About Geneva Chophouse

7036 Grand Geneva Way
Lake Geneva, WI 53147
View Larger Map

Geneva ChopHouse offers bold and distinctive flavors with steaks, seafood and style. Delivered daily from the finest purveyors of meat in Chicago, Geneva ChopHouse features the finest hand cut steaks and chops as well as an extensive wine list. With a wide assortment of side dishes big enough for two, Geneva ChopHouse offers an open kitchen where guests can view their meal being grilled and roasted. All served amid spectacular views of the Wisconsin countryside and the famed 18th hole on The Brute golf course. Your dining experience will be a culinary treat to remember.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 50 East & Hwy 12

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 249-4788

Website:
http://www.chophouse411.com/Geneva

Entertainment:
Live entertainment, dancing, and televised sporting events can be enjoyed in Evolve lounge adjacent to the Geneva ChopHouse. Enjoy a cocktail from our full service bar. Appetizers, sandwiches, and desserts are also available.

Catering:
In House Catering for Private Dining Available. Birthdays, Anniversaries, Celebrations, Reunions, Wedding Dinners and more. Our coordinator will work with you to cater a custom menu for your function to meet your needs.

Parking Details:
Self-parking is available. We also offer complimentary Valet Parking.

Public Transit:
NA

Executive Chef:
Michael Sawin

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
NEW Benedict Bar at Sunday Brunch

Build your own eggs benedict with a line of fresh, gourmet ingredients for the perfect start to your Sunday

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 12:00PM - 2:00PM 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Whether you're hosting a small social gathering of business associates, a holiday party or a special dinner for a much larger group, consider the restaurants at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa. We handle all the arrangements. You just walk in and enjoy.

Geneva Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Lake Geneva
Best Food
Lake Geneva
5 More
Best Service
Lake Geneva
Best Ambiance
Lake Geneva
Best Value
Lake Geneva
Special Occasion
Lake Geneva
Most Booked
Lake Geneva
Best Restaurants in Lake Geneva ›

special occasion (86)
scenic view (78)
romantic (67)
See All
fit for foodies (37)
notable wine list (27)
great for outdoor dining (26)
good for groups (24)
great for brunch (21)
kid-friendly (15)
vibrant bar scene (8)
hot spot (6)
neighborhood gem (6)
late-night find (6)
great for lunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1298 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we were here for 40th anniversary and ev ...

Dined 3 days ago

we were here for 40th anniversary and everything was great. we were seated on time with a nice view. food was great and so was the service. never felt rushed. also treated us with free desert which was very good.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've made it a point to dine at Geneva C ...

Dined 3 days ago

I've made it a point to dine at Geneva Chophouse anytime I visit Lake Geneva over the years. It would be a missed opportunity not to.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were staying at the Grand for a weddi ...

Dined 5 days ago

We were staying at the Grand for a wedding. We decided to stay in at the resort one night and celebrate a birthday. So glad we did. We highly recommend the seafood tower appetizer and the filet minion. Our waiter was very nice. He was aware we had a bad meal the evening before at a different restaurant so he made sure this meal was exceptional. Only complaint is everything is alacart. So the meal can get expensive if you add sides to your meal. We will be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Service and view was great. Had the prim ...

Dined 5 days ago

Service and view was great. Had the prime rib and the sea bass. Food was overcooked. Not bad but not worth the money for the food

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was awful.. Raw tuna old!! Steak ha ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was awful.. Raw tuna old!! Steak had zero flavor.. Fish was awful

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is absolutely great and th ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food here is absolutely great and the ambiance is equally outstanding. This is by far out favorite place to dine.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

I had high hopes as a first timer to thi ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

