About Geneva Chophouse

7036 Grand Geneva Way
Lake Geneva, WI 53147
View Larger Map

Geneva ChopHouse offers bold and distinctive flavors with steaks, seafood and style. Delivered daily from the finest purveyors of meat in Chicago, Geneva ChopHouse features the finest hand cut steaks and chops as well as an extensive wine list. With a wide assortment of side dishes big enough for two, Geneva ChopHouse offers an open kitchen where guests can view their meal being grilled and roasted. All served amid spectacular views of the Wisconsin countryside and the famed 18th hole on The Brute golf course. Your dining experience will be a culinary treat to remember.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 50 East & Hwy 12

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 249-4788

Website:
http://www.chophouse411.com/Geneva

Entertainment:
Live entertainment, dancing, and televised sporting events can be enjoyed in Evolve lounge adjacent to the Geneva ChopHouse. Enjoy a cocktail from our full service bar. Appetizers, sandwiches, and desserts are also available.

Catering:
In House Catering for Private Dining Available. Birthdays, Anniversaries, Celebrations, Reunions, Wedding Dinners and more. Our coordinator will work with you to cater a custom menu for your function to meet your needs.

Parking Details:
Self-parking is available. We also offer complimentary Valet Parking.

Public Transit:
NA

Executive Chef:
Michael Sawin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
NEW Benedict Bar at Sunday Brunch

Build your own eggs benedict with a line of fresh, gourmet ingredients for the perfect start to your Sunday

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:00PM - 2:00PM 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Whether you're hosting a small social gathering of business associates, a holiday party or a special dinner for a much larger group, consider the restaurants at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa. We handle all the arrangements. You just walk in and enjoy.

Geneva Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Good for a Date (44)
Romantic (40)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Scenic View (32)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Cozy (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Business Meals (19)
Great for Brunch (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Modern Decor (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Waterfront (7)
Fireplace (6)
Seasonal (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fun (5)
Casual (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
People Watching (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Historic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Private Room (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Authentic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (2)
Dancing (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1489 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very disappointed. I have dined here man ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined a day ago

Very disappointed. I have dined here many times. It was our anniversary. Service was not as good as usual. Our food was good but not warm at all. I have a food allergy and they did not handle this properly which is very concerning. We had to send the food back or I would have been sent to the hospital. When my food was finally brought out I had no silverware to eat it. The waitress never came back so my husband had to get up to go get me some silverware to eat my meal. My husband ordered steak and lobster but didn't get his lobster for over 10 after the steak. We ordered a nice bottle of Cakebread Cabernet The waitress never came back to pour us any wine throughout our dinner.

We told Tom (new manager) on our way out. Not sure I'll be racing back for another $300+ unsatisfactory dinner.

As I mentioned, we have dined here many times. The menu has changed quite a bit. Not the same as before. Unfortunately many of our favorite items have been removed from the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Service was excellent! Steaks were so, s ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was excellent! Steaks were so, so, tasty rub. The side dishes we ordered had no flavor, waste of money. Salad was good.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The menu appeared to be cut down to only ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

The menu appeared to be cut down to only four items to pick from. This was different from the online menu which showed sea bass which I wanted to order. Also the crab cakes were not good and the lobster Mac had lots of lobster but the sauce was over bearing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

We had the deviled eggs for an app and t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

We had the deviled eggs for an app and they were very good. The salads were unusual in that the dressing was on the bottom. We had the lobster mac and cheese as a side and it was superb. Steaks were prime quality and cooked perfectly. The tables had plenty of space around them so you didn't feel like you were crammed. Our server had a nice attitude and was fun without being too familiar. We really enjoyed our evening. It was a special occasion for us and they made is feel special. Thanks Chophouse.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed the evening; service was attenti ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed the evening; service was attentive and food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Dinner was great as usual. Very Highly R ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Dinner was great as usual. Very Highly Recommended

