About Geoffrey's Restaurant

27400 Pacific Coast Highway
Malibu, CA 90265
View Larger Map

Magnificent views of the Pacific coastline complimented by waterfalls and tropical plants create a romantic Mediterranean meets Malibu atmosphere. Guests can enjoy a relaxing weekday lunch and weekend brunch or candlelit dinner with surrounding fire pits. Our international Californian cuisine can be enjoyed while spectacular dolphins and whales showcase their water displays.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, International, American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday, 10:00am - 3:30pm. (Last orders to be in by 3:30pm)
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:30am - 3:30pm. (Last orders to be in by 3:30pm)
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday, 4:00pm - 9:00pm (Last seating at 9pm)
Friday - Saturday - 4:00pm - 10:00pm (Last seating at 10pm)
Open every day of the year!

Cross Street:
2 miles south of Kanan canyon, 4 miles north of Malibu canyon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 457-1519

Website:
http://www.geoffreysmalibu.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment can be arranged for private events.

Parking Details:
We are situated next to PCH with busy traffic.

Executive Chef:
Bijan Shokatfard

Private Party Facilities:
We offer set-menu party events for groups of 15 or more. Restaurant buy-out is also available.

Private Party Contact:
Emily Richardson: 3104571519x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have lovely areas available for many events. We have prix fixe menus for parties of 15 or more listed on our website in our special events section. Also, if your party is less then 15 people and would like a prix fixe, please contact our special events coordinator to set it up.

Restaurant Photos

Geoffrey's Restaurant
Sauteed Sea Scallops
Maple Blueberry Cheesecake
Chocolate Hazelnut Crunch Bar
Turkey Roulade With Spinach Bread Pudding
Pea Soup
Maine Lobster Eggs Benedict
Quail
Creme Brulee
Pallela
Scoth Benedict
Sautéed Day Boat Sea Scallops
Espresso Flan
Morrocan Shrimp
Spicy Fried Oysters
Baked Brie With Pear Chutney
Lychee Margarita
Classic Geoffrey's Crème Brûlée
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Seafood Paella
Crab Cake Benedict
Straberry Daiquiri Martini
Creamy Wild Mushroom Soup
Maryland Crab Cakes Eggs Benedict
Pear Salad With Humbolt Fog
Corn Chowder With Mini Crabcake
Coconut Shrimp
Basil Mint Gimlet
Lobster Cobb Salad
Ice Water with Lemon
Crab Cake Egg Benedict
raw oysters
Whole Maine Lobster
gimlet
Brie Appetizer
Quiche Lorraine
Shrimp & Lobster Ceviche
Cucumber Saketini
Crab Cakes
Shrimp & Scallop Ceviche
Scallops
Salmon
Mushroom soup
Bread Roll
Herb-Crusted Salmon
Baked Brie
Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict
Lobster Quiche
Tahitian Clam Chowder
Baked Brie & Ahi Poke

Geoffrey's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Los Angeles
Best Overall
Beach Cities
Best Ambiance
Beach Cities
3 More
Outdoor Dining
Beach Cities
Romantic
Beach Cities
Most Booked
Beach Cities
Best Restaurants in Malibu ›

scenic view (199)
great for outdoor dining (195)
romantic (165)
See All
special occasion (155)
great for brunch (111)
great for lunch (97)
fit for foodies (79)
hot spot (49)
neighborhood gem (47)
good for groups (41)
notable wine list (34)
kid-friendly (11)
late-night find (9)
vibrant bar scene (7)
Sort By:
Newest
2477 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was exquisite! The food while g ...

Dined 2 days ago

Service was exquisite! The food while good was not exceptional, and fairly pricey. The ahi tuna in the nicoise was not as rare as we would have liked it, and there was rather too much lettuce at the expense of green beans. The cappuccino was not good. The view is stunning. If you allow them to valet park your car they charge a $6 fee on the bill - and you still have to tip!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Things were really lovely EXCEPT that my ...

