Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.64mi
  4. Distance: 2.99mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.64mi
  4. Distance: 2.99mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.64mi
  4. Distance: 2.99mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.64mi
  4. Distance: 2.99mi

About Gennaro's Italian Ristorante

Gennaro’s Italian Ristorante has been serving fine Italian cuisine in the Charleston area for 35 years. In a warm, cozy atmosphere, the Gennaro family work diligently at providing a wonderful dining experience. Whether you bring your family in for quality time together or gather with your friends for a hearty meal, live jazz or happy hour, Gennaro’s is the perfect place for you! From veal to grilled seafood or a wonderful black angus steak, you will certainly appreciate the quality at Gennaro’s and the perceived value. See why Charlestonians always come back to Gennaro’s. We look forward to providing you with the best in Italian cuisine!

8500 Dorchester Rd.
North Charleston, SC 29420
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Sun 12:00 pm–9:00 pm
Dinner
Daily 4:00 pm–10:30 pm

Cross Street:
Appian Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 760-9875

Website:
http://www.gennarositalianristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz Thursday evenings featuring the Gennaro's Jazz Ensemble at North area location!

Parking Details:
Plenty of on premise parking

Executive Chef:
Michael Gennaro

Private Party Facilities:
Book your private party with us using our banquet menu.

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: (843) 760-9875

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gennaro's Italian Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Casual (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Romantic (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Family Style (8)
Live Music (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Business Meals (4)
Private Room (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fun (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
143 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great Food, excellent service!

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Warm greeting on arrival, excellent food, wonderful service.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 4, 2017

GENNARO'S IS JUST WONDERFUL. THE FOOD IS SPECIAL AND ALWAYS HOT. THE SERVICE WAS GREAT. THE SERVER WAS AS NICE AS SHE CAN BE.
JUST A GREAT PLACE FOR AN OCCASION OR JUST FOR DINNER.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

My Wife and I absolutely love Gennaro's, this is our favorite date night spot and the live jazz on Thursday night live jazz is always fun, romantic and refreshing !!!!!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Authentic, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We greatly enjoyed our first meal at Gennaro's; it definitely won't be our last. The food was very good. Everyone had a different entree and they were all well prepared. Service was outstanding with very friendly staff.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Absolutely GREAT, as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

There was 4 of us for a late lunch on a Sunday. Everyone seemed to enjoy there meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We love Gennaros! Food is always good, service great! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Terrific food as always. Mussels were delicious. Veal tender as could be. All of our dinners were served hot and were enjoyed. Service was excellent to start before the room became busy. Dessert and coffee were slow. Time to receive check was slow. Would definitely return again though. Found a special waitress there we knew from other places: Angie. We did not have her that evening but will certainly seek her out when we return. Thanks for the fun time and great meal.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our meal was perfect as usual, we try to get together with friends there once a month. I strongly recommend the mussels in white wine sauce just to get your taste buds working then order diner.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We came here on vacation and it was amazing! The food was great, the atmosphere was great. There was love jazz music tonight (Thursday), but just in one room of several, and would not be too loud in other parts of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Everything was Great... as usual!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We celebrated our 30th Anniversary.. Food was amazing. Michael was our server and very attentive. We wanted to go back during our vacation but didn't make it. A must go to for Italian Food!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great Italian food and a nice variety of options on their menu. Their Caesar salad was particularly yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My wife and I have been going to Gennaro's for over 10 years now for Valentine's Day. Excellent Authentic Italian cuisine. The owner Michael is great and the staff is outstanding.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Bar Seating, Live Music, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The food was great and the staff seemed to actually care even though they were very busy.
We went on a night when they had a live jazz band that was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had reservations for Valentine's Day. While we waited for our table to open up; friends of ours stopped in without a reservation and was told there was no table available until after 10pm. The next couple came in and asked the same; three ladies including the owner worked hard to accommodate them; showing them different options for tables and ultimately they were seated right behind us. Our waitress was loud; obnoxiously loud. While we still tried to make the best of the situation we couldn't help but notice at least 5 open tables (with reserved signs) for the entire 2 hours we were there. The food finally arrives and there's a blond hair in the green beans. Game over for me. I waited patiently for my partner to finish eating. The owner came over to the table and offered to comp my meal and a gift certificate for a future visit. I didn't pay for the hairy meal and I declined her offer of a gift certificate as I have no intention on returning even if it's free. We were also comped a dessert and called it a night. I wasn't looking for a free meal. What I was expecting was a nice quiet meal; but that didn't happen and I would also expect at this point for the entire check to be comped as I sat and watched my partner enjoy his dinner. Unacceptable beginning with she apparent discrimination at the front door that only got worse. I've ate there a few times and never had a complaint. I won't be back and rest assured I'll continue to share my story about the way my friends were treated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a great Valentine's Day dinner. Great wine, food, and atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Everything was perfect as usual! Server was excellent, ambiance was fantastic. We really enjoyed our night from the time we arrived until we left.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food and service was excellent! My husband and I use wheelchairs, so accessibility was the only issue and we had park our van in the back and mark it with a cone to keep someone from taking our van access spot. More handicapped parking spaces would help out a lot. Other than that, we'll definitely come back here.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

