About Geja's Café

Romantic fondue dining & nightly flamenco & classical guitar music draw diners to this cozy café. Entree fondues include shrimp, scallops, lobster, chicken & beef in various combinations. Please be aware that for their safety, children under the age of 10 are not permitted at Geja's. Booth requests will be noted, but can not guaranteed.

340 W. Armitage
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm (last seating at 9:30pm);



Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (last seating at 10:30pm);



Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (last seating at 10:30pm);



Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm (last seating at 8:30pm)

Cross Street:
Lincoln and Clark

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 281-9101

Website:
http://www.gejascafe.com/

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot at 2021 N. Clark.

Public Transit:
Brown Line to Sedgewick / North

Private Party Facilities:
Geja's Cafe can accommodate private parties from 6 to 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Michelle Collopy: (773) 281-9101

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Winemaker Dinners

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Toasted Marshmallow - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Flaming Chocolate Fondue - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Fondue Dippers - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Cheese Flight - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Fondue Pre-Flamed - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Cheese Fondue - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Fondue - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Bread, Apples, And Grapes For Cheese Fondue - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Dessert Fondue Dippers - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Geja's Salad - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Chicken And Jumbo Shrimp Platter - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Cheese Fondue Dippers - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
The Communal Pot - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
House Salad - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Pineapple Mojito - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Deluxe Seafood Platter - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Mixed Greens Salad - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Shrimp In Thai Spicy Sauce - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Cheesw Fondue - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Pound Cake With Fudge Sauce - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Seafood Fondue - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Prince Geja's Combo - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Beef And Lobster With 8 Dipping Sauces: Dill, Garlic Aioli, Flaming Apricot, Terriyaki, Butter, Horseradish Cream, Bbq, Chili - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Sangria - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Vegetarian Plate Fondue - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Cheese and Charcuterie Board - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Fondue Feast Cooking - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Champagne Cosmopolitan - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Strawberry Mohito - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Geja's Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (90)
Romantic (89)
Special Occasion (78)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (71)
Cozy (56)
Notable Wine List (41)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Fun (34)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Worth the Drive (24)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Authentic (19)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Historic (15)
Live Music (14)
Hot Spot (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Tasting Menu (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Fireplace (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Gluten Free Options (5)
People Watching (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Casual (5)
Family Style (4)
Scenic View (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Organic (3)
Business Meals (2)
Great Beer (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vegan (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3413 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Quiet, intimate and cozy atmosphere. Ne ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Quiet, intimate and cozy atmosphere. Needs a good dusting/cleaning and some updating.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I loved the atmosphere- it was very inti ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

I loved the atmosphere- it was very intimate. The portions are a bit on the small side but when you are eating fondue, it's naturally a slower pace which makes it more filling. The food itself was wonderful and our waiter gave us an excellent wine suggestion which we thoroughly enjoyed. There was also live guitar music which was just the right volume and it definitely added to the atmosphere. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great! Very romantic atmosphere

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Great! Very romantic atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really like this place. The service is ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

I really like this place. The service is good but the amount of food for the $ not so good. The quality of the food is OK, but they even skimp on the amount of cheese and chocolate you get. One recommendation though is do not accept a table, otherwise you'll be bumping elbows with the other couple next to you or getting some hot oil popping on you from their fondue oil pot. GET a booth! Worth the wait and you can make the request in your reservation. Still a fun place to be and the scenery is nice for the most part. One other thing the lighting is a little to low so bring your flashlight or phone light in order to see anything.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Romantic place but terrible food. Qualit ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Romantic place but terrible food. Quality of food was worse than expected. Overall experience not good. Will not recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

I had an amazing time there and enjoyed ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I had an amazing time there and enjoyed the night. Afterwards my girlfriend could not stop talking about the night nor the service and the ends the place went for us. It was almost something out of a fairytale she would say. I plan to return with more friends. I'm just mad I didn't know earlier.

Thank you for the night and memories.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace, Historic, Family Style, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Tasting Menu, , Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Birthday and the experience was awesome! ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Birthday and the experience was awesome!

First time "fonduers" and the tastes were incredible!