I had high hopes as a first timer to this restaurant located at the Grand Geneva. Had heard from friends and reviews that it was top notch and we gave it a try midweek. The hotel should hand out maps at the entrance to find the restaurant - I had to call twice to figure out how to find the building it's housed in. There is no signage for The Chop House or even "restaurant" as you are driving through, which is weird. Decor is basic, somewhat "old". Food prices are not in line with what is served. The scallops were large and served atop risotto but they were uncooked and cold (had them retired), and the risotto was bland and mushy. We shared sides (they offer a pick 3 share) and the green beans had a very odd sauce or taste, and they and the mushrooms were also cold. The sweet potato was very small, like the size of a lemon (seemed odd for a sharing size) and scathing hot. Everything's ala carte. The restaurant is an open concept so the kitchen is right out in the middle of things which makes it loud, and when the chef wasn't cooking, he was holding tongs and clicking them together incessantly to the point of distraction. There was a secondary kitchen just behind our booth and there was a LOT of commotion with the waitstaff there to the point where we could not hear each other across the table. They do have great views from tables along the wall but I don't see a reason to return when there are plenty of other places in LG to choose from that also have great views, better food and lower prices.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Does have a great bar ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent service. Does have a great bar next to resteraunt. Which is nice because you can have a quiet dinner and then finish at the bar that offers more options

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The beet salad was the worst I ever had ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The beet salad was the worst I ever had and I have a lot of them. Sent it back as it was inedible. I ordered a medium rare ribeye that was bone in. I got a medium well done steak. I use to go there every few months. After that meal I can't see a point in returning. Server agreed it was over cooked and offered me a free coffee. I don't drink coffee.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food3
ambience4
service3

Food was just ok. The Filet and Lobster ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Food was just ok. The Filet and Lobster Mac and Cheese were great. However, the side dishes were bland.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This place was hard to find (although it ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

This place was hard to find (although it is on the Grand Geneva resort grounds). There are no signs and so we tried locating it on our GPS. We don't recommend doing that because you end up on a dead end road. We were very happy to finally get there, because the food was great. We had sea bass and flat iron steak and both dishes were tasty! We were celebrating our anniversary and our server, Beth, really helped to make our night special. We would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic. Period. Food, service, ambia ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Fantastic. Period. Food, service, ambiance. Cannot find better steaks, seafood.

food4
ambience5
service5

Steaks were cooked to perfection with a ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Steaks were cooked to perfection with a wonderful flavor. The only thing I didn't love was the Lobster Mac and cheese (way too cheesy). Brussel sprouts were also Delish. Service from Michael was wonderful.

food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Ordered Seabass & it came cold

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Service was very good, but someone else service the food & the Seabass came cold. I believe it was too expensive a restaurant for cold food. That disappointed us.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a very nice time at the Geneva Ch ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a very nice time at the Geneva Chop House. The service was outstanding the salmon and steak were very good. I had a chopped salad that was served different than i had ever seen before but was very good. It is a very nice room and i highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Happiness in every bite!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Dinner at the Grand Geneva ChopHouse was phenomenal! Sat at one of their tables outside and had a beautiful view with outstanding service by Angela. I had the 10oz filet and it was cooked perfectly and melted in my mouth with every bite! The housemade steak sauce was really delicious and complimented the steak as well. Meal was accompanied by trio of sides; the Lobster Mac & Cheese, Green Beans, and Smashed Yukon Gold potatoes - each side tasted fresh and made perfectly! Overall amazing experience and can't wait to head back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Not impressed

Dined on June 5, 2016

My wife and I decided to attend the restaurant for our first year wedding anniversary. Our table was well prepared and we were sat very promptly to our reservation. It immediately went down hill from there. Our server was very late getting to our table and proceeded in being very short and slow. She didn't look overly busy and seemed annoyed. Our drinks took a long time and she didn't seem very knowledgeable when asked about certain wines by my wife. From there our food was good and ok. We started with the ceaser salad which was good. My wife's steak was amazing, she had the filet. Mine on the other hand was very adequate. I had the salmon. I understand that you are a steakhouse but salmon is my favorite dish and so I tend to get it at any new restaurant I go to unless really craving something else. I figured being a very high end restaurant it would be good and it was ok at best. We shared the trio of the Mac n cheese, green beans, and sweet potato. The Mac was awesome and the sweet potato pretty good too. The green beans were not done all the way and were ok. Overall our biggest complaint would be about our server. She seemed bothered by our presence and that she was at work. Here we are spending a very significant amount of money for a very important and special occasion only to be treated as if we were a bother. We have both spent many years working in restaurants and myself in a fairly high end one. We know what good service and quality food is and while one was pretty good the other was very poor. It is very rare that we complain, having been in the business (this is actually our second time in 10 years together) but the way this went we felt it was necessary to say something. We hope that it will bring awareness to some things and that it will help to improve others experience.

