About Gerard's Restaurant Maui

174 Lahainaluna Rd
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Contemporary French Cuisine with a Hawaiian flair

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Hawaiian, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily 6:00pm-8:30pm

Cross Street:
Wainee

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 661-8939

Website:
http://gerardsmaui.com/cms/index.php?option=com_frontpage

Parking Details:
Gravel lot adjacent to restaurant. Come in at arrival and host will give you a ticket to put on your dashboard

Public Transit:
Bus stop behind Wharf shopping center (3 blocks away)

Executive Chef:
Gerard Reversade

Private Party Facilities:
Large groups welcome (up to 100 pax) with set menu Also, small private room for groups of 8 to 16 pax (with A la carte menu)

Private Party Contact:
Genevieve: 8086618939

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gerard's Restaurant Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Hawaii
Seafood
Hawaii
Best Overall
Maui
4 More
Best Food
Maui
Best Service
Maui
Best Ambiance
Maui
Best Value
Maui
Best Restaurants in Lahaina ›

Romantic (32)
Special Occasion (30)
Quiet Conversation (25)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Authentic (12)
Cozy (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Historic (9)
Worth the Drive (7)
Outstanding Value (4)
Casual (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Business Meals (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Music (1)
Scenic View (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
603 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything about this restaurant is exce ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything about this restaurant is excellent except the overall vibe is very old-school and dated and it could use a little energy infusion. I'm not saying make it loud or crazy, but the decor is strictly 1985. The plantation theme is interesting, but you do feel more like you're in Key West than in Maui. Food wise, it is a great value compared to Lahaina Grill down the block. But, the latter has kept up with the times better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Tables on the lanai were very close toge ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Tables on the lanai were very close together. You could hear other conversations and it made having a conversation at your own table feel not as relaxed. Went inside to use the restroom and would've rather been in there. Inside tied the menu and concept together. Food was good, nice to try something different. Server was very nice and professional. Only odd part was when he tried to tell the special to two tables at one time. Perhaps only 2 tops on the lanai would be more comfortable for guests and employees. Good experience and glad we tried it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

By far the best meal I've had on Maui. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

By far the best meal I've had on Maui. Unbelievable! The lamb was cooked perfectly. I've dined around Hawaii and Gerard's continues to stand out above the rest. From the appetizers to the entree to the dessert, it is always an incredible experience.

My girlfriend had the pork tenderloin. After finishing my lamb I could have eaten hers as well it was so delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time dining here and ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was our first time dining here and we are sure that it will be our annual event!

The old plantation decor by itself is worth stepping in. The lighting and noise level were just right. When we got there, it was early and we were lucky that Gerard himself greeted us and welcomed us to take a table

We studied the menu beforehand so we knew what we wanted but the special of the day sounded great too.

The famous snapper was fantastic as expected, my pork was juicy and tasty, and the ice cream puff with chocolate sauce was out of this world!!!

We highly recommend Gerard's as your special occasions but it is casual and relaxing enough for any occasions. For this quality, the price is a good deal.

If you can, make an early hour reservation since on that night, they only had 2 servings of snapper (this depends on the day's catch and other dish that requires use of the fish. We got ours at 6:15 or so.

We are looking forward to our next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant for special occasio ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent restaurant for special occasions. The fIsh is fresh and delicately prepared. The regular menu choices are also prepared with same quality. Each bite melts in your mouth. The service is informative, attentive and cordial. We savor this restaurant as one of our favorite restaurants in the world.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the best meal from start to finis ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 18, 2016

It was the best meal from start to finish that we have ever had . Every course delicious and amazing . The atmosphere lovely and enchanting . We felt like we were on a plantation at the turn of the century . Would highly recommend it and will definitely return again !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful ambience, food and wine! The ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Wonderful ambience, food and wine! The service was friendly and good. We always enjoy coming the Gerard's when we're visiting Maui.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food, service and atmosphere ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Outstanding food, service and atmosphere, best restaurant on the Island

