About Geja's Café

340 W. Armitage
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Romantic fondue dining & nightly flamenco & classical guitar music draw diners to this cozy café. Entree fondues include shrimp, scallops, lobster, chicken & beef in various combinations. Please be aware that for their safety, children under the age of 10 are not permitted at Geja's. Booth requests will be noted, but can not guaranteed.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm (last seating at 9:30pm);



Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (last seating at 10:30pm);



Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (last seating at 10:30pm);



Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm (last seating at 8:30pm)

Cross Street:
Lincoln and Clark

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 281-9101

Website:
http://www.gejascafe.com/

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot at 2021 N. Clark.

Public Transit:
Brown Line to Sedgewick / North

Private Party Facilities:
Geja's Cafe can accommodate private parties from 6 to 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Michelle Collopy: 7732819101x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Winemaker Dinners

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Geja's Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Chicago / Illinois
Romantic
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Lincoln Park ›

romantic (157)
special occasion (146)
notable wine list (74)
See All
neighborhood gem (60)
fit for foodies (57)
good for groups (25)
hot spot (20)
late-night find (16)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2990 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celiac Canadian...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I was pleasantly pleased with my first experience using Open Table!!! Our reservations were precisely to my specifications regarding time, my preference for a booth and a notation that we were celebrating our 45th Anniversary. As a traveler with Celiac Desease... Geja's is the perfect dining spot with a plethora of Gluten Free menu options and a very accommdang Chef!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love This Place

Dined on May 20, 2016

Went here for a get together with friends. Everything about this place is wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great evening. The table was perf ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

What a great evening. The table was perfect, the food was delicious and the whole staff operated with such precision and attention to detail. We will definitely be returning soon.

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food and service but portion-wise, ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great food and service but portion-wise, well, it was low for the price. Way to many large vegetables to make the platters look like there was more. :(

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and a great atmosphere! Our ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food and a great atmosphere! Our go to special occasion place. Worth the drive from the burbs

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service3

Prices are to high for the food, I didn' ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Prices are to high for the food, I didn't like my fondue. I won't go back

food5
ambience5
service5

We've been going to Geja's for 34 years ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We've been going to Geja's for 34 years and have never had a bad meal. They have been consistently putting out great quality for as long as we can remember. We highly recommend the fondue experience to anyone.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Must Go

Dined on May 15, 2016

Perfect place for a special occasion. Fondue leads to a long and relaxed meal with a very romantic setting, but not over the top. Live music, which is pleasantly quiet, and extremely knowledgable and sincere staff. Also, good for a fancy double date. Will go back every chance I get!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have visited Geja for at least a deca ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We have visited Geja for at least a decade. The food is excellent and the service is great generally. The only complaint I have is that I did request a nice table as we visited to celebrate my sister's birthday. The one we were assigned to was close to the kitchen. Parties of more than two people were given nicer tables - they appear to want to please large numbers and not necessarily loyal patrons. This is a shame. If it were otherwise I would chose them for every special occasion I celebrate and would also recommend them. Still, the food is great and my sister wanted to celebrate there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Love it!! Nothing else comes close to experience.

Dined on May 14, 2016

I have been going to Geja's for over 30 years now. It's always been great. In fact, this past visit for my birthday is the one and only time my order was not right--it was corrected immediately though. I think this is a fabulous record of the consistent fantastic service I've enjoyed over these many many years. Keep up the good work!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice and cozy

Dined on May 14, 2016

Geja's was small, warm and cozy. Very romantic, if a little bit dark, atmosphere. It was really hard to see the menu when trying to order. Very tight space, so we could hear the bad date that was going on next to us. Food was ok, nothing particularly special. Sauces were 50/50. Some were really well thought out and excellent, others were just your run of the mill items possibly out of a bottle. There was plenty of food, and the cheese fondu was yummy. Avoid the graham cracker crumble on the marshmallow and chocolate. It doesn't have the right proportions to taste like a correct s'more. IT was really gross. They need more pound cake and rice crispy treats with their dessert fondu. All & all I would say try it once for the fun on fondu.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Date Night

Dined on May 14, 2016

Geja's was a great experience! My fiance and I had a wonderful meal and the quality of the food was excellent. You will definitely leave feeling full, and we were there for at least 2 hours, but that was half the fun! One thing is that you will leave the restaurant smelling like fish cooked in oil...not a bad thing, but just be aware if people stare at you funny! Our Uber driver made a [nice] comment to us about it after a few minutes in the car - we didn't know how we smelled :) Maybe just don't wear a wool coat to dinner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a crowd-pleaser.

