Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Gerard's Restaurant Maui

Contemporary French Cuisine with a Hawaiian flair

174 Lahainaluna Rd
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Hawaiian, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Daily 5:30pm-7:30pm

Cross Street:
Wainee

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 661-8939

Website:
http://gerardsmaui.com/cms/index.php?option=com_frontpage

Parking Details:
Gravel lot adjacent to restaurant. Come in at arrival and host will give you a ticket to put on your dashboard

Public Transit:
Bus stop behind Wharf shopping center (3 blocks away)

Executive Chef:
Gerard Reversade

Private Party Facilities:
Large groups welcome (up to 100 pax) with set menu

Also, small private room for groups of 8 to 16 pax (with A la carte menu)

Private Party Contact:
Genevieve: (808) 661-8939

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gerard's Restaurant Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (29)
Special Occasion (28)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Notable Wine List (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Cozy (12)
Authentic (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fun (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Business Meals (3)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Waterfront (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
786 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined 4 days ago

This was out 4th time dining at Gerard's for my birthday and was also out worst. The food was very good, my better half had the lamb chops and I had the Mahi Mahi special. What was awkward was that we believe that we were seated at another couples table who requested it specifically. We both had reservations, but maybe they got us confused. When first seated we asked for some ice water first, but our cocktails arrived prior to the water. Unfortunately there was also an unhappy child screaming across the room at another family table. We can understand how this can happen, but we had three different servers, one seated us, one explained the specials except for the veal chop that was explained to another table and the third came and took our order and wanted to know if we knew about the specials. Anyway food was good, service seemed very disorganized, and the restaurant wasn't that crowded, less than the previous times. So not sure that we'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and atmosphere. My wife and I have not had a meal that good in a long time. Thanks for the great evening at Gerard's.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food.....we all four shared to taste each dish and every one was wonderful. Would highly recommend. A little pricey with drinks, but great for a special occasion and definitely worth it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 5 days ago

First ate at Gerard’s abt 20 years ago.. looked forward to eating here again and was not disappointed... Mahi and Porkloin were exceptional.. great meal..

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 10, 2017

The best dinner on the island. Excellent food and excellent service. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Our third time. Service, ambiance, decor and most importantly food was absolutely outstanding. Obvious also that Gerard takes much pride in presentation. Just beautiful and appetizing. Escargots presented a little differently but delicious. And oh that garlic sauce. The reduction on the scallops was delightful if just a little on the salty side. ( but I would have it again). Fish special was a Snapper style light fish absolutely most delicious. All in all a special treat. We are in Lahaina for two weeks and will in all probability be back

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Absolutely fantastic as usual! The Chef is excellent as very friendly, the service was superb and their wine list is very well fitted for winos! No doubt best restaurant on Maui! We will be back for sure!
Thank you Chef and team

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Gerard's is on a very short list of "go to" restaurants on Maui for special dining. We live on Maui, know the options, and always come away pleased. The food is exceptional in its preparation and presentation. Unique. The service was exceptional, even better than the norm for Gerards - very engaging staff from check in through "good-byes" by all; no pretentiousness; not showmanship - just knowledgeable, attentive, sincere wait staff. The veranda is a beautiful, restful and quiet location for dining by Lahaina (or Kaanapali, or Wailea) standards. Not cheap (but not nearly as pricey as many of the best restaurants elsewhere on island. Highly recommended - try the cucumber soup with goat cheese and tomato sorbet, the baked snapper (opakapaka seems to be available at Gerard's when it is hit and miss elsewhere), and literally any of the desserts, all of which are quite good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Every thing was wonderful. From the food, to the service to the ambience. They have a very have standard for how things should be and they hit it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Très bon restaurant qui propose des plats travaillés et bons. Le service est agréable. Le meilleur restaurant de notre séjour tout simplement.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 27, 2017

We were here over 20 years ago and wanted to try it again on our visit to Maui. Food was excellent. We both had fish and split a sorrel dumpling appetizer. That was so good I wanted to lick the plate. But since my mother would be horrified if she heard about it, good manners prevailed.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 27, 2017

The occasion was a date with my wife. The food was fantastic and service superb. It was quite expensive, but to my mind worth it cost.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Amazingly delicious!! The seared foie Gras melted in your mouth. The sauce on the scallops was godly. Excellent service wonderful atmosphere ❤️ Merci beaucoup!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Everything at this restaurant was wonderful. We were pleasantly surprised. Our first visit.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Gerard’s is always a must when we visit Maui ever year. The ambiance, service, but most of all the food is spectacular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Disappointing- I've been coming to this restaurant for years and normally it is fantastic-the ambience, the food, the service...

The food was terrific...the seared foie gras is amazing. The fish was very good and the pork was melt in your mouth delicious

The problem was the service. At a high end restaurant, I expect high end service. Our waiter was better suited for The Cheesecake Factory.

