About Geogeske

2701 Stanton
El Paso, TX 79902
View Larger Map

Geogeske is a locally owned casual American restaurant. It is located in the Kern Area of El Paso and a staple in the Cincinnati Entertainment District. Geogeske is a lively modern restaurant which turns into a vibrant bar at night. Due to its proximity to the University of Texas at El Paso campus it is always buzzing with clientele from all ages.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Cincinnati

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(915) 544-4242

Website:
http://www.g2geogeske.com/

Catering:
Catering can be discussed with GM Ramiro Gomez.

Parking Details:
Limited Valet parking is available.

Private Party Facilities:
Our dining room accommodates up to 70 people. Again reservations to be discussed with Ramiro Gomez

Private Party Contact:
Ramiro Gomez: 9158923572

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Shishito Peppers
Seared Scallops With Green Chile Rice
Iceberg Wedge With Bacon
Blue Cheese Wedge Salad
Hendricks Martini
Wedge Salad
Seafood Enchiladas
Gnarly Head Pinot Noir
Crab Cakes
House Salad
Margarita Fries
Tamari Soy Glazed Salmon And Asparagus
Escolar
Cookie Skillet
Shrimp With Green Chile Rice And Asparagus
Steak Cocktail
Mac and Cheese
Chocolate Chip Cookie Skillet

Geogeske Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
El Paso
Most Booked
El Paso
Best Restaurants in El Paso ›

fit for foodies (4)
neighborhood gem (4)
hot spot (3)
See All
vibrant bar scene (2)
good for groups (1)
late-night find (1)
special occasion (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
52 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The place is still as good as it always is!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Sometime, maybe Geskes will change their menu..its been the same forever! It's good, but, maybe a tweet here or,there would be good, too!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

Great for lunch and casual dinner with f ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great for lunch and casual dinner with friends!

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

G2

Dined on April 9, 2016

Went on a very busy Sat night. Sat at the bar. I thought by being at the bar (second group at bar) that we woukd be well attended to Food drinks silverware etc all came in a choppy manner. Difficult to get bar tenders attention. Food was okay - nothing spectacular being a cook myself. Overrated for price

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience3
service5

Excellent Service and Great Sea Bass

vip
Dined on August 25, 2015

This is my second visit and again I was pleased. The waitress was very attentive and exceptionally friendly. My sea bass had great flavor though it was a tad undercooked- I appreciated the concept though. I enjoyed the house salad and my cocktail as well. Adequate selection of options on the menu. I will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Neighborhood Gem

vip
Dined on June 3, 2015

What more could you ask for? Great food and great service equals a satisfied customer! Tuesday is $4 sushi day!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Still as good as ever.

Dined on May 24, 2015

We don't live in El Paso anymore and this use to be one of our favorites. Still as good as ever.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Nicely prepared entries. Service by Gab ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2015

Nicely prepared entries. Service by Gabriel was good. Definitely a nice place to have lunch. Sandwichs and salads nicely done and prepared.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Great experience

vip
Dined on March 25, 2015

While in El Paso for work, a colleague and I chose Geogeske for dinner. They have a great menu with a few gluten free options for my co-worker. The place has an old diner feel that has been cleaned up to a nice place to eat. The food was great and they have a nice selection of wines. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4

So-So

Dined on March 21, 2015

We went here since it was convenient as we were going to a show afterwards that was across the street. The atmosphere/restaurant was fine, nothing over the top. Food was good, but I think G2 on the east side is a little better. I got the pan-seared scallops and vegetables. The veggies were cooked and seasoned well, as were the scallops. My fiance got the club sandwich with macaroni and cheese. The macaroni and cheese here was a little bland, which was disappointing since I hyped it up to my fiance. He enjoyed the sandwich but thought it was a little odd that they put mustard on a club; said it wasn't bad-weird, just weird. Overall, it was good but I don't know if we'll make efforts to go back again.

food5
ambience4
service5

wonderful - found it on trip advisor -perfect!

