About Gerard's Restaurant Maui

174 Lahainaluna Rd
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Contemporary French Cuisine with a Hawaiian flair

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Hawaiian, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily 6:00pm-8:30pm

Cross Street:
Wainee

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 661-8939

Website:
http://gerardsmaui.com/cms/index.php?option=com_frontpage

Parking Details:
Gravel lot adjacent to restaurant. Come in at arrival and host will give you a ticket to put on your dashboard

Public Transit:
Bus stop behind Wharf shopping center (3 blocks away)

Executive Chef:
Gerard Reversade

Private Party Facilities:
Large groups welcome (up to 100 pax) with set menu Also, small private room for groups of 8 to 16 pax (with A la carte menu)

Private Party Contact:
Genevieve: 8086618939

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gerard's Restaurant Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Hawaii
Seafood
Hawaii
Best Overall
Maui
7 More
Best Food
Maui
Best Service
Maui
Best Value
Maui
Fit for Foodies
Maui
Outdoor Dining
Maui
Romantic
Maui
Special Occasion
Maui
Best Restaurants in Lahaina ›

romantic (66)
special occasion (63)
fit for foodies (59)
See All
great for outdoor dining (59)
notable wine list (41)
neighborhood gem (26)
good for groups (6)
scenic view (3)
great for brunch (2)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
518 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Very good but expensive. Salad & desert ...

Dined 6 days ago

Very good but expensive. Salad & desert were just ok, but fish was excellent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gerard's was my favorite restaurant in M ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Gerard's was my favorite restaurant in Maui. My husband & I had the Shrimp Bisque soup, which was the best I've ever had. For my main meal I had the Grilled Hawaiian Rancher Filet of Beef (could cut with a fork) & my husband had the Scallops au gratin. Both were delicious. For dessert we shared the Creme Caramel Opera. I would definitely recommend going to Gerard's.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Mother's Day celebration! Even wi ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great Mother's Day celebration! Even with a 9 month old! Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unexpected awesomeness

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

We randomly decided upon this place based on a cursory viewing of some reviews online, but our experience was so much better than what we expected. The plating of the food by no means modern, but that wasnt a bad thing at all. The food was extremely well executed, with great and well balanced flavors. It was one of those experiences that reminds one why classics are so great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We love to go here for an "occasion" or ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

We love to go here for an "occasion" or just a good dinner, as it is always dependably delicious, comfortable and relaxing. The only dilemma is that when you select one dish, you cannot have the others, and it is so hard to make that choice. My scallops were sweet and fresh, perfectly cooked with a sauce that complemented them exactly. I felt guilty finishing it all. Yummy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazingly knowledgeable staff, must go!

Dined on May 3, 2016

We go there every year and are pleasantly surprised every year! Fantastic food, great wine list, amazing service, nothing to complain about! The building is old and adds a great romantic atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Experience

Dined on May 2, 2016

John waited on us, he was superb, he new the menu quite well and he was fun and upbeat, thanks John...The food was amazingly good and fresh. The ahi was delightfully fresh and just lead into the perfect meal, and desert.... It is by far the best restaurant in all of Maui. I have been to Spago's MaMa's Japango's so many of the top end and they don't even compare , it is a one of a kind place, and I had so much fun I went back the following evening and had another spectacular dish. Just go you will not be disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing birthday experience

Dined on April 30, 2016

It was my brothers 21st birthday and he had an amazing experience. The service was great and they made sure to make my brother feel special on his birthday. The food is pricey but it is well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable Dining

Dined on April 29, 2016

Tables on the wide porch to take advantage of the breeze; attentive service; fabulous food; great wine list. Second only to Mama's. A must for us every year.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous food

Dined on April 28, 2016

Fabulous food and a terrific wine list. A bit noisy for a place that has this quality food. Easily a candidate for best food in all Hawaii. Not inexpensive, but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An oasis of flavor

Dined on April 26, 2016

What a departure from the typical restaurants in Lahaina. Gerard's offers a unique and varied menu of delectable courses that combine classical french cooking with the bounty of the islands, as well as an extensive offering of wines. Highly recommend this treasure tucked into an historic inn; we will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Been to Maui over 30 times and just neve ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Been to Maui over 30 times and just never made to Gerard's - so glad we finally did! Lovely location - wonderful service. Good wine list and wonderful food. Had the foie salad - the pineapple relish was amazing and wish there had been more in the plate. Wanted to order the sweetbreads, but unfortunately chef didn't have any...a reason to return -- as well as to try the venison which is also dependent on it being available from a hunter...so we had the fish special and the snapper on the menu. Both were wonderful - and very big portions (not typical of French restaurants). Two different desserts - rocky road (which we thought the better of the 2) and the choux - which were great but the 3 flavored of ice cream and sauces in the rocky road won out! Looking forward to returning in September!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

such a great dinner during our last night in Maui! Great food, great atmosphere and a lovely time

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What's not to love?

