About Geja's Café

340 W. Armitage
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Romantic fondue dining & nightly flamenco & classical guitar music draw diners to this cozy café. Entree fondues include shrimp, scallops, lobster, chicken & beef in various combinations. Please be aware that for their safety, children under the age of 10 are not permitted at Geja's. Booth requests will be noted, but can not guaranteed.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm (last seating at 9:30pm);



Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (last seating at 10:30pm);



Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (last seating at 10:30pm);



Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm (last seating at 8:30pm)

Cross Street:
Lincoln and Clark

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 281-9101

Website:
http://www.gejascafe.com/

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot at 2021 N. Clark.

Public Transit:
Brown Line to Sedgewick / North

Private Party Facilities:
Geja's Cafe can accommodate private parties from 6 to 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Michelle Collopy: 7732819101x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Winemaker Dinners

Restaurant Photos

Cheese Fondue
Chocolate Fondue Pre-Flamed
Fondue Feast Cooking
Champagne Cosmopolitan
Toasted Marshmallow
Flaming Chocolate Fondue
Chocolate Fondue Dippers
Cheese Flight
Chocolate Fondue
Bread, Apples, And Grapes For Cheese Fondue
Dessert Fondue Dippers
Geja's Salad
Chicken And Jumbo Shrimp Platter
Cheese Fondue Dippers
The Communal Pot
House Salad
Pineapple Mojito
Deluxe Seafood Platter
Mixed Greens Salad
Shrimp In Thai Spicy Sauce
Cheesw Fondue
Pound Cake With Fudge Sauce
Seafood Fondue
Prince Geja's Combo
Beef And Lobster With 8 Dipping Sauces: Dill, Garlic Aioli, Flaming Apricot, Terriyaki, Butter, Horseradish Cream, Bbq, Chili
Sangria
Vegetarian Plate Fondue
Cheese and Charcuterie Board
Strawberry Mohito

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:00PM - 8:00PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Geja's Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Chicago / Illinois
Best Ambiance
Chicago
Romantic
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Lincoln Park ›

Romantic (119)
Special Occasion (107)
Notable Wine List (60)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (55)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Good for Groups (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Late-night Find (14)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Cozy (1)
Historic (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3049 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Once again, what a wonderful meal. Rafae ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Once again, what a wonderful meal. Rafael was a great guy and did gejas a great service. We will continue to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been going to Geja's for close t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

We have been going to Geja's for close to 25 years. Whenever we are in Chicago we go.

I love the booths. We took our son who is going to school in Chicago. He loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Geja's since 1974. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

We have been going to Geja's since 1974. We always enjoy the fondue atmosphere and food. We celebrated our daughter in law's 31st birthday this time. Our two sons 33,30 have been going there since they were small.

This time my husband and I were coming from a Cubs ballgame and to our surprise they said we would need to change into different clothes because we had on "sportswear". After explaining that there were going to be 3 others joining us and we did not have any other clothing with us they let us stay. They have changed the dress code which is fine but no where is it printed thus we had no idea. We still had a great time and will continue going back as usual!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience was good and what I expect ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My experience was good and what I expected. My Girlfriend and I both had the 3 course dinner with wine. I had steak, she had veggie. Pricey for what you get, but the variety is nice and after dessert we had eaten plenty. Service was great, a little cramped but they made good use of the space. Overall a nice unique stop for a special occassion or fancy date.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

One of my most favorite places to eat fo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

One of my most favorite places to eat for a special occasion in the city!!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place just wasn't that unique. I've ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This place just wasn't that unique. I've seen it all before. There were also no choices for the cheese fondue or chocolate fondue or broth for the entree - they choose for you. I don't regret the experience necessarily, but I wont be coming back or recommending to others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent in everyway again, the food, t ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent in everyway again, the food, the ambiance, special occasion or not this place is one of our favorite must dine in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Geja's can't be beat for a romantic atmo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Geja's can't be beat for a romantic atmosphere. Fondu is fun. Highly recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely little table by the window in its ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Lovely little table by the window in its own little nook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

We spent our anniversary at Geja's and i ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We spent our anniversary at Geja's and it was perfect. Very romantic ambiance with a live guitarist playing soft music. The cheese fondue, chocolate fondue, and beef and chicken were all incredible.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time as always, service and food a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great time as always, service and food always great!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food but alitte pricey but would go ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Good food but alitte pricey but would go again place had a strange smell ..................................................

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Geja's is the kind of place you land at ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Geja's is the kind of place you land at after proposing to your lady, then 6 years later paying $1,000 in airfare and UBER fees to relive the moment over a weekend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Geja's Café is a unique dining experienc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Geja's Café is a unique dining experience. The staff are exceptionally well-trained and courteous, providing guidance and information for wine selections and the fondue cooking process. The Premier Dinner is by far the best value for the money, and the whole experience takes about two hours with all the courses that are included. Every course is unique and delicious, with enough variety and substance for just about any appetite. I've always wanted to eat at a restaurant that specializes in fondue, and this, as my first experience as such, did not disappoint!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was amazing the ambience was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service was amazing the ambience was super romantic loved the music what a unique and fun experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service and outstanding food ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Outstanding service and outstanding food! We have been coming for years to celebrate just about every occasion, and this was no exception. The management is friendly (Michelle) and the waitstaff is attentive. We always get the original sauces to compliment the "usual" sauces, as it just provides more options and more great tastes. A very robust wine list to choose from. Can't say enough about Geja's: If you like fondue, there isn't anywhere even close in the city (or anywhere else for that matter).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A favorite spot for celebrations big and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