Dined on February 28, 2015

The food, from the drinks to the main course was just sublime. It was not complex food, but perfect executed, highlighted by impeccable service. The scallops, steak, mac and cheese are yummy! We left fully sated, something that doesn't often occur.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

UTEP vs. Arizona

Dined on December 20, 2014

Filled with loud fans drinking and eating. Before the BIG GAME, GeoJeskes never missed a step! Food was still yummy, service was very good! We love this place. We had a party of 7, we were seated within 3 minutes of our reservations. We had a really friendly, efficient waiter. Never felt once that we would miss The Game. Thanks guys.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience1
service3

Meh

vip
Dined on December 17, 2014

First time eating here. Food (double cut pork chop/apple/garlic mashed potatoes) & drink (cucumber martini) all good - but not great. Service pleasant - obviously many repeat customers as servers knew many by name & their expected order. Howver, this place has NO atmospher - mighht as well be eating in an elementary school cafeteria - bare unadorned open space with cafeteria tables. Uninspired & unattractive. Would I return? Maybe. Not sure. You could do much worse regarding food in El Paso, & honestly, there haven't been many places that do much better food-wise in El Paso.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

One of our favorites

Dined on November 30, 2014

One of our favorites. Parking is tight but they do have valet for a gratuity only fee. Reservations are a good idea during busy times. Food and service is always great with a menu to fit almost everyone’s taste buds.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great, as always

Dined on November 4, 2014

I had not been to Geogeske in quite awhile, but I had my usual favorite which is the house sashimi salad and it was delicious. My mom had the salmon blt and it was also delicious. French press coffee was also very tasty and the service was fast and friendly. I will not wait so long to go back again, especially since parking was easy given that there are certain spaces exclusively for Geske customers.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

the staff and food was great the macaron ...

Dined on November 2, 2014

the staff and food was great the macaroni cheese with green chilies is fantastic

food4
ambience3
service5

Vibrant, noisy and good food

Dined on September 27, 2014

A great find for El Paso Texas. WE had the salmon and scallops and they were excellent. Not recommended for a romantic evening but for a start of a night of adventure it is a good place to start. Parking will always be an issue in this park of El Paso so be prepared to allow time for this issue. The service was excellent and overall a pleasant evening and find.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite Restaurant in El Paso!

Dined on September 19, 2014

After traveling for 9 hours from Colorado, I was starved and wanted nothing more than a drink and good food. I find Geogeske through my hotel's list of suggestions and was in love the minute I walked in. Their drink menu is outstanding, and the martini I had was the perfect end to my long day. The seafood enchiladas were delicious and was so much food I couldn't even finish it all! This is my new favorite restaurant that I will be sure to visit whenever I am in El Paso, and I just wish I could go at home, too!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

What an amazing El Paso find. We enjoye ...

vip
Dined on August 30, 2014

What an amazing El Paso find. We enjoyed a wonderful lunch and really liked the eclectic menu selections. From the moment we entered and was greeted warmly by our wonderful and incredible waiter, Frank, everything about our experience was outstanding. The grilled cheese sandwich is to die for and the BBQ chicken amazing. You need to definitely enjoy this gem.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

51 Years

Dined on August 23, 2014

Celebrated our 51st. Anniversary with our daughter at this one of our favorite places here in El Paso. Had something new..fish tacos and seafood enchiladas. Delicious. And our sweet waitress split it all 3 ways. Nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

Eat local

Dined on July 12, 2014

Reliable,fun scene. Best wedge in town, pork chop ehh.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service4

Ceasar Salad

Dined on June 22, 2014

In the past my daughter has ordered this salad but on this one occasion, it was the chicken was rather tasteless...it tasted like "chicken," as opposed to having any flavor (like it usually does).

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

excellent food

Dined on June 21, 2014

Ordered food what other reviewers suggested and was pleased. Margarita fries and the Mac and cheese was great! Highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Consistent menu

vip
Dined on June 19, 2014

I really enjoy this place and the food is always delicious

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

I love it here!

