About Gazette Restaurant Montreal

300 Rue St-Antoine O
Montreal, QC H2Y 0A3
View Larger Map

Restaurant & bar, private dining room available

Gazette... where alchemy matters

Contemporary, yet steeped in history
Downtown, yet on the steps of historic Montreal
Modern and urban, yet soothing and welcoming
gGazette restaurant... located in the former Gazette building

Québec terroir...inspired and constantly evolving
"Chef Paul Little makes the experience emotional"

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Italian, French

Hours of Operation:
Everyday: 6:30am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
St-Antoine, St-Pierre

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 380-3477

Website:
http://gazetterestaurantmontreal.com/accueil

Parking Details:
Free valet parking for Gazette's customers.

Public Transit:
Métro / Subway: Places d'Armes station ou/or Square-Victoria station.

Executive Chef:
Paul Little

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant & bar, private dining room available
Please contact restaurant for more information

Private Party Contact:
Directeur de Restaurant: 5143803333x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Gazette Restaurant Montreal
Mixed Salad On Palm Heart Frame
Pork Tenderloin
Black Cod On Couscous With Mango Relish
Butter, Homemade Herbed Butter And Olive Tapenade
Artisan Bread Basket
Wine White Conundrum 2010 On Ice
Duck Confit Omelette
Filet Minon
Lobster Ravioli
Chocolate

Gazette Restaurant Montreal Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (5)
fit for foodies (4)
great for lunch (3)
See All
good for groups (1)
special occasion (1)
notable wine list (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
78 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were staying in Montreal at the Hilto ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were staying in Montreal at the Hilton, after a busy day of sightseeing it was a nice spot to eat without leaving the hotel.Lobster gnocchi and beet salad were very good. Pleasantly surprised with food. :-)

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Not worth a second trip

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

From the moment we entered the restaurant for lunch,the server was rude. We were seated promptly,had the wine glasses removed and was asked immediately upon sitting if we were ready to order. I told her that we would like the wine list ,which meant she would have to bring the glasses back to the table. When my appetizer was brought to me it was wrong,which can happen, not a big deal st all but I was a bit confused as the server who brought me the dish seemed upset with me . Food was not as it was described on the menu and tasteless but really more importantly service was terrible. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

We had a breakfast meal with colleagues. ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We had a breakfast meal with colleagues. Service is very friendly but really slow! The food is good and it's fine that there are options but whatever is not on the buffet takes too much time for the type of meal it is. Also orange juice at the Westin I would expect it to be freshly squeezed. Not sure if it's because oranges are not local.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

It's a fine choice for brunch if you're ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

It's a fine choice for brunch if you're visiting the city and are staying in the immediate area. Note, I was very disappointed that they advertise an omelette station, but all they had was a pan of pre-made scrambled eggs. For the price of the buffet, I should have been able to have eggs over easy.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great lunch menu

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Great lunch menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Solid performance

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Varied menu, nice presentation, good food! Nice decor gives a great ambiance.

Very good service. Bravo!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A good hotel restaurant

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

You never know what to expect at a hotel restaurant. The Gazette was quite good and had some interesting small plates and entrees including tuna and salmon tatare and ahi tuna. Service was friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellente New Year Menu

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We had an amazing experience with New Year Eve, good food, free parking at westin, good ambience and reasonable price. Only thing we didn't like was being forced to all have table d'hote. It should has been wonderful if customers to decide their food choice , thanks

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The service was poor and the food was terrible.

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

The service was poor and the food was terrible. I ordered braised lamb and it was served cold and dry. My daughter ordered a club sandwich and it was tasteless; she just couldn't eat it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Just wonderful!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on October 21, 2015

We were just coming off a cruise and spent our last night in Montreal (first time in the city). We wanted a restaurant close to our hotel and this fit the bill. What a great surprise! Service was just wonderful, the food was excellent--loved that the fries had both russet and sweet potatoes and the bread pudding!!!!!! OH MY! Best I have ever had and I have had a lot in many cities. My husband enjoyed himself as well, as the restaurant, while elegant, did not feel stuffy--he's more of a low key kind of guy. We were seated by a window where we could people watch and it was such a wonderful end for our trip! Would go back in a heartbeat should we ever find ourselves in Montreal again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A plain "hotel-restaurant"

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on October 7, 2015

I didn't know when I booked that this restaurant was part of the Westin hotel. I realized it when I walked in, so wasn't expecting too much. Nevertheless, even with low expectations, I was quite disappointed by the food. The service was friendly and good.