I'm hoping this was an 'off' night and I'll give it another try

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Classic French Cuisine with a Hawaiian touch makes this restaurant one of the most consistently best restaurants on Maui. Great wine list, French based of course, yet some really great, though limited selections of west coast choices. I am very well versed in California wines; but know very little of the French selections, of which there are many, so I stayed with a nice Silverado Cab-delicious and perfectly mature. We started with the mushroom pastry and the Ahi Tartar with taro chips, which we swapped plates at the halfway mark. Both were excellent choices, equally deserving of praise. We then ordered the Rack of Lamb with the mint sauce on the side. The portions are huge, so we split one order and still had more than enough to go around. The Lamb was perfectly prepared and was accompanied by an Eggplant and vegetable mix bowl with goat cheese. Too full to order any of the delicious desserts, though the 3 French selections sounded delicious (if they would have had the rhubarb pastry we would have been unable to pass) we called it a night. Wonderful experience, great service and though expensive, great bang for the buck.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

I brought my niece to Gerard's for her 26th birthday. EVERYTHING was excellent! The food was beautifully prepared and presented authentic French, the service was perfect and the setting was classic. To top it off Gerard was a gracious and fully present host in the old school, you don't see anymore way. Will be back soon and often.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Unfortunately, we found Gerard's to be disappointing. While the historical restaurant and porch on which we were seated was lovely, the food was very disappointing. Our orders - the snapper and a mahi mahi special with a lobster mousse - featured awkward flavor combinations, poor presentation, and were heavily salted. The overall service and drinks were fine, but the meal did not meet expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 6, 2017

lOVELY atmosphere in old Inn. Mushroom and foi gras appetizers a must. Great Lamb Rack every year stands out as does my wife's Venison.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Elegant outdoor dining but comes at a price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Awesome food & service. Ambiance was very nice. Romantic and quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Absolutely fabulous... Gerard in the kitchen & running his perfectly controlled ship. Aappetizers: had both mushrooms in puff pastry & shrimp with housemade pasta. Perfect to share. Rich, creamy & so tasty. Monchong was day catch & Chef's preparation a compliment to the mellow flavor. Gerard deserves all of the accolades & awards of excellence he has received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Excellent dinner. Service was outstanding and the food was exceptional. Best restaurant we found in our one week trip to Maui

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 24, 2017

kobe was amazing - the chef here is definitely one of the most talented on the island - service here is always premium - food here bar none - for what this restaurant offers, they don't hurt the wallet as much as some other restaurants that have the same value in both food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Gerard's is not cheap. In fact it is expensive.
That's the bad news...Otherwise, Gerard's served us food that excelled in quality and was generous in portions....not just by French Food standards, but by any standard.

The flavours and sauces were outstanding and truly creative. Those attributes are hard to find these days.

Service was tops with great explanation of preparation and ingredients.

For a special occasion or simply an outstanding meal, Gerard's is the place in a beautiful Plantation House on a quiet side street of otherwise touristic Lahaina.

Bill Stanley
Canada

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We visited for my wife's 70th birthday. The food was wonderful and the service was very good. We sat on the porch and while it had great ambience, because of the lack of breeze, it was somewhat uncomfortable. Probably wouldn't sit outside again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Lovely French food, excellent service, nice outdoor garden seating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Pricey but my husband said the steak was the best ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Fabulous meal always good. We've been coming here for over 15 years and Chef Gerard never disappoints. Best restaurant on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Gerard's used to be one of my favorite restaurants in Maui. The service was still good, but the food really missed its mark this time. The restaurant was fairly empty so there was no excuse for over cooking our fish. Both my husband and my fish was over cooked and bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Opakapaka preparations were excellent - fish was perfectly cooked and sauces did not overpower the delicate flavor. The kitchen willingly accommodated our desire to share the chilled cucumber soup, mushroom puff pastry and the ahi/salmon carpaccio first courses, separating when presentation would be best, providing share plates when the dish was better served on one plate. We enjoyed a relaxed, well-timed and very well-served meal with few distractions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Some of the best prepared fish fresh from local fishermen. All sauces prepared from scratch daily and so good. Great specials and wine list.
Staff is outstanding.

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Gerard's is amazing! The food preparations are so unique and delicious. We brought our whole family there and they loved as well. You can tell a lot of experience and love goes into his menu and food. I would highly recommend eating here. The staff is extremely professional and work as a team so that you have a 5 star dinner. The wine list is also extensive and unique. It's is truly authentic French cuisine 5 star dining.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Gerard's provided good seating, great dining and calm. It was nice to relax and be only steps away from the waterfront.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Always our favorite when we come to Maui from Seattle!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Best meal in years. From the service to the food. Creative, delicious and visually stimulating!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We very much enjoyed the food at Gerard's. Every dish was prepared and presented with perfection. Service was prompt and friendly. Interior is a bit out of date. Worth the drive to Lahaina.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My wife and I visited Gerard's during our honeymoon on Maui and we fell absolutely in love. The meal was amazing and the wait staff very attentive. When we finished the meal my wife looked at me and said, "I'm sad because I most likely will never eat here again." Throughout the remainder of our trip, we kept raving about our meal. Looks like we will need to revisit Maui just to eat at Gerard's.

Great meal. Great staff. Great restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great food, great service, great experience! I really appreciate when the value exceeds the price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.