Dined 3 days ago

Things were really lovely EXCEPT that my Chilean Sea Bass was very overcooked. I did not even know that this fish could turn into strings. Too bad for me. The rest was dreamy.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a good experience at Geof ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

We always have a good experience at Geofferys but this time was Fabo. We took my girlfriend who was visiting us from out of town and the cool ocean breeze, the fabulous cocktails and yummy food were just what the doctor ordered. Our server, Tim, was awesome. It was a perfect evening.

food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Unfortunately after all these years of b ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Unfortunately after all these years of being a great restaurant with a Phenomenal view, the Chefs have decided to mail in the food. The Staff feel they are more important that the customers, the Valet Staff is excellent. I used to love this place and would tell all my friend to go there mail them the signature Postcard saying wish you were here.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Geoffrey's is always a very pleasant din ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Geoffrey's is always a very pleasant dining experience. On a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. All tables are outdoors, some covered but umbrellas are always set up during the day and heat lamps are available in the evenings. The restaurant has beautiful lush garden and there is a subtle rock waterfall tucked. Patrons are dressed in upscale casual or upscale dressy, it's an easy place to relax and dine. We always enjoy lunch and brunch. Valet parking staff manages the lot very well. The bartenders always do drinks right. Appetizer favorites: mussels; coconut shrimp; oysters on the half; baked brie are some of our favorites. The mushroom soup is delicious. Several salads, the arugula with watermelon or the beet salad are those that I like. As for brunch, the favorites: any of the three eggs benedict preparations; divers scallops with foie gras risotto; filet mignon and salmon were popular at our table today. Good wine list. Service is attentive, easy going friendly staff. We have never ever been rushed here - so the hostess staff seems to manage the reservations and walk-ins with ease.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

This is the second time we have eaten he ...

Dined 6 days ago

This is the second time we have eaten here. The first occasion was Valentine's Day. The service and food were perfect! We came for dinner this last week and the food, again, was soooo good. We had Oysters, and also a shrimp Entree and the Scallop Entree. When they came to seat us, the table had not been bussed. We stood off to the side as we waited for the plates to be cleared. The first time I used the lady's room, the hand towels were overflowing from the garbage and the entire bathroom needed servicing. The second time I used the lady's room the garbage had been emptied and I assumed that the room had been attended to, but there was NO toilet paper in either stall. I let someone know. I love this restaurant, the view and the food. I just got a sense that perhaps there was no manager on duty or they are replacing a manager. I would still go back! Stacey

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome food!

Dined on June 25, 2016

Awesome food!

food5
ambience5
service5

Always incredible!

Dined on June 22, 2016

Always incredible!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's always great there. The waiters are ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

It's always great there. The waiters are top notch. Well trained..

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

It was a fixed Menu on Fathers Day. Good ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

It was a fixed Menu on Fathers Day. Good Choices, but the food arrived only warm not hot, and my Sea Bass was over cooked. I eat here quite a bit, and it's unusual to get a bad meal. I just pass on the fixed menu in the future.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We went to Geoffrey's for Father's Day d ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

We went to Geoffrey's for Father's Day dinner. We understood that they were serving a pre-fixe menu for $74/person. Our expectation was that we were going to have a great meal in a beautiful setting. We were very disappointed - the food was NOT good. Every entre was on a bed of something mashed or pureed - obviously prepared hours in advance. My salmon was dry and tasteless. My husband's filet had a bad texture, as if it had been artificially tenderized. The appetizers and deserts were ok but certainly not good enough to make up for the entrees. The restaurant certainly had enough staff working that day but many of them seemed inexperienced and unsure of themselves. It seemed like they were just called in for the day without adequate training.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience5
service5

Great place.. Wonderful staff.. Exceptio ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Great place.. Wonderful staff.. Exceptional atmosphere.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

For that special occasion, date, anniver ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

For that special occasion, date, anniversary etc. This is the spot to go! Amazing view, romantic and the food is something to die for! This a must go to spot!👌🏽

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

One of the best ocean views in Malibu, s ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

One of the best ocean views in Malibu, so well worth dinner with a date. The food is adequate, but not much more. The octopus cerviche is very good but the Waygu (pot roast style) was somehow lacking fat to help the taste and was very under-seasoned, and not only in salt. Very bland and tasted like food for 80 year olds. Recommended for view but not the food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4

Beautiful view, not the best food.

