About Geja's Café

340 W. Armitage
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Romantic fondue dining & nightly flamenco & classical guitar music draw diners to this cozy café. Entree fondues include shrimp, scallops, lobster, chicken & beef in various combinations. Please be aware that for their safety, children under the age of 10 are not permitted at Geja's. Booth requests will be noted, but can not guaranteed.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm (last seating at 9:30pm);



Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (last seating at 10:30pm);



Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (last seating at 10:30pm);



Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm (last seating at 8:30pm)

Cross Street:
Lincoln and Clark

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 281-9101

Website:
http://www.gejascafe.com/

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot at 2021 N. Clark.

Public Transit:
Brown Line to Sedgewick / North

Private Party Facilities:
Geja's Cafe can accommodate private parties from 6 to 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Michelle Collopy: 7732819101x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Winemaker Dinners

Restaurant Photos

Cheese Fondue
Chocolate Fondue Pre-Flamed
Fondue Feast Cooking
Champagne Cosmopolitan
Toasted Marshmallow
Flaming Chocolate Fondue
Chocolate Fondue Dippers
Cheese Flight
Chocolate Fondue
Bread, Apples, And Grapes For Cheese Fondue
Dessert Fondue Dippers
Geja's Salad
Chicken And Jumbo Shrimp Platter
Cheese Fondue Dippers
The Communal Pot
House Salad
Pineapple Mojito
Deluxe Seafood Platter
Mixed Greens Salad
Shrimp In Thai Spicy Sauce
Cheesw Fondue
Pound Cake With Fudge Sauce
Seafood Fondue
Prince Geja's Combo
Beef And Lobster With 8 Dipping Sauces: Dill, Garlic Aioli, Flaming Apricot, Terriyaki, Butter, Horseradish Cream, Bbq, Chili
Sangria
Vegetarian Plate Fondue
Cheese and Charcuterie Board
Strawberry Mohito

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:00PM - 8:00PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Geja's Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Chicago / Illinois
Romantic
Chicago / Illinois
Best Ambiance
Chicago
2 More
Romantic
Chicago
Special Occasion
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Lincoln Park ›

Romantic (103)
Special Occasion (91)
Notable Wine List (56)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for a Date (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Cozy (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Late-night Find (9)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fun (5)
Historic (5)
Casual (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Live Music (3)
Authentic (3)
Scenic View (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Private Room (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3072 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I took my wife to Geja's Cafe for our we ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

I took my wife to Geja's Cafe for our wedding anniversary. She is a big fondue fan and after reading about the restaurant I thought that this would be a great surprise. The staff couldn't have been more gracious or accommodating; really top drawer. My issues with the restaurant stem and relate to the quantity of proteins (read: meats and seafood) we received in comparison to the veggies during our main course. My wife order the 'The Deluxe Seafood' which is essentially a seafood-centric offering and I had the 'Prince Geja's Combination'. The appetizer or first course of cheese fondue was fine; very tasty. The entrees or main courses were disappointing. For the price I had expected more seafood for my wife (something she pointed out) and also a little more than two pieces of protein for the 'Combination'. Each meal was +50 dollars and though that isn't the most exuberant amount, I believe more value should be offered to the clientele than is reflected on the plate. All in all the ambiance was nice and quiet; perhaps a little dark and the cocktails were good. I would recommend the restaurant to anyone wanting to try fondue but believe that were there more proteins in each entree the value would be greater for the consumer.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Overrated and overpriced. Best part was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Overrated and overpriced. Best part was the dessert and that was mediocre at best. Platter of food brought to the table to cook is mostly made up of vegetables. Busboy was more attentive than the server was. When making the reservation we were asked if we are celebrating anything special such as a birthday or an anniversary and I told him we were celebrating an anniversary, also when Anna (or Hannah) called to confirm the reservation she also asked if we were celebrating anything special. I also told her we were celebrating an anniversary but nothing was ever done to acknowledge it. Why bother to ask if you aren't going to do anything about it? We won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Overpriced , cramped seating,disappointi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Overpriced , cramped seating,disappointing experience overall

