Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Gerard's Restaurant Maui

Contemporary French Cuisine with a Hawaiian flair

174 Lahainaluna Rd
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Hawaiian, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Daily 5:30pm-7:30pm

Cross Street:
Wainee

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 661-8939

Website:
http://gerardsmaui.com/cms/index.php?option=com_frontpage

Parking Details:
Gravel lot adjacent to restaurant. Come in at arrival and host will give you a ticket to put on your dashboard

Public Transit:
Bus stop behind Wharf shopping center (3 blocks away)

Executive Chef:
Gerard Reversade

Private Party Facilities:
Large groups welcome (up to 100 pax) with set menu

Also, small private room for groups of 8 to 16 pax (with A la carte menu)

Private Party Contact:
Genevieve: (808) 661-8939

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gerard's Restaurant Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (53)
Romantic (51)
Good for a Date (49)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Local Ingredients (36)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Authentic (30)
Notable Wine List (28)
Cozy (27)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Historic (19)
Private Room (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Fun (5)
Casual (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Business Meals (3)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
718 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

This is one of our favorite restaurants on Maui. Make sure to request a table on the porch. All four of us had great meals. The rack of lamb drew rave reviews from 2 dinner companions. And make sure to save room for dessert. The porch is cozy, and it seems we always wind up chatting with diners at adjacent tables, just adding to the charm. The menu remains consistent with our previous visits over the last 10 years.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

Delightful French restaurant with local Hawaiian sourcing!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

As always in the past, Gerard's is a peak experience for dining. The chef himself is a charming man and a true artiste.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

One of the best meals I've had in Maui, and we've eaten at just about every top restaurant on the west side. It was great to have a true French meal with escargot, sweatbreads, and a millefeuille to finish it off.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We have always gotten an excellent meal here. This place is great !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We enjou fine dining French Faire at Gerards. Servers always great and food is wonderful! We enjoyed The Mahi, Papio, salad, Foie Gras. Best Foie Gras anywhere! The sauces on fish were excellent!
Only disappointing thing was the prices on wine list are very high for most wines. They do have a few affordables.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We've been coming here for years. This time we celebrated my wife's birthday. We started by splitting the mushroom puff pastry appetizer. Then we both had the Mahi special which was cooked to perfection. For dessert, my wife had the creme caramel and I had the chocolate cake. The cake was flour less but they use an almond flour that makes it lighter than most flourless cakes. It was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Gerard's is not a "grab-a-bite" place. Its location in an old plantation house sets the atmosphere of "old world" style, grace, elegance and service. We had a wonderful dinner of fresh fish and an all-around nice, nice dinning experience. I would highly recommend it, especially for important occasions but we are looking forward to returning more frequently just because we had such an enjoyable time there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Traditional fish preparation was amazing. Gerhard's Salad and cucumber soup were excellent as always.
Only disappointing food was the Rock Road Dessert. Caramel sauce was gritty. The ice cream was melting when it was served.
Our server seemed a little inexperienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Awesome. Been going there for 20 years when we are on Maui. Consistently good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Superb dining experience - France in the Tropics! Chilled Cucumber Soup + Tomato Mint sorbet was exquisite in both presentation and taste. Everything from service to selection was "parfait". Highly recommend - worth every penny!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Service was not good mostly ignored. Everything else was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 12, 2017

It was our last night in Maui and we wanted a memorable meal- we found it! The historic bed and breakfast inn was beautiful, the service was outstanding and the food was amazing! I was even lucky enough to meet the charming, refined and gracious chef. From the appetizers to the entree to dessert was truly a dining experience. We will definitely visit again!

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 10, 2017

As a French family from Alsace this is by far the best meal and experience we have had since the 2 years we have been living in the US. The service was excellent, and the food was absolutely perfect. We had foie gras first and then a local fish which was tasty and served with refined sides. You can go with closed eyes!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Since I have been a regular diner for many years , I don't know what more I can say about Gerard's. In my opinion, it is the best restaurant in Hawaii and one of the best in the US. The food is outstanding; service is excellent even with difficulty in finding fine dining help in Hawaii; and anyone who appreciates fabulous food, service and atmosphere will not be disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I have dined at least 125 times over the years and have never been disappointed. The food is outstanding and the service is excellent. Great for groups as well as couples.
When I was there on 3/31/17, the owners of Mama's Fish House in Paia were there entertaining a group of friends for Mrs. Mama's birthday. The group included their chef. If the owners of a fantastic restaurant like Mama' s entertain at GERARD'S it goes without saying it is a fabulous place to dine when you are on Maui

