Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

About Geneva Chophouse

Geneva ChopHouse offers bold and distinctive flavors with steaks, seafood and style. Delivered daily from the finest purveyors of meat in Chicago, Geneva ChopHouse features the finest hand cut steaks and chops as well as an extensive wine list. With a wide assortment of side dishes big enough for two, Geneva ChopHouse offers an open kitchen where guests can view their meal being grilled and roasted. All served amid spectacular views of the Wisconsin countryside and the famed 18th hole on The Brute golf course. Your dining experience will be a culinary treat to remember.

7036 Grand Geneva Way
Lake Geneva, WI 53147
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 50 East & Hwy 12

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 249-4788

Website:
http://www.chophouse411.com/Geneva

Entertainment:
Live entertainment, dancing, and televised sporting events can be enjoyed in Evolve lounge adjacent to the Geneva ChopHouse. Enjoy a cocktail from our full service bar. Appetizers, sandwiches, and desserts are also available.

Catering:
In House Catering for Private Dining Available. Birthdays, Anniversaries, Celebrations, Reunions, Wedding Dinners and more. Our coordinator will work with you to cater a custom menu for your function to meet your needs.

Parking Details:
Self-parking is available. We also offer complimentary Valet Parking.

Public Transit:
NA

Executive Chef:
Michael Sawin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
NEW Benedict Bar at Sunday Brunch

Build your own eggs benedict with a line of fresh, gourmet ingredients for the perfect start to your Sunday

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:00PM - 2:00PM 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Whether you're hosting a small social gathering of business associates, a holiday party or a special dinner for a much larger group, consider the restaurants at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa. We handle all the arrangements. You just walk in and enjoy.

Geneva Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (38)
Good for a Date (32)
Scenic View (31)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Romantic (24)
Worth the Drive (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Cozy (12)
Waterfront (11)
Business Meals (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Casual (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
People Watching (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Fun (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Authentic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Private Room (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Dancing (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1571 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Our annual board meeting takes place at the Grand Geneva and we always celebrate afterwards at the Chop House. Memorable food choices that we all enjoy paired with lovely wines.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent place for dinner. View is outstanding as is the service and food. Very good wine and cocktail list. Dessert is a must after the dinner. Our server Jules was good and offered suggestions if needed. We were next to a table of 4 guys just off the course. One of the men did not take his hat off on the restaurant. Very rude. It was not a golf hat but a straw hat.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Disappointing this time, except stake. Chopped salad... Really tiny compared to any other stake house we've been at, crab cakes ... Not worth money... And really bad. Fish from neighbors tabyyle was smelling bad... One of kids ordered Mac and cheese....it was really just like to Kraft cheese from box... Can't believe it got so bad...

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Service, food and ambiance is top notch. Treatment just like the old days. You pay for what you get. Kick back and enjoy the ride.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 10, 2017

It was a very nice place.
The food was very good but alittle expensive.
I would definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, excellent service. The food is very good, high quality, well-prepared. Our only gripe was that the King Salmon dish was a little too light, almost like a "spa" entree, and needed a better sauce and a starch accompaniment. Otherwise, very nice.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Had a great dinner for my husband's birthday. They made it very special and followed through with our window request.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Went with a group of 12 (2 tables of 6). The food was very well prepared and all 12 participants enjoyed it. Service at one table was clearly better than the other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The restaurant staff was friendly and made sure we had everything we needed throughout the night. Everyone in our group enjoyed their meal because the food was excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Steaks were phenomenal. We both had the prime rib eye. Every bite was tender and flavorful and it was well worth the price. The baked potatoes were huge and could have easily been split between 2 people, but we each had and finished our own. You could have it loaded or plain. Service was attentive and friendly. We were there for a special occasion and it did not disappoint. The chopped salad was quite bad and not worth $10. It seemed soggy and flavorless. I think all the ingredients were so finely chopped that the different ingredients were not recognizable or discernible. The dressing was mediocre.We also had a Caesar salad that was out of this world. Hot rolls were brought to the table with a butter with special flavoring and an olive tapenade, both delicious according to my husband. They treated my partner to a dessert for his birthday. He was so full that they were kind enough to box it up for him complete with an unlit candle for later. Very sweet. We'd go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Brunch with group for birthday celebration. There was a wide selection of food to choose from (e.g., prime rib, beef brisket, crab legs, pastries, charcuterie, bacon, breakfast potatoes, sausage, waffles, assorted fruits, fish and chips, baked chicken). A lot of the selections, however, weren't hot (which was a shame). Our waitress, Tamara, was amazing. She was professional, cheerful and very attentive. This made our experience delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The restaurant is hard to find within the Grand Geneva Resort as there is not even a single sign- FYI, go to the last parking lot. My wife and I went for their steaks. They did not disappoint. I had a dry aged ribeye and my wife the filet. The ribeye is one of the best I've ever had. It easily competes with Morton's or Gibson's.

I do not recommend getting the wine by the glass. They are small pours and found out later a $7 glass came from a $9 bottle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Chop House is our go to place. Always great food, good service and great views.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 14, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 15th anniversary with an outstanding meal. The food and service were great. We started our evening with rose pedals on the table and had a wonderful evening at the restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Extreme disappointment at this meal. One outstanding element was the scallop appetizer. The entrees were pedestrian and the service peculiar. They seemed to lack interest. Attempting to emulate Gibson's or Morton's, they fall short. A Filet Mignon was nothing more than a warmed over banquet medallion. The view was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I haven't dined at GC in a while, and I remember it being better. Menu seems very limited, and the steak prices are Chicago Steak House levels, but not nearly the quality. The table next to us had to send their steaks back twice, and finally gave up. Ours were just OK, but not worth the money for an Ala Carte steak.