We had the Connoisseur Course which left us full and satisfied!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We didn't want to detract a star for it. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We didn't want to detract a star for it... But we did get the wroung bottle of wine. We still enjoyed it and our meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After paying 50 dollars for a meal, My e ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

After paying 50 dollars for a meal, My expectation was high. Especially after ordering Beef Tenderloin comes with shrimp scallops, I expected to be full. If I am still eating at home after coming back from the place, that means, food amount is NOT fair in terms of the value of the food. Ambiance, decor, service were great! However, they should increase the amount of the food served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

What a great place for a special occasio ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

What a great place for a special occasion. This is our typical go-to-place for birthdays and anniversaries.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for fun weekend in Chicago ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We were there for fun weekend in Chicago, brought 3 friends that have never been

We had great dinner, great service, great fun!!

We all thought best place we ate st all weekend

I will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As our favorite date spot in the city, w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

As our favorite date spot in the city, we visit Geja's once every few months. This visit, however, was unlike any other we'd ever had. Typically, my two favorite aspects of dining at Geja's are the service and ambiance. The service was poor: Our server took 20 minutes before checking in for the first time, and only checked once after that. The ambiance has completely changed: It looks like they've installed LED lights on the patio. The problem is, the large windows allow all the light to blanket the tables. So, when you expect the romantic, low lighting Geja's has had for decades, you leave disappointed. I'm not sure I'll return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

We've been coming to Gejas for over 20 y ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We've been coming to Gejas for over 20 years. It has never disappointed. The food, wine and ambiance can't be beat if your looking for a dinner with your special someone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my 2nd time at Geja's and I enj ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This was my 2nd time at Geja's and I enjoyed it for the most part. The biggest problem was that immediately upon entering we were told there is a 20-30 minute wait for a table even though we had a reservation. We overheard at least 3 other groups mention this same scenario, with 2 of them leaving after waiting over 30 minutes with a reservation. While we waited we got a drink at the bar and nearly got bamboozled by the bartender by being overcharged $10 on 2 drinks. The problem was corrected however and we were shown to our seats after a 20 minute wait. Service was good, and the food was pretty good as well. I have no complaints with any of that. I would say the restaurant is definitely a bit overpriced, but getting a groupon coupon for it definitely helps make it reasonable. I would recommend Geja's for a date night, my girlfriend enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent food in a romantic atmosphere ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Excellent food in a romantic atmosphere with wonderful service.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal in every possible way. Extrem ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Phenomenal in every possible way. Extremely polite staff from hostess all the way to management. I've never had such an AMAZING experience. Will absolutely return and highly recommend to anyone who wants to have a memorable meal while visiting Chicago. Do yourself a favor and make a reservation right now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner. Great service. Beautif ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Wonderful dinner. Great service. Beautiful music. Thanks

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It's intimate alright! Like now I know t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It's intimate alright! Like now I know the intimate life of the couple next to us. The restaurant is small and we sat at a table between booths, separated from another couple by a candle. No privacy for us. Just because it was dark does not mean it was romantic. The food was average for fondue, nothing great just good. I'm not sure how they got "Most romantic restaurant in America" label but maybe it has something to do with being in the candle lit dark with several couples rubbing up against one another due to tight spaces. Did I just describe a swingers party? I guess that is romantic. I'll take my booth at The Melting Pot next time.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

This place is perfect for romantic eveni ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This place is perfect for romantic evenings. A special occasion, great ambiance and great food!! One of the best places in Chicago!

Tags: Good for Groups, , Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice, romantic getaway for dinner in the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Nice, romantic getaway for dinner in the city. We had the lobster & chicken and beef & shrimp entrees. The cheese fondue appetizer and dessert fruit and smores are both excellent! Server was very personable and attentive.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Geja's is always wonderful - we enjoy ou ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Geja's is always wonderful - we enjoy our time there whenever we go. It is perfect for a special occasion or nice date.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New favorite. Expensive, but worth it.

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 30, 2016

New favorite. Expensive, but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Gejas is a beautiful restaurant with exc ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Gejas is a beautiful restaurant with excellent service and delicious food! The beef and broccoli were my favorite tastes, although everything is good!

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice place for a special occasion. Menu ...

