017

I have been to Gertude's so many times and always have good food on the beautiful patio.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great food and service. Food was hot and good selection for every type of diner.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We eat here 4-6 times a year, sometimes before a DBG event, sometimes just because we really like the experience. The food is always very good to great, as is the service. Short but tasteful wine list. You can't beat the outdoor patio.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Food and table service were excellent. Delays until food, drinks, dessert came. Loud, crowded

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner before the Ballet Topia. A little noisy inside. Next time we will sit in the patio.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Not our 1st time there, & keep returning back - love it !
Always glad we can sit outside, when we can. It's way too noisy inside to be able to converse w/ease.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Scenic View, Romantic, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Delicious food. Best Manhattan! Waiter was knowledgeable, friendly and accommodating- really added to the experience. Once the restaurant filled up service got slow and paying the bill took a long time; we could see the waiter working hard but he needed another server. Overall a great dinner before the ballet.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Our dining experience at Gertrude's was disappointing. The menu is very limited and the inside dining room is extremely noisy---conversation without shouting is not possible. The menu has changed with the new chef, and we missed some of the old standards. Prices seem expensive for the value. The people next to us expressed the same frustration. This was convenient because we were seeing the ballet afterwards but the food is definitely not worth the price.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2017

My wife had the blackened scallops which she thought outstanding. I would have rated the food at a five rather than a four but my seafood pasta, which was very tasty, was advertised as having both fish and roe. It came with only the roe and some extremely tiny bits of what may have been fried fish.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Nice for lunch anytime. Good for casual romantic or lunch with a friend. Looking forward to going back next time I'm in Phoenix.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We were given a gift certificate for this resteraunt. The atmosphir & setting are high points. We went to try out the Brunch. We started with the donut appeatizer, they were wonderful & the accompanied sauces were very good. The lenonade made with infuzed blueberies was sweet, yet still had the tart flavor lemonade should. We split the 2 Benedicts plates, Regular & the Tunacake. The hollindaize on the regular Benedict could have had a little more zing to it. The fingerlink potatoes served with them were very good. Overall, though it was good, for what it cost it could have been better.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I wish I could remember our server's name because he was amazing! The food is always good there! The lemonade vinegarette is to die for and I tried the lavender lemon drop and it was very delicious!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 17, 2017

This was a nice surprise to couple with the Garden. Great staff and beautiful area! I have already recommended it and will definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I love going to Gertrude's: good food, great surroundings and generally enjoyable!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Beautiful food on a remarkably beautiful day, my belated Mother's Day gift was really lovely. Made me wish I could come here more often....

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had our Mother's Day lunch at Gertrude's and enjoyed a very pleasant Phoenix day! The food was fresh and delicious. The patio is lovely, plenty of umbrellas to keep the sun off. Service was good with nice waiters.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was a Mother's Day celebration with mother and grandmother. We have celebrated Mother's Day previously at Gertrude's and my wife insisted that we do it again. She was truly looking forward to the breakfast and said that it made her day. We sat on the patio where there was plenty of shade on a May morning in Phoenix, Arizona. It was quite pleasant to sit on a patio for breakfast where tables are not on top of one another and you can actually have a conversation without raising your voice.
The menu is not exceptionally large, but everything on it is quite good. The French toast was gobbled down by our son, the eggs over easy and scrambled were perfect (along with delicious fingerling potatoes, bacon and toast) and the vegetable frittata was deemed excellent by wife. You might try one of the Bloody Mary's! Note that all foods are locally procured where possible.
The other comment to make is that our son is in a wheelchair. Sometimes when you make reservations and request a table that is wheelchair accessible, it does not always work out. However, at Gertrude's they had a perfect table and location! Additionally, you can always take a tour of the Desert Botanical Gardens after you eat!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had breakfast at Gertrude's our first morning in Phoenix and loved it so much that we came back for dinner on our last night. The fresh, local greens were amazing.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This place is so lovely and the food is good...We enjoyed Gertrudes before one of their Music in the Garden events... our 2nd time and we will look forward to the third!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Healthy, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Nice location but the food is overpriced and not very good.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Beautiful setting, unique and delicious menu, excellent service

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The food was unique, exciting, and tasted fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food and service were excellent -setting could not be more beautiful

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Lovely venu. Interesting and diverse menu. Great cocktails. Who could ask for more?

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We each had a lovely presentation and the taste matched the presentation!
Waiter attentive but not intrusive. And , of course, the Botanical Garden is a jewel.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Although the evening was a little breezy outside, we had a great table in a very unique setting at the Desert Botanical Garden restaurant, Gertrude's. The service was excellent and the server was exceptionally knowledgeable and concerned about the food ingredients and preparation. My flat iron steak was overdone, but the seasoning made up for it. The other two at the dinner had soups and salads and loved it.
Fun atmosphere and gorgeous setting.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Our waitress Mary was absolutely wonderful. While the food was good, it needed more variety with each entree. Throw in a couple pickles or a small side. I would recommend the restaurant provide rolls, Lavosh, or bread free for the table. I know organic food is expensive, but I was not impressed by the amount of food for the price.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We had Lisa as our waitress and she was great. We ended up getting a big surprise and could hear the Beach Boys in the back ground. Nice surprise :)

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We always go to Gertrude's after visiting the gardens. The patio is a favorite place to dine. The servers are great! And the food is well presented. Also, it is a wonderful place to take out of town friends and family.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Super service and food and ambiance and setting unlike no other I have been too. I will become a regular here.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.