About Gerard's Restaurant Maui

174 Lahainaluna Rd
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Contemporary French Cuisine with a Hawaiian flair

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Hawaiian, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily 6:00pm-8:30pm

Cross Street:
Wainee

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 661-8939

Website:
http://gerardsmaui.com/cms/index.php?option=com_frontpage

Parking Details:
Gravel lot adjacent to restaurant. Come in at arrival and host will give you a ticket to put on your dashboard

Public Transit:
Bus stop behind Wharf shopping center (3 blocks away)

Executive Chef:
Gerard Reversade

Private Party Facilities:
Large groups welcome (up to 100 pax) with set menu Also, small private room for groups of 8 to 16 pax (with A la carte menu)

Private Party Contact:
Genevieve: (808) 661-8939

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gerard's Restaurant Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (33)
Special Occasion (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Good for a Date (23)
Authentic (22)
Notable Wine List (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Cozy (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Historic (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Family Style (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Casual (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Fun (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Scenic View (2)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
649 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Just a lovely place for a nice dinner, w ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Just a lovely place for a nice dinner, wonderful food

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our duck confit was dry, however, could ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Our duck confit was dry, however, could be result of being the last two available for evening. Our server was outstanding and the other dishes and salads were very tasty. Beautiful vintage decor.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Never disappoints and very French. Desse ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Never disappoints and very French. Desserts are fantastic

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It is a treasure on a side street with g ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

It is a treasure on a side street with great ambience,wonderful menu & great service.

While on Maui we try at least 3 times to drive from Makena to Lahania for a good dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

My wife and I have eaten at Gerard's sev ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I have eaten at Gerard's several times and have always enjoyed the food and the ambiance. This time I had the Catch of the Day, which was grey snapper, and my wife had the venison; both were excellent. The service was a bit slow because of a back up in the kitchen, but the end result was well worth the wait. We finished off the meal with Gerard's special coffee (the alcoholic version!) which was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Scallops cooked to perfection. Fish entr ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

Scallops cooked to perfection. Fish entree disappointed. Slightly overlooked and a bit dry even with the ginger/orange sauce

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was very mediocre and price was hig ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Food was very mediocre and price was high. Really, bread was actually terrible and for those prices I expected some extras from the chef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

We ate at Gerard's twice and both times ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We ate at Gerard's twice and both times the food was outstanding. Had the same waiter both nights so it was fun getting his recommendations. A causal romantic evening. Great wine list and outstanding food 🍷👍

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the old fine places to dine in La ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 14, 2017

One of the old fine places to dine in Lahaina. Excellent quality and service. Great fish dishes. A rare place in Lahaina where you can converse without lots of noise. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent cuisine, snapper dumplings are ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent cuisine, snapper dumplings are a must, veal chop with morel sauce and truffles was outstanding, the catch of the day was outstanding! Highly recommend it, pricey but worth it! Comparable to the best restaurants in NYC or Philadelphia.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always. Food and service exceed ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great as always. Food and service exceed expectations.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been traveling annually to Maui ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We have been traveling annually to Maui for many years now. We generally always stay on the West side of the island and visit the various restaurants in Lahaina, Kapalua, etc. Historically, Gerards has been one of our favorites. We liked it so much that we booked it twice for our week- long vacation there this year. Unfortunately, both of our trips there this year fell very short of our expectations.

On the positive side, the food was good. The local fish specials were really great, as were the various starters and salads offered on the menu. The real downer for us was the poor service we received. The first night was average, but our second trip was horrible. We arrived about 20 minutes early and asked if it would be ok to have a drink while we waited. We were told no problem and advised that our table was ready. We were quickly shoveled to an indoor table at the back of the restaurant which adjoined a vacant room where the wait staff hung out and ate/drank. I asked if we could possibly sit on the front porch, which is the main seating area. I was told NO because they were very full with reservations for the evening. I quickly responded that we made our reservation nearly 6 months ago but it fell on deaf ears. After being seated, we did not see nor speak to a waiter for about 15 - 20 minutes who did take our drink order. The service remained slow at best through the remainder of the night.

