About Gerard's Restaurant Maui

174 Lahainaluna Rd
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Contemporary French Cuisine with a Hawaiian flair

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Hawaiian, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily 6:00pm-8:30pm

Cross Street:
Wainee

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 661-8939

Website:
http://gerardsmaui.com/cms/index.php?option=com_frontpage

Parking Details:
Gravel lot adjacent to restaurant. Come in at arrival and host will give you a ticket to put on your dashboard

Public Transit:
Bus stop behind Wharf shopping center (3 blocks away)

Executive Chef:
Gerard Reversade

Private Party Facilities:
Large groups welcome (up to 100 pax) with set menu Also, small private room for groups of 8 to 16 pax (with A la carte menu)

Private Party Contact:
Genevieve: (808) 661-8939

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gerard's Restaurant Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Romantic (39)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Good for a Date (30)
Authentic (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Local Ingredients (21)
Cozy (20)
Notable Wine List (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Historic (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fun (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Healthy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Casual (2)
Family Style (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Business Meals (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
679 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

food was very good, but menu was a little bit limited. Pricey but worth it. Lobster bisque very good, Pork tenderloins good value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined 5 days ago

4 thumbs up experience (given that it was just two of us)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Gerard's provided the best meal and service my husband and I have experienced in a year. From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, we were treated as special guests. The waiter explained menu choices and helped us with our wine selection. The food was EXCELLENT! I would highly recommend Gerard's.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

Best meal we had on Maui. Great atmosphere and wonderful menu with great presentation. Excellent preparation of locally caught fish.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

I hope Gerard continues to cook for many more years. The food and ambience are special here.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Simply outstanding food and service in a quaint Inn setting. No ocean views or that stuff, just incredibly delicious food served by people who knew what they were doing.

We order a couple of appetizers to be passed and a bowl of bisque "with two spoons". Instead they split the appetizers and bisque so we all had our own plates and servings to make things easy. First rate!

The ahi tartare was some of the best I've ever had (I've had a lot!). The Shitake mushroom puff pastry was fab - the pastry so flaky. Lobster bisque was rich without being overdone with beautiful pieces of poached lobster. Crazy good! We all raved about our entrees.

Not an every night location but if you appreciate truly French fine dining, must do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have eaten here many times and it is our favorite in Lahaina and we live here

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful as always. A truly special place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went on Valentine's day with pris fixe menu.

Excellent

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food and service were excellent! This is our number one place to eat when we come to Maui!!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Oh my this was the best ever! Our valentine date night, it was wonderful. Service was perfect, our waitress introduced herself, Paris at a French restaurant! She was wonderful, but the whole staff works together as a team! Service flowed, courses came perfectly! Didn't feel rushed or hovered over, it was JUST right! The food was absolutely delightful, we started with escargot, then Gerard's salad and their bread is wonderful. My husband had their fish of the evening he loved it! I had the ginger citrus fish preparation and lucked out with the fish of the night being popio. Dessert was wonderful little cream puffs with ice cream and they poured a hot chocolate sauce over it! It was a perfect evening. Would definitely recommend and hoping I get back there again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The waiter was EXCEPTIONALLY POOR AND INATTENTIVE. The experience was VERY Negative. The salad was inedible and the dessert (Napoleon) was lackluster. Considering the "chef" was a pastry chef , we were very disappointed in what we were served. This was a special occasion for my husband, and the lousy service and average fare left us feeling less than festive. This was an F-,

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Gerard's never disappoints us. It's a romantic spot whether you dine indoors or in the garden. Service is perfect. My wife loves their unique escargot preparation with mushrooms and abundant parsley, I enjoyed the Gerard's salad with local greens. This time we ate two items that are not always available, and are only offered a few times each evening: venison saddle and wild boar daube. We shared back and forth, enjoyed them immensely and had plenty left over for lunch the next day! BTW their French press coffee is also very tasty.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was hit and miss. My fish was good (on menu). My spouse ordered the daily special and it was not great. Setting is ok for being off the ocean.

The service was the most disappointing. Our waitress seemed annoyed and impatient when we asked any for menu clarifications or suggestions. We found ourselves settling because we didn't want to experience her shortness. The rest of the staff seemed pleasant.

