About Gennaro's Italian Ristorante

8500 Dorchester Rd.
North Charleston, SC 29420
View Larger Map

Gennaro’s Italian Ristorante has been serving fine Italian cuisine in the Charleston area for 31 years. In a warm, cozy atmosphere, the Gennaro family work diligently at providing a wonderful dining experience. Whether you bring your family in for quality time together or gather with your friends for a hearty meal, live jazz or happy hour, Gennaro’s is the perfect place for you! From veal to grilled seafood or a wonderful black angus steak, you will certainly appreciate the quality at Gennaro’s and the perceived value. See why Charlestonians always come back to Gennaro’s. We look forward to providing you with the best in Italian cuisine!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Daily: 4:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Appian Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 760-9875

Website:
http://www.gennarositalianristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz Thursday evenings featuring the Gennaro's Jazz Ensemble at North area location!

Parking Details:
Plenty of on premise parking

Executive Chef:
Michael Gennaro

Private Party Facilities:
Book your private party with us using our banquet menu.

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: 8437609875x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gennaro's Italian Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (19)
romantic (13)
good for groups (12)
See All
special occasion (12)
fit for foodies (11)
notable wine list (3)
great for lunch (3)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
66 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service1

My wife and I love this place. We went o ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I love this place. We went on mothers day and it wasn't especially busy. But this time the service was terrible. It has been a long time since I have had service so inept. We will go back because the food is good, but we hope the waitress we had either improves dramatically or finds another job.

food5
ambience5
service4

Chicken marsala and mussels were fabulou ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Chicken marsala and mussels were fabulous

food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always great! Stuffed mushro ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

The food is always great! Stuffed mushrooms and Chicken Bolognese are my faves. Great prices and the service is wonderful

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Meal!!! Great service!!

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

Great Meal!!! Great service!!

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Very disappointed

Dined on April 1, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary, and what a disappointment. To start off we were led through several nicer sections with dim, romantic lighting, and were placed along the back wall in the rear of the restaurant. We noticed that all of the tables around us were given notice of all the specials, and given bread immediately- our server could recall only two of the items of the evening, and we had to ask for bread twice. We were optimistic based of the years of business, and reviews from patrons, but feel that for as much as we spent, we would have had a better experience at Carrabba's- better quality, ambiance, and service. The highlight of our evening was the laugh the two of us shared when our waitress grated cheese on my lap instead of my plate.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food - service a little slow

Dined on April 1, 2016

Overall we like the restaurant and the food. Great Italian atmosphere. Only disappointment was the service was a bit slow (waitress was very nice - maybe had too many tables). We'd still go bCk again for another try next time we're in the area.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Nice first visit

Dined on March 26, 2016

We visited Gennaro's for the first time and were very pleased. The service was excellent and the menu selection was extensive . We ordered the lasagna as that is my favorite Italian dish and we were not disappointed. The portion size was large and it was excellent. We will definitely be back.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on March 22, 2016

Veal and Chicken Parms and bread are excellent! Kaitland and Leslie, the best servers. Kudos to the chef and all your staff, making our nite wonderful. Thanks!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot

Dined on March 18, 2016

Great food and our server was awesome. Could have bigger wine list

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal, great service!!

vip
Dined on February 24, 2016

Great meal, great service!!

food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance and clientele base was awes ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

The ambiance and clientele base was awesome! It was quiet and enjoyable. Our food was amazing and the portions are large for the money.

food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Great food but service and ambiance disappointing

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was great with nice portions and our waitress was very nice and personable. However the service staff seemed very disorganized and the ambiance could use a little updo. The building itself has a lot of potential, it just feels very reunion/banquet hall -esque.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service3

The chicken marsala was not good, the sp ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The chicken marsala was not good, the spaghetti was bland, and the service started out great but by the end it felt like our waiter had forgotten about us multiple times. The eggplant parmigiana was good though. With all the other great choices in the Charleston area, we probably won't be back

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Only problem was Open Table

Dined on February 14, 2016

Restaurant was great! Open Table did not notify restaurant of our reservation. They kindly accomodated us. Seems to be a problem with Open Table.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3

Made a reservation and the 2 girls at th ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Made a reservation and the 2 girls at the counter couldn't find it. Luckily the owner was there and pointed it out to then. The hostess brought us to an area lease crowded and we had asked for a booth as there were plenty of open tables and the hostess said those were reserved. I reminded her we had reservations and she walked away. One of the waitresses brought us over to the table's Dogs was good and plenty left over. Unfortunately as we left the 2 that originally were looking for our reservations gave us the stink eye and just starred at us.

food5
ambience5
service5

My fiancé and I went to Gennaro's for th ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

My fiancé and I went to Gennaro's for their Valentine's Day menu and it was a great value for the two of us. We both had wine, salad, appetizer, entree and dessert. Though it was packed, our food was excellent and the service we received from our waitress was friendly and personable. This was a perfect choice for a cozy date night and truly authentic Italian food. I would recommend the fried calamari and their canoli.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great staff and awesome food!!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great staff and awesome food!!

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Very sub par food.

Dined on February 14, 2016

I typically dot write reviews but I had to write one about this restaurant to balance out all the positive reviews. My wife and I are big Italian food eaters and to be blunt we were very disappointed. Non of the food was up to par, everything just tasted a bit bland and off flavor. The marinara sauce tasted worse than walmart brand from a jar. The salad dressing was bad. It was just all bad. Our server had a cold personality and did nothing to make our diner special or enjoyable. We will not be back and wouldn't recommend this place to anybody, heck, go to Olive Garden instead.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

While amenities could use an upgrade - Great Food!

