About Gerard's Restaurant Maui

174 Lahainaluna Rd
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Contemporary French Cuisine with a Hawaiian flair

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Hawaiian, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily 6:00pm-8:30pm

Cross Street:
Wainee

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 661-8939

Website:
http://gerardsmaui.com/cms/index.php?option=com_frontpage

Parking Details:
Gravel lot adjacent to restaurant. Come in at arrival and host will give you a ticket to put on your dashboard

Public Transit:
Bus stop behind Wharf shopping center (3 blocks away)

Executive Chef:
Gerard Reversade

Private Party Facilities:
Large groups welcome (up to 100 pax) with set menu Also, small private room for groups of 8 to 16 pax (with A la carte menu)

Private Party Contact:
Genevieve: 8086618939

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gerard's Restaurant Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Hawaii
Seafood
Hawaii
Best Overall
Maui
5 More
Best Food
Maui
Best Value
Maui
Fit for Foodies
Maui
Romantic
Maui
Special Occasion
Maui
Best Restaurants in Lahaina ›

romantic (52)
special occasion (50)
fit for foodies (49)
See All
great for outdoor dining (40)
notable wine list (39)
neighborhood gem (24)
good for groups (5)
scenic view (4)
great for brunch (3)
hot spot (3)
great for lunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
532 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Mediocre at best, and definitely not wor ...

Dined 4 days ago

Mediocre at best, and definitely not worth the money. While the food was good, I'd need something to be more than "good" for their prices. The portion sizes are abysmal. And if you offer someone a "champagne toast" for a special occasion, give them a heads up that you're still going to charge $40 for it. They'll assume it's complimentary.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The above section of "recommend" is not ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

The above section of "recommend" is not "conducive" to FINE DINING. The atmosphere, service, scenic view, and all the others are all part of making GERARD'S the important aspect of the restaurants star attraction ......THE FANTASTIC FOODS, and the presentation of same. Having known Gerard for more than 34 year I would recommend this wonderful place to anyone and everyone at any time.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful evening! Tonight was s ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

What a wonderful evening! Tonight was such a special evening and the wonderful staff at Gerard's made it even better. Their fish specials for the day was absolutely amazing. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting to make a special evening

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and a great spot for a specia ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food and a great spot for a special occasion. No Maui view but a quiet setting away from the Lahaina crowds.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

If you want a classic and intimate dinin ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

If you want a classic and intimate dining experience this is the place. With the best food on the island and impeccable service. Great wine list as well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Classically trained chef. Good, friendly ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Classically trained chef. Good, friendly service. Worth the drive from the resorts...offers a counterpoint to Wailea/Kapalua restaurants...while the price is similar, here you know it's all for the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The best food on Maui! Always an elegant ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

The best food on Maui! Always an elegant treat! The fresh fish specials are amazing! And the duck and rack of lamb are unsurpassed! Save room for dessert, too. Lovely experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

Dined on June 8, 2016

Each time we eat there food and service are the tops

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dining experience, come from m ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Excellent dining experience, come from mainland once per year and food is always fantastic, one of two best places to get Foie Gras o Maui

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Dining Experience!

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

I have sent many brides to Gerard's for their wedding dinners as a wedding coordinator. They have come back with raves each time so when it was my anniversary I wanted to go to Gerard's as well. Since it was up high on a pedestal for me I was afraid I might be let down a bit. NOT at all - in fact, the pedestal wasn't tall enough! This is a wonderful, romantic restaurant with food that is some of the best in Maui. The service was incredible. There was nothing you can ask for that you didn't receive instantly. You can take your time enjoying each course as there is no rush even when it was time to close and we were still there having a great time! Highly recommend a dinner at Gerard's in Lahaina when you are in Maui.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined twice in two weeks at Geraurds. ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

We dined twice in two weeks at Geraurds. Everytime we return to Maui this is a must do dining experience. Fresh food, cooked magnificently and served elegantly. Freshest seafood dishes and the best beef, lamb and sweetbreads!! My husbands favorite. The wine list also has some awesome choices. I can't say enough good things about this restaurant.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Quiet neighborhood setting for an upscal ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Quiet neighborhood setting for an upscale restaurant; the type of place for a great meal; classified as French, but great seafood and meat dishes. Overall, very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

