About Geneva Chophouse

7036 Grand Geneva Way
Lake Geneva, WI 53147
View Larger Map

Geneva ChopHouse offers bold and distinctive flavors with steaks, seafood and style. Delivered daily from the finest purveyors of meat in Chicago, Geneva ChopHouse features the finest hand cut steaks and chops as well as an extensive wine list. With a wide assortment of side dishes big enough for two, Geneva ChopHouse offers an open kitchen where guests can view their meal being grilled and roasted. All served amid spectacular views of the Wisconsin countryside and the famed 18th hole on The Brute golf course. Your dining experience will be a culinary treat to remember.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 50 East & Hwy 12

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 249-4788

Website:
http://www.chophouse411.com/Geneva

Entertainment:
Live entertainment, dancing, and televised sporting events can be enjoyed in Evolve lounge adjacent to the Geneva ChopHouse. Enjoy a cocktail from our full service bar. Appetizers, sandwiches, and desserts are also available.

Catering:
In House Catering for Private Dining Available. Birthdays, Anniversaries, Celebrations, Reunions, Wedding Dinners and more. Our coordinator will work with you to cater a custom menu for your function to meet your needs.

Parking Details:
Self-parking is available. We also offer complimentary Valet Parking.

Public Transit:
NA

Executive Chef:
Michael Sawin

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
NEW Benedict Bar at Sunday Brunch

Build your own eggs benedict with a line of fresh, gourmet ingredients for the perfect start to your Sunday

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 12:00PM - 2:00PM 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Whether you're hosting a small social gathering of business associates, a holiday party or a special dinner for a much larger group, consider the restaurants at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa. We handle all the arrangements. You just walk in and enjoy.

Geneva Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Lake Geneva
Best Food
Lake Geneva
4 More
Best Service
Lake Geneva
Best Ambiance
Lake Geneva
Special Occasion
Lake Geneva
Most Booked
Lake Geneva
Best Restaurants in Lake Geneva ›

special occasion (95)
scenic view (85)
romantic (73)
See All
fit for foodies (35)
great for outdoor dining (33)
good for groups (27)
notable wine list (26)
great for brunch (22)
kid-friendly (13)
vibrant bar scene (8)
neighborhood gem (6)
late-night find (6)
hot spot (5)
great for lunch (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1314 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our entrees took a considerable amount o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our entrees took a considerable amount of time and were delivered to each of us regardless of the temperature we ordered the steak cooked at. But the steaks were good once we cut them open and identified which belonged to whom.

The most disappointing part of our experience might not have been in the restaurants control, but my family was seated next to a group of 4 apparently drunk men who used four letter words liberally at a loud volume. Even if I didn't have a 8 year old with me, I would have been uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The Scallops were great and the steaks w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 5 days ago

The Scallops were great and the steaks were cooked to perfection. Great food!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

It was my wife's 50th birthday and I wan ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 7 days ago

It was my wife's 50th birthday and I wanted to make our dinner special. We had exceptional service, great food and a view that we will remember forever. They exceeded high expectations!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed in the food. For the price, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Disappointed in the food. For the price, it doesn't compare to any of the excellent restaurants in Chicago. Lamb chops were very fatty, asked for them to be cooked medium and got them med. rare. Just not worth the price . Go to Pier 290 instead. Great place and excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

The Ribeye Steak was first rate--flavorf ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Ribeye Steak was first rate--flavorful and tender--and done perfectly. The asparagus was the best we've had in a long time. It was not hard or charred. The warm from the oven rolls had 3 different spreads that were delicious. The Lobster Mac and Cheese could have been better. The bacon in the mac and cheese overpowered the few lobster bites hidden in the gelatinous goo. Our waiter, Michael, was great and when he found out we were celebrating my wife's birthday, he presented her with a long- stemmed red rose-- great touch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance is great, with an amazing v ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The ambiance is great, with an amazing view, very courteous wait staff, and a high end feel, while also being a very relaxed atmosphere. We absolutely loved our experience there, from top to bottom!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