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

We always get to Gejas once a year. The ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We always get to Gejas once a year. The ambiance is great. We can take our time and have a nice evening enjoying the fondue dinners. It is pricey and portions seem to have gotten smaller but we still love to spend special occasions there.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place for a romantic dinner and tr ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great place for a romantic dinner and trying something unique. We got more than enough food for one person with everything included in price. We were seated quickly and the service was good. A waiter accidentally put tap water in a friends sparkling water and they quickly replaced everything brand new. It's definitely a good celebratory restaurant and way to cook your own food if you have the time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

A sure favorite for romance and special ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

A sure favorite for romance and special occasions. Service and staff are truly welcoming, accommodating and professional. Will always go back and would highly recommend Geja's

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It's the best place for couples. We get ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

It's the best place for couples. We get a lot of time to eat, talk and enjoy the ambience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing experience.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Took the wife (and family) to Geja's for ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Took the wife (and family) to Geja's for her birthday. This has become an annual tradition for us. Our server was really outstanding. We have shellfish allergy, and she made sure that the oil that we cooked with and everything on the table was safe for us to eat.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It is always amazing to go to Geja's. It ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

It is always amazing to go to Geja's. It is truly a special place, very quiet and romantic. It is a great value for the price. Can't wait to go back!!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, especially the cheese and cho ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Good food, especially the cheese and chocolate. One thing they need is more round tables which would make it easier for everyone in the group to participate in the fondue. They have a tendency to pack you in too tight at tables which make it uncomfortable for some in the group.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have always loved Gejas. I have dinin ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I have always loved Gejas. I have dining there since the late 70's and it never disappoints.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu was standing in the middle of the t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Menu was standing in the middle of the table and when the waitress brought my daughters drink, it fell over and knocked the drink in my daughter's lap. Instead of apologizing, the waitress only said that she did not knock it over, it fell by itself. Very rude.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Always a great dining experience, we hav ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Always a great dining experience, we have been going there for over 11 years and it is still the only place we go out for dinner while in Chicago..

Tags: Casual, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic meal. Cheese and chocolate co ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Fantastic meal. Cheese and chocolate courses were excellent. Steak, scallop and vegetable course was very good. Service was top notch. Ambiance is gorgeous and intimate. Very romantic and great for small group quiet conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious fondu and a lot of fun! Defini ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Delicious fondu and a lot of fun! Definitely going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We went to Gejas for a friends get toget ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went to Gejas for a friends get together. Overall experience was fine. Cheese fondue sauce was delicious. Was disappointed by the salad served. A homemade salad also has more than one ingredient....this was just a bed of lettuce with dressing :(

There was a good variety of dipping sauces which was good. For a vegetarian, there was nothing exclusive. Some thought could have been put into the vegetable medley like asparagus, some squashes, maybe sweet potatoes etc. To me choice of vegetables was quite boring and mundane.

Ambience was warm and cozy and the seating worked out well for a group of 8. The restaurant was full, so the vibe was upbeat. There was live guitar music that added to the cozy ambience.

Will recommend it to someone who really wants to try fondue.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

I absolutely love this place. The atmosp ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I absolutely love this place. The atmosphere is amazing for special night out with your significant other!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Live Music, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I went with 3 girlfriends and we all tho ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I went with 3 girlfriends and we all thought it was overpriced for the small portions we received. I wouldn't go again. We were glad we at least had a Groupon and gift card so it wasn't a total loss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

We celebrated our 22nd wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We celebrated our 22nd wedding anniversary with a great fondue meal before going to the Billy Joel concert at Wrigley Field! This is probably our 25th time we have been here over the past 15 years! Great food and atmosphere for special occasions! We will be back the next chance we get!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time coming here and I ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

This was my first time coming here and I took my boyfriend out to eat, so it was both of our first time. I can honestly say I enjoyed every second of it. The waitress was so nice and checked on us every second. The bathroom was well kept clean. The cheese fondue was amazing as a starter. This is over all a place I enjoyed in many ways.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great as usual. The cheese ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The food was great as usual. The cheese fondue is off the chain

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, what a wonderful meal. Rafae ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Once again, what a wonderful meal. Rafael was a great guy and did gejas a great service. We will continue to come back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been going to Geja's for close t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We have been going to Geja's for close to 25 years. Whenever we are in Chicago we go.

