Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Gerard's Restaurant Maui

Contemporary French Cuisine with a Hawaiian flair

174 Lahainaluna Rd
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Hawaiian, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Daily 5:30pm-7:30pm

Cross Street:
Wainee

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 661-8939

Website:
http://gerardsmaui.com/cms/index.php?option=com_frontpage

Parking Details:
Gravel lot adjacent to restaurant. Come in at arrival and host will give you a ticket to put on your dashboard

Public Transit:
Bus stop behind Wharf shopping center (3 blocks away)

Executive Chef:
Gerard Reversade

Private Party Facilities:
Large groups welcome (up to 100 pax) with set menu

Also, small private room for groups of 8 to 16 pax (with A la carte menu)

Private Party Contact:
Genevieve: (808) 661-8939

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gerard's Restaurant Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (26)
Romantic (26)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Fit for Foodies (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Cozy (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Authentic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Historic (6)
Business Meals (5)
Fun (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Casual (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
760 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Gerard's is not cheap. In fact it is expensive.
That's the bad news...Otherwise, Gerard's served us food that excelled in quality and was generous in portions....not just by French Food standards, but by any standard.

The flavours and sauces were outstanding and truly creative. Those attributes are hard to find these days.

Service was tops with great explanation of preparation and ingredients.

For a special occasion or simply an outstanding meal, Gerard's is the place in a beautiful Plantation House on a quiet side street of otherwise touristic Lahaina.

Bill Stanley
Canada

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Lovely French food, excellent service, nice outdoor garden seating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Pricey but my husband said the steak was the best ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Fabulous meal always good. We've been coming here for over 15 years and Chef Gerard never disappoints. Best restaurant on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Gerard's used to be one of my favorite restaurants in Maui. The service was still good, but the food really missed its mark this time. The restaurant was fairly empty so there was no excuse for over cooking our fish. Both my husband and my fish was over cooked and bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Opakapaka preparations were excellent - fish was perfectly cooked and sauces did not overpower the delicate flavor. The kitchen willingly accommodated our desire to share the chilled cucumber soup, mushroom puff pastry and the ahi/salmon carpaccio first courses, separating when presentation would be best, providing share plates when the dish was better served on one plate. We enjoyed a relaxed, well-timed and very well-served meal with few distractions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Some of the best prepared fish fresh from local fishermen. All sauces prepared from scratch daily and so good. Great specials and wine list.
Staff is outstanding.

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Gerard's is amazing! The food preparations are so unique and delicious. We brought our whole family there and they loved as well. You can tell a lot of experience and love goes into his menu and food. I would highly recommend eating here. The staff is extremely professional and work as a team so that you have a 5 star dinner. The wine list is also extensive and unique. It's is truly authentic French cuisine 5 star dining.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Gerard's provided good seating, great dining and calm. It was nice to relax and be only steps away from the waterfront.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Always our favorite when we come to Maui from Seattle!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Best meal in years. From the service to the food. Creative, delicious and visually stimulating!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We very much enjoyed the food at Gerard's. Every dish was prepared and presented with perfection. Service was prompt and friendly. Interior is a bit out of date. Worth the drive to Lahaina.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My wife and I visited Gerard's during our honeymoon on Maui and we fell absolutely in love. The meal was amazing and the wait staff very attentive. When we finished the meal my wife looked at me and said, "I'm sad because I most likely will never eat here again." Throughout the remainder of our trip, we kept raving about our meal. Looks like we will need to revisit Maui just to eat at Gerard's.

Great meal. Great staff. Great restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great food, great service, great experience! I really appreciate when the value exceeds the price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Very good food service was good.we were seated outside very quite but the night we were there wad very hot.
Next time will go a little later after sunset..look forward to going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Gerard's was a great spot for a romantic meal -- service was top-notch, food was as well. Would absolutely go back -- everything we had was delicious and the portion sizes were generous too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Wonderful place! This is a favorite of ours! Great food, great service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We returned for a special dinner at Gerard's upon returning to Maui after a 5 year absence. It was still as good as we remembered it being. We were a little disappointed that they did not have their tasting menu option this visit, but we were told they were going to be starting that again within a week or so. The ambiance is so quaint. Ask for the patio. You will feel like you are dining on a plantation in the south. Overall just a lovely experience. Much better than some of the big name restaurants that have been on the island for a long time. Give it a try!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

