Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

bd's Mongolian Grill – Dublinbd's Mongolian Grill – Dublin
(71)
Asian | Dublin, Columbus
Reserve Now
Tucci'sTucci's
(980)
Steakhouse | Dublin, Columbus
Reserve Now
J. Liu Restaurant & Bar of DublinJ. Liu Restaurant & Bar of Dublin
(683)
American | Dublin, Columbus
Reserve Now
Oscar's of DublinOscar's of Dublin
(437)
Contemporary American | Dublin, Columbus
Reserve Now
Mezzo - DublinMezzo - Dublin
(690)
Italian | Dublin, Columbus
Reserve Now
Montgomery Inn - ColumbusMontgomery Inn - Columbus
(242)
Barbecue | Dublin, Columbus
Reserve Now
BRAVO Cucina Italiana - Columbus - Bethel RoadBRAVO Cucina Italiana - Columbus - Bethel Road
(178)
Italian | Northwest Columbus, Columbus
Reserve Now
Cameron's American BistroCameron's American Bistro
(1870)
Contemporary American | Worthington, Columbus
Reserve Now
House of Japan - DublinHouse of Japan - Dublin
(915)
Japanese | Dublin, Columbus
Reserve Now
Nicola Restaurant and BarNicola Restaurant and Bar
(483)
Italian | Upper Arlington, Columbus
Reserve Now
The Refectory Restaurant & BistroThe Refectory Restaurant & Bistro
(2209)
Contemporary French / American | Upper Arlington, Columbus
Reserve Now
The Whitney HouseThe Whitney House
(463)
American | Worthington, Columbus
Reserve Now
Matt the Miller's Tavern DublinMatt the Miller's Tavern Dublin
(45)
American | Dublin, Columbus
Reserve Now
The Worthington InnThe Worthington Inn
(898)
Contemporary American | Worthington, Columbus
Reserve Now
Kraft House No. 5Kraft House No. 5
(234)
Gastro Pub | Powell, Columbus
Reserve Now

About Genji Japanese Steakhouse - Dublin

5874 Sawmill Rd
Dublin, OH 43017
View Larger Map

Genji Japanese Steakhouse is the place to go for delicious and artfully crafted Japanese classics prepared before your eyes. Appetizers include a fresh selection of sushi rolls, as well as pork and chicken egg rolls served with various dipping sauces. As you sit around a hibachi grill, a specially trained chef crafts your made-to-order meal fresh in front of you, making for an entertaining dinner show. Genji Japanese Steakhouse's specialties include the vegetable dinner with fried rice, the samurai special, composed of shrimp, scallops and a lobster tail and the teppan yaki New York strip steak. There is a generous variety of seafood, meat and vegetable-centric dinners, perfect for every palate.

Genji Japanese Steakhouse turns a delicious meal into an unforgettable experience thanks to its showmen chefs and high-quality fare.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 1:45pm, Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Bethel and 161

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 792-2500

Entertainment:
Our chefs will entertain you while they cook your food at the table.

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
Newest
326 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Genji is absolutely delicious.

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Genji is absolutely delicious. It is one of my favorite restaurants in the Columbhs area and recommend it to anyone interested in trying a new hibachi spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Genji is by far the best Japanese steakhouse in Columbus. I have tried many others and none compare.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun Time

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

We had a party of 18 service and food was great! The chef that prepared the food was great and very entertaining! Everyone had a fun time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it was my daughter sweet 16 birthday

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

From the time we got there we were greeted with such nice greeting from the hostess we had a party of 6 had to wait on the ex wife and her sister but they got us in as soon as they arrived the waiter was very respectful and nice and the chef was great my daughter had a great time thank you for everything

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steve R

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on October 28, 2015

Good Japanese steakhouse experience: steak, seafood, and chicken execellently cooked in front of us in an entertaining way.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

bday

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

The cook/chef did not really interact with us at all. He was nice but boring.

We took our daughter there for her birthday. We mentioned that in our reservation.

They brought her fruit and sang to her and then charged us for it. $ 7.00 for a few bites of pineapple. After Spending over $200.00 between 6 of us, you have to charge for that?