Dined on April 15, 2016

We had romantic front-porch seating at Gerard's. It is a beautiful setting, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Both of us ordered the cold cucumber soup, which was delightfully refreshing. I had the scallop main course, and my husband had the chef's choice fish, a mani mani with blue crab in a rich sauce. We couldn't decide who had made the best choice and may have to return just to settle the argument. For dessert, we shared a flourless chocolate torte, and that was the only disappointment of the meal. It wasn't bad, but was certainly not in the top tier of chocolate tortes. Grard's is a great choice for a special occasion, even if that occasion is just being in Maui.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was terrific. Highly re ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

Food and service was terrific. Highly recommend. Had snapper and it was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service. Beautiful seating on porch

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Food and service was wonderful. After reading previous reviews had some concerns but must have been addressed. Our server Joseph was very attentive. He had been there only a month but was very good. Had the escargot and spinach salad which my husband and I shared. Very good. I had the snapper special and he had the MahiMahi. Both were excellent and prepared different than we had before at other restaurants. Deserts were wonderful. Would certainly return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Foodie2350

Dined on April 7, 2016

Been going here for years and am never disappointed. The food is fantastic and servers are well trained. The fish dishes are especially unique.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire experience was absolutely out ...

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

The entire experience was absolutely outstanding. The pasta with shrimp appetizer that my husband had was quite literally the best pasta dish he or I have ever tasted. The level of precision and technique used in all of the dishes we enjoyed was truly above and beyond. Gerard and his team excel at creating memorable cuisine and outstanding service. We've dined at Gerard's every spring for about 8 years now, and this time it seemed even better than ever. Definitely worth the trip!

food5
ambience5
service5

I thought the restaurant was lovely. I ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

I thought the restaurant was lovely. I was here last time I came to Maui - it is one of my favorite restaurants. This time was a Monday and not as busy. Which was kind of nice.

food5
ambience5
service5

Really excellent place, just up the stre ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Really excellent place, just up the street from the Lahaina Grill which also has great food. Should do both. We select appetizers to get a good variety. Shiitake mushroom pastry was very tasty, large slices of mushrooms. Ahi Tartare had large slices of Ahi in a tasty dressing served with homemade and great Taro chips. Ahi is unsurpassed in Hawaii. Best taro chips anywhere. Seared Foie Gras was a generous portion served on a rich french toast like pastry with Macadamia nuts. Scrumptious! The escargot was also good, but after the foregoing, hard to focus.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently One Of The Best Restaurants in Maui

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

The top quality food and service backed up by very pleasant ambiance and warm personality of the owner and staff have always been consistent every time we eat here. We spent our 55th anniversary here as we knew there would be no disappointments and the resulting perfect evening was proof of their consistently outstanding restaurant operation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3

The food is very nice, relatively creati ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

The food is very nice, relatively creative French cuisine with island flair. Service was great but they switched our server so a little confusing. The only negative is inside seating makes you feel like you are caught in a 1980's grandma country kitchen- terrible wallpaper, outdated everything and it just stressed out the senses. Get an outdoor seat and avoid the obnoxious decor.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

WONDERFUL FRENCH CHEF

Dined on March 17, 2016

Every bite is ecstasy. The sauces are incredible. The side dishes could be better for such exquisite entrees. The salads are wonderful too because the dressing is interesting and tasty. The service is always perfect and friendly. Desserts are fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

We loved the food and wine selection. Ou ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

We loved the food and wine selection. Our only complaint was that we sat outside on the porch and the tables were so close together that we couldn't help but hear the conversation of the table next to us.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Definitely not disappointed

Dined on March 15, 2016

Been coming to Maui for several years and have always enjoyed the warm welcome and menu choice available at Gerard's. Good portions cooked to perfection from a good varied menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A lovely dinner experience

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

We had a very nice dinner at Gerards.. The food was excellent but John was our waiter and he was outstanding. It is fascinating that you can have outstanding food in many places but the service can make or break the meal and John really made the meal. His interaction with everyone at the outside tables was exceptional. Escargot and fish specials were excellent. Lovely wine selections even by the glass

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Class, quality and super service

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

This is one of the most consistently good restaurant operations in Lahaina. Great menu, French style; but Hawaiian touches make for an intriguing variety of selections. Probably one of the most extensive wine lists on the island. Service is always prompt, alert and caring. The owner is always on site assuring everyone receives the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A master of his craft

Dined on March 11, 2016

Gerard continues to exceed our expectations time and time again. The food is always spot on, fish is always fresh and his preparations are perfectly paired. He has a variety of unique dishes but this is our favorite place to enjoy a fresh salad with lettuce grown here on this island, both the hearts of palm and beets are served raw then shaved down to the perfect texture and a wonderful champagne dressing full of flavor. Tonight my huband changed it up a bit and triend the baby spinach and scallop salad, he loved it. We love to spend our evenings at this very traditional, very quaint restaurant just off the main hustle and bustle of front street.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service and great food

Dined on March 8, 2016

Our dinner at Gerard's was everything we could have wanted. Our waitress was fantastic, as was all the staff we dealt with. Everyone seemed genuinely enthusiastic about being there. The food was absolutely delicious. They made celebrating our anniversary a romantic and beautiful event. We were so glad we spent our last night in Maui at Gerard's! They made it a memorable evening for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Very disappointing.

