About Gennaro's Italian Ristorante

8500 Dorchester Rd.
North Charleston, SC 29420
View Larger Map

Gennaro’s Italian Ristorante has been serving fine Italian cuisine in the Charleston area for 31 years. In a warm, cozy atmosphere, the Gennaro family work diligently at providing a wonderful dining experience. Whether you bring your family in for quality time together or gather with your friends for a hearty meal, live jazz or happy hour, Gennaro’s is the perfect place for you! From veal to grilled seafood or a wonderful black angus steak, you will certainly appreciate the quality at Gennaro’s and the perceived value. See why Charlestonians always come back to Gennaro’s. We look forward to providing you with the best in Italian cuisine!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Daily: 4:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Appian Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 760-9875

Website:
http://www.gennarositalianristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz Thursday evenings featuring the Gennaro's Jazz Ensemble at North area location!

Parking Details:
Plenty of on premise parking

Executive Chef:
Michael Gennaro

Private Party Facilities:
Book your private party with us using our banquet menu.

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: 8437609875x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gennaro's Italian Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
South Carolina
Italian
South Carolina
Best Value
Charleston
Best Restaurants in North Charleston ›

Special Occasion (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
See All
Good for Groups (8)
Romantic (7)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Cozy (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Authentic (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Casual (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
Live Music (2)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
88 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of our favorite restaurants. Delicio ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants. Delicious food. We visited for Restaurant week this time and the menu offered was great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Having never been to the Charleston area ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Having never been to the Charleston area before, Open Table was a big help in finding this neighborhood Italian gem.

Our party of four really enjoyed the food and our time together.

Thanks Open Table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Restaurant itself is very old, dark and ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Restaurant itself is very old, dark and outdated - could use a Restaurant Impossible makeover. The food and service were great, but overall experience would be elevated with the right ambience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Was meeting someone in person for the fi ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Was meeting someone in person for the first time. Great quiet place to meet. Food was good and very friendly people. I will eat their again and would recommend

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I always lI've it here! Delicious food ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I always lI've it here! Delicious food and fair value. Attentive service and jazz on Thursdays. Appropriate for special occasions and every day!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dishes were great and the waitress was a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Dishes were great and the waitress was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

I am revising this review due to the hig ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I am revising this review due to the high level of care and concern exhibited by Mike Gennaro who personally called to follow up on my feedback. I sincerely appreciate this high level of customer service and feel my opinions have been shifted. Thank you Mr. Gennaro.

"Gennaro's claimed to have no record of our reservation, even though we had the confirmation email. The hostess brusquely sat us in a rather short manner. The food was ok, but similar value can also be found at other family owned local restaurants. This was our 3rd visit and we continue not to be impressed."

After speaking with Mr. Gennaro we may visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

A great choice for a special occasion or ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

A great choice for a special occasion or just a great evening out

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Family Style, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gennaros always, always, delivers. The f ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Gennaros always, always, delivers. The food is delicious. The ribeye gorgonzola is amazing. Perfectly cooked every time. The sauce is wonderfully rich and flavorful. We love their appetizers, the crab calzones, the crab flat bread and sausage flat bread are amazing. We love Gennaros. It is authentic and delicious and I look forward to occasions that require a trip there.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Authentic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious Italian food in a very nice at ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Delicious Italian food in a very nice atmosphere! Our waiter was new and very uninformed about the menu and specials, but he was willing to run back to the kitchen to find out the answers to our questions. It's a bit pricey for a night out with the kids but very appropriate for a special dinner such as our anniversary. The food is homemade from family recipes and we absolutely love it!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

It was our anniversary, and we wanted a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was our anniversary, and we wanted a low key, relaxing night (nothing fancy). Well, we had a fantastic meal. Everything from the appetizer (mussles) to dinner (chicken parm and veal diane) was delicious! Our server Nicole was sweet and friendly. They even gave us a complimentary dessert for our anniversary. I loved it and will be back.

I have seen some people complain about the décor, and maybe it is a little outdated, but the who cares when the food is that good. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food and service! As usual...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food and service! As usual...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff couldn't be nicer and the food ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The staff couldn't be nicer and the food is excellent. First time going there and definately will go again. Not sure of the total bill since my son treated me to the dinner out but, we both immensely enjoyed our food and waitress was great!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I find the entrée prices a bit high for ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I find the entrée prices a bit high for chicken , in addition why is there an extra charge for blue cheese dress The food is really good and the service too just a bit high

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and I came for dinner for our ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

