Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.64mi
  4. Distance: 2.99mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.64mi
  4. Distance: 2.99mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.64mi
  4. Distance: 2.99mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.64mi
  4. Distance: 2.99mi

About Gennaro's Italian Ristorante

Gennaro’s Italian Ristorante has been serving fine Italian cuisine in the Charleston area for 35 years. In a warm, cozy atmosphere, the Gennaro family work diligently at providing a wonderful dining experience. Whether you bring your family in for quality time together or gather with your friends for a hearty meal, live jazz or happy hour, Gennaro’s is the perfect place for you! From veal to grilled seafood or a wonderful black angus steak, you will certainly appreciate the quality at Gennaro’s and the perceived value. See why Charlestonians always come back to Gennaro’s. We look forward to providing you with the best in Italian cuisine!

8500 Dorchester Rd.
North Charleston, SC 29420
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Sun 12:00 pm–9:00 pm
Dinner
Daily 4:00 pm–10:30 pm

Cross Street:
Appian Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 760-9875

Website:
http://www.gennarositalianristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz Thursday evenings featuring the Gennaro's Jazz Ensemble at North area location!

Parking Details:
Plenty of on premise parking

Executive Chef:
Michael Gennaro

Private Party Facilities:
Book your private party with us using our banquet menu.

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: (843) 760-9875

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gennaro's Italian Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (11)
NeighborhoodGem (11)
SpecialOccasions (9)
See All
Casual (9)
GoodForDates (8)
ComfortFood (8)
Birthdays (8)
WorthTheDrive (7)
BusinessMeals (7)
Anniversaries (7)
Groups (7)
Romance (7)
LiveMusic (7)
QuietConversation (6)
Cozy (4)
HappyHour (3)
ChildFriendly (3)
Foodies (3)
CreativeCuisine (2)
Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
FamilyStyle (2)
PrivateRoom (2)
NotableWineList (2)
BarSeating (2)
HotSpot (2)
SundayLunch (2)
OpenKitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
TastingMenu (1)
LocalIngredients (1)
PrePostTheatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
DisabledAccess (1)
Sort By:
S
157 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

We decided to go here for my wife's birthday. So we reserved a table prior to showing up and were seated as soon as we walked in the door. We started off with the stuffed mushrooms and they were delicious. When our main course arrived, my tuna saltimbocca was ok but my wife's chicken bolognese was awesome! She really enjoyed it. The ambience was great, low light kind of noisy but that is from the loud tables next to us. It was nice other than those tables. We enjoyed the night and will eventually try this place out again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Went for Father's day. had a most enjoyable meal. appetizers, main dish and desserts all wonderful . Excellent service, very attentive.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My family and I had a wonderful Father's Day lunch. Great food, great service and excellent wine. Quiet and friendly atmosphere. We will return soon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 16, 2017

So happy to find a REAL Italian restaurant finally! Delicious! Authentic to New York Italian restaurants.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We have been looking for a traditional Italian restaurant since moving here a year ago (and having visited Charleston for 9 years before that!). Gennaro's was a great find for us and we will definitely be returning.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent Italian fare at this place!! The Chicken Bolonese was outstanding! Service was VERY good; really enjoyed joking with the waiter. Everyone enjoyed their meals....everyone had some thing different. Business was brisk!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Great service and food. The only thing I was upset by was the language used at the table beside us. I understand they were family, but the language was disturbing to say the least. Will definitely be back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Music was very good. Chicken marsala was tasty . Pasta & sauce was disappointing.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to Gennaro's for Mother's Day. Not too crowded when we arrived, though it picked up by the time we were leaving. Ambiance was good, noise level was low. Our server was attentive and took good care of us. The food was excellent, though my only regret was leaving my strawberry shortcake at the restaurant when we left. We will be back and I recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was good as always and our waitress was exceptional. She was very helpful and very entertaining.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great food and service, we had no wait time. Very friendly and was always there to check on us. Great wine list also

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We had been living nearby for 3 years and decided to try it out for my husbands birthday. Restaurant was very quite in a Tuesday night but I hear the band is good on Thursday nights. The food was okay (I've had better Italian) but the service was good! I brought a cake and candles with me and the server obliged my request and brought the cake out with the candles lit and sang happy Birthday while the entire restaurant joined in. I'm not sure if I'll be in a rush to go back but overall it was good to try.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 26, 2017

As usual... GREAT food, COZY atmosphere, WONDERFUL people... What more to say!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Had eggplant dish a la Michael. Best of any. Wife had shrimp fettecini loved it her mom chicken parmesiana and was wowed on birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great Food, excellent service!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Warm greeting on arrival, excellent food, wonderful service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great food!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 4, 2017