Dined on June 7, 2014

Everytime I go I have excellent service and the food never disappoints! Great for a date night or even just for lunch!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4

Young crowd

Dined on April 25, 2014

The food was good, the salads were fresh the drinks well made. It was a Thursday night. The place was super noisy. I felt I was in a concert. Great place for a bar experience and a buzz. Not the kind of place to hold a conversation.

food4
ambience2
service2

Good food, poor service

Dined on April 6, 2014

The food may be great, but the service really takes away from the experience. I'm not sure if they are understaffed or just unatentive. Some May like this , but I found the restaurant so loud I was unable to have a conversation.

food5
ambience4
service5

We're here....again!

Dined on March 20, 2014

Well. everything up to par and beyond on pur lunch time visit to G2. chicken sandwiches with green chilies...yummy. salad with coconut shrimp also good as well as the tortilla soup. keep up the good work. Oh...hubby had, as a side, some grilled carrots,that he inhaled! Guess,they were good!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Will be back!

Dined on March 13, 2014

I stay away from chain restaurants, especially when I travel. Finally decided to try G2 and was not disappointed. Wish I would have tried It sooner as I'm not sure when I'll be back in El Paso. Had dinner with a co-worker and then met up with a frind for drinks. Perfect place to eat and then hang out, no need to go anywhere else.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

celebrating 40 years!

Dined on March 7, 2014

Had a great time, food was delicious, service was great! We love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Staycation

Dined on February 16, 2014

My husband won a raffle which included a gift card for Geogeske. I was aware of the restaurant but never had a chance to try it. The noise level was moderate because we arrived on the night of a UTEP basketball game, before the game started. We ordered chips and guacamole for a starter. The guacamole was fresh and tasty. My husband ordered a chicken sandwich and I had the scallops. His sandwich was huge and juicy. My scallops were seasoned beautifully and perfectly done. This was a wonderful dinner. Tip: spend the money for valet parking. Parking space is at a premium of the weekend.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service2

fun dinner loopy server

Dined on December 21, 2013

Our server seemed spread thin and was a hot mess...it was highly unfortunate. Service was slow and mediocre at best. Try the east side location is 100 times better!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

great dining experience

Dined on November 24, 2013

Great place to have dinner or lunch. The service and staff were great. The food was incredible as well.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Yummy

Dined on November 3, 2013

Everything from the appetizer to the desert was great tasting. Best scallops ever! House salad was tops! We keep coming back year after year for celebrations...birthday, new job, and so on.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Saturday, October 12.

Dined on October 13, 2013

We had the best waiter I think we have ever had. He was excellent and knew just how to handle our four-year old grandson. The food was great, but the waiter made the evening remarkable. Thank you!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service2

Mediocre food & service

Dined on September 27, 2013

Dinner was ok, the salads where excellent but unfortunately the mac & cheeses was burned, the ceviche appetizer tasted like it came form a can and the waiter was very friendly but would take to long to come back and check on drinks, at several times several people in our party had empty glasses and we had to flag down the waiter

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was very good overall

Dined on September 14, 2013

Everything was very good overall just one thing, in the resevervation I stated I wanted a red rose in the table and it wasnt there. I was very upset because it was a special occasion for my girfriend and I.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Tasty

Dined on August 29, 2013

Tasty and reliable. One of our favorite places in El Paso.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious

Dined on August 23, 2013

As usual, this restaurant never fails to please. We enjoyed our 50th. wedding anniversary lunch with friends. Testimony to the freshness of the food..the green chilies had a real kick to them! Loved our apple pie dessert that was big enough to share with. huge crowd!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Great for quick lunches

Dined on August 22, 2013

Always a personal favorite, whether for a quick lunch with a date or group. Consider them for intimate dinners too, where you can start things off at their hopping bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Love it

Dined on August 1, 2013

We love G2. We go there regularly. We made a reservation simply because it was a popular night and there were going to be 6 of us for dinner. Thanks to opentable, we made the reservation 20 minutes before arriving. When we walked in, they were setting up our table. Our server was slammed so things ran a little slow (hence the 4 stars) but everything was exactly how we ordered it. Will go back without question.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.