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Nice place for a special occasion. Menu is quite expensive but the romantic atmosphere makes up for it. Plan around 2.5 hours as it takes quite a while to cook ur food. But that gives you time to talk, listen to the live music and enjoy the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was delicious and our servers w ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was delicious and our servers were amazing . Unfortunately we were seated in a tiny corner and it was hard to maneuver or get comfortable. Apart from that it was a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My husband and I had our first date here ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

My husband and I had our first date here, and we love it! The atmosphere is the best part, I've never been anywhere like it. Every table feels secluded and magical. We returned four years later, and it was just as lovely. It is very expensive though, even when we both get the cheese & chocolate fondue "appetizer." It was supposed to come with coffee, but when the waiter offered a list of coffee options my husband chose a cappuccino and they charged us for it. His mixed drink was a painful $12.00. We tried to use a Groupon that was supposed to be good for Mon-Thu, but since we were there close to Christmas, they wouldn't take it, which was very frustrating. We spent $85 when we thought we'd only be paying the tip. BUT the food is delicious and being there is truly an experience - just can't do it every week!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Felt very uncomfortable because the tabl ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Felt very uncomfortable because the tables were so close together you could hardly walk to get to your table or the bathroom. If there had been an emergency I don't know how we could get out. You need to be prepared to smell like oil when you leave. Had to clean all my clothes to get rid if the Oder

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This is our go to spot for special occas ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This is our go to spot for special occasions. We usually use a groupon and have no issue redeeming. The one thing I have noticed this visit is our eyes burning. We had a party of six and by the end of the meal everyone's eyes were burning and watering. We are assuming it is the oil in the air. Other than that we have no complaints and will visit again soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had not been there in man, many years. U ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Had not been there in man, many years. Upon returning, it felt like we were just there. Food was wonderful and it was a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Note: Don't eat for at least four hours ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Note:

Don't eat for at least four hours before! You get so much food! As pricey as it is. Also, we parked on the street for half the price of valet parking.

Experience:

Although the group of teenagers behind us basically ruined the first half of our night due to how loud, obnoxious, rude, childish, and disrespectful they were...

It's a wonderful place. Shame someone didn't say anything to them. I'm really surprised they didn't get kicked out. The restaurant is very particular- no bright lights, no hats, no phones, no kids.

I do not recommend it for anyone under the age of 18. The service is top notch. The menu is high end. Everything is prepared to perfection. The lighting is low and romantic with red lighting everywhere. The wine list is extensive. Everything was great.

Why we went:

I've even here a few times before. It's great. A real gem. I asked my boyfriend to take me here as a late birthday present/ early Christmas present/ last big date night before I leave for the Air Force. It was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Live Music, Fireplace, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Late-night Find, Authentic, Historic, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Went after reading great reviews. I gues ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Went after reading great reviews. I guess I didn't read enough bc I didn't realize that you FRY all of the food yourself, at your table. I've gone to a fondue restaurant bf but they brought the meat pre-cooked so I went into this experience expecting that same set up. They offer to check your coat but don't specify that if you choose not to check it then it will need to be dry cleaned after eating there bc the grease smell permeates your clothing. On top of all of this, I generally just felt like our $150+ tab was not worth it. The food wasn't that great. Wouldn't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Awesome. Great place. Very romantic

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Awesome. Great place.

Very romantic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Very nice place- the bill is high, but i ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Very nice place- the bill is high, but it's high for a reason, as what you're getting is very high quality food, excellent wine/drinks and excellent service. Do check your coat, because the scent of oil from the fondue pots will permeate your clothing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Wonderful as always. We moved to South C ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Wonderful as always. We moved to South Carolina and make it a special occasion to stop by every visit up north!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you've done fondue before, most of Ge ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 19, 2016

If you've done fondue before, most of Geja's Cafe will be standard. You pick your protein combination, you're served them with heaps of veggies and eight sauces to choose from, and your own pot of oil to cook in. My advice would be not to fill up on the bread and cheese because you will want to finish every bite of the main course. Save room for dessert as well, you get to toast a marshmallow over a flaming pot of Belgian chocolate, then dip fruits into it. It was delicious! I would say the downside is you WILL walk away smelling like tempura or fried food, which I didn't realize until I put on the sweater I was wearing the next morning for work. I didn't mind it, but it might be offputting to others.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Annual Christmas tradition! Always a gre ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Annual Christmas tradition! Always a great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Geja's was amazing as usual. The service ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Geja's was amazing as usual. The service was impeccable and the food was superb!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful place, great ambiance, REALLY ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Beautiful place, great ambiance, REALLY tight space but still comfortable, ask for a booth for more intimacy, REMEMBER COOKING TIME to avoid over cooking your meal, soothing music, great service, my first time there ever it was busy so my waiter took a bit long to come attend to us but his guest service made up for it!!! Overall loved it!

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Romantic, Live Music, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Love the live music. I feel like I am b ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Love the live music. I feel like I am back in Spain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Arturo was our server and he was profess ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Arturo was our server and he was professional, courteous and attentive despite the fact that it was quite busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.