A family-owned place and our go-to Italian restaurant because of the convenient location. The food and the value are consistently good, the atmosphere is cozy but, unfortunately the service is typically lacking. I would not recommend the fried calamari or shrimp. We've tried them on several occasions and they've always had that "right-from-the-freezer" blandness about them. The steak is on point though, and they always cook it to perfection. My husband loves the Chicken Parmesan. Highly recommend both dishes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent meal, very friendly staff, good size portions, variety of choices. It's our regular place to go.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service was exceptional. The atmosphere was very good as well. The food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I've been to Gennaro's dozens of times in the past few years and the food is always amazing. The service is usually pretty good, but it's obviously based on the individual server. Last time I went I wasn't super happy with our server as she was asking awkward questions, forgot to do things like asking what kind of dressing we wanted on our salads as well as forgetting the grated cheese and didn't bring a chiller for our white wine. I've never had poor service though and more often than not, it's great. The ambiance is great given the area and clientele (it's in the north area so people think it's ok to bring small children and wear shorts to fine Italian dining). Their house label cabernet is pretty fantastic too. All in all, I think it's a great date spot and would recommend it if you are in the area and/or (like me) despise going downtown to get a nice meal.

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Had a lovely dinner with family and friends. Food was delicious and service was very good. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

As always, the food was excellent! The veal is always tender and delicious. Our waitress, Ms. Birdie was fantastic -- friendly, attentive and very personable.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We went here for our 8th anniversary. ...the restaurant and staff were exquisite. ........however the group directly behind us were an entertainment committee for us...retailing us with tales of being jailed while on active duty.... who was going to pay the bill... who had the best granddogs... a very intoxicated dinner show...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Wonderful meal, great service. Love this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great experience as always. We have been many times and the food and service has always been consistently high. The food is easily as good as higher priced downtown Charleston restaurants. The Shrimp Orecchiette was terrific and the Tenderloin with Gorgonzola cream sauce was spot on! Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was excellent with only one exception...the veal picca had a little to much breading

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was very good. Service a little slow, it was a busy night. Will definitely visit again.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Unbelievable dining experience. The "Restaurant Week" Menu was an exceptional value. The food was delicious and our server, Ashley, made this date night a wonderful experience....

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I pass by this place everyday and didn't realize it was so AMAZING. Friendly staff, felt like we was in an Italian movie, fresh ingredients

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Comfort Food, Casual, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent food and great service. Restaurant Week menu excellent. Band was great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went for New Years Eve. Our server Kayla was outstanding in her knowledge of all the dishes and the specials. Mussels in white wine were so delicious, we asked for extra bread to dip in their sauce. Veal dishes and tuna were cooked to perfection. We will definitely become regulars here.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Family Style, Business Meals, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We stopped by Genarro's for dinner after a day playing tourist in our hometown with our daughter who was home for the holidays from college. We ordered four different items off the menu and they were all fantastic. Service was also EXCELLENT! Highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Had not been here for years; don't know why. Really enjoyed the evening. Music was a real plus.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is not my first meal at Gennaro's, therefore I knew in advance that the food would be plentiful and tasty. This time was as expected. I always order the same thing, because it's so good and hard to find at other restaurants. My girl friend (of many years) always orders something different, neither of us are ever disappointed.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Cozy, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.