A favorite spot for celebrations big and small. Every visit feels like an event where you are transported to another country for a culinary experience. (The ever-present, live, classical guitar player is foundational to this experience.) Not particularly fancy, dinner at Gejas' Cafe always feels special. Fondue is just fun and offers an opportunity for original "slow food" and a meal focused on the participants as well as the food. Their traditional three courses of cheese, hot oil and chocolate means there's always something new and tasty just around the corner. The pattern of "spear--dip--eat" forced a new, slower-paced eating pattern on my 10-year-old nephew while opening up space for conversation with everyone at the table. So even though there are probably fancier, more "inventive" and newer fondue restaurants out there, we will always return to Gejas--like a much anticipated family reunion--whenever the opportunity arises. It speaks to food, fun and fellowship in ways few other restaurants do.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It was too expensive for a small platter ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

It was too expensive for a small platter, could not see my food because it was too dark, the cooking took for ever, different experience but did not like it.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Great first time dining experience.Happy ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great first time dining experience.Happy to have celebrated my anniversary there.Will definitely be going back for "seconds".

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Always a delightful experience-

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Always a delightful experience-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went here for an anniversary and it was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Went here for an anniversary and it was fantastic. It was our first time going there so the waitress was nice enough to go over the entire menu with is. It was a very fun and interactive dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it! Took my husband for his bday a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Loved it! Took my husband for his bday and we had an amazing time! Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

THE BEST! That's the reason it's been a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

THE BEST! That's the reason it's been around for 51 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food...and excellent service.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Delicious food...and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

it is a beautiful price, but way over pr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

it is a beautiful price, but way over priced for what you get.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Favorite restaurant for 18 years!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Favorite restaurant for 18 years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely lovely! Great food and atmosp ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Absolutely lovely! Great food and atmosphere. Service was incredible

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our "date iversary" it's our favo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

It was our "date iversary" it's our favorite place. Our waiter Luis is the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a wonderful atmosphere to go along with ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

a wonderful atmosphere to go along with great food and great service

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoy dining at Geja even though some ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I enjoy dining at Geja even though some things should be better. On this occasion two particulars kept me from ranking it higher. One was that I ordered a second glass of wine and was given a completely different one than the one I ordered. The second was that the flame on our main pot went out and we had to request that it be re-lit, which took a long time. Our main server did not come to check on us for a while and so we had to wait a long time before we finally asked someone else to light it again, which they did. As a general rule the service is attentive but on this occasion it was not.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Geja's proved to be a great place to tak ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Geja's proved to be a great place to take my family for a special "activity" dining experience. The whole group really enjoyed the ability to work together creating wonderful bites of food while still being able to hear our entire conversation. We all loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always love going to Geja's. I love th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I always love going to Geja's. I love the decor, the live guitar performances, and the amazing cheese fondue! I already recommended this restaurant to people. One "not so good" experience I had this time was that my husband accidentally spilled his glass of sangria and the waitress looked upset, when we apologized and thanked her for cleaning it up, she didn't say anything and didn't even look at us. Maybe she was having a bad day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I lovedit. Foodwasawesome. VeryniceVery ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I lovedit. Foodwasawesome. VeryniceVery nice staff.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Geja's Café puts fun into eating, energ ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Geja's Café puts fun into eating, energizes your relationships and makes a special occasion a memorable event--all at the same time. The fun has its price, but everyone understands and appreciates the gift of Geja.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant. Went for our anniversa ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great restaurant. Went for our anniversary there from out of town. Enjoyed the view. Noise from other group was very high, looked like they were having a party. Will definitely recommend to friends.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect but the differenc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everything was perfect but the difference was our server who was outstanding! She made us feel comfortable and her timing was excellent. Gejas Cafe was so wonderful our server and everything from food to music to ambiance made our anniversary special. Thank you Gejas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience! Server was awesome!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Amazing experience! Server was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Nostalgic dinner, but ruined by maitre d ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Nostalgic dinner, but ruined by maitre de attitude. Our daughter was caught in traffic and did not join us for Fathers day dinner until all the food was cleared. We were still charged a sharing fee. The seafood was good, the beef tough, and the salad not fresh.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I'm not a big fan of fondue using oil wh ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I'm not a big fan of fondue using oil which is the standard at this place. Gives the food a different taste. Not bad. Just different. I did not care for the red lighting which I would assume serves a purpose of helping with night blindness and still allows you to see a menu without having the mood killing bright lights of normal restaurants. That would be my least part of this place. Selection is very impressive: meats and seafoods very fresh. Cheese for fondue very tasty and selections for dipping are also marvelous. I think their main entree portions could be larger (meats and seafood) but otherwise I was not hungry when I left. Chocolate course for dessert was divine!

This is a great place to take your lover or someone who likes to dine in a mysterious setting. We were privy to live guitar music which only added depth to the Spanish theme of the restaurant. I like this place and you will too. Prices are reasonable for city dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Second time here, love this place! Great ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Second time here, love this place! Great for date night =)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.