Not sure we would come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

No Interactions

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on October 4, 2015

The whole point of going to Genji was to have that interaction and fun with the chef and ppl around the table but he did not say a word. I didn't see a difference of going to restaurants where they cook food inside the kitchen. I don't want to stare at my food while it's being cooked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Not up to usual standard

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

We traditionally go to Genji Japanese Steakhouse to celebrate birthdays. Our birthday guy had never been there. Was very disappointed that the chef did not do ANY of the usual "show" this time. That is part of the Genji experience! Felt like we only got 1/2 our money's worth. Food was great as usual.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Very disappointed

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on October 1, 2015

We have eaten here a lot. Came back for my daughter's birthday and was seated next to a bachelorette party. They kept adding people to the table which ended up at my table. They wanted to-go orders from the cook and distracted him constantly. The Chef did NO tricks, no entertainment at all because of this party. The manager kept allowing the party to get bigger at my expense. I told the waitress we were really disappointed and she apologized and said she was doing her best. The manager should have stepped in and done something. We normally have a great time here, but it will be a long while before we go back. The Chef went to another table and they were having a great time! Very sad for my daughter on her birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Great fun!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 29, 2015

Not a place for quiet conversation for a group around the table but great fun, very entertaining and excellent food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, for great prices.

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

The restaurant is very nice, and clean, and so are the seating areas. However our actual server was rude and not enthusiastic when we sat at her table, although she was nice to the other guests. The chef was very kind and funny, and made an entertaining performance for everyone. The food was great and you get a lot for lunch time prices. I would recommend going there, but choosing a different server. I will probably go to Beni Hana next time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

great time

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

The only gripe I have is that in the comments section when I made the reservation online I noted that it was my daughter's birthday. We even walked in with gift bags. I thought they would recognize her, but no one did. Other than that, food and service was great, fast, and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

They are always on their A game with food and service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect anniversary dinner!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

I have been here many times before and it is still my most FAVORITE place to eat. Just a few nights ago my boyfriend brought me back for an anniversary dinner and it was lovely. We had a reservation set for 7:45 and when we got there we were seated right away even though it was packed. They seated us about 15 minutes before our actual reservation time. It was great! The chef kept us entertained and cooked our food to perfection. Everyone else sitting at our table was very friendly and one even offered to take a picture of us. It's such a nice place and the food is amazing. It is super kid-friendly and I would reccomend Genji to everyone. :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love This Restaurant

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

We are from Texas, but our family lives in Columbus. Every time we visit, we take everyone for great food and a fun experience at Gengi. Make sure you make reservations. We made ours on-line and it made the entire evening more enjoyable knowing we would be seated on time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fun dinner

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 11, 2015

Very fun place. We take out of town guests and is a popular choice for special occasions like birthdays. Scallops are large. Steaks are tender. Chicken....taskes like chicken. The cooks are fun and do a good job of entertaining. We live near Fusion but choose to drive 45 minutes (or more in rush hour) to go to Genji. Only negatives I have is they tend to overcook sea food. And, it's getting a little run down. They are busy so I'm sure it's just a cycle.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

yum yum!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 28, 2015

we recently went there for my birthday. The chef was great but the servers and hostesses seemed ditzy and inattentive. a couple of times I looked around the table and everyone's drink was empty... Unacceptable since we were one of three tables. Other than that, it was a great experience. Love their yum yum sauce!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great go-to for dinner

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 26, 2015

Great go-to for dinner! Lots of food but very good!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good place - good hibachi

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 10, 2015

Good place - good hibachi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I absolutely love this place and wish I ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

I absolutely love this place and wish I could go more often. The food is delicious and the staff is always friendly. Will definitely come back as soon as I can.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic. Entertaining and the food is ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 20, 2015

Fantastic. Entertaining and the food is awesome. Keeps kids entertained too which is wonderful. Love it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What's the point

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 26, 2015

I was very upset that even though I had made a reservation they would not seat us until the WHOLE party was there. So I had to hold/entertain my one year old until EVERYONE was present. I came with 5 out of the 7 in our group so the majority was present but they still wouldn't seat us AND it wasn't busy!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The best Japanese steakhouse in Columbus

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 22, 2015

The best Japanese steakhouse in Columbus

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Genji great chef, service okay

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 25, 2015

Nice place, food and portions were very good. Our chef was fantastic, fun and involved. He seemed to really enjoy what he does. Our waiter was okay but we told him of a serious seafood allergy in our group and he forgot to mention it to our chef. We mentioned it again to our chef since he clearly hadn't been told and started to cook the shrimp first. I would recommend this place, it was enjoyable, food was yummy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

love the yum- yum dressing on the Bibb lettuce.

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 20, 2015

I always enjoy Genjis went for mine and my husbands birthday. They sang,brought out some dish with pineapple most of all they took our picture. We will be returning to i sometime in the future.

