About Gennaro's Italian Ristorante

8500 Dorchester Rd.
North Charleston, SC 29420
View Larger Map

Gennaro’s Italian Ristorante has been serving fine Italian cuisine in the Charleston area for 31 years. In a warm, cozy atmosphere, the Gennaro family work diligently at providing a wonderful dining experience. Whether you bring your family in for quality time together or gather with your friends for a hearty meal, live jazz or happy hour, Gennaro’s is the perfect place for you! From veal to grilled seafood or a wonderful black angus steak, you will certainly appreciate the quality at Gennaro’s and the perceived value. See why Charlestonians always come back to Gennaro’s. We look forward to providing you with the best in Italian cuisine!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Daily: 4:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Appian Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 760-9875

Website:
http://www.gennarositalianristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz Thursday evenings featuring the Gennaro's Jazz Ensemble at North area location!

Parking Details:
Plenty of on premise parking

Executive Chef:
Michael Gennaro

Private Party Facilities:
Book your private party with us using our banquet menu.

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: (843) 760-9875

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gennaro's Italian Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
See All
Authentic (11)
Casual (11)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Cozy (8)
Romantic (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Family Style (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Live Music (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Private Room (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fun (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
128 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on February 18, 2017

My wife and I have been going to Gennaro's for over 10 years now for Valentine's Day. Excellent Authentic Italian cuisine. The owner Michael is great and the staff is outstanding.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Bar Seating, Live Music, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on February 17, 2017

The food was great and the staff seemed to actually care even though they were very busy.

We went on a night when they had a live jazz band that was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had reservations for Valentine's Day. While we waited for our table to open up; friends of ours stopped in without a reservation and was told there was no table available until after 10pm. The next couple came in and asked the same; three ladies including the owner worked hard to accommodate them; showing them different options for tables and ultimately they were seated right behind us. Our waitress was loud; obnoxiously loud. While we still tried to make the best of the situation we couldn't help but notice at least 5 open tables (with reserved signs) for the entire 2 hours we were there. The food finally arrives and there's a blond hair in the green beans. Game over for me. I waited patiently for my partner to finish eating. The owner came over to the table and offered to comp my meal and a gift certificate for a future visit. I didn't pay for the hairy meal and I declined her offer of a gift certificate as I have no intention on returning even if it's free. We were also comped a dessert and called it a night. I wasn't looking for a free meal. What I was expecting was a nice quiet meal; but that didn't happen and I would also expect at this point for the entire check to be comped as I sat and watched my partner enjoy his dinner. Unacceptable beginning with she apparent discrimination at the front door that only got worse. I've ate there a few times and never had a complaint. I won't be back and rest assured I'll continue to share my story about the way my friends were treated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a great Valentine's Day dinner. Great wine, food, and atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

Everything was perfect as usual! Server was excellent, ambiance was fantastic. We really enjoyed our night from the time we arrived until we left.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food and service was excellent! My husband and I use wheelchairs, so accessibility was the only issue and we had park our van in the back and mark it with a cone to keep someone from taking our van access spot. More handicapped parking spaces would help out a lot. Other than that, we'll definitely come back here.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 13, 2017

A family-owned place and our go-to Italian restaurant because of the convenient location. The food and the value are consistently good, the atmosphere is cozy but, unfortunately the service is typically lacking. I would not recommend the fried calamari or shrimp. We've tried them on several occasions and they've always had that "right-from-the-freezer" blandness about them. The steak is on point though, and they always cook it to perfection. My husband loves the Chicken Parmesan. Highly recommend both dishes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent meal, very friendly staff, good size portions, variety of choices. It's our regular place to go.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service was exceptional. The atmosphere was very good as well. The food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

I've been to Gennaro's dozens of times in the past few years and the food is always amazing. The service is usually pretty good, but it's obviously based on the individual server. Last time I went I wasn't super happy with our server as she was asking awkward questions, forgot to do things like asking what kind of dressing we wanted on our salads as well as forgetting the grated cheese and didn't bring a chiller for our white wine. I've never had poor service though and more often than not, it's great. The ambiance is great given the area and clientele (it's in the north area so people think it's ok to bring small children and wear shorts to fine Italian dining). Their house label cabernet is pretty fantastic too. All in all, I think it's a great date spot and would recommend it if you are in the area and/or (like me) despise going downtown to get a nice meal.

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on February 3, 2017

Had a lovely dinner with family and friends. Food was delicious and service was very good. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

As always, the food was excellent! The veal is always tender and delicious. Our waitress, Ms. Birdie was fantastic -- friendly, attentive and very personable.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 24, 2017

We went here for our 8th anniversary. ...the restaurant and staff were exquisite. ........however the group directly behind us were an entertainment committee for us...retailing us with tales of being jailed while on active duty.... who was going to pay the bill... who had the best granddogs... a very intoxicated dinner show...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 23, 2017

Wonderful meal, great service. Love this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great experience as always. We have been many times and the food and service has always been consistently high. The food is easily as good as higher priced downtown Charleston restaurants. The Shrimp Orecchiette was terrific and the Tenderloin with Gorgonzola cream sauce was spot on! Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was excellent with only one exception...the veal picca had a little to much breading

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was very good. Service a little slow, it was a busy night. Will definitely visit again.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Unbelievable dining experience. The "Restaurant Week" Menu was an exceptional value. The food was delicious and our server, Ashley, made this date night a wonderful experience....

