Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

About Geneva Chophouse

Geneva ChopHouse offers bold and distinctive flavors with steaks, seafood and style. Delivered daily from the finest purveyors of meat in Chicago, Geneva ChopHouse features the finest hand cut steaks and chops as well as an extensive wine list. With a wide assortment of side dishes big enough for two, Geneva ChopHouse offers an open kitchen where guests can view their meal being grilled and roasted. All served amid spectacular views of the Wisconsin countryside and the famed 18th hole on The Brute golf course. Your dining experience will be a culinary treat to remember.

7036 Grand Geneva Way
Lake Geneva, WI 53147
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 50 East & Hwy 12

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 249-4788

Website:
http://www.chophouse411.com/Geneva

Entertainment:
Live entertainment, dancing, and televised sporting events can be enjoyed in Evolve lounge adjacent to the Geneva ChopHouse. Enjoy a cocktail from our full service bar. Appetizers, sandwiches, and desserts are also available.

Catering:
In House Catering for Private Dining Available. Birthdays, Anniversaries, Celebrations, Reunions, Wedding Dinners and more. Our coordinator will work with you to cater a custom menu for your function to meet your needs.

Parking Details:
Self-parking is available. We also offer complimentary Valet Parking.

Public Transit:
NA

Executive Chef:
Michael Sawin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
NEW Benedict Bar at Sunday Brunch

Build your own eggs benedict with a line of fresh, gourmet ingredients for the perfect start to your Sunday

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:00PM - 2:00PM 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Whether you're hosting a small social gathering of business associates, a holiday party or a special dinner for a much larger group, consider the restaurants at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa. We handle all the arrangements. You just walk in and enjoy.

Geneva Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Good for a Date (36)
Romantic (36)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Scenic View (25)
Worth the Drive (20)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Cozy (17)
Business Meals (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Good for Groups (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Waterfront (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Seasonal (6)
Fun (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Historic (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Fireplace (5)
Casual (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
People Watching (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Authentic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Private Room (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Music (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
1511 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

Cold salty steak e couldn't even eat......only 2 tables

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

The food the staff the waterfront dining option was outstanding. It was me and my Wife 1st anniversary and they decorated the table with roses and gave us free dessert. It was saturday and prime rib was the special and if you love steak yoy would be foolish not to get this. Its the best piece of meat i ever ate and its huge!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Todd was our server and he was FANTASTIC! Hands down the best dining experience we've ever had, from food, to atmosphere and capped off with amazing service by all of the staff. Already recommended the restaurant. It was our anniversary and Todd and staff made it extra special and memorable. We will definitely be back and bringing others with us.

Doug and Lauren

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Fun, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Great food ,excellent service. A bit pricey for regular patronage, but great for special occasions.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our favorite spot to eat in Lake Geneva

Tags: Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great knowledgable server, wonderful food. Big portions for sides and main food, additionals like shrimp were smaller sizes.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

My husband and I ate here for dinner. My husband had a ribeye steak, was excellent; I had the salmon, was served on cauliflower, not as good as expected. We ordered brussel sprouts to share, they were awesome! Overall a good evening, we enjoyed the firepit afterwards.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

While our server was friendly, the service overall was slow. Most bothersome was the shrimp appetizer that was ordered was raw. We told our server and she said it could not be cooked, and because it was batch made another order would most likely be the same so she said she would take it off our bill. Undercooked shrimp, especially at a restaurant of this caliber, is unacceptable. It is a beautiful, cozy, intimate venue, but I don't think we would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Service was excellent. Ordered "prime" steaks that were terrible. Could barely cut with knife and chewing not possible. Waiter took them back and replaced with a tenderloin that was excellent. Manager didn't charge for the two poor meals. Not quite what I expected for a $50 steak. However, I must again emphasize the excellent service and rectification of problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Really a wonderful dinner! Treated great , very well explained menu from staff . The decor is beautiful, right amount of lighting , and sound . Makes this place very comfortable for a beautiful dinner

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Overall we had a very good meal and pleasant experience. We did feel a bit rushed, even though the dining room was fairly empty on a Tuesday evening. Would have liked more time between coarses. Check came before we had finished our wine. Great spot though!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Overall pretty good. A couple of items on the Sunday Brunch they were very slow to replenish.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food..alittle pricey...perfect for our anniversay dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great meal and outstanding service! Our waitress was the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We stayed 3 nights at the grand Geneva and ate there twice for dinner and once for Sunday champagne brunch and all three times were great. Filets and lobster are my favorites. Spoiled!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We dined here while spending the weekend and taking advantage of their Ski Lesson Package for our 6 year old. It was a very relaxing and warm environment with very good food. I LOVED my salad and filet. They were very accommodating to my customization requests. One of the few places that offers refined food in their children's menu, which was nice to see my daughter being able to eat real food vs. frozen chicken tenders or mac & cheese!

Ashley was our server and she was such a delight!

In general, the people who work here and very friendly and knowledgeable about their game.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Scenic View, Waterfront, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Dinner was fantastic they made special arrangements so that we could have our favorite calamari. Excellent service that made the evening .

