About Gerard's Restaurant Maui

174 Lahainaluna Rd
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Contemporary French Cuisine with a Hawaiian flair

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Hawaiian, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily 6:00pm-8:30pm

Cross Street:
Wainee

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 661-8939

Website:
http://gerardsmaui.com/cms/index.php?option=com_frontpage

Parking Details:
Gravel lot adjacent to restaurant. Come in at arrival and host will give you a ticket to put on your dashboard

Public Transit:
Bus stop behind Wharf shopping center (3 blocks away)

Executive Chef:
Gerard Reversade

Private Party Facilities:
Large groups welcome (up to 100 pax) with set menu Also, small private room for groups of 8 to 16 pax (with A la carte menu)

Private Party Contact:
Genevieve: 8086618939

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gerard's Restaurant Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Hawaii
Romantic
Hawaii
Seafood
Hawaii
8 More
Best Overall
Maui
Best Food
Maui
Best Service
Maui
Best Ambiance
Maui
Best Value
Maui
Fit for Foodies
Maui
Romantic
Maui
Special Occasion
Maui
Best Restaurants in Lahaina ›

Romantic (42)
Special Occasion (37)
Fit for Foodies (33)
See All
Notable Wine List (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Scenic View (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
561 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waitress, Bonnie, was just fabulous ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 19 hours ago

Our waitress, Bonnie, was just fabulous

Friendly, a true foodie, very accommodating and service oriented - very knowledgeable and paso aye about the food and menu

She was wonderful

Best meal in Maui this vacation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A real disappointment. Last year we were ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

A real disappointment. Last year we were really impressed by the food and the service. This year the service was really sloppy and disorganized, not the level of an expensive restaurant. The food was ordinary, particularly the catch of the day. Not going back unless they go back to last year's level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

I knew Gerard's was where I wanted to go ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 5 days ago

I knew Gerard's was where I wanted to go to celebrate my last night living on Maui. I lived on Maui for seven years, and Gerard's is unlike any other restaurant on the island. Chef Gerard is a master and his food sings with exquisite culinary expertise. Julianna was our server and she was right on point! The rest of the staff was also very pleasant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. We were seated o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was very good.

We were seated on the porch which was hot at first. We asked to sit inside but we were told that we couldn't even though there were available tables .

When we called to confirm we were asked if we were celebrating anything and we told them that it was my husbands 65th birthday.

We NEVER expect to get anything free but when the check was brought to our table, the desert wasn't on the check so we assumed it was complimentary.

Five minutes later the waiter came to our table and said happy birthday to my husband and also said that he forgot to add the desert so the new check was $12.00 more.

That left a bad taste in our mouth. We don't think we would ever return there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Very nice dinner and a great wine! Staff ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Very nice dinner and a great wine! Staff is friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Gerard's is the best adult restaurant in ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Gerard's is the best adult restaurant in West Maui ( Lahaina Area ). The food is ALWAYS outstanding no matter what you order. If the weather is good, their outdoor, Front Porch is very romantic and you do not have a problem with street noise.

We have been going there for over 15 years and each time is the BEST.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fois gras is the way to go. Extensive bu ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Fois gras is the way to go. Extensive but confusing wine list. Could so with more description or recommendations. Great service. Venison was a good. It felt more like an Austrian dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Absolutely wonderful. My fiancé had the ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Absolutely wonderful. My fiancé had the fresh catch which was incredible, I had the pork tenderloin which was also delicious. Our appetizers were some of the best I've experienced on Maui. Overall an amazing dining experience. Very romantic and nice atmosphere. Some of the best food we had during our visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gerard's made me happy in my soul. I've ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Gerard's made me happy in my soul. I've never had a fine dining experience before and now I am sure I can never top this. I literally have dreamt about the seared foir gras since eating there. The service was impeccable. We met the chef as well. Everything about Gerard's was top shelf. I really hope to eat there again next time I go to Maui.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gerard's is always a wonderful experienc ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Gerard's is always a wonderful experience.....great sauces always perfect. Fish cooked to tender perfection. Duck seems to be a challenge as almost all French restaurants will not serve just a big thigh or several small thighs but they end up sending out the dryish less appealing extended leg. Gerards does this as well. I wonder if you can ask for thigh only? I would ask this before ordering. Their "signature sauce" for fresh fish is wonderful. We had Rubarb pie with ginger ice cream for dessert and it was HEAVENLY !! I love this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server had a delightful sense of hum ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our server had a delightful sense of humor and the service was superb. The mushroom puff pastry appetizer was delicious. My husband did not care for the escargot. My Ono was a little dry but a large piece. My husband's Hawaiian snapper was delicious and loved the potato carrot purée. Great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My family was on a special trip to celeb ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