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great Service with poor Quality of buffet food

Dined on May 29, 2016

Not a lot of good things to say. Our waitress saved the day. The service quality was great. The poor quality of the buffet unfortunately offsets the service... Not talking quantity here... The quality was sub par for the price charged.

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointing...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Have seen a gradual decline in the food and service offerings over the past few years. Last visit with group of 6 was mediocre enough that I may hesitate to recommend except for the ambiance and ease of location within the Grand Geneva resort. This place had potential to be like a top notch Chicago steakhouse but is going in the Outback direction. Service was slow and with poor atttitude and knowledge of the menu - doesn't work at this price point. Serious investment in bartending skills required - can't mess up an old fashioned in a quality steak house . Food was rather disappointing following the Calamari appetizer (which is quite good): Prime rib was terrible - boiled overcooked texture. Crab cakes were dry and without a sauce, brussel sprouts way too hard. Mushrooms were terribly pedestrian. The NY Strip, Rib Eye and Filet were the only entrees that were half decent.

Tags: romantic
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointing food and service with nice view

Dined on May 28, 2016

Service/food was very slow. Food was so-so, and with high hopes based on the menu, we left feeling like we had spent too much on a meal that was overpriced and under delivered. $10 beet salad only had two slices of yellow beets that tasted more like canned than roasted, no variety, the dish was mostly carrots. Main dish took forever to come out and scallops were not warm, and yet slightly over cooked, steak was medium rather than medium rare. The most disappointing was the "sweet corn risotto" that the scallops were over, which was more like fried rice with bacon bits and bits of fried corn. No creaminess, definitely not risotto. This was going to be our "nice" vacation meal and based on the menu we had high expectations, but it was very disappointing. The view was definitely the best thing about the meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Michelle S

Dined on May 28, 2016

Our waitress made it very special for my daughter who was celebrating her graduation. She gave her the most beautiful yellow rose! It's still gorgeous and that was 4 days ago!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Weekend Getaway

Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent service. The food was wonderful.XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great dining experience there. Mad ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Had a great dining experience there. Made reservations and requested outside seating . Michael was AWESOME too! It was Tiffany's birthday and I brought in gifts so Michael surprised us both with a red rose. Excellent overall. Highly recommended

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great brunch!

Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I went to the Geneva Chophouse for Sunday Brunch to celebrate our wedding anniversary. This was a perfect day! We were seated by the wall of windows which commands a lovely view of a lake, with fountain sprays, and panoramic views of trees. The food was very good. Wonderful selection of peel and eat shrimp, crab legs, smoked salmon, made to order waffles, omelets, eggs Benedict, prime rib, ham, various breakfast items, various cured meats and cheeses, and of course the desserts. The dessert section was just right containing smaller plates of tasty treats, including a chocolate fondue to dip marshmallows, rice crispy treats, strawberries and Oreo cookies. The wait staff comes around and continually tops off your champagne or Mimosa. I would recommend this Brunch to anyone.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Chewy

Dined on May 21, 2016

I made an early 6pm reservation. The place was half full, got nice table next to the kitchen and was nice to have the entire waitstaff within earshot the entire meal. I ordered the bone in rib eye and was given a Chuck steak off the large end with a peanut sized sliver of rib bone. Could have gotten the same steak at Jameson charhouse. Server was slightly annoying and kept interrupting us. I tipped $40.00 on a $165.00 check

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary

Dined on May 14, 2016

Rose petals on the table and a complimentary desert.......Chop House made me look like a perfect husband......my wife and I thank you for the special touch! Kevin and Brenda Burns

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were outstanding an ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food and service were outstanding and the view is awesome. Don't miss it when you are in the area

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Horrible service!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We ordered and received our salad and drinks right away. Ordered dinner and another drink. We then didn't see our waitress for 45 minutes? Where was our dinner? Mind you we sat right next to the cooks and only ordered fish. Our waitress then tried to blame the cooks! Take the much deserved blame for not being attentive at all. I won't be going back