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

I pass by this place everyday and didn't realize it was so AMAZING. Friendly staff, felt like we was in an Italian movie, fresh ingredients

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Comfort Food, Casual, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent food and great service. Restaurant Week menu excellent. Band was great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went for New Years Eve. Our server Kayla was outstanding in her knowledge of all the dishes and the specials. Mussels in white wine were so delicious, we asked for extra bread to dip in their sauce. Veal dishes and tuna were cooked to perfection. We will definitely become regulars here.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Family Style, Business Meals, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

We stopped by Genarro's for dinner after a day playing tourist in our hometown with our daughter who was home for the holidays from college. We ordered four different items off the menu and they were all fantastic. Service was also EXCELLENT! Highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Had not been here for years; don't know why. Really enjoyed the evening. Music was a real plus.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is not my first meal at Gennaro's, therefore I knew in advance that the food would be plentiful and tasty. This time was as expected. I always order the same thing, because it's so good and hard to find at other restaurants. My girl friend (of many years) always orders something different, neither of us are ever disappointed.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Cozy, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

The entrees were very good; however the appetizers are just fair. We eat here regularly and always seem disappointed with the apps.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Couldn't ask for more, good food, atmosphere and staff. You Rock!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

This is usually our favorite restaurant. Made a last minute reservation this one time on OpenTable and when we showed up they said there's an hour wait. be aware- their availability is NOT live & up-to-date and you might get stranded with a reservation but no table. Calling might be a better option. We ended up going to different place because of the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on December 19, 2016

Birthday Celebration! Great food (as usual), great people! Feels like home!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 5, 2016

Delicious food and excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great Food, great service. Birdy took great care of us. We can always count on Gennaro's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 27, 2016

Love this place. The dishes are amazing and the portions are massive. I always end up with a to go box. The service is almost always top notch. The only thing I could possibly complain about is that the price point doesn't weed out the people that shouldn't be there. People that stroll in wearing shorts and flip flops, bringing their screaming babies and 8 other kids in. It's more of a date restaurant so I'd like to see them get rid of their kids menu. Maybe that would help bring more appropriate clientele.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Overall we had time. .new waitress but she did good..

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was excellent service very good the Veal piccata was extremely flavorful and the side order of Eggplant ala Micheal was just the right amount will visit again and the cake was a nice surprise since we were celebrating our wedding anniversary

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 20, 2016

The Tuna steak was well prepared in a wonderful wine sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on September 29, 2016

Our first time going and it was GREAT!

we went on jazz night.

Birdie was a great help and took good care of us. We will be going back again VERY soon.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2016

The place is dated and food isn't as good as other Italian restaurants at that price level. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants. Delicious food. We visited for Restaurant week this time and the menu offered was great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Having never been to the Charleston area before, Open Table was a big help in finding this neighborhood Italian gem.

Our party of four really enjoyed the food and our time together.

Thanks Open Table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Restaurant itself is very old, dark and outdated - could use a Restaurant Impossible makeover. The food and service were great, but overall experience would be elevated with the right ambience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Was meeting someone in person for the first time. Great quiet place to meet. Food was good and very friendly people. I will eat their again and would recommend

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I always lI've it here! Delicious food and fair value. Attentive service and jazz on Thursdays. Appropriate for special occasions and every day!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Dishes were great and the waitress was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I am revising this review due to the high level of care and concern exhibited by Mike Gennaro who personally called to follow up on my feedback. I sincerely appreciate this high level of customer service and feel my opinions have been shifted. Thank you Mr. Gennaro.

"Gennaro's claimed to have no record of our reservation, even though we had the confirmation email. The hostess brusquely sat us in a rather short manner. The food was ok, but similar value can also be found at other family owned local restaurants. This was our 3rd visit and we continue not to be impressed."

After speaking with Mr. Gennaro we may visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

A great choice for a special occasion or just a great evening out

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Family Style, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Gennaros always, always, delivers. The food is delicious. The ribeye gorgonzola is amazing. Perfectly cooked every time. The sauce is wonderfully rich and flavorful. We love their appetizers, the crab calzones, the crab flat bread and sausage flat bread are amazing. We love Gennaros. It is authentic and delicious and I look forward to occasions that require a trip there.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Authentic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Delicious Italian food in a very nice atmosphere! Our waiter was new and very uninformed about the menu and specials, but he was willing to run back to the kitchen to find out the answers to our questions. It's a bit pricey for a night out with the kids but very appropriate for a special dinner such as our anniversary. The food is homemade from family recipes and we absolutely love it!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was our anniversary, and we wanted a low key, relaxing night (nothing fancy). Well, we had a fantastic meal. Everything from the appetizer (mussles) to dinner (chicken parm and veal diane) was delicious! Our server Nicole was sweet and friendly. They even gave us a complimentary dessert for our anniversary. I loved it and will be back.

I have seen some people complain about the décor, and maybe it is a little outdated, but the who cares when the food is that good. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food and service! As usual...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The staff couldn't be nicer and the food is excellent. First time going there and definately will go again. Not sure of the total bill since my son treated me to the dinner out but, we both immensely enjoyed our food and waitress was great!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.