About Geoffrey's Restaurant

27400 Pacific Coast Highway
Malibu, CA 90265
View Larger Map

Magnificent views of the Pacific coastline complimented by waterfalls and tropical plants create a romantic Mediterranean meets Malibu atmosphere. Guests can enjoy a relaxing weekday lunch and weekend brunch or candlelit dinner with surrounding fire pits. Our international Californian cuisine can be enjoyed while spectacular dolphins and whales showcase their water displays.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, International, American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday, 10:00am - 3:30pm. (Last orders to be in by 3:30pm)
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:30am - 3:30pm. (Last orders to be in by 3:30pm)
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday, 4:00pm - 9:00pm (Last seating at 9pm)
Friday - Saturday - 4:00pm - 10:00pm (Last seating at 10pm)
Open every day of the year!

Cross Street:
2 miles south of Kanan canyon, 4 miles north of Malibu canyon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 457-1519

Website:
http://www.geoffreysmalibu.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment can be arranged for private events.

Parking Details:
We are situated next to PCH with busy traffic.

Executive Chef:
Bijan Shokatfard

Private Party Facilities:
We offer set-menu party events for groups of 15 or more. Restaurant buy-out is also available.

Private Party Contact:
Emily Richardson: 3104571519x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have lovely areas available for many events. We have prix fixe menus for parties of 15 or more listed on our website in our special events section. Also, if your party is less then 15 people and would like a prix fixe, please contact our special events coordinator to set it up.

Restaurant Photos

Geoffrey's Restaurant
Sauteed Sea Scallops
Maple Blueberry Cheesecake
Chocolate Hazelnut Crunch Bar
Turkey Roulade With Spinach Bread Pudding
Scallops With Foie Gras Risotto
Pea Soup
Maine Lobster Eggs Benedict
Quail
Sautéed Day Boat Sea Scallops
Morrocan Shrimp
Espresso Flan
Spicy Fried Oysters
Baked Brie With Pear Chutney
Lychee Margarita
Classic Geoffrey's Crème Brûlée
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Seafood Paella
Crab Cake Benedict
Straberry Daiquiri Martini
Creamy Wild Mushroom Soup
Maryland Crab Cakes Eggs Benedict
Pear Salad With Humbolt Fog
Corn Chowder With Mini Crabcake
Coconut Shrimp
Basil Mint Gimlet
Lobster Cobb Salad
Ice Water with Lemon
Crab Cake Egg Benedict
raw oysters
Whole Maine Lobster
Brie Appetizer
gimlet
Quiche Lorraine
Shrimp & Lobster Ceviche
Pallela
Cucumber Saketini
Crab Cakes
Shrimp & Scallop Ceviche
Mushroom soup
Scallops
Salmon
Bread Roll
Creme Brulee
Scoth Benedict
Herb-Crusted Salmon
Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict
Baked Brie
Tahitian Clam Chowder
Lobster Quiche
Baked Brie & Ahi Poke

Geoffrey's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Los Angeles
Best Ambiance
Beach Cities
Outdoor Dining
Beach Cities
3 More
Romantic
Beach Cities
Scenic View
Beach Cities
Most Booked
Beach Cities
Best Restaurants in Malibu ›

Scenic View (202)
Great for Outdoor Dining (196)
Romantic (169)
See All
Special Occasion (157)
Great for Brunch (96)
Great for Lunch (86)
Fit for Foodies (82)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Hot Spot (47)
Notable Wine List (37)
Good for Groups (36)
Worth the Drive (26)
Waterfront (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
People Watching (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Fun (6)
Business Meals (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Cozy (4)
Healthy (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Seasonal (3)
Historic (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Casual (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Authentic (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2598 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Cold roast potatoes cooked hours before ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

Cold roast potatoes cooked hours before if not days. Marginally warm soup. Same for omelette

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

We enjoyed the ambiance, service, locati ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We enjoyed the ambiance, service, location, and food very much.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife requested that we return to Geof ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My wife requested that we return to Geoffrey's to celebrate our 50th Anniversary. We both love their ocean view, and hoped my request for a table with an ocean view would be honored. When I checked in at the restaurant for our 7:00 reservation, I was told that it would be a 20 to 30 minute wait for our special table. We waited for 30 minutes, and then again for another 10 minutes, before the receptionist told us our table was ready -- no view -- high traffic area. I complained, and was told that it would be another 30 minutes before a view table would be available. We decided not to wait. Our waiter was very attentive and friendly. The food was good but pricey. And upon departure, the parking lot was an absolute cluster f__k. Not exactly the "evening to remember" we had hoped for.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

The service was out standing and they ac ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The service was out standing and they acknowledged our anniversary with a complimentary dessert

Great place worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

million dollar view, great service and c ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

million dollar view, great service and consistently good menu

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't say enough about Geoffrey's. It ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I can't say enough about Geoffrey's. It is one of the "must do" things if you live in this area, or if you have out-of-town guests. Great food, great service, great view - maybe the best view in all of California. And a close friend and I went - I ordered the Scallops, which were perfect, over a foie gras, and my friend ordered the Sea Bass. Everything from the appetizer (Seared Ahi, perfect) to the drinks to the main dish to the dessert was first rate. And our server, Hannah, made the entire evening special. She's the best, a really first rate server, a consummate pro, knew just what to recommend and very personable. If you are deciding between Geoffrey's and another place, let me make this easy for you: choose Geoffrey's.