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent service, friendly staff. Entree was reasonably priced with the exception of the seafood for two appetizer. We asked for 12 shrimp instead of the 4 types of seafood. They told me they take from the bufett next door which is all you can eat. $45 for 12 shrimp that I could've gone to the buffet for? The pheasant entree was around $30. Otherwise I recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Flavorless $50 steaks. Found out halfway through our meal that they were grass fed beef. Had we known that upfront we would have chosen a different entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 24, 2017

It was very nice, but way overpriced . Our view was the kitchen door altjp our booth was nice. Friendly staff. Food served quickly and was good. Very limited menu tho.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very disappointed. I have dined here many times. It was our anniversary. Service was not as good as usual. Our food was good but not warm at all. I have a food allergy and they did not handle this properly which is very concerning. We had to send the food back or I would have been sent to the hospital. When my food was finally brought out I had no silverware to eat it. The waitress never came back so my husband had to get up to go get me some silverware to eat my meal. My husband ordered steak and lobster but didn't get his lobster for over 10 after the steak. We ordered a nice bottle of Cakebread Cabernet The waitress never came back to pour us any wine throughout our dinner.
We told Tom (new manager) on our way out. Not sure I'll be racing back for another $300+ unsatisfactory dinner.
As I mentioned, we have dined here many times. The menu has changed quite a bit. Not the same as before. Unfortunately many of our favorite items have been removed from the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Service was excellent! Steaks were so, so, tasty rub. The side dishes we ordered had no flavor, waste of money. Salad was good.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The menu appeared to be cut down to only four items to pick from. This was different from the online menu which showed sea bass which I wanted to order. Also the crab cakes were not good and the lobster Mac had lots of lobster but the sauce was over bearing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had the deviled eggs for an app and they were very good. The salads were unusual in that the dressing was on the bottom. We had the lobster mac and cheese as a side and it was superb. Steaks were prime quality and cooked perfectly. The tables had plenty of space around them so you didn't feel like you were crammed. Our server had a nice attitude and was fun without being too familiar. We really enjoyed our evening. It was a special occasion for us and they made is feel special. Thanks Chophouse.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Enjoyed the evening; service was attentive and food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our waiter was very attentive. Onion soup was not as good as usual. A bit watery and not enough cheese. Main course was slow to arrive, and was mediocre. Our waiter noticed the delivery of our dinner was slow, he let the manager know, and the manager did come to our table to apologize. Been going here for years. We are hoping this "slip" of an evening was a one shot deal. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Dinner was great as usual. Very Highly Recommended

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Had reservations and still had to wait 20 minutes even though there were empty tables. The hostess stand was unattended most of the time (while waiting others arrived and there was no hostess). The restaurant was understaffed. The service was poor. My steak was not medium rare as ordered. The wedge salad was not a wedge- it was 3 discs cut from a wedge. This was third time here. Other times were so-so. This will be the last time I eat here. Unacceptable regardless the price and the price for this meal was close to $200. There are many really good choices in the area. This is not one of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Changes to the menu left it too limited. Should add back chops, scallops, and seafood dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Really enjoyed the Sunday brunch. Got great service and good conversation with our server Jules. Possibly because she had to keep filling up our endless Mimosas! There were many appetizing options to eat. Not just things to fill up space like some other brunches we have been to. It was a little pricey, but sometimes you get what you pay for.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Geneva Chophouse is one of Lake Geneva's finest restaurants. They serve aged steaks and other well prepared, delicious dishes. It's a nice atmosphere for a special occasion, or just a good meal. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Went to celebrate and the steak, service, and ambiance were first class!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The service and food at this restaurant is exceptional and our server Darlene was so wonderful. We asked her to let us take our time and she did just that including making us feel comfortable and well taken care of. Have been to the restaurant numerous times and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was just a little too pricey for the quality of food that we received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We received a gift certificate for Christmas and decided to use it this past weekend. The food was wonderful. My husband had the KC NY strip and he described it as the best steak he's ever eaten! I had the scallops and they were fantastic as well. The only negative to the experience is that you have to order your salad and/or sides as extras. The cost of the entrees should include something especially when you are eating a $48 steak!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Friends recommended this restaurant for the atmosphere of the grounds. Unfortunately we did not get a chance to wander. The food was pricey but good. Our server was very attentive and friendly. We would stop by again if we were in the area.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our service was great, the atmosphere great for our date night. We had a nice appetizer, a good salad, but our steak and vegetable was over seasoned with salt and garlic. We returned the vegetable inedible.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Chop House has for some time been our go to place when we really want good food, great service and just enjoy a meal out. However, this time things really fell below the mark. Hopefully private note sent to restaurant will result in some changes.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious and the service perfect. We had a wonderful evening celebrating a birthday!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food, with a romantic atmosphere. We chose the Chophouse for my husband's birthday, and it was a great time had by all! The lobster mac & cheese is always a favorite.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.