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had many outstanding meals on Maui bu ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had many outstanding meals on Maui but this was our favorite! Intimate seating on the big front porch, you couldn't ask for a better setting for our first night on the island. Bonnie, our server, was attentive and oh so tolerant of our jet lagged giddiness. The food was excellent, with a beautiful presentation. An "absolute must" if you are dining in Lahaina.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Gerard's for three ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We have been going to Gerard's for three decades and they have always been great. The food is the real star but the service is very good and the wine list is outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was not our first time at Gerard's ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This was not our first time at Gerard's and once again the whole experience did not disappoint! From our gracious waiter, to our incredible appetizers (the foie gras!!!!) to our seafood entrees, it was all incredibly flavorful and beautifully prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, service attentiv ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was delicious, service attentive, background music enjoyable. We were sitting on the veranda, the weather was perfect, a romantic evening.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, preparation and presen ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Outstanding food, preparation and presentation, but very expensive. Romantic and great for a special occasion. NOT a typical Hawaiian tourist restaurant, this is a class upscale dining establishment in a historic house. The wine list is above average, though classed as a "Wine Spectator Award List" it isn't that impressive and the prices tend to be high for the caliber of wine list, the least expensive wine costing around $65. Though a French restaurant, the French wines featured are limited, there weren't any Chinon, Loire, etc wines on the list. The corkage fee is $35. Though not an every day dining place, this is the best upscale restaurant in the Lahaina area and reservations are highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Knowledgeable, friendly server. Food was ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Knowledgeable, friendly server. Food was well prepared and visually appealing. Had the Pork Tenderloin and it was flavorful and tender. A wonderful dining experience if you're looking for an upscale meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have a renewed appreciation for Gerard ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I have a renewed appreciation for Gerard's. I don't exactly know why I have not been back here for such a long time but plan to make this a frequent dining option for me and anyone I can recomend for an exquisite dining experience.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We recently dined at Gerard's and had a ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We recently dined at Gerard's and had a fantastic meal with friends. We called in advance and requested their tasting menu, "Land & Sea Degustation Menu" which consisted of eight courses. Each course was perfectly prepared with top notch ingredients at a very reasonable price. The atmosphere is quiet and pleasant where you can actually have a conversation with friends. Can't wait to go back; we are lucky to have this restaurant on the island where we live.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was too expensive for what you ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was too expensive for what you get. There are other great restaurants that are a better value. Glad to have tried it once.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Our first at this restaurant. It was my ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Our first at this restaurant. It was my husband's birthday. Great ambiance, good food n service!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything about Gerard's is first class ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Everything about Gerard's is first class. The property appears to have been there forever, however it was built to look that way. Both the food and the drinks are prepared to perfection. The wait staff is extremely helpful and knowledgeable about each of the menu items. Both the fish of the day and the scallops au gratin were excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Gerard is a fantastic chef. His creation ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Gerard is a fantastic chef. His creations are delicious. Beautiful location. One of the best restaurants on the planet. No kidding.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic flavors. We each loved everyth ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Fantastic flavors. We each loved everything we ordered especially the fresh catch of the day for the entree. Attentive wait staff.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We always enjoy our dining experience at ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We always enjoy our dining experience at Gerard's. It is fairly expensive but feel it is worth it. One of our highlights on our yearly trip to Maui.

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Upscale, expensive, and very enjoyable. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Upscale, expensive, and very enjoyable. Sat at a table on the front porch area, lovely setting. Food was absolutely wonderful, expensive, but wonderful. Had the cold cucumber soup, and I'm not into that, but thought I'd try it and glad I did. It was tasty! Had the fish - chef's special fresh catch, and it was tender, and so flavorful. The sides with the entree were perfectly prepared and presented. Really great job. Ah, and the desserts, don't skip having dessert - it was an experience all to itself!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I read the reviews and was hesitant. The ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 13, 2016

I read the reviews and was hesitant. The food was good. Foie Gras could have been seared a bit longer. Overall it was good but not spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

An excellent authentic French restaurant ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 11, 2016