I would recommend it for a business lunch if you are not too picky foodwise.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Service

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 28, 2015

The bill was come to fast without asking for the dessert

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Best Brunch!!!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 28, 2015

Ate two Tomato Caprese salads...sooo good. My children loved it too.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Not impressive at all

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 6, 2015

I did not realize this was a hotel restaurant.. I took a client there and clearly made a mistake. The food was average at best, service wasn't great (friendly waiter... but for the price definitely not attentive enough) and just overall bad decor. Don't go here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

We went for lunch on the weekend. Food w ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 26, 2015

We went for lunch on the weekend. Food was great! Very nicely presented as well! Service was excellent and very attentive. Just wished there had been more diners in the restaurant - it was very quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

Exceptional service from Patrick!!!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 1, 2015

I have been to the Gazette numerous times while staying at the Westin Old Montreal. Patrick was our server on New Year's Day and I can't rave enough about how gracious and patient he was with the post new year hangover guests. He was attentive and approached the table swiftly even with the high volume of traffic that day. The brunch was very good and had a great selection. The brunch items was fresh and always replenished. I appreciate a restaurant that understands the importance of crispy well cooked bacon. I was sad that the full menu was not available, since I was looking forward to some of the Chef's newer options since my last visit.

My boyfriend and I hope to be served by Patrick during our next visit.

On another note, please bring back the Scallops in Parpadelle noodles, we're still talking about it from last July.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Hotel Restaurant with Pre-Packaged Calamari

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 1, 2015

So, for NYE, my boyfriend and I decided to head into this area for the festivities and chose to make a last-minute reservation. We had never been let down by this strategy before, so we did it again.

What this description doesn't tell you is that this is the acting restaurant for The Westin Hotel, so that was a slight shock. The bottle prices were very reasonable for wine and cocktail prices are standard and rather tasty, We chose to order a few items of the "tapas" menu which consisted mainly of sliders and hot wings. We ordered calamari, a cheese trio, and salmon tartare.

The calamari tasted like it came out of a box and was overall unpleasant. The local cheese trio was great but it came with some weird fruit and nut crostinis and no regular bread. Those things really obscured the flavor of the cheeses. The tartare was good, but came with no crostini, cracker, or any other form of a delivery device...

The service was OK, nothing to tell either way on that, There was a point during the meal where we got no attention for about 35 minutes, but nothing too terrible.

Overall, this place was OK, the food was edible, and the drinks were good. I don't recommend this location, but I didn't hate it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Bland food and bad service.

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on November 4, 2014

The night got off to a weird start when they tried to seat us at a table for 6 and we were only 2. Not to mention the restaurant was practically empty. I had read online that they had a tapas menu but was not immediately given one. When I was finally able to track down a server, she went and got me it. The food took a while to arrive, and when it did, it left a lot to be desired. All 4 dishes ordered lacked taste and excitement. We ordered the tuna tataki, the calamari, the poutine and the pretzel burger. Would not recommend, unless you were staying in the hotel and did not wish to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Great food and service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 2, 2014

The service and food, including the presentation, were fantastic. There were very few diners however which detracted from the ambiance, and made us wonder why.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on October 27, 2014

The meals (for four of us) were great, lots of unique choices and great flavors. The Lamb was braised and wornderful served on a cutting board. The Cod was perfectly done, crispy skin and moist and flavorful on the inside with an exceptional presentation.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Food and service was adequate, however t ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on October 23, 2014

Food and service was adequate, however the price for breakfast was on the high end.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great Ribs

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on October 5, 2014

Was in Montreal attending a conference and went to dinner at Gazette and the Waiter recommending the Ribs. What a great recommendation.