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Disapointed

Dined on May 7, 2016

We were celebrating a special birthday and wedding anniversary and steak and lobsters dinners for two in our party was cold and seemed not freshly prepared. I selected this restaurant because I expected the high quality and freshly prepared food that had been experienced on many dinning experiences over the years. the service was exceptional and our waiter did bring the food back to the chefs in an attempt to make it better. Two out of four dinners were disappointed. Please do better next time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mothers day celebration

Dined on May 6, 2016

We met some out of town friends and their 99 year old mother for a pre Mothers day celebration at the Chop House. Service was excellent and the food was as well. We were not rushed, even though we did stay for a considerable length of time. The staff were attentive, but not obtrusive. We would definitely return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The location was beautiful. The food w ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

The location was beautiful. The food was a little bland. The look of the food was nice. We were there for a special occasion. The service was good.

food1
ambience1
service4
value3

Tod

Dined on April 30, 2016

He was an awesome waiter made the dining enjoyable

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful and Delicious

Dined on April 30, 2016

My husband and I went to the Chophouse for a date night. The view was beautiful. The service was great and the food was wonderful. There is a wine list that will please anyone. The a la carte options are nice to. That way you're able to share!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic restaurant with a great view

Dined on April 25, 2016

We booked the Geneva Chop house for a romantic dinner for our 1st vacation together. We were seated at a table by the window with a gorgeous view of the Resort Lake and grounds right around sunset time. We were promptly met with our waitress upon checking in at the hostess stand. She was not only a delight but one of the sweetest people we have ever met. Everything we ordered was cooked as requested, very tasty, and of good quality. We will definitely come back for another romantic date night to dine here in the future.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience1
service1
value2

Great food, poor service.

Dined on April 25, 2016

Title says it all. Treated poorly because we were younger parents with kids. Everyone should be treated equally, not based on how much you think I can tip. Gratuity automatically added, otherwise I would've tipped her zero.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Chop House to celebrate anniversary!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Always a top choice for us when we come to the Grand Geneva. The atmosphere is amazing, the service is attentive, and the food is always top shelf. A bit of a struggle this time around getting one of our steaks cooked as requested, even after returning it to the kitchen, it still was not cooked thoroughly. Everything else was as expected, calamari appetizer was awesome, the sides were great and the anniversary dessert to share was unbelievable. We'll be back as soon as we can for another dinner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Overall good experience minus a few flaws

Dined on April 24, 2016

The overall experience was good but there were a few issues that I wouldn't expect for the price of the food. The steak was very good along with the sides we ordered with it. The lamb chops were very undercooked. My wife tried to eat them despite being undercooked but was only able to eat the outer portion that was cooked. They took the lamb chops back to cook more and they were gone for quite awhile. When they were brought back one of the chops looked the same as it did before. As if they didn't even cook it longer. We thought dessert would make up for the disappointing lamb but that as well was not very good. The carrot cake was very dry and all around not very good. If the lamb and carrot cake were better this would have been a great experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect dinner spot for anniversary!

Dined on April 24, 2016

We went here for our 17th wedding anniversary. Make sure to tell them ahead what you are celebrating. We had rose petals on our table and I was given a red rose. We also got a free chocolate raspberry desert. The food is phenomninal. Steaks and crab legs so tasty. I wish we only got one side because they are so large but oh so good! Only downfall was we were seated by 2 large loud groups and right by the kitchen which is open to the seating area. Next time I will request a window seat!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Disappointed

Dined on April 17, 2016

Unfortunately, the experience was not good. Our server addressed us throughout the meal while chewing gum in open-mouthed fashion. The appetizer was served without plates. Our silverware was taken with the appetizer and not replaced, causing us to be served our entrees and needing to flag someone down for new silverware. My date noted that the mahi tuna was ice cold, but at that point, the service was so poor that we were hesitant to send it back to be cooked appropriately. However, the bill was quite accurate, although I would not visit again, especially for the price.

food5
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere was upbeat and lively. We wer ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Atmosphere was upbeat and lively. We were seated promptly, service was outstanding and the food was excellent! One of the best dining experiences we've had.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.