In general, for the cost, the experience was not up to Maui standards, and the Aloha spirit seemed to be missing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Service was average and the food slightly over priced. They overcharge us for drinks and made it right by making the adjustment and offering extra discounts on overall bill.

Tags: Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Dined here recently with my husband and a friend. Service is friendly and knowledgeable and helpful. Our friend loved the shrimp starter although the hearts of palm salad that my husband and I shared was on the boring side. Both the men had the fish special which was mongchong and they very much enjoyed it. I had the squab which was excellent. Food is beautifully presented and the sides are tasteful and original. Appreciated the free parking next door though we snagged the last spot.

We ate outside on the little patio which is a little crowded but was fine.

All in all, though expensive, it was a delightful meal and nice to be away from the freneticness of Front Street.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Absolutely delicious dinner and a wonderful atmosphere away from the hustle and bustle of Front Street. If you are looking for a change from the typical surf & turf menu on Maui this is the place to go. The ahi appetizer and duck entree were exquisite. Lovely service by our waitress Bonnie as well. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Recommended by a French chef in Winnipeg, Canada. This is our second time in Maui and our second visit to Gerard's... divine! Reminds us of our times in France!!! Worth the expense and the travel.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was not just fantastic it was epic. Love the setting in Old Lahiana town on the veranda.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food, great service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Exceptional food and presentation. Fish specials were tasty. Mashed carrots and potatoes mixed were a first for me and I loved it. Sautéed spinach was excellent. Wine list is restrictive. Although we enjoyed a reasonably priced Cotes du Rhone, that was about it in terms of choices. Waiter chose to argue with me about what year was delivered versus listed in wine menu. (Advice - check your facts.) Old world wine lists are typically a little more diverse. Get a new Sommelier. Desserts were beyond exceptional. Mousse du Chocolat and Napoleon with Lemmon curd were best two desserts we've had. Kudos to the kitchen.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 2, 2017

It might seem strange to go to a French restaurant in Lahaina, Maui, but Gerard's is a place to try. Excellent food, interesting cocktails, great service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 30, 2017

This was one of my all-time favorite dinners! What a great find - excellent food, wonderful quaint and romantic atmosphere, superb service and sublime food. From soup, to salad, to entree and dessert, our meal was pure perfection. The customer service was also exceptional, warm, and personable. Absolutely loved every part of our dining experience.

Gerard's commitment to his restaurant and to his customer's pleasure shows in EVERY detail. We wish Gerard's was in our hometown! One excellent reason to return to Maui for sure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We had a remarkable dinner at Gerard's!! French food that is fresh, local, innovative, perfectly balanced but not rich. The table service was excellent and we were delighted with Bonnie's help -- affable, well paced, knowledgeable, helpful. We can't wait to go back!! One of our best meals ever on Maui.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The food was really good. But service was awful!!! The waiter (with black curly hair,do not remember his name) did unprofessional work . He ignored all our requests! We ordered the dessert and main dish ,and said bring as soon we finish our main meal . He forgot about us . We 'be been waiting his attention around 20 min . He ignored . Then my husband asked him about dessert and the waiter asked again if I need dessert menu. I said I told you what I want long time ago . He did not said any excuse !!!

We will not recommend this restaurant to our friends because of the service .

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We enjoyed our meal at Gerard's and felt that although everything was very good, the meal and the service were not as good as the ambiance. Sitting on the porch and enjoying the warm breeze wafting in the evening makes Gerard's special; but I felt that the food and service does not quite live up to the high prices that they charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Dining on the porch on a beautiful night with good food and great service-you can't go wrong.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Gerard's is a mainstay in Maui. Although some of the menu items change, it is essentially the same today as it was 15 years ago. And that is a good thing Great to have a French restaurant with a relaxed informality and relative quiet. Great food and service. Expensive, but worth it. One complaint is a grossly overpriced wine list, but that's pretty much the usual among Maui's upscale restaurants.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Just a lovely place for a nice dinner, wonderful food

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Our duck confit was dry, however, could be result of being the last two available for evening. Our server was outstanding and the other dishes and salads were very tasty. Beautiful vintage decor.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Never disappoints and very French. Desserts are fantastic

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 20, 2017

My wife and I have eaten at Gerard's several times and have always enjoyed the food and the ambiance. This time I had the Catch of the Day, which was grey snapper, and my wife had the venison; both were excellent. The service was a bit slow because of a back up in the kitchen, but the end result was well worth the wait. We finished off the meal with Gerard's special coffee (the alcoholic version!) which was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 20, 2017

It is a treasure on a side street with great ambience,wonderful menu & great service.