An excellent authentic French restaurant. Very respectful service with special mention of John and Julianna. Food rivals the best on Maui. Price merits the preparation. Our discount was a bit confusing but well worth the night.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Visited with my girlfriend to celebrate ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Visited with my girlfriend to celebrate her birthday. We really loved the place in all aspects

and will return soon

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was a fan of this place and went ever ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I was a fan of this place and went every year. I do not know what happened maybe a change in chefs but this resturant has gone downhill. No more tasting menu, not a good selection of wines. The list could go on. So disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Wow. This restaurant reminded us why Fr ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Wow. This restaurant reminded us why French cuisine is considered among the best in the world. The food is exquisite. Not just a meal, it is an experience. As you savor each bite, you can imagine the hours of lengthy and thoughtful preparation that must have gone into developing such layers of flavor. It was such a treat to find a real French chef in Maui. We can't wait to go back. We have enjoyed MANY nice dinners at fine dining restaurants, but this was easily one of the best meals of my life.

The server, Bonnie, was wonderful. Friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. Price-wise this place is comparable to other nice restaurants on Maui, but the quality is superior. Don't miss this hidden gem in Lahaina.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

When you fortunate enough to find a rest ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 28, 2016

When you fortunate enough to find a restaurant able to pair exquisite food with exceptional service , you are indeed fortunate. Gerard's performs at this level each and every occasion. Take advantage if you will of fine dining at its best..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous -- the outdoor seating is so pl ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Fabulous -- the outdoor seating is so pleasant (no ocean view, but a very nice garden) - it is quiet and romantic. Wait staff is attentive but not snobby; we are able to enjoy our meal without feeling rushed. We started with the seared foie gras -- melts in your mouth and to-die for. I had the snapper preparation, but they didn't actually have snapper that day, so it was a different fish, and perfect! My husband had the special fish preparation of the day, which was also perfect. It's not a meal, it's an event .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant not only offered a spect ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 20, 2016

This restaurant not only offered a spectacular meal, but the service was the best we have had in years.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I dined at Gerards twice dur ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2016

My wife and I dined at Gerards twice during the weeK we spent on Maui.

The preparations were outstanding and unique. We don't believe that we can find a comparable dinner in West Maui.

Servers Bonnie and Sierra were absolutely wonderful.

If you want something more than fish tacos (which we love, by the way) or the French influence in a top notch creative menu utilizing local fish and produce - plus seldom offered dishes including quail, boar, venison, etc., then don't hesitate to experience Gerards restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My lovely lady friends and I have spent ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 16, 2016

My lovely lady friends and I have spent many nights at Gerards throughout the years. We've never had a sub par meal and although almost all the servers are new and still learning they do a tremendous job. John has always been our favorite, very kind and never rushes us. He always tells me the fish is the best and boy is he right. Cocktails are always on point and the staff is willing to accomodate.Merci for another wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fish was overcooked. Special with panko ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Fish was overcooked. Special with panko mushy.

Dessert was very good.

Salads are good.

Gerard may be coasting on past glories.

Food presentation was good but spectacular for the prices.

Extensive and expensive wine list but out of the wine I wanted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Always classic French with great appetiz ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Always classic French with great appetizers and main dishes.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was horrible. It was hard to ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Everything was horrible. It was hard to pay that much money for such a miserable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

On site owner chef oversees everything a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 7, 2016

On site owner chef oversees everything and is a true professional. Well trained staff and excellent menu & wine choices all at the best level anywhere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Much about Gerards is laudable. I was di ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Much about Gerards is laudable. I was disappointed that they overcharge dramatically for their champagne. we ordered a split and they charged us $85. Normally, a full bottle of this popular French champagne sells for under $45. Other high-end restaurants in this area sell the same split for $45. Everyone needs to make a profit. Gouging is another unpleasant experience. I would recommend them with caution .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Our waitress, Bonnie, was just fabulous ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our waitress, Bonnie, was just fabulous

Friendly, a true foodie, very accommodating and service oriented - very knowledgeable and paso aye about the food and menu

She was wonderful

Best meal in Maui this vacation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Gerard's was a fabulous find. Authentic ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Gerard's was a fabulous find. Authentic French cuisine with local Hawaiian ingredients and a quiet, cozy atmosphere. I would highly recommend Gerards for anyone who loves great food and fantastic service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.