About Geja's Café

340 W. Armitage
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Romantic fondue dining & nightly flamenco & classical guitar music draw diners to this cozy café. Entree fondues include shrimp, scallops, lobster, chicken & beef in various combinations. Please be aware that for their safety, children under the age of 10 are not permitted at Geja's. Booth requests will be noted, but can not guaranteed.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm (last seating at 9:30pm);



Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (last seating at 10:30pm);



Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (last seating at 10:30pm);



Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm (last seating at 8:30pm)

Cross Street:
Lincoln and Clark

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 281-9101

Website:
http://www.gejascafe.com/

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot at 2021 N. Clark.

Public Transit:
Brown Line to Sedgewick / North

Private Party Facilities:
Geja's Cafe can accommodate private parties from 6 to 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Michelle Collopy: 7732819101x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Winemaker Dinners

Restaurant Photos

Cheese Fondue
Chocolate Fondue Pre-Flamed
Fondue Feast Cooking
Champagne Cosmopolitan
Vegetarian Plate Fondue
Flaming Chocolate Fondue
Toasted Marshmallow
Chocolate Fondue Dippers
Cheese Flight
Chocolate Fondue
Bread, Apples, And Grapes For Cheese Fondue
Dessert Fondue Dippers
Geja's Salad
Chicken And Jumbo Shrimp Platter
Cheese Fondue Dippers
The Communal Pot
House Salad
Pineapple Mojito
Deluxe Seafood Platter
Mixed Greens Salad
Shrimp In Thai Spicy Sauce
Cheesw Fondue
Pound Cake With Fudge Sauce
Seafood Fondue
Prince Geja's Combo
Beef And Lobster With 8 Dipping Sauces: Dill, Garlic Aioli, Flaming Apricot, Terriyaki, Butter, Horseradish Cream, Bbq, Chili
Sangria
Cheese and Charcuterie Board
Strawberry Mohito

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:00PM - 8:00PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Geja's Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Chicago / Illinois
Romantic
Chicago
Special Occasion
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Lincoln Park ›

romantic (119)
special occasion (111)
notable wine list (57)
See All
neighborhood gem (52)
fit for foodies (49)
good for groups (18)
hot spot (12)
late-night find (12)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (2)
great for lunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3011 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant. Went for our anniversa ...

Dined 2 days ago

Great restaurant. Went for our anniversary there from out of town. Enjoyed the view. Noise from other group was very high, looked like they were having a party. Will definitely recommend to friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Nostalgic dinner, but ruined by maitre d ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Nostalgic dinner, but ruined by maitre de attitude. Our daughter was caught in traffic and did not join us for Fathers day dinner until all the food was cleared. We were still charged a sharing fee. The seafood was good, the beef tough, and the salad not fresh.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience3
service4

I'm not a big fan of fondue using oil wh ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

I'm not a big fan of fondue using oil which is the standard at this place. Gives the food a different taste. Not bad. Just different. I did not care for the red lighting which I would assume serves a purpose of helping with night blindness and still allows you to see a menu without having the mood killing bright lights of normal restaurants. That would be my least part of this place. Selection is very impressive: meats and seafoods very fresh. Cheese for fondue very tasty and selections for dipping are also marvelous. I think their main entree portions could be larger (meats and seafood) but otherwise I was not hungry when I left. Chocolate course for dessert was divine! This is a great place to take your lover or someone who likes to dine in a mysterious setting. We were privy to live guitar music which only added depth to the Spanish theme of the restaurant. I like this place and you will too. Prices are reasonable for city dining.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time here, love this place! Great ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Second time here, love this place! Great for date night =)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server was fantastic Shea's very he ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our server was fantastic Shea's very helpful and came back several times throughout our dinner. She made being there for a special occasion even more special

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous service, extensive wine list & ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Fabulous service, extensive wine list & delicious food. Our server was super helpful in helping us make choices. She was very knowledgeable about the menu. We all had a wonderful memorable dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Geja's never disappoints; the food, ser ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Geja's never disappoints; the food, service and ambiance are always wonderful!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here as a "date night" event with m ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Went here as a "date night" event with my wife while we were travelling on business to Chicago. Great find! We do enjoy the fondue experience. We got the full menu selections of Cheese, Meats/Vegetables, and Dessert (chocolate). This was a lot of food - and our server was outstanding - as we let him pair wines with each of our courses - and the overall experience was fantastic. My only issue was that the tables were extremely close, and some of the other table conversations got loud - which didn't help with the otherwise romantic atmosphere. If you can handle the later reservation times - as the other patrons left - the restaurant got more intimate.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The wine selection, the sauces, everythi ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The wine selection, the sauces, everything is always excellent. We love the service and knowledge of our server, no one person ever disappoints. Very romantic, can't wait to go back.

food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Great tasting food. Does not have a chil ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great tasting food. Does not have a children's menu, however, if you order a cheese course for them they can eat off your plate for no additional charge. Very expensive but very tasty!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best fondue in the city

