About Geneva Chophouse

7036 Grand Geneva Way
Lake Geneva, WI 53147
View Larger Map

Geneva ChopHouse offers bold and distinctive flavors with steaks, seafood and style. Delivered daily from the finest purveyors of meat in Chicago, Geneva ChopHouse features the finest hand cut steaks and chops as well as an extensive wine list. With a wide assortment of side dishes big enough for two, Geneva ChopHouse offers an open kitchen where guests can view their meal being grilled and roasted. All served amid spectacular views of the Wisconsin countryside and the famed 18th hole on The Brute golf course. Your dining experience will be a culinary treat to remember.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 50 East & Hwy 12

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 249-4788

Website:
http://www.chophouse411.com/Geneva

Entertainment:
Live entertainment, dancing, and televised sporting events can be enjoyed in Evolve lounge adjacent to the Geneva ChopHouse. Enjoy a cocktail from our full service bar. Appetizers, sandwiches, and desserts are also available.

Catering:
In House Catering for Private Dining Available. Birthdays, Anniversaries, Celebrations, Reunions, Wedding Dinners and more. Our coordinator will work with you to cater a custom menu for your function to meet your needs.

Parking Details:
Self-parking is available. We also offer complimentary Valet Parking.

Public Transit:
NA

Executive Chef:
Michael Sawin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
NEW Benedict Bar at Sunday Brunch

Build your own eggs benedict with a line of fresh, gourmet ingredients for the perfect start to your Sunday

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 12:00PM - 2:00PM 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Whether you're hosting a small social gathering of business associates, a holiday party or a special dinner for a much larger group, consider the restaurants at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa. We handle all the arrangements. You just walk in and enjoy.

Geneva Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Lake Geneva
Best Food
Lake Geneva
4 More
Best Service
Lake Geneva
Best Ambiance
Lake Geneva
Best Value
Lake Geneva
Most Booked
Lake Geneva
Best Restaurants in Lake Geneva ›

Special Occasion (84)
Scenic View (80)
Romantic (67)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for Groups (26)
Notable Wine List (21)
Great for Brunch (16)
Kid-friendly (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1331 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was great and was attentive ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The service was great and was attentive but not over bearing. The food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sorry to say we were disappointed. Had t ...

 
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Sorry to say we were disappointed. Had the bone in rib eye for $50.00 ala carte; very tough over salted, didn't end up eating it. I do salt my foods, I was so glad I tasted it before I did. Server & mgmnt. were very nice and offered a new steak, but by the time it came I basically lost interest in eating any more. Had triple split sides; the mushrooms had no flavor, lobster mac n cheese (way too salty & too strong of a cheese), bake potato was fine.

We were there for 3 days and enjoyed our stay and the golf courses, for sure. Dave Hallenbach was awesome and took really good care of us.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Celebrated our Wedding Anniversary. They ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Celebrated our Wedding Anniversary. They gave us a rose how bice! Food good as always. Menu seems smaller

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I went here for our 2nd anni ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My wife and I went here for our 2nd anniversary dinner. The staff was very friendly and the food was superb. Might make it a yearly tradition. They Knew it was a special occasion and had rose petals on the table and sat us at a table with an excellent outdoor view.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, wonderful atmosphere. It was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food, wonderful atmosphere. It was a special occasion and it was celebrated from beginning to end. Service was excellent, company was terrific and we could all carry on a great conversation.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Todd was as knowledgeable abo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our waiter Todd was as knowledgeable about the menu items as anyone could be. He also was very prompt and courteous serving us.

Send Todd thanks from my wife and me.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were at the Grand Geneva resort for o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We were at the Grand Geneva resort for our honeymoon and ate one night at the restaurant. Food was great. Waitress asked if it was a special occasion, and after we said it was our honeymoon. She came back with a rose for my wife and two complimentary glasses of champagne. Later we got a free dessert. All the food was great, and, needless to say, the service was superlative.

We ate outside and view was beautiful. Late sat outside for a couple of hours around fire pit and had drinks.

All was great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely evening, one of the primary reaso ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Lovely evening, one of the primary reasons being our server, Sherrie, who was on top of everything.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and view were excellent!!!! Highly ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food and view were excellent!!!! Highly recommend !!! Service unfortunately did not match up. We asked several times for extra rolls, never brought out, appetizer was forgotten until we asked, then main course took forever and they were not that busy. People sitting a few tables over who were sat after us had their food with their waitress before us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

The waitstaff are outstanding. However, ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The waitstaff are outstanding. However, the 60$ lobster was burnt, taste like grill gas and rubbery, and the scallops barely edible. Weird, because it's hard to mess up a scallop.

