About Gertrude's

10 Art Museum Dr.
Baltimore, MD 21218
View Larger Map

Gertrude's Restaurant, located inside the Baltimore Museum of Art (BMA), is where John Shields celebrates Chesapeake cuisine using local foods, in a warm and stylish setting.
Chef & owner John Shields, a Baltimore native who is a cookbook author and television cooking show host, named the restaurant after his grandmother, Gertrude Cleary, who taught him to cook as a child. Gertrude's dishes up a sophisticated regional menu of Chesapeake foods and traditions for lunch, dinner, and brunch using local, organic ingredients whenever possible.
The restaurant's interior, inspired by life on the Eastern Shore of the Chesapeake Bay, is beautiful & elegant yet comfortable. The wall of floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the museum’s Sculpture Garden floods the open & airy dining room with natural light. During the warmer months, additional seats are available on the terrace surrounding a fountain and reflecting pool.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Saturday: 10:30am - 9:00pm
Sunday: 10:30am - 8:00pm

Brunch Menu served on Saturday and Sunday until 3pm
Light Fare Menu on Saturday and Sunday from 3pm - 5pm

Cross Street:
N. Charles St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 889-3399

Website:
http://www.gertrudesbaltimore.com/

Entertainment:
On Friday nights listen to mellow jazz with Gary Thomas & Friends at Gertrude's from 6 to 8pm, while you enjoy dinner or cocktails in a beautiful and relaxing setting.
And the Dottie Tim Jazz Duo plays here on Sundays during our popular brunch, from 11:30 am till 2:30 pm.

Catering:
In addition to birthday parties, anniversary celebrations and corporate affairs, Gertrude's hosts many wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, and “day after” brunches throughout the year, for groups as small as 20 guests, and as large as 150. You may visit our web site, www.gertrudesbaltimore.com, for more info, or contact John Gilligan at jg@johnshields.com (or tel. 410.889.3399 x105).

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot for over 40 cars, operated by the BMA; payment is required to use the BMA's lot. There is also plenty of on-street parking directly in front; parking meters are in effect during our operating hours.

Executive Chef:
Doug Wetzel

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
John Gilligan: 4108893399x105

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Soft Shell Crab Eggs Benedict
Portobello Crab Imperial
Fried Chicken Salad
Vegetable Flatbread
Beignets
Watercress Salad
Fish and Chips
Seared Fresh Atlantic Salmon With Garlic Mashed Potatoes And Spinach
Cream of Crab Soup
Resurrection Ale
Boordy Blush
Neapolitan Macaron Ice Cream Sandwiches
Garden Salad with Zuchettes
Middle Eastern Platter
Lobster and Crawfish Omelet
Focaccia
Eastern Shore Crabcake
Seafood Salad
Ice Cream Sampler
crab cake
Deep Fried Oysters
Fresh Rockfish Stuffed With Crab Imperial
Spinach Salad With Chicken
Chocolate Decadance
Baked Cod
Bacon Manhatten
Dirty Gertie

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Gertrude's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Baltimore / Maryland
Great for Lunch
Baltimore / Maryland
Most Booked
Baltimore / Maryland
5 More
Great for Brunch
Baltimore
Great for Lunch
Baltimore
Outdoor Dining
Baltimore
American
Baltimore
Most Booked
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Charles Village ›

great for lunch (182)
special occasion (181)
fit for foodies (167)
See All
great for outdoor dining (166)
great for brunch (166)
neighborhood gem (165)
good for groups (107)
scenic view (96)
romantic (83)
kid-friendly (30)
notable wine list (22)
hot spot (13)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (5)
Sort By:
Newest
3669 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

This was not a good experience. We had a ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

This was not a good experience. We had a small plate which had 2 shrimp on it and a salad. The waiter did not like the fact that we just got small plates he mixed up the order and did not bring the correct check. I think he should have told us how small the plate was.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

a very pleasant dining experience for us ...

Dined 4 days ago

a very pleasant dining experience for us and our out-of-town friends who were looking for great local seafood and they got it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Sunday brunch at Gertrude's is always a ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Sunday brunch at Gertrude's is always a treat. They have an excellent regular menu and always have interesting specials like soft-shell crab eggs Benedict and very good Bloody Marys. Sitting outdoors next to the fountain was delightful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I have been to Gertrudes several times ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

I have been to Gertrudes several times and I have always been pleased with my meals there. This was different. The Waiter was incompetent. There was a list of "Spirits" which came with the wine list and I asked him if these were all the "whiskeys" they had. He said yes and I was surprised since none of the three Bourbons even came from Kentucky. Needless to say, after sending him back to the bar to confirm, turned out he was wrong. Next, it took FAR too long to bring the appetizers and when they did, the Spring Rolls were very overdone. The main courses were average at best. A Manager came over later, knew we weren't happy and comped deserts. Nice try and appreciated but just too little, too late.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed out dining experience. The f ...

Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed out dining experience. The food was quite good if a bit mild on the seasoning. We had gumbo and the vegetarian curry. The server was attentive without been to present. We dined outside. The weather was lovely. We were close to the fountain which did seem a bit loud from the water.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!! High quality, wonderfu ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Love this place!! High quality, wonderful setting and John Shields' Chesapeake cookbook - awesome.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy, fresh delicious food.....great vi ...

Dined 6 days ago

Yummy, fresh delicious food.....great view great wait staff

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, attentive service, beaut ...

Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food, attentive service, beautiful ambiance. The indoor seating was loud, and therefore chose to eat outdoors. Server was friendly, knowledgable, helpful, and attentive. The food (Rockfish Imperial) was excellent. Vegetables were roasted to perfection. I requested rice as substitute for potato; they gave me rice pilaf, which was very delicately flavored suggesting that this was freshly spiced (not an off-the-shelf spice mix). The menu states which options are gluten free. It was a delightful experience from start to finish!

food2
ambience4
service5
value2

I've eaten at Gertrude's many times befo ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

I've eaten at Gertrude's many times before and invited a colleague from DC to join me there this past week. The seafood salad which, in the past, has been excellent, tasted as if it had been made a day or two before. The shrimp was not good--tasteless, actually, even though it seemed to have Bay seasoning on it. The lettuces were limp. It didn't even look attractive. I was a bit embarrassed. Perhaps it was a bad day but I'm not planning to return so quickly.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my daughter to celebrate her birthd ...

Dined 7 days ago

Took my daughter to celebrate her birthday..we both love Gertrudes..never disappoints

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing! They have wonderfu ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

The food was amazing! They have wonderful seafood options. I had the crab cake which was full of real crab. The vegetables were extremely flavorful. Delicious coffee and desserts.

food1
ambience2
service2
value2

A Caesar salad is not difficult to prepa ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

A Caesar salad is not difficult to prepare. But Gertrude's does not know how. Very disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for lunch with friends or when tak ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Great for lunch with friends or when taking my Advanced Placement high school seniors to the museum.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was at Johns Hopkins for the day and loo ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

Was at Johns Hopkins for the day and looked for a nice place not far away for a quick but elegant bite :) Stumbled onto Gertrude's and it was just perfect...I sat outside and food was just right, wine good and the service spot on.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Gertrude's was a treat! And a great valu ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Gertrude's was a treat! And a great value for the quality of the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It's a treat to come here. The staff is ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

It's a treat to come here. The staff is very attentive and gives excellent service. Take in the muse5um and come here for a drink or appetizers The sculpture garden can be enjoyed from seats on the veranda

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Gertrude's for a birthday brunch ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Went to Gertrude's for a birthday brunch and had a great experience. The service is good. Our server was attentive and experienced. The food is delicious and uniquely southern/eastern shore influenced. A great time had by all!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4

Always a quality meal in beautiful surro ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Always a quality meal in beautiful surroundings

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far the most delicious crabcakes in B ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

By far the most delicious crabcakes in Baltimore. I'm a native of Baltimore and have gone to all the locales famous for crabcakes. Gertrude's exceeded all my expectations. AND....the Oysters were delicious too. The sweetest and most tender I've had all year!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My companion and I ordered the same dish ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

My companion and I ordered the same dish -- the special Cambridge crabcake -- with different sauces. While my crabcake with its was delicious, it was, to my taste, a bit underdone, almost as though the chef may have been pressed for time to get orders out. I should have spoken up but didn't, so I'm just mentioning it here. The side Caesar salad was wonderful, as always, and so was the Gewürztraminer wine. I always enjoy Gertrude's, usually for brunch or lunch, and when special out-of-town friends visit and want a taste of the best Maryland/Chesapeake Bay cuisine, dinner. Weather and space permitting, the sculpture garden is always a wonderful place to eat.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Soft shell crab and the portobello crab ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Soft shell crab and the portobello crab imperial were delicious! Excellent service and nice evening overall.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

GERTRUDE'S IS A REAL FAVORITE OF OURS. ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

GERTRUDE'S IS A REAL FAVORITE OF OURS. WE HAD A WONDERFUL WEDDING THERE, AND REMAIN LOYAL PATRONS!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service2

great outdoor seating atmosphere. perfec ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

great outdoor seating atmosphere. perfect date night

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Very crowded with parties

Dined on June 8, 2016

We had an adequate lunch, but tables were squeezed together. Waiter never refilled water. Waiter very nice but overwhelmed. Very noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable dinner outside next to the gardens!

