About Geja's Café

340 W. Armitage
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Romantic fondue dining & nightly flamenco & classical guitar music draw diners to this cozy café. Entree fondues include shrimp, scallops, lobster, chicken & beef in various combinations. Please be aware that for their safety, children under the age of 10 are not permitted at Geja's. Booth requests will be noted, but can not guaranteed.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm (last seating at 9:30pm);



Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (last seating at 10:30pm);



Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (last seating at 10:30pm);



Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm (last seating at 8:30pm)

Cross Street:
Lincoln and Clark

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 281-9101

Website:
http://www.gejascafe.com/

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot at 2021 N. Clark.

Public Transit:
Brown Line to Sedgewick / North

Private Party Facilities:
Geja's Cafe can accommodate private parties from 6 to 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Michelle Collopy: 7732819101x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Winemaker Dinners

Restaurant Photos

Cheese Fondue
Chocolate Fondue Pre-Flamed
Fondue Feast Cooking
Champagne Cosmopolitan
Flaming Chocolate Fondue
Toasted Marshmallow
Chocolate Fondue Dippers
Cheese Flight
Chocolate Fondue
Bread, Apples, And Grapes For Cheese Fondue
Dessert Fondue Dippers
Geja's Salad
Chicken And Jumbo Shrimp Platter
Cheese Fondue Dippers
The Communal Pot
House Salad
Pineapple Mojito
Deluxe Seafood Platter
Mixed Greens Salad
Shrimp In Thai Spicy Sauce
Cheesw Fondue
Pound Cake With Fudge Sauce
Seafood Fondue
Prince Geja's Combo
Beef And Lobster With 8 Dipping Sauces: Dill, Garlic Aioli, Flaming Apricot, Terriyaki, Butter, Horseradish Cream, Bbq, Chili
Sangria
Vegetarian Plate Fondue
Cheese and Charcuterie Board
Strawberry Mohito

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:00PM - 8:00PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Geja's Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Chicago / Illinois
Best Ambiance
Chicago
Romantic
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Lincoln Park ›

romantic (129)
special occasion (116)
neighborhood gem (58)
See All
notable wine list (58)
fit for foodies (53)
good for groups (20)
late-night find (15)
hot spot (15)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
3034 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was amazing the ambience was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service was amazing the ambience was super romantic loved the music what a unique and fun experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service and outstanding food ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Outstanding service and outstanding food! We have been coming for years to celebrate just about every occasion, and this was no exception. The management is friendly (Michelle) and the waitstaff is attentive. We always get the original sauces to compliment the "usual" sauces, as it just provides more options and more great tastes. A very robust wine list to choose from. Can't say enough about Geja's: If you like fondue, there isn't anywhere even close in the city (or anywhere else for that matter).

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A favorite spot for celebrations big and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

A favorite spot for celebrations big and small. Every visit feels like an event where you are transported to another country for a culinary experience. (The ever-present, live, classical guitar player is foundational to this experience.) Not particularly fancy, dinner at Gejas' Cafe always feels special. Fondue is just fun and offers an opportunity for original "slow food" and a meal focused on the participants as well as the food. Their traditional three courses of cheese, hot oil and chocolate means there's always something new and tasty just around the corner. The pattern of "spear--dip--eat" forced a new, slower-paced eating pattern on my 10-year-old nephew while opening up space for conversation with everyone at the table. So even though there are probably fancier, more "inventive" and newer fondue restaurants out there, we will always return to Gejas--like a much anticipated family reunion--whenever the opportunity arises. It speaks to food, fun and fellowship in ways few other restaurants do.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It was too expensive for a small platter ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

It was too expensive for a small platter, could not see my food because it was too dark, the cooking took for ever, different experience but did not like it.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Great first time dining experience.Happy ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great first time dining experience.Happy to have celebrated my anniversary there.Will definitely be going back for "seconds".

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Always a delightful experience-

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Always a delightful experience-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went here for an anniversary and it was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Went here for an anniversary and it was fantastic. It was our first time going there so the waitress was nice enough to go over the entire menu with is. It was a very fun and interactive dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it! Took my husband for his bday a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Loved it! Took my husband for his bday and we had an amazing time! Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

THE BEST! That's the reason it's been a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

THE BEST! That's the reason it's been around for 51 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food...and excellent service.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Delicious food...and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

it is a beautiful price, but way over pr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

it is a beautiful price, but way over priced for what you get.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Favorite restaurant for 18 years!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Favorite restaurant for 18 years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely lovely! Great food and atmosp ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Absolutely lovely! Great food and atmosphere. Service was incredible

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our "date iversary" it's our favo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

It was our "date iversary" it's our favorite place. Our waiter Luis is the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a wonderful atmosphere to go along with ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