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This restaurant is located in The Plantation Inn B&B. Dining can be inside or on the veranda.
Very pleasant setting, with excellent food, locally sourced. Lovely presentation and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 29, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at Gerard's about a year ago and had a great meal, so we were anxious to return, this time with our family. I had raved to my family about the filet, so 5 out of our party of 6 ordered it. At that point the waitress informed us that the chef encourages variety at the table and would be displeased with our order. She encouraged some of us to order something else. When we all wanted to stick with our original order she said "well, I don't know how this is going to go with the chef". In the end, we were "allowed" to order 5 filets, but the exchange with the waitress was awkward and ruined our enjoyment of the meal and the rest of the experience. My husband and I both agree that we won't be going back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Gerard is one of the best restaurants in Maui. Their entrées are unique and delicious. The desserts are beyond amazing

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This place is such an incredible restaurant. It was my brother-in-laws birthday and my first visit to Gerard's. I got a chance to talk with Gerard about the food and was so impressed with the care, preparation and effort that goes into these complicated and absolutely delicious dishes. The food was awesome, service great and ambiance lovely. Recommend to anyone on island to check it out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Another amazing meal. Gerard is always a wonderful host. He came out to speak with all tables and made sure everyone is enjoying their meals. See you next year.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Casual, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Cozy, People Watching, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Very enchanting setting. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We had a delicious evening. Food was fabulous and service was excellent. This was our second time at Gerard's and both times were memorable. We will return again I'm sure.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This is a quaint little restaurant on a side street in Lahaina. We have passed by it many times and ate their finally. Quite small-we had a table on the porch, but worth a try. We had a wonderful waitress and enjoyed some local fish. My wife had quail which she said was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent service and food. Definitely more of a fine dining experience. My girlfriend commented the fish was the best she's ever eaten. The quail dish I had was also excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Our daughter and her husband ate here when they were in Maui and it was her favorite restaurant so she said we had to eat here. Gerard's did not disappoint . The employees were all very friendly and yet very professional. The food was excellent with beautiful presentation. Thoroughly enjoyed it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Thought the prices were extremely high. I had venison which was delicious but not $56.00 delicious. Others had pork tendolin and steak. Service was excellent. Just felt pricey compared to other places we have eaten in Lahaina

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Everything was amazing during our visit. We got in early and were welcomed and they took care of getting us cocktails. Appetizers were wonderful and the main courses were as well. Wine selection is extensive and they have some especially yummy ports for desert. A completely wonderful experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This is a lovely restaurant with delis food. The menu is limited but excellent. The wine list is also excellent. Their service changes often so sometimes the servers are a bit inexperienced. The porch is a great dining spot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

When in Lahaina, Maui there is no better place to dine than Gerard's. The food is superb and the service is always top notch. The menu is somewhat limited to the specials of the day and a few dishes that are always served but whatever you order you won't be sorry. Sit outside on the patio for a fun night of gourmet dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We've lived on Maui for 10 years. I can't believe We just trying this place for the first time, it was absolutely wonderful! For appetizers we had The mushroom pastry puff, shrimp pasta & the Ahi Tartar they were all absolutely delicious! For the main course we highly recommend the Bacon wrapped pork tenderloin it was absolutely amazing & the local snapper was a nice light very delightful choice as well! We will definitely be back! Definitely worth the drive from Kihei!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Fabulous food. The mushroom en croute appetizer was to die for, the Spinach Salad with Scallops was just as good, and the Mahi Mahi special could not have been better. Sitting out on the front porch and meeting the owner and chef was special and Scott took great care of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We happened to stumble across this restaurant and the food and service exceeded our expectations! We would definitely recommend Gerard's to our family and friends. We can't wait for our next visit to this amazing fine dining restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Took my mom and sister here for dinner one night. One of the best meals I've had in my life. Aside from attentive and amazing service, the escargot, lamb, homemade pasta and desserts were to die for. Well worth the money and won't celebrate special occasions anywhere else. The owner even made sure we were taken care of. Impressive and delicious experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Food as always outstanding. Had new waiter so service was a little erratic but he was friendly and helpful. He will likely be very good when he learns the system. L look forward to my next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Everything we had was very good! Lots of french wines available. The wines are pricey, but inline with many higher end restaurants.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 24, 2017

It was a lovely day venting. We appreciated getting a table with a late reservation. The only downside was the lack of a vegetarian option, although I got by. Very expensive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 22, 2017

food was very good, but menu was a little bit limited. Pricey but worth it. Lobster bisque very good, Pork tenderloins good value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on February 21, 2017

4 thumbs up experience (given that it was just two of us)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Gerard's provided the best meal and service my husband and I have experienced in a year. From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, we were treated as special guests. The waiter explained menu choices and helped us with our wine selection. The food was EXCELLENT! I would highly recommend Gerard's.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.