My husband and I came for dinner for our 30th Anniversary. Everything was great! Thank you. We I'll be back again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We just moved into this neighborhood and ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We just moved into this neighborhood and were looking for a nice restaurant to celebrate my birthday when we found Gennaro's. We were greeted warmly and the server Jennifer is a doll. They even brought me a slice of birthday cake. The food is outstanding and we found out they have live-music every Thursday! This is defintiely a neighborhood gem! Perfect for romantic dinner, date night, special occasions and listening to music while eating delicious food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is traditional Italian, very good n ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food is traditional Italian, very good nothing fancy but very good. Interior does need a make over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Server very friendly but kitchen was ver ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Server very friendly but kitchen was very slow. Confused over split check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Our server, Kayla, made sure we had a ve ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Our server, Kayla, made sure we had a very pleasant dinner with a discount for our military family. She offered us extra bread and olive oil with garlic while we waited for our entrees. She made helpful suggestions for our wine choice. Our salads were dressed with a homemade balsamic dressing that was light and tasty. We enjoyed the entrees - Veal Marsala, Veal Diana, and a very nice Caesar Salad with chicken. Somehow we found room to share a delightful dessert covered in a chocolate shell with a hidden caramel center. It was nice to experience this family owned establishment with much more attentive service than can be found in most restaurants today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great quality!

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This is a great place to take someone for a special occasion. The food is high quality and the service is great. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian restaurant

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food is consistently good and the staff is always very friendly and willing to offer suggestions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I love this place. We went o ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I love this place. We went on mothers day and it wasn't especially busy. But this time the service was terrible. It has been a long time since I have had service so inept.

We will go back because the food is good, but we hope the waitress we had either improves dramatically or finds another job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Chicken marsala and mussels were fabulou ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Chicken marsala and mussels were fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food is always great! Stuffed mushro ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The food is always great! Stuffed mushrooms and Chicken Bolognese are my faves. Great prices and the service is wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Meal!!! Great service!!

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Great Meal!!! Great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointed

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary, and what a disappointment. To start off we were led through several nicer sections with dim, romantic lighting, and were placed along the back wall in the rear of the restaurant. We noticed that all of the tables around us were given notice of all the specials, and given bread immediately- our server could recall only two of the items of the evening, and we had to ask for bread twice. We were optimistic based of the years of business, and reviews from patrons, but feel that for as much as we spent, we would have had a better experience at Carrabba's- better quality, ambiance, and service. The highlight of our evening was the laugh the two of us shared when our waitress grated cheese on my lap instead of my plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Good food - service a little slow

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Overall we like the restaurant and the food. Great Italian atmosphere. Only disappointment was the service was a bit slow (waitress was very nice - maybe had too many tables). We'd still go bCk again for another try next time we're in the area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice first visit

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We visited Gennaro's for the first time and were very pleased. The service was excellent and the menu selection was extensive . We ordered the lasagna as that is my favorite Italian dish and we were not disappointed. The portion size was large and it was excellent. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

2 families met for a great experience, g ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

2 families met for a great experience, great service, great food, hidden gem, highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Veal and Chicken Parms and bread are excellent! Kaitland and Leslie, the best servers. Kudos to the chef and all your staff, making our nite wonderful. Thanks!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Great food and our server was awesome. Could have bigger wine list

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal, great service!!

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Great meal, great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance and clientele base was awes ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The ambiance and clientele base was awesome! It was quiet and enjoyable. Our food was amazing and the portions are large for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food but service and ambiance disappointing

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was great with nice portions and our waitress was very nice and personable. However the service staff seemed very disorganized and the ambiance could use a little updo. The building itself has a lot of potential, it just feels very reunion/banquet hall -esque.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

The chicken marsala was not good, the sp ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The chicken marsala was not good, the spaghetti was bland, and the service started out great but by the end it felt like our waiter had forgotten about us multiple times. The eggplant parmigiana was good though.

With all the other great choices in the Charleston area, we probably won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Only problem was Open Table

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Restaurant was great! Open Table did not notify restaurant of our reservation. They kindly accomodated us. Seems to be a problem with Open Table.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Made a reservation and the 2 girls at th ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Made a reservation and the 2 girls at the counter couldn't find it. Luckily the owner was there and pointed it out to then. The hostess brought us to an area lease crowded and we had asked for a booth as there were plenty of open tables and the hostess said those were reserved. I reminded her we had reservations and she walked away. One of the waitresses brought us over to the table's Dogs was good and plenty left over. Unfortunately as we left the 2 that originally were looking for our reservations gave us the stink eye and just starred at us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

My fiancé and I went to Gennaro's for th ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My fiancé and I went to Gennaro's for their Valentine's Day menu and it was a great value for the two of us. We both had wine, salad, appetizer, entree and dessert. Though it was packed, our food was excellent and the service we received from our waitress was friendly and personable.

This was a perfect choice for a cozy date night and truly authentic Italian food. I would recommend the fried calamari and their canoli.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great staff and awesome food!!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great staff and awesome food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very sub par food.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I typically dot write reviews but I had to write one about this restaurant to balance out all the positive reviews. My wife and I are big Italian food eaters and to be blunt we were very disappointed. Non of the food was up to par, everything just tasted a bit bland and off flavor. The marinara sauce tasted worse than walmart brand from a jar. The salad dressing was bad. It was just all bad. Our server had a cold personality and did nothing to make our diner special or enjoyable. We will not be back and wouldn't recommend this place to anybody, heck, go to Olive Garden instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.