For the price paid there, I feel that the diner should expect better service and high quality food. For my money, the Lahiana Grill is a much better experience (and right across the street).

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Absolutely amazing food and service

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Absolutely amazing food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was very pleased with the service and th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Was very pleased with the service and the food. The inside definitely needs a renovation. But would go back for sure our portion sizes were great and the food was fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Our dinner at Gerard's rates as one of t ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Our dinner at Gerard's rates as one of the best we have had in our many visits to Maui. Our servers were knowledgable and friendly. We had the catch of the day and it was served with a delicious sauce as well as flavourful sides of a potato/carrot puree and baby spinach. Everything was seasoned to perfection and served hot. The profiteroles were a decadent finish for our meal. We were seated on the outdoor porch and although there is no ocean view it is surrounded by trees and plants so you feel like you are in a garden. A wonderful special meal!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gerard's was amazing! Authentic food you ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Gerard's was amazing! Authentic food you don't get to try everywhere. Our waiter made great suggestions and the food was so tasty from the appetizers to dessert including the wine.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was absolutely amazing! We love ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing! We loved it so much. Everything was so delicate and on point. The overall service was everything you could ask for. Will definitely come back in the future for special events!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is top drawer. Every thi ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This restaurant is top drawer. Every thing was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great service.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter John (Jon?) was/is a nice guy ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our waiter John (Jon?) was/is a nice guy - friendly & helpful. The escargot with creamed spinach was divine. Some of the best I've ever eaten. When it was served however, the woman who quickly brought it and left neglected to warn me that the dish was extremely hot. When I attempted to adjust it on the cold underplate I was burned bringing up a blister on my finger. Tut, tut. Gerard's has one of the best desert selections I've seen anywhere. The French are the best cooks in the world in my humble opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

On a scale of 1 to 10 Gerard's felt like ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 29, 2016

On a scale of 1 to 10 Gerard's felt like a 7 across the board. It was all really good, just not excellent. I didn't leave feeling like I had a memorable meal or service even after four courses with a bottle of Champagne and a bottle of red so I'm not likely to return considering the price. Not to say that the individual courses are overpriced but after all is said and done it adds up fast and I just didn't feel like it was worth it in it's sum as a whole, especially when there's a restaurant across the street from them that absolutely is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Very good. Fish was fantastic. I would r ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very good. Fish was fantastic. I would recommend for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was bland not at all how I remember ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was bland not at all how I remembered it. Gerard's salad nothing special. Special entree came with two types of potatoes... odd. Truly a waste of of money & the worse meal we've had on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Amazing dinner!!! Everything was extreme ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Amazing dinner!!! Everything was extremely tasty and well presented. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Me and my girlfriend had an awesome time - can't wait to go back! Thanks Chef Gerard and crew

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we have eaten at many fine restaurants, ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

we have eaten at many fine restaurants, but this meal was indeed memorable. The food was outstanding and creatively prepared. The service was friendly and attentive without being obtrusive. There is so much noise about some of the other fine dining options available in the Lahaina-Kapalua area, but Gerard's quietly outstrips them for ambience and quality of the meals. The quiet front porch is perfect for escaping the high energy of the beach crowd.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Maui's best!

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

One of Maui's best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Yummmmm. We love this restaurant - ever ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Yummmmm. We love this restaurant - everything about it. Each dish we tried from appetizers, salad, entree and dessert were so tasty. If I could prepare fish like that, I would stay home and eat.

Wonderful atmosphere and great service. We are going back in three days.

