Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Gerard's Restaurant Maui

Contemporary French Cuisine with a Hawaiian flair

174 Lahainaluna Rd
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Hawaiian, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily 6:00pm-8:30pm

Cross Street:
Wainee

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 661-8939

Website:
http://gerardsmaui.com/cms/index.php?option=com_frontpage

Parking Details:
Gravel lot adjacent to restaurant. Come in at arrival and host will give you a ticket to put on your dashboard

Public Transit:
Bus stop behind Wharf shopping center (3 blocks away)

Executive Chef:
Gerard Reversade

Private Party Facilities:
Large groups welcome (up to 100 pax) with set menu Also, small private room for groups of 8 to 16 pax (with A la carte menu)

Private Party Contact:
Genevieve: (808) 661-8939

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gerard's Restaurant Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (49)
Special Occasion (47)
Great for Outdoor Dining (41)
See All
Good for a Date (40)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Local Ingredients (28)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Authentic (27)
Cozy (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Worth the Drive (20)
Historic (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Fun (6)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Casual (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Family Style (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Scenic View (2)
Private Room (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
696 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Another amazing meal. Gerard is always a wonderful host. He came out to speak with all tables and made sure everyone is enjoying their meals. See you next year.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Casual, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Cozy, People Watching, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined 4 days ago

Very enchanting setting. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a delicious evening. Food was fabulous and service was excellent. This was our second time at Gerard's and both times were memorable. We will return again I'm sure.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This is a quaint little restaurant on a side street in Lahaina. We have passed by it many times and ate their finally. Quite small-we had a table on the porch, but worth a try. We had a wonderful waitress and enjoyed some local fish. My wife had quail which she said was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Our daughter and her husband ate here when they were in Maui and it was her favorite restaurant so she said we had to eat here. Gerard's did not disappoint . The employees were all very friendly and yet very professional. The food was excellent with beautiful presentation. Thoroughly enjoyed it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Thought the prices were extremely high. I had venison which was delicious but not $56.00 delicious. Others had pork tendolin and steak. Service was excellent. Just felt pricey compared to other places we have eaten in Lahaina

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Everything was amazing during our visit. We got in early and were welcomed and they took care of getting us cocktails. Appetizers were wonderful and the main courses were as well. Wine selection is extensive and they have some especially yummy ports for desert. A completely wonderful experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This is a lovely restaurant with delis food. The menu is limited but excellent. The wine list is also excellent. Their service changes often so sometimes the servers are a bit inexperienced. The porch is a great dining spot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

When in Lahaina, Maui there is no better place to dine than Gerard's. The food is superb and the service is always top notch. The menu is somewhat limited to the specials of the day and a few dishes that are always served but whatever you order you won't be sorry. Sit outside on the patio for a fun night of gourmet dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We've lived on Maui for 10 years. I can't believe We just trying this place for the first time, it was absolutely wonderful! For appetizers we had The mushroom pastry puff, shrimp pasta & the Ahi Tartar they were all absolutely delicious! For the main course we highly recommend the Bacon wrapped pork tenderloin it was absolutely amazing & the local snapper was a nice light very delightful choice as well! We will definitely be back! Definitely worth the drive from Kihei!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Fabulous food. The mushroom en croute appetizer was to die for, the Spinach Salad with Scallops was just as good, and the Mahi Mahi special could not have been better. Sitting out on the front porch and meeting the owner and chef was special and Scott took great care of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We happened to stumble across this restaurant and the food and service exceeded our expectations! We would definitely recommend Gerard's to our family and friends. We can't wait for our next visit to this amazing fine dining restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Took my mom and sister here for dinner one night. One of the best meals I've had in my life. Aside from attentive and amazing service, the escargot, lamb, homemade pasta and desserts were to die for. Well worth the money and won't celebrate special occasions anywhere else. The owner even made sure we were taken care of. Impressive and delicious experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Food as always outstanding. Had new waiter so service was a little erratic but he was friendly and helpful. He will likely be very good when he learns the system. L look forward to my next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Everything we had was very good! Lots of french wines available. The wines are pricey, but inline with many higher end restaurants.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 24, 2017

It was a lovely day venting. We appreciated getting a table with a late reservation. The only downside was the lack of a vegetarian option, although I got by. Very expensive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 22, 2017

food was very good, but menu was a little bit limited. Pricey but worth it. Lobster bisque very good, Pork tenderloins good value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on February 21, 2017

4 thumbs up experience (given that it was just two of us)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Gerard's provided the best meal and service my husband and I have experienced in a year. From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, we were treated as special guests. The waiter explained menu choices and helped us with our wine selection. The food was EXCELLENT! I would highly recommend Gerard's.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Best meal we had on Maui. Great atmosphere and wonderful menu with great presentation. Excellent preparation of locally caught fish.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I hope Gerard continues to cook for many more years. The food and ambience are special here.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Simply outstanding food and service in a quaint Inn setting. No ocean views or that stuff, just incredibly delicious food served by people who knew what they were doing.

We order a couple of appetizers to be passed and a bowl of bisque "with two spoons". Instead they split the appetizers and bisque so we all had our own plates and servings to make things easy. First rate!