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

We have loved this place for years. The menu is classic and delicious. The environment is unlike any other. Great place for a date night or special occasion!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Shannon was super helpful and ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Our server Shannon was super helpful and nice. Every course was excellent. I'd highly recommend to others.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service, great place

Dined on June 3, 2016

Great food, great service, great place

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Geja's is a wonderful restaurant for a r ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Geja's is a wonderful restaurant for a romantic dinner or to celebrate a special occasion. We had a wonderful dinner and celebration with our son and niece!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Intimate dining experience with great li ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Intimate dining experience with great live music. Definitely coming back.

food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Very Disappointing

Dined on May 28, 2016

My wife and I had looked forward to visiting Geja's for a long time and hoped for a romantic dinner for our anniversary when we booked it on Open Table. When we arrived we were seated in the middle of the room, elbow to elbow with other couples giving us no ability to talk without others hearing every word. Moreover, we were treated like cars on an assembly line churning the tables as fast as possible. Had the food been great, we might have let it all slide but it was good but a bad value given the prices. Having heard such wonderful things about the place, we were very very disappointed and will not return... And recommend others not make the same mistake we did!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun in Chicago!

Dined on May 28, 2016

Visiting Chicago with family and had a wonderful time which included Gejas for one of our dinner meals. The waitress did great explaining everything regarding the fondue process. Our meal was delicious from the first glass of wine and cheese appetizer all the way to the chocolate dessert. The live music is nice and the restrooms are clean. We have been here before and always have had a great experience. We will be back again! Thank you Gejas!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place as always, friendly knowledgable staff

Dined on May 28, 2016

Geja's is awesome and the only place we have dinner while visiting Chicago. They are second to none when it comes to great friendly service and great fondue. Top Shelf in my book!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first ever Fondue dining experience ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Our first ever Fondue dining experience and it was amazing. The venue is lovely, we were sat in a cosy booth which was lit by candlelight. The food was delicious – we had the premier menu, which started with the cheese (so so good), bread, apple and grape and side salad course, then the deluxe seafood and the beef tenderloin with vegetables (excellent) and the for dessert I was chocolate with fruit, pound cake and marshmallows! I’m surprised we ate it all – it was all just too good The service was wonderful, from the hostess who we followed to the bar, to the bartender (with an remarkable knowledge of the wine list) to the waiter who helped us understand fondue

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celiac Canadian...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I was pleasantly pleased with my first experience using Open Table!!! Our reservations were precisely to my specifications regarding time, my preference for a booth and a notation that we were celebrating our 45th Anniversary. As a traveler with Celiac Desease... Geja's is the perfect dining spot with a plethora of Gluten Free menu options and a very accommdang Chef!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love This Place

Dined on May 20, 2016

Went here for a get together with friends. Everything about this place is wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great evening. The table was perf ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

What a great evening. The table was perfect, the food was delicious and the whole staff operated with such precision and attention to detail. We will definitely be returning soon.

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food and service but portion-wise, ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great food and service but portion-wise, well, it was low for the price. Way to many large vegetables to make the platters look like there was more. :(

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and a great atmosphere! Our ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food and a great atmosphere! Our go to special occasion place. Worth the drive from the burbs

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service3

Prices are to high for the food, I didn' ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Prices are to high for the food, I didn't like my fondue. I won't go back

food5
ambience5
service5

We've been going to Geja's for 34 years ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We've been going to Geja's for 34 years and have never had a bad meal. They have been consistently putting out great quality for as long as we can remember. We highly recommend the fondue experience to anyone.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Must Go

Dined on May 15, 2016

Perfect place for a special occasion. Fondue leads to a long and relaxed meal with a very romantic setting, but not over the top. Live music, which is pleasantly quiet, and extremely knowledgable and sincere staff. Also, good for a fancy double date. Will go back every chance I get!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have visited Geja for at least a deca ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We have visited Geja for at least a decade. The food is excellent and the service is great generally. The only complaint I have is that I did request a nice table as we visited to celebrate my sister's birthday. The one we were assigned to was close to the kitchen. Parties of more than two people were given nicer tables - they appear to want to please large numbers and not necessarily loyal patrons. This is a shame. If it were otherwise I would chose them for every special occasion I celebrate and would also recommend them. Still, the food is great and my sister wanted to celebrate there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Love it!! Nothing else comes close to experience.

Dined on May 14, 2016

I have been going to Geja's for over 30 years now. It's always been great. In fact, this past visit for my birthday is the one and only time my order was not right--it was corrected immediately though. I think this is a fabulous record of the consistent fantastic service I've enjoyed over these many many years. Keep up the good work!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice and cozy

Dined on May 14, 2016

Geja's was small, warm and cozy. Very romantic, if a little bit dark, atmosphere. It was really hard to see the menu when trying to order. Very tight space, so we could hear the bad date that was going on next to us. Food was ok, nothing particularly special. Sauces were 50/50. Some were really well thought out and excellent, others were just your run of the mill items possibly out of a bottle. There was plenty of food, and the cheese fondu was yummy. Avoid the graham cracker crumble on the marshmallow and chocolate. It doesn't have the right proportions to taste like a correct s'more. IT was really gross. They need more pound cake and rice crispy treats with their dessert fondu. All & all I would say try it once for the fun on fondu.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Date Night

Dined on May 14, 2016

Geja's was a great experience! My fiance and I had a wonderful meal and the quality of the food was excellent. You will definitely leave feeling full, and we were there for at least 2 hours, but that was half the fun! One thing is that you will leave the restaurant smelling like fish cooked in oil...not a bad thing, but just be aware if people stare at you funny! Our Uber driver made a [nice] comment to us about it after a few minutes in the car - we didn't know how we smelled :) Maybe just don't wear a wool coat to dinner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a crowd-pleaser.