Our server was good, but the assistant servers weren't very attentive so we had appetizer/seafood plates left on our table for a while, which isn't acceptable at this price-point.

Normally the restaurant is relatively quiet, but we had two families on either side of us with young kids, so it was very noisy - again, not something you expect at a "Chop House" with $50+ steaks.

I also noticed the booths and interior (and the hotel common areas) are starting to look worn, like they aren't reinvesting in the property.

Unfortunate, because I took my son and his girlfriend for dinner as a special occasion, but it wasn't anything "special". We did have a table by the window and the view to the golf course is very nice, but that's not enough to justify the prices.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Dined for Restaurant Week. Very tasty food though, as expected, not a very large entree. Cheesecake with rhubarb sauce was some of the best cheesecake we've ever eaten.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Spouse Birthday weekend

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I took my boyfriend out for his birthday. The dinner and services was outstanding. I would return to this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 31, 2017

After a three day vendor convention, we had the opportunity to relax and enjoy a delicious meal with a beautiful view. Food and wine service was excellent and we plan to return in the near future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I have never ate a filet that was more dry than the one I had at the chophouse. I ordered a medium well steak, but was cooked VERY well done. My husband ordered medium and it was VERY well done. We requested steamed SOFT broccoli and assured it wouldn't be crunchy. It came out very crunchy. Our scallops came out cold. The lobster mac, however, was really good. I will never go back. Unfortunately, our 1 year wedding anniversary dinner we can't get back. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Service, food, ambiance, everything was great. We had two kids with us, my son who is 3 and my daughter who is 1. The staff made them feel welcome, our server got right on with their orders first, got them out. Bread and fruit to start for them. Really nicely planned out. Our entrees were great as well. The restaurant overall is great for date night, family get-togethers. I would highly recommend parents check out the restaurant if you have little kids as well, my kids were really taken care of. We'll be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Decent variety but my favorite thing is an omelette station so I didn't have everything. I'm not a big fan of buffets but most everyone would find something they like. Cost is on par with what you would pay for a higher end brunch.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Service was horrible. We waited forever for the server to come by and ask us if we wanted more drinks even though the manager was nearby and didn't pay any attention to us either. Food was not what we have come to expect here either as we have been here multiple times. We had a much better experience with the valet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Terrific experience, amazing views and great food and service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We had a wonderful evening. Great food, great service and beautiful setting

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Four words: terrible food terrible service. The rack of lamb was so tough I was unable to eat most of it. It is difficult to ruin rack of lamb IF IT IS QUALITY MEAT. Waitress was very unavailable through out the meal. Way over-priced for the quality of the meal, a complete waste of money. Would never consider dining here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Food was standard steakhouse fare. View and service were both outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I went to the Chop House with 2 friends who joined me on a weekend trip. This is a bit of a splurge, but the steaks were fabulous. Our server Brian was very friendly as well. The lobster mac and cheese was a little gummy, but broccoli was great. We had ribeye, KC strip, and filet - all very tasty. Our starter salads - wedge, warm spinach, etc., were well done. Spinach salad was slightly overdressed, but it was bacon dressing, so I didn't mind too much!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My husband and I have been dining here on most special occasions/ holidays for the past 5-7 years. While celebrating our anniversary this weekend, we were reminded of changes that have been made recently, and not for the better.
First, the pros:
-Both steaks were cooked to perfection & were delicious!
-All courses could not have tasted any better.
-Atmosphere was great.
Cons:
-Beef Carpaccio removed from the menu. This was a favorite item, so this is a major disappointment. At first we were told the kitchen ran out, then removed for a special holiday menu (Valentine's Day) and this weekend we were told it has been removed entirely.
-Oysters not served on their own any longer. They are now part of the Seafood Sampler, and cannot be ordered by the half dozen. Since I do not eat seafood, my husband was not going to order the $45 Sampler just for the oysters. We asked the waiter if they would sell oysters separately, but were told no because they buy exactly enough to make it through the weekend. Really? We asked around 7:30 on Saturday night, and the restaurant was not full.
-The menu has always been much more extensive, and there were literally only a few entrees and appetizers to select from.
Staffing notes:
-What happened to the wonderful server who offered bread and Aqua Panna? We usually have one of three or four waiters/ waitresses, but this server was always there as a friendly face and she recognized us each time. No one else offered bottled water, which we always get.
-The servers were largely the same group as in the past, but some were newer and not friendly at all. The runner who cleared plates between courses literally did not smile the whole evening, and our bread plates were left empty on the table for at least 30 minutes.
All of the above is really sounding picky to read back, but we come here several times a year and this is just not up to par for what it has always been. Hoping for a great turnaround for my birthday in July!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

It was the best steak I have had !
Superb staff and the lake view is fabulous.
We ha deviled eggs for appetizer, and cheese cake for dessert!
Absolutely fantastic

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food was not as great as it was priced, $50 steak should be better than a chain restaurant $19 steak and it was not at all, sides were mediocre at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Went for our 15th anniversary and the staff was fabulous and the steak just melts in your mouth!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The Scallops and Olive Spread were by far the best part of the meal, but not worth going to the restaurant for. Way over priced for the amount and quality of the food served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Wonderful way to end my husband 's birthday weekend! Ellen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Steak was well prepared and very good. The rest of the food was not very good. Lobster Mac used to be the best around. Very very disappointing now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, delicious food, great service - the best date night. We'll be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Last time we went, the service from staff was a huge disappointment. Much better this time Teala was great; as was food etc.

Our guests were very pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food and our waiter Tod was the best. Filet was perfect, and my honey's Birthday dinner could not have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

As always, excellent food, wine and service. Too bad the weather didn't cooperate so we could have our usual beverage by the firepit

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.