While on Maui we try at least 3 times to drive from Makena to Lahania for a good dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Scallops cooked to perfection. Fish entree disappointed. Slightly overlooked and a bit dry even with the ginger/orange sauce

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Food was very mediocre and price was high. Really, bread was actually terrible and for those prices I expected some extras from the chef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We ate at Gerard's twice and both times the food was outstanding. Had the same waiter both nights so it was fun getting his recommendations. A causal romantic evening. Great wine list and outstanding food 🍷👍

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 14, 2017

One of the old fine places to dine in Lahaina. Excellent quality and service. Great fish dishes. A rare place in Lahaina where you can converse without lots of noise. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent cuisine, snapper dumplings are a must, veal chop with morel sauce and truffles was outstanding, the catch of the day was outstanding! Highly recommend it, pricey but worth it! Comparable to the best restaurants in NYC or Philadelphia.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great as always. Food and service exceed expectations.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Have been dining at Gerard's for years and always loved the experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We have been traveling annually to Maui for many years now. We generally always stay on the West side of the island and visit the various restaurants in Lahaina, Kapalua, etc. Historically, Gerards has been one of our favorites. We liked it so much that we booked it twice for our week- long vacation there this year. Unfortunately, both of our trips there this year fell very short of our expectations.

On the positive side, the food was good. The local fish specials were really great, as were the various starters and salads offered on the menu. The real downer for us was the poor service we received. The first night was average, but our second trip was horrible. We arrived about 20 minutes early and asked if it would be ok to have a drink while we waited. We were told no problem and advised that our table was ready. We were quickly shoveled to an indoor table at the back of the restaurant which adjoined a vacant room where the wait staff hung out and ate/drank. I asked if we could possibly sit on the front porch, which is the main seating area. I was told NO because they were very full with reservations for the evening. I quickly responded that we made our reservation nearly 6 months ago but it fell on deaf ears. After being seated, we did not see nor speak to a waiter for about 15 - 20 minutes who did take our drink order. The service remained slow at best through the remainder of the night.

For the price paid there, I feel that the diner should expect better service and high quality food. For my money, the Lahiana Grill is a much better experience (and right across the street).

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Absolutely amazing food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Was very pleased with the service and the food. The inside definitely needs a renovation. But would go back for sure our portion sizes were great and the food was fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Our server was amazing! Food exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Our dinner at Gerard's rates as one of the best we have had in our many visits to Maui. Our servers were knowledgable and friendly. We had the catch of the day and it was served with a delicious sauce as well as flavourful sides of a potato/carrot puree and baby spinach. Everything was seasoned to perfection and served hot. The profiteroles were a decadent finish for our meal. We were seated on the outdoor porch and although there is no ocean view it is surrounded by trees and plants so you feel like you are in a garden. A wonderful special meal!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Gerard's was amazing! Authentic food you don't get to try everywhere. Our waiter made great suggestions and the food was so tasty from the appetizers to dessert including the wine.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing! We loved it so much. Everything was so delicate and on point. The overall service was everything you could ask for. Will definitely come back in the future for special events!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This restaurant is top drawer. Every thing was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our waiter John (Jon?) was/is a nice guy - friendly & helpful. The escargot with creamed spinach was divine. Some of the best I've ever eaten. When it was served however, the woman who quickly brought it and left neglected to warn me that the dish was extremely hot. When I attempted to adjust it on the cold underplate I was burned bringing up a blister on my finger. Tut, tut. Gerard's has one of the best desert selections I've seen anywhere. The French are the best cooks in the world in my humble opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.