French on Maui? But why?! Well, because it is awesome. While not cheap, this was a gem of our trip, amazing food and a good quiet location.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Gerard's is the best restaurant on the island for food. It may not have the ocean view or phenomenal hotel accommodations, but for food quality and flavor, it can't be beat. Gerard's has been on the island for 35 years, so they must be doing something right.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Fantastic special restaurant. Great service, wonderful chef. A+++++*

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We love Gerard's and dine there occasionally as we live on Maui and like to go to Lahaina. We especially love staying at the Plantation Inn where it is located.
This time for Father's Day it just wasn't great. In particular the foie gras liver dish was unconventional and lacked much flavor. The rest was good but unmemorable except the mushroom appetizer

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Tulsa)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great Atmosphere Veranda Dining Quite Dining Wonderful Menu

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Another quality dining experience. Service, wine, food exceptional. Pure enjoyment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Service and food was very good. Wait staff was attentive. The food was prepared to our specifications (filet medium well done) and prices were not astronomical.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We enjoyed a memorable evening and meal at Gerard's in Lahaina. The French restaurant puts a different spin on French classics like escargots which they add ham to, and foie gras which has a five spice crust which were very good. We also had the bisque with lobster dumplings and dinner was outstanding. This is a very romantic, quiet restaurant with exceptional service and is highly recommended for a special night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Excellent food, awesome people.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We were greeted warmly by John who seemed genuinely pleased to see us. Sat outside on the porch. Very nice ambience. Split the house salad as they are fairly large. Delicious! Had the special; Mahi mahi in a lemon caper brown butter sauce. Heavenly! Recommended it to the folks sitting across from us who loved it as well. Great bottle of Shafer Merlot and. Light fluffy napoleon pastry to finish it off.
Service was very attentive without being over done. John aka Juan was delightful, gracious and efficient.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The service was amazing! When I got up to go to the restroom they folded my napkin for my arrival back to the table. The food was amazing as well, well balanced, brought out the flavor of the fresh ingredients.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Consistently one of Maui's best dining experiences. Expensive;but worth every penny. This is a definite repeat each time we visit Maui.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Gerards is a gem of a restaurant. The food we all chose was the daily fish special and was delicious. Service was excellent - friendly, accurate, and prompt. The waiter, Scott, was helpful with menu choices. The southern plantation ambiance is charming and all employees were cordial. We were able to dine on the porch on a beautiful evening. The French martini cocktail was superb.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We just cannot stop coming back! Another amazing experience, the food is so fresh and delicious, the service is like great, they are so knowledgeable and funny. You can tell they take pride in what they do.
We will be back for sure

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Excellent service and all dishes superb. Excellent wine selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Absolutely loved this place. My wife and I came on our honeymoon. We were treated so kindly and the staff helped us handle what could've been a very awkward interaction with another guest with much professionalism. My wife and I felt like we were being served a culinary treat from friends in our own home. Such great service! And the food was incredible!! Lobster bisque and then our entrees (I got ono and my wife got fillet) were amazing. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The chilled cucumber soup was an inspiration! The desserts lovely delicately balanced flavors. The service was interactive and delightfully frothy.
Overall I could not reccomend them highly enough! The chef & staff were also very responsive to my food allergy needs.
Plan a solid two hours for the whole dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Lovely, classic and delicious. One of our favorites on Maui that we look forward to returning to each visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Quaint, plantation style building. We ate on the porch, open air. Food was great and good liquer selection.

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We've been to Gerarards a few times and this place never disappoints. Flavors abound in both appetizers and dinners. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We came for an early dinner with our young children, ages 5,3 and 1. The servers were very accommodating and put in our kids' order first. Please note that they do not have the go-to kiddie cups or coloring page menus, so if you need that be sure to byob. We had a lovely dinner and some highlights included the mushroom appetizer as well as the snapper dumplings. The daily catches were delicious and the chocolate mousse was a great finish to our meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Sort of past it's prime. Recipes are dated even though the ingredients are fresh and good. Not the kind of preparations I come to Hawaii for. Pricey even by Lahaina standards.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.