My family was on a special trip to celebrate my mother's 60th birthday and we had the birthday dinner at Gerard's. We dined out on the veranda and the evening was all very lovely, but especially their service was excellent. Thank you so much for the great birthday dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very welcoming . Dining area had somewha ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Very welcoming . Dining area had somewhat of a interior decor but it was nice and cozy. Food was delicious, couldn't get better food than here. Staff was incredible, very patient, friendly. Hands down one of a kind restaurant and perfect for our anniversary . Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the only civilized restaurant in Maui, t ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

the only civilized restaurant in Maui, there is no better food ,other restaurants are glorified cafeteria in comparaison

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since Gerards is a French Restaurant, yo ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Since Gerards is a French Restaurant, you will get non-traditional selections that no one in the Lahina Maui area can offer (far as I know). Food was extraordinary!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservation weeks in advance, got a ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Made reservation weeks in advance, got a call about 3pm the day of our reservation wanting a credit card no to hold the reservation. Don't get it...they were not busy and was very rude to call day of wanting a charge cars no. Doesn't open table keep score of guest for a show up rating?

Servers were very nice and food was good, but for the price the last minute credit card requirement was rediculous (we've even been there before, although it's been a few years)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The best secret gem on an island full of ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The best secret gem on an island full of great restaurants. Superb all around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gerard's is one of the only authentic Fr ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Gerard's is one of the only authentic French restaurants on Maui. They use fresh island ingredients paired with traditional French preparations. Simply fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, excellent food, excel ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent service, excellent food, excellent atmosphere. Only complaint was the wine corkage was too high. Highest in the area($35).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We only found this place because we had ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We only found this place because we had a discount for it from the hotel we were staying at. It was amazing and the food is to die for! If you're looking for a high quality meal, this is the place to go. Everyone was so friendly and this helped put my experience over the top!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All around excellent.

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

All around excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food ranged from byondbelifexcellent to ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food ranged from byondbelifexcellent to disappointing. Shitakes in pastry appetizer was big enough to share and wonderful. Lobster bisque, kind of a staple for a French restaurant, was disappointing - tasted fishy! Sweetbreads were perfect; as good as I've ever tasted anywhere anytime. Rack of lamb tasted charred; the crust was not complimentary and the most overpowered everything. Chocolate mousse was different. Not to my tasted but some would love it. Wine list was heavily French and, IMHO, over priced for the California cabs. Very glad we dined there but not likely to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was great and attentive. The fo ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Service was great and attentive. The food wasn't quite the same since the last time we were there (January 2015). Will go again but will order different items.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

First time at this restaurant left us am ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

First time at this restaurant left us amazed that we had never tried it before. Don't be like us and wait to go. Even after 30+ years, Chef Gerard is still in the kitchen every night and carefully crafts the menu each day. After our first dinner there, we were lucky enough to run into Chef Gerard and all we could do was rave over the fish. The food is as fresh and beautifully presented as anyone could ever ask for. Went back again the following week for our last LahainaTown dinner. Was even better the second time. Such a thrill to find someone who cares so much about his customers, and is so good at what he does. Chef Gerard is truly one of the best and we cannot wait to get back to Maui next summer to find out what he's serving up!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Step onto the veranda and you seemingly ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Step onto the veranda and you seemingly step back in time to an age of Island elegance. From the presentation to the magnificent fusion of Island and fine French flavors, the food was world class. The wide selection of wines allowed us to find a delightful Burgundy that was a perfect compliment to our meals. Without hesitation, I would trade both the meals we had at Spago and at Morimoto's for just one more dining experience at Gerard's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While there many choices for food in Mau ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