I will not recommend eating these items to anyone who asks me if they are any good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Relaxed, resort feeling, with excellent ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Relaxed, resort feeling, with excellent food and excellent service. We had an exquisite meal on the patio overlooking the golf course and river.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful meal at the Geneva Ch ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at the Geneva Chophouse! We always do. This is a special find we found years ago and every time we're in Lake Geneva we make sure to eat here. The view over the water and the golf course started our evening out right with drinks on the patio. Our table was ready on time and they seated us next to the windows for a continued great view during dinner. Our server was excellent and the food great! We both had filet mignon which was so delicious and cooked perfectly. We had the side dish trio of garlic mashed, sautéed mushroom and grilled veggies. All were very tasty. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The steaks were delicious!! We also had ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The steaks were delicious!! We also had salads, green beans and mashed potatoes, all were very good. We weren't crazy about the desserts, though. Carrot cake and hazelnut lava cake - underwhelming.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was excellent. Great overall experi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was excellent. Great overall experience. Would definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The scallops were below average that the ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The scallops were below average that they were very fishy tasting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service and excellent food! We ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Wonderful service and excellent food! We greatly enjoyed our evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our entrees took a considerable amount o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our entrees took a considerable amount of time and were delivered to each of us regardless of the temperature we ordered the steak cooked at. But the steaks were good once we cut them open and identified which belonged to whom.

The most disappointing part of our experience might not have been in the restaurants control, but my family was seated next to a group of 4 apparently drunk men who used four letter words liberally at a loud volume. Even if I didn't have a 8 year old with me, I would have been uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The Scallops were great and the steaks w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The Scallops were great and the steaks were cooked to perfection. Great food!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

It was my wife's 50th birthday and I wan ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

It was my wife's 50th birthday and I wanted to make our dinner special. We had exceptional service, great food and a view that we will remember forever. They exceeded high expectations!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed in the food. For the price, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Disappointed in the food. For the price, it doesn't compare to any of the excellent restaurants in Chicago. Lamb chops were very fatty, asked for them to be cooked medium and got them med. rare. Just not worth the price . Go to Pier 290 instead. Great place and excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

The Ribeye Steak was first rate--flavorf ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Ribeye Steak was first rate--flavorful and tender--and done perfectly. The asparagus was the best we've had in a long time. It was not hard or charred. The warm from the oven rolls had 3 different spreads that were delicious. The Lobster Mac and Cheese could have been better. The bacon in the mac and cheese overpowered the few lobster bites hidden in the gelatinous goo. Our waiter, Michael, was great and when he found out we were celebrating my wife's birthday, he presented her with a long- stemmed red rose-- great touch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance is great, with an amazing v ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The ambiance is great, with an amazing view, very courteous wait staff, and a high end feel, while also being a very relaxed atmosphere. We absolutely loved our experience there, from top to bottom!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

way overpriced for what you get. Steaks ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

way overpriced for what you get. Steaks were great, but they should really offer more meals that come with the sides. waitress took forever to bring us our check and even longer to come back for the payment.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Liked it very much.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Liked it very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always.. ALWAYS wonderful.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Always.. ALWAYS wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our anniversary once again ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary once again at the Geneva Chophouse. Great food (filet mignon was cooked perfectly!). Tried the trio of sides-loaded baked potato, green beans, and lobster mac & cheese. Yummy little rolls are brought out warm with three spreads (butter, blue cheese butter, sun dried tomato) and a dish of oil & pepper. They had rose petals along the curve of our romantic booth. We were treated to a delicious chocolate raspberry dessert. Service was spectacular! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my wife and was pleasantly surprise ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Took my wife and was pleasantly surprise at the quality of food. While price is not cheap, you get a lot for the price with outstanding quality.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

FIRSTLY WE VERY DISAPPOINTED THIS TIME. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