way overpriced for what you get. Steaks ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

way overpriced for what you get. Steaks were great, but they should really offer more meals that come with the sides. waitress took forever to bring us our check and even longer to come back for the payment.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Liked it very much.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Liked it very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always.. ALWAYS wonderful.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Always.. ALWAYS wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our anniversary once again ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary once again at the Geneva Chophouse. Great food (filet mignon was cooked perfectly!). Tried the trio of sides-loaded baked potato, green beans, and lobster mac & cheese. Yummy little rolls are brought out warm with three spreads (butter, blue cheese butter, sun dried tomato) and a dish of oil & pepper. They had rose petals along the curve of our romantic booth. We were treated to a delicious chocolate raspberry dessert. Service was spectacular! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my wife and was pleasantly surprise ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Took my wife and was pleasantly surprise at the quality of food. While price is not cheap, you get a lot for the price with outstanding quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

FIRSTLY WE VERY DISAPPOINTED THIS TIME. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

FIRSTLY WE VERY DISAPPOINTED THIS TIME. PREVIOUSLY IT WAS MUCH BETTER. IN TERMS OF EXPLAINING THE FAILING ITEMS, WE ORDERED THE BONE IN RIB EYE MEDIUM RARE, HOWEVER, IT WAS WELL DONE AND A MUCH THINNER CUT THAN WE EXPECTED AND SERVED COLD. AFTER EXPLAINING NOT BEING PLEASED THEY WERE VERY POLITE AND ANXIOUS TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM BY ORDERING US A REPLACEMENT. WELL AGAIN WE WERE DISAPPOINTED. THIS TIME IT WAS MEDIUM WELL. THE SAUTEED MUSHROOMS WERE OVERPOWERED WITH THYME. SO MUCH, WE COULD ALMOST NOT TASTE THE MUSHROOMS. LAST BUT NOT LEAST WAS THE WILTED POTATO.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Excellent food and menu selections! Serv ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Excellent food and menu selections! Service was top notch and we had all around enjoyable dining experience there!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come here often the food is wonderful ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We come here often the food is wonderful and the service Is fantastic. They have a huge wine selection as well as mixed drinks. I can't say enough good things about this restaurant and the Grand Geneva!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we arrived everyone was friendly. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

When we arrived everyone was friendly. Then my husband and I ordered steak and added on lobster tails. My steak which was a rib eye with bone in. It was dry and very cheesy. My husband and I had twin lobster tails which were split in half and grilled. I was shocked that they bring the lobster in the shells. We could not get the lobster out! We sent back and the chef took the meat out of shells. You should of seen the amount we got back and how bad the lobster was!!!! I can not believe a restaurant like that would l d serve that way. Red lobster will happily help with the shells. Our server was bad also. She kept busy w with a table of four. All she did with us was we ready to go. Our dirty dishes sat on table after we were done for at least 20 minutes. Really!! ! We spent a fortune that nite. Oh by the way we still tipped 20%

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Once again a special evening! Celebrati ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Once again a special evening! Celebrating friends birthdays. Me

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we were here for 40th anniversary and ev ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