Dined on May 12, 2016

This place is consistent. Food and wine were very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Poor service, excellent food

Dined on May 8, 2016

I made a reservation for 7:30 celebrating my anniversary with my girlfriend. When we arrived, there was a couple in front of us speaking with the host about a table. They did not make a reservation and were told the wait would be 1.5-2 hours. We then told him we had a reservation. He found it right away. We were 5 minutes early so we were asked to wait at the bar. 15 minutes go by and the host comes to the bar and tells the couple that didn't have a reservation that they could be seated! They didn't have a reservation and they were seated before us who had a reservation! And they didn't do it very discreetly either. We were not happy about that. We waited another 10 minutes (it was 7:50) when we were finally seated. It doesn't end there though. We look at the menu and the wine list and know exactly what we want. We're waiting and waiting and no waiter. At this point it is half an hour past our reservation. There were then 3 people that were seated next to us. And sure enough a waiter comes right away to them and goes over the menu with them. When he was done, he then walked over to us. So again we had clear priority over others but yet we were attended to second. There was no point in him explaining anything because we already looked at everything on the menu. He was about to walk away when we said we were ready to order. It was 50 minutes after our reservation when we were finally eating. From that point on everything was amazing. Food was great and the overall fondue experience was excellent. With that being said, there are other fondue restaurants around. I'll be checking those out next time. We both work retail and we know all about customer service. That was awful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife and I have dined at Geja's on many occasions over the years. It is always a special treat and even if it is just an ordinary evening out, it becomes a special occasion when we are at Geja's. The atmosphere is warm and intimate. Even when all the tables are full, it can seem almost like no one other than you and your dining partner are there. The service is excellent but unobtrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great date experience but prepare for dry cleaning

Dined on May 7, 2016

Geja's café was a great experience. I booked a trip to Chicago for my wife and I, and we were looking for something a little different. Geja's did not disappoint! The setting was wonderful. We walked down steps to the entrance of the building which made it feel very private. As we entered you could definitely smell the cooking oil being that it is at every table in the restaurant but that was something that we knew coming into the restaurant after reading reviews. We were delighted to see the setting. The lights are very dim perfect for a romantic evening. We sat right down as soon as we came in despite having a later reservation and this place was not dead many couples (I would say t was 80 percent full.) The seating area i will admit was close to other couples, I believe this is due to fitting more guest into the restaurant but do not worry about your personal conversation, there is music playing throughout the building and it is low enough that you don't have to yell across to your date while also allowing you to keep your conversation private from the couples that may be around you as long as you are not a loud talker naturally. (you may not even care). The wine menu is excellent and has many choices. They also include house cocktails. The meals are very reasonable considering that one meal can feed two even if you are hungry and you may share plates for an extra 10 dollars, otherwise you are paying 110 or 120 bucks for separate meals that you wont finish. They start you off with bread and cheese and salad followed by your main course with veggies, and end you with a chocolate sauce with fruits, pound cake ext. The meal was fantastic but do keep in mind that if you are wearing your best clothes. you will need them dry cleaned because of the aroma of the cooking oil and foods that stick to your clothes after the meal. It is very potent, so potent that the cab driver noticed immediately as we opened the door to our cab. Try an outdoor bar if you have plans after

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was superb and the food exquisit ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Service was superb and the food exquisite. The experience is zen like and memorable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful place to enjoy a romantic meal ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Wonderful place to enjoy a romantic meal or go with a group of friends!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3
value1

Bad customer service

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

I made the reservation on Wednesday and I specified that I needed a booth. The reservations were for 5 pm. On Saturday. When we got there the hostess said I see you reserve a booth, yes we replied. She said the booths were only for bigger parties only. She put me and my wife at a small table in the corner. As we began to order , we saw that 2 parties that came in after us were sat at booths with 2 to a party. My wife was upset but I managed to calm her down. The food was good, but when we got the check we were charged for drinks we didn't order. I am African American and my wife is German, we don't want special treatment. We just want to be treated fairly. In this day in age , people still do not believe in great customer service. I own a Art gallery in downtown Chicago and I wouldn't have clients if I treated them like that. Everyone I know will hear about my experience at Gejas .