Dined on May 12, 2016

This place is consistent. Food and wine were very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Geja's for Mother's Day dinner- ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Went to Geja's for Mother's Day dinner- terrific service, fun meal, everyone had a great time. We enjoyed the full combination meal- left stuffed!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Poor service, excellent food

Dined on May 8, 2016

I made a reservation for 7:30 celebrating my anniversary with my girlfriend. When we arrived, there was a couple in front of us speaking with the host about a table. They did not make a reservation and were told the wait would be 1.5-2 hours. We then told him we had a reservation. He found it right away. We were 5 minutes early so we were asked to wait at the bar. 15 minutes go by and the host comes to the bar and tells the couple that didn't have a reservation that they could be seated! They didn't have a reservation and they were seated before us who had a reservation! And they didn't do it very discreetly either. We were not happy about that. We waited another 10 minutes (it was 7:50) when we were finally seated. It doesn't end there though. We look at the menu and the wine list and know exactly what we want. We're waiting and waiting and no waiter. At this point it is half an hour past our reservation. There were then 3 people that were seated next to us. And sure enough a waiter comes right away to them and goes over the menu with them. When he was done, he then walked over to us. So again we had clear priority over others but yet we were attended to second. There was no point in him explaining anything because we already looked at everything on the menu. He was about to walk away when we said we were ready to order. It was 50 minutes after our reservation when we were finally eating. From that point on everything was amazing. Food was great and the overall fondue experience was excellent. With that being said, there are other fondue restaurants around. I'll be checking those out next time. We both work retail and we know all about customer service. That was awful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife and I have dined at Geja's on many occasions over the years. It is always a special treat and even if it is just an ordinary evening out, it becomes a special occasion when we are at Geja's. The atmosphere is warm and intimate. Even when all the tables are full, it can seem almost like no one other than you and your dining partner are there. The service is excellent but unobtrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great date experience but prepare for dry cleaning

Dined on May 7, 2016

Geja's café was a great experience. I booked a trip to Chicago for my wife and I, and we were looking for something a little different. Geja's did not disappoint! The setting was wonderful. We walked down steps to the entrance of the building which made it feel very private. As we entered you could definitely smell the cooking oil being that it is at every table in the restaurant but that was something that we knew coming into the restaurant after reading reviews. We were delighted to see the setting. The lights are very dim perfect for a romantic evening. We sat right down as soon as we came in despite having a later reservation and this place was not dead many couples (I would say t was 80 percent full.) The seating area i will admit was close to other couples, I believe this is due to fitting more guest into the restaurant but do not worry about your personal conversation, there is music playing throughout the building and it is low enough that you don't have to yell across to your date while also allowing you to keep your conversation private from the couples that may be around you as long as you are not a loud talker naturally. (you may not even care). The wine menu is excellent and has many choices. They also include house cocktails. The meals are very reasonable considering that one meal can feed two even if you are hungry and you may share plates for an extra 10 dollars, otherwise you are paying 110 or 120 bucks for separate meals that you wont finish. They start you off with bread and cheese and salad followed by your main course with veggies, and end you with a chocolate sauce with fruits, pound cake ext. The meal was fantastic but do keep in mind that if you are wearing your best clothes. you will need them dry cleaned because of the aroma of the cooking oil and foods that stick to your clothes after the meal. It is very potent, so potent that the cab driver noticed immediately as we opened the door to our cab. Try an outdoor bar if you have plans after

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was superb and the food exquisit ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Service was superb and the food exquisite. The experience is zen like and memorable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful place to enjoy a romantic meal ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Wonderful place to enjoy a romantic meal or go with a group of friends!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3
value1

Bad customer service

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

I made the reservation on Wednesday and I specified that I needed a booth. The reservations were for 5 pm. On Saturday. When we got there the hostess said I see you reserve a booth, yes we replied. She said the booths were only for bigger parties only. She put me and my wife at a small table in the corner. As we began to order , we saw that 2 parties that came in after us were sat at booths with 2 to a party. My wife was upset but I managed to calm her down. The food was good, but when we got the check we were charged for drinks we didn't order. I am African American and my wife is German, we don't want special treatment. We just want to be treated fairly. In this day in age , people still do not believe in great customer service. I own a Art gallery in downtown Chicago and I wouldn't have clients if I treated them like that. Everyone I know will hear about my experience at Gejas .

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious cuisine, memorable service, th ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Delicious cuisine, memorable service, the live guitarist was absolutely amazing- delivered that romantic experience. Best place to take your loved one.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.