While there many choices for food in Maui , this place stands out amungst them all.great atmosphere on the porch, outstanding service and tasty food. Nice wine selection, good portion sizes. My only wish was I wish it had fresh bread and oil. We always hit this place while in Maui. It's a bit pricy but always have enjoyed the food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I chose to try Gerard's f ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

My husband and I chose to try Gerard's for our 20th anniversary and we're glad we did. The food at Gerard's was outstanding. The filet mignon was the most flavorful, tender and delicious steak I've ever had. The service was attentive but not over- bearing. My only complaint was that the patio-style chairs and tables were not that comfortable. But the amazing food and romantic atmosphere definitely made the dinner a great success.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Mediocre at best, and definitely not wor ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Mediocre at best, and definitely not worth the money. While the food was good, I'd need something to be more than "good" for their prices. The portion sizes are abysmal. And if you offer someone a "champagne toast" for a special occasion, give them a heads up that you're still going to charge $40 for it. They'll assume it's complimentary.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The above section of "recommend" is not ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The above section of "recommend" is not "conducive" to FINE DINING. The atmosphere, service, scenic view, and all the others are all part of making GERARD'S the important aspect of the restaurants star attraction ......THE FANTASTIC FOODS, and the presentation of same. Having known Gerard for more than 34 year I would recommend this wonderful place to anyone and everyone at any time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful evening! Tonight was s ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

What a wonderful evening! Tonight was such a special evening and the wonderful staff at Gerard's made it even better. Their fish specials for the day was absolutely amazing. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting to make a special evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and a great spot for a specia ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food and a great spot for a special occasion. No Maui view but a quiet setting away from the Lahaina crowds.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

If you want a classic and intimate dinin ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

If you want a classic and intimate dining experience this is the place. With the best food on the island and impeccable service. Great wine list as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Classically trained chef. Good, friendly ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Classically trained chef. Good, friendly service. Worth the drive from the resorts...offers a counterpoint to Wailea/Kapalua restaurants...while the price is similar, here you know it's all for the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The best food on Maui! Always an elegant ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The best food on Maui! Always an elegant treat! The fresh fish specials are amazing! And the duck and rack of lamb are unsurpassed! Save room for dessert, too. Lovely experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Each time we eat there food and service are the tops

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience, come from m ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Excellent dining experience, come from mainland once per year and food is always fantastic, one of two best places to get Foie Gras o Maui

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Dining Experience!

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

I have sent many brides to Gerard's for their wedding dinners as a wedding coordinator. They have come back with raves each time so when it was my anniversary I wanted to go to Gerard's as well. Since it was up high on a pedestal for me I was afraid I might be let down a bit. NOT at all - in fact, the pedestal wasn't tall enough! This is a wonderful, romantic restaurant with food that is some of the best in Maui. The service was incredible. There was nothing you can ask for that you didn't receive instantly. You can take your time enjoying each course as there is no rush even when it was time to close and we were still there having a great time! Highly recommend a dinner at Gerard's in Lahaina when you are in Maui.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined twice in two weeks at Geraurds. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We dined twice in two weeks at Geraurds.

Everytime we return to Maui this is a must do dining experience. Fresh food, cooked magnificently and served elegantly. Freshest seafood dishes and the best beef, lamb and sweetbreads!! My husbands favorite. The wine list also has some awesome choices. I can't say enough good things about this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quiet neighborhood setting for an upscal ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Quiet neighborhood setting for an upscale restaurant; the type of place for a great meal; classified as French, but great seafood and meat dishes. Overall, very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food - need some training in t ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Excellent food - need some training in the service area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.