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Beautiful view, not the best food.

food5
ambience5
service5

By far, the best restaurant in all of Lo ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

By far, the best restaurant in all of Los Angeles. That includes Beverly Hills! Service, food, ambience, views everything was 5 Diamond. I could find absolutely nothing to criticize!

food5
ambience5
service5

Always amazing -- great service.

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Always amazing -- great service.

food2
ambience5
service3
value3

It is shame the owner does not hire a gr ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

It is shame the owner does not hire a great chef . The locals are frustrated there are no great restaurants in Malibu. Geoffrey's has the location and scenery and they count on that to attract people

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Overlooking the ocean was exceptional. ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Overlooking the ocean was exceptional. Also the spicy fried oysters were extraordinary.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Postcard Perfect! Took visitors from the ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Postcard Perfect! Took visitors from the midwest to a wonderful Sunday brunch. Everything was perfect! Even the sun came out to make the already perfect view glow! Tony, our server, was attentive, funny and took great care of our party. When a meal by the ocean is desired with a killer view, can't beat Geoffrey's!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

What a disappointment! We were celebrati ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

What a disappointment! We were celebrating our anniversary and were seated at the worst table in the restaurant a table in front of a little gate leading to stairways down to the beach and people were constantly going in and out of that gate up and down the stairs are standing at the landing taking photographs of each other and themselves and completely blocked our view The food was also disappointing considering the prices our waiter was argumentative and the manager or whoever he was that came by the table to explain why people kept walking in front of us through the little gate did apologize just explained and blames on the government I have no intention of going back I would never recommend this restaurant

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love your restaurant as a great place ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I love your restaurant as a great place for celebrating a special occasion. The only criticism I have is that my cup of tea was brought just before my desert. Tea does not really go with desert so I had the option of eating my desert and letting my tea go cold or drinking my tea and letting my desert go cold. Tea should always be served after desert.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Unique scenic dining

Dined on June 11, 2016

Very nice ambiance with every seat being an excellent view of the ocean. After sunset there are white string lights and fire pits. Wonderful service. Food was pretty traditional choices but reliably good. Went for a birthday, I would say the only downside was there was no complimentary dessert offering for birthday occasions. Also it's rather far out in Malibu, little bit of a haul from West LA.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely as always ! It's always a specia ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Lovely as always ! It's always a special occasion

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Expansive ocean views and great food

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Geoffrey's perches on the cliffs above the Pacific Ocean and offers expansive views, a diverse wine list and delicious food. Parking is a premium and the $6 valet parking is worth every penny. While every table has a view with al fresco seating, a table on the rail gives you an unobstructed view of the Pacific Ocean. Their wines by the glass offer a generous variety of options, and their full wine list, while a little pricey, covers a broad spectrum of tastes. Their appetizers are delicious (we tried the tuna tartare and ceviche) and salad portions very generous (the beet and goat cheese salad was just that... pure beets and goat cheese, beautifully presented). The soup of the day was mushroom, and their integration of porcini mushrooms into the mushroom blend lent a flavorful addition. All in all worth the price.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant has a gorgeous view due ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

This restaurant has a gorgeous view due to its location. The staff is extremely knowledgeable, accommodating, and professional. There are a range of items on the menu for all food tastes. Everything I've ever had there to eat has been delicious.

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

GOOD FOOD IWTH SLOW SERVICE

Dined on June 5, 2016

THE FOOD WAS GOOD, THE AHI TUNA TARTAR WAS OK, IT SHOULD BE SERVED CHILLED BUT WAS NOT. THE SERVICE IS REALLY SLOW. IT TOOK ABOUT 15 MINS FOR A WAITER TO GREET US WITH MENUS AND GET DRINK ORDERS ON A HOT DAY. OVERALL IT WAS GOOD, THE VIEW IS WHAT PEOPLE COME FOR.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply the best!

