About Geneva Chophouse

7036 Grand Geneva Way
Lake Geneva, WI 53147
View Larger Map

Geneva ChopHouse offers bold and distinctive flavors with steaks, seafood and style. Delivered daily from the finest purveyors of meat in Chicago, Geneva ChopHouse features the finest hand cut steaks and chops as well as an extensive wine list. With a wide assortment of side dishes big enough for two, Geneva ChopHouse offers an open kitchen where guests can view their meal being grilled and roasted. All served amid spectacular views of the Wisconsin countryside and the famed 18th hole on The Brute golf course. Your dining experience will be a culinary treat to remember.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 50 East & Hwy 12

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 249-4788

Website:
http://www.chophouse411.com/Geneva

Entertainment:
Live entertainment, dancing, and televised sporting events can be enjoyed in Evolve lounge adjacent to the Geneva ChopHouse. Enjoy a cocktail from our full service bar. Appetizers, sandwiches, and desserts are also available.

Catering:
In House Catering for Private Dining Available. Birthdays, Anniversaries, Celebrations, Reunions, Wedding Dinners and more. Our coordinator will work with you to cater a custom menu for your function to meet your needs.

Parking Details:
Self-parking is available. We also offer complimentary Valet Parking.

Public Transit:
NA

Executive Chef:
Michael Sawin

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
NEW Benedict Bar at Sunday Brunch

Build your own eggs benedict with a line of fresh, gourmet ingredients for the perfect start to your Sunday

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 12:00PM - 2:00PM 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Whether you're hosting a small social gathering of business associates, a holiday party or a special dinner for a much larger group, consider the restaurants at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa. We handle all the arrangements. You just walk in and enjoy.

Geneva Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Lake Geneva
Best Food
Lake Geneva
5 More
Best Service
Lake Geneva
Best Ambiance
Lake Geneva
Best Value
Lake Geneva
Special Occasion
Lake Geneva
Most Booked
Lake Geneva
Best Restaurants in Lake Geneva ›

special occasion (88)
romantic (73)
scenic view (71)
See All
fit for foodies (34)
notable wine list (30)
good for groups (28)
great for brunch (24)
kid-friendly (15)
great for outdoor dining (13)
vibrant bar scene (11)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (6)
neighborhood gem (4)
great for lunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1276 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great dining experience there. Mad ...

Dined 5 days ago

Had a great dining experience there. Made reservations and requested outside seating . Michael was AWESOME too! It was Tiffany's birthday and I brought in gifts so Michael surprised us both with a red rose. Excellent overall. Highly recommended

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great brunch!

Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I went to the Geneva Chophouse for Sunday Brunch to celebrate our wedding anniversary. This was a perfect day! We were seated by the wall of windows which commands a lovely view of a lake, with fountain sprays, and panoramic views of trees. The food was very good. Wonderful selection of peel and eat shrimp, crab legs, smoked salmon, made to order waffles, omelets, eggs Benedict, prime rib, ham, various breakfast items, various cured meats and cheeses, and of course the desserts. The dessert section was just right containing smaller plates of tasty treats, including a chocolate fondue to dip marshmallows, rice crispy treats, strawberries and Oreo cookies. The wait staff comes around and continually tops off your champagne or Mimosa. I would recommend this Brunch to anyone.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Chewy

Dined 7 days ago

I made an early 6pm reservation. The place was half full, got nice table next to the kitchen and was nice to have the entire waitstaff within earshot the entire meal. I ordered the bone in rib eye and was given a Chuck steak off the large end with a peanut sized sliver of rib bone. Could have gotten the same steak at Jameson charhouse. Server was slightly annoying and kept interrupting us. I tipped $40.00 on a $165.00 check

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary

Dined on May 14, 2016

Rose petals on the table and a complimentary desert.......Chop House made me look like a perfect husband......my wife and I thank you for the special touch! Kevin and Brenda Burns

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were outstanding an ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food and service were outstanding and the view is awesome. Don't miss it when you are in the area