Excellent food - need some training in t ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Excellent food - need some training in the service area.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Very good but expensive. Salad & desert ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Very good but expensive. Salad & desert were just ok, but fish was excellent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dine at Gerard's whenever we are in M ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We dine at Gerard's whenever we are in Maui. The porch setting is so nice. The food is always incredible. Excellent bar and wine list. Not just dinner, but a pleasurable experience. Sit, relax and enjoy the ambiance, and the chef's creativity.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gerard's was my favorite restaurant in M ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Gerard's was my favorite restaurant in Maui. My husband & I had the Shrimp Bisque soup, which was the best I've ever had. For my main meal I had the Grilled Hawaiian Rancher Filet of Beef (could cut with a fork) & my husband had the Scallops au gratin. Both were delicious. For dessert we shared the Creme Caramel Opera. I would definitely recommend going to Gerard's.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Mother's Day celebration! Even wi ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great Mother's Day celebration! Even with a 9 month old! Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unexpected awesomeness

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

We randomly decided upon this place based on a cursory viewing of some reviews online, but our experience was so much better than what we expected. The plating of the food by no means modern, but that wasnt a bad thing at all. The food was extremely well executed, with great and well balanced flavors. It was one of those experiences that reminds one why classics are so great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We love to go here for an "occasion" or ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

We love to go here for an "occasion" or just a good dinner, as it is always dependably delicious, comfortable and relaxing. The only dilemma is that when you select one dish, you cannot have the others, and it is so hard to make that choice. My scallops were sweet and fresh, perfectly cooked with a sauce that complemented them exactly. I felt guilty finishing it all. Yummy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazingly knowledgeable staff, must go!

Dined on May 3, 2016

We go there every year and are pleasantly surprised every year! Fantastic food, great wine list, amazing service, nothing to complain about! The building is old and adds a great romantic atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Experience

Dined on May 2, 2016

John waited on us, he was superb, he new the menu quite well and he was fun and upbeat, thanks John...The food was amazingly good and fresh. The ahi was delightfully fresh and just lead into the perfect meal, and desert.... It is by far the best restaurant in all of Maui. I have been to Spago's MaMa's Japango's so many of the top end and they don't even compare , it is a one of a kind place, and I had so much fun I went back the following evening and had another spectacular dish. Just go you will not be disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing birthday experience

Dined on April 30, 2016

It was my brothers 21st birthday and he had an amazing experience. The service was great and they made sure to make my brother feel special on his birthday. The food is pricey but it is well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable Dining

Dined on April 29, 2016

Tables on the wide porch to take advantage of the breeze; attentive service; fabulous food; great wine list. Second only to Mama's. A must for us every year.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous food

Dined on April 28, 2016

Fabulous food and a terrific wine list. A bit noisy for a place that has this quality food. Easily a candidate for best food in all Hawaii. Not inexpensive, but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An oasis of flavor

Dined on April 26, 2016

What a departure from the typical restaurants in Lahaina. Gerard's offers a unique and varied menu of delectable courses that combine classical french cooking with the bounty of the islands, as well as an extensive offering of wines. Highly recommend this treasure tucked into an historic inn; we will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Been to Maui over 30 times and just neve ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Been to Maui over 30 times and just never made to Gerard's - so glad we finally did! Lovely location - wonderful service. Good wine list and wonderful food. Had the foie salad - the pineapple relish was amazing and wish there had been more in the plate. Wanted to order the sweetbreads, but unfortunately chef didn't have any...a reason to return -- as well as to try the venison which is also dependent on it being available from a hunter...so we had the fish special and the snapper on the menu. Both were wonderful - and very big portions (not typical of French restaurants). Two different desserts - rocky road (which we thought the better of the 2) and the choux - which were great but the 3 flavored of ice cream and sauces in the rocky road won out! Looking forward to returning in September!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

such a great dinner during our last night in Maui! Great food, great atmosphere and a lovely time

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What's not to love?

