About Gerard's Restaurant Maui

174 Lahainaluna Rd
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Contemporary French Cuisine with a Hawaiian flair

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Hawaiian, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily 6:00pm-8:30pm

Cross Street:
Wainee

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 661-8939

Website:
http://gerardsmaui.com/cms/index.php?option=com_frontpage

Parking Details:
Gravel lot adjacent to restaurant. Come in at arrival and host will give you a ticket to put on your dashboard

Public Transit:
Bus stop behind Wharf shopping center (3 blocks away)

Executive Chef:
Gerard Reversade

Private Party Facilities:
Large groups welcome (up to 100 pax) with set menu Also, small private room for groups of 8 to 16 pax (with A la carte menu)

Private Party Contact:
Genevieve: 8086618939

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gerard's Restaurant Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Hawaii
Best Food
Hawaii
Romantic
Hawaii
8 More
Seafood
Hawaii
Best Overall
Maui
Best Food
Maui
Best Service
Maui
Best Value
Maui
Fit for Foodies
Maui
Romantic
Maui
Special Occasion
Maui
Best Restaurants in Lahaina ›

romantic (51)
special occasion (47)
fit for foodies (44)
See All
notable wine list (37)
great for outdoor dining (33)
neighborhood gem (21)
scenic view (5)
good for groups (4)
hot spot (4)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
547 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My family was on a special trip to celeb ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 2 days ago

My family was on a special trip to celebrate my mother's 60th birthday and we had the birthday dinner at Gerard's. We dined out on the veranda and the evening was all very lovely, but especially their service was excellent. Thank you so much for the great birthday dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

the only civilized restaurant in Maui, t ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

the only civilized restaurant in Maui, there is no better food ,other restaurants are glorified cafeteria in comparaison

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since Gerards is a French Restaurant, yo ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Since Gerards is a French Restaurant, you will get non-traditional selections that no one in the Lahina Maui area can offer (far as I know). Food was extraordinary!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservation weeks in advance, got a ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Made reservation weeks in advance, got a call about 3pm the day of our reservation wanting a credit card no to hold the reservation. Don't get it...they were not busy and was very rude to call day of wanting a charge cars no. Doesn't open table keep score of guest for a show up rating?

Servers were very nice and food was good, but for the price the last minute credit card requirement was rediculous (we've even been there before, although it's been a few years)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The best secret gem on an island full of ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The best secret gem on an island full of great restaurants. Superb all around.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gerard's is one of the only authentic Fr ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Gerard's is one of the only authentic French restaurants on Maui. They use fresh island ingredients paired with traditional French preparations. Simply fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, excellent food, excel ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent service, excellent food, excellent atmosphere. Only complaint was the wine corkage was too high. Highest in the area($35).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We only found this place because we had ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We only found this place because we had a discount for it from the hotel we were staying at. It was amazing and the food is to die for! If you're looking for a high quality meal, this is the place to go. Everyone was so friendly and this helped put my experience over the top!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All around excellent.

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

All around excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food ranged from byondbelifexcellent to ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food ranged from byondbelifexcellent to disappointing. Shitakes in pastry appetizer was big enough to share and wonderful. Lobster bisque, kind of a staple for a French restaurant, was disappointing - tasted fishy! Sweetbreads were perfect; as good as I've ever tasted anywhere anytime. Rack of lamb tasted charred; the crust was not complimentary and the most overpowered everything. Chocolate mousse was different. Not to my tasted but some would love it. Wine list was heavily French and, IMHO, over priced for the California cabs. Very glad we dined there but not likely to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was great and attentive. The fo ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Service was great and attentive. The food wasn't quite the same since the last time we were there (January 2015). Will go again but will order different items.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Step onto the veranda and you seemingly ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Step onto the veranda and you seemingly step back in time to an age of Island elegance. From the presentation to the magnificent fusion of Island and fine French flavors, the food was world class. The wide selection of wines allowed us to find a delightful Burgundy that was a perfect compliment to our meals. Without hesitation, I would trade both the meals we had at Spago and at Morimoto's for just one more dining experience at Gerard's.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While there many choices for food in Mau ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

While there many choices for food in Maui , this place stands out amungst them all.great atmosphere on the porch, outstanding service and tasty food. Nice wine selection, good portion sizes. My only wish was I wish it had fresh bread and oil. We always hit this place while in Maui. It's a bit pricy but always have enjoyed the food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I chose to try Gerard's f ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

My husband and I chose to try Gerard's for our 20th anniversary and we're glad we did. The food at Gerard's was outstanding. The filet mignon was the most flavorful, tender and delicious steak I've ever had. The service was attentive but not over- bearing. My only complaint was that the patio-style chairs and tables were not that comfortable. But the amazing food and romantic atmosphere definitely made the dinner a great success.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Mediocre at best, and definitely not wor ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Mediocre at best, and definitely not worth the money. While the food was good, I'd need something to be more than "good" for their prices. The portion sizes are abysmal. And if you offer someone a "champagne toast" for a special occasion, give them a heads up that you're still going to charge $40 for it. They'll assume it's complimentary.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The above section of "recommend" is not ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The above section of "recommend" is not "conducive" to FINE DINING. The atmosphere, service, scenic view, and all the others are all part of making GERARD'S the important aspect of the restaurants star attraction ......THE FANTASTIC FOODS, and the presentation of same. Having known Gerard for more than 34 year I would recommend this wonderful place to anyone and everyone at any time.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful evening! Tonight was s ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

What a wonderful evening! Tonight was such a special evening and the wonderful staff at Gerard's made it even better. Their fish specials for the day was absolutely amazing. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting to make a special evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and a great spot for a specia ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food and a great spot for a special occasion. No Maui view but a quiet setting away from the Lahaina crowds.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

