Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.64mi
  4. Distance: 2.99mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.64mi
  4. Distance: 2.99mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.64mi
  4. Distance: 2.99mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.64mi
  4. Distance: 2.99mi

About Gennaro's Italian Ristorante

Gennaro’s Italian Ristorante has been serving fine Italian cuisine in the Charleston area for 35 years. In a warm, cozy atmosphere, the Gennaro family work diligently at providing a wonderful dining experience. Whether you bring your family in for quality time together or gather with your friends for a hearty meal, live jazz or happy hour, Gennaro’s is the perfect place for you! From veal to grilled seafood or a wonderful black angus steak, you will certainly appreciate the quality at Gennaro’s and the perceived value. See why Charlestonians always come back to Gennaro’s. We look forward to providing you with the best in Italian cuisine!

8500 Dorchester Rd.
North Charleston, SC 29420
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Sun 12:00 pm–9:00 pm
Dinner
Daily 4:00 pm–10:30 pm

Cross Street:
Appian Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 760-9875

Website:
http://www.gennarositalianristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz Thursday evenings featuring the Gennaro's Jazz Ensemble at North area location!

Parking Details:
Plenty of on premise parking

Executive Chef:
Michael Gennaro

Private Party Facilities:
Book your private party with us using our banquet menu.

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: (843) 760-9875

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gennaro's Italian Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.1

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Casual (10)
See All
Authentic (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Live Music (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Business Meals (6)
Romantic (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Fun (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Cozy (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Spicy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
171 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Couldn't ask for a better waitress, very attentive to our needs. Nice wine selection. The place itself is dark and dingy, aside from that I would definitely go back

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

I had heard about this place from a local and decided to give it a try. The place was pretty busy for a Thursday evening. Then I found out that they have a very pleasant live band on Thursdays!

The food was good, but it took quite a while between courses. I had the shrimp and salmon in a cajun cream sauce over pasta. Delicious! I also had the Tira Misu for desert -- OUTSTANDING!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Gennaro's never disappoints. They make the best bread, the mussels in white wine are to die for and every entree is delicious.

Tags: Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We were warmly welcomed for our reservation and were invited to be seated at our table while waiting on the rest of out party or wait in the bar. The bar tenders, as well as other patrons there, welcomed us warmly. The bar tenders even offered us a tasting of a new wine they were adding to the menu. The food was delicious and not rushed - my favorite part! We had appetizers and our server waited to deliver the salads until we were finished. She then waited for us to finish the salads before bringing dinner. The cozy atmosphere and quiet space enabled our table to have great conversation without difficulty hearing. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We have been going to Gennaro's for over 20 years and I've never been disappointed once I will

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great server, portions were huge, we all took home leftovers. Food was quite enjoyable. The lighting is on the dark side, but we gave our 90 year old grandfather our phone flashlight. Definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Food was very bland across four different meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent good and atmosphere! My husband and I love coming here and we love the owners! Family owned business, operated by family with two family owners as chefs!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Spicy, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 13, 2017

A great restaurant with great food, really nice wine selection. Every Thursday they have a live band and the music was perfect, not to loud. Service was great as always, will be back next Thursday.

Tags: Late-night Find, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 7, 2017

My family was on travel from out of state and wanted a special place to celebrate my son's 20th birthday. The restaurant staff was very accommodating with my requests for a separate room for a party of 7. The restaurant was clean and ambience was nice. The server (Matthew) was absolutely fabulous with all of us including one of our party who was unexpectedly and uncontrollably late. The food was fantastic, the wine list was great and the dessert (tiramisu) was one of the best I have had and I am a bit of a tiramisu freak. I would definitely recommend this restaurant as an authentic Italian restaurant worth visiting if you are in the North Charleston area. Additionally everyone was just wonderful to us - genuinely kind and accommodating - something you just don't experience every day anymore!!! Thank you for the great experience, the great food and drink and for taking care of our every request with ease and grace!!!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Very nice restaurant. Food was delicious....but very dark..had to get a flashlight out to see menu. Service was great.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Seated right on time. Prompt, friendly service. Food was rated good to excellent by the various diners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Nice find in the neighborhood. Not a lot of pasta dishes on the menu

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We decided to go here for my wife's birthday. So we reserved a table prior to showing up and were seated as soon as we walked in the door. We started off with the stuffed mushrooms and they were delicious. When our main course arrived, my tuna saltimbocca was ok but my wife's chicken bolognese was awesome! She really enjoyed it. The ambience was great, low light kind of noisy but that is from the loud tables next to us. It was nice other than those tables. We enjoyed the night and will eventually try this place out again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Went for Father's day. had a most enjoyable meal. appetizers, main dish and desserts all wonderful . Excellent service, very attentive.

