About Geoffrey's Restaurant

27400 Pacific Coast Highway
Malibu, CA 90265
View Larger Map

Magnificent views of the Pacific coastline complimented by waterfalls and tropical plants create a romantic Mediterranean meets Malibu atmosphere. Guests can enjoy a relaxing weekday lunch and weekend brunch or candlelit dinner with surrounding fire pits. Our international Californian cuisine can be enjoyed while spectacular dolphins and whales showcase their water displays.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, International, American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday, 10:00am - 3:30pm. (Last orders to be in by 3:30pm)
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:30am - 3:30pm. (Last orders to be in by 3:30pm)
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday, 4:00pm - 9:00pm (Last seating at 9pm)
Friday - Saturday - 4:00pm - 10:00pm (Last seating at 10pm)
Open every day of the year!

Cross Street:
2 miles south of Kanan canyon, 4 miles north of Malibu canyon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 457-1519

Website:
http://www.geoffreysmalibu.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment can be arranged for private events.

Parking Details:
We are situated next to PCH with busy traffic.

Executive Chef:
Bijan Shokatfard

Private Party Facilities:
We offer set-menu party events for groups of 15 or more. Restaurant buy-out is also available.

Private Party Contact:
Emily Richardson: 3104571519x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have lovely areas available for many events. We have prix fixe menus for parties of 15 or more listed on our website in our special events section. Also, if your party is less then 15 people and would like a prix fixe, please contact our special events coordinator to set it up.

Restaurant Photos

Geoffrey's Restaurant
Sauteed Sea Scallops
Maple Blueberry Cheesecake
Chocolate Hazelnut Crunch Bar
Turkey Roulade With Spinach Bread Pudding
Pea Soup
Maine Lobster Eggs Benedict
Quail
Creme Brulee
Pallela
Scoth Benedict
Sautéed Day Boat Sea Scallops
Espresso Flan
Morrocan Shrimp
Spicy Fried Oysters
Baked Brie With Pear Chutney
Lychee Margarita
Classic Geoffrey's Crème Brûlée
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Seafood Paella
Crab Cake Benedict
Straberry Daiquiri Martini
Creamy Wild Mushroom Soup
Maryland Crab Cakes Eggs Benedict
Pear Salad With Humbolt Fog
Corn Chowder With Mini Crabcake
Coconut Shrimp
Basil Mint Gimlet
Lobster Cobb Salad
Ice Water with Lemon
Crab Cake Egg Benedict
raw oysters
Whole Maine Lobster
gimlet
Brie Appetizer
Quiche Lorraine
Shrimp & Lobster Ceviche
Cucumber Saketini
Crab Cakes
Shrimp & Scallop Ceviche
Scallops
Salmon
Mushroom soup
Bread Roll
Herb-Crusted Salmon
Baked Brie
Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict
Lobster Quiche
Tahitian Clam Chowder
Baked Brie & Ahi Poke

Geoffrey's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Los Angeles
Best Overall
Beach Cities
Best Ambiance
Beach Cities
3 More
Outdoor Dining
Beach Cities
Romantic
Beach Cities
Most Booked
Beach Cities
Best Restaurants in Malibu ›

scenic view (226)
great for outdoor dining (221)
romantic (183)
See All
special occasion (174)
great for brunch (119)
great for lunch (102)
fit for foodies (95)
hot spot (53)
neighborhood gem (53)
good for groups (47)
notable wine list (37)
kid-friendly (14)
late-night find (8)
vibrant bar scene (5)
Sort By:
Newest
2518 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The view was absolutely breathtaking. Th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

The view was absolutely breathtaking. The food was a bit of a letdown. My friend and I both ordered the wagyu beef with mashed potatoes and we both agreed that the beef had no flavor whatsoever. I was highly disappointed about that considering it was wagyu and the price we paid. We ordered their creme brûlée for dessert since we couldn't even finish our meals. The dessert was delicious and by far the better part of our meal. I would recommend Geoffrey's for someone looking for a place with a nice atmosphere and view, but definitely not for the food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Best place in the world

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Best place in the world

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was exceptional, the food was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our waiter was exceptional, the food was delicious, this place is a gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We always love going to Geoffrey's for s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

We always love going to Geoffrey's for special occasions. The food is always excellent. The service is efficient and staff is friendly. There's no way to beat the ambiance and view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and location outstanding.... was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service and location outstanding.... was quite disappointed by the food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Service and food was impeccable as alway ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service and food was impeccable as always. Never disappointed in the slightest when I'm here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time visiting Geofre ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was our second time visiting Geofrey's and I was very disappointed. I informed the hostess that my wife and I were celebrating our 5th year wedding anniversary and they didn't even bother acknowledging it or even ask what was the occasion. Our Filets were ok and our two waiters were extremely inattentive. I had to ask for pepper twice and for them to refill my water. Don't think we'll be going back anytime soon.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