Tags: Romantic, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Waterfront, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Business Meals, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great views of the ocean. Great food. Gr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great views of the ocean. Great food. Great service from waiter. Great service from valet. Would give this place 10 stars out of 5 if I had the option. Perfect choice for a special occasion. Perfect choice for any dinner occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I requested the best table for the love ...

 
·Dined on September 12, 2016

I requested the best table for the love of my life's birthday .. And I got it best table on the veranda #19

So romantic and great food.. I will be back

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing. They fully accommod ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Absolutely amazing. They fully accommodated to our highly unique situation. My wife and I were wrapping up our honey moon with a close friend's wedding in Malibu and on my wife's birthday, we decided to go here for brunch. With luggage in hand, we were graciously provided storage space for our over-sized bags and provided an ocean view table at a simple request. Food was excellent and the service even better. Strongly recommend this place to anyone who wants to get a feel for a local restaurant in what's arguably the best location in Malibu.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for our anniversary and the v ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went there for our anniversary and the view was very nice. The front desk girls were not very personable or friendly. We had the crab cakes and oysters on the half shell to start. Got filet mignon and the steamed Maine lobster as entrees. Finished with the apple tart and coffee.

The food was good but not something I would rave to my friends and family. The view was very nice I must say again. Glad we tried the place but not somewhere we must go again.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Very relaxed yet luxurious feel. Very go ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very relaxed yet luxurious feel. Very good food. And nice service. Great host and valets.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Geoffrey's Restaurant was what to expect ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Geoffrey's Restaurant was what to expect from a Malibu restaurant on the Coast. The views were great the sunset was hard to see but I bet at the right time of year they would have been awesome.

The service from the moment you pulled in was exceptional. The valets have been trained well, and the host staff were pleasant and very polite. My waiter (darn it cannot remember his name) treated me as if I was his only table even though he had several. He did a great job. The manager happened to stop by my table. He asked how things were and we spoke about the property. He was very pleasant and even answered questions about having a large party there.

The food was good. I had the Ahi Tartare. I had the Caesar Salad. It was good too. It was what you expected. My main course was the Surf and Turf. The meat was exceptional. The lobster was good, at least the part that didn't have shell in it. I appreciate that they shelled it for me, but at the same time felt it was getting cold on the plate too quickly. Then the claws had shell on the underside. I did not say anything, and probably should have. I just was not in the mood, it was just too pleasant of a night.

I will go back, and I am actually looking at having a reception here. Great service can make up for a small mistake on the food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great view So so food Service so so Ask ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great view

So so food

Service so so

Asked for share plates for desert and lots of wiped cream but they did not comply

Don't see how they got a 3 rating from trip advisor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We always love Geoffrey's!!! Never disap ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We always love Geoffrey's!!! Never disappointed!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the paella. Best one I have had ou ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Loved the paella. Best one I have had outside of Spain!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoy Geoffrey at moonlight as we did , ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Enjoy Geoffrey at moonlight as we did , the waves at your feet ,freshness of the salads,savory dishes as the wines :So Admirable-Malibu !

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was overall a very exciting and sceni ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

It was overall a very exciting and scenic experience. The menu could be more diverse and include combinations. For example, it would be great to get pancakes together with an omelet. Also, the dessert menu was a bit disappointing...no chocolate cake? Vanilla bean ice cream was excellent. Overall, was very very nice and we will be going back. Just recommend that they expand the menu a little more. Service was great too.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Waitress was extremely knowledgeable abo ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Waitress was extremely knowledgeable about the menu. I jokingly asked if she was the chef. The restaurant is beautiful. The staff were all pleasant & respectful unlike all the other pretentious restaurants in LA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After reading some of the reviews, I don ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

After reading some of the reviews, I don't know who those people are that give it a bad review. It's a wonderful, delightful restaurant to just have dinner or celebrate something special. The lobster was to die for and the service was exemplary. And for some reason some people think there is no parking charge. Just so you're not surprised, they put the parking charge on the bill. Tipping is up to you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We brought a kid. It was a family dinner ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We brought a kid. It was a family dinner. However, unlike other fine dining restaurants, the server was not friendly at all. I don't think he welcomed a family with kid. Originally we requested the high chair but the kid didn't want to sit on it. We asked him to bring adult's chair instead and he looked extremely unhappy. Couldn't it been better?

