About Geneva Chophouse

7036 Grand Geneva Way
Lake Geneva, WI 53147
View Larger Map

Geneva ChopHouse offers bold and distinctive flavors with steaks, seafood and style. Delivered daily from the finest purveyors of meat in Chicago, Geneva ChopHouse features the finest hand cut steaks and chops as well as an extensive wine list. With a wide assortment of side dishes big enough for two, Geneva ChopHouse offers an open kitchen where guests can view their meal being grilled and roasted. All served amid spectacular views of the Wisconsin countryside and the famed 18th hole on The Brute golf course. Your dining experience will be a culinary treat to remember.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 50 East & Hwy 12

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 249-4788

Website:
http://www.chophouse411.com/Geneva

Entertainment:
Live entertainment, dancing, and televised sporting events can be enjoyed in Evolve lounge adjacent to the Geneva ChopHouse. Enjoy a cocktail from our full service bar. Appetizers, sandwiches, and desserts are also available.

Catering:
In House Catering for Private Dining Available. Birthdays, Anniversaries, Celebrations, Reunions, Wedding Dinners and more. Our coordinator will work with you to cater a custom menu for your function to meet your needs.

Parking Details:
Self-parking is available. We also offer complimentary Valet Parking.

Public Transit:
NA

Executive Chef:
Michael Sawin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
NEW Benedict Bar at Sunday Brunch

Build your own eggs benedict with a line of fresh, gourmet ingredients for the perfect start to your Sunday

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 12:00PM - 2:00PM 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Whether you're hosting a small social gathering of business associates, a holiday party or a special dinner for a much larger group, consider the restaurants at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa. We handle all the arrangements. You just walk in and enjoy.

Geneva Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Lake Geneva
Best Food
Lake Geneva
5 More
Best Service
Lake Geneva
Best Ambiance
Lake Geneva
Best Value
Lake Geneva
Special Occasion
Lake Geneva
Most Booked
Lake Geneva
Best Restaurants in Lake Geneva ›

Special Occasion (79)
Scenic View (76)
Romantic (60)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (43)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for Groups (27)
Notable Wine List (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for a Date (13)
Great for Brunch (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Cozy (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Business Meals (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Private Room (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Waterfront (2)
People Watching (2)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Authentic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Music (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1356 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I really do like the Chophouse. While ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

I really do like the Chophouse. While the steaks are excellent, previously they were extraordinary. That, and I believe the service, downgraded a touch when the look of the menu did, maybe a year ago? Still, overall it is a good experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Waitress never around to ask anything, ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 5 days ago

Waitress never around to ask anything, She gave us the wrong bill and she only had 3 tables to on with two guests each.

Prices are outrageous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Good was good.. waitresses was slow..run ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Good was good.. waitresses was slow..runners were excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

This is by far our favorite place for ce ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This is by far our favorite place for celebrating occasions. The service is always outstanding and the food is amazing. It's so great they can accommodate my special needs being that I have Celiac and am Gluten free. I've never had an issue after eating there. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, Comfort Food, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My main probem was the time it took to g ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My main probem was the time it took to get a waiter to start ordering and the steak was toughle

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

My parents 68 th anniversary, we have go ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My parents 68 th anniversary, we have gone to the chophouse for three years to celebrate and always had a good time. The service was excellent as usual but this time my steak was very salty due to what I was told was the spices used on the steaks, I really did not enjoy my steak.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

We loved the scenic view and relaxed fee ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We loved the scenic view and relaxed feel in a fine dining establishment.

Both the filet and prime rib were done to perfection. Side dishes could be ordered solo or there is an option to get a trio, it was perfect for sharing. The coffee comes in a french press which was a nice touch.

Our server was awesome, a true professional.