Dined on March 8, 2016

Food and service were terrible. Don't waste your money or time. You have better options for dining on Front Street. The ambience was okay but needed a facelift.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Alaways excellent

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

better each time we go--wine list is nice and food is first class.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

very nice!

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

The food is very good although the entrees could have stood more sauce; the appetizers & bread were yummy. The wine selection was good. The service was nice but it was a tad slow for us.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Maui for decades a ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

We have been going to Maui for decades and finally decided to dine at Gerard's - this was by far the best decision we've made for dinner. The Escargot was out of this world - the sauce fantastic. Used bread to further enjoy the delicious sauce. Port tenderloin was juicy with a spectacular sauce. The Mahi Mahi cooked to perfection. Best Mai Tai on the island in our opinion. Our server was a gem - she made dining there so much more enjoyable. Very attentive staff. We'll be back in December/January. Ate on the lanai - cool breeze - perfect surroundings. Great restaurant - great night!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu was diverse and stressed use of ...

vip
Dined on February 29, 2016

The menu was diverse and stressed use of local ingredients. They have a very solid wine list and the service was impeccable. We will definitely be returning.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Best chef on Maui - Hands down!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Decade after decade we have come to this very special Restaurant and never ever have we been disappointed! The lamb is one of our all time favorites! But any meat, fish or vegetable dish will delight you. Gerard sources local food and combines flavors and magic in such a perfect way! We also enjoy the choice of music as well as the casual yet elegant setting. Perfect! That is what we expect and receive every time we dine at Gerard's. Merci!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic French in downtown Lahaina

Dined on February 28, 2016

Gerard's is always on our must-visit list when we come to Maui. Mama's Fish House rates slightly higher for combination of food and beachfront ambiance; Merriman's and Cane & Taro (@ The Montage) THINK they are better but are not. (If you want to eat on the beachfront you will have better value by going to Duke's.) However, Gerard's is the hands-down winner on food, service and romantic ambiance, whether you dine in the garden or enjoy the leaded-glass French charm of the interior. Gerard's has free off-street parking unless they run out of spots, in which case there are pay lots just across the street. I had an ahi tartare appetizer followed by a Provencal-style daube stew made with wild boar - both were excellent. My wife had escargot - a nontraditional preparation but still delicious, plus freshly caught ono fish with a beurre blanc sauce plus Gerard's special mashed potatoes (which seem to have carrots mashed into them). We finished with a coconut sorbet and French press coffee. Needless to say, we will be back - perhaps even again on this visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Just OK....The Food is nothing Special

Dined on February 27, 2016

Out of balance Foi Gras ( too much brioche). Marginal quality( poor trim ) of veal chop. Fish special of the day was nothing special

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great food, lovely setting

Dined on February 27, 2016

Gerard's has a lovely setting inside an old plantation home which we later learned was a bed and breakfast, how perfect. The menu has a wonderful selection of French food and a suprising incorporation of local ingredients. We had heard rave reviews about a few items imparticular that did not disappoint. Being that we had heard so many positive things about the restaurant and its long time established chef we didn't expect anything different. What I did not expect was being overly aware of our server. I wont be too harsh because it really was a great evening. We were welcomed in a very professional manner and seated at a lovely table on the veranda. The atmoshere was very relaxing and comfertable and though not on the ocean it was one of the nicer restaurants we had enjoyed while in Maui. Every bite throughout the night was perfection. Unfortunatly what we left thinking about was that our server was the the least enjoyable part of our night. She was extremley disorganized, she couldnt keep track of what she had going on and there were numerous apologies for forgetting to bring things we and other tables had requested. We were constantly without utensils and water until someone else, usually a young man would see we were in need and immediatly attend to us. In most restaurants we've dined in servers are able to predict and be prepared, able to be present without being noticed. We must have heard the specials in detail 5-6 times. Voices carry in small spaces and hers could be heard across the restaurant. We were not interested in what our neighbors were eating or drinking making it difficult for us to enjoy our evening. The meal seemed to last excessivly long and we ended up missing the shuttle back to our hotel. Nina was friendly enough but needed to be more aware of everyone else trying to enjoy the evening around her.

food5
ambience5
service5

Not inexpensive but you know that going ...

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

Not inexpensive but you know that going in! Food was unbelievable; well prepared, well plated, and delicious! Even the bread served was excellent. Good but not ridiculous wine list. Great dining experience!!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

our first visit to this pretty place. we ...

Dined on February 18, 2016

our first visit to this pretty place. were greeted warmly. asked for and received outside veranda seating. All 3 of us orderd a fish meal. the serving size was the largest we have had yet. the food was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.