Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Gerard's Restaurant Maui

Contemporary French Cuisine with a Hawaiian flair

174 Lahainaluna Rd
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Hawaiian, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Daily 5:30pm-7:30pm

Cross Street:
Wainee

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 661-8939

Website:
http://gerardsmaui.com/cms/index.php?option=com_frontpage

Parking Details:
Gravel lot adjacent to restaurant. Come in at arrival and host will give you a ticket to put on your dashboard

Public Transit:
Bus stop behind Wharf shopping center (3 blocks away)

Executive Chef:
Gerard Reversade

Private Party Facilities:
Large groups welcome (up to 100 pax) with set menu

Also, small private room for groups of 8 to 16 pax (with A la carte menu)

Private Party Contact:
Genevieve: (808) 661-8939

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gerard's Restaurant Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (36)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Good for a Date (33)
See All
Special Occasion (32)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Local Ingredients (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Cozy (17)
Worth the Drive (14)
Historic (14)
Authentic (12)
Business Meals (6)
Private Room (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Casual (5)
Fun (5)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
People Watching (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
737 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Gerard's is the best restaurant on the island for food. It may not have the ocean view or phenomenal hotel accommodations, but for food quality and flavor, it can't be beat. Gerard's has been on the island for 35 years, so they must be doing something right.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic special restaurant. Great service, wonderful chef. A+++++*

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We love Gerard's and dine there occasionally as we live on Maui and like to go to Lahaina. We especially love staying at the Plantation Inn where it is located.
This time for Father's Day it just wasn't great. In particular the foie gras liver dish was unconventional and lacked much flavor. The rest was good but unmemorable except the mushroom appetizer

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Another quality dining experience. Service, wine, food exceptional. Pure enjoyment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Service and food was very good. Wait staff was attentive. The food was prepared to our specifications (filet medium well done) and prices were not astronomical.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Excellent food, awesome people.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Consistently one of Maui's best dining experiences. Expensive;but worth every penny. This is a definite repeat each time we visit Maui.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Gerards is a gem of a restaurant. The food we all chose was the daily fish special and was delicious. Service was excellent - friendly, accurate, and prompt. The waiter, Scott, was helpful with menu choices. The southern plantation ambiance is charming and all employees were cordial. We were able to dine on the porch on a beautiful evening. The French martini cocktail was superb.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We just cannot stop coming back! Another amazing experience, the food is so fresh and delicious, the service is like great, they are so knowledgeable and funny. You can tell they take pride in what they do.
We will be back for sure

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent service and all dishes superb. Excellent wine selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Absolutely loved this place. My wife and I came on our honeymoon. We were treated so kindly and the staff helped us handle what could've been a very awkward interaction with another guest with much professionalism. My wife and I felt like we were being served a culinary treat from friends in our own home. Such great service! And the food was incredible!! Lobster bisque and then our entrees (I got ono and my wife got fillet) were amazing. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The chilled cucumber soup was an inspiration! The desserts lovely delicately balanced flavors. The service was interactive and delightfully frothy.
Overall I could not reccomend them highly enough! The chef & staff were also very responsive to my food allergy needs.
Plan a solid two hours for the whole dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Lovely, classic and delicious. One of our favorites on Maui that we look forward to returning to each visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Quaint, plantation style building. We ate on the porch, open air. Food was great and good liquer selection.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We've been to Gerarards a few times and this place never disappoints. Flavors abound in both appetizers and dinners. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We came for an early dinner with our young children, ages 5,3 and 1. The servers were very accommodating and put in our kids' order first. Please note that they do not have the go-to kiddie cups or coloring page menus, so if you need that be sure to byob. We had a lovely dinner and some highlights included the mushroom appetizer as well as the snapper dumplings. The daily catches were delicious and the chocolate mousse was a great finish to our meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Sort of past it's prime. Recipes are dated even though the ingredients are fresh and good. Not the kind of preparations I come to Hawaii for. Pricey even by Lahaina standards.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our experience was absolutely fabulous from A-Z, we have dined here over a dozen of time and it never disappoints!! The food is the best on Maui and the service as well, great wine list as well and very affordable for the quality, thanks to Gerard and staff for the always great dinner experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants on Maui. Make sure to request a table on the porch. All four of us had great meals. The rack of lamb drew rave reviews from 2 dinner companions. And make sure to save room for dessert. The porch is cozy, and it seems we always wind up chatting with diners at adjacent tables, just adding to the charm. The menu remains consistent with our previous visits over the last 10 years.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Delightful French restaurant with local Hawaiian sourcing!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 27, 2017

