About Geja's Café

340 W. Armitage
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Romantic fondue dining & nightly flamenco & classical guitar music draw diners to this cozy café. Entree fondues include shrimp, scallops, lobster, chicken & beef in various combinations. Please be aware that for their safety, children under the age of 10 are not permitted at Geja's. Booth requests will be noted, but can not guaranteed.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm (last seating at 9:30pm);



Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (last seating at 10:30pm);



Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (last seating at 10:30pm);



Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm (last seating at 8:30pm)

Cross Street:
Lincoln and Clark

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 281-9101

Website:
http://www.gejascafe.com/

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot at 2021 N. Clark.

Public Transit:
Brown Line to Sedgewick / North

Private Party Facilities:
Geja's Cafe can accommodate private parties from 6 to 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Michelle Collopy: 7732819101x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Winemaker Dinners

Restaurant Photos

Cheese Fondue - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Fondue Pre-Flamed - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Fondue Feast Cooking - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Champagne Cosmopolitan - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Toasted Marshmallow - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Flaming Chocolate Fondue - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Fondue Dippers - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Cheese Flight - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Fondue - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Bread, Apples, And Grapes For Cheese Fondue - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Dessert Fondue Dippers - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Geja's Salad - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Chicken And Jumbo Shrimp Platter - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Cheese Fondue Dippers - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
The Communal Pot - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
House Salad - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Pineapple Mojito - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Deluxe Seafood Platter - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Mixed Greens Salad - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Shrimp In Thai Spicy Sauce - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Cheesw Fondue - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Pound Cake With Fudge Sauce - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Seafood Fondue - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Prince Geja's Combo - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Beef And Lobster With 8 Dipping Sauces: Dill, Garlic Aioli, Flaming Apricot, Terriyaki, Butter, Horseradish Cream, Bbq, Chili - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Sangria - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Vegetarian Plate Fondue - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Cheese and Charcuterie Board - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL
Strawberry Mohito - Geja's Café, Chicago, IL

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:00PM - 8:00PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Geja's Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Chicago / Illinois
Romantic
Chicago
Special Occasion
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Lincoln Park ›

Romantic (90)
Special Occasion (80)
Good for a Date (66)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Notable Wine List (48)
Cozy (43)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Fun (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Authentic (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Historic (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Live Music (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Casual (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fireplace (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
People Watching (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Scenic View (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
3133 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great atmosphere and the fondue is absol ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Great atmosphere and the fondue is absolutely amazing.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We hadn't been in a few months, but we'r ...

 
 (London)·Dined 7 days ago

We hadn't been in a few months, but we're greeting by lots of changes. Not always a fan of change when I find a spot that I love, but the changes were AMAZING! New seating, new outdoor patio area, great lighting, and new gourmet boards. It was absolutely fantastic!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyable experience. Food is ve ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

Really enjoyable experience. Food is very good. Only knock is that you smell like it when you leave.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Your cheese fondue should have more chee ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

Your cheese fondue should have more cheese inside) . It was more like cheese sauce but not a fondue. I say this as I'm French and know what is a good cheese fondue. All the rest was grea!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Gejas is a classic not to be missed. It ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Gejas is a classic not to be missed. It is one of those very special places for very special times in your life. The atmosphere is one-of-a-kind romantic, the fondue is different from the everyday and the service is always exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I've been a Gejas customer for 2 decades ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I've been a Gejas customer for 2 decades and love every time I go. I always try to get Mary as our server and with 30 years under her belt she is absolutely fabulous! The Prince Gejas like always was fresh and delicious, the wine list is top notch, along with their wine flights they pair up for you.

We will of course be back...again and again.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Historic, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not the place to go if you are looking f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Not the place to go if you are looking for fast or picky. But if you plan ahead just tiny bit and are open to varieties this restaurant is awesome. The best date spot this side of town and while the price can be high it is more than worth it's value.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious food, awesome atmosphere.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Delicious food, awesome atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Nice restaurant. Fun to fondue. Good s ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Nice restaurant. Fun to fondue. Good service.

Little porsions of meat. So high price fir the food. But the romantic scenery make it ok

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

LOVE LOVE LOVE this place. Luis and Mich ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

LOVE LOVE LOVE this place. Luis and Michelle took care of us, as they always do. We had all of the great food and sauces that we needed, waters were always full, never at a loss for wine and other beverages. We will continue to frequent one of the best gems in the city!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Geja's Cafe was a nice meal. Our service ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Geja's Cafe was a nice meal. Our service was very good. The restaurant is very dark---which is neat, unless you are trying to read the menus. I think it was exceptionally dark in the corner where we were seated.