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Horrible service!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We ordered and received our salad and drinks right away. Ordered dinner and another drink. We then didn't see our waitress for 45 minutes? Where was our dinner? Mind you we sat right next to the cooks and only ordered fish. Our waitress then tried to blame the cooks! Take the much deserved blame for not being attentive at all. I won't be going back

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Disapointed

Dined on May 7, 2016

We were celebrating a special birthday and wedding anniversary and steak and lobsters dinners for two in our party was cold and seemed not freshly prepared. I selected this restaurant because I expected the high quality and freshly prepared food that had been experienced on many dinning experiences over the years. the service was exceptional and our waiter did bring the food back to the chefs in an attempt to make it better. Two out of four dinners were disappointed. Please do better next time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mothers day celebration

Dined on May 6, 2016

We met some out of town friends and their 99 year old mother for a pre Mothers day celebration at the Chop House. Service was excellent and the food was as well. We were not rushed, even though we did stay for a considerable length of time. The staff were attentive, but not obtrusive. We would definitely return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The location was beautiful. The food w ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

The location was beautiful. The food was a little bland. The look of the food was nice. We were there for a special occasion. The service was good.

food1
ambience1
service4
value3

Tod

Dined on April 30, 2016

He was an awesome waiter made the dining enjoyable

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful and Delicious

Dined on April 30, 2016

My husband and I went to the Chophouse for a date night. The view was beautiful. The service was great and the food was wonderful. There is a wine list that will please anyone. The a la carte options are nice to. That way you're able to share!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic restaurant with a great view

Dined on April 25, 2016

We booked the Geneva Chop house for a romantic dinner for our 1st vacation together. We were seated at a table by the window with a gorgeous view of the Resort Lake and grounds right around sunset time. We were promptly met with our waitress upon checking in at the hostess stand. She was not only a delight but one of the sweetest people we have ever met. Everything we ordered was cooked as requested, very tasty, and of good quality. We will definitely come back for another romantic date night to dine here in the future.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience1
service1
value2

Great food, poor service.

Dined on April 25, 2016

Title says it all. Treated poorly because we were younger parents with kids. Everyone should be treated equally, not based on how much you think I can tip. Gratuity automatically added, otherwise I would've tipped her zero.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Chop House to celebrate anniversary!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Always a top choice for us when we come to the Grand Geneva. The atmosphere is amazing, the service is attentive, and the food is always top shelf. A bit of a struggle this time around getting one of our steaks cooked as requested, even after returning it to the kitchen, it still was not cooked thoroughly. Everything else was as expected, calamari appetizer was awesome, the sides were great and the anniversary dessert to share was unbelievable. We'll be back as soon as we can for another dinner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Overall good experience minus a few flaws

Dined on April 24, 2016

The overall experience was good but there were a few issues that I wouldn't expect for the price of the food. The steak was very good along with the sides we ordered with it. The lamb chops were very undercooked. My wife tried to eat them despite being undercooked but was only able to eat the outer portion that was cooked. They took the lamb chops back to cook more and they were gone for quite awhile. When they were brought back one of the chops looked the same as it did before. As if they didn't even cook it longer. We thought dessert would make up for the disappointing lamb but that as well was not very good. The carrot cake was very dry and all around not very good. If the lamb and carrot cake were better this would have been a great experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect dinner spot for anniversary!

Dined on April 24, 2016

We went here for our 17th wedding anniversary. Make sure to tell them ahead what you are celebrating. We had rose petals on our table and I was given a red rose. We also got a free chocolate raspberry desert. The food is phenomninal. Steaks and crab legs so tasty. I wish we only got one side because they are so large but oh so good! Only downfall was we were seated by 2 large loud groups and right by the kitchen which is open to the seating area. Next time I will request a window seat!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Disappointed

Dined on April 17, 2016

Unfortunately, the experience was not good. Our server addressed us throughout the meal while chewing gum in open-mouthed fashion. The appetizer was served without plates. Our silverware was taken with the appetizer and not replaced, causing us to be served our entrees and needing to flag someone down for new silverware. My date noted that the mahi tuna was ice cold, but at that point, the service was so poor that we were hesitant to send it back to be cooked appropriately. However, the bill was quite accurate, although I would not visit again, especially for the price.

food5
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere was upbeat and lively. We wer ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Atmosphere was upbeat and lively. We were seated promptly, service was outstanding and the food was excellent! One of the best dining experiences we've had.