Tags: Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My family and I had a wonderful Father's Day lunch. Great food, great service and excellent wine. Quiet and friendly atmosphere. We will return soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 16, 2017

So happy to find a REAL Italian restaurant finally! Delicious! Authentic to New York Italian restaurants.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We have been looking for a traditional Italian restaurant since moving here a year ago (and having visited Charleston for 9 years before that!). Gennaro's was a great find for us and we will definitely be returning.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent Italian fare at this place!! The Chicken Bolonese was outstanding! Service was VERY good; really enjoyed joking with the waiter. Everyone enjoyed their meals....everyone had some thing different. Business was brisk!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Great service and food. The only thing I was upset by was the language used at the table beside us. I understand they were family, but the language was disturbing to say the least. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Music was very good. Chicken marsala was tasty . Pasta & sauce was disappointing.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to Gennaro's for Mother's Day. Not too crowded when we arrived, though it picked up by the time we were leaving. Ambiance was good, noise level was low. Our server was attentive and took good care of us. The food was excellent, though my only regret was leaving my strawberry shortcake at the restaurant when we left. We will be back and I recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was good as always and our waitress was exceptional. She was very helpful and very entertaining.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great food and service, we had no wait time. Very friendly and was always there to check on us. Great wine list also

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We had been living nearby for 3 years and decided to try it out for my husbands birthday. Restaurant was very quite in a Tuesday night but I hear the band is good on Thursday nights. The food was okay (I've had better Italian) but the service was good! I brought a cake and candles with me and the server obliged my request and brought the cake out with the candles lit and sang happy Birthday while the entire restaurant joined in. I'm not sure if I'll be in a rush to go back but overall it was good to try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 26, 2017

As usual... GREAT food, COZY atmosphere, WONDERFUL people... What more to say!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Had eggplant dish a la Michael. Best of any. Wife had shrimp fettecini loved it her mom chicken parmesiana and was wowed on birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great Food, excellent service!

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Warm greeting on arrival, excellent food, wonderful service.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 4, 2017

GENNARO'S IS JUST WONDERFUL. THE FOOD IS SPECIAL AND ALWAYS HOT. THE SERVICE WAS GREAT. THE SERVER WAS AS NICE AS SHE CAN BE.
JUST A GREAT PLACE FOR AN OCCASION OR JUST FOR DINNER.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

My Wife and I absolutely love Gennaro's, this is our favorite date night spot and the live jazz on Thursday night live jazz is always fun, romantic and refreshing !!!!!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We greatly enjoyed our first meal at Gennaro's; it definitely won't be our last. The food was very good. Everyone had a different entree and they were all well prepared. Service was outstanding with very friendly staff.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Absolutely GREAT, as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

There was 4 of us for a late lunch on a Sunday. Everyone seemed to enjoy there meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We love Gennaros! Food is always good, service great! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Terrific food as always. Mussels were delicious. Veal tender as could be. All of our dinners were served hot and were enjoyed. Service was excellent to start before the room became busy. Dessert and coffee were slow. Time to receive check was slow. Would definitely return again though. Found a special waitress there we knew from other places: Angie. We did not have her that evening but will certainly seek her out when we return. Thanks for the fun time and great meal.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our meal was perfect as usual, we try to get together with friends there once a month. I strongly recommend the mussels in white wine sauce just to get your taste buds working then order diner.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We came here on vacation and it was amazing! The food was great, the atmosphere was great. There was love jazz music tonight (Thursday), but just in one room of several, and would not be too loud in other parts of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Everything was Great... as usual!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.