we were here for 40th anniversary and everything was great. we were seated on time with a nice view. food was great and so was the service. never felt rushed. also treated us with free desert which was very good.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've made it a point to dine at Geneva C ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I've made it a point to dine at Geneva Chophouse anytime I visit Lake Geneva over the years. It would be a missed opportunity not to.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were staying at the Grand for a weddi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We were staying at the Grand for a wedding. We decided to stay in at the resort one night and celebrate a birthday. So glad we did. We highly recommend the seafood tower appetizer and the filet minion. Our waiter was very nice. He was aware we had a bad meal the evening before at a different restaurant so he made sure this meal was exceptional. Only complaint is everything is alacart. So the meal can get expensive if you add sides to your meal. We will be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service and view was great. Had the prim ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service and view was great. Had the prime rib and the sea bass. Food was overcooked. Not bad but not worth the money for the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was awful.. Raw tuna old!! Steak ha ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was awful.. Raw tuna old!! Steak had zero flavor.. Fish was awful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food here is absolutely great and th ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food here is absolutely great and the ambiance is equally outstanding. This is by far out favorite place to dine.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had high hopes as a first timer to thi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I had high hopes as a first timer to this restaurant located at the Grand Geneva. Had heard from friends and reviews that it was top notch and we gave it a try midweek. The hotel should hand out maps at the entrance to find the restaurant - I had to call twice to figure out how to find the building it's housed in. There is no signage for The Chop House or even "restaurant" as you are driving through, which is weird. Decor is basic, somewhat "old". Food prices are not in line with what is served. The scallops were large and served atop risotto but they were uncooked and cold (had them retired), and the risotto was bland and mushy. We shared sides (they offer a pick 3 share) and the green beans had a very odd sauce or taste, and they and the mushrooms were also cold. The sweet potato was very small, like the size of a lemon (seemed odd for a sharing size) and scathing hot. Everything's ala carte. The restaurant is an open concept so the kitchen is right out in the middle of things which makes it loud, and when the chef wasn't cooking, he was holding tongs and clicking them together incessantly to the point of distraction. There was a secondary kitchen just behind our booth and there was a LOT of commotion with the waitstaff there to the point where we could not hear each other across the table. They do have great views from tables along the wall but I don't see a reason to return when there are plenty of other places in LG to choose from that also have great views, better food and lower prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Excellent service. Does have a great bar ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent service. Does have a great bar next to resteraunt. Which is nice because you can have a quiet dinner and then finish at the bar that offers more options

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The beet salad was the worst I ever had ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The beet salad was the worst I ever had and I have a lot of them. Sent it back as it was inedible. I ordered a medium rare ribeye that was bone in. I got a medium well done steak. I use to go there every few months. After that meal I can't see a point in returning. Server agreed it was over cooked and offered me a free coffee. I don't drink coffee.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was just ok. The Filet and Lobster ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Food was just ok. The Filet and Lobster Mac and Cheese were great. However, the side dishes were bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

This place was hard to find (although it ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

This place was hard to find (although it is on the Grand Geneva resort grounds). There are no signs and so we tried locating it on our GPS. We don't recommend doing that because you end up on a dead end road. We were very happy to finally get there, because the food was great. We had sea bass and flat iron steak and both dishes were tasty! We were celebrating our anniversary and our server, Beth, really helped to make our night special. We would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic. Period. Food, service, ambia ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Fantastic. Period. Food, service, ambiance. Cannot find better steaks, seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steaks were cooked to perfection with a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Steaks were cooked to perfection with a wonderful flavor. The only thing I didn't love was the Lobster Mac and cheese (way too cheesy). Brussel sprouts were also Delish.

Service from Michael was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Ordered Seabass & it came cold

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Service was very good, but someone else service the food & the Seabass came cold. I believe it was too expensive a restaurant for cold food. That disappointed us.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We had a very nice time at the Geneva Ch ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a very nice time at the Geneva Chop House. The service was outstanding the salmon and steak were very good. I had a chopped salad that was served different than i had ever seen before but was very good.

It is a very nice room and i highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Happiness in every bite!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Dinner at the Grand Geneva ChopHouse was phenomenal! Sat at one of their tables outside and had a beautiful view with outstanding service by Angela. I had the 10oz filet and it was cooked perfectly and melted in my mouth with every bite! The housemade steak sauce was really delicious and complimented the steak as well. Meal was accompanied by trio of sides; the Lobster Mac & Cheese, Green Beans, and Smashed Yukon Gold potatoes - each side tasted fresh and made perfectly! Overall amazing experience and can't wait to head back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Not impressed