Dined on April 15, 2016

We had romantic front-porch seating at Gerard's. It is a beautiful setting, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Both of us ordered the cold cucumber soup, which was delightfully refreshing. I had the scallop main course, and my husband had the chef's choice fish, a mani mani with blue crab in a rich sauce. We couldn't decide who had made the best choice and may have to return just to settle the argument. For dessert, we shared a flourless chocolate torte, and that was the only disappointment of the meal. It wasn't bad, but was certainly not in the top tier of chocolate tortes. Grard's is a great choice for a special occasion, even if that occasion is just being in Maui.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was terrific. Highly re ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

Food and service was terrific. Highly recommend. Had snapper and it was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service. Beautiful seating on porch

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Food and service was wonderful. After reading previous reviews had some concerns but must have been addressed. Our server Joseph was very attentive. He had been there only a month but was very good. Had the escargot and spinach salad which my husband and I shared. Very good. I had the snapper special and he had the MahiMahi. Both were excellent and prepared different than we had before at other restaurants. Deserts were wonderful. Would certainly return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Foodie2350

Dined on April 7, 2016

Been going here for years and am never disappointed. The food is fantastic and servers are well trained. The fish dishes are especially unique.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire experience was absolutely out ...

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

The entire experience was absolutely outstanding. The pasta with shrimp appetizer that my husband had was quite literally the best pasta dish he or I have ever tasted. The level of precision and technique used in all of the dishes we enjoyed was truly above and beyond. Gerard and his team excel at creating memorable cuisine and outstanding service. We've dined at Gerard's every spring for about 8 years now, and this time it seemed even better than ever. Definitely worth the trip!

food5
ambience5
service5

I thought the restaurant was lovely. I ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

I thought the restaurant was lovely. I was here last time I came to Maui - it is one of my favorite restaurants. This time was a Monday and not as busy. Which was kind of nice.

food5
ambience5
service5

Really excellent place, just up the stre ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Really excellent place, just up the street from the Lahaina Grill which also has great food. Should do both. We select appetizers to get a good variety. Shiitake mushroom pastry was very tasty, large slices of mushrooms. Ahi Tartare had large slices of Ahi in a tasty dressing served with homemade and great Taro chips. Ahi is unsurpassed in Hawaii. Best taro chips anywhere. Seared Foie Gras was a generous portion served on a rich french toast like pastry with Macadamia nuts. Scrumptious! The escargot was also good, but after the foregoing, hard to focus.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently One Of The Best Restaurants in Maui

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

The top quality food and service backed up by very pleasant ambiance and warm personality of the owner and staff have always been consistent every time we eat here. We spent our 55th anniversary here as we knew there would be no disappointments and the resulting perfect evening was proof of their consistently outstanding restaurant operation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3

The food is very nice, relatively creati ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

The food is very nice, relatively creative French cuisine with island flair. Service was great but they switched our server so a little confusing. The only negative is inside seating makes you feel like you are caught in a 1980's grandma country kitchen- terrible wallpaper, outdated everything and it just stressed out the senses. Get an outdoor seat and avoid the obnoxious decor.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

WONDERFUL FRENCH CHEF

Dined on March 17, 2016

Every bite is ecstasy. The sauces are incredible. The side dishes could be better for such exquisite entrees. The salads are wonderful too because the dressing is interesting and tasty. The service is always perfect and friendly. Desserts are fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

We loved the food and wine selection. Ou ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

We loved the food and wine selection. Our only complaint was that we sat outside on the porch and the tables were so close together that we couldn't help but hear the conversation of the table next to us.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Definitely not disappointed

Dined on March 15, 2016

Been coming to Maui for several years and have always enjoyed the warm welcome and menu choice available at Gerard's. Good portions cooked to perfection from a good varied menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A lovely dinner experience

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

We had a very nice dinner at Gerards.. The food was excellent but John was our waiter and he was outstanding. It is fascinating that you can have outstanding food in many places but the service can make or break the meal and John really made the meal. His interaction with everyone at the outside tables was exceptional. Escargot and fish specials were excellent. Lovely wine selections even by the glass

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.