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had reservations and still had to wait 2 ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Had reservations and still had to wait 20 minutes even though there were empty tables. The hostess stand was unattended most of the time (while waiting others arrived and there was no hostess). The restaurant was understaffed. The service was poor. My steak was not medium rare as ordered. The wedge salad was not a wedge- it was 3 discs cut from a wedge. This was third time here. Other times were so-so. This will be the last time I eat here. Unacceptable regardless the price and the price for this meal was close to $200. There are many really good choices in the area. This is not one of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Changes to the menu left it too limited. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Changes to the menu left it too limited. Should add back chops, scallops, and seafood dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Really enjoyed the Sunday brunch. Got gr ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Really enjoyed the Sunday brunch. Got great service and good conversation with our server Jules. Possibly because she had to keep filling up our endless Mimosas! There were many appetizing options to eat. Not just things to fill up space like some other brunches we have been to. It was a little pricey, but sometimes you get what you pay for.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Geneva Chophouse is one of Lake Geneva's ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Geneva Chophouse is one of Lake Geneva's finest restaurants. They serve aged steaks and other well prepared, delicious dishes. It's a nice atmosphere for a special occasion, or just a good meal. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Went to celebrate and the steak, service ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Went to celebrate and the steak, service, and ambiance were first class!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food at this restaurant ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The service and food at this restaurant is exceptional and our server Darlene was so wonderful. We asked her to let us take our time and she did just that including making us feel comfortable and well taken care of. Have been to the restaurant numerous times and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was just a little too pricey for th ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was just a little too pricey for the quality of food that we received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We received a gift certificate for Chris ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We received a gift certificate for Christmas and decided to use it this past weekend. The food was wonderful. My husband had the KC NY strip and he described it as the best steak he's ever eaten! I had the scallops and they were fantastic as well. The only negative to the experience is that you have to order your salad and/or sides as extras. The cost of the entrees should include something especially when you are eating a $48 steak!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friends recommended this restaurant for ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Friends recommended this restaurant for the atmosphere of the grounds. Unfortunately we did not get a chance to wander. The food was pricey but good. Our server was very attentive and friendly. We would stop by again if we were in the area.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our service was great, the atmosphere gr ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our service was great, the atmosphere great for our date night. We had a nice appetizer, a good salad, but our steak and vegetable was over seasoned with salt and garlic. We returned the vegetable inedible.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Chop House has for some time been our go ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Chop House has for some time been our go to place when we really want good food, great service and just enjoy a meal out. However, this time things really fell below the mark. Hopefully private note sent to restaurant will result in some changes.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was absolutely delicious and th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious and the service perfect. We had a wonderful evening celebrating a birthday!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, with a romantic atmosphere. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food, with a romantic atmosphere. We chose the Chophouse for my husband's birthday, and it was a great time had by all! The lobster mac & cheese is always a favorite.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was there for Sunday Brunch. There was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Was there for Sunday Brunch. There was a very nice selection of items. It was slow so offerings looked liked they had been in the warmers for a while. Salmon looked like it had been out for a bit. Food was good but I think it would have been much better if it was a bit more fresh.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The Sunday Brunch was very good. Hot foo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The Sunday Brunch was very good. Hot food was hot. Cold food was cold. Service was lacking though. It took repeated request of staff to get a cup of coffee which was asked for immediately upon seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Very good food was delicious . I will g ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very good food was delicious . I will go back there

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Food was excellent. Service was superb. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was superb. We were kept up to date as to how long food was taking and how soon it would be out. Bus people were excellent always there on time to take care of your needs. Very diligent. Only drawback was children were very noisy parents did not seem to pay attention to there children running around and being very noisy and disrespectful of tables around them.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great food!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was slow, did not keep glasses f ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Service was slow, did not keep glasses full kept forgetting to bring drinks or bread basically most things we asked for were forgotten. Food was ok nothing to write home about. They talk it up like a top notch steak but that is not the case

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

All my food was cold, not cooked the way ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

All my food was cold, not cooked the way I asked. The worst part was nobody's meal came together there was 5 mins in between everyone's order. We have been here many times and had a great meal, this time I don't no if I will go back

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Everything was GRAND at Grand Geneva Cho ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Everything was GRAND at Grand Geneva Chophouse!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have visited for friends coming in to ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We have visited for friends coming in town, anniversary, birthdays or just an awesome night out to grab a great meal and we have never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Dancing, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Anniversary- server Michael was great as ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Anniversary- server Michael was great as usual, manager Kyle was great checking on us without, and all the little touches were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food here is pricey but pretty good. Ve ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food here is pricey but pretty good. Very hard to get water refilled, had to ask several times. Sides are served family style. They have a trio of sides, but I wish our server would have warned us that would not have been enough for the 6 people in our party to share. We all only got one bite of each side. I had the scallops and they were quite sandy, better cleaning needed to be done. Specialty cocktails were delicious and reasonably priced. We had a birthday in our group and I must say I've never seen a restaurant do so much for a birthday, my sister got a glass of champagne and roses which was very nice, thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We went for our anniversary. They made i ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We went for our anniversary. They made it special with rose petals at the table! They also gave us champagne and a dessert. Our waiter was very friendly. Food was very good. I was expecting it to be better for the price point. But, all in all it was a very good experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Very accommodating to our large group. E ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Very accommodating to our large group. Excellent service and food was very good. It was a nice family reunion evening for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food, drinks and service! Th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Outstanding food, drinks and service! They were slammed but our servers handled it. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best dinner experienced ever!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

One of the best dinner experienced ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to the Chop House with another c ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We went to the Chop House with another couple as a Christmas present to each other. I requested a table by the window and that is where they seated us. The steaks were wonderful, the service was great, just a perfect experience. We love the Chop House and will be back there again!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Extremely lovely dining experience durin ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Extremely lovely dining experience during the Christmas season.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had reservations on a Thursday... the fo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Had reservations on a Thursday... the food was excellent, I highly recommend the raw seafood appetizer, it was fabulous. Our server (Sheryl) was terrific and very attentive, helpful and personable. Overall, we had a great experience and the food and staff were excellent. The atmosphere was cozy and romantic, Christmas decorations were beautiful.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The side dish of mashed potatoes was col ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The side dish of mashed potatoes was cold. After mentioning this, we got a second dish of them which were then only warm--still not hot. While the steaks were very good, I expect more from a restaurant that is this expensive. It's a only a special occasion place for me because of the cost. Everything is a la carte so if I'm paying for the side dishes, they should be just as good as the main course. The waiter was kind enough to take the charge off of my bill, but I honestly would've preferred to eat hot potatoes to begin with.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We had a fantastic evening celebrating t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We had a fantastic evening celebrating the Holidays and my son's birthday. We have been residents of Lake Geneva for over 40 years and we love visiting the Chop House for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great here and the service ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The food was great here and the service was phenomenal. We went here to celebrate our engagement and the management took the time and effort to make sure our dining experience was extra special. I would definitely recommend this place to others. Please note the food is priced for fine dining but worth it in my opinion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, , Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.