Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.64mi
  4. Distance: 2.99mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.64mi
  4. Distance: 2.99mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.64mi
  4. Distance: 2.99mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.64mi
  4. Distance: 2.99mi

About Gennaro's Italian Ristorante

Gennaro’s Italian Ristorante has been serving fine Italian cuisine in the Charleston area for 35 years. In a warm, cozy atmosphere, the Gennaro family work diligently at providing a wonderful dining experience. Whether you bring your family in for quality time together or gather with your friends for a hearty meal, live jazz or happy hour, Gennaro’s is the perfect place for you! From veal to grilled seafood or a wonderful black angus steak, you will certainly appreciate the quality at Gennaro’s and the perceived value. See why Charlestonians always come back to Gennaro’s. We look forward to providing you with the best in Italian cuisine!

8500 Dorchester Rd.
North Charleston, SC 29420
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Sun 12:00 pm–9:00 pm
Dinner
Daily 4:00 pm–10:30 pm

Cross Street:
Appian Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 760-9875

Website:
http://www.gennarositalianristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz Thursday evenings featuring the Gennaro's Jazz Ensemble at North area location!

Parking Details:
Plenty of on premise parking

Executive Chef:
Michael Gennaro

Private Party Facilities:
Book your private party with us using our banquet menu.

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: (843) 760-9875

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gennaro's Italian Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.7

Noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Birthdays (7)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Romantic (6)
Casual (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Authentic (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Business Meals (3)
Cozy (3)
Fun (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Music (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Spicy (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
194 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

The food was delicious, I had the steamed mussels in white wine sauce, I should have stopped there, but then proceeded to the charbroiled tuna with steamed veggies and a side order of shrimp alfreado, took the tariamazu to go. Hope to go back soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 22, 2017

It was absolutely fantastic! Tremendously delicious food and fantastic service. They even got us a birthday cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2017

Food was delicious as always. Service was great.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 16, 2017

Went for the food and jazz night. Food was very good scans reasonably priced. Music was good and above touch. Only complaint was the service. Server was not very attentive even though the restaurant was not packed. Actually had to flag down another server when we needed something as ours was nowhere to be found. Could have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

The service and food was excellent .Great place to Italian food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Excellent food and more than ample. We had a full dinner the following night as there was enough.
Waitress was wonderful and the price is right

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 10, 2017

I absolutely love this restaurant. The food is great, service is awesome. I love the bread

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Loved it, and they had GF pasta!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2017

The food and service were excellent. Everything was very well paced and all staff were friendly and warm. I will make this my go to spot when I return to Charleston

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Delicious veal parm and shrimp fettuccine. Generous portions. Nice wine selection. Tiramisu not to be missed.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

Great atmosphere. Tasty food. The live band was incredible.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Good for a Date, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Romantic, Organic, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Outstanding as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Classic NY-style Italian place with the usual standard dishes, excellent pizza and surprisingly delicious fish choices. Definitiely worth driving off the beaten path for this great food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great service thanks to Nicole

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Always great food in a home owned Italian Restaurant. Live Jazz on Thursday nights!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Veal dishes good + spegett & sides allways enjoy dining here

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

They are always very consistent in their food. Everything is always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Great meal and outstanding and helpful service, as always. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Live Music, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 30, 2017

I'm from Boston mass,closest Italian food since I have RETIRED to Summerville

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Always great food. Service can be a toss-up but more good experiences than bad. Noise is all dependent on seating and crowd level. Home-made dressings are delicious. Our favorite place for a full course Italian dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great food , service .....customer for over 30 years

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 25, 2017

First visited Genaro's in 2000 when we lived in the area. We come back whenever we can, and are never disappointed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

We celebrated 2 birthdays here. The food is authentic New York Italian. I had Chicken Saltimbocca and I ate the whole entree. Everyone enjoyed their meals...salmon, tuna, Zuppa de Mare. Wonderful and great service. What a nice place!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Couldn't ask for a better waitress, very attentive to our needs. Nice wine selection. The place itself is dark and dingy, aside from that I would definitely go back

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 10, 2017

I had heard about this place from a local and decided to give it a try. The place was pretty busy for a Thursday evening. Then I found out that they have a very pleasant live band on Thursdays!

The food was good, but it took quite a while between courses. I had the shrimp and salmon in a cajun cream sauce over pasta. Delicious! I also had the Tira Misu for desert -- OUTSTANDING!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Gennaro's never disappoints. They make the best bread, the mussels in white wine are to die for and every entree is delicious.

Tags: Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We were warmly welcomed for our reservation and were invited to be seated at our table while waiting on the rest of out party or wait in the bar. The bar tenders, as well as other patrons there, welcomed us warmly. The bar tenders even offered us a tasting of a new wine they were adding to the menu. The food was delicious and not rushed - my favorite part! We had appetizers and our server waited to deliver the salads until we were finished. She then waited for us to finish the salads before bringing dinner. The cozy atmosphere and quiet space enabled our table to have great conversation without difficulty hearing. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We have been going to Gennaro's for over 20 years and I've never been disappointed once I will

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great server, portions were huge, we all took home leftovers. Food was quite enjoyable. The lighting is on the dark side, but we gave our 90 year old grandfather our phone flashlight. Definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Food was very bland across four different meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent good and atmosphere! My husband and I love coming here and we love the owners! Family owned business, operated by family with two family owners as chefs!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Spicy, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 13, 2017

A great restaurant with great food, really nice wine selection. Every Thursday they have a live band and the music was perfect, not to loud. Service was great as always, will be back next Thursday.

Tags: Late-night Find, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 7, 2017

My family was on travel from out of state and wanted a special place to celebrate my son's 20th birthday. The restaurant staff was very accommodating with my requests for a separate room for a party of 7. The restaurant was clean and ambience was nice. The server (Matthew) was absolutely fabulous with all of us including one of our party who was unexpectedly and uncontrollably late. The food was fantastic, the wine list was great and the dessert (tiramisu) was one of the best I have had and I am a bit of a tiramisu freak. I would definitely recommend this restaurant as an authentic Italian restaurant worth visiting if you are in the North Charleston area. Additionally everyone was just wonderful to us - genuinely kind and accommodating - something you just don't experience every day anymore!!! Thank you for the great experience, the great food and drink and for taking care of our every request with ease and grace!!!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Very nice restaurant. Food was delicious....but very dark..had to get a flashlight out to see menu. Service was great.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Seated right on time. Prompt, friendly service. Food was rated good to excellent by the various diners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Nice find in the neighborhood. Not a lot of pasta dishes on the menu

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We decided to go here for my wife's birthday. So we reserved a table prior to showing up and were seated as soon as we walked in the door. We started off with the stuffed mushrooms and they were delicious. When our main course arrived, my tuna saltimbocca was ok but my wife's chicken bolognese was awesome! She really enjoyed it. The ambience was great, low light kind of noisy but that is from the loud tables next to us. It was nice other than those tables. We enjoyed the night and will eventually try this place out again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Went for Father's day. had a most enjoyable meal. appetizers, main dish and desserts all wonderful . Excellent service, very attentive.

Tags: Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My family and I had a wonderful Father's Day lunch. Great food, great service and excellent wine. Quiet and friendly atmosphere. We will return soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 16, 2017

So happy to find a REAL Italian restaurant finally! Delicious! Authentic to New York Italian restaurants.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.