We would definitely recommend the Geneva Chophouse.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place but food didn't warrant price ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Nice place but food didn't warrant price. Wait staff and reservations personnel were very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Service started out strong but as they g ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Service started out strong but as they got busier she disappeared. Food is average at best, steak was too salty and had a lot of pepper used as seasoning. If you are used to Chicago steakhouses this one is not even in the same league. Don't waste your money here, it's prices are valued for a high end steak house but the food is not even close to being that good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

The food was outstanding! Our view was b ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The food was outstanding! Our view was beautiful! The service was fantastic! Our waiter Gabriel was charming, friendly and just terrific! He was definitely the highlight of our dining experience!! Thank you!!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service from clearly very experien ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great service from clearly very experienced waitstaff taking our meal from very good to great.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was in the city celebrating our 30th wed ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Was in the city celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. The restaurant atmosphere was election with great ambiance. The food and service was great as well.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Convenient, since we were staying in hot ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Convenient, since we were staying in hotel and we wanted a nice dinner in restaurant with a view. Wait staff needs educating. They don't really understand the particulars of serving in what should be considered fine dining, for that area. She didn't understand how and when to clear the dishes, serve the wine etc... It was a disappointing experience but the food was above average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

The food was good. My scallops were a l ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was good. My scallops were a little undercooked. My husband enjoyed the strip steak. Pretty good drinks . We sat outdoors. Nice view of water and fire pit. The server was fair. He actually told us in conversation that they "are in the business of upselling". I thought this was very unprofessional. We had made mention twice while making the reservation that it was our 25th Anniversary. This fact was missed by the server. No mention was made. When we reminded the hostess, they sent over a dessert and bottle of champagne to go. Kind of awkward and somewhat tacky. I had read reviews online before our dinner and it was mentioned many times that they do a great job of making the couple feel special for anniversaries. Not so! I probably would return at some point, but would ask for a different server. He seemed very aloof and uninterested. Thumbs down for Gabriel!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Outstanding food. The sea bass was very ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Outstanding food. The sea bass was very very good. Our server was very attentive and even got us a special dessert when she found out it was our anniversary.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were so pleased with Geneva Chophouse ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We were so pleased with Geneva Chophouse ! We had the crab cakes to start and they were delicious. Warm bread with 4 different spreads were also served . So good .

But the prime rib , new York strip and scallops were amazing ! Best we've had anywhere!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant. Staff was very acc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Staff was very accommodating and professional. We had dinner to celebrate our anniversary. To our surprise, our table was decorated with red rose petals. In addition to the fabulous dining experience we were again surprised with an anniversary dessert for two and the waitress provided a beautiful red rose to bring home. The evening was very special and memorable. We highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Disappointed! Sat outside on the te ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Very Disappointed! Sat outside on the terrace in a table by the door, but there were no lights! So dark we had to ask for a candle. Waitress was insincere and seemed harassed to wait on us. Food was completely overpriced for the quality. Steak was fatty and tuff. Salad had no dressing. Had to flag down another server to get dressing. Had to ask for an additional roll- only give 1? Wine was good. Views were spectacular.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Great restaurant with many gluten free o ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great restaurant with many gluten free options. Seafood and steaks were excellent. Servers were friendly and attentive. Good for special occasions and just yummy food. A little expensive but well worth it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good overall dining experience. The ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Very good overall dining experience. The music a bit too loud, and as more people came the noise level increased. Good to go for an early or late dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and sister-in-law and I enjoy ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

My husband and sister-in-law and I enjoyed filet mignon and salmon, our two favorite choices, at Geneva Chophouse. It was wonderful food in a beautiful atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, attentive wait staff we are ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food, attentive wait staff we are anxious to go back and have dinner there!

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the shrimp scampi and as my fi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I ordered the shrimp scampi and as my fiance started ordering the salmon. The waiter interrupted to tell us about something else. My fiance double checked that he wrote down salmon, and he said "Oh I thought you said two shrimp scampis! No problem, salmon it is." After 30 minutes, the food came out. 1 shrimp scampi and 1 cod. No one came around immediately, so we had to wait until someone came to check on us to let them know we ordered salmon and not cod. They apologized, but said it would take awhile to make salmon. We were starving at this point, so my fiance offered to eat the cod. He could only get down a couple of bites. It was terrible - very fishy. The manager offered a free dessert or a discounted rate. We finally talked to someone else who agreed to take the cod off the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

My wife and I have our Anniversary dinne ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My wife and I have our Anniversary dinner there every year. There were Rose petals on the table and a complimentary bottle of Champagne. The service was excellent and the food was great. We eat outside weather permitting and the view is wonderful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fun, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great and was attentive ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The service was great and was attentive but not over bearing. The food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sorry to say we were disappointed. Had t ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Sorry to say we were disappointed. Had the bone in rib eye for $50.00 ala carte; very tough over salted, didn't end up eating it. I do salt my foods, I was so glad I tasted it before I did. Server & mgmnt. were very nice and offered a new steak, but by the time it came I basically lost interest in eating any more. Had triple split sides; the mushrooms had no flavor, lobster mac n cheese (way too salty & too strong of a cheese), bake potato was fine.

We were there for 3 days and enjoyed our stay and the golf courses, for sure. Dave Hallenbach was awesome and took really good care of us.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Celebrated our Wedding Anniversary. They ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Celebrated our Wedding Anniversary. They gave us a rose how bice! Food good as always. Menu seems smaller

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The omelet gentleman was the nicest guy

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The omelet gentleman was the nicest guy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

My wife and I went here for our 2nd anni ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My wife and I went here for our 2nd anniversary dinner. The staff was very friendly and the food was superb. Might make it a yearly tradition. They Knew it was a special occasion and had rose petals on the table and sat us at a table with an excellent outdoor view.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, wonderful atmosphere. It was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food, wonderful atmosphere. It was a special occasion and it was celebrated from beginning to end. Service was excellent, company was terrific and we could all carry on a great conversation.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Todd was as knowledgeable abo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our waiter Todd was as knowledgeable about the menu items as anyone could be. He also was very prompt and courteous serving us.

Send Todd thanks from my wife and me.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were at the Grand Geneva resort for o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We were at the Grand Geneva resort for our honeymoon and ate one night at the restaurant. Food was great. Waitress asked if it was a special occasion, and after we said it was our honeymoon. She came back with a rose for my wife and two complimentary glasses of champagne. Later we got a free dessert. All the food was great, and, needless to say, the service was superlative.

We ate outside and view was beautiful. Late sat outside for a couple of hours around fire pit and had drinks.

All was great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely evening, one of the primary reaso ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Lovely evening, one of the primary reasons being our server, Sherrie, who was on top of everything.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and view were excellent!!!! Highly ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food and view were excellent!!!! Highly recommend !!! Service unfortunately did not match up. We asked several times for extra rolls, never brought out, appetizer was forgotten until we asked, then main course took forever and they were not that busy. People sitting a few tables over who were sat after us had their food with their waitress before us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

The waitstaff are outstanding. However, ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The waitstaff are outstanding. However, the 60$ lobster was burnt, taste like grill gas and rubbery, and the scallops barely edible. Weird, because it's hard to mess up a scallop.

I will not recommend eating these items to anyone who asks me if they are any good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Relaxed, resort feeling, with excellent ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Relaxed, resort feeling, with excellent food and excellent service. We had an exquisite meal on the patio overlooking the golf course and river.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful meal at the Geneva Ch ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at the Geneva Chophouse! We always do. This is a special find we found years ago and every time we're in Lake Geneva we make sure to eat here. The view over the water and the golf course started our evening out right with drinks on the patio. Our table was ready on time and they seated us next to the windows for a continued great view during dinner. Our server was excellent and the food great! We both had filet mignon which was so delicious and cooked perfectly. We had the side dish trio of garlic mashed, sautéed mushroom and grilled veggies. All were very tasty. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The steaks were delicious!! We also had ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The steaks were delicious!! We also had salads, green beans and mashed potatoes, all were very good. We weren't crazy about the desserts, though. Carrot cake and hazelnut lava cake - underwhelming.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was excellent. Great overall experi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was excellent. Great overall experience. Would definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The scallops were below average that the ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The scallops were below average that they were very fishy tasting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.