I love the booths. We took our son who is going to school in Chicago. He loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Geja's since 1974. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We have been going to Geja's since 1974. We always enjoy the fondue atmosphere and food. We celebrated our daughter in law's 31st birthday this time. Our two sons 33,30 have been going there since they were small.

This time my husband and I were coming from a Cubs ballgame and to our surprise they said we would need to change into different clothes because we had on "sportswear". After explaining that there were going to be 3 others joining us and we did not have any other clothing with us they let us stay. They have changed the dress code which is fine but no where is it printed thus we had no idea. We still had a great time and will continue going back as usual!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience was good and what I expect ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My experience was good and what I expected. My Girlfriend and I both had the 3 course dinner with wine. I had steak, she had veggie. Pricey for what you get, but the variety is nice and after dessert we had eaten plenty. Service was great, a little cramped but they made good use of the space. Overall a nice unique stop for a special occassion or fancy date.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

One of my most favorite places to eat fo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

One of my most favorite places to eat for a special occasion in the city!!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place just wasn't that unique. I've ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This place just wasn't that unique. I've seen it all before. There were also no choices for the cheese fondue or chocolate fondue or broth for the entree - they choose for you. I don't regret the experience necessarily, but I wont be coming back or recommending to others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Alway a special night when we travel to ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Alway a special night when we travel to Geja's Cafe. Celebrating or 20th wedding anniversary with a stop at the bar and a bottle of Cab, which goes oh so well with their sharp cheddar.

Then moving to a booth for, dare I say, an amazing dinner. Our server was right on the mark with a little levity, good smile and great service. The Spanish guitar made the evening even more romantic.

Geja's never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent in everyway again, the food, t ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent in everyway again, the food, the ambiance, special occasion or not this place is one of our favorite must dine in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Geja's can't be beat for a romantic atmo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Geja's can't be beat for a romantic atmosphere. Fondu is fun. Highly recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely little table by the window in its ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Lovely little table by the window in its own little nook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

We spent our anniversary at Geja's and i ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We spent our anniversary at Geja's and it was perfect. Very romantic ambiance with a live guitarist playing soft music. The cheese fondue, chocolate fondue, and beef and chicken were all incredible.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time as always, service and food a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great time as always, service and food always great!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food but alitte pricey but would go ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Good food but alitte pricey but would go again place had a strange smell ..................................................

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Geja's is the kind of place you land at ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Geja's is the kind of place you land at after proposing to your lady, then 6 years later paying $1,000 in airfare and UBER fees to relive the moment over a weekend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Geja's Café is a unique dining experienc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Geja's Café is a unique dining experience. The staff are exceptionally well-trained and courteous, providing guidance and information for wine selections and the fondue cooking process. The Premier Dinner is by far the best value for the money, and the whole experience takes about two hours with all the courses that are included. Every course is unique and delicious, with enough variety and substance for just about any appetite. I've always wanted to eat at a restaurant that specializes in fondue, and this, as my first experience as such, did not disappoint!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was amazing the ambience was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service was amazing the ambience was super romantic loved the music what a unique and fun experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service and outstanding food ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Outstanding service and outstanding food! We have been coming for years to celebrate just about every occasion, and this was no exception. The management is friendly (Michelle) and the waitstaff is attentive. We always get the original sauces to compliment the "usual" sauces, as it just provides more options and more great tastes. A very robust wine list to choose from. Can't say enough about Geja's: If you like fondue, there isn't anywhere even close in the city (or anywhere else for that matter).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A favorite spot for celebrations big and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

A favorite spot for celebrations big and small. Every visit feels like an event where you are transported to another country for a culinary experience. (The ever-present, live, classical guitar player is foundational to this experience.) Not particularly fancy, dinner at Gejas' Cafe always feels special. Fondue is just fun and offers an opportunity for original "slow food" and a meal focused on the participants as well as the food. Their traditional three courses of cheese, hot oil and chocolate means there's always something new and tasty just around the corner. The pattern of "spear--dip--eat" forced a new, slower-paced eating pattern on my 10-year-old nephew while opening up space for conversation with everyone at the table. So even though there are probably fancier, more "inventive" and newer fondue restaurants out there, we will always return to Gejas--like a much anticipated family reunion--whenever the opportunity arises. It speaks to food, fun and fellowship in ways few other restaurants do.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.