GENNARO'S IS JUST WONDERFUL. THE FOOD IS SPECIAL AND ALWAYS HOT. THE SERVICE WAS GREAT. THE SERVER WAS AS NICE AS SHE CAN BE.
JUST A GREAT PLACE FOR AN OCCASION OR JUST FOR DINNER.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

My Wife and I absolutely love Gennaro's, this is our favorite date night spot and the live jazz on Thursday night live jazz is always fun, romantic and refreshing !!!!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Authentic, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We greatly enjoyed our first meal at Gennaro's; it definitely won't be our last. The food was very good. Everyone had a different entree and they were all well prepared. Service was outstanding with very friendly staff.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Absolutely GREAT, as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

There was 4 of us for a late lunch on a Sunday. Everyone seemed to enjoy there meal.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We love Gennaros! Food is always good, service great! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Terrific food as always. Mussels were delicious. Veal tender as could be. All of our dinners were served hot and were enjoyed. Service was excellent to start before the room became busy. Dessert and coffee were slow. Time to receive check was slow. Would definitely return again though. Found a special waitress there we knew from other places: Angie. We did not have her that evening but will certainly seek her out when we return. Thanks for the fun time and great meal.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our meal was perfect as usual, we try to get together with friends there once a month. I strongly recommend the mussels in white wine sauce just to get your taste buds working then order diner.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We came here on vacation and it was amazing! The food was great, the atmosphere was great. There was love jazz music tonight (Thursday), but just in one room of several, and would not be too loud in other parts of the restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Everything was Great... as usual!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We celebrated our 30th Anniversary.. Food was amazing. Michael was our server and very attentive. We wanted to go back during our vacation but didn't make it. A must go to for Italian Food!!!!!!!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great Italian food and a nice variety of options on their menu. Their Caesar salad was particularly yummy!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My wife and I have been going to Gennaro's for over 10 years now for Valentine's Day. Excellent Authentic Italian cuisine. The owner Michael is great and the staff is outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Bar Seating, Live Music, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The food was great and the staff seemed to actually care even though they were very busy.
We went on a night when they had a live jazz band that was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had reservations for Valentine's Day. While we waited for our table to open up; friends of ours stopped in without a reservation and was told there was no table available until after 10pm. The next couple came in and asked the same; three ladies including the owner worked hard to accommodate them; showing them different options for tables and ultimately they were seated right behind us. Our waitress was loud; obnoxiously loud. While we still tried to make the best of the situation we couldn't help but notice at least 5 open tables (with reserved signs) for the entire 2 hours we were there. The food finally arrives and there's a blond hair in the green beans. Game over for me. I waited patiently for my partner to finish eating. The owner came over to the table and offered to comp my meal and a gift certificate for a future visit. I didn't pay for the hairy meal and I declined her offer of a gift certificate as I have no intention on returning even if it's free. We were also comped a dessert and called it a night. I wasn't looking for a free meal. What I was expecting was a nice quiet meal; but that didn't happen and I would also expect at this point for the entire check to be comped as I sat and watched my partner enjoy his dinner. Unacceptable beginning with she apparent discrimination at the front door that only got worse. I've ate there a few times and never had a complaint. I won't be back and rest assured I'll continue to share my story about the way my friends were treated.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a great Valentine's Day dinner. Great wine, food, and atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Everything was perfect as usual! Server was excellent, ambiance was fantastic. We really enjoyed our night from the time we arrived until we left.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food and service was excellent! My husband and I use wheelchairs, so accessibility was the only issue and we had park our van in the back and mark it with a cone to keep someone from taking our van access spot. More handicapped parking spaces would help out a lot. Other than that, we'll definitely come back here.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

A family-owned place and our go-to Italian restaurant because of the convenient location. The food and the value are consistently good, the atmosphere is cozy but, unfortunately the service is typically lacking. I would not recommend the fried calamari or shrimp. We've tried them on several occasions and they've always had that "right-from-the-freezer" blandness about them. The steak is on point though, and they always cook it to perfection. My husband loves the Chicken Parmesan. Highly recommend both dishes.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent meal, very friendly staff, good size portions, variety of choices. It's our regular place to go.!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service was exceptional. The atmosphere was very good as well. The food was outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I've been to Gennaro's dozens of times in the past few years and the food is always amazing. The service is usually pretty good, but it's obviously based on the individual server. Last time I went I wasn't super happy with our server as she was asking awkward questions, forgot to do things like asking what kind of dressing we wanted on our salads as well as forgetting the grated cheese and didn't bring a chiller for our white wine. I've never had poor service though and more often than not, it's great. The ambiance is great given the area and clientele (it's in the north area so people think it's ok to bring small children and wear shorts to fine Italian dining). Their house label cabernet is pretty fantastic too. All in all, I think it's a great date spot and would recommend it if you are in the area and/or (like me) despise going downtown to get a nice meal.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Had a lovely dinner with family and friends. Food was delicious and service was very good. We will be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.