If you want a classic and intimate dinin ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

If you want a classic and intimate dining experience this is the place. With the best food on the island and impeccable service. Great wine list as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Classically trained chef. Good, friendly ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Classically trained chef. Good, friendly service. Worth the drive from the resorts...offers a counterpoint to Wailea/Kapalua restaurants...while the price is similar, here you know it's all for the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The best food on Maui! Always an elegant ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The best food on Maui! Always an elegant treat! The fresh fish specials are amazing! And the duck and rack of lamb are unsurpassed! Save room for dessert, too. Lovely experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Each time we eat there food and service are the tops

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience, come from m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Excellent dining experience, come from mainland once per year and food is always fantastic, one of two best places to get Foie Gras o Maui

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Dining Experience!

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

I have sent many brides to Gerard's for their wedding dinners as a wedding coordinator. They have come back with raves each time so when it was my anniversary I wanted to go to Gerard's as well. Since it was up high on a pedestal for me I was afraid I might be let down a bit. NOT at all - in fact, the pedestal wasn't tall enough! This is a wonderful, romantic restaurant with food that is some of the best in Maui. The service was incredible. There was nothing you can ask for that you didn't receive instantly. You can take your time enjoying each course as there is no rush even when it was time to close and we were still there having a great time! Highly recommend a dinner at Gerard's in Lahaina when you are in Maui.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined twice in two weeks at Geraurds. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We dined twice in two weeks at Geraurds.

Everytime we return to Maui this is a must do dining experience. Fresh food, cooked magnificently and served elegantly. Freshest seafood dishes and the best beef, lamb and sweetbreads!! My husbands favorite. The wine list also has some awesome choices. I can't say enough good things about this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quiet neighborhood setting for an upscal ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Quiet neighborhood setting for an upscale restaurant; the type of place for a great meal; classified as French, but great seafood and meat dishes. Overall, very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food - need some training in t ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Excellent food - need some training in the service area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Very good but expensive. Salad & desert ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Very good but expensive. Salad & desert were just ok, but fish was excellent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We dine at Gerard's whenever we are in M ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We dine at Gerard's whenever we are in Maui. The porch setting is so nice. The food is always incredible. Excellent bar and wine list. Not just dinner, but a pleasurable experience. Sit, relax and enjoy the ambiance, and the chef's creativity.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gerard's was my favorite restaurant in M ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Gerard's was my favorite restaurant in Maui. My husband & I had the Shrimp Bisque soup, which was the best I've ever had. For my main meal I had the Grilled Hawaiian Rancher Filet of Beef (could cut with a fork) & my husband had the Scallops au gratin. Both were delicious. For dessert we shared the Creme Caramel Opera. I would definitely recommend going to Gerard's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Mother's Day celebration! Even wi ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Great Mother's Day celebration! Even with a 9 month old! Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unexpected awesomeness

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We randomly decided upon this place based on a cursory viewing of some reviews online, but our experience was so much better than what we expected. The plating of the food by no means modern, but that wasnt a bad thing at all. The food was extremely well executed, with great and well balanced flavors. It was one of those experiences that reminds one why classics are so great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love to go here for an "occasion" or ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

We love to go here for an "occasion" or just a good dinner, as it is always dependably delicious, comfortable and relaxing. The only dilemma is that when you select one dish, you cannot have the others, and it is so hard to make that choice. My scallops were sweet and fresh, perfectly cooked with a sauce that complemented them exactly. I felt guilty finishing it all. Yummy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazingly knowledgeable staff, must go!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

We go there every year and are pleasantly surprised every year! Fantastic food, great wine list, amazing service, nothing to complain about! The building is old and adds a great romantic atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Experience

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

John waited on us, he was superb, he new the menu quite well and he was fun and upbeat, thanks John...The food was amazingly good and fresh. The ahi was delightfully fresh and just lead into the perfect meal, and desert.... It is by far the best restaurant in all of Maui. I have been to Spago's MaMa's Japango's so many of the top end and they don't even compare , it is a one of a kind place, and I had so much fun I went back the following evening and had another spectacular dish. Just go you will not be disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing birthday experience

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

It was my brothers 21st birthday and he had an amazing experience. The service was great and they made sure to make my brother feel special on his birthday. The food is pricey but it is well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Memorable Dining

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Tables on the wide porch to take advantage of the breeze; attentive service; fabulous food; great wine list. Second only to Mama's. A must for us every year.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Fabulous food and a terrific wine list. A bit noisy for a place that has this quality food. Easily a candidate for best food in all Hawaii. Not inexpensive, but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

An oasis of flavor

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

What a departure from the typical restaurants in Lahaina. Gerard's offers a unique and varied menu of delectable courses that combine classical french cooking with the bounty of the islands, as well as an extensive offering of wines. Highly recommend this treasure tucked into an historic inn; we will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been to Maui over 30 times and just neve ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Been to Maui over 30 times and just never made to Gerard's - so glad we finally did! Lovely location - wonderful service. Good wine list and wonderful food. Had the foie salad - the pineapple relish was amazing and wish there had been more in the plate. Wanted to order the sweetbreads, but unfortunately chef didn't have any...a reason to return -- as well as to try the venison which is also dependent on it being available from a hunter...so we had the fish special and the snapper on the menu. Both were wonderful - and very big portions (not typical of French restaurants). Two different desserts - rocky road (which we thought the better of the 2) and the choux - which were great but the 3 flavored of ice cream and sauces in the rocky road won out! Looking forward to returning in September!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.