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

The service was VERY slow and the waiter ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The service was VERY slow and the waiter seemed irritated just being there. Drinks were very slow to show up. The food was mediocre at best, reheated rubbery potatoes, salad was wilted as if it had been sitting under a heat lamp. Completely overpriced for what we got. The view of the ocean was obstructed by plants. I was very disappointed. I paid a lot of money for a bad experience. I will not go back to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Beautiful location, wonderful service- t ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Beautiful location, wonderful service- too bad the food is a letdown. Been here 3 times and walked out feeling the same each time. Last meal was brunch, ordered a strawberry daiquiri that came out like a cosmo, instant let down. Had the crab cake eggs benedict. Half a croissant with a crab cake squashed on top (NOT lump, contrary to what the menu assured you). Definitely not worth nearly $30. Wouldn't recommend coming for drinks or a meal, maybe grab a glass of wine and have a few appetizers (the brie was excellent).

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waiter Perry was incredible he made ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our waiter Perry was incredible he made the dining experience memorable. The food was delicious and the view was priceless!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Only issue was it was too dark at the ou ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Only issue was it was too dark at the outside tables

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

After dining here for 50 years , seems t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

After dining here for 50 years , seems to need some updating but still the best romatic place to eat in Malibu.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Perfect view of a perfect sunset. Staff ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Perfect view of a perfect sunset. Staff was so friendly and very knowledgable of the menu and ingredients used. We went in the evening and they were very prepared for a chill as my boyfriend knew I'd get cold. They had area heaters and beach shaws. They food was great. I recommend the strawberry lemonade cocktail.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Hot Spot, People Watching, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for brunch on last Sunday. There ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We went for brunch on last Sunday. There wasn't too many option for brunch on the menu! The price was very high, the quality very low!( didn't expect it at all)

Also, they knew it was our wedding anniversary, but still didn't say any congrats.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

The only "complaint" I have is that we w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The only "complaint" I have is that we were seated on the patio in the section that was dark. I had to use my iPhone light to read the menu.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant but had to wait 20m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Beautiful restaurant but had to wait 20mins for table when we had a reservation which i didn't mind but when we got to our table it had not been cleaned off so they had to clean it in front of us. Also our reservation was booked a month in advance and we did not get the table we requested and where put at one of the worst tables in my opinion and the waiter was ok but he had 4 gotten what we had ordered and had to come back and ask. Lastly it was my wife's birthday which i let them know when i booked it and also reminded them when we got there and still had nothing special done for her birthday and no mention of it from the sever. Definitely not worth the $250+ i spent there.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I've driven by Geoffrey's so many times ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I've driven by Geoffrey's so many times on PCH and finally decided to go before moving out of the area. The food was fantastic and the view from the patio was fabulous. It definitely is pricey but absolutely worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The view is amazing. The staff is excell ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The view is amazing. The staff is excellent. The food is good!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The restaurant had gorgeous views and ex ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The restaurant had gorgeous views and excellent food but, the service was sub par. Our server passed over our table numerous times leaving dirty dishes and empty glasses at the table. When we would try to get her attention she would say "just a sec, or be right back," and when she would come by we were addressed as "honey, sweetie," etc. The entire experience was spoiled by molasses slow, unprofessional service. My fiance and I ended up leaving after appetizers to go elsewhere. It was like fine dining by a Denny's server. Maybe worse.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

We had a very pleasant experience at Geo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We had a very pleasant experience at Geoffrey's. The food was outstanding as was the view. The wait staff was very friendly although service was a bit slow and our waiter forgot our drink order. Not a big deal. I would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

A wonderful experience. Great view, exce ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

A wonderful experience. Great view, excellent food, and service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Geoffreys is always a beautiful dining p ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Geoffreys is always a beautiful dining place. It is pricey but good for a treat once in a while. I have been to dinner there several times and to brunch twice. It is interesting to note that brunch was $130.00 and dinner the night before in another restaurant with lobster dinners and wine was $155.00.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing views, Hannah the server was a t ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Amazing views, Hannah the server was a true delight! The Jordan Cabernet was as goof as the Nickle and Nickle!

Just a beautiful place to Dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great experience. Lots of gluten free op ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great experience. Lots of gluten free options and handled gluten free well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Because of the scenic view, many people ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Because of the scenic view, many people take pictures in one particular spot. We were seated right next to this popular spot which was enormously distracting and intrusive to our conversation; we eventually asked to move tables.

The service was just okay. While we are eating the same person was circulating collecting dishes when people finished eating or "he/she" thought they were finished eating. The "rush and eat" atmosphere should not exist in a restaurant such as this.

Also, bringing the wrong drink, waiting so long for a drink, and continually checking on our order is not what we expect to tolerate at a "better" restaurant - such as this.

The experience...just okay. Definitely not what was expected.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Service was ok, we specifically asked fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Service was ok, we specifically asked for a window table and weren't given one.apparently open table doesn't do well with special requests

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Excellent! Great food, great view, great ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent! Great food, great view, great drink! I will definitely go back.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.