We have been here over the years for at least two decades and Gerard's stands the test of time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal and service our fav ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We had a great meal and service our fav restaurant in maui been many times

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You won't find another place like Gerard ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 13, 2016

You won't find another place like Gerard's on Maui. Outstanding food prepared and executed with perfection. Amazing combinations of ingredients to create well thought out dishes, you really can't go wrong with any of the choices here. From beginning to end your tastebuds will be taken on a culinary journey through classical French flavors/techniques with island hints.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friends and I went for an early holid ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My friends and I went for an early holiday meal and had a spectacular evening tucked onto Gerard's beautiful front porch on a very rainy Saturday night. We started with some wonderful rillet, and for entrées we had the Wild Boar stew with the best polenta that I've ever tasted, it was spectacular and a very generous portion. We also enjoyed the veal with a morel cream sauce, absolutely decadent. My favorite part was absolutely dessert. We got the most delicious rhubarb pie that was paired with the most delightful ginger ice cream, and this amazing pinapple tart with a lovely coconut ice cream, this is where all table manner were lost and we dug in like gleeful toddlers. If i had any recommendations, it would be to incorporate a craft cocktail menu, and maybe large ice cubes for your whiskeys, but it's understandable as it is an old school french restaurant . All in all i would definitely recommend this to anyone who enjoys great food made by people who love to make it, and I know I will be back very soon, especially for dessert!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Authentic, Family Style, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was excellent, food preparation a ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Dinner was excellent, food preparation and presentation outstanding, service perfect

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is getting old. Nice spot though

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food is getting old. Nice spot though

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Gerard's is by far the most memorable di ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Gerard's is by far the most memorable dinning experience I have had on the island. The ambiance and service was divine. The menu was perfectly put together and the pairings were excellent. I enjoyed every aspect of the meal from the appetizers to dessert. We will definitely return to Gerard's. I'm already looking forward to it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was so good the first time we had to ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 7, 2016

It was so good the first time we had to go back!

Food was amazing, the service was great. The ahi tartare is the best on Maui. We had the steak filet this time, cooked perfectly, and the sauce was phenomenal 😊.

Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The. Ardor potatoe purse wS my favorite ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The. Ardor potatoe purse wS my favorite part of dinner. The salad was a disappointment, but the appetizer... abi and taro chips,was great! Fish only ok

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner was exquisite. The red snapper wa ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Dinner was exquisite. The red snapper was truly the best fish I've ever had. The wine menu was excellent. On top of all of that, our waiter, Alex, was wonderful and very attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything about this restaurant is exce ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Everything about this restaurant is excellent except the overall vibe is very old-school and dated and it could use a little energy infusion. I'm not saying make it loud or crazy, but the decor is strictly 1985. The plantation theme is interesting, but you do feel more like you're in Key West than in Maui. Food wise, it is a great value compared to Lahaina Grill down the block. But, the latter has kept up with the times better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Tables on the lanai were very close toge ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Tables on the lanai were very close together. You could hear other conversations and it made having a conversation at your own table feel not as relaxed. Went inside to use the restroom and would've rather been in there. Inside tied the menu and concept together. Food was good, nice to try something different. Server was very nice and professional. Only odd part was when he tried to tell the special to two tables at one time. Perhaps only 2 tops on the lanai would be more comfortable for guests and employees. Good experience and glad we tried it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

By far the best meal I've had on Maui. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 2, 2016

By far the best meal I've had on Maui. Unbelievable! The lamb was cooked perfectly. I've dined around Hawaii and Gerard's continues to stand out above the rest. From the appetizers to the entree to the dessert, it is always an incredible experience.

My girlfriend had the pork tenderloin. After finishing my lamb I could have eaten hers as well it was so delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely ambience and fantastic service. U ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Lovely ambience and fantastic service. Unfortunately, food fell short. Ordered the lobster bisque, which turned out to be clarified fish stock and a few pieces of "fish cakes" and very fishy. Scallop entree came in good portion, but the scallops were completely over-cooked and chewy. Given that the restaurant was mostly empty with only 4 tables filled out of 10-15 tables... the food should have been impeccable with the price charged.

On the positive side, the old plantation ambience was really nice and the service was top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.