Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

About Geneva Chophouse

Geneva ChopHouse offers bold and distinctive flavors with steaks, seafood and style. Delivered daily from the finest purveyors of meat in Chicago, Geneva ChopHouse features the finest hand cut steaks and chops as well as an extensive wine list. With a wide assortment of side dishes big enough for two, Geneva ChopHouse offers an open kitchen where guests can view their meal being grilled and roasted. All served amid spectacular views of the Wisconsin countryside and the famed 18th hole on The Brute golf course. Your dining experience will be a culinary treat to remember.

7036 Grand Geneva Way
Lake Geneva, WI 53147
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 50 East & Hwy 12

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 249-4788

Website:
http://www.chophouse411.com/Geneva

Entertainment:
Live entertainment, dancing, and televised sporting events can be enjoyed in Evolve lounge adjacent to the Geneva ChopHouse. Enjoy a cocktail from our full service bar. Appetizers, sandwiches, and desserts are also available.

Catering:
In House Catering for Private Dining Available. Birthdays, Anniversaries, Celebrations, Reunions, Wedding Dinners and more. Our coordinator will work with you to cater a custom menu for your function to meet your needs.

Parking Details:
Self-parking is available. We also offer complimentary Valet Parking.

Public Transit:
NA

Executive Chef:
Michael Sawin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
NEW Benedict Bar at Sunday Brunch

Build your own eggs benedict with a line of fresh, gourmet ingredients for the perfect start to your Sunday

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:00PM - 2:00PM 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Whether you're hosting a small social gathering of business associates, a holiday party or a special dinner for a much larger group, consider the restaurants at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa. We handle all the arrangements. You just walk in and enjoy.

Geneva Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Good for a Date (37)
Romantic (33)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Scenic View (27)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Cozy (12)
Business Meals (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Waterfront (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Open Kitchen (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Fun (5)
Casual (5)
People Watching (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Private Room (4)
Historic (4)
Fireplace (4)
Authentic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
1542 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was horrible. We waited forever for the server to come by and ask us if we wanted more drinks even though the manager was nearby and didn't pay any attention to us either. Food was not what we have come to expect here either as we have been here multiple times. We had a much better experience with the valet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a wonderful evening. Great food, great service and beautiful setting

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was standard steakhouse fare. View and service were both outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I went to the Chop House with 2 friends who joined me on a weekend trip. This is a bit of a splurge, but the steaks were fabulous. Our server Brian was very friendly as well. The lobster mac and cheese was a little gummy, but broccoli was great. We had ribeye, KC strip, and filet - all very tasty. Our starter salads - wedge, warm spinach, etc., were well done. Spinach salad was slightly overdressed, but it was bacon dressing, so I didn't mind too much!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

It was the best steak I have had !
Superb staff and the lake view is fabulous.
We ha deviled eggs for appetizer, and cheese cake for dessert!
Absolutely fantastic

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was not as great as it was priced, $50 steak should be better than a chain restaurant $19 steak and it was not at all, sides were mediocre at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Went for our 15th anniversary and the staff was fabulous and the steak just melts in your mouth!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Wonderful way to end my husband 's birthday weekend! Ellen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, delicious food, great service - the best date night. We'll be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Last time we went, the service from staff was a huge disappointment. Much better this time Teala was great; as was food etc.

Our guests were very pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food and our waiter Tod was the best. Filet was perfect, and my honey's Birthday dinner could not have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

As always, excellent food, wine and service. Too bad the weather didn't cooperate so we could have our usual beverage by the firepit

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed this beautiful restaurant with a spectacular view. The food was expertly prepared. Lamb chops and steaks all came out perfectly. The Brandy Alexanders were a huge surprise...and I mean huge! Delish...but do share.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Outstanding service and food in a romantic setting.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 24, 2017

There are other options here than the beef/steaks. Check out the Specialties: I had the Local Chicken dish which was delicious. My wife had the Choice 6oz. Filet which was disappointing. A convenient dining option, if you're staying at The Grand Geneva.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The menu is very limited, not much to choose from.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Drinks and salad were fine. Extremely long wait and when they arrived entrees and sides were cold and tasteless. CH was kind enough to comp meal, but too late by then. We have been coming here for many years and this is clearly a cycle. Food is great for a couple years then sucks for a year. Kitchen turnover clearly. Need better top of the house management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Everything was fine, just not great. The onion soup we ordered was flavorful but just warm. Both steaks were ordered medium rare and came out on the higher end of medium. We felt the quality control could have been better based on the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Celebrated our wedding anniversary here for dinner on a Friday night. We made reservations in advance, but since it's not quite tourist season yet, it wan't too busy. Our waiter, Tod, was exceptional! He took the time to go through each section of the menu and highlighted some of their more popular dishes. He was able to give wine suggestions based on my preferences and let me have a taste before purchasing a glass; his suggestion was delicious. He also talked me into the salmon, which I have never been a big fan of, but he said their salmon had a very mild taste and he was spot on; loved it. And he had asked up front if we were celebrating anything, so when our desserts were brought out, there were candles in them with chocolate hearts on top to celebrate our special day; the perfect touch!