Dined on June 5, 2016

You don't want to miss this spot.This is certainly one of the best spot/restaurant in Los Angeles. Prices are still affordable (excellent ratio quality/price). A very nice atmosphere and a service close to perfection, good for any occasion (good also without any occasion!!!).

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food, service, and view!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent food, service, and view!

food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Cake By The Ocean!

Dined on June 3, 2016

Celebrated my birthday along with 2 visiting Australian friends. We asked to be resat on the lovely outdoor deck - this is a must! Lovely umbrellas covering us from the sun. Ordered a fabulous bottle of Newtown Cabernet Sauvignon to go with our lunch. I ordered the grilled fillet mignon and my friends ordered the seafood paella and the huge scallops! Everything was fresh and delicious! Seemed a bit of a delay in the service at times. Waited quite long to get our cutlery and serviettes. Ordered 3 beers but only 1 came so had to wait for the other 2. But then it clicked in and all was smooth. We didn't order dessert but our waitress sent over soft serve ice cream with a candle in it. Lovely thought - thank you. Will always dine at Geoffrey's!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great combination of food, view, and ambiance.

Dined on June 3, 2016

This restaurant is the best combination of great food, drink, view, and ambiance in the LA area. It is great for lunch or dinner; highly recommend to come when it is daylight so you can really appreciate the view. The ahi tuna appetizer, entrée of scallops with risotto, and craft martinis are all high lights. The service matches the food for quality.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cannot recommend this enough.

Dined on June 1, 2016

This restaurant is beautiful - the scene is absolutely outstanding and the twinkle lights that lit up the place make it feel so calm and pretty. The staff were all extremely kind and helpful, the food was absolutely incredible and the wine list was good. We were seating on the edge and ate our meal whilst watching the sunset over the Ocean - it couldn't have been more perfect. If you're in the area or near by - go hear - it is certainly worth the visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, outdoor eating, romance, special occasions, late night find, scenic view, neighbourhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

took sister, who was visiting from Orlan ...

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

took sister, who was visiting from Orlando. Sat outside and it was beautiful, even though it was overcast. As usual, food was great.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unforgettable and Romantic

Dined on May 30, 2016

The service was wonderful, the scenic view is amazing, and the food is incredible (especially the bass).

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another awesome brunch at Geoffrey's

Dined on May 30, 2016

This has become a brunch tradition every Memorial Day. Get there early to grab a rail table at the far end for a scenic, quiet dining experience. The servers and busboys are experienced, knowledgable and friendly. The Tahitian Corn Chowder and the Crab Cake Benedict are fabulous! It's a bit pricey, but worth it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Geoffrey's

Dined on May 29, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at Geoffrey's for brunch. I can't recommend Geoffrey's highly enough. It is PERFECTION! The service, food, ambiance, and location are unbeatable!!! We will continue to recommend Geoffrey's to family and friends, and enjoy dining there.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

It was a nice experience - service was h ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

It was a nice experience - service was helpful and wanting to please. Half of the meals were good like the salmon and the tuna tartare - my husband order prime rib bone in and it just looked really messy and they had a brussel sprout Caesar salad type thing - the pieces were big and clunky - should have been presented better and also - the "Caesar" idea should be left for cold salads not warm cooked veg.

food3
ambience5
service3

Seafood Paella wasn't a real paella, it ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Seafood Paella wasn't a real paella, it was more like a seafood soup with rice in it. Had 1 scallop and 1 shrimp in it and a few muscles. Common... Crab cakes appetizer was very good, server was ok.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A nice birthday lunch.

Dined on May 27, 2016

We thoroughly absorbed several drinks, appetizers, salads & entrees + dessert.....only regret not being able to have everything on the menu. Must return soon for the ahi, scallops, Caeser salad, and the CHEESECAKE!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lunch with friends on a beautiful clear ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Lunch with friends on a beautiful clear day. We had a table on the big patio, perfect view. I had the artichoke salad, another friend the chicken salad and another friend had the chicken dish. This is a restaurant for a special occasion, good food..beautiful setting..and high prices! But, it is worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.