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Anniversary Celebration Letdown

Dined on April 9, 2016

We were celebrating our 46th anniversary with friends who were celebrating their 47th anniversary - indeed two very special occasions. After having a wonderful 45th dinner last year at the Chophouse, we wanted to experience the same wonderful evening. Our server was very unattentive and when she said she'd give us time to look over the menu, we never thought she'd not appear again until we asked our bread server to get her. The food was good but the prices are so expensive and don't even include a salad. We will not be celebrating our next anniversary at the Chophouse.

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Bsbbeckybsb

Dined on April 8, 2016

This was extremely disappointing. The calamari was soggy. I ordered a pina colada first one came out with ice instead of blended had to send back and the waitress had a new bartender make it. The prime rib was good. The lobster Mac and cheese was very dry compared to normal. Potatoes were good. Waited awhile for drink refills. Liked before very disappointed this time around.

food5
ambience5
service5

The Sunday brunch was very nice and very ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

The Sunday brunch was very nice and very reasonably priced!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasant dining here!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Attentive service for our Sunday buffet. Very good food, of much variety from which to choose. Quiet, spacious dining area enabled conversation while dining. An added plus was being seated at the wall of windows that overlooks a natural panorama of water and woods. We will return for dinner off the menu too!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Just a bit lost this time

Dined on April 3, 2016

First off-night I ever had but they were crazy busy. I will not let this change my opinion of the Geneva Chophouse at all. The food was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great specialty menu

Dined on April 2, 2016

I eat a vegan diet and shared that info on my reservation. When I got to the restaurant I was prepared to order my usual plate of assorted braised vegetables. I was pleasantly surprised when our waiter (without any prompting) said the chef would prepare a tofu and farro dish if that was acceptable. My dinner was amazing, the best tofu I've ever had, and I've had a lot. Even my meal-eating friends loved it. High kudos to the chef; I'm looking forward to returning soon for a repeat of a very delicious meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic Dinner & Wonderful Atmosphere!

Dined on April 1, 2016

Our dinner for four was fantastic! The salad selection was very nice, a few diners had the beef special which was prepared perfectly. The salmon was tender and very tasty on a bed of red quinoa. The beverages were great & the wine list was very nice. Overall, a terrific experience!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

GOOD UPSCALE RESTAURANT

Dined on March 31, 2016

The Geneva Chophouse within the aging Grand Geneva Resort is a good fine dining restaurant. The menu is a bit smaller than one would expect to find, but there are ample choices for beef and seafood. The dining room is pleasant with nice views before dusk. This was the second we ate there. The first time, the wait staff was superb, but this time there were long lapses while waiting for our server to notice that we were trying to get her attention. We dined on a Thursday evening and several items on the menu were not available. This was disappointing and suggests that the restaurant gears up primarily for weekends.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3

My wife's med well steak was cold and so ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

My wife's med well steak was cold and so was one of our sides. The food is defiantly over priced.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love coming back

Dined on March 25, 2016

I have dined here several times. Never a bad experience. Food always delicious. Staff welcoming and attentive. Ambience wonderful especially during warm weather where you have great views and ability to eat on their patio.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fiancé Birthday Dinner

Dined on March 21, 2016

Recently went to the Grand Geneva resort and had the most incredible dinner at the Chophouse! Food was delicious, service was timely, professional, and kind. My Fiancé was overjoyed at the entire experience! I would highly recommend and return!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Brunch

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Brunch at the Geneva Chophouse is a not-to-miss experience! Great selection of food, everything we had was delicious...the prime rib was exceptional, our waiter was very attentive and kept my mimosa glass full, and the view of the lake was perfectly lovely. We are planning a return trip soon.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Service was Fantastic. LOVED IT!

