Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

About Geneva Chophouse

Geneva ChopHouse offers bold and distinctive flavors with steaks, seafood and style. Delivered daily from the finest purveyors of meat in Chicago, Geneva ChopHouse features the finest hand cut steaks and chops as well as an extensive wine list. With a wide assortment of side dishes big enough for two, Geneva ChopHouse offers an open kitchen where guests can view their meal being grilled and roasted. All served amid spectacular views of the Wisconsin countryside and the famed 18th hole on The Brute golf course. Your dining experience will be a culinary treat to remember.

7036 Grand Geneva Way
Lake Geneva, WI 53147
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 50 East & Hwy 12

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 249-4788

Website:
http://www.chophouse411.com/Geneva

Entertainment:
Live entertainment, dancing, and televised sporting events can be enjoyed in Evolve lounge adjacent to the Geneva ChopHouse. Enjoy a cocktail from our full service bar. Appetizers, sandwiches, and desserts are also available.

Catering:
In House Catering for Private Dining Available. Birthdays, Anniversaries, Celebrations, Reunions, Wedding Dinners and more. Our coordinator will work with you to cater a custom menu for your function to meet your needs.

Parking Details:
Self-parking is available. We also offer complimentary Valet Parking.

Public Transit:
NA

Executive Chef:
Jason Poole

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
NEW Benedict Bar at Sunday Brunch

Build your own eggs benedict with a line of fresh, gourmet ingredients for the perfect start to your Sunday

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:00PM - 2:00PM 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Whether you're hosting a small social gathering of business associates, a holiday party or a special dinner for a much larger group, consider the restaurants at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa. We handle all the arrangements. You just walk in and enjoy.

Geneva Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Scenic View (35)
Romantic (34)
See All
Good for a Date (32)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Cozy (15)
Business Meals (14)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Fun (10)
Waterfront (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Casual (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
People Watching (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Seasonal (4)
Authentic (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1615 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Our service was horrible and the food taste has gone down immensely over the past years. The offering of bread and the olive paste was horrible. I loved it when you had the bread person walking around and the fantastic sundried tomatoe butter our server never came to our table after we waited 10 mins and had to ask if we even had a server then she took our order and never came back except after another 20 mins to get our check. You need to step it up for the price you charge 50$ for a piece of meat with nothing included. Shame

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I enjoyed my time at the Chophouse. The atmosphere was pleasant and the food was good, although I think it was overpriced for the quality of meal you are served, but the meal was still tasty. If you go into the meal with the expectation that the meal will be similar in quality to steakhouses in a large city, you will be disappointed, as this restaurant is similar in price to many steakhouses in Chicago but the quality of the meal just isn't on par-which is okay, I didn't feel ripped off. The lobster mac n cheese was the best tasting part of the meal, and coming in at only $10 it was quite the steal. Having said that, I would have enjoyed more lobster on the mac n cheese and paid $20 for the side rather than $10 with a small piece of lobster, I don't understand why a fine restaurant would be stingy on the amount of lobster they include in the mac n cheese just to keep the cost down.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The service was good and the food was good. Our " A " rating had to be changed to a "B". Do not sit on the patio if you plan on having your meal during dusk. They turn on the lights outside and they are right over each outside table. The bugs are attracted to them and since they are halogen lights, the bugs get "fried" and fall directly into your drink and food and onto you .They have had to known about this problem in the past because the lights and tables do not appear to be new. They offered to us a table inside but we were too far into the meal to make the adjustment. Other than that problem, eat inside and try to get a sit near the window. The food is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Had a wonderful meal, Candace was our server and she was great. The meal was a little quick, the pace, next time i may slow it down a bit. Great service and food, really nice place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

All in all, we had a very enjoyable dinner recently at the Geneva Chop House. Please know that the portion size of appetizers and salads is very small. I split a salad with another in my party and there were barely more than 2 bites on each plate. Also, my husband ordered the French Onion Soup -- which was uncharacteristically sweet -- he would not recommend it. Our meat and fish entrees were well-prepared and flavorful -- and while the roasted mushrooms were nothing to write home about, the mashed potatoes were "to die for"! The atmosphere, even on a very busy Saturday evening, was very pleasant and the service was terrific -- attentive, but not intrusive. I would recommend this restaurant to others!

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We were visiting Lake Geneva for our 28th wedding anniversary. The Chophouse was our choice for our dinner and it was without a doubt the best choice. I've never had a better tasting prime rib in my entire life of eating. The entire meal was delicious. I will definitely be a return customer the next time we are in Lake Geneva. Great job guys!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Imagine the nerve of me walking into a Wisconsin chop house and hoping for a gluten free, vegan meal. Lol! Well, they had a separate menu to attempt to cater to someone like me. There were two vegan options but not gluten free. I asked the waiter if they offered gluten free pasta and he offered to ask the chef. Unfortunately they didn't but he'd found out that they offered gluten free potato gnocci in their Italian restaurant. He very graciously offered to have my meal prepared there. The result was delicious and I was impressed with the extra effort.

The restaurant was a moderate noise level so we had to lean in a bit to hear each other. We were placed near the front so we also had the hallway noise. Perhaps quieter in the lower section.

I was happy to see that the dress code was flexible, patrons in suits and dresses while others were causal but not grubby. The atmosphere was upscale and comfortable.

We'll definitely visit again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Wedding anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great server! Did not like that everything was À la cart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We were seated next to the kitchen and area that all the servers used. For the cost of the meals it was disappointing to be seated there and not somewhere else with a better feel. I think we were the servers only table.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

High price for weak food, mediocre atmosphere. Sides were good. Steak and salmon not good. Noisy toddlers at next table. Maybe this was a one off, but I will not return.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 4, 2017

One out or two meals is not good. Steak overdone. Not good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Not the best.

Seafood tower C- everything was good besides the oyster
Steaks- little over cooked
Dessert- ordered thing and then we're told they didn't have some items. What did come in was still frozen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Ran out of mashed potatoes...
Steak was ok, high priced for ala carte menu and

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I really don't like providing poor reviews, but this restaurant was a big disappointment. I have been to steak/chop houses all over the country and the pricing is on par for a typical high end restaurant of that type. However, the food and quality was well below the quality of what I would have expected. That's as direct as I can put it. No need to go into detail. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Everything was great. Waiting for 5-10min just to be seated because there was only 1 host seating multiple people and not in a rush

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2017

While we were not guests of the Geneva Grand Hotel, we sent to the Geneva Chophouse to celebrate my husband's birthday. Let me tell you, we picked the right place. The view was stunning. Our server Sherry was so amazing. Helpful and knowledgeable. She was a gem. Our food was top notch. We are definitely heading back. But next time, we will stay at the gorgeous hotel too! I highly recommend this. Great for groups - or just for two!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We are moving back to the area and have dined here often over the last 15 years. The Chop House has slipped...maybe they just aren't keeping up with the vibrant food scene that has exploded in the Midwest.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Michael was a great server. Scallop appetizer was wonderful. Enjoyed the steak, but would have preferred the broccoli side to have been grilled longer.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 29, 2017

We eat here every time we are in Lake Geneva and are never disappointed. The specialty cocktails were a delicious way to start the meal. The only downside was the grilled broccoli was still very much hard but the rest of the meal was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Food with little to no flavor. Very disappointing.
Only taste in creamed spinach was garlic, and a lot of it.
Lobster mac was beyond bland.
Filet not seasoned.
Halibut had no flavor and was visually unappealing.
Caesar salad barely dressed, and parmesan cheese had no flavor and was hard as a rock.
Definitely not with their prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Very slow service. Steak cooked properly as expected but not sizzling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Good table service and ambiance but food prep not up to par for the price point . They struggled to cook steaks of ours and the table near us at the ordered temps. Re-did all of them. Still weren't right. They knew it. They comped our steaks which was very nice, but honestly would have preferred to pay full price and just have them cooked right the first time. Good cuts, just over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Thanks for everything it was great for celebrating our anniversary

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food was great and the variety for the brunch was amazing. I would definately come back to visit for a special occasion. Service was also prompt and friendly.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Sunday brunch was fantastic. All items were of high quality and presented nicely. Staff was professional and attentive. A good value. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Service was great and food was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 17, 2017

It was an okay experience. Versus the other steakhouse I have been to this place doesn't come close to cracking the top five. Steak was good but could have been better, the lobster mac was very blah and not much flavor. The service was much better than at the other restaurants on property, but it better be for the price of the items on the menu. I won't be back again, too many other options that are less expensive and have better quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Food was very average considering the price. Wait staff was very attentive to us. Witnessed discussion between guest who wanted a table for 10. Staff hasseled with him even though 2/3 of the tables weren't occupied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Great dining experience awesome service and great menu to choose from.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Healthy, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Our waitress was average at best for a restaurant of this kind. The food was good but not exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food was not as what I expect with the price we paid. The presentation was fine.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Wonderful service accompanied by absolutely breathtaking food. I will be returning soon, and wish many blessings upon the amazing staff.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 6, 2017

It's been about a year since my last visit to the ChopHouse. Our return trip was very good and happy to say I'll be back soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

My scallops were cold and under done. Pretty basics for side orders. And very over priced for the quality.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Everything was perfect. Our server korine was amazing and made us feel as if we were long time guests.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Set up that it was my husband's birthday and they were all set with a dessert for him and wished him a happy birthday on the spot. He was nicely surprised and made him feel special! I loved that attention to detail! THANKS

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Steak was dry and salad was not prepared properly it was not chopped

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I was very disappointed with the Sunday champagne brunch food was cold and wasn't replenished properly and for the price it was not worth it at all poor selection! Last year it was much better with a great selection, I will never go back and I should have spoke with a mananger

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

My wife and I spent a few days at the Grand Geneva Resort for our wedding anniversary. The Sunday brunch in the Geneva Chophouse is great! The cost includes bottomless champagne or mimosas and the servers are very good about keeping your glass filled! They offer a wonderful selection of breakfast and lunch foods! The servers are very attentive without being intrusive and the environment is very elegant! A great experience!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.