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My wife and I decided to attend the restaurant for our first year wedding anniversary. Our table was well prepared and we were sat very promptly to our reservation. It immediately went down hill from there. Our server was very late getting to our table and proceeded in being very short and slow. She didn't look overly busy and seemed annoyed. Our drinks took a long time and she didn't seem very knowledgeable when asked about certain wines by my wife. From there our food was good and ok. We started with the ceaser salad which was good. My wife's steak was amazing, she had the filet. Mine on the other hand was very adequate. I had the salmon. I understand that you are a steakhouse but salmon is my favorite dish and so I tend to get it at any new restaurant I go to unless really craving something else. I figured being a very high end restaurant it would be good and it was ok at best. We shared the trio of the Mac n cheese, green beans, and sweet potato. The Mac was awesome and the sweet potato pretty good too. The green beans were not done all the way and were ok. Overall our biggest complaint would be about our server. She seemed bothered by our presence and that she was at work. Here we are spending a very significant amount of money for a very important and special occasion only to be treated as if we were a bother. We have both spent many years working in restaurants and myself in a fairly high end one. We know what good service and quality food is and while one was pretty good the other was very poor. It is very rare that we complain, having been in the business (this is actually our second time in 10 years together) but the way this went we felt it was necessary to say something. We hope that it will bring awareness to some things and that it will help to improve others experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great Service with poor Quality of buffet food

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Not a lot of good things to say. Our waitress saved the day. The service quality was great. The poor quality of the buffet unfortunately offsets the service... Not talking quantity here... The quality was sub par for the price charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Disappointing...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Have seen a gradual decline in the food and service offerings over the past few years.

Last visit with group of 6 was mediocre enough that I may hesitate to recommend except for the ambiance and ease of location within the Grand Geneva resort.

This place had potential to be like a top notch Chicago steakhouse but is going in the Outback direction. Service was slow and with poor atttitude and knowledge of the menu - doesn't work at this price point. Serious investment in bartending skills required - can't mess up an old fashioned in a quality steak house . Food was rather disappointing following the Calamari appetizer (which is quite good): Prime rib was terrible - boiled overcooked texture. Crab cakes were dry and without a sauce, brussel sprouts way too hard. Mushrooms were terribly pedestrian. The NY Strip, Rib Eye and Filet were the only entrees that were half decent.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointing food and service with nice view

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Service/food was very slow. Food was so-so, and with high hopes based on the menu, we left feeling like we had spent too much on a meal that was overpriced and under delivered. $10 beet salad only had two slices of yellow beets that tasted more like canned than roasted, no variety, the dish was mostly carrots. Main dish took forever to come out and scallops were not warm, and yet slightly over cooked, steak was medium rather than medium rare. The most disappointing was the "sweet corn risotto" that the scallops were over, which was more like fried rice with bacon bits and bits of fried corn. No creaminess, definitely not risotto.

This was going to be our "nice" vacation meal and based on the menu we had high expectations, but it was very disappointing. The view was definitely the best thing about the meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Michelle S

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our waitress made it very special for my daughter who was celebrating her graduation. She gave her the most beautiful yellow rose! It's still gorgeous and that was 4 days ago!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Weekend Getaway

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent service. The food was wonderful.XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great dining experience there. Mad ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Had a great dining experience there. Made reservations and requested outside seating . Michael was AWESOME too! It was Tiffany's birthday and I brought in gifts so Michael surprised us both with a red rose. Excellent overall. Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I went to the Geneva Chophouse for Sunday Brunch to celebrate our wedding anniversary. This was a perfect day! We were seated by the wall of windows which commands a lovely view of a lake, with fountain sprays, and panoramic views of trees. The food was very good. Wonderful selection of peel and eat shrimp, crab legs, smoked salmon, made to order waffles, omelets, eggs Benedict, prime rib, ham, various breakfast items, various cured meats and cheeses, and of course the desserts. The dessert section was just right containing smaller plates of tasty treats, including a chocolate fondue to dip marshmallows, rice crispy treats, strawberries and Oreo cookies. The wait staff comes around and continually tops off your champagne or Mimosa. I would recommend this Brunch to anyone.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.