As always in the past, Gerard's is a peak experience for dining. The chef himself is a charming man and a true artiste.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 26, 2017

One of the best meals I've had in Maui, and we've eaten at just about every top restaurant on the west side. It was great to have a true French meal with escargot, sweatbreads, and a millefeuille to finish it off.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We have always gotten an excellent meal here. This place is great !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Maui. The most creative cuisine and excellent service. Wine list to die for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We enjou fine dining French Faire at Gerards. Servers always great and food is wonderful! We enjoyed The Mahi, Papio, salad, Foie Gras. Best Foie Gras anywhere! The sauces on fish were excellent!
Only disappointing thing was the prices on wine list are very high for most wines. They do have a few affordables.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We've been coming here for years. This time we celebrated my wife's birthday. We started by splitting the mushroom puff pastry appetizer. Then we both had the Mahi special which was cooked to perfection. For dessert, my wife had the creme caramel and I had the chocolate cake. The cake was flour less but they use an almond flour that makes it lighter than most flourless cakes. It was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Gerard's is not a "grab-a-bite" place. Its location in an old plantation house sets the atmosphere of "old world" style, grace, elegance and service. We had a wonderful dinner of fresh fish and an all-around nice, nice dinning experience. I would highly recommend it, especially for important occasions but we are looking forward to returning more frequently just because we had such an enjoyable time there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Traditional fish preparation was amazing. Gerhard's Salad and cucumber soup were excellent as always.
Only disappointing food was the Rock Road Dessert. Caramel sauce was gritty. The ice cream was melting when it was served.
Our server seemed a little inexperienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Awesome. Been going there for 20 years when we are on Maui. Consistently good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Superb dining experience - France in the Tropics! Chilled Cucumber Soup + Tomato Mint sorbet was exquisite in both presentation and taste. Everything from service to selection was "parfait". Highly recommend - worth every penny!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Service was not good mostly ignored. Everything else was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 12, 2017

It was our last night in Maui and we wanted a memorable meal- we found it! The historic bed and breakfast inn was beautiful, the service was outstanding and the food was amazing! I was even lucky enough to meet the charming, refined and gracious chef. From the appetizers to the entree to dessert was truly a dining experience. We will definitely visit again!

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 10, 2017

As a French family from Alsace this is by far the best meal and experience we have had since the 2 years we have been living in the US. The service was excellent, and the food was absolutely perfect. We had foie gras first and then a local fish which was tasty and served with refined sides. You can go with closed eyes!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Since I have been a regular diner for many years , I don't know what more I can say about Gerard's. In my opinion, it is the best restaurant in Hawaii and one of the best in the US. The food is outstanding; service is excellent even with difficulty in finding fine dining help in Hawaii; and anyone who appreciates fabulous food, service and atmosphere will not be disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I have dined at least 125 times over the years and have never been disappointed. The food is outstanding and the service is excellent. Great for groups as well as couples.
When I was there on 3/31/17, the owners of Mama's Fish House in Paia were there entertaining a group of friends for Mrs. Mama's birthday. The group included their chef. If the owners of a fantastic restaurant like Mama' s entertain at GERARD'S it goes without saying it is a fabulous place to dine when you are on Maui

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This restaurant is located in The Plantation Inn B&B. Dining can be inside or on the veranda.
Very pleasant setting, with excellent food, locally sourced. Lovely presentation and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 29, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at Gerard's about a year ago and had a great meal, so we were anxious to return, this time with our family. I had raved to my family about the filet, so 5 out of our party of 6 ordered it. At that point the waitress informed us that the chef encourages variety at the table and would be displeased with our order. She encouraged some of us to order something else. When we all wanted to stick with our original order she said "well, I don't know how this is going to go with the chef". In the end, we were "allowed" to order 5 filets, but the exchange with the waitress was awkward and ruined our enjoyment of the meal and the rest of the experience. My husband and I both agree that we won't be going back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Gerard is one of the best restaurants in Maui. Their entrées are unique and delicious. The desserts are beyond amazing

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This place is such an incredible restaurant. It was my brother-in-laws birthday and my first visit to Gerard's. I got a chance to talk with Gerard about the food and was so impressed with the care, preparation and effort that goes into these complicated and absolutely delicious dishes. The food was awesome, service great and ambiance lovely. Recommend to anyone on island to check it out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Another amazing meal. Gerard is always a wonderful host. He came out to speak with all tables and made sure everyone is enjoying their meals. See you next year.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Casual, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Cozy, People Watching, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.