The ahi tartare was some of the best I've ever had (I've had a lot!). The Shitake mushroom puff pastry was fab - the pastry so flaky. Lobster bisque was rich without being overdone with beautiful pieces of poached lobster. Crazy good! We all raved about our entrees.

Not an every night location but if you appreciate truly French fine dining, must do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have eaten here many times and it is our favorite in Lahaina and we live here

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful as always. A truly special place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went on Valentine's day with pris fixe menu.

Excellent

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food and service were excellent! This is our number one place to eat when we come to Maui!!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Oh my this was the best ever! Our valentine date night, it was wonderful. Service was perfect, our waitress introduced herself, Paris at a French restaurant! She was wonderful, but the whole staff works together as a team! Service flowed, courses came perfectly! Didn't feel rushed or hovered over, it was JUST right! The food was absolutely delightful, we started with escargot, then Gerard's salad and their bread is wonderful. My husband had their fish of the evening he loved it! I had the ginger citrus fish preparation and lucked out with the fish of the night being popio. Dessert was wonderful little cream puffs with ice cream and they poured a hot chocolate sauce over it! It was a perfect evening. Would definitely recommend and hoping I get back there again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The waiter was EXCEPTIONALLY POOR AND INATTENTIVE. The experience was VERY Negative. The salad was inedible and the dessert (Napoleon) was lackluster. Considering the "chef" was a pastry chef , we were very disappointed in what we were served. This was a special occasion for my husband, and the lousy service and average fare left us feeling less than festive. This was an F-,

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Gerard's never disappoints us. It's a romantic spot whether you dine indoors or in the garden. Service is perfect. My wife loves their unique escargot preparation with mushrooms and abundant parsley, I enjoyed the Gerard's salad with local greens. This time we ate two items that are not always available, and are only offered a few times each evening: venison saddle and wild boar daube. We shared back and forth, enjoyed them immensely and had plenty left over for lunch the next day! BTW their French press coffee is also very tasty.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was hit and miss. My fish was good (on menu). My spouse ordered the daily special and it was not great. Setting is ok for being off the ocean.

The service was the most disappointing. Our waitress seemed annoyed and impatient when we asked any for menu clarifications or suggestions. We found ourselves settling because we didn't want to experience her shortness. The rest of the staff seemed pleasant.

In general, for the cost, the experience was not up to Maui standards, and the Aloha spirit seemed to be missing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Service was average and the food slightly over priced. They overcharge us for drinks and made it right by making the adjustment and offering extra discounts on overall bill.

Tags: Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Dined here recently with my husband and a friend. Service is friendly and knowledgeable and helpful. Our friend loved the shrimp starter although the hearts of palm salad that my husband and I shared was on the boring side. Both the men had the fish special which was mongchong and they very much enjoyed it. I had the squab which was excellent. Food is beautifully presented and the sides are tasteful and original. Appreciated the free parking next door though we snagged the last spot.
We ate outside on the little patio which is a little crowded but was fine.
All in all, though expensive, it was a delightful meal and nice to be away from the freneticness of Front Street.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Absolutely delicious dinner and a wonderful atmosphere away from the hustle and bustle of Front Street. If you are looking for a change from the typical surf & turf menu on Maui this is the place to go. The ahi appetizer and duck entree were exquisite. Lovely service by our waitress Bonnie as well. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Recommended by a French chef in Winnipeg, Canada. This is our second time in Maui and our second visit to Gerard's... divine! Reminds us of our times in France!!! Worth the expense and the travel.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was not just fantastic it was epic. Love the setting in Old Lahiana town on the veranda.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food, great service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Exceptional food and presentation. Fish specials were tasty. Mashed carrots and potatoes mixed were a first for me and I loved it. Sautéed spinach was excellent. Wine list is restrictive. Although we enjoyed a reasonably priced Cotes du Rhone, that was about it in terms of choices. Waiter chose to argue with me about what year was delivered versus listed in wine menu. (Advice - check your facts.) Old world wine lists are typically a little more diverse. Get a new Sommelier. Desserts were beyond exceptional. Mousse du Chocolat and Napoleon with Lemmon curd were best two desserts we've had. Kudos to the kitchen.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 2, 2017

It might seem strange to go to a French restaurant in Lahaina, Maui, but Gerard's is a place to try. Excellent food, interesting cocktails, great service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 30, 2017

This was one of my all-time favorite dinners! What a great find - excellent food, wonderful quaint and romantic atmosphere, superb service and sublime food. From soup, to salad, to entree and dessert, our meal was pure perfection. The customer service was also exceptional, warm, and personable. Absolutely loved every part of our dining experience.

Gerard's commitment to his restaurant and to his customer's pleasure shows in EVERY detail. We wish Gerard's was in our hometown! One excellent reason to return to Maui for sure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We had a remarkable dinner at Gerard's!! French food that is fresh, local, innovative, perfectly balanced but not rich. The table service was excellent and we were delighted with Bonnie's help -- affable, well paced, knowledgeable, helpful. We can't wait to go back!! One of our best meals ever on Maui.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.