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious cuisine, memorable service, th ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Delicious cuisine, memorable service, the live guitarist was absolutely amazing- delivered that romantic experience. Best place to take your loved one.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!

Dined on April 25, 2016

Geja's is a wonderful place. I love going there. Good for a romantic evening or just out with friends.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service2

The Resturant is in need of an update. U ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

The Resturant is in need of an update. Usually the service is excellent but that night it wasn't

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Must do this again

Dined on April 17, 2016

This is a great place to celebrate a special occasion. We went for my husband's birthday with friends and it was quiet and fun and very romantic. The food and service was great. I especially loved the small booths as it was perfect for two couples. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A place to visit

Dined on April 17, 2016

I would recommend this place to all the couples!! A sure to-go place. The ambience, the food and most importantly the service.. Was really good! Would love to visit the place again

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were seated at our reservation time. ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

We were seated at our reservation time. The server was great. Very knowledgeable about the selections and recommendations. Even surprised by guest and I with a brownie and candle for his birthday. Great Service! Great restaurant. I wasn't fond of the parking situations but that's ok.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved the restaurant! I enjoyed the be ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

I loved the restaurant! I enjoyed the beef/lobster combo and with that you get the cheese fondue and the chocolate. It was absolutely delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fondue at its best!

Dined on April 15, 2016

Geja's Cafe Es exceptional in every way possible. We were a few minutes late and they were very understanding. Staff was amazing! Food was amazing! Wine was delectable! We were seated for over three hours to eat our dinner and never felt rushed at all! Recommending it to everyone!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Geja's Cafe

Dined on April 10, 2016

I had an amazing and romantic dinner experience with my husband for our anniversary! We loved it and can't wait to go back. Thank you Geja's!!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful experience!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Celebrated our 1st anniversary here in 1982 and came back to celebrate our 35th in 2016. Hard to believe it's still as charming and the food is as good as I remember. Ordered the Prince Geja meal and enjoyed an extensive plate of high quality meat, seafood, and vegetables. The starter cheese fondue and chocolate fondue for dessert were equally delicious. It's an excellent value for the quality and quantity of food we had. Only one comment- when they called and confirmed the reservation they asked if I was celebrating a special event and I told them. However, they never acknowledged it when we arrived. I suggest that you don't bother asking for personal information if you don't plan on acknowledging it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Romantic atmosphere, cosy and a bit crow ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Romantic atmosphere, cosy and a bit crowded. Wonderful live guitar to add to the ambience. Wonderfully, fresh food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Evening

Dined on April 10, 2016

Had a great evening! Good food and great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Great Atmosphere, small portions

Dined on April 1, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, ridiculously small portions. The vegetarian plate consisted of four pieces of tofu ten baby carrots and three pieces zucchini.. the connoisseur plate had a scant six very small pieces of meat. The lobster portion was a sliver. Very disappointing for the price.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious dishes, great coffee and aweso ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Delicious dishes, great coffee and awesome experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fondue

Dined on March 29, 2016

Great place, good quality food, wonderful place to share a meal with friends. Excellent cheese fondue followed by tasty meats and seafoods, and an awesome chocolate dessert. Been going for years and will continue to do so.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first time at this restauran ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

This was my first time at this restaurant and was by far the nicest fondue experience I've ever had.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience!! This was my first tim ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Great experience!! This was my first time and it definitely won't be the last!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Romantic Dinner

Dined on March 20, 2016

We come every year for our anniversary. It Has a great atmosphere and is very romantic. The wine list is outstanding!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent Romantic Spot

Dined on March 19, 2016

This place lived up to it's reputation. Itwasterrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on March 18, 2016

Great place, But the only downside is our reservations were for 5 PM and we got there early, and the doors were locked. We had to wait outside until 5 PM to be allowed in. We were just glad it wasn't raining.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great time to celebrate my wife's birthd ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

Great time to celebrate my wife's birthday!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.