Thanks Genjis for an excellent meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing.

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

I've been here multiple times. It gets even better every time I go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the show and yum-yum sauce!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 13, 2015

Want dinner and a show? I love this place for the atmosphere, entertaining chefs, and fabulous food...most of all the yum-yum sauce! I love watching everything I am going to eat be cooked in front of me! My filet was perfectly cooked, and so juicy. The yum-yum sauce is the perfect complement to well, everything! My husband had the steak and shrimp which he said was flavorful and hit the spot. The only complaint is if you sit too close, your eyebrows might get singed! The chef had amazing knife work and was a lot of fun to watch. Overall, I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Food Great Atmosphere

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 11, 2015

Our visit last night was early, so it wasn't very crowded or loud yet. The service was wonderful and our chef was AMAZING! I love to watch them cook and do tricks with the food and utensils. The steak was cooked perfectly and had amazing flavor. I can't wait to eat here again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special occasion!!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 8, 2015

We had a great time as usual. Normally we have our kids with us, we were celebrating our 16 yr wedding anniversary, so it is was just my husband and i. We had a great time as always. Thank you very much!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Expect for better food

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 7, 2015

Service and performance was great, but the food wasn't as good was I expected. Too much oil, butter and soy sauce. It may be good for healthy people but not for those who has eating restriction. I think your restaurant would be better if the chef asks for amount of seasoning before they cook.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Great place for dinner!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 30, 2015

The food here is absolutely amazing and the service goes right along with that. It is such a great experience watching your food being cooked right in front of you. The atmosphere is great for anybody.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Genji's the place to go

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 30, 2015

Good food, romantic and fun atmosphere. I've been to Genji's twice and have loved it each time. The food was delicious, quiet enough to talk to my friend, and we had a blast watching our chef.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was very very salty.. also the ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 23, 2015

The food was very very salty.. also the ginger sauce.. other than that it was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

lots of money to eat

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 9, 2015

Seems pretty over priced, went to the site and it says $30 for 2 people but we spent near $80 for 2. The food was remarkable and the service was great but I planned to spend $40 maximum and it ended up costing twice as much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

our go to place for Teppan Yaki Cuisine

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 6, 2015

The food is excellent , menu is clear. We go there as much as we can. It's our go-to for Teppan Yaki cuisine

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Slow and Frustrating

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 3, 2015

I made a reservation for two people on Friday January 2nd at 8pm. A gentleman without a reservation was told it would be a 30 minute wait for a party of five people. My party was seated 35 minutes after my reservation. My table waited over 10 minutes before we received water. We waited another 15 minutes to receive our soup and salad. A table that was seated approximately 20 minutes after my table received their soup and salad right after we were served, i.e. they were served significantly quicker than my table. After their hibachi chef arrived before my table's chef, I said something to hostess.

Shortly thereafter, my table's hibachi chef arrived. I was seated to his right so I was served first. He went around the table twice starting with me and ending with me. I was served significantly less rice and vegetables than every other person at the table. In fact, I was literally served three bites of zucchini. I paid the same amount for my dinner as everyone else, however, I was given drastically less food.

I wanted to speak with the manager after my meal, but he was seated at a table talking to guests. I learned during the 35 minutes that I waited for my table that those people to whom he was speaking was his family.

I was a terribly frustrating dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Yum-yum

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on December 31, 2014

Genii is a fun place to dine with friends or family. We brought our children(10 & 8) for New Years Eve. The place was packed, a reservation was a must. Bring your appetite, the food is delicious, the show is fun, and the ambiance is nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Service.

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on December 31, 2014

Waitress was really overwhelmed with a full table of 8. Refills were forever to get. Had to ask another waitress for refills. Seemed like we were rushed to finish our meals. Takeout boxes offered when half our table was still eating.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Best food choice for Japanese steakhouse in town

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on December 24, 2014

Just based on food, this is the best Japanese Steakhouse in Columbus. Service is not the best and the interior need to be updated.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

love me some genji

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on December 19, 2014

Wife had the hankering for some genji so we headed over. Was sat right away (Wednesday evening). Service has always been excellent here. Chef put on a show and was extra attentive to the kids sitting at our table. Little things like setting aside some fried egg to put on the kids plates so they could eat a small bite while the food was being cooked. Very attentive and very professional. Food quality, taste, and portions excellent as well. We end up taking home more than we ate while there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.