FIRSTLY WE VERY DISAPPOINTED THIS TIME. PREVIOUSLY IT WAS MUCH BETTER. IN TERMS OF EXPLAINING THE FAILING ITEMS, WE ORDERED THE BONE IN RIB EYE MEDIUM RARE, HOWEVER, IT WAS WELL DONE AND A MUCH THINNER CUT THAN WE EXPECTED AND SERVED COLD. AFTER EXPLAINING NOT BEING PLEASED THEY WERE VERY POLITE AND ANXIOUS TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM BY ORDERING US A REPLACEMENT. WELL AGAIN WE WERE DISAPPOINTED. THIS TIME IT WAS MEDIUM WELL. THE SAUTEED MUSHROOMS WERE OVERPOWERED WITH THYME. SO MUCH, WE COULD ALMOST NOT TASTE THE MUSHROOMS. LAST BUT NOT LEAST WAS THE WILTED POTATO.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Excellent food and menu selections! Serv ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Excellent food and menu selections! Service was top notch and we had all around enjoyable dining experience there!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come here often the food is wonderful ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We come here often the food is wonderful and the service Is fantastic. They have a huge wine selection as well as mixed drinks. I can't say enough good things about this restaurant and the Grand Geneva!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we arrived everyone was friendly. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

When we arrived everyone was friendly. Then my husband and I ordered steak and added on lobster tails. My steak which was a rib eye with bone in. It was dry and very cheesy. My husband and I had twin lobster tails which were split in half and grilled. I was shocked that they bring the lobster in the shells. We could not get the lobster out! We sent back and the chef took the meat out of shells. You should of seen the amount we got back and how bad the lobster was!!!! I can not believe a restaurant like that would l d serve that way. Red lobster will happily help with the shells. Our server was bad also. She kept busy w with a table of four. All she did with us was we ready to go. Our dirty dishes sat on table after we were done for at least 20 minutes. Really!! ! We spent a fortune that nite. Oh by the way we still tipped 20%

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Once again a special evening! Celebrati ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Once again a special evening! Celebrating friends birthdays. Me

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we were here for 40th anniversary and ev ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

we were here for 40th anniversary and everything was great. we were seated on time with a nice view. food was great and so was the service. never felt rushed. also treated us with free desert which was very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've made it a point to dine at Geneva C ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I've made it a point to dine at Geneva Chophouse anytime I visit Lake Geneva over the years. It would be a missed opportunity not to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were staying at the Grand for a weddi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We were staying at the Grand for a wedding. We decided to stay in at the resort one night and celebrate a birthday. So glad we did. We highly recommend the seafood tower appetizer and the filet minion. Our waiter was very nice. He was aware we had a bad meal the evening before at a different restaurant so he made sure this meal was exceptional. Only complaint is everything is alacart. So the meal can get expensive if you add sides to your meal. We will be back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service and view was great. Had the prim ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service and view was great. Had the prime rib and the sea bass. Food was overcooked. Not bad but not worth the money for the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was awful.. Raw tuna old!! Steak ha ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was awful.. Raw tuna old!! Steak had zero flavor.. Fish was awful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food here is absolutely great and th ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food here is absolutely great and the ambiance is equally outstanding. This is by far out favorite place to dine.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had high hopes as a first timer to thi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I had high hopes as a first timer to this restaurant located at the Grand Geneva. Had heard from friends and reviews that it was top notch and we gave it a try midweek. The hotel should hand out maps at the entrance to find the restaurant - I had to call twice to figure out how to find the building it's housed in. There is no signage for The Chop House or even "restaurant" as you are driving through, which is weird. Decor is basic, somewhat "old". Food prices are not in line with what is served. The scallops were large and served atop risotto but they were uncooked and cold (had them retired), and the risotto was bland and mushy. We shared sides (they offer a pick 3 share) and the green beans had a very odd sauce or taste, and they and the mushrooms were also cold. The sweet potato was very small, like the size of a lemon (seemed odd for a sharing size) and scathing hot. Everything's ala carte. The restaurant is an open concept so the kitchen is right out in the middle of things which makes it loud, and when the chef wasn't cooking, he was holding tongs and clicking them together incessantly to the point of distraction. There was a secondary kitchen just behind our booth and there was a LOT of commotion with the waitstaff there to the point where we could not hear each other across the table. They do have great views from tables along the wall but I don't see a reason to return when there are plenty of other places in LG to choose from that also have great views, better food and lower prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Excellent service. Does have a great bar ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent service. Does have a great bar next to resteraunt. Which is nice because you can have a quiet dinner and then finish at the bar that offers more options

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.