Dined on January 27, 2016

The food was plentiful & awesome! The waitress's recommendations for appetizers were spot on and we had enough food left to take home for another meal the next day. I would recommend this restaurant if you enjoy great Italian food. It would be nice if the restaurant could have a little bit of a face-lift due to things like cracked booth seats and some needed spruce ups in the ladies room, but all in all a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A long time favorite Italian restaurant

Dined on January 24, 2016

Gennaro's is simply the best Italian restaurant in the Charleston area. It is the one that all others are measured against, and few, if any, measure up. The Gennaro family has maintained its delicious recipes for decades and has never failed to please. Even the wait staff is top notch. The veal parmigiana remains larger than the plate!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Waitress Gave Us an Extra Canoli

Dined on January 16, 2016

The Restaurant Week dessert was a mini canoli but the waitress gave us two. That was awesome. Also, the rest of the food is good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten here many times over the p ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

We have eaten here many times over the past 5 years, to include the now closed West Ashley location. We dined here the evening of New Years Day and enjoyed excellent service. Food was also exceptional and still in my opinion the best Italian food in Charleston. And I say this having grown up outside of NYC. The fettuccine alfredo is outstanding, as are the meatballs, and cannoli. One of my favorite Italian restaurants.

food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!

Dined on October 24, 2015

Love this place. It is never a disappointment. The service is always excellent. The food is always perfect. this is by far my favorite restaurant in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Great surprise

vip
Dined on October 19, 2015

The restaurant seems to have seen better days, but is clean and acceptable. The food was fine - a good Italian salad and decent lasagna. We almost passed on desert, but tried the spumoni ice cream, which may be the best ice cream my wife or I have ever had. Just awesome and worth a return trip. The dinner was very very reasonalbe. While it isn't a fancy place, it was fine for a change of pace.

food2
ambience2
service1

Waitress was horrible!!! Food was medioc ...

vip
Dined on October 17, 2015

Waitress was horrible!!! Food was mediocre!!! What a waste of time and money!!'

food4
ambience4
service5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on October 16, 2015

Wonderful evening out with the family for my husband's birthday. Waitress was friendly and knowledgeable-food was very very good.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Real Authentic Italian

Dined on October 10, 2015

Service was quick and friendly. Food was excellent. Will definitely go again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

The waiter was very good. The food was a ...

Dined on August 29, 2015

The waiter was very good. The food was also good. I will go again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything great. Food was delicious, s ...

Dined on August 22, 2015

Everything great. Food was delicious, service timely and efficient, ambiance eloquent, all in a very clean environment.

food4
ambience3
service5

Romantic place for night out.. Especiall ...

Dined on July 28, 2015

Romantic place for night out.. Especially in its location. Wine was delicious. Good food but still could have been better. Service was what i expected

food2
ambience1
service1

Not Good

vip
Dined on July 22, 2015

Food was less than average & service was horrible!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great fod and relaxing

Dined on July 21, 2015

We enjoyed the evening. The veal dishes were great and I loved our appetizers. I forgot our server's name but she was so knowledgeable about the dishes and helped us to choose great meals. She was pleasant and we appreciated her service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service!!!

vip
Dined on July 15, 2015

Great food, great service!!!

food4
ambience5
service4

This is one of those family style italia ...

Dined on May 18, 2015

This is one of those family style italian joints that looks has black and white pictures on the walls and plays Sinatra while you dine. Nothing fancy, but a nice quiet place for a date night. Food was on time, server was friendly, and the dishes were well made and enjoyable. Overall a very good dining experience for our road trip to Charleston.

food4
ambience4
service4

Always consistant

vip
Dined on May 16, 2015

Always a good meal. Good price. Italian food the way it should be prepared

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

18th birthday celebration

Dined on April 4, 2015

We found this place on open table and decided to try it for her 18th bday. We loved it! Amazing food, great service and great ambiance. Made her feel special. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, great ambiance

Dined on February 12, 2015

I wouldn't say I'm a regular, but I've been to Gennaro's many times and I've never been disappointed. Depending on who I get as a server, the service is anywhere from 3 to 5 stars. It's never bad. The food is always 5 stars. While I haven't had the entire menu, I've had several dishes and they're all fantastic. My two favorites are the lasagna and the tenderloin with Gorgonzola sauce. Their portions are very large and you definitely won't leave there hungry. The bread they bring out for the table is always warm and delicious that's crispy and flaky on the outside and soft and fluffy on the inside. Their wine selection is pretty good too, though I am sad they got rid of their house label Cabernet. That was my favorite. I also wish fewer people would bring kids there, but I guess there's not much you can do about that. It's not like they have a kids menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

OUTSTANDING!!!!!

Dined on February 6, 2015

Love Gennero's!! Went there for my husbands birthday, he had a free dinner on Gennero's! The food was fantastic, our server, Tara was AHHHMAZING! The ambiance is always great!! What more could you ask for?? Just love everything about Gennero's! Need to go there more!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Benay

Dined on January 30, 2015

My husband and I went to Gennaros Thursday night for live jazz band and dinner. We recently moved from Fl to Summerville, SC. The food was excellent and Travis the waiter was exceptional. We will definitely be back...

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Food!!!

Dined on December 16, 2014

You must try the eggplant parmesan. Absolutely the best I've ever eaten. The food portions are huge. You will need a take-home box. Hot rolls are great. If you order the mussels for an appetizer ask about size before ordering. They vary in size and the small ones are not worth the price.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.