Thanks,

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

amazing experience

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 12, 2014

Ordered filet and my wife ordered hers well- done. We waited a bit but they came out with a perfect well-done steak that wasn't burned at all. I've never seen that done so well. The steaks and food was incredible. The bread was even worth writing home about. Mixed basket of country French breads like we had in Provence. Service was very prompt and friendly. Gazette was expensive, but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Noisey but good

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 5, 2014

Bar very loud but service and food great. Once through the bar area great view of surrounding area.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Found lots of menu items I wished to sam ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2014

Found lots of menu items I wished to sample, too bad we live so far away. Everyone looked friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Lovely. Attractive decor. Delicious fo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 28, 2014

Lovely. Attractive decor. Delicious food. Ambience more appropriate for business than romantic dining.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

My go-to place for business lunches

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 11, 2014

Yet again, another great meal at Gazette. Warm and attentive service and a delicious table d'hôte lunch for $22. The only thing that would make this place even better? A small chocolate with my coffee!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

The service impeccable , food OK for an ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 28, 2014

The service impeccable , food OK for an hotel restaurant. Conveniant for late arrival, prompt with delivering a kid's menu

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Loved it!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 27, 2014

We went there for lunch while we were at Palais des Congrès for les journées dentaires and we had a amazing lunch, service was excellent the ambience was great, we will defenitly go back! The food and presentation was awesome everybody loved it.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent lunch

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 13, 2014

The restaurant had a well-priced table d'hôte lunch for $22. I chose the quinoa salad with rare tuna followed by pork with jerk spices and root vegetables. The meal was excellent and service was thoughtful and attentive, without being intrusive. I plan on returning.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

lovely place

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 11, 2014

went there on Mother's Day - food was nice. however would of been nice to have a Mother's day touch to the place such a brunch or lunch menu.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Restaurant d'hôtel

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 5, 2014

C'est un restaurant dans un hôtel... Et cela ressemble vraiment à un restaurant... dans un hôtel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

a fantastic place

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 30, 2014

atmosphere, food, services, presentation of food and even the interior of the restaurant are fantastic! my new favorite restaurant!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Delicious, excellent service

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 25, 2014

I have visited gazette several times and I love it every time! Excellent food, great service, prices are not that expensive either if not actually cheap. Good quality/price ratio!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Business Lunch

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 7, 2014

Great service and food, and very conveniently located.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Very good food. noise level

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on October 25, 2013

Very good food. noise level a bit too high in dining area, espescially if looking for a quiet evening.

Price-quality very good. service cordial.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great Service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 15, 2013

We went here for our honeymoon and had a nice evening. The menu was inventive and tasty. We had the crab risotto and a lobster appetizer. Both were great. For dinner my husband had a veal t-bone, which was a large portion and I had an "open faced" lobster ravioli. Both were delicious and different. Our server was knowledgeable and honest about the food, giving his opinion when asked. The hostess, manager, and server all made it a point to congratulate us on our wedding and make us feel special. We thought that was nice. The ambiance was romantic - very small table, but no different than any other 2-top. All in all I would recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Disappointed

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 6, 2013

Lobster ravioli- lobster was overlooked to the point of being chewy and could not taste the lobster flavour at all in the dish. Ravioli itself was well cooked but the brown sauce didn't seem to belong with a seafood. I'm from New Brunswick where we have fresh lobster and I eat it once a week - maybe this is why I was so disappointed with it? Had the steak, asked for medium rare and it was well done shame because it was a nice cut of meat. The waiter would explain the dish/wine as he served but was mumbling so we actually didn't understand anything throughout the meal. Hate sounding so negative, but this was our experience and we were expecting more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

GOOD WESTIN BAR/RESTAURANT

vip
 (México)
·Dined on June 1, 2013

When you stay at a Westin you know what to expect and this is a traditional good Westin Restaurant, where you eat your Breakfast an a late Cap. Of course everything in between...

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

GOOD BREAKFAST AT THE WESTIN

vip
 (México)
·Dined on May 31, 2013

The Buffet at the Westin restaurant has a complete variety of foods including fruit, juices, bread, salmon,eggs,chees and more. A good way to start the day.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.