We decided to have only cheese and chocolate. That was the right amount for us. Very generous on the dessert. I would have liked to have a choice of cheeses and/or chocolate. But it was one type only. Overall, a very unique restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Fantastic place for a romantic meal. It ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Fantastic place for a romantic meal. It was my wife's birthday, and they surprised her with a little piece of cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a date, birthday, or other spe ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great for a date, birthday, or other special occasion. Fondue was fun and would absolutely go back!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place, a little pricey for the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful place, a little pricey for the amount of food but overall more of a romantic restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The restaurant was nice and friendly and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The restaurant was nice and friendly and prepared a nice Birthday desert plate for my wife. It was hard to hear the instructions on how to handle the food. Service was a little slow but it was a busy night. Food was good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Delicious food. Very knowledgeable and f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Delicious food. Very knowledgeable and friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of my favorite restaurants in the ci ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in the city. Consistently good food and service. Ding here is an experience and always fun for everyone. Amazing value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The hubby and I came here for our annive ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The hubby and I came here for our anniversary and it was quaint and romantic. Loved the dim lighting and ambiance. Would definitely come back again for a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were showing off Geja's to an out-of- ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We were showing off Geja's to an out-of-town relative. Could not have gone better. Great food, great service and we had a wonderful time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over priced, oily self serve. The atmosp ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Over priced, oily self serve. The atmosphere was beautiful and really the only good thing about this place. Seemed like a big novelty experience with very average quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Shannon was a great hostess for us. Bei ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Shannon was a great hostess for us. Being a diabetic, I brought my own sugar free hot fudge to be warmed up for dessert. Shannon obliged me so that I too could enjoy a complete meal. The ambience was terrific and romantic. Thank you.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very romantic and the music playing was ...

 
·Dined on November 2, 2016

Very romantic and the music playing was really nice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Geja's Cafe was very romantic. The food ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Geja's Cafe was very romantic. The food was a bit pricey, but it was well worth it.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always fantastic. The food and service ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Always fantastic. The food and service is outstanding

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend and I had an incredibly re ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My girlfriend and I had an incredibly relaxing and romantic time here. We loved the atmosphere, food, and wine. The service was also quite lovely. We would definitely do it again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, terrific service, and a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Delicious food, terrific service, and a unique experience. Love the atmosphere of this location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrating with my girlfriend. Wait sta ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Celebrating with my girlfriend. Wait staff was supper knowledgeable, and friendly. Food delicious and and fun. We had an awesome experience and will return soon

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful experience as previousl ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Had a wonderful experience as previously, this is or second visit of many more to come. The only thing that I do not like are the small table settings. I would prefer a booth because there is more room. Also the portions could be a little bit larger; but I must admit you will be full after the 3 courses!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Went for our one year anniversary and it ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Went for our one year anniversary and it couldn't have been better!! The price might look a little high, but you get plenty of great food! So it's worth it by far!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Daniel (who confirmed my rez was on top ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Daniel (who confirmed my rez was on top of it) and very personal.

Michael, our waiter, was attentive; he exemplified customer love. My family and I have been coming here for the last 20+ years. The only slight disappointment was the bread (this past Sunday 10/23 @ 6pm) served w/the fondue. There was no dark brown bread: pumpernickel; that's our favorite. Instead, there were 2 other choices, think it was a marble rye & pretzel bread which (to our tastebuds) was not as appetizing.

The scallops/veggies/dipping sauces were sublime! Dessert Chocolate fondue was deliciously decadent (as always) but my favorite (the pound cake was dry/stale). Thanks for always offering special deals so we can afford your lovely restaurant.

Other than the aforementioned, we loved every bite as well as the fresh, piping hot coffee ala whipped cream. Gehas is a fondue-fest to the Nth degree.

I look forward to coming back soon. There is NO place like Gehas Cafe in Chi, not even in San Francisco--the food mecca!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect spot for a special occasion or d ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Perfect spot for a special occasion or date. Our waitress Sarah was phenomenal and the atmosphere was exactly what I was looking for. The whole experience was over the top perfect and by far the most romantic place to take a special someone. The service was outstanding from the moment we walked in the door. Easily one of the most romantic dinners I've ever had.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the food at Geja's, however, the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Enjoyed the food at Geja's, however, the service was not the best. Was celebrating my partner's birthday and was questioned why we were not consuming an alcoholic beverage because "we looked like we turned 21;" which we are much older than that. Felt that the server treated us like children and when we noted that the flame on our pot went out asked if we were "playing with the fire." Server rushed us and was rude when we asked if we could have a few minutes in between the courses, as this was a lot of food to digest. Given that this was an expensive meal for a special occasion, I did not appreciate the service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

While the atmosphere was nice the food w ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 21, 2016

While the atmosphere was nice the food was severely lacking. Also the pot you cook the food in is so high you can't see in it, and with the low lighting it was very difficult to tell when the food was actually cooked. The main course was good but both the first course with bread was stale and then on the dessert the pound cake was hard and stale instead of being soft and moist. Also the pineapple offered was not sweet but bitter and we got 3 sad strawberries that were not even red and two batter maraschino cherries. Overall the food was severely over priced for what was offered other than the main course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Great dinner for any occasion! Try to co ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great dinner for any occasion! Try to come when there is a live guitar player. Will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, great food. We came for ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great ambiance, great food. We came for both an anniversary and birthday dinner and had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Inviting, comfortable dining experience ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Inviting, comfortable dining experience with excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bread for appetizers was stale as w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The bread for appetizers was stale as was the dessert pound cake.

Overall poor start and poor finish.

The food was not tasty and was very modest for the prices charged.

Guitar player was excellent and the service was good.

Everyone was disappointed.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Great food and service, excellent ambien ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great food and service, excellent ambience live guitar serenade. Gem of Chicago!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I go here every year for an anniversary ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 11, 2016

I go here every year for an anniversary dinner. It never disappoints. It is great place to go and eat, have a great experience and a great wait staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 45th anniversary here. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 10, 2016

We celebrated our 45th anniversary here. we used to go on date her when we were undergraduate students at 'The Circle.' Geja's holds many great memories for us. One improvement I would like to see, is giving your patrons a third plate to avoid having the entree sit in the oil.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.