a wonderful atmosphere to go along with great food and great service

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoy dining at Geja even though some ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I enjoy dining at Geja even though some things should be better. On this occasion two particulars kept me from ranking it higher. One was that I ordered a second glass of wine and was given a completely different one than the one I ordered. The second was that the flame on our main pot went out and we had to request that it be re-lit, which took a long time. Our main server did not come to check on us for a while and so we had to wait a long time before we finally asked someone else to light it again, which they did. As a general rule the service is attentive but on this occasion it was not.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Geja's proved to be a great place to tak ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Geja's proved to be a great place to take my family for a special "activity" dining experience. The whole group really enjoyed the ability to work together creating wonderful bites of food while still being able to hear our entire conversation. We all loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always love going to Geja's. I love th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I always love going to Geja's. I love the decor, the live guitar performances, and the amazing cheese fondue! I already recommended this restaurant to people. One "not so good" experience I had this time was that my husband accidentally spilled his glass of sangria and the waitress looked upset, when we apologized and thanked her for cleaning it up, she didn't say anything and didn't even look at us. Maybe she was having a bad day.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I lovedit. Foodwasawesome. VeryniceVery ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I lovedit. Foodwasawesome. VeryniceVery nice staff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Geja's Café puts fun into eating, energ ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Geja's Café puts fun into eating, energizes your relationships and makes a special occasion a memorable event--all at the same time. The fun has its price, but everyone understands and appreciates the gift of Geja.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant. Went for our anniversa ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great restaurant. Went for our anniversary there from out of town. Enjoyed the view. Noise from other group was very high, looked like they were having a party. Will definitely recommend to friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect but the differenc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everything was perfect but the difference was our server who was outstanding! She made us feel comfortable and her timing was excellent. Gejas Cafe was so wonderful our server and everything from food to music to ambiance made our anniversary special. Thank you Gejas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience! Server was awesome!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Amazing experience! Server was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Nostalgic dinner, but ruined by maitre d ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Nostalgic dinner, but ruined by maitre de attitude. Our daughter was caught in traffic and did not join us for Fathers day dinner until all the food was cleared. We were still charged a sharing fee. The seafood was good, the beef tough, and the salad not fresh.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I'm not a big fan of fondue using oil wh ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I'm not a big fan of fondue using oil which is the standard at this place. Gives the food a different taste. Not bad. Just different. I did not care for the red lighting which I would assume serves a purpose of helping with night blindness and still allows you to see a menu without having the mood killing bright lights of normal restaurants. That would be my least part of this place. Selection is very impressive: meats and seafoods very fresh. Cheese for fondue very tasty and selections for dipping are also marvelous. I think their main entree portions could be larger (meats and seafood) but otherwise I was not hungry when I left. Chocolate course for dessert was divine!

This is a great place to take your lover or someone who likes to dine in a mysterious setting. We were privy to live guitar music which only added depth to the Spanish theme of the restaurant. I like this place and you will too. Prices are reasonable for city dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Second time here, love this place! Great ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Second time here, love this place! Great for date night =)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was fantastic Shea's very he ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our server was fantastic Shea's very helpful and came back several times throughout our dinner. She made being there for a special occasion even more special

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fabulous service, extensive wine list & ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fabulous service, extensive wine list & delicious food. Our server was super helpful in helping us make choices. She was very knowledgeable about the menu. We all had a wonderful memorable dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Geja's never disappoints; the food, ser ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Geja's never disappoints; the food, service and ambiance are always wonderful!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here as a "date night" event with m ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Went here as a "date night" event with my wife while we were travelling on business to Chicago. Great find! We do enjoy the fondue experience. We got the full menu selections of Cheese, Meats/Vegetables, and Dessert (chocolate). This was a lot of food - and our server was outstanding - as we let him pair wines with each of our courses - and the overall experience was fantastic. My only issue was that the tables were extremely close, and some of the other table conversations got loud - which didn't help with the otherwise romantic atmosphere. If you can handle the later reservation times - as the other patrons left - the restaurant got more intimate.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine selection, the sauces, everythi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The wine selection, the sauces, everything is always excellent. We love the service and knowledge of our server, no one person ever disappoints. Very romantic, can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great tasting food. Does not have a chil ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great tasting food. Does not have a children's menu, however, if you order a cheese course for them they can eat off your plate for no additional charge. Very expensive but very tasty!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Best fondue in the city

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We have loved this place for years. The menu is classic and delicious. The environment is unlike any other. Great place for a date night or special occasion!

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Shannon was super helpful and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Our server Shannon was super helpful and nice. Every course was excellent. I'd highly recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very cool how the dinner "packages" incl ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Very cool how the dinner "packages" include both an appetizer and a dessert. Like that very much. The appy & desserts were terrific, but I was a little underwhelmed with the entree. It didn't seem like there was much meat, for one, and it was a little uncomfortable/scary to be given the task of cooking raw meat ourselves.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great service, great place

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great food, great service, great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Geja's is a wonderful restaurant for a r ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Geja's is a wonderful restaurant for a romantic dinner or to celebrate a special occasion. We had a wonderful dinner and celebration with our son and niece!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Intimate dining experience with great li ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Intimate dining experience with great live music. Definitely coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Disappointing

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My wife and I had looked forward to visiting Geja's for a long time and hoped for a romantic dinner for our anniversary when we booked it on Open Table. When we arrived we were seated in the middle of the room, elbow to elbow with other couples giving us no ability to talk without others hearing every word. Moreover, we were treated like cars on an assembly line churning the tables as fast as possible. Had the food been great, we might have let it all slide but it was good but a bad value given the prices.

Having heard such wonderful things about the place, we were very very disappointed and will not return... And recommend others not make the same mistake we did!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Fun in Chicago!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Visiting Chicago with family and had a wonderful time which included Gejas for one of our dinner meals. The waitress did great explaining everything regarding the fondue process. Our meal was delicious from the first glass of wine and cheese appetizer all the way to the chocolate dessert. The live music is nice and the restrooms are clean. We have been here before and always have had a great experience. We will be back again! Thank you Gejas!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.