Tags: Cozy, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

It's a good steak house but it's not great. Very convenient to not have to leave the resort though. All in all good but your paying downtown Chicago prices for an above average steak not a great steak.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Steak took 48 minutes to come out at a medium rare temperature. Been here before and it was fabulous. This time was just not so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Need more options on the menu. Seasonal menu & specials would be nice. I was expecting more in the steak. Steak was just average. Need to update the restaurant. Low ceilings are terrible. Better lighting to see the scenic outside. I have had dinner at the Italian restaurant before & was much more impressed. Disappointed in this restaurant.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Steak was over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

As always the seafood sampler was outstanding and they add additional seafood to replace the oysters we don't like. And Sherrie is a wonderful server.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Very good steakhouse my ribey was perfectly cooked.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Cozy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 5, 2017

A wonderful setting. A little pricey. Especially the cuts of meat.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The filets we had were excellent! The price for a 8-10 oz filet was around $50. I am not sure if that was a good value for most people but we were celebrating a special occasion. Everything is ala carts so that all adds up quickly. The wine was excellent as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Upon pulling up to the restaurant for the first time figuring out where to go is a challenge. It isn't clearly defined where to go or what door they would like you to walk into.

The restaurant does have good ambience. It is very nice, not to loud. I enjoyed the view of the gold course.

Before dinner drinks and appetizers were great. None were watered down and the deviled eggs were excellent with a flavorful taste.

The group consisted of four people. 3 steaks were ordered. Along with 1 chicken. Sides ordered were mashed potatoes, Brussel sprouts, broccoli and mushrooms. The steaks were over done. The chicken was said to be good. Brussel sprouts had a plastic taste. Mushrooms were cold with a bland taste. Broccoli wasn't done. Mashed potatoes were very good.

After dinner drinks were just as good as before dinner drinks. Desserts were good.

The best thing about the experience was the service our waitress was amazing. She did not miss a beat and was very attentive to our needs.

I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone from the experience I had. For the same price you can go to Sullivan's, Flemings, j Alexander's etc and get much better tasting food and equally good service for the same price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The service here was excellent. Sherrie and Chandler were very attentive and checked in on us often. Chandler even gave a mini history lesson on the Illuminati to my kids (who asked him if he knew anything about them). The steaks were excellent as were the grilled shrimp (for my kids). Dessert was simple but fun for the kids (vanilla sundaes with chocolate sauce). The Irish Cream creme brûlée was also simple but satisfying.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Nice spring evening at the Geneva Chop House. Enjoyed a fine selection from an appropriately priced wine selection. We went for the seafood appetizer for two which was more than enough for two. Fresh crab, lobster shrimp and oysters. Enjoyed the signature prime rib which was cooked perfectly.
Service was always available yet never intrusive.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food was pretty good, but the bill was around $200 for two adults and two young kids. If dining with kids, you'll get a much better value and better selection of kid and adult entres upstairs at the Italian restaurant at the Grand Geneva- Ristorante Brissago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Cold salty steak e couldn't even eat......only 2 tables

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food the staff the waterfront dining option was outstanding. It was me and my Wife 1st anniversary and they decorated the table with roses and gave us free dessert. It was saturday and prime rib was the special and if you love steak yoy would be foolish not to get this. Its the best piece of meat i ever ate and its huge!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Todd was our server and he was FANTASTIC! Hands down the best dining experience we've ever had, from food, to atmosphere and capped off with amazing service by all of the staff. Already recommended the restaurant. It was our anniversary and Todd and staff made it extra special and memorable. We will definitely be back and bringing others with us.

Doug and Lauren

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Fun, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Great food ,excellent service. A bit pricey for regular patronage, but great for special occasions.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our favorite spot to eat in Lake Geneva

Tags: Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great knowledgable server, wonderful food. Big portions for sides and main food, additionals like shrimp were smaller sizes.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

My husband and I ate here for dinner. My husband had a ribeye steak, was excellent; I had the salmon, was served on cauliflower, not as good as expected. We ordered brussel sprouts to share, they were awesome! Overall a good evening, we enjoyed the firepit afterwards.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

While our server was friendly, the service overall was slow. Most bothersome was the shrimp appetizer that was ordered was raw. We told our server and she said it could not be cooked, and because it was batch made another order would most likely be the same so she said she would take it off our bill. Undercooked shrimp, especially at a restaurant of this caliber, is unacceptable. It is a beautiful, cozy, intimate venue, but I don't think we would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Service was excellent. Ordered "prime" steaks that were terrible. Could barely cut with knife and chewing not possible. Waiter took them back and replaced with a tenderloin that was excellent. Manager didn't charge for the two poor meals. Not quite what I expected for a $50 steak. However, I must again emphasize the excellent service and rectification of problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.