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Gertrude's is our go-to neighborhood gem for a delicious mid-week dinner. My husband and I both had crab; his stuffed in a portobello mushroom and mine pilled on top of a fillet of rock fish. Both entrees were delicious! It was a beautiful evening and we sat outside and admired the perfectly manicured gardens, filled with flowers overlooking the sculptures and water fountain. Gertrude's is a must if you are looking for Chesapeake Bay cuisine! Always consistently good...with wonderful food, service and atmosphere. Enjoy!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Review

Dined on June 7, 2016

Noise level was so high table conversation was almost impossible.

food2
ambience2
service3

Very average from decor to menu, was loo ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Very average from decor to menu, was looking forward to visiting the BM and Gertrude's for awhile. With the rise of museum restaurants, I expected more

food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, elegant setting

Dined on June 3, 2016

This is a good restaurant for a friend get-together or business lunch. The service was very good. And while the menu wasn't anything special, the food was prepared well. I thoroughly enjoyed it and wondered why it's taken me so long to get back to Gertrudes?

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff at Gertrude's made our graduat ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

The staff at Gertrude's made our graduation celebration so special from the delicious food, impeccable service, and the beautiful outside courtyard eating area. Will be coming back soon!

food4
ambience5
service3
value5

perfect way to enjoy the sculpture gardens

Dined on June 2, 2016

had a fine meal. My only criticism is that I would have liked to have known the market price of the fish I ordered.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely

Dined on June 2, 2016

Wonderful food and service...especially appreciated the vegan food items! Delicious!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a special treat

Dined on May 31, 2016

This was our third visit to Gertrude's so you know our first two were good. The décor is pleasing and comfortable and our waiter Joe gave just the right amount of attention. The food presentation and preparation show much thought went into both. I asked about the smoked salmon vodka bloody mary and Joe was happy to oblige. We took advantage of the $30 meal which included a salad, entrée and dessert. My spinach salad with the warm bacon dressing was so soothingly delicious and my 'first' bloody mary right on point. I opted for the pan fried trout over sundried tomato/goat cheese polenta. The polenta was creamy and savory. The fish was done perfectly. My husband opted for the seafood gumbo and after a shot of tabasco he was extremely pleased. My mistake was going for the second salmon/mary because my triple mini chocolate crème brulee and flourless chocolate cake were pushing it but they were oh so yummy I tried my best. Banana bread pudding made my husband's night. We love this place and look forward to more visits. Hopefully they will have the Key Lime pie again. My husband dreams about it from our last summer's visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Baltimore Restaurant

Dined on May 28, 2016

We live in Denver and come to Baltimore to visit our son. This is always on our list and actually is one of our favorites anywhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Beautiful location - great way to have a ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Beautiful location - great way to have a nice meal between the museum and the sculpture garden!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The sculpture garden and fountain added ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The sculpture garden and fountain added to the ambience along with the lighted outdoor tents. I enjoyed the pancetta and jumbo shrimp, and my husband enjoyed his crab imperial with portabella mushroom. They were seasoned well and not the imperial was not too wet. The grits were too cheesey for my taste but added butter and they were better.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would rate gertrudes as one of the bes ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

I would rate gertrudes as one of the best finds in md.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lunch with friends

Dined on May 26, 2016

Had a delightful lunch with good food and great service. Gertrude's is an upbeat restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Overpriced. Unnecessary hype.

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

The food is quite expensive for the quality and amount of it. The servers are really snobby and show different attitudes depending on the type of the customer - company CEO or secretary, for example.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have already e-mailed: Delightful ambien ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Have already e-mailed: Delightful ambience, good food, excellent service. What's not to like?

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Dinner around 6pm on a Wednesday sitting ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Dinner around 6pm on a Wednesday sitting next to the window. Could not ask for a better place to have a special dinner with my wife on our anniversary. Perfect resturaunt for having a conversation while you eat. Speaking of, we had the crab cake and the trout. Both dinners were some of the best food we have experienced. I highly recommend Gertrude's for a special dinner out experience. Oh, and I recommend the pink flamingo cocktail!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.