This is a fantastic restaurant. We reser ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

This is a fantastic restaurant. We reserved a table and did not wait to be seated. Staff was attentive and food was spectacular! Views of the ocean were romantic and beautiful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Geoffrey's stands out as truly a Malibu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

Geoffrey's stands out as truly a Malibu experience, ambience, service, menu, preparation are all extraordinary. We had Great mixed drinks, to start off. We will return for another date night. Words of wisdom to the parents with small kids... please don't bring them here... This is the location where JFK is rumored to have started his affair with Marilyn Monroe... This is a place for lovers :-)

The preparation on the swordfish was the best I have had !!!

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant somehow has made a big j ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This restaurant somehow has made a big jump from being a gorgeous view restaurant with

satisfactory food to being a gourmet's delight. We were shocked at how good our dishes

were: ceviche, although rather small, mussels in an opaque (didn't want to ask if there was

cream) white wine sauce, scallops with truffle risotto. Each of these was the best we have had.

Creme Brûlée was exceptional also, but layering it over chocolate is the mistake of an amateur -

and this chef is no amateur.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Geoffrey's is a wonderful place to dine. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Geoffrey's is a wonderful place to dine. Servers are properly attentive and the food is great. The ambience incredible! Enjoy going there whenever I can!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The ambience was great along with the vi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The ambience was great along with the view of the ocean. But the food is ok nothing to write home about

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

As always, the ambience and view were pi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

As always, the ambience and view were picture perfect. The food is very good, not spectacular but very good, and a tad overpriced. Then again, you're paying for the view and the vibe so, in the end, it's well worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful setting, great service. Just w ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Beautiful setting, great service. Just wish the tuna on the nicoise salad was a little bit better quality and the tomatoes were ripe and not hard ( I asked for more ripe tomatoes and second round were equally as hard ) Worth it for the view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Memorable experience, nice ocean view

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Memorable experience, nice ocean view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was very attentive, great vie ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our waiter was very attentive, great view of the ocean, the swordfish and scallops were amazing. One of the best Kettle One Martinis I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal. Service s little inconsisten ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great meal. Service s little inconsistent but they let us pace our meal nicely. Would love to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Lives up to its reputation! Great servic ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Lives up to its reputation! Great service, on top of everything else. The Chocolate Creme Brulee is to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

over priced menu and not so good,service ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

over priced menu and not so good,service was realy bad started with rude valet people and continued with poor service from the waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Geoffrey's is the quintessential Malibu ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Geoffrey's is the quintessential Malibu restaurant, high on a bluff, overlooking the Pacific. The food and service have always been top shelf in my experience. I've been there for a dinner a number of times and most recently for brunch on Sunday, and there are few better places in L.A. for that on a nice day. It's not inexpensive, but worth it for special occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Taking guests from the Florida Coast to ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Taking guests from the Florida Coast to anywhere here can be a challenge -- since one thinks that they've been there, done that -- but there is only one Geoffrey's and, as usual, this time was perfect. Sunday brunch is popular, but arriving at 10:00 before the rush affords practically any choice of seating, plus quiet, unrushed service. The brunch menu is varied, the sound level is so low that we really could hear the waves below, and the indoor-outdoor decor is what one sees in Malibu homes featured in Architectural Digest: sophisticated, easy-on-the-eye-muted colors, thoughtful artwork, and very comfortable seating. Ocean views from every seat!A minor annoyance is a small service charge, even with parking validation, since with the logistical design of the place, no self-parking available and there is no other way to go but with the excellent valet parkers.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, better than average. Service was g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food, better than average. Service was great. jkbxzfdpjkihgASFDHJBVGSDFAHJBGSCFDAKJHBSDCFAWKL;HJB

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous view, excellent service and ver ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Fabulous view, excellent service and very good food. Great place for a special occasion and romantic evening.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We live on the West Side and our friend ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We live on the West Side and our friends are from the Valley. This restaurant seemed to be equally far for both couples. But Geoffreys was a lovely destination and presented a wonderful "out of town" experience. We had a wonderful table with full view of the Pacific. Three of us had paella which was fantastic. We were in Spain last year, and this paella was superior to anything we had there. My husband had the scallops on a bed of risotto which he described as amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Warm greeting, perfect table, excellent ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Warm greeting, perfect table, excellent service, delicious food. Who could ask for more?

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant, and views are spec ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, and views are spectacular. Good was great, and service was impeccable. Our waitress and the manager were both wonderful hosts.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

B'day date with an old friend in a beaut ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

B'day date with an old friend in a beautiful place on a magnificent California day. Lot of meal choices that are interesting and tasty.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

View doesn't get much better. Food and s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

View doesn't get much better. Food and service are great as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was horrible and bland. We had ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The food was horrible and bland. We had a hard time communicating with the server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

the pre set menu was ridiculous, conside ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

the pre set menu was ridiculous, considering that 1 1/2 lbs of lobster or steak were the same price as a piece of bland piece of tofu. My husband and I are vegan, but we do eat vegetarian from time to time, when there is no other choice. The kale salad was good, but the main was a complete joke. We called in advance to make sure that at least the tofu and veggies were enough to get us full, the manager said it was a significantly large portion so the dinner was worth the $100 per person. It was not. The two pieces of tofu were bland, sitting on a bed of thinly shaved handfull of zucchini and sauteed leafy greens. We had to ask for bread 3 times since it was late to go to another restaurant and we were still hungry after the dessert. Also, the waitress gave us a table upon our arrival, but we had to run to the car and come back. We came back minutes later and they gave our table to 2 girls who were flirting with all the waiters in an obvious and disgusting way. This is obviously not a vegan friendly restaurant, the only thing good about it is the view it offers. And none of their produce is organic. $100 per person to get a hefty amount of pesticides, gmos and glyphosate.. Will never come back and would choose Nobu over it every time I want to go to an upscale oceanfront restaurant.

The chef obviously does not eat vegetables, because tofu was the most boring choice he made for plant based customers. Who likes tofu anyway? I mean for that price he could have prepared a lobster mushroom, or any other mushrooms, or a truffled pasta or risotto...

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

We went during the 4th of July, so it wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We went during the 4th of July, so it was a special menu with plenty of options. Parking was a pain (not the restaurant's fault, and I didn't want to Valet for $18). But for $100+ per person I was really dissapointed in the food. The atmosphere was nice, the view was great, and the service from our waiter was incredible. However, the clam chowder was a salty combination of clams and bacon in broth, the ceasar salad dressing was bland, the filet mignon was delicious, the scallops were not flavorful and sitting on a bed of milky rice (definitely not risotto) and surrounded by a pool of sickly sweet honey sauce that overpowered any potential for flavor of the scallops. The dessert was delicious as well. The cheesecake was fluffy and tasted great, the apple tart was warm, flaky, and perfectly spiced while sitting in a huge pool of caramel sauce. Overall experience was good, but definitely dissapointed by the food for the price paid.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We enjoyed the food and our waitress. Th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We enjoyed the food and our waitress. The valet was so awful I nearly left to find parking on PCH. I would avoid using their valet in the future!

D

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing views and friendly staff.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Amazing views and friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my parents 40th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

It was my parents 40th wedding anniversary and the hostess made a point to congratulate them it was very nice

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The entire staff was very helpful and th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The entire staff was very helpful and the food and service were excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place never disappoints. Service is ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This place never disappoints. Service is prompt yet not rushed. They routinely deliver what you would expect from a restaurant of this caliber. Had a situation with a table next to us that decided to play a video loudly for their toddler which was very distracting and selfish. Manager handled it immediately and it was never an issue after that. That level of care is what keeps bringing us back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was not good at all, scallops w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food was not good at all, scallops were not fully cooked sauces were disgusting and tasted slightly burnt

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

As always Geoffrey's Malibu is a beautif ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

As always Geoffrey's Malibu is a beautiful restaurant with a great dinning experience, the paella we had was nevertheless delicious but a bit soupy for what a paella usually is. Good flavors though.

The dessert was the apple tart, which needs some improvement again swimming in some type of syrup. Just wasn't good. The crust was oily and a bit over baked. Anyway, just a few flaws that I hope will be repaired soon. Since it was my birthday didn't have the heart to let them know but here I am.

Overall a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

From the moment you get there from the V ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

From the moment you get there from the Valet to the host to the waiter everyone is so lovely and kind. Beautiful views every where. The food is so amazing it is an experience not just eating. We had scallops and they melt in your mouth. Wonderful Restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was exquisite! The food while g ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Service was exquisite! The food while good was not exceptional, and fairly pricey. The ahi tuna in the nicoise was not as rare as we would have liked it, and there was rather too much lettuce at the expense of green beans. The cappuccino was not good. The view is stunning. If you allow them to valet park your car they charge a $6 fee on the bill - and you still have to tip!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.