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Geneva Chophouse is always on our list for dinner while visiting Lake Geneva. We've been there multiple times and already looking forward to going again. VERY kid friendly with fantastic service. Steak on the kids menu...Genius! Nice relaxing evening with great food. Who could ask for anything more.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Special request?

Dined on March 19, 2016

Special occasion booth requested and NOT given. Were told when one opened up we would be moved...NOT. The most unimpressive $50 steak I have ever had. Go to Texas Road house and have a better meal.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Remarkable Service

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

From the time we were greeted at the door to our departure several hours later, we were treated with the kind of service and personal care that reminds one of the "old days". Our server, Darlene, was attentive but not intrusive. She knew the menu well and answered our questions competently. Her service made the evening. The food was the best I have ever had at the Chop house; perfectly prepared and served. The drinks were delicious and Darlene's comments on the wine list helped make our choice. If there were one drawback, it is that the Chop house is far overpriced (more like Chicago prices than Milwaukee Prices). For a special occasion, however, it is worth the extra were you to have an experience like ours. We have already planned to head back in April.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best birthday ever!

Dined on March 6, 2016

Visited resort with multiple reataurants but we selected the Chophouse since it was my birthday, and everything was perfect! The view was beaautiful and food prepared perfectly!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent Dinner

Dined on February 28, 2016

Cannot remember the last time I went to dinner and enjoyed everything. No complaints.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Chef's who can't cook

Dined on February 28, 2016

The server we had was unfriendly and only checked on us once. We had to flag her down to address the issue of the steaks being cooked incorrectly. My steak was supposed to be medium and arrived medium rare. My fiance asked for medium well and it arrived well done. After sending the steaks back it was another 20 minutes before we received our food. The manager stopped back to apologize but never offered to comp anything (not even a bottle water) or even offer desert for the horrible experience. The noise level was equivalent to a bar. I had to constantly shout across a table to be heard. There are a number of other steak restaurants that I would highly recommend to people which offer better ambiance, food, and service. A waste of a wonderful Saturday night and money.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food, Service and Atmosphere

Dined on February 28, 2016

We were two couples meeting halfway for a reunion of sorts. We were looking for a very nice restaurant with a good choice of entrees and a nice selection of wines. This place was perfect. Our party had a variety of seafood, chops and steaks, and everyone enjoyed their meal. Our server recommended a moderately priced bottle of pinot noir, and we all thoroughly enjoyed that, too. Overindulged a little on the dessert end, but it was a special occasion after all. We were here in February and didn't get a chance to take in the view, but we will be back sometime to partake in that when the weather is warmer and the sun sets a little later.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very good food and a wonderful concerned hostess.

Dined on February 21, 2016

I enjoyed the brunch here. The food was normal brunch type food, an omelet station, prime rib/ meat carving station, a dessert station. Lots of eggs, pancakes, sausage and bacon. Cheese Blintzes were outstanding. Fruit and salad area, cheese and sausage and catfish and smoked salmon. It was good. The staff worked hard. This hostess was probably the best I had seen; very concerned for her guests to get seated promptly with no delay. Friendly and funny and attentive. Good mimosa's. All you care to drink.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Upscale steak & seafood restaurant

Dined on February 21, 2016

Sunday Brunch is an all you can eat buffet including Champagne and Mimosas. They have the standard breakfast buffet items and a carving station with prime rib. They also have an omelet station and an eggs benedict station. They also have an awesome dessert table. They had flourless chocolate cake my favorite.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When 1st seated it was at a table for 4 ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

When 1st seated it was at a table for 4 right under vent blowing cold air and right in front of swinging door to the kitchen. 5 min in to reading menus we didn't care for the surroundings & asked for a different table. Everyone from waitress to busboy to the managers were MORE than accommodating. We were treated with respect and it